Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Mecasermin (Increlex)
Mecasermin is recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-I, seventy residues, sequence-identical to the peptide the liver releases in response to growth hormone. It is one of the few compounds in this category that is an approved medicine: the FDA licensed it in August 2005 and the EMA in August 2007, the latter under exceptional circumstances because comprehensive efficacy and safety data could not be supplied. That approval covers one narrow paediatric indication. Almost everything else the molecule has been tried for has failed in a randomised trial.
- Class
- Recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-I expressed in Escherichia coli; amino acid sequence identical to the endogenous mature peptide
- CAS number
- 68562-41-4 (primary registry code); 67763-96-6 is recorded on the same substance as a generic family code
- PubChem CID
- Not verified
- Molecular formula
- C331H512N94O101S7 (three-disulfide form; the registry prints a different, internally inconsistent formula — see the conflicting-figures entry in the unsourced list)
- Molecular weight
- 7649 Da (FDA label and EMA summary of product characteristics; the value Rinderknecht and Humbel calculated in 1978)
- Sequence
- GPETLCGAELVDALQFVCGDRGFYFNKPTGYGSSSRRAPQTGIVDECCFRSCDLRRLEMYCAPLKPAKSA (70 residues, single chain; cysteines fall at positions 6, 18, 47, 48, 52 and 61, and the three disulfide bonds of the mature IGF-I chain are annotated in UniProt P05019 as Cys6-Cys48, Cys18-Cys61 and Cys47-Cys52. The FDA GSRS record for UNII 7GR9I2683O carries no disulfide links.)
- Also indexed as
- Increlex; Myotrophin; rhIGF-1; somatomedin C; UNII 7GR9I2683O; INN 6372; USAN HH-78; ATC H01AC03; UniProt P05019; MeSH C065700. GSRS also records DrugBank DB01277 and ChEMBL1201716 on the same substance.
Identity and regulatory status
Mecasermin is recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-I: seventy amino acids in a single chain, three intramolecular disulfide bridges, produced in Escherichia coli carrying the human gene. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds it under UNII 7GR9I2683O with CAS 68562-41-4 as the primary registry code and 67763-96-6 recorded on the same substance as a generic family code, alongside INN 6372, USAN HH-78 and ATC code H01AC03. The disulfide pattern is not in that record, which carries no disulfide links at all; it is annotated on the mature IGF-I chain in UniProt P05019. Rinderknecht and Humbel determined the sequence in 1978 and calculated a molecular weight of 7649; that is the figure both the FDA and the EMA print today. PubChem holds no compound record, and queries on the name and on both registry numbers return substance deposits only.
The FDA approved Increlex on 30 August 2005 under BLA 021839, for growth failure in paediatric patients aged two years and older with severe primary IGF-1 deficiency, or with growth hormone gene deletion who have developed neutralising antibodies to growth hormone. The EMA authorised it on 2 August 2007 under exceptional circumstances, the designation applied when an applicant cannot supply comprehensive data on efficacy and safety under normal conditions of use. Its EU orphan designation was removed from the register in August 2017 at the end of the ten-year exclusivity period. No adult indication exists in either jurisdiction.
A second product, mecasermin rinfabate, an equimolar complex of rhIGF-I with its binding protein IGFBP-3, was approved by the FDA on 12 December 2005 under BLA 021884 and appears in Drugs@FDA as discontinued. Its withdrawal followed a March 2007 settlement of patent litigation brought by Tercica and Genentech, described in the sponsor's own filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. The two products are routinely conflated in secondary summaries, which matters because the binding protein is what governs clearance, so their pharmacokinetics are not interchangeable.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Growth rate rose from 2.9 ± 0.6 to 8.6 ± 0.4 cm/year over 12 months; hypoglycaemia equally frequent on placebo and on drug | Prepubertal children with growth hormone receptor deficiency, southern Ecuador | Subcutaneous, once daily | 17 randomised | Guevara-Aguirre 1995, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 7536209 |
| Height velocity 2.8 cm/year at baseline to 8.0 cm/year in year 1, dose-dependent, above baseline for up to 8 years; hypoglycaemia 49%, injection-site lipohypertrophy 32%, tonsillar or adenoidal hypertrophy 22%, with hypoglycaemia observed before as well as during therapy | Children with severe IGF-I deficiency due to growth hormone insensitivity | Subcutaneous, twice daily | 76 treated for up to 12 years | Chernausek 2007, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 17192294 |
| Height gain 13.4 cm above the height expected without treatment; cumulative height SD score change +2; most patients did not reach the normal adult range; 9 of the 21 also received a gonadotropin-releasing hormone analogue for a mean of 2.9 ± 1.8 years, and the adult height of that subgroup was reported as no different from those given rhIGF-I alone | Treatment-naive patients with severe IGF-I deficiency followed to adult or near-adult height, mean 10.0 years of treatment | Subcutaneous, twice daily | 21 (9 co-treated with a GnRH analogue) | Backeljauw 2013, Horm Res Paediatr, PMID 23887143 |
| European cohort: first-year height velocity 6.9 ± 2.2 cm/year; hypoglycaemia 17.6%, lipohypertrophy 10.6%, tonsillar hypertrophy 7.4%; 61 serious adverse events in 31 patients. Global cohort at near-adult height: height SD score gain 0.9 ± 1.1 overall and 1.4 ± 1.0 in treatment-naive prepubertal patients, with 46.7% (21/45) of treatment-naive prepubertal patients and 10.5% (2/19) of Laron syndrome patients inside the normal near-adult height range | Children with growth failure treated in routine practice; Increlex Growth Forum Database, European cohort (Dec 2008 to Sep 2013) and Global IGFD Registry (NCT00903110, April 2023 data cut) | Subcutaneous | 195 enrolled in the European cohort, 144 with year-one height velocity data; 102 reaching near-adult height in the Global cohort | Bang 2015, Horm Res Paediatr, PMID 25824333; Ramon-Krauel 2026, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 40626687 |
| Mean terminal half-life of total IGF-1 5.8 hours (CV 64%), Tmax 2 hours, after a single subcutaneous dose | Paediatric subjects with severe primary IGF-1 deficiency, ages 12 to 22 | Subcutaneous, single dose | 3 for half-life; 12 for apparent clearance and volume of distribution | FDA prescribing information for INCRELEX, section 12.3, and EMA summary of product characteristics, section 5.2 |
| Clearance about 0.20 mL/min/kg, half-life about 20 hours, volume of distribution about 0.20-0.36 L/kg, and subcutaneous bioavailability 100% | Healthy adult volunteers | Subcutaneous, single and repeated dosing | Not stated in the retrieved abstract or PubMed record | Grahnen 1993, Acta Paediatr Suppl, PMID 8219484 |
| Lai: progression on the Appel ALS rating scale 26% slower at the higher dose than placebo at 9 months, mean difference -6.00 (95% CI -10.99 to -1.01). Borasio: no significant difference on the same endpoint, -3.30 (95% CI -8.68 to 2.08). Sorenson: no difference in manual muscle testing, tracheostomy-free survival or the revised ALS functional rating scale at 2 years. Pooled across the two 9-month trials, -4.75 (95% CI -8.41 to -1.09); the Cochrane review rated all three trials at high risk of bias and the evidence underlying the pooled estimate as low quality | Adults with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, North American and European centres | Subcutaneous, daily or twice daily, 9 months (Lai, Borasio) or 2 years (Sorenson) | 266 (Lai), 183 (Borasio), 330 (Sorenson); 779 across the three trials | Lai 1997, Neurology, PMID 9409357; Borasio 1998, Neurology, PMID 9710040; Sorenson 2008, Neurology, PMID 19029516; Beauverd 2012, Cochrane Database Syst Rev, PMID 23152212 |
| No significant difference between randomisation groups on any primary endpoint; Kerr severity scale, ADAMS depressed mood subscale and EEG parameters moved toward worsening | Girls with classic Rett syndrome in the post-regression stage, ages 2 to 10 | Subcutaneous, 20-week periods with 28-week washout, crossover | 30 randomised | O'Leary 2018, Ann Clin Transl Neurol, PMID 29560377 (corrigendum PMID 30009209) |
| No hypoglycaemia and no serious adverse events across the dose-ascending period or the open-label extension; cerebrospinal fluid IGF-1 rose; apnoea improved during the extension, as did measures of anxiety and mood, supported by reversal of right frontal alpha band asymmetry on EEG. Uncontrolled phase 1 design with no placebo group and no randomisation | Girls with MECP2 mutations, 9 of the 12 with Rett syndrome | Subcutaneous, twice daily; 4-week dose-ascending period plus 20-week open-label extension | 12 enrolled, 12 completed the dose-ascending period, 10 completed the study | Khwaja 2014, Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A, PMID 24623853 |
| Lean body mass and nitrogen retention rose significantly at the higher rhIGF-I dose over 4 weeks, alongside headaches, lethargy, joint swelling and pain, and bloating; three active arms, no placebo group | Healthy elderly women, mean age 71.9 years, on a standardised diet | Subcutaneous, twice daily, 4 weeks | 16 randomised (5 growth hormone, 6 low-dose rhIGF-I, 5 high-dose rhIGF-I) | Thompson 1995, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 7539817 |
| Phenylalanine balance shifted more positive in the IGF-I-infused forearm than in the contralateral amino-acid-only forearm (P < 0.01), by a further stimulation of protein synthesis (P < 0.02); insulin, studied in the other 10 subjects, acted instead by inhibiting protein degradation. A 6-hour local infusion measuring protein turnover, not muscle mass | Postabsorptive adults during hyperaminoacidaemia; of the 22 studied, 12 received intra-arterial IGF-I and 10 received intra-arterial insulin | Intra-arterial infusion into one brachial artery, 6 hours | 12 in the IGF-I limb (22 studied in total) | Fryburg 1995, J Clin Invest, PMID 7560063 |
| Change in 6-minute walk distance, the primary endpoint, 3.4 ± 32.4 metres against -5.1 ± 50.2 metres in controls (P = .53); height velocity 6.5 ± 1.7 against 3.3 ± 1.3 cm/year (P < .0001); 6-month change in height SD score 0.25 (P < .0001); lean mass and insulin sensitivity rose in treated subjects; motor function unchanged | Prepubescent ambulatory boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy already receiving glucocorticoids | Subcutaneous, 6 months | 38 (17 rhIGF-1, 21 glucocorticoid alone) | Rutter 2020, Muscle Nerve, PMID 32108355 |
| Molecular formula C331H512N84O101S7, molecular weight 7648.7 g/mol | Printed on aggregator pages describing mecasermin. The nitrogen count is wrong. Computing the empirical formula from the 70-residue sequence in the FDA registry record gives N94, and the Wikipedia infobox, which the rest of the string matches character for character, also reads N94. The three-disulfide formula C331H512N94O101S7 computes to 7648.7, which reconciles with the 7649 Da on both the FDA label and the EMA summary of product characteristics and with the weight Rinderknecht and Humbel calculated in 1978. A third pair circulates from the registry itself: FDA GSRS gives C331H517N94O101S7, typed ESTIMATED, with an average mass of 7651.7 Da. H517 matches neither the reduced form (H518) nor the three-disulfide form (H512), and 7651.7 sits about two daltons below what its own formula computes to (C331H517N94O101S7 = 7653.7), while sitting about three daltons above the label formula's 7648.7. The registry pair is internally inconsistent; the label pair is not. | No source found | ||
| Mecasermin has a half-life of 5.8 hours | Traceable, but not to what it is used to mean. The FDA label and the EMA summary of product characteristics both attribute 5.8 hours to a single subcutaneous dose in three paediatric subjects with severe primary IGF-1 deficiency, aged 12 to 22, with a coefficient of variation of 64 per cent. Severe primary IGF-1 deficiency is the condition in which IGFBP-3 is low, and the label states that clearance is inversely proportional to IGFBP-3. Grahnen 1993 (PMID 8219484) measured about 20 hours in healthy volunteers and about 6 hours in growth hormone receptor deficiency in the same report. The 5.8-hour figure is a measurement in the population least representative of anyone else, quoted as though it were a constant. | No source found | ||
| IGF-1 has a half-life of 12 to 15 hours once bound to IGFBP-3 | Traces to Guler 1989 (PMID 2558477), which injected radiolabelled IGF-I and IGF-II as a bolus into two normal adults and followed the tracer across gel-permeation fractions: 10 to 12 minutes free, 20 to 30 minutes in the 50 kDa complex, 12 to 15 hours in the 200 kDa complex. That is the disposition of a tracer across carrier fractions in two people, not the half-life of a subcutaneous therapeutic dose, and no source was located that reports a single unqualified half-life for the injected product in a population with normal binding proteins. | No source found | ||
| IGF-1 LR3 has roughly one-thousandth the binding-protein affinity of native IGF-1 | The thousandfold figure circulates on aggregator and forum pages and was not located in the primary literature. PubMed searches in August 2026 on "Long R3 IGF" (55 records) and on the analogue combined with binding-protein and affinity terms (56 records) returned no report quantifying the reduction; the retrieved records describe the analogue qualitatively, as an IGF-I analogue with high receptor affinity and low IGF-binding-protein affinity, with no fold-change attached. The FDA substance record and ChEMBL hold no binding-affinity value for the analogue. The structural difference itself is documented: arginine substituted at position 3 and a thirteen-residue N-terminal extension. | No source found | ||
| rhIGF-1 produces muscle hyperplasia, generating new fibres from satellite cells, as well as hypertrophy | PubMed searches combining mecasermin, rhIGF-I and recombinant human IGF-1 with muscle fibre number, fibre counts, hyperplasia and satellite cell terms returned six records in August 2026, none of which reports fibre counts after administration of the recombinant peptide in any species. The human data that do exist measure something else: Fryburg 1995 (PMID 7560063) measured phenylalanine kinetics during a six-hour intra-arterial infusion in the twelve of twenty-two subjects who received IGF-I, Thompson 1995 (PMID 7539817) measured lean body mass over four weeks in sixteen women on a standardised diet, and Rutter 2020 (PMID 32108355) measured lean mass and six-minute walk distance in boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy and found the walk distance unchanged. Hypertrophy against hyperplasia is not a distinction any of them tested. | No source found | ||
| Long-term treatment makes patients 13.4 cm taller | Backeljauw 2013 (PMID 23887143) followed 21 treatment-naive patients to adult or near-adult height over a mean of 10.0 years and reported an observed height gain 13.4 cm greater than had been expected without treatment. The comparator is a projection from untreated Laron syndrome rather than a control arm; nine of the twenty-one also received a gonadotropin-releasing hormone analogue for a mean of 2.9 ± 1.8 years; and the same paper records that most patients did not bring their heights into the normal adult range. The EMA summary of product characteristics reports the identical analysis as approximately 13 cm with a standard deviation of 8 cm after an average of eleven years of treatment, so the regulatory text and the publication disagree on the mean, the spread and the duration. Quoting 13.4 cm bare drops all of that. | No source found | ||
| Mecasermin rinfabate was pulled from the market over safety problems | No safety action was located. Drugs@FDA holds BLA 021884, IPLEX, approved 12 December 2005 with a supplement approved 27 February 2007, product marketing status Discontinued, and no safety-related submission in the record. openFDA queries on generic name and substance name for mecasermin rinfabate return no matches at all; the application is retrievable only by number. The documented reason is commercial: the sponsor's own filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission describe a March 2007 settlement of patent litigation brought by Tercica and Genentech under which it agreed to stop selling the product in the United States and to withdraw its European application. Searches of FDA safety communications returned nothing tied to the withdrawal. | No source found | ||
| The cancer signal attached to mecasermin is quantified | The December 2019 Direct Healthcare Professional Communication and the current EMA product information both state that a higher number of benign and malignant neoplasms was observed after marketing than the background incidence in that population, and neither gives a count, a denominator, a follow-up period or a rate. PubMed searches pairing mecasermin and Increlex with neoplasm, malignancy, incidence, registry and pharmacovigilance terms returned three records in August 2026, none of them a quantification of that signal. The only quantified disproportionality analysis retrieved that names the compound at all is a 2025 FAERS study of drug-induced polycystic ovary syndrome (PMID 41367917) reporting a reporting odds ratio of 67.54, which is a signal statistic from spontaneous reports, is not an incidence, and is not about neoplasia. | No source found | ||
The trials behind the approval
One randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial exists for the approved indication. Guevara-Aguirre and colleagues enrolled seventeen prepubertal children with growth hormone receptor deficiency from a genetically homogeneous population in southern Ecuador. Subjects received either twelve months of subcutaneous rhIGF-I or six months of placebo followed by six months of active treatment. Growth rate in treated subjects rose from 2.9 plus or minus 0.6 to 8.6 plus or minus 0.4 cm per year. Hypoglycaemia occurred at equal frequency in the placebo and rhIGF-I groups, and one recipient developed papilloedema that resolved without intervention.
Chernausek and colleagues reported seventy-six children with IGF-I deficiency due to growth hormone insensitivity, treated for up to twelve years under a predominantly open-label design, which is the design of every study in the programme larger than the Ecuadorian trial. Height velocity rose from a mean 2.8 cm per year at baseline to 8.0 cm per year in the first year, varied with the dose administered, and remained above baseline for up to eight years while declining each year. The European label tabulates the pooled programme, ninety-two subjects across five studies, eighty-one evaluable, and records mean height velocity falling from 8.0 cm per year in year one to 4.4 cm per year in year eight.
Backeljauw and colleagues followed twenty-one treatment-naive patients to adult or near-adult height over a mean of ten years. Cumulative mean change in height standard deviation score was plus two, and the observed height gain was 13.4 cm more than had been expected without treatment. Nine of the twenty-one also received a gonadotropin-releasing hormone analogue for a mean of 2.9 plus or minus 1.8 years, and the paper records the adult height of that subgroup as no different from those given rhIGF-I alone. The comparator is an expectation derived from untreated Laron syndrome rather than a randomised control arm, and the authors record that most patients did not reach the normal adult range. The European label states the same result as approximately 13 cm plus or minus 8 cm after an average of eleven years, so the label and the paper it derives from disagree on both the figure and the duration.
What the registries record
Bang and colleagues reported the European Increlex Growth Forum Database, an observational registry of clinical-practice use covering 195 enrolled children between December 2008 and September 2013. Mean height velocity in the first treatment year was 6.9 plus or minus 2.2 cm per year across the 144 patients with data, and 7.3 plus or minus 2.0 cm per year in the eighty-one prepubertal patients naive to treatment. Both sit below the 8.0 cm per year recorded in year one of the pooled trial programme, on a population selected by clinical practice rather than by protocol.
Ramon-Krauel and colleagues reported the global version of the same registry in 2026, covering the 102 patients who had reached near-adult height by the April 2023 data cut. Mean age at initiation was 11.8 years and median treatment duration 3.9 years. Mean height standard deviation score gain was 0.9 plus or minus 1.1 overall and 1.4 plus or minus 1.0 in treatment-naive prepubertal patients. Among treatment-naive prepubertal patients, 46.7 per cent, twenty-one of forty-five, reached a near-adult height inside the normal range; among patients with Laron syndrome, 10.5 per cent did, two of nineteen.
Treatment naivety predicted height gain in the overall near-adult-height population, and the investigators record the greatest improvements in the treatment-naive prepubertal group. Late initiation is the dominant feature of the registry data: a mean starting age of 11.8 years leaves little growth remaining, and the investigators attribute the outcomes in the wider cohort to it. Neither registry carries a control arm, and neither was designed to separate the contribution of the drug from the natural history of the underlying condition.
Adverse events, and the neoplasia contraindication
Hypoglycaemia is the event recorded most often. Chernausek's cohort reported it in 49 per cent of treated subjects; the FDA label, drawing on seventy-one subjects and 274 subject-years, records 42 per cent, with severe episodes in five subjects and hypoglycaemic seizures or loss of consciousness in four. Of the thirty subjects reporting hypoglycaemia in the label dataset, fourteen had a documented history of it before treatment began, and the one randomised trial recorded equal frequency on placebo and on drug. Attributing the whole of that signal to the compound does not survive the comparison.
Lymphoid tissue hypertrophy comes next. Tonsillar or adenoidal hypertrophy appeared in 22 per cent of Chernausek's subjects and 15 per cent of the label cohort, mostly within the first one to two years; seven subjects in the label dataset underwent tonsillectomy or adenotonsillectomy, three of them with obstructive sleep apnoea that resolved after the procedure. Injection-site lipohypertrophy ran at 32 per cent in Chernausek's series. Intracranial hypertension occurred in three subjects. Registry rates are lower across the board, hypoglycaemia 17.6 per cent, lipohypertrophy 10.6 per cent, tonsillar hypertrophy 7.4 per cent, which is what the difference between protocol monitoring and clinical-practice reporting would predict.
In December 2019 the sponsor, in agreement with the EMA and the MHRA, issued a Direct Healthcare Professional Communication stating that a higher number of benign and malignant neoplasms had been identified in patients receiving mecasermin after marketing than the background incidence in that population, that the cases spanned a variety of malignancies including rare ones not usually seen in children, and that most had arisen outside the authorised indication or above the authorised maximum. The European contraindication was widened to any child or adolescent with active or suspected neoplasia, or any condition or history raising the risk of one. The communication gives no numerator, no denominator and no rate.
Half-life is a property of the recipient
The figure quoted almost everywhere is 5.8 hours. Both the FDA label and the European summary of product characteristics attribute it to the mean terminal half-life of total IGF-1 after a single subcutaneous dose in three paediatric subjects with severe primary IGF-1 deficiency, aged twelve to twenty-two. The half-life column of that table carries an n of three. The same table reports a coefficient of variation of 64 per cent on that half-life, and draws apparent clearance and volume of distribution from twelve subjects rather than three.
Grahnen and colleagues measured the same peptide in two populations in 1993 and obtained two answers. In healthy volunteers, clearance was about 0.20 mL per minute per kilogram and half-life about twenty hours. In patients with growth hormone receptor deficiency, clearance was about 0.60 mL per minute per kilogram and half-life about six hours. Subcutaneous bioavailability was 100 per cent in the healthy volunteers; the report gives no bioavailability figure for the growth hormone receptor deficiency arm, and the FDA label records that absolute bioavailability in severe primary IGF-1 deficiency has not been determined. The mechanism is stated in the label itself: more than eighty per cent of circulating IGF-1 travels as a ternary complex with IGFBP-3 and an acid-labile subunit, IGFBP-3 is low in severe primary IGF-1 deficiency, and clearance is inversely proportional to it.
A third set of figures, ten to twelve minutes free, twenty to thirty minutes in the 50 kDa complex, twelve to fifteen hours in the 200 kDa complex, comes from Guler and colleagues, who injected radiolabelled tracer into two normal adults in 1989. Those are tracer kinetics of the endogenous peptide across carrier fractions rather than the disposition of an injected therapeutic dose. Four defensible half-lives exist for one molecule, and each belongs to the population it was measured in, so a page printing one of them without its population is describing something narrower than it appears to.
The indications that did not survive a trial
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis absorbed the largest effort. Lai and colleagues randomised 266 patients across eight North American centres to placebo or one of two subcutaneous doses for nine months, and reported progression of functional impairment on the Appel scale 26 per cent slower at the higher dose than on placebo. Borasio and colleagues randomised 183 patients across eight European centres over the same nine months and found no significant difference on the same primary endpoint. Sorenson and colleagues then randomised 330 patients at twenty centres for two years and found no difference in manual muscle testing, tracheostomy-free survival or the revised ALS functional rating scale.
Pooling the two nine-month trials, the 2012 Cochrane review reported a mean difference of minus 4.75 on the Appel scale, 95 per cent confidence interval minus 8.41 to minus 1.09, favouring treatment, while recording that every secondary outcome showed only non-significant trends. The same review rated all three included trials at high risk of bias and graded the evidence underlying that pooled estimate as low quality. The development name used for that programme, Myotrophin, survives in the FDA substance record as a synonym on the same entry as Increlex. No regulator approved the molecule for the indication.
Rett syndrome followed a similar arc. Khwaja and colleagues ran a phase 1 study in twelve girls with MECP2 mutations, nine of them with Rett syndrome, recorded no hypoglycaemia or serious adverse events, and described improvement in apnoea and in anxiety and mood measures during a twenty-week open-label extension with no placebo group. O'Leary and colleagues then ran a placebo-controlled crossover trial in thirty girls with classic Rett syndrome and found no significant difference between randomisation groups on any primary endpoint; the Kerr severity scale, the ADAMS depressed mood subscale and several EEG parameters moved toward worsening. That paper carries a corrigendum adding an omitted author and two omitted grant acknowledgements, and no result changed.
The human muscle data
Human data on rhIGF-I and skeletal muscle exist, and they are narrower than the summaries built on them. Fryburg and colleagues studied twenty-two postabsorptive adults during hyperaminoacidaemia, of whom twelve received IGF-I into one brachial artery and ten received insulin, and measured phenylalanine balance and kinetics in both forearms. In the twelve given IGF-I, the infused arm showed a greater positive shift in phenylalanine balance than the contralateral control arm, and the mechanism separated from insulin's: IGF-I acted by stimulating protein synthesis, insulin by inhibiting degradation. That is a six-hour local infusion study of protein turnover, not a study of muscle mass.
Thompson and colleagues randomised sixteen healthy elderly women to growth hormone or one of two rhIGF-I doses for four weeks on a standardised diet. There was no placebo arm. Lean body mass and nitrogen retention rose significantly in the growth hormone group and the higher rhIGF-I group, and fat mass fell in all three groups. The same two groups recorded headaches, lethargy, joint swelling and pain, and bloating. Five or six women per arm over four weeks is the size of that dataset, and it remains the closest published approach to a body-composition study of this peptide in adults without a growth disorder.
Rutter and colleagues randomised thirty-eight prepubescent ambulatory boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy already receiving glucocorticoids, seventeen to subcutaneous rhIGF-1 and twenty-one to glucocorticoid alone, for six months. Change in six-minute walk distance, the primary endpoint, was 3.4 plus or minus 32.4 metres in the treated group against minus 5.1 plus or minus 50.2 metres in controls, p equal to 0.53. Height velocity was 6.5 plus or minus 1.7 against 3.3 plus or minus 1.3 cm per year, p below 0.0001, and lean mass and insulin sensitivity rose in the treated boys. The authors conclude that six months of treatment improved linear growth and did not change motor function (PMID 32108355).
What is not known
The approved indication rests on one randomised placebo-controlled trial of seventeen children whose placebo arm ran six months. Everything else supporting it is open-label or observational, and the pooled registration dataset is ninety-two subjects. No trial has compared mecasermin against growth hormone in a population able to respond to both, and the near-adult-height figure most often quoted is measured against a projection rather than a control arm, in a cohort of twenty-one of whom nine also received a gonadotropin-releasing hormone analogue. The neoplasia signal that widened the European contraindication in 2019 has no published rate, no denominator and no follow-up duration attached to it, and the EMA authorisation remains one granted under exceptional circumstances, meaning the agency itself recorded that comprehensive efficacy and safety data could not be supplied. Pharmacokinetics are characterised in three subjects for the half-life the labels print, and the labels state that the pharmacokinetics have not been studied below age twelve or above age sixty-five, and that no studies have been conducted in renal or hepatic impairment. On pregnancy and lactation the labels record no human data at all: the FDA label carries animal reproduction data only, a rabbit no-observed-adverse-effect level of 0.5 mg per kilogram per day for fetal toxicity with an increase in fetal death at 2 mg per kilogram, and states that exposure during pregnancy is unlikely because the drug is not indicated after epiphyseal closure. The EMA text describes the animal studies as insufficient with respect to reproductive toxicity, instructs that the product should not be used during pregnancy, recommends a negative pregnancy test and adequate contraception in women of childbearing potential, and does not recommend breast-feeding because information on excretion in human milk is insufficient. For every use outside the growth indication the record is either negative or absent: of three randomised trials in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis two found no difference on their primary endpoint and the third was rated at high risk of bias along with the other two, and one crossover trial in Rett syndrome and one controlled trial in Duchenne muscular dystrophy failed their primary endpoints. No placebo-controlled randomised trial of the compound in healthy adults for muscle mass, athletic performance, injury recovery or ageing was located in ClinicalTrials.gov or PubMed; the only randomised body-composition data are Thompson 1995, sixteen healthy elderly women across three active arms over four weeks, with no placebo group. Material sold outside the approved supply chain has not been subject to the identity, purity or sterility controls that apply to a licensed biologic, and no published analysis of such material was located.
Questions
Is mecasermin an approved medicine?
Why do sources give different half-lives?
What happened in the amyotrophic lateral sclerosis trials?
Why is there a cancer contraindication?
Is mecasermin the same thing as IGF-1 LR3?
References
- Guevara-Aguirre J, Vasconez O, Martinez V, et al. A randomized, double blind, placebo-controlled trial on safety and efficacy of recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-I in children with growth hormone receptor deficiency. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1995;80(4):1393-1398. PMID 7536209. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Chernausek SD, Backeljauw PF, Frane J, et al. Long-term treatment with recombinant insulin-like growth factor (IGF)-I in children with severe IGF-I deficiency due to growth hormone insensitivity. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2007;92(3):902-910. PMID 17192294. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Backeljauw PF, Kuntze J, Frane J, Calikoglu AS, Chernausek SD. Adult and near-adult height in patients with severe insulin-like growth factor-I deficiency after long-term therapy with recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-I. Horm Res Paediatr. 2013;80(1):47-56. PMID 23887143. Nine of the 21 patients also received a gonadotropin-releasing hormone analogue for a mean of 2.9 ± 1.8 years. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Bang P, Polak M, Woelfle J, Houchard A; EU IGFD Registry Study Group. Effectiveness and safety of rhIGF-1 therapy in children: the European Increlex Growth Forum Database experience. Horm Res Paediatr. 2015;83(5):345-357. PMID 25824333. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ramon-Krauel M, Polak M, Maghnie M, Woelfle J, Sert C, Perrot V, Bang P. Near-adult height outcomes in patients treated with rhIGF-1 for severe growth failure: real-world IGFD Registry data. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2026;111(2):e500-e511. doi:10.1210/clinem/dgaf390. Global IGFD Registry, NCT00903110. PMID 40626687. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Grahnen A, Kastrup K, Heinrich U, et al. Pharmacokinetics of recombinant human insulin-like growth factor I given subcutaneously to healthy volunteers and to patients with growth hormone receptor deficiency. Acta Paediatr Suppl. 1993;82 Suppl 391:9-13; discussion 14. PMID 8219484. Sample sizes are not stated in the abstract or PubMed record. The 100% subcutaneous bioavailability is reported for the healthy-volunteer arm only. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Guler HP, Zapf J, Schmid C, Froesch ER. Insulin-like growth factors I and II in healthy man. Estimations of half-lives and production rates. Acta Endocrinol (Copenh). 1989;121(6):753-758. PMID 2558477. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Rinderknecht E, Humbel RE. The amino acid sequence of human insulin-like growth factor I and its structural homology with proinsulin. J Biol Chem. 1978;253(8):2769-2776. PMID 632300. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lai EC, Felice KJ, Festoff BW, et al. Effect of recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-I on progression of ALS. A placebo-controlled study. The North America ALS/IGF-I Study Group. Neurology. 1997;49(6):1621-1630. PMID 9409357. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Borasio GD, Robberecht W, Leigh PN, et al. A placebo-controlled trial of insulin-like growth factor-I in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. European ALS/IGF-I Study Group. Neurology. 1998;51(2):583-586. PMID 9710040. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sorenson EJ, Windbank AJ, Mandrekar JN, et al. Subcutaneous IGF-1 is not beneficial in 2-year ALS trial. Neurology. 2008;71(22):1770-1775. PMID 19029516. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Beauverd M, Mitchell JD, Wokke JHJ, Borasio GD. Recombinant human insulin-like growth factor I (rhIGF-I) for the treatment of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis/motor neuron disease. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2012;11(11):CD002064. PMID 23152212. The review records that all three included trials were at high risk of bias and that the quality of the evidence from the two pooled trials was low. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- O'Leary HM, Kaufmann WE, Barnes KV, et al. Placebo-controlled crossover assessment of mecasermin for the treatment of Rett syndrome. Ann Clin Transl Neurol. 2018;5(3):323-332. PMID 29560377. Carries a corrigendum at Ann Clin Transl Neurol 2018;5(7):895, PMID 30009209, which adds an omitted author to the byline and two omitted NIH grant acknowledgements; no result or figure changed. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khwaja OS, Ho E, Barnes KV, et al. Safety, pharmacokinetics, and preliminary assessment of efficacy of mecasermin (recombinant human IGF-1) for the treatment of Rett syndrome. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2014;111(12):4596-4601. PMID 24623853. Phase 1, uncontrolled; 12 subjects, no placebo group. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Thompson JL, Butterfield GE, Marcus R, et al. The effects of recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-I and growth hormone on body composition in elderly women. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1995;80(6):1845-1852. PMID 7539817. Indexed as a randomised controlled trial; three active arms, no placebo group. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Rutter MM, Wong BL, Collins JJ, et al. Recombinant human insulin-like growth factor-1 therapy for 6 months improves growth but not motor function in boys with Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Muscle Nerve. 2020;61(5):623-631. PMID 32108355. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fryburg DA, Jahn LA, Hill SA, Oliveras DM, Barrett EJ. Insulin and insulin-like growth factor-I enhance human skeletal muscle protein anabolism during hyperaminoacidemia by different mechanisms. J Clin Invest. 1995;96(4):1722-1729. PMID 7560063. Of the 22 postabsorptive adults studied, 12 received intra-arterial IGF-I and 10 received intra-arterial insulin. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Regulatory and registry records consulted directly: FDA prescribing information for INCRELEX (mecasermin) injection, DailyMed SPL setid a8b27a1b-a611-4f91-ad22-76d4b390c3ae, sections 8.1, 8.2, 8.4, 8.5 and 12.3; EMA summary of product characteristics for Increlex, EU/1/07/402, authorised under exceptional circumstances 2 August 2007, sections 4.6, 5.2 and 5.3; Direct Healthcare Professional Communication on Increlex and the risk of benign and malignant neoplasia, December 2019; Drugs@FDA records BLA 021839 (Increlex, approved 30 August 2005) and BLA 021884 (Iplex, mecasermin rinfabate, approved 12 December 2005, marketing status Discontinued); FDA Global Substance Registration System, UNII 7GR9I2683O; UniProt P05019 for the disulfide annotation of the mature IGF-I chain. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.