Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
RAD-140 (Testolone)
RAD-140 is a nonsteroidal small molecule described by Radius Health in 2011 and now carrying the International Nonproprietary Name vosilasarm. Its entire human record is oncology: two registered trials in women with breast cancer, one of which reported elevated AST in 59.1 percent of participants. Separately, eight indexed case reports describe liver injury following consumer use, most but not all of them cholestatic in pattern. Several of the numbers quoted most often about this compound trace to no primary source at all.
- Class
- Nonsteroidal small molecule; 1,3,4-oxadiazole-based selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM). Not a peptide.
- CAS number
- 1182367-47-0
- PubChem CID
- 44200882
- Molecular formula
- C20H16ClN5O2
- Molecular weight
- 393.8 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- RAD140, RAD-140, Testolone, vosilasarm (INN 11230 / USAN), EP-0062, MN-282; UNII 4O87Q44KNC, ChEMBL1672635, DrugBank DB13939, DTXSID201032907
Identity, and four names for one molecule
Despite the company it keeps, RAD140 is not a peptide, and its identity resolves cleanly. PubChem holds a single compound record under that name: CID 44200882, CAS 1182367-47-0, molecular formula C20H16ClN5O2, molecular weight 393.8 g/mol, InChIKey XMBUPPIEVAFYHO-KPZWWZAWSA-N, UNII 4O87Q44KNC. The FDA Global Substance Registration System agrees on the formula for that UNII and computes a weight of 393.827. The IUPAC name on the PubChem record, 2-chloro-4-[[(1R,2S)-1-[5-(4-cyanophenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]-2-hydroxypropyl]amino]-3-methylbenzonitrile, describes a nonsteroidal small molecule built around a 1,3,4-oxadiazole ring, carrying two nitrile groups and a chlorinated benzonitrile head.
Four further designations attach to that same record. Testolone is the name the consumer market uses. Vosilasarm is the International Nonproprietary Name and the USAN, registered under INN number 11230 and USAN code MN-282. EP-0062 is the code carried by the current clinical programme. Radius Health described the molecule in 2011, the first-in-human trial was sponsored by Stemline Therapeutics, and the trial now recruiting is sponsored by Ellipses Pharma. Secondary pages routinely treat the oncology programme and the powder sold online as two separate subjects. Both chemical registries index every one of those names to the same substance.
No medicines regulator has approved this molecule for any indication anywhere. The FDA's consumer update on selective androgen receptor modulators states that they are not FDA approved, that although they are often marketed as dietary supplements or sold for research use only they are considered unapproved drugs, and that they cannot be legally marketed in the United States as a dietary supplement or drug.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Androgen receptor Ki 7 nM, against 29 nM for testosterone and 10 nM for DHT; closest off-target progesterone receptor IC50 750 nM; C2C12 osteoblast differentiation EC50 0.1 nM (DHT 0.05 nM); microsomal half-life over 2 hours in rat, monkey and human microsomes; oral bioavailability 27-63% in rats and 65-75% in monkeys | Cell-free binding assays; C2C12 osteoblast differentiation assay; rat and cynomolgus monkey pharmacokinetics | In vitro; oral for the bioavailability figures | Not stated in the report | Miller 2011, ACS Med Chem Lett, PMID 24900290 |
| In castrated immature males, levator ani weight rose from 0.03 mg/kg and matched the sham control at 0.3 mg/kg, while prostate weight stayed below the response to testosterone propionate 1 mg/kg s.c. at every dose tested. In intact young males, levator ani weight rose above intact control from the lowest dose tested, 0.1 mg/kg, and prostate weight did not exceed intact control until 30 mg/kg | Castrated immature male rats and intact young male rats, Hershberger design | Oral, 0.5% methylcellulose, 11 days | 5 per group castrated; 8 per group intact | Miller 2011, ACS Med Chem Lett, PMID 24900290 |
| Mean body weight rose more than 10% over 28 days at 0.1 mg/kg; DEXA showed no consistent fat-mass effect and a lean-tissue trend the authors state was not statistically significant (p > 0.05); total plasma testosterone fell from ~600-800 ng/dL at baseline to ~200-300 ng/dL in all three dose groups, significant only in the 0.01 mg/kg group (p < 0.05); no animal at any dose showed transaminase elevation above twofold of its own baseline | Young intact male cynomolgus monkeys, 3 to 4 years old | Oral, 28 days dosing plus 21 days off drug | 3 per dose group | Miller 2011, ACS Med Chem Lett, PMID 24900290 |
| Elevated AST in 59.1%, ALT in 45.5% and total bilirubin in 27.3%; vomiting, dehydration, decreased appetite and weight loss each 27.3%; grade 3/4 treatment-emergent events in 16 of 22; maximum tolerated dose 100 mg/day; half-life 44.7 hours; sex hormone binding globulin decreased in 18 of 18 measured and prostate-specific antigen increased in 16 of 20; one partial response; clinical benefit rate at 24 weeks 18.2%; median progression-free survival 2.3 months | Postmenopausal women with ER+/HER2- metastatic breast cancer, heavily pretreated | Oral once daily, 50 mg (n=6), 100 mg (n=13), 150 mg (n=3) | 22 enrolled, 21 AR-positive | LoRusso 2022, Clin Breast Cancer, PMID 34565686 |
| 33 studies included, covering 2,136 participants of whom 1,447 were exposed to some SARM; across all compounds, 15 drug-induced liver injury case reports, one Achilles tendon rupture and one rhabdomyolysis; elevated ALT reported at a mean of 7.1% across clinical trials | Generally healthy adults exposed to any SARM, across 18 clinical trials and 15 case reports or case series | Various; systematic review of PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science and ClinicalTrials.gov searched 10 November 2022 | 2,136 participants, 1,447 exposed | Vignali 2023, J Xenobiot, PMID 37218811 |
| Eight indexed case reports of liver injury following consumer use: normalisation roughly three months after cessation in a 52-year-old (Barbara); peak total bilirubin 38.5 mg/dL in a 24-year-old after five weeks of use (Leung); normalisation at two months in a 26-year-old (Ladna); total bilirubin falling from a peak of 530 to 188 micromol/L at one month in a 22-year-old (Mohamed); 708 micromol/L on admission with a mixed cholestatic and hepatotoxic picture in a 43-year-old (Perananthan); hepatic steatosis and a hyperechoic lesion rather than cholestasis in a 29-year-old (Demangone); prolonged cholestasis treated with corticosteroids (Niazi); progressive hyperbilirubinaemia requiring plasmapheresis (Dao) | Single patients, men aged 22 to 52; one report involved a product containing RAD-140 and LGD-4033 and one a product containing RAD-140 and andarine | Self-administered oral consumer products; exposures not independently verified | 1 per report, 8 reports | Barbara 2020 PMID 33062783; Leung 2022 PMID 36561105; Mohamed 2023 PMID 36945289; Ladna 2023 PMID 36978171; Perananthan 2024 PMID 38444893; Demangone 2024 PMID 39328701; Niazi 2025 PMID 40761329; Dao 2026 PMID 42417499 |
| Frailty status and mortality risk increased in both young and adult treated groups versus controls (p 0.042 or lower); adaptive potential decreased in young (p = 0.040) but not adult mice (p = 0.688); torque did not differ after 2-3 weeks recovery | Young and adult female mice | 5 mg/kg, 10 weeks; route not stated in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Brown 2023, Clin Exp Pharmacol Physiol, PMID 37758180 |
| No difference in frailty in either sex; males showed preserved lean mass (p = 0.024), preserved bone mineral density (p = 0.004) and lower serum IL-6 (p = 0.043); females showed neither; grip strength, fat mass and muscle genes unaffected in both | Older C57BL/6 mice, 23.7-25.5 months | 5 mg/kg/day for 6 weeks, versus DMSO placebo | 21 males, 15 females | Heinze 2025, Mech Ageing Dev, PMID 40158703 |
| Ejection fraction higher by 10.4%, stroke volume by 9.6 microlitres and cardiac output by 4.5 mL/min in treated animals of both sexes; myocardial strain -5.8% and isovolumic relaxation time -4.7 ms in males, with lesser or opposite effects in females; higher IL-6 correlated with worse global circumferential strain in males but not females; left ventricular androgen receptor mRNA lower with treatment in both sexes; no structural differences observed | Older 23-month-old male and female C57BL/6 mice | 5 mg/kg/day for 6 weeks | Not stated in the retrieved abstract; the full text is not deposited in PubMed Central | Heinze 2026, Geroscience, PMID 41703239 |
| Muscle weight increase in the treated functional-overload group was not statistically different from the vehicle overload group; fibre cross-sectional area was significantly elevated in treated controls versus vehicle controls; no cortical or trabecular bone effect at 14 days | Male Sprague-Dawley rats, plantaris functional overload model, 4 groups | Drinking water, 14 days | 10 per group | Puskas 2025, Physiol Rep, PMID 40680216 |
| Of 44 products marketed as SARMs, 23 (52%) contained a SARM, and the compounds detected were ostarine, LGD-4033 and andarine only; RAD140 was not among them; 17 (39%) contained a different unapproved drug; 4 contained no active compound; label amount matched analysis in 18 of 44 | Products purchased over the internet, February to August 2016 | Chemical analysis under chain of custody | 44 products | Van Wagoner 2017, JAMA, PMID 29183075 |
| The stated SARM was present in about 70% of samples; in 23% a different SARM was present instead; 1 sample contained no SARM; undeclared tamoxifen, clomifene, testosterone, epimethandienone or tadalafil measured in 30% of samples; more than one active substance in over 60%; quantitative NMR content 30% to 90% of label claim | 13 SARM products purchased from retail websites accessible in Italy | Mass spectrometry and quantitative NMR | 13 products | Gaudiano 2024, Sex Med, PMID 38560649 |
| The circulating claim that RAD-140 has an anabolic-to-androgenic ratio of 90:1, versus 1:1 for testosterone | Retrieved the full text of the discovery paper, Miller 2011 (PMID 24900290, PMC4018048), and searched it for the word ratio: it appears three times, in a discussion of testosterone propionate comparison and twice inside the reference list, and no anabolic-to-androgenic index is computed anywhere in the paper. A PubMed search for RAD140 AND anabolic AND androgenic AND ratio returned two records (PMIDs 36469363 and 35888790), neither of which reports such a figure. One of the aggregator pages carrying the number states it is 'purportedly (not officially)' 90:1 and cites nothing. | No source found | ||
| The circulating claim that the elimination half-life is about 60 hours | The only peer-reviewed human pharmacokinetic figure located is 44.7 hours, in LoRusso 2022 (PMID 34565686). The 60-hour figure traces to a 2019 San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium abstract published as Cancer Res 2020;80(4_Suppl):P5-11-01, which was not retrievable this session and is not a peer-reviewed publication. Encyclopaedia entries give 45 to 60 hours citing both. Separate vendor pages state 16 hours and up to 20 hours with no citation. Four figures circulate; one has a published measurement behind it. | No source found | ||
| The circulating claim that RAD-140 increased lean muscle mass by more than 10 percent in primates in 28 days | The source paper reports a mean gain of more than 10 percent in gross body weight, not lean mass, at 0.1 mg/kg over 28 days. The DEXA measurement of lean tissue in the same animals is described by the authors as a qualitative trend, and the paper states explicitly that none of the tissue weight increases reached statistical significance (p > 0.05), attributing this to the group size of three. The circulating claim converts a body-weight figure into a lean-mass figure and drops the null result attached to it. | No source found | ||
| The circulating claim that RAD-140 reduces prostate size by roughly 70 percent | The discovery paper reports that a high dose of RAD140 antagonised testosterone propionate's effect on the seminal vesicles, and that in the prostate it 'caused a downward trend in the stimulation by TP, but the change did not reach statistical significance.' No percentage reduction in prostate weight or size is given anywhere in the paper, and no other primary source reporting a 70 percent figure was located in PubMed. | No source found | ||
| The circulating claim that RAD-140 restored lean mass by more than 30 percent in ovariectomised rats | A PubMed search for RAD140 AND ovariectomized returned zero records. No ovariectomised-rat experiment with this compound was located in PubMed or in the reference lists of the papers cited on this page. The claim appears on a vendor research page with no citation attached. | No source found | ||
| The circulating claim that RAD-140 does not aromatise and does not convert to oestrogen | A PubMed search for RAD140 AND (aromatization OR estradiol) returned zero records. No aromatase assay, no measurement of oestradiol following administration, and no metabolic study addressing aromatisation of this molecule was located. The claim may well follow from the structure, which contains no steroid A-ring, but it has no published measurement behind it and is stated on secondary pages as though it did. | No source found | ||
| Vendor research guides citing 'Neuroendocrine Letters, 2010', 'Brain Research, 2017' and ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02417645 as the primary literature on this compound | Journal-restricted PubMed searches returned zero RAD140 records in Neuro Endocrinology Letters and zero in Brain Research. The ClinicalTrials.gov API returns 'NCT number NCT02417645 not found' for that identifier. The neuroprotection work these pages appear to be describing is Jayaraman 2014 in Endocrinology (PMID 24428527); the registry identifier does not resolve to anything. | No source found | ||
| The circulating claim that RAD-140 suppresses endogenous testosterone by 50 percent or more at the doses named on consumer pages | No human male administration study of this compound was located: a PubMed search for RAD140 AND (suppression OR hypogonadism) returned four records, of which none is a male dosing study, and the only registered human trials enrolled postmenopausal women. Suppression data exist only in cynomolgus monkeys (Miller 2011, roughly 600-800 ng/dL down to roughly 200-300 ng/dL, n=3 per group). The percentage attached to specific milligram amounts on consumer pages has no measurement behind it in any species at those exposures. | No source found | ||
What the 2011 discovery paper measured
Miller and colleagues published the discovery paper in ACS Medicinal Chemistry Letters in 2011. Binding affinity for the androgen receptor was reported as Ki 7 nM, against 29 nM for testosterone and 10 nM for dihydrotestosterone in the same assay. The closest off-target receptor was the progesterone receptor at IC50 750 nM. Functional agonist activity in the C2C12 osteoblast differentiation assay gave an EC50 of 0.1 nM, with DHT at 0.05 nM. Oral bioavailability was given as 27 to 63 percent in rats and 65 to 75 percent in monkeys.
Two rat experiments followed the standard Hershberger design. In castrated immature males dosed orally for eleven days, five per group, levator ani weight rose from 0.03 mg/kg and reached the sham-operated control level at 0.3 mg/kg, while prostate weight stayed below the response to subcutaneous testosterone propionate at every dose tested. In intact young males, eight per group over the same eleven days, levator ani weight rose above control from the lowest dose tested, and prostate weight did not exceed the intact control until 30 mg/kg. Separation between those two thresholds is the paper's central result.
Primate work was smaller. Three young intact male cynomolgus monkeys per group received 0.01, 0.1 or 1.0 mg/kg orally for 28 days, followed by 21 days off drug. Mean body weight rose more than 10 percent at 0.1 mg/kg. DEXA scans taken two days before dosing and one day after the last dose showed no consistent effect on fat mass and what the authors called a qualitative trend in lean tissue; the paper states that none of the tissue weight increases reached statistical significance, and attributes that to the group size of three and large standard deviations. Total plasma testosterone fell from roughly 600 to 800 ng/dL at baseline to roughly 200 to 300 ng/dL in all three groups, significantly so only in the lowest-dose group.
Liver chemistry in that monkey study was unremarkable. No animal at any dose showed transaminase elevation greater than twofold over its own baseline. The paper closes by stating that the compound was being prepared for phase 1 studies in cancer cachexia. No such trial appears in ClinicalTrials.gov.
The human record is oncology, and it is small
Preclinical work set up the oncology programme. Yu and colleagues, publishing in Clinical Cancer Research in 2017, reported that orally administered RAD140 bound the androgen receptor with high affinity, activated it in breast cancer but not prostate cancer cells, and inhibited growth in androgen-receptor and oestrogen-receptor positive patient-derived xenograft models, alone and in combination with palbociclib, with repression of the ESR1 gene offered as the mechanism.
NCT03088527 opened in October 2017 and completed in September 2020, sponsored by Stemline Therapeutics, in postmenopausal women with hormone-receptor-positive breast cancer. The registry records 20 participants as the actual enrolment. LoRusso and colleagues, publishing the trial in Clinical Breast Cancer in 2022, report 22 enrolled, of whom 21 were androgen-receptor positive. Two figures for one study; this record does not reconcile them, and the numbers below follow the published paper, which is the more detailed account.
Dose levels were 50 mg once daily in six patients, 100 mg in thirteen and 150 mg in three, with 100 mg identified as the maximum tolerated dose and a half-life of 44.7 hours supporting once-daily administration. The most frequent treatment-emergent adverse events were elevated AST in 59.1 percent, elevated ALT in 45.5 percent and elevated total bilirubin in 27.3 percent, with vomiting, dehydration, decreased appetite and weight loss each at 27.3 percent. Grade 3 or 4 events occurred in 16 of 22 patients. Sex hormone binding globulin fell in 18 of 18 patients measured and prostate-specific antigen rose in 16 of 20, which the authors read as target engagement. One patient had a partial response, clinical benefit rate at 24 weeks was 18.2 percent, and median progression-free survival was 2.3 months.
A second trial, NCT05573126, has been recruiting since January 2023 under Ellipses Pharma, testing the molecule as EP0062 alone and in combination with elacestrant, everolimus, abemaciclib, fulvestrant or exemestane in the same tumour type. The registry gives an estimated enrolment of 95 and a completion date of February 2028; the sponsor's own announcement of the trial design at the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium on 5 December 2022 said recruitment had commenced for up to 130 patients globally. Findings so far exist only as conference abstracts, including one presented at ASCO in 2025. Conference abstracts are not peer-reviewed publications, and the ASCO abstract page returned HTTP 403 to retrieval attempts made for this record.
Liver injury, and what the case reports have in common
Transaminase elevation in the phase 1 trial recurs across the case literature, in younger people, at exposures nobody recorded. Barbara and colleagues published the first indexed report in 2020: a 52-year-old man who had taken two supplements, one containing RAD-140 and one containing RAD-140 and LGD-4033. Liver biopsy showed diffuse centrilobular canalicular cholestasis, a prominent ductular reaction and mild lobular inflammation with a rare non-necrotising epithelioid granuloma. Liver enzymes returned to normal roughly three months after he stopped both products.
Several reports since have described the same cholestatic pattern. Leung and colleagues in 2022 reported a 24-year-old man with a peak total bilirubin of 38.5 mg/dL after five weeks of use, with biopsy showing intracytoplasmic and canalicular cholestasis and minimal portal inflammation, resolving after cessation. Ladna and colleagues in 2023 reported a 26-year-old man whose liver panel normalised at two months. Niazi and colleagues in 2025 reported prolonged cholestasis managed with corticosteroids. Dao and colleagues in 2026 reported a previously healthy young man taking a product containing RAD-140 and andarine whose progressive hyperbilirubinaemia required plasmapheresis, with a course complicated by pancreatitis and acute kidney injury; the authors describe it as the most severe presentation reported to date.
Three further indexed reports show the pattern is not uniform. Mohamed and colleagues in 2023 described a 22-year-old man whose biopsy showed mixed portal hepatitis, cholestasis and biliary reactive changes, with total bilirubin falling from a peak of 530 micromol/L to 188 micromol/L at one month. Perananthan and George in 2024 described a 43-year-old man with a mixed cholestatic and hepatotoxic picture and a serum bilirubin of 708 micromol/L on admission. Demangone and colleagues in 2024 described a 29-year-old man with jaundice after three months of use whose liver ultrasound showed hepatic steatosis and a hyperechoic lesion rather than a cholestatic picture, resolving after cessation.
Vignali and colleagues searched four databases in November 2022 and included 33 studies covering 2,136 participants, 1,447 of them exposed to some SARM. Across every compound in that review there were 15 drug-induced liver injury case reports, one Achilles tendon rupture and one rhabdomyolysis, with elevated ALT reported at a mean of 7.1 percent across clinical trials. Case reports establish that something happened; they cannot establish how often, because the denominator is unrecorded. Several of the reports above also involve multi-ingredient products, so the exposure being described is a mixture rather than a molecule.
Cardiac and endocrine reports
Three cardiac case reports name this compound. Padappayil and colleagues described acute myocarditis in a young man in a 2022 report in Cureus. Schwartzman and colleagues described myopericarditis in a 16-year-old boy following a first dose, published in JACC: Case Reports in 2024. Skorupski and colleagues described heart failure in Polish Archives of Internal Medicine the same year. Each is a single patient, none establishes frequency, and in each the compound's contribution is inferred from timing and from the absence of another explanation.
Endocrine effects appear in one report with unusually thorough product analysis. Chong and colleagues described a 40-year-old man with bilateral gynaecomastia and biochemical hypogonadotropic hypogonadism after six months of taking three commercial supplements. Analysis found RAD-140, the growth hormone secretagogue MK-677 and cardarine in those products, and also detected undisclosed testosterone, oestradiol and growth hormone in all three, plus an unidentified compound co-eluting near the testosterone peak. Symptoms and biochemistry resolved on cessation. What that report documents is an outcome following exposure to a mixture containing undeclared hormones, which is a different object from an outcome following exposure to one characterised molecule.
Rodent ageing work, and a split by sex
Rodent ageing studies point in different directions depending on the sex of the animal. Brown and colleagues gave 5 mg/kg to young and adult female mice for ten weeks and measured strength, recovery from eccentric contractions, frailty status and mortality risk. Frailty and mortality risk rose in both treated groups relative to controls, at p values of 0.042 or lower; adaptive potential fell in the young group (p = 0.040) but not the adult group (p = 0.688), and torque did not differ after two to three weeks of recovery.
Heinze and colleagues treated older C57BL/6 mice, 21 males and 15 females aged 23.7 to 25.5 months, with the same 5 mg/kg daily for six weeks. Frailty did not differ between treated and control animals in either sex. Male mice showed preserved lean mass (p = 0.024), preserved bone mineral density (p = 0.004) and lower serum interleukin-6 (p = 0.043); female mice showed neither the body-composition nor the inflammatory change. Grip strength, fat mass and the skeletal muscle genes assayed were unaffected in both sexes.
Heinze and colleagues followed that work with a 2026 report in GeroScience, echocardiographing 23-month-old male and female mice on the same 5 mg/kg daily schedule for six weeks. Ejection fraction was higher by 10.4 percent, stroke volume by 9.6 microlitres and cardiac output by 4.5 mL/min in treated animals of both sexes, while myocardial strain (-5.8 percent) and isovolumic relaxation time (-4.7 ms) improved in males and showed lesser or opposite changes in females. Higher interleukin-6 correlated with worse global circumferential strain in males but not females. Left ventricular androgen receptor mRNA was lower with treatment in both sexes, and no structural differences were observed.
Muscle work in rats supplies a fourth reading. Puskas and colleagues randomised male Sprague-Dawley rats, ten per group, to RAD140 or vehicle methylcellulose delivered in drinking water, with or without functional overload of the plantaris, for fourteen days. Muscle weight rose markedly in the treated overload group but was not statistically different from the vehicle overload group. Fibre cross-sectional area was significantly elevated in the treated control group against the vehicle control. Micro-computed tomography showed no effect on cortical or trabecular bone morphometry at fourteen days.
What is sold under the name, and where it stands
Two analytical studies bear on what the name actually buys. Van Wagoner and colleagues purchased 44 products marketed as SARMs over the internet in 2016 and analysed them under chain of custody. Twenty-three, or 52 percent, contained a selective androgen receptor modulator, and the three detected were ostarine, LGD-4033 and andarine. RAD140 was not among the compounds found. Seventeen products, 39 percent, contained a different unapproved drug, four contained no active compound at all, and the amount present matched the label in 18 of the 44. That paper carries an erratum printed in JAMA in February 2018, which does not alter those figures.
Gaudiano and colleagues repeated the exercise on 13 products bought from retail sites accessible in Italy, publishing in Sexual Medicine in 2024. The stated SARM was present in about 70 percent of samples; in 23 percent a different SARM was present instead; one sample contained none. Undeclared tamoxifen, clomifene, testosterone, epimethandienone or tadalafil were measured in 30 percent of samples, more than one active substance was present in over 60 percent, and quantitative NMR put content between 30 and 90 percent of the label claim.
Anti-doping and regulatory positions are explicit. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List places selective androgen receptor modulators under S1.2, Other Anabolic Agents, and names RAD140 among its examples; the whole S1 class is prohibited at all times, in and out of competition, and is non-specified. The FDA's consumer update on this class names heart attack and stroke, psychosis or hallucinations, sleep disturbance, sexual dysfunction, liver injury and acute liver failure, infertility, pregnancy miscarriage and testicular shrinkage among the harms reported to it.
What is not known
The published record does not establish what this molecule does in healthy men, which is the population that actually consumes it. Both registered trials enrolled postmenopausal women with breast cancer; the phase 1 was 22 patients, heavily pretreated, followed for a median progression-free survival of 2.3 months. No study has characterised effects on lean mass, strength, bone density, endogenous gonadal function or lipids in healthy human subjects of either sex, and no trial has run long enough to say anything about chronic exposure. The frequency of liver injury is unknown: the eight indexed case reports establish a recurring, mostly cholestatic picture, but no denominator exists, one report describes a steatotic rather than cholestatic pattern, and several of the reported cases involve products containing more than one compound, sometimes including undeclared hormones. No published study has measured aromatisation, fertility effects, carcinogenicity or reproductive toxicity for this molecule. Rodent ageing work has produced sex-divergent results that no one has yet reconciled, with one study reporting increased frailty and mortality risk in females and another reporting preserved lean mass and bone density in males at the same dose. Whether the reformulated clinical material used in the current Ellipses trial behaves pharmacokinetically like the powder sold online is not addressed by any published comparison; the registries index both to one chemical structure, which is a statement about the molecule and not about a product.
Questions
Has RAD-140 been studied in humans?
What did the phase 1 trial find about the liver?
Is vosilasarm the same substance as RAD-140?
Where does the 90:1 anabolic-to-androgenic ratio figure come from?
Is RAD-140 prohibited in sport?
References
- Chemical registry records. PubChem Compound Summary CID 44200882, RAD140 (vosilasarm), National Center for Biotechnology Information; and FDA Global Substance Registration System substance record UNII 4O87Q44KNC, VOSILASARM (CAS 1182367-47-0; formula C20H16ClN5O2; MW 393.827; INN 11230; USAN MN-282; DrugBank DB13939; EPA DTXSID201032907), at https://gsrs.ncats.nih.gov/ginas/app/beta/substances/4O87Q44KNC. Both retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Miller CP, Shomali M, Lyttle CR, O'Dea LS, Herendeen H, Gallacher K, Paquin D, Compton DR, Sahoo B, Kerrigan SA, Burge MS, Nickels M, Green JL, Katzenellenbogen JA, Tchesnokov A, Hattersley G. Design, synthesis, and preclinical characterization of the selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM) RAD140. ACS Med Chem Lett. 2011;2(2):124-129. Full text read from PubMed Central PMC4018048. No PubMed correction or retraction notice attached as at 18 August 2026. PMID 24900290 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Jayaraman A, Christensen A, Moser VA, Vest RS, Miller CP, Hattersley G, Pike CJ. Selective androgen receptor modulator RAD140 is neuroprotective in cultured neurons and kainate-lesioned male rats. Endocrinology. 2014;155(4):1398-1406. PMID 24428527 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Yu Z, He S, Wang D, Patel HK, Miller CP, Brown JL, Hattersley G, Saeh JC. Selective androgen receptor modulator RAD140 inhibits the growth of androgen/estrogen receptor-positive breast cancer models with a distinct mechanism of action. Clin Cancer Res. 2017;23(24):7608-7620. PMID 28974548 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- LoRusso P, Hamilton E, Ma C, Vidula N, Bagley RG, Troy S, Annett M, Yu Z, Conlan MG, Weise A. A first-in-human phase 1 study of a novel selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM), RAD140, in ER+/HER2- metastatic breast cancer. Clin Breast Cancer. 2022;22(1):67-77. PMID 34565686 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03088527. Phase 1, first-in-human study of RAD140 in postmenopausal women with breast cancer. Sponsor Stemline Therapeutics; phase 1; 20 participants recorded as actual enrolment; started 23 October 2017, completed 24 September 2020; no results posted. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05573126. Modular, open-label phase 1/2 study of EP0062 as monotherapy and in combination in relapsed locally advanced or metastatic AR+/HER2-/ER+ breast cancer. Sponsor Ellipses Pharma; estimated enrolment 95; started 11 January 2023; recruiting as at 18 August 2026; completion February 2028. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Ellipses Pharma presents design of newly initiated phase 1/2a trial of vosilasarm (EP0062) at SABCS. Sponsor announcement dated 5 December 2022, accompanying a Trial in Progress poster presented at the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium on 6 December 2022; states that recruitment has commenced and the study will recruit up to 130 patients globally. Retrieved 18 August 2026. This is the source of the 130-patient figure that differs from the registry's estimated 95. View on www.businesswire.com
- Liver-injury case reports, 2020-2023. Barbara M, Dhingra S, Mindikoglu AL. Drug-induced liver injury associated with two commercial supplements (one containing RAD-140, one containing RAD-140 and LGD-4033). ACG Case Rep J. 2020;7(6):e00409. PMID 33062783 [title abbreviated: the published title names two supplement brands, omitted here under this site's commercial-reference rule]. Leung K, Yaramada P, Goyal P, Cai CX, Thung I, Hammami MB. RAD-140 drug-induced liver injury. Ochsner J. 2022;22(4):361-365. PMID 36561105, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36561105/. Mohamed WT, Jahagirdar V, Fatima I, Ahmed MK, Jaber F, Wang K, Hassan A, Ewing E, Clarkston W, Likhitsup A. Selective androgen receptor modulators (SARMs)-induced liver injury: a case report and review of literature. Cureus. 2023;15(2):e35094. PMID 36945289, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36945289/. Ladna M, Taylor K, Bhat A, Dideban B. Idiosyncratic drug-induced liver injury related to use of novel selective androgen receptor modulator RAD140 (Testalone): a case report. J Med Case Rep. 2023;17(1):134. PMID 36978171, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36978171/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Liver-injury case reports, 2024-2026. Perananthan V, George J. Severe liver injury following use of RAD-140, a selective androgen receptor modulator, for body building. Aust Prescr. 2024;47(1):26-28. PMID 38444893. Demangone MR, Abi Karam KR, Li J. Selective androgen receptor modulators leading to liver injury: a case report. Cureus. 2024;16(8):e67958. PMID 39328701, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39328701/ — this is the one report in the set describing hepatic steatosis and a hyperechoic lesion rather than a cholestatic pattern. Niazi B, Quach B, Fisher K, Peeraphatdit T. Cholestatic drug-induced liver injury from RAD-140 successfully treated with corticosteroids. ACG Case Rep J. 2025;12(8):e01803. PMID 40761329, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40761329/. Dao D, King B, Dao H, Bahirwani R. Unregulated gains: a case of RAD-140-induced liver injury. Proc (Bayl Univ Med Cent). Published online 8 July 2026. PMID 42417499, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42417499/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Vignali JD, Pak KC, Beverley HR, DeLuca JP, Downs JW, Kress AT, Sadowski BW, Selig DJ. Systematic review of safety of selective androgen receptor modulators in healthy adults: implications for recreational users. J Xenobiot. 2023;13(2):218-236. PMID 37218811 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cardiac case reports. Padappayil RP, Chandini Arjun A, Vivar Acosta J, Ghali W, Mughal MS. Acute myocarditis from the use of selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM) RAD-140 (Testolone). Cureus. 2022;14(1):e21663. PMID 35233331. Schwartzman KH, Kohli U, Chaudhuri NR, Hoda M. Myopericarditis following use of selective androgen receptor modifier 'RAD-140'. JACC Case Rep. 2024;29(15):102423. PMID 39157568, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39157568/. Skorupski WJ, Marko A, Janus M, Skorupska K, Lesiak M, Klotzka A. Selective androgen receptor modulator abuse-induced heart failure: catastrophic effects of RAD-140 (Testolone). Pol Arch Intern Med. 2024;134(7-8):16770. PMID 38864168, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38864168/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Chong S, Woolnough CA, Koyyalamudi SR, Perera NJ. Reversible gynecomastia and hypogonadism due to usage of commercial performance-enhancing supplement use. JCEM Case Rep. 2024;2(8):luae148. PMID 39145153 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Rodent ageing studies. Brown AM, Ganjayi MS, Baumann CW. RAD140 (Testolone) negatively impacts skeletal muscle adaptation, frailty status and mortality risk in female mice. Clin Exp Pharmacol Physiol. 2023;50(12):973-983. PMID 37758180. Heinze SS, Hodgins ML, Howlett SE. The impact of a selective androgen receptor modulator (RAD140) on frailty and underlying mechanisms in older male and female C57Bl/6 mice. Mech Ageing Dev. 2025;225:112054. PMID 40158703, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40158703/. Heinze SS, Sapp DG, Young AP, Howlett SE. Treatment with a selective androgen receptor modulator (RAD140) is linked to better cardiac function, with male-specific effects that are graded by interleukin-6. Geroscience. Published online 17 February 2026. doi 10.1007/s11357-026-02151-9. PMID 41703239, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41703239/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Puskas J, Guda T, Niccoli S, Rathbone CR, Tan-Johnson B, Puskas D, Middleton R, Otis JS, Lees SJ. Preclinical assessment of the selective androgen receptor modulator RAD140 to increase muscle mass and bone mineral density. Physiol Rep. 2025;13(14):e70463. PMID 40680216 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Analyses of what is sold under the name. Van Wagoner RM, Eichner A, Bhasin S, Deuster PA, Eichner D. Chemical composition and labeling of substances marketed as selective androgen receptor modulators and sold via the internet. JAMA. 2017;318(20):2004-2010. Erratum in JAMA. 2018;319(7):724, which does not alter the analytical figures used here. PMID 29183075. Gaudiano MC, Aureli F, Manna L, Borioni A, Maccelli A, Raimondo M, De Giorgi D, Bartolomei M. Illegal products containing selective androgen receptor modulators purchased online from Italy: health risks for consumers. Sex Med. 2024;12(2):qfae018. PMID 38560649, https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38560649/ View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, World Anti-Doping Code International Standard, in force 1 January 2026. Text read from the verbatim reproduction published in the Austrian Federal Law Gazette, BGBl. III Nr. 219/2025, issued 30 December 2025 and served as a retrievable PDF by the Austrian legal information system (RIS), because wada-ama.org returned HTTP 202 with an empty body from its CDN and HTTP 403 on the resource page. Section S1.2 Other Anabolic Agents reads in full: 'Clenbuterol, osilodrostat, ractopamine, selective androgen receptor modulators [SARMs, e.g. andarine, enobosarm (ostarine), LGD-4033 (ligandrol), RAD140, S-23 and YK-11], zeranol and zilpaterol.' The S1 header on the same page states that all prohibited substances in the class are prohibited at all times, in- and out-of-competition, and are non-Specified Substances. Secondary pointer, the WADA landing page: https://www.wada-ama.org/en/prohibited-list View on www.ris.bka.gv.at
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA warns of use of selective androgen receptor modulators (SARMs) among teens, young adults. FDA Consumer Update, content current as of 26 April 2023; retrieved 18 August 2026. States that SARMs 'are not FDA approved'; that 'Although SARMs are often marketed as dietary supplements or "sold for research use only," they are considered unapproved drugs. SARMs cannot be legally marketed in the U.S. as a dietary supplement or drug at this time'; and lists the harms reported to the agency as increased risk of heart attack or stroke, psychosis/hallucinations, sleep disturbances, sexual dysfunction, liver injury and acute liver failure, infertility, pregnancy miscarriage and testicular shrinkage. The same harms list appears on the agency's fraudulent-products page 'Bodybuilding Products: SARMs Cause Harm'. View on www.fda.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.