Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Bemethyl (Bemitil)

Bemethyl is 2-ethylsulfanyl-1H-benzimidazole hydrobromide, PubChem CID 9816609, developed at the Leningrad Military Medical Academy in the 1970s and described in Russian drug-reference sources as registered under the trade name Metaprot. A union query on its spellings returns 105 PubMed records, most Russian-language with English abstracts only. The World Anti-Doping Agency monitored it from 2018 through 2021 and then removed it; it has never appeared on the Prohibited List. The performance percentages quoted for it trace back to a 1987 methods paper that reports no percentages.

Strongest evidence: Human dataHuman studies exist but are almost entirely Russian-language, unregistered, and unreplicated outside the former USSR; not an approved medicine in the US or EU 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Small molecule; 2-substituted benzimidazole, the one-to-one hydrobromide salt of 2-(ethylthio)-1H-benzimidazole. Described in the literature as an actoprotector, synthetic adaptogen and antihypoxant. Not a peptide. The fields above describe the anhydrous salt; the free base is indexed separately as PubChem CID 720878 and ChEMBL1559140, C9H10N2S, 178.26 g/mol. No ChEMBL record was located for the salt.
CAS number
63513-71-3; 109628-14-0
PubChem CID
9816609
Molecular formula
C9H11BrN2S
Molecular weight
259.17 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
Bemitil, bemithyl, bemetil, bemactor, bemaktor, Metaprot, Bemiton, Betamyl, Antihot; 2-(ethylthio)benzimidazole hydrobromide; 2-ethylsulfanyl-1H-benzimidazole hydrobromide; InChIKey BKUKXOMYGPYFJJ-UHFFFAOYSA-N; UNII TG4SAK8A5M; DTXSID00212924. Two CAS numbers sit on the same FDA GSRS record: that record types 109628-14-0 as PRIMARY and 63513-71-3 as NO STRUCTURE GIVEN, while the National Library of Medicine's indexing registry number is 63513-71-3. Both are carried in the CAS field above.

Identity, and nine names for one salt

PubChem CID 9816609 resolves bemethyl as 2-ethylsulfanyl-1H-benzimidazole hydrobromide, molecular formula C9H11BrN2S, molecular weight 259.17, InChIKey BKUKXOMYGPYFJJ-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII TG4SAK8A5M. The structure is a benzimidazole carrying an ethyl thioether at the 2-position, isolated as a one-to-one salt with hydrogen bromide. It is a small molecule, not a peptide. The free base is indexed separately as CID 720878 and ChEMBL1559140, C9H10N2S, 178.26 g/mol; no ChEMBL record was found for the salt itself. Two CAS numbers, 63513-71-3 and 109628-14-0, sit on the same FDA Global Substance Registration System entry. The record as fetched on 18 August 2026 types 109628-14-0 as PRIMARY and 63513-71-3 as NO STRUCTURE GIVEN, while the registry number the National Library of Medicine attaches to its own indexing concept is 63513-71-3. Both are carried here, because one summary quoting the first and another quoting the second are not actually in disagreement.

The naming is a practical obstacle, though a narrower one than it is usually described as. Bemethyl, bemitil, bemithyl, bemetil and bemactor, the last also spelled bemaktor, are transliterations of one Cyrillic name, and Metaprot, Bemiton, Betamyl and Antihot are trade names layered on top: five spellings and four trade names. PubMed maps all of these strings onto a single supplementary concept, so single-spelling queries run on 18 August 2026 returned 93 records for bemethyl, 96 for bemitil, 96 for bemithyl, 93 for bemetil and 96 for metaprot, against a union of 105. One spelling therefore recovers 88 to 91 per cent of the indexed set. The naming bites at the retrieval of full texts, and in secondary summaries that follow a single spelling, rather than in PubMed indexing.

Development is attributed to the pharmacology department of the Military Medical Academy in Leningrad during the 1970s, under Vladimir Vinogradov. Russian drug-reference sources describe a registration under the trade name Metaprot, and Kwiatkowska and colleagues describe the substance as the active ingredient of a dietary supplement marketed in Ukraine (PMID 30346653). Queries against the FDA drug approval database on four of its names returned no record, and no European Medicines Agency authorisation was found. It is not an approved medicine in the United States or the European Union, and nothing on this page establishes availability, legality or suitability for any person.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Peak concentration 0.91 ± 1.05 µg/mL at 1.06 ± 0.16 h; the standard deviation on Cmax exceeds the mean; distribution of pharmacokinetic parameters across the group described as polymodalHealthy adult volunteers; the abstract reports the assay as run on blood serum and then reports the peak concentration in plasma, and that inconsistency is left as publishedSingle 250 mg oral dose, capsulesNot stated in the indexed abstractKibal'chich 2011, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 21870773
Kinetic curves differed significantly by clinical response; a larger area under the concentration-time curve and a shorter half-excretion period where the psychoactivating component of action predominated. Comparative parameters only; no absolute half-life or clearance is reportedPatients with asthenic statesSingle administration; route not stated in the indexed abstractNot stated in the indexed abstractBoiko 1986, Farmakol Toksikol, PMID 3770166
Concentrations in rat brain tissue significantly higher than in plasma; cerebrospinal fluid concentrations lower than plasma in patients, which the authors state does not exclude accumulation in brain structuresRats; and patients with craniocerebral traumaNot stated in the indexed abstractNot stated in the indexed abstractBoiko 1987, Farmakol Toksikol, PMID 3609285
Parent compound and glucuronide conjugate both detectable in urine; the glucuronide more abundant and with a wider detection windowHealthy volunteers, three men and three women, aged 26–49Oral, a supplement containing the compound, administered across three consecutive days; urine collected to 30 days6Kwiatkowska 2018, Drug Test Anal, PMID 30346653
Compensatory tracking quality 10% higher, pursuit tracking errors 1.8× lower, visual signal detection time 2.4× shorter versus placebo controlsHuman operators under simulated spaceflight factors and 56 hours of continuous workNot stated in the indexed abstractNot stated in the indexed abstractBobkov and Epishkin 1988, Kosm Biol Aviakosm Med, PMID 3066983
Reported more effective than piracetam and pyritinol on the asthenic symptom complex overall, with faster onset; the abstract states the treatment scheme was elaborated in the course of the study, and describes no randomisation, blinding or placebo armPatients with asthenic conditions of borderline severityNot stated in the indexed abstract130Aleksandrovskii 1988, Zh Nevropatol Psikhiatr, PMID 3381606
Lower serum anti-DNA autoantibody levels and reduced disease severity on SLEDAI-1 and ECLAM scales after 8 weeksPatients with systemic lupus erythematosusOral, alone and in combination with cyclophosphamide, against prednisolone comparator arms. Doses not reproduced here15 on the compound alone and 16 in combination; 15 and 15 in the comparator armsLisitsyna 1999, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 10572751
Prevented the fall in reduced glutathione and SH groups and the drop in glutathione reductase and peroxidase activity; actinomycin D inhibition analysis used to argue dependence on new enzyme synthesisRats under acute hypoxic hypoxia, pressure chamber to a simulated 8,000–11,000 m for 30 min25 mg/kg intraperitoneally, 30 min before hypoxiaNot stated in the indexed abstractZarubina and Mironova 2002, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 12227091
Limited the fall in oxygen tension and the rise in diene conjugates and Schiff bases. The abstract confines this result to the circulatory hypoxia condition, although both circulatory and hypoxic hypoxia were studiedRats with circulatory hypoxia50 mg/kg intraperitoneally, pretreatmentNot stated in the indexed abstractPlotnikov 1989, Biull Eksp Biol Med, PMID 2736293
Restricted malondialdehyde accumulation under activation of free-radical processes, and limited organelle degradation in mitochondrial suspension; the compound showed no antiradical activityRat brain homogenate and mitochondrial suspensionNot applicable; added to homogenate and suspension preparationsNot stated in the indexed abstractPlotnikov 1989, Biull Eksp Biol Med, PMID 2736293
Mixed-type induction of hepatic cytochrome P-450, raising total P-450 content and both Ah-receptor-dependent and independent monooxygenase activities, except aniline-p-hydroxylase activity, which was not induced; the dependent isoforms peaked after a single administrationRats; separately, mitogen-stimulated human lymphocytes50 mg/kg orally, single or five-fold; in vitro 0.1–100 µMNot stated in the indexed abstractSorokina 2002, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 12227093
Three days of administration raised pairing motivation and spermatogenesis at both doses; 60 days of administration lowered male sexual activity and the spermatogenesis indexMale rats20 and 200 mg/kg orally, 3 days versus 60 daysNot stated in the indexed abstractBugaeva 2006, Eksp Klin Farmakol, PMID 16579058
A single administration increases maximal volume of work performed by 33% and resistance to fatigue by 60%These two percentages are the most widely repeated numbers attached to this compound. They enter English through Oliynyk and Oh's 2012 review (PMID 24009833), which attributes them to Dubovik and Bogomazov, Farmakologiia i Toksikologiia 1987;50:116-121. That paper is indexed as PMID 3582626, and its English abstract is purely methodological: it describes criteria derived from the Kiplinger swimming test for scoring power, volume of work and rate of fatigue development in (CBA × C57BL)F1 mice, and reports only that the method gives a more informative evaluation than time-to-exhaustion methods. No percentage of any kind appears in it. Searching PubMed for the compound with work capacity, endurance and swimming returned no other paper carrying either figure.No source found
Bemitil improves endurance, working capacity and antioxidant status in trained athletesThe 2012 review supports this with three of its own first author's papers: a study of the dietary supplement in Kyokushin karate athletes in the International Journal of Applied Sports Sciences 2009;21:48-63, a companion in Sporto mokslas (Vilnius) 2009;55:28-33, and an altitude paper in the same sports-science journal. None is indexed in PubMed. A Europe PMC search for the supplement's trade name with athletes returned three records, all of which are the review itself, the doping-control paper and a ginseng paper by the same author. A Crossref bibliographic search on the Kyokushin title returned only unrelated karate papers. The primary athlete evidence for this compound is not retrievable, and it was generated and cited by the same person.No source found
Bemitil prepared the USSR national team for the 1980 Moscow Olympic Games, was first given to Soviet cosmonauts, and earned its developers the State Prize of the USSRAll three statements appear in the historical section of the 2012 review, and the full text was fetched (PMC3762282) to check what carries them: the State Prize sentence, the cosmonaut sentence and the 1980 Olympic sentence each stand with no citation attached. They propagate from there to encyclopaedia entries, nootropics blogs and vendor product pages. The cosmonaut and soldier assertion has also entered the indexed literature independently. Kwiatkowska and colleagues, whose 2018 doping-control paper is used as a primary source on this page, state in their PubMed abstract that the substance was developed in the USSR in the 1970s and that studies on athletes followed tests on Soviet cosmonauts and soldiers (PMID 30346653), again with no primary citation. A peer-reviewed English-language paper therefore repeats the assertion; PubMed is not silent on it. What was not located is any Olympic-era document, award citation, space-programme record or contemporaneous account behind it. The nearest indexed measurement is Bobkov and Epishkin 1988 (PMID 3066983), which describes a ground-based simulation.No source found
Bemitil was issued to Soviet troops in Afghanistan and to Chernobyl recovery workersThese two claims do carry a citation in the 2012 review, and it is worth naming what it is. In the full text (PMC3762282) the Afghanistan and Chernobyl sentences end with a reference to Shabanov, 'Chronicles of St. Petersburg pharmacology', Eksperimental'naia i klinicheskaia farmakologiia 2009;72:46-51, PMID 19803371. That record was fetched: it is a six-page Russian-language institutional history written for the 210th anniversary of a university pharmacology department, and its abstract is a list of professors. No procurement record, military document or measurement was located behind it. The military half of the claim also has an indexed English-language repeater: Kwiatkowska 2018 (PMID 30346653) states in its abstract that tests were conducted on Soviet soldiers, without a primary citation of its own.No source found
Onset within 30 minutes, maximum effect at 1–2 hours, duration of action 4–6 hours, and accumulation in blood by day 10–12 of continued useThis block of figures appears identically across supplement aggregators and product pages because it is a translation of the Russian product leaflet, which carries no references. The only indexed human study reporting absolute parameters, Kibal'chich 2011 (PMID 21870773), gives a peak at 1.06 ± 0.16 h and nothing else: no duration, no half-life, no accumulation figure. A related figure often attributed to Belinskaia and colleagues 2021 is not their measurement. In their open-access full text (PMC8396642) they attribute it to a third party, reporting that Zarubina and Shabanov found unchanged drug in the plasma of volunteers after a single dose at concentrations above 4 ng/mL for no longer than 10 hours. That source is reference 6 of their paper: Zarubina and Shabanov, 'Molecular Pharmacology of Antihypoxants', N-L Publishers, St Petersburg, 2004, a Russian-language monograph with no PMID, not indexed in PubMed or Europe PMC, and no text of it was retrievable. The primary measurement behind the 4 ng/mL figure could not be reached. The PubMed query stated for this row, (bemethyl OR bemitil OR bemithyl OR metaprot OR bemetil) AND pharmacokinetics, was re-run on 18 August 2026 and returns 8 records: 34445727, 25076756, 21870773, 19513374, 17181062, 1679400, 3691781, 3770166. Three are human (21870773, 1679400, 3770166) and five rodent.No source found
Long-term administration increases brain concentration 1.38-fold and skeletal muscle concentration 1.68-foldAttributed to Sergeeva and Gulyaeva 2006 (PMID 17181062). Neither number appears in the indexed abstract, and the abstract's own closing sentence points the other way: it concludes that the compound accumulates in blood but not in tissues, and reports liver concentration falling on repeated dosing. The full text is behind a subscription at the publisher and at both mirrors located, and could not be retrieved. Either the figures come from a table not reflected in the abstract, or they have been assembled elsewhere and attached to a plausible citation. Which of those is true could not be established here.No source found
Bemitil has no serious side effectsThe sentence traces to the 2012 review, where it stands with no citation. The full text was checked for its position (PMC3762282): in both places the sentence occurs it comes immediately before, not after, the list of dyspeptic, psychoactivating and allergic effects that the same paragraph then reports. The same paragraph also states that the compound is contraindicated under hypoglycaemia and barbiturate administration, a second qualification the bare claim passes over. No independent long-term toxicology programme conducted to contemporary international standards was located in any language. The retrievable animal record contains a further finding the claim omits: 60 days of oral administration in male rats lowered sexual activity and the spermatogenesis index, the reverse of the three-day result in the same paper (PMID 16579058).No source found
Bemitil works by stimulating gluconeogenesis, and inhibiting gluconeogenesis with tryptophan abolishes its effectsThe mechanism is stated in the 2012 review, and the citation structure of the passage was read in the full text (PMC3762282). The sentence naming this compound's mechanism carries no citation, and the sentence reporting that administration of the gluconeogenesis inhibitor tryptophan confirmed the mechanism carries no citation either. The only three references anywhere in that passage, Rennie and Tipton 2000, Fournier et al. 2002 and De Feo et al. 2003, are attached to a general background sentence stating that gluconeogenesis under physical load entails utilisation of lactate and resynthesis of consumed carbohydrates. None of the three concerns this compound, and none is attached to the mechanism claim. A PubMed search pairing the compound's spellings with gluconeogenesis returned no primary study, and searches with lactate and with tryptophan returned nothing testing the described experiment.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

A hundred records, almost none of them in English

The corpus has an unusual shape. Of the 105 records, the great majority are Russian-language papers in Eksperimental'naia i klinicheskaia farmakologiia, Farmakologiia i toksikologiia, Biulleten' eksperimental'noi biologii i meditsiny and military or occupational-medicine journals, published with English abstracts only. A second tier is the English translation series of the Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine, which carries roughly a dozen rodent studies in full. Genuinely international work amounts to five papers: a cirrhotic-liver study in Experimental and Toxicologic Pathology, two in Mutation Research, a Polish excretion study in Drug Testing and Analysis, and a Russian metabolite study in the International Journal of Molecular Sciences.

The figure of 105 is a raw hit count rather than a count of papers about the compound. The set includes at least one record that never administers it: a 1999 Japanese study of rubber antioxidants in rats (PMID 10496380), which carries the supplementary concept only because the indexer attached registry number 63513-71-3 to it. Several further records mention the compound in a single list, among them a 2021 review of plant adaptogens (PMID 34445021). The number of papers that actually study this substance is therefore lower than 105, and any summary quoting the raw count as a paper count overstates the literature.

That distribution has a methodological cost. An English abstract states a conclusion and sometimes a dose. It rarely states a sample size, almost never states randomisation or blinding, and does not permit anyone outside the language to check whether the analysis supports the sentence. Most of the ledger rows below therefore record sample size as absent from the indexed abstract, because that is the honest description of what is retrievable rather than a failure to look.

No registered trial exists. ClinicalTrials.gov was searched on bemethyl, bemitil, bemithyl, metaprot, ethylthiobenzimidazole, ethylsulfanyl benzimidazole and actoprotector; every one of the seven queries returned zero studies. The human papers described below predate registry practice, fall outside its jurisdiction, or both, and none has been replicated by a group outside the former Soviet Union. That combination, no registration and no independent replication and no accessible methods, is the governing constraint on everything in the next section, and it does not improve with the number of papers, because the papers share authors, institutions and journals.

What the mechanistic work actually measured

The clearest mechanistic experiment is Zarubina and Mironova's 2002 study in rats (PMID 12227091). Animals received 25 mg/kg intraperitoneally thirty minutes before acute hypoxic hypoxia, modelled by raising them in a pressure chamber to a simulated altitude of 8,000 to 11,000 metres for thirty minutes. The treated group did not show the fall in reduced glutathione, sulfhydryl groups, glutathione reductase and glutathione peroxidase activity seen otherwise, and an inhibition analysis was used to argue that the protection depended on new enzyme synthesis. The abstract describes the inhibitor, actinomycin D, as a protein synthesis inhibitor. Actinomycin D blocks transcription rather than translation, so what the experiment constrains is an RNA-dependent step.

Plotnikov and colleagues had reported a complementary negative result in 1989 (PMID 2736293). In rats given 50 mg/kg intraperitoneally, the fall in oxygen tension and the rise in diene conjugates and Schiff bases were limited under circulatory hypoxia; the abstract confines that particular result to the circulatory model, although both circulatory and hypoxic hypoxia were studied. In separate preparations the compound restricted malondialdehyde accumulation in rat brain homogenate under free-radical activation and limited organelle degradation in mitochondrial suspension, while showing no antiradical activity of its own. An antioxidant effect that operates without radical scavenging has to be enzymic or transcriptional, which is at least directionally consistent with the glutathione work and with the transcriptional pattern reported for the related actoprotector bromantane.

A finding absent from every secondary summary reviewed here concerns drug metabolism. Sorokina and colleagues reported in 2002 that single and five-fold administration at 50 mg/kg orally in rats produced mixed-type induction of hepatic cytochrome P-450, raising total P-450 content and the activity of both aryl-hydrocarbon-receptor-dependent and independent isoforms, with the explicit exception of aniline-p-hydroxylase activity, which was not induced (PMID 12227093). Induction of a major drug-metabolising system is the kind of property that governs interactions, and it appears in none of the popular descriptions.

Distribution has been mapped only coarsely. Sergeeva and Gulyaeva recovered the compound from liver, brain, kidney, spleen, heart, skeletal muscle, lung, adipose tissue and testis after oral administration to rats, with liver concentrations highest after a single dose and lower after repeated dosing, which they attributed to induced biotransformation. Their stated conclusion is that accumulation occurs in blood rather than in tissue. Boiko and colleagues had reported in 1987 that concentrations in rat brain tissue were significantly higher than in plasma, while cerebrospinal fluid concentrations in patients with craniocerebral trauma were lower than plasma; the authors read the pair as consistent with penetration of the blood-brain barrier (PMID 3609285).

The human record, and what kind of evidence it is

The largest human study located is Aleksandrovskii and colleagues' 1988 report in 130 patients with asthenic conditions of borderline severity, comparing the compound against piracetam and pyritinol. The authors described a faster onset than the comparators and a mild psychostimulant character. Neither randomisation nor blinding is described in the indexed abstract, and the abstract states that the treatment scheme was elaborated in the course of the study. No placebo arm and no blinded comparison are described, and the abstract states no route of administration.

Bobkov and Epishkin's 1988 paper is the source of the operator-performance figures that circulate. Operators performing 56 hours of continuous work under simulated spaceflight conditions were compared with placebo controls: compensatory tracking quality averaged 10 per cent higher, pursuit tracking errors were 1.8 times lower, and visual signal detection time was 2.4 times shorter. The paper is indexed as a controlled clinical trial. Its abstract reports neither a sample size nor a route of administration, and it appears in a Soviet space-medicine journal that publishes no English full text.

Two controlled studies exist outside the performance setting. Ratnikova allocated 66 patients with recurrent erysipelas to conventional treatment plus either the compound or placebo, reporting that the treated arm was free of intoxication symptoms and local manifestations sooner and was discharged earlier (PMID 1942990). Lisitsyna and colleagues gave 15 patients with systemic lupus erythematosus the compound alone and 16 the compound in combination with cyclophosphamide over eight weeks, reporting lower anti-DNA autoantibody titres and lower SLEDAI and ECLAM scores against prednisolone comparator arms of the same size (PMID 10572751).

Human pharmacokinetics does not rest on a single study. A PubMed query pairing the compound's spellings with pharmacokinetics, re-run on 18 August 2026, returns eight records, of which three are human: Boiko and colleagues in 1986 (PMID 3770166), the same group in 1991 (PMID 1679400), and Kibal'chich and colleagues in 2011 (PMID 21870773). A fourth human distribution paper from the same group falls outside that query (PMID 3609285). The two earlier Boiko abstracts report comparative rather than absolute parameters: the 1986 paper describes kinetic curves differing by clinical response in patients with asthenic states, with a larger area under the curve and a shorter half-excretion period where the psychoactivating component predominated, and the 1991 paper reports correlation between test-dose parameters and overall therapeutic effect, under monotherapy and in combination with phenazepam.

Absolute figures come from one study. Kibal'chich and colleagues gave healthy adult volunteers a single 250 mg oral dose and measured ethylthiobenzimidazole by high-performance liquid chromatography, reporting a peak concentration of 0.91 plus or minus 1.05 micrograms per millilitre at 1.06 plus or minus 0.16 hours. The abstract is internally inconsistent about the matrix, stating that the assay was run on blood serum and then reporting the peak concentration in plasma. The standard deviation on the peak concentration exceeds the mean, and the authors describe the distribution of parameters across the group as polymodal. No half-life, clearance, bioavailability figure or sample size appears in the indexed abstract.

Monitored for four years, then dropped

The anti-doping history was checked against the source documents rather than against summaries of them. The 2018 Monitoring Program lists, as its fourth entry, 2-ethylsulfanyl-1H-benzimidazole (bemitil), In- and Out-of-Competition. The same entry appears in the 2019, 2020 and 2021 programmes. The Monitoring Program covers substances that are not on the Prohibited List; the World Anti-Doping Code provision under which it operates describes substances whose patterns of use the agency wishes to observe.

Two analytical papers were published while the monitoring ran. Kwiatkowska and colleagues gave six healthy volunteers, three men and three women aged 26 to 49, six doses of a bemitil-containing supplement across three consecutive days, and collected urine before, during and for 30 days afterwards. Parent compound and glucuronide conjugate were both detectable, the conjugate more abundant and over a longer window. Belinskaia and colleagues then characterised the rodent side: five male Wistar rats per group, a single 330 mg/kg intragastric dose, 24-hour urine, nine metabolites across six molecular formulas, the most abundant a benzimidazole-acetylcysteine conjugate.

The 2022 Monitoring Program does not list it, and neither do the 2023, 2024 or 2026 programmes. Text extracted from the 2026 Prohibited List returns no match on bemitil, benzimidazole or ethylsulfanyl, while bromantan and meldonium both appear on that list by name. Hypoxen, another Russian antihypoxant, was added to monitoring in 2023 as the benzimidazole came off. The extractions were run on the published PDFs on 18 August 2026.

No public explanation for the removal was located. A substance can leave the programme because prevalence data proved uninteresting, because analytical follow-up ended, or for reasons the agency does not publish. The compound was monitored for four consecutive years, was never prohibited, and is absent from both the 2026 Prohibited List and the 2026 Monitoring Program as extracted here. The Prohibited List and the Monitoring Program are reissued annually. Secondary pages written between 2018 and 2021 and never revised describe a status that ended four years ago.

Toxicology, and a reproductive finding that reverses with duration

Acute toxicity in rats was reported by Bugaeva and colleagues in 2000 as an LD50 of 581.48 mg/kg with confidence limits of 350.17 to 965.57 (PMID 11202514). The same paper describes a qualitative inversion with dose: ergotropic effects predominate across the 20 to 80 mg/kg range and trophotropic effects at doses above 100 mg/kg. The sign of the dominant autonomic effect therefore changes somewhere between 80 and 100 mg/kg, and findings recorded on one side of that boundary cannot be extrapolated across it in either direction.

The reproductive work is the part that secondary summaries omit, and it is the part where duration changes the sign of the result. Bugaeva and colleagues gave male rats 20 or 200 mg/kg orally and reported that three days of administration raised pairing motivation and spermatogenesis at both doses, while 60 days of administration lowered male sexual activity and the spermatogenesis index (PMID 16579058). The authors attributed the reversal to effects on hypothalamic and pituitary structures. Short-course rodent data and long-course rodent data point in opposite directions.

Developmental studies exist and are small. Daily administration at 20 mg/kg to pregnant rats from gestational day 6 to 16 was reported to reduce post-implantation fetal death and raise fetal body weight, with faster development of physical condition and sensorimotor reflexes in the offspring. Administration through 16 days of lactation at 20 and 100 mg/kg transferred the compound in milk and produced uneven development in the newborns, with effects on muscle strength, sensorimotor reflex development and later pubescence.

Genotoxicity was examined early and returned negative. Seredenin and colleagues found no recessive lethal mutations in Drosophila, no dominant lethal mutations in mammalian germ cells and no chromosomal damage in murine bone marrow or human peripheral blood cultures, and reported a twofold reduction in aberrant cells induced by the alkylating agents fotrin and fopurin (PMID 3089347). Arutyunyan and colleagues reproduced an anticlastogenic effect in lymphocyte cultures from 12 healthy donors and 12 patients with urticaria, with the protection absent in the patient cultures against one of the two clastogens tested (PMID 7508559).

A second Mutation Research paper is rarely cited alongside these. Korkina and colleagues in 1992 tested the compound as one of several oxygen-radical scavengers, with rutin and ascorbic acid, against the mutagenic effect of chrysotile asbestos fibres on human lymphocytes in whole blood, and reported that the mutagenic effect was inhibited by the scavengers, rutin being the most effective (PMID 1370723). That is the only indexed human-cell result in which this compound is treated as a radical scavenger, and it sits in tension with Plotnikov's report that the compound showed no antiradical activity. Neither result has been reconciled against the other in the retrievable literature.

What is not known

The human pharmacokinetic record is thin rather than absent: three indexed human papers plus one human distribution paper, three of the four from one group, and only the 2011 study reports absolute parameters. No half-life, clearance or bioavailability figure for this compound appears in any of them; the 2011 study reports a peak concentration whose standard deviation exceeds its mean, calls the distribution across the group polymodal without explaining it, and is internally inconsistent about whether the matrix was serum or plasma. No registered trial exists in any form: seven distinct search terms returned zero ClinicalTrials.gov records. The human studies that do exist are Russian-language publications with English abstracts only, mostly without stated sample sizes and several without stated routes, none replicated by a group outside the former Soviet Union, and several published in journals with no English full text at all. The upstream molecular target has not been identified, so what is described as a mechanism is a sequence of downstream measurements: preserved glutathione enzymes under hypoxia, absent antiradical activity in one rat study against radical-scavenging behaviour in one human-lymphocyte study, and induced hepatic cytochrome P-450. The interaction consequences of that P-450 induction have not been studied in humans. Repeated-administration toxicology is limited to a small rodent reproductive series in which the sign of the effect reversed between three days and sixty. No carcinogenicity study was located. The reason the World Anti-Doping Agency ended four years of monitoring in 2022 is not published, and this record does not know it.

Questions

Is bemethyl the same thing as bemitil and Metaprot?
Yes. Bemethyl, bemitil, bemithyl, bemetil and bemactor, the last also spelled bemaktor, are competing transliterations of one Cyrillic name, and Metaprot, Bemiton, Betamyl and Antihot are trade names for the same substance: five spellings and four trade names. All resolve to PubChem CID 9816609, UNII TG4SAK8A5M, and to a single FDA GSRS record carrying both CAS 63513-71-3 and CAS 109628-14-0. PubMed maps every one of these strings onto the same supplementary concept, so single-spelling queries run on 18 August 2026 recovered 93 to 96 records against a union of 105, or 88 to 91 per cent of the set. The residual gap is small. The naming causes more difficulty in tracing full texts and in reading secondary summaries than it does in PubMed retrieval.
Is bemethyl banned in sport?
No. It appears on the World Anti-Doping Agency Monitoring Program for 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021, listed as 2-ethylsulfanyl-1H-benzimidazole (bemitil), In- and Out-of-Competition. It is absent from the 2022 programme onward and from the 2026 programme, and text extracted from the 2026 Prohibited List contains no match on bemitil, benzimidazole or ethylsulfanyl. The Monitoring Program is a separate document from the Prohibited List, and the monitoring itself ended after 2021. Both documents are reissued annually; this record describes the versions extracted on 18 August 2026.
Where do the performance percentages quoted for bemethyl come from?
Not from a measurement of performance. The 33 per cent and 60 per cent figures enter English through a 2012 review that attributes them to Dubovik and Bogomazov 1987 (PMID 3582626). That paper's English abstract describes the construction of a scoring method for a mouse swimming test and reports no percentage of any kind. The athlete-level claims trace to three papers by the reviewing author himself, published in sports-science journals that are indexed in neither PubMed, Europe PMC nor Crossref.
Are there registered clinical trials of bemethyl?
None. ClinicalTrials.gov searches on bemethyl, bemitil, bemithyl, metaprot, ethylthiobenzimidazole, ethylsulfanyl benzimidazole and actoprotector each returned zero studies. The human papers that exist include a 130-patient comparison in asthenic conditions (PMID 3381606), a 66-patient controlled study in recurrent erysipelas (PMID 1942990), a lupus study with four arms of 15 or 16 (PMID 10572751), a six-volunteer excretion study run for doping-control purposes (PMID 30346653), and three pharmacokinetic papers (PMID 3770166, PMID 1679400, PMID 21870773).
What is the most consequential finding that summaries of this compound leave out?
Two findings qualify. Sorokina and colleagues reported mixed-type induction of hepatic cytochrome P-450 in rats at 50 mg/kg orally, sparing aniline-p-hydroxylase activity (PMID 12227093); induction of a major drug-metabolising system governs interactions, and it appears in none of the popular descriptions. Bugaeva and colleagues reported that in male rats the direction of the reproductive effect reversed with duration, rising over three days and falling over sixty (PMID 16579058). Both are rodent findings, and neither has a human counterpart.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary, CID 9816609 (Bemethyl). National Library of Medicine. Formula C9H11BrN2S, MW 259.17, InChIKey BKUKXOMYGPYFJJ-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 2-ethylsulfanyl-1H-benzimidazole;hydrobromide, UNII TG4SAK8A5M. Identity data retrieved via PUG REST, 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, UNII TG4SAK8A5M, 2-(ethylthio)benzimidazole hydrobromide. Record fetched 18 August 2026: CAS 109628-14-0 is typed PRIMARY and CAS 63513-71-3 is typed NO STRUCTURE GIVEN, both on the one record. Names include Bemethyl, Bemitil, Bemiton, Betamyl, Metaprot, Antihot. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Boĭko SS, Bobkov IuG, Dobrokhotova TA, Kniazeva NA, Neznamov GG. [Experimental and clinical data on the ability of bemetil to penetrate the hemato-encephalic barrier]. Farmakol Toksikol. 1987;50(3):79-81. PMID 3609285. Russian; English abstract only; no sample size stated. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Kwiatkowska D, Kowalczyk K, Grucza K, Szutowski M, Bulska E, Wicka M. Detection of bemitil and its metabolite in urine by means of LC-MS/MS in view of doping control analysis. Drug Test Anal. 2018;10(11-12):1682-1688. PMID 30346653. The abstract's introduction states the compound was tested on Soviet cosmonauts and soldiers, with no primary citation; full text behind a subscription. View on doi.org
  5. Belinskaia DA, Savelieva EI, Karakashev GV, Orlova OI, Leninskii MA, Khlebnikova NS, Shestakova NN, Kiskina AR, et al. Investigation of bemethyl biotransformation pathways by combination of LC-MS/HRMS and in silico methods. Int J Mol Sci. 2021;22(16):9021. PMID 34445727. Open access. Their reference 6, the source of the 4 ng/mL plasma figure, is a 2004 Russian-language monograph by Zarubina and Shabanov with no PMID. View on pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Kibal'chich DA, Belolipetskaia VG, Blagodatskikh SV, Martsevich SIu, Rudenko LI, Iatsuk VR. [Pharmacokinetics of domestic actoprotector drug Metaprot in healthy volunteers]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2011;74(6):30-32. PMID 21870773. Russian; English abstract only. The abstract states the assay was run on blood serum and reports Cmax in plasma. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Boĭko SS, Bobkov IuG, Neznamov GG, Serebriakova TV. [Pharmacokinetics and the clinical effect of bemitil after a single administration]. Farmakol Toksikol. 1986;49(5):17-20. PMID 3770166. Russian; comparative parameters only. See also Boĭko SS, Zherdev VP, Neznamov GG, [The role of bemitil pharmacokinetics in realizing its therapeutic efficacy], Farmakol Toksikol. 1991;54(2):64-66, PMID 1679400, indexed separately: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/1679400/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Aleksandrovskii IuA, Bobkov IuG, Neznamov GG, Serebriakova TV, Boiko SS. [Use of the new psychotropic preparation bemitil in treating asthenic disorders (clinico-pharmacological research)]. Zh Nevropatol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 1988;88(3):109-115. PMID 3381606. Russian; English abstract only; no route stated. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Bobkov IuG, Epishkin AK. [Effect of actoprotectors on the work capacity of operators during modeling of various factors of space flight]. Kosm Biol Aviakosm Med. 1988;22(5):20-23. PMID 3066983. Russian; indexed as a controlled clinical trial; no sample size and no route in the abstract; describes a ground-based simulation. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Ratnikova LI. [Effectiveness of bemitil in recurrent erysipelas]. Klin Med (Mosk). 1991;69(7):89-90. PMID 1942990. Russian; indexed as a controlled clinical trial. The administration schedule reported in the abstract is not reproduced here. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Lisitsyna TA, Durnev AD, Ivanova MM, Speranskii AI, Seredenin SB, Nasonova VA. [The effect of bemetil on the production of DNA antibodies in patients with systemic lupus erythematosus]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 1999;62(5):38-41. PMID 10572751. Russian; English abstract only. Doses not reproduced here. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Zarubina IV, Mironova OP. [Effect of bemethyl on the glutathione system in the rat liver in acute hypoxia]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2002;65(3):28-30. PMID 12227091. Russian. The abstract describes actinomycin D as a protein synthesis inhibitor; it is a transcription inhibitor. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Plotnikov MB, Saratikov AS, Plotnikova TM, Khazanov VA, Panina OP. [Antihypoxic and antioxidative properties of bemitil]. Biull Eksp Biol Med. 1989;107(5):583-585. PMID 2736293. Russian; English abstract only. The pO2, diene-conjugate and Schiff-base result is stated for the circulatory hypoxia condition specifically. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Sorokina EA, Sibiriak SV, Sergeeva SA. [Effect of bemethyl on cytochrome P-450-dependent monoxygenases in the human liver and lymphocytes]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2002;65(4):31-34. PMID 12227093. Russian; English abstract only. The abstract excepts aniline-p-hydroxylase activity from the induction. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Sergeeva SA, Gulyaeva IL. Distribution of bemitil in organs and tissues of rats after single or repeated administration. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2006;141(5):596-598. PMID 17181062. Full text behind a subscription; the 1.38-fold and 1.68-fold figures attributed to this paper are not in its abstract. View on doi.org
  16. Bugaeva LI, Spasov AA, Kuzubova EA. [Effect of bemithyl on sexual behavior and spermatogenesis in rats]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2006;69(1):38-41. PMID 16579058. Russian; English abstract only. See also Bugaeva LI, Spasov AA, Verovskii VE, Iezhitsa IN, [Acute toxicity of bemithyl and bromithyl], Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2000;63(6):53-57, PMID 11202514, indexed separately: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11202514/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Seredenin SB, Bobkov IuG, Durnev AD, Dubovskaia OIu. [Mutagenic and antimutagenic properties of bemitil]. Biull Eksp Biol Med. 1986;102(7):76-79. PMID 3089347. Russian; English abstract only. Arutyunyan RM, Sarkisyan TF, Oganesyan GG, Durnev AD. Comparative investigation of anticlastogenic effects in cell cultures of healthy donors and patients with nettle-rash. Mutat Res. 1994;320(4):335-341. PMID 7508559, is a separate paper: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/7508559/. Korkina LG, Durnev AD, Suslova TB, Cheremisina ZP, Daugel-Dauge NO, Afanas'ev IB. Oxygen radical-mediated mutagenic effect of asbestos on human lymphocytes: suppression by oxygen radical scavengers. Mutat Res. 1992;265(2):245-253. PMID 1370723, is a third: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/1370723/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Oliynyk S, Oh S. The pharmacology of actoprotectors: practical application for improvement of mental and physical performance. Biomol Ther (Seoul). 2012;20(5):446-456. PMID 24009833. Review; full text read at PMC3762282. Source of most English-language claims about this compound; its historical and mechanism statements carry no citation, and its athlete evidence is the reviewing author's own non-indexed work. World Anti-Doping Agency Monitoring Programs 2018-2024 and 2026 and the International Standard Prohibited List 2026, text extracted from the published PDFs on 18 August 2026: '2-ethylsulfanyl-1H-benzimidazole (bemitil)' present 2018-2021, absent from 2022 onward; no match for bemitil, benzimidazole or ethylsulfanyl in the 2026 Prohibited List. https://www.wada-ama.org/en/prohibited-list View on doi.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.