Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Larazotide (AT-1001)
Larazotide is an eight-residue synthetic peptide, GGVLVQPG, derived from a receptor-binding domain of the Vibrio cholerae zonula occludens toxin and developed as an oral tight junction regulator for coeliac disease. It is the only compound of its class to reach phase 3. That trial enrolled 307 people, was terminated by its sponsor in July 2022, and has never posted results or appeared in the literature. This page logs what the published trials measured, and separates the figures that trace to a primary source from the ones that do not.
- Class
- Synthetic octapeptide; oral tight junction regulator derived from Vibrio cholerae zonula occludens toxin. Described variously as a zonulin receptor antagonist and as a protease-activated receptor 2 antagonist; no receptor has been molecularly identified.
- CAS number
- 258818-34-7 (free peptide); 881851-50-9 (acetate)
- PubChem CID
- 9810532 (free peptide); 44146842 (acetate)
- Molecular formula
- C32H55N9O10 (free peptide); C34H59N9O12 (acetate)
- Molecular weight
- 725.8 g/mol (free peptide); 785.9 g/mol (acetate)
- Sequence
- GGVLVQPG — Gly-Gly-Val-Leu-Val-Gln-Pro-Gly (8 residues)
- Also indexed as
- AT-1001, AT-2347, larazotide acetate; UNII ZN3R5560ZV (free peptide), UNII FO8S2IW40N (acetate); ChEMBL2105646 (free peptide), ChEMBL2103815 (acetate); KEGG D09351 and D09352; DrugBank DB05645
Identity, and a code number that belongs to three molecules
Larazotide is eight amino acids long: glycine, glycine, valine, leucine, valine, glutamine, proline, glycine. The FDA Global Substance Registration System records that sequence, GGVLVQPG, on both substance records — UNII ZN3R5560ZV for the free peptide and UNII FO8S2IW40N for the acetate salt. PubChem gives CID 9810532 for the free peptide, formula C32H55N9O10, molecular weight 725.8, CAS 258818-34-7; the acetate is CID 44146842, C34H59N9O12, 785.9, CAS 881851-50-9. KEGG drug entries D09351 and D09352 return the same two formulas and the same two CAS numbers. Vendor pages quote both weights interchangeably, which is a salt-versus-free-base distinction rather than a disagreement.
The sequence comes out of work on Vibrio cholerae. Di Pierro and colleagues published a structure-function dissection of zonula occludens toxin in 2001, built deletion mutants and tested them in Ussing chambers and receptor-binding assays. Within the processed carboxyl-terminal fragment they described an octapeptide receptor-binding domain, identified by amino acid comparison with zonulin and confirmed by site-directed mutagenesis. That octapeptide is the basis of larazotide. The paper reports a binding motif inferred from mutagenesis; it does not isolate or clone the receptor itself.
A second peptide from the same protein does the opposite thing, and the two are separated by one digit. AT1002 is the hexapeptide FCIGRL, mapped by Goldblum and colleagues in 2011 to zonula occludens toxin residues 288 to 293. In their work AT1002 reduced transepithelial electrical resistance across rat small intestine ex vivo, increased permeability to sugar tracers in vivo, and displaced ZO-1 and occludin from intercellular boundaries in a protease-activated receptor 2 dependent manner. AT1002 opens tight junctions and has been studied as an absorption enhancer. AT1001 was developed to close them.
Both major chemical databases carry a defect on this molecule. PubChem's synonym list for CID 44146842 includes "Zot protein, Vibrio cholerae (288-293)" — a six-residue span belonging to AT1002, attached to an eight-residue peptide. KEGG's D09352 lists a SEQUENCE of seven residues, dropping a valine, while the formula on the same record describes eight. The code itself is worse: a ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search for larazotide returns 29 studies, 19 of them Amicus Therapeutics trials of migalastat, a Fabry disease chaperone also coded AT1001. An unrelated nicotinic receptor antagonist described in 2012 was named AT-1001 too.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| After acute gluten exposure the placebo group showed a 70% increase in intestinal permeability by lactulose-mannitol fractional excretion and the treated group showed none; interferon-gamma rose in 4 of 7 placebo and 4 of 14 treated participants; gastrointestinal symptoms were more frequent on placebo (P = 0.018) | Adults with coeliac disease, inpatient setting | Oral, single 12 mg dose | 21 (14 AT-1001, 7 placebo) | Paterson 2007, Aliment Pharmacol Ther, PMID 17697209 |
| Lactulose-to-mannitol ratio was highly variable in the outpatient setting; the gluten challenge did not raise it significantly above the gluten-free control, and no larazotide arm differed from placebo on it. Symptom severity separated at some lower doses and not at the highest. Most frequent adverse events were headache and urinary tract infection | Adults with coeliac disease controlled by diet | Oral, 0.25 / 1 / 4 / 8 mg three times daily, 14 days, with or without 2.4 g/day gluten | 86 randomised | Leffler 2012, Am J Gastroenterol, PMID 22825365 |
| No significant difference in lactulose-to-mannitol ratio between any larazotide arm and placebo. Mean ratio of anti-tissue transglutaminase IgA over baseline was 19.0 on placebo against 5.78 (P = 0.010), 3.88 (P = 0.005) and 7.72 (P = 0.025) at 1, 4 and 8 mg. Symptom score benefit reached significance only at 1 mg (P = 0.002) | Adults with coeliac disease on a gluten-free diet, undergoing gluten challenge | Oral, 1 / 4 / 8 mg three times daily, 6 weeks, with 2.7 g/day gluten | 184 randomised | Kelly 2013, Aliment Pharmacol Ther, PMID 23163616 |
| Primary endpoint (average on-treatment Celiac Disease Gastrointestinal Symptom Rating Scale score) met at 0.5 mg only: P = 0.022 by analysis of covariance and P = 0.005 by mixed model for repeated measures. The 1 mg and 2 mg arms did not differ from placebo on any endpoint. Exploratory 0.5 mg findings included a 26% decrease in symptomatic days (P = 0.017) and a 31% increase in improved symptom days (P = 0.034) | Adults with coeliac disease symptomatic despite 12 months or more of a gluten-free diet | Oral, 0.5 / 1 / 2 mg three times daily, 12 weeks | 342 randomised, 340 modified intention to treat | Leffler 2015, Gastroenterology (NCT01396213), PMID 25683116 |
| Pooled across four randomised trials, change in lactulose-to-mannitol ratio did not differ between larazotide and placebo irrespective of gluten status. Symptom scale improvement was significant in the gluten-challenge subgroup and not in the gluten-free diet subgroup | Adults with coeliac disease, four pooled randomised trials | Oral | 626 (465 larazotide, 161 placebo) | Hoilat 2022, Clin Res Hepatol Gastroenterol, PMID 34339872 |
| Phase 3 trial in coeliac disease terminated; registry reason recorded as "Trial terminated by Sponsor", primary completion 21 July 2022, no results posted as of 18 August 2026 | Adults with coeliac disease with persistent symptoms on a gluten-free diet | Oral | 307 actual enrolment | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03569007, record last updated 26 July 2022 |
| No larazotide-related adverse events reported. Blood SARS-CoV-2 spike antigen concentration correlated with interferon-gamma (P = 0.004), interleukin-6 (P < 0.0001) and PedsQL gastrointestinal symptom score (P = 0.003). Treated children were described as showing faster resolution of gastrointestinal symptoms, faster spike antigen clearance and faster return to usual activities | Children hospitalised with multisystem inflammatory syndrome, median age 5.7 years | Oral, four times daily for 3 weeks, 24 weeks of safety follow-up | 12 | Yonker 2025, Sci Transl Med (NCT05022303), PMID 40737433 |
| A single patient with multisystem inflammatory syndrome treated with larazotide had a coinciding fall in plasma spike antigen and inflammatory markers with clinical improvement; the wider study measured raised zonulin and spike antigenemia across the cohort | Children: 19 with multisystem inflammatory syndrome, 26 with acute COVID-19, 55 controls; 1 treated | Oral (single treated case) | 100 sampled, 1 treated | Yonker 2021, J Clin Invest, PMID 34032635 |
| Intestinal damage scores, ZO-1 immunoreactivity H-score and serum FITC-dextran were lower in the treated pancreatitis group than the untreated pancreatitis group (all P < 0.01); bacterial translocation occurred in 50% of treated against 100% of untreated animals | Male Sprague-Dawley rats, L-arginine acute pancreatitis model, four groups | Oral, 0.01 mg/mL in drinking water for 7 days before induction | 32 | Karahan 2024, Dig Dis Sci, PMID 38441784 |
| Intestinal damage scores fell in the drinking-water group relative to the thioacetamide model group; liver damage scores did not differ between treated and untreated model groups and serum ammonia was unchanged | Rats, thioacetamide-induced acute liver failure, five groups; group sizes not stated in the abstract | Oral, 0.01 mg/mL in drinking water or by gavage for 7 days before induction | Not stated in abstract | Caliskan 2021, Hum Exp Toxicol, PMID 34791921 |
| After a 1 mg delayed-release oral dose (approximately 0.05 mg/kg), larazotide reached 0.32-1.76 micromolar in distal duodenum and proximal jejunum at 1 hour and remained detectable at 0.00-0.47 micromolar from 2 to 4 hours, sampled by in vivo intestinal ultrafiltration | Female Yorkshire cross pigs, 15-20 kg, overnight fasted | Oral, delayed-release capsule | 3 pigs, 2 contributing to the reported analysis | Enomoto 2021, PLoS One, PMID 33844694 |
| A widely distributed commercial zonulin ELISA did not detect recombinant pre-haptoglobin 2; readings did not correlate with haptoglobin genotype; the captured protein was identified as properdin | Human serum, Sorb cohort, Germany | In vitro immunoassay, mass spectrometry and Western blot | 376 | Scheffler 2018, Front Endocrinol, PMID 29459849 |
| Larazotide is not absorbed systemically and acts only within the intestinal lumen. | No human pharmacokinetic data for larazotide could be located. PubMed searches for larazotide combined with plasma or serum and pharmacokinetics returned zero records; larazotide with Cmax returned zero; larazotide with "plasma concentration" returned zero. The 2007 first-in-human paper (PMID 17697209) carries the word pharmacokinetic in its title but reports no concentration, no Cmax and no half-life in its abstract. The only in vivo disposition measurement found anywhere is Enomoto 2021 (PMID 33844694), which sampled porcine intestinal fluid rather than blood, in three pigs of which two contributed to the analysis. The claim may well be correct. It rests at present on a two-animal luminal sampling study and a design intention, not on a measured plasma profile in any species. | No source found | ||
| Larazotide lowers zonulin levels. | Two problems, and the first disposes of the second. No trial in the coeliac programme measured zonulin as an outcome: the endpoints were lactulose-to-mannitol ratio, symptom rating scales and anti-transglutaminase antibodies. A PubMed search for larazotide combined with zonulin and serum, plasma or concentration returns papers that discuss zonulin as a mechanism, not studies that measured it under treatment. Separately, Scheffler 2018 (PMID 29459849) showed the widely used commercial zonulin ELISA does not detect pre-haptoglobin 2 and captures properdin instead, and Massier 2021 (PMID 33037053) tabulated correlations of 0.11, 0.17 and 0.033 between that assay and direct permeability testing. A zonulin reduction claim would require an assay that measures zonulin. | No source found | ||
| Larazotide received FDA Fast Track designation for coeliac disease. | Not verifiable from a primary regulatory record. A PubMed search for larazotide combined with "fast track", "orphan drug" and "breakthrough therapy" returned zero records. The FDA publishes no searchable register of Fast Track designations comparable to the orphan drug or Drugs@FDA databases, so the only sources for such statements are company announcements, and the sponsor company no longer maintains a website. The designation may have been granted; this page cannot confirm it, and a Fast Track designation is a procedural status about review timelines rather than a statement about evidence. | No source found | ||
| The phase 3 trial was stopped after an interim analysis showed futility. | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03569007 records a status of TERMINATED with the reason "Trial terminated by Sponsor" and nothing further; enrolment 307, primary completion 21 July 2022, record last updated 26 July 2022, no results posted. No publication reporting the trial appears in PubMed under searches combining larazotide with phase 3, phase III or coeliac disease. An attempt to retrieve a contemporaneous patient-organisation summary of the topline results returned HTTP 404. The futility framing is plausible and widely repeated, but the only retrievable primary record says the sponsor stopped the trial and gives no reason beyond that. | No source found | ||
| Larazotide repairs intestinal barrier function in leaky gut generally, and is therefore relevant to irritable bowel syndrome, Crohn's disease, autoimmune conditions and metabolic disease. | A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search for larazotide returns 29 studies, of which 10 are actually this compound: eight in coeliac disease sponsored by 9 Meters Biopharma and two at Massachusetts General Hospital in post-COVID syndromes. The remaining 19 are Amicus Therapeutics trials of migalastat, which shares the code AT1001. PubMed searches pairing larazotide with Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis, irritable bowel syndrome, type 1 diabetes, multiple sclerosis and autism returned no interventional human studies. The extension beyond coeliac disease and post-COVID syndromes rests on rodent models, cell monolayers and mechanistic reasoning. | No source found | ||
| Higher doses of larazotide are less effective because the peptide self-associates or desensitises its receptor at higher concentrations. | The inversion itself is documented: 1 mg outperformed 4 and 8 mg in Kelly 2013 (PMID 23163616), and 0.5 mg met the primary endpoint while 1 and 2 mg did not in Leffler 2015 (PMID 25683116). The explanation is not. A PubMed search combining larazotide with aggregation, self-inhibition, bell-shaped and inverted-U returned one record, which concerned migalastat in Fabry mice and is a different molecule. No published measurement of larazotide self-association, receptor occupancy or concentration-response in any system was located. | No source found | ||
| Larazotide is derived from zonula occludens toxin residues 288 to 293. | This appears in PubChem's own synonym list for CID 44146842, larazotide acetate, as "Zot protein, Vibrio cholerae (288-293)". It belongs to a different peptide. Goldblum 2011 (PMID 20852064) maps residues 288 to 293 to AT1002, the hexapeptide FCIGRL, which activates protease-activated receptor 2 and opens tight junctions. Larazotide is the octapeptide GGVLVQPG, confirmed on both FDA GSRS substance records (UNII ZN3R5560ZV and FO8S2IW40N), and traces to the receptor-binding octapeptide described by Di Pierro 2001 (PMID 11278543). A six-residue span cannot describe an eight-residue peptide. | No source found | ||
Zonulin, and what the assays actually measure
Larazotide is described almost everywhere as a zonulin antagonist or a blocker of zonulin receptors. Zonulin was identified as pre-haptoglobin 2, a human homologue of the cholera enterotoxin, and has been used since as a serum marker of intestinal permeability. Two things sit underneath that description and neither is settled. The receptor has never been molecularly identified: a PubMed search for the phrase "zonulin receptor" combined with terms for identification, cloning or characterisation returns one record, the 2001 Di Pierro paper, which infers a binding motif from mutagenesis rather than isolating a protein.
The measurement side has a documented problem. Scheffler and colleagues measured serum zonulin in 376 subjects from the Sorb cohort using a widely distributed commercial ELISA, found the values did not correlate with haptoglobin genotype, and then interrogated the kit directly with antibody capture, mass spectrometry and Western blot. None of the captured proteins corresponded to pre-haptoglobin 2. Recombinant pre-haptoglobin 2 added to the assay was not detected. The protein the kit did recognise was identified as properdin. Fasano, who first described zonulin, is a co-author on that paper.
Massier and colleagues extended the argument in a 2021 Gut letter, tabulating published correlations between commercial zonulin ELISA readings and direct intestinal permeability tests: R of 0.11 in 38 subjects, 0.17 in 71, and 0.033 in 24, none significant. Their letter also notes that pre-haptoglobin 2 is not naturally expressed in mice, which places a question over rodent studies reporting zonulin by ELISA. Sollid and Koning replied in the same journal under the title "Lack of relationship of AT1001 to zonulin and prehaptoglobin-2: clinical implications."
That reply could not be read for this page. It carries no abstract in PubMed and the publisher returned HTTP 403 to an automated request, so only its title, journal and status as a comment on the Massier letter are recorded here. The title's claim is the relevant one for anyone reading larazotide described as anti-zonulin: two immunologists who work on coeliac disease put in print that the relationship between the peptide and the protein it is named after is not established. None of the trials below measured whether larazotide bound zonulin.
The gluten-challenge trials
Paterson and colleagues ran the first human study in 2007, an inpatient double-blind randomised design in 21 adults with coeliac disease, 14 given a single 12 mg dose of AT-1001 and 7 given placebo, followed by acute gluten exposure. Permeability was measured as fractional urinary excretion of lactulose and mannitol. The placebo group showed a 70 percent increase after gluten; the treated group showed none. Interferon-gamma rose in 4 of 7 placebo participants and 4 of 14 treated ones, and gastrointestinal symptoms were recorded more frequently on placebo, P equals 0.018.
Leffler and colleagues published a dose-ranging study in 2012: 86 adults on a gluten-free diet, randomised to 0.25, 1, 4 or 8 mg three times daily or placebo, with or without a 2.4 gram daily gluten challenge for 14 days. The primary endpoint was the urinary lactulose-to-mannitol ratio, and it failed on its own terms. The authors reported the ratio was highly variable in the outpatient setting and that the gluten challenge itself did not raise it above the gluten-free control, which precluded assessment of any drug effect.
Kelly and colleagues reported the six-week version in 2013, in 184 patients on a gluten-free diet challenged with 2.7 grams of gluten daily while receiving 1, 4 or 8 mg three times daily or placebo. Permeability again showed no difference between any arm and placebo. Anti-tissue transglutaminase IgA told a different story: the mean ratio over baseline was 19.0 on placebo against 5.78, 3.88 and 7.72 at 1, 4 and 8 mg, with P values of 0.010, 0.005 and 0.025. Adverse event rates were similar across groups.
Across three trials the biomarker the whole programme was built on did not move. Hoilat and colleagues later pooled four randomised trials, 626 patients with 465 on larazotide and 161 on placebo, and found no significant difference in that ratio irrespective of gluten status. Symptom findings survived pooling in the gluten-challenge subgroup and did not survive it in the gluten-free diet subgroup.
The dose relationship runs backwards
Every trial that tested more than one dose found the lower one performed better. In Leffler's 2012 study the effect on symptom severity appeared at some lower doses and not at 8 mg. In Kelly's 2013 study the significant symptom result was at 1 mg, P equals 0.002, and the largest antibody suppression at 4 mg rather than 8 mg. The pattern then repeated in the largest trial of the programme, which used a dose range shifted downward to test it.
Leffler and colleagues randomised 342 adults with coeliac disease who had been on a gluten-free diet for at least twelve months and remained symptomatic, to 0.5, 1 or 2 mg three times daily or placebo. The design ran a four-week placebo run-in, twelve weeks of treatment and a four-week run-out. The primary endpoint, average on-treatment Coeliac Disease Gastrointestinal Symptom Rating Scale score, was met at 0.5 mg by both prespecified analyses, P equals 0.022 and P equals 0.005. The 1 and 2 mg arms did not differ from placebo on any endpoint.
Exploratory endpoints in the 0.5 mg arm moved in the same direction: a 26 percent decrease in symptomatic days, a 31 percent increase in improved symptom days, a halving or better of weekly average abdominal pain for six or more of twelve treatment weeks, and a decrease in headache and tiredness. The authors called the results mixed, and the description is accurate: a molecule that separates from placebo at 0.5 mg and not at 2 mg is either exhibiting a real non-monotonic relationship or producing findings that will not replicate.
No mechanistic account of the inversion has been published. A PubMed search combining larazotide with aggregation, self-inhibition, bell-shaped and inverted-U returned one record, and that record concerned migalastat in Fabry mice. Explanations circulate in secondary summaries — self-association at higher concentrations, receptor desensitisation, a saturable transport step — and none of them traces to a measurement made on this peptide in any system. The pattern is real in the published data and unexplained in the published data.
The phase 3 trial, and what it left behind
NCT03569007 was the registration study: a phase 3 randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of larazotide acetate for persistent symptoms in adults with coeliac disease on a gluten-free diet, sponsored by 9 Meters Biopharma, with a primary endpoint defined as the proportion of binary responders. It began on 29 May 2019. The registry records actual enrolment of 307, a status of TERMINATED, a primary completion date of 21 July 2022, and a stated reason of "Trial terminated by Sponsor." No results have been posted.
What the interim data showed is not in the public record in any form this page could verify. The registry gives no efficacy figures and no futility language. No publication reporting the trial appears in PubMed under any search combining larazotide with phase 3 or with coeliac disease, and an attempt to retrieve a contemporaneous patient-organisation summary returned HTTP 404. The trial that would have decided the question ran for three years, enrolled 307 people, and produced no retrievable data.
Larazotide has not been approved by any regulator for any indication. Ten of the 29 studies returned by a ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search are actually larazotide: eight sponsored by 9 Meters Biopharma, all in coeliac disease, and two by Massachusetts General Hospital. The commercial programme ended with the phase 3. What continued did so in an academic setting and in a different disease.
The post-COVID work
Yonker and colleagues published a mechanistic study in 2021 covering biospecimens from 100 children — 19 with multisystem inflammatory syndrome, 26 with acute COVID-19 and 55 controls — reporting prolonged gastrointestinal presence of SARS-CoV-2, raised zonulin, and spike antigen detectable in plasma. Appended to it was a single patient given larazotide, in whom plasma spike antigen and inflammatory markers fell alongside clinical improvement. One patient is one patient, and the authors framed it as proof of concept. Fasano, the senior author, is disclosed as a co-founder of and stockholder in Alba Therapeutics.
The trial that followed was small and did not finish as designed. NCT05022303, a phase 2a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study at Massachusetts General Hospital, enrolled 12 children with a median age of 5.7 years, treated four times daily for three weeks with 24 weeks of safety follow-up, and was terminated with the registry reason "Decline in MISC cases." Yonker and colleagues published it in Science Translational Medicine in July 2025, reporting no larazotide-related adverse events.
Findings from that trial split into two kinds. The correlations are between antigen and illness rather than between drug and outcome: blood spike antigen tracked interferon-gamma at P equals 0.004, interleukin-6 at P below 0.0001, and gastrointestinal symptom score at P equals 0.003. The treatment comparisons are described directionally — faster resolution of symptoms, faster antigen clearance, faster return to usual activity — in twelve children, and the authors' own conclusion uses "may be safe" and "may improve". A sibling study, NCT05747534, a phase 2a in 107 children and adults with long COVID, is listed as active and not recruiting with completion due September 2026. Nothing outside coeliac disease and post-COVID syndromes has been registered anywhere.
Animal and cell work
The animal literature is small, recent and mostly from two groups in Malatya. Karahan and colleagues divided 32 male Sprague-Dawley rats into four groups and induced acute pancreatitis with intraperitoneal L-arginine, giving one group larazotide at 0.01 mg per mL in drinking water for seven days beforehand. Intestinal damage scores, ZO-1 immunoreactivity and serum FITC-dextran were lower in the treated pancreatitis group than the untreated one, all at P below 0.01, and bacterial translocation occurred in 50 percent of treated animals against 100 percent of untreated. Caliskan and colleagues used the same exposure in a thioacetamide liver-failure model, where intestinal damage scores fell but liver scores and serum ammonia did not.
Where the peptide goes after an oral dose has been measured once, in pigs. Enomoto and colleagues gave a 1 mg delayed-release oral dose, roughly 0.05 mg per kg, to overnight-fasted Yorkshire cross pigs and sampled intestinal fluid by in vivo ultrafiltration. Larazotide appeared in the distal duodenum and proximal jejunum at 0.32 to 1.76 micromolar at one hour and persisted at lower concentrations to four hours. Three pigs were used and two contributed to the reported analysis. That is the entire published in vivo disposition record for this compound, in any species.
Cell work continues to generate mechanistic proposals rather than converge on one. Kim and colleagues pretreated C2BBe1 and IPEC-J2 monolayers before anoxia and reoxygenation, reporting higher transepithelial resistance, preserved tight junction protein organisation and reduced myosin light chain-2 phosphorylation; the abstract states a pretreatment concentration of 10 mM, several orders of magnitude above anything measured in the pig study, and it is reproduced here as published. Glinka and MacGregor, in human keratinocyte monolayers, describe larazotide as a protease-activated receptor 2 antagonist — a different mechanism, in a different tissue.
What is not known
The measurement the programme was designed around never moved. Across three randomised gluten-challenge trials and a four-trial pooled analysis of 626 patients, the lactulose-to-mannitol permeability ratio did not differ between larazotide and placebo, and the 2012 study reported that the assay was too variable in the outpatient setting to support any conclusion. Whether the symptom findings reflect a barrier effect is therefore unestablished. No human pharmacokinetic data exist: no plasma concentration, no Cmax, no half-life for any species. No published stability, degradation or aqueous-solution time-course study for the peptide was located. The single phase 3 trial produced no public data at all, which means the largest dataset ever collected on this compound is unavailable and cannot be pooled with the phase 2 results. Zonulin was never measured as an outcome in any larazotide trial, and the commercial assay that would have measured it has been shown not to detect the protein it names. Nothing has been studied in pregnancy, in lactation, or beyond twelve weeks of continuous exposure in adults; the paediatric exposure record consists of twelve children treated for three weeks. Larazotide is not approved by any regulator in any jurisdiction, and material offered outside a registered trial has not been subject to the identity, purity or sterility controls that apply to investigational supply.
Questions
Is larazotide an approved drug?
Did larazotide reduce intestinal permeability in the trials?
Why do searches for AT1001 return trials of a completely different drug?
Is larazotide's target actually zonulin?
Why did lower doses work better than higher ones?
References
- Paterson BM, Lammers KM, Arrieta MC, Fasano A, Meddings JB. The safety, tolerance, pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic effects of single doses of AT-1001 in coeliac disease subjects: a proof of concept study. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2007;26(5):757-766. PMID 17697209. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum recorded in PubMed. View on doi.org
- Leffler DA, Kelly CP, Abdallah HZ, et al. A randomized, double-blind study of larazotide acetate to prevent the activation of celiac disease during gluten challenge. Am J Gastroenterol. 2012;107(10):1554-1562. PMID 22825365. View on doi.org
- Kelly CP, Green PH, Murray JA, et al. Larazotide acetate in patients with coeliac disease undergoing a gluten challenge: a randomised placebo-controlled study. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2013;37(2):252-262. PMID 23163616. Carries a linked commentary (PMID 23336683), not a correction. View on doi.org
- Leffler DA, Kelly CP, Green PH, et al. Larazotide acetate for persistent symptoms of celiac disease despite a gluten-free diet: a randomized controlled trial. Gastroenterology. 2015;148(7):1311-1319.e6. PMID 25683116. Registered as NCT01396213. View on doi.org
- Hoilat GJ, Altowairqi AK, Ayas MF, et al. Larazotide acetate for treatment of celiac disease: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Clin Res Hepatol Gastroenterol. 2022;46(1):101782. PMID 34339872. View on doi.org
- Di Pierro M, Lu R, Uzzau S, et al. Zonula occludens toxin structure-function analysis. Identification of the fragment biologically active on tight junctions and of the zonulin receptor binding domain. J Biol Chem. 2001;276(22):19160-19165. PMID 11278543. View on doi.org
- Goldblum SE, Rai U, Tripathi A, et al. The active Zot domain (aa 288-293) increases ZO-1 and myosin 1C serine/threonine phosphorylation, alters interaction between ZO-1 and its binding partners, and induces tight junction disassembly through proteinase activated receptor 2 activation. FASEB J. 2011;25(1):144-158. PMID 20852064. View on doi.org
- Scheffler L, Crane A, Heyne H, et al. Widely Used Commercial ELISA Does Not Detect Precursor of Haptoglobin2, but Recognizes Properdin as a Potential Second Member of the Zonulin Family. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne). 2018;9:22. PMID 29459849. View on doi.org
- Massier L, Chakaroun R, Kovacs P, Heiker JT. Blurring the picture in leaky gut research: how shortcomings of zonulin as a biomarker mislead the field of intestinal permeability. Gut. 2021;70(9):1801-1802. PMID 33037053. View on doi.org
- Sollid LM, Koning F. Lack of relationship of AT1001 to zonulin and prehaptoglobin-2: clinical implications. Gut. 2021;70(11):2211-2212. PMID 33443022. Letter, no abstract; the publisher returned HTTP 403 to an automated retrieval, so only the title, journal and its status as a comment on PMID 33037053 are relied on here. View on doi.org
- Yonker LM, Gilboa T, Ogata AF, et al. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children is driven by zonulin-dependent loss of gut mucosal barrier. J Clin Invest. 2021;131(14):e149633. PMID 34032635. Senior author disclosed as co-founder of and stockholder in Alba Therapeutics. View on doi.org
- Yonker LM, Kane AS, Swank Z, et al. Viral spike antigen clearance and augmented recovery in children with post-COVID multisystem inflammatory syndrome treated with larazotide. Sci Transl Med. 2025;17(809):eadu4284. PMID 40737433. Registered as NCT05022303. View on doi.org
- Enomoto H, Yeatts J, Carbajal L, et al. In vivo assessment of a delayed release formulation of larazotide acetate indicated for celiac disease using a porcine model. PLoS One. 2021;16(4):e0249179. PMID 33844694. Three of the authors are employees, consultants or stockholders of the sponsor. View on doi.org
- Karahan D, Harputluoglu MMM, Gul M, et al. Ameliorative Effects of Larazotide Acetate on Intestinal Permeability and Bacterial Translocation in Acute Pancreatitis Model in Rats. Dig Dis Sci. 2024;69(4):1242-1252. PMID 38441784. View on doi.org
- Caliskan AR, Gul M, Yilmaz I, et al. Effects of larazotide acetate, a tight junction regulator, on the liver and intestinal damage in acute liver failure in rats. Hum Exp Toxicol. 2021;40(12_suppl):S693-S701. PMID 34791921. View on doi.org
- Kim J, Madan JP, Laumas S, Krishnan BR, Jin Y. Larazotide Acetate Protects the Intestinal Mucosal Barrier from Anoxia/Reoxygenation Injury via Various Cellular Mechanisms. Biomedicines. 2025;13(10):2483. PMID 41153766. Three co-authors are affiliated with the sponsor company. View on doi.org
- Glinka DM, MacGregor GG. The PAR2 Antagonist Larazotide Can Mitigate Acute Histamine-Stimulated Epithelial Barrier Disruption in Keratinocytes. JID Innov. 2025;5(4):100369. PMID 40330848. View on doi.org
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT03569007, A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo Controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Larazotide Acetate for the Relief of Persistent Symptoms in Patients With Celiac Disease on a GFD. 307 enrolled; terminated; reason "Trial terminated by Sponsor"; record last updated 26 July 2022; no results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.