Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Albuterol (Salbutamol)
Albuterol, known as salbutamol outside the United States, is a racemic beta-2 adrenergic agonist approved as a bronchodilator and listed by the WHO as an essential medicine. It also circulates as a leanness agent, and a 2026 randomised trial measured what eleven weeks of a supratherapeutic oral dose did to lean mass, to muscle oxidative enzymes and to cardiac wall thickness at the same time. This page logs those figures with their populations and separates them from the claims that trace to nothing.
- Class
- Racemic phenylethanolamine; selective beta-2 adrenergic receptor agonist (short-acting bronchodilator)
- CAS number
- 18559-94-9 (racemic free base, primary on the FDA GSRS record; 35763-26-9 is marked superseded there). Albuterol sulfate, the salt in registered products: 51022-70-9 on the GSRS record, though a PubChem name lookup on that CAS returns the 1:1 adduct CID 9884233 rather than CID 39859; see the identity section. Levalbuterol, the (R)-enantiomer: 34391-04-3
- PubChem CID
- 2083 (racemic base); 39859 (albuterol sulfate, 2:1); 123600 (levalbuterol); 9884233 (a 1:1 adduct, not the substance in registered products)
- Molecular formula
- C13H21NO3 (base); (C13H21NO3)2 with H2SO4 for the 2:1 hemisulfate, written 2C13H21NO3.H2O4S on the GSRS record and collapsed to C26H44N2O10S on PubChem CID 39859
- Molecular weight
- 239.31 g/mol (base, PubChem CID 2083; GSRS structure value 239.3112). 576.70 for albuterol sulfate on the GSRS record and 576.7 on PubChem CID 39859, written as 576.71 in the approved labelling. A third figure, 337.39, belongs to PubChem CID 9884233, a 1:1 adduct of formula C13H23NO7S that does not correspond to the substance in registered products
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- Salbutamol (INN), albuterol (USAN), levalbuterol and levosalbutamol for the (R)-enantiomer, development code AH 3365; UNII QF8SVZ843E (base), 021SEF3731 (sulfate), EDN2NBH5SS (levalbuterol); ChEMBL714 (assigned by GSRS to both the base and the sulfate) and CHEMBL1002 (levalbuterol); ATC R03AC02, R03AK13, R03AL02; DrugBank DB01001; WHO Model List of Essential Medicines section 25.1
Which albuterol
Albuterol and salbutamol are one molecule under two naming systems, the United States adopted name and the international nonproprietary name. PubChem returns a single compound record for either term: CID 2083, formula C13H21NO3, molecular weight 239.31, InChIKey NDAUXUAQIAJITI-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The FDA Global Substance Registration System carries the same structure under UNII QF8SVZ843E, with CAS 18559-94-9 marked primary and 35763-26-9 marked superseded, ChEMBL714, ATC code R03AC02, and a listing on the WHO Model List of Essential Medicines at section 25.1. The GSRS structure record is flagged RACEMIC.
Products contain the salt rather than the base, and the two registries disagree about which record its CAS belongs to. GSRS assigns CAS 51022-70-9 to the 2:1 hemisulfate under UNII 021SEF3731, empirical formula (C13H21NO3)2 with H2SO4, molecular weight 576.70, which the approved labelling writes as 576.71, and links that record to PubChem CID 39859. PubChem resolves the same CAS to CID 9884233, a 1:1 adduct at 337.39 g/mol titled salbutamol sulfate, whose synonym list also carries 2:1 naming, while CID 39859 carries the CAS 36519-31-0 instead. Only the 2:1 form corresponds to the substance in registered products, so a molecular weight near 337 quoted for a salt of this compound is describing a database record rather than a medicine.
The single-enantiomer form has a separate identity. Levalbuterol, the (R)-enantiomer, carries UNII EDN2NBH5SS, CAS 34391-04-3, PubChem CID 123600 and ChEMBL1002, with the same formula and mass as the racemate. GSRS assigns ChEMBL714 to both the racemic base and the sulfate, so a ChEMBL code alone does not separate them. Half of racemic albuterol is (S)-albuterol, which has its own disposition and its own published literature, reported separately from the (R)-enantiomer in the pharmacokinetic work cited below.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lean mass increased 1.8 kg more than placebo over 11 weeks of resistance training (95% CI 0.5 to 3.1), the trial's primary outcome | Healthy trained men, mean age 23, randomised 30 and 26 completing | Oral, 16 mg/day, 11 weeks | 30 randomised, 26 completed | Hostrup 2026, Scand J Med Sci Sports, PMID 42274909 |
| Secondary outcomes of the same trial: muscle capillary density and citrate synthase and 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase activity decreased; time to exhaustion on cardiopulmonary exercise testing did not change against a 7% rise on placebo; echocardiography recorded increased posterior, septal and relative wall thickness against placebo, while cardiac MRI in the same participants showed no between-group difference including left ventricular mass | Healthy trained men, vastus lateralis biopsies plus echocardiography and cardiac MRI, same trial | Oral, 16 mg/day, 11 weeks | 26 completed | Hostrup 2026, Scand J Med Sci Sports, PMID 42274909 |
| Lean mass by DEXA rose 1.57 (SD 1.71) kg on the high dose against 0.25 (SD 2.24) kg on placebo at 52 weeks; composite maximum voluntary isometric contraction did not differ between groups | Patients with facioscapulohumeral dystrophy | Oral sustained-release, 8 or 16 mg twice daily, 52 weeks | 90 randomised, 84 completed | Kissel 2001, Neurology, PMID 11673585 |
| Quadriceps strength rose 12 plus or minus 3% at 14 days and dominant-leg hamstring 22 plus or minus 6% at 21 days; dispersion type not specified in the retrievable record; body weight, skinfold thickness, lean body mass and limb circumferences unchanged | Healthy young men | Oral slow-release, 21 days | 12 | Martineau 1992, Clin Sci (Lond), PMID 1335400 |
| Wingate peak power 4.1 (SE 1.7)% higher acutely and 6.4 (SE 2.0)% higher after two weeks in the salbutamol arm; maximal voluntary contraction, isometric endurance and performance at 110% of VO2max unchanged; no differences observed in the placebo group | Male elite endurance athletes, VO2max 69.4 mL/min/kg | Oral, 8 mg, acute and 2 weeks | 20 randomised in parallel, approximately 10 per arm | Hostrup 2016, Scand J Med Sci Sports, PMID 25077918 |
| Knee extensor peak torque 4.4% and knee flexor 4.9% higher than placebo; plasma lactate and potassium increased; endurance time difference not significant in the full sample | Nonasthmatic men | Oral, single 4 mg dose, crossover | 16 | van Baak 2000, Med Sci Sports Exerc, PMID 10912897 |
| Fat mass changed by +0.97 kg (SD 1.11) against -0.21 kg (SD 1.41) on placebo at 8 weeks; lean mass +1.34 against +0.88 kg; body weight +2.57 against +1.05 kg; adverse events in 5 of 6 against 2 of 6 | Adolescents aged 12 to 17 with obesity, 6 female and 6 male | Oral capsules, albuterol 4 mg with caffeine 100 mg three times daily, 8 weeks | 12 randomised, 6 per arm, all completed | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02740660, posted results, Pennington Biomedical Research Center |
| Energy expenditure rose approximately 13% and fat oxidation 19 (SE 7)% under salbutamol; the same approximate rise in energy expenditure occurred under a beta-1 agonist and under salbutamol with lipolysis blocked by acipimox | Lean men | Intravenous, 3-hour infusion | 9 | Hoeks 2003, Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab, PMID 12824081 |
| Combined hindlimb muscle weight rose 19% with salbutamol against 28% with clenbuterol in young rats, and 19% against 25% in old rats; carcass protein 20% against 30% young and 12% against 21% old; no cardiac endpoint reported | Fisher-344 rats aged 3 and 24 months | Implanted osmotic minipump, salbutamol 1.03 mg/kg/24 h, clenbuterol 600 mcg/kg/24 h, 3 weeks | Not stated per group in the retrieved report | Carter and Lynch 1994, Metabolism, PMID 7916118 |
| Hypertrophy of all soleus fibre types and a higher percentage of type II fibres (21%) in healthy muscle; in denervated muscle, type I fibre cross-sectional area 28.2% larger than in untreated denervated muscle | Male Wistar rats, soleus, four groups (control n=10; salbutamol n=30; denervated n=30; denervated plus salbutamol n=30) | Intraperitoneal, 0.3 mg/kg twice daily, 14 days | 100 | Soic-Vranic 2005, Braz J Med Biol Res, PMID 16302094 |
| A single beta-2 agonist dose raised heart rate by 9.12 beats/min (95% CI 5.32 to 12.92) and lowered potassium by 0.36 mmol/L (95% CI 0.18 to 0.54); across trials of 3 days to 1 year the relative risk of a cardiovascular event was 2.54 (95% CI 1.59 to 4.05) | Patients with asthma or COPD, pooled across trials of several beta-2 agonists rather than albuterol alone | Mixed, as administered in the included trials | 13 single-dose and 20 longer-duration randomised placebo-controlled trials | Salpeter 2004, Chest, PMID 15189956 |
| Arterial plasma concentrations of (S)-salbutamol were about tenfold those of (R)-salbutamol at 2.5 and 7 hours; muscle concentrations were also higher for (S), but the muscle-to-plasma partition coefficient at 7 hours was twofold higher for (R) | Lean young men | Oral, single 24 mg dose | 12 | Hostrup 2025, Drug Test Anal, PMID 39148405 |
| The fat-loss effect fades after two to four weeks as beta-2 receptors downregulate, so the compound has to be cycled | The two-to-four-week window travels without a citation attached. PubMed was searched for salbutamol combined with tolerance, tachyphylaxis and beta2-adrenoceptor downregulation, restricted to human and asthma contexts. What came back was tolerance of bronchoprotection and of the hypokalaemic and tremor responses during regular beta-agonist treatment. Nothing measured fat mass, resting metabolic rate or energy expenditure over repeated dosing. The only tolerance data attached to an adjacent endpoint are rodent: Bendotti 1983 (r12, PMID 6138263) reported complete tolerance to the food-intake effect after six days of twice-daily 10 mg/kg injections in rats, reversing five days after discontinuation. No human study of tolerance to a body-composition effect of this compound was located, so the two-to-four-week figure is unsupported in either direction. | No source found | ||
| Albuterol is safer for the heart than clenbuterol | PubMed was searched for direct comparisons of the two compounds on cardiac endpoints in humans; none was found. The only head-to-head located in any species is Carter and Lynch 1994 (r6, PMID 7916118), which measured hindlimb muscle weight and carcass composition in rats and reported no cardiac data. A ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no registered trial comparing them. No comparative cardiac measurement for the two compounds was retrieved from any source. The one trial that imaged the heart under a supratherapeutic oral dose, Hostrup 2026 (r1, PMID 42274909), recorded increased posterior, septal and relative wall thickness on echocardiography, with no corresponding difference on cardiac MRI. | No source found | ||
| Albuterol raises HDL cholesterol | PubMed was searched for salbutamol with HDL, lipoprotein and cholesterol under the human filter. No record returned that administered the compound and reported a lipid panel as an outcome. The nearest retrievable material is Straat 2023 (r11, PMID 36812890), which reported that participants with higher salbutamol-induced brown adipose tissue glucose uptake had lower body fat mass, waist-hip ratio and serum LDL cholesterol. That is a cross-sectional association between participants, measured on LDL rather than HDL, and it is not a lipid change produced by the drug. The HDL claim traces to nothing. | No source found | ||
| The half-life is four to six hours | The FDA-approved labelling for oral albuterol tablets states an elimination half-life of five to six hours, from steady-state studies in normal volunteers, with maximum plasma concentrations between two and three hours. The four-to-six figure does not appear in that labelling and was not traceable to any pharmacokinetic publication retrieved from PubMed. The figure carried by the approved labelling is five to six hours. | No source found | ||
| Albuterol raises metabolic rate by 10 to 15 percent | Partially traceable, and stripped of the conditions that produced it. Hoeks 2003 (r8, PMID 12824081) reported energy expenditure roughly 13% higher during a three-hour intravenous infusion in nine lean men, and reported the same approximate rise under a beta-1 agonist and under salbutamol with lipolysis pharmacologically blocked. The circulating figure carries neither the route, the duration, the sample size, nor the fact that the comparator conditions moved the same amount. No study administering an oral dose and measuring 24-hour energy expenditure was located in PubMed. | No source found | ||
| Albuterol suppresses appetite | PubMed was searched for salbutamol with appetite and with food intake. The retrievable records are rodent: a comparison of anorectic mechanisms by Garattini and Samanin in an Int J Obes supplement (r13, PMID 6534892), and the tolerance study above (r12, PMID 6138263), which dosed rats at 10 mg/kg twice daily. The Garattini and Samanin summary reports a dose-dependent reduction in food intake in rats without stating the doses used in the retrievable record. Liu 2015 (r9, PMID 26239482) reported its rat body-composition result specifically without a change in food intake. No human study measuring appetite or energy intake under this compound was located, and the registered adolescent trial recorded weight gain in both arms. | No source found | ||
| Salbutamol sulfate has a molecular weight of 337.39 g/mol | This figure is real and belongs to PubChem CID 9884233, a 1:1 salbutamol-to-sulfuric-acid adduct of formula C13H23NO7S. The two registries disagree about which record the registered product's CAS belongs to. GSRS assigns CAS 51022-70-9 to the 2:1 hemisulfate, UNII 021SEF3731, and links it to PubChem CID 39859 at 576.70, written 576.71 in the approved labelling. A PubChem name lookup on 51022-70-9 returns CID 9884233 instead, and that record also carries the CAS numbers 39971-61-4 and 34245-12-0 and sulfate (2:1) naming in its synonym list, while CID 39859 carries CAS 36519-31-0. That registry disagreement is the mechanism generating the 337.39 figure in circulation. | No source found | ||
What the approved labelling establishes
Albuterol is an approved medicine, which distinguishes it from most compounds catalogued here. The indications section of current oral tablet labelling reads: relief of bronchospasm in adults and children six years of age and older with reversible obstructive airway disease. Nothing in that labelling concerns muscle mass, body composition, or performance. Drugs@FDA records inhalation aerosol approvals from August 1996 onward and a fixed combination of albuterol with budesonide approved under NDA 214070 in January 2023; oral tablets remain marketed under generic applications.
Label pharmacokinetics come from volunteer studies rather than from any secondary summary. Oral absorption is described as rapid, with mean steady-state peak and trough plasma concentrations of 14.8 and 8.6 ng/mL on a 4 mg tablet every six hours, maximum concentrations between two and three hours, and an elimination half-life of five to six hours. Analysis of urine from volunteers given tritiated albuterol at 4 to 10 mg orally recovered 65% to 90% of the dose over three days, most of it within the first 24 hours, of which 60% was metabolite. Faeces contained 4%.
Frequencies for the oral tablet are tabulated in the same document. Nervousness and tremor were each recorded in 20% of adults and children six and older, headache in 7%, palpitations and tachycardia in 5% each, muscle cramps in 3%, nausea in 2%. Preclinical statements on the label note that intravenous studies in rats found brain concentrations around 5% of plasma, with concentrations in the pineal and pituitary glands roughly 100 times those in whole brain.
What has been measured in human muscle
Martineau and colleagues published the first controlled human strength data in 1992. Twelve healthy men received a slow-release salbutamol preparation or placebo, with strength of several muscle groups measured before treatment and after 14 and 21 days. Quadriceps strength rose 12 plus or minus 3% at 14 days and stayed elevated at 21. Dominant-leg hamstring strength rose 22 plus or minus 6% at 21 days while the non-dominant side returned to baseline. Grip strength did not change. Body weight, skinfold thickness, lean body mass and limb circumferences did not change in either group.
Kissel and colleagues randomised 90 patients with facioscapulohumeral dystrophy to placebo or sustained-release albuterol at 8 or 16 mg twice daily for a year, with 84 completing. Composite maximum voluntary isometric contraction scores did not differ between groups, and neither did manual muscle testing. Grip improved in both treatment groups. Lean mass by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry rose 1.57 plus or minus 1.71 kg in the high-dose group against 0.25 plus or minus 2.24 kg on placebo. Recorded side effects were cramps, tremors, insomnia and nervousness.
Two shorter studies measured power and maximal strength separately. Van Baak and colleagues gave 16 nonasthmatic men a single 4 mg oral dose in a crossover design and recorded knee extensor peak torque 4.4% higher and knee flexor 4.9% higher than placebo, with plasma lactate and potassium changed. Hostrup and colleagues randomised 20 elite male endurance athletes to 8 mg oral salbutamol or placebo in a parallel design, roughly ten per arm, and recorded Wingate peak power 4.1 plus or minus 1.7% higher acutely and 6.4 plus or minus 2.0% higher after two weeks in the salbutamol arm, with maximal voluntary contraction unchanged.
The 2026 resistance-training trial
Hostrup and colleagues reported the trial that most directly addresses why this compound circulates outside asthma care. Thirty healthy trained men, mean age 23, received oral salbutamol at 16 mg per day or placebo through an eleven-week supervised full-body resistance training programme of three sessions weekly; 26 completed. The primary outcome was change in lean mass, assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry, and lean mass increased 1.8 kg more in the salbutamol group than in placebo, with a 95% confidence interval of 0.5 to 3.1 kg.
The trial's other endpoints did not follow the lean mass result. Muscle capillary density and the activities of citrate synthase and 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase, measured in vastus lateralis biopsies, decreased in the salbutamol group and did not change in placebo. Time to exhaustion during cardiopulmonary exercise testing did not change under salbutamol and rose 7% in placebo. Echocardiography recorded increased posterior, septal and relative wall thickness against placebo, while cardiac magnetic resonance imaging in the same participants showed no between-group difference in cardiac structure or function, left ventricular mass included.
Echocardiography and cardiac magnetic resonance imaging disagreed within the same trial of 26 completers, and both results were reported. The trial reported four sets of outcomes: lean mass, muscle oxidative capacity, cardiopulmonary fitness and cardiac imaging. Only the first favoured salbutamol. The imaging, cardiopulmonary and biopsy endpoints were secondary to the primary lean mass outcome. The authors framed their own findings as risk-benefit trade-offs and as support for restricting supratherapeutic salbutamol in sport.
Fat mass, metabolic rate, and one registered trial
Exactly one registered trial in the ClinicalTrials.gov database tested this compound against body composition and posted its results. NCT02740660, run at Pennington Biomedical Research Center, randomised 12 adolescents aged 12 to 17 with obesity, six per arm, to oral capsules containing albuterol 4 mg with caffeine 100 mg or placebo three times daily for eight weeks alongside family weight-management counselling. Fat mass changed by plus 0.97 kg with a standard deviation of 1.11 in the treatment arm against minus 0.21 kg, standard deviation 1.41, on placebo. Lean mass rose 1.34 against 0.88 kg, and body weight 2.57 against 1.05 kg.
Liu and colleagues published the wider programme behind that trial in 2015. It combined three different experimental systems. Caffeine and albuterol each enhanced lipolysis in cultured adipocytes. Acute administration raised resting metabolic rate in humans. The body composition result, increased lean mass gain with decreased fat mass gain, was obtained in rats over four to eight weeks without a change in food intake. The human and the body-composition arms are different experiments in different species, and the paper says so.
Thermogenic figures in circulation trace mostly to infusion studies. Hoeks and colleagues gave nine lean men three-hour infusions of a beta-1 agonist, salbutamol, or salbutamol with the lipolysis blocker acipimox; energy expenditure rose around 13% in all three conditions, and fat oxidation rose 19 plus or minus 7% under salbutamol alone. Straat and colleagues later reported that a single intravenous bolus increased brown adipose tissue glucose uptake on positron emission tomography relative to salbutamol given with propranolol, in a randomised double-blind crossover of young lean men; the number of participants is not stated in the retrievable record.
Rodent muscle work
Carter and Lynch ran the only head-to-head comparison of the two compounds located in any species. Fisher-344 rats aged 3 and 24 months received salbutamol at 1.03 mg per kg per 24 hours or clenbuterol at 600 micrograms per kg per 24 hours by implanted osmotic minipump for three weeks. Combined hindlimb muscle weight rose 19% with salbutamol and 28% with clenbuterol in young rats, and 19% and 25% in old rats. Carcass protein content rose 20% and 30% in young animals, 12% and 21% in old.
Soic-Vranic and colleagues tracked fibre types rather than mass. Male Wistar rats were divided into four groups: control (n = 10), salbutamol (n = 30), denervated (n = 30), and salbutamol after denervation (n = 30). Salbutamol was injected intraperitoneally at 0.3 mg per kg twice daily for two weeks, and muscles were examined 3, 6, 9, 12 and 14 days after treatment began. Hypertrophy was reported across all fibre types in healthy soleus, along with a higher percentage of type II fibres, 21%. In denervated muscle, type I fibre cross-sectional area was 28.2% larger than in untreated denervated muscle.
These are rodent findings, obtained under continuous minipump delivery in the first study and twice-daily injection in the second. The FDA-approved oral tablet labelling reports an elimination half-life of five to six hours and maximum plasma concentrations between two and three hours after dosing. The doses administered in these rodent studies are higher, per kilogram, than any dose that labelling describes. No study has compared the two delivery modes directly. The Carter and Lynch comparison measured hindlimb muscles and carcass composition, and reported no cardiac endpoints.
Doping control thresholds by route
Section S3 of the World Anti-Doping Agency 2026 Prohibited List bans all selective and non-selective beta-2 agonists including all optical isomers, and names salbutamol and levosalbutamol explicitly. The exception is inhaled salbutamol at a maximum of 1600 micrograms over 24 hours in divided doses not exceeding 600 micrograms over eight hours from any dose. Presence in urine above 1000 ng/mL is treated as an Adverse Analytical Finding unless the athlete demonstrates through a controlled pharmacokinetic study that it followed a permitted inhaled dose.
Whether that threshold does the job it is asked to do is disputed in the pharmacology literature. Heuberger and colleagues built a semi-physiological model from published parameters and simulated 1000 virtual subjects; 15.4% exceeded 1000 ng/mL one hour after a permitted inhaled dose, and the authors concluded that a single untimed urine sample cannot recover the administered dose. Courlet and colleagues, working from a model-based meta-analysis of 13 studies, reached a milder verdict: broadly supported, with genuine uncertainty for values near the threshold.
Enantiomer behaviour complicates the same measurement. Hostrup and colleagues sampled arterial plasma and vastus lateralis in 12 lean young men at 2.5 and 7 hours after 24 mg orally. Plasma concentrations of (S)-salbutamol ran roughly tenfold above (R)-salbutamol, reflecting faster elimination of the (R)-enantiomer, and muscle concentrations were likewise higher for (S). The muscle-to-plasma partition coefficient at 7 hours, however, was twofold higher for (R). Concentration-time profiles in muscle and in circulation were not the same shape.
What is not known
Human exposure in the published record tops out at 52 weeks, in patients with a muscular dystrophy rather than in healthy adults; the longest healthy-adult trial ran eleven weeks in 26 completers. No study has followed what happens to the recorded lean mass, the reduced oxidative enzyme activities or the echocardiographic wall thickness after treatment stops, so nothing establishes whether any of them persist or reverse. The disagreement between echocardiography and cardiac magnetic resonance within the 2026 trial is unresolved, and no larger imaging study exists to settle it. Sex representation is narrow: the resistance-training, sprint and infusion studies enrolled men only, and the single registered body-composition trial enrolled six girls and six boys aged 12 to 17. No trial has tested oral albuterol against body composition in adults without a co-administered stimulant. The cardiovascular risk estimate quoted here pools several beta-2 agonists in patients with obstructive airway disease and cannot be read as an albuterol-specific figure for healthy people. Albuterol is approved as a bronchodilator and appears on the WHO Model List of Essential Medicines; current FDA labelling carries no indication concerning muscle mass, fat mass or performance, and no non-US drug register was successfully queried for this page, so no worldwide statement about approved indications is made here. Systemic administration is prohibited in sport under WADA section S3. Material obtained outside a pharmacy supply chain has not been subject to the identity, purity or content controls that apply to registered products.
Questions
Is albuterol an approved medicine?
Has anyone measured lean mass in healthy people taking it?
Did any registered trial test it for fat loss?
What is its status in sport?
Why do sources give different molecular weights?
References
- Hostrup M, Jessen S, Tischer SG, et al. Lean Mass Gains, Cardiac Remodeling, and Muscle Oxidative Changes With High-Dose Salbutamol During Resistance Training: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Scand J Med Sci Sports. 2026;36(6):e70302. PMID 42274909. PubMed publication types carry no retraction or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kissel JT, McDermott MP, Mendell JR, et al. Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of albuterol in facioscapulohumeral dystrophy. Neurology. 2001;57(8):1434-40. PMID 11673585. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Martineau L, Horan MA, Rothwell NJ, Little RA. Salbutamol, a beta 2-adrenoceptor agonist, increases skeletal muscle strength in young men. Clin Sci (Lond). 1992;83(5):615-21. PMID 1335400. The retrievable record gives 12 +/- 3% and 22 +/- 6% without labelling the dispersion type. PubMed attaches an erratum at Clin Sci 1993;84(6) with no page number, no PMID of its own and no retrievable text; what it changed is not established. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hostrup M, Kalsen A, Auchenberg M, Bangsbo J, Backer V. Effects of acute and 2-week administration of oral salbutamol on exercise performance and muscle strength in athletes. Scand J Med Sci Sports. 2016;26(1):8-16. PMID 25077918. A randomised, double-blinded, placebo-controlled parallel study of twenty male elite athletes in total, so roughly ten received salbutamol. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- van Baak MA, Mayer LH, Kempinski RE, Hartgens F. Effect of salbutamol on muscle strength and endurance performance in nonasthmatic men. Med Sci Sports Exerc. 2000;32(7):1300-6. PMID 10912897. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Carter WJ, Lynch ME. Comparison of the effects of salbutamol and clenbuterol on skeletal muscle mass and carcass composition in senescent rats. Metabolism. 1994;43(9):1119-25. PMID 7916118. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Soic-Vranic T, Bobinac D, Bajek S, Jerkovic R, Malnar-Dragojevic D, Nikolic M. Effect of salbutamol on innervated and denervated rat soleus muscle. Braz J Med Biol Res. 2005;38(12):1799-805. PMID 16302094. Group sizes as stated in the abstract: control N = 10, salbutamol N = 30, denervated N = 30, salbutamol after denervation N = 30. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hoeks J, van Baak MA, Hesselink MK, et al. Effect of beta1- and beta2-adrenergic stimulation on energy expenditure, substrate oxidation, and UCP3 expression in humans. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2003;285(4):E775-82. PMID 12824081. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Liu AG, Arceneaux KP, Chu JT, et al. The effect of caffeine and albuterol on body composition and metabolic rate. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2015;23(9):1830-5. PMID 26239482. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT02740660, Effect on Body Composition With Albuterol and Caffeine Versus Placebo in Adolescents: A Pilot Study. Pennington Biomedical Research Center; 12 participants, completed October 2017, results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Straat ME, Hoekx CA, van Velden FHP, et al. Stimulation of the beta-2-adrenergic receptor with salbutamol activates human brown adipose tissue. Cell Rep Med. 2023;4(2):100942. PMID 36812890. A randomised double-blinded crossover trial in young lean men; the number of participants is not stated in the retrievable record. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Bendotti C, Borsini F, Samanin R. Studies on the mechanisms of tolerance to the anorectic effect of salbutamol in rats. Eur J Pharmacol. 1983;92(3-4):237-42. PMID 6138263. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Garattini S, Samanin R. d-Fenfluramine and salbutamol: two drugs causing anorexia through different neurochemical mechanisms. Int J Obes. 1984;8 Suppl 1:151-7. PMID 6534892. The retrievable record reports a dose-dependent reduction in food intake in rats and states no doses. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Heuberger JAAC, van Dijkman SC, Cohen AF. Futility of current urine salbutamol doping control. Br J Clin Pharmacol. 2018;84(8):1830-1838. PMID 29722428. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Courlet P, Buclin T, Biollaz J, Mazzoni I, Rabin O. Model-based meta-analysis of salbutamol pharmacokinetics and practical implications for doping control. CPT Pharmacometrics Syst Pharmacol. 2022;11(4):469-481. PMID 35315251. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hostrup M, Jacobson GA, Eibye K, et al. Beta2-adrenergic agonist salbutamol exhibits enantioselective disposition in skeletal muscle of lean young men following oral administration. Drug Test Anal. 2025;17(6):842-849. PMID 39148405. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Salpeter SR, Ormiston TM, Salpeter EE. Cardiovascular effects of beta-agonists in patients with asthma and COPD: a meta-analysis. Chest. 2004;125(6):2309-21. PMID 15189956. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency. International Standard Prohibited List 2026, section S3 Beta-2 Agonists, in force 1 January 2026. WADA's own page at wada-ama.org/en/prohibited-list returns HTTP 202 with a zero-byte body, verified again on 18 August 2026, and the text layer of its PDF uses subsetted CID-encoded fonts that could not be extracted. The S3 wording quoted here was read from the verbatim reproduction of the 2026 list published by the Austrian national anti-doping organisation, NADA Austria, which is the link attached to this reference. The 1600 microgram per 24 hours and 600 microgram per 8 hours inhaled limits are independently corroborated by Swiss Sport Integrity at sportintegrity.ch/en/anti-doping/medicine/special-topics/asthma-medication, and the 1000 ng/mL urinary threshold by PMIDs 29722428 and 35315251. View on www.nada.at
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.