Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Clenbuterol

Clenbuterol is a 277-dalton beta-2 adrenoceptor agonist, PubChem CID 2783, registered as a human bronchodilator in several countries and approved in the United States only for horses. In the one randomised placebo-controlled trial in healthy people, eleven men gained 0.91 kg of lean mass across a two-week cycle, recorded no change in fat mass, and recorded a 7 per cent fall in maximal oxygen uptake (PMID 40946331). Most of the rest of what is known was measured in livestock, or in the people who ate them.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised placebo-controlled human trials exist in two groups — late-onset Pompe disease and adults with overweight or obesity — plus one randomised crossover in eleven healthy men; no human approval in the United States, where the only FDA approval is veterinary 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Small molecule; selective beta-2 adrenoceptor agonist of the phenylethanolamine class. Not a peptide. The identity fields describe the racemic free base; the FDA Global Substance Registration System holds separate substance records for the (R)- and (S)-enantiomers under UNII 95Q3052YP1 and 32SXB5VH2O.
CAS number
37148-27-9
PubChem CID
2783
Molecular formula
C12H18Cl2N2O
Molecular weight
277.19 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
NAB 365; (±)-clenbuterol; dl-clenbuterol; 4-amino-3,5-dichloro-alpha-(((1,1-dimethylethyl)amino)methyl)benzenemethanol; UNII XTZ6AXU7KN; ChEMBL49080; ChEBI 174690; DrugBank DB01407; EINECS 253-366-0; ATC R03AC14 and R03CC13. The hydrochloride salt is indexed separately as PubChem CID 5702273, CAS 21898-19-1, C12H19Cl3N2O, 313.6 g/mol.

Identity, and two regulatory lives

Clenbuterol resolves cleanly at the compound level and splits almost everywhere else. One PubChem record covers it: CID 2783, CAS 37148-27-9, molecular formula C12H18Cl2N2O, molecular weight 277.19, InChIKey STJMRWALKKWQGH-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII XTZ6AXU7KN, cross-referenced to ChEMBL49080, ChEBI 174690 and DrugBank DB01407, under the IUPAC name 1-(4-amino-3,5-dichlorophenyl)-2-(tert-butylamino)ethanol. The World Health Organization then assigns two ATC codes, R03AC14 and R03CC13, both filed under drugs for obstructive airway disease, which is the classification the molecule was built for. The material in circulation is a racemate, and the FDA Global Substance Registration System keeps separate substance records for each enantiomer. Those figures describe the free base; the hydrochloride salt is indexed separately at 313.6 g/mol, a 13 per cent difference in mass on anything weighed.

No United States approval for human use exists. The openFDA human drug-label endpoint and the Drugs@FDA endpoint were both queried on the name in August 2026 and both returned no matches. The only United States approval located is veterinary: NADA 140-973, an oral syrup for horses containing 72.5 micrograms of clenbuterol hydrochloride per millilitre, indicated for the management of airway obstruction. Its label carries three statements that describe the position precisely. Not for use in humans. Do not use in horses intended for human consumption. Federal law prohibits the extralabel use of this drug in food animals. Registration as a human respiratory medicine does exist in several European and Asian countries, which is what the two ATC codes record.

Sport regulates it as an anabolic agent rather than a bronchodilator, and has had to build an unusual rule around it. On 20 May 2021 the World Anti-Doping Agency's Executive Committee approved a Minimum Reporting Level of 5 ng/mL for clenbuterol, ractopamine, zilpaterol and zeranol, given effect through Technical Letter TL23 on 1 June 2021. Below that urinary concentration an accredited laboratory reports an Atypical Finding rather than an adverse analytical finding, and the results management authority is required to investigate whether contaminated meat explains it. The rule exists because of the findings set out further down this page.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Lean mass +0.91 kg against placebo (95% CI 0.02–1.81) with increased muscle protein content; no effect on fat mass; maximal oxygen uptake −7% and exercise capacity −4% (both P<0.001); left ventricular mass, intravascular blood volume, haemoglobin mass and sprint power output unchangedHealthy men aged 18–40Oral, 80 micrograms per day, two 2-week cycles with 3-week washout, randomised placebo-controlled crossover11Hostrup 2025, J Physiol, PMID 40946331
Insulin-stimulated glucose uptake +15% in vastus lateralis (P=0.072, the primary outcome, not significant) and +13% in hamstring (P=0.039); brown adipose tissue uptake unchanged (P=0.720)Adults with overweight or obesity, age 40–70, BMI 25–35Oral, 40 micrograms per day for 4 weeks, randomised double-blind placebo-controlled crossover; 18F-FDG PET-MRI during hyperinsulinaemic-euglycaemic clamp14Van Lier 2026, Nat Commun, PMID 42014715
Six-minute walk distance +16 m (P=0.08) and +3% of predicted (P=0.03) at 52 weeks; maximum inspiratory pressure +8% (P=0.003); vastus lateralis glycogen halved; no change in the placebo group reached significanceAdults with late-onset Pompe disease on enzyme replacement therapyOral, 52 weeks, double-blind randomised placebo-controlled13 enrolled, 11 completedKoeberl 2018, Mol Ther, PMID 30025991
Six-minute walk distance and forced vital capacity increased at 12 months (P<0.001); MRC strength and ALSFRS-R unchanged; serum creatine kinase increased. Classified Class IV evidence by the journal under the American Academy of Neurology Classification of Evidence schemePatients with spinal and bulbar muscular atrophyOral, 0.04 mg per day, 12 months, open-label with no control arm20 enrolled, 16 completedQuerin 2013, Neurology, PMID 23645595
24 of 25 participants recorded adverse events, most often tremors, cramps, insomnia and spasticity; 14 withdrew early, 13 of them because of adverse eventsAdults with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, mean age 59Oral, escalating regimen, open-label with no placebo arm25Li 2023, J Clin Neuromuscul Dis, PMID 37219865
Protein content increased at 10 micrograms/kg/day and above (heart 12–15%, soleus 12%, plantaris 18–29%, tibialis anterior 11–22%); myocyte death in soleus, diaphragm and plantaris and increased myocardial collagen appeared at 100 micrograms and 1 mg/kgRatsInfusion, 1 microgram to 1 mg per kg per day, 14 daysNot stated in the indexed abstractBurniston 2006, Muscle Nerve, PMID 16411205
Trabecular number −40.40% and trabecular bone volume −42.85% (both P<0.001), with lower bone mineral density and lower ultimate force; muscle mass increased and fat mass fell; salbutamol at 4 mg/kg/day in the same experiment altered neither bone microarchitecture nor body compositionTwelve-week-old female Wistar rats, three arms (clenbuterol, salbutamol, saline)Subcutaneous, 2 mg per kg per day, 6 weeks39 total, about 13 per armBonnet 2005, Bone, PMID 16157516
Maximal oxygen uptake −6.2% in the clenbuterol-plus-exercise group only; time to exhaustion about −20% in both clenbuterol groups; exercise alone raised maximal oxygen uptake 6.5% and time to exhaustion 32.3%Unfit Standardbred mares, four groups2.4 micrograms per kg twice daily for 8 weeks, with or without exercise23 total: CLENEX 6, CLEN 6, EX 5, CON 6Kearns 2002, Med Sci Sports Exerc, PMID 12471305
113 cases investigated; more than 50% recorded nervousness, tachycardia, muscle tremors, myalgia and headache; incubation 15 minutes to 6 hours, symptoms 90 minutes to 6 days; clenbuterol detected in 47 urine samples at 11–486 ppb and in no serum sample; illness associated with veal liver at P<0.0001; no deathsGeneral population of Catalonia, Spain, 1992 outbreakDietary, via clenbuterol residues in veal liver113 cases, 47 urine samplesSalleras 1995, Public Health Rep, PMID 7610227
109 of 208 doping control urine samples (52%) contained clenbuterol at 1–1556 pg/mL; 14 of 47 meat samples from team hotels contained it at 0.06–11 micrograms/kg; no player was sanctionedPlayers at the 2011 FIFA U-17 World Cup, MexicoDietary, via contaminated meat208 urine samples, 47 meat samples, 24 teamsThevis 2013, Drug Test Anal, PMID 23559541
Clenbuterol detected in 31.4% of urine samples against 4.2% for ractopamine and 0% detection in contemporaneous official market surveillance; detection associated with red meat consumption, adjusted odds ratio 1.39 (95% CI 1.08–1.79)Nationally representative Taiwanese general population, 2019 Human BioMonitoring ProgramDietary; spot urine analysed by isotope dilution online SPE-LC-MS/MS1554Liao 2026, Int J Hyg Environ Health, PMID 42269380
23 case reports and case series covering 24 athletes; daily amounts reported from 20 micrograms to 30 mg, mostly oral; recorded events included supraventricular tachycardia, atrial fibrillation, hypotension, chest pain, myocardial injury, myocarditis, myocardial ischaemia, myocardial infarction, cardiomyopathy, hepatomegaly, hyperglycaemia and death, with cardiac complications the most frequent categoryAthletes and bodybuilders described in published case reports, 1990 to October 2021Mostly oral; formulation not recorded24 athletes across 23 studiesKumari 2023, Int J Legal Med, PMID 37062796
Clenbuterol has an elimination half-life of 39 hours.The figure circulates as a fixed constant. Europe PMC full-text search for clenbuterol with the string "39 hours" returned six records and for "half-life of 39" returned two; every hit was a case report or a review restating the number, including a 2020 paediatric case report (PMID 32169984) and a 2013 cardiology case report (PMID 30546764). None reports an original measurement or names the study the figure came from. The only indexed primary human pharmacokinetic measurement located is Yamamoto 1985 (PMID 4045696), which estimated about 35 hours in plasma after single oral doses of 20, 40 and 80 micrograms, reported about 30 hours in rats and about 9 hours in rabbits, and did not state how many volunteers were studied. A commonly repeated 36-to-48-hour range traces to nothing at all.No source found
Clenbuterol raises resting metabolic rate by about 10 per cent.Europe PMC returned zero records for clenbuterol with the string "increases metabolic rate by 10". PubMed for clenbuterol AND resting metabolic rate returned 40 records, of which exactly one is a human measurement: Jessen 2020 (PMID 31887249), which recorded a 21 per cent rise in resting energy expenditure and a 39 per cent rise in fat oxidation in six young men 140 minutes after a single 80-microgram oral dose. No study reporting a 10 per cent figure in any species was located. The circulating number is roughly half the only measured one, and the measured one describes a single afternoon rather than a sustained state.No source found
Clenbuterol reduces body fat in people.PubMed for clenbuterol[tiab] AND body fat[tiab] restricted to randomised work returned zero records. PubMed for clenbuterol[tiab] AND fat mass[tiab] AND human[tiab] returned three, none of which is a controlled human fat-mass measurement: one review, one study in horses and one in rats. The only randomised placebo-controlled trial that measured body composition in healthy people, Hostrup 2025 (PMID 40946331), reported no effect on fat mass across two two-week cycles while lean mass rose. Fat oxidation rising acutely is a separate measurement from stored fat falling, and only the first has been demonstrated in humans.No source found
Clenbuterol is a prescription asthma medicine in the United States, so its human safety profile is established.Two FDA endpoints were queried on the name in August 2026. The openFDA human drug-label endpoint returned NOT_FOUND and the Drugs@FDA endpoint returned NOT_FOUND. The only United States approval located is veterinary, NADA 140-973, an oral syrup for horses whose label states that it is not for use in humans and that federal law prohibits its extralabel use in food animals. Registration as a human bronchodilator does exist in other jurisdictions, which the two WHO ATC codes reflect, but no United States human authorisation, and therefore no FDA-reviewed human safety dossier, was found.No source found
Cramping on clenbuterol is caused by taurine depletion.The rodent half of this is sourced. Waterfield 1995 (PMID 7589228) gave clenbuterol to rats in drinking water for four days and found urinary and liver taurine significantly reduced at 2 mg/kg/day, with raised muscle-type creatine kinase and single-fibre injury in the soleus at 0.2 and 2 mg/kg/day. The human half is not. Europe PMC returned zero records for clenbuterol AND taurine AND "muscle cramp". PubMed for clenbuterol AND (cramp OR cramps) returned four records, none of which measures taurine in a person. Cramps and spasms were among the commonest adverse events in the ALS trial (PMID 37219865), which measured no taurine. The mechanism is an inference carried across species.No source found
Clenbuterol does not affect endogenous testosterone because it is not a steroid.Europe PMC searches pairing clenbuterol with testosterone and with gonadal suppression in humans returned only reviews of anabolic-androgenic steroid misuse in which clenbuterol appears as one of several co-used agents, and no primary endocrine measurement. No study was located that measured gonadal hormones before and after clenbuterol administration in people in any of the twelve registered trials or in the published literature. The premise about receptor class is accurate; the conclusion drawn from it has never been tested, and an untested proposition is not a negative result.No source found
Accidental clenbuterol overdose is most often caused by the veterinary oral syrup.This sentence appeared in an earlier draft of this page and has been removed from the prose, because the frequency assertion traces to nothing. PubMed for clenbuterol AND (overdose OR poisoning OR toxicity) combined with veterinary or syrup returned individual poisoning reports and the meat-residue outbreak literature, none of which compares formulations by frequency. Europe PMC for clenbuterol with "veterinary formulation" and overdose returned no comparative series. The systematic review of case reports in athletes (PMID 37062796) records the route as mostly oral across 24 cases and a daily range of 20 micrograms to 30 milligrams, but does not record which formulation was taken in any of them. No source establishing the relative frequency of veterinary-formulation overdose against any other was located.No source found
Research-grade powder is stable for about two years at minus 20 degrees Celsius and reconstituted solution for several weeks refrigerated.These figures appear only in supplier catalogue copy. PubMed for clenbuterol with stability and storage returns analytical-method development papers concerned with recovering residues from meat, liver and wastewater matrices, not with the stability of the compound as supplied. Europe PMC for clenbuterol with "2 years" and lyophilised returned seven records, none a stability study. No time-course, no chromatographic purity curve and no degradation profile for clenbuterol under any storage condition was located in the indexed literature.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The one randomised trial in healthy people

Hostrup and colleagues published the first randomised placebo-controlled trial of clenbuterol in healthy humans in The Journal of Physiology in 2025. Eleven men aged 18 to 40 completed two two-week cycles, one of oral clenbuterol at 80 micrograms per day and one of placebo, separated by a three-week washout. Lean mass rose 0.91 kg against placebo, with a 95 per cent confidence interval of 0.02 to 1.81 kg, and muscle protein content in vastus lateralis biopsies rose with it. Fat mass did not change. That single null result sits against the largest body of claim attached to this compound.

Cardiorespiratory measures moved the other way. Maximal oxygen uptake fell 7 per cent and exercise capacity fell 4 per cent, both at P below 0.001, while sprint power output, left ventricular mass, intravascular blood volume and haemoglobin mass were unchanged. In the biopsies, 3-hydroxyacyl CoA dehydrogenase activity was repressed and oxidative phosphorylation complex V abundance fell. Protein kinase A activation and ribosomal protein S6 phosphorylation were both marked at the start of a cycle and declined across it, which is a measurement of tolerance developing inside two weeks rather than an inference about it.

An acute study by Jessen and colleagues in 2020 measured the metabolic side of the same molecule. Six young men were assessed before and 140 minutes after a single 80-microgram oral dose. Resting energy expenditure rose 21 per cent and fat oxidation rose 39 per cent, while carbohydrate oxidation did not change; circulating glucose, lactate, insulin and fatty acids all rose. Maximal voluntary contraction torque fell 4 per cent. The two studies are not in conflict. One measured substrate use over an afternoon, the other measured stored fat over a fortnight, and only the first moved.

What the trials in patients measured

Late-onset Pompe disease produced the longest controlled human exposure on record. Koeberl and colleagues ran a 52-week double-blind randomised placebo-controlled phase 1/2 study in thirteen participants already receiving enzyme replacement therapy, eleven of whom completed it. Six-minute walk distance increased by a mean of 16 metres, which did not reach significance at P equals 0.08, though the same change expressed as per cent of predicted performance did at P equals 0.03. Maximum inspiratory pressure rose 8 per cent, two functional scores improved, and glycogen content in the vastus lateralis was halved at week 52. No change in the placebo group reached significance.

Overweight and obesity produced the second randomised placebo-controlled human dataset, and it measured something different again. Van Lier and colleagues randomised fourteen adults aged 40 to 70 with a body mass index between 25 and 35 to four weeks of oral clenbuterol at 40 micrograms per day or to placebo, in a double-blind crossover registered as NCT04921306. Insulin-stimulated glucose uptake during a hyperinsulinaemic-euglycaemic clamp, measured by 18F-FDG PET-MRI, was 15 per cent higher in vastus lateralis at P equals 0.072 and 13 per cent higher in the hamstring at P equals 0.039. Brown adipose tissue uptake did not change, at P equals 0.720. Quadriceps uptake was the primary outcome, and it did not reach significance.

Spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy was studied by Querin and colleagues in twenty patients given oral clenbuterol at 0.04 mg per day for twelve months, of whom sixteen completed. Six-minute walk distance and forced vital capacity both increased between baseline and month twelve at P below 0.001, while Medical Research Council strength scores and the revised ALS Functional Rating Scale did not move. Serum creatine kinase rose. The paper carries a Classification of Evidence assigned by the journal under the American Academy of Neurology scheme: Class IV, the weakest tier. Neurology gives no reason for the class in the indexed abstract; this record's own reading is that the open-label design with no control arm accounts for it.

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis produced the clearest signal on tolerability, and it was negative. Li and colleagues enrolled 25 participants in an open-label trial with no placebo and no randomisation. Twenty-four experienced adverse events, most often tremors, cramps, insomnia and spasticity, and fourteen withdrew early, thirteen of them because of adverse events. The authors reported slower functional decline during treatment than before it, and then stated plainly that the comparison is limited by sample size, dropout and the absence of blinding. ClinicalTrials.gov holds twelve registered studies naming clenbuterol as an intervention; four have posted results, the largest completed enrolment is 41 people, and two studies that have not reported carry enrolment targets of 90 and 72.

The heart-failure programme, and how it ended

Cardiology reached this compound through myocardial atrophy. George and colleagues gave oral clenbuterol to seven patients supported by a left ventricular assist device, up-titrated to 720 micrograms daily and continued for three months. Ejection fraction did not change. Left ventricular end-diastolic dimension increased from 4.73 to 5.24 centimetres at P below 0.01, and no change in myocyte size or collagen deposition was seen at explantation. Skeletal muscle moved instead: body weight rose from 75.5 to 79.2 kg, lean mass from 21.1 to 23.6 kg, and quadriceps maximal voluntary contraction from 37.0 to 45.8 kg. Creatine phosphokinase was elevated in four of the seven.

A multicentre attempt to reproduce the British recovery protocol in the United States was registered as NCT00585546, enrolled eighteen participants, and was terminated. The registry's whyStopped field reads, in full: No longer could obtain clenbuterol. The reason recorded is supply, not efficacy; the trial ended because the drug could no longer be obtained, and no efficacy result was reported. Nothing has replaced it, and no cardiac outcome trial of clenbuterol in any population appears in the registry.

What the record does not contain is a controlled measurement of cardiac structure under prolonged exposure in healthy people. The two-week crossover found left ventricular mass unchanged, which is a result about fourteen days and nothing longer. Every human cardiac finding beyond that comes from case reports of overdose, or from patients whose hearts were already failing.

Animals, and where the rat dose-response separated

The rodent literature is where the anabolic reputation was built, and the same experiment recorded where the response changed direction. Burniston and colleagues infused rats with clenbuterol across a thousand-fold range for fourteen days. At 10 micrograms per kilogram per day and above, protein content rose in the heart by 12 to 15 per cent, the soleus by 12 per cent, the plantaris by 18 to 29 per cent and the tibialis anterior by 11 to 22 per cent, with matching myofibre hypertrophy. At 100 micrograms and 1 milligram per kilogram, myocyte death appeared in soleus, diaphragm and plantaris, and the area fraction of collagen in the myocardium increased.

Bone was measured separately and moved in one direction only. Bonnet and colleagues gave clenbuterol at 2 mg per kilogram per day subcutaneously to twelve-week-old female Wistar rats for six weeks. The study ran three arms across 39 animals — clenbuterol, salbutamol at 4 mg per kilogram per day, and saline — so roughly thirteen rats per arm. Trabecular number fell 40.40 per cent and trabecular bone volume fell 42.85 per cent, both at P below 0.001, with lower bone mineral density and lower ultimate force on biomechanical testing. Muscle mass rose and fat mass fell in the same animals, and a fall in leptin accompanied the bone loss, which tracked fat mass rather than muscle mass. Salbutamol in the same experiment altered neither bone microarchitecture nor body composition.

Horses supply the only sustained exercise data in a large mammal. Kearns and McKeever divided 23 unfit Standardbred mares across four groups for eight weeks: clenbuterol at 2.4 micrograms per kilogram twice daily with exercise, clenbuterol alone, exercise alone, and control. Maximal oxygen uptake fell 6.2 per cent in the group given both clenbuterol and exercise, and time to exhaustion fell about 20 per cent in both clenbuterol groups. The clenbuterol-only group recorded no significant change in maximal oxygen uptake. Exercise alone raised maximal oxygen uptake 6.5 per cent and time to exhaustion 32.3 per cent. The training effect and the drug effect ran in opposite directions.

Contamination, and what a positive test means

Residues in edible tissue have been reaching people since at least 1992. Salleras and colleagues investigated 113 cases of poisoning in Catalonia that year: more than half of those affected recorded nervousness, tachycardia, muscle tremors, myalgia and headache, incubation ran from fifteen minutes to six hours, and symptoms lasted from ninety minutes to six days. Clenbuterol was detected in 47 urine samples at 11 to 486 parts per billion and in none of the serum samples. Illness was associated with eating veal liver at P below 0.0001, irrespective of how the liver had been cooked. Nobody died.

The scale of the problem for testing became visible in 2011. Thevis and colleagues reported that of 208 doping control samples collected during the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Mexico, 109 contained clenbuterol at 1 to 1556 picograms per millilitre, and 14 of 47 meat samples collected from team hotels contained it at 0.06 to 11 micrograms per kilogram. Only 5 of 24 teams returned samples with none, and at least one of those was reported to be on a strict no-meat diet. No player was sanctioned. The Minimum Reporting Level described earlier is the administrative answer to that dataset.

Exposure at population scale was quantified most recently in Taiwan. Liao and colleagues analysed spot urine from 1554 participants in the nationally representative 2019 Human BioMonitoring Program using isotope dilution online solid-phase extraction with tandem mass spectrometry. Clenbuterol was the most frequently detected beta-adrenergic agonist at 31.4 per cent, against 4.2 per cent for the legally permitted ractopamine, and against a zero detection rate in contemporaneous official market surveillance of meat. Detection was associated with red meat consumption at an adjusted odds ratio of 1.39, with a confidence interval of 1.08 to 1.79.

Recorded harms

Kumari and colleagues assembled the case literature systematically, searching four databases from 1990 to October 2021 and including 23 studies covering 24 athletes. Daily amounts reported across those cases ranged from 20 micrograms to 30 milligrams, mostly taken orally, a span of three orders of magnitude. Recorded events were supraventricular tachycardia, atrial fibrillation, hypotension, chest pain, myocardial injury, myocarditis, myocardial ischaemia, myocardial infarction, cardiomyopathy, hepatomegaly, hyperglycaemia and death. Cardiac complications were the most frequent category. Case series select for severity by construction, so this is a record of what has been reported, with no denominator behind it.

Within the controlled trials the pattern is milder. Tremors, cramps, insomnia and spasticity were the commonest events in the ALS cohort, where thirteen of 25 participants withdrew because of them. Creatine kinase rose in the spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy trial (PMID 23645595), creatine phosphokinase was elevated in four of seven device-supported patients (PMID 16962470), and the Pompe trial recorded mild elevations of creatine kinase among its transient minor adverse events (PMID 30025991). The two healthy-volunteer studies did not report a muscle enzyme measurement at all, so the record covers patients rather than every scale of exposure.

One finding about illicit supply belongs in a safety record. In a 2016 case series of ten patients hospitalised after heroin use in Virginia, clenbuterol was detected in all of them; the reported findings included a serum potassium nadir of 2.5 mEq/L, a lactate of 9.4 mmol/L, a glucose of 179 mg/dL and a peak creatine phosphokinase of 953 units/L, and all ten survived with supportive care (PMID 27431866). The exposure was an adulterant in the heroin rather than an intended dose, and what prompted testing was chest pain and adrenergic symptoms after heroin use.

What is not known

No phase 3 trial of clenbuterol exists in any indication. The twelve studies registered on ClinicalTrials.gov are small: the largest completed enrolment is 41 participants, two studies that have not reported carry enrolment targets of 90 and 72, four have posted results, one was withdrawn before enrolling and one was terminated with the reason recorded as no longer being able to obtain the drug. The longest controlled human exposure on record is 52 weeks in thirteen people with a rare metabolic myopathy. Everything asserted about physique or performance use rests on a single randomised crossover in eleven men over two weeks, which found no change in fat mass and a fall in maximal oxygen uptake. Body composition has never been measured in women taking it, and the two healthy-volunteer studies enrolled men only; the rat bone study used female animals only, so neither sex has a complete dataset. Cardiac structure under prolonged exposure in healthy people is uncharacterised. Left ventricular mass was unchanged at fourteen days, but the only sustained cardiac measurements in a large mammal come from eight weeks in horses, and the human cardiac literature beyond that is case reports of overdose and of adulterated illicit drugs. Bone has not been measured in any human study despite the rat work recording a 40 per cent loss of trabecular number at six weeks in an arm of about thirteen animals. The published human pharmacokinetics rest on a 1985 study that does not state its sample size, no absolute oral bioavailability figure could be traced to any primary source, and the enantiomers are dispositionally distinct without a human disposition study to describe how. Reproductive, developmental, carcinogenicity and chronic-exposure toxicology were not located in any species. Clenbuterol holds no human approval in the United States, material obtained outside a licensed supply chain has been documented as an adulterant in other drugs, and nothing published establishes a threshold below which harm in a person does not occur.

Questions

Is clenbuterol approved for human use?
Not in the United States. Queries to the openFDA human drug-label endpoint and to Drugs@FDA in August 2026 both returned no matches for the name. The only United States approval located is veterinary: NADA 140-973, an oral syrup for horses, whose label states it is not for use in humans, that treated horses may not be slaughtered for human consumption, and that federal law prohibits extralabel use in food animals. In several European and Asian countries clenbuterol is registered as a human bronchodilator, which is what its two WHO ATC codes, R03AC14 and R03CC13, record.
Has any trial shown that clenbuterol reduces body fat in people?
No. The only randomised placebo-controlled trial in healthy humans, published by Hostrup and colleagues in 2025, put eleven men through two two-week cycles and reported a 0.91 kg gain in lean mass and no effect on fat mass. A separate acute study in six men found resting energy expenditure 21 per cent higher and fat oxidation 39 per cent higher 140 minutes after a single dose. Burning more fat over an afternoon and holding less fat over a fortnight are different measurements, and only the first has been demonstrated.
Why do athletes test positive for clenbuterol without taking it?
Because residues persist in edible tissue. At the 2011 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Mexico, 109 of 208 doping control urine samples contained clenbuterol and 14 of 47 meat samples collected from team hotels did too; no player was sanctioned. A 2026 Taiwanese biomonitoring study found it in 31.4 per cent of urine samples from 1554 people in the general population. In response, the World Anti-Doping Agency set a Minimum Reporting Level of 5 ng/mL through Technical Letter TL23, effective 1 June 2021: below that concentration the laboratory reports an Atypical Finding and an investigation into contaminated meat is mandatory.
What is clenbuterol's half-life, and where does the 39-hour figure come from?
The only indexed primary human measurement located is Yamamoto 1985 (PMID 4045696), which estimated a plasma half-life of about 35 hours after single oral doses in healthy volunteers, and did not state how many. The 39-hour figure appears only in case reports and reviews that restate it without attribution; searches of Europe PMC returned no original measurement behind it. The same 1985 study reported about 30 hours in rats and about 9 hours in rabbits, which is a useful reminder that this parameter is species-specific.
How large is the human evidence base?
Small. Twelve studies naming clenbuterol as an intervention are registered on ClinicalTrials.gov; the largest completed enrolment is 41 participants, and two studies that have not reported carry enrolment targets of 90 and 72. The randomised evidence consists of a 52-week trial in thirteen people with late-onset Pompe disease, a 4-week crossover in fourteen people with overweight or obesity (PMID 42014715), and a two-cycle crossover in eleven healthy men. The trials in spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy and in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis were open-label without control arms, and the authors of the second said so directly. A United States multicentre heart-failure study was terminated after eighteen participants because the drug could no longer be obtained.

References

  1. Hostrup M, Moesgaard L, Fischer M, et al. Clenbuterol induces lean mass and muscle protein accretion, but attenuates cardiorespiratory fitness and desensitizes muscle beta-2 adrenergic signalling. J Physiol. 2025;603(19):5529-5545. Randomised placebo-controlled crossover in 11 healthy men. PMID 40946331. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Jessen S, Solheim SA, Jacobson GA, et al. Beta-2 adrenergic agonist clenbuterol increases energy expenditure and fat oxidation, and induces mTOR phosphorylation in skeletal muscle of young healthy men. Drug Test Anal. 2020;12(5):610-618. Acute single-dose study in 6 men. PMID 31887249. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Van Lier PMG, van de Weijer T, Vanweert F, et al. Prolonged beta2-agonist treatment enhances muscle-specific glucose uptake in individuals with overweight and obesity: a randomized placebo-controlled trial. Nat Commun. 2026;17(1):5483. Double-blind crossover in 14 participants, registered as NCT04921306. PMID 42014715. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Koeberl DD, Case LE, Smith EC, et al. Correction of Biochemical Abnormalities and Improved Muscle Function in a Phase I/II Clinical Trial of Clenbuterol in Pompe Disease. Mol Ther. 2018;26(9):2304-2314. Registered as NCT01942590. PMID 30025991. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Querin G, D'Ascenzo C, Peterle E, et al. Pilot trial of clenbuterol in spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy. Neurology. 2013;80(23):2095-2098. Open-label, no control arm; the journal assigned Class IV under the American Academy of Neurology Classification of Evidence scheme. PMID 23645595. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Li X, Koeberl DD, Lutz MW, Bedlack R. Clenbuterol Treatment Is Safe and Associated With Slowed Disease Progression in a Small Open-Label Trial in Patients With Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis. J Clin Neuromuscul Dis. 2023;24(4):214-221. Title as published; the trial was open-label without randomisation or placebo, and 13 of 25 participants withdrew because of adverse events. Registered as NCT04245709. PMID 37219865. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. George I, Xydas S, Mancini DM, et al. Effect of clenbuterol on cardiac and skeletal muscle function during left ventricular assist device support. J Heart Lung Transplant. 2006;25(9):1084-1090. Uncontrolled, 7 patients. PMID 16962470. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Burniston JG, Clark WA, Tan LB, Goldspink DF. Dose-dependent separation of the hypertrophic and myotoxic effects of the beta-2 adrenergic receptor agonist clenbuterol in rat striated muscles. Muscle Nerve. 2006;33(5):655-663. PMID 16411205. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Bonnet N, Benhamou CL, Brunet-Imbault B, et al. Severe bone alterations under beta2 agonist treatments: bone mass, microarchitecture and strength analyses in female rats. Bone. 2005;37(5):622-633. Three arms across 39 rats: clenbuterol 2 mg/kg/day, salbutamol 4 mg/kg/day, saline. PMID 16157516. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Kearns CF, McKeever KH. Clenbuterol diminishes aerobic performance in horses. Med Sci Sports Exerc. 2002;34(12):1976-1985. Four arms: CLENEX 6, CLEN 6, EX 5, CON 6. PMID 12471305. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Salleras L, Dominguez A, Mata E, Taberner JL, Moro I, Salva P. Epidemiologic study of an outbreak of clenbuterol poisoning in Catalonia, Spain. Public Health Rep. 1995;110(3):338-342. 113 cases investigated. PMID 7610227. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Thevis M, Geyer L, Geyer H, et al. Adverse analytical findings with clenbuterol among U-17 soccer players attributed to food contamination issues. Drug Test Anal. 2013;5(5):372-376. PMID 23559541. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Liao HT, Peng TH, Wang CJ, et al. Uncovering hidden beta-adrenergic agonist exposure from meat consumption through nationally representative human biomonitoring in Taiwan. Int J Hyg Environ Health. 2026;276:114849. PMID 42269380. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Kumari S, Pal B, Sahu SK, Prabhakar PK, Tewari D. Adverse events of clenbuterol among athletes: a systematic review of case reports and case series. Int J Legal Med. 2023;137(4):1023-1037. 23 studies, 24 athletes. PMID 37062796. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Hieger MA, Emswiler MP, Maskell KF, et al. A Case Series of Clenbuterol Toxicity Caused by Adulterated Heroin. J Emerg Med. 2016;51(3):259-261. Ten patients hospitalised after heroin use, Virginia; clenbuterol detected in all; all survived with supportive care. PMID 27431866. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. PubChem Compound Summary CID 2783, clenbuterol. Source of CAS 37148-27-9, formula C12H18Cl2N2O, molecular weight 277.19, InChIKey STJMRWALKKWQGH-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII XTZ6AXU7KN, ChEMBL49080, ChEBI 174690, DrugBank DB01407 and ATC codes R03AC14 and R03CC13. The hydrochloride salt is CID 5702273. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. DailyMed, National Library of Medicine. Veterinary label for clenbuterol hydrochloride oral syrup, NADA 140-973, 72.5 micrograms per mL, for oral use in horses only. Carries the statements that it is not for use in humans, that treated horses may not be used for human consumption, and that federal law prohibits extralabel use in food animals. View on dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
  18. World Anti-Doping Agency. WADA publishes Stakeholder Notices regarding potential contamination cases related to meat and diuretics, 1 June 2021. Records the Executive Committee decision of 20 May 2021 and Technical Letter TL23: findings of clenbuterol, ractopamine, zilpaterol or zeranol at or below 5 ng/mL are reported as an Atypical Finding, triggering a mandatory meat-contamination investigation. View on www.wada-ama.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.