Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Fasoracetam (NS-105)
Fasoracetam is a pyroglutamate-piperidine amide first characterised in Japan in the 1990s under the code NS-105, then revived two decades later under three further development codes for a genetically stratified ADHD programme. One uncontrolled trial in thirty adolescents was published in a journal, and it is the source of nearly every claim made for the molecule since. Four randomised placebo-controlled trials followed it. All four posted results to ClinicalTrials.gov, three of them with no statistical analysis attached to any outcome, and none has been published anywhere.
- Class
- Synthetic 5-substituted 2-pyrrolidinone; the piperidine amide of D-pyroglutamic acid, carrying a single stereocentre in the R configuration. Registered as a single enantiomer: the FDA substance record gives stereochemistry as ABSOLUTE. KEGG classifies it in drug group DG01969, racetam derivative, nootropic. Characterised in rat and mouse tissue as a bidirectional modulator of adenylyl cyclase acting through metabotropic glutamate receptor subclasses, with no measurable binding at the neurotransmitter receptors screened alongside.
- CAS number
- 110958-19-5 (anhydrous fasoracetam); 2055646-53-0 (fasoracetam monohydrate, the form named by the Japanese papers, by Elia 2018 and on NCT05290493; the other records cited here do not state a solid form)
- PubChem CID
- 198695 (anhydrous); 10198262 (monohydrate)
- Molecular formula
- C10H16N2O2 (anhydrous); C10H16N2O2.H2O in the FDA and KEGG adduct notation, rendered C10H18N2O3 by PubChem (monohydrate)
- Molecular weight
- 196.25 g/mol (anhydrous, PubChem; 196.2466 on the FDA substance record). 214.26 g/mol (monohydrate)
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- NS-105; NS105; NFC-1; AEVI-001; LAM-105; (+)-5-oxo-D-prolinepiperidinamide monohydrate; N-(5-oxo-D-prolyl)piperidine; (5R)-5-(piperidine-1-carbonyl)pyrrolidin-2-one; fasoracetam hydrate (Japanese Accepted Name); UNII 42O8UF5CJB (anhydrous) and 55BRM1BEZN (monohydrate); INN code 7708; InChIKey GOWRRBABHQUJMX-MRVPVSSYSA-N; ChEMBL2106179; CHEBI:31592; KEGG D09830; DrugBank DB16163. NB-001 and MDGN-001 circulate as further codes; neither appears on the PubChem or FDA substance records.
Identity, and which solid the published studies used
Fasoracetam carries four development codes and still resolves to one record in each of the three databases that hold it. PubChem lists it as CID 198695, CAS 110958-19-5, formula C10H16N2O2, molecular weight 196.25, InChIKey GOWRRBABHQUJMX-MRVPVSSYSA-N, IUPAC name (5R)-5-(piperidine-1-carbonyl)pyrrolidin-2-one. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds the same CAS and formula under UNII 42O8UF5CJB, with molecular weight 196.2466, stereochemistry recorded as ABSOLUTE, INN code 7708, and NS-105, AEVI-001, LAM-105 anhydrous and NFC-1 anhydrous all sitting on that one record. ChEMBL2106179 arrives at the same weight and the same InChIKey independently. Formula, weight and InChIKey agree across all three.
Qualifiers on those registry names matter. The FDA record spells two of the codes LAM-105 ANHYDROUS and NFC-1 ANHYDROUS because a second substance record exists: fasoracetam monohydrate, UNII 55BRM1BEZN, CAS 2055646-53-0, formula C10H16N2O2 and one water, molecular weight 214.26, PubChem CID 10198262. That record carries a Japanese Accepted Name, fasoracetam hydrate, and a KEGG drug entry, D09830. The monohydrate is the material named by the Japanese papers, by Elia 2018 and on NCT05290493; the other records cited here do not state a solid form. Both Mukai 1999 communications name the test article (+)-5-oxo-D-prolinepiperidinamide monohydrate and then print CAS 110958-19-5, which is the anhydrous number. The other Japanese abstracts of that period name the monohydrate without printing any registry number.
Harmsen and colleagues analysed the solid forms in 2017 and found two hydrated and one non-hydrated crystalline form by single-crystal X-ray analysis, with hydrate form I the most stable under ambient conditions at a melting point of 57 degrees Celsius. That paper closes on a practical consequence: a melting point that low, combined with possible water loss, was described as a problem for formulating the hydrate and for its storage conditions. Its title calls the compound a potential anti-Alzheimer pharmaceutical and its opening sentence says the research chemical counters the effects of Alzheimer's disease, with no citation attached to either statement.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| At ten to the minus eight through ten to the minus six molar, forskolin-stimulated cAMP formation was inhibited in cortical membranes; in pertussis-toxin-pretreated membranes the compound enhanced it at a concentration the indexed abstract does not state, and cholera toxin abolished that enhancement. Across ten to the minus nine to ten to the minus three molar there was no influence on the neurotransmitter receptor bindings examined, alpha-2 included | Rat cerebral cortex, membranes and slices | In vitro | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Oka 1997, Brain Res, PMID 9134967 (r4) |
| cAMP formation was inhibited at ten to the minus seven and ten to the minus six molar and enhanced at ten to the minus seven through ten to the minus five molar after pertussis toxin. Phosphoinositide hydrolysis was not increased at ten to the minus six molar, and the increase produced by a metabotropic agonist was attenuated | Primary cultured neurons, mouse cerebral cortex | In vitro | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Oka 1997, Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol, PMID 9272724 (r5) |
| The inhibitory action on adenylyl cyclase was blocked by group II and group III metabotropic glutamate receptor antagonists but not by a group I antagonist, and disappeared after antisense oligodeoxynucleotide treatment against mGlu2, mGlu3, mGlu4 and mGlu7 but not mGlu5. The facilitatory action was abolished by the group I antagonist alone | Rat cerebrocortical membranes and primary cultured mouse cortical neurons | In vitro | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Hirouchi 2000, Eur J Pharmacol, PMID 10633154 (r6) |
| Immobility time in forced swimming decreased at 1 to 100 mg/kg, and repeated administration reversed escape failure in a shuttle-box after inescapable footshock. Repeated administration increased the number of GABA-B receptors in cerebral cortex without altering beta-adrenoceptor or 5-HT2 binding properties. Monoamine uptake was not inhibited in vitro and brain and extracellular monoamine concentrations did not change | Rats | Peroral | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Shimidzu 1997, Eur J Pharmacol, PMID 9424016 (r7) |
| Memory disruption induced by scopolamine, nucleus basalis magnocellularis lesion, AF64A, baclofen, cerebral ischaemia and electroconvulsive shock was reversed in passive avoidance or radial arm maze tasks. Of aniracetam, bifemelane, idebenone and indeloxazine, only aniracetam improved the scopolamine disruption and none reversed the baclofen disruption. At 10 mg/kg, cortical acetylcholine release and high-affinity choline uptake in cortex and hippocampus increased, with no change in choline acetyltransferase activity | Rats | Not stated in the indexed abstract for the behavioural arms | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Ogasawara 1999, Pharmacol Biochem Behav, PMID 10494996 (r8) |
| Elimination half-lives after intravenous administration were 0.67 hours in rats, 2.1 hours in dogs and 1.3 hours in monkeys. Systemic availability after oral administration was 97 per cent in rats, 90 per cent in dogs and 79 per cent in monkeys. About 90 per cent of the dose was excreted unchanged in urine in rats and monkeys and 60 per cent in dogs. Serum protein binding was under 3.3 per cent in all species tested, humans included | Rats, dogs and monkeys | Intravenous and oral, carbon-14-labelled | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Mukai 1999, Arzneimittelforschung 49(11):881-890, PMID 10604039 (r9) |
| Tissue radioactivity peaked 0.5 hours after a single oral dose, highest in kidney and stomach and lowest in white fat, and was below or near the detection limit by 24 hours. Maximum fetal concentration in pregnant rats was 66 per cent of maternal plasma; milk concentrations in lactating rats were similar to plasma. After repeated dosing, tissue concentrations were about twice the single-dose values by the seventh administration with no further accumulation, and 10 mg/kg did not affect hepatic drug-metabolising enzyme activities | Male, female non-pregnant, pregnant and lactating rats | Oral, carbon-14-labelled, single and repeated | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Mukai 1999, Arzneimittelforschung 49(12):977-985, PMID 10635441 (r10) |
| Maximum plasma concentration was 3.06 plus or minus 0.69 against 2.13 plus or minus 0.34 micrograms per millilitre (p equals 0.0117), area under the curve 24.6 plus or minus 4.4 against 14.4 plus or minus 3.1 microgram-hours per millilitre (p equals 0.0006), and total clearance 0.076 plus or minus 0.013 against 0.121 plus or minus 0.025 litres per kilogram per hour (p equals 0.0013), elderly against young. Renal clearance correlated with creatinine clearance (r equals 0.583, p equals 0.0364). No half-life value is published | Healthy men, 7 aged 68 to 79 and 7 aged 20 to 32 | Single 100 mg oral tablet after breakfast | 14 enrolled; 1 young subject excluded from the pharmacokinetic analysis for insufficient urine collection | Kumagai 1999, Int J Clin Pharmacol Res, PMID 10450537 (r11) |
| Single-dose maximum plasma concentration rose from 1.19 to 20.52 micrograms per millilitre and area under the curve to infinity from 6.87 to 136.46 hour-micrograms per millilitre across 50 to 800 mg; terminal half-life was 4.44, 6.99, 4.48, 4.11 and 4.06 hours at 50, 100, 200, 400 and 800 mg. Across five weeks, mean CGI-I fell from 3.79 to 2.33 and mean CGI-S from 4.86 to 3.93 against each subject's own placebo week. Headache occurred in 19 of 30 subjects, fatigue in 11 | 30 adolescents aged 12 to 17 with ADHD and copy number variants in metabotropic glutamate receptor network genes | Oral; single doses 50 to 800 mg, then escalation on symptom response to the study's ceiling | 30 enrolled and analysed; 6 per dose group for the pharmacokinetic parameters | Elia 2018, Nat Commun, PMID 29339723; registered NCT02286817 (r12) |
| Least-squares mean change in ADHD-RS-5 total score was minus 14.2 (standard error 1.82) on drug against minus 12.1 (standard error 1.75) on placebo. The co-primary CGI-I responder count was 26 of 46 against 16 of 50. No statistical analysis and no p-value was posted for either co-primary outcome. No serious adverse event occurred in either arm | 101 randomised adolescents aged 12 to 17 with ADHD and disruptive mGluR-network variants | Oral, 100, 200 or 400 mg twice daily, 6 weeks, masked to participants and investigators | 49 and 52 randomised; 47 and 50 in the safety population; 46 and 50 in the modified intent-to-treat analysis | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02777931, results posted 29 March 2018; no journal publication located (r14) |
| In the biomarker-positive part, least-squares mean change in ADHD-RS-5 total score was minus 9.17 (standard error 2.235) on drug against minus 11.34 (standard error 2.122) on placebo, with CGI-I responders 9 against 11. In the biomarker-negative part it was minus 11.04 (standard error 1.730) against minus 10.38 (standard error 1.651), with CGI-I responders 15 against 16. No analysis or p-value was posted for any outcome in either part | 69 and 109 randomised children and adolescents aged 6 to 17 with ADHD, with and without copy number variants in the specified genes | Oral, 100, 200 or 400 mg twice daily, 6 weeks, masked to participants and investigators | 34 and 35 randomised in part A (33 and 34 analysed); 54 and 55 randomised in part B (52 and 54 analysed) | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03265119 and NCT03609619, results posted 16 July 2019; no journal publication located (r15) |
| No serious treatment-emergent adverse event occurred in either period; 18 of 33 on drug and 24 of 34 on placebo reported at least one adverse event, all grade 1 or 2. Every secondary efficacy comparison was posted with a p-value: CGI-I 3.34 against 3.69, p equals 0.0672; CGI-S p equals 0.2045; Pediatric Anxiety Rating Scale p equals 0.2931; ADHD-RS-5 inattention p equals 0.7799; hyperactivity p equals 0.7974; Social Responsiveness Scale p equals 0.8286 | 37 randomised children and adolescents aged 6 to 17 with a pathological 22q11 deletion | Oral, 200 mg twice daily; two-period crossover, 6 weeks per period, one-week washout, quadruple-masked | 18 and 19 randomised by sequence; 33 and 34 in the safety analysis sets; 33 per arm in the full analysis set | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05290493, results posted 10 February 2025; no journal publication located (r16) |
| Fasoracetam failed a phase 3 programme for vascular dementia in Japan after more than 200 million dollars of development spending | A PubMed search pairing fasoracetam, NS-105 and prolinepiperidinamide with vascular dementia or cerebrovascular returns one record, Kumagai 1999 (PMID 10450537), a fourteen-subject pharmacokinetic comparison whose title calls the compound a novel agent for cerebrovascular disease. Pairing the same names with Alzheimer, dementia or cognitive impairment returns one record, the 2017 crystallography paper. A publication-type query for Clinical Trial or Randomized Controlled Trial across the whole corpus returns four records, two of which are NFC-1 string collisions (PMIDs 11950190, 11054525); the on-topic remainder is Kumagai 1999 and Elia 2018. ClinicalTrials.gov returns nothing for NS-105 or LAM-105, and ISRCTN returns an empty result set for fasoracetam; both registries postdate the Japanese programme. The only peer-reviewed sentence asserting a phase 1 to phase 3 human programme is in Elia 2018, which cites Ogasawara 1999, a rat memory study, for it. The Adis drug profile that would ordinarily carry the development history, Drugs R D 1999;2(2):135-136 (PMID 10820660), is subscription-only and has no abstract indexed in PubMed or Europe PMC. The dollar figure appears only on secondary web pages and was not located in any indexed source. | No source found | ||
| Fasoracetam is a GABA-B receptor agonist | The statement appears in a peer-reviewed table: Napoletano 2020 (PMID 33024436) writes that the compound appears to be a GABA-B agonist and has been shown to block memory disruptions caused by baclofen, another GABA-B agonist, with no citation for either half. The two halves are in tension, and the primary literature reports the second, not the first. Ogasawara 1999 (PMID 10494996) records reversal of baclofen-induced memory disruption; Oka 1997 (PMID 9134967) records that baclofen-induced inhibition of cAMP accumulation was reversed by the compound, and that across ten to the minus nine to ten to the minus three molar the compound had no influence on the neurotransmitter receptor bindings examined. Europe PMC returns three records pairing fasoracetam with GABA-B terms, none of them a binding or functional assay at that receptor. No radioligand affinity, no EC50 and no efficacy value at GABA-B was located. | No source found | ||
| Fasoracetam restores GABA-B receptor density downregulated by phenibut and reverses phenibut tolerance | A PubMed search pairing fasoracetam or NS-105 with phenibut, baclofen, withdrawal or tolerance returns four records; the baclofen hits are the rat mechanistic papers above and none concerns phenibut. A Europe PMC search for fasoracetam and phenibut returns two records, both reviews that list the two substances separately in tables of cognitive enhancers, neither reporting an interaction. The receptor-density observation the claim leans on comes from a different experiment: Shimidzu 1997 (PMID 9424016) reported an increased number of GABA-B receptors in rat cerebral cortex after repeated oral administration, in animals that had never received phenibut. No study of the two compounds together, in any species, was located. | No source found | ||
| Oral bioavailability is 79 to 97 per cent and the half-life in humans is about 5 hours | The bioavailability range comes from animals. Mukai 1999 (PMID 10604039) measured 97 per cent in rats, 90 per cent in dogs and 79 per cent in monkeys after oral carbon-14-labelled drug; no human bioavailability study was located under any of the compound's names. The half-life figure has a better provenance than most: Elia 2018 (PMID 29339723) reports terminal half-lives of 4.06 to 6.99 hours across five single doses in adolescents, six subjects per dose group, which is the only human half-life located anywhere. Kumagai 1999 (PMID 10450537), the one adult pharmacokinetic study, reports only a tendency towards prolongation in older subjects and publishes no half-life value; the paper is subscription-only. Circulating pages give the range without species, without sample size and without noting that the underlying subjects were twelve to seventeen years old. | No source found | ||
| Fasoracetam counters the effects of Alzheimer's disease and is an anti-Alzheimer pharmaceutical | The claim first appears in a peer-reviewed paper. Harmsen 2017 (PMID 28109793) is a solid-state crystallography paper in the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences; its title calls fasoracetam a potential anti-Alzheimer pharmaceutical and its opening sentence describes the research chemical as one which counters the effects of Alzheimer's disease. No citation is attached to either statement, and the paper contains no biological experiment. A PubMed search pairing fasoracetam, NS-105 and prolinepiperidinamide with Alzheimer, dementia or cognitive impairment returns that same paper and nothing else. No Alzheimer's disease model study and no trial in Alzheimer's disease was located under any of the compound's names. | No source found | ||
| A clinical trial demonstrated that fasoracetam is efficacious in reducing ADHD symptoms in patients with impaired glutamatergic signalling | Three peer-reviewed reviews make a version of this statement and all three cite one source. Zayats and Neale 2019 (PMID 31824658) call the compound successfully used in a clinical trial; Michelini 2022 (PMID 36224169) says subjects carrying variants in the network had better therapeutic response; da Silva 2023 (PMID 37861876) states that a clinical trial demonstrated it is efficacious. Each cites Elia 2018 (PMID 29339723), which has no parallel control arm, thirty subjects, and a registry record listing masking none and a single-group model. By the publication dates of the second and third reviews, three randomised placebo-controlled trials had posted results to ClinicalTrials.gov, none of them with any statistical analysis attached to a primary outcome. None of the three reviews cites any of them, and none of the four randomised trials has been published in a journal. | No source found | ||
| Fasoracetam occurs as a natural product and is synthesised by fungi | One indexed paper supports this and its basis is a library match. Varghese 2024 (PMID 38344285) reports chemotaxonomic profiling of an endophytic Penicillium ramusculum isolate and names fasoracetam first in a list of bioactive compounds the fungus is said to be able to synthesise. The abstract records no isolation, no yield, no nuclear magnetic resonance or independent structural confirmation for that compound, and fasoracetam is not among the leads the paper carries into its docking or pharmacokinetic analyses. A Europe PMC search pairing fasoracetam with fungus, fungal, natural product or Penicillium returns nine records, of which this is the only one asserting a natural source. PubChem lists no natural occurrence for CID 198695, and the compound's own registry entries describe a synthetic single enantiomer with a Japanese development code. | No source found | ||
What the Japanese pharmacology measured
Oka and colleagues reported bidirectional modulation of cyclic AMP in rat brain in 1997. In cerebrocortical membranes, NS-105 at ten to the minus eight through ten to the minus six molar inhibited forskolin-stimulated cAMP formation, and in pertussis-toxin-pretreated membranes the same compound enhanced it, an enhancement abolished by cholera toxin. Both directions were mimicked by a metabotropic glutamate receptor agonist and by an adrenergic alpha-2 agonist, and blocked by a metabotropic antagonist but not by yohimbine. The same paper reports that across ten to the minus nine to ten to the minus three molar the compound had no influence on various neurotransmitter receptor bindings, including alpha-2 receptors.
Subclass assignment came from two further papers. In cultured mouse cerebrocortical neurons the compound inhibited cAMP formation in a pertussis-toxin-sensitive manner and enhanced it after pertussis toxin, while it did not itself increase phosphoinositide hydrolysis and attenuated the increase produced by a metabotropic agonist. Hirouchi and colleagues then used selective antagonists and antisense oligodeoxynucleotides: the inhibitory action was blocked by group II and group III antagonists but not by a group I antagonist, and disappeared after antisense treatment against mGlu2, mGlu3, mGlu4 and mGlu7, while the facilitatory action was abolished by the group I antagonist alone.
Shimidzu and colleagues took the compound into two rat behavioural models in 1997. Oral administration at 1 to 100 mg/kg decreased immobility time in forced swimming, an effect the paper compares with desipramine, and repeated administration reversed escape failure in a shuttle-box after inescapable footshock. Binding work in the same paper reported an increase in the number of GABA-B receptors in rat cerebral cortex after repeated administration, with no change in beta-adrenoceptor or 5-HT2 binding properties. The compound did not inhibit monoamine uptake in vitro and did not change monoamine concentrations in brain tissue or extracellular fluid.
Ogasawara and colleagues ran the memory battery in 1999. Rats were rendered amnestic by scopolamine, electrolytic lesion of the nucleus basalis magnocellularis, AF64A, baclofen, cerebral ischaemia and electroconvulsive shock, then tested on passive avoidance or radial arm maze. NS-105 was reported active across those models; of four comparator drugs, only aniracetam improved the scopolamine disruption and none reversed the baclofen disruption. At 10 mg/kg the paper records increased acetylcholine release from cerebral cortex and enhanced high-affinity choline uptake in cortex and hippocampus, with no change in choline acetyltransferase activity.
Pharmacokinetics in four species, then in people
Mukai and colleagues published the animal disposition work in two 1999 communications. After intravenous carbon-14-labelled NS-105, plasma concentrations fell monoexponentially with elimination half-lives of 0.67 hours in rats, 2.1 hours in dogs and 1.3 hours in monkeys. Systemic availability after oral administration was 97 per cent in rats, 90 per cent in dogs and 79 per cent in monkeys, with first-pass metabolism described as very limited. Roughly 90 per cent of the dose was excreted unchanged in urine in rats and monkeys and 60 per cent in dogs; serum protein binding was under 3.3 per cent in every species tested, humans included.
The second communication covered distribution in rats. Radioactivity peaked in most tissues 0.5 hours after a single oral dose, highest in kidney and stomach and lowest in white fat, and fell below or near the detection limit by 24 hours. In pregnant rats the maximum fetal concentration was 66 per cent of the maternal plasma value, and in lactating rats milk concentrations were similar to plasma. Repeated oral dosing produced tissue concentrations about twice the single-dose values by the seventh administration and no further accumulation thereafter; 10 mg/kg did not affect hepatic drug-metabolising enzyme activities.
Human data begin with a fourteen-subject parallel-group comparison. Kumagai and colleagues gave a single 100 mg tablet after breakfast to seven healthy men aged 68 to 79 and seven aged 20 to 32. Maximum plasma concentration was 3.06 against 2.13 micrograms per millilitre in the elderly and young groups, area under the curve 24.6 against 14.4 microgram-hours per millilitre, and total clearance 0.076 against 0.121 litres per kilogram per hour. Renal clearance correlated with creatinine clearance across subjects. The abstract reports a tendency towards a longer elimination half-life in the older group and publishes no half-life value.
Elia and colleagues profiled single doses from 50 to 800 mg in adolescents with ADHD, six subjects per dose group. Maximum plasma concentration rose from 1.19 to 20.52 micrograms per millilitre across that range and area under the curve to infinity from 6.87 to 136.46 hour-micrograms per millilitre. Terminal half-life was reported as 4.44, 6.99, 4.48, 4.11 and 4.06 hours at 50, 100, 200, 400 and 800 mg. These are the only half-life figures for people located under any of the compound's names, and each rests on six subjects.
One uncontrolled trial, and how its design is described
The 2018 Nature Communications paper is the only journal publication of a clinical trial of this compound. Its abstract calls the study open-label, single-blind and placebo-controlled. What the paper describes is a single-dose pharmacokinetic run, then a fixed single-blind placebo week, then four weeks in which the dose was raised on symptom response up to the study's ceiling, in thirty adolescents aged 12 to 17 selected for copy number variants in metabotropic glutamate receptor network genes. Efficacy was assessed by two-sided paired t-tests comparing each subject's week-five score against that same subject's placebo week.
The registry record and the paper describe different designs. The ClinicalTrials.gov record, NCT02286817, lists allocation not applicable, a single-group intervention model, masking none, and one arm labelled single arm of 30 subjects. Neither description contains a parallel placebo group; what the paper calls the placebo control is a one-week lead-in serving as each participant's own baseline. Mutation tier was blinded to the investigators, which is a different blind from treatment allocation. No results have been posted to that registry record, eleven years after the study began.
Reported outcomes were within-subject improvements. Mean CGI-I fell from 3.79 at the placebo week to 2.33 at week five and mean CGI-S from 4.86 to 3.93, with parental Vanderbilt falling from 28.7 to 19.7 and parental BRIEF from 68.4 to 62.1. Stratified by tier, seventeen subjects carried tier-one variants, seven tier-two and six tier-three, and the tier-three group reached significance on neither CGI-I nor CGI-S. Headache was recorded in 19 of 30 subjects and fatigue in 11. Abstract and table disagree on two figures: the abstract gives CGI-S as 4.83 falling to 3.86, and prints the CGI-I p-value as under 0.001 where the table gives 1.2 times ten to the minus nine and the body text 1.2 times ten to the minus five.
One sentence in that paper's introduction has travelled further than any of its results. It states that the compound had previously undergone extensive phase 1 to phase 3 clinical trials in humans for vascular dementia, and attaches reference 14. Reference 14 is Ogasawara 1999, the rat memory study described above. No human vascular dementia trial appears anywhere in the paper's reference list, and none is indexed in PubMed under any of the compound's names.
Four randomised trials, and where their results live
The first randomised trial enrolled 101 adolescents aged 12 to 17 with ADHD and disruptive variants in metabotropic glutamate receptor network genes, over six weeks, masked to participants and investigators. Its posted results give a modified intent-to-treat population of 46 on drug and 50 on placebo, and a least-squares mean change in ADHD-RS-5 total score of minus 14.2 with standard error 1.82 against minus 12.1 with standard error 1.75. The co-primary CGI-I responder count was 26 of 46 against 16 of 50. No statistical analysis and no p-value was posted for either co-primary outcome.
Two further trials ran the same six-week masked protocol in children and adolescents aged 6 to 17, split by biomarker status. In the 69-subject part enrolling subjects with copy number variants in the specified genes, change in ADHD-RS-5 total score was minus 9.17 with standard error 2.235 on drug against minus 11.34 with standard error 2.122 on placebo, in 33 and 34 analysed subjects. In the 109-subject part enrolling subjects without those variants it was minus 11.04 against minus 10.38, in 52 and 54 analysed subjects. Placebo produced the larger change in the biomarker-selected group.
A fourth trial tested the compound in 22q11 deletion syndrome. Thirty-seven children and adolescents aged 6 to 17 were randomised to a two-period crossover, six weeks per period with a one-week washout, quadruple-masked, at 200 mg twice daily. Safety was the primary outcome and no serious treatment-emergent adverse event occurred in either period. Every efficacy comparison was secondary and each was posted with its p-value: CGI-I 3.34 against 3.69, p equals 0.0672; CGI-S p equals 0.2045; Pediatric Anxiety Rating Scale p equals 0.2931; ADHD-RS-5 inattention p equals 0.7799; hyperactivity p equals 0.7974; Social Responsiveness Scale p equals 0.8286.
None of those four trials has been published. A PubMed search on their registry identifiers returns two papers, both methodology papers from the same clinical group - one a copy-number-variant study, one an electronic-health-record phenotyping algorithm - which list the identifiers in a registration footnote and report no trial outcome. A 2019 systematic review that searched ClinicalTrials.gov for novel ADHD compounds identified the programme among 28 registered randomised trials and had no published outcome to review. Secondary reviews have not absorbed the registry record either: a 2019 review calls the compound successfully used in a clinical trial, a 2022 review says the mutation-carrying subjects had better therapeutic response, and a 2023 overview states that a clinical trial demonstrated efficacy in reducing ADHD symptoms. All three cite the 2018 uncontrolled study and none cites a randomised one.
Regulatory position and status in sport
No approval was located in any jurisdiction. The openFDA drug application and labelling endpoints return no match for fasoracetam under a generic-name query or a full-text query, while the same endpoint returns a record for an approved control compound queried alongside it. A Japanese Accepted Name exists for the monohydrate and KEGG carries it as drug entry D09830 under the group racetam derivative, nootropic, with no therapeutic category and no approval date on the record. A 2022 survey of ADHD pharmacotherapy lists it among drugs with suspended clinical development.
Anti-doping status is unresolved. Pokrywka and colleagues tabulate fasoracetam in 2025 in a table headed substances with unclear status, including presumed to meet WADA criteria, and give 4-phenylpiracetam under section S6 as its structural comparator; aniracetam, coluracetam, nefiracetam, noopept, oxiracetam and pramiracetam carry the same comparator in the same table. Napoletano and colleagues had listed the compound in 2020 among 21 image and performance enhancing drugs identified from psychonaut fora, and wrote in that same paragraph that no studies are available on coluracetam, fasoracetam and phenylpiracetam.
What is not known
No efficacy result for this compound has been established under a parallel-group comparison against placebo that carries a posted statistical analysis. Four randomised placebo-controlled trials have run, three in ADHD and one in 22q11 deletion syndrome, and all four posted results to ClinicalTrials.gov without a journal publication; the three ADHD trials posted point estimates and standard errors with no statistical analysis and no p-value attached to any primary outcome, so the reader is left to judge separation from the posted numbers alone, and in NCT02777931 the two co-primaries point in different directions. Nothing is established about the compound in adults, in whom the only study located is a single-dose pharmacokinetic comparison in fourteen men; no adult efficacy trial of any design was located. No published human pharmacokinetic study reports metabolite identification in people, and the metabolite work is entirely animal. No toxicology study of any kind was located under fasoracetam, NS-105 or prolinepiperidinamide: a PubMed search pairing those names with toxicity, toxicology, carcinogenicity or genotoxicity returns zero records, so there is no chronic toxicology, no reproductive toxicology beyond the rat distribution measurement showing fetal transfer at 66 per cent of maternal plasma and milk concentrations similar to plasma, and no safety pharmacology in the public record. Longest exposure in any published or posted study is six weeks. Nothing addresses discontinuation, dependence or tolerance, and the GABA-B receptor up-regulation reported after repeated dosing has been measured in rat cortex only, never in a person. The compound is not approved for human use in any jurisdiction located: the openFDA drug application and labelling endpoints return no match, and the Japanese Accepted Name held by the monohydrate is a naming decision, with no marketing authorisation located.
Questions
Is fasoracetam an approved medicine anywhere?
Has fasoracetam been tested in a randomised placebo-controlled trial?
What did the 2018 Nature Communications trial actually compare?
Where does the claim about a failed Japanese phase 3 programme come from?
Does anything support the GABA-B receptor claims?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 198695, Fasoracetam. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Queried 18 August 2026: CAS 110958-19-5, C10H16N2O2, MW 196.25, InChIKey GOWRRBABHQUJMX-MRVPVSSYSA-N, IUPAC name (5R)-5-(piperidine-1-carbonyl)pyrrolidin-2-one. Its 50-entry synonym list carries NS-105, NFC-1 anhydrous, LAM-105 anhydrous, AEVI-001, CHEMBL2106179 and CHEBI:31592. The separate monohydrate record is CID 10198262, C10H18N2O3, MW 214.26, InChIKey YUBYMONBCDIKAB-DDWIOCJRSA-N, CAS 2055646-53-0, carrying the synonym Fasoracetam hydrate [JAN]. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record FASORACETAM, UNII 42O8UF5CJB, retrieved in full view. Carries CAS 110958-19-5, INN code 7708, PubChem 198695, ChEMBL2106179, DrugBank DB16163, EPA CompTox DTXSID9048855, formula C10H16N2O2 (MW 196.2466) and stereochemistry ABSOLUTE, with the names NS-105, AEVI-001, LAM-105 ANHYDROUS and NFC-1 ANHYDROUS. Cited with its companion record FASORACETAM MONOHYDRATE, UNII 55BRM1BEZN, CAS 2055646-53-0, formula C10H16N2O2.H2O (MW 214.2619), whose names include (+)-5-OXO-D-PROLINEPIPERIDINAMIDE MONOHYDRATE and FASORACETAM HYDRATE [JAN]. The ChEMBL API was queried directly for CHEMBL2106179 and independently returned MW 196.25, the same InChIKey, and max_phase 2. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- KEGG DRUG entry D09830, Fasoracetam hydrate (JAN). Retrieved 18 August 2026: formula C10H16N2O2.H2O, molecular weight 214.26, class Neuropsychiatric agent, drug group DG01969 racetam derivative, nootropic, efficacy nootropic. The record carries no therapeutic category, no approval date and no product listing. View on rest.kegg.jp
- Oka M, Itoh Y, Shimidzu T, Ukai Y, Yoshikuni Y, Kimura K. Involvement of metabotropic glutamate receptors in Gi- and Gs-dependent modulation of adenylate cyclase activity induced by a novel cognition enhancer NS-105 in rat brain. Brain Res. 1997;754(1-2):121-130. PMID 9134967. The abstract states that both the inhibitory and facilitatory actions were mimicked by the mGluR agonist 1S,3R-ACPD and by the adrenergic alpha2 agonist UK-14,304, and blocked by the mGluR antagonist but not by yohimbine; it gives no concentration range for the pertussis-toxin-pretreated arm. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum on the PubMed record. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Oka M, Itoh Y, Tatsumi S, Ma FH, Ukai Y, Yoshikuni Y, Kimura K. A novel cognition enhancer NS-105 modulates adenylate cyclase activity through metabotropic glutamate receptors in primary neuronal culture. Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol. 1997;356(2):189-196. PMID 9272724. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hirouchi M, Oka M, Itoh Y, Ukai Y, Kimura K. Role of metabotropic glutamate receptor subclasses in modulation of adenylyl cyclase activity by a nootropic NS-105. Eur J Pharmacol. 2000;387(1):9-17. PMID 10633154. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Shimidzu T, Itoh Y, Oka M, Ishima T, Ukai Y, Yoshikuni Y, Kimura K. Effect of a novel cognition enhancer NS-105 on learned helplessness in rats: possible involvement of GABA(B) receptor up-regulation after repeated treatment. Eur J Pharmacol. 1997;338(3):225-232. PMID 9424016. Source of the only GABA-B receptor-number measurement located for this compound. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ogasawara T, Itoh Y, Tamura M, Mushiroi T, Ukai Y, Kise M, Kimura K. Involvement of cholinergic and GABAergic systems in the reversal of memory disruption by NS-105, a cognition enhancer. Pharmacol Biochem Behav. 1999;64(1):41-52. PMID 10494996. This is the paper cited in Elia 2018 as reference 14, in support of a statement about human phase 1 to phase 3 trials in vascular dementia; it is a rat study. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mukai H, Sugimoto T, Ago M, Morino A. Pharmacokinetics of NS-105, a novel cognition enhancer. 1st communication: absorption, metabolism and excretion in rats, dogs and monkeys after single administration of 14C-NS-105. Arzneimittelforschung. 1999;49(11):881-890. PMID 10604039. Names its test article (+)-5-oxo-D-prolinepiperidinamide monohydrate and prints CAS 110958-19-5, the anhydrous registry number. One of only two abstracts in this corpus that prints a CAS number at all. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mukai H, Sugimoto T, Ago M, Morino A, Takaichi M, Ogawa Y, Seki H, Matsuura C, Esumi Y. Pharmacokinetics of NS-105, a novel cognition enhancer. 2nd communication: distribution and transfer into fetus and milk after single administration, and effects of repeated administration on pharmacokinetics and hepatic drug-metabolizing enzyme activities in rats. Arzneimittelforschung. 1999;49(12):977-985. PMID 10635441. The second of the two abstracts printing CAS 110958-19-5 alongside the monohydrate name. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kumagai Y, Yokota S, Isawa S, Murasaki M, Mukai H, Miyatake S. Comparison of pharmacokinetics of NS-105, a novel agent for cerebrovascular disease, in elderly and young subjects. Int J Clin Pharmacol Res. 1999;19(1):1-8. PMID 10450537. Subscription-only; only the indexed abstract was read. It publishes no half-life value and names neither a solid form nor a CAS number. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Elia J, Ungal G, Kao C, Ambrosini A, De Jesus-Rosario N, Larsen L, Chiavacci R, Wang T, Kurian C, Titchen K, Sykes B, Hwang S, Kumar B, Potts J, Davis J, Malatack J, Slattery E, Moorthy G, Zuppa A, Weller A, Byrne E, Li YR, Kraft WK, Hakonarson H. Fasoracetam in adolescents with ADHD and glutamatergic gene network variants disrupting mGluR neurotransmitter signaling. Nat Commun. 2018;9(1):4. PMID 29339723, PMC5770454. Open access; full text read this session, including its 40-entry reference list (CR1 to CR40). Names its test article NFC-1 (fasoracetam monohydrate). No retraction, expression of concern or correction is attached to the record. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Harmsen B, Robeyns K, Wouters J, Leyssens T. A Study of Fasoracetam's Solid State Forms: A Potential Anti-Alzheimer Pharmaceutical. J Pharm Sci. 2017;106(5):1317-1321. PMID 28109793. Only the indexed abstract was read; the uncited Alzheimer statements quoted on this page are in its title and first sentence. This paper characterised two hydrated and one non-hydrated crystalline form, so it is not a study of the monohydrate alone. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02777931. A Multicenter, 6-week, Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo-controlled, Parallel-design Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of NFC-1 in Adolescents (Ages 12-17) With Genetic Disorders Impacting Metabotropic Glutamate Receptors and ADHD. Sponsored by a commercial genomic-medicine developer. Phase 2/3, 101 actual enrolment, completed 17 February 2017, results first posted 29 March 2018. Retrieved via the ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, 18 August 2026. The record's certain-agreement field states a restrictive publication agreement requiring sponsor approval before public presentation of the data. The record states no solid form for the investigational product. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03265119 (part A, 69 subjects with copy number variants) and NCT03609619 (part B, 109 subjects without them). Both: A Multicenter, 2-Part, 6-Week, Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo-controlled, Parallel-design Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of AEVI-001 in Children and Adolescents (Ages 6-17 Years) With Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. Sponsored by the same commercial genomic-medicine developer. Both phase 2, both completed in 2018, results for both first posted 16 July 2019. Both carry the same restrictive publication agreement and neither states a solid form. Retrieved via the ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, 18 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05290493, A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Crossover Trial to Assess the Safety and Efficacy of NB-001 in Children and Adolescents With 22q11 Deletion Syndrome. Sponsored by a commercial neurotherapeutics developer. Phase 2, 37 actual enrolment, four sites in the United States and Canada, completed 9 June 2023, results first posted 10 February 2025; no restrictive publication agreement on the record, and the intervention otherNames field gives fasoracetam monohydrate. Cited with NCT02286817, the phase 1 record behind Elia 2018, which lists allocation not applicable, a single-group intervention model, masking none, one arm of 30 subjects, a start date of January 2015, and no posted results. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- The secondary reviews that carry the efficacy statement forward, cited together. Zayats T, Neale BM. Recent advances in understanding of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). F1000Res. 2019;8:F1000 Faculty Rev-2060, PMID 31824658, which calls the compound successfully used in a clinical trial, citing its reference 26, Elia 2018. Michelini G, Norman LJ, Shaw P, Loo SK. Treatment biomarkers for ADHD: taking stock and moving forward. Transl Psychiatry. 2022;12(1):444, PMID 36224169, which reports better therapeutic response in variant carriers, citing its reference 66, Elia 2018. da Silva BS, Grevet EH, Silva LCF, Ramos JKN, Rovaris DL, Bau CHD. An overview on neurobiology and therapeutics of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. Discov Ment Health. 2023;3(1):2, PMID 37861876, which states that a clinical trial demonstrated efficacy, citing its reference 211, Elia 2018. Nazarova VA, Sokolov AV, Chubarev VN, Tarasov VV, Schioth HB. Treatment of ADHD. Front Pharmacol. 2022;13:1066988, PMID 36467081, source of the suspended-development classification. None carries a retraction, erratum or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Remaining sources cited on this page. Nageye F, Cortese S. Beyond stimulants: a systematic review of randomised controlled trials assessing novel compounds for ADHD. Expert Rev Neurother. 2019;19(7):707-717, PMID 31167583; a systematic review of RCTs registered on ClinicalTrials.gov between January 2014 and February 2019 that identified 28 pertinent trials and lists Fasoracetam (NFC-1, AEVI-001) among the compounds, reporting no outcome for it. Pokrywka A, Surala O, Grabowska K, Przybyla M, Granda D, Malecki A, Faiss R, Nowacka-Chmielewska M. "Brain doping" substances: prohibited or not in sports? Biol Sport. 2025;42(4):189-201, PMID 41048238, PMC12492343; full text retrieved from Europe PMC, table 6 read end to end (45 entries, fasoracetam at 17). Napoletano F, Schifano F, Corkery JM, Guirguis A, Arillotta D, Zangani C, Vento A. The Psychonauts' World of Cognitive Enhancers. Front Psychiatry. 2020;11:546796, PMID 33024436, PMC7516264; full text retrieved. Varghese S, Jisha MS, Rajeshkumar KC, Gajbhiye V, Haldar N, Shaikh A. Molecular authentication, metabolite profiling and in silico-in vitro cytotoxicity screening of endophytic Penicillium ramusculum from Withania somnifera for breast cancer therapeutics. 3 Biotech. 2024;14(3):64, PMID 38344285. Fasoracetam. LAM 105, NS 105. Drugs R D. 1999;2(2):135-136, PMID 10820660, doi 10.2165/00126839-199902020-00014; subscription-only, no abstract indexed in PubMed or Europe PMC, and nothing is asserted from it here beyond its existence. Glessner JT et al. Rare recurrent copy number variations in metabotropic glutamate receptor interacting genes in children with neurodevelopmental disorders. J Neurodev Disord. 2023;15(1):14, PMID 37120522, and Slaby I et al. An electronic health record (EHR) phenotype algorithm to identify patients with attention deficit hyperactivity disorders (ADHD) and psychiatric comorbidities. J Neurodev Disord. 2022;14(1):37, PMID 35690720 - the two papers a PubMed search on the trial identifiers returns, both listing the identifiers in a registration footnote and reporting no trial outcome. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.