Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
AICAR (Acadesine)
AICAR names an endogenous purine intermediate, and the name is ambiguous: PubChem resolves it to the ribonucleotide, the actual biosynthetic intermediate, while everything administered in the literature is the nucleoside acadesine, CID 17513. Several thousand people have received it, the large trials all in cardiac surgery, with smaller intravenous studies in haematology and type 2 diabetes. The endurance figure that carries the compound comes from sedentary mice given 500 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally, and its own source paper calls it orally active while giving it only by injection.
- Class
- Purine nucleoside; the dephosphorylated form of the de novo purine biosynthesis intermediate AICAR ribonucleotide (CID 65110). Taken up by cells and phosphorylated by adenosine kinase to that nucleotide, an AMP analogue that activates AMP-activated protein kinase
- CAS number
- 2627-69-2
- PubChem CID
- 17513
- Molecular formula
- C9H14N4O5
- Molecular weight
- 258.23 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- Acadesine, AICA riboside, AICA ribonucleoside, Z-riboside, Arasine, ARA-100, GP-1-110, NSC-105823, SCH-900395, ATH-001; UNII 53IEF47846; CHEMBL1551724; DrugBank DB04944; InChIKey RTRQQBHATOEIAF-UUOKFMHZSA-N. The name AICAR itself resolves in PubChem to the separate ribonucleotide record, CID 65110 (ZMP), CAS 3031-94-5, C9H15N4O8P, 338.21 g/mol
Chemical identity
The name does not resolve to the molecule that gets administered. A PubChem query for AICAR returns CID 65110: 5-aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide ribonucleotide, CAS 3031-94-5, formula C9H15N4O8P, molecular weight 338.21 g/mol, also indexed as ZMP. That is the phosphorylated intracellular species. Every study described on this page administered the dephosphorylated nucleoside, acadesine, which PubChem holds separately at CID 17513: CAS 2627-69-2, formula C9H14N4O5, molecular weight 258.23 g/mol, InChIKey RTRQQBHATOEIAF-UUOKFMHZSA-N. The FDA Global Substance Registration System returns UNII 53IEF47846 for acadesine and carries the same CAS, the same PubChem CID, and ChEMBL identifier CHEMBL1551724. The nucleoside enters cells and is phosphorylated by adenosine kinase to the nucleotide, and it is the nucleotide that resembles AMP closely enough to act at AMP-activated protein kinase.
Catalogue and development codes attached to CID 17513 include AICA riboside, Z-riboside, Arasine, ARA-100, GP-1-110, NSC-105823, SCH-900395 and ATH-001. All denote one nucleoside. It is not a peptide, and product pages that file it under that heading have the chemistry wrong: there is no amide backbone, only an imidazole carboxamide joined to a ribose. The molecule is also endogenous. AICAR the ribonucleotide is the penultimate intermediate of de novo purine biosynthesis and the substrate of the bifunctional enzyme ATIC, which means a measurable concentration circulates in people who have never taken anything.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Perioperative myocardial infarction 27% lower (OR 0.69, 95% CI 0.51-0.95, P=.02); cardiac death through postoperative day 4 50% lower (OR 0.52, 0.27-0.98, P=.04); combined MI, stroke or cardiac death 26% lower (OR 0.73, 0.57-0.93, P=.01); cerebrovascular accident not significantly reduced (OR 0.69, 0.44-1.08, P=.10). The only adverse-event difference reported was a transient increase in serum uric acid | Patients undergoing coronary artery bypass graft surgery; individual patient data pooled from 5 randomised, placebo-controlled, double-blind trials at 81 centres in the US, Canada and Europe | Intravenous infusion, 0.1 mg/kg/min for 7 continuous hours, plus in the cardioplegia solution | 4,043 evaluable (placebo 2,031; acadesine 2,012) | Mangano 1997, JAMA, PMID 9002496 |
| Primary composite of all-cause mortality, non-fatal stroke or mechanical support for severe left ventricular dysfunction through day 28 occurred in 75 of 1,493 on placebo (5.0%) and 76 of 1,493 on acadesine (5.1%); odds ratio 1.01 (95% CI 0.73-1.41). No differences in key secondary endpoints. Stopped early on a prespecified futility analysis at 3,080 of a projected 7,500. Posted registry results record serious adverse events through postoperative day 28 in 327 of 1,442 on acadesine and 329 of 1,457 on placebo, and other (non-serious) adverse events in 1,154 of 1,442 and 1,189 of 1,457; reported event frequencies at the 5% threshold are closely matched between arms, including anaemia (384 vs 383), atrial fibrillation (290 vs 328) and nausea (354 vs 365) | Intermediate- to high-risk patients, median age 66, undergoing non-emergency on-pump CABG at 300 sites in 7 countries | Intravenous infusion, 0.1 mg/kg/min for 7 hours, plus in the cardioplegic solution, beginning just before anaesthesia induction; single perioperative exposure | 3,080 randomised (1,493 per arm in the efficacy analysis); 2,899 in the safety analysis (1,442 acadesine; 1,457 placebo) | Newman 2012, JAMA (RED-CABG), PMID 22782417; safety numbers from ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00872001 posted results, sponsor Merck Sharp & Dohme, status TERMINATED |
| Perioperative MI occurred in 100 patients (3.7%), conferring a 4.2-fold increase in 2-year mortality. Among those with MI, 2-year mortality was 27.8% (15 of 54) on placebo and 6.5% (3 of 46) on acadesine, P=0.006, with the principal difference occurring in the first 30 days after infarction | Patients undergoing CABG surgery at 54 institutions; the retrieved abstract does not state how this cohort relates to the five trials pooled in 1997 | Intravenous infusion, 0.1 mg/kg/min for 7 hours, plus acadesine 5 micrograms/mL in cardioplegia solution | 2,698 randomised (placebo 1,346; acadesine 1,352); 100 with MI | Mangano 2006, J Am Coll Cardiol, PMID 16814669 |
| Endurance arm: treated mice ran approximately 23% longer and approximately 44% further than vehicle-treated animals on a treadmill test, with no exercise training. Epididymal fat mass to body weight ratio decreased and oxygen consumption increased without a change in body weight. Gene-expression arm (separate, 6 days at 250 mg/kg/day): global expression analysis of quadriceps found 32 genes linked to oxidative metabolism up-regulated by drug alone | Male C57Bl/6J mice, 8 weeks old, sedentary (untrained) | Intraperitoneal injection, 500 mg/kg/day for 4 weeks in the endurance arm; a separate 6-day arm at 250 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally supplied the gene-expression result. AICAR is never administered orally in the paper; the only oral route reported is oral gavage of the comparator GW1516 at 5 mg/kg/day | 15-20 per group in the running experiments | Narkar 2008, Cell, PMID 18674809 |
| Oral bioavailability in solution reported as less than 5%. After intravenous dosing, plasma concentrations declined biphasically with a harmonic mean terminal half-life of 1.4 hours; total plasma clearance 2.5 L/h/kg, mean residence time 0.7 h, steady-state volume of distribution 1.6 L/kg; not protein bound; renal clearance 0.2 L/h/kg with 8% of the IV dose excreted as intact drug | Healthy men, placebo-controlled double-blind design | Oral and intravenous at 10, 25, 50 and 100 mg/kg, one-week washout between routes | 4 on active drug and 2 on placebo at each of 4 dose levels | Dixon 1991, J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 2037706 |
| Total plasma radiocarbon declined multiexponentially with an apparent terminal half-life of about one week, while intact acadesine was measurable for only 2 hours. Uric acid was the major plasma metabolite and accounted for all plasma radiocarbon at 6 hours. Acadesine 5'-monophosphate was confined to red cells and represented 30% of total blood radiocarbon at end of infusion. Two-week recovery was 48% of dose (44% urine, 4% faeces), with 5% of dose in urine as intact drug | Healthy males | Intravenous, 25 mg/kg of 2-14C-acadesine over 15 minutes | 4 | Dixon 1993, J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 8227467 |
| At 10 mg/kg/h, muscle 2-deoxyglucose uptake rose 2.9 +/- 0.7-fold in young men (P<0.001), 1.8 +/- 0.2-fold in older men (P<0.01) and 1.6 +/- 0.1-fold in men with type 2 diabetes. At 20 mg/kg/h, increases were 2.5 +/- 0.1-fold in older men (P<0.001) and 2.2 +/- 0.2-fold in men with type 2 diabetes (P<0.001); the young group was not tested at that dose. At 3 hours, AMPK-alpha activity and AMPK, acetyl-CoA carboxylase and AS160 phosphorylation were unchanged; ERK1/2 phosphorylation increased at both doses and correlated with uptake (R2=0.55, P=0.003) | Healthy young men (23 +/- 3 y), older men (59 +/- 4 y), and men with type 2 diabetes (62 +/- 4 y) | Intravenous, 10 or 20 mg/kg/h from hour 3 to hour 6 of a 6-hour 2-deoxyglucose infusion; quadriceps biopsies at 0, 3 and 6 h | 22 (6 young; 8 older; 8 with type 2 diabetes) | Babraj 2009, Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab, PMID 19190259 |
| Plasma glucose rate of appearance was reduced while rate of disappearance was unchanged, giving increased fractional disposal (P<0.001) and a greater decline in plasma glucose concentration (P<0.001). Plasma non-esterified fatty acid rates of appearance and disappearance both fell, with a decline in NEFA concentration. Skeletal muscle AMPK phosphorylation was not increased; acetyl-CoA carboxylase phosphorylation rose (P<0.001). The measured effect the authors report is hepatic glucose output and whole-body lipolysis, read out by stable-isotope kinetics rather than by the muscle biopsy | Male type 2 diabetic patients, age 64 +/- 2 years, BMI 28 +/- 1 kg/m2 | Continuous intravenous infusion, 0.75 mg/kg/min, against 0.9% NaCl control; stable isotope methodology with blood and muscle biopsy sampling | 10 | Boon 2008, Diabetologia, PMID 18709353 |
| Maximum tolerated dose and what the authors designated the optimal biological dose were both established at 210 mg/kg as a single dose. Grade 2 or higher hyperuricaemia occurred commonly but was reported by the authors as not clinically significant and resolved with prophylactic allopurinol; transient anaemia and thrombocytopenia were likewise reported as not clinically significant. Renal impairment was reported, and transient infusion-related hypotension was the event the authors classed as clinically significant. Efficacy trends were variable given the small population and dose range | Patients with relapsed or refractory chronic lymphocytic leukaemia who had received one or more prior lines including a fludarabine- or alkylator-based regimen | Intravenous, 4-hour infusion; Part I single doses 50-315 mg/kg, Part II two or five doses at 210 mg/kg | 24 (18 in Part I; 6 in Part II) | Van Den Neste 2013, Cancer Chemother Pharmacol, PMID 23228986 |
| Non-randomised phase 1/2 dose-escalation study registered with planned arms at 140, 210 and 315 mg/kg/day, terminated at 5 actual participants. The registry whyStopped field reads: Renal toxicity. No results are posted and no publication reporting the study was located | Patients with IPSS High and Int-2 myelodysplastic syndrome, acute myeloid leukaemia with 20-30% marrow blasts, and chronic myelomonocytic leukaemia type 2, not responding to azacitidine or decitabine for at least 6 courses or relapsing after a response; sponsor Groupe Francophone des Myelodysplasies | Acadesine, daily dosing at the escalation levels named in the registry record; the retrieved registry fields do not state the route of administration | 5 (actual enrolment) | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01813838, status TERMINATED, whyStopped Renal toxicity; EudraCT 2012-003120-21 |
| Mean urinary AICAR concentration 2,186 ng/mL with a standard deviation of 1,655 ng/mL; concentrations differed by gender, type of sport, and whether collection was in or out of competition. Method limit of quantification 100 ng/mL, with inter-day precision 12%, 7% and 10% and intra-day 14%, 9% and 12% at low, mid and high concentration | Elite athletes, routine doping-control urine samples | Not applicable; quantification of endogenous urinary concentrations by isotope-dilution LC-MS/MS | 499 athletes | Thomas 2010, Anal Bioanal Chem, PMID 20225061 |
| Across four patients, the phenotype comprised severe-to-profound global neurodevelopmental impairment, severe visual impairment due to chorioretinal atrophy, ante- and postnatal growth impairment and severe scoliosis, with dysmorphic features in all four and frequent, sometimes pharmacoresistant, early-onset epilepsy. Less frequent features were aortic coarctation, chronic hepatic cytolysis, minor genital malformations and nephrocalcinosis. The authors state that data point toward a cytotoxic mechanism of the accumulated AICA-riboside | Humans with AICA-ribosiduria (ATIC deficiency): three new cases from two independent families plus long-term follow-up of the first reported case | Not applicable; congenital enzyme deficiency causing endogenous accumulation, not administration | 4 | Ramond 2020, J Inherit Metab Dis, PMID 32557644 |
| AICAR is orally active | The phrase traces to one sentence in the abstract of Narkar 2008 (PMID 18674809), which calls it the orally active AMPK agonist. The full text was retrieved from PubMed Central (PMC2706130) and read: the methods administer AICAR at 500 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally, and the only oral route reported anywhere in the paper is oral gavage of the comparator compound GW1516 at 5 mg/kg/day. AICAR is never given orally in the study that calls it orally active. Searching PubMed for the compound name with oral bioavailability returns two records; the primary one, Dixon 1991 (PMID 2037706), directly measured oral against intravenous dosing in healthy men and reported bioavailability of less than 5 per cent, and Drew and Kingwell's 2008 review (PMID 18671468) states that the poor oral bioavailability precludes metabolic application. No primary source reporting oral activity of this compound in any species was located. The claim is contradicted by the only measurement of it. | No source found | ||
| Half-life of roughly 30 to 60 minutes, or 2 to 3 hours, or about 6 hours | Three mutually inconsistent figures circulate across vendor and aggregator pages, none citing a source. Searched PubMed for the compound name and for acadesine combined with pharmacokinetics and with half-life. Two primary human pharmacokinetic reports exist, both from the original sponsor. Dixon 1991 (PMID 2037706) reports a harmonic mean terminal half-life of 1.4 hours for intact drug after intravenous dosing. Dixon 1993 (PMID 8227467) reports an apparent terminal half-life of about one week for total radiocarbon, with intact drug measurable for only 2 hours. Neither of the circulating ranges matches either figure, and no source giving them could be traced. The two primary values describe different things, which is the likely origin of the confusion, and averaging them would produce a number describing nothing. | No source found | ||
| AICAR is a peptide | It is a purine nucleoside. PubChem CID 17513 gives the formula C9H14N4O5 and the IUPAC name 5-amino-1-[(2R,3R,4S,5R)-3,4-dihydroxy-5-(hydroxymethyl)oxolan-2-yl]imidazole-4-carboxamide: an imidazole carboxamide glycosidically bonded to a ribose, with no amide backbone and no amino acid residues. The sequence field on this page is null for that reason. The classification appears to be inherited from the product category the listings file it under rather than from any chemical source, and no primary reference describing it as a peptide was located. | No source found | ||
| A 44 per cent increase in endurance | Traced and confirmed to Narkar 2008 (PMID 18674809), and reported in the ledger above as measured. What does not survive the trace is its transfer to people. The figure belongs to sedentary male C57Bl/6J mice given 500 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally for four weeks, 15 to 20 per group. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across AICAR and acadesine returns ten registrations. Five involve administration of the compound: cardiac surgery, chronic lymphocytic leukaemia, the myelodysplastic and AML study, Lesch-Nyhan disease and type 2 diabetes. The other five, in non-small cell lung cancer, glioblastoma, obesity-associated inflammation, a sunitinib contractility study and the AICA-ribosiduria supplementation trial, return on the keyword rather than as administration studies, and several do not administer the compound at all. None of the ten carries an endurance, exercise-capacity, VO2 or body-composition outcome measure. A PubMed search on the compound name with endurance returns 42 records and no human performance trial. No published measurement of exercise capacity in a person exists. | No source found | ||
| Safety is established, because thousands of cardiac surgery patients received it without incident | The trials are real and the numbers are in the ledger: 4,043 patients in the 1997 pooled analysis and 3,080 in RED-CABG, with posted registry results showing serious adverse events in 327 of 1,442 on drug against 329 of 1,457 on placebo. What that establishes is the safety of a single seven-hour intravenous infusion given under anaesthesia in a monitored surgical setting. Searching PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov for any repeated-dose or chronic human exposure returned only the phase 1/2 leukaemia study, where the longest schedule was five doses. Grade 2 or higher hyperuricaemia occurred commonly there, which the authors classed as not clinically significant and which resolved with prophylactic allopurinol; renal impairment was reported, and the event they did class as clinically significant was transient infusion-related hypotension (PMID 23228986). A second registered haematology study, NCT01813838, was terminated at five participants with the registry reason recorded as renal toxicity. No study of repeated administration over weeks or months in a healthy person was located, and the surgical safety record does not describe that exposure. | No source found | ||
| Improves insulin sensitivity | Two human infusion studies measured glucose handling and are recorded in the ledger, but neither measured insulin sensitivity as an endpoint and neither administered the compound for longer than one session. Babraj 2009 (PMID 19190259) measured acute 2-deoxyglucose uptake during a three-hour infusion, and Boon 2008 (PMID 18709353) measured glucose and fatty acid kinetics during a single continuous infusion. Both reported that skeletal muscle AMPK phosphorylation or activity did not increase; in Babraj the null was in the same tissue as the measured effect, while Boon's measured effect was hepatic glucose output, so the muscle biopsy there speaks to a different compartment. Searching PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov for a trial with an insulin sensitivity, HbA1c or glucose tolerance endpoint over any treatment period returned nothing for this compound. | No source found | ||
| AICAR is widely used in professional endurance sport | The assertion appears in cycling press and in a German television documentary, and originates in statements by the French anti-doping agency in 2009 and in later whistleblower accounts. It could not be traced to any analytical case series, adverse analytical finding report, or WADA testing-figures breakdown. Searched PubMed for the compound name with doping, which returns detection-methodology papers rather than case reports; the largest athlete datasets located, Thomas 2010 (n=499) and Sobolevsky 2022 (n=5,517), are population studies establishing reference ranges and report no confirmed administration cases. The claim rests on journalism and on inference from the existence of detection methods, and no primary count of confirmed cases was found. | No source found | ||
The published human record is cardiac surgery
Five randomised, placebo-controlled, double-blind trials in coronary artery bypass graft surgery ran through the 1990s. Mangano pooled individual patient data from all five in JAMA in 1997, across 81 medical centres in the United States, Canada and Europe: 4,043 patients evaluable for efficacy, 2,031 on placebo and 2,012 on acadesine at 0.1 mg per kg per minute by intravenous infusion for seven continuous hours and also in the cardioplegia solution. Perioperative myocardial infarction was 27 per cent lower on drug (odds ratio 0.69, 95% CI 0.51 to 0.95, P=.02), cardiac death through postoperative day 4 was 50 per cent lower (OR 0.52, 0.27 to 0.98, P=.04), and the combined outcome 26 per cent lower (OR 0.73, 0.57 to 0.93, P=.01). Cerebrovascular accident was not significantly reduced.
A 2006 report in the Journal of the American College of Cardiology extended the follow-up. At 54 institutions, 2,698 patients were randomised, 1,346 to placebo and 1,352 to acadesine on the same regimen. Perioperative myocardial infarction occurred in 100 patients, and among those, two-year mortality was 27.8 per cent (15 of 54) on placebo against 6.5 per cent (3 of 46) on acadesine, P=0.006. The retrieved abstract does not state how that cohort relates to the five trials pooled in 1997. The first author, Mangano, has a financial position on the record: a 2008 Drugs in R&D profile states that he founded PeriCor Therapeutics, which took a worldwide sublicence to acadesine in January 2005, and that he had acquired that licence from Metabasis in November 2000.
RED-CABG tested the finding prospectively and did not reproduce it. Newman and colleagues randomised intermediate- to high-risk patients 1:1 at 300 sites in seven countries, median age 66, to the same seven-hour infusion or placebo, with a primary composite of all-cause mortality, non-fatal stroke, or mechanical support for severe left ventricular dysfunction through postoperative day 28. A prespecified futility analysis stopped the trial at 3,080 of a projected 7,500. The primary outcome occurred in 75 of 1,493 on placebo (5.0 per cent) and 76 of 1,493 on acadesine (5.1 per cent), odds ratio 1.01, 95% CI 0.73 to 1.41, with no differences in key secondary endpoints. Results posted to the registry record serious adverse events in 327 of 1,442 against 329 of 1,457.
Where the forty-four per cent came from
Narkar and colleagues published the endurance work in Cell in 2008, from the Salk Institute. Male C57Bl/6J mice, eight weeks old, received AICAR at 500 mg per kg per day intraperitoneally for four weeks with no exercise training, and were then put through a treadmill test. The paper reports that treated mice ran roughly 23 per cent longer and roughly 44 per cent further than vehicle-treated animals, with 15 to 20 mice per group in the running experiments. A separate six-day arm at 250 mg per kg per day, also intraperitoneal, supplied the gene-expression result: global analysis of quadriceps found 32 genes linked to oxidative metabolism up-regulated by drug alone. Epididymal fat mass to body weight ratio fell and oxygen consumption rose, without a change in body weight.
One sentence in that paper's abstract has travelled further than its methods. It calls the compound the orally active AMPK agonist. The methods administer AICAR only by intraperitoneal injection. The one oral route in the paper is oral gavage of the comparator GW1516 at 5 mg per kg per day; AICAR is never given by that route. That phrase is the origin of the oral-activity claim that recurs across vendor product pages and aggregator sites, and it describes a route the experiment did not use for the molecule it names.
No comparable measurement exists in a person. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across AICAR and acadesine returns ten registrations. Five involve administration of the compound: cardiac surgery, chronic lymphocytic leukaemia, the myelodysplastic and AML study, Lesch-Nyhan disease and type 2 diabetes. The remaining five, in non-small cell lung cancer, glioblastoma, obesity-associated inflammation, a sunitinib contractility study and the AICA-ribosiduria supplementation trial, return on the keyword rather than as administration studies. None of the ten registers an endurance, exercise-capacity, VO2 or body-composition endpoint. The forty-four per cent figure is real, is properly cited, and belongs to sedentary mice given 500 mg per kg per day for four weeks. Healthy men in the only route-comparison study received single doses up to 100 mg per kg, and leukaemia patients single doses up to 315 mg per kg; the difference is in the repetition and the route, not the per-dose magnitude.
What the pharmacokinetics establish about the oral route
Dixon and colleagues published the first human pharmacokinetics in 1991, from Gensia Pharmaceuticals. The study was placebo-controlled and double-blind in healthy men across 10, 25, 50 and 100 mg per kg given both orally and intravenously, with four subjects on active drug and two on placebo at each dose level and a one-week washout between routes. Post-infusion plasma concentrations declined biphasically with a harmonic mean terminal half-life of 1.4 hours. Total plasma clearance was 2.5 L per hour per kg, mean residence time 0.7 hours, steady-state volume of distribution 1.6 L per kg. The drug was not protein bound. Renal clearance was 0.2 L per hour per kg, with 8 per cent of the intravenous dose excreted unchanged. Oral bioavailability in solution was reported as less than 5 per cent.
A radiolabel study from the same group followed in 1993. Four healthy males received 25 mg per kg of 2-14C-acadesine over fifteen minutes. Total plasma radiocarbon declined multiexponentially with an apparent terminal half-life of about a week, while intact acadesine was measurable for only two hours. Uric acid, the end product of human purine metabolism, was the major plasma metabolite and accounted for all plasma radiocarbon at six hours. Acadesine 5'-monophosphate was confined to red cells and represented 30 per cent of total blood radiocarbon at the end of infusion. Two-week recovery accounted for 48 per cent of dose, 44 per cent in urine and 4 per cent in faeces, with 5 per cent of the dose appearing in urine as intact drug. Drew and Kingwell's 2008 review states that the poor oral bioavailability precludes application in insulin resistance or glucose intolerance.
Measured effects in metabolic and haematological settings
Babraj and colleagues infused the compound into three groups in 2009: six healthy young men aged 23 plus or minus 3, eight older men aged 59 plus or minus 4, and eight men with type 2 diabetes aged 62 plus or minus 4. Each received a six-hour 2-deoxyglucose infusion with AICAR at 10 or 20 mg per kg per hour from hour three to hour six, with quadriceps biopsies at 0, 3 and 6 hours. At 10 mg per kg per hour, 2-deoxyglucose uptake rose 2.9-fold in young men, 1.8-fold in older men and 1.6-fold in men with diabetes; at 20 mg per kg per hour it rose 2.5-fold in older men and 2.2-fold in men with diabetes, and the young group was not tested at that dose. At three hours, AMPK activity and AMPK, acetyl-CoA carboxylase and AS160 phosphorylation were unchanged; ERK1/2 phosphorylation rose at both doses and correlated with uptake.
Boon and colleagues gave a continuous intravenous infusion at 0.75 mg per kg per minute to ten male type 2 diabetic patients, mean age 64, and tracked kinetics with stable isotopes and muscle biopsies. Plasma glucose rate of appearance fell while rate of disappearance was unchanged, plasma glucose concentration declined, and both appearance and disappearance rates for non-esterified fatty acids fell. Muscle AMPK phosphorylation was not increased in that study either, though acetyl-CoA carboxylase phosphorylation rose. Both studies therefore recorded a metabolic effect without detecting increased phosphorylation of AMP-activated protein kinase, the enzyme the compound is widely presented as activating, in skeletal muscle. In Babraj the effect and the null were in the same tissue, which is the sharper result; in Boon the measured effect was hepatic glucose output, so the muscle biopsy speaks to a different compartment.
Oncology supplied the repeated-dose safety data. Van Den Neste and colleagues ran an open-label phase 1/2 study in 24 patients with relapsed or refractory chronic lymphocytic leukaemia, given four-hour intravenous infusions: eighteen in Part I at single doses from 50 to 315 mg per kg, six in Part II. The trial established 210 mg per kg as a single dose to be both the maximum tolerated dose and what the authors designated the optimal biological dose. Grade 2 or higher hyperuricaemia occurred commonly, which the authors classed as not clinically significant and which resolved with prophylactic allopurinol; transient anaemia and thrombocytopenia were likewise so classed. Renal impairment was reported, and the event the authors did class as clinically significant was transient infusion-related hypotension. A French phase 1/2 study in higher-risk myelodysplastic syndrome, acute myeloid leukaemia with 20 to 30 per cent marrow blasts and chronic myelomonocytic leukaemia type 2, NCT01813838, terminated with five participants enrolled; the registry records the reason as renal toxicity.
Endogenous production and the detection problem
Because the molecule circulates naturally, anti-doping laboratories cannot treat its presence as a finding. Thomas and colleagues quantified urinary AICAR in doping-control samples from 499 athletes in 2010 and reported a mean of 2,186 ng/mL with a standard deviation of 1,655 ng/mL, differing by gender, sport type, and whether collection was in or out of competition, at a limit of quantification of 100 ng/mL. Sobolevsky and colleagues took a different approach in 2022, measuring the urinary ratio of AICAr to the related purine metabolite SAICAr across 5,517 athlete samples: median 3.3 with a 99th percentile of 9.3 in men, and 4.2 with a 99th percentile of 14 in women.
Carbon isotope ratio measurement is what separates the two sources. Piper and colleagues validated a gas chromatography/combustion/isotope ratio mass spectrometry method in 2014 against a reference population of 63 males and females and reported that a single oral administration remained detectable for more than 40 hours. Wang and colleagues published a two-dimensional liquid chromatography purification in 2024 and administered 3 grams, which the abstract characterises as a low dose, to two Asian male volunteers; the retrieved record does not state the route. Samples exceeded the published threshold within 16 hours, and the authors read the gap against Piper's 40 hours as dose-dependence in the detection window. Equine work by Wong and colleagues across 1,470 post-race urine samples from Australia, France and Hong Kong proposed a 600 ng/mL screening cut-off, and reported roughly 4.5 hours of detection after 2 grams intravenously in one mare.
The 2026 WADA Prohibited List names the compound at S4.4.1, under metabolic modulators, among activators of AMP-activated protein kinase alongside BAM15 and MOTS-c. Substances in class S4.4 are non-Specified Substances and prohibited at all times, in and out of competition. USADA's athlete guidance states that it is not approved for therapeutic use in humans anywhere in the world, is not available as a medication, and that a therapeutic use exemption is therefore unavailable. That page also warns that excessive or mistargeted AMPK activation can cause neurodegeneration or prevent cells from dividing, and attaches no citation to the statement.
The one setting where sustained elevation has been characterised
ATIC catalyses the final two steps of de novo purine synthesis and uses the ribonucleotide as its substrate. Loss of that enzyme produces AICA-ribosiduria, an autosomal recessive condition defined biochemically by accumulation of AICA-riboside in urine. Ramond and colleagues reported three new cases from two independent families in 2020, with long-term follow-up on the single patient described fifteen years earlier. Across those four patients they describe severe-to-profound global neurodevelopmental impairment, severe visual impairment from chorioretinal atrophy, ante- and postnatal growth impairment, and severe scoliosis, with dysmorphic features in all four and frequent early-onset epilepsy that can be pharmacoresistant. The authors write that data in the literature point toward a cytotoxic mechanism of the accumulated AICA-riboside.
Four patients with a congenital enzyme defect are not a model of intermittent administration to an adult, and that literature quantifies no threshold, no exposure-response relationship and no reversibility. It is nonetheless the only published human circumstance in which chronically elevated concentrations of this molecule have been characterised at all, and the direction of the finding is not benign. An interventional study of purine supplementation in AICA-ribosiduria, NCT06845501, is registered as recruiting ten participants.
What is not known
The published human exposure is essentially one shape: a seven-hour intravenous infusion during cardiac surgery, tested in roughly seven thousand patients across two eras and giving opposite answers. Nothing establishes what repeated administration does over weeks. The longest schedule in any registered study was five doses in the leukaemia trial, and a second registered haematology study was terminated at five participants with renal toxicity recorded as the reason; no study has characterised chronic dosing, reproductive or developmental effects, carcinogenicity, or effects in healthy people beyond single-session pharmacokinetics in small groups of men. Exercise capacity, the property the compound is known for, has never been an endpoint in a registered human trial; a ClinicalTrials.gov search across both names returns ten studies and none measures it. Two human studies that did detect a metabolic effect recorded no increase in AMP-activated protein kinase phosphorylation in skeletal muscle; in Babraj the effect and the null were in the same tissue, while in Boon the measured effect was hepatic, so the mechanism in people is not established. The oral route is not unstudied. It was measured: under 5 per cent bioavailability in the only trial to compare routes, which means nothing about oral administration can be inferred from the intravenous record. Endogenous production sets a floor no one can quantify per individual: urinary concentrations in athletes vary by more than an order of magnitude, and there is no published account of what an added exogenous load does to purine turnover over time in a person with normal ATIC function. The only human setting in which sustained elevation has been characterised is a congenital enzyme defect described in four patients, which reports severe outcomes and no dose-response information at all. No regulator has approved the molecule for any use in any jurisdiction.
Questions
Is AICAR the same thing as acadesine?
Has it been given to humans?
Where does the 44 per cent endurance figure come from?
Is it orally active?
What is its status in sport and in law?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 17513, Acadesine. National Center for Biotechnology Information. CAS 2627-69-2, C9H14N4O5, 258.23 g/mol, UNII 53IEF47846. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 65110, AICA ribonucleotide (ZMP). National Center for Biotechnology Information. CAS 3031-94-5, C9H15N4O8P, 338.21 g/mol. This is the record the query AICAR returns, and the form that is the de novo purine biosynthesis intermediate and ATIC substrate. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record ACADESINE, UNII 53IEF47846. Carries CAS 2627-69-2, PubChem CID 17513, ChEMBL CHEMBL1551724, DrugBank DB04944. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Mangano DT. Effects of acadesine on myocardial infarction, stroke, and death following surgery. A meta-analysis of the 5 international randomized trials. The Multicenter Study of Perioperative Ischemia (McSPI) Research Group. JAMA. 1997;277(4):325-332. PMID 9002496 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Newman MF, Ferguson TB, White JA, et al. Effect of adenosine-regulating agent acadesine on morbidity and mortality associated with coronary artery bypass grafting: the RED-CABG randomized controlled trial. JAMA. 2012;308(2):157-164. PMID 22782417. Carries a CommentIn at Nat Rev Cardiol 2012;9(9):493. Registered as ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00872001 (phase 3, 3,080 enrolled, sponsor Merck Sharp & Dohme, status TERMINATED), whose posted results supply the adverse-event tables through postoperative day 28 at https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT00872001. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mangano DT, Miao Y, Tudor IC, Dietzel C. Post-reperfusion myocardial infarction: long-term survival improvement using adenosine regulation with acadesine. J Am Coll Cardiol. 2006;48(1):206-214. PMID 16814669. Carries a CommentOn at J Am Coll Cardiol 2006;48(1):215-216. Mangano is the first author, not the senior author. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Acadesine: AICA riboside, ARA 100, arasine, GP 1 110. Drugs R D. 2008;9(3):169-175. PMID 18457469. Source for the licensing chain from Gensia Sicor to Metabasis to PeriCor Therapeutics and the founder relationship. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Narkar VA, Downes M, Yu RT, et al. AMPK and PPARdelta agonists are exercise mimetics. Cell. 2008;134(3):405-415. PMID 18674809. Full text read at PMC2706130; the methods state GW1516 at 5 mg/kg/day by oral gavage and AICAR at 250 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally, with the four-week endurance arm at 500 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally. Carries a CommentIn at Cell 2008;135(1):189, which has no PMID of its own; its content is not established here. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dixon R, Gourzis J, McDermott D, Fujitaki J, Dewland P, Gruber H. AICA-riboside: safety, tolerance, and pharmacokinetics of a novel adenosine-regulating agent. J Clin Pharmacol. 1991;31(4):342-347. PMID 2037706 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dixon R, Fujitaki J, Sandoval T, Kisicki J. Acadesine (AICA-riboside): disposition and metabolism of an adenosine-regulating agent. J Clin Pharmacol. 1993;33(10):955-958. PMID 8227467 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Drew BG, Kingwell BA. Acadesine, an adenosine-regulating agent with the potential for widespread indications. Expert Opin Pharmacother. 2008;9(12):2137-2144. PMID 18671468 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Babraj JA, Mustard K, Sutherland C, et al. Blunting of AICAR-induced human skeletal muscle glucose uptake in type 2 diabetes is dependent on age rather than diabetic status. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2009;296(5):E1042-E1048. PMID 19190259 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Boon H, Bosselaar M, Praet SF, et al. Intravenous AICAR administration reduces hepatic glucose output and inhibits whole body lipolysis in type 2 diabetic patients. Diabetologia. 2008;51(10):1893-1900. PMID 18709353 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Van Den Neste E, Cazin B, Janssens A, et al. Acadesine for patients with relapsed/refractory chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL): a multicenter phase I/II study. Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2013;71(3):581-591. PMID 23228986 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01813838, GFM-Acadesine: A Phase I-II Trial of Acadesine in IPSS High and Int-2 SMD, LAM With 20-30% Marrow Blasts and CMML Type 2. Sponsor Groupe Francophone des Myelodysplasies; EudraCT 2012-003120-21; status TERMINATED; enrolment 5 actual; whyStopped: Renal toxicity. No results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Thomas A, Beuck S, Eickhoff JC, et al. Quantification of urinary AICAR concentrations as a matter of doping controls. Anal Bioanal Chem. 2010;396(8):2899-2908. PMID 20225061 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Piper T, Thomas A, Baume N, et al. Determination of 13C/12C ratios of endogenous urinary 5-amino-imidazole-4-carboxamide 1-beta-D-ribofuranoside (AICAR). Rapid Commun Mass Spectrom. 2014;28(11):1194-1202. PMID 24760559. See also Sobolevsky 2022, Drug Test Anal 14(11-12):2017-2025, PMID 36342242; Wong 2017, Drug Test Anal 9(9):1363-1371, PMID 28407446; and Wang 2024, J Chromatogr A 1735:465312, PMID 39232419, whose abstract reports two Asian males administered a low dose of AICAR (3 grams) without stating the route. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ramond F, Rio M, Heron B, et al. AICA-ribosiduria due to ATIC deficiency: delineation of the phenotype with three novel cases, and long-term update on the first case. J Inherit Metab Dis. 2020;43(6):1254-1264. PMID 32557644 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.