Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Meldonium (Mildronate)
Meldonium is a 146-dalton aza analogue of γ-butyrobetaine, PubChem CID 123868. In healthy volunteers given 500 mg twice daily for four weeks, average plasma L-carnitine was 18 per cent lower (PMID 21827492); the pharmacology literature describes competition with γ-butyrobetaine at the biosynthetic enzyme and at OCTN2 (PMID 26850121). It holds no United States approval, and the 2016 anti-doping ban produced 515 adverse analytical findings in one year, exposing an excretion profile nobody had measured. The only placebo-controlled trial in healthy athletes reported a fall in VO2max.
- Class
- Zwitterionic small molecule; aza analogue of γ-butyrobetaine. Inhibitor of γ-butyrobetaine hydroxylase and of the carnitine transporter OCTN2. Classified by WADA as a metabolic modulator. Not a peptide. The identity fields above describe the anhydrous zwitterion; PubChem indexes meldonium dihydrate separately as CID 6918082, C6H18N2O4, 182.22 g/mol.
- CAS number
- 76144-81-5
- PubChem CID
- 123868
- Molecular formula
- C6H14N2O2
- Molecular weight
- 146.19 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- Mildronate, MET-88, Quaterin, Kvaterin, Vasonat, 3-TMHP, N-trimethylhydrazine-3-propionate, 3-(2,2,2-trimethylhydrazinium)propionate; UNII 73H7UDN6EC; ChEMBL2104708; ChEBI 131843; ATC C01EB22
Identity, and what one substituted atom does
Meldonium has one compound record and one obvious trap, and the trap is hydration. The record is CID 123868: CAS 76144-81-5, molecular formula C6H14N2O2, molecular weight 146.19 g/mol, InChIKey PVBQYTCFVWZSJK-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII 73H7UDN6EC, cross-referenced to ChEMBL2104708 and ChEBI 131843, with the IUPAC name given as 3-[(trimethylazaniumyl)amino]propanoate. The World Health Organization assigns the ATC code C01EB22, filed under other cardiac preparations. At 146 daltons this is a zwitterionic small molecule and not a peptide, whatever company it keeps on research-chemical listings. Those fields all describe the anhydrous form. The same synonym record carries dihydrate entries too, including a European Pharmacopoeia reference standard, and PubChem indexes meldonium dihydrate separately as CID 6918082, C6H18N2O4, 182.22 g/mol — a 25 per cent difference in mass on anything weighed.
Little separates meldonium from the molecule it displaces. Gamma-butyrobetaine, the immediate biosynthetic precursor of L-carnitine, is 4-(trimethylammonio)butanoate. Meldonium is the aza analogue: the carbon adjacent to the quaternary nitrogen is replaced by a second nitrogen, producing 3-(2,2,2-trimethylhydrazinium)propionate. One substitution converts a substrate into a competitor. The compound mimics an endogenous metabolite, competing for the same enzyme and the same transporter that handle the real thing.
Meldonium was developed in 1974 by Ivars Kalvins at the Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis, initially to improve fertility and growth in livestock, and was marketed as Mildronate; that account is Malm and Svensson's 2026 review (PMID 42344756). A query against Drugs@FDA on both names returned no matches, and no centralised European marketing authorisation was located. Published sources describe its European status three different ways. Schobersberger and colleagues' 2017 review states that it is registered in most Baltic countries. A 2024 review in Cureus states that it holds no marketing authorisation within the European Union and is registered only in ex-Soviet republics. Malm and Svensson state that it is authorised through the European decentralised procedure in selected member states including Latvia, Lithuania and Poland. Three Baltic states are European Union members, so those statements cannot all be read literally, and this record does not attempt to reconcile them.
Claim ledger
11 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plasma L-carnitine fell by an average of 18% at four weeks; plasma γ-butyrobetaine roughly doubled; urinary excretion of both rose; plasma meldonium averaged 20 µM | Healthy non-vegetarian volunteers, male and female | Oral, 500 mg twice daily, 4 weeks | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Liepinsh 2011, J Pharm Pharmacol, PMID 21827492 |
| Mean change in bicycle-ergometry exercise time at 12 weeks: −2.12±108.45 s at 100 mg/day and 11.48±62.03 s at 300 mg/day, neither significant against −7.10±81.78 s on placebo; 35.18±53.29 s at 1000 mg/day (P=0.002); the 3000 mg/day arm changed less than the 1000 mg/day arm | Patients with chronic coronary heart disease and exercise-limiting ischaemia, 72 centres in 4 countries | Oral, added to standard therapy, 12 weeks; randomised double-blind placebo-controlled phase 2 | 512 total across 5 arms | Dzerve 2011 (MILSS I), Medicina (Kaunas), PMID 22186118 |
| No significant difference against an active comparator on the primary endpoint at 3 months: modified Rankin Scale 0–1 P=0.52, 0–2 P=0.07; NIHSS and Barthel Index at 15 days also not significantly different; serious adverse event rates similar | Patients with acute cerebral infarction | Intravenous injection against cinepazide injection, both on background aspirin | 227 randomised (113 meldonium, 114 comparator) | Zhu 2013, Clin Drug Investig, PMID 23949899 (NCT01831011) |
| Elimination half-life 5.56±1.55, 6.46±1.07 and 6.55±1.17 h after single 250, 500 and 1000 mg doses; 15.34±3.14 h with Cmax 25.50±3.63 µg/mL on repeated dosing, which the authors read as accumulation | Healthy Chinese volunteers | Intravenous, single doses and 500 mg twice daily | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Peng 2010, J Chromatogr B, PMID 20116348 |
| Linear pharmacokinetics across the 250–750 mg range with an unconspicuous accumulation on repeated dosing, no gender difference, primarily renal excretion, and no serious adverse events observed | Healthy Chinese subjects | Intravenous; single escalating doses of 250, 500 and 750 mg plus a multiple-dose arm; randomised, open-label phase 1 | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Zhao 2016, Drug Res (Stuttg), PMID 26697890 |
| Urinary detection windows of up to 65 days after a single dose and up to 117 days after multiple doses, at a limit of quantification of 10 ng/mL; excretion described as non-linear, dose-dependent and biphasic | Healthy volunteers | Oral, 1×500 mg single dose; 2×500 mg/day for 6 days | 5 per arm, 10 total | Görgens 2017, J Pharm Biomed Anal, PMID 28213178 |
| Steady state in blood took several days to reach and elimination ran over several months after cessation; daily dose, periodicity and treatment duration were identified as the determinants of clearance time | Healthy athlete volunteers | Oral, 1.0 g or 2.0 g daily for 3 weeks, open-label | 32, divided equally into two dose groups | Rabin 2019, Drug Test Anal, PMID 30328291 |
| 182 confirmed positives among routine doping control urine samples, 2.2%, at concentrations from 0.1 to 1,428 µg/mL; 135 in-competition and 47 out-of-competition; 97 male and 85 female | Elite athletes across sport classes, routine doping control samples over a six-month period | Not applicable; urinary screening by HILIC-HRMS | 8,320 samples analysed | Görgens 2015, Drug Test Anal, PMID 25847280 |
| VO2max, VO2 at anaerobic threshold, oxygen pulse and maximum load declined by day 15 in the meldonium arm and did not in the placebo arm; no between-group difference in blood lactate 5 min after maximal exercise; SAN mood index fell significantly in the meldonium arm | Elite biathletes and cross-country skiers, 10 men and 10 women, mean age 20.1±0.6 years | Not stated in the secondary source; the Russian primary was not retrieved. Non-randomised placebo-controlled design over 15 days, allocation by exercise-test performance | 20 | Goloborodko and Razinkin 2021, Bull Biomed Sociol 6(7):37–44, DOI 10.26787/nydha-2618-8783-2021-6-4-37-44, no PMID; data extracted and reanalysed in Malm and Svensson 2026, PMID 42344756 |
| Peak urinary meldonium of 7.5 ng/mL after a single 100 mL portion of spiked milk and 18.6 ng/mL after five consecutive daily portions, roughly two orders of magnitude below the lower 1 µg/mL result-management band | Healthy volunteers | Oral, 100 mL of milk spiked at 500 ng/mL; single dose and 5 consecutive days | 3 | Guddat 2021, Drug Test Anal, PMID 34448364 (indexed as a Letter) |
| Hepatic triacylglycerol accumulation with confirmed plasma carnitine and acylcarnitine depletion, associated with higher estimated delta-6 desaturase activity and reduced n-6 PUFA elongation; co-treatment with tetradecylthioacetic acid cut the triacylglycerol rise by 80% | C57BL/6 mice on high-carbohydrate diets | Dietary supplementation, 21 days | 40 across diet groups | Bjørndal 2024, Liver Res, PMID 39957749 |
| Meldonium increases endurance performance in athletes, improves rehabilitation after exercise and enhances central nervous system function | This sentence appears almost verbatim in the peer-reviewed anti-doping literature, in Görgens 2015 (PMID 25847280), which is where most downstream pages inherit it. That paper's full text cites two sources for it: Kakhabrishvili and colleagues, 'Mildronate effect on physical working capacity among highly qualified judokas', Annals of Biomedical Research and Education 2002;2:551, and Dzintare and Kalvins, 'Mildronate increases aerobic capabilities of athletes through carnitine-lowering effect', Current Issues and New Ideas in Sport Science 2012;5:59. Searched PubMed for both author names with mildronate, Europe PMC for both titles, and Crossref by bibliographic title: none of the three returned any record of either item. Neither carries a PMID or DOI, neither is retrievable, and the second is co-authored by the compound's inventor. | No source found | ||
| Meldonium reduces lactic acid build-up during and after intense exercise | Repeated across vendor and fitness pages without citation. The human measurement points the other way: the only placebo-controlled trial in healthy athletes measured blood lactate five minutes after maximal exercise and found no between-group difference (Goloborodko and Razinkin 2021, reanalysed in PMID 42344756). The rodent version of the claim did not verify either. Malm and Svensson attribute lowered blood lactate during high-intensity exercise in obese rats to Liepinsh 2011 in European Journal of Pharmacology (PMID 21371472); that paper's indexed abstract describes a four-week Zucker rat study of glucose, insulin and PPAR expression with no exercise protocol and no lactate measurement at all, and its full text is behind a subscription and could not be retrieved. A PubMed search for meldonium or mildronate with lactate returned 17 records, none a human study of lactate kinetics. | No source found | ||
| Meldonium works by dilating blood vessels and carrying more oxygen to muscle tissue | This framing appears in official anti-doping communications as well as vendor copy, including a 2016 International Shooting Sport Federation briefing summarising WADA's position. No primary human study of oxygen delivery, blood flow or oxygen carriage under meldonium was located; PubMed searches pairing the compound with oxygen consumption and with nitric oxide returned 6 and 14 records respectively, all animal, in vitro or review. The mechanism the pharmacology literature actually describes runs the other way round: carnitine depletion shifts substrate use towards glucose, lowering the oxygen cost of a given quantity of ATP rather than raising oxygen supply. | No source found | ||
| Oral bioavailability is approximately 78% and the elimination half-life is 4 to 6 hours | The half-life range is real but is quoted out of its route. It traces to Peng 2010 (PMID 20116348), which measured intravenous administration in healthy volunteers and reported 15.34±3.14 h on repeated dosing, not 4 to 6. No source for an absolute oral bioavailability figure was located: PubMed searches for meldonium bioavailability and mildronate bioavailability returned one and two records respectively, neither reporting such a value, and the 78% figure appears only in product information sheets and secondary summaries. Neither figure describes total clearance, which the anti-doping excretion studies measured in months. | No source found | ||
| Meldonium has been a registered medicine in Latvia and neighbouring states since the 1980s | This record's earlier draft carried the decade in its standfirst with no citation; it has been removed. The 1974 synthesis date at the Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis is sourced (Malm and Svensson 2026, PMID 42344756), but no retrievable document was found for a registration decade. Europe PMC full-text searches for meldonium or mildronate with 'Institute of Organic Synthesis' (48 hits), with '1970s' (13 hits) and with 'since 1984' (0 hits) returned no indexed item stating a registration year; Schobersberger 2017 (PMID 27465696) says only that it is registered in most Baltic countries and gives no date. Note also that any pre-1991 registration would have been Soviet rather than Latvian, so the claim is anachronistic as it is usually written. | No source found | ||
| Meldonium was issued to Soviet troops in Afghanistan to sustain endurance at altitude | Traces to a 2009 interview the compound's inventor gave to the Latvian newspaper Diena, repeated across news coverage and vendor pages since 2016. No military document, procurement record, published study or contemporaneous account was located, and PubMed returns nothing on the subject. The claim may well be true. It rests entirely on one recollection offered three decades after the fact, and nothing published either supports or contradicts it. | No source found | ||
| No serious adverse effects have been reported | Schobersberger and colleagues' 2017 review (PMID 27465696) states the position precisely, and the qualifier is what drops in transit: no serious adverse effects reported by the manufacturer. That is a marketing authorisation holder's pharmacovigilance position, not an independent safety finding. PubMed searches for meldonium with toxicity, hepatotoxicity and genotoxicity returned 21, 1 and 0 records. No independent long-term toxicology programme conducted to contemporary international standards was located, a gap Malm and Svensson state directly in 2026. | No source found | ||
Carnitine subtraction, and an inhibitor its own chemists called poor
Two targets account for the documented pharmacology. Gamma-butyrobetaine hydroxylase catalyses the final step of L-carnitine biosynthesis, and the organic cation transporter OCTN2 carries carnitine into tissue. Dambrova and colleagues' 2016 review in Pharmacological Research describes meldonium as acting on both, with the consequence that tissue carnitine and long-chain acylcarnitine content fall, mitochondrial fatty-acid oxidation declines, and glucose metabolism takes up more of the load. Because oxidising glucose consumes less oxygen per unit of ATP than oxidising fatty acids, the same authors frame the compound as an anti-ischaemic agent rather than a stimulant of any kind.
Measured carnitine depletion in people comes from a small Latvian study. Liepinsh and colleagues gave healthy non-vegetarian volunteers 500 mg orally twice daily and sampled plasma and urine weekly. After four weeks average plasma L-carnitine had fallen by 18 per cent, plasma γ-butyrobetaine had roughly doubled, urinary excretion of both had risen, and plasma meldonium averaged 20 µM. Dietary meat intake partially offset the carnitine reduction, which the authors monitored deliberately. The indexed abstract does not state how many volunteers took part, and this record does not supply a number the source did not report.
The chemistry literature is blunter about potency. Tars and colleagues, working at the Biomedical Research and Study Centre in Riga and publishing in the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry in 2014, describe meldonium as a relatively poor inhibitor of γ-butyrobetaine hydroxylase that requires high daily doses. Their paper synthesised 51 analogues and reported new inhibitors roughly two orders of magnitude more potent, with six co-crystal structures. The group that has characterised the target most closely is therefore also the group reporting the weakest potency for the compound in circulation.
The registered human record is seven studies long
A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search across meldonium and mildronate returned seven registered studies in total, the same seven under either name. Two are phase 2 acute ischaemic stroke trials from Xijing Hospital in China, one completed with 227 participants and one of unknown status with a planned 240. Two are phase 4 Russian studies of a combination product in post-COVID asthenia, at 30 and 160 participants. One is a completed phase 1/2 study in 60 patients with metastatic renal cell carcinoma and treatment-associated fatigue. One is a phase 1 study of 48 participants at Riga Stradins University concerned with EPA and DHA levels. The last, enrolling by invitation with a 2033 completion date, concerns medically supervised performance-enhancing substances in elite athletes.
The largest efficacy trial in the literature is absent from that list. MILSS I, published in Medicina (Kaunas) in 2011, randomised 512 patients with chronic coronary heart disease across 72 centres in four countries to placebo or one of four meldonium arms, with change in bicycle-ergometry exercise time at 12 weeks as the primary endpoint. Mean change was −2.12±108.45 s at 100 mg daily and 11.48±62.03 s at 300 mg, against −7.10±81.78 s on placebo; neither differed significantly from placebo. The 1000 mg arm changed by 35.18±53.29 s, reported at P=0.002. The 3000 mg arm produced a smaller change than the 1000 mg arm.
The dose-response rises and then falls. A figure measured at one exposure therefore cannot be carried to another in either direction. The standard deviations run wide as well: in the 100 mg arm the spread is fifty times the mean change. Of the four active arms, only one separated from placebo at the trial's 12-week primary endpoint, and the trial is not registered on ClinicalTrials.gov.
Zhu and colleagues ran the registered stroke trial, NCT01831011, and published it in Clinical Drug Investigation in 2013. It was randomised, double-blind and active-controlled rather than placebo-controlled: 113 patients received meldonium injection and 114 received cinepazide injection, both on a background of aspirin. At three months there was no significant difference on the primary endpoint, modified Rankin Scale scores of 0–1 or 0–2, at P=0.52 and P=0.07. Secondary endpoints on the NIHSS and the Barthel Index at 15 days showed no significant differences either. The authors' stated conclusion was equivalence to the active comparator, not superiority to nothing.
The athlete evidence is one non-randomised trial that pointed the wrong way
Malm and Svensson's 2026 narrative review in Frontiers in Sports and Active Living identifies a single placebo-controlled trial of meldonium in healthy athletes: a Russian-language study by Goloborodko and Razinkin, published in 2021, in 20 elite biathletes and cross-country skiers, ten men and ten women, mean age 20.1±0.6 years, over 15 days. Allocation was by exercise-test performance rather than randomisation, leaving the meldonium arm with a baseline VO2max near 66 mL/min/kg against 56 in the placebo arm. The reviewers read that gap as a probable sex imbalance that precludes between-group comparison. Neither the review nor its reference entry for that study states a dose or a route of administration.
Across the 15 days the meldonium group's VO2max, VO2 at anaerobic threshold, oxygen pulse and maximum load declined, while the placebo group's did not; respiratory exchange ratio rose, consistent with a shift towards carbohydrate oxidation but not with improved maximal performance. Blood lactate five minutes after maximal exercise did not differ between groups. Self-rated mood on the SAN scale fell significantly in the meldonium arm and rose in the placebo arm. The reviewers flag physiologically implausible changes in the placebo arm — simultaneous reductions in resting and maximal heart rate — as grounds to distrust the measurements in both arms.
The other human study in this space is uncontrolled. Chainikov and colleagues, publishing in the Ural Medical Journal in 2015, gave 500 mg twice daily for 21 days to 25 male youth ice-hockey players and followed them to day 42 using Russian neuropsychological batteries. Three parameters had higher means at day 42, two were lower and three unchanged. The review reports the comfort outcome two incompatible ways: its summary table states that the number of players rating themselves at high comfort fell from seven to one, while its running text states that the proportion fell from 12 per cent at baseline to 0 per cent at day 42. With 25 players those two cannot both hold, and the Russian primary was not retrieved to adjudicate. There was no placebo arm and no control group. Malm and Svensson's summary of the field is that the reputation rests on anecdote, theoretical mechanism, and extrapolation from ischaemic patients and animal models.
An excretion profile that broke result management
Prevalence was established before the ban, by measurement. Görgens and colleagues at the German Sport University Cologne screened 8,320 routine doping control urine samples over six months and confirmed 182 positives, 2.2 per cent, at concentrations from 0.1 to 1,428 µg/mL. Findings split 135 in-competition to 47 out-of-competition and 97 male to 85 female. The screening was carried out while the substance sat on WADA's monitoring programme and was not yet prohibited.
Meldonium entered the Prohibited List on 1 January 2016. In the 2026 list it sits at S4.4.3, metabolic modulators, prohibited at all times in and out of competition, and that list states that substances in classes S4.3 and S4.4 are non-Specified Substances — the classification carrying the longer default sanction and less latitude at a hearing. WADA's own 2016 Anti-Doping Testing Figures report records 515 meldonium occurrences among adverse analytical findings that year in Table 21, amounting to 71 per cent of everything reported in the S4 class. Press summaries of the same report circulated a figure of 497; the table reads 515.
Then the excretion problem arrived. Görgens and colleagues determined urinary profiles in healthy volunteers and found detection windows of up to 65 days after a single 500 mg oral dose in five volunteers, and up to 117 days after 500 mg twice daily for six days in five more, at a limit of quantification of 10 ng/mL. Rabin and colleagues, writing from WADA and Russia's Federal Medical Biological Agency, gave 32 healthy volunteers 1.0 or 2.0 g orally daily for three weeks and reported that steady state took several days to reach and that elimination ran over several months.
Liepinsh and colleagues offered a mechanism for that in mice. Because meldonium, carnitine and γ-butyrobetaine compete for OCTN2-mediated transport, the drug accumulates in muscle during treatment and then leaves by relatively slow diffusion, which the authors identify as the determinant of the unusually long elimination period. In April 2016 WADA published a statement acknowledging that it could not establish how quickly the substance clears, and result-management guidance built on urinary concentration bands of 1 and 15 µg/mL and a cutoff date of 1 March 2016 followed. Sanctions already imposed were reopened.
A dietary residue route also exists and has been measured. A veterinary preparation licensed for livestock in some jurisdictions dissociates to meldonium, and residues have been detected in milk. Guddat and colleagues gave three volunteers 100 mL of milk spiked at 500 ng/mL and recorded peak urinary concentrations of 7.5 ng/mL after a single dose and 18.6 ng/mL after five consecutive days (PMID 34448364). Those peaks sit roughly two orders of magnitude below the lower of the two result-management bands.
Safety, as far as it has been characterised
Short-term tolerability has been examined once under a modern protocol. Zhao and colleagues ran a randomised, open-label phase 1 study of single escalating and multiple intravenous doses of 250, 500 and 750 mg in healthy Chinese subjects, reporting linear pharmacokinetics across that range, minor accumulation on repeat dosing, no gender difference, primarily renal excretion and no serious adverse events; the indexed abstract does not state how many subjects took part. In the 227-patient stroke trial the incidence of serious adverse events was similar between the meldonium and cinepazide arms. Neither study was designed to detect anything beyond its own duration.
One animal signal points at the liver. Bjørndal and colleagues fed 40 C57BL/6 mice high-carbohydrate diets containing meldonium, tetradecylthioacetic acid, or both for 21 days, confirmed carnitine and acylcarnitine depletion in plasma, and reported meldonium-induced hepatic triacylglycerol accumulation associated with higher estimated delta-6 desaturase activity and reduced elongation of n-6 polyunsaturated fatty acids (PMID 39957749). Co-treatment cut the triacylglycerol rise by 80 per cent. Malm and Svensson separately note that the trimethylhydrazinium moiety belongs to a chemical class associated with hepatotoxicity and possible genotoxicity, and that long-term toxicology to contemporary international standards is scarce.
Human pharmacokinetics were characterised by Peng and colleagues in 2010, by intravenous route. Elimination half-life after single doses of 250, 500 and 1,000 mg was 5.56±1.55, 6.46±1.07 and 6.55±1.17 hours; on 500 mg twice daily it rose to 15.34±3.14 hours with a Cmax of 25.50±3.63 µg/mL, which the authors read as accumulation. Those figures describe plasma after injection. They do not describe the months-long tissue clearance the anti-doping excretion studies measured.
What is not known
Nothing in the published record establishes that meldonium improves physical performance in healthy people. The single placebo-controlled trial in athletes was non-randomised, ran 15 days, allocated by baseline performance, and reported declines in VO2max, oxygen pulse and mood in the treated arm; it is published in Russian in a journal with no PubMed index, and neither its dose nor its route of administration is recorded in the review that reanalysed it. No dose-ranging, no crossover and no adequately powered randomised trial in trained or untrained healthy adults exists in any language that could be retrieved. The mechanism is characterised only as far as two targets and their immediate metabolic consequences: no study has shown that carnitine lowering causes any performance or clinical outcome, and the published work establishes only that the two occur together. Human pharmacokinetics rest on two intravenous studies whose sample sizes are absent from the indexed abstracts, and no absolute oral bioavailability figure could be traced to any primary source. Total body clearance remains imprecisely defined — the WADA-authored excretion study reports elimination over several months without a terminal half-life — which is why result management for the 2016 findings was built on concentration bands and a calendar cutoff. Long-term toxicology to contemporary international standards was not located; the hepatic steatosis signal comes from a 21-day mouse study, and reproductive, developmental, carcinogenicity and chronic-exposure data were not found in any species. Legal status varies by jurisdiction, the compound holds no United States approval, and its European registration position is described three incompatible ways by the reviews that mention it.
Questions
Is there evidence that meldonium improves athletic performance?
Where does the claim that meldonium boosts endurance actually come from?
Why did meldonium cases cause so much trouble for anti-doping bodies in 2016?
Is meldonium an approved medicine?
Can drinking milk produce a positive meldonium test?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 123868, Meldonium. National Center for Biotechnology Information. CAS 76144-81-5, C6H14N2O2, 146.19 g/mol, InChIKey PVBQYTCFVWZSJK-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII 73H7UDN6EC, ATC C01EB22; synonyms include 3-TMHP and N-trimethylhydrazine-3-propionate. Meldonium dihydrate is indexed separately as CID 6918082, C6H18N2O4, 182.22 g/mol. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency. World Anti-Doping Code International Standard Prohibited List 2026 — meldonium at S4.4.3, metabolic modulators, prohibited at all times; S4.3 and S4.4 designated non-Specified Substances. Text extracted from the list PDF. See also WADA 2016 Anti-Doping Testing Figures, Table 21, recording 515 meldonium occurrences, 71% of the S4 class. View on www.wada-ama.org
- Dambrova M, Makrecka-Kuka M, Vilskersts R, Makarova E, Kuka J, Liepinsh E. Pharmacological effects of meldonium: biochemical mechanisms and biomarkers of cardiometabolic activity. Pharmacol Res. 2016;113(Pt B):771-780. PMID 26850121. Review. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tars K, Leitans J, Kazaks A, et al. Targeting carnitine biosynthesis: discovery of new inhibitors against γ-butyrobetaine hydroxylase. J Med Chem. 2014;57(6):2213-2236. PMID 24571165. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Liepinsh E, Konrade I, Skapare E, et al. Mildronate treatment alters γ-butyrobetaine and l-carnitine concentrations in healthy volunteers. J Pharm Pharmacol. 2011;63(9):1195-1201. PMID 21827492. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dzerve V; MILSS I Study Group. A dose-dependent improvement in exercise tolerance in patients with stable angina treated with mildronate: a clinical trial 'MILSS I'. Medicina (Kaunas). 2011;47(10):544-551. PMID 22186118. Not registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zhu Y, Zhang G, Zhao J, et al. Efficacy and safety of mildronate for acute ischemic stroke: a randomized, double-blind, active-controlled phase II multicenter trial. Clin Drug Investig. 2013;33(10):755-760. PMID 23949899. Registered as NCT01831011, 227 participants. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Peng Y, Yang J, Wang Z, et al. Determination of mildronate by LC-MS/MS and its application to a pharmacokinetic study in healthy Chinese volunteers. J Chromatogr B. 2010;878(5-6):551-556. PMID 20116348. Sample size not stated in the indexed abstract. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zhao Z, Chen J, Peng W, et al. Single- and multiple-dose pharmacokinetic, safety and tolerability study of mildronate injection in healthy Chinese subjects. Drug Res (Stuttg). 2016;66(5):251-256. PMID 26697890. Indexed as Clinical Trial, Phase I and Randomized Controlled Trial; sample size not stated in the indexed abstract. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Görgens C, Guddat S, Dib J, Geyer H, Schänzer W, Thevis M. Mildronate (meldonium) in professional sports — monitoring doping control urine samples using HILIC-HRMS. Drug Test Anal. 2015;7(11-12):973-979. PMID 25847280. PMC5066279. Full text retrieved from Europe PMC; its references 15 and 16 are the untraceable endurance sources recorded in the unsourced array. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Görgens C, Guddat S, Bosse C, Geyer H, Pop V, Schänzer W, Thevis M. The atypical excretion profile of meldonium: comparison of urinary detection windows after single- and multiple-dose application in healthy volunteers. J Pharm Biomed Anal. 2017;138:175-179. PMID 28213178. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Rabin O, Uiba V, Miroshnikova Y, et al. Meldonium long-term excretion period and pharmacokinetics in blood and urine of healthy athlete volunteers. Drug Test Anal. 2019;11(4):554-566. PMID 30328291. First author affiliated with WADA. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Liepinsh E, Makarova E, Sevostjanovs E, et al. Carnitine and γ-butyrobetaine stimulate elimination of meldonium due to competition for OCTN2-mediated transport. Basic Clin Pharmacol Toxicol. 2017;120(5):450-456. PMID 27983775. Mouse study; species stated in the abstract, sample size and route are not. Cited here only for the OCTN2 competition mechanism and the slow-diffusion account of the long elimination period. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Malm C, Svensson M. Meldonium and human sport performance: a narrative review evaluating the evidence for ergogenic potential. Front Sports Act Living. 2026;8:1822778. PMID 42344756. PMC13287051. Its reference 59 is Goloborodko EV, Razinkin SM, Bull Biomed Sociol 2021;6(7):37-44, DOI 10.26787/nydha-2618-8783-2021-6-4-37-44, no PMID; its reference 60 is Chainikov PN et al., Ural Med J 2015;131(8):56-61, which carries neither PMID nor DOI. Also the source for the 1974 synthesis date and the decentralised-procedure account of European authorisation. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Schobersberger W, Dünnwald T, Gmeiner G, Blank C. Story behind meldonium — from pharmacology to performance enhancement: a narrative review. Br J Sports Med. 2017;51(1):22-25. PMID 27465696. States that meldonium is registered in most Baltic countries and that no serious adverse effects have been reported by the manufacturer; gives no registration date. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Pușcaș A, Ștefănescu R, Vari CE, et al. Meldonium supplementation in professional athletes: career destroyer or lifesaver? Cureus. 2024;16(7):e63634. PMID 39092347. States that meldonium holds no marketing authorisation within the European Union and is registered only in ex-Soviet republics — a position incompatible with r14 and only partly compatible with r15. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Guddat S, Görgens C, Sobolevsky T, Thevis M. Meldonium residues in milk: a possible scenario for inadvertent doping in sports? Drug Test Anal. 2021;13(11-12):1906-1910. PMID 34448364. Indexed by PubMed with the publication type 'Letter', not as a research article; three-volunteer spiked-milk pilot. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Bjørndal B, Tungland SL, Bohov P, Sydnes MO, Dankel SN, Madsen L, Berge RK. Meldonium-induced steatosis is associated with increased delta 6 desaturation and reduced elongation of n-6 polyunsaturated fatty acids. Liver Res. 2024;8(3):152-164. PMID 39957749. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.