Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Semax (ACTH(4-7)PGP)

Semax is a synthetic heptapeptide, Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, built from residues 4 to 7 of adrenocorticotropic hormone with a Pro-Gly-Pro tail appended to slow proteolysis. It has been studied for roughly three decades, almost entirely by Russian laboratories, and the clinical reports appear in Russian-language journals rather than in trial registries. A ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no registered study of any kind. PubMed returns no systematic review and no meta-analysis.

Strongest evidence: Human dataPublished human studies exist, but they are Russian-language, mostly unblinded, and none is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov 18 claims logged 12 with primary citations 6 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic ACTH(4-7) fragment extended with a C-terminal Pro-Gly-Pro tripeptide; melanocortin-derived heptapeptide
CAS number
80714-61-0
PubChem CID
9811102
Molecular formula
C37H51N9O10S
Molecular weight
813.9 g/mol
Sequence
Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro (MEHFPGP, 7 residues)
Also indexed as
ACTH(4-7)PGP; MEHFPGP; Pro-Gly-Pro-ACTH(4-7); UNII I5FAL2585H; InChIKey AFEHBIGDWIGTEH-AQRCPPRCSA-N

Chemical identity, and a naming discrepancy that persists

Semax carries no International Nonproprietary Name. The name resolves instead to a single PubChem record: CID 9811102, CAS 80714-61-0, molecular formula C37H51N9O10S, molecular weight 813.9, InChIKey AFEHBIGDWIGTEH-AQRCPPRCSA-N, UNII I5FAL2585H. The sequence is Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, usually written MEHFPGP. The synonyms on that record run to laboratory and catalogue designations, a WHO Drug Dictionary entry filed under the bare sequence, and the descriptive form ACTH(4-7), Pro-Gly-Pro.

The molecule is a graft. Its first four residues are taken from adrenocorticotropic hormone and the last three are the tripeptide Pro-Gly-Pro, appended to slow proteolysis. Human ACTH, as annotated in UniProt P01189, runs SYSMEHFRWGKPVGKKRRPVKVYPNGAEDESAEAFPLEF, so residues 4 to 10 are Met-Glu-His-Phe-Arg-Trp-Gly. Semax retains only 4 to 7. Arg-Trp-Gly is gone. What replaced it was chosen for metabolic stability, and that substitution is why the peptide is described across this literature as non-hormonal, a characterisation stated in reviews rather than demonstrated by any corticosteroid-release measurement retrievable for this page.

That detail matters because a large share of the literature is titled wrongly. Dolotov and colleagues 2006 call it an analog of ACTH(4-10); Eremin and colleagues 2005 do the same; so do several Russian-language papers indexed since the 1990s. Later work from the same institutes uses ACTH(4-7)PGP, which is what the structure supports. Both names denote CID 9811102. Anyone reading the older titles at face value would infer three residues of shared sequence with ACTH that are not there.

Claim ledger

12 of 18 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
0.093% of total administered radioactivity recovered per gram of brain at 2 minutes; 80% of that radioactivity was intact peptide, the remainder metabolites, with Pro-Gly-Pro predominating across samplesOutbred white rats, 200-250 gIntranasal, 50 micrograms/kg in 20 microlitres, tritium label at C-terminal Pro (56 Ci/mmol)Not stated in the retrieved reportShevchenko 2006, Bioorg Khim, PMID 16523722
Maximal 1.4-fold rise in BDNF protein, 1.6-fold rise in trkB tyrosine phosphorylation, 3-fold rise in exon III BDNF mRNA and 2-fold rise in trkB mRNA in hippocampus; treated animals showed more conditioned avoidance reactionsRatsSingle application, 50 micrograms/kg body weight; route not stated for the reported experiment, though the paper's introduction describes intranasal applicationNot stated in the retrieved reportDolotov 2006, Brain Res 1117(1):54-60, PMID 16996037
Specific, reversible, calcium-dependent binding with Kd 2.41 +/- 1.02 nM and Bmax 33.5 +/- 7.9 fmol/mg protein; half-life longer than 1 hour in that preparation; cleaved successively to HFPGP and PGP by dipeptidylaminopeptidasesPlasma membranes of rat forebrain basal nucleiIn vitro incubation with tritium-labelled peptideNot stated in the retrieved reportDolotov 2004, Bioorg Khim 30(3):241-6, PMID 15344653
Loss of the N-terminal ME and the C-terminal GP dominated degradation, with pentapeptide formation predominant; product patterns differed between glial and neuronal cellsRat basal forebrain plasma membranes and glial and neuronal cell culturesIn vitro, evenly tritium-labelled peptide with HPLC analysisNot stated in the retrieved reportZolotarev 2006, Amino Acids 30(4):403-8, PMID 16773243
Striatal tissue 5-HIAA increased 25% at 2 hours; extracellular striatal 5-HIAA rose to 180% within 1-4 hours; no change in tissue or extracellular dopamine or its metabolites from the peptide alone; amphetamine-evoked dopamine release and locomotion were enhanced when the peptide was given 20 minutes beforeRodentsIntraperitoneal, 0.15 mg/kgNot stated in the retrieved reportEremin 2005, Neurochem Res 30(12):1493-500, PMID 16362768
1 micromolar augmented GABA-activated currents in cerebellar Purkinje cells by 147 +/- 13%; 0.1 and 1 micromolar reduced glycine-activated chloride currents in hippocampal pyramidal neurons to 68% and 43% of control; both effects slow in onset and poorly reversibleNeurons isolated from rat brainIn vitro, concentration clamp with peptide in the perfusion solutionNot stated in the retrieved reportSharonova 2018, Bull Exp Biol Med 164(5):612-616, PMID 29577196
100 micromolar Semax, and 20 and 100 micromolar of its PGP fragment, delayed calcium dysregulation and loss of mitochondrial potential under glutamate toxicity; neuronal survival improved by roughly 30% on averageCultured rat cerebellar granule cellsIn vitro incubationNot stated in the retrieved reportStorozhevykh 2007, Bull Exp Biol Med 143(5):601-4, PMID 18239779
394 differentially expressed genes above a 1.5-fold threshold at 24 hours under Semax relative to saline; inflammatory genes suppressed and neurotransmission genes activated, opposite in direction to the ischaemia-alone profileRats, transient middle cerebral artery occlusion modelNot stated in the retrieved abstractNot stated in the retrieved reportFilippenkov 2020, Genes (Basel) 11(6), PMID 32580520
At 24 hours after occlusion: active CREB upregulated in subcortical structures including the focus of ischaemic damage; MMP-9 and c-Fos downregulated in the adjacent frontoparietal cortex; active JNK downregulated in both tissuesRats, transient middle cerebral artery occlusion modelNot stated in the retrieved abstractNot stated in the retrieved reportSudarkina 2021, Int J Mol Sci 22(12), PMID 34201112
Plasma BDNF increased and remained elevated across the study period regardless of rehabilitation timing; BDNF correlated positively with Barthel index score, and the correlation was modified by rehabilitation timing. Unblinded, no placebo describedPatients after ischaemic stroke, 43 men and 67 women, mean age 58.0 +/- 9.7 yearsIntranasal, in two courses separated by an interval110Gusev 2018, Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova 118(3 Pt 2):61-68, PMID 29798983
Greater volume of the rostral (medial frontal cortex) subcomponent of the resting-state default mode network in the treated group compared with controls, on scans at 5 and 20 minutes after administrationHealthy volunteers, 11 men and 13 women, mean age 43.9 +/- 9.5 yearsIntranasal 1% solution versus placebo24 total (14 peptide, 10 placebo)Lebedeva 2018, Bull Exp Biol Med 165(5):653-656, PMID 30225715
Ulcer healing observed at day 14 in 89.5% of the group given the peptide alongside conventional agents, against 30.8% of controlsPatients with refractory peptic ulcerIntranasal 1% solution, given with omeprazole, de-nol and solcoserilNot stated in the retrieved report; the percentages imply small groupsIvanikov 2002, Bull Exp Biol Med 134(1):73-4, PMID 12459874
N-acetyl semax amidate has a plasma half-life of two to ten hours, is three to four times more potent per microgram than Semax, and penetrates the blood-brain barrier better.Searched PubMed for the quoted phrases "N-acetyl semax" (zero records), "Ac-MEHFPGP" (zero records) and "NA-Semax" (zero records). PubChem does hold the molecule as CID 172638603, CAS 2920938-90-3, C39H54N10O10S, molecular weight 855.0, but its entire synonym list is the name, a shortened form of it, the CAS number and two chemical-catalogue codes, with no literature-derived synonym and no UNII. No pharmacokinetic, potency or permeability measurement exists to compare against Semax. The nearest published work is Magri 2016 (PMID 27586814), which tested acetylation without amidation and reported that acetylation abolished protection of SH-SY5Y cells against copper-induced toxicity, the free N-terminal amine being required. That is one assay and points the opposite way from the potency claim.No source found
Semax has a plasma half-life of three to five minutes (also quoted as thirty minutes, and as half an hour to two hours).The three figures circulate simultaneously, sometimes on the same page, which is itself the finding. Searched PubMed for semax combined with half-life and plasma (one record) and for semax combined with pharmacokinetics (ten records, several of them false matches to the modelling abbreviation Emax). The only measured half-life located is in Dolotov 2004 (PMID 15344653): longer than one hour in the presence of rat forebrain plasma membranes. That is an in vitro figure from a membrane preparation, not a plasma half-life in any species. No human pharmacokinetic study of Semax was located in PubMed, so none of the three circulating numbers has a traceable human origin.No source found
Semax raises BDNF by 1.4 times and doubles trkB receptor expression.The multipliers are real and traceable, but not to the population they are usually attached to. Dolotov 2006 (PMID 16996037) measured them in rat hippocampus after a single 50 microgram per kilogram application: 1.4-fold BDNF protein, 1.6-fold trkB tyrosine phosphorylation, 3-fold exon III BDNF mRNA and 2-fold trkB mRNA. The figure quoted as doubled trkB is the mRNA measurement, not receptor protein. The only human BDNF data located, Gusev 2018 (PMID 29798983), measured plasma BDNF in 110 post-stroke patients in an unblinded design and reported direction, not a fold-change. Presented as a human effect, the multipliers are unsourced.No source found
Semax has been used for decades with no reported side effects.The assertion traces to a narrative review, Ashmarin and colleagues 1997 (PMID 9173745), which states that in no case did the peptide produce negative side actions or complications. That is a review's summary claim carrying no dataset, no denominator and no adverse-event definition. Searched PubMed for semax combined with toxicity, safety and adverse: 30 records, of which the only primary toxicological study located is Kobylyanskii 2017 (PMID 29063333), an in vitro comparison of several peptides on mouse embryonic stem cells. No dedicated animal toxicology programme, no clinical safety series and no pharmacovigilance record was located. An absence of published reports is not an absence of events.No source found
A single intranasal dose produces effects lasting 20 to 24 hours.This duration traces to the same 1997 review (PMID 9173745), which states that memory, attention, hypoxia resistance and brain circulation effects persisted 20 to 24 hours after intranasal administration at 0.015 to 0.050 mg/kg. The review names no underlying experiment, and no primary paper reporting a 20 to 24 hour time course was retrievable in PubMed. The one time-resolved distribution study found (PMID 16523722) sampled at two minutes. The duration claim rests on a review assertion about work that could not be traced.No source found
Lyophilised powder is stable for months at refrigeration and reconstituted solution for weeks.These windows appear in catalogue copy. No stability study of Semax was located in PubMed: no time-course, no HPLC purity curve, no oxidation assay. The nearest published physical chemistry is Sheremet 2004 (PMID 15678666), which reported that the peptide does not disintegrate in an electric field and moves from anode to cathode, a finding about electrophoresis rather than shelf life. The peptide carries a methionine at position 1, a residue prone to oxidation in general peptide chemistry, but no published work characterises that or any other degradation route for this molecule in storage.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

Where an intranasal dose goes, and what it becomes

Shevchenko and colleagues 2006 prepared Semax tritium-labelled at the C-terminal proline at 56 Ci/mmol and gave 50 micrograms per kilogram in 20 microlitres intranasally to outbred white rats of 200 to 250 grams. At two minutes, 0.093 per cent of the total administered radioactivity was recovered per gram of brain. Eighty per cent of that radioactivity was intact peptide; the remainder was metabolites. Across the biological samples, the tripeptide Pro-Gly-Pro predominated over Semax and its other fragments.

Degradation has been mapped from two directions. Dolotov and colleagues 2004, working with plasma membranes from rat forebrain basal nuclei, reported a half-life longer than one hour in that preparation and identified dipeptidylaminopeptidases as the principal enzymes, cleaving successively to the pentapeptide HFPGP and then to PGP. Zolotarev and colleagues 2006, using peptide labelled at every residue, found that loss of the N-terminal ME and the C-terminal GP dominated in the presence of plasma membranes and of glial and neuronal cultures, and that the product patterns differed between glial and neuronal cells.

The metabolite is not inert, which complicates attribution. Dmitrieva and colleagues 2010 treated rats after permanent middle cerebral artery occlusion with either Semax or PGP alone and found that both raised transcription of neurotrophins and their receptors in the cortex, with partially overlapping profiles. Semax acted selectively in ischaemic cortex; the influence of PGP was described as mainly unspecific, appearing in operated and unoperated animals alike. No human pharmacokinetic study of Semax was located in PubMed.

The rodent neurotrophin and transcriptome record

Dolotov and colleagues 2006 gave a single 50 microgram per kilogram application to rats and measured the hippocampus. BDNF protein rose by a maximum of 1.4-fold, tyrosine phosphorylation of trkB by 1.6-fold, exon III BDNF mRNA by 3-fold and trkB mRNA by 2-fold. The same animals showed more conditioned avoidance reactions than controls. Those four multipliers are the origin of most of what circulates about this peptide and BDNF, and they were measured in rat hippocampus, not in people.

Most of the mechanistic work since has been transcriptomic, and nearly all of it comes from one institute cluster using one lesion. Filippenkov and colleagues 2020 ran RNA-Seq on rat brain 24 hours after transient middle cerebral artery occlusion and identified 394 differentially expressed genes above a 1.5-fold threshold under Semax relative to saline, with inflammatory genes suppressed and neurotransmission genes activated. Follow-ups in 2023, 2024 and 2025 extended the same design to the penumbra-associated frontal cortex and to the striatum, and added a second peptide, ACTH(6-9)PGP, as a comparator.

Sudarkina and colleagues 2021 took the same model to the protein level, reporting upregulation of active CREB in subcortical structures, downregulation of MMP-9 and c-Fos in the adjacent frontoparietal cortex, and downregulation of active JNK in both tissues at 24 hours. The retrieved abstracts of these papers do not state group sizes. A body of work this internally consistent and this concentrated in one laboratory network has not been independently replicated at anything like the volume of publication.

Binding, ion currents and a two-order concentration gap

Dolotov and colleagues 2004 reported saturable binding to plasma membranes of rat forebrain basal nuclei: time-dependent, specific, reversible, calcium-dependent, with a dissociation constant of 2.41 plus or minus 1.02 nanomolar and 33.5 plus or minus 7.9 femtomoles of binding sites per milligram of protein. The site was characterised by its kinetics rather than identified as a named receptor, and that remains the position twenty years later.

Electrophysiology has produced sharper numbers. Sharonova and colleagues 2018, using concentration-clamp on neurons isolated from rat brain, found that 1 micromolar Semax augmented GABA-activated currents in cerebellar Purkinje cells by 147 plus or minus 13 per cent, while 0.1 and 1 micromolar reduced glycine-activated chloride currents in hippocampal pyramidal neurons to 68 and 43 per cent of control. Both effects developed slowly and reversed poorly, which the authors read as implicating second messengers rather than direct channel block.

Kolbaev and colleagues 2025 applied 1 micromolar to hippocampal and cerebellar slices and reported a higher frequency of spontaneous intracellular calcium fluctuations in CA1 pyramidal layer cells, with no significant effect on proton-induced calcium rise in cerebellar granule cells. Their conclusion was negative and useful: whatever the neuroprotective mechanism is, it does not appear to run through acid-sensing ion channels in those cells.

Concentrations across this literature do not sit comfortably together. Storozhevykh and colleagues 2007 needed 100 micromolar Semax to delay calcium dysregulation and mitochondrial depolarisation in cultured cerebellar granule cells under glutamate toxicity, improving survival by around 30 per cent on average. That is two orders of magnitude above the concentration active on GABA currents and roughly five orders above the reported binding constant.

The human record, and why it is difficult to weigh

A ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no registered study of Semax under any of the names checked, whether searched as an intervention or as a free-text term. Not one. The human literature nonetheless exists and is substantial. Of 231 PubMed records for the term, 192 also match Russia or Russian, and the clinical reports sit almost entirely in Russian-language journals indexed with English abstracts and no retrievable English full text. What follows is therefore drawn from abstracts, which is a real limit on how closely any of it can be read.

Gusev and colleagues 1997 studied 30 patients in the acute period of hemispheric ischaemic stroke against a control group of 80 patients on conventional therapy, with EEG mapping and somatosensory evoked potentials as objective measures. Allocation was not randomised and no placebo is described. Gusev and colleagues 2018 examined 110 patients after ischaemic stroke, 43 men and 67 women of mean age 58.0 plus or minus 9.7 years, split by rehabilitation timing and by whether they received the peptide, and reported that plasma BDNF rose and stayed elevated, correlating with Barthel index score. PubMed types that report as a Clinical Trial; its abstract describes no blinding.

Two placebo-controlled human studies were located, and both are imaging. Lebedeva and colleagues 2018 scanned 24 healthy volunteers, 14 given intranasal Semax and 10 given placebo, before and at 5 and 20 minutes, and found a larger rostral subcomponent of the resting-state default mode network in the treated group. Panikratova and colleagues 2020 studied 52 healthy participants across Semax, Selank and placebo and reported differences in functional connectivity between the right amygdala and the right temporal cortex. Neither measured a behavioural or clinical endpoint.

Beyond stroke the clinical record spreads thin across specialities. Ivanikov and colleagues 2002 reported healing of refractory peptic ulcers at day 14 in 89.5 per cent of the treated group against 30.8 per cent of controls, without stating group sizes. Other reports cover cerebrovascular insufficiency in 187 patients, optic-nerve disease, and motor neuron disease in 27 patients, the last typed by PubMed as a Randomized Controlled Trial while its own abstract calls it an open-label trial in sequential groups. PubMed returns no systematic review and no meta-analysis. Searches of the openFDA drug label endpoint and of DailyMed returned no matches, so no US-marketed product exists; the papers themselves describe the peptide as in clinical use in Russia.

The acetylated, amidated variant sold alongside it

A second molecule circulates under a name built from this one. PubChem holds it as CID 172638603, N-acetyl semax amidate, CAS 2920938-90-3, formula C39H54N10O10S, molecular weight 855.0. The modifications are an acetyl cap on the N-terminal methionine and an amide at the C-terminal proline, both standard moves for slowing exopeptidase attack. Its entire synonym list on that record is the name, a shortened form of the name, the CAS number and two chemical-catalogue codes. No literature-derived synonym, UNII or regulatory identifier appears on it.

PubMed returns zero results for N-acetyl semax, zero for Ac-MEHFPGP and zero for NA-Semax. The molecule has no published pharmacology, no published pharmacokinetics, no published toxicology and no published comparison against the parent peptide in any species or preparation. Every quantitative statement in circulation about it, on half-life, relative potency or barrier penetration, describes a compound on which no experiment has been published. The absence is not a gap in indexing; the compound record itself carries no citation.

One paper has tested an N-terminally acetylated Semax, and it did not test amidation. Magri and colleagues 2016, in the Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry, characterised copper and zinc coordination by Semax and by Ac-Semax. At physiological pH the acetylated peptide formed a distorted CuN3O chromophore where the parent formed CuN4, with a more positive formal redox potential. In SH-SY5Y neuroblastoma cells, acetylation did not protect against copper-induced toxicity, and the authors concluded that the free N-terminal amine was required for that protection. The single published comparison of an acetylated Semax against its parent found the modification removed an activity.

What is not known

No registered trial of Semax exists. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across intervention and free-text fields returned zero studies, so no dose-ranging, pharmacokinetic, safety or efficacy work in people has been registered, and PubMed holds neither a systematic review nor a meta-analysis of the compound. The human reports that do exist are almost entirely Russian-language, are indexed with English abstracts and no retrievable English full text, and are with two imaging exceptions unblinded and without placebo; group allocation, blinding, endpoint definitions and effect sizes cannot be checked from an abstract. Nothing in the retrieved literature establishes human pharmacokinetics: no plasma concentration-time curve, no bioavailability figure for the intranasal route, no half-life measured in a person. The binding site identified in rat forebrain membranes in 2004 has never been assigned to a named receptor, and the concentrations at which effects appear in different preparations span five orders of magnitude without a stated reconciliation. Most of the mechanistic literature since 2010 comes from one Russian institute cluster applying one lesion model, and has not been independently replicated. No published study characterises chronic administration, reproductive or developmental effects, carcinogenicity, immunogenicity, or behaviour in any non-rodent species. The acetylated and amidated derivative sold under a name derived from this one has no published literature at all.

Questions

Are there registered clinical trials of Semax?
No. A ClinicalTrials.gov search under both the intervention field and free text returned zero studies as of August 2026. Human reports exist in the published literature, but they appear in Russian-language journals rather than in a trial registry, and PubMed holds no systematic review and no meta-analysis of the compound.
Is Semax an ACTH(4-10) analogue or an ACTH(4-7) analogue?
Structurally it is ACTH(4-7) with a Pro-Gly-Pro extension. Human ACTH residues 4 to 10 are Met-Glu-His-Phe-Arg-Trp-Gly (UniProt P01189); Semax is Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro. Arg-Trp-Gly is absent. Papers from the 1990s and 2000s are frequently titled ACTH(4-10) analogue anyway, and later work from the same institutes uses ACTH(4-7)PGP. Both names refer to PubChem CID 9811102.
What is the strongest human finding on record?
The two placebo-controlled human studies located are both imaging. Lebedeva and colleagues 2018 scanned 24 healthy volunteers, 14 given the peptide intranasally and 10 given placebo, and reported a larger rostral subcomponent of the resting-state default mode network in the treated group. Panikratova and colleagues 2020 studied 52 healthy participants and reported amygdala-temporal connectivity differences. Neither measured a behavioural or clinical endpoint.
Does the record support the BDNF numbers that circulate?
It supports them in rats. Dolotov and colleagues 2006 measured a 1.4-fold rise in hippocampal BDNF protein, 1.6-fold trkB phosphorylation, 3-fold exon III BDNF mRNA and 2-fold trkB mRNA after a single 50 microgram per kilogram application. Those are rat hippocampus figures. The only human BDNF measurement located reported direction in plasma in an unblinded post-stroke cohort, not a fold-change.
What is known about N-acetyl semax amidate?
Chemically it is on record: PubChem CID 172638603, CAS 2920938-90-3, C39H54N10O10S, molecular weight 855.0. Pharmacologically nothing is published. PubMed returns zero records for it under any of the name variants searched. The only study of an N-terminally acetylated Semax tested acetylation alone and found it abolished protection of neuroblastoma cells against copper toxicity.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 9811102, Semax. National Center for Biotechnology Information. CAS 80714-61-0, C37H51N9O10S, 813.9 g/mol, UNII I5FAL2585H. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. UniProtKB P01189 (COLI_HUMAN), pro-opiomelanocortin; Corticotropin peptide annotation used to check the ACTH(4-10) sequence against Semax. View on www.uniprot.org
  3. Dolotov OV, Karpenko EA, Inozemtseva LS, et al. Semax, an analog of ACTH(4-10) with cognitive effects, regulates BDNF and trkB expression in the rat hippocampus. Brain Res. 2006;1117(1):54-60. PMID 16996037 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Dolotov OV, Zolotarev YuA, Dorokhova EM, et al. [The binding of Semax, ACTH 4-10 heptapeptide, to plasma membranes of the rat forebrain basal nuclei and its biodegradation]. Bioorg Khim. 2004;30(3):241-6. PMID 15344653 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Shevchenko KV, Nagaev IYu, Alfeeva LYu, et al. [Kinetics of Semax penetration into the brain and blood of rats after its intranasal administration]. Bioorg Khim. 2006;32(1):64-70. PMID 16523722 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Zolotarev YA, Dolotov OV, Inozemtseva LS, et al. Degradation of the ACTH(4-10) analog Semax in the presence of rat basal forebrain cell cultures and plasma membranes. Amino Acids. 2006;30(4):403-8. PMID 16773243 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Eremin KO, Kudrin VS, Saransaari P, et al. Semax, an ACTH(4-10) analogue with nootropic properties, activates dopaminergic and serotoninergic brain systems in rodents. Neurochem Res. 2005;30(12):1493-500. PMID 16362768 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Dmitrieva VG, Povarova OV, Skvortsova VI, et al. Semax and Pro-Gly-Pro activate the transcription of neurotrophins and their receptor genes after cerebral ischemia. Cell Mol Neurobiol. 2010;30(1):71-9. PMID 19633950 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Filippenkov IB, Stavchansky VV, Denisova AE, et al. Novel insights into the protective properties of ACTH(4-7)PGP (Semax) peptide at the transcriptome level following cerebral ischaemia-reperfusion in rats. Genes (Basel). 2020;11(6):681. PMID 32580520 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Sudarkina OY, Filippenkov IB, Stavchansky VV, et al. Brain protein expression profile confirms the protective effect of the ACTH(4-7)PGP peptide (Semax) in a rat model of cerebral ischemia-reperfusion. Int J Mol Sci. 2021;22(12):6179. PMID 34201112 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Filippenkov IB, Shpetko YY, Stavchansky VV, et al. ACTH-like peptides compensate rat brain gene expression profile disrupted by ischemia a day after experimental stroke. Biomedicines. 2024;12(12):2830. PMID 39767736 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Sharonova IN, Bukanova YV, Myasoedov NF, Skrebitsky VG. Modulation of GABA- and glycine-activated ionic currents with Semax in isolated cerebral neurons. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2018;164(5):612-616. PMID 29577196 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Kolbaev SN, Sharonova IN, Skrebitsky VG, et al. The effect of peptide Semax, an ACTH(4-10) analogue, on intracellular calcium dynamics in rat brain neurons. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2025;179(4):416-420. PMID 41171324 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Storozhevykh TP, Tukhbatova GR, Senilova YE, et al. Effects of semax and its Pro-Gly-Pro fragment on calcium homeostasis of neurons and their survival under conditions of glutamate toxicity. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2007;143(5):601-4. PMID 18239779 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Gusev EI, Skvortsova VI, Myasoedov NF, et al. [Effectiveness of semax in acute period of hemispheric ischemic stroke (a clinical and electrophysiological study)]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 1997;97(6):26-34. Non-randomised, no placebo described. PMID 11517472 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Gusev EI, Martynov MY, Kostenko EV, et al. [The efficacy of semax in the treatment of patients at different stages of ischemic stroke]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2018;118(3 Pt 2):61-68. Typed by PubMed as Clinical Trial; no blinding described. PMID 29798983 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Lebedeva IS, Panikratova YR, Sokolov OY, et al. Effects of Semax on the default mode network of the brain. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2018;165(5):653-656. PMID 30225715 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Magri A, Tabbi G, Giuffrida A, et al. Influence of the N-terminus acetylation of Semax, a synthetic analog of ACTH(4-10), on copper(II) and zinc(II) coordination and biological properties. J Inorg Biochem. 2016;164:59-69. PMID 27586814 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.