Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Phenylpiracetam (Fonturacetam)

Phenylpiracetam is a phenyl-substituted pyrrolidone, first described in a Soviet pharmacology journal in 1983 and registered in Russia as a prescription nootropic under the International Nonproprietary Name fonturacetam. It was the first nootropic prohibited in sport, in 1998. Almost all of its mechanistic literature was produced on resolved single enantiomers, while the registered medicine is the racemate, and ClinicalTrials.gov returns nothing under any of its six designations.

Strongest evidence: Human dataPublished human studies exist; one indexed abstract describes a double-blind placebo-controlled randomised trial, all are Russian-language, and none is registered in ClinicalTrials.gov, the only registry queried 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic 4-phenyl-substituted 2-oxopyrrolidine acetamide; a racemic piracetam analogue with a stereocentre at ring position four. The R-enantiomer has been characterised in radioligand assays as a dopamine transporter inhibitor. Resolved enantiomers of this racemate carry separate development codes — MRZ-9547 for the R-enantiomer (defined in PMID 25319446) and MRZ-9546 for its l-enantiomer (PMID 24964269). Neither code is a synonym of the racemate and neither appears on the PubChem or FDA substance record.
CAS number
77472-70-9
PubChem CID
132441
Molecular formula
C12H14N2O2
Molecular weight
218.25 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
Fonturacetam (INN, INN code 9111); carphedon; carphedone; 4-phenylpiracetam; phenotropil (registry spelling phenotropyl); 2-(2-oxo-4-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide; UNII 99QW5JU66Y; InChIKey LYONXVJRBWWGQO-UHFFFAOYSA-N; ChEMBL348639; EC 688-268-0.

Identity, and one molecule under six names

The names are the complication here, not the chemistry. PubChem holds one record, filed under phenylpiracetam: CID 132441, CAS 77472-70-9, formula C12H14N2O2, molecular weight 218.25, InChIKey LYONXVJRBWWGQO-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 2-(2-oxo-4-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide. The FDA Global Substance Registration System carries the same CAS and formula under the International Nonproprietary Name fonturacetam, UNII 99QW5JU66Y, INN code 9111, with carphedon, carphedone, 4-phenylpiracetam and phenotropyl parked on that one record as synonyms (the registry's spelling; the literature uses phenotropil). Six designations, one molecule. The registry is explicit that the substance is the racemate: among the systematic names it carries is (R,S)-2-(2-oxo-4-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide.

Chirality is the first thing separating the literature from the drug. The pyrrolidinone ring carries a stereocentre at position four, and most mechanistic work published since 2011 was done on resolved enantiomers rather than on the racemate registered as a medicine. Dekundy and colleagues define MRZ-9547 as d-(2-(2-oxo-4(R)-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)-acetamide), which is R-phenylpiracetam, and Sommer and colleagues describe MRZ-9546 as its l-enantiomer. A result recorded for one enantiomer is not a result about the racemate, and the two did not behave alike in the single study that tested them side by side.

Regulatory position differs by jurisdiction and is unambiguous in each. In Russia the racemate is a registered prescription nootropic. In the United States it is not approved for human use: Cohen and colleagues selected products for analysis on the basis of four drugs unapproved in the United States, phenylpiracetam among them. A market-surveillance study by twelve official medicines control laboratories across Europe and Australia classified it among substances available on prescription in Russia and unauthorised in the participating territories, and recorded it being intercepted as bulk raw material rather than as finished product.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Operant behaviour was activated more powerfully than by piracetam, the psychodepressant effects of diazepam were removed, post-rotational nystagmus was inhibited and the development of retrograde amnesia was prevented; a specific anticonvulsant action was recorded that piracetam did not show. In high doses the compound produced psychodepressant effectsLaboratory animals; the indexed abstract names no speciesNot stated in the indexed abstract; no dose givenNot stated in the indexed abstractBobkov 1983, Biull Eksp Biol Med, PMID 6403074 (r3). Russian; English abstract only
Racemic phenotropil and both resolved enantiomers were tested in the same mouse battery; the indexed abstract publishes dose-response results for the enantiomers only and reports no racemate figure. Open-field locomotor activity rose after a single administration of the R-enantiomer at 10 and 50 mg/kg and of the S-enantiomer at 50 mg/kg; in forced swim the R-enantiomer was active at 50 and 100 mg/kg and the S-enantiomer at 100 mg/kg; in passive avoidance only the R-enantiomer altered performance, at 1 mg/kg. Brain tissue concentrations of the two enantiomers, measured by UPLC-MS/MS after a single administration, were similar; no concentration value and no timepoint is publishedMiceSingle administration; the indexed abstract does not state by which routeNot stated in the indexed abstractZvejniece 2011, Basic Clin Pharmacol Toxicol, PMID 21689376 (r4)
S-phenylpiracetam decreased body weight gain and fat mass increase, reduced plasma glucose and leptin concentrations and lowered hyperglycaemia in a glucose tolerance test, without changing locomotor activity in the open field in either speciesWestern-diet-fed mice (8 weeks) and obese Zucker rats (12 weeks)Peroral, dailyNot stated in the indexed abstractZvejniece 2017, Pharmacol Biochem Behav, PMID 28743458 (r5)
In radioligand binding and enzymatic activity assays the dopamine transporter was the only significant molecular target found for R-phenylpiracetam. At 50 mg/kg the compound reached brain tissue within 15 minutes by both routes, with maximal brain concentrations of 28 micrograms per gram (intraperitoneal) and 18 micrograms per gram (peroral). A single intraperitoneal injection was followed by attenuation of the lipopolysaccharide-induced body-temperature reduction and of the brain overexpression of TNF-alpha, IL-1beta and iNOS; seven days of peroral pretreatment dose-dependently reduced carrageenan-induced paw oedemaMale miceIntraperitoneal and peroral, 50 mg/kg; seven-day peroral pretreatment in the oedema testNot stated in the indexed abstractZvejniece 2020, Inflammopharmacology, PMID 32279140 (r6)
MRZ-9547, the R-enantiomer, was characterised as a selective dopamine transporter inhibitor that moderately stimulated striatal dopamine release, and dose-dependently increased responding on a standard progressive ratio task and on a progressive ratio versus chow feeding choice task; the l-enantiomer MRZ-9546 was a much less potent transporter inhibitor and considerably less active behaviourally. Methylphenidate had moderate and modafinil and d-amphetamine marginal effects in the same tasksIntact ratsNot stated in the indexed abstract; in vitro assays and in vivo microdialysis run alongsideNot stated in the indexed abstractSommer 2014, Int J Neuropsychopharmacol, PMID 24964269 (r7)
MRZ-9547 dose-dependently attenuated the haloperidol-induced decrease in horizontal locomotion, central-zone activity and rearings from 50 mg/kg upward, attenuated hypolocomotion in monoamine-depleted rats from 100 mg/kg, and induced dose-dependent ipsilateral rotations in unilaterally lesioned rats. At 50 mg/kg it did not significantly affect abnormal involuntary movements after chronic L-DOPARats: haloperidol-treated, alpha-methyl-p-tyrosine and reserpine depleted, and unilaterally 6-hydroxydopamine-lesionedIntraperitoneal, 25-100 mg/kgNot stated in the indexed abstractDekundy 2015, J Neural Transm (Vienna), PMID 25319446 (r7)
Across concentrations from 10 to the minus four down to 10 to the minus ten molar, piracetam and phenotropil did not affect binding of the corresponding ligands to AMPA, NMDA or metabotropic glutamate receptors, while in the same run nooglutil competed at an AMPA site with IC50 6.4 micromolar, noopept at 80 micromolar, semax at metabotropic glutamate sites at 33 micromolar and dimebon at the NMDA channel at 59 micromolarRat brain membranesIn vitro radioligand bindingNot stated in the indexed abstractFirstova 2011, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 21476267 (r8). Russian; English abstract only
Hippocampal BDNF rose only in the low-exploratory-efficacy animals, reaching 0.119 plus or minus 0.006 picograms per microgram after phenotropil against 0.091 plus or minus 0.005 in low-efficacy controls; cortical BDNF rose after piracetam and semax but not after phenotropil, and no change occurred in the high-efficacy animalsMice separated by high or low exploratory efficacy in a cross-maze testSubchronic administration; the indexed abstract does not state by which routeNot stated in the indexed abstractFirstova 2009, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 20095391 (r9). Russian; English abstract only
Phenotropil, and to a lower extent piracetam, reduced manifestations of neurological deficiency, retained locomotor, exploratory and memory function, increased survival and favoured restoration of local cerebral blood flow after bilateral carotid occlusion with craniocaudal gravitational overload. The comparison as indexed is qualitative; no effect size is published in the abstractWistar rats stratified by low and high sensitivity to cerebral ischaemiaNot stated in the indexed abstractNot stated in the indexed abstractTiurenkov 2007, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 17523446 (r10). Russian; English abstract only
Double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised add-on trial. Seizure frequency fell and cognitive measures improved in patients without epileptiform EEG abnormalities; in 40 per cent of patients the drug did not reduce the negative effects of the background antiepileptic regimen. The indexed abstract publishes no effect size, no p-value and no arm sizesAdults with symptomatic locally-induced epilepsy taking standard antiepileptic drugsOral, 100 or 200 mg90 patientsGrebeniuk 2014, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 25591651 (r11). Russian; English abstract only. PubMed does not type this record as a trial of any kind
Restoration of neurological function and daily living activities was significantly better in the treated group on the Barthel, Lindmark, Scandinavian and Merton and Sutton scales (p less than 0.0001); in the separate observational programme, MFI-20 asthenia scores fell significantly by the end of the first month and more than halved by three months, with faster decline in younger patients. Neither report describes randomisation or blinding, and the second had no control group400 patients after ischaemic stroke (200 treated); 1170 patients aged 45-65 with chronic brain ischaemiaOral; 400 mg/day in three courses over one year, and 100 mg over two and three months400 and 1170Koval'chuk 2010, PMID 21626817; Fedin 2014 (TRIUMPH), PMID 25726789 (r13). Russian; English abstracts only
Pooled MFI-20 asthenia score fell by a mean of 16.3 points (95% CI 8.85-23.85, p less than 0.0001) at day 30 across the 11 included articles, and adverse-event frequency averaged 5.5 per cent. What the abstract describes is a within-group change from baseline after a course of treatment; it names no placebo comparison, reports no control arm and gives no pooled between-group difference549 patients with asthenia, mean age 45.9 yearsOral, 200 mg daily for one month in every included study549 across 11 articlesDevlikamova 2025, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 40047835 (r15). Russian; English abstract only
Oral bioavailability of approximately 100 per cent, half-life of 3 to 5 hours in humans and 2.5 to 3 hours in rodents, no metabolism, and excretion split roughly 40 per cent in urine and 60 per cent in bile and sweatPubMed searches pairing phenotropil, phenylpiracetam, carphedon and fonturacetam with pharmacokinetics, bioavailability and half-life return three records between them, none of which is a pharmacokinetic study in people: one is the Latvian R-enantiomer paper (PMID 32279140), one an animal behavioural screen (PMID 23994920), and the third is the Malykh and Sadaie review itself (PMID 20166767). Europe PMC full-text searches for phenylpiracetam with bioavailability and with half-life return nine and six records, all reviews or unrelated chemistry. The encyclopaedia entry carrying these figures attributes them to Malykh and Sadaie 2010 (PMID 20166767) and to a product leaflet; that review is subscription-only and its abstract states only that phenylpiracetam is more potent than piracetam and used for a wider range of indications, with no numbers. The only quantified pharmacokinetic parameter located in a primary paper is in male mice, for the R-enantiomer, at 50 mg/kg (PMID 32279140); Zvejniece 2011 also measured brain-tissue concentrations by UPLC-MS/MS after a single administration but reports only that the two enantiomers were similar, with no concentration, no timepoint and no route (PMID 21689376). No species, route or sample size accompanies any of the circulating human figures.No source found
Phenylpiracetam is 20 to 60 times more potent than piracetamThe ratio varies by page: 20-fold, 30-fold and 60-fold all circulate, sometimes within one paragraph of each other. No head-to-head dose-response experiment supplying any of them was located in PubMed or Europe PMC. The traceable statement is qualitative: Malykh and Sadaie 2010 (PMID 20166767) write that phenylpiracetam is more potent than piracetam, with no factor attached. Bobkov 1983 (PMID 6403074) compared the two on operant behaviour and reported a difference in direction rather than a potency ratio, and its indexed abstract publishes no doses at all. A search pairing the four names with piracetam and potency returned no equipotency measurement.No source found
It was developed in 1983 for Soviet cosmonauts and is used today by cosmonauts on the International Space StationA Europe PMC full-text search for phenylpiracetam or carphedon together with cosmonaut returns zero records. Bobkov 1983, the first description, names no application and no institution in its indexed abstract. The nearest published statement is in Pokrywka 2025 (PMID 41048238), which says the substance was unofficially produced in Russia by the Research Institute of Cosmic Medicine and used as a stimulant and stress protector; that sentence cites Jedrejko 2023 (PMID 37357012), itself a review, whose own basis could not be checked because Drug Testing and Analysis is not open access. The International Space Station claim was not located in any indexed source.No source found
It increases cold tolerance and resistance to hypothermiaPubMed searches pairing phenotropil, phenylpiracetam and carphedon with hypothermia, cold and thermoregulation return exactly one record: Kim 1999 (PMID 10746314), a solid-phase microextraction assay paper whose opening sentence states that carphedon is effective in increasing physical endurance and cold resistance and carries no citation. No thermoregulation experiment sits behind that sentence in the indexed record. The nearest measured body-temperature finding belongs to a different frame entirely: in male mice, a single intraperitoneal injection of R-phenylpiracetam was followed by attenuation of the temperature drop caused by lipopolysaccharide (PMID 32279140), which is an endotoxaemia model, not a cold-exposure model.No source found
It increases the density of NMDA, GABA-A, nicotinic acetylcholine and dopamine D1, D2 and D3 receptors in brainThe receptor-density experiment that exists was run on piracetam and meclofenoxate, not on this compound: Kovalev 2008 (PMID 18365480) reported a 70 per cent rise in NMDA binding sites after piracetam and falls of 55 and 40 per cent in neocortical nicotinic receptor density, in mice split by exploratory efficacy. Phenylpiracetam does not appear in it. The one direct measurement on phenotropil, Firstova 2011 (PMID 21476267), found no effect on AMPA, NMDA or metabotropic glutamate binding across six orders of magnitude of concentration. A PubMed search pairing phenotropil or phenylpiracetam with nicotinic returns zero records, and pairing them with dopamine receptor terms returns only transporter work.No source found
Phenylpiracetam binds the alpha4beta2 nicotinic acetylcholine receptor with an IC50 of 5.86 micromolarThe figure is attributed on the encyclopaedia entry to a 2011 paper by Firstova, Abaimov and Abaimov. A PubMed author search on Firstova returns six records; none concerns nicotinic binding by this compound, and none carries two authors named Abaimov. Kovalev, Firstova and Salimov 2008 (PMID 18365480) is the only nicotinic binding paper in that author cluster, and its drugs are piracetam and meclofenoxate. Searches for phenylpiracetam with alpha4beta2 return nothing in PubMed. The value could not be traced to any indexed paper.No source found
R-phenylpiracetam at 100 mg/kg produced 375 per cent more work effort than placebo, against 150 per cent for dextroamphetamine and 170 per cent for methylphenidateThese percentages are cited to European patent application EP20140000021, not to a journal. The peer-reviewed experiment underneath them is Sommer 2014 (PMID 24964269), which reports that MRZ-9547 increased progressive ratio responding in rats and that methylphenidate had moderate and modafinil and d-amphetamine marginal effects in the same tasks; its indexed abstract publishes no percentages, no doses and no group sizes, and the paper is not open access. A patent application is written by the party seeking the patent and is not peer reviewed. The comparison exists in the literature; the three numbers attached to it do not.No source found
Peer-reviewed sports-nutrition literature states that phenylpiracetam enhances strength and endurance, improves memory retention and enhances dopaminergic activityA 2026 review in Food Science and Nutrition (PMID 42079329) makes all three statements in tables and attaches a citation to each. Retrieving its reference list from the Europe PMC full text shows that Frazer 2025 is a review of Panax ginseng in alcohol use disorder (PMID 41002721), Banerjee 2021 is an overview of bacosides from Bacopa monnieri (PMID 34254371), and Brimson 2021 is an analysis of clinical data on Bacopa monnieri (PMID 33436817). None of the three concerns phenylpiracetam. The claims are uncited in substance while appearing cited in form, in a peer-reviewed journal published this year.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What the 1983 paper reported

Bobkov and colleagues described the compound in Biulleten Eksperimentalnoi Biologii i Meditsiny in 1983, comparing it against piracetam, morpholene and 4-phenylpyrrolidone. The indexed abstract records four positive findings: operant behaviour activated more powerfully than by piracetam, the psychodepressant effects of diazepam removed, post-rotational nystagmus inhibited, and the development of retrograde amnesia prevented. It records one dissociation from the parent compound, a specific anticonvulsant action that piracetam did not show. Species, route and group size appear nowhere in the abstract, so the experiments behind those statements cannot be reconstructed from the indexed record.

The fifth finding is the one that does not travel. In the same abstract, high doses produced psychodepressant effects, the opposite direction from the activation reported at lower ones. Secondary summaries reliably carry the stimulant results and reliably omit the reversal. Read back to its first description, the compound's reputation begins with an unquantified dose-dependent contradiction, in a paper that publishes no dose, no species and no number of animals. Nothing indexed since has established which doses fall on which side of it.

Absent from the 1983 abstract is any mention of cold, hypothermia, endurance or exercise. The earliest indexed sentence connecting the molecule to those effects opens a 1999 method paper on urinary detection, which states that carphedon is effective in increasing physical endurance and cold resistance and cites nothing for it. That sentence is a chromatographer's preamble, not a result. Pairing any of the four names with hypothermia, cold or thermoregulation in PubMed returns that same paper and nothing else.

The transporter work, and which molecule it was done on

Zvejniece and colleagues compared the racemate and both resolved enantiomers in mice in 2011. In the open field, locomotor activity rose after a single administration of the R-enantiomer at 10 and 50 mg/kg and of the S-enantiomer at 50 mg/kg. In the forced swim test the R-enantiomer was active at 50 and 100 mg/kg, the S-enantiomer at 100 mg/kg. In passive avoidance only the R-enantiomer altered performance, at 1 mg/kg. Brain tissue concentrations measured by liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry were similar for both enantiomers, which removes differential brain penetration as an explanation. The indexed abstract states no group size, no route, and no separate figure for the racemate arm.

Six years later the same laboratory reported the S-enantiomer in two obesity models: mice on a Western diet for eight weeks and obese Zucker rats for twelve, dosed perorally. Body weight gain and fat mass increase fell in both, plasma glucose and leptin fell, and locomotor activity in the open field did not change. That paper's title asserts selective dopamine transporter inhibition and its abstract attributes the finding to earlier work, but its reference list contains no primary radioligand paper for the S-enantiomer. The assertion arrives in the title before it arrives in the record.

Target profiling by radioligand binding and enzymatic assay was published for the R-enantiomer in 2020, and the dopamine transporter was the only significant target it returned. That paper is also the only source of a quantified pharmacokinetic parameter located under any of the four names: after 50 mg/kg in male mice the compound reached brain tissue within 15 minutes by both intraperitoneal and peroral routes, at maximal brain concentrations of 28 and 18 micrograms per gram respectively. Zvejniece 2011 also measured brain-tissue concentrations by UPLC-MS/MS after a single administration, but its indexed abstract reports only that the two enantiomers were similar, with no concentration, no timepoint and no route (PMID 21689376). In that same 2020 experiment in male mice, a single intraperitoneal injection was followed by attenuation of the lipopolysaccharide-induced body-temperature drop and of brain TNF-alpha, IL-1beta and iNOS overexpression (PMID 32279140).

Work on the R-enantiomer under its industrial code ran in parallel. Sommer and colleagues reported that MRZ-9547 is a selective dopamine transporter inhibitor that moderately stimulated striatal dopamine release in rats, and that it raised responding on a progressive ratio schedule more than methylphenidate, modafinil or d-amphetamine did in the same tasks. Dekundy and colleagues reported dose-dependent effects at 25 to 100 mg/kg intraperitoneally in haloperidol-treated and 6-hydroxydopamine-lesioned rats, with no significant effect on abnormal involuntary movements. A phase 1 study in healthy subjects appears in Huot's 2015 review as a 2014 conference abstract; no full publication is indexed.

Receptor claims the binding assays did not support

Firstova and colleagues ran radioligand binding on rat brain membranes across eight nootropic drugs in 2011. Nooglutil competed with an AMPA receptor agonist at an IC50 of 6.4 micromolar, noopept at 80 micromolar, semax at metabotropic glutamate sites at 33 micromolar and dimebon at the NMDA channel at 59 micromolar. Piracetam and phenotropil, tested from 10 to the minus four down to 10 to the minus ten molar, did not affect binding to any glutamate receptor examined. That is a negative result from a direct measurement, published by a laboratory that found positive results for other compounds in the same run.

Receptor-density claims for this compound appear to have been imported from a different molecule. Kovalev and colleagues in 2008 measured NMDA and nicotinic binding sites in mice separated by exploratory efficacy, and reported that piracetam raised NMDA binding sites by 70 per cent in the low-efficacy animals and lowered neocortical nicotinic receptor density by 55 and 40 per cent in the two subpopulations. Phenylpiracetam was not among the drugs tested. The circulating statement that it increases the density of NMDA, GABA-A, nicotinic and dopamine receptors has no counterpart experiment indexed under any of its four names.

One neurotrophin measurement exists. Firstova and colleagues in 2009 gave six nootropic drugs subchronically to mice divided by exploratory efficacy and measured BDNF by region. Hippocampal BDNF rose in the low-efficacy animals only, from 0.091 to 0.119 picograms per microgram for phenotropil, against 0.115 for piracetam and 0.123 for semax. Cortical BDNF rose after piracetam and semax but not after phenotropil, and nothing changed in the high-efficacy animals. Direction of effect depended on region and on baseline, and the effect was absent where there was no baseline deficit.

The human record, and what its indexing does not match

Counts first. A PubMed search across phenotropil, phenylpiracetam, carphedon and fonturacetam returns 50 records as of 18 August 2026. Six carry the publication type Clinical Trial, four of those Controlled Clinical Trial. One carries Randomized Controlled Trial. One carries Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. A publication-type query for Retracted Publication, Retraction of Publication and Expression of Concern across the whole corpus returns nothing. ClinicalTrials.gov queries on phenylpiracetam, carphedon, fonturacetam, phenotropil, 4-phenylpiracetam and MRZ-9547 each returned totalCount zero, so no study of this molecule or either enantiomer has been prospectively registered where that registry indexes.

Typing and abstracts do not line up. Savenkov and colleagues, the one paper PubMed types as a randomised controlled trial, examined 75 patients with symptomatic focal post-traumatic epilepsy and describes neither randomisation, nor blinding, nor allocation, nor a placebo arm in its indexed abstract, which closes by recommending the drug. Grebeniuk and colleagues describe what that paper does not: a double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised comparison in 90 adults given 100 or 200 mg as add-on to standard antiepileptic drugs. PubMed types it as neither. Its abstract publishes no effect size, no p-value and no arm sizes, and records that in 40 per cent of patients the drug did not reduce the negative effects of the background regimen.

Largest datasets, weakest designs. Koval'chuk and colleagues followed 400 patients after ischaemic stroke, 200 given three courses at 400 mg daily across the year after the event, and reported better recovery on the Barthel, Lindmark, Scandinavian and Merton and Sutton scales at p less than 0.0001; the abstract describes no randomisation and no blinding. Fedin and colleagues reported the TRIUMPH programme, 1170 patients aged 45 to 65 with chronic brain ischaemia treated at 100 mg for two and three months, with MFI-20 asthenia scores more than halved at three months. TRIUMPH is titled a non-interventional observational programme and had no control group.

Devlikamova and Safina pooled eleven articles and 549 patients in 2025, all at 200 mg daily, reporting a mean MFI-20 reduction of 16.3 points at day 30, a 95 per cent confidence interval from 8.85 to 23.85, and adverse events at 5.5 per cent. What the abstract describes is a pooled within-group change from baseline. It names no placebo comparison, reports no control arm and gives no pooled between-group difference. The included studies are Russian-language, and the pooling appeared in the journal that published most of them. Medvedev and colleagues, comparing two drugs over twelve weeks with 35 patients per arm, recorded the anxiolytic effect diminishing after four to eight weeks.

Doping status, and what analysis of products has found

Jedrejko and colleagues open their 2023 review with a date: fonturacetam was the first nootropic prohibited in sport, in 1998. Pokrywka and colleagues, surveying a national supplement market in 2025, tabulate it under section S6.A of the World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List as phenylpiracetam, with fonturacetam and carphedon as the parenthetical names (PMID 41048238); the List's own entry text and its specified or non-specified designation were not retrievable this session and are not asserted here. The same paper then uses 4-phenylpiracetam as the structural comparator against which nine other substances of unclear status are assessed, seven of them racetams, the other two a dipeptide and a piperazine derivative. In anti-doping practice the molecule functions as the reference case for a whole chemical family.

Detection preceded most of the pharmacology. Kim and colleagues published a solid-phase microextraction assay for carphedon in human urine in 1999, with a detection limit of 0.01 micrograms per millilitre, and Strano Rossi and Botrè listed carphedon among the stimulants found across roughly 100,000 urine samples analysed by one national anti-doping laboratory between 2000 and 2009, without a separate count for it.

Two content-analysis studies measured what was in containers rather than what happened in people. Cohen and colleagues selected ten cognitive-enhancement products by searching supplement databases for labels declaring omberacetam, aniracetam, phenylpiracetam or oxiracetam. Omberacetam and aniracetam were detected; phenylpiracetam was not detected in any of the ten, while phenibut, vinpocetine and picamilon, declared on no label, were. Nine of twelve checkable declared quantities were inaccurate. The twelve-laboratory survey documented 159 samples between 2020 and 2024, 69 per cent from the illegal market, and recorded phenylpiracetam among substances intercepted as bulk raw material.

A 2020 review of cognitive enhancers circulating in online drug-user communities put the pharmacology more bluntly than anything above. Having identified phenylpiracetam among the racetams discussed in those forums, Napoletano and colleagues wrote that there are no available studies on coluracetam, fasoracetam and phenylpiracetam. As a description of the indexed corpus that is too strong; 50 records exist. As a description of the English-language human corpus it is accurate, because that corpus is empty.

What is not known

No study of this molecule has been prospectively registered where ClinicalTrials.gov indexes: that registry returns zero results for phenylpiracetam, carphedon, fonturacetam, phenotropil, 4-phenylpiracetam and MRZ-9547 alike, and no other national or regional registry was queried this session. No pharmacokinetic parameter for people has been located in a retrievable primary report, so there is no half-life, no bioavailability figure, no clearance value and no metabolite identification; the one phase 1 study in healthy subjects known to have run exists only as a 2014 conference abstract cited inside a review, with no indexed publication and no registry record. The human literature is entirely Russian-language, and the single indexed abstract describing a double-blind placebo-controlled randomised design publishes no effect size, no p-value and no arm sizes. Zvejniece 2011 tested the racemate alongside both resolved enantiomers in the same mouse battery (PMID 21689376), but its indexed abstract publishes the dose-response results only for the R- and S-enantiomers and reports no racemate figure, so the proportion of the registered medicine's activity attributable to the R-enantiomer cannot be read off the indexed record, and the S-enantiomer's characterisation as a selective transporter inhibitor rests on an assertion rather than a located radioligand paper. Longest human observation retrievable is a year of intermittent treatment courses after stroke and three months of continuous assessment in an uncontrolled observational programme; the only published observation resembling tolerance is one comparative study recording an anxiolytic effect diminishing after four to eight weeks. No indexed study addresses use in people under 18, in pregnancy or on discontinuation, and no chronic toxicology study in any species was located under any of the four names. The compound is not approved for human use in the United States or the European Union, and material circulating outside Russian pharmacy supply has been intercepted as unregulated bulk raw material.

Questions

Is phenylpiracetam an approved medicine?
In Russia it is registered as a prescription nootropic under the International Nonproprietary Name fonturacetam. In the United States it is not approved for human use, and Cohen and colleagues used that status as the selection criterion for the products they analysed (PMID 34484905). A 2025 market-surveillance study by twelve official medicines control laboratories across Europe and Australia classified it among substances available on prescription in Russia and unauthorised in the participating territories (PMID 40558871).
Has it been tested in a randomised placebo-controlled trial?
One indexed abstract describes such a trial: Grebeniuk and colleagues, 90 adults with symptomatic locally-induced epilepsy given 100 or 200 mg as add-on therapy, double-blind, placebo-controlled and randomised (PMID 25591651). PubMed does not type that record as a trial of any kind, and its abstract publishes no effect size, no p-value and no arm sizes. The single paper PubMed does type as a randomised controlled trial (PMID 23887448) describes neither randomisation nor blinding in its abstract.
Why do so many findings come labelled R- or S-?
The molecule has a stereocentre at position four of the pyrrolidinone ring, and the registered medicine is the racemate while most work published since 2011 used resolved enantiomers. Dekundy and colleagues define the development code MRZ-9547 as the R-enantiomer (PMID 25319446); neither that code nor MRZ-9546 is a synonym of the racemate. In the one study that tested the racemate and both enantiomers side by side, only the R-enantiomer altered passive-avoidance performance, at 1 mg/kg, while brain concentrations of the two enantiomers were similar (PMID 21689376).
Is it prohibited in sport?
Yes. Jedrejko and colleagues record that fonturacetam was the first nootropic prohibited in sport, in 1998 (PMID 37357012). Pokrywka and colleagues tabulate it under section S6.A of the World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List as phenylpiracetam, with fonturacetam and carphedon as the parenthetical names, and then use 4-phenylpiracetam as the structural comparator for nine other substances of unclear status (PMID 41048238). The List's own entry text was not retrievable this session and is not asserted here.
Where do the half-life and bioavailability figures come from?
Not from any primary study located this session. PubMed returns no pharmacokinetic study of this compound in people under any of its four names, and the review usually credited with the figures publishes none in its abstract. The only quantified pharmacokinetic parameter traced to a primary paper is in male mice given 50 mg/kg of the R-enantiomer, which reached brain tissue within 15 minutes by intraperitoneal and peroral routes at 28 and 18 micrograms per gram (PMID 32279140). Zvejniece 2011 also measured brain-tissue concentrations by UPLC-MS/MS after a single administration but reports only that the two enantiomers were similar, with no concentration, no timepoint and no route (PMID 21689376).

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 132441, Phenylpiracetam. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Queried 18 August 2026: CAS 77472-70-9, C12H14N2O2, MW 218.25, InChIKey LYONXVJRBWWGQO-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 2-(2-oxo-4-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide. EC 688-268-0 was read here, on this record's 61-entry synonym list, and not on the FDA substance record. The synonym list carries phenotropil and phenotropyl; it carries neither MRZ-9547 nor MRZ-9546. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record FONTURACETAM, UNII 99QW5JU66Y. Carries CAS 77472-70-9, INN code 9111, PubChem 132441, formula C12H14N2O2 (MW 218.2522), stereochemistry recorded as RACEMIC, and the names carphedon, carphedone, 4-phenylpiracetam, phenotropyl and (R,S)-2-(2-oxo-4-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide. The record carries no EC or ECHA code system. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Bobkov IuG, Morozov IS, Glozman OM, Nerobkova LN, Zhmurenko LA. [Pharmacological characteristics of a new phenyl analog of piracetam - 4-phenylpiracetam]. Biull Eksp Biol Med. 1983;95(4):50-53. Russian; English abstract only. PMID 6403074 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Zvejniece L, Svalbe B, Veinberg G, Grinberga S, Vorona M, Kalvinsh I, Dambrova M. Investigation into stereoselective pharmacological activity of phenotropil. Basic Clin Pharmacol Toxicol. 2011;109(5):407-412. PMID 21689376. Its abstract states that racemic phenotropil and its enantiomers were tested together, and that brain tissue concentrations were determined by UPLC/MS/MS after a single administration. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Zvejniece L, Svalbe B, Vavers E, Makrecka-Kuka M, Makarova E, Liepins V, Kalvinsh I, Liepinsh E, Dambrova M. S-phenylpiracetam, a selective DAT inhibitor, reduces body weight gain without influencing locomotor activity. Pharmacol Biochem Behav. 2017;160:21-29. PMID 28743458 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Zvejniece L, Zvejniece B, Videja M, Stelfa G, Vavers E, Grinberga S, Svalbe B, Dambrova M. Neuroprotective and anti-inflammatory activity of DAT inhibitor R-phenylpiracetam in experimental models of inflammation in male mice. Inflammopharmacology. 2020;28(5):1283-1292. PMID 32279140 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. The MRZ-9547 cluster, cited together. Sommer S, Danysz W, Russ H, Valastro B, Flik G, Hauber W. The dopamine reuptake inhibitor MRZ-9547 increases progressive ratio responding in rats. Int J Neuropsychopharmacol. 2014;17(12):2045-2056, PMID 24964269. Dekundy A, Mela F, Hofmann M, Danysz W. Effects of dopamine uptake inhibitor MRZ-9547 in animal models of Parkinson's disease. J Neural Transm (Vienna). 2015;122(6):809-818, PMID 25319446 - this paper supplies the chemical definition of MRZ-9547 as the 4(R) enantiomer. Huot P, Fox SH, Brotchie JM. Monoamine reuptake inhibitors in Parkinson's disease. Parkinsons Dis. 2015;2015:609428, PMID 25810948 - its reference 571 is the only trace of a human study: Mendes P, Dersch H, Katgely B. A phase I study to investigate safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of MRZ-9547 in healthy subjects. Mov Disord. 2014;29(Suppl 1):S143, a conference abstract with no PMID and no registry entry. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Firstova IuIu, Vasil'eva EV, Kovalev GI. [Studying specific effects of nootropic drugs on glutamate receptors in the rat brain]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2011;74(1):6-10. Russian; English abstract only. PMID 21476267. Cited with the receptor-density paper it is frequently confused with: Kovalev GI, Firstova IuIu, Salimov RM. [Effects of piracetam and meclofenoxate on the brain NMDA and nicotinic receptors in mice with different exploratory efficacy in the cross maze test]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2008;71(1):12-17, PMID 18365480, which does not test phenylpiracetam. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Firstova IuIu, Dolotov OV, Kondrakhin EA, Dubynina EV, Grivennikov IA, Kovalev GI. [Effects of nootropic drugs on hippocampal and cortical BDNF levels in mice with different exploratory behavior efficacy]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2009;72(6):3-6. Russian; English abstract only. PMID 20095391 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Tiurenkov IN, Bagmetov MN, Epishina VV. [Comparative evaluation of the neuroprotective activity of phenotropil and piracetam in laboratory animals with experimental cerebral ischemia]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2007;70(2):24-29. Russian; English abstract only. PMID 17523446 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Grebeniuk OV, Zhukova NG, Alifirova VM. [The efficacy of add-on treatment with phenotropil in adult patients with locally-induced epilepsy]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2014;114(11 Pt 2):27-31. Russian; English abstract only. PMID 25591651. PubMed publication types for this record are Journal Article and English Abstract only, despite the abstract describing a double-blind placebo-controlled randomised design. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Savenkov AA, Badalian OL, Avakian GN. [Nootropics and antioxidants in the complex therapy of symptomatic posttraumatic epilepsy]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2013;113(6):26-34. Russian. PMID 23887448. This is the only record in the corpus typed by PubMed as a Randomized Controlled Trial; its indexed abstract describes no randomisation, blinding, allocation or placebo arm. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. The two large uncontrolled human datasets, cited together. Koval'chuk VV, Skoromets AA, Koval'chuk IV, et al. [Efficacy of phenotropil in the rehabilitation of stroke patients]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2010;110(12 Pt 2):38-40, PMID 21626817. Fedin AI, Solov'eva EI, Mironova OP, Fedotova AV. [Treatment of asthenic syndrome in patients with chronic brain ischemia: results of the non-interventional observational program TRIUMPH]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2014;114(12):104-111, PMID 25726789. Both Russian; English abstracts only. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Medvedev VE, Frolova VI, Epifanov AV. [New possibilities of pharmacotherapy in cardiovascular patients with mental disorders]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2014;114(9):30-37. Russian; English abstract only. PMID 25403298. Source of the only published observation resembling diminishing effect over time. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Devlikamova FI, Safina DR. [Efficacy and safety of fonturacetam in asthenia: a systematic review and meta-analysis]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2025;125(2):69-79. Russian; English abstract only. PMID 40047835. The only record in the corpus typed Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Secondary reviews cited in this record. Malykh AG, Sadaie MR. Piracetam and piracetam-like drugs: from basic science to novel clinical applications to CNS disorders. Drugs. 2010;70(3):287-312, PMID 20166767 - subscription only; the source usually credited with the circulating pharmacokinetic figures. Napoletano F, Schifano F, Corkery JM, et al. The Psychonauts' World of Cognitive Enhancers. Front Psychiatry. 2020;11:546796, PMID 33024436. Gromova OA, Torshin IY. [Pharmacological effects of fonturacetam (Actitropil) and prospects for its clinical use]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2024;124(8):21-31, PMID 39269293, Russian. Akhapkina VI, Akhapkin RV. [Identification and evaluation of the neuroleptic activity of phenotropil]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2013;113(7):42-46, PMID 23994920, Russian - the animal behavioural screen returned by the pharmacokinetics search. Yi Z. The Role of Nootropic Supplements in Sports. Food Sci Nutr. 2026;14(5):e71819, PMID 42079329 - the source of the three misattributed citations recorded in the untraced-claims table. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Doping status and detection, cited together. Jedrejko K, Catlin O, Stewart T, Anderson A, Muszynska B, Catlin DH. Unauthorized ingredients in "nootropic" dietary supplements: a review of the history, pharmacology, prevalence, international regulations, and potential as doping agents. Drug Test Anal. 2023;15(8):803-839, PMID 37357012 - source of the 1998 prohibition date. Pokrywka A, Surala O, Grabowska K, et al. "Brain doping" substances: prohibited or not in sports? Biol Sport. 2025;42(4):189-201, PMID 41048238 - its table entry reads Phenylpiracetam (Fonturacetam; Carphedon), S6.A, and nine further table rows carry 4-phenylpiracetam (S6) as their comparator. Kim S, Park JH, Myung SW, Lho DS. Determination of carphedon in human urine by solid-phase microextraction. Analyst. 1999;124(11):1559-1562, PMID 10746314. Strano Rossi S, Botre F. Prevalence of illicit drug use among the Italian athlete population. J Sports Sci. 2011;29(5):471-476, PMID 21279865. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Content analysis of marketed products, cited together. Cohen PA, Avula B, Wang YH, Zakharevich I, Khan I. Five Unapproved Drugs Found in Cognitive Enhancement Supplements. Neurol Clin Pract. 2021;11(3):e303-e307, PMID 34484905 - products labelled as containing phenylpiracetam were purchased; phenylpiracetam was not detected in any of the ten. Vanhee C, Deconinck E, George M, et al. The Occurrence of Illicit Smart Drugs or Nootropics in Europe and Australia and Their Associated Dangers: Results from a Market Surveillance Study by 12 Official Medicines Control Laboratories. J Xenobiot. 2025;15(3), PMID 40558871 - twelve laboratories in total, the Australian TGA laboratory among them. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.