Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Methylene Blue (Methylthioninium Chloride)

Methylene blue is a phenothiazinium redox dye and an approved medicine. The FDA cleared an intravenous product under NDA 204630 in April 2016 for acquired methaemoglobinaemia, an orphan indication, with a boxed warning for serotonin syndrome. This page logs the human trial record, separates it from the cell-culture figures quoted as though they were human ones, and records which trials in the tau-aggregation programme administered methylthioninium chloride and which administered a different salt.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised human trials across several indications, plus an intravenous product approved by the FDA for acquired methaemoglobinaemia; no oral methylene blue product holds FDA approval for any indication, and no non-US register was searched for this page 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Phenothiazinium salt; oxidation-reduction (redox) dye; potent reversible inhibitor of monoamine oxidase A
CAS number
61-73-4 (anhydrous chloride); 7220-79-3 (trihydrate, the primary registry number on the FDA substance record behind the approved product)
PubChem CID
6099
Molecular formula
C16H18ClN3S (anhydrous); the approved label writes it as C16H18ClN3S·xH2O
Molecular weight
319.85 g/mol (anhydrous; this is the FDA GSRS structure value 319.8538 rounded — PubChem reports 319.9 for CID 6099 and the approved label states 319.86)
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
Methylthioninium chloride, methylthionine chloride, Basic Blue 9, Solvent Blue 8, C.I. 52015, Swiss Blue; UNII 8NAP7826UB (anhydrous) and T42P99266K (the substance record behind the product approved under NDA 204630); ChEMBL CHEMBL405110 (chloride salt, the entity PubChem CID 6099 maps to in UniChem) and CHEMBL550495 (trihydrate, which maps to CID 104827); FDA GSRS instead lists CHEMBL191083 as the primary ChEMBL code on both UNII records, and that identifier resolves to the methylene blue cation, C16H18N3S+, PubChem CID 4139; DrugBank DB09241

Identity, and which methylene blue

PubChem gives methylene blue CID 6099, CAS 61-73-4 and molecular formula C16H18ClN3S, and reports a molecular weight of 319.9. The 319.85 figure quoted for the anhydrous chloride is the FDA Global Substance Registration System structure value, 319.8538, rounded, and the approved product's label states 319.86 for the anhydrous form. Three cited sources give three figures and all three are reported here. GSRS holds two separate substance records. UNII 8NAP7826UB is typed as methylene blue anhydrous and carries CAS 61-73-4. UNII T42P99266K is typed simply as methylene blue and carries CAS 7220-79-3 as its primary registry number, the trihydrate. The approved injection's label states that its strength is expressed in terms of trihydrate and writes the formula with a variable water of hydration. Two CAS numbers circulate for this compound and both are correct; they describe different hydration states of the same salt.

The ChEMBL identifier disagrees as well. GSRS lists CHEMBL191083 as the primary ChEMBL code on both UNII records, but UniChem resolves that identifier to InChI=1S/C16H18N3S with a charge of +1, which is the methylene blue cation, formula C16H18N3S, PubChem CID 4139, molecular weight 284.4. The chloride salt this page defines maps instead to CHEMBL405110, which UniChem links to PubChem CID 6099 and DrugBank DB09241, and the trihydrate maps to CHEMBL550495, which links to CID 104827. ChEMBL's own interface returned server errors throughout the session in which this was checked, so the resolution here runs through UniChem and PubChem rather than ChEMBL directly.

The same molecule is registered as a textile and biological stain under Basic Blue 9, Solvent Blue 8 and C.I. 52015, and under several dozen historical trade names. Retail material distinguishes grades — USP, laboratory, technical — and those designations refer to purity specifications rather than to different compounds. What no primary source establishes is the size of the difference. A PubMed search for comparative impurity analyses of methylene blue preparations returns papers about the dye as an adsorption target in water-treatment chemistry, not analyses of material sold for ingestion. That gap is recorded in the unsourced array below rather than in the ledger, which carries only rows with a source.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
7% increase in correct responses during memory retrieval (P = .01); increased fMRI response in bilateral insular cortex during sustained attention and in prefrontal, parietal and occipital cortex during short-term memoryHealthy adults aged 22-62Single oral dose, 280 mg USP-grade methylene blue in immediate-release capsules36 consented and 8 screened out; 2 further methylene blue participants were excluded from the final analysis (one response-system failure in the first enrolled subject, one refusal of the CO2 challenge), leaving 26 analysed, 13 per armRodriguez 2016, Radiology, PMID 27351678
Global cerebral blood flow and cerebral metabolic rate of oxygen decreased after methylene blue in all participants; regional CMRO2 change in frontal lobe −14.2 ± 19.5% in patients against 2.3 ± 14.8% in controls, and in anterior cingulate −14.8 ± 23.7% against 2.4 ± 15.7%Euthymic patients with chronic bipolar I disorder and age/gender-matched healthy controlsIntravenous infusion, 0.5 mg/kg, single-blind randomised crossover against placebo30 (15 patients, 15 controls)Russo 2024, J Affect Disord, PMID 39019231
Treatment benefit at 138 mg/day at 24 weeks: −5.42 ADAS-cog units in moderate subjects (corrected p = 0.047) and a 1.97% treatment effect on regional cerebral blood flow decline in mild subjects (corrected p < 0.001); benefit on ADAS-cog in both mild and moderate subjects with continued treatment to 50 weeks; delivery of the 228 mg/day dose impaired by dose-dependent dissolution and absorption limitations. Molecule administered was methylthioninium chloride — methylene blue itselfSubjects with mild or moderate Alzheimer's diseaseOral methylthioninium, 69, 138 or 228 mg/day, double-blind randomised placebo-controlled, 24 weeks with sequential blinded 6- and 12-month extensions321 randomised; 135 in the regional cerebral blood flow sub-studyWischik 2015, J Alzheimers Dis (NCT00515333), PMID 25550228
No treatment benefit at either dose on the co-primary outcomes: ADAS-Cog change against control −0.02 (95% CI −1.60 to 1.56, p=0.9834) at 75 mg twice daily and −0.43 (−2.06 to 1.20, p=0.9323) at 125 mg twice daily. Molecule administered was LMTM, not methylthioninium chlorideAdults under 90 with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease, 115 centres in 16 countriesOral tablets twice daily for 15 months891 randomised (357 control, 268 at 75 mg, 266 at 125 mg)Gauthier 2016, Lancet (NCT01689246), PMID 27863809
Co-primary endpoints ADAS-cog11 and ADCS-ADL23 could not be separated from control at 52 weeks, attributed by the investigators to symptomatic activity in the 4 mg control arm. In analyses specified prior to the 24-month database lock, ADAS-cog13 separated early- from delayed-start 16 mg/day in the MCI subgroup at 78 weeks (p = 0.0291) and 104 weeks (p = 0.0308); plasma NfL change was reduced at 52 weeks in the whole population (p = 0.0291); progression of grey-matter atrophy was reduced at 52 and 104 weeks; pTau217 was reduced in MCI (p = 0.0165). Active arms received hydromethylthionine mesylate; the control arm received methylthioninium chlorideAmyloid-beta PET-positive participants with MCI (44%) or mild to moderate Alzheimer's dementia (56%), 82 centresOral, 16 mg/day or 8 mg/day against methylthioninium chloride 4 mg twice weekly, 52 weeks then all on 16 mg/day to 104 weeks598 (263 MCI, 335 dementia)Wischik 2026, J Prev Alzheimers Dis (LUCIDITY, TRx-237-039), PMID 41570392
Median 100% (IQR 100 to 100) within-person reduction in mosquito infectivity at day 2 by membrane feeding, against −6.0% (IQR −126.1 to 86.9) for dihydroartemisinin-piperaquine alone (p<0.0001)G6PD-normal males aged 5-50 with asymptomatic P falciparum gametocytaemia, Bamako, MaliOral, 15 mg/kg per day for 3 days, added to dihydroartemisinin-piperaquine80 randomised across four arms; 20 in the methylene blue arm, 11 of whom were infectious at baselineDicko 2018, Lancet Infect Dis (NCT02831023), PMID 29422384
Improvement on Montgomery-Asberg and Hamilton depression rating scales (P = 0.02 and 0.05, last-observation-carried-forward) and Hamilton anxiety scale (P = 0.02) at the active dose; no significant effect on cognitive measuresAdults with bipolar disorder treated with lamotrigineOral, 195 mg daily against a 15 mg daily comparator, double-blind crossover over 6 months37 enrolledAlda 2017, Br J Psychiatry (NCT00214877), PMID 27284082
Mortality 0% in the treated group against 21.4% (6 of 28) in controls; vasoplegic syndrome lasted under 6 hours in all treated patients against over 48 hours in 8 controls (p = 0.0007)Cardiac surgery patients meeting five criteria for postoperative vasoplegic syndrome, drawn from 638 consecutive cases across five collaborating institutions in Buenos Aires (indexed by PubMed as a multicentre study)Intravenous, 1.5 mg/kg56 randomised, 28 per armLevin 2004, Ann Thorac Surg, PMID 14759425
Terminal half-life estimated at 5.25 hours after intravenous administration; oral AUC 9 nmol/min/mL against 137 nmol/min/mL intravenously; urinary recovery of methylene blue plus leuco form 18% of an oral and 28% of an intravenous doseHealthy volunteers100 mg intravenously and 100 mg orally, with and without mesna7 volunteersPeter 2000, Eur J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 10952480
Median time to peak 16 hours; half-life 14-27 hours after 200 mg and 6-26 hours after 400 mg; absolute oral bioavailability calculated at 139.19 ± 52.00%; peak concentration did not increase proportionally with doseHealthy volunteers after 2 L bowel-cleansing preparationSingle oral doses of 200 mg and 400 mg (delayed-release MMX tablet), compared with 100 mg intravenously in the same subjects22 subjectsRepici 2012, Contemp Clin Trials, PMID 22101227
Median lifespan not altered in either sex; maximum lifespan (90th percentile) increased 6% in females only (P = 0.004). A suggestion of a negative effect in males at one site (P = 0.07), with a 13% decline in median survival thereGenetically heterogeneous UM-HET3 mice at three independent test sites (NIA Interventions Testing Program)Dietary from 4 months of age, at 27 mg per kg of diet in the paper's Results text and 28 mg per kg (28 ppm) in the Methods of the same paperPer-arm group sizes not stated in the text retrieved; three sites pooledHarrison 2014, Aging Cell, PMID 24245565
Probe-trial visits to training-baited holes 66% in treated animals against 31% in saline controls; brain cytochrome c oxidation increased at 24 hours after injection but not at 1 or 2 hoursNormal rats trained for 5 days in a baited holeboard mazeIntraperitoneal, 1 mg/kg, post-trainingNot stated in the abstractCallaway 2004, Pharmacol Biochem Behav, PMID 14724055
Methylene blue increases cellular ATP output by 37 to 70%.The figure is real and traceable, but not to what it is attached to. Atamna and colleagues (FASEB J 2008, PMID 17928358) measured oxygen consumption, not ATP, in human IMR90 fibroblasts in tissue culture at nanomolar concentrations, and reported an enhancement of 37-70%. IMR90 is a proliferating fibroblast line, not aged cells, and tissue culture is not a person. The circulating version substitutes ATP for oxygen consumption and aged cells for that line, while keeping the percentage intact. Searched PubMed for methylene blue combined with ATP under Humans[MeSH] and in vivo: ten records, none reporting an ATP measurement in a living human.No source found
Methylene blue increases ATP production by 20 to 30% in neurons with impaired electron transport, per Wen 2011.Wen and colleagues 2011 (J Biol Chem, PMID 21454572) exists and is the correct mechanistic citation for methylene blue as an alternative electron carrier. Its abstract reports increased cellular oxygen consumption rates and reduced anaerobic glycolysis in cultured neuronal cells, protection at low nanomolar concentrations, and rescue in rodent Parkinson and cerebral ischaemia models. It states no ATP percentage. Searched the PubMed record and abstract text for any 20% or 30% ATP figure and found none. The citation is accurate; the number attached to it is not in the record retrieved.No source found
One to four milligrams orally is the low, cognition-enhancing dose demonstrated in human trials.Searched PubMed on 18 August 2026 with ("methylene blue"[tiab]) AND (cognition[tiab] OR cognitive[tiab]) AND ("healthy volunteers"[tiab] OR "healthy adults"[tiab]) AND (randomised[tiab] OR randomized[tiab]). That string is scoped to healthy volunteers and returns nothing beyond the two San Antonio imaging studies; it does not cover randomised methylene blue trials with cognitive or memory endpoints in patient populations, of which at least four exist — PMID 25018057 (claustrophobia, 260 mg oral, n=42), PMID 28686823 (PTSD, 260 mg oral, n=42), PMID 33091706 (postoperative cognitive dysfunction, 2 mg/kg intravenous, n=248) and PMID 40696945 (postoperative delirium, 2 mg/kg intravenous, n=217). The dose conclusion survives all of them. The San Antonio trials used 280 mg as a single oral dose (Rodriguez 2016, PMID 27351678) and 282 mg daily (NCT02380573); the patient trials used 260 mg orally or 2 mg/kg intravenously; and ClinicalTrials.gov returns no study testing a single-digit milligram oral dose against a cognitive endpoint. The milligram-scale range presented as the evidence-backed cognitive dose has no trial behind it in either database.No source found
Methylene blue has a half-life of 5 to 6.5 hours.Two human studies disagree and both are real. Peter 2000 (PMID 10952480) estimated a terminal half-life of 5.25 hours in seven volunteers after 100 mg intravenously. Repici 2012 (PMID 22101227) reported 14 to 27 hours after 200 mg orally and 6 to 26 hours after 400 mg in 22 volunteers, using a delayed-release formulation. The figure in general circulation is the intravenous one, applied without qualification to oral use. The same pair of studies found oral and intravenous exposure differing roughly fifteen-fold, so a route-free half-life for this compound is not a usable number.No source found
USP or pharmaceutical-grade methylene blue is free of the heavy-metal contaminants found in industrial dye grade.Searched PubMed for methylene blue combined with USP grade or pharmaceutical grade and impurity, contaminant, arsenic or lead: two records, neither an analysis of product purity. A broader search combining methylene blue with purity or contamination and heavy metals or impurities returns 317 records, effectively all concerning methylene blue as an adsorption target in water-treatment chemistry rather than as a product under analysis. No published comparative assay of grades sold for ingestion was located. The grade distinction reflects a written specification; the contaminant comparison attached to it has no measurement behind it in the indexed literature.No source found
Methylene blue extends lifespan.Harrison 2014 (Aging Cell, PMID 24245565) reports a real result that the claim reverses. Methylene blue was fed to genetically heterogeneous UM-HET3 mice at three independent sites under the NIA Interventions Testing Program from four months of age, at 27 mg per kg of diet in the paper's Results text and 28 mg per kg (28 ppm) in its Methods — the single cited source disagrees with itself on the dose. Median lifespan was not altered in either sex. Maximum lifespan at the 90th percentile rose 6% in females only (P = 0.004), and the paper records a suggestion of a negative effect in males at one site (P = 0.07) with a 13% decline in median survival there. Per-arm group sizes are not given in the text retrieved. No human lifespan data exist.No source found
Doses below 2 mg/kg carry no risk of serotonin syndrome.The 1 to 2 mg/kg figure in the clinical literature is the treatment dose for methaemoglobinaemia, not a safety threshold. Searched PubMed for methylene blue with 2 mg/kg and safety threshold or serotonin: nine records, none establishing a dose below which serotonin toxicity does not occur, and the set includes case reports of serotonin syndrome following methylene blue given during cardiothoracic surgery. The approved label states no dose threshold at all: it directs outright avoidance of concomitant serotonergic drugs and opioids and advises a 72-hour interval after the last dose. A threshold that appears in no label and no study is not a finding.No source found
Methylene blue was the first fully synthetic drug administered to humans.The assertion appears in the peer-reviewed literature. Schirmer and colleagues open their 2011 Neurobiology of Aging review by describing methylene blue as the first synthetic drug with a 120-year history of application (PMID 21316815). A review statement is not a primary source, and the abstract attaches no citation to it. Searched PubMed for methylene blue with history or historical and Ehrlich or first synthetic drug: fifteen records, none a primary historical document establishing priority. The claim may well be correct. It is repeated here on secondary authority and recorded as untraced.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The one approved indication, and the boxed warning

The approved intravenous product, a 5 mg/mL sterile solution, was cleared under NDA 204630 on 8 April 2016 with an orphan designation and a Type 5 classification covering a new formulation or new manufacturer. Its indication is singular: treatment of paediatric and adult patients with acquired methaemoglobinaemia. The compound had been in clinical use for roughly a century before that under grandfathered status, which is why a 2016 approval date attaches to a molecule that predates the modern regulatory system. No oral methylene blue product carries FDA approval for anything. The European, British, Canadian, Australian and Japanese registers were not searched for this page, so nothing here establishes what is or is not approved outside the United States.

That label carries a boxed warning. It states the product may cause serious or fatal serotonergic syndrome when combined with serotonergic drugs and opioids, and directs avoidance of concomitant SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs and opioids. The pharmacology behind it was characterised in vitro. Ramsay and colleagues reported in 2007 that methylene blue is a potent tight-binding inhibitor of purified human monoamine oxidase A, inhibiting MAO B only at much higher concentrations. Delport and colleagues later measured an IC50 of 0.07 microM against MAO A while designing analogues that lose the property. Pharmacologically, this is a monoamine oxidase inhibitor.

Two further label positions belong on the record. The product is contraindicated in glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency because of the risk of haemolytic anaemia, and prescribers are directed to use methods other than pulse oximetry to assess oxygen saturation, since the dye interferes with the reading. Section 2.1 instructs that alternative interventions be considered where methaemoglobinaemia does not resolve after two doses. The label's Overdosage section separately records mild methaemoglobinaemia, up to 7%, among the effects reported after cumulative intravenous doses of 7 mg/kg or more of a methylene blue class product, alongside nausea, vomiting, chest tightness, tremor and electrocardiogram changes lasting 2 to 12 hours.

Sections 8.1 and 8.2 of the same label carry reproductive data. Intra-amniotic injection of a methylene blue class product during the second trimester was associated with neonatal intestinal atresia and fetal death. Methylene blue was administered orally to pregnant rats at 50 to 350 mg/kg per day during organogenesis, with maternal and embryofetal toxicity at all doses and most evident at 200 and 350 mg/kg per day; the label gives 200 mg/kg as roughly 32 times a clinical dose of 1 mg/kg on a body-surface-area basis. In pregnant rabbits at 50, 100 and 150 mg/kg per day, maternal death was observed at 100 mg/kg and spontaneous abortion at all dose levels. The label states there is no information on the presence of methylene blue in human milk and directs that breast-feeding be discontinued for up to eight days after treatment.

What the mitochondrial claim actually rests on

Wen and colleagues established the mechanism that gets invoked. Working in cultured neuronal cells in 2011, they demonstrated that methylene blue accepts electrons from NADH and transfers them to cytochrome c, bypassing a blockade at complex I and III, and that a derivative with its redox centre disabled by N-acetylation had no effect on mitochondrial complex activities. Protection was observed at low nanomolar concentrations. The same paper reported attenuation of rotenone-induced dopaminergic loss in a rodent Parkinson model and reduced damage after transient focal cerebral ischaemia. The mechanism is established in cells, at nanomolar concentrations.

Atamna and colleagues supplied the numbers that travel furthest. In human IMR90 fibroblasts, methylene blue extended replicative life span by more than twenty population doublings, increased mitochondrial complex IV by 30%, and enhanced cellular oxygen consumption by 37 to 70%. Every one of those figures comes from tissue culture at nanomolar concentrations. None is a measurement of ATP, none is from an aged animal, and none is from a person. The 37-to-70% figure now circulates as an ATP increase in aged cells, which is a different quantity measured in a different system.

Rodent behaviour has been measured directly. Callaway and colleagues reported in 2004 that rats given 1 mg/kg intraperitoneally after training in a baited holeboard maze made 66% of their probe-trial visits to training-baited holes, against 31% for saline controls, and that brain cytochrome c oxidation was raised 24 hours after injection but not at one or two hours. Group sizes are not stated in the abstract. The finding is a rat finding at 1 mg/kg; the human imaging trials described below administered roughly four times that per kilogram.

What was measured in human brains

Rodriguez and colleagues ran the trial that most cognitive claims trace back to. Twenty-six healthy adults aged 22 to 62 were randomised, double-blind, to a single oral dose or placebo and scanned before and one hour after administration. Reported in Radiology in 2016, the trial found increased response in bilateral insular cortex during a psychomotor vigilance task and in prefrontal, parietal and occipital cortex during a short-term memory task, alongside a 7% increase in correct responses during memory retrieval (P = .01). The dose, per the paper's methods, was 280 mg of USP-grade methylene blue in immediate-release capsules.

Secondary material describes single-digit milligram amounts as the low, mitochondrial-range dose. The trial behind the memory number used 280 mg, roughly 4 mg/kg. A companion analysis from the same group in Brain Imaging and Behavior in 2017 reported that the same administration was associated with a reduction in cerebral blood flow in a task-related network during a visuomotor task, together with stronger resting-state functional connectivity in multiple regions linking perception and memory functions. Cerebral blood flow was reported as reduced, not increased.

Russo and colleagues then measured cerebral oxygen metabolism directly. Fifteen euthymic patients with bipolar I disorder and fifteen age- and gender-matched controls each underwent two MRI sessions after intravenous methylene blue at 0.5 mg/kg or placebo, single-blind and randomised crossover. Global cerebral blood flow and the cerebral metabolic rate of oxygen both decreased after methylene blue across all participants. Regional reductions were larger in patients than controls in the frontal lobe (−14.2 ± 19.5% against 2.3 ± 14.8%) and anterior cingulate (−14.8 ± 23.7% against 2.4 ± 15.7%).

One larger study exists and has not been published. NCT02380573, sponsored by a Texas academic health science centre, enrolled 117 participants across healthy middle age, healthy ageing, mild cognitive impairment and mild Alzheimer's disease, administering 282 mg orally daily against an FD&C Blue No. 2 comparator, and completed in July 2023. Summary results were submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov on 25 July 2024 and posted on 19 September 2024. A PubMed search on that registration number returns no indexed publication as of August 2026, so the largest cognitive dataset has not been peer-reviewed.

Two further randomised human trials used a memory endpoint rather than an imaging one. Telch and colleagues gave 260 mg orally immediately after six five-minute extinction trials to adults with marked claustrophobic fear, 23 assigned to methylene blue and 19 to placebo, and reported that participants with low fear after training showed significantly less fear at one-month follow-up while participants with moderate to high post-training fear tended to fare worse; enhancement of incidental contextual memory was unrelated to fear level. Zoellner and colleagues used the same 260 mg dose after five daily imaginal exposure sessions in 42 patients with chronic post-traumatic stress disorder, randomised against placebo and a waitlist, and reported gains that did not differ from standard prolonged exposure at three-month follow-up.

The Alzheimer's programme, and which molecule each trial gave

The programme began with methylene blue itself. Wischik and colleagues reported an exploratory double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled dose-finding trial of methylthioninium at 69, 138 and 228 mg per day in 321 subjects with mild or moderate Alzheimer's disease, registered as NCT00515333, with change on the ADAS-cog at 24 weeks as the primary outcome and a regional cerebral blood flow sub-study in 135 subjects. At 24 weeks the reported benefits were at 138 mg per day: a treatment effect of −5.42 ADAS-cog units in moderate subjects (corrected p = 0.047), and 1.97% on regional cerebral blood flow in mild subjects (corrected p < 0.001). Delivery of the highest dose was impaired by dose-dependent dissolution and absorption limitations. Baddeley and colleagues, describing the programme's chemistry, name that formulation as a chloride salt, methylthioninium chloride, methylene blue.

The two phase 3 trials that followed administered something else. Both gave leuco-methylthioninium bis(hydromethanesulfonate) — LMTM, later renamed hydromethylthionine mesylate — a stable reduced form of the methylthioninium moiety formulated as a different salt. Gauthier and colleagues reported the first in The Lancet in 2016: 891 participants with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease at 115 centres across 16 countries, randomised 3:3:4 to 75 mg twice daily, 125 mg twice daily, or a 4 mg twice-daily control. Prespecified primary analyses showed no benefit on either co-primary outcome.

Wilcock and colleagues published the second in 2018. Eight hundred participants with mild Alzheimer's disease were randomised to 100 mg or 4 mg twice daily; before unblinding, the statistical analysis plan was revised to compare non-randomised monotherapy subgroups of 79 and 76 against 396 and 297, and it is those revised comparisons that reached significance. The paper's own conclusion states that a further suitably randomised trial is required to test the hypothesis. LUCIDITY, reported by Wischik and colleagues in 2026 in 598 amyloid-PET-positive participants, could not demonstrate significant differences on its co-primary clinical endpoints at 52 weeks, though several secondary and delayed-start outcomes did separate and are logged in the ledger.

The 4 mg control arm in LUCIDITY was methylthioninium chloride, methylene blue, given twice weekly and intended as an inert urinary colourant to preserve the blind; the investigators concluded it had therapeutic activity of its own. A population pharmacokinetic analysis in the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology in 2026, built on 7,784 plasma measurements from 710 participants, described U-shaped clearance over 24 months producing plasma concentrations at 12 months three times (mesylate) and five times (chloride) above linear-model predictions, and concluded that comparable urinary discolouration cannot be maintained without therapeutic activity. Schelter and colleagues then compared the 16 mg/day arm against propensity-score-matched placebo controls from the Critical Path for Alzheimer's Disease database, matched natural-history controls from ADNI, and a meta-analysis of placebo arms, rather than against a randomised placebo group. Authorship across these is substantially the sponsor's.

The rest of the human record

Dicko and colleagues ran a phase 2, single-blind randomised controlled trial in Bamako, Mali, enrolling 80 G6PD-normal male participants aged 5 to 50 with asymptomatic Plasmodium falciparum gametocytaemia. Twenty received dihydroartemisinin-piperaquine plus 15 mg/kg per day of oral methylene blue for three days. Among those infectious at baseline, that arm showed a median 100% within-person reduction in mosquito infectivity at day 2 by membrane feeding, against −6.0% for dihydroartemisinin-piperaquine alone (p<0.0001). Eleven participants in the arm were infectious at baseline and contributed to the comparison. Haemoglobin changes were similar to controls.

Psychiatry has two small trials thirty years apart, and both share a design problem. Naylor and colleagues ran a two-year double-blind crossover in 31 bipolar patients maintained on lithium, comparing 300 mg per day against 15 mg per day; seventeen completed, and depression ratings were lower in the higher-dose year. Alda and colleagues repeated the structure in 2017 with 37 participants on lamotrigine, comparing 195 mg against 15 mg, reporting improvement on the Montgomery-Åsberg and Hamilton depression scales (P = 0.02 and 0.05) and the Hamilton anxiety scale (P = 0.02), with no significant cognitive effect. In each, the comparator was a low dose of the same compound rather than an inert placebo.

Levin and colleagues randomised 56 cardiac surgery patients with vasoplegic syndrome to 1.5 mg/kg intravenously or placebo and reported no deaths in the treated arm against six of 28 in controls. The 56 were identified by five criteria from 638 consecutive cases across five collaborating institutions in Buenos Aires, and PubMed indexes the paper as a multicentre study. It is a 2004 trial with 28 patients per arm and an unusually large effect. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 339 studies naming methylene blue as an intervention, and 400 by free-text term, when its API was queried on 18 August 2026; the conditions those studies most often list are septic shock, sentinel lymph node mapping, periodontitis and cancer surgery, which are dye and photodynamic uses rather than metabolic ones.

Two randomised trials in elderly surgical patients test a higher intravenous dose than any imaging study. Deng and colleagues randomised 248 patients undergoing major non-cardiac surgery, open-label, to 2 mg/kg intravenously after anaesthetic induction or saline, and reported postoperative delirium in 7.3% against 24.2% (OR 0.24, 95% CI 0.11 to 0.53, p < 0.001) and early postoperative cognitive dysfunction at day 7 in 16.1% against 40.2% (OR 0.30, 95% CI 0.16 to 0.57, p < 0.001). Zhang and colleagues randomised 217 elderly joint replacement patients to the same 2 mg/kg and reported delirium in 8.3% against 20.4% (hazard ratio 0.39, 95% CI 0.173 to 0.858, p = 0.024), with postoperative fever more common in the treated group, 16.5% against 7.4% (p = 0.039).

Pharmacokinetics that do not agree

Two published human studies give incompatible half-lives. Peter and colleagues measured whole-blood concentrations by HPLC in seven volunteers after 100 mg intravenously and 100 mg orally, estimating a terminal half-life of 5.25 hours; oral area under the curve was 9 nmol/min/mL against 137 for the intravenous route, a difference they attributed to organ distribution. Repici and colleagues, studying a delayed-release oral tablet in 22 healthy volunteers after bowel preparation, reported a median time to peak of 16 hours and half-lives of 14 to 27 hours after 200 mg and 6 to 26 hours after 400 mg. Formulation differs between the two, and so does route.

The later study also reported an absolute oral bioavailability of 139.19 ± 52.00%, calculated as the dose-corrected ratio of oral to intravenous exposure. A bioavailability above 100% is not physically meaningful for an unchanged drug and points to an assay or modelling artefact — plausibly the redox interconversion between methylene blue and its leuco form, which any assay has to resolve. Peak blood concentration did not rise proportionally with dose. The single half-life figure quoted on secondary pages is the intravenous one, applied without the route it belongs to.

Excretion is partial. Peter and colleagues recovered 18% of an oral dose and 28% of an intravenous dose in urine as methylene blue plus its leuco form. Urinary discolouration was reported after both routes in the trials logged above. Dicko and colleagues excluded blue urine from their adverse-event comparison for that reason; the LUCIDITY investigators used a low-dose methylthioninium chloride arm specifically to match it; and the San Antonio cognitive trial used a dye and a urinary analgesic to mask it.

What is not known

No trial has tested a sustained single-digit milligram oral dose of methylene blue against a cognitive endpoint in healthy adults. The published oral human record does reach single-digit milligrams: the LUCIDITY control arm gave methylthioninium chloride 4 mg twice weekly to part of 598 participants. At the other end it runs to 15 mg/kg per day for three days in the Bamako malaria trial, which in a 50 kg participant is roughly 750 mg a day. Intravenous exposures in the trials logged here run from 0.5 mg/kg to 2 mg/kg. What is missing is not a low dose but a low daily oral dose measured for cognition. No oral formulation holds FDA approval for any indication, and no non-US register was searched for this page, so nothing here establishes what is approved elsewhere. Long-term oral exposure is characterised mainly within the tau-aggregation programme, whose two phase 3 trials administered a different salt in a different oxidation state; only the phase 2 and the LUCIDITY control arm speak directly to methylthioninium chloride. Pharmacokinetics remain unsettled: two human studies give half-lives differing by a factor of four, and one reports an absolute bioavailability above 100%, which cannot be literally true of an unchanged drug. The largest cognitive dataset, 117 participants completed in July 2023, posted summary results to a registry in September 2024 but has not been published or peer-reviewed. No study has established a dose below which the MAO-A inhibition that drives the boxed warning ceases to be relevant. Sex differences are unexamined in humans, and the one rodent lifespan result was female-only and did not touch median survival. The reproductive data on the label are animal data plus case reports of intra-amniotic exposure; no controlled human pregnancy or lactation study exists, the label states there is no information on methylene blue in human milk, and the approved product is contraindicated in G6PD deficiency.

Questions

Is methylene blue FDA approved?
Yes, narrowly. An intravenous solution at 5 mg/mL was approved under NDA 204630 on 8 April 2016 with an orphan designation, for the treatment of paediatric and adult patients with acquired methaemoglobinaemia. That is the only approved indication and the only approved route. No oral methylene blue product holds FDA approval for anything. The label carries a boxed warning for serious or fatal serotonin syndrome with concomitant serotonergic drugs and opioids, plus a contraindication in G6PD deficiency. Registers outside the United States were not searched for this page, so nothing here speaks to approval elsewhere.
Did a human trial actually find a memory improvement?
One did, at a scale worth stating precisely. Rodriguez and colleagues reported in Radiology in 2016 that 26 healthy adults randomised to a single oral dose or placebo showed a 7% increase in correct responses during memory retrieval (P = .01), alongside changes in fMRI response. The dose was 280 mg. It was a single-administration imaging study, not a trial of sustained cognitive effect. Two randomised trials in patient populations, in claustrophobia and PTSD, used 260 mg orally; no randomised trial in healthy adults has tested the single-digit milligram doses described elsewhere as the low range.
Were the Alzheimer's trials trials of methylene blue?
The phase 2 was; the two phase 3 trials were not. Wischik and colleagues tested oral methylthioninium chloride at 69, 138 and 228 mg per day in 321 subjects with mild or moderate Alzheimer's disease and reported benefit at 138 mg per day at 24 weeks. The phase 3 trials then administered leuco-methylthioninium bis(hydromethanesulfonate), later renamed hydromethylthionine mesylate, a reduced form of the same moiety formulated as a different salt. Gauthier 2016 randomised 891 participants and its prespecified primary analyses showed no benefit on either co-primary outcome. LUCIDITY, in 598 participants, could not separate treatment from control at 52 weeks; its control arm was methylthioninium chloride 4 mg twice weekly.
Why do published half-lives disagree so widely?
Because they were measured by different routes with different formulations. Peter 2000 estimated 5.25 hours after 100 mg intravenously in seven volunteers. Repici 2012 reported 14 to 27 hours after 200 mg of a delayed-release oral tablet in 22 volunteers. The same pair of studies found oral and intravenous exposure differing roughly fifteen-fold. Where a compound behaves that differently by route, quoting a single route-free half-life discards the information that makes the number meaningful.
Does methylene blue extend lifespan?
The one controlled mammalian test says mostly no. The NIA Interventions Testing Program, reported by Harrison and colleagues in 2014, fed methylene blue to genetically heterogeneous mice at three sites from four months of age — at 27 mg per kg of diet according to the paper's Results text and 28 mg per kg (28 ppm) according to its Methods, a disagreement inside the single source. Median lifespan was unchanged in both sexes. Maximum lifespan at the 90th percentile rose 6% in females only, and the paper notes a possible negative signal in males at one site. No human lifespan data exist for this compound.

References

  1. US Food and Drug Administration. Methylene blue injection, USP, 5 mg/mL: prescribing information for the product approved under NDA 204630 (original approval 8 April 2016; orphan designation; submission Type 5). Label version effective 28 May 2025; Structured Product Label 420bd985-ac55-44b9-b8a0-a5098220575b. Sections relied on here: 2.1 dosage, 4 contraindications, 5.1 boxed serotonin syndrome warning, 5.3 lack of effectiveness, 5.4 haemolytic anaemia, 5.5 interference with pulse oximetry, 8.1 pregnancy, 8.2 lactation, 10 overdosage, 11 description. Retrieved via the openFDA drug label and Drugs@FDA endpoints. View on api.fda.gov
  2. Mechanism and monoamine oxidase inhibition. Ramsay RR, Dunford C, Gillman PK. Methylene blue and serotonin toxicity: inhibition of monoamine oxidase A (MAO A) confirms a theoretical prediction. Br J Pharmacol. 2007;152(6):946-951. PMID 17721552 (carries a comment with author reply in Can J Anaesth; no erratum or retraction). Delport A, Harvey BH, Petzer A, Petzer JP. Methylene Blue Analogues with Marginal Monoamine Oxidase Inhibition Retain Antidepressant-like Activity. ACS Chem Neurosci. 2018;9(12):2917-2928. PMID 29976053 — source of the MAO-A IC50 of 0.07 microM for methylene blue. Wen Y, Li W, Poteet EC, et al. Alternative mitochondrial electron transfer as a novel strategy for neuroprotection. J Biol Chem. 2011;286(18):16504-16515. PMID 21454572. Atamna H, Nguyen A, Schultz C, et al. Methylene blue delays cellular senescence and enhances key mitochondrial biochemical pathways. FASEB J. 2008;22(3):703-712. PMID 17928358. View on doi.org
  3. Callaway NL, Riha PD, Bruchey AK, Munshi Z, Gonzalez-Lima F. Methylene blue improves brain oxidative metabolism and memory retention in rats. Pharmacol Biochem Behav. 2004;77(1):175-181. PMID 14724055. Sample sizes per group are not stated in the abstract. View on doi.org
  4. Rodriguez P, Zhou W, Barrett DW, et al. Multimodal Randomized Functional MR Imaging of the Effects of Methylene Blue in the Human Brain. Radiology. 2016;281(2):516-526. PMID 27351678. The 280 mg dose and the enrolment and exclusion figures are taken from the methods section of the PMC full text (PMC5084971) and the NCT01836094 record, not from the abstract. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum recorded in PubMed. View on doi.org
  5. Further randomised human trials with cognitive, memory or delirium endpoints. Rodriguez P, Singh AP, Malloy KE, et al. Methylene blue modulates functional connectivity in the human brain. Brain Imaging Behav. 2017;11(3):640-648. PMID 26961091. Telch MJ, Bruchey AK, Rosenfield D, et al. Effects of post-session administration of methylene blue on fear extinction and contextual memory in adults with claustrophobia. Am J Psychiatry. 2014;171(10):1091-1098. PMID 25018057. Zoellner LA, Telch M, Foa EB, et al. Enhancing Extinction Learning in Posttraumatic Stress Disorder With Brief Daily Imaginal Exposure and Methylene Blue: A Randomized Controlled Trial. J Clin Psychiatry. 2017;78(7):e782-e789. PMID 28686823. Deng Y, Wang R, Li S, et al. Methylene blue reduces incidence of early postoperative cognitive disorders in elderly patients undergoing major non-cardiac surgery: an open-label randomized controlled clinical trial. J Clin Anesth. 2021;68:110108. PMID 33091706. Zhang W, Ling F, Qi J, et al. Effect of intraoperative methylene blue on postoperative delirium in elderly patients undergoing joint replacement: a randomized controlled trial. Int J Surg. 2025;111(12):9384-9391. PMID 40696945. View on doi.org
  6. Russo A, Orzsik B, Yalin N, et al. Altered oxidative neurometabolic response to methylene blue in bipolar disorder revealed by quantitative neuroimaging. J Affect Disord. 2024;362:790-798. PMID 39019231. View on doi.org
  7. Wischik CM, Staff RT, Wischik DJ, et al. Tau aggregation inhibitor therapy: an exploratory phase 2 study in mild or moderate Alzheimer's disease. J Alzheimers Dis. 2015;44(2):705-720. PMID 25550228. Registered as NCT00515333. The intervention is methylthioninium administered as the chloride salt. View on doi.org
  8. Tau programme, supporting analyses. Baddeley TC, McCaffrey J, Storey JMD, et al. Complex disposition of methylthioninium redox forms determines efficacy in tau aggregation inhibitor therapy for Alzheimer's disease. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2015;352(1):110-118. PMID 25320049 — states the phase 2 formulation explicitly as a chloride salt, methylthioninium chloride, methylene blue. Wilcock GK, Gauthier S, Frisoni GB, et al. Potential of Low Dose Leuco-Methylthioninium Bis(Hydromethanesulphonate) (LMTM) Monotherapy for Treatment of Mild Alzheimer's Disease. J Alzheimers Dis. 2018;61(1):435-457. PMID 29154277 — the reported comparisons are non-randomised subgroup analyses specified in a revised analysis plan. van Maanen E, Goncalves A, Chen L, et al. Atypical population pharmacokinetics of hydromethylthionine in patients with Alzheimer's disease explains unexpected phase 3 trial results. Br J Clin Pharmacol. 2026;92(8):2645-2656. PMID 41917677. Schelter BO, Shiells H, Lo S, et al. Assessment of clinical and neuroimaging efficacy of treatment targeting tau pathology in mild cognitive impairment and mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease with hydromethylthionine mesylate using external control data. J Prev Alzheimers Dis. 2026;13(6):100560. PMID 42000569 — protocol TRx-237-080; comparators are propensity-score-matched CPAD placebo (127 pairs), matched ADNI natural-history controls (189 pairs) and meta-analytic placebo arms (n = 1,805-8,567), not a randomised placebo group. View on doi.org
  9. Gauthier S, Feldman HH, Schneider LS, et al. Efficacy and safety of tau-aggregation inhibitor therapy in patients with mild or moderate Alzheimer's disease: a randomised, controlled, double-blind, parallel-arm, phase 3 trial. Lancet. 2016;388(10062):2873-2884. PMID 27863809. Carries a linked commentary (PMID 27863808); no retraction or erratum. View on doi.org
  10. Wischik CM, Stefanacci R, Bentham P, et al. Clinical, imaging and blood biomarker outcomes in a Phase 3 clinical trial of tau aggregation inhibitor hydromethylthionine mesylate in mild cognitive impairment and mild to moderate dementia due to Alzheimer's disease. J Prev Alzheimers Dis. 2026;13(3):100480. PMID 41570392. LUCIDITY / TRx-237-039. View on doi.org
  11. Dicko A, Roh ME, Diawara H, et al. Efficacy and safety of primaquine and methylene blue for prevention of Plasmodium falciparum transmission in Mali: a phase 2, single-blind, randomised controlled trial. Lancet Infect Dis. 2018;18(6):627-639. PMID 29422384. Two linked commentaries; no erratum or retraction. View on doi.org
  12. Alda M, McKinnon M, Blagdon R, et al. Methylene blue treatment for residual symptoms of bipolar disorder: randomised crossover study. Br J Psychiatry. 2017;210(1):54-60. PMID 27284082. View on doi.org
  13. Naylor GJ, Martin B, Hopwood SE, Watson Y. A two-year double-blind crossover trial of the prophylactic effect of methylene blue in manic-depressive psychosis. Biol Psychiatry. 1986;21(10):915-920. PMID 3091097. Thirty-one bipolar subjects on lithium; 300 mg/day against 15 mg/day; seventeen completed. View on doi.org
  14. Levin RL, Degrange MA, Bruno GF, et al. Methylene blue reduces mortality and morbidity in vasoplegic patients after cardiac surgery. Ann Thorac Surg. 2004;77(2):496-499. PMID 14759425. PubMed publication types include Multicenter Study; the affiliation names five collaborating institutions in Buenos Aires. View on doi.org
  15. Peter C, Hongwan D, Kupfer A, Lauterburg BH. Pharmacokinetics and organ distribution of intravenous and oral methylene blue. Eur J Clin Pharmacol. 2000;56(3):247-250. PMID 10952480. View on doi.org
  16. Repici A, Di Stefano AFD, Radicioni MM, et al. Methylene blue MMX tablets for chromoendoscopy. Safety tolerability and bioavailability in healthy volunteers. Contemp Clin Trials. 2012;33(2):260-267. PMID 22101227. Disagrees with PMID 10952480 on half-life; reports an absolute oral bioavailability above 100%. View on doi.org
  17. Harrison DE, Strong R, Allison DB, et al. Acarbose, 17-alpha-estradiol, and nordihydroguaiaretic acid extend mouse lifespan preferentially in males. Aging Cell. 2014;13(2):273-282. PMID 24245565. The methylene blue dose is given as 27 mg per kg of diet in the Results text and 28 mg per kg (28 ppm) in the Methods. View on doi.org
  18. Schirmer RH, Adler H, Pickhardt M, Mandelkow E. Lest we forget you — methylene blue... Neurobiol Aging. 2011;32(12):2325.e7-16. PMID 21316815. Cited only as the secondary authority for the first-synthetic-drug assertion recorded in the unsourced array; it is a review, and no primary historical source for the priority claim was located. View on doi.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.