Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
SNAP-8 (Acetyl Octapeptide-3)
SNAP-8 is a brand name for acetyl octapeptide-3, an eight-residue synthetic peptide capped with an acetyl group at one end and an amide at the other, registered by the FDA under UNII 8K14HJF88S. A PubMed title-and-abstract search returns two records for the INCI name; full-text search returns more, and in every one the peptide is one active among several. The wrinkle-depth percentages attached to it everywhere trace to a manufacturer's technical dossier rather than to a journal.
- Class
- Synthetic acetylated octapeptide, C-terminally amidated; INCI name Acetyl Octapeptide-3
- CAS number
- 868844-74-0
- PubChem CID
- 76283482
- Molecular formula
- C41H70N16O16S
- Molecular weight
- 1075.2 g/mol
- Sequence
- Ac-Glu-Glu-Met-Gln-Arg-Arg-Ala-Asp-NH2 (Ac-EEMQRRAD-NH2)
- Also indexed as
- Acetyl Octapeptide-3, Acetyl Glutamyl Heptapeptide-3, Acetyl Octapeptide-1, SNAP-8 (brand name), UNII 8K14HJF88S
Chemical identity, and three molecular weights
SNAP-8 is not the name the molecule is registered under. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files it as Acetyl Octapeptide-3 and types SNAP-8 on that record as a brand name rather than a chemical one. There is one such record: UNII 8K14HJF88S, CAS 868844-74-0 as the primary registry number, substance class protein, subunit sequence EEMQRRAD, and two terminal modifications recorded at complete extent, isoasparagine at the C-terminus and acetyl glutamic acid at the N-terminus. PubChem CID 76283482 carries the matching structure, formula C41H70N16O16S, molecular weight 1075.2, stereochemistry assigned at all eight centres, and 868844-74-0 among its synonyms; its systematic name terminates in 1-amino-3-carboxy-1-oxopropan-2-yl, which is the alpha-amide. The two records agree on the molecule.
Three different molecular weights circulate, and all three come from databases rather than from suppliers. The GSRS calculated-property field reads 1034.114 with formula C39H67N15O16S. That record encodes both terminal modifications explicitly, but the calculated weight is computed on the unmodified EEMQRRAD subunit and does not carry them. GSRS cross-links to PubChem CID 71587832, a record whose deposited structure contains an error: the carbonyl of the first peptide bond is drawn as a carbon-carbon double bond, which converts the N-terminal residue from 5-oxopentanoic acid to hex-5-enoic acid and yields formula C42H72N16O15S at 1073.2. A third record, CID 86080331, carries the correct formula with no stereochemistry assigned.
Average residue masses for EEMQRRAD sum to 1016.10. Adding a water molecule gives 1034.11, which is the GSRS number. Acetylation of the N-terminus adds 42.04 and amidation of the C-terminus subtracts 0.98, giving 1075.16, the PubChem number and the one printed on most specification sheets. Listings that write the sequence as Ac-EEMQRRAD-OH beside a weight of 1075.16 have paired a free-acid sequence with an amide weight; the acetylated free acid would be 1076.15, a difference of 0.99 daltons. Which of the two figures a page prints identifies the record it was copied from.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Within the treated eye, roughness parameter Ra fell from baseline at day 28 and Rz at days 7, 14 and 28 (p<0.01). Against the hyaluronic-acid-only placebo patch on the contralateral eye, Ra and Rz differed at days 14 and 28 only, at p<0.05. The patch carried 0.03% SNAP-8 alongside ascorbyl glucoside and sodium cyclic lysophosphatidic acid, so the octapeptide was never isolated. | Healthy adults, split-face design, placebo patch on the contralateral eye | Transdermal, dissolving hyaluronic-acid microneedle patch, overnight application, 28 days | 24 enrolled, 21 completed | Shin 2024, Ann Dermatol 36(4):215-224, PMID 39082657 |
| Fine lines and wrinkles decreased 25.8%, hydration improved 15.4%, dermal density increased 14.2% and thickness 12.9% over 12 weeks. The patch contained arginine/lysine polypeptide, acetyl octapeptide-3, palmitoyl tripeptide-5, adenosine and seaweed extracts, and the study had no control arm. | Healthy subjects with aged skin, monocentric, uncontrolled | Transdermal, hyaluronic-acid microneedle patch, outer eye corner and volar forearm, 12 weeks | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Avcil 2020, J Cosmet Dermatol 19(2):328-337, PMID 31134751 |
| Reported at second hand, not measured in this study: a split-face in vivo study of a cream containing 3% of a 0.05% acetyl octapeptide-3 solution, applied twice daily for 28 days, lowered wrinkle depth by up to 38%, with an average decrease of 7.1%. The citation given for those figures is an ingredient manufacturer's product page, not a journal; no participant count, control arm or measurement method accompanies them. | Not stated; the underlying study is not published | Topical cream, twice daily, 28 days, split-face | Not stated | Moy 2023, J Cosmet Dermatol 22(1):267-274, PMID 35426243 |
| Statistically significant improvements from baseline in fine lines, wrinkle severity and skin smoothness at all timepoints across three facial regions (p<0.05), with increased skin hydration. Acetyl octapeptide-3 was one component of a proprietary blend of neuropeptides, proteins, amino acids and marine extracts; subjects served as their own control and no separate control arm existed. | Caucasian women aged 35-55 with fine lines and wrinkles, monadic, subjects as own control | Topical facial serum, twice daily, 12 weeks | 33 enrolled, 31 completed | Moy 2023, J Cosmet Dermatol 22(1):267-274, PMID 35426243 |
| After 24 weeks, bio-instrumentation recorded a 19% increase in skin firmness and a 35% increase in skin hydration; the investigator assessed 40% improvement in lines and 23% in wrinkles. Acetyl octapeptide-3 was one of five peptides in the formulation, alongside hyaluronic acid derivatives and antioxidants, in an uncontrolled monadic design. | Women aged 35-65, all Fitzpatrick skin types, mild to moderate facial photoaging, monadic | Topical prototype serum, twice daily, 24 weeks | 50 enrolled, 47 completed | Draelos 2023, Dermatol Ther (Heidelb) 13(12):3111-3119, PMID 37861918 |
| Acetyl hexapeptide-8, not the octapeptide: wrinkle depth reduced up to 30% after 30 days of treatment with an oil-in-water emulsion containing 10% peptide. | Healthy women volunteers | Topical, oil-in-water emulsion, 30 days | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Blanes-Mira 2002, Int J Cosmet Sci 24(5):303-310, PMID 18498523 |
| Acetyl hexapeptide-8, not the octapeptide: subjective total anti-wrinkle efficacy 48.9% against 0% for placebo; all silicone-replica roughness parameters decreased, p<0.01, with no decrease in the placebo group. | Chinese adults with periorbital wrinkles, randomised 3:1 to peptide or placebo | Topical, twice daily, 4 weeks | 60 randomised | Wang 2013, Am J Clin Dermatol 14(2):147-153, PMID 23417317 |
| Acetyl hexapeptide-8, not the octapeptide: 0.54% of the applied dose recovered from guinea pig stratum corneum and 0.22% from human; 0.01% in the epidermis of both; none detected in dermis or receptor buffer, and no deacetylated metabolite in any fraction. | Hairless guinea pig skin and human cadaver skin, in vitro diffusion cells | Topical, 10% oil-in-water emulsion at 2 mg/cm2, 24-hour exposure | Number of skin samples per group not stated in the retrieved abstract | Kraeling 2015, Cutan Ocul Toxicol 34(1):46-52, PMID 24754410 |
| Acetyl hexapeptide-8, not the octapeptide: a multiple water-in-oil-in-water emulsion significantly increased penetration into skin compared with simple oil-in-water and water-in-oil emulsions, quantified by LC-MS/MS. | Porcine ear skin, Franz-type diffusion cells plus in vitro tape stripping | Topical, three emulsion vehicles compared | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Hoppel 2015, Eur J Pharm Sci 68:27-35, PMID 25497319 |
| Peptides patterned after SNAP-25 residues Ala22 to Ile44 inhibited SNARE complex formation, with potency correlating with alpha-helical propensity; they disrupted the binary SNAP-25/syntaxin complex and blocked calcium-dependent exocytosis. The octapeptide sequence, residues 12 to 19, was not among the peptides tested. | Reconstituted SNARE complex; detergent-permeabilised excitable cells; intact hippocampal neurones | In vitro | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Blanes-Mira 2004, J Neurochem 88(1):124-135, PMID 14675156 |
| Positional-scanning deconvolution of an alpha-helix-constrained 17-mer library returned eight inhibitors of SNARE core complex assembly; the most potent, acetyl-SAAEAFAKLYAEAFAKG-NH2, bore no sequence relation to any SNARE protein. | Reconstituted SDS-resistant SNARE core complex; permeabilised chromaffin cells; hippocampal primary cultures | In vitro | 137,180-sequence library | Blanes-Mira 2003, Biochem J 375(Pt 1):159-166, PMID 12852787 |
| Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 Amide judged safe in cosmetics at concentrations up to 0.005%, with available data insufficient to determine safety above that. No corresponding assessment of Acetyl Octapeptide-3 has been published by the panel. | Expert panel review of submitted and published data; not an experiment | Topical, cosmetic use | Not applicable | Johnson 2025, Int J Toxicol 44(2_suppl):54S-63S, PMID 40673537 |
| SNAP-8 produced a maximum 63.13% reduction in wrinkle depth after 28 days at 10% concentration | Searched PubMed for acetyl octapeptide-3 (2 records, both multi-ingredient microneedle studies, neither reporting this value) and for SNAP-8 (0 records, quoted or unquoted). Searched Europe PMC on both terms: 18 records for the INCI name, 158 for the brand string, the latter entirely collisions with unrelated fields. All 18 were inspected; none reports this value. ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search on both names returned zero registered studies. Pages carrying the figure attribute it by title to a technical dossier issued by the ingredient manufacturer, which is not publicly served. The one octapeptide wrinkle-depth result that does appear in a journal (Moy 2023, PMID 35426243) is a second-hand report of different figures, up to 38% maximum and 7.1% mean, itself citing a manufacturer product page. Neither established nor refuted. | No source found | ||
| SNAP-8 gave a 34.98% mean reduction against 27.05% for acetyl hexapeptide-8 at equal concentration, making it roughly 30% more effective | No head-to-head comparison of acetyl octapeptide-3 and acetyl hexapeptide-8 was located. PubMed searches combining both names return nothing. All 18 Europe PMC records for the INCI name were inspected: none is a comparative trial of the two peptides, and the one research article that reports figures for both (Moy 2023, PMID 35426243) explicitly states that the underlying studies cannot be directly compared because testing conditions and rating systems differ. The paired decimals recur identically across vendor and aggregator pages, which is characteristic of one source copied forward rather than two measurements agreeing. | No source found | ||
| Claim in circulation: that SNAP-8 penetrates skin better than acetyl hexapeptide-8 because of its modified sequence | No permeation or penetration study of acetyl octapeptide-3 exists in PubMed or Europe PMC. The only quantitative Franz-cell and tape-stripping data in this chemical family are on the hexapeptide (Kraeling 2015, PMID 24754410; Hoppel 2015, PMID 25497319), and the 2025 International Journal of Molecular Sciences review of that permeability literature (PMID 40565185) does not mention the octapeptide at any point. The octapeptide is the heavier molecule of the two, 1075 against 889 daltons. | No source found | ||
| Subcutaneous injection is an appropriate research route for SNAP-8 | No published study in any species has administered acetyl octapeptide-3 by injection or by any parenteral route. PubMed, Europe PMC and ClinicalTrials.gov searches on the INCI name and the brand name return topical and intradermal-microneedle work only. The injection figures appear exclusively on aggregator, forum and vendor-adjacent pages, with no cited experiment, no pharmacokinetic measurement and no toxicology. | No source found | ||
| Powder-format material has a defined shelf life at freezer temperature and a defined post-reconstitution holding period | Shelf-life and post-reconstitution storage figures for this peptide appear only in supplier catalogue copy and in guides derived from it. No stability study, degradation profile or publicly served manufacturer stability document reporting them was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or general web search. The published stability work in this family is Ruiz 2007 (PMID 17520155), which concerns emulsion and gel formulations of the hexapeptide, not lyophilised octapeptide powder. The figures are recorded here as circulating and untraced; they are not reproduced. | No source found | ||
| Powder sold as SNAP-8 carries 20 to 35% trifluoroacetate by mass | Residual trifluoroacetate from reverse-phase purification is a real and general property of synthetic peptides, but no lot analysis, certificate of analysis or publication reporting a measured TFA content for this particular peptide was located. The percentage range circulates on aggregator pages without a measurement behind it, and no source distinguishes between cosmetic-grade and research-grade material. | No source found | ||
| Claim in circulation: that the added Ala-Asp gives SNAP-8 higher affinity for the SNARE complex than acetyl hexapeptide-8 | No binding, competition, SNARE-assembly or exocytosis assay of acetyl octapeptide-3 appears in PubMed or Europe PMC. UniChem returns no ChEMBL record for InChIKey KMACPCJUCHVVGP-FNRPHRCSSA-N, so no curated bioactivity data exist for the compound either. The affinity language traces to product literature, not to a measurement. | No source found | ||
| The sequence is Ac-Glu-Glu-Met-Gln-Arg-Arg-Ala-Asp-OH, a free acid | Widely printed on supplier pages, often beside a molecular weight of 1075.16 which belongs to the amide. FDA GSRS record 8K14HJF88S records a complete C-terminal structural modification to isoasparagine, that is the alpha-amide, alongside a complete N-terminal acetyl glutamic acid modification; PubChem CID 76283482 carries the same amide structure, its systematic name terminating in 1-amino-3-carboxy-1-oxopropan-2-yl. No database record for the free acid under CAS 868844-74-0 was located. | No source found | ||
Where the sequence comes from
EEMQRRAD is a literal excerpt from human SNAP-25. Aligned against UniProt P60880, the eight residues occupy positions 12 to 19 of the 206-residue protein. Acetyl hexapeptide-8, the shorter peptide that preceded it commercially, is the same excerpt two residues shorter: EEMQRR, positions 12 to 17, carrying the same acetyl cap and terminal amide. The octapeptide adds the alanine and aspartate that follow in the parent sequence. Blanes-Mira and colleagues, publishing the hexapeptide in the International Journal of Cosmetic Science in 2002, framed the design rationale as competition with SNAP-25 for a position in the SNARE complex that drives calcium-dependent vesicle fusion.
The laboratory behind that work published two mechanism papers around it. In the Biochemical Journal in 2003, Blanes-Mira and colleagues screened an alpha-helix-constrained 17-mer combinatorial library of 137,180 sequences in positional-scanning format against reconstituted SDS-resistant SNARE core complex; deconvolution returned eight inhibitors, of which the most potent, acetyl-SAAEAFAKLYAEAFAKG-NH2, bore no relation to any SNARE sequence. The 2004 paper in the Journal of Neurochemistry mapped the SNAP-25 N-terminus and reported that the segment spanning Ala22 to Ile44 is essential for SNARE complex formation, with inhibitory potency correlating with propensity to adopt an alpha-helix.
Neither paper tested the octapeptide. The segment identified as essential in 2004 begins at residue 22, two residues past the end of EEMQRRAD, and the peptides that inhibited complex assembly in that work were patterned after 22 to 44 rather than 12 to 19. No assay of the octapeptide against the SNARE complex has been published by anyone. The peer-reviewed mechanistic mapping from the originating group covers residues 22 to 44, a different stretch of the protein from the one the two cosmetic peptides reproduce.
The published record on the octapeptide
A PubMed search for acetyl octapeptide-3, run on 18 August 2026, returns two records; the query is term-expanded rather than matched as a phrase. PubMed returns no records at all for SNAP-8, quoted or unquoted. Europe PMC returns eighteen for the INCI name and 158 for the brand string, the latter entirely string collisions across unrelated fields, among them remote sensing, neuroimaging, sleep medicine and dental materials. Inspecting the eighteen individually returns four human clinical studies whose formulations contain the ingredient, two of which surface only on full text. UniChem returns no ChEMBL entry for the compound, so no curated bioactivity record exists. In none of the four is acetyl octapeptide-3 the sole variable, and no animal or cell-culture study of it appears in any index.
Avcil and colleagues 2020, in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, ran a monocentric twelve-week study of hyaluronic-acid microneedle patches loaded with arginine/lysine polypeptide, acetyl octapeptide-3, palmitoyl tripeptide-5, adenosine and seaweed extracts, applied at the outer corner of each eye and a defined area of the volar forearm. Reported instrumental changes were a 25.8% decrease in fine lines and wrinkles, a 15.4% improvement in hydration, and increases of 14.2% in dermal density and 12.9% in thickness. There was no control arm, and the retrieved abstract does not state how many subjects were enrolled.
Shin and colleagues 2024, in Annals of Dermatology, built a dissolving microneedle patch on a hyaluronic-acid backbone containing 0.03% SNAP-8, ascorbyl glucoside and sodium cyclic lysophosphatidic acid, applied overnight to one eye with a hyaluronic-acid-only placebo patch on the other. Twenty-four subjects enrolled and twenty-one completed. Within the treated eye, roughness parameter Ra fell from baseline at day 28 and Rz at days 7, 14 and 28, both at p below 0.01. Against the placebo patch on the contralateral eye, Ra and Rz differed at days 14 and 28 only, at p below 0.05. Three actives moved together in one patch; the design cannot separate their contributions, and the authors describe the combination as deliberate.
Two further human studies surface only on full-text search, both conducted by the manufacturer of the tested product. Moy and colleagues 2023, in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, ran a twelve-week monadic study of a commercially available facial serum in women aged 35 to 55; thirty-three enrolled, thirty-one completed, subjects served as their own control, and acetyl octapeptide-3 was one item in a proprietary blend of neuropeptides, proteins, amino acids and marine extracts. Draelos and Diaz 2023, in Dermatology and Therapy, ran a twenty-four-week monadic study of a prototype serum in fifty women aged 35 to 65, forty-seven completing, in which the octapeptide sat alongside four other peptides, hyaluronic acid derivatives and antioxidants. Neither study carried a control arm, and neither isolates the peptide.
The wrinkle-depth percentages
The figures attached to this compound across vendor product pages, aggregator sites and ingredient directories are unusually specific: a maximum reduction in wrinkle depth of 63.13%, a mean of 34.98%, and 27.05% for acetyl hexapeptide-8 in the same comparison, after 28 days of twice-daily application at 10%. They recur across those pages down to the second decimal place, which indicates a single origin rather than independent replication. Several of the pages name that origin themselves: a technical dossier issued by the ingredient manufacturer, cited by title and not linked.
That dossier is not served publicly. A PubMed search returns nothing containing those values. A Europe PMC search on the INCI name and on the brand name returns no trial reporting them. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search across acetyl octapeptide-3 and SNAP-8 returns zero registered studies, while the same registry holds six for the hexapeptide, including a 70-participant Mahidol University study of a 10% gel on periorbital wrinkles that completed in September 2009 and never posted results. The octapeptide numbers are unverifiable in both directions: the protocol, the volunteer count, the blinding and the profilometry method cannot be inspected.
One octapeptide-specific wrinkle-depth result does appear in a PubMed-indexed journal, at second hand. Moy and colleagues 2023 report that a split-face in vivo study of a cream containing 3% of a 0.05% acetyl octapeptide-3 solution, applied twice daily for 28 days, lowered wrinkle depth by up to 38%, with an average decrease of 7.1%. The citation attached to that sentence is an ingredient manufacturer's product page rather than a journal, and no participant count, control arm or measurement method is given. Those figures do not match the 63.13% and 34.98% pair, and no source reconciles the two sets. What is on the record is a second-hand report of an unpublished study.
Published figures for the hexapeptide are more modest and traceable. Blanes-Mira 2002 reported wrinkle depth reduced up to 30% after 30 days from an oil-in-water emulsion containing 10% peptide in healthy women volunteers, without stating the number of volunteers in the abstract. Wang and colleagues 2013, in the American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, randomised 60 Chinese subjects to peptide or placebo in a 3:1 ratio, twice daily for four weeks on periorbital lines, and reported subjective total anti-wrinkle efficacy of 48.9% against 0% for placebo, with all silicone-replica roughness parameters decreased at p below 0.01.
Penetration was measured on the shorter peptide
Whether either peptide reaches a neuromuscular junction from a topical vehicle is unsettled, and every quantitative answer concerns the hexapeptide. Kraeling and colleagues, at the FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, applied a 10% oil-in-water emulsion of Ac-EEMQRR-amide at 2 mg per square centimetre to hairless guinea pig and human cadaver skin in diffusion cells for 24 hours, washed the surface, tape-stripped the stratum corneum with confocal verification, heat-separated epidermis from dermis, and quantified each fraction by hydrophilic interaction chromatography with tandem mass spectrometry against stable-isotope-labelled internal standards.
Most of the applied dose washed off. What remained stayed in the stratum corneum: 0.54% of the applied dose in guinea pig skin and 0.22% in human skin, declining with each successive strip. Epidermal recovery was 0.01% in both species. No peptide was detected in the dermis or in the receptor buffer beneath the skin, and no deacetylated metabolite appeared in any fraction. Hoppel and colleagues 2015, working on porcine ear skin with Franz-type cells and LC-MS/MS, found that a multiple water-in-oil-in-water emulsion significantly increased penetration over simple oil-in-water and water-in-oil vehicles, which places much of the variance in the vehicle rather than the peptide.
Zdrada-Nowak and colleagues reviewed this literature in the International Journal of Molecular Sciences in 2025 and recorded that the results conflict rather than converge: the 2002 paper described roughly 30% of the applied amount reaching receptor fluid within two hours, the FDA study found none after 24 hours. That review does not mention the octapeptide anywhere. No equivalent measurement has been published for it. It is the heavier molecule, 1075 daltons against 889, carrying the same two arginine residues, and the added aspartate contributes a further ionisable group.
Regulatory position and the route problem
Acetyl Octapeptide-3 appears in the European Commission cosmetic ingredient inventory with the declared functions humectant and skin conditioning. An inventory entry records a claimed function for labelling purposes; it is neither an efficacy finding nor a safety clearance at any particular concentration. No medicines regulator has approved the compound for any indication in any jurisdiction, and no marketing application for it appears in the public registries. The material is a cosmetic ingredient in law, and nothing more than that anywhere.
The Expert Panel for Cosmetic Ingredient Safety, which operates under the Cosmetic Ingredient Review programme, published an assessment of Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 Amide in the International Journal of Toxicology in August 2025. The panel concluded the hexapeptide safe in cosmetics at concentrations up to 0.005%, and that available data were insufficient to determine safety above that figure. The topical efficacy work cited here used 10% peptide (Blanes-Mira 2002; Kraeling 2015), roughly three orders of magnitude above 0.005%; the one microneedle study that reports a concentration used 0.03% (Shin 2024), roughly six times it. A search of the panel's published assessments returns no report on Acetyl Octapeptide-3 at all.
Everything published about this peptide concerns topical application or intradermal delivery by dissolving microneedle. Aggregator and forum pages nevertheless describe a lyophilised-powder format accompanied by reconstitution and injection instructions. No study at any level has administered acetyl octapeptide-3 by injection to an animal or a person. There is no pharmacokinetic measurement, no systemic toxicology, no immunogenicity assessment, and no published characterisation of residual counterion content in material distributed in that format.
What is not known
No study has tested acetyl octapeptide-3 as the sole variable in any system. All four human studies that contain it are multi-active formulations, none includes an arm in which the octapeptide is the only difference between test and control, and three of the four have no control arm at all, so nothing measured in any of them can be attributed to it. There is no animal study, no cell-culture assay, and no biochemical characterisation of the molecule against the SNARE complex, its nominal target: the mechanistic literature covers the hexapeptide and a different segment of SNAP-25, residues 22 to 44. Nothing has been published on skin penetration for this specific peptide, so whether it reaches the viable epidermis, let alone the dermis or a neuromuscular junction, is unmeasured. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search returns zero registered studies under either name. There is no pharmacokinetic data by any route, no systemic toxicology, no repeat-dose or chronic-exposure work, no reproductive or developmental assessment, no immunogenicity data, and no expert-panel safety assessment of the ingredient. The single octapeptide-specific wrinkle-depth figure that reaches a journal does so at second hand, citing a manufacturer product page, with no protocol, participant count or method attached.
Questions
Has SNAP-8 ever been studied on its own?
Where does the 63% wrinkle-depth figure come from?
Is SNAP-8 the same thing as acetyl hexapeptide-8?
Which molecular weight is correct?
Has SNAP-8 been given by injection in any study?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 76283482, Acetyl octapeptide-3. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C41H70N16O16S, molecular weight 1075.2, CAS 868844-74-0, UNII 8K14HJF88S, InChIKey KMACPCJUCHVVGP-FNRPHRCSSA-N. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 71587832, Acetyl octapeptide-3 (record cross-linked from FDA GSRS; deposited structure carries an error at the first peptide bond, giving C42H72N16O15S and 1073.2). Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, Acetyl Octapeptide-3, UNII 8K14HJF88S. Substance class protein, subunit sequence EEMQRRAD, primary CAS 868844-74-0, calculated molecular weight 1034.114 with formula C39H67N15O16S, structural modifications: C-terminus isoasparagine (complete) and N-terminus acetyl glutamic acid (complete). Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- UniProt P60880, SNP25_HUMAN, Synaptosomal-associated protein 25, 206 residues. EEMQRRAD aligns to positions 12-19; EEMQRR to positions 12-17; residues 22-44 read ADESLESTRRMLQLVEESKDAGI. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on www.uniprot.org
- Blanes-Mira C, Clemente J, Jodas G, Gil A, Fernandez-Ballester G, Ponsati B, Gutierrez L, Perez-Paya E, Ferrer-Montiel A. A synthetic hexapeptide (Argireline) with antiwrinkle activity. Int J Cosmet Sci. 2002;24(5):303-310. No correction or retraction notice on the PubMed record. PMID 18498523 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Blanes-Mira C, Pastor MT, Valera E, Fernandez-Ballester G, Merino JM, Gutierrez LM, Perez-Paya E, Ferrer-Montiel A. Identification of SNARE complex modulators that inhibit exocytosis from an alpha-helix-constrained combinatorial library. Biochem J. 2003;375(Pt 1):159-166. PMID 12852787 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Blanes-Mira C, Merino JM, Valera E, Fernandez-Ballester G, Gutierrez LM, Viniegra S, Perez-Paya E, Ferrer-Montiel A. Small peptides patterned after the N-terminus domain of SNAP25 inhibit SNARE complex assembly and regulated exocytosis. J Neurochem. 2004;88(1):124-135. PMID 14675156 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wang Y, Wang M, Xiao S, Pan P, Li P, Huo J. The anti-wrinkle efficacy of argireline, a synthetic hexapeptide, in Chinese subjects: a randomized, placebo-controlled study. Am J Clin Dermatol. 2013;14(2):147-153. PMID 23417317 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kraeling ME, Zhou W, Wang P, Ogunsola OA. In vitro skin penetration of acetyl hexapeptide-8 from a cosmetic formulation. Cutan Ocul Toxicol. 2015;34(1):46-52. US FDA, CFSAN Office of Applied Research and Safety Assessment. PMID 24754410 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hoppel M, Reznicek G, Kahlig H, Kotisch H, Resch GP, Valenta C. Topical delivery of acetyl hexapeptide-8 from different emulsions: influence of emulsion composition and internal structure. Eur J Pharm Sci. 2015;68:27-35. PMID 25497319 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zdrada-Nowak J, Surgiel-Gemza A, Szatkowska M. Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 in Cosmeceuticals - A Review of Skin Permeability and Efficacy. Int J Mol Sci. 2025;26(12):5722. Does not mention acetyl octapeptide-3. PMID 40565185 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Avcil M, Akman G, Klokkers J, Jeong D, Celik A. Efficacy of bioactive peptides loaded on hyaluronic acid microneedle patches: A monocentric clinical study. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2020;19(2):328-337. PMID 31134751 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Shin JY, Han D, Yoon KY, Jeong DH, Park YI. Clinical Safety and Efficacy Evaluation of a Dissolving Microneedle Patch Having Dual Anti-Wrinkle Effects With Safe and Long-Term Activities. Ann Dermatol. 2024;36(4):215-224. PMCID PMC11291098. PMID 39082657 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Moy M, Diaz I, Lesniak E, Giancola G. Peptide-pro complex serum: Investigating effects on aged skin. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2023;22(1):267-274. PMCID PMC10084013. Reference 17 of this paper, the source of the 38% and 7.1% wrinkle-depth figures, is an ingredient manufacturer's product page. PMID 35426243 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Draelos ZD, Diaz I. The Benefits of a Multimechanistic Antiaging Skin Technology. Dermatol Ther (Heidelb). 2023;13(12):3111-3119. PMCID PMC10689314. Acetyl octapeptide-3 named in the full ingredient list. PMID 37861918 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Johnson W Jr, Bergfeld WF, Belsito DV, et al. Safety Assessment of Acetyl Hexapeptide-8 Amide as Used in Cosmetics. Int J Toxicol. 2025;44(2_suppl):54S-63S. Expert Panel for Cosmetic Ingredient Safety, Cosmetic Ingredient Review. PMID 40673537 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ruiz MA, Clares B, Morales ME, Cazalla S, Gallardo V. Preparation and stability of cosmetic formulations with an anti-aging peptide. J Cosmet Sci. 2007;58(2):157-171. Emulsion and gel formulations of the hexapeptide. PMID 17520155 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01381484, Efficacy and Safety of Topical Argireline in the Treatment of Periorbital Wrinkles. Mahidol University, Phase 3, 70 participants actual, completed September 2009, no results posted. One of six registered studies returned by an intervention search on acetyl hexapeptide-8; the same search on acetyl octapeptide-3 returns none. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.