Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
YK-11
YK-11 is a synthetic 19-norpregnadiene steroid first described by a single Japanese laboratory in 2011. Its published record runs to four cell-culture papers from that group, four rodent papers from three other groups, two equine oral-administration studies and a set of doping-control analyses; no clinical trial has ever been registered for it, and no published experiment has measured its effect on muscle in a living animal. The one human administration on record was an excretion study run by anti-doping laboratories, which measured urinary metabolites rather than effects.
- Class
- Synthetic steroidal small molecule; a 19-norpregna-4,20-diene bearing a spiro orthoester across C17 and C20 and a C21 methyl ester. Not a peptide.
- CAS number
- 1370003-76-1
- PubChem CID
- 119058028
- Molecular formula
- C25H34O6
- Molecular weight
- 430.5 g/mol (PubChem); 430.5348 computed by FDA GSRS from the same structure
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- YK11, YK-11; UNII Z9748J6B0R, DTXSID301107018. CAS index name methyl (17α,20E)-17,20-[(1-methoxyethylidene)bis(oxy)]-3-oxo-19-norpregna-4,20-diene-21-carboxylate.
Identity, and two structural claims it rules out
Nothing about YK-11's registration is ambiguous. The only thing likely to trip a reader is that the same structure is written out two very different ways. PubChem holds a single record under the name: CID 119058028, CAS registry number 1370003-76-1, molecular formula C25H34O6, molecular weight 430.5, InChIKey KCQHQCDHFVGNMK-PQUNLUOYSA-N. The FDA Global Substance Registration System points at that same CAS number and that same PubChem identifier under UNII Z9748J6B0R, and computes a weight of 430.5348 from the deposited structure. The CAS index name, methyl (17α,20E)-17,20-[(1-methoxyethylidene)bis(oxy)]-3-oxo-19-norpregna-4,20-diene-21-carboxylate, sits in both registries as a deposited synonym. PubChem's own computed IUPAC name renders the identical structure in spiro form, as methyl (2E)-2-[2'-methoxy-2',13-dimethyl-3-oxospiro[dodecahydrocyclopenta[a]phenanthrene-17,5'-1,3-dioxolane]-4'-ylidene]acetate. Read either way, the compound is a four-ring steroid with a ketone at C3 conjugated to a double bond at C4, no methyl at C10, and a spiro orthoester bridging C17 and C20 which carries a methoxy substituent and terminates in a methyl ester.
Two structural claims repeated across secondary pages do not survive those records. YK-11 is almost always introduced as a derivative of dihydrotestosterone. Dihydrotestosterone is an androstane with a fully saturated A-ring and a methyl at C10; the registered YK-11 structure is a 19-norpregnane with a 3-keto A-ring carrying a double bond at C4. The two differ in ring skeleton, in carbon count and in the oxidation state of the A-ring. The second claim is that YK-11 is 17α-methylated, the modification usually invoked to explain hepatotoxicity in orally active androgens. No methyl group sits at C17 in either deposited structure. That position is occupied by an orthoester oxygen. A trade designation for the compound also circulates on vendor product pages; it appears in neither PubChem's twenty-two synonyms for the CID nor the GSRS record, and it is not carried in the identity block here.
Regulatory position is unambiguous. No medicines agency has approved YK-11 for any indication anywhere. The FDA consumer update on selective androgen receptor modulators, content current as of 26 April 2023, states that SARMs are not FDA approved, that although they are often marketed as dietary supplements or sold for research use only they are considered unapproved drugs, and that they cannot be legally marketed in the United States as a dietary supplement or drug. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List names YK-11 under S1.2, Other Anabolic Agents, in a bracketed list of six example SARMs alongside andarine, enobosarm, LGD-4033, RAD140 and S-23. Everything in S1 is prohibited at all times, in and out of competition.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Partial agonist activity in an androgen-response-element luciferase reporter assay; accelerated nuclear translocation of the androgen receptor; no induction of the amino/carboxyl-terminal interaction, and prevention of dihydrotestosterone-mediated N/C interaction; gene-selective effects on androgen receptor target genes | Androgen-response-element luciferase reporter system; MDA-MB 453 human breast cancer cells | In vitro | Not stated in the abstract; concentrations and replicate counts are in the full text, which could not be retrieved this session (J-STAGE returned HTTP 500 on repeated attempts) | Kanno 2011, Biol Pharm Bull, PMID 21372378 |
| Myosin heavy chain protein raised at day 7 by 500 nM YK11 and by 500 nM dihydrotestosterone; Myf5 and myogenin mRNA at day 4 raised more by YK11 than by dihydrotestosterone, with YK11 requiring 100 nM or 500 nM across a 1-500 nM range while dihydrotestosterone acted at lower concentrations; upregulation suppressed by co-treatment with hydroxyflutamide at 10 microM; follistatin induced by YK11 but not by dihydrotestosterone, and YK11-mediated differentiation reversed by anti-follistatin antibody | C2C12 mouse myoblast cell line, differentiation medium with 2% horse serum | In vitro | 3 replicates per condition | Kanno 2013, Biol Pharm Bull, PMID 23995658 |
| Cell proliferation and mineralisation accelerated by YK11 treatment and by dihydrotestosterone treatment; osteoprotegerin and osteocalcin raised in YK11-treated cells compared with untreated cells; these observations attenuated by an androgen receptor antagonist; phosphorylated Akt protein increased by YK11 and by dihydrotestosterone | MC3T3-E1 mouse osteoblast cell line | In vitro | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Yatsu 2018, Biol Pharm Bull, PMID 29491216 |
| Different patterns of androgen receptor target gene expression and of receptor recruitment to enhancer regions between dihydrotestosterone and YK11; docking suggested helices 11 and 12 displaced by the sterically hindered C17 group; mutational work at AR Gln902 and mammalian two-hybrid assays suggested different cofactor recruitment | MDA-MB-453 androgen-receptor-positive human breast cancer cells | In vitro | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Kanno 2022, Exp Cell Res, PMID 36030969 |
| Myostatin protein increased in the muscle of septic mice alongside follistatin, NF-kappaB, myogenin, MyoD, phosphorylated FOXO3a and phosphorylated Smad2; YK11 repressed pro-inflammatory cytokines and organ damage markers in bloodstream and major organs and decreased sepsis mortality | Mice inoculated with gram-negative bacteria | Not stated in the retrieved abstract; the full text was not retrievable this session | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Lee 2021, Biochem Biophys Res Commun, PMID 33588136 |
| 0.25 to 4 microM promoted osteogenic differentiation of bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells with the effect increasing across the range; 2 microM promoted proliferation; in vivo, a YK11-equipped hydrogel at 0.5 and 1 mg/mL promoted repair of cranial bone defects; androgen receptor inhibition suppressed both effects; BMP2/Smad signalling implicated | Bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells, species not stated in the abstract; rat cranial defect model in vivo | In vitro; hydrogel applied to the defect site in vivo | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Wang 2025, J Mol Endocrinol, PMID 39660819 |
| 2023 report: increased hippocampal oxidative stress and proteotoxic effects, with impairment of all measured mitochondrial function markers; exercise alone increased antioxidant defences and improved mitochondrial metabolism; the combined group prevented alterations in MnSOD/SOD2 and MTT reduction capacity but did not reverse the oxidative stress or the respiratory-chain and mitochondrial-dynamics changes. 2024 report, same protocol: hippocampal IL-1beta and IL-6 increased and IL-10 reduced; p38 MAPK activity heightened; Bax/Bcl-2/cleaved caspase-3 cascade engaged; BDNF/TrkB/CREB signalling downregulated and aversive memory consolidation modulated, irrespective of exercise; the combined group counteracted the IL-6 change, elevated IL-10 and mitigated the Bcl-2 and cleaved caspase-3 changes | Male Wistar rats, four groups: control, YK11, swimming exercise, exercise plus YK11; the same five-week protocol is reported in both papers | Dose printed as 0.35 g/kg over a five-week protocol; the route of administration is not stated in either retrieved abstract | Not stated in either retrieved abstract | Dahleh 2023, J Steroid Biochem Mol Biol, PMID 37468001; Dahleh 2024, Chem Biol Interact, PMID 38521455 |
| Fourteen deuterated urinary metabolites detected, comprising unconjugated, glucuronidated and sulfoconjugated forms; no intact YK11 observed in any post-administration urine sample; unconjugated metabolites disappeared within 24 hours while glucuronidated and sulfated metabolites remained traceable beyond 48 hours; the two most promising glucuronidated metabolites, 5beta-19-nor-pregnane-3alpha,17beta,20-triol and 5beta-19-nor-pregnane-3alpha,17beta-diol-20-one, were synthesised in-house and confirmed by NMR | Human elimination study with six-fold deuterated YK11 | Administered; the abstract does not state the route, the dose or the number of volunteers, and the full text is paywalled and did not open this session | Not stated in the abstract | Piper 2018, Drug Test Anal, PMID 30379415 |
| Parent YK-11 and seven phase I metabolites detected in plasma, present non-conjugated with one metabolite also showing some glucuronide conjugation; eleven phase I metabolites in urine, nine excreted non-conjugated and two minor metabolites detected solely as sulfate conjugates; the most abundant urinary analytes were a mono-O-demethylated breakdown product and di-O-demethylated YK-11; in vitro incubation with equine liver microsomes and S9 produced 79 metabolites with little overlap with the in vivo set | Thoroughbred horses | Oral, 50 mg daily for three days | 2 horses | Harding 2023, Drug Test Anal, PMID 36519889 |
| RAD140 and YK-11 detected in mane hair collected after oral administration of the respective drugs; segmental analysis of post-administration hair indicated that RAD140 was incorporated both internally via the bloodstream and externally through sweat or sebum, whereas YK-11 was incorporated primarily through sweat or sebum | Horses, mane hair analysed segmentally; Hong Kong Jockey Club Racing Laboratory | Oral, YK-11 at 0.2 mg/kg daily for three days, in a separate administration study previously conducted by the same laboratory | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | So 2025, Drug Test Anal, PMID 39001560 |
| SARMs detected at high concentrations in 20 of 60 products advertised as having androgenic properties, including andarine at 7.2% in one product and GW501516 at 3.49% in another; MK-677 and YK-11 were detected in products that did not declare them on the label; YK-11 was found to hydrolyse within a few hours, such that the protonated ion at m/z 431 was not detected and identification proceeded via fragmentation and a sodiated ion at m/z 453.3, with the acid-hydrolysis product characterised by NMR | Dietary supplements purchased online and directly from international vendors in 2020 | LC-MS/MS with LC-Q-TOF/MS confirmation | 60 products | Lee 2021, Food Addit Contam Part A, PMID 33934684 |
| Two FDA CAERS reports returned for the terms YK-11, YK11 and YK 11, neither of them a single-product record: hepatic failure in a 23-year-old man logged 16 May 2019, categorised life-threatening with hospitalisation and disability, appearing identically in the LGD-4033 row and the YK-11 row of the same table; and cerebrovascular accident with paraesthesia in a 37-year-old man logged 17 December 2020, appearing identically under LGD-4033, RAD-140 and YK-11. One of the 20 tabulated published adverse-event reports names YK-11: a cholestatic liver injury over three months with ALT 148 IU/L, AST 88 IU/L, ALP 151 IU/L and total bilirubin 29.2 mg/dL, exposure recorded as LGD-4033, RAD-140 and YK-11 together, dose not specified | Spontaneous adverse-event reports and published case reports; the named case was a previously healthy active-duty United States Marine | Self-administered consumer products; exposures not analytically verified | 2 CAERS reports, each also filed under at least one other product name; 1 published case naming YK-11 among 20 reports reviewed | Leciejewska 2024, Eur J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 38059982, tabulating Lee 2023, Mil Med, PMID 35253885 |
| YK-11 is a myostatin inhibitor | A PubMed search for YK11 AND myostatin returns three records and no more. Lee 2021 (PMID 33588136) puts the description in its title; Dahleh 2024 (PMID 38521455) uses it in the introduction; Piper 2018 (PMID 30379415) writes that the compound 'is described to possess' selective androgen receptor modulator- and myostatin-inhibitor-like properties, attributing rather than asserting. None of the three reports a measurement of myostatin binding, myostatin expression or myostatin activity under YK-11. What was measured, in Kanno 2013, is induction of follistatin in a mouse myoblast line. Follistatin binds several TGF-beta family members, myostatin among them. No published experiment has taken the step from that observation to a measurement of myostatin under this compound. | No source found | ||
| The half-life of YK-11 is roughly 6 to 10 hours, or approximately 12 hours | A PubMed search combining YK11 with pharmacokinetic terms or 'half-life' returns exactly one record, Dahleh 2024, and its pharmacokinetics are a physiologically based in-silico model of brain permeability rather than a measurement in a subject. No published study reports a plasma concentration-time curve for YK-11 in any species. Aggregator pages carrying the 6-to-10-hour and approximately-12-hour figures attribute them to user reports or to unnamed 'trusted' sources. At least one aggregator page carrying the figure also states that the half-life is unknown. | No source found | ||
| YK-11 is a derivative of dihydrotestosterone | Checked against the deposited structures in PubChem CID 119058028 and FDA GSRS UNII Z9748J6B0R, which agree with each other. YK-11 is a 19-norpregnane with a 3-keto A-ring bearing a double bond at C4 and an orthoester bridging C17 and C20; dihydrotestosterone is a 5-alpha-reduced androstane with a fully saturated A-ring and a methyl at C10. The two differ in ring skeleton, carbon count and A-ring oxidation state. Neither Kanno 2011 nor any subsequent paper describes YK-11 as derived from dihydrotestosterone; the 2011 paper calls it a novel steroid compound and its abstract names no synthetic precursor. | No source found | ||
| YK-11 is 17-alpha-methylated, and is hepatotoxic for that reason | Same structural check, same answer: there is no methyl group at C17 in either registry structure, and that position carries an orthoester oxygen. The claim appears on aggregator pages that attribute liver toxicity to a '17-alpha-methyl modification' as a mechanistic argument rather than an observation. Separately, a PubMed search combining YK11 or YK-11 with liver, hepatotox* and drug-induced liver injury terms returns one record, the equine metabolism paper, where 'liver' refers to microsome and S9 incubations. No study in any species has measured liver enzymes, bilirubin or hepatic histology in an animal given YK-11. | No source found | ||
| An anabolic-to-androgenic ratio is quoted for YK-11 | No Hershberger assay has been performed on this compound. That assay, weighing levator ani against prostate and seminal vesicle in castrated rats, is what produces an anabolic-to-androgenic ratio, and a PubMed search combining YK11 with prostate, gonadal or testosterone-suppression terms returns zero records. The ratios in circulation are stated without a stated comparator and without citation, and several pages that discuss the compound at length give no figure at all. There is no published experiment from which such a number could have been calculated. | No source found | ||
| YK-11 produces roughly 5 to 10 lb of lean mass in 4 to 8 weeks | ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero registered studies for YK11 or YK-11, and no animal study has measured muscle mass, lean mass or body composition under this compound. The page carrying this figure marks it as an expectation rather than a trial result. The number still has no measurement behind it. The nearest published quantities are follistatin induction and myogenic transcript changes in a mouse myoblast line at 500 nM, which are not body-composition figures and cannot be converted into any. | No source found | ||
| YK-11 does not damage the liver at up to 30 mg per day | Traced to nothing. There is no dose-ranging study, no toxicology study, no liver-function measurement and no documented human exposure record for YK-11, so no threshold of any kind can have been derived. The page carrying this figure gives no citation. The only liver-related record naming the compound is an FDA CAERS report of hepatic failure in a 23-year-old man, logged 16 May 2019 with the dose unrecorded, as retrieved by Leciejewska and colleagues in their search to October 2023 - and that same report is tabulated identically in their LGD-4033 row, so it names more than one product and is not a YK-11-only exposure. A specific milligram figure below which a compound is asserted to be safe is the most common shape the untraceable claim takes in this category. | No source found | ||
Four cell papers from one laboratory
The compound enters the literature in March 2011, in Biological and Pharmaceutical Bulletin. Kanno and colleagues at Toho University reported that YK11 activated an androgen-response-element luciferase reporter as a partial agonist, accelerated nuclear translocation of the androgen receptor, and did not induce the amino/carboxyl-terminal interaction that full agonists require, while also preventing dihydrotestosterone from inducing it. In MDA-MB 453 breast cancer cells the effect on gene expression relative to a full agonist varied by gene. On that basis the authors proposed the SARM label, which every downstream source has carried since. Concentrations and replicate counts are not in the abstract, and the full text could not be retrieved this session: J-STAGE returned HTTP 500 on repeated requests.
Kanno's 2013 paper is the one the rest of the field rests on. Mouse C2C12 myoblasts were treated with 500 nM YK11, 500 nM dihydrotestosterone or ethanol vehicle in differentiation medium, three replicates per condition. Myosin heavy chain protein rose by day 7 under both compounds. Myf5 and myogenin transcripts on day 4 rose further under YK11 than under dihydrotestosterone, though across a 1 to 500 nM range YK11 needed 100 nM or 500 nM to move them while dihydrotestosterone acted lower. Hydroxyflutamide at 10 µM suppressed the effect. YK11, and not dihydrotestosterone, induced follistatin, and an anti-follistatin antibody reversed the differentiation.
Yatsu and colleagues extended the same in vitro programme in 2018. Treatment with YK11 and treatment with dihydrotestosterone each accelerated proliferation and mineralisation in MC3T3-E1 mouse osteoblasts. Osteoprotegerin and osteocalcin were reported raised in YK11-treated cells against untreated cells; the observations were attenuated by an androgen receptor antagonist, and phosphorylated Akt was increased. Kanno returned to MDA-MB-453 cells in 2022 and found different patterns of receptor recruitment to enhancer regions between the two ligands, with docking suggesting the sterically hindered C17 group displaces helices 11 and 12 and two-hybrid assays suggesting different cofactor recruitment. Four papers, one research group, no animal in any of them.
What has been done in animals, and what has not
Mice inoculated with gram-negative bacteria supply the first appearance in a living organism. Lee and colleagues reported in 2021 that myostatin protein rose in the muscle of septic mice alongside follistatin, NF-κB, myogenin, MyoD, phosphorylated FOXO3a and phosphorylated Smad2, and that YK11 repressed pro-inflammatory cytokines and organ damage markers in blood and in major organs, decreasing mortality. Dose, route and group sizes are absent from the abstract and the full text was not retrievable. The paper's title calls YK11 a myostatin inhibitor. What the experiment measured was cytokines, organ damage markers and survival.
Bone work follows the osteoblast result into an animal. Wang and colleagues reported in 2025 that 0.25 to 4 µM YK11 promoted osteogenic differentiation of bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells, with the effect increasing across that range, and that 2 µM promoted proliferation. The species of those cells is not stated in the abstract, and the publisher full text did not open this session. A YK11-loaded hydrogel at 0.5 and 1 mg/mL promoted repair of cranial defects in rats, which is the part of the study the abstract does place in a species. Inhibiting the androgen receptor suppressed both the differentiation and the repair. The authors implicate BMP2/Smad signalling. Group sizes are not given in the abstract.
Rat neurotoxicology accounts for the remaining in vivo work, and it points the other way. Dahleh and colleagues at the Federal University of Pampa ran a five-week protocol splitting male Wistar rats into control, YK11, swimming exercise and combined groups. The 2023 and 2024 papers both print the dose as 0.35 g/kg, and neither abstract states the route or the group sizes. Hippocampal oxidative stress rose and every mitochondrial function marker was impaired; exercise alone was protective; the combination preserved MnSOD/SOD2 and MTT reduction capacity but reversed nothing else. The 2024 paper adds raised IL-1β and IL-6, lowered IL-10, increased p38 MAPK, an engaged Bax/Bcl-2/cleaved caspase-3 cascade, downregulated BDNF/TrkB/CREB signalling and altered aversive memory consolidation.
Absent from all of it is any measurement of muscle. No published experiment has recorded skeletal muscle mass, lean mass, grip strength, fibre cross-sectional area or body composition in an animal given YK-11. A PubMed search combining YK11 with muscle mass, hypertrophy or body composition returns four records: a supplement-screening method paper, the sepsis study, the osteoblast study and a review. No Hershberger assay, the castrated-rat design that separates anabolic from androgenic activity and is the standard first test for this compound class, has been run on it. A search combining YK11 with prostate, gonadal or testosterone-suppression terms returns nothing at all.
The human record is analytical
ClinicalTrials.gov returns no registered study for YK11 or YK-11, at any phase, under any sponsor. There is no development programme. The human data that exist were generated by anti-doping laboratories, and they exist because the compound turned up in a seized black-market product rather than because anyone set out to study it. Thevis and colleagues characterised its mass spectrometry in 2017, synthesising YK-11 and three stable-isotope-labelled analogues and mapping the dissociation pathways and diagnostic product ions needed to look for it.
Piper and colleagues followed in 2018 with an elimination study using six-fold deuterated YK11. Fourteen deuterated urinary metabolites were detected, unconjugated, glucuronidated and sulfoconjugated. No intact YK11 appeared in any post-administration sample. Unconjugated metabolites disappeared within 24 hours; glucuronidated and sulfated ones remained traceable beyond 48. Two glucuronidated metabolites, 5β-19-nor-pregnane-3α,17β,20-triol and 5β-19-nor-pregnane-3α,17β-diol-20-one, were synthesised in-house, confirmed by NMR and folded into the routine method for anabolic agents. The abstract does not say how many volunteers were dosed, or with how much, and the full text sits behind a paywall that did not open this session. This is the only human administration of YK-11 in the published record.
A 2024 letter records a detection. Sobolevsky and colleagues at the UCLA Olympic Analytical Laboratory published in Drug Testing and Analysis a communication typed by PubMed as a case report and titled as the detection of YK-11 in a doping control sample. No abstract is deposited in PubMed and the publisher returned HTTP 403 to retrieval attempts made for this record, so nothing beyond the title is available here: the sample, the species, the finding and its circumstances are not established by anything this page could read. Set that title against the WADA anti-doping testing figures for 2011 to 2020 as tabulated in Leciejewska's 2024 review: ostarine, ligandrol, RAD-140, andarine, S-23 and S-22 all appear with counts, and YK-11 appears in none of those ten years.
Horses supply what direct measurement exists of the intact molecule in a living body, across two separate oral administration studies run by two laboratories. Harding and colleagues gave two Thoroughbred horses three daily oral doses of 50 mg and analysed urine and plasma. Parent YK-11 and seven phase I metabolites were detected in plasma, largely unconjugated; eleven phase I metabolites appeared in urine, with a mono-O-demethylated breakdown product and di-O-demethylated YK-11 the most abundant. Incubation with equine liver microsomes generated 79 metabolites that barely overlapped the in vivo set. Detection of the parent compound in plasma after oral dosing is the only direct evidence in the published record that intact YK-11 is absorbed in any species.
The second equine study reaches a different matrix. So and colleagues at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Racing Laboratory reported in 2025 that RAD140 and YK-11 were detected in mane hair from horses given the respective drugs orally, YK-11 at 0.2 mg/kg daily for three days in an administration study the same laboratory had run earlier to establish urine and plasma analytes. Segmental analysis indicated that RAD140 was incorporated into hair both internally via the bloodstream and externally through sweat or sebum, whereas YK-11 was incorporated primarily through sweat or sebum. That route makes the hair result a detection finding rather than an absorption measurement. Group sizes are not stated in the abstract.
Adverse-event records, and what they carry
Leciejewska and colleagues searched PubMed between September 2022 and October 2023 and assembled 20 reports of adverse events published since 2020, most of them drug-induced liver injury presenting as cholestatic or hepatocellular injury with jaundice. One tabulated case names YK-11: Lee and colleagues in Military Medicine, a previously healthy active-duty United States Marine with cholestatic liver injury over three months, ALT 148 IU/L, AST 88 IU/L, ALP 151 IU/L and total bilirubin 29.2 mg/dL. The review's extraction table lists the exposure as LGD-4033, RAD-140 and YK-11 together and records that the dose was not specified. The case report abstract itself names no compound. Documented there is an outcome following three compounds, not one.
Spontaneous reports add two more records and no more certainty. The same review queried the FDA's Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition Adverse Event Reporting System. The terms YK-11, YK11 and YK 11 returned two reports: a 23-year-old man with hepatic failure logged 16 May 2019, categorised life-threatening with hospitalisation and disability, and a 37-year-old man with cerebrovascular accident and paraesthesia logged 17 December 2020. Neither is a single-product record. The hepatic-failure entry appears identically in the table's LGD-4033 row as well as its YK-11 row; the cerebrovascular entry appears identically under LGD-4033, RAD-140 and YK-11. Each is one report naming more than one product. Spontaneous reports are unverified and carry no denominator.
For the class rather than the compound, the FDA lists increased risk of heart attack or stroke, psychosis and hallucinations, sleep disturbances, sexual dysfunction, liver injury and acute liver failure, infertility, pregnancy miscarriage and testicular shrinkage among the problems associated with SARMs in studies and reports it has received. That is a class statement covering molecules with far larger case literatures than this one. No published case series isolates YK-11 as a single exposure.
The size of the record
Product analysis gives a sense of what circulates under the name. Lee and colleagues at Korea's National Institute of Food and Drug Safety Evaluation validated an LC-MS/MS method for six SARMs and applied it to 60 dietary supplements bought online and directly from international vendors in 2020. SARMs were detected at high concentrations in 20 products advertised as having androgenic properties, andarine at 7.2% in one and GW501516 at 3.49% in another. MK-677 and YK-11 were found in products whose labels did not declare them.
That paper also records a chemical property with practical weight. YK-11 hydrolyses within a few hours, and it did so under the analytical conditions: the protonated ion at m/z 431 was not detected at all, the compound had to be confirmed through fragmentation and a sodiated ion at m/z 453.3, and the acid-hydrolysis product was characterised by NMR. A molecule that decomposes on that timescale complicates any statement about what a preparation contains at the moment of use, and it sits consistently beside Piper's finding that no intact YK11 reached urine.
Twenty PubMed records return for the string YK11. Three of them are not this compound: two are unrelated peptides that happen to share the letters, and one is an unrelated small molecule carrying the same designation. Of the seventeen that are, this page cites sixteen. The one left out is a 2018 review of selective androgen receptor modulator detection in doping control, which surveys the class and reports no primary data on YK-11; it is named here so that the exclusion is recorded rather than silent. Publication types and correction links were checked on every YK-11 record cited: none is typed as a Retracted Publication or an Expression of Concern, and none carries an erratum.
The most recent additions are computational, and there are two rather than one. Dahleh and colleagues docked eight SARMs against the androgen receptor and 5-alpha reductase II in 2025, combining molecular docking, density functional theory and molecular dynamics, and reported that YK11 interacted with both proteins while a different compound in the set returned the lower RMSD values. Mihalev and colleagues docked YK11 and ostarine against five nuclear receptors with AutoDock 4.2 in 2026 and found YK11's predicted binding ordered GR > PR > AR > MR > ER, then concluded that docking energies describe thermodynamic compatibility and should not be read as predictors of tissue selectivity. That caveat is the authors' own. Neither paper measured anything in a cell or an animal.
What is not known
No experiment has measured what this compound does to muscle in a living animal, which is the property it is sold for. There is no pharmacokinetic study in any species: no half-life, no clearance, no volume of distribution, no oral bioavailability figure and no measured plasma concentration in a person. No binding affinity has been published, in the sense of a Ki, an IC50 or an EC50 at the androgen receptor or at any other steroid receptor; the affinity figures in circulation come from docking software, and of the two docking papers on this compound the more recent, from 2026, says explicitly that its energies should not be read as predictors of tissue selectivity. Nothing addresses effects on the hypothalamic-pituitary-gonadal axis, on prostate tissue, on lipids, on haematocrit or on liver enzymes under controlled conditions, in any species. The rodent work that exists concerns the hippocampus and the skull, prints its dose in grams per kilogram, and does not state its route. The equine work establishes metabolite profiles and detection windows, not effects. No dose-response relationship has been established for any endpoint outside cell culture. The compound has never been the subject of a registered clinical trial, is not approved anywhere, and hydrolyses in solution over hours, so material offered under the name has neither an identity standard nor a stability profile behind it.
Questions
Has YK-11 ever been tested in a human trial?
Is YK-11 a myostatin inhibitor?
What is YK-11's half-life?
Is YK-11 derived from dihydrotestosterone, and is it 17-alpha-methylated?
Is YK-11 prohibited in sport?
References
- Kanno Y, Hikosaka R, Zhang SY, et al. (17alpha,20E)-17,20-[(1-Methoxyethylidene)bis(oxy)]-3-oxo-19-norpregna-4,20-diene-21-carboxylic acid methyl ester (YK11) is a partial agonist of the androgen receptor. Biol Pharm Bull. 2011;34(3):318-323. PMID 21372378. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum on the PubMed record. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kanno Y, Ota R, Someya K, Kusakabe T, Kato K, Inouye Y. Selective androgen receptor modulator, YK11, regulates myogenic differentiation of C2C12 myoblasts by follistatin expression. Biol Pharm Bull. 2013;36(9):1460-1465. PMID 23995658. Free full text on J-STAGE; no retraction, expression of concern or erratum. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Yatsu T, Kusakabe T, Kato K, Inouye Y, Nemoto K, Kanno Y. Selective androgen receptor modulator, YK11, up-regulates osteoblastic proliferation and differentiation in MC3T3-E1 cells. Biol Pharm Bull. 2018;41(3):394-398. PMID 29491216. The abstract attributes proliferation and mineralisation to YK11 and to dihydrotestosterone, and osteoprotegerin and osteocalcin to YK11-treated cells against untreated cells. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kanno Y, Saito N, Saito R, et al. Differential DNA-binding and cofactor recruitment are possible determinants of the synthetic steroid YK11-dependent gene expression by androgen receptor in breast cancer MDA-MB 453 cells. Exp Cell Res. 2022;419(2):113333. PMID 36030969. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lee SJ, Gharbi A, Shin JE, Jung ID, Park YM. Myostatin inhibitor YK11 as a preventative health supplement for bacterial sepsis. Biochem Biophys Res Commun. 2021;543:1-7. PMID 33588136. Three of the five authors carry an affiliation with a biotechnology company, one of them jointly with the university; the paper declares no competing interest. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wang R, Zhong Y, Du Q, Zhao C, Wang Y, Pan J. YK11 promotes osteogenic differentiation of BMSCs and repair of bone defects. J Mol Endocrinol. 2025;74(2):e240073. PMID 39660819. The abstract does not state the species of the bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells; the cranial defect model is stated to be in rats. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dahleh MMM, Bortolotto VC, Guerra GP, Boeira SP, Prigol M. YK11 induces oxidative stress and mitochondrial dysfunction in hippocampus: the interplay between a selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM) and exercise. J Steroid Biochem Mol Biol. 2023;233:106364. PMID 37468001. Companion report on the same five-week protocol: Dahleh MMM, Bortolotto VC, Boeira SP, Segat HJ, Guerra GP, Prigol M. From gains to gaps? How Selective Androgen Receptor Modulator (SARM) YK11 impact hippocampal function. Chem Biol Interact. 2024;394:110971. PMID 38521455. Dose printed as 0.35 g/kg in both; route not stated in either abstract. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dahleh MMM, Boeira SP, Segat HJ, Guerra GP, Prigol M. A SARM a day keeps the weakness away: a computational approach for selective androgen receptor modulators (SARMs) and their interactions with androgen receptor and 5-alpha reductase proteins. ACS Omega. 2025;10(29):31649-31667. PMID 40757306. Docking, density functional theory and molecular dynamics only; no cell or animal measurement. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mihalev K, Iliev I, Agova N, Toshev N, Georgieva S. Limitations of molecular docking in predicting the selectivity of selective androgen receptor modulators (SARMs): a comparative study of YK11 and ostarine across five nuclear receptors. Int J Mol Sci. 2026;27(13):5765. PMID 42450037. The authors state that their docking energies should not be interpreted as predictors of tissue selectivity. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Thevis M, Piper T, Dib J, et al. Mass spectrometric characterization of the selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM) YK-11 for doping control purposes. Rapid Commun Mass Spectrom. 2017;31(14):1175-1183. PMID 28440570. Companion work from the same centre: Piper T, Dib J, Putz M, et al. Studies on the in vivo metabolism of the SARM YK11: identification and characterization of metabolites potentially useful for doping controls. Drug Test Anal. 2018;10(11-12):1646-1656. PMID 30379415; that abstract does not state the number of volunteers or the administered dose, and its full text was not retrievable this session. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sobolevsky T, Kucherova Y, Ahrens B. Detection of selective androgen receptor modulator YK-11 in a doping control sample. Drug Test Anal. 2024;16(6):655-660. PMID 37946705. Typed by PubMed as Letter and Case Reports; no abstract is deposited in PubMed and the publisher returned HTTP 403 to retrieval attempts made for this record, so only the title is available here. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Harding C, Viljanto M, Habershon-Butcher J, Taylor P, Scarth J. Equine metabolism of the selective androgen receptor modulator YK-11 in urine and plasma following oral administration. Drug Test Anal. 2023;15(4):388-407. PMID 36519889. Two Thoroughbred horses, three daily oral doses of 50 mg. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- So YM, Kong FK, Kwok WH, Kwok KY, Wan TSM, Ho EN. Detection of nonsteroidal and steroidal selective androgen receptor modulators in equine hair after oral administrations. Drug Test Anal. 2025;17(5):655-662. PMID 39001560. Reports a separate equine oral administration of YK-11 at 0.2 mg/kg daily for three days, previously conducted by the same laboratory, and segmental analysis of post-administration mane hair. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lee JH, Han JH, Jung EJ, et al. Development and validation of liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry method for screening six selective androgen receptor modulators in dietary supplements. Food Addit Contam Part A. 2021;38(7):1075-1086. PMID 33934684. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Leciejewska N, Jedrejko K, Gomez-Renaud VM, Manriquez-Nunez J, Muszynska B, Pokrywka A. Selective androgen receptor modulator use and related adverse events including drug-induced liver injury: analysis of suspected cases. Eur J Clin Pharmacol. 2024;80(2):185-202. PMID 38059982. Open access; source of the CAERS query results and the WADA testing-figures tabulation, and of the extraction-table entry for Lee BK, Park BB, Bower RJ. Selective androgen receptor modulator-induced liver injury in active duty male. Mil Med. 2023;188(7-8):usac039. PMID 35253885, whose own abstract names no individual compound. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem compound record CID 119058028 (YK-11): CAS 1370003-76-1, C25H34O6, molecular weight 430.5, InChIKey KCQHQCDHFVGNMK-PQUNLUOYSA-N, DTXSID301107018; computed IUPAC name given in spiro-acetate form, with the CAS index name carried among 22 deposited synonyms. Retrieved via PUG-REST. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- United States Food and Drug Administration, Global Substance Registration System record for UNII Z9748J6B0R, cross-referencing CAS 1370003-76-1, PubChem CID 119058028 and DTXSID301107018, giving formula C25H34O6 and a computed molecular weight of 430.5348, and supplying the SMILES from which the structural reading in section one was made. View on precision.fda.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency, 2026 Prohibited List, section S1.2 Other Anabolic Agents, which names YK-11 among six example SARMs; in force from 1 January 2026. And: United States Food and Drug Administration consumer update, FDA Warns of Use of Selective Androgen Receptor Modulators (SARMs) Among Teens, Young Adults, content current as of 26 April 2023, at https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-updates/fda-warns-use-selective-androgen-receptor-modulators-sarms-among-teens-young-adults View on www.wada-ama.org
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.