Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
MOTS-c: An Evidence Ledger
MOTS-c is a 16-amino-acid peptide encoded inside the mitochondrial 12S rRNA gene and translated in the cytoplasm. The animal record is a decade deep and almost entirely intraperitoneal rodent work. The human record is thinner than it appears: a mass-spectrometry assay validated to anti-doping standards could not confirm the circulating concentrations that the immunoassay literature reports, and no completed study has administered the peptide to a person.
- Class
- Mitochondrial-derived peptide encoded by a short open reading frame within the mitochondrial 12S rRNA gene (MT-RNR1)
- CAS number
- 1627580-64-6
- PubChem CID
- 146675088
- Molecular formula
- C101H152N28O22S2
- Molecular weight
- 2174.6 g/mol (free base)
- Sequence
- MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR (16 residues); H-Met-Arg-Trp-Gln-Glu-Met-Gly-Tyr-Ile-Phe-Tyr-Pro-Arg-Lys-Leu-Arg-OH
- Also indexed as
- Mitochondrial open reading frame of the 12S rRNA-c; MOTS-c (human); UNII A5CV6JFB78. An acetate salt is also supplied commercially and carries no CAS number of its own; the FDA treats MOTS-c free base and MOTS-c acetate as distinct substances.
What the molecule is, and where it is made
MOTS-c is sixteen amino acids long. The verified sequence is MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR, with a molecular formula of C101H152N28O22S2 and a molecular weight of 2174.6 g/mol for the free base, confirmed against PubChem CID 146675088 together with CAS 1627580-64-6 and UNII A5CV6JFB78. The reading of the SMILES string residue by residue matches the sixteen-residue sequence. The open reading frame encoding it sits inside the mitochondrial 12S ribosomal RNA gene, MT-RNR1, which is the same structural arrangement that produced humanin from the neighbouring 16S region.
Lee and colleagues reported the peptide in Cell Metabolism in 2015, having gone looking for additional short open reading frames in mitochondrial DNA after humanin established that they existed. One detail from that paper is easy to skip and worth keeping. The authors stated that translation of MOTS-c obligatorily occurs in the cytoplasm using the standard genetic code, because reading the same sequence with the mitochondria-specific code yields tandem start and stop codons. The transcript has to leave the organelle to become a peptide.
Naming is a live problem rather than a pedantic one. In its May 2026 evaluation the FDA recorded that MOTS-c is a common name, not a United States Adopted Name, that there is no USP or National Formulary monograph for either the free base or the acetate salt, and that the withdrawn nomination it reviewed named one substance in the title of its certificate of analysis and a different one by CAS number. Free base and acetate salt are distinct substances with distinct properties, and material sold under the single label MOTS-c may be either.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Treated animals weighed approximately 20 percent less than vehicle-treated animals after eight weeks, with increased energy expenditure, reduced hepatic fat and suppression of diet-induced hyperinsulinaemia; caloric intake did not differ between groups | Adult male CD-1 mice on a diet supplying 60 percent of calories as fat | Intraperitoneal, 0.5 mg/kg/day, 8 weeks | 10 per group | Lee 2015, Cell Metab, PMID 25738459 |
| Exogenous glucose infusion rate required to maintain euglycaemia under insulin stimulation was approximately 30 percent higher than vehicle; the difference sat in insulin-stimulated glucose disposal, not hepatic glucose production | C57BL/6 mice, hyperinsulinaemic-euglycaemic clamp | Intraperitoneal, 5 mg/kg/day, 7 days | Not stated for the clamp cohort in the retrieved text | Lee 2015, Cell Metab, PMID 25738459 |
| Skeletal muscle MOTS-c rose 11.9-fold after exercise (P = 0.0098) and remained elevated after four hours; plasma rose 1.6-fold during exercise (P = 0.0011) and 1.5-fold post-exercise (P = 0.0021), returning to baseline by four hours | Sedentary healthy young men, mean age 24.5 ± 3.7 years, BMI 24.1 ± 2.1 | Observational sampling around a stationary cycle ergometer bout; nothing administered | 10 | Reynolds 2021, Nat Commun, PMID 33473109 |
| Treadmill running time increased approximately 2-fold and distance 2.16-fold, both P = 0.000002; 17 percent of treated animals reached the final sprint stage against 0 percent of controls | Old (22-month) male C57BL/6N mice | Intraperitoneal, 5 or 15 mg/kg | 5 to 19 per group across experiments in the paper | Reynolds 2021, Nat Commun, PMID 33473109 |
| Late-life intermittent treatment showed a trend towards increased median lifespan of 6.4 percent and maximum of 7.0 percent with a hazard ratio of 0.654; log-rank P = 0.05 until 31.8 months, but P = 0.23 across the overall curve. The authors stated larger cohorts are needed to confirm any effect on longevity | Male C57BL/6N mice, treatment initiated at 23.5 months | Intraperitoneal, 15 mg/kg, three times weekly | 19 control, 18 treated | Reynolds 2021, Nat Commun, PMID 33473109 |
| Endogenous plasma levels of 45.9 to 218.5 ng/mL measured by a commercially available ELISA could not be confirmed by an LC/MS method validated to WADA's International Standard for Laboratories with a lower limit of detection of 100 pg/mL | Reference population of healthy human subjects | Observational plasma sampling | 20 | Knoop 2019, Rapid Commun Mass Spectrom, PMID 30394592 |
| Proteolytic hydrolysis yielded the truncated fragments MOTS-c(2-16), MOTS-c(3-16), MOTS-c(4-16) and MOTS-c(5-16); the authors described the degradation as rapid and not dependent on long incubation | Human whole blood, in vitro | Incubation at 5 micrograms per millilitre, 37 degrees Celsius, 15 or 60 minutes | Not applicable | Knoop 2019, Rapid Commun Mass Spectrom, PMID 30394592 |
| Circulating MOTS-c was 11 percent lower in middle-aged and 21 percent lower in older men than in young men, while skeletal muscle MOTS-c expression was approximately 1.5-fold higher in both older groups; measured with an in-house sandwich ELISA from the laboratory that first described the peptide | Healthy men, three age bands: 18-30, 45-55 and 70-81 years | Observational plasma and muscle-biopsy sampling | 26 per group | D'Souza 2020, Aging (Albany NY), PMID 32182209 |
| Serum MOTS-c was significantly lower in subjects with type 2 diabetes than in controls (p < 0.007) and correlated negatively with age, HbA1c and glucose, and positively with BMI and cholesterol | Cross-sectional cohort: 68 normal, 33 prediabetes, 31 well-controlled and 93 poorly controlled type 2 diabetes | Observational serum sampling | 225 | Ramanjaneya 2019, Front Endocrinol, PMID 31214116 |
| Plasma MOTS-c was elevated in participants with metabolic syndrome (315 ± 27 pg/mL) and positively associated with waist circumference (p < 0.0001), android fat (p < 0.004) and liver fat — the opposite direction to the diabetes cohort above | 125 Chinese participants (91 male, 34 female) plus 34 European Caucasian women, none with diabetes; 26 with metabolic syndrome | Observational plasma sampling with imaging | 159 | Sequeira 2021, Biochim Biophys Acta Gen Subj, PMID 34419510 |
| Males but not females carrying the C-allele of the m.1382A>C variant, which yields the K14Q MOTS-c variant, showed higher prevalence of type 2 diabetes, with the association concentrated in the least active men; in mice, wild-type MOTS-c improved glucose tolerance and reduced weight while the K14Q variant did not | Three Japanese cohorts (J-MICC, MEC, TMM) totalling 27,527 participants; mouse arm used male and female CD-1 mice on a 60 percent fat diet | Observational genotyping in humans; intraperitoneal 7.5 mg/kg twice daily for 21 days in mice | 27,527 human participants; mouse group sizes not stated in the retrieved text | Zempo 2021, Aging (Albany NY), PMID 33468709 |
| Intraperitoneal MOTS-c reduced weight loss, colon shortening, diarrhoea and histological damage; oral administration of MOTS-c produced no significant improvement, prompting the authors to synthesise a (PRR)5-conjugated analogue designated MP | Mice with dextran sulfate sodium-induced colitis | Intraperitoneal and oral | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Jiang 2023, Eur J Pharmacol, PMID 36528071 |
| MOTS-c has a half-life of a few hours. | No pharmacokinetic figure of any kind for MOTS-c in any species was located. A PubMed search combining MOTS-c with pharmacokinetics, half-life, bioavailability and clearance returned six records, none of them a pharmacokinetic study: one rat ischaemia-reperfusion paper, two reviews, a preprint, and the two analogue papers. The FDA reached the same result independently and stated in its May 2026 evaluation that neither the nominator nor the Agency identified in vivo pharmacokinetic or toxicokinetic studies of MOTS-c. The only related measurement is Knoop's in vitro whole-blood incubation, which describes rapid hydrolysis to four truncated fragments but reports no half-life. Any specific number of hours quoted for MOTS-c rests on nothing published. | No source found | ||
| MOTS-c extends lifespan. | This traces to a real paper that does not support it as stated. Reynolds and colleagues (PMID 33473109) reported a trend towards 6.4 percent longer median and 7.0 percent longer maximum lifespan in 18 treated versus 19 control male C57BL/6N mice, with a log-rank P of 0.05 up to 31.8 months and P = 0.23 across the overall curve, and wrote that larger cohorts would be needed to confirm any effect on longevity. Searches for a second lifespan study of MOTS-c in any species returned none. The FDA's own briefing document restates the finding as an increase in lifespan and prints the day figures without the P = 0.23, so the overstatement is not confined to commercial pages. | No source found | ||
| MOTS-c is an exercise mimetic that improves VO2 max or aerobic capacity. | No study administering MOTS-c to a human and measuring oxygen uptake was located; the ClinicalTrials.gov search returned one interventional trial, whose endpoints are the Matsuda index and adverse events. The nearest human measurement points the other way. Domin and colleagues (PMID 37834399) measured resting serum MOTS-c against cardiopulmonary exercise testing in 20 physically active people, 17 male and 3 female, median age 30, and found positive correlations with muscle mass, average power and force but no association with peak oxygen uptake. The running-capacity results that anchor the mimetic framing are treadmill tests in intraperitoneally injected mice, not aerobic capacity in people. | No source found | ||
| Reconstituted MOTS-c retains potency for roughly 28 days under refrigeration, and lyophilised material is stable at minus 20 degrees Celsius. | The FDA traced the storage guidance to its actual origin: its evaluation cites a peptide supplier safety data sheet and a supplier product page for the claims that lyophilised MOTS-c is stable at minus 20 degrees desiccated and that reconstituted solution should be held at 4 degrees for two to seven days. Those are catalogue statements, not published measurements. A PubMed search returned no stability time-course, HPLC purity curve or aggregation assay for MOTS-c in aqueous solution. FDA added that it could not locate impurity, aggregate or endotoxin control data for either the free base or the acetate in the public literature, and concluded neither substance is well characterised. The 28-day window has no published basis. | No source found | ||
| Circulating MOTS-c in a healthy adult is a specific concentration in the tens or hundreds of nanograms per millilitre. | Figures in this range exist and are traceable to immunoassay, but they are contradicted rather than confirmed by the one orthogonal method applied to them. Knoop, Thomas and Thevis (PMID 30394592) reported ELISA values of 45.9 to 218.5 ng/mL in 20 healthy subjects that their LC/MS assay, validated to WADA's International Standard for Laboratories at a 100 pg/mL detection limit, could not confirm. Searches for a subsequent mass-spectrometry-based reference range for endogenous MOTS-c in human plasma, and for any published resolution of that discrepancy, returned nothing. Until one exists, quoted concentrations describe an assay result, not an established plasma level. | No source found | ||
| MOTS-c crosses the blood-brain barrier and improves cognition, and can be taken orally. | Both halves are contradicted in the primary papers usually cited for them. Jiang and colleagues (PMID 33861582) state that peripherally administered MOTS-c does not cross the blood-brain barrier, and screened cell-penetrating peptides to build a carrier-conjugated analogue, MP, for the intranasal and intravenous memory experiments. The same group (PMID 36528071) found that oral MOTS-c produced no significant improvement in a colitis model while intraperitoneal MOTS-c did, and again resorted to the (PRR)5 conjugate. Searches for oral bioavailability data on unmodified MOTS-c in any species returned none. The results attributed to MOTS-c by these routes belong to a different molecule. | No source found | ||
| The Japanese longevity variant of MOTS-c shows the peptide drives long life. | The two papers behind this point in opposite directions and neither establishes it. Fuku and colleagues (PMID 26289118) is a three-page hypothesis piece in Aging Cell proposing that the m.1382A>C variant, found in Northeast Asian populations, may be among the mechanisms behind Japanese longevity; it is framed as a question in its own title. Zempo and colleagues (PMID 33468709) then tested the variant across 27,527 participants in three Japanese cohorts and found that men carrying the C-allele had a higher prevalence of type 2 diabetes, with the association strongest in the least active. No study associating the variant with human lifespan or mortality was located. | No source found | ||
The founding mouse experiments
Lee and colleagues gave intraperitoneal MOTS-c at 0.5 mg/kg/day for eight weeks to adult male CD-1 mice on a diet supplying 60 percent of calories as fat, ten animals per group. Treated animals ended the eight weeks weighing roughly 20 percent less than vehicle-treated animals on the same diet, with increased energy expenditure and less hepatic fat, and the diet-induced rise in insulin was suppressed. Caloric intake did not differ between the groups, which is the observation that makes the result something other than an appetite effect.
A second arm used the hyperinsulinaemic-euglycaemic clamp. Mice treated at 5 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally required an exogenous glucose infusion rate approximately 30 percent higher than vehicle-treated animals to hold euglycaemia under insulin stimulation, and the difference sat in insulin-stimulated glucose disposal rather than hepatic glucose production. Ex vivo, soleus muscle from 12-month-old male C57BL/6 mice given 5 mg/kg/day for seven days took up 2-deoxyglucose at rates comparable to muscle from 3-month-old animals.
Mechanistically the paper traced the effect to the folate cycle and the de novo purine synthesis tethered to it, with accumulation of the intermediate AICAR and downstream AMPK activation. Kim and colleagues later showed that under glucose restriction the peptide translocates to the nucleus in an AMPK-dependent manner and engages antioxidant-response-element genes and NFE2L2/NRF2. The FDA's pharmacology reviewers noted two limits on all of this: the in vivo work has not established dose-response relationships, and the molecular target through which MOTS-c acts remains unknown, which makes it difficult to predict which organs are affected.
Exercise, physical capacity, and what the lifespan curve showed
Reynolds and colleagues sampled ten sedentary healthy young men, mean age 24.5 plus or minus 3.7 years, around a stationary cycle ergometer bout. Skeletal muscle MOTS-c rose 11.9-fold after exercise (P = 0.0098) and stayed elevated after four hours of rest. Plasma rose 1.6-fold during exercise (P = 0.0011) and 1.5-fold immediately after (P = 0.0021), returning to baseline by four hours. Nothing was administered in that experiment; endogenous peptide was measured before and after a physiological stimulus.
Mouse arms in the same paper used intraperitoneal injection at 5 or 15 mg/kg. In 22-month-old C57BL/6N animals, treadmill running time roughly doubled and distance rose 2.16-fold, both at P = 0.000002, with 17 percent of treated animals reaching the final sprint stage against none of the controls. Late-life intermittent treatment, begun at 23.5 months at 15 mg/kg three times weekly, improved grip strength, stride length and a 60-second walking test at beyond 30 months of age.
The lifespan result is the one that travels furthest and holds up least. With 19 control and 18 treated old mice, the authors reported a trend towards increased median lifespan of 6.4 percent and maximum of 7.0 percent, a hazard ratio of 0.654, and a log-rank P of 0.05 up to 31.8 months. Across the whole curve the comparison returned P = 0.23. Their own sentence is that larger cohorts will be needed to confirm the broader significance for overall longevity.
Drift from that finding is documented, and not only on commercial pages. The FDA's own 2026 briefing document states that late-life intermittent treatment increased not only physical capacity but also lifespan, and prints median and maximum figures of 912 and 1047 days for vehicle against 970 and 1120 days for treated animals without reproducing the P = 0.23 attached to the curve. The underlying numbers are correct. The characterisation is stronger than the statistics in the source support.
The measurement problem
Knoop, Thomas and Thevis built a liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry assay for MOTS-c in human plasma for doping control, validated to the World Anti-Doping Agency's International Standard for Laboratories, with a lower limit of detection of 100 pg/mL and coverage of four in vitro metabolites and two oxidation products. To set endogenous reference limits they compared it against a commercially available ELISA in a reference population of 20 healthy subjects. The ELISA returned 45.9 to 218.5 ng/mL. Those levels could not be confirmed by LC/MS.
The size of that gap deserves stating plainly. An ELISA reading of 45.9 ng/mL is 459 times the assay's stated detection limit. A method capable of seeing 100 pg/mL and finding nothing where an immunoassay reports hundreds of times that concentration is not a marginal disagreement between techniques. Either the immunoassay is detecting something other than intact MOTS-c, or the mass-spectrometry method is failing on a matrix effect the validation did not catch. The paper does not resolve it, and no published resolution was located for this page.
That unresolved discrepancy sits underneath the human observational literature, which is built on immunoassays. D'Souza and colleagues measured 26 healthy men per age group and reported circulating MOTS-c lower in middle-aged and older men than in young men by 11 and 21 percent respectively, using an in-house sandwich ELISA developed by the laboratory that first described the peptide. That is the source of the 21 percent figure now quoted widely without its assay, its sample size or its restriction to men.
Direction across human cohorts is not consistent either. Ramanjaneya and colleagues found serum MOTS-c significantly lower in 225 subjects with type 2 diabetes than controls (p < 0.007) and negatively correlated with age. Sequeira and colleagues, in 125 Chinese and 34 European participants without diabetes, found plasma MOTS-c elevated in those with metabolic syndrome and positively associated with android and liver fat. D'Souza found muscle expression roughly 1.5-fold higher in older men while plasma was lower. These studies are describing different tissues, different populations and different assays, and averaging them into one statement about what MOTS-c does with age would misrepresent all three.
Route, degradation, and the analogue substitution
No in vivo pharmacokinetic or toxicokinetic study of MOTS-c exists in any species. The FDA searched for one in preparing its evaluation and stated that neither the nominator nor the Agency identified any. The single pharmacokinetic-adjacent measurement is in vitro: Knoop and colleagues incubated human whole blood with MOTS-c at 5 micrograms per millilitre at 37 degrees Celsius for 15 or 60 minutes and recovered the truncated fragments MOTS-c(2-16), MOTS-c(3-16), MOTS-c(4-16) and MOTS-c(5-16), describing the proteolytic hydrolysis as rapid and not requiring long incubation.
Jiang and colleagues met the same wall from the therapeutic side. In a dextran sulfate sodium colitis model, intraperitoneal MOTS-c reduced weight loss, colon shortening and histological damage, while oral administration produced no significant improvement. Their response was to build a different molecule: MOTS-c linked through a linker at its C-terminus to the cell-penetrating peptide (PRR)5, designated MP. That conjugate, not MOTS-c, is what the oral arm of that literature actually tests.
An earlier paper from the same group reported that peripherally administered MOTS-c does not cross the blood-brain barrier. Central administration enhanced object and location recognition memory in their model and the effect was blocked by the AMPK inhibitor dorsomorphin, but the intranasal and intravenous results that make the cognitive claim portable were generated with MP. The distinction is the same one that runs through the humanin literature, where analogue data is routinely reported under the parent peptide's name.
The regulatory and trial record
MOTS-c is named in the 2026 World Anti-Doping Code Prohibited List at S4.4.1, among activators of AMP-activated protein kinase, alongside AICAR and BAM15. Substances in class S4.4 are non-Specified Substances, and section S4 is prohibited at all times, in and out of competition. It appears in the list index under both MOTS-c and its full expansion.
In May 2026 the FDA evaluated MOTS-c free base and MOTS-c acetate for the section 503A bulk drug substances list. The original nomination, from a compounding pharmacy network, proposed 5 mg and 10 mg lyophilised vials for subcutaneous injection for insulin resistance, obesity, osteoporosis, vascular calcification, muscle and fat metabolism, and longevity. That nomination was withdrawn; the Agency proceeded at its own discretion. Its findings were that no acute toxicity, repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, developmental and reproductive toxicity, or carcinogenicity study of either substance could be identified; that FAERS searches through 9 March 2025 retrieved no reports; that outsourcing facilities reported no compounding of either substance between January 2017 and December 2025; and that no published study used compounded MOTS-c in humans. FDA proposed that neither form be added to the list.
The advisory committee that heard the review voted against that proposal. Reporting of the July 2026 meeting places the vote in favour of adding MOTS-c at 7 to 5 with two abstentions; that tally was not located in an FDA document and is recorded here as trade-press attribution. The vote is advice. Addition to the list would still require notice-and-comment rulemaking, and the substance remains unapproved for human use.
ClinicalTrials.gov holds one interventional study administering MOTS-c to people. NCT07505745 is a Phase 2a randomised, quadruple-blind, placebo-controlled trial in adults aged 18 to 65 with prediabetes and a BMI of 27 to 40, planned enrolment 120, subcutaneous injection over 12 weeks, primary endpoints the Matsuda index at week 12 and treatment-emergent adverse events through week 16. The sponsor is Hudson Biotech, the single site is Peking University Shenzhen Hospital, it began on 2 February 2026, and primary completion is estimated for February 2027. No results are posted. Other registry records naming MOTS-c measure it as an outcome variable.
One retraction, in the bone literature
Weng and colleagues published a paper in European Review for Medical and Pharmacological Sciences in December 2019 reporting that MOTS-c accelerated bone fracture healing by stimulating osteogenesis of bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells through FOXF1 and the TGF-beta pathway. PubMed types it as a Retracted Publication. The retraction notice appeared in the same journal in March 2021, at the authors' request, citing inaccuracies during the process of organising the images.
A sweep of PubMed publication types and correction links across every paper cited on this page returned no other retraction, expression of concern or erratum. The two surviving bone papers are Hu and Chen, who reported that 1 micromolar MOTS-c increased osteogenic marker expression and calcified nodule formation in cultured rat bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells, and Yan and colleagues, who reported reduced bone erosion after local injection into the calvaria of adult male C57BL/6 mice in a polyethylene-particle osteolysis model. Both are preclinical. Neither addresses fracture healing, which was the retracted paper's subject.
What is not known
The largest gap is the simplest to state: MOTS-c has never been administered to a human being in any completed study. The FDA searched for one in May 2026 and reported that no published literature described compounded or non-compounded MOTS-c used in humans by any route, and that outsourcing facilities had reported no compounding of it between January 2017 and December 2025. Everything human in the file measures the endogenous peptide. Consequently there is no human pharmacokinetic data, no dose-ranging, no exposure-response relationship and no adverse-event profile; FAERS searches through 9 March 2025 retrieved no reports at all, which reflects the absence of a reporting pathway from 503A compounders rather than a demonstration of safety. The nonclinical file has the same shape of hole. No acute toxicity, repeat-dose toxicity, genotoxicity, developmental and reproductive toxicity, or carcinogenicity study of either the free base or the acetate has been identified, and no in vivo pharmacokinetic or toxicokinetic study exists in any species. Dose-response relationships have not been established in vivo, and the molecular target through which the peptide acts is unknown, which the FDA reviewers noted makes it difficult to predict which organs would be affected. Assay validity is unresolved and undercuts the observational literature: the immunoassay concentrations that the human cross-sectional studies rest on could not be confirmed by a validated mass-spectrometry method. Populations skew male — the founding metabolic work, the exercise and physical-capacity work, and the osteolysis model all used male rodents, with Lu's ovariectomy study the main exception — and exposure windows ran from three days to twelve weeks, with the late-life mouse arm the only long one. Immunogenicity has not been assessed for a sixteen-residue peptide proposed for repeated subcutaneous injection, and the aggregation and impurity profiles that would bear on it are absent from the public record for both salt forms.
Questions
Has MOTS-c been given to humans in a trial?
Why do the human blood-level figures for MOTS-c not agree?
Does MOTS-c decline with age?
Is MOTS-c approved or legal for human use?
Has any MOTS-c paper been retracted?
References
- Lee C, Zeng J, Drew BG, et al. The mitochondrial-derived peptide MOTS-c promotes metabolic homeostasis and reduces obesity and insulin resistance. Cell Metab. 2015;21(3):443-54. PMID 25738459. doi:10.1016/j.cmet.2015.02.009 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kim KH, Son JM, Benayoun BA, Lee C. The mitochondrial-encoded peptide MOTS-c translocates to the nucleus to regulate nuclear gene expression in response to metabolic stress. Cell Metab. 2018;28(3):516-524.e7. PMID 29983246. doi:10.1016/j.cmet.2018.06.008 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Reynolds JC, Lai RW, Woodhead JST, et al. MOTS-c is an exercise-induced mitochondrial-encoded regulator of age-dependent physical decline and muscle homeostasis. Nat Commun. 2021;12(1):470. PMID 33473109. doi:10.1038/s41467-020-20790-0 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Knoop A, Thomas A, Thevis M. Development of a mass spectrometry based detection method for the mitochondrion-derived peptide MOTS-c in plasma samples for doping control purposes. Rapid Commun Mass Spectrom. 2019;33(4):371-380. PMID 30394592. doi:10.1002/rcm.8337 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- D'Souza RF, Woodhead JST, Hedges CP, et al. Increased expression of the mitochondrial derived peptide, MOTS-c, in skeletal muscle of healthy aging men is associated with myofiber composition. Aging (Albany NY). 2020;12(6):5244-5258. PMID 32182209. doi:10.18632/aging.102944 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ramanjaneya M, Bettahi I, Jerobin J, et al. Mitochondrial-derived peptides are down regulated in diabetes subjects. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne). 2019;10:331. PMID 31214116. doi:10.3389/fendo.2019.00331 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sequeira IR, Woodhead JST, Chan A, et al. Plasma mitochondrial derived peptides MOTS-c and SHLP2 positively associate with android and liver fat in people without diabetes. Biochim Biophys Acta Gen Subj. 2021;1865(11):129991. PMID 34419510. doi:10.1016/j.bbagen.2021.129991 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zempo H, Kim SJ, Fuku N, et al. A pro-diabetogenic mtDNA polymorphism in the mitochondrial-derived peptide, MOTS-c. Aging (Albany NY). 2021;13(2):1692-1717. PMID 33468709. doi:10.18632/aging.202529 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fuku N, Pareja-Galeano H, Zempo H, et al. The mitochondrial-derived peptide MOTS-c: a player in exceptional longevity? Aging Cell. 2015;14(6):921-923. PMID 26289118. doi:10.1111/acel.12389 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Jiang J, Chang X, Nie Y, et al. Orally administered MOTS-c analogue ameliorates dextran sulfate sodium-induced colitis by inhibiting inflammation and apoptosis. Eur J Pharmacol. 2023;939:175469. PMID 36528071. doi:10.1016/j.ejphar.2022.175469 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Jiang J, Chang X, Nie Y, et al. Peripheral administration of a cell-penetrating MOTS-c analogue enhances memory and attenuates Abeta(1-42)- or LPS-induced memory impairment through inhibiting neuroinflammation. ACS Chem Neurosci. 2021;12(9):1506-1518. PMID 33861582. doi:10.1021/acschemneuro.0c00782 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Domin R, Pytka M, Zolynski M, et al. MOTS-c serum concentration positively correlates with lower-body muscle strength and is not related to maximal oxygen uptake - a preliminary study. Int J Mol Sci. 2023;24(19):14951. PMID 37834399. doi:10.3390/ijms241914951 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Weng FB, Zhu LF, Zhou JX, et al. MOTS-c accelerates bone fracture healing by stimulating osteogenesis of bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells via positively regulating FOXF1 to activate the TGF-beta pathway. Eur Rev Med Pharmacol Sci. 2019;23(24):10623-10630. PMID 31858528. RETRACTED: PubMed types this paper as a Retracted Publication; the retraction notice is Eur Rev Med Pharmacol Sci. 2021;25(6):2459, PMID 33829422, issued at the authors' request for inaccuracies during the process of organising the images. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Yan Z, Zhu S, Wang H, et al. MOTS-c inhibits osteolysis in the mouse calvaria by affecting osteocyte-osteoclast crosstalk and inhibiting inflammation. Pharmacol Res. 2019;147:104381. PMID 31369811. doi:10.1016/j.phrs.2019.104381 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hu BT, Chen WZ. MOTS-c improves osteoporosis by promoting osteogenic differentiation of bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells via TGF-beta/Smad pathway. Eur Rev Med Pharmacol Sci. 2018;22(21):7156-7163. PMID 30468456. doi:10.26355/eurrev_201811_16247 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lu H, Wei M, Zhai Y, et al. MOTS-c peptide regulates adipose homeostasis to prevent ovariectomy-induced metabolic dysfunction. J Mol Med (Berl). 2019;97(4):473-485. PMID 30725119. doi:10.1007/s00109-018-01738-w View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23-24 July 2026: Evaluation of MOTS-c-related bulk drug substances (MOTS-c free base and MOTS-c acetate) for inclusion on the 503A bulk drug substances list, dated 11 May 2026. Source for the absence of toxicology, pharmacokinetic, FAERS and human-use data, the identity table, and FDA's proposal not to add either substance. View on www.fda.gov
- World Anti-Doping Code International Standard, Prohibited List 2026, section S4.4.1: activators of AMP-activated protein kinase, naming mitochondrial open reading frame of the 12S rRNA-c (MOTS-c) alongside AICAR and BAM15; classes S4.3 and S4.4 are non-Specified Substances. Also PubChem CID 146675088 (MOTS-c) for formula C101H152N28O22S2, molecular weight 2174.6, CAS 1627580-64-6 and UNII A5CV6JFB78; and ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT07505745, verified 17 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.