Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Humanin (MT-RNR2): An Evidence Ledger

Humanin is a 24-residue peptide encoded within the mitochondrial 16S rRNA region, identified in 2001 by functional expression screening as a factor that rescued neuronal cells from Alzheimer's-associated insults. Two decades of cell and rodent work followed. A substantial share of it was generated with S14G-humanin, a single-substitution analog that is a different molecule, and the human record consists entirely of studies that measured the peptide rather than administered it.

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyCell and rodent models; all human data are observational biomarker measurements 11 claims logged 8 with primary citations 3 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Mitochondrial-derived peptide (MDP) encoded within the mitochondrial 16S rRNA / MT-RNR2 region
CAS number
330936-69-1
PubChem CID
16131438
Molecular formula
C119H204N34O32S2
Molecular weight
≈2687.2 g/mol
Sequence
MAPRGFSCLLLLTSEIDLPVKRRA (24 residues)

Verified against PubChem PUG-REST property and synonym records for CID 16131438 (formula, molecular weight, CAS 330936-69-1, UNII H975EUX36G, ChEMBL4447799, DTXSID70186749, sequence designation), retrieved 17 August 2026. Fields marked “not verified” are ones we could not confirm against a primary chemical database — we leave them blank rather than guess.

What the molecule is, and how it was found

Humanin is a 24-amino-acid peptide whose open reading frame sits inside the mitochondrial 16S ribosomal RNA gene, MT-RNR2. The verified sequence is MAPRGFSCLLLLTSEIDLPVKRRA, with a molecular formula of C119H204N34O32S2 and a molecular weight near 2687.2 g/mol (PubChem CID 16131438, CAS 330936-69-1). The nuclear genome carries thirteen humanin-like paralogs, MTRNR2L1 through MTRNR2L13, of 24 to 28 residues, which is a recurring source of assay ambiguity in the literature.

Its discovery was a screen, not a hypothesis. Hashimoto et al. (2001, PNAS) used functional expression screening and recovered a cDNA encoding a short polypeptide that abolished death of neuronal cells caused by multiple familial Alzheimer's disease genes and by amyloid-beta, with no effect on death caused by polyglutamine Q79 or superoxide dismutase-1 mutants. The transfected cDNA was transcribed and the polypeptide secreted into the culture medium. The authors noted that the rescue action depended on the primary structure of the peptide.

That specificity — active against one class of insult and inert against another — is worth holding onto. It is the strongest single argument that the observed protection was not a generic cell-culture artefact, and it is also the boundary of what the founding experiment established.

Claim ledger

8 of 11 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
A cDNA recovered by functional expression screening abolished neuronal cell death caused by multiple familial Alzheimer's disease genes and by amyloid-beta, with no effect on death caused by Q79 polyglutamine or superoxide dismutase-1 mutants; the encoded polypeptide was secreted into the medium and the rescue depended on primary structureCultured neuronal cellsTransfected cDNA expression and secreted peptide in mediumNot stated in abstractHashimoto 2001, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 11371646
Cys8 and Ser14 were commonly essential across Alzheimer's-relevant insults; the Pro3–Pro19 domain carried the rescue action, within which seven residues were essential; of HNG, ADNF, IGF-I and basic FGF, only HNG abolished cytotoxicity from all five tested insultsCell lines transfected with familial Alzheimer's disease mutants; amyloid-beta peptide exposuresIn-medium peptide exposureNot stated in abstractHashimoto 2001, J Neurosci, PMID 11717357
Wild-type humanin and its S7A and S14G analogs each adopted an indistinguishable anti-parallel beta-sheet structure in the presence of DOPG liposomes while unrelated peptides stayed disordered; all three were largely disordered in buffer, with S14G more stable as a disordered structure at physiological temperatureCell-free circular dichroism with DOPG liposomesNot applicableNot applicableHirano 2011, PMID 21215775
Inactive C8A-humanin was as structurally stable as potent S14G-humanin — both stayed largely disordered at 37 °C, while wild-type and S7A converted to a beta-sheet-like structure that was largely irreversible; the authors concluded instability does not explain C8A's loss of activityCell-free circular dichroism in phosphate-buffered saline at 5 °C and 37 °CNot applicableNot applicableArakawa 2014, Mol Med Rep, PMID 24247787
Detectable humanin decreased with age in rodent hypothalamus, skeletal muscle and cortex, and circulating humanin decreased with age in humans and mice; intracerebroventricular humanin infusion improved insulin sensitivity via hypothalamic STAT-3, an effect abolished by STAT-3 inhibition and absent in primary hepatocytesRats (hyperinsulinemic clamp), Zucker diabetic fatty rats, mice, and human samplesIntracerebroventricular and intravenous infusion in rodents; observational sampling in humansNot stated in abstractMuzumdar 2009, PLoS One, PMID 19623253
Humanin and MOTS-c were downregulated in atrial tissue from atrial fibrillation patients and inversely correlated with fibrosis extent; plasma MOTS-c was decreased in patients and inversely correlated with NT-proBNPMatched cohort: 39 atrial fibrillation patients and 39 sinus-rhythm controls, plus GEO public tissue dataObservational sampling (tissue and plasma)78 (39 + 39)Liao 2026, Biomedicines, PMID 42193373
HNG (the S14G analog) or MOTS-c reduced atrial fibrillation inducibility and attenuated angiotensin II-induced atrial fibrosis and hypertrophy, with improved mitochondrial ultrastructure, reduced Drp1 and Fis1, and lower IL-1beta and IL-6; note the intervention was HNG, not wild-type humaninMale C57BL/6J mice, angiotensin II-induced atrial fibrillation model; primary rat cardiomyocytes and fibroblastsNot specified in abstract (systemic administration in mouse model)36 miceLiao 2026, Biomedicines, PMID 42193373
Male offspring of a prenatal caloric-restriction plus postnatal high-fat/fructose model showed reduced beta-islet insulin and humanin; suppressing humanin disabled glucose-stimulated insulin secretion and ATP production and reduced beta-islet viability with apoptosisMale and female intrauterine growth-restricted rats and isolated beta-islets; human amniotic fluid samplesDietary exposure model; in-vitro humanin suppression in isletsNot stated in abstractGhosh 2025, Endocrinology, PMID 39823439
S14G-humanin (HNG) is approximately 1,000-fold more potent than wild-type humanin in neuroprotection assays.This multiplier is stated as background in Hirano 2011 (PMID 21215775) — "the S14G analog is 1000-fold more active than the wild type HN" — but that paper measures structure, not potency, and attaches no primary measurement to the figure. Searched PubMed for the string "1000-fold" combined with humanin and HNG (zero records), for S14G potency and EC50 comparisons in the 2001–2006 window (zero records), and for a Kariya et al. structure-activity paper that a web search suggested as the origin (no such record retrievable in PubMed; that suggestion is not treated as a source). Hashimoto 2001 J Neurosci (PMID 11717357) establishes that Ser14 is essential and that HNG outperformed three other neurotrophic factors across five insults, but reports no fold-potency ratio in its abstract. The direction of the claim is supported; the specific multiplier could not be traced to a primary measurement.No source found
Reconstituted humanin solution retains potency for roughly 28 to 60 days under refrigeration.This window circulates as supplier guidance. No published stability study of humanin in aqueous solution — no time-course, no HPLC purity curve, no aggregation assay — was located in PubMed. The relevant published chemistry points the other way in terms of concern rather than reassurance: humanin carries a single free cysteine at position 8, Cys8 is one of the two residues identified as essential (Hashimoto 2001, PMID 11717357), and the peptide converts largely irreversibly to a beta-sheet-like structure at 37 °C (Arakawa 2014, PMID 24247787). Thiol oxidation and disulfide-mediated aggregation are therefore plausible degradation routes, but no study has characterized them for this peptide. The 28–60 day figure rests on nothing published.No source found
Circulating humanin has an established human reference range that falls from a defined value in youth to a defined value in later life.The direction is sourced — Muzumdar 2009 (PMID 19623253) reports that circulating humanin decreased with age in humans and mice, and that tissue humanin decreased with age in rodent hypothalamus, skeletal muscle and cortex. The numbers are not. No age-stratified concentration table for humans was located, and the three registered human studies cannot supply one: NCT03431844 completed in 2019 with no outcome data posted, NCT06105229 carries a status of UNKNOWN, and NCT07678073 began in March 2026 and is still running. Any specific ng/mL pair quoted for humanin by age should be treated as untraced until a primary measurement is produced.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The two arms the reviews describe

Review-level descriptions of humanin's mechanism consistently split into an intracellular and a secreted arm. Zhu et al. (2022) summarize the intracellular arm as binding to the pro-apoptotic Bcl-2-family proteins BAX, Bim and tBid, and to IGFBP3, associations linked in cell models to inhibition of caspase activity and mitochondrial-pathway apoptosis.

The secreted arm is described as signaling through the G-protein-coupled formyl peptide receptor-like 1 and 2 (FPRL1/FPR2) to modulate apoptosis signal-regulating kinase and c-Jun N-terminal kinase pathways, and through a trimeric CNTFR-alpha / gp130 / WSX-1 receptor complex associated with JAK2/STAT3 activation. Binding to the soluble partners VSTM2L and IGFBP3 is also reported. Hazafa et al. (2020) describe the same architecture across leukocytes, germ cells and neurons.

Two caveats belong with this. First, these are review summaries of a distributed body of primary work, not single-experiment findings — the receptor assignments were established across different laboratories in different cell systems, and this page does not treat a review statement as equivalent to a measurement. Second, and more consequentially, a large share of the underlying functional experiments used analogs rather than the wild-type 24-mer.

Wild-type versus HNG: the substitution that changed the literature

S14G-humanin, usually written HNG, replaces serine at position 14 with glycine. It is a different molecule with a different sequence, and much of what circulates as "humanin" data was generated with it.

The most recent example is explicit. Liao et al. (2026) studied humanin and MOTS-c in atrial fibrillation, and the paper is careful about which molecule went into which experiment. Human atrial tissue and plasma were assayed for endogenous humanin. But the mouse intervention — angiotensin II-induced atrial fibrillation in 36 male C57BL/6J mice — administered HNG or MOTS-c, not wild-type humanin. Secondary summaries routinely collapse that distinction and report the mouse findings as humanin findings.

Structure-activity work explains why the substitution exists at all. Hashimoto et al. (2001, J Neurosci) mapped the rescue action to the domain from Pro3 to Pro19, found seven residues essential, and identified Cys8 and Ser14 as commonly required across Alzheimer's-relevant insults. In that same study only HNG, among HNG, activity-dependent neurotrophic factor, IGF-I and basic FGF, abolished cytotoxicity from all five tested insults. Whether the wild-type peptide would have done the same at higher concentration was not the question the experiment asked.

Structure, and the cysteine problem

Humanin is largely disordered in aqueous buffer. Hirano et al. (2011) examined the wild-type 24-mer alongside the S7A and S14G analogs in the presence of negatively charged DOPG liposomes and found all three adopted an indistinguishable anti-parallel beta-sheet structure, while unrelated control peptides remained disordered with and without liposome. Since S7A is described as inactive and S14G as more active, the conversion to beta-sheet on a charged membrane cannot by itself explain the activity difference. The authors instead noted that S14G was more stable in its disordered form in buffer at physiological temperature.

Arakawa, Niikura and Kita (2014) tested that stability hypothesis against a second inactive analog and it did not hold. C8A-humanin, which has no neuroprotective activity, proved as structurally stable as the potent S14G analog: both remained largely disordered at 37 °C, while the wild-type peptide and S7A converted to a beta-sheet-like structure that was largely irreversible on cooling. The authors concluded that instability does not account for C8A's activity loss and that an alternative explanation is required.

The chemistry has a practical consequence. The peptide contains a single cysteine at position 8, and Cys8 is one of the two residues identified as essential. Free-thiol oxidation and disulfide-mediated aggregation are therefore plausible degradation routes for any preparation — plausible, but not characterized by any published time-course found for this search.

The human record: measured, never administered

ClinicalTrials.gov holds exactly three studies naming humanin. None of them gives humanin to anyone.

NCT03431844, sponsored by the University of Tartu with Tartu University Hospital and North Estonia Medical Centre, was a prospective observational study of humanin isoforms in right atrial appendage tissue and blood plasma around on-pump coronary artery bypass grafting, with 30-day mortality, myocardial infarction, acute kidney injury and stroke as endpoints. It enrolled 106 participants and completed in August 2019. It has posted no outcome data.

NCT06105229 (Guangdong Provincial People's Hospital) is an observational study of plasma humanin as a candidate marker in acute kidney injury, 60 participants, with a listed status of UNKNOWN and a completion date of June 2024. NCT07678073 (University of Gaziantep) is interventional, but the interventions are sevoflurane general anesthesia and combined spinal-epidural anesthesia in 68 kidney-transplant recipients; humanin and MOTS-c are measured by ELISA as outcome variables at two perioperative timepoints. It began March 2026.

The distinction is the whole point. Circulating humanin has been observed in humans. Humanin has not been given to humans in any registered study.

Where the biomarker direction comes from

The claim that humanin declines with age does have a primary source, which distinguishes it from most age-decline claims in this category. Muzumdar et al. (2009) reported that detectable humanin decreased with age in rodent hypothalamus, skeletal muscle and cortex, and that circulating humanin levels decreased with age in humans and mice. The same study used hyperinsulinemic clamp technology in rats, found that intracerebroventricular humanin infusion improved insulin sensitivity, and showed that the hepatic effect was abolished by inhibiting hypothalamic STAT-3 and absent in primary hepatocytes.

What that study does not supply is a numeric reference range. No age-stratified concentration table for circulating humanin in humans was located, and none of the three registry studies has posted outcome data that would supply one. The direction is sourced; the magnitude is not.

Liao et al. (2026) add a matched-cohort human observation: humanin and MOTS-c were downregulated in atrial tissue from patients with atrial fibrillation, their levels inversely correlated with the extent of fibrosis, and plasma MOTS-c was decreased in the 39 atrial fibrillation patients relative to 39 sinus-rhythm controls, correlating inversely with NT-proBNP. That is an association in a small matched cohort, and the authors say so, calling for validation in larger cohorts.

What is not known

Humanin has never been administered to a human being in a registered study. All three ClinicalTrials.gov records naming it measure the peptide as an outcome variable: two are observational biomarker studies and the third administers anesthetic agents, not humanin. There is consequently no human pharmacokinetic data, no dose-ranging, no exposure-response relationship, no adverse-event profile and no route characterization of any kind in humans. A second and less obvious gap runs through the preclinical file: a substantial share of the in-vivo work described under the humanin heading used S14G-humanin (HNG) or other analogs rather than the wild-type 24-mer, including the mouse arm of the most recent atrial fibrillation study, so the animal evidence is not cleanly attributable to the molecule this page identifies. Assay specificity is a further open question — thirteen nuclear humanin-like paralogs (MTRNR2L1 to MTRNR2L13) share sequence homology with the mitochondrial peptide, and ELISA-based measurements in the observational studies do not resolve which species they detect. Handling chemistry is uncharacterized: no published stability time-course, no aggregation limit, no oxidation profile for the single free cysteine at position 8. Populations across the animal work skew heavily male (the atrial fibrillation model used male C57BL/6J mice; the metabolic model found the phenotype predominantly in males), and no long-term exposure data exist in any species. The reviewed role in cancer biology is explicitly described in the literature as debated and context-dependent, with reports pointing in opposite directions.

Questions

Is HNG the same molecule as humanin?
No. HNG is S14G-humanin, in which serine at position 14 is replaced by glycine. It has a different sequence and a different CAS number from the wild-type 24-mer, and the substitution sits at one of the two residues (Cys8 and Ser14) that Hashimoto et al. (2001, PMID 11717357) identified as commonly essential. The distinction matters because a large share of published in-vivo work used HNG. In Liao et al. (2026, PMID 42193373), for instance, human tissue was assayed for endogenous humanin but the mouse intervention administered HNG.
Has humanin been given to humans in a registered trial?
No. ClinicalTrials.gov holds three studies naming humanin and none administers it. NCT03431844 (University of Tartu, 106 participants, completed 2019) measured humanin isoforms in atrial tissue and plasma around cardiac surgery. NCT06105229 (60 participants, status UNKNOWN) measures plasma humanin in acute kidney injury. NCT07678073 (68 participants, started March 2026) is interventional, but its interventions are sevoflurane general anesthesia and combined spinal-epidural anesthesia; humanin and MOTS-c are measured by ELISA as outcome variables. None has posted outcome data.
Where does the 1,000-fold figure for HNG come from?
It could not be traced. Hirano et al. (2011, PMID 21215775) state it as background — that the S14G analog is 1000-fold more active than wild-type — but that paper measures secondary structure, not potency, and gives no citation for the number in its abstract. PubMed searches for "1000-fold" with humanin, and for S14G potency comparisons in the relevant period, returned nothing. The qualitative direction is supported by Hashimoto 2001 (PMID 11717357), where HNG outperformed three other neurotrophic factors across five insults. The multiplier itself is published here as untraced.
What does the sequence actually verify to?
MAPRGFSCLLLLTSEIDLPVKRRA, 24 residues, confirmed against PubChem CID 16131438 along with CAS 330936-69-1, molecular formula C119H204N34O32S2, molecular weight approximately 2687.2 g/mol, UNII H975EUX36G and ChEMBL4447799. PubChem synonyms also note a trifluoroacetate salt form, so the molecular weight of any specific preparation depends on salt form and is not fixed by the free-peptide figure.
Does humanin decline with age?
There is a primary source for the direction. Muzumdar et al. (2009, PMID 19623253) reported decreased detectable humanin with age in rodent hypothalamus, skeletal muscle and cortex, and decreased circulating humanin with age in humans and mice. What that study does not provide is an age-stratified numeric reference range for humans, and no such table was located elsewhere. Specific concentration figures quoted by age for humanin should be treated as untraced.

References

  1. Hashimoto Y, Niikura T, Tajima H, et al. A rescue factor abolishing neuronal cell death by a wide spectrum of familial Alzheimer's disease genes and Abeta. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2001;98(11):6336-41. PMID 11371646. PubMed links a correction at Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2001;98(22):12854, which carries no PMID of its own; the text of that correction could not be retrieved from PubMed Central, the publisher or the issue's corrections page as at 17 August 2026, so what it changed is not established here. View on doi.org
  2. Hashimoto Y, Niikura T, Ito Y, et al. Detailed characterization of neuroprotection by a rescue factor humanin against various Alzheimer's disease-relevant insults. J Neurosci. 2001;21(23):9235-45. PMID 11717357. View on doi.org
  3. Hirano A, Shiraki K, Niikura T, Arakawa T, Kita Y. Structure of three Humanin peptides with different activities upon interaction with liposome. Int J Biol Macromol. 2011;48(2):360-3. PMID 21215775. View on doi.org
  4. Arakawa T, Niikura T, Kita Y. Inactive C8A-humanin analog is as stable as a potent S14G-humanin analog. Mol Med Rep. 2014;9(1):375-9. PMID 24247787. View on doi.org
  5. Zhu S, Hu X, Bennett S, Xu J, Mai Y. The molecular structure and role of humanin in neural and skeletal diseases, and in tissue regeneration. Front Cell Dev Biol. 2022;10:823354. PMID 35372353. View on doi.org
  6. Karachaliou CE, Livaniou E. Neuroprotective action of humanin and humanin analogues: research findings and perspectives. Biology (Basel). 2023;12(12):1534. PMID 38132360. View on doi.org
  7. Hazafa A, Batool A, Ahmad S, et al. Humanin: a mitochondrial-derived peptide in the treatment of apoptosis-related diseases. Life Sci. 2020;264:118679. PMID 33130077. View on doi.org
  8. Coradduzza D, Congiargiu A, Chen Z, et al. Humanin and its pathophysiological roles in aging: a systematic review. Biology (Basel). 2023;12(4):558. PMID 37106758. View on doi.org
  9. Liao Y, Xu J, Jiao Y, et al. Humanin and MOTS-c attenuate atrial fibrillation by suppressing fibrosis and mitochondrial dysfunction. Biomedicines. 2026;14(5):1048. PMID 42193373. View on doi.org
  10. Muzumdar RH, Huffman DM, Atzmon G, et al. Humanin: a novel central regulator of peripheral insulin action. PLoS One. 2009;4(7):e6334. PMID 19623253. View on doi.org
  11. Ghosh S, Ganguly A, Habib M, et al. Hepatic and pancreatic cellular response to early life nutritional mismatch. Endocrinology. 2025;166(3):bqaf007. PMID 39823439. View on doi.org
  12. Nashine S, Kenney MC. Effects of mitochondrial-derived peptides (MDPs) on mitochondrial and cellular health in AMD. Cells. 2020;9(5):1102. PMID 32365540. View on doi.org
  13. Boutari C, Pappas PD, Theodoridis TD, Vavilis D. Humanin and diabetes mellitus: a review of in vitro and in vivo studies. World J Diabetes. 2022;13(3):213-223. PMID 35432758. View on doi.org
  14. Zuccato CF, Asad AS, Nicola Candia AJ, et al. Mitochondrial-derived peptide humanin as therapeutic target in cancer and degenerative diseases. Expert Opin Ther Targets. 2019;23(2):117-126. PMID 30582721. View on doi.org
  15. NCT03431844. Prospective clinical observational study of humanin isoforms in cardiac muscle and blood plasma and their association to major complications after cardiac operation. University of Tartu. Enrollment 106; completed August 2019; no outcome data posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  16. NCT06105229 (Clinical Value of Plasma Humanin in Acute Kidney Injury, 60 participants, status UNKNOWN) and NCT07678073 (ferroptosis, humanin and MOTS-c levels in renal transplantation, 68 participants, recruiting from March 2026). View on clinicaltrials.gov
  17. PubChem compound record CID 16131438 (Humanin): formula, molecular weight, CAS 330936-69-1, UNII H975EUX36G, ChEMBL4447799, DTXSID70186749, sequence designation. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.