Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
SR-9009 (Stenabolic)
SR-9009 is a synthetic dual agonist at the nuclear receptors REV-ERB-alpha and REV-ERB-beta, made at the Scripps Research Institute as a laboratory tool and indexed in PubChem as CID 57394020. No human trial of it has ever been registered or published. Every in vivo result in the literature came from intraperitoneal injection in rodents, at a single dose level. In 2019 a group at the University of Pennsylvania gave the compound to cells engineered to lack both REV-ERB proteins, and most of its effects survived.
- Class
- Synthetic dual agonist of the nuclear receptors REV-ERB-alpha (NR1D1) and REV-ERB-beta (NR1D2); a pyrrolidine ethyl carbamate bearing a 4-chlorobenzyl group and a 5-nitrothiophene
- CAS number
- 1379686-30-2
- PubChem CID
- 57394020
- Molecular formula
- C20H24ClN3O4S
- Molecular weight
- 437.9 g/mol (437.942 in FDA GSRS)
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- SR9009, SR-9009, SR 9009, Stenabolic, REV-ERB Agonist II; UNII X5DCA09N30; CHEMBL1961796; DrugBank DB14013; GTPL8901; DTXSID901045515
Chemical identity
The name on the label is not the name in the database. A query for stenabolic alone returns no PubChem record; the string survives only as the depositor synonym Stenabolic (SR9009), attached to CID 57394020. Under the code name SR9009 the compound resolves cleanly to that single record, which carries CAS 1379686-30-2, the formula C20H24ClN3O4S, a molecular weight of 437.9, InChIKey MMJJNHOIVCGAAP-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII X5DCA09N30, ChEMBL identifier CHEMBL1961796 and DrugBank accession DB14013. The IUPAC name is ethyl 3-[[(4-chlorophenyl)methyl-[(5-nitrothiophen-2-yl)methyl]amino]methyl]pyrrolidine-1-carboxylate. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds the same UNII under the preferred name SR-9009, with the identical formula and a mass of 437.942, and classes the substance as a chemical rather than a protein or peptide.
Structurally this is a pyrrolidine ethyl carbamate joined through a tertiary amine to a 4-chlorobenzyl group and a 5-nitrothiophene. It is neither a peptide nor a steroid, and it has no reported androgen-receptor pharmacology. The molecule is nonetheless sold and discussed inside the selective androgen receptor modulator category, and the 2017 JAMA analysis of products sold under that heading names it among the compounds found in that market. The nitrothiophene ring is the part of the structure its own developers flagged: Kojetin and Burris wrote in 2014 that this group carries a potential toxicological liability, and that they had pursued a separate chemical series specifically to remove it.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fasting plasma triglycerides -12%, total cholesterol -47%, non-esterified fatty acids -23%, glucose -19%, leptin -80%, interleukin-6 -72%, insulin trend -35%. Weight loss was 60% greater than vehicle; the paper states that vehicle controls also lost weight from the stress of handling and twice-daily injection, so the 60% is an excess over a falling baseline, not a comparison with untreated animals. Food intake did not differ significantly between groups | Diet-induced obese male C57BL6 mice, 20 weeks old, mean weight 41 g, maintained 14 weeks on a 20% carbohydrate / 60% fat diet | Intraperitoneal, 100 mg/kg, twice daily at CT0 and CT12, 30 days | 6-10 per group (the figure legend gives the range, not per-group counts) | Solt 2012, Nature, PMID 22460951 |
| Treated mice ran significantly longer in both time and distance to exhaustion than vehicle-treated mice. No percentage, no effect size and no p value are printed in the text or the figure legend; the result exists only as Figure 6a. The methods do not state the strain, sex or age of the animals in this arm | Mice, strain, sex and age not stated for the pharmacological arm; treadmill endurance test at 70% of maximal running speed after a separate VO2max stress test | Intraperitoneal, 100 mg/kg, 30 days | 6 per group | Woldt 2013, Nat Med, PMID 23852339 |
| Increased number of total (Mitotracker Green) and active (Mitotracker Red) mitochondria by flow cytometry, alongside SR9011 tested at the same concentration | C2C12 mouse myoblasts differentiated into myotubes; compound added one day before differentiation and maintained through the 8-day differentiation period | In vitro, 5 micromolar | 4 per condition | Woldt 2013, Nat Med, PMID 23852339 |
| Cell viability, cell number and the proportion of cells in S phase all fell, and fell to similar extents in cells lacking both REV-ERB-alpha and REV-ERB-beta as in floxed controls. SR9011 produced the same pattern. The effect was dose-dependent and apparent after one day | Mouse embryonic stem cells from double-floxed embryos, transfected with Cre:GFP for double knockout or GFP for control; knockout confirmed by mRNA, immunoblot and target-gene derepression | In vitro, 10 micromolar for 2 days | 3-5 per condition depending on assay | Dierickx 2019, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 31127047 |
| Of 431 genes differentially expressed in control hepatocytes (fold-change >1.5, P<0.01), approximately 55% were regulated similarly in hepatocytes lacking both REV-ERBs. Of the 193 genes changed only in controls, 25 moved in the direction predicted for a genuine REV-ERB agonist | Hepatocytes derived from livers of double-floxed mice given tail-vein AAV8-TBG-Cre-GFP (knockout) or AAV8-TBG-GFP (control) at 10 weeks of age | In vitro, 10 micromolar for 8 hours | Group sizes not stated for the RNA-seq comparison; the knockout validation used 3-5 livers per genotype | Dierickx 2019, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 31127047 |
| Lethal to prostate cancer cell lines with no cytotoxic effect reported on normal prostate cells; inhibited colony formation, cell cycle and migration; suppressed seven FOXM1-pathway genes. Neither knockdown nor knockout of REV-ERB rescued the effect, and the receptor identified as activated was LXR-alpha rather than REV-ERB. Tumour growth was restrained in a 22RV1 xenograft | Human prostate cancer cell lines and 22RV1 xenografts in mice | In vitro; xenograft dosing route and schedule not stated in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Xu 2022, Cell Death Dis, PMID 36357378 |
| Reduced glioblastoma growth, triggered apoptosis and downregulated autophagy genes; survival improved at P=0.0009 by two-tailed log-rank test. The authors report apoptosis absent in normal brain and skin tissue on TUNEL assay and describe the compound on body weight as better tolerated than temozolomide | C57BL/6J mice implanted with 005 brain tumour-initiating cells, and immunodeficient NOD-scid gamma mice implanted with GSC 8.11 cells or patient-derived xenografts | Intraperitoneal, 100 mg/kg and 200 mg/kg twice daily; cell work at 2.5-20 micromolar, most commonly 20 micromolar | 5 per group in the 005 model; 8-9 vehicle and 9 treated in the survival study | Sulli 2018, Nature, PMID 29320480 |
| Induced microglial activation and increased pro-inflammatory gene expression, and produced cognitive decline on Y-maze spontaneous alternation and novel object recognition in the knock-in animals at P<0.001. Spontaneous locomotor activity showed no significant change | Two-month-old male wild-type and amyloid precursor protein knock-in mice | Intraperitoneal, 100 mg/kg, 14 days; behavioural testing on days 15-18 | 6 per group | Ni 2019, J Neuroinflammation, PMID 31470863 |
| At 3 days post-injury, reduced haematoma and decreased expression of transcripts associated with blood-spinal cord barrier disruption, inflammation and cellular stress. Hindlimb functional recovery was unchanged across 6 weeks of follow-up and white matter sparing showed no significant difference at study completion | Mice with moderate contusion injury at spinal level T9 | Intraperitoneal, 100 mg/kg/day given as two 50 mg/kg doses at ZT1 and ZT12, days 0-7 post-injury | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Slomnicki 2026, Neurosci Lett, PMID 41232745 |
| Survival rate and left ventricular function after infarction were significantly improved against vehicle. Brain natriuretic peptide expression and plasma concentration were lower, as were Il6, Mcp1, Ly6g, Cd11b and Mmp9 transcripts and phosphorylated NF-kappaB p65, ERK and p38 protein. Neutrophil and proinflammatory macrophage infiltration into the left ventricle was suppressed | Wild-type male mice after permanent ligation of the left anterior descending coronary artery, against sham-operated controls | Intraperitoneal, 100 mg/kg/day; echocardiography at 1 week | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Stujanna 2017, PLoS One, PMID 29232411 |
| Presence of the compound confirmed in a product purchased over the internet. Eight phase I metabolites characterised from human liver microsomes by LC-HRMS. Retrospective reanalysis of stored doping control samples detected neither the parent compound nor any metabolite | Human liver microsomal preparations; one purchased product; 1,511 archived human doping control urine samples previously screened by full-scan LC-HRMS | In vitro metabolic assay and retrospective analytical screen | 1,511 urine samples | Geldof 2016, Int J Mol Sci, PMID 27706103 |
| One product was labelled at 20 mg of this compound per capsule; analysis found 1-5 mg of androstatrienedione per capsule and none of the labelled substance. Across the whole set, only 23 of 44 products contained any selective androgen receptor modulator, 4 contained no active compound, and the labelled amount matched the analysed amount in 18. The abstract and results text name this compound among unapproved drugs found in 17 products, which the published table does not itself show | 44 products marketed and sold via the internet as selective androgen receptor modulators, purchased February to March 2016 and analysed April to August 2016 under chain of custody by WADA-approved procedures | In vitro analysis of product material | 44 products | Van Wagoner 2017, JAMA, PMID 29183075 |
| Increases endurance by 50 per cent, or by any stated percentage | Traced to Woldt 2013 in Nature Medicine (PMID 23852339), retrieved in full from PubMed Central. The paper reports only that treated mice ran significantly longer in time and distance; the result is Figure 6a, six animals per group, and no percentage, effect size or p value appears anywhere in the text or the figure legend. Europe PMC phrase searches pairing the compound name with running distance return two records, this paper and one review citing it; the same search with time to exhaustion returns this paper alone. A PubMed search on the compound name with exercise returns five records, none of which reports a percentage change in running performance. No published source for any endurance percentage was located. | No source found | ||
| It is orally active, and oral dosing schedules of two or three administrations per day | Every in vivo study retrieved here dosed by intraperitoneal injection: Solt 2012, Woldt 2013, Stujanna 2017, Sulli 2018, Ni 2019 and Slomnicki 2026. A Europe PMC search pairing the compound name with oral gavage, orally administered and per os returned 23 records, all of which use the phrases for other compounds in the same paper. No study administering this molecule by mouth to any species was located, and no absorption, oral bioavailability or oral-versus-parenteral comparison was found. Kojetin and Burris 2014 (PMID 24577401) describe four GlaxoSmithKline analogues as orally bioavailable and do not extend that description to this compound. | No source found | ||
| Elimination half-life of roughly four hours | No primary pharmacokinetic study of this molecule reporting a half-life, Cmax, AUC or clearance value was located. Solt 2012 states only that the compounds displayed reasonable plasma exposure, citing a supplementary figure; the supplementary PDF returned an HTML interstitial rather than the file on repeated attempts through PubMed Central. Europe PMC searches pairing the compound name with half-life returned 60 records and with Cmax nine, all reviews or papers reporting parameters for other ligands. Wang 2020 in Theranostics (PMID 32226546) states that current synthetic REV-ERB ligands have half-lives under three hours without giving a figure for this one. The four-hour number appears only in secondary commercial and forum material. | No source found | ||
| Increases energy expenditure and burns fat without exercise | The energy expenditure measurement in Solt 2012 was made on SR9011, a different molecule. The comprehensive laboratory animal monitoring system experiment reports a 5 per cent rise in oxygen consumption and, in the same animals, a 15 per cent decrease in movement; Figure 3 is titled for SR9011 throughout. Results for this compound are shown in a supplementary figure and described in the text only as similar, with no numbers in the main text. The fat-mass reduction in diet-induced obese animals is real and is recorded in the ledger, but it was measured against vehicle controls who were themselves losing weight from twice-daily injection stress, which the paper states. | No source found | ||
| Non-hormonal, so it does not suppress testosterone and requires no post-cycle intervention | A Europe PMC search pairing the compound name with testosterone returned 42 records; none is a study measuring gonadal hormone output during administration of this molecule. No published study located measured testosterone, luteinising hormone or follicle-stimulating hormone in any species given this compound. The receptor pharmacology is not androgenic, which is a statement about the drug target and not a measurement in an organism. Xu 2022 (PMID 36357378) reports that the receptor the compound actually activates in prostate cancer cells is LXR-alpha, which places the claim of clean receptor selectivity on weaker ground than the target description alone suggests. | No source found | ||
| It has no side effects and no toxicity has been shown | Kojetin and Burris wrote in 2014 (PMID 24577401) that no dedicated toxicological studies had been performed for any REV-ERB ligand, and no such study for this compound was located in searches of PubMed or Europe PMC pairing the compound name with toxicology, toxicity and hepatotoxicity. The same authors identify the nitrothiophene group in this molecule as a potential toxicological liability, and Dierickx 2019 repeats the point, describing it as a known toxicophore. An absence of published harm is not the same finding as a reported absence of harm. Two rodent results point the other way and are recorded in the ledger: cognitive decline in a knock-in model and a failure of functional recovery after spinal contusion. | No source found | ||
| It is a SARM | PubChem CID 57394020 describes a pyrrolidine carbamate with no androgen-receptor pharmacology, and the compound was developed as a dual agonist at the nuclear receptors REV-ERB-alpha and REV-ERB-beta. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List places it at S4.4.1 under metabolic modulators, alongside AMPK activators and PPAR-delta agonists, and not under S1 anabolic agents where selective androgen receptor modulators are listed. Van Wagoner 2017 (PMID 29183075) records that products carrying the SARM label frequently contain compounds of other classes, this one among them, which is how the misclassification propagates. | No source found | ||
| Human trials have been conducted, or are under way | ClinicalTrials.gov was queried directly through the v2 API on 18 August 2026. The search terms SR9009, SR-9009, stenabolic and SR9011 each return a total count of zero. A query on REV-ERB returns eight records, all observational studies of clock-gene expression in disease, none of which administers a REV-ERB ligand to a participant. Van Wagoner 2017 in JAMA states directly that preclinical studies have occurred for this compound but no human trials. No human pharmacokinetic, safety or efficacy report was located in PubMed or Europe PMC. | No source found | ||
Every published in vivo result came from an injection
Solt and colleagues dosed intraperitoneally at 100 mg per kg twice daily. Woldt and colleagues dosed intraperitoneally at 100 mg per kg for thirty days. Sulli and colleagues dosed intraperitoneally. Ni and colleagues dosed intraperitoneally for fourteen days. Stujanna and colleagues dosed intraperitoneally after coronary ligation. Slomnicki and colleagues dosed intraperitoneally after spinal contusion. Across the retrievable in vivo literature the route does not change. No published study administering this compound by mouth to any species was located, and none of the papers describing systemic administration reports an oral arm, an oral comparator or an absorption measurement.
The pharmacokinetic record for the molecule itself is thinner than the volume of citation suggests. Solt and colleagues state only that the compounds displayed reasonable plasma exposure, referring to a supplementary figure. Kojetin and Burris describe four GlaxoSmithKline analogues as orally bioavailable and note that three of them have pharmacokinetic properties similar to this compound, without printing its parameters; the tetrahydroisoquinoline series they developed afterwards is described as not orally bioavailable, with half-lives of roughly two hours by the intraperitoneal route. Wang and colleagues, reviewing the field in 2020, write that current synthetic REV-ERB ligands are cleared rapidly with half-lives under three hours, and call the resulting regimen of repeated daily injection unsatisfactory.
Material bearing the name reaches consumers as capsules and oral solutions. Nothing in the published record measures what happens when the compound is swallowed rather than injected into the peritoneal cavity, and no source located here reconciles the two. That gap sits underneath every quantitative claim carried over from a rodent experiment, because each of those numbers was produced by a route nobody is using.
The endurance result is a single panel in a single paper
Woldt and colleagues published in Nature Medicine in 2013. The paper is mostly about the receptor rather than the ligand: Rev-erb-alpha deficient mice, muscle-specific overexpression by adeno-associated virus, isolated fibres and C2C12 myotubes. One panel, Figure 6a, carries the pharmacological arm. Mice received 100 mg per kg intraperitoneally for thirty days, six animals per group, and were run to exhaustion on a treadmill after two days of acclimatisation and a separate maximal stress test one week earlier. The result sentence reads that mice treated with the compound ran significantly longer both in time and distance than vehicle-treated mice.
That sentence is the whole published human-readable finding. No percentage appears in the text or the figure legend. No p value is printed for the running result. The methods section names the strain and genotype for the knockout and overexpression arms but does not state the strain, sex or age of the animals in the pharmacological arm. Phrase searches of Europe PMC pairing the compound name with running distance and with time to exhaustion return this paper and, in the first case, one review that cites it. Nothing else in the indexed literature reports either measurement for this molecule.
The mitochondrial claim comes from the same paper by a different route. C2C12 cells were incubated with 5 micromolar of this compound, 5 micromolar of SR9011 or vehicle, four replicates per condition, and mitochondrial content was read by flow cytometry using green and red mitotracker stains. Handschin, reviewing exercise mimetics in 2016, adds that application of the compound does not alter muscle fibre-type distribution, and observes that the consequences of using it as an exercise mimetic in terms of human circadian rhythms would have to be carefully evaluated. That evaluation has not been published.
The 2019 result that unmade the mechanism
Dierickx and colleagues at the University of Pennsylvania built the experiment the field had not run. Earlier conditional deletion of REV-ERB-alpha had removed the DNA-binding domain in frame, producing a mutant protein rather than an absent one. They floxed exons three to five for an out-of-frame deletion, crossed the line to an existing REV-ERB-beta floxed model, and generated embryonic stem cells and hepatocytes with neither protein. Target-gene derepression confirmed loss of function. The compound was then tested in cells that had nothing for it to act on.
Viability, cell number and the proportion of cells in S phase all fell after two days at 10 micromolar, and they fell to similar extents in the double-knockout cells as in the floxed controls. SR9011 behaved the same way. In hepatocytes treated for eight hours, 431 genes were differentially expressed in controls; roughly 55 per cent of them moved in the same direction in cells lacking both receptors. Of the 193 genes that changed only in controls, 25 moved in the direction a genuine agonist would predict. The authors concluded that the effects of the compound cannot be used solely as a surrogate for REV-ERB activity.
Corroboration arrived from an unrelated group working on a different tissue. Xu and colleagues reported in 2022 that the compound was lethal to prostate cancer cell lines and inhibited the FOXM1 pathway, and that neither knockdown nor knockout of REV-ERB rescued that effect. Their analysis identified LXR-alpha as the receptor actually being activated. Two laboratories, two systems, one conclusion: the pharmacology attributed to this molecule is not the pharmacology its name describes. Dierickx and colleagues also note that both this compound and SR9011 contain known toxicophores, naming the nitrothiophene moiety.
What the metabolic experiments measured
Solt and colleagues started with twenty-week-old C57BL6 mice averaging 41 grams, kept on a diet of 20 per cent carbohydrate and 60 per cent fat for fourteen weeks. Dosing was 100 mg per kg intraperitoneally, twice daily, for thirty days, with six to ten animals per group. Reported changes were a 12 per cent fall in plasma triglycerides, 47 per cent in total cholesterol, 23 per cent in non-esterified fatty acids, 19 per cent in glucose, 80 per cent in leptin and 72 per cent in interleukin-6, with a 35 per cent downward trend in insulin. Food intake did not differ significantly between groups.
Weight loss carries a caveat the paper states plainly and the circulating version drops. Vehicle-treated controls lost weight too, which the authors attribute to the stress of handling and twice-daily injection, and they note that handling itself reduced food intake. The 60 per cent figure is the excess of treated weight loss over that already-falling baseline, not a comparison against untreated animals.
Energy expenditure belongs to the sibling compound. The comprehensive laboratory animal monitoring system experiment in that paper was run on SR9011, not on this molecule: a 5 per cent rise in oxygen consumption over ten days of twice-daily dosing, alongside a 15 per cent decrease in movement. Figure 3 is titled for SR9011 throughout. Results for this compound appear in a supplementary figure described only as similar. In the transcriptional assays it suppressed REV-ERB-driven reporters with a half-maximal inhibitory concentration of 670 nanomolar at REV-ERB-alpha and 800 nanomolar at REV-ERB-beta, and 710 nanomolar against a full-length Bmal1 reporter.
Findings that run the other way
Ni and colleagues gave 100 mg per kg intraperitoneally for fourteen days to two-month-old male wild-type and amyloid precursor protein knock-in mice, six per group. Microglia were activated, pro-inflammatory gene expression rose, and performance on the Y-maze and novel object recognition tests fell in the knock-in animals at P below 0.001. Locomotor activity was unchanged, which rules out the simplest confound. The finding is a cognitive decrement produced by the compound in a disease model, in the same dose range and by the same route as every favourable rodent result.
Slomnicki and colleagues published a null in Neuroscience Letters in 2026, with Burris among the authors. After moderate T9 contusion, mice received 100 mg per kg per day intraperitoneally as two 50 mg per kg doses for seven days. At three days there was less haematoma and lower expression of transcripts tied to barrier disruption, inflammation and cellular stress. Over six weeks of follow-up hindlimb recovery was unchanged, and white matter sparing at study completion showed no significant difference. Acute pathology moved; the outcome did not.
One paper has left the record. Huang and colleagues published on intervertebral disc degeneration in iScience in 2024; the journal retracted it in June 2026 after Elsevier's research integrity team identified undisclosed authorship changes between submission and revision, with two authors added and three removed. The editor stated a loss of confidence in the results and conclusions. The authors disagree with the retraction. No data-integrity finding is asserted in the notice, but the paper no longer stands. Set against all of this, Kojetin and Burris wrote in 2014 that no dedicated toxicological studies had been performed for any REV-ERB ligand, and no such study has been located since.
Sport, law and what is in circulation
The 2026 WADA Prohibited List names the molecule explicitly. Section S4.4.1, under metabolic modulators, reads in one bullet: Rev-erb-alpha agonists, e.g. SR9009, SR9011. The section header states that prohibited substances in classes S4.3 and S4.4 are non-Specified Substances, and section S4 is prohibited at all times, in and out of competition. No regulator has approved the compound as a medicine in any jurisdiction, and no marketing application anywhere was located.
ClinicalTrials.gov holds nothing. Queries on SR9009, SR-9009, stenabolic and SR9011 each return a total count of zero. A REV-ERB query returns eight records, all observational studies of clock-gene expression, none of which administers a REV-ERB ligand. The JAMA analysis states the position in one line: preclinical studies have occurred for the compound, but no human trials. Fourteen years after the first publication, that sentence still holds.
What circulates is not always what the label says. Van Wagoner and colleagues bought 44 products marketed as selective androgen receptor modulators; the single product labelled at 20 mg of this compound per capsule contained 1 to 5 mg of androstatrienedione per capsule and none of the labelled substance. Geldof and colleagues confirmed the compound in a product purchased over the internet, characterised eight human liver microsomal metabolites, then screened 1,511 stored doping control urine samples retrospectively and detected neither parent nor metabolite. The first adverse analytical finding anywhere came from horse racing, reported by Cutler and colleagues in 2021.
What is not known
Nothing is known about this compound in a person. No human trial is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, none has been published, and no human pharmacokinetic, safety, endocrine or performance measurement exists. There is no published half-life, no Cmax, no AUC, no clearance figure and no absorption study in any species. The route question is unresolved in a way that undercuts the entire transfer from literature to use: every in vivo experiment retrieved here injected the compound into the peritoneal cavity at 100 mg per kg, and no study has administered it by mouth to anything. The mechanism is contested at its root, because a genetic double knockout showed that most of the transcriptional and metabolic response persists without either target receptor, and a second group traced the anticancer effect to LXR-alpha instead. No dedicated toxicology has been performed on any REV-ERB ligand, a gap the developers themselves recorded in 2014 and which no later study has filled, while the nitrothiophene group in the molecule is identified by both the originating laboratory and its critics as a known toxicophore. The endurance result on which the compound's reputation rests is one figure panel in one 2013 paper, six animals per group, with no number attached to it.
Questions
Has SR-9009 been given to humans in a trial?
Where does the endurance figure come from?
Does it actually work through REV-ERB?
What is its status in sport and in law?
Is anything in the literature retracted?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 57394020, SR9009. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026 via PUG REST: CAS 1379686-30-2, C20H24ClN3O4S, 437.9, InChIKey MMJJNHOIVCGAAP-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII X5DCA09N30, CHEMBL1961796, DrugBank DB14013. The synonym Stenabolic (SR9009) is present on this record; a name query for stenabolic alone returns no CID. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration Global Substance Registration System, UNII X5DCA09N30. Preferred name SR-9009, substance class chemical, formula C20H24ClN3O4S, molecular weight 437.942. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Solt LA, Wang Y, Banerjee S, et al. Regulation of circadian behaviour and metabolism by synthetic REV-ERB agonists. Nature. 2012;485(7396):62-68. All in vivo dosing intraperitoneal at 100 mg/kg. The CLAMS energy-expenditure experiment in Figure 3 was performed with SR9011, not SR9009. No retraction or expression of concern; PubMed lists one CommentIn at Nature 2012;485(7396):45-6. PMID 22460951 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Woldt E, Sebti Y, Solt LA, et al. Rev-erb-alpha modulates skeletal muscle oxidative capacity by regulating mitochondrial biogenesis and autophagy. Nat Med. 2013;19(8):1039-1046. The pharmacological arm is Figure 6a: 100 mg/kg intraperitoneally for 30 days, n=6 per group, with no percentage or p value printed. Read in full at PMC3737409. PMID 23852339 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kojetin DJ, Burris TP. REV-ERB and ROR nuclear receptors as drug targets. Nat Rev Drug Discov. 2014;13(3):197-216. States that GSK4112, SR9009 and SR9011 contain a nitrothiophene group carrying a potential toxicological liability, and that as of publication no dedicated toxicological studies had been performed for any REV-ERB ligand. Written by the group that developed the compound. PMID 24577401 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Handschin C. Caloric restriction and exercise 'mimetics': ready for prime time? Pharmacol Res. 2016;103:158-166. Notes that application of SR9009 does not affect muscle fibre-type distribution, and that the circadian consequences of using it as an exercise mimetic in humans would have to be carefully evaluated. PMID 26658171 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Geldof L, Deventer K, Roels K, Tudela E, Van Eenoo P. In vitro metabolic studies of REV-ERB agonists SR9009 and SR9011. Int J Mol Sci. 2016;17(10):1676. Eight phase I metabolites characterised; presence confirmed in a product purchased over the internet; retrospective screen of 1,511 archived doping control urine samples detected neither parent nor metabolites. PMID 27706103 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Van Wagoner RM, Eichner A, Bhasin S, Deuster PA, Eichner D. Chemical composition and labeling of substances marketed as selective androgen receptor modulators and sold via the internet. JAMA. 2017;318(20):2004-2010. Carries an erratum at JAMA 2018;319(7):724. States that preclinical studies have occurred for SR9009 but no human trials. PMID 29183075 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Stujanna EN, Murakoshi N, Tajiri K, et al. Rev-erb agonist improves adverse cardiac remodeling and survival in myocardial infarction through an anti-inflammatory mechanism. PLoS One. 2017;12(12):e0189330. Dosing 100 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally. PMID 29232411 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sulli G, Rommel A, Wang X, et al. Pharmacological activation of REV-ERBs is lethal in cancer and oncogene-induced senescence. Nature. 2018;553(7688):351-355. Reports selective lethality to malignant and senescent cells with no effect on normal cells, a conclusion challenged by Dierickx 2019 and by Xu 2022. PMID 29320480 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dierickx P, Emmett MJ, Jiang C, et al. SR9009 has REV-ERB-independent effects on cell proliferation and metabolism. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2019;116(25):12147-12152. Read in full at PMC6589768. Notes that SR9009 and SR9011 contain known toxicophores, naming the nitrothiophene moiety. PMID 31127047 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ni J, Wu Z, Meng J, et al. An impaired intrinsic microglial clock system induces neuroinflammatory alterations in the early stage of amyloid precursor protein knock-in mouse brain. J Neuroinflammation. 2019;16(1):173. SR9009 100 mg/kg intraperitoneally for 14 days, n=6 per group; reports microglial activation, raised pro-inflammatory gene expression and cognitive decline. PMID 31470863 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wang S, Li F, Lin Y, Wu B. Targeting REV-ERBalpha for therapeutic purposes: promises and challenges. Theranostics. 2020;10(9):4168-4182. States that current synthetic REV-ERB ligands are cleared rapidly with half-lives under three hours, and that the resulting requirement for repeated daily injection is an unsatisfactory dosing regimen. PMID 32226546 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cutler C, White DL, Viljanto M. In vitro metabolism of the REV-ERB agonist SR-9009 and subsequent detection of metabolites in associated routine equine plasma and urine doping control samples. Drug Test Anal. 2022;14(1):169-174. Reported as the first adverse analytical finding for the compound or its metabolites in equine doping control. PMID 34224639 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Xu H, Zhang J, Zheng X, et al. SR9009 inhibits lethal prostate cancer subtype 1 by regulating the LXRalpha/FOXM1 pathway independently of REV-ERBs. Cell Death Dis. 2022;13(11):949. Reports that knockdown or knockout of REV-ERB did not rescue the anticancer effect and identifies LXR-alpha as the activated receptor. PMID 36357378 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- RETRACTED. Huang ZN, Wang J, Wang ZY, et al. SR9009 attenuates inflammation-related NPMSC pyroptosis and IVDD through NR1D1/NLRP3/IL-1beta pathway. iScience. 2024;27(5):109733. PubMed publication type: Retracted Publication. Retraction notice at iScience 2026;29(7):116716, PMID 42491751, citing undisclosed authorship changes between submission and revision and a loss of editorial confidence in the results and conclusions; the authors disagree with the retraction. PMID 38689641 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Slomnicki LP, Hodges E, Armstrong C, et al. Limited effects of the REV-ERB agonist SR9009 after mouse spinal cord contusion: reduced acute pathology with unaffected functional recovery and chronic white matter loss. Neurosci Lett. 2026;870:138443. Burris TP is a co-author. Reports acute pathology reduced at 3 days with no change in hindlimb recovery over 6 weeks and no difference in white matter sparing. PMID 41232745 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, World Anti-Doping Code International Standard, in force 1 January 2026. Text extracted from the list PDF on 18 August 2026. Section S4.4.1 reads in one bullet: 'Rev-erba agonists, e.g. SR9009, SR9011'. The S4 header states that prohibited substances in classes S4.3 and S4.4 are non-Specified Substances, prohibited at all times, in- and out-of-competition. View on www.wada-ama.org
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.