Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Oxiracetam (ISF 2522)

Oxiracetam is piracetam carrying a hydroxyl group at ring position four, developed in Milan as ISF 2522 and licensed to Ciba-Geigy as CGP 21690E. Ten placebo-controlled human reports of the racemate exist; nine were published between 1985 and 1993, two of them flatly negative, and two pairs appear to describe overlapping cohorts. The tenth, a 500-patient trial published in 2026 and the largest placebo-controlled trial of the racemate, separated nothing from placebo, three years after South Korea's medicines regulator had recommended suspending prescriptions.

Strongest evidence: Human dataTen placebo-controlled human reports of the racemate: nine published between 1985 and 1993, two of them negative and one finding no significant between-group difference on its main rating scale, with two pairs that appear to describe overlapping cohorts; the tenth, a 500-patient trial published in 2026 and the largest placebo-controlled trial of the racemate, was null on both coprimary endpoints. South Korea's medicines regulator recommended suspension of prescriptions in January 2023. Not approved in the United States and recorded by twelve official medicines control laboratories as not authorised for human use in the EU or Australia. 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic 2-pyrrolidinone of the piracetam type, carrying a hydroxyl group at ring position 4 where piracetam carries hydrogen. WHO ATC code N06BX07. The hydroxyl creates a stereocentre and the marketed substance is the racemate; the FDA substance register records stereochemistry as unknown with optical activity (+/-), and ChEMBL carries a chirality flag of 0. Reported in rat neuronal culture as a positive modulator of AMPA-sensitive glutamate receptors at micromolar concentrations (PMID 1372342). In rats, dogs and two men given a carbon-14 preparation, systemically available radioactivity was excreted nearly exclusively in urine as unmetabolised parent (PMID 1499599).
CAS number
62613-82-5
PubChem CID
4626
Molecular formula
C6H10N2O3
Molecular weight
158.16 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
ISF 2522; CGP 21690E; CT-848; GNF-PF-1005; 4-hydroxypiracetam; hydroxypiracetam; 2-(4-hydroxy-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide; 4-hydroxy-2-oxo-1-pyrrolidineacetamide; UNII P7U817352G; ChEMBL36633; MeSH C040619; DrugBank DB13601; DrugCentral 2021; EPA DTXSID9045180; ChEBI 134788; RxCUI 32645; Merck Index m8311; INN code 4762; InChIKey IHLAQQPQKRMGSS-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The S-enantiomer carries its own PubChem record, CID 6603951, InChIKey IHLAQQPQKRMGSS-BYPYZUCNSA-N

Chemical identity and the enantiomer split

Oxiracetam is piracetam with a hydroxyl group added at ring position four. Identity is otherwise unambiguous. PubChem holds a single compound record: CID 4626, CAS 62613-82-5, formula C6H10N2O3, molecular weight 158.16, InChIKey IHLAQQPQKRMGSS-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 2-(4-hydroxy-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, XLogP minus 2.2. The FDA substance register gives the same CAS and formula under UNII P7U817352G, status approved, molecular weight 158.1554, and hangs the rest of the cross-references off that one record: WHO ATC code N06BX07, INN code 4762, ChEMBL36633, MeSH C040619, DrugBank DB13601, DrugCentral 2021 and Merck Index m8311. A first-hand ChEMBL fetch returned CHEMBL36633 with maximum phase 3 and a chirality flag of 0.

That hydroxyl creates a stereocentre, and everything since 2016 has turned on it. The registers describe the substance as racemic: GSRS records stereochemistry as unknown with optical activity plus or minus, and PubChem carries a separate record for the S-enantiomer at CID 6603951, same formula and mass, InChIKey IHLAQQPQKRMGSS-BYPYZUCNSA-N. Li and colleagues reported in 2017 that in rats subjected to permanent bilateral carotid occlusion, the S-enantiomer and not the R-enantiomer produced the measured effects on spatial learning, cerebral blood flow and white matter (PMID 28855592). Every human trial registered since then has tested the single enantiomer against the racemate rather than against placebo alone.

Regulatory position differs by jurisdiction and has moved in one direction. Cohen and colleagues in 2021 listed the compound among four drugs not approved for human use in the United States. A 2025 market-surveillance study by twelve official medicines control laboratories with Australia records it in appendix Table A1 as a piracetam homologue not authorised for human use by any health authority in the EU or Australia, detected once by one laboratory, with the seized form recorded as unknown. South Korea's medicines regulator issued a drug safety communication in January 2023 recommending suspension of oxiracetam prescriptions; the market action reported to have followed it is recorded in the untraced claims rather than here. China approved the phase 3 trial of the S-enantiomer under registration 2016L03521, with the racemate serving as its active comparator.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Neither coprimary endpoint separated from placebo over 36 weeks. MMSE change was plus 0.13 plus or minus 2.27 against plus 0.27 plus or minus 2.09 (p equals 0.49); CDR-SB change was minus 0.14 plus or minus 0.70 against minus 0.08 plus or minus 0.80 (p equals 0.38). Adverse events occurred in 100 of 244 on drug (41.0 per cent) against 88 of 252 on placebo (34.9 per cent), p equals 0.16Patients aged 50 or over, at least 3 months after stroke, reporting subjective cognitive decline with at least one further high-risk profile; mean age 68.9 years, median 32 months post-stroke; 30 university or general hospitals in South Korea; double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised 1:1Oral, 800 mg twice daily for 36 weeks500 randomised (247 drug, 253 placebo), 457 completed, 496 in the safety populationLim 2026, Eur Stroke J, PMID 41614470 (r3)
Least-squares mean LOTCA change at 90 days was 20.45 (95 per cent CI 17.23 to 23.66) for L-oxiracetam, 15.90 (12.71 to 19.10) for racemic oxiracetam and 11.47 (7.75 to 15.20) for placebo. The paper reports L-oxiracetam against placebo (8.97; 5.69 to 12.26; Cohen's d 0.48; p below 0.001) and L-oxiracetam against the racemate (4.54; 1.85 to 7.23). No comparison of racemic oxiracetam against placebo is reported anywhere in the paperPatients aged 18 to 75 with traumatic brain injury and Glasgow Coma Scale 10 to 15, recruited 2019 to 2024 across 51 hospitals in China; mean age 50.9 (SD 14.5); 421 of 590 male; randomised 2:2:1, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3Intravenous infusion for 14 consecutive days: L-oxiracetam 4 g/day, oxiracetam 6 g/day590 patients; 235, 236 and 119 in the three arms of the safety analysisLiu 2025, Signal Transduct Target Ther, PMID 41381424 (r5)
Treatment-related adverse events occurred in 9.36 per cent of the L-oxiracetam arm, 17.37 per cent of the racemic oxiracetam arm and 9.24 per cent of the placebo arm (p equals 0.049). Serious adverse events ran 5.53, 7.63 and 12.60 per cent respectively (p equals 0.100), highest on placebo. No treatment-related serious adverse event occurred in any armAs above; safety analysis of all patients receiving at least one doseIntravenous infusion for 14 consecutive days235 L-oxiracetam, 236 oxiracetam, 119 placeboLiu 2025, Signal Transduct Target Ther, PMID 41381424 (r5)
No statistically significant difference was observed between treatment groups on any neuropsychological test, on the 21-item symptom questionnaire, or on global evaluation by patients, relatives, psychologist or doctor. The abstract states the dose as 2.4 mg per day, which is inconsistent with every other dose in this literature and is reproduced here as printedMiddle-aged patients with mild to moderate organic brain syndrome attributed to prolonged exposure to organic solvents; 12-week double-blind study against placebo, code not broken until final writingNot stated beyond a daily dose106 patientsHjorther 1987, Acta Neurol Scand, PMID 3296624 (r6)
The results did not show any meaningful changes in memory function, a finding the authors record as consistent with the subjective patient reports and with the auditory evoked event-related potential (P300) measuresMemory-impaired patients with epilepsy, 24 of 30 with partial epilepsy, most on carbamazepine monotherapy; double-blind placebo-controlled between-patient designOral, 800 mg three times daily for 12 weeks30 patients; arm sizes not stated in the indexed abstractAldenkamp 1990, Neuropsychobiology, PMID 2134116 (r7)
A significantly different effect in favour of the drug was observed on the quality of life scale (p below 0.01) and confirmed on some neuropsychological tests under a Bonferroni correction, among them controlled associations and short story recall. The battery also included Raven's Progressive Matrices, simple reaction time, token test, digit span and word list learning. Two patients on drug were withdrawn for poor tolerabilityPatients with primary degenerative, multi-infarct or mixed dementia; 28 men and 37 women, mean age 71; multicentre double-blind between-patient study against placeboOral, 800 mg tablet twice daily for 12 weeks65 enrolled, 58 completedBottini 1992, Acta Neurol Scand, PMID 1414239 (r10)
After 90 double-blind days, differences favouring the drug were reported on Mini Mental State Examination, Auditory Continuous Performance Test, Rey's 15 Words Test, Block Tapping Test, Mattis Word Fluency, Luria Alternating Series and Instrumental Activities of Daily Living. Twenty-nine of the 30 drug-arm patients then entered an uncontrolled open follow-up to a total of one year, during whose late phase statistically significant worsening against baseline was recorded on Digit Span Backward, Gibson's Spiral and some non-memory items of the IPSC-EMale and female outpatients with senile dementia of Alzheimer type or multi-infarct dementia of mild to moderate degree; University of Catania; double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group, randomised for the first 90 days, open and uncontrolled thereafterOral, 800 mg twice daily for 90 days, then 800 mg twice daily to one year in the open phase60 outpatients randomised; 29 of the 30 drug-arm patients in the open follow-upVillardita 1992, Neuropsychobiology, PMID 1603291 (r8)
Absolute availability of the oral dose was 75 plus or minus 7 per cent. Mean residence times ranged from 3.9 to 6.5 hours, volumes of distribution from 0.9 to 1.81 litres per kilogram and clearance from 100 to 119 millilitres per hour per kilogram. More than 90 per cent of the intravenous dose was recovered unchanged in urine within 48 hoursHealthy volunteersSingle intravenous and single oral doses of 2000 mg4 volunteersPerucca 1984, Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet, PMID 6519128 (r11)
Peroral absorption of the radiolabel was 28 to 42 per cent in rats, 81 to 90 per cent in dogs and about 56 per cent in man. Systemically available radioactivity was excreted nearly exclusively in urine as unmetabolised parent in all three species. Whole-body autoradiography in rats showed high levels in kidney, liver, lung and skin and very low levels in brain, with brain levels rising on repeated dosing in a pattern the authors attribute to slow diffusion across the blood-brain barrierRats and dogs at 10 mg/kg intravenously and 10, 50 and 3000 mg/kg orally; two healthy male volunteersIntravenous and oral carbon-14 labelled preparation; the human arm was 800 mg orally2 healthy male volunteers; animal group sizes not stated in the indexed abstractGschwind 1992, Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet, PMID 1499599 (r12)
Mean terminal half-life was 12.3 hours in elderly patients against 7.7 hours in healthy non-geriatric subjects, with mean area under the curve after a single dose roughly doubled in the elderly while peak concentration was almost unchanged and slightly delayed. The highest levels were recorded predominantly in the oldest patients. Volume of distribution was not significantly modifiedEighteen elderly patients and six healthy non-geriatric adultsOral, 800 mg single dose; the elderly group then received 800 mg every 12 hours from day 2 evening to day 10 morning18 elderly patients, 6 healthy adultsLecaillon 1990, Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet, PMID 2253653 (r13)
Serum concentration peaked at 25 plus or minus 6 micrograms per millilitre within one to three hours and declined with a half-life of three to six hours; 84 per cent of the administered dose was recovered in urine as unchanged drug within 24 hours. No accumulation in serum was observed over a 7-day twice-daily regimenElderly female patients in good physical condition, age range 69 to 96 yearsOral, 800 mg single dose, then 800 mg twice daily for 7 days6 patientsPerucca 1987, Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet, PMID 3691580 (r14)
Micromolar concentrations enhanced AMPA-stimulated calcium-45 influx, increasing the efficacy but not the potency of AMPA, with the effect persisting under the voltage-sensitive calcium channel blocker nifedipine. Potentiation by oxiracetam did not extend to kainate, to N-methyl-D-aspartate, or to inositol phospholipid hydrolysis elicited by quisqualate. Maximal density of specific binding sites for tritiated AMPA rose in synaptic membranes from rat cerebral cortexPrimary cultures of rat cerebellar granule cells; synaptic membranes from rat cerebral cortexIn vitroNot stated in the indexed abstractCopani 1992, J Neurochem, PMID 1372342 (r16)
The half-life of oxiracetam is 8 hours, or 8 to 10 hoursThis figure sits inside the published range without matching any published measurement. PubMed and Europe PMC were searched for any indexed primary report giving a human half-life of 8 or 8 to 10 hours for this compound; none was located. What the indexed literature actually reports, in every case after oral administration of 800 mg, is three to six hours in six elderly women aged 69 to 96 (PMID 3691580), 7.7 hours in six healthy non-geriatric adults and 12.3 hours in eighteen elderly patients in one paper (PMID 2253653), and 10.6 to 68.1 hours across twenty patients with creatinine clearance from 9 to 95 millilitres per minute (PMID 2253654). Perucca 1984 reports mean residence times of 3.9 to 6.5 hours in four healthy volunteers and no terminal half-life at all (PMID 6519128). Aggregator pages carrying the 8-hour figure attach neither species nor population nor renal function, which is the variable the published spread turns on.No source found
Oxiracetam is roughly five times as potent as piracetam by weightA Europe PMC full-text search for the exact phrase times more potent than piracetam returned zero records. A broader search combining this compound with more potent than piracetam, potency of oxiracetam and equipotent returned eleven records, none of which reports a potency determination against piracetam for this compound; the one that discusses relative potency in those terms is describing phenylpiracetam (PMID 20166767). No head-to-head dose-response study in either species was located. The closest retrievable comparison is Spignoli 1986, which measured oxiracetam at 100 and 300 mg/kg intraperitoneally against piracetam at 300 mg/kg on high-affinity choline uptake in rat hippocampus and reported that piracetam's effect had ended within three hours where oxiracetam still produced a 40 per cent increase (PMID 3594455). That is a duration difference at one dose pair on one measure, not a potency ratio, and it cannot be converted into one.No source found
Oxiracetam is the logic racetam: it enhances logical reasoning, analytical work and left-brain function specificallyPart of this has a thread in the literature and part has none, and the two need separating. Moglia 1986, one of the ten placebo-controlled reports of the racemate, states in its abstract that in 43 patients with organic brain syndrome given 800 mg twice daily for 8 weeks against placebo, the drug showed to improve cognitive functions, logical performance, and attention (PMID 3594459). The phrase logical performance is an outcome descriptor in that abstract; no instrument is named for it, no numbers are given, and no arm sizes are stated. A reasoning instrument does appear in the record: Raven's Progressive Matrices, a nonverbal reasoning test, was part of the neuropsychological battery in Bottini 1992 (PMID 1414239), though that paper reports its Bonferroni-surviving differences on controlled associations and short story recall rather than on Raven's. What has no counterpart anywhere in the indexed literature is the hemispheric framing: a Europe PMC search combining this compound with left brain, hemispheric and lateralisation returned no study of lateralised function under the drug. Nor was any trial located in which a reasoning, logic or analytical task served as a primary endpoint. The primary instruments across the human record are MMSE, CDR-SB, LOTCA, MoCA, SCAG, Raven's Progressive Matrices, digit span, word-list learning, simple reaction time and quality-of-life scales. The left-brain wording recurs almost verbatim across aggregator and vendor product pages, which is the signature of copying rather than of independent sourcing.No source found
Oxiracetam improves memory and learning in healthy peopleNo placebo-controlled trial of cognition in unimpaired adults was located. A PubMed search for this compound with healthy volunteers returns eight records: two are pharmacokinetic studies of the racemate (PMIDs 6519128, 1499599), two are studies of the single enantiomer (PMIDs 34549388, 37898393), two are electroencephalography studies (PMIDs 3594458, 3594460), and one is the scopolamine challenge study, which is a study of drug-induced impairment rather than of baseline function. That study, Preda 1993, gave 800, 1600 or 2400 mg orally to twelve healthy volunteers one hour before scopolamine 0.5 mg subcutaneously in a double-blind crossover incomplete randomised block design, and reported a significant difference against placebo at 1600 mg on delayed recall of word lists (PMID 7870912). The 2017 high-altitude study in sixty male military volunteers does report a three-arm design in its abstract, dividing participants into a control group, an oxiracetam group and a fastigial nucleus stimulation group; what the abstract does not state is that the control arm received placebo, or that allocation was randomised or blinded, and no group sizes are given (PMID 29075554). One aggregator page surveyed states outright that no documented research exists on the compound's effect in young healthy subjects, and then recommends it on anecdote.No source found
Oxiracetam is a prescription medicine in EuropeIt was, and the register that would establish when has not been reached here. Vanhee 2025, a market-surveillance study by twelve official medicines control laboratories with Australia, records the compound in appendix Table A1 as a piracetam homologue not authorised for human use by any health authority in the EU or Australia, with one detection by one laboratory and the seized form recorded as unknown (PMID 40558871). Malykh and Sadaie wrote in 2010 that oxiracetam and aniracetam are no longer in clinical use (PMID 20166767), a statement contradicted by continuous Korean marketing until 2023 and by Chinese use through 2025. An Italian patent application states that the compound was first authorised for the Italian market under a trade name on 21 April 1984; that is a legal filing, not a regulatory register, and the AIFA medicines register was not reached here to confirm either the authorisation or its end. No source located here establishes a live marketing authorisation in any named European country.No source found
Oxiracetam has no serious side effects even at high doses, and is essentially non-toxicThe generalisation traces to review prose rather than to a dataset. Gouliaev and Senning wrote in a 1994 class review of 407 references that the racetams possess very low toxicity and lack serious side effects, without attaching that sentence to a specific toxicology study for this compound (PMID 8061686). Mondadori and Petschke had written in 1987 that piracetam-like nootropics are practically devoid of toxic effects, also as a framing sentence rather than a result (PMID 3427459). PubMed was searched for LD50, teratogenicity and carcinogenicity studies of this compound; the only formal toxicology located is a 13-week repeated oral dosing study in dogs proposing a no-observed-adverse-effect level of 100 mg/kg with loose stools as the main manifestation, and that paper reports no group sizes in its abstract (PMID 30351213). Against that, the 2026 Korean trial recorded adverse events in 41.0 per cent on drug against 34.9 per cent on placebo and serious adverse events in 8.6 against 6.3 per cent, neither difference reaching significance but both numerically higher on drug (PMID 41614470).No source found
A recent trial showed that 800 mg of oxiracetam twice daily for 36 weeks increased cognitive recovery after strokeThis one is not a vendor claim. It appears in Vanhee 2025, a peer-reviewed market-surveillance report by twelve official medicines control laboratories, in the clinical-data column of the table describing a seized 270.7 mg sample, and it cites reference 39 (PMID 40558871). Reference 39 is Lim 2023 in Contemporary Clinical Trials, which is the design paper for that trial and contains no results of any kind; its own text says the trial aims to investigate the effect and that follow-up completed in September 2022 (PMID 36724841). The results were published three years later and were null on both coprimary endpoints (PMID 41614470). A protocol was cited as though it were a positive finding, in a document produced by the laboratories that regulate this market.No source found
South Korea withdrew six oxiracetam products from four companies in February 2023, revoking the vascular cognitive impairment indication and ending insurance coverage the same day; and the funder of the 2026 Korean trial manufactured three of the withdrawn productsOnly part of this chain reaches a primary source, and the manufacturer link reaches none. The trial paper states that in January 2023 the ministry issued a drug safety communication recommending the suspension of oxiracetam prescriptions, and its funding statement reads in full that the work was funded by the Korean Drug Company, Ltd and that this funding source had no role in the design and conductance of study, analysis and interpretation of data, and decision to submit the paper (PMID 41614470, read in full text at PMC12866270). A string search of that full text returns no sentence connecting the funder to any withdrawn product, and no description of a February 2023 action at all. The Korean Ministry of Food and Drug Safety notice register and the Health Insurance Review and Assessment Service reimbursement register were both searched for here, in English and by transliterated Korean term, and neither was reached; no MFDS notice number, publication date or document was retrieved. What carries the specifics is a single Korean pharmaceutical trade-press report dated 23 February 2023 (koreabiomed.com, article 20520), which names six products from four manufacturers, attributes three of them to the company named in the trial's funding statement, and states that the indication for improving vascular cognitive impairment was revoked for failure to prove effectiveness. That same report says health insurance coverage was suspended for seven products, one more than the six it lists as withdrawn, and the discrepancy is unexplained in the source. A trade-press account is not a regulatory register: the product count, the company count, the indication revocation, the insurance termination and the manufacturer relationship are therefore published here rather than in the body text, which carries only the January 2023 safety communication.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What reaches the blood, and what reaches the brain

Absolute availability was measured once. Perucca and colleagues gave 2000 mg intravenously and orally to four healthy volunteers and reported absolute availability of the oral dose at 75 plus or minus 7 per cent, mean residence times of 3.9 to 6.5 hours, clearance of 100 to 119 millilitres per hour per kilogram, and more than 90 per cent of the intravenous dose recovered unchanged in urine within 48 hours (PMID 6519128). Gschwind and colleagues at Ciba-Geigy, working with a carbon-14 labelled preparation, put peroral absorption at 28 to 42 per cent in rats, 81 to 90 per cent in dogs and about 56 per cent in two healthy men given 800 mg. The two figures measure different quantities: parent availability from paired intravenous and oral curves, against absorption of total radioactivity.

Human half-life figures span an order of magnitude. Perucca followed six elderly female patients aged 69 to 96 after 800 mg orally: peak serum 25 plus or minus 6 micrograms per millilitre within one to three hours, half-life three to six hours, 84 per cent of the dose recovered unchanged in urine within 24 hours (PMID 3691580). Lecaillon and colleagues gave the same dose to eighteen elderly patients and six healthy non-geriatric adults and reported a mean terminal half-life of 12.3 hours in the elderly against 7.7 hours in the healthy group, with area under the curve doubled in the elderly. Two studies in elderly people, three years apart, disagree by a factor of two to four.

Renal function governs that spread. In twenty patients with creatinine clearance from 9 to 95 millilitres per minute, terminal half-life ran from 10.6 to 68.1 hours and the fraction excreted unchanged over 48 hours from 8.3 to 82.6 per cent, with renal clearance correlating against creatinine clearance at 0.985; volume of distribution at steady state was 48.3 plus or minus 21.5 litres and did not vary with the degree of impairment (PMID 2253654). Since the compound leaves the body essentially unmetabolised through the kidney, every half-life figure in this literature is really a statement about the population's renal function rather than about the molecule.

Brain penetration is where the record contradicts itself outright, and both sides are company work. Ponzio and colleagues at ISF Laboratories in Milan gave rats carbon-14 oxiracetam at 200 mg/kg orally or 100 mg/kg intra-arterially and recovered unmetabolised drug in brain, largest in septum, then hippocampus, then cerebral cortex and striatum; delivering 1.9 to 19 nanomoles per rat directly into the lateral ventricles antagonised scopolamine-induced amnesia dose-dependently. Gschwind and colleagues at Ciba-Geigy, using the same isotope in the same species, reported very low brain levels and described slow diffusion across the blood-brain barrier. No paper located here addresses the discrepancy.

A receptor result obtained at micromolar concentrations

Copani and colleagues reported in 1992 that micromolar concentrations of piracetam, aniracetam and oxiracetam enhanced AMPA-stimulated calcium-45 influx in primary cultures of rat cerebellar granule cells, raising the efficacy of AMPA without changing its potency, with the effect surviving the calcium-channel blocker nifedipine. Potentiation by oxiracetam did not extend to kainate, to N-methyl-D-aspartate, or to phospholipid hydrolysis driven by quisqualate. All three drugs increased the maximal density of specific binding sites for tritiated AMPA in rat cortical synaptic membranes. That paper is the origin of most secondary statements that this compound modulates AMPA receptors, and it is a cell-culture result in rat neurons.

One binding study points the other way. Fallarino and colleagues characterised tritiated aniracetam recognition sites in rat brain membranes with an apparent dissociation constant near 70 nanomolar and a maximal density of 3.5 picomoles per milligram of protein, and found that specifically bound tritiated aniracetam was displaced neither by aniracetam metabolites nor by piracetam or oxiracetam (PMID 7616253). Gouliaev and Senning, surveying 407 references across the class in 1994, recorded no affinity for glutamate receptors among the racetams they reviewed, and in the same abstract proposed that the class effect arises from potentiated sodium influx through AMPA-receptor-gated channels (PMID 8061686). That review therefore holds both measurements at once: absent receptor binding, and modulation of the ion flux those receptors gate.

Electrophysiology on the parent compound arrived thirty-four years after the culture work. Guo and colleagues reported in 2026 that oxiracetam increased the frequency and amplitude of spontaneous excitatory postsynaptic currents, AMPA-receptor-dependent evoked currents and miniature currents in hippocampal neurons from APP/PS1 transgenic mice, slowed the desensitisation rate of the GluA1 and GluA2 subunits, and promoted recovery from desensitisation for GluA2 but not GluA1 (PMID 41739317). The indexed abstract states neither dose, route nor group size, and an elink query returns no PMC record for the paper, so the abstract is the only retrievable text.

Concentration arithmetic runs the opposite way here to most compounds in this category. Copani's potentiation appeared at micromolar concentrations; peak serum after 800 mg orally in six elderly women was 25 plus or minus 6 micrograms per millilitre, which at a molecular weight of 158.16 is roughly 158 micromolar. Plasma exposure in a person therefore sits inside the range used in the culture work rather than three orders of magnitude below it. What remains unresolved is the step after that one: the two carbon-14 studies disagree about how much of the compound reaches brain tissue at all.

Cholinergic work always requires a deficit

Spignoli and colleagues reported in 1986 that oxiracetam at 100 and 300 mg/kg intraperitoneally increased acetylcholine utilisation in rat cerebral cortex and hippocampus, measured as the fall in acetylcholine after intracerebroventricular hemicholinium-3, while steady-state acetylcholine levels were unchanged. Repeated daily administration at 100 mg/kg raised high-affinity choline uptake in hippocampus by 31 per cent. A single 300 mg/kg dose raised uptake for both compounds, but piracetam's effect had ended within three hours where oxiracetam still produced a 40 per cent increase at three hours (PMID 3594455). Group sizes are not stated in the indexed abstract. One dose pair, one measure, one time point is the closest thing in the indexed literature to a potency comparison against piracetam.

Dose-response in the behavioural work is not monotonic. Spignoli and Pepeu gave rats scopolamine at 0.63 mg/kg intraperitoneally, which prevented acquisition of a passive avoidance response and lowered acetylcholine by 64, 56 and 42 per cent in cortex, hippocampus and striatum; oxiracetam at 50 and 100 mg/kg intraperitoneally reduced both the amnesia and the cortical and hippocampal acetylcholine fall, while lower and higher doses were ineffective (PMID 3659072). Hlinak and Krejci reported in 2002 that 3, 10 and 30 mg/kg given to mice immediately after acquisition prevented the scopolamine-induced but not the diazepam-induced prolongation of transfer latency in an elevated plus maze (PMID 12110475).

Every positive in vivo result located here required an induced or intrinsic deficit. Paoli and colleagues used the NMDA antagonist AP-5 at 6 micrograms intracerebroventricularly in rats and reported antagonism by oxiracetam from 50 to 500 mg/kg subcutaneously (PMID 2153307). Nardella and colleagues measured choline incorporation into choline phosphoglycerides in hippocampal and cortical slices from spontaneously hypertensive rats and reported restoration towards Wistar-Kyoto values (PMID 1807290). Li and colleagues gave male Wistar rats 50, 100 and 200 mg/kg intravenously for six weeks after bilateral carotid occlusion, seven to nine animals per group. No study located here tested unimpaired animals across a behavioural battery.

A 1987 result complicates the whole account. Mondadori and Petschke, also at Ciba-Geigy, reported that the memory-enhancing action of piracetam-like compounds depended on the presence of the adrenals, and proposed that the central effects might be mediated peripherally (PMID 3427459). The indexed abstract carries no numbers, no species detail and no group sizes. So far as the searches here reach, the finding has not been followed up for this compound in the thirty-nine years since.

Ten placebo-controlled reports

Counts first. A PubMed search on oxiracetam returned 220 records as of 18 August 2026. Twenty carry the publication type Randomized Controlled Trial, twenty-nine carry Clinical Trial, two carry Meta-Analysis, three carry Systematic Review and fifteen carry Review. No record in the corpus carries Retracted Publication, Retraction of Publication, Expression of Concern or Published Erratum. Those twenty do not contain twenty trials of this compound: two are acupuncture trials in which oxiracetam is the control arm, one is a nicergoline combination study, one is a ginkgo and tacrine electroencephalography study that mentions the compound only as a database entry, one is a study protocol carrying no results, and three test the single enantiomer rather than the racemate.

What survives is ten placebo-controlled reports of the racemate, nine of them published between 1985 and 1993. Saletu randomised 40 patients with organic brain syndrome of late life to 2400 mg daily or placebo for four weeks and reported that between-group differences on the Sandoz clinical assessment geriatric scale failed to reach statistical significance (PMID 3897895). Hjorther compared drug and placebo over twelve weeks in 106 middle-aged patients with organic brain syndrome after prolonged solvent exposure and found no difference on any measure. Aldenkamp gave 800 mg three times daily or placebo to 30 patients with epilepsy for twelve weeks and reported no meaningful change in memory function, matching the subjective reports and the P300 measures.

The positive reports are Italian, small, and partly overlapping. Villardita published in 1987 on 40 outpatients, twenty per arm, at 800 mg twice daily for 90 days (PMID 3479527), and again in 1992 on 60 outpatients at the same dose, the same double-blind duration, the same department in Catania and an overlapping test battery; neither paper states the relationship between the two cohorts. The 1992 report carried 29 of its 30 drug-arm patients into an uncontrolled open follow-up to one year, with worsening against baseline on Digit Span Backward and Gibson's Spiral in the late phase. Rozzini, Zanetti and Bianchetti published the same 96-outpatient cohort at 1600 mg daily twice, in 1992 covering 26 double-blind weeks and in 1993 covering those weeks plus 26 open weeks, without the second report describing itself as an extension of the first. Bottini enrolled 65 patients across multiple centres and reported a difference on a quality-of-life scale at p below 0.01.

Then thirty-three years, and a null result at ten times the scale. Lim and colleagues randomised 500 patients at 30 Korean hospitals, mean age 68.9 and a median of 32 months after stroke, to 800 mg twice daily or placebo for 36 weeks, tracking physical activity by wrist actigraphy and imaging resting-state networks at baseline and week 36. Neither coprimary endpoint separated: Mini-Mental State Examination changed by plus 0.13 plus or minus 2.27 against plus 0.27 plus or minus 2.09 (p equals 0.49), and Clinical Dementia Rating-Sum of Boxes by minus 0.14 plus or minus 0.70 against minus 0.08 plus or minus 0.80 (p equals 0.38). Adverse events occurred in 41.0 per cent on drug against 34.9 per cent on placebo (p equals 0.16).

Sequence matters here as much as the result. South Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety commissioned that trial; its funding statement names Korean Drug Company, Ltd and states that the funder had no role in design, conduct, analysis or the decision to submit. In January 2023 the ministry issued a drug safety communication recommending suspension of oxiracetam prescriptions (PMID 41614470). The trial's design paper appeared in 2023 carrying no results. The results themselves appeared in 2026. For three years the only citable record of the largest placebo-controlled trial of the racemate was a protocol. The market action reported to have followed that communication, and the assertion that the funder manufactured part of what was withdrawn, are recorded in the untraced claims.

The enantiomer trial never tested the racemate against placebo

The LOCATE trial randomised 590 patients with traumatic brain injury and Glasgow Coma Scale scores of 10 to 15 across 51 Chinese hospitals between 2019 and 2024, in a 2:2:1 ratio, to intravenous L-oxiracetam at 4 g per day, racemic oxiracetam at 6 g per day, or placebo, for fourteen consecutive days. Mean age was 50.9 years and 421 of 590 patients were male. On the primary endpoint, change in Loewenstein Occupational Therapy Cognitive Assessment score at 90 days, least-squares mean change was 20.45 (95 per cent confidence interval 17.23 to 23.66) for L-oxiracetam, 15.90 (12.71 to 19.10) for the racemate and 11.47 (7.75 to 15.20) for placebo.

Two comparisons are reported and the third is not. L-oxiracetam against placebo gives a difference of 8.97 (5.69 to 12.26), Cohen's d 0.48, p below 0.001; L-oxiracetam against the racemate gives 4.54 (1.85 to 7.23). No comparison of racemic oxiracetam against placebo appears anywhere in the paper, in its table, its text or its abstract. This is the largest trial in which the compound has been administered, 590 randomised with 236 on the racemate, and it tested the racemate as an active comparator without ever formally testing it against its own placebo arm. A footnote to that same table states that the confidence intervals were not adjusted for multiplicity and cannot be used to infer treatment effects, which is the comparison the abstract's efficacy claim rests on.

Secondary outcomes were largely flat even for the enantiomer. Against placebo at 90 days, Mini-Mental State Examination differed by 0.71 (minus 0.16 to 1.57, p equals 0.108), activities of daily living by minus 0.19 (minus 1.33 to 0.96, p equals 0.747), and Glasgow Coma Scale change at 14 days by minus 0.01 (p equals 0.872); the proportion reaching good recovery (extended Glasgow Outcome Scale 7 to 8) at 90 days differed by minus 1.50 percentage points (minus 4.61 to 1.51, p equals 0.667), a proportion rather than a score change. Montreal Cognitive Assessment at 90 days reached 1.11 (0.08 to 2.14, p equals 0.036), unadjusted for multiplicity. The positive finding is confined to the primary instrument.

Adverse-event rates ran in an order worth stating plainly. Any adverse event occurred in 65.96, 66.53 and 67.23 per cent of the L-oxiracetam, racemate and placebo arms respectively (p equals 0.980), and serious adverse events in 5.53, 7.63 and 12.60 per cent (p equals 0.100), highest on placebo. Treatment-related adverse events ran 9.36, 17.37 and 9.24 per cent (p equals 0.049), highest on the racemate. Discontinuation for adverse events ran 0.43, 3.81 and 5.88 per cent (p equals 0.004). No treatment-related serious adverse event occurred in any arm.

What is not known

Absolute bioavailability rests on four healthy volunteers in one 1984 study, and the only other human absorption figure, from two men given a carbon-14 preparation, is roughly twenty percentage points lower and measures a different quantity. Brain penetration is unresolved and the two carbon-14 studies that address it, one from the originating laboratory and one from the licensee, reach opposite conclusions in the same species; no human imaging or cerebrospinal fluid measurement of this compound was located. Which chemical species carries any effect is now openly in question, since the development programme has moved to the S-enantiomer on the strength of one 2017 rat study and no published head-to-head in people establishes that the R-enantiomer is inert rather than merely unmeasured. Nothing in the human record characterises effects in people under 18, in pregnancy, beyond twelve months of exposure, or on discontinuation, and the twelve-month data come from two uncontrolled open-label datasets rather than one: the 96-patient Rozzini cohort, whose open second half had no control arm, and the 29 of 30 drug-arm patients Villardita carried from a 90-day placebo-controlled trial into an open follow-up to one year, during whose late phase worsening against baseline was recorded on Digit Span Backward and Gibson's Spiral. Of the nine placebo-controlled reports from 1985 to 1993, none reports blinding, allocation concealment and outcome definitions in enough detail to be appraised from the retrievable text, two pairs appear to describe overlapping cohorts without saying so, and none was prospectively registered because prospective registration did not yet exist. The 2025 phase 3, which is the largest trial in which this compound has been administered, never compared racemic oxiracetam against its own placebo arm, so the largest modern dataset contains no placebo-controlled estimate of the racemate's effect. No formal toxicology beyond a 13-week dog study was located, and no adverse-event dataset for the racemate traces to a primary source rather than to a secondary review. Whether a live marketing authorisation exists in any named European country was not confirmed here against a national register, and neither the Korean medicines register nor the Korean reimbursement register was reached.

Questions

Has oxiracetam been tested in humans?
Yes, and the useful part of that record is smaller than the count suggests. Twenty records in the 220-record PubMed corpus carry the publication type Randomized Controlled Trial, but two are acupuncture trials using oxiracetam as the control arm, one is a nicergoline combination study, one mentions the compound only as a database entry, one is a protocol with no results, and three test the single enantiomer. Ten placebo-controlled reports of the racemate remain, nine published between 1985 and 1993 and one in 2026. Two of the older ones were negative and one found no significant between-group difference on its main rating scale. Two pairs of the positive reports appear to describe overlapping cohorts.
What did the largest placebo-controlled trial of the racemate find?
Nothing. Lim and colleagues randomised 500 patients at 30 Korean hospitals to 800 mg twice daily or placebo for 36 weeks. MMSE changed by plus 0.13 plus or minus 2.27 against plus 0.27 plus or minus 2.09 (p equals 0.49) and CDR-SB by minus 0.14 plus or minus 0.70 against minus 0.08 plus or minus 0.80 (p equals 0.38). No interaction with physical activity was observed. The trial was commissioned by South Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, whose January 2023 drug safety communication recommending suspension of oxiracetam prescriptions preceded the publication of those results by three years (PMID 41614470). A larger trial exists, the 590-patient LOCATE study, but it was not placebo-controlled for the racemate.
Does the 2025 phase 3 trial support oxiracetam?
It does not test the question. The LOCATE trial randomised 590 patients with traumatic brain injury 2:2:1 to intravenous L-oxiracetam, racemic oxiracetam or placebo for fourteen days, making it the largest trial in which this compound has been administered, with 236 patients on the racemate. Its table reports L-oxiracetam against placebo and L-oxiracetam against the racemate. No comparison of racemic oxiracetam against placebo appears anywhere in the paper. A footnote to that table states that the confidence intervals were not adjusted for multiplicity and cannot be used to infer treatment effects, which is the comparison the abstract's claim of greater efficacy for the enantiomer rests on (PMID 41381424).
Is oxiracetam approved anywhere?
Not in the United States, where Cohen and colleagues list it among four drugs not approved for human use (PMID 34484905). South Korea's medicines regulator issued a drug safety communication in January 2023 recommending suspension of oxiracetam prescriptions (PMID 41614470); the market withdrawal reported to have followed it is recorded in the untraced claims rather than stated here, because no Korean regulatory or reimbursement register was reached to confirm it. A 2025 survey by twelve official medicines control laboratories records the compound as not authorised for human use by any health authority in the EU or Australia (PMID 40558871). China approved a phase 3 trial in which the racemate was the active comparator, which implies continued availability there but was not confirmed here against a national register.
Has any oxiracetam paper been retracted?
No. A publication-type query across the whole 220-record corpus for Retracted Publication, Retraction of Publication, Expression of Concern and Published Erratum returned zero records in each category, and all 43 PMIDs cited on this page were individually fetched from NCBI and checked for publication-type flags and correction links. Nothing was found. One defect of a different kind was found and is recorded in the untraced claims: a 2025 regulatory-laboratory paper cites a study protocol as though it reported a positive result, and the results, when they appeared three years later, were null on both coprimary endpoints.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 4626, Oxiracetam. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026. CAS 62613-82-5, C6H10N2O3, MW 158.16, InChIKey IHLAQQPQKRMGSS-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 2-(4-hydroxy-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, XLogP minus 2.2. The S-enantiomer carries a separate record, CID 6603951, InChIKey IHLAQQPQKRMGSS-BYPYZUCNSA-N. Database record; carries no PMID. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record OXIRACETAM, UNII P7U817352G, status approved, C6H10N2O3, MW 158.1554, stereochemistry recorded as unknown with optical activity plus or minus; codes on the same record include WHO ATC N06BX07, WHO-VATC QN06BX07, CAS 62613-82-5, INN 4762, ChEMBL36633, MeSH C040619, DrugBank DB13601, DrugCentral 2021, EPA CompTox DTXSID9045180, Merck Index m8311, RxCUI 32645 and PubChem 4626, with CGP 21690E as a development code. Retrieved 18 August 2026. Database record; carries no PMID. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Lim JS, Rha JH, Park JH, Lee K, et al. Oxiracetam and physical activity in preventing cognitive decline after stroke: A multicenter, randomized controlled trial. Eur Stroke J. 2026;11(1). Read in full text via PMC12866270. Commissioned by South Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety; the funding statement names Korean Drug Company, Ltd and states that the funding source had no role in the design and conductance of study, analysis and interpretation of data, and decision to submit the paper. The paper makes no statement connecting the funder to any withdrawn product, and describes no February 2023 market action. Registered on Korea's CRIS as KCT0005137, not on ClinicalTrials.gov. PMID 41614470 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Lim JS, Lee J, Kang Y, Park HT, et al. Efficacy and safety of oxiracetam in patients with vascular cognitive impairment: A multicenter, randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled, phase IV clinical trial. Contemp Clin Trials. 2023;126:107108. This is the design paper for the trial above and reports no outcome data; it is the source cited in Vanhee 2025 for a positive cognitive result. PMID 36724841 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Liu T, Wang J, Zhao Z, Jiang W, et al. Efficacy and safety of L-oxiracetam on cognitive function in patients with traumatic brain injury: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, phase 3 clinical trial. Signal Transduct Target Ther. 2025;10(1):401. Read in full text via PMC12698704. The largest trial in which this compound has been administered: 590 randomised, 236 on the racemate. Table 2 reports L-oxiracetam against placebo and L-oxiracetam against oxiracetam only; no oxiracetam-against-placebo comparison appears. The GOSE row of that table is a percentage of patients reaching GOSE 7 to 8, not a score change, good recovery having been defined in the methods as GOSE 7-8. Registered NCT04205565 and CTR20192539. PMID 41381424 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Hjorther A, Browne E, Jakobsen K, Viskum P, et al. Organic brain syndrome treated with oxiracetam. A double-blind randomized controlled trial. Acta Neurol Scand. 1987;75(4):271-6. Negative on every measure. The abstract states the dose as 2.4 mg per day, inconsistent with the rest of this literature; the discrepancy is the source's and is reported rather than corrected. PMID 3296624 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Aldenkamp AP, van Wieringen A, Alpherts WC, van Emde Boas W, et al. Double-blind placebo-controlled, neuropsychological and neurophysiological investigations with oxiracetam (CGP 21690E) in memory-impaired patients with epilepsy. Neuropsychobiology. 1990-1991;24(2):90-101. No meaningful change in memory function. PMID 2134116 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Villardita C, Grioli S, Lomeo C, Cattaneo C, et al. Clinical studies with oxiracetam in patients with dementia of Alzheimer type and multi-infarct dementia of mild to moderate degree. Neuropsychobiology. 1992;25(1):24-8. Sixty outpatients, 800 mg twice daily, 90 double-blind days, University of Catania, followed by an uncontrolled open follow-up to one year in 29 of the 30 drug-arm patients, with worsening against baseline on Digit Span Backward and Gibson's Spiral in the late phase. An earlier report from the same department and first author covers 40 outpatients under the same dose, duration and overlapping test battery (Villardita 1987, J Neural Transm Suppl 24:293-8, PMID 3479527); neither paper states the relationship between the two cohorts. PMID 1603291 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Rozzini R, Zanetti O, Bianchetti A. Effectiveness of oxiracetam therapy in the treatment of cognitive deficiencies secondary to primary degenerative dementia. Acta Neurol (Napoli). 1992;14(2):117-26. Ninety-six outpatients, 1600 mg daily, 26 double-blind weeks. The same three authors, the same hospital in Brescia, the same 96 outpatients and the same dose appear again the following year covering 26 double-blind weeks plus 26 open weeks (Rozzini 1993, Acta Neurol (Napoli) 15(1):44-52, PMID 8456595), without the second report describing itself as an extension of the first. PMID 1414555 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Bottini G, Vallar G, Cappa S, Monza GC, et al. Oxiracetam in dementia: a double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Acta Neurol Scand. 1992;86(3):237-41. Sixty-five patients enrolled, 58 completed; difference in favour of the drug on a quality of life scale at p below 0.01, with some neuropsychological differences surviving Bonferroni correction. The battery included Raven's Progressive Matrices, a nonverbal reasoning instrument, alongside simple reaction time, controlled associations, short story, token test, digit span and word list learning. PMID 1414239 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Perucca E, Albrici A, Gatti G, Spalluto R, et al. Pharmacokinetics of oxiracetam following intravenous and oral administration in healthy volunteers. Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet. 1984;9(3):267-74. The only absolute-availability determination located: 75 plus or minus 7 per cent in four volunteers at 2000 mg. PMID 6519128 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Gschwind HP, Schutz H, Wigger N, Bentley P. Absorption and disposition of 14C-labelled oxiracetam in rat, dog and man. Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet. 1992;17(1):67-82. Author affiliation Research and Development Department, Ciba-Geigy Limited, Basle. Reports very low brain levels in rats and slow diffusion across the blood-brain barrier, which contradicts Ponzio 1989 in the same species with the same isotope. PMID 1499599 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Lecaillon JB, Dubois JP, Coppens H, Darragon T, et al. Pharmacokinetics of oxiracetam in elderly patients after 800 mg oral doses, comparison with non-geriatric healthy subjects. Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet. 1990;15(3):223-30. Author affiliation Laboratoires CIBA-GEIGY, Rueil-Malmaison. The companion paper in the same issue covers renal impairment in twenty patients with terminal half-life from 10.6 to 68.1 hours (PMID 2253654). PMID 2253653 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Perucca E, Parini J, Albrici A, Visconti M, et al. Oxiracetam pharmacokinetics following single and multiple dose administration in the elderly. Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet. 1987;12(2):145-8. Six elderly female patients aged 69 to 96; half-life three to six hours, which disagrees with the 12.3 hours Lecaillon reported in elderly patients three years later. PMID 3691580 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Ponzio F, Pozzi O, Banfi S, Dorigotti L. Brain entry and direct central pharmacological effects of the nootropic drug oxiracetam. Pharmacopsychiatry. 1989;22 Suppl 2:111-5. Author affiliation ISF Laboratories for Biomedical Research, Trezzano, Milan, the originating company. Reports recovery of unmetabolised drug in septum, hippocampus, cortex and striatum. PMID 2602442 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Copani A, Genazzani AA, Aleppo G, Casabona G, et al. Nootropic drugs positively modulate alpha-amino-3-hydroxy-5-methyl-4-isoxazolepropionic acid-sensitive glutamate receptors in neuronal cultures. J Neurochem. 1992;58(4):1199-204. Micromolar concentrations in rat cerebellar granule cell cultures. This is the primary source behind the AMPA-modulator description that circulates without a species or concentration attached. PMID 1372342 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Cohen PA, Avula B, Wang YH, Zakharevich I, et al. Five Unapproved Drugs Found in Cognitive Enhancement Supplements. Neurol Clin Pract. 2021;11(3):e303-e307. Lists oxiracetam among four drugs not approved for human use in the United States. Read in full text: two of the four piracetam analogues, phenylpiracetam and oxiracetam, were listed on product labels but not detected in the products analysed. PMID 34484905 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Vanhee C, Deconinck E, George M, Hansen A, et al. The Occurrence of Illicit Smart Drugs or Nootropics in Europe and Australia and Their Associated Dangers: Results from a Market Surveillance Study by 12 Official Medicines Control Laboratories. J Xenobiot. 2025;15(3). Read in full text via PMC12193813. Appendix Table A1 carries the columns Molecule Found, Detection Frequency, Number of Laboratories Where Detected, Mainly Presented as, and Legal Status; the oxiracetam row records one detection by one laboratory, the seized form as unknown, and the legal status as a piracetam homologue not authorised for human use by any health authority in the EU or Australia. A second table describes a 270.7 mg sample and cites the trial protocol at PMID 36724841 as showing an increase in cognitive recovery after stroke; that protocol reports no results. PMID 40558871 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.