Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

IGF-1 LR3 (Long R3 IGF-I)

IGF-1 LR3 is recombinant human IGF-I carrying arginine at position 3 and a thirteen-residue N-terminal extension, registered with the FDA under UNII M9L22Y19H9. The modification cuts binding-protein affinity by roughly a thousandfold, which in rats made the peptide leave plasma about eleven times faster than IGF-I rather than slower. No human study has been registered or published. The twenty-to-thirty-hour half-life carried by the Wikipedia article and by vendor and aggregator pages traces to an uncited Methods parenthetical in a mouse atherosclerosis paper (PMID 21281823).

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyRat, pig and mouse in vivo work plus rat, chicken, bovine and turkey cell culture; no primate has received this analogue in any retrieved study; zero registered human studies 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Recombinant N-terminally extended [Arg3] analogue of human insulin-like growth factor-I
CAS number
143045-27-6
PubChem CID
Not verified
Molecular formula
C400H623N111O115S9 (GSRS, typed ESTIMATED; matches neither the reduced nor the disulfide-bonded form computed from the registry's own sequence)
Molecular weight
9120 Da (GSRS, typed ESTIMATED average; inconsistent by about 4.4 Da with the 9115.6 Da its own formula computes to)
Sequence
MFPAMPLSSLFVNGPRTLCGAELVDALQFVCGDRGFYFNKPTGYGSSSRRAPQTGIVDECCFRSCDLRRLEMYCAPLKPAKSA (83 residues, single chain; three disulfide bonds recorded by GSRS at Cys19-Cys61, Cys31-Cys74 and Cys60-Cys65)
Also indexed as
Long R3 IGF-I; Long-(Arg3)insulin-like growth factor-I; LR3IGF-I; insulin-like growth factor long chain R3; UNII M9L22Y19H9

Chemical identity, and a CAS number that points elsewhere

The catalogue name and the registry's preferred name are not the same string. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds one record for this molecule, filed as Long-(Arg3)insulin-like growth factor-I under UNII M9L22Y19H9, with IGF-1 LR3 among the synonyms attached to it, so the two names denote one substance. The single subunit runs 83 residues, beginning MFPAMPLSSLFVN and continuing into GPRTLCGAELVDALQFVCGDRGFYFNKPTGYGSSSRRAPQTGIVDECCFRSCDLRRLEMYCAPLKPAKSA, with three disulfide bonds recorded at Cys19-Cys61, Cys31-Cys74 and Cys60-Cys65. After the first thirteen residues comes the 70-residue human IGF-I chain, glutamate at position 3 replaced by arginine. That thirteen-residue extension is the first eleven residues of methionyl porcine growth hormone followed by a Val-Asn dipeptide, which served as the hydroxylamine-sensitive cleavage linker in the original construct (PMID 1311930).

Two CAS numbers are in circulation for it. The registry record carries 143045-27-6, which is also the number in the Wikipedia infobox. Most pages selling or describing the compound print 946870-92-4 instead. Querying PubChem for 946870-92-4 returns CID 168009904, a C80H154N4O6S2 ionisable lipid of molecular weight 1332 with no relation to any peptide. PubChem holds no standardised compound record for the protein itself; searches on the name and on 143045-27-6 return substance deposits only, which is ordinary treatment for a chain this size. The identifier field on this page is left blank rather than filled with the number that circulates.

Formula and mass do not settle either. The registry lists C400H623N111O115S9 and an estimated average mass of 9120 Da, both flagged as calculated rather than measured. Vendor pages and the Wikipedia infobox give C400H625N111O115S9 and 9117.60 g/mol. The arithmetic resolves the discrepancy. C400H625N111O115S9 is the reduced-chain formula computed from the registry's own 83-residue sequence, and 9117.60 is that formula's calculated average mass; the folded form carrying the three disulfide bonds the registry records would be C400H619N111O115S9. The registry's C623 matches neither, and its stated 9120 Da sits about 4.4 Da above the 9115.6 Da its own formula computes to. No experimentally determined mass for the untagged substance was located. Zhao and colleagues spelled the extension out residue by residue in their 1993 bovine leukocyte paper as Met-Phe-Pro-Ala-Met-Pro-Leu-Ser-Ser-Leu-Phe-Val-Asn (PMID 7508487), matching the registry sequence and not the double-leucine spelling carried in the Wikipedia article body and on several secondary pages.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
IGF-I had approximately 1000-fold higher affinity than LR3IGF-I towards IGFBP-3, IGFBP-4, total rat plasma IGFBPs and L6 myoblast binding protein; in cultured L6 myoblasts the analogue showed 5- to 10-fold greater biological potency than IGF-IPurified IGFBP-3 and IGFBP-4, total rat plasma IGF-binding proteins, L6 myoblast binding protein, and cultured rat L6 myoblastsIn vitroNot applicableBallard 1993, Growth Regul 3:40-44, PMID 7683526
Metabolic clearance rate 9.84 +/- 0.28 ml/min per kg for LR3IGF-I versus 0.90 +/- 0.05 for IGF-I in virgin animals; in pregnant animals 9.19 +/- 0.15 versus 2.88 +/- 0.12. Most LR3IGF-I detected as free peptide, most IGF-I in the 150 kDa complexFemale rats, catheterised, virgin and day-18 pregnantIntravenous bolus of radiolabelled peptideNot stated in the retrieved reportBastian 1993, J Endocrinol 138:327-336, PMID 7693845
LR3IGF-I and des(1-3)IGF-I were approximately 2.5-fold more potent than IGF-I on body weight and nitrogen retention over 7 days; authors note LR3IGF-I binds the type 1 IGF receptor 3-fold less well than IGF-IMale rats, 150 g, made catabolic with dexamethasone 20 microgram/daySubcutaneous osmotic pump, 7 daysNot stated in the retrieved reportTomas 1992, Biochem J 282:91-97, PMID 1371669
IGF-I at its highest dose, 695 microgram/day, increased gut weight by up to 60%. The N-terminal modified analogues including LR3IGF-I were reported as consistently severalfold more potent than IGF-I, with no percentage attached to themDexamethasone-treated rats, 150 gSubcutaneous, 7 daysNot stated in the retrieved reportRead 1992, J Endocrinol 133:421-431, PMID 1613443
At 278 microgram/day LR3IGF-I, total gut weight rose 43%, small intestinal weight 47% and small intestinal length 13%; crypt cell population +33%, cells per villus column +34%, villus cell density +20%Female rats, 115 gSubcutaneous osmotic minipump, 14 days6 per groupSteeb 1994, Am J Physiol 266:G1090-G1098, PMID 7912894
Infused LR3IGF-I was 1.5- to 2-fold more potent than IGF-I for body weight gain, visceral organ weights and feed use efficiency, but was barely equipotent with IGF-I for reversal of carcass muscle loss in dexamethasone-treated animalsNormal growing rats (150 g) and dexamethasone-treated ratsSubcutaneous, continuous infusion versus once- or twice-daily injection, 7 daysNot stated in the retrieved reportTomas 1996, J Endocrinol 150:77-84, PMID 8708565
In the pig arm, IGF-I was compared with four variants including LR3IGF-I. The variants binding IGFBPs poorly were 2- to 3-fold more potent than IGF-I at the glucose nadir and produced 4- to 8-fold greater cumulative hypoglycaemia over four hours; maximum lowering of plasma glucose 4.8 mmol/lPigsIntravenous bolus, 20 and 50 microgram/kgNot stated in the retrieved reportTomas 1997, J Endocrinol 155:377-386, PMID 9415072
In the marmoset arm only IGF-I and des(1-3)IGF-I were administered; LR3IGF-I was not given to any primate in this study. Maximum lowering of plasma glucose was 3.7 mmol/l in the conscious and 2.5 mmol/l in the anaesthetised animal. Correlated changes in plasma insulin, IGF-I and IGF-binding proteins did not account for the differentialMarmoset monkeys (Callithrix jacchus), conscious and anaesthetisedIntravenous bolus, 42-270 microgram/kgNot stated in the retrieved reportTomas 1997, J Endocrinol 155:377-386, PMID 9415072
LR3IGF-I decreased average daily gain, food intake, and plasma IGFBP-3, IGF-I and insulin; mean plasma GH fell 23% and area under the GH peaks fell 60%. Plasma glucose was unaffected by any treatmentFinisher pigsInfusion, 180 microgram/kg per day, 4 daysNot stated in the retrieved reportDunaiski 1997, J Endocrinol 155:559-565, PMID 9488001
Variants that bound extremely weakly in rat plasma bound significantly in plasma from other species; extent of variant binding by size-exclusion chromatography fell in the order sheep > human > pig = chicken > ratPlasma from rat, sheep, human, pig and chickenIn vitro, size-exclusion chromatography and competition bindingNot applicableLord 1994, J Endocrinol 140:475-482, PMID 7514204
Long R3 IGF-1 reduced stenosis and core size and doubled cap/core ratio in early lesions; in advanced plaques it more than doubled vascular smooth muscle cell content and reduced intraplaque haemorrhage. The paper's methods describe a 20-30 hour half-life without citing a source or measuring itApolipoprotein E knockout mice, perivascular carotid collar modelSubcutaneous osmotic minipump, 0.25 microgram/hour for 4 weeks11 treated vs 15 control (early); 14 treated vs 12 control (advanced)von der Thusen 2011, Am J Pathol 178:924-934, PMID 21281823
Order of potency in cell lines secreting IGFBPs was Long [Arg3]-IGF-I = des(1-3)IGF-I > Long [Gly3]-IGF-I > Long IGF-I > IGF-I. In chicken embryo fibroblasts, which secrete no detectable IGFBPs, Long [Arg3]-IGF-I was less potent than IGF-IRat L6 myoblasts, H35 hepatoma cells, chicken embryo fibroblastsCulture mediumNot applicableFrancis 1992, J Mol Endocrinol 8:213-223, PMID 1378742
IGF-1 LR3 has an elimination half-life of roughly 20 to 30 hoursTraced to its end. Wikipedia attributes the figure to von der Thusen 2011 (Am J Pathol 178:924-934, PMID 21281823). Retrieving that paper's full text through PubMed Central (PMC3069834) confirms the phrase is present, but only inside a Methods parenthetical describing the reagent: an analogue 'leading to a prolonged half-life (20 to 30 hours) due to decreased binding to IGF binding proteins'. No reference is attached to that clause, the superscript in the sentence points to the carotid collar method, and the study measured plasma concentrations by ELISA rather than a half-life. The same Wikipedia infobox separately gives 56-72 hours, so the article disagrees with itself. The only primary in vivo pharmacokinetic measurements located (Bastian 1993, PMID 7693845; Bastian 2000, PMID 10607940; Shoubridge and Read 2003, PMID 12697696) all report the analogue clearing faster than IGF-I, not slower.No source found
Native IGF-1 has a half-life of 12 to 15 minutes, against which the analogue's is longSome pages print 12-15 minutes and others 12-15 hours for the same claim. Both are fragments of Guler 1989 (PMID 2558477), which measured three different half-lives in two healthy adults according to which carrier complex the tracer occupied: 10-12 minutes free, 20-30 minutes in the 50 kDa complex, 12-15 hours in the 200 kDa complex. No source was located that reports a single unqualified half-life for IGF-I, and searching PubMed for a comparative half-life measurement of IGF-I against LR3IGF-I in the same experiment returned none.No source found
IGF-1 LR3 is approximately three times more potent than IGF-1No primary paper reporting a flat threefold potency figure was located across PubMed searches on 'Long R3 IGF-I', 'LR3IGF-I' and 'LR3-IGF-I'. The potency figures that exist are assay-specific and range from five- to tenfold in rat L6 myoblasts (Ballard 1993, PMID 7683526), roughly 2.5-fold in dexamethasone-treated rats (Tomas 1992, PMID 1371669), 1.5- to 2-fold in infused normal rats (Tomas 1996, PMID 8708565), sixfold on growth measures in the same 1993 series (Ballard 1993, PMID 7683526), down to less potent than IGF-I in chicken embryo fibroblasts (Francis 1992, PMID 1378742). The threefold figure that does appear in the primary literature runs the other way: Tomas 1992 records that LR3IGF-I binds the type 1 IGF receptor about three times less well than IGF-I.No source found
The CAS registry number for IGF-1 LR3 is 946870-92-4The FDA Global Substance Registration System record for this substance (UNII M9L22Y19H9, retrieved 18 August 2026) gives CAS 143045-27-6 as its primary registry code, as does the Wikipedia infobox. Querying PubChem by name for 946870-92-4 returns CID 168009904, which is 2-[4-[2-[3-[bis(2-hydroxyoctadeca-9,12-dienyl)amino]propyldisulfanyl]ethyl]piperazin-1-yl]ethyl 5-[bis(2-hydroxytetradecyl)amino]pentanoate, an ionisable lipid of formula C80H154N4O6S2 and molecular weight 1332.2. No registry source was located that assigns 946870-92-4 to a peptide. CAS Common Chemistry could not be queried directly; its API returned a request for an API key.No source found
The N-terminal extension sequence is MFPAMPLLSLFVNThe FDA registry subunit sequence reads MFPAMPLSSLFVN, with serine-serine at positions 8 and 9, and Zhao and colleagues spell the extension out in full in their 1993 abstract as Met-Phe-Pro-Ala-Met-Pro-Leu-Ser-Ser-Leu-Phe-Val-Asn (PMID 7508487). The double-leucine spelling appears in the body of the Wikipedia article itself, which states the analogue carries an additional 13 amino acids at its N-terminus written as MFPAMPLLSLFVN, and on several aggregator and vendor pages. The correct spelling appears elsewhere in that same Wikipedia article, sourced there to a 2010 Thevis book, so that source disagrees with itself on the sequence as well as on the half-life. The Wikipedia infobox contains no sequence field at all. No primary source for the double-leucine spelling was located; it appears to be a transcription error propagating between secondary pages.No source found
Molecular formula C400H625N111O115S9 and molecular weight 9117.60 g/molThe FDA registry gives C400H623N111O115S9 and an average mass of 9120 Da, both typed as ESTIMATED and CALCULATED rather than measured. The C625 formula and the 9117.60 figure appear on Wikipedia and across chemical aggregator listings, and they are not arbitrary: C400H625N111O115S9 is the empirical formula computed from the registry's own 83-residue sequence in its reduced form, and 9117.60 is that formula's calculated average mass. The folded protein carrying the three disulfide bonds the registry itself records (Cys19-Cys61, Cys31-Cys74, Cys60-Cys65) would be C400H619N111O115S9. The registry's C623 matches neither form, and the registry's stated 9120 Da is about 4.4 Da above the 9115.6 Da its own formula computes to, so the registry pair is internally inconsistent. No experimental mass determination for the untagged reference substance was located in PubMed; the only analytical characterisation found (Kohler 2010, PMID 20675162) mass-spectrometrically characterised a His-tagged variant recovered from an injection vial obtained as a black-market product, not the untagged reference substance.No source found
IGF-1 LR3 causes muscle hyperplasia, producing new muscle fibres rather than only enlarging existing onesPubMed searches combining the compound names with hyperplasia, fibre number, satellite cell and myonuclear terms returned no study reporting fibre counts after administration of this analogue in any species. The muscle-specific in vivo finding that does exist runs against the claim: Tomas 1996 (PMID 8708565) reports the analogue was barely equipotent with IGF-I for reversal of carcass muscle loss in dexamethasone-treated rats, and Dunaiski 1997 (PMID 9488001) reports decreased average daily gain in pigs.No source found
Injecting into a specific muscle produces localised growth at that siteNo primary study of site-directed administration of this analogue was located in PubMed. The nearest retrievable transport data are from Bastian 2000 (PMID 10607940), in which subcutaneous wound chambers in adult male rats received a single intravenous bolus of labelled peptide; more intact LR3IGF-I than IGF-I reached the chamber fluid, but only 0.08% of the administered dose was recovered per ml of wound fluid at 240 minutes. That study measured distribution to an implanted site after systemic delivery, and does not test localised administration.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What the substitution was designed to do

King and colleagues described the Escherichia coli expression system in February 1992 and Francis and colleagues characterised the resulting fusion analogues four months later, both in the Journal of Molecular Endocrinology. The engineering objective was narrow: reduce association with the IGF-binding proteins while leaving the type-1 receptor intact. It worked in that direction. Ballard and colleagues put the affinity difference towards IGFBP-3, IGFBP-4, total rat plasma binding proteins and L6 myoblast binding protein at roughly a thousandfold in 1993 (PMID 7683526). Receptor binding moved slightly the other way, and Tomas and colleagues recorded that the analogue binds the type 1 IGF receptor about three times less well than IGF-I.

Potency in culture varied with whether the line secreted binding proteins. In rat L6 myoblasts, which secrete them, Ballard's group measured a five- to tenfold advantage over IGF-I. In chicken embryo fibroblasts, a line that secretes no detectable IGFBPs into the medium, Francis and colleagues found the reverse: Long [Arg3]-IGF-I was less potent than IGF-I. Francis and colleagues reported the opposite potency orderings in those two culture systems and attributed the difference to whether the line secreted detectable IGF-binding proteins into the medium (PMID 1378742).

The variants bound plasma binding proteins to different extents by species. Lord and colleagues compared labelled IGF-I, des(1-3)IGF-I and LR3IGF-I against plasma binding proteins from rat, sheep, human, pig and chicken in 1994, and reported that the variants which bound extremely weakly in rat plasma bound significantly in plasma from every other species tested. By size-exclusion chromatography the extent of variant binding fell in the order sheep, human, pig, chicken, then rat. Nearly all of the in vivo potency data was generated in the rat, at the extreme end of that range.

Measured plasma clearance in rats

Bastian and colleagues attributed the difference to binding-protein association: peptides that do not enter the 150 kDa ternary complex were cleared and degraded faster in their rat measurements. They gave intravenous boluses of radiolabelled peptide to catheterised rats in 1993. Metabolic clearance rate for LR3IGF-I was 9.84 plus or minus 0.28 ml/min per kg in virgin animals. For IGF-I in the same animals it was 0.90 plus or minus 0.05. The analogue left the circulation roughly eleven times faster (PMID 7693845).

The pregnant animals in the same study provided a within-study comparison. On day 18 of gestation, when rat plasma IGFBP-3 is sharply reduced, IGF-I clearance rose to 2.88 plus or minus 0.12 ml/min per kg while LR3IGF-I clearance barely moved, at 9.19 plus or minus 0.15. Most labelled LR3IGF-I was recovered as free peptide; most labelled IGF-I sat in the 150 kDa complex. Ballard's group summarised the series plainly, writing that an IGF variant which associates poorly with IGFBPs is removed more rapidly from the blood. Shoubridge and Read reproduced the direction in 2003 with 2.6 microgram/kg boluses in preweaning and adult rats, five to six animals per group (PMID 12697696).

The half-life figures attached to the analogue in secondary sources come from a different experiment on a different molecule. Guler and colleagues injected radiolabelled IGF-I and IGF-II into two healthy adults in 1989 and reported three half-lives for the tracer depending on what it was bound to: 10 to 12 minutes free, 20 to 30 minutes in the 50 kDa complex, and 12 to 15 hours in the 200 kDa complex (PMID 2558477). Those three numbers, stripped of the qualifier that distinguishes them, correspond to the twelve-to-fifteen and twenty-to-thirty figures carried against LR3 by the Wikipedia article and by vendor and aggregator pages.

The rodent record, and the species that disagreed

Four rat studies reported growth and nitrogen-retention differences, summarised below. Tomas and colleagues infused LR3IGF-I into dexamethasone-treated 150 g male rats by subcutaneous osmotic pump for seven days in 1992 and found it about 2.5-fold more potent than IGF-I on body weight and nitrogen retention, noting that the result was striking because the peptide binds the type 1 receptor less well. In normal growing female rats over fourteen days the following year, 44 microgram/day of the analogue produced effects similar to 278 microgram/day of IGF-I (PMID 8371075). Gut was the tissue with the largest reported changes across the series: Read and colleagues recorded IGF-I at 695 microgram/day increasing total gut weight by up to 60% in the dexamethasone model, and described the analogues as severalfold more potent without attaching a percentage to them (PMID 1613443).

Gastrointestinal endpoints carry the most complete numbers in the retrieved reports. Steeb and colleagues treated female rats, six per group, for fourteen days and measured a 43% rise in total gut weight, a 47% rise in small intestinal weight and a 13% increase in small intestinal length at 278 microgram/day of LR3IGF-I. Carcass muscle was the endpoint where the difference did not hold. When the same laboratory compared once-daily injection with continuous infusion in 1996, the analogue held a 1.5- to 2-fold advantage on body weight, visceral organ weights and feed efficiency but was, in the authors' words, barely equipotent with IGF-I for reversal of carcass muscle loss.

The pig studies reported the opposite direction. Dunaiski and colleagues infused LR3IGF-I into finisher pigs at 180 microgram/kg per day for four days and recorded decreased average daily gain, decreased food intake, and suppression of plasma IGFBP-3, IGF-I and insulin, with the area under the growth hormone peaks down 60%. Plasma glucose was unaffected by any treatment in that study. Dunshea and colleagues found no overall effect on daily weight gain across 42 artificially reared neonatal pigs in the first of two experiments, and a 457 versus 386 g/day difference over the second nine days of the eighteen-pig second experiment (PMID 12067429).

What the acute glucose measurements recorded

Tomas and colleagues ran two arms in 1997. LR3IGF-I was given only to pigs, at bolus doses of 20 and 50 microgram/kg. The marmoset arm, dosed at 42 to 270 microgram/kg, compared IGF-I with des(1-3)IGF-I and did not include LR3IGF-I. Blood was sampled from 30 minutes before injection to four hours after. Maximum lowering of plasma glucose reached 4.8 mmol/l in the pig, and in the marmoset 3.7 mmol/l conscious and 2.5 anaesthetised, the latter two figures belonging to IGF-I and des(1-3)IGF-I rather than to this analogue. In the pig arm, the variants that bind IGFBPs poorly, LR3IGF-I among them, were two- to threefold more potent than IGF-I at the glucose nadir.

Cumulative glucose suppression over four hours was four- to eightfold greater for the variants than for IGF-I in the pig arm, and at doses equipotent at the nadir the cumulative effect was still about double. Hypoglycaemic potency ordered by binding-protein affinity: IGF-I, then long-IGF-I, then R3IGF-I and LR3IGF-I together, then des(1-3)IGF-I. Correlated changes in plasma insulin, IGF-I and IGF-binding proteins did not account for the differential in the marmoset.

Where that effect is transduced is partly visible in the 1992 culture panel. Francis and colleagues included H35 hepatoma cells specifically because the IGFs act through the insulin receptor in that line, and found the Long IGF-I analogues held a similar potency relative to IGF-I there as in L6 myoblasts. Nothing in the modification was aimed at receptor selectivity, and nothing in the retrieved data indicates it changed. No primate has received this analogue in any retrieved study.

No human record, and what has been found in circulation instead

ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches on Long R3 IGF-1, Long R3 IGF-I, LR3-IGF-I and IGF-1 LR3 each returned zero registered studies in August 2026. The PubMed query ("Long R3 IGF-1" OR "Long R3 IGF-I" OR "LR3IGF-I" OR "LR3-IGF-I" OR "long-R3-IGF-I" OR "IGF-1 LR3") AND humans[mh], run unfielded on 18 August 2026, returned 36 records. No record in that set reports administration of the peptide to a person. The set is not confined to human material: alongside human cell-line and human-plasma binding work it carries rat studies (PMIDs 12697696, 10607940, 8138750), turkey satellite cells (11469659), bovine preantral follicles (17636166) and an intranasal mouse Alzheimer's model (39610283). Dominikowski and colleagues reached the same position in a 2026 review in Frontiers in Endocrinology (PMID 42395176), placing IGF-1 LR3 in their lowest evidence tier and recording that no route of administration has been reported in a peer-reviewed human study and that its half-life is not documented.

Regulatory status separates this molecule from its parent. Mecasermin, recombinant human IGF-I with the native 70-residue sequence, holds United States biologics licence 021839 and carries current labelling on file with DailyMed. No marketing authorisation for the LR3 analogue was located in any jurisdiction. The 2026 World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List reaches it by class rather than by name, at S2.3, which lists insulin-like growth factor-1 and its analogues among growth factors prohibited at all times, in and out of competition.

One analytical paper describes what was actually inside a vial. Kohler and colleagues at the Cologne doping laboratory reported in 2010 on an injection vial obtained as a black-market product, isolating the contents by immunoaffinity purification and characterising them by nano-UPLC and high-resolution mass spectrometry of both the intact and trypsinated protein. The identification was Long-R3-IGF-I carrying a hexahistidine tag on the C-terminus through a Leu-Glu linker. The authors observed that such tags are added for purification convenience during biochemical synthesis, are normally removed enzymatically when placed at the N-terminus, and that the effects of the His-tagged form in humans have not been described.

Two published uses of the molecule do not depend on any physique claim at all. Falconer and colleagues used Long-R3-IGF-I as the model recombinant product in a 1999 Biotechnology and Bioengineering paper on selective extraction from Escherichia coli inclusion bodies, recovering 81% w/w at 46% purity (PMID 9921154), and Lu and colleagues expressed it as a xylanase fusion in Pichia pastoris in 2023, reaching about 1 g/l in a fifteen-litre bioreactor (PMID 37261455). Von der Thusen and colleagues used it as a stable IGF-1 surrogate in apolipoprotein E knockout mice (PMID 21281823). In each case it is a reagent chosen for handling properties.

What is not known

The published record contains no human administration data of any kind. ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches across four name variants returned zero registered studies in August 2026, and the PubMed query ("Long R3 IGF-1" OR "Long R3 IGF-I" OR "LR3IGF-I" OR "LR3-IGF-I" OR "long-R3-IGF-I" OR "IGF-1 LR3") AND humans[mh], run unfielded on 18 August 2026, returned 36 records, none of which reports administration of the peptide to a person. That set is not confined to human material: it carries rat, turkey, bovine and mouse studies indexed under the human heading alongside human cell-line and human-plasma binding work. There is consequently no human pharmacokinetic curve, no dose-ranging work, no safety database, and no measured half-life in a person; Dominikowski and colleagues state exactly this in their 2026 review. No primate has received this analogue in any retrieved study either: the marmoset arm of Tomas 1997 compared IGF-I with des(1-3)IGF-I only, and every LR3IGF-I dose in that paper went to pigs. Beyond that, the animal literature has its own gaps. Almost all of the potency data comes from the rat, and Lord and colleagues showed the rat is the species in which this analogue binds plasma binding proteins least, which is the mechanism the potency advantage depends on. Sample sizes are absent from most retrieved reports, and dosing routes are heavily weighted towards continuous subcutaneous infusion by osmotic pump rather than injection. Nothing was located on chronic administration beyond a few weeks, reproductive or developmental effects, immunogenicity against the non-native N-terminal extension, or carcinogenicity, despite the receptor being one whose signalling is implicated in tumour biology. Product identity in circulation is also unestablished: the single analytical characterisation of an injection vial obtained as a black-market product found a His-tagged research by-product whose behaviour in humans the authors described as unelucidated.

Questions

Has IGF-1 LR3 been given to people in a study?
No study was located. ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches on Long R3 IGF-1, Long R3 IGF-I, LR3-IGF-I and IGF-1 LR3 each returned zero registered studies in August 2026. The PubMed query ("Long R3 IGF-1" OR "Long R3 IGF-I" OR "LR3IGF-I" OR "LR3-IGF-I" OR "long-R3-IGF-I" OR "IGF-1 LR3") AND humans[mh], run unfielded on 18 August 2026, returned 36 records, none of which reports giving the peptide to a person; the set also contains rat, turkey, bovine and mouse work indexed under the human heading. A 2026 review in Frontiers in Endocrinology (PMID 42395176) places the compound in its lowest evidence tier and records that no route of administration has been reported in a peer-reviewed human study.
Where does the 20 to 30 hour half-life figure come from?
From a Methods parenthetical in von der Thusen 2011 (PMID 21281823), a mouse atherosclerosis paper that cites nothing for the figure and did not measure a half-life. Wikipedia attributes the claim to that paper, while the same article's infobox gives 56 to 72 hours. The primary rat data run the other way: Bastian 1993 measured metabolic clearance of 9.84 ml/min per kg for the analogue against 0.90 for IGF-I, about elevenfold faster.
Which CAS number is correct?
The FDA Global Substance Registration System record, UNII M9L22Y19H9, gives 143045-27-6. The number 946870-92-4 appears on many vendor and aggregator pages; querying PubChem for it returns CID 168009904, an unrelated ionisable lipid of molecular weight 1332. PubChem holds no standardised compound record for the protein itself, only substance deposits, so the identifier field on this page is left blank.
Is it more potent than IGF-1?
It depends on the assay, and one paper found it less potent. Ballard 1993 measured a five- to tenfold advantage in rat L6 myoblasts; Tomas 1992 about 2.5-fold in dexamethasone-treated rats; Tomas 1996 about 1.5- to 2-fold in infused rats. Francis 1992 found Long [Arg3]-IGF-I less potent than IGF-I in chicken embryo fibroblasts, which secrete no detectable binding proteins. In finisher pigs, Dunaiski 1997 recorded decreased growth rather than increased.
Is IGF-1 LR3 an approved medicine anywhere?
No marketing authorisation was located in any jurisdiction. Mecasermin, recombinant human IGF-I with the native 70-residue sequence, holds United States biologics licence 021839 with current labelling on DailyMed, but that is a different molecule. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List covers this compound by class at S2.3, which lists insulin-like growth factor-1 and its analogues among growth factors prohibited at all times.

References

  1. FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record UNII M9L22Y19H9, LONG-(ARG3)INSULIN-LIKE GROWTH FACTOR-I. CAS 143045-27-6; 83-residue subunit; disulfide bonds Cys19-Cys61, Cys31-Cys74, Cys60-Cys65; formula and mass typed as ESTIMATED and CALCULATED. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  2. PubChem Compound Summary CID 168009904. The record returned when PubChem is queried by name for CAS 946870-92-4; an ionisable lipid, C80H154N4O6S2, MW 1332.2, unrelated to any peptide. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Guler HP, Zapf J, Schmid C, Froesch ER. Insulin-like growth factors I and II in healthy man. Estimations of half-lives and production rates. Acta Endocrinol (Copenh). 1989;121(6):753-758. PMID 2558477 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. King R, Wells JR, Krieg P, et al. Production and characterization of recombinant insulin-like growth factor-I (IGF-I) and potent analogues of IGF-I, with Gly or Arg substituted for Glu3, following their expression in Escherichia coli as fusion proteins. J Mol Endocrinol. 1992;8(1):29-41. PMID 1311930 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Francis GL, Ross M, Ballard FJ, et al. Novel recombinant fusion protein analogues of insulin-like growth factor (IGF)-I indicate the relative importance of IGF-binding protein and receptor binding for enhanced biological potency. J Mol Endocrinol. 1992;8(3):213-223. PMID 1378742 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Zhao X, McBride BW, Politis I, et al. Effects of insulin-like growth factor-I and its analogues on bovine hydrogen peroxide release by neutrophils and blastogenesis by mononuclear cells. J Endocrinol. 1993;139(2):259-265. PMID 7508487. Spells the N-terminal extension out residue by residue. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Ballard FJ, Walton PE, Bastian S, et al. Effects of interactions between IGFBPs and IGFs on the plasma clearance and in vivo biological activities of IGFs and IGF analogs. Growth Regul. 1993;3(1):40-44. PMID 7683526 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Bastian SE, Walton PE, Wallace JC, et al. Plasma clearance and tissue distribution of labelled insulin-like growth factor-I (IGF-I) and an analogue LR3IGF-I in pregnant rats. J Endocrinol. 1993;138(2):327-336. PMID 7693845 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Tomas FM, Knowles SE, Chandler CS, et al. Anabolic effects of insulin-like growth factor-I (IGF-I) and an IGF-I variant in normal female rats. J Endocrinol. 1993;137(3):413-421. PMID 8371075 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Tomas FM, Walton PE, Dunshea FR, et al. IGF-I variants which bind poorly to IGF-binding proteins show more potent and prolonged hypoglycaemic action than native IGF-I in pigs and marmoset monkeys. J Endocrinol. 1997;155(2):377-386. PMID 9415072. LR3IGF-I was administered in the pig arm only. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Falconer RJ, O'Neill BK, Middelberg AP. Chemical treatment of Escherichia coli: 3. Selective extraction of a recombinant protein from cytoplasmic inclusion bodies in intact cells. Biotechnol Bioeng. 1999;62(4):455-460. PMID 9921154 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Bastian SE, Dunbar AJ, Priebe IK, et al. Transport of circulating IGF-I and LR3IGF-I from blood to extracellular wound fluid sites in rats. J Endocrinol. 2000;164(1):77-86. PMID 10607940 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Dunshea FR, Chung CS, Owens PC, et al. Insulin-like growth factor-I and analogues increase growth in artificially-reared neonatal pigs. Br J Nutr. 2002;87(6):587-593. PMID 12067429 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Shoubridge CA, Read LC. Preferential intestinal delivery of long[Arg3] insulin-like growth factor (LR3IGF-I) over IGF-I in preweaning and adult rats. Endocrinology. 2003;144(5):1887-1893. PMID 12697696 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Kohler M, Thomas A, Walpurgis K, et al. Detection of His-tagged Long-R3-IGF-I in a black market product. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2010;20(5):386-390. PMID 20675162 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. von der Thusen JH, Borensztajn KS, Moimas S, et al. IGF-1 has plaque-stabilizing effects in atherosclerosis by altering vascular smooth muscle cell phenotype. Am J Pathol. 2011;178(2):924-934. PMID 21281823. Full text PMC3069834; the 20-30 hour half-life appears here as an uncited Methods parenthetical. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Lu Z, Wang J, Zhang Y, et al. Recombinant expression of IGF-1 and LR3 IGF-1 fused with xylanase in Pichia pastoris. Appl Microbiol Biotechnol. 2023;107(14):4543-4551. PMID 37261455 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Dominikowski A, et al. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne). 2026;17:1822475. PMID 42395176 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.