Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Noogutyl (Nooglutyl)
The name on retail listings is Noogutyl. A PubMed search on that exact string returns nothing at all, and Europe PMC returns nothing either. The indexed compound is Nooglutil, also written Nooglutyl, laboratory code ONK-10, and it resolves cleanly to PubChem CID 147523 and CAS 112193-35-8. Twenty-nine papers index under the free-acid names and nine more under the salt and its trade name, almost all Russian and almost all in rodents. The randomised human trials that circulate as support were run on the calcium salt, which is a separately registered substance.
- Class
- Amide of 5-hydroxynicotinic acid and L-glutamic acid; described in the source literature as a nootropic acting on AMPA-subtype glutamate receptors
- CAS number
- 112193-35-8
- PubChem CID
- 147523
- Molecular formula
- C11H12N2O6
- Molecular weight
- 268.22 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- Nooglutil, Nooglutyl, ONK-10, N-(5-hydroxynicotinoyl)-L-glutamic acid, (5-hydroxynicotinoyl)-L-glutamic acid, UNII 09UM5JOS3W, InChIKey XFZGYOJFPGPYCS-QMMMGPOBSA-N. The monocalcium salt is a separate registry entity: Nooglutyl calcium, UNII AHS2YHS2MG, CAS 2365144-97-2, PubChem CID 86634601, C11H10N2O6.Ca, 306.29 g/mol, and is the active substance of a registered Russian intravenous medicine. The spelling Noogutyl appears in no chemical or bibliographic database queried.
Chemical identity, and a spelling that returns nothing
The spelling has to be settled before anything else. A PubMed search on the string Noogutyl returns no records, and the query translator reports the phrase as not found; Europe PMC returns zero for the same string. The indexed literature sits under Nooglutil, with Nooglutyl as a variant transliteration and ONK-10 as the original laboratory code, and all three resolve to one deposited structure. PubChem CID 147523 carries CAS 112193-35-8, molecular formula C11H12N2O6, molecular weight 268.22, InChIKey XFZGYOJFPGPYCS-QMMMGPOBSA-N and the IUPAC name (2S)-2-[(5-hydroxypyridine-3-carbonyl)amino]pentanedioic acid. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds the same molecule under UNII 09UM5JOS3W with the matching CAS. The registry sources queried agree on formula, mass, CAS and InChIKey once the spelling is corrected.
The molecule is 5-hydroxynicotinic acid joined through an amide bond to the alpha-amino group of L-glutamic acid. That construction is the one used in picamilon, which is nicotinic acid amide-linked to GABA (PubChem CID 60608, C10H12N2O3, 208.21). The resemblance is architectural rather than pharmacological, since the amino acid differs and so does the pyridine substitution, and no study located this session compared the two head to head. ChEMBL returned no molecule record for either name, so no curated bioactivity table exists there to consult.
A second registry entry matters more than it first appears. GSRS also holds NOOGLUTYL CALCIUM under UNII AHS2YHS2MG, CAS 2365144-97-2, PubChem CID 86634601, formula C11H10N2O6.Ca at 306.29 g/mol, which is the monocalcium salt of the same acid. That salt is the active substance in a registered Russian intravenous medicine, and it is the form on which every published human trial and most of the work published since 2018 was run. The two are indexed separately, and a commercial drug-intelligence aggregator consulted this session still lists the free acid at preclinical stage with no active indication, which is accurate for the free acid and misleading about the series.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Competed with the selective AMPA agonist radioligand [G-3H]Ro 48-8587 with IC50 6.4 plus or minus 0.2 micromolar; noopept competed at 80 plus or minus 5.6 micromolar; piracetam, phenotropil, meclofenoxate and pantogam did not affect binding from 10^-4 to 10^-10 M | Rat brain membranes, radioligand binding | In vitro | Not stated in the retrieved report | Firstova 2011, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 21476267 |
| High concentrations suppressed orthodromic and antidromic population responses in CA1 evoked by paired stimulation, orthodromic responses being the more sensitive; the effect was blocked by the NMDA antagonist AP7 | Rat hippocampal slices, CA1 area | In vitro, bath application; concentrations described only as high in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved report | Motin 2000, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 11177255 |
| Calcium salt at 500 micromolar and 1, 2 and 10 millimolar facilitated transmission from Schaffer collaterals to CA1 pyramidal neurons, maximally at 2 millimolar; 10 millimolar provoked epileptiform activity preventable by MK-801. Direction of effect is opposite to the same author's 2000 slice report on the free acid | Wistar rat hippocampal slices, CA1 area, Schaffer collateral stimulation at 1 Hz, 30 impulses over 30 s | In vitro, bath application | Not stated in the retrieved report | Motin 2018, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 29797131 |
| At 25 mg/kg per day, open-field hyperactivity and deficits in training, alternation, passive and active avoidance were reported as prevented, and first-month growth normalised, after two hours of hypobaric hypoxia at a vacuum equivalent to 8500 m on day 15 of intrauterine life | Rats exposed to prenatal hypobaric hypoxia; assessed as adult males | Intracutaneous, once daily from day 8 to day 20 of life | Not stated in the retrieved report | Trofimov 1995, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 8704601 |
| Ischaemic zone 22.51 plus or minus 3.0 per cent of ipsilateral hemisphere volume at 72 h fell to 7.6 plus or minus 2.28 per cent at 10 mg/kg; mexidol at 100 mg/kg gave 9.55 plus or minus 1.9 per cent and phenyl-tert-butylnitrone 12.8 plus or minus 1.7 per cent. Passive avoidance retrieval was reported as improved | Rats, occlusion of the distal branch of the middle cerebral artery | Intravenous at the moment of occlusion, then intraperitoneal for two days | Not stated in the retrieved report | Povarova 2004, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 15079898 |
| Total clearance 18 and 15 mL/min/kg, steady-state distribution volume 330 and 880 mL/kg, mean residence time 0.3 and 1.0 h, half-life 0.73 and 2.3 h in rats and rabbits respectively; kinetics linear at 20-100 mg/kg and nonlinear at 500 mg/kg. Human half-life of 4 h was predicted by allometry, not measured | Rats and rabbits | Intravenous bolus of the calcium salt; rats 20, 100 and 500 mg/kg, rabbits 50 mg/kg; HPLC with fluorimetric detection, lower limit 100 ng/mL | Not stated in the retrieved report | Firsov 2010, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 21395015 |
| One experimental tablet formulation containing tween-80 achieved 104.3 per cent bioavailability relative to the drug substance. The comparator was the unformulated substance, not an intravenous dose, so this is relative and not absolute bioavailability | Rabbits | Oral tablet formulations compared with the drug substance; plasma measured by HPLC | Not stated in the retrieved report | Chesnokova 1998, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 9783110 |
| Calcium salt at 6.7 mg/kg, described as ten times the maximum human therapeutic dose, was reported not to affect reproductive function and to produce no embryotoxic or teratogenic effect | Rats; strain, sex and group sizes not stated in the retrieved record. Species is given in the record title only, the abstract body saying just experimental animals | Not specified in the retrieved abstract; single dose level | Not stated in the retrieved report | Kiselev 2012, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 22550856 |
| Calcium salt at 30 mg/kg was reported active in the forced swim test in mice, while 0.1 mg/kg maximally alleviated MPTP-induced parkinsonian signs and haloperidol-induced catalepsy. The abstract offers no account of the three-hundred-fold difference between the two effective doses | C57Bl/6 mice (forced swim, MPTP) and rats (haloperidol catalepsy) | Not stated in the retrieved abstract; MPTP given systemically | Not stated in the retrieved report | Kiselev 2019, Bull Exp Biol Med 168(1):48-51, PMID 31745682 |
| Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled dose-ranging study; daily intravenous doses of 5, 10 or 25 mg for 15 days against 0.9 per cent sodium chloride. Conclusion reported as improvement in depression, sleep quality and cognitive function; no effect sizes, scale names or per-arm allocation appear in the retrieved abstract | Patients aged 50 to 75 with chronic cerebral ischaemia due to arterial hypertension and/or atherosclerosis of the main arteries of the head | Calcium salt, intravenous, once daily for 15 days | 80 total; per-arm allocation not stated | Kiselev 2019, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova 119(4):21-25, PMID 31156217 |
| Primary endpoint, a rise of 2 or more points on the Montreal Cognitive Assessment, was reached by 83.87 per cent of the treated arm and 22.58 per cent of the placebo arm; adverse events occurred in 14.52 per cent versus 8.06 per cent, p equals 0.395; all patients completed with no dropouts | Patients aged 50 to 75 with chronic cerebrovascular disorders, multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase III | Calcium salt, 25 mg (5 mL of 5 mg/mL) by slow intravenous bolus daily for 15 days, against 0.9 per cent sodium chloride | 124 total, 62 per arm | Skoromets 2021, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 34184474 |
| Improvement on the Beck anxiety, Beck depression, HADS and Spielberger-Khanin scales was reported as greater in the treated arm than in the arm receiving basic therapy alone. Patients meeting inclusion criteria were randomly assigned to the two groups; the comparison is open-label against standard therapy, with no placebo arm and no blinding described | Post-stroke patients in the early recovery period, HADS 8 to 10 and MoCA at least 10; treated arm mean age 63 plus or minus 8.9 years, control arm 66 plus or minus 8.1 years | Calcium salt added to standard therapy; administration route not restated in the English abstract | 203 total, 102 treated and 101 control | Khokhlov 2025, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova, PMID 41524353 |
| Half-life of 0.37 to 2.3 hours | This traces to a real study and is corrupted in transit. Firsov 2010 (PMID 21395015) reported a half-life of 0.73 hours in rats and 2.3 hours in rabbits after intravenous bolus of the calcium salt. The circulating range transposes 0.73 into 0.37 and drops both species, so a figure that describes two animals given an injection is presented as a property of a powder. A PubMed search on nooglutyl AND pharmacokinetics returns three records (PMID 21395015, 9783110 and 1786827), none in humans, and searches of PubMed for the compound name with human, healthy or volunteers returned no human measurement. The four-hour human figure carried in Russian prescribing information is the allometric prediction from the same 2010 paper, not an observation. | No source found | ||
| Positive allosteric modulator of AMPA receptors | The positive-modulator description originates in the primary literature, not in secondary copy. A PubMed search on nooglutil AND positive modulator returns three records, two of which are primary Russian papers that open with the description as a premise: Voronina 2002 (PMID 12802448), which begins by calling the compound a positive modulator of AMPA receptors for glutamate, and Garibova 2003 (PMID 12924225), which calls it a positive modulator of AMPA-subtype glutamatergic receptors. In both, the description is asserted as a starting premise, not as a result assayed in that paper. What remains unsourced is the allosteric mechanism specifically: a PubMed search on nooglutil AND allosteric returns zero records, and the only binding experiment located, Firstova 2011 (PMID 21476267), measured competition with a selective AMPA agonist radioligand at IC50 6.4 micromolar, which locates binding at or near the agonist site. No study using a modulator-site protocol, a desensitisation assay or a deactivation-kinetics readout was found in PubMed or Europe PMC. | No source found | ||
| Enhances long-term potentiation | The nearest primary result measures a different phenomenon. Abramets 1995 (PMID 7787685) reported that N-5-oxynicotinoyl glutamate, with piracetam, ethymisole and a beta-carboline, enhanced NMDA-induced short-term potentiation of population EPSP amplitude in rat CA1, and that protein kinase inhibitors diminished it. Short-term and long-term potentiation are distinct, separately assayed quantities. A PubMed search for the compound name with potentiation returns one record, Motin 2000 (PMID 11177255), which reports no long-term potentiation protocol. Abramets 1995 is not retrievable under either compound name at all, confirmed by an esearch on (nooglutil OR nooglutyl) AND 7787685[uid], which returns zero: that paper names the compound only as N-5-oxynicotinoyl glutamate and carries no nooglutil supplementary-concept indexing, so it was located under the chemical-name string instead. | No source found | ||
| Reduces oxidative stress; antioxidant neuroprotection | Two papers are cited in support and neither measured an antioxidant endpoint. Novikov and Kovaleva 1997 (PMID 9162289) and 1998 (PMID 9621180) assessed oxidative phosphorylation in brain mitochondria by polarography after craniocerebral trauma. Oxidative phosphorylation is ATP synthesis coupled to respiration; it is not a measure of oxidative damage, lipid peroxidation, or antioxidant enzyme activity. A PubMed search for the compound name with oxidative returns only those mitochondrial papers and the middle cerebral artery study. No malondialdehyde, superoxide dismutase, glutathione or reactive oxygen species measurement on this compound was located. | No source found | ||
| Investigated as a treatment for Alzheimer's disease or for amnesia | A PubMed search for the compound name combined with Alzheimer returns zero records. The rodent literature uses induced-amnesia models, which are pharmacological or physical insults in healthy animals, and one genetically senescence-accelerated mouse strain; no transgenic amyloid or tau model, no dementia population and no neurodegenerative indication appears in any retrieved report. The registered Russian indication for the calcium salt is chronic cerebrovascular insufficiency, not dementia. ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches on nooglutil, nooglutyl, the trade name and hydroxynicotinoyl each returned zero studies. | No source found | ||
| Raises acetylcholine levels | A PubMed search for the compound name with acetylcholine returns zero records. The same search with cholinergic returns exactly one, Voronina 1991 (PMID 1841522), which reversed scopolamine-induced amnesia behaviourally and then speculated in its discussion that cholinergic, noradrenergic and serotonergic transmission might be involved. No neurotransmitter was measured in that study. The only transmitter actually quantified anywhere in this literature is dopamine, in perfused rat striata by Kovalev 1993 (PMID 8400184), and in prenatally alcoholised pups rather than intact animals. | No source found | ||
| Study support attributed to Gudasheva 2002 and 2005, Seredenin 2006, and superiority over a comparator named Clerigil | None of these resolves. A PubMed search for Gudasheva with the compound name returns a single record, Trofimov 1995 (PMID 8704601), on which she is a co-author; there is no 2002 or 2005 paper by her on this compound. Seredenin with the compound name returns zero. The string Clerigil returns zero records in PubMed as a drug name or in any other field. The comparative superiority claims that can be traced run against piracetam, meclofenoxate, demanol aceglumate, aniracetam, picamilon, pyriditol and mexidol in the papers listed on this page, and in none of those reports is a statistical comparison between active arms described. | No source found | ||
| Human dosing figures for the powder sold under this name | Numeric human intakes circulate on aggregator and retail pages and are not reproduced here. No human study of the free acid exists to support any of them. PubMed and Europe PMC searches on the compound name paired with dose, dosage, oral and volunteers returned only the rat and rabbit intravenous pharmacokinetics (PMID 21395015), the rabbit tablet-formulation comparison (PMID 9783110) and the offspring kinetics study (PMID 1786827); ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches on four name variants each returned totalCount 0. Every published human trial located used the calcium salt as a 5 mg/mL solution by intravenous administration in a hospital setting, and no oral human study of either form was found in any of the three databases. | No source found | ||
What the original characterisation measured
Voronina and colleagues introduced the compound in Farmakologiia i Toksikologiia in 1990 under the code ONK-10. Working in mice and rats, they reported pronounced antiamnestic and antihypoxic effects, no disturbance of conditioned reflex activity or orientation behaviour, no anxiolytic or anticonvulsant activity, no disorder of movement coordination, and low toxicity. The comparison drawn was that ONK-10 exceeded piracetam, meclofenoxate and demanol aceglumate on the antiamnestic and antihypoxic measures and was not inferior to aniracetam. The retrieved abstract carries no numbers, no group sizes and no LD50, so the characterisation is directional rather than quantitative.
A Soviet-Bulgarian collaboration published the following year in Acta Physiologica et Pharmacologica Bulgarica gives the first dose figures in English. ONK at 50 mg/kg intraperitoneally, given once daily for five days before training, was reported to antagonise scopolamine-provoked amnesia completely in step-through-trained mice, and to abolish the memory-impairing effect of clonidine in shuttle-box rats and of methergoline in step-down rats. The comparators were piracetam at 600 to 800 mg/kg and meclofenoxate at 100 mg/kg, both oral. Sample sizes are absent from the retrieved report, and the authors attributed the effect to cholinergic, noradrenergic and serotonergic transmission without measuring any of the three.
Three developmental models followed from the same institution, the Institute of Pharmacology in Moscow, which a 2003 review by Voronina names as the origin of this compound alongside mexidol and noopept (PMID 12962041). Trofimov and colleagues gave ethanol at 5 g/kg per day by mouth to pregnant rats and reported that 25 mg/kg per day of the compound, administered to the offspring from day 8 to day 20 of life, prevented the delayed impairments in open-field habituation, shuttle-box acquisition and retention, EEG slow-wave power and cortical serotonergic function. The same group used a prenatal hypoxia model, two hours of hypobaric exposure at a vacuum equivalent to 8500 metres on day 15 of intrauterine life, and reported that 25 mg/kg per day given intracutaneously from day 8 to day 20 of life prevented open-field hyperactivity and deficits in training, alternation, passive and active avoidance, and normalised first-month growth (PMID 8704601). Kovalev and colleagues perfused isolated striata from 20-day-old rats and reported that basal and potassium-evoked dopamine efflux, depressed by prenatal ethanol, was normalised by the compound at 25 mg/kg subcutaneously, while the effect in unexposed offspring ran in the opposite direction.
Not every behavioural readout was positive. Inozemtsev and colleagues compared the compound with piracetam across three operant paradigms in rats and reported that neither drug affected the avoidance response in a shuttle box or a T-maze reflex rewarded with water. What separated them was narrow: the compound enhanced escape and avoidance responses in the Skinner box while piracetam improved only the escape response. Reading that paper alongside the amnesia-reversal work gives the shape of the whole rodent record, which is stronger where a deficit has been induced than where behaviour is intact.
The receptor claim, and what the assay measured
Firstova and colleagues ran the only direct receptor experiment located. Using radioligand binding on rat brain membranes in vitro, they reported that the compound competed with the selective AMPA agonist [G-3H]Ro 48-8587 with an IC50 of 6.4 plus or minus 0.2 micromolar, and that noopept competed for the same sites an order of magnitude more weakly at 80 plus or minus 5.6 micromolar. Semax was moderately competitive at metabotropic glutamate sites at 33 plus or minus 2.4 micromolar and dimebon at the NMDA channel site at 59 plus or minus 3.6 micromolar, while piracetam, phenotropil, meclofenoxate and pantogam did not affect binding across a concentration range from 10 to the minus four down to 10 to the minus ten molar. That assay measured competition with an agonist radioligand, which locates binding at or near the agonist site; no modulator-site, desensitisation or deactivation-kinetics protocol was run in it, and a PubMed search pairing the compound name with the word allosteric returns zero records.
Electrophysiology in the series disagrees with itself. Motin and colleagues, in rat hippocampal slices in 2000, reported that high concentrations of the free acid and of mexidol suppressed both orthodromic and antidromic population responses in CA1 evoked by paired stimulation, with orthodromic responses the more sensitive, and that AP7, an NMDA antagonist, blocked both effects. The same first author in 2018, working with the calcium salt in Wistar rat slices, reported the opposite direction: concentrations of 500 micromolar and 1, 2 and 10 millimolar facilitated transmission from Schaffer collaterals to CA1 pyramidal neurons, maximally at 2 millimolar, and 10 millimolar provoked epileptiform activity that MK-801 prevented. Preparation, salt form and concentration range all differ, and no paper located reconciles the two.
A 2026 Russian-language review by Kiselev and colleagues describes the facilitation result as having been obtained in vivo. The study it summarises used surviving hippocampal slices. Elsewhere in the same abstract the review states that radioligand analysis confirmed binding to AMPA receptors, which the 2011 experiment supports, and calls the compound a positive allosteric modulator, which the 2011 experiment does not establish. One older paper is adjacent: Abramets and colleagues in 1995 reported that N-5-oxynicotinoyl glutamate, along with piracetam, ethymisole and a beta-carboline, enhanced NMDA-induced short-term potentiation of population EPSP amplitude in CA1, an effect diminished by protein kinase inhibitors. Short-term potentiation is the measured quantity there, and long-term potentiation is not.
Three further studies bear on mechanism from different angles. Iasnetsov and Krylova tested nine nootropic substances across amnesia induced by microwave irradiation, acute hypoxia and motion sickness, and concluded that the antiamnestic effect of this compound and of the 3-hydroxypyridine derivative SK-170 was caused to a significant degree by activation of non-NMDA receptors, chiefly AMPA, while mexidol's effect ran through GABA-A (PMID 24555225). Voronina and colleagues reported that 70 mg/kg intraperitoneally reduced anxiety in the Vogel conflict test in rats after 24-hour withdrawal from 45 days of diazepam at 4 mg/kg, that concentrations from 5 nanomolar to 750 micromolar did not affect 3H-spiperone binding in vitro, and that 50 mg/kg in vivo raised both the dissociation constant and the density of striatal D2 receptors while 100 mg/kg abolished that change. Firstova and colleagues reported a null result in 2009: after subchronic dosing, hippocampal and cortical BDNF was unchanged in mice of both high and low exploratory efficacy, while piracetam, phenotropil, semax and meclofenoxate each raised hippocampal BDNF in the low-efficacy animals from 0.091 to between 0.115 and 0.123 picograms per microgram (PMID 20095391).
Injury, ischaemia and mitochondrial readouts
Povarova and colleagues produced the most quantitative animal result in the series. Seventy-two hours after occlusion of the distal branch of the middle cerebral artery, the ischaemic zone in rat frontoparietal cortex measured 22.51 plus or minus 3.0 per cent of ipsilateral hemisphere volume. The compound at 10 mg/kg, given into the vein at the moment of occlusion and intraperitoneally for two days after, was reported to restrict that zone to 7.6 plus or minus 2.28 per cent; mexidol at 100 mg/kg gave 9.55 plus or minus 1.9 per cent and phenyl-tert-butylnitrone at the same dose 12.8 plus or minus 1.7 per cent. Retrieval of a previously learnt passive avoidance response was reported as improved in the treated animals. Group sizes are not stated in the retrieved report, and no statistical comparison between the three active arms is described.
Garibova and colleagues used a haemorrhagic model in rats, a post-traumatic haematoma produced by destroying cerebral tissue in the internal capsule region. Single intraperitoneal injections of 10 and 20 mg/kg given three to four hours after the operation were reported to reduce neurological deficiency, restore coordination of movement, improve passive avoidance retrieval and prevent loss of animals (PMID 12924225). Numbers per group are again absent from the retrieved abstract, and the survival claim is stated without a count.
Novikov and Kovaleva measured mitochondrial function rather than behaviour, by polarography of brain mitochondria after open craniocerebral trauma. In their 1997 report, 50 mg/kg prevented the inhibition of respiration seen at 24 hours and was described as more effective than picamilon at 500 mg/kg and pyriditol at 100 mg/kg. Their 1998 study followed one-month-old rats at 1, 4 and 7 days and 4 weeks after trauma, using 25 mg/kg alongside six comparators, and reported that this compound exceeded all of them on the efficiency of oxidative phosphorylation in immature animals. Those experiments measured oxidative phosphorylation, which is ATP synthesis coupled to respiration. No antioxidant endpoint was assayed in either report.
The free acid was also tested in an ageing model. Garibova and colleagues reported that 9-month-old SAMP10 senescence-accelerated mice showed reduced locomotor activity, elevated anxiety and disturbed memory retrieval relative to 3-month-old animals of the same strain, and that the free acid at 20 mg/kg produced changes in the open field, elevated plus maze and passive avoidance tests (PMID 18078032). That report is from 2007, eleven years before the slice work on the salt.
Work on the calcium salt begins later. Kiselev and colleagues reported that the salt at 30 mg/kg was active in the mouse forced swim test, while 0.1 mg/kg maximally alleviated MPTP-induced parkinsonian signs in C57Bl/6 mice and haloperidol-induced catalepsy in rats (PMID 31745682). Route and group sizes are not stated in the retrieved abstract, and the abstract reports no explanation for the three-hundred-fold difference between the two effective doses.
Pharmacokinetics: two species, no human measurement
Firsov and colleagues published the only study located that reports clearance, distribution volume and half-life in two species after intravenous dosing. Calcium salt was given as a bolus to rats at 20, 100 and 500 mg/kg and to rabbits at 50 mg/kg, with serum concentrations measured by HPLC with fluorimetric detection down to a lower limit of 100 nanograms per millilitre. Kinetics were linear in rats at 20 to 100 mg/kg and nonlinear at 500 mg/kg. Decay was biphasic in both species and fitted to a two-compartment model. Total clearance was 18 millilitres per minute per kilogram in rats and 15 in rabbits, steady-state distribution volume 330 and 880 millilitres per kilogram, mean residence time 0.3 and 1.0 hours, and half-life 0.73 and 2.3 hours. Applying allometric scaling, the authors predicted a human half-life of four hours. One earlier systemic study exists, Boiko and Zherdev in 1991, described below.
That predicted figure has since become a stated product characteristic. Russian prescribing information for the intravenous medicine carries a human half-life of approximately four hours, the same number the 2010 allometry produced. No human pharmacokinetic study appears anywhere in PubMed: searches pairing the compound and product names with pharmacokinetics, human, healthy or volunteers return the rat and rabbit paper, the 1991 offspring study, a rabbit formulation paper, a reproductive toxicity paper and a review, and nothing measured in a person. The four-hour figure is a prediction from animal data, and no human measurement stands behind it.
Oral data are thinner still and are routinely misread. Chesnokova and colleagues compared two experimental tablet formulations in rabbits by HPLC and reported that the formulation containing tween-80 achieved 104.3 per cent bioavailability relative to the drug substance. The comparator was the unformulated substance given by the same route, not an intravenous dose, so the figure is a relative bioavailability describing formulation performance rather than the fraction of an oral dose reaching the circulation. Boiko and Zherdev studied ONK-10 kinetics in the offspring of alcoholised rats and reported that long-term administration raised plasma levels and lowered clearance and distribution volume in the offspring of intact animals, while in alcohol-exposed offspring plasma levels fell alongside an increased elimination constant, increased biotransformation and the appearance of a main metabolite, which the abstract does not name (PMID 1786827).
Safety pharmacology amounts to one study. Kiselev and colleagues assessed the calcium salt at 6.7 mg/kg, described as ten times the maximum human therapeutic dose, and reported no effect on reproductive function and no embryotoxic or teratogenic effect. The species is rats, stated in the record's title; the abstract body says only experimental animals, and gives no strain, no sex and no group sizes, and reports a single dose level. There is no located repeat-dose toxicology, no carcinogenicity work, no genotoxicity battery and no juvenile toxicity study for either form.
The human trials were run on the calcium salt
Human evidence begins in 2019 and belongs entirely to the intravenous salt. Kiselev and colleagues ran a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in 80 patients aged 50 to 75 with chronic cerebrovascular accident attributed to arterial hypertension or atherosclerosis of the main arteries of the head, using daily intravenous doses of 5, 10 or 25 milligrams for 15 days against 0.9 per cent sodium chloride (PMID 31156217). The reported conclusion covered depression, sleep quality and cognitive function. Effect sizes, scale names and per-arm allocation are absent from the retrieved abstract, so the study is legible as a design and not as a set of numbers.
Skoromets and colleagues published the confirmatory trial two years later, typed by PubMed as a Phase III randomised controlled multicentre study. One hundred and twenty-four patients aged 50 to 75 with chronic cerebrovascular disorders were allocated 62 to 25 milligrams by slow intravenous bolus for 15 days and 62 to saline placebo. The primary endpoint, a rise of two or more points on the Montreal Cognitive Assessment, was reached by 83.87 per cent of the treated group and 22.58 per cent of controls. Adverse events occurred in 14.52 per cent against 8.06 per cent, a difference the authors reported as not significant at p equals 0.395. The report states that all 124 patients completed every visit with no dropouts.
Everything published since is open-label, uncontrolled, or controlled only against standard care. Kotov and colleagues compared 30 patients given 25 milligrams intravenously fifteen times during post-stroke rehabilitation against 30 who were not, reporting a mean two-point MoCA rise in the treated group and no significant change in the untreated group (PMID 34932282); a later report from the same group covered 140 patients of whom 78 received the drug, with a MoCA rise in 87.2 per cent against 38.7 per cent (PMID 37682099). Zhitkova and colleagues followed 50 patients with mild cognitive impairment in chronic cerebral ischaemia through a single-arm observational course at 25 milligrams daily for 15 days (PMID 37966443). Khokhlov and colleagues randomised 203 post-stroke patients, 102 to drug plus standard therapy and 101 to standard therapy alone; randomisation is reported, but the comparison is open-label with no placebo arm and no blinding described (PMID 41524353). Every one of these was conducted in Russia and published in one journal.
Registry and legal position follow. ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches on nooglutil, nooglutyl, the trade name and hydroxynicotinoyl return zero studies each, so none of the trials above is registered there. openFDA returns no label and no application for the name, and neither the free acid nor the salt is approved by the FDA or the EMA. The calcium salt does hold a Russian marketing authorisation as a 5 milligram per millilitre intravenous solution for chronic cerebrovascular insufficiency, but the certificate could not be confirmed against the state register itself, which returned a redirect, and one mirror was refused outright. Two mirrors disagree: one gives certificate LP-006394 with a February 2023 approval and a lapsed status, another gives LP-N(002862)-(RG-RU) issued 25 July 2023 and valid to 25 July 2028. The free acid sold as powder is a registered medicine nowhere located.
What is not known
No human exposure to the free acid is recorded anywhere in the literature. Every trial located used the calcium salt intravenously, in Russia, published in one journal, and none is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, so no protocol, no statistical analysis plan and no independent audit trail is available for any of them. Human pharmacokinetics has never been measured; the four-hour half-life in circulation is an allometric prediction from a rat and rabbit study. Safety characterisation consists of a single reproductive-toxicity report at one dose level in rats, with strain, sex and group sizes unstated, and no repeat-dose, genotoxicity, carcinogenicity or juvenile toxicology located for either form. Brain concentration has never been quantified in any species, so the assumption of central penetration rests on behavioural inference. Sample sizes are absent from the great majority of the rodent reports, which are mostly English abstracts of Russian-language papers whose methods sections were not retrievable this session. The receptor picture is unresolved: one competitive binding assay, two slice studies from the same laboratory reporting opposite directions of effect on different salts, and no allosteric-site experiment, despite the positive-modulator description being asserted as a premise in the primary literature since 2002. Whether the free acid and the calcium salt behave equivalently at the receptor or in the body has not been tested directly.
Questions
Why does a search for Noogutyl return nothing?
Has this compound been studied in people?
Is it an AMPA receptor modulator?
Where does the 0.37 to 2.3 hour half-life figure come from?
Is it approved anywhere?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 147523, Nooglutil. National Center for Biotechnology Information. CAS 112193-35-8, C11H12N2O6, 268.22 g/mol, InChIKey XFZGYOJFPGPYCS-QMMMGPOBSA-N. Picamilon checked independently at CID 60608. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System records NOOGLUTYL (UNII 09UM5JOS3W, CAS 112193-35-8) and NOOGLUTYL CALCIUM (UNII AHS2YHS2MG, CAS 2365144-97-2, C11H10N2O6.Ca, 306.29, PubChem CID 86634601). View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Voronina TA, Garibova TL, Khromova IV, Kuznetsova EA, Smirnov LD. A new substance with nootropic activity, N-5(hydroxynicotinoyl)-L-glutamic acid. Farmakol Toksikol. 1990;53(4):13-16. PMID 1977613 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Voronina TA, Garibova TL, Trofimov SS, Sopyev ZhA, Petkov VD, Lazarova MB. Comparative studies on the influence of ONK, piracetam and meclofenoxate on the learning- and memory-impairing effect of scopolamine, clonidine and methergoline. Acta Physiol Pharmacol Bulg. 1991;17(4):8-16. PMID 1841522 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Developmental models. Trofimov SS, Ostrovskaia RU, Smol'nikova NM, et al. The nooglutil correction of functional disorders of the central nervous system caused by prenatal alcoholization in rats. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1992;55(1):18-21, PMID 1305426. Trofimov SS, Ostrovskaia RU, Smol'nikova NM, Nemova EP, Gudasheva TA, Kuznetsova EA, Voronina TA. Correction with nooglutil and L-pyroglutamyl-D-alanine amide of cognitive disorders in rats due to intrauterine hypoxia. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1995;58(6):10-13, PMID 8704601. Kovalev GI, Budygin EA, Gainetdinov RR, Kudrin VS, Trofimov SS, Ostrovskaia RU. Sodium oxybutyrate and nooglutil correction of dopamine release in the striatum of prenatally alcoholized rat pups. Biull Eksp Biol Med. 1993;116(7):56-58, PMID 8400184. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Inozemtsev AN, Garibova TL, Khromova IV, Alvarez R, Voronina TA, Tushmalova NA. The effect of nooglutil and piracetam on different forms of operant learning. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1993;56(2):6-8, PMID 8348043. Abramets II, Andreev PV, Samoilovich IM. Nootropic substances enhance the N-methyl-D-aspartate-induced short-term potentiation of synaptic transmission in rat hippocampal slices. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1995;58(1):15-17, PMID 7787685 (indexed only under the chemical name N-5-oxynicotinoyl glutamate). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Boiko SS, Zherdev VP. The pharmacokinetic characteristics of the new psychotropic preparation with nootropic action ONK-10 in the progeny of alcoholized animals. Farmakol Toksikol. 1991;54(4):48-50. PMID 1786827 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Chesnokova EA, Sariev AK, Zherdev VP, Kartashov VS, Smirnov LD. The bioavailability of tableted drug forms of the new Russian nootropic preparation nooglutil in rabbits. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1998;61(4):48-50. PMID 9783110 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Novikov VE, Kovaleva LA. The effect of nootropic agents on brain mitochondrial function in the dynamics of craniocerebral trauma from the age aspect. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1998;61(2):65-68. PMID 9621180. Companion report at Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1997;60(1):59-61, PMID 9162289. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Motin V, Yasnetsov V, Kovalev S, Krylova I. Effects of nootropics on electrical activity in rat hippocampal CA1 area. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2000;130(9):830-831, PMID 11177255. Motin VG, Kiselev AV, Stovbun IS, Sergienko VI, Kalinina TS. N-(5-hydroxynicotinoil)-L-glutamic acid calcium salt modifies responses of rat hippocampal CA1 pyramidal neurons during orthodromic stimulation. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2018;165(1):27-30, PMID 29797131. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Voronina TA, Borlikova GG, Garibova TL, Proskuryakova TV, Petrichenko OB, Burd SG, Avakyan GN. Effect of nooglutil on benzodiazepine withdrawal syndrome and binding of 3H-spiperone with D2 receptors in rat striatum. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2002;134(5):448-450. Abstract describes the compound as a positive modulator of AMPA receptors for glutamate. PMID 12802448 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Garibova TL, Galaeva IP, Voronina TA, Kraineva VA, Kapitsa IG, Kirichenko SV, Makarenko AN, Mirzoian GR, Kuznetsova EA. Effect of nooglutil on rats with intracerebral posttraumatic hematoma (hemorrhagic stroke). Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2003;66(3):13-16. Abstract describes the compound as a positive modulator of AMPA-subtype glutamatergic receptors. PMID 12924225 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Voronina TA. The role of synaptic transmission in memory and neurodegeneration processes and effects of neurotropic preparations. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2003;66(2):10-14. Review; attributes the development of mexidol, noopept and nooglutyl to the Institute of Pharmacology. PMID 12962041 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Povarova OV, Garibova TL, Kalenikova EI, et al. Effect of phenyl-tert-butylnitrone, mexidol and nooglutil on the ischemic lesion zone and memory in rats following middle cerebral artery occlusion. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2004;67(1):3-6. PMID 15079898 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Garibova TL, Voronina TA, Litvinova SA, Grigor'ev VV, Bachurin SO. Effect of nooglutyl on the behavior and memory of SAMP10 mice with genetically determined accelerated aging. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2007;70(4):3-6. Free acid, 20 mg/kg. PMID 18078032 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Firstova IuIu, Dolotov OV, Kondrakhin EA, Dubynina EV, Grivennikov IA, Kovalev GI. Effects of nootropic drugs on hippocampal and cortical BDNF levels in mice with different exploratory behavior efficacy. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2009;72(6):3-6, PMID 20095391. Firstova IuIu, Vasil'eva EV, Kovalev GI. Studying specific effects of nootropic drugs on glutamate receptors in the rat brain. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2011;74(1):6-10, PMID 21476267. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Firsov AA, Portnoi IuA, Dovzhenko SA, et al. Pharmacokinetics of N-(5-oxynicotinoyl)-L-glutamic acid calcium salt upon bolus administration in rats and rabbits: interspecies extrapolation. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2010;73(12):31-35, PMID 21395015. Kiselev AV, Stovbun SV, Sergienko VI. The influence of calcium N-(5-hydroxynicotinoyl)-L-glutamate on reproductive function, prenatal and postnatal development of rats. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2012;75(2):26-29, PMID 22550856. Iasnetsov VV, Krylova IN. The antiamnestic effect of nootropic substances in rats. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2013;76(11):3-6, PMID 24555225. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Calcium salt studies, animal and human. Kiselev AV, Vedenkin AS, Stovbun IS, Sergienko VI, Kalinina TS. Calcium salt of N-(5-hydroxynicotinoyl)-L-glutamic acid weakens depressive-like behavior and parkinsonian syndrome in experiment on rodents. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2019;168(1):48-51, PMID 31745682. Kiselev AV, Vostrikova EV, Kalinina TS, Stovbun SV. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of the efficacy and safety of [trade name] in the treatment of chronic cerebral ischemia. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2019;119(4):21-25, PMID 31156217. Skoromets AA, Kotov SV, Voronkov PB, Popova VV, Zubkova TG, Kiselev AV. Efficacy and safety of treatment with [trade name]: results of a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in patients with chronic cerebrovascular disorders. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2021;121(5):26-32, typed by PubMed as Clinical Trial, Phase III, PMID 34184474. Kotov SV, Borisova VA, Slyunkova EV, Isakova EV, Kiselev AV, Kotov AS. Dynamics of recovery of cognitive deficit in patients in the early recovery period of ischemic stroke. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2021;121(11):26-32, PMID 34932282. Kotov SV, Kiselev AV, Isakova EV, Kotov AS, Stovbun SV, Borisova VA. The effect of the start date of cognitive rehabilitation after ischemic stroke on the level of recovery. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2023;123(8 Vyp 2):77-83, PMID 37682099. Zhitkova YV, Gasparyan AA, Saihunov MV, Kiselev AV, Stovbun SV. Observational study of the efficacy and safety of [trade name] in patients with moderate cognitive impairment in chronic cerebral ischemia. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2023;123(10):75-80, PMID 37966443. Khokhlov AL, Lileeva EG, Rybachkova YV, et al. Mixed anxiety-depressive disorder in the early period of ischemic stroke and its treatment with ampakines. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2025;125(12):82-87, PMID 41524353. Kiselev AV, Titova NV, Arseenkova OY, Vedenkin AS, Khokhlov AL. AMPA receptors: molecular mechanisms of synaptic plasticity and the potential of [trade name] in addressing cognitive impairment. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2026;126(6):59-65, review; describes the Motin 2018 slice result as obtained in vivo, PMID 42360216. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.