Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Tadalafil (IC-351)
Tadalafil is a phosphodiesterase type 5 inhibitor, indexed in PubChem as CID 110635 and approved by the FDA under NDA 021368 in November 2003. It is one of the few entries on this site that is a licensed medicine rather than an unapproved research chemical, and ClinicalTrials.gov holds 286 registered studies naming it. The human record is unusually large. What it covers is narrower than what is claimed from it, and the gap is where this page sits.
- Class
- Selective inhibitor of cyclic GMP-specific phosphodiesterase type 5 (PDE5); beta-carboline-derived tetracyclic diketopiperazine, the (6R,12aR) diastereomer
- CAS number
- 171596-29-5
- PubChem CID
- 110635
- Molecular formula
- C22H19N3O4
- Molecular weight
- 389.4 g/mol (PubChem CID 110635); FDA GSRS calculated value 389.4048; the NDA 021368 label states 389.41
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- IC-351, ICOS 351, GF-196960, LY450190 (development codes); UNII 742SXX0ICT; ChEMBL779; ChEBI 71940; DTXSID9046786; ATC G04BE08; InChIKey WOXKDUGGOYFFRN-IIBYNOLFSA-N. Marketed products are identified on this page by application number rather than by trade name: NDA 021368, NDA 022332, and the fixed-dose combinations with finasteride (NDA 215423) and with macitentan (NDA 218490).
Identity, and a regulatory position that inverts the usual one
Tadalafil ran through development under three codes, IC-351, GF-196960 and LY450190, and all three sit in the synonym list attached to a single PubChem entry: CID 110635, CAS 171596-29-5, molecular formula C22H19N3O4, molecular weight 389.4 g/mol, InChIKey WOXKDUGGOYFFRN-IIBYNOLFSA-N. The molecule came out of ICOS and was developed with Eli Lilly. The FDA global substance registry carries it as UNII 742SXX0ICT with a calculated mass of 389.4048, and ChEMBL indexes the same structure as CHEMBL779. Where the identity does divide is stereochemistry, and that is not incidental here. The registry holds separate records under separate UNIIs for the (6R,12aS) and (6S,12aR) diastereomers. The marketed substance is the (6R,12aR) form.
Approval history is a matter of record rather than inference. The product approved under NDA 021368 was approved on 21 November 2003, first for erectile dysfunction and later for the signs and symptoms of benign prostatic hyperplasia. The 20 mg product for pulmonary arterial hypertension was approved under NDA 022332 on 22 May 2009. Two fixed-dose combinations followed: finasteride with tadalafil, under NDA 215423 on 9 December 2021, now carried as discontinued in the Drugs@FDA product listing, and macitentan with tadalafil, under NDA 218490 on 22 March 2024. This page names those products by application number rather than by trade name.
That position inverts the usual one on this site. Most compounds indexed here hold no approval anywhere and many have no registered trial at all. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search for tadalafil returned 286 studies: 181 recorded as completed, 71 carrying a phase 3 designation, 23 recruiting, 16 terminated, 11 withdrawn and 38 with a status of UNKNOWN. The useful question is therefore not whether human data exist. It is which of the claims in circulation those data actually cover.
Claim ledger
12 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean terminal half-life 17.5 hours (5th, 95th percentiles 11.5 and 29.6); mean Cmax 378 micrograms per litre after 20 mg at a median 2 hours; oral clearance 2.48 L/h; apparent volume of distribution 62.6 L; steady state by day 5 with 1.6-fold accumulation; no substantial food effect and dose-proportional exposure from 2.5 to 20 mg | Healthy subjects pooled across thirteen clinical pharmacology studies | Oral, single 2.5-20 mg doses; separate multiple-dose study at 10 or 20 mg once daily for 10 days | 237 in the integrated analysis (half-life, Cmax, CL/F, Vz/F); food effect, diurnal variation and dose proportionality analysed in three of the thirteen studies, subject counts not stated in the abstract; 15 per parallel group in the multiple-dose study | Forgue 2006, Br J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 16487221 |
| On 20 mg, IIEF erectile function domain score rose a mean 7.9 points from baseline (p<0.001 vs placebo); 75% of intercourse attempts completed on Sexual Encounter Profile question 3; 81% reported improved erections at endpoint vs 35% on placebo | Men with mild to severe erectile dysfunction of various aetiologies, mean age 59 (range 22-82) | Oral, as needed, fixed daily doses of 2.5, 5, 10 or 20 mg, 12 weeks | 1,112 randomised across five double-blind placebo-controlled trials | Brock 2002, J Urol, PMID 12352386 (erratum J Urol 2005;173(2):664, dosage error in the published abstract) |
| At approximately 36 hours after dosing, 59.2% of intercourse attempts were reported successful vs 28.3% on placebo (p<0.001); at approximately 24 hours, 52.9% vs 29.1% (p<0.001). Headache, flushing, dyspepsia and myalgia were each significantly more frequent than placebo | Men with erectile dysfunction, mean age 57, Europe and United States | Oral 20 mg, single dose before each attempt, two 4-week intervals | 348 randomised (175 tadalafil, 173 placebo); 327 completed | Porst 2003, Urology, PMID 12837435 |
| Placebo-corrected mean treatment effect on 6-minute walk distance 33 m (95% CI 15 to 50); only the 40 mg arm met the prespecified significance level (P<0.01); 44 m (CI 20 to 69) in bosentan-naive patients vs 23 m (CI -2 to 48) on background bosentan; change in WHO functional class not statistically significant | Patients with idiopathic or associated pulmonary arterial hypertension, treatment-naive or on background bosentan | Oral 2.5, 10, 20 or 40 mg once daily for 16 weeks | 405 randomised | Galie 2009, Circulation, PMID 19470885 (erratum Circulation 2011;124(10):e279, dosage error in article text) |
| Total IPSS least-squares mean change -4.8 on 2.5 mg (P=0.003) and -4.7 on 5 mg (P=0.004) vs -3.0 on placebo; no significant improvement in peak urinary flow rate on either tadalafil dose, nor on the tamsulosin active control; IPSS storage subscore significant for 5 mg (-1.7, P=0.021) but not 2.5 mg (-1.5, P=0.072) | Asian men with lower urinary tract symptoms suggestive of benign prostatic hyperplasia | Oral once daily for 12 weeks | 612 randomised (placebo 154, 2.5 mg 151, 5 mg 155, tamsulosin 0.2 mg 152) | Yokoyama 2013, Int J Urol, PMID 22958078 |
| Phase 3, no effect on the primary outcome: 48-week decline in 6-minute walk distance was 51.0 +/- 9.3 m on placebo, 64.7 +/- 9.8 m on 0.3 mg/kg/day (p=0.307) and 59.1 +/- 9.4 m on 0.6 mg/kg/day (p=0.538), with no effect on any secondary outcome; graded Class I evidence that tadalafil does not slow ambulatory decline in this age band (Victor 2017). Earlier mechanism study: functional sympatholysis was impaired in the patient group despite background corticosteroids, and single oral doses of tadalafil or sildenafil alleviated exercise-induced muscle ischaemia dose-dependently and normalised the blunted exercise-induced rise in skeletal muscle blood flow measured by Doppler ultrasound; graded Class IV evidence specifically for the proposition that PDE5 inhibition restores functional sympatholysis, which is narrower than the blood-flow finding (Nelson 2014) | Victor 2017: boys aged 7 to 14 with Duchenne muscular dystrophy, all taking glucocorticoids. Nelson 2014: boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy and age-matched healthy male controls | Victor 2017: oral once daily for 48 weeks. Nelson 2014: oral, single doses, open-label dose-escalation crossover | 331 randomised (Victor 2017); 10 with Duchenne muscular dystrophy and 10 controls (Nelson 2014) | Victor 2017, Neurology, PMID 28972192 (NCT01865084, registry overall status TERMINATED, actual enrolment 331); and Nelson 2014, Neurology, PMID 24808022 |
| Subcortical cerebral blood flow rose non-significantly in all regions; largest treatment effect within white matter hyperintensities at +9.8% (P=.0960), which did not meet the primary endpoint. Incidental falls in systolic and diastolic blood pressure of 7.8 and 4.9 mmHg (P<.001). No serious adverse events observed | Older people with symptomatic cerebral small vessel disease, mean age 66.8 (SD 8.6) | Oral 20 mg, single administration, double-blind crossover against placebo at least 7 days apart | 55 | Pauls 2022, Alzheimers Dement, PMID 35135037 (PASTIS trial) |
| High-altitude pulmonary oedema developed in 7 of 9 on placebo and 1 of the 8 remaining on tadalafil (P=0.007), and in none of 10 on dexamethasone; systolic pulmonary artery pressure rose 13 mmHg (CI 6 to 20) on tadalafil vs 28 mmHg (CI 20 to 36) on placebo (P=0.005). Acute mountain sickness incidence did not differ from placebo (P=1.0); two tadalafil participants withdrew with severe acute mountain sickness on arrival | Adults with a previous episode of high-altitude pulmonary oedema, ascending from 490 m within 24 hours and staying two nights at 4,559 m | Oral 10 mg twice daily during ascent and stay | 29 randomised per the publication; ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT00274430 lists enrolment 30 — the two sources differ by one and the discrepancy is not explained in either | Maggiorini 2006, Ann Intern Med, PMID 17015867 (NCT00274430) |
| Blood and tumour myeloid-derived suppressor cell and regulatory T-cell concentrations fell, and blood CD8-positive T cells reactive to autologous tumour antigens rose (each P<0.05); the effect was maximal at the intermediate dose and not at the higher one, which the authors attributed to a possible off-target action on PDE11 | Patients with oral and oropharyngeal squamous cell carcinoma undergoing definitive surgical resection | Oral 10 mg/day, 20 mg/day or placebo for at least 20 days preoperatively | 35 registered enrolment on NCT00843635; three arms. The publication's abstract does not state a sample size | Weed 2015, Clin Cancer Res, PMID 25320361 |
| VO2max and the individual ventilatory and anaerobic thresholds were unchanged vs placebo in normoxia; oxygen pulse at the ventilatory threshold fell (13.3 +/- 1.8 vs 14.5 +/- 2.1 mL/beat, p=0.03) and systolic blood pressure fell before and after exercise (p<0.05) (PMID 17614028). In the separate salivary steroid study, salivary cortisol rose after maximal exercise on both arms but more after tadalafil (P=0.034 vs placebo), salivary testosterone rose after exercise on the tadalafil arm only (P=0.029 vs pre-exercise), the testosterone-to-cortisol and DHEAS-to-cortisol ratios fell after exercise on tadalafil (P=0.02 and P=0.037 vs placebo), and salivary DHEAS was unchanged (PMID 18559908). The steroids were measured in saliva, not serum | Healthy male athletes in both studies | Oral 20 mg single dose, double-blind crossover against placebo, cycle ergometer maximal test (PMID 17614028); oral single dose, double-blind crossover against placebo with 2-week washout (PMID 18559908) | 14 in the VO2max study (PMID 17614028); 9 in the salivary steroid study (PMID 18559908) | Di Luigi 2008, Int J Sports Med, PMID 17614028; and Di Luigi 2008, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 18559908 |
| Tadalafil was associated with risk reductions of 27 to 40 per cent across all three outcomes examined — Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease and mortality — with tamsulosin as the reference exposure. Per-outcome hazard ratios for tadalafil are not stated in the abstract; the hazard ratios reported there belong to the alpha-blocker comparisons (alfuzosin HR 0.73 for mortality, terazosin HR 0.74 for Parkinson's disease, terazosin HR 0.73 for Alzheimer's disease). Observational, not randomised, and not placebo-controlled | Male Medicare enrollees aged 65 and over with a diagnosis of benign prostatic hyperplasia, prescribed one of the study drugs between 2007 and 2020 | Oral, as prescribed in routine care; observational cohort analysed by Cox regression with tamsulosin as the reference exposure, adjusted for demographic, socioeconomic and comorbidity factors | 1.1 million analysed, mean follow-up 3.1 years | Fung 2024, PLoS One, PMID 39172922 |
| Testosterone-to-oestradiol ratio rose from baseline (p<0.01), alongside changes in IPSS, OAB-q short form and IIEF-5 scores (each p<0.001), a rise in Qmax (p<0.01) and a fall in post-void residual volume (p<0.001), with no change in the H-reflex. No serum testosterone value is reported, only the ratio; the controls were untreated rather than given placebo, and the study was single-blind | Young men with multiple sclerosis and erectile dysfunction | Oral 5 mg once daily for 4 weeks, single-blind, no placebo | 20 treated, 10 untreated controls | Francomano 2017, J Endocrinol Invest, PMID 27752863 |
| Tadalafil raises testosterone, often quoted with a percentage figure. | PubMed search for tadalafil AND testosterone AND randomized[pt], re-run 18 August 2026, returned zero records. A search for tadalafil AND "testosterone" AND (healthy men OR eugonadal) returned five records, none of them a randomised trial measuring serum testosterone in eugonadal men. The two primary studies that do exist point elsewhere. Di Luigi 2008 (PMID 18559908) measured salivary rather than serum steroids in nine athletes around a maximal exercise test and found cortisol rose more than testosterone, with the testosterone-to-cortisol ratio falling. Francomano 2017 (PMID 27752863) reported a testosterone-to-oestradiol ratio change in twenty men with multiple sclerosis on 5 mg once daily for four weeks, single-blind, with untreated rather than placebo controls, and reports no serum testosterone value. No percentage increase in serum total or free testosterone was traced to any primary source. | No source found | ||
| Tadalafil supports muscle growth, increases muscle protein synthesis, or improves nutrient delivery to trained muscle. | PubMed search for tadalafil AND "muscle protein synthesis", re-run 18 August 2026, returned zero records. A search for tadalafil AND resistance AND training AND randomized returned one record, PMID 38966990, which is a pulmonary arterial hypertension combination-therapy analysis in which "resistance" refers to pulmonary vascular resistance. The nearest primary measurement is Nelson 2014 (PMID 24808022), which measured forearm muscle oxygenation and blood flow in ten boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy, an ischaemia endpoint in a disease model, and made no hypertrophy or protein-synthesis measurement. No trial in healthy trained subjects reporting a change in muscle mass was located. | No source found | ||
| Tadalafil is a longevity or anti-ageing compound. | PubMed search for tadalafil AND lifespan, re-run 18 August 2026, returned two records: a review of erectile dysfunction in the ageing male (PMID 20518197) and a 2026 case report on late-onset hypogonadism-like symptoms (PMID 41869207). Neither describes a survival experiment. A search for tadalafil AND (aging OR senescence) AND (mice OR rats) AND survival returned zero records. No rodent lifespan study was located, and no human trial with a mortality primary endpoint. The only mortality figure traced is Fung 2024 (PMID 39172922), an observational Medicare cohort using tamsulosin as the reference drug rather than placebo, and one in which the per-outcome hazard ratio for tadalafil is not given in the abstract. | No source found | ||
| The back pain and myalgia seen with tadalafil are caused by PDE11 inhibition. | PubMed search for tadalafil AND PDE11 AND (back pain OR myalgia), re-run 18 August 2026, returned zero records. The two halves of the claim are separately documented and never joined. The NDA 021368 label's as-needed erectile dysfunction table gives back pain at 3 per cent on placebo, 3 per cent on 5 mg, 5 per cent on 10 mg and 6 per cent on 20 mg, and myalgia at 1, 1, 4 and 3 per cent across the same four columns: both reactions equal the placebo rate at 5 mg and separate from it only at 10 and 20 mg, and myalgia is non-monotonic, lower at 20 mg than at 10 mg. The same label reports 14-fold and 40-fold PDE5 selectivity over PDE11A1 and PDE11A4 and states that the physiological role and clinical consequence of PDE11 inhibition in humans have not been defined. Weed 2015 (PMID 25320361) invokes an off-target PDE11 action to explain a dose-response inversion in an immune endpoint, which is a different observation in a different tissue. | No source found | ||
| Bulk tadalafil powder is stable for a stated period at a stated temperature. | This entry previously stated a reconstituted-solution window, which was a lyophilised-peptide framing imported from another page's template and does not apply here: tadalafil is an orally administered crystalline small molecule, described on the NDA 021368 label as a crystalline solid practically insoluble in water and very slightly soluble in ethanol, and no route described anywhere on this page involves reconstitution. The claim has been restated to the storage window that actually circulates in catalogue copy for material sold as research chemical, and the searches re-run against it on 18 August 2026. Tadalafil AND stability AND (lyophilized OR powder OR storage) returned 29 records, all analytical method development, formulation or dissolution work. Tadalafil AND ("bulk powder" OR "raw powder") AND stability returned two records, PMIDs 40410841 and 24402462, both assay and formulation work. Tadalafil AND ("long-term storage" OR "shelf life") AND (solution OR reconstituted) returned zero. The closest thing to a storage finding is PMID 27618666, which reports that ball-milled amorphous forms held their state at room temperature — a formulation property of a deliberately vitrified material, not a shelf life for the marketed crystalline solid. No time-course, no purity curve and no defined temperature window was traced to a primary publication or to a regulatory document. | No source found | ||
| Tadalafil crosses the blood-brain barrier and acts centrally. | The search recorded here in an earlier version of this page was wrong and is corrected. Both queries were re-run against NCBI E-utilities on 18 August 2026. Tadalafil AND "blood brain barrier" returns 12 records, not zero (including PMIDs 31978378, 29068218, 32534033, 22359075 and 15674402); tadalafil AND "blood-brain barrier" AND penetration returns three (PMIDs 31978378, 29068218, 22359075). What those records contain cuts against the claim rather than supporting it. Mao 2018 (PMID 29068218) synthesised tadalafil derivatives whose stated advantage over the parent molecule was improved blood-brain barrier penetrability, and Zuccarello 2020 (PMID 31978378) is a review in which improved blood-brain barrier penetration is listed among the design goals for newly synthesised PDE5 inhibitors aimed at Alzheimer's disease. That is, the medicinal-chemistry literature treats the parent molecule's brain penetration as the limiting problem to be engineered around. Liebenberg 2012 (PMID 22359075) measured cortex and hippocampus concentrations for sildenafil, not tadalafil, and describes itself as the first formal demonstration that sildenafil crosses. Sedky 2020 (PMID 32534033) asserts in its rationale that tadalafil crosses the barrier, but its measurement is hippocampal cGMP in rats rather than a drug concentration. Central claims are also made from the PASTIS trial (PMID 35135037), which measured subcortical cerebral blood flow by arterial spin labelling, a vascular endpoint that does not establish entry into brain tissue, and which did not reach its primary endpoint. No brain-to-plasma ratio, cerebrospinal fluid concentration or direct permeability measurement for tadalafil in humans appears in any of the retrieved records. | No source found | ||
The selectivity table, and the row that gets dropped
Selectivity figures are printed in full on the label for the product approved under NDA 021368, which makes the omissions elsewhere easy to see. The label states that tadalafil is more than 10,000-fold more potent for PDE5 than for PDE1, PDE2, PDE3, PDE4 and PDE7, more than 9,000-fold more potent than for PDE8, PDE9 and PDE10, and 700-fold more potent than for PDE6, the retinal enzyme of phototransduction. Two rows break the pattern. Tadalafil is given as 14-fold more potent for PDE5 than for PDE11A1 and 40-fold more potent than for PDE11A4, and the label adds that it inhibits recombinant PDE11A1, and to a lesser degree PDE11A4, at concentrations within the therapeutic range.
Published sources do not agree on what that means. Weeks and colleagues at Vanderbilt expressed and purified human PDE11A4, measured PDE5A1 over PDE11A4 selectivities of 40-fold for tadalafil against 9,300-fold for vardenafil and 1,000-fold for sildenafil, and read the 40-fold figure as evidence that cross-reaction in patients was unlikely (PMID 15538396). Bischoff, writing the previous year, described the same molecule as extremely selective for PDE5 but also a potent inhibitor of PDE11, an enzyme he characterised as having unknown physiological function (PMID 15224129). Pomara and Morelli filed a comment on the Weeks paper taking the opposite reading, under the heading that PDE11 inhibition impacts on sperm quality; the authors replied in the same issue (PMID 15995718).
Nothing published since has settled it. The label's own language is that the physiological role and clinical consequence of PDE11 inhibition in humans have not been defined, and it lists PDE11 as present in human prostate, testes, skeletal muscle and adrenal cortex. A PubMed search combining tadalafil with PDE11 and either back pain or myalgia returned no records, which is worth weighing against how often those two adverse reactions are explained by PDE11 on secondary pages.
Pharmacokinetics, and what the 36 hours measures
The largest pooled pharmacokinetic analysis on this file is Forgue and colleagues' 2006 integrated analysis of thirteen clinical pharmacology studies in healthy subjects, run at Lilly Research Laboratories (PMID 16487221). Pooling 237 subjects given single doses of 2.5 to 20 mg, it reported a mean terminal half-life of 17.5 hours, with 5th and 95th percentiles of 11.5 and 29.6 hours. Mean Cmax after 20 mg was 378 micrograms per litre at a median 2 hours. Oral clearance averaged 2.48 litres per hour and apparent volume of distribution 62.6 litres. Diurnal variation, food effects and dose proportionality were analysed in three of the thirteen studies rather than across the pooled 237. A separate multiple-dose arm of fifteen subjects per group reached steady state by day five with 1.6-fold accumulation.
Several parameters that circulate as facts are absent from the record. The NDA 021368 label states plainly that absolute bioavailability following oral dosing has not been determined, so any percentage quoted for it comes from somewhere other than the regulatory file. What the label does supply: 94 per cent plasma protein binding at therapeutic concentrations, predominant CYP3A4 metabolism to a catechol whose methylcatechol glucuronide is the major circulating metabolite, excretion mainly in faeces at roughly 61 per cent of dose and in urine at roughly 36 per cent, and less than 0.0005 per cent of an administered dose recovered in semen.
That 36-hour figure is real and routinely misdescribed. It comes from Porst and colleagues' 2003 randomised trial in 348 men, in which participants attempted intercourse approximately 24 or 36 hours after a 20 mg dose: 59.2 per cent of attempts at 36 hours were reported successful against 28.3 per cent on placebo, and 52.9 against 29.1 per cent at 24 hours (PMID 12837435). This is a duration-of-response endpoint captured by patient diary. It is not a half-life and it does not describe how long the molecule is present.
The trials behind the approved indications
Erectile dysfunction was the first indication and carries the largest dataset. Brock and colleagues published integrated analyses of five randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled twelve-week trials totalling 1,112 men of mean age 59, with erectile dysfunction of mixed aetiology and severity (PMID 12352386). On 20 mg taken as needed, the erectile function domain of the International Index of Erectile Function rose by a mean 7.9 points from baseline against placebo, 75 per cent of intercourse attempts were completed on question 3 of the Sexual Encounter Profile, and 81 per cent reported improved erections at endpoint against 35 per cent on placebo. PubMed links an erratum at J Urol 2005;173(2):664 correcting a dosage error in the published abstract.
Prostate symptom trials produced a more mixed measurement set. Yokoyama and colleagues randomised 612 Asian men with lower urinary tract symptoms suggestive of benign prostatic hyperplasia to placebo, tadalafil 2.5 mg, tadalafil 5 mg or tamsulosin 0.2 mg for twelve weeks (PMID 22958078). Total International Prostate Symptom Score fell by 4.8 and 4.7 least-squares mean points on the two tadalafil arms against 3.0 on placebo. No significant improvement in peak urinary flow rate was observed on either tadalafil dose, nor in that trial on the tamsulosin control. The label states separately that the mechanism for reducing these symptoms has not been established.
PHIRST supplied the pulmonary arterial hypertension data. Galie and colleagues randomised 405 patients, treatment-naive or on background bosentan, to placebo or tadalafil at 2.5, 10, 20 or 40 mg once daily for sixteen weeks, with change in six-minute walk distance as the primary endpoint (PMID 19470885). Only the 40 mg arm met the prespecified significance level. The mean placebo-corrected treatment effect was 33 metres (95% CI 15 to 50), splitting into 44 metres in bosentan-naive patients against 23 metres (CI -2 to 48) in those already on bosentan. Change in WHO functional class was not statistically significant. PubMed links an erratum at Circulation 2011;124(10):e279 for a dosage error in the article text.
Endpoints the trials did not reach
Duchenne muscular dystrophy is the clearest case of a mechanism that held and an outcome that did not. Nelson and colleagues studied ten boys with the disease and ten age-matched healthy controls, found functional sympatholysis impaired in the patient group, and reported that single oral doses of tadalafil or sildenafil alleviated exercise-induced muscle ischaemia dose-dependently and normalised the blunted exercise-induced rise in forearm muscle blood flow (PMID 24808022). The journal graded it Class IV evidence, and graded it specifically for the proposition that PDE5 inhibition restores functional sympatholysis, which is narrower than the blood-flow finding reported alongside it. Three years later Victor and colleagues randomised 331 boys aged 7 to 14, all on glucocorticoids, to tadalafil at 0.3 or 0.6 mg per kilogram per day or placebo for 48 weeks (PMID 28972192).
That phase 3 trial missed. Declines in six-minute walk distance at 48 weeks were 51.0 plus or minus 9.3 metres on placebo, 64.7 plus or minus 9.8 on the low dose and 59.1 plus or minus 9.4 on the high dose, with p values of 0.307 and 0.538 against placebo, and no effect on any secondary outcome. The paper is graded Class I evidence that tadalafil does not slow ambulatory decline in that age band, and its registry record is carried as terminated for lack of efficacy. A prespecified exploratory upper-limb score declined less on the low dose in boys over ten, which the authors described as hypothesis-generating and nothing more.
Two further null results belong on the record because both are quoted in the affirmative elsewhere. The PASTIS trial gave 20 mg or placebo in crossover to 55 people with symptomatic cerebral small vessel disease, mean age 66.8, and measured subcortical cerebral blood flow by arterial spin labelling; flow rose in all subcortical regions without reaching significance, the largest effect being 9.8 per cent within white matter hyperintensities at P = .0960 (PMID 35135037). In healthy male athletes, Di Luigi and colleagues gave 20 mg or placebo in double-blind crossover to fourteen subjects and found VO2max and both the ventilatory and anaerobic thresholds unchanged in normoxia (PMID 17614028).
Small trials, and the claims built on them
Some of the smallest studies on this file carry the heaviest secondary traffic. Maggiorini and colleagues randomised 29 adults with a history of high-altitude pulmonary oedema to tadalafil 10 mg twice daily, dexamethasone 8 mg twice daily or placebo during an ascent from 490 metres and a two-night stay at 4,559 metres (PMID 17015867). Oedema developed in seven of nine on placebo and one of the eight remaining on tadalafil (P = 0.007), and systolic pulmonary artery pressure rose 13 mmHg on tadalafil against 28 on placebo. Acute mountain sickness incidence did not differ from placebo, and two tadalafil participants withdrew with severe acute mountain sickness on arrival.
Weed and colleagues ran a three-arm randomised study in patients undergoing definitive resection of oral and oropharyngeal squamous cell carcinoma, giving 10 mg daily, 20 mg daily or placebo for at least twenty days before surgery, with a registered enrolment of 35 on NCT00843635 (PMID 25320361). Blood and tumour myeloid-derived suppressor cells and regulatory T cells fell, and CD8-positive T cells reactive to autologous tumour antigen rose, each at P less than 0.05. The immunomodulatory effect was maximal at the intermediate dose and not at the higher one, which the authors attributed to an off-target action on PDE11.
Hormone claims trace to two small studies, neither of which reports what is attributed to it. Di Luigi and colleagues gave a single dose or placebo to nine healthy male athletes in double-blind crossover and sampled salivary steroids around a maximal exercise test: salivary testosterone rose after exercise on the tadalafil arm only, but salivary cortisol rose more on tadalafil than on placebo, and both the testosterone-to-cortisol and DHEAS-to-cortisol ratios fell (PMID 18559908). Francomano and colleagues reported a rise in the testosterone-to-oestradiol ratio across four weeks in twenty men with multiple sclerosis given 5 mg once daily, single-blind, with ten untreated men as controls and no placebo (PMID 27752863).
An observational signal, and material outside the supply chain
Fung and colleagues at the National Library of Medicine followed 1.1 million male Medicare enrollees aged 65 and over, diagnosed with benign prostatic hyperplasia and prescribed one of the study drugs between 2007 and 2020, for a mean 3.1 years. Taking tamsulosin as the reference, they reported tadalafil associated with risk reductions of 27 to 40 per cent across all three outcomes examined: Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease and mortality (PMID 39172922). This is an observational cohort with an active drug as its comparator rather than placebo, the per-outcome hazard ratios for tadalafil are not given in the abstract, and the authors asked for work on the mechanism. ClinicalTrials.gov lists one phase 2 PDE5-inhibitor study in Alzheimer's disease, NCT07172815, enrolment 244, status not yet recruiting.
A separate literature concerns material that is not what it says. Twohig and colleagues applied an atmospheric solids analysis probe with time-of-flight mass spectrometry to counterfeit tablets and to five herbal products sold as natural alternatives, and found three patterns across the five: tadalafil or sildenafil added, both added together, and analogues of the approved molecules added (PMID 20878886). The analogues are the part that matters here. An analogue carries the marketing claim and none of the pharmacology, toxicology or regulatory file summarised above, and no figure on this page transfers to one.
Every pharmacokinetic and efficacy number recorded here was generated with a characterised pharmaceutical product of known content, in a supervised trial, in a defined population. Tadalafil is a prescription medicine in the United States and in the other jurisdictions where it holds a marketing authorisation. Material circulating outside that route has no established relationship to the studies described.
What is not known
The human file is large and narrow at the same time. Almost all of it was generated in men with a diagnosed condition, and the trials that stepped outside those populations largely failed to reach their endpoints: the phase 3 Duchenne muscular dystrophy trial in 331 boys returned Class I evidence of no effect on ambulatory decline and is carried on ClinicalTrials.gov as terminated for lack of efficacy, PASTIS did not meet its cerebral blood flow endpoint in 55 participants, and a crossover study in fourteen healthy athletes found no change in VO2max or either threshold. No trial has characterised chronic administration in healthy adults for any non-clinical purpose, so the exposure most relevant to unsupervised use is the one least studied. Absolute oral bioavailability has never been determined; the NDA 021368 label states so directly, which means every percentage figure quoted for it originates outside the regulatory file. The physiological role and clinical consequence of PDE11 inhibition remain undefined on the current label, twenty-one years after the exchange between Weeks and colleagues and their commenters, and nothing published has connected it to the back pain and myalgia that appear in the adverse-reaction tables — reactions that, on the as-needed erectile dysfunction table, run at 3, 3, 5 and 6 per cent for back pain and 1, 1, 4 and 3 per cent for myalgia against placebo rates of 3 and 1 per cent, equalling placebo at 5 mg, separating from it only at 10 and 20 mg, and running non-monotonically for myalgia. Long-term exposure data are thinner than the size of the programme suggests: the label reports 1,434, 905 and 115 subjects treated for at least six months, one year and two years respectively on once-daily dosing. Women are barely represented outside the pulmonary arterial hypertension work. Nothing here establishes a dose, a schedule or a route for any individual, and none of the trials described enrolled healthy people for chronic administration.
Questions
Is tadalafil an approved medicine?
What is the half-life, and where does the 36-hour figure come from?
Does tadalafil inhibit PDE11, and does it matter?
Was tadalafil tested for muscular dystrophy?
Does tadalafil raise testosterone?
References
- US Food and Drug Administration. Prescribing information for the tadalafil product approved under NDA 021368. Structured Product Label set id bcd8f8ab-81a2-4891-83db-24a0b0e25895, effective 3 June 2026, labeller Eli Lilly and Company. Sections relied on here: 1 indications, 5.1-5.5 warnings, 6.1 clinical trials experience (adverse reaction tables and exposure durations), 11 description, 12.1 mechanism of action and PDE selectivity, 12.2 pharmacodynamics and the nitroglycerin interaction study in 150 subjects, 12.3 pharmacokinetics. Retrieved via the openFDA drug label endpoint on 18 August 2026. An earlier version of this page cited set id 2b22fb0c-f97a-4008-a83b-1695396ef11d, which the endpoint does not return; the set id above is the one served for this application. View on api.fda.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration, Drugs@FDA application records for NDA 021368 (original approval 21 November 2003), NDA 022332 (22 May 2009), NDA 215423 (9 December 2021, products listed as discontinued) and NDA 218490 (22 March 2024). Registry counts in this page come from a ClinicalTrials.gov API v2 intervention search for tadalafil run 18 August 2026: 286 studies total, 181 completed, 71 phase 3, 23 recruiting, 16 terminated, 11 withdrawn, 38 status UNKNOWN. View on api.fda.gov
- Identity data. PubChem CID 110635 (CAS 171596-29-5, C22H19N3O4, 389.4 g/mol, InChIKey WOXKDUGGOYFFRN-IIBYNOLFSA-N, synonym list including IC-351, GF-196960, LY450190, ChEMBL779, ChEBI 71940, ATC G04BE08), retrieved via PUG-REST 18 August 2026. FDA Global Substance Registration System record for tadalafil, UNII 742SXX0ICT, formula C22H19N3O4, calculated mass 389.4048; the registry holds separate records for the (6R,12aS) and (6S,12aR) diastereomers under UNIIs E319TQ0B6R and MGY23Z94HY. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Forgue ST, Patterson BE, Bedding AW, Payne CD, Phillips DL, Wrishko RE, Mitchell MI. Tadalafil pharmacokinetics in healthy subjects. Br J Clin Pharmacol. 2006;61(3):280-288. PMID 16487221. The abstract states that the integrated statistical analysis covered 237 subjects, and that diurnal variation, food effects and proportionality of exposure to dose were analysed in three studies rather than across that pooled set; subject counts for those three are not given. PubMed publication types carry no retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Weeks JL, Zoraghi R, Beasley A, Sekhar KR, Francis SH, Corbin JD. High biochemical selectivity of tadalafil, sildenafil and vardenafil for human phosphodiesterase 5A1 (PDE5) over PDE11A4 suggests the absence of PDE11A4 cross-reaction in patients. Int J Impot Res. 2005;17(1):5-9. PMID 15538396. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum; PubMed links a dissenting comment with author reply, Pomara G, Morelli G. Inhibition of phosphodiesterase 11 (PDE11) impacts on sperm quality. Int J Impot Res. 2005;17(4):385-386, author reply 387. PMID 15995718. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Bischoff E. Potency, selectivity, and consequences of nonselectivity of PDE inhibition. Int J Impot Res. 2004;16 Suppl 1:S11-S14. PMID 15224129. A review, not a primary assay report; the author was at Bayer, which developed a competing PDE5 inhibitor, and the affiliation is recorded here as a competing-interest disclosure rather than as a commercial reference. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Brock GB, McMahon CG, Chen KK, Costigan T, Shen W, Watkins V, Anglin G, Whitaker S. Efficacy and safety of tadalafil for the treatment of erectile dysfunction: results of integrated analyses. J Urol. 2002;168(4 Pt 1):1332-1336. PMID 12352386. PubMed links an erratum at J Urol. 2005;173(2):664 correcting a dosage error in the published abstract; the MEDLINE abstract now carries the corrected text. No retraction or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Porst H, Padma-Nathan H, Giuliano F, Anglin G, Varanese L, Rosen R. Efficacy of tadalafil for the treatment of erectile dysfunction at 24 and 36 hours after dosing: a randomized controlled trial. Urology. 2003;62(1):121-125, discussion 125-126. PMID 12837435. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Yokoyama O, Yoshida M, Kim SC, Wang CJ, Imaoka T, Morisaki Y, Viktrup L. Tadalafil once daily for lower urinary tract symptoms suggestive of benign prostatic hyperplasia: a randomized placebo- and tamsulosin-controlled 12-week study in Asian men. Int J Urol. 2013;20(2):193-201. PMID 22958078. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum; PubMed links two editorial comments (PMIDs 22958135 and 24745512). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Galie N, Brundage BH, Ghofrani HA, et al; PHIRST Study Group. Tadalafil therapy for pulmonary arterial hypertension. Circulation. 2009;119(22):2894-2903. PMID 19470885. PubMed links an erratum at Circulation. 2011;124(10):e279 for a dosage error in the article text. No retraction or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- The Duchenne muscular dystrophy programme, two papers by overlapping investigators and cited here as one entry because the ledger carries them as one row. Victor RG, Sweeney HL, Finkel R, et al; Tadalafil DMD Study Group. A phase 3 randomized placebo-controlled trial of tadalafil for Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Neurology. 2017;89(17):1811-1820. PMID 28972192. ClinicalTrials.gov records NCT01865084 with overall status TERMINATED, reason given as terminated for lack of efficacy, and actual enrolment 331; the publication reports 48-week results for all 331 randomised participants. The registry record and the publication are noted here as they stand. And Nelson MD, Rader F, Tang X, Tavyev J, Nelson SF, Miceli MC, Elashoff RM, Sweeney HL, Victor RG. PDE5 inhibition alleviates functional muscle ischemia in boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Neurology. 2014;82(23):2085-2091. PMID 24808022; the journal's Class IV grading is stated for the proposition that in patients with the disease, PDE5 inhibition restores functional sympatholysis. Neither paper carries a retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Pauls MMH, Binnie LR, Benjamin P, et al. The PASTIS trial: testing tadalafil for possible use in vascular cognitive impairment. Alzheimers Dement. 2022;18(12):2393-2402. PMID 35135037. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Maggiorini M, Brunner-La Rocca HP, Peth S, et al. Both tadalafil and dexamethasone may reduce the incidence of high-altitude pulmonary edema: a randomized trial. Ann Intern Med. 2006;145(7):497-506. PMID 17015867. Registered as NCT00274430, which lists enrolment 30 against the publication's 29 randomised; the two figures differ by one and neither source explains the difference. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum; PubMed links an editorial and two letters with author replies (PMIDs 17015875, 17438323, 17438324). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Weed DT, Vella JL, Reis IM, et al. Tadalafil reduces myeloid-derived suppressor cells and regulatory T cells and promotes tumor immunity in patients with head and neck squamous cell carcinoma. Clin Cancer Res. 2015;21(1):39-48. PMID 25320361. Sample size is not stated in the abstract; the enrolment figure used on this page, 35, is the registered enrolment on ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT00843635. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Di Luigi L, Baldari C, Pigozzi F, et al. The long-acting phosphodiesterase inhibitor tadalafil does not influence athletes' VO2max, aerobic, and anaerobic thresholds in normoxia. Int J Sports Med. 2008;29(2):110-115. PMID 17614028. And Di Luigi L, Baldari C, Sgro P, et al. The type 5 phosphodiesterase inhibitor tadalafil influences salivary cortisol, testosterone, and dehydroepiandrosterone sulphate responses to maximal exercise in healthy men. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2008;93(9):3510-3514. PMID 18559908. Cited as one entry because the two share author, year, population and crossover design, and the ledger carries them as one row with each sample size tagged to its own PMID. Neither carries a retraction, expression of concern or erratum. The second measured salivary, not serum, steroids. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fung KW, Baye F, Baik SH, McDonald CJ. Tamsulosin use in benign prostatic hyperplasia and risks of Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease and mortality: an observational cohort study of elderly Medicare enrollees. PLoS One. 2024;19(8):e0309222. PMID 39172922. An observational cohort using tamsulosin as the reference exposure, not a randomised trial. The abstract states that tadalafil was associated with risk reduction of 27 to 40 per cent in all three outcomes but gives per-outcome hazard ratios only for the alpha-blocker comparisons. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Twohig M, Skilton SJ, Fujimoto G, Ellor N, Plumb RS. Rapid detection and identification of counterfeit and adulterated products of synthetic phosphodiesterase type-5 inhibitors with an atmospheric solids analysis probe. Drug Test Anal. 2010;2(2):45-50. PMID 20878886. PubMed links an erratum at Drug Test Anal. 2011;3(3):191-193, and the article title itself carries an inline correction. No retraction or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Francomano D, Ilacqua A, Cortese A, Tartaglia G, Lenzi A, Inghilleri M, Aversa A. Effects of daily tadalafil on lower urinary tract symptoms in young men with multiple sclerosis and erectile dysfunction: a pilot study. J Endocrinol Invest. 2017;40(3):275-279. PMID 27752863. Single-blind, four weeks, oral 5 mg once daily, twenty treated men against ten untreated controls, no placebo; the testosterone-to-oestradiol ratio is reported as a ratio change with no serum testosterone value. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum. Separated from the counterfeit-detection reference at r17, with which it was previously bundled. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.