Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Nefiracetam (DM-9384)

Nefiracetam is piracetam carrying a 2,6-dimethylanilide where piracetam carries a primary amide, developed at Daiichi Pharmaceutical as DM-9384 and taken to phase III in Japan. Three human trials are indexed in PubMed, all in post-stroke populations and all from one continuous author group; two of the three separated nothing from placebo. Daiichi withdrew the Japanese application in February 2002 for insufficient efficacy, and the pivotal trials behind that withdrawal have never been published.

Strongest evidence: Human dataThree PubMed-indexed randomised trials, all in post-stroke populations and all from a single continuous author group; two reported no significant separation from placebo. Phase III was reached in Japan; trials of unstated phase were completed in China by August 2000 in preparation for a filing. Neither dataset is published. No marketing authorisation was located in any jurisdiction. 19 claims logged 12 with primary citations 7 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic 2-pyrrolidinone of the piracetam type, carrying an N-(2,6-dimethylphenyl)acetamide on the ring nitrogen where piracetam carries an unsubstituted acetamide. Achiral. Reported in rat neuronal preparations as a positive modulator of alpha4beta2 nicotinic acetylcholine receptors and of NMDA receptor currents, in both cases with a bell-shaped nanomolar concentration-response; the same experiment inhibited rather than potentiated human alpha4beta2 subunits expressed in a cell line. Metabolised in humans principally by CYP3A4, with a relatively minor contribution from CYP1A2 and a contribution from CYP2C19 judged negligible.
CAS number
77191-36-7
PubChem CID
71157
Molecular formula
C14H18N2O2
Molecular weight
246.30 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
DM-9384; DM 9384; DZL-221; Translon; Motiva; N-(2,6-dimethylphenyl)-2-(2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide; UNII 1JK12GX30N; CHEMBL260829; DrugBank DB13082; MeSH C058876; NSC-759830; ChEBI 135004; EPA DTXSID2020923; InChIKey NGHTXZCKLWZPGK-UHFFFAOYSA-N

Chemical identity

Nefiracetam travels under four other names, and every one of them lands on the same substance: the development codes DM-9384 and DZL-221, and the trade designations Translon and Motiva. PubChem holds a single record for it — CID 71157, CAS 77191-36-7, formula C14H18N2O2, molecular weight 246.30, InChIKey NGHTXZCKLWZPGK-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name N-(2,6-dimethylphenyl)-2-(2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide. The FDA substance register gives the same CAS and formula, files the substance as achiral under UNII 1JK12GX30N, and gathers the cross-references on that one entry: CHEMBL260829, DrugBank DB13082, MeSH C058876, NSC 759830 and EPA DTXSID2020923. That register also marks the record status as approved, which describes the curation state of the substance entry rather than any marketing authorisation for a medicine.

Structurally the molecule is piracetam with one substitution. Both carry a 2-pyrrolidinone ring bearing an acetamide on the ring nitrogen; in nefiracetam the amide nitrogen carries a 2,6-dimethylphenyl group in place of one of its two hydrogens, leaving a secondary anilide. That anilide governs the pharmacokinetics described further down, because the phenyl ring and the pyrrolidine ring are hydroxylated along separate routes and produce separate metabolites. PubChem gives a computed XLogP of 1.4 and a topological polar surface area of 49.4 square angstroms for the parent. Buol and colleagues, working in 2020, describe the compound as poorly water-soluble, which was the premise of their work (PMID 32660115).

Solid-state characterisation is recent and postdates the clinical programme by nearly two decades. Buol and colleagues reported in 2019 that three solid forms of the molecule had until then gone unidentified: a monohydrate and two polymorphic phases of the anhydrate, which they compared on dissolution rate and solubility (PMID 31348939). The same group published thirteen cocrystals in 2020, three of them formed with citric acid, oxalic acid and zinc chloride, and characterised those three structurally and physically against the parent, comparing solubility, dissolution rate and stability (PMID 32660115). Neither paper reports a shelf-life for the parent as supplied, and the 2020 stability comparison is reported without a storage interval.

Claim ledger

12 of 19 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Peak serum concentration within 2 hours, monophasic decline with half-life 3-5 hours, apparent clearance 94.4-140.3 mL/min, under 10% of dose recovered in urine unchanged at 24 h, faecal recovery under 0.1% after 300 mg; after a single 200 mg dose the parent peaked at 16.3 +/- 0.9 nmol/mL at 1.6 h with terminal half-life 3.9 h, against 0.96-4.89 nmol/mL, 4.1-9.6 h and 7.8-21.9 h for three metabolites, with the parent about 5% and all four compounds 43.4% of dose in 24-h urineHealthy volunteers; healthy Japanese male volunteers in the 1992 studyOral, single doses and 200 mg three times daily for 7 daysNot stated in either retrieved abstractFujimaki 1992, J Pharm Pharmacol 44:750-4, PMID 1360528; Fujimaki 1993, Xenobiotica 23:61-70, PMID 8484264
No significant time-by-treatment interaction on depression scores; response over 70% and remission over 40% on both drug and placebo; significant effect only in the top quintile of Hamilton Depression Rating Scale scores at 900 mgPatients within 3 months of stroke meeting criteria for major depressionOral, placebo or 600 mg or 900 mg daily159 enrolledRobinson 2008, J Neuropsychiatry Clin Neurosci 20:178-84, PMID 18451188
Significant time-by-treatment interaction; the 900 mg group showed significantly greater change in Apathy Scale scores than 600 mg or placeboPost-stroke major depression; 70 of 137 also met diagnostic criteria for apathyOral, placebo or 600 mg or 900 mg daily for at least 4 weeks137 enrolled, 70 apatheticRobinson 2009, J Neuropsychiatry Clin Neurosci 21:144-51, PMID 19622685
Apathy Scale fell a mean 7.0 points across the study, with no significant between-group difference at week 12; authors report the compound ineffective for this indication. One active arm only, with no 600 mg groupStroke patients with apathy, two centresOral, 900 mg daily or placebo, for 12 weeks13 randomisedStarkstein 2016, J Stroke Cerebrovasc Dis 25:1119-27, PMID 26915605
One of three agents that did not separate significantly from placebo; ranked worst of ten treatments on efficacy, standardised mean difference versus placebo 0.51 against -6.54 for the best-ranked drugPatients with post-stroke depression, multiple-treatments meta-analysis of randomised trialsVarious oral antidepressant regimens12 trials, 707 participantsSun 2017, BMJ Open 7:e016499, PMID 28775189
Alpha4beta2-type nicotinic currents potentiated to 200-300% of control at 1 nM with a bell-shaped concentration-response, alpha7 currents only weakly inhibited, the effect abolished by cholera toxin and unaffected by pertussis toxin, while human alpha4beta2 subunits in HEK cells were inhibited rather than potentiated; NMDA-evoked currents potentiated with minimum effective concentration 1 nM and maximum 170% of control at 10 nM, also bell-shaped, prevented by 1 microM 7-chlorokynurenic acid, with AMPA and kainate currents unaffected at 10 nMRat cortical neurons in long-term primary culture; human alpha4beta2 subunits expressed in human embryonic kidney cellsBath application, whole-cell patch clampNot stated in the retrieved abstractsZhao 2001, Mol Pharmacol 59:674-83, PMID 11259610; Moriguchi 2003, J Pharmacol Exp Ther 307:160-7, PMID 12805478
10 mg/kg daily for 7 days significantly raised GABA turnover and glutamic acid decarboxylase activity in cortex and hippocampus and stimulated sodium-dependent high-affinity GABA uptake in cortical synaptosomes; potassium-evoked release of [14C]GABA from cortical slices was markedly increased at 10 nM and 1 nM; GABA-A and benzodiazepine receptor binding unaffected from 10^-10 to 10^-3 MAdult rats in vivo; rat cortical slices and synaptosomes in vitroOral for the in vivo work; bath application for the in vitro workNot stated in the retrieved abstractWatabe 1993, Eur J Pharmacol 238:303-9, PMID 8405098
Minor, regionally restricted and non-dose-dependent changes in tissue monoamines; microdialysis showed no significant effect on extracellular striatal HVA, DOPAC or 5-HIAA, or on hippocampal HVA, DOPAC or noradrenaline, while extracellular hippocampal 5-HIAA fell by 20% at the 1 and 3 mg/kg doses; no effect on synaptosomal uptake of labelled noradrenaline, serotonin or dopamine from 1 nM to 10 microMMale adult Sprague-Dawley ratsOral, single doses 1-100 mg/kg and daily 1-30 mg/kg for 14 daysNot stated in the retrieved abstractLuthman 1994, Arch Int Pharmacodyn Ther 328:125-44, PMID 7535993
Thirteen weeks in rats at 30, 120 or 480 mg/kg: hepatocyte hypertrophy in males from 120 mg/kg, and at 480 mg/kg salivation, prone position, raised cholesterol, protein, albumin and bilirubin and increased liver weight; non-toxic dose 30 mg/kg. Thirteen weeks in Beagle dogs at 20, 60 or 180 mg/kg: hypospermatogenesis and slightly increased splenic haemosiderin in male dogs from 60 mg/kg, renal papillary necrosis in both sexes at 180 mg/kg; non-toxic dose 20 mg/kg. Fifty-two weeks in rats at 10-300 mg/kg/day: renal papillary and collecting-duct hyperplasia with cortical scarring, no-effect level 10 mg/kg/day. Fifty-two weeks in dogs at 10-90 mg/kg/day: findings confined to 90 mg/kg/day, kidney and testis the target organs, non-toxic effect level 10 mg/kg/dayRats and Beagle dogsOral, 13 or 52 weeks; capsule in the dog studiesGroup sizes not stated in the retrieved abstractsJindo 1994, Arzneimittelforschung 44(2A):214-6, PMID 8018092; Sugawara 1994, 44(2A):217-9, PMID 8018093; Hooks 1994, 44(2A):220-8, PMID 8018094; Hooks 1994, 44(2A):228-38, PMID 8018095
No effect on fertility up to 480 mg/kg/day and no teratogenicity up to 1000 mg/kg/day in rats or 270 mg/kg/day in rabbits, with rat fetuses at 1000 mg/kg showing lower body weights, delayed ossification and more skeletal variations alongside reduced maternal weight gain and food intake; 104-week oncogenicity studies reported no evidence of an oncogenic effect, slight body-weight reduction in high-dose males the only findingRats and rabbits for the reproductive studies; B6C3F1 mice at 30, 90 and 270 mg/kg/day and F344 rats at 200, 600 and 1800 ppm in diet for the oncogenicity studiesOralGroup sizes not stated in the retrieved abstractsWatanabe 1994, Arzneimittelforschung 44(2A):239-42, PMID 8018096; Kajimura 1994, 44(2A):254-9, PMID 8018100
Renal papillary necrosis occurred in the dog only and not in rats or monkeys; at 300 mg/kg/day over 11 weeks urinary osmotic pressure fell from week 5, urine volume and urinary LDH rose from week 8, and papillary ductal epithelial necrosis appeared at week 8; only the metabolite M-18, not the parent, reduced prostaglandin synthesis in canine renal papillary slicesBeagle dogs, rats and monkeys, in vivo and in vitroOral repeated administration; slices for the in vitro workNot stated in the retrieved abstractTsuchiya 2003, Eur J Pharmacol 475:119-28, PMID 12954368
Testicular testosterone fell 4 h after a single 300 mg/kg dose, serum testosterone fell after single, 1-week and 2-week treatment, serum oestradiol rose from 1 to 4 weeks, LH, FSH and inhibin B unchanged; reduced sperm motility and increased malformed sperm at 4 weeks; moderate to severe seminiferous atrophy with multinucleated giant cell formation at 180 and 300 mg/kg/day after 4 weeks but not after 1 weekMale beagle dogsOral, 180 or 300 mg/kg per day, single dose and 1- and 4-week treatmentNot stated in the retrieved abstractShimomura 2004, Reprod Toxicol 18:423-30, PMID 15082078
Aggregator and forum sources describe the compound as fat-soluble and assert that co-administration with dietary lipid increases absorptionPubChem CID 71157 returns a computed XLogP of 1.4 and a topological polar surface area of 49.4 square angstroms, and Buol 2020 (PMID 32660115) describes the compound as poorly water-soluble, which is not the same property. Searched PubMed for the compound combined with food effect, fat, high-fat meal, lipid and absorption terms; the only human food-effect measurement located is Fujimaki 1992 (PMID 1360528), which reports that food intake delayed absorption and did not significantly modify the pharmacokinetics. No study co-administering dietary lipid was found in PubMed or in general web search. The circulating claim runs in the opposite direction to the one primary measurement.No source found
Circulating sources state that the compound was approved and marketed in Japan, as Translon, for the after-effects of strokeCrespi 2002 (PMID 12090554) records that Daiichi withdrew the Japanese new drug application in February 2002 because the revised phase III trial showed insufficient efficacy. That withdrawal is a sponsor action; the abstract records no regulatory adjudication, and it does not say that any regulator required the earlier phase III work to be redone. A Drugs@FDA query via the openFDA endpoint returns no matching application for the name. No marketing authorisation was located in any register searched. The names Translon and Motiva do appear in PubChem's synonym list for CID 71157, but a trade designation in a synonym record is evidence of an intended brand, not of an approval; FDA GSRS marks the substance record status as approved, which is the curation state of that entry.No source found
Circulating sources state that the testicular toxicity was a dog-only artefact caused by the dog-specific metabolite M-18 and therefore does not apply to other speciesThe claim merges two separate toxicities. Tsuchiya 2003 (PMID 12954368) attributes renal papillary necrosis to M-18 and reports that of rats, dogs and monkeys only the dog developed it. The testicular lesion is not confined to the dog: Shimada 2003 (PMID 12849691) reported seminiferous atrophy with multinucleated giant cell formation in male Slc:SD rats at 1500 mg/kg/day for 4 weeks, and Shimomura 2004 (PMID 15082078) attributes the canine lesion to reduced testicular testosterone rather than to M-18. Searched PubMed for the compound combined with M-18, metabolite 18, testis, testicular and Leydig; no publication linking M-18 to testicular toxicity in any species was located.No source found
Circulating sources state that nefiracetam raises brain dopamine, serotonin and noradrenalineLuthman 1994 (PMID 7535993) measured tissue monoamines in male Sprague-Dawley rats after single oral doses of 1 to 100 mg/kg and after 14 days at 1 to 30 mg/kg, ran in vivo microdialysis in freely moving animals, and tested synaptosomal uptake from 1 nM to 10 micromolar. The reported result is minor, regionally restricted and non-dose-dependent changes in tissue monoamines, and no uptake effect. Microdialysis showed no significant effect on extracellular striatal HVA, DOPAC or 5-HIAA, or on hippocampal HVA, DOPAC or noradrenaline, with one exception: extracellular hippocampal 5-HIAA fell by 20 per cent at the 1 and 3 mg/kg doses, a fall rather than the rise being claimed. The authors conclude the cognitive action does not appear to be related to presynaptic monoamine function. Searched PubMed for the compound combined with dopamine, serotonin, noradrenaline, monoamine and microdialysis; no primary study reporting a sustained rise was located.No source found
Circulating sources state that nefiracetam is several times more potent than piracetamSearched PubMed for head-to-head administration of both compounds in one preparation with a stated potency ratio; none was located. Malykh and Sadaie 2010 (PMID 20166767) place the two in different structural subgroups, state that the mode of action of some subgroup 3 compounds including this one resembles that of the subgroup 1 drugs, and report that it failed to improve cognition in post-stroke patients; the review gives no potency ratio. The nanomolar figures that circulate as evidence of potency come from Zhao 2001 (PMID 11259610) and Moriguchi 2003 (PMID 12805478), neither of which tested piracetam. The multiplier appears on aggregator pages without an attached experiment.No source found
Circulating sources state that human trials showed cognitive benefit in dementiaClinicalTrials.gov returns exactly one registered study under the compound name or either development code: NCT00001933, a NINDS phase 2 study of 50 participants in Alzheimer's-type dementia, completed January 2002, with the posted-results field reading false. Searched PubMed for the registry number, for the sponsor combined with the compound, and for the compound with dementia and Alzheimer terms; no publication of that trial was located. The three PubMed-indexed human trials all concern post-stroke depression or apathy, and two of the three reported no significant separation from placebo. The one further human report located, Hirata 1996 (PMID 8728419), is an uncontrolled event-related-potential study in fourteen chronic cerebral-thrombosis patients, not a dementia trial.No source found
Supplier catalogue copy states that the powder is stable at room temperature for approximately two yearsThis figure appears only in supplier catalogue copy. Searched PubMed for the compound combined with stability, degradation, shelf-life and storage; the closest published work is Buol 2019 (PMID 31348939), which identified a monohydrate and two anhydrate polymorphs previously unreported and compared their dissolution and solubility, and Buol 2020 (PMID 32660115), which compared the solubility, dissolution rate and stability of three cocrystals against the parent. The 2020 paper therefore does report a stability comparison, but for cocrystals rather than the parent as supplied, and neither paper states a storage interval or a shelf-life. No stability study traceable to an experiment on the marketed-style material was located in PubMed or in general web search.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

Three published human trials, one author group

Filtering PubMed to clinical-trial publication types returns exactly three records for this compound. All three enrolled post-stroke patients and all three run through one continuous author group: the 2008 trial is from the University of Iowa, Starkstein and the Western Australian centres join from 2009, and the 2016 trial is Western Australian with Robinson as a co-author. The doses are not common to all three. Two used placebo, 600 mg and 900 mg daily; the third tested 900 mg daily against placebo alone. No other group has replicated the depression or apathy endpoints. The wider PubMed set is 144 records, of which 28 are indexed to humans and most of those are reviews, analytical-chemistry papers or metabolism studies rather than administration to patients.

Robinson and colleagues enrolled 159 patients within three months of a stroke who met criteria for major depression, and randomised them double-blind to placebo, 600 mg daily or 900 mg daily. Repeated-measures analysis of covariance failed to show a significant time-by-treatment interaction. Response rates exceeded 70 per cent and remission rates exceeded 40 per cent on both drug and placebo. A significant effect appeared only in the top quintile of Hamilton Depression Rating Scale scores at 900 mg. The authors' own stated conclusion is that the compound was not an effective treatment for post-stroke depression, with improvement confined to the most severely depressed patients.

The 2009 report by the same group examined apathy inside that depressed cohort. Of 137 stroke patients with major depression, 70 met diagnostic criteria for apathy; participants received placebo, 600 mg or 900 mg daily for at least four weeks. Analysis showed a significant time-by-treatment interaction, and the 900 mg group showed a significantly greater change in Apathy Scale scores than either the 600 mg group or placebo. PubMed types this record as a phase II randomised controlled trial. The population was selected for depression first and apathy second, which constrains what the apathy result describes.

Starkstein and colleagues then ran a dedicated test of that finding. Their two-centre trial randomised 13 stroke patients with apathy to twelve weeks of 900 mg daily or placebo, with the fourteen-item Apathy Scale as the primary measure. Scores fell by a mean of 7.0 points across the study, and there was no significant between-group difference at week 12. The authors report the compound as ineffective for post-stroke apathy and name the very small randomised sample as the main limitation, and no 600 mg arm was included in this trial.

Later syntheses place the compound at the bottom of its comparison set. Sun and colleagues built a multiple-treatments meta-analysis of ten antidepressants and placebo in post-stroke depression from twelve trials and 707 participants; all drugs separated significantly from placebo apart from sertraline, fluoxetine and this one, and the standardised mean differences ranged from minus 6.54 for the best-ranked drug to 0.51 for the worst-ranked, which was nefiracetam. A 2025 systematic review of post-stroke apathy treatment covering ten trials and 2,359 patients describes the results for this compound as mixed depending on dose and coexisting depression.

The trials that decided its fate were never published

Crespi's 2002 development review in Current Opinion in Investigational Drugs records the programme in some detail. By September 1999 the compound was in phase II in the United States for mental symptoms associated with the sequelae of stroke and for Alzheimer's-type dementia. Trials in China had been completed by August 2000 in preparation for a filing. Modified phase III trials were being repeated in Japan in preparation for a re-filing, with the protocol for the first Japanese retrial approved at the end of July 1999 and completion expected by the end of 2000. In February 2002 Daiichi withdrew the Japanese application, citing insufficient efficacy in the revised trial.

None of that appears in the indexed literature. A PubMed search for the compound combined with cerebral infarction or cerebrovascular terms returns eight records, none indexed as a clinical trial; seven are rodent studies, reviews or electrophysiology reports. The eighth is human administration data from an unrelated group: Hirata and colleagues at Dokkyo University School of Medicine recorded auditory oddball event-related potentials in fourteen chronic cerebral-thrombosis patients and fourteen normal subjects, and reported that P3 and N1 abnormalities improved after administration of the compound (PMID 8728419). That report is uncontrolled, states no dose, and is not indexed as a trial. The Japanese phase III programme, the completed Chinese trials and the United States phase II work in dementia have no located publications. What is readable is the sponsor's own stated reason for withdrawing its application, reported second-hand in a commercial development digest.

ClinicalTrials.gov returns a single registered study: NCT00001933, "Nefiracetam Therapy of Alzheimer's Type Dementia", a phase 2 study sponsored by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, enrolling 50 participants on three capsules twice daily for twenty weeks, running from July 1999 to January 2002 and marked completed. The registry field for posted results reads false, and no corresponding publication was located. Searching the registry across the compound name and both development codes returns that single record and nothing else. The compound is not approved for human use in any jurisdiction identified here, and a Drugs@FDA query returns no matching application.

Pharmacokinetics in people

Fujimaki and colleagues at Daiichi published the human disposition data in 1992, in healthy Japanese male volunteers given single oral doses and then 200 mg three times daily for seven days. Serum concentrations peaked within two hours in every dosage group and declined monophasically with half-lives of three to five hours. Area under the curve and peak concentration were linearly related to dose, apparent clearance ran 94.4 to 140.3 mL per minute, and less than 10 per cent of the dose was recovered in urine as the unchanged compound within 24 hours. Faecal recovery after a 300 mg dose was under 0.1 per cent at 24 hours. Food delayed absorption without significantly modifying the pharmacokinetics, and multiple dosing produced no clinically significant accumulation.

That abstract does not agree with itself on one point. It states that single doses of 10 to 200 mg were studied, then reports that renal clearance did not change significantly as dose increased from 10 to 1200 mg. The retrieved text does not reconcile the two ranges, and the number of volunteers is not stated in it. The figure most often quoted from this paper elsewhere, the three-to-five-hour half-life, is one of the few widely circulated numbers about this compound that traces cleanly to a primary measurement.

A companion paper in 1993 followed the parent and three metabolites. After a single 200 mg dose the peak serum level of the parent was 16.3 plus or minus 0.9 nmol/mL, against 0.96 to 4.89 nmol/mL for the metabolites; time to peak was 1.6 hours for the parent against 4.1 to 9.6 hours for the metabolites, and terminal half-life 3.9 hours against 7.8 to 21.9 hours. Urinary recovery of the parent over 24 hours was about 5 per cent of dose, while the major urinary metabolite, a pyrrolidine ring-scission product, reached 17.8 per cent; all four compounds together accounted for 43.4 per cent. Steady state on three daily 200 mg doses was reached within seven days.

Ten urinary metabolites were isolated and identified from human volunteers in 1990, the principal routes being hydroxylation of the pyrrolidine ring at C5 followed by oxidative carbon-nitrogen cleavage, and hydroxylation of the phenyl ring followed by sulphate conjugation. Work in expressed human cytochromes in 1996 assigned formation of the 5-hydroxy metabolite principally to CYP3A4, and a human liver microsome study in 2001 assigned that formation principally to CYP3A4 with a relatively minor contribution from CYP1A2, and found CYP2C19 capable of the reaction but judged its contribution negligible (PMID 11428655). Rat liver microsomes distribute the same reactions across CYP3A2, CYP2C11, CYP2B1 and CYP2E1, so the rodent and human metabolic maps are not interchangeable.

Nanomolar potentiation, a bell-shaped curve, and a species discrepancy

Zhao and colleagues recorded from rat cortical neurons in long-term primary culture using whole-cell patch clamp. Alpha-bungarotoxin-sensitive alpha7 currents were only weakly inhibited, while alpha4beta2-type currents were potentiated to 200 to 300 per cent of control at 1 nM. Concentrations near 10 micromolar also potentiated, but less, giving a bell-shaped concentration-response. Protein kinase A and protein kinase C inhibitors did not prevent the effect, pertussis toxin pretreatment did not affect it, and cholera toxin abolished it, which the authors read as involvement of Gs proteins rather than Gi or Go.

The same paper carries a result that is absent from every secondary summary of it reviewed here. Human alpha4beta2 subunits expressed in human embryonic kidney cells were inhibited by the compound rather than potentiated. The nanomolar potentiation figure that circulates as a description of what this molecule does was obtained in rat neurons, and the one human-subunit preparation in the paper went the other way. Whether that reflects subunit species differences, the expression system, or something else is not settled by the paper, and no follow-up resolving it was located.

Moriguchi and colleagues extended the same approach to glutamate receptors. NMDA-evoked currents in rat cortical neurons were potentiated with a minimum effective concentration of 1 nM and a maximum of 170 per cent of control at 10 nM, again bell-shaped; 7-chlorokynurenic acid prevented the potentiation, and AMPA and kainate currents were unaffected at 10 nM, which the authors attributed to an interaction with the glycine binding site. A 2007 paper from the same group added that the potentiation was blocked by the protein kinase C inhibitor chelerythrine but not by the protein kinase A inhibitor H-89, that PKCalpha activity rose with a bell-shaped dose-response peaking at 10 nM, and that 10 nM largely eliminated voltage-dependent magnesium block.

Watabe and colleagues reported that 10 mg/kg orally for seven days in adult rats raised GABA turnover and glutamic acid decarboxylase activity in cortex and hippocampus and stimulated sodium-dependent high-affinity GABA uptake in cortical synaptosomes; potassium-evoked release of labelled GABA from cortical slices rose at 10 nM and 1 nM, and GABA-A and benzodiazepine receptor binding were unaffected from 10^-10 to 10^-3 M (PMID 8405098). Luthman and colleagues gave male Sprague-Dawley rats single doses of 1 to 100 mg/kg and daily doses of 1 to 30 mg/kg for fourteen days and found minor, regionally restricted, non-dose-dependent changes in tissue monoamines. Microdialysis showed no significant effect on striatal HVA, DOPAC or 5-HIAA, or on hippocampal HVA, DOPAC or noradrenaline; extracellular hippocampal 5-HIAA fell by 20 per cent at the 1 and 3 mg/kg doses. Synaptosomal uptake of labelled noradrenaline, serotonin and dopamine was unaffected from 1 nM to 10 micromolar.

The 1994 toxicology package

Twelve papers published together in a February 1994 supplement of Arzneimittelforschung constitute the regulatory toxicology programme, run partly at Daiichi's own safety laboratories and partly at a contract laboratory in Cambridgeshire. Coverage is broad for a compound in this category: single-dose studies in mice, rats and dogs, thirteen-week and fifty-two-week oral studies in rats and dogs, reproductive toxicity in rats and rabbits, drug dependence in rats, antigenicity, mutagenicity and two-year oncogenicity in mice and rats. No repeat of any study in that package was located; PubMed was searched for the compound combined with each study type and species, and the most recent toxicology located is Shimomura 2004 (PMID 15082078).

In the thirteen-week rat study at 30, 120 or 480 mg/kg, the 480 mg/kg group showed salivation, prone position, raised serum cholesterol, protein, albumin and bilirubin, increased liver weight and hepatocyte hypertrophy, with hypertrophy also present in males at 120 mg/kg; the stated non-toxic dose was 30 mg/kg (PMID 8018092). In the thirteen-week Beagle dog study at 20, 60 or 180 mg/kg, hypospermatogenesis and a slight increase in splenic haemosiderin deposition were seen in male dogs at 60 mg/kg and above, and 180 mg/kg produced reduced food consumption, raised urinary volume and protein, and renal papillary necrosis in both sexes; the stated non-toxic dose was 20 mg/kg (PMID 8018093).

In the fifty-two-week rat study at 10, 30, 100 and 300 mg/kg/day the kidney was the main target, with papillary and collecting-duct epithelial hyperplasia, cortical scarring and occasional papillary mineralisation, and a no-effect level of 10 mg/kg/day (PMID 8018094). Oncogenicity studies dosed B6C3F1 mice at 30, 90 and 270 mg/kg/day and F344 rats at 200, 600 and 1800 ppm in diet for 104 weeks and reported no evidence of an oncogenic effect, with slight high-dose male body-weight reductions the only finding (PMID 8018100). Reproductive studies found no effect on fertility up to 480 mg/kg/day and no teratogenicity up to 1000 mg/kg/day in rats or 270 mg/kg/day in rabbits, though rat fetuses at 1000 mg/kg showed lower body weights, delayed ossification and more skeletal variations alongside reduced maternal weight gain and food intake (PMID 8018096).

Renal papillary necrosis in dogs, testicular lesions in dogs and rats

Tsuchiya and colleagues went back to the renal result a decade later with rats, dogs and monkeys in the same investigation. Only the dog developed renal papillary necrosis. Beagles given 300 mg/kg/day over eleven weeks showed decreased urinary osmotic pressure from week five, increased urine volume and urinary lactate dehydrogenase from week eight, and necrosis of papillary ductal epithelium first seen at week eight. Concentrations of the metabolite designated M-18 in the renal papilla of dogs sat between those in rats and monkeys, but the papilla-to-cortex and papilla-to-medulla ratios were markedly higher, and in canine renal papillary slices only M-18, and not the parent, reduced synthesis of prostaglandin E2 and of the stable prostacyclin metabolite. Basal prostaglandin synthesis in those canine slices was extremely low relative to rat and monkey.

Shimomura and colleagues dosed male beagles at 180 or 300 mg/kg/day and found testicular testosterone reduced four hours after a single 300 mg/kg dose, serum testosterone reduced after single, one-week and two-week treatment, serum oestradiol raised from one to four weeks, and luteinising hormone, follicle-stimulating hormone and inhibin B unchanged throughout. Reduced sperm motility and increased malformed sperm appeared first at four weeks, and histopathology showed moderate to severe seminiferous atrophy with multinucleated giant cell formation at four weeks but not at one week. The authors attribute the effect to impaired conversion of progesterone to testosterone in Leydig cells (PMID 15082078).

The rat data are not silent on the testis. Shimada and colleagues gave male Slc:SD rats 1500 mg/kg/day orally for four weeks and killed animals sequentially. Retention of step 19 spermatids, sporadic degeneration of pachytene spermatocytes and step 7 spermatids in stage VII seminiferous tubules, and a fall in sperm head counts were the earliest changes at one week, advancing to atrophy of seminiferous tubules with multinucleated giant cell formation by four weeks; serum and testicular testosterone fell and recovered within a day after a single dose, and fell again with repeated dosing (PMID 12849691). That dose is roughly five times the highest used in the dog work.

What is not known

The human record is truncated at the point where it would have mattered. Three randomised trials are indexed, all in post-stroke patients, all from one continuous author group, and the largest enrolled 159 people; one further human report, an uncontrolled event-related-potential study in fourteen chronic cerebral-thrombosis patients by an unrelated group, states no dose (PMID 8728419). The phase III programme in Japan, the trials completed in China by August 2000, and the United States phase II work in Alzheimer's-type dementia produced no located publications, so the data that ended the development programme cannot be read or checked; what survives is a one-line summary in a commercial development digest, reporting the sponsor's own stated reason for withdrawing its application. No human pharmacokinetic study in older people, in renal or hepatic impairment, or in women was located, and the two disposition papers do not state how many volunteers were dosed. No human adverse-event tabulation was located at all, which means the kidney and testis findings in the animal package have no human counterpart to be compared against in either direction. The species question raised by the receptor work is unresolved: the potentiation figures come from rat neurons, and the one human-subunit preparation in the same paper was inhibited. Nothing establishes what any of the nanomolar electrophysiology corresponds to at the serum concentrations measured in people, since no study located here relates the two.

Questions

Has nefiracetam been studied in humans?
Yes. Filtering PubMed to clinical-trial publication types returns exactly three records, all in post-stroke populations and all from one continuous author group: Robinson 2008 in post-stroke depression (PMID 18451188), Robinson 2009 in apathy within that depressed cohort (PMID 19622685), and Starkstein 2016 in post-stroke apathy (PMID 26915605). Two of the three reported no significant separation from placebo. One further human report sits outside that count: Hirata 1996 (PMID 8728419), an uncontrolled event-related-potential study in fourteen chronic cerebral-thrombosis patients by an unrelated group, which states no dose and is not indexed as a trial.
Was it ever approved anywhere?
No approval was located in any jurisdiction. Crespi 2002 (PMID 12090554) records that Daiichi withdrew the Japanese application in February 2002 after the revised phase III trial showed insufficient efficacy, which is a sponsor action rather than a regulatory ruling, and a Drugs@FDA query returns no matching application. The FDA substance register marks the record status as approved, which refers to the curation state of that substance entry and not to a medicine.
What did the animal toxicology find?
A February 1994 supplement of Arzneimittelforschung published the full programme. The kidney and the testis were the target organs. In the 52-week dog study at 0, 10, 30 and 90 mg/kg/day, findings were confined to 90 mg/kg/day and included renal papillary and collecting-duct changes and decreased spermatogenesis, with a non-toxic effect level of 10 mg/kg/day (PMID 8018095). In the 13-week dog study, hypospermatogenesis and a slight increase in splenic haemosiderin appeared in male dogs at 60 mg/kg and above (PMID 8018093). Two-year oncogenicity studies in mice and rats reported no evidence of an oncogenic effect (PMID 8018100).
Is the testicular finding specific to dogs?
No. The renal papillary necrosis is dog-specific: Tsuchiya 2003 (PMID 12954368) compared rats, dogs and monkeys and found it only in the dog, linked to the metabolite M-18. The testicular lesion appeared in rats as well, at 1500 mg/kg/day for four weeks, with the same seminiferous atrophy and multinucleated giant cell formation seen in dogs (PMID 12849691). No publication linking M-18 to testicular toxicity was located.
Where does the three-to-five-hour half-life figure come from?
Fujimaki and colleagues at Daiichi reported it in healthy Japanese male volunteers given single oral doses and then 200 mg three times daily for seven days, with peak serum concentrations reached within two hours and a monophasic decline (J Pharm Pharmacol 1992, PMID 1360528). The number of volunteers is not stated in the retrieved abstract. It is one of the few widely circulated numbers about this compound that traces to a primary measurement.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 71157, Nefiracetam. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026: CAS 77191-36-7, C14H18N2O2, MW 246.30, InChIKey NGHTXZCKLWZPGK-UHFFFAOYSA-N, XLogP 1.4, TPSA 49.4, SMILES CC1=C(C(=CC=C1)C)NC(=O)CN2CCCC2=O. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, nefiracetam, UNII 1JK12GX30N. Record status "approved" denotes the curation state of the substance entry, not a marketing authorisation. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Human pharmacokinetics, two papers. Fujimaki Y, Sudo K, Hakusui H, Tachizawa H, Murasaki M. Single- and multiple-dose pharmacokinetics of nefiracetam, a new nootropic agent, in healthy volunteers. J Pharm Pharmacol. 1992;44(9):750-4. PMID 1360528. Fujimaki Y, Sudo K, Hakusui H. Pharmacokinetics of nefiracetam and three metabolites in humans and stereoselective hydroxylation of its pyrrolidine ring. Xenobiotica. 1993;23(1):61-70. PMID 8484264 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Human metabolism and cytochrome attribution, three papers. Fujimaki Y, Hashimoto K, Sudo K, Tachizawa H. Biotransformation of a new pyrrolidinone cognition-enhancing agent: isolation and identification of metabolites in human urine. Xenobiotica. 1990;20(10):1081-94. PMID 2082597. Fujimaki Y, Hakusui H, Yamazoe Y. Nefiracetam hydroxylation by rat liver microsomes and expressed human cytochrome P450s. Xenobiotica. 1996;26(8):821-30. PMID 8879146. Fujimaki Y, Arai N, Nakazawa T, Fujimaki M. Nefiracetam metabolism by human liver microsomes: role of cytochrome P450 3A4 and cytochrome P450 1A2 in 5-hydroxynefiracetam formation. J Pharm Pharmacol. 2001;53(6):795-804; CYP2C19 was capable of forming the metabolite but its contribution was judged negligible. PMID 11428655 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Robinson RG, Jorge RE, Clarence-Smith K. Double-blind randomized treatment of poststroke depression using nefiracetam. J Neuropsychiatry Clin Neurosci. 2008;20(2):178-84. Single affiliation, Department of Psychiatry, The University of Iowa. PMID 18451188 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Robinson RG, Jorge RE, Clarence-Smith K, Starkstein S. Double-blind treatment of apathy in patients with poststroke depression using nefiracetam. J Neuropsychiatry Clin Neurosci. 2009;21(2):144-51. PMID 19622685 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Starkstein SE, Brockman S, Hatch KK, Bruce DG, Almeida OP, Davis WA, Robinson RG. A randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind efficacy study of nefiracetam to treat poststroke apathy. J Stroke Cerebrovasc Dis. 2016;25(5):1119-27. Randomised to 12 weeks of 900 mg/day or placebo, with no 600 mg arm. PMID 26915605 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Sun Y, Liang Y, Jiao Y, Lin J, Qu H, Xu J, Zhao C. Comparative efficacy and acceptability of antidepressant treatment in poststroke depression: a multiple-treatments meta-analysis. BMJ Open. 2017;7(8):e016499. PMID 28775189 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Crespi F. Nefiracetam. Daiichi Seiyaku. Curr Opin Investig Drugs. 2002;3(5):788-93. Records that in February 2002 Daiichi withdrew its Japanese NDA due to insufficient efficacy in the revised trial, and that modified phase III trials were being repeated in Japan in preparation for re-filing. PMID 12090554 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Hirata K, Katayama S, Yamazaki K, Fujikane M, Katayama K. Electric field distribution of event-related potentials in stroke patients. Brain Topogr. 1996;8(3):279-84. Fourteen chronic cerebral-thrombosis patients and fourteen normal subjects, Dokkyo University School of Medicine; uncontrolled, no dose stated, not indexed as a clinical trial. PMID 8728419 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Zhao X, Kuryatov A, Lindstrom JM, Yeh JZ, Narahashi T. Nootropic drug modulation of neuronal nicotinic acetylcholine receptors in rat cortical neurons. Mol Pharmacol. 2001;59(4):674-83. PMID 11259610 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Glutamate receptor work, two papers. Moriguchi S, Marszalec W, Zhao X, Yeh JZ, Narahashi T. Potentiation of N-methyl-D-aspartate-induced currents by the nootropic drug nefiracetam in rat cortical neurons. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2003;307(1):160-7. PMID 12805478. Moriguchi S, Shioda N, Maejima H, Zhao X, Marszalec W, Yeh JZ, Fukunaga K, Narahashi T. Nefiracetam potentiates NMDA receptor function via protein kinase C activation and reduces magnesium block of NMDA receptor. Mol Pharmacol. 2007;71(2):580-7. PMID 17095583 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Luthman J, Lindqvist E, Kojima H, Shiotani T, Tanaka M, Tachizawa H, Olson L. Effects of nefiracetam (DM-9384), a pyrrolidone derivative, on brain monoamine systems. Arch Int Pharmacodyn Ther. 1994;328(2):125-44. Reports that extracellular hippocampal 5-HIAA decreased by 20% after the 1 and 3 mg/kg doses. PMID 7535993 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Watabe S, Yamaguchi H, Ashida S. DM-9384, a new cognition-enhancing agent, increases the turnover of components of the GABAergic system in the rat cerebral cortex. Eur J Pharmacol. 1993;238(2-3):303-9. Receptor binding unaffected across 10^-10 to 10^-3 M; sodium-dependent high-affinity GABA uptake in cortical synaptosomes stimulated. PMID 8405098 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Malykh AG, Sadaie MR. Piracetam and piracetam-like drugs: from basic science to novel clinical applications to CNS disorders. Drugs. 2010;70(3):287-312. States that the mode of action of some subgroup 3 compounds, including nefiracetam, is similar to that of the subgroup 1 drugs, and that it failed to improve cognition in post-stroke patients; no potency ratio is given. PMID 20166767 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Regulatory toxicology programme, Arzneimittelforschung 1994;44(2A), six papers. Jindo T, Shimizu Y, Kato M, Takayama S. Thirteen-week oral toxicity study in rats. 214-6. PMID 8018092. Sugawara T, Kato M, Suzuki N, Akahane K, Takayama S. Thirteen-week oral toxicity study in dogs. 217-9. PMID 8018093. Hooks WN, Colman KA, Gopinath C, Inage F, Kato M, Takayama S. Fifty-two-week oral toxicity study in rats. 220-8. PMID 8018094. Hooks WN, Burford P, Begg S, Gopinath C, Inage F, Kato M, Takayama S. Fifty-two-week oral toxicity study in dogs. 228-38. PMID 8018095. Watanabe T, Matsuhashi K, Shimada M, Harada S, Tawara K, Takayama S. Reproductive toxicity studies in rats and rabbits. 239-42. PMID 8018096. Kajimura T, Satoh H, Rajasekaran D, Spicer EJ, Nakashima N, Takayama S. Oncogenicity studies in mice and rats. 254-9. PMID 8018100 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Target-organ investigations after 1994, three papers. Tsuchiya Y, Takahashi Y, Jindo T, Furuhama K, Suzuki KT. Comprehensive evaluation of canine renal papillary necrosis induced by nefiracetam, a neurotransmission enhancer. Eur J Pharmacol. 2003;475(1-3):119-28. PMID 12954368. Shimada M, Shikanai Y, Shimomura K, Harada S, Watanabe G, Taya K, Kato M, Furuhama K. Investigation of testicular toxicity of nefiracetam, a neurotransmission enhancer, in rats. Toxicol Lett. 2003;143(3):307-15. PMID 12849691. Shimomura K, Shimada M, Hagiwara M, Harada S, Kato M, Furuhama K. Testicular toxicity induced in dogs by nefiracetam, a neurotransmission enhancer. Reprod Toxicol. 2004;18(3):423-30. PMID 15082078 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Solid-state work, two papers. Buol X, Robeyns K, Tumanov N, Wouters J, Leyssens T. Identifying, characterizing, and understanding nefiracetam in its solid state forms: a potential antidementia drug. J Pharm Sci. 2019;108(11):3616-3622. PMID 31348939. Buol X, Robeyns K, Caro Garrido C, Tumanov N, Collard L, Wouters J, Leyssens T. Improving nefiracetam dissolution and solubility behavior using a cocrystallization approach. Pharmaceutics. 2020;12(7):653; solubility, dissolution rate and stability of three cocrystals compared to the parent, with no storage interval stated. PMID 32660115 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.