Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Epitalon (Epithalon)

Epitalon is a four-residue peptide — alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid, glycine — assembled from the amino acid composition of a bovine pineal gland extract rather than isolated from tissue. Almost the entire literature comes from one institute in St Petersburg. ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registered study of it, and in a 2026 FDA evaluation the agency reported finding no pharmacokinetic data and no clinical study assessing its safety in humans.

Strongest evidence: Human dataA handful of unregistered human studies from a single institute; zero registered trials; FDA found no human safety or pharmacokinetic data 19 claims logged 12 with primary citations 7 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic linear tetrapeptide, constructed from the amino acid composition of a bovine pineal gland peptide extract
CAS number
307297-39-8 (free base, primary in FDA GSRS); 307297-40-1 (acetate salt)
PubChem CID
219042
Molecular formula
C14H22N4O9
Molecular weight
390.35 g/mol (GSRS calculates 390.3465)
Sequence
Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly (AEDG), a linear tetrapeptide with free N- and C-termini and no modification
Also indexed as
Epithalon, Epithalone, AEDG, Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly, AE-0 peptide; UNII O65P17785G; MeSH C421253; EPA DTXSID80952957. PubChem also lists Epithalamin and Epithalamine as synonyms of CID 219042; epithalamin is a bovine pineal extract and a different material, and that synonym mapping is a source of error in the secondary literature.

Identity, and the extract behind it

Epitalon is Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly: four residues, free amino and carboxyl termini, nothing appended. PubChem holds it as CID 219042 with the molecular formula C14H22N4O9 and a molecular weight of 390.35 g/mol. The FDA Global Substance Registration System lists UNII O65P17785G and gives 307297-39-8 as the primary CAS registry number; the acetate salt, which the agency treats as a separate substance, carries 307297-40-1. A second number, 64082-79-7, circulates on catalogue pages and resolves to the same PubChem record, but it is not the registry number the FDA record treats as primary.

The peptide was not isolated from anything. It was assembled. Epithalamin is a low-molecular-weight peptide extract prepared from cattle pineal glands, and epitalon was constructed from that extract's amino acid composition, as both the FDA evaluation and the 2025 review by Araj and colleagues describe. In 2017 Khavinson and colleagues reported detecting AEDG within the tetrapeptide fraction of a pineal polypeptide complex by selective reaction monitoring, with tetrapeptides making up 22.1% of the complex by their measurement. That single mass-spectrometry identification is the entire basis for calling epitalon a naturally occurring peptide.

Naming is where the record frays. The FDA review notes that epitalon is a common name rather than a USAN or INN, that multiple salts and derivatives are sold commercially under it, and that both nomination packages submitted to the agency contained certificates of analysis whose titles named one substance while the molecular weight and formula on the same document described another. The agency concluded that neither the free base nor the acetate is well characterised for injectable use, citing absent or inadequate data on peptide-related impurities, aggregates, bioburden and bacterial endotoxins.

Claim ledger

12 of 19 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Telomerase catalytic subunit expression, telomerase enzymatic activity and telomere elongation were induced in a telomerase-negative culture; no concentration, sample size or effect size is given in the abstractHuman fetal fibroblasts, telomerase-negativeAdded to culture mediumNot stated in abstractKhavinson 2003, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 12937682
Control cells lost proliferative potential at passage 34; treated cells made ten further divisions to passage 44 and continued dividing, with telomeres elongated to a length comparable with passage 10Primary pulmonary fibroblasts from a 24-week human fetusAdded to culture mediumNot stated in abstractKhavinson 2004, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 15455129
Relative telomere length changed significantly in 7 of 11 donors: increases of 18, 41, 55, 76 and 156% in five, decreases of 15 and 37% in two, no significant change in four; mitotic index fell in one middle-aged donor and was unchanged in the younger groupPHA-stimulated blood lymphocytes from men aged 18-22 (five) and 49-54 (six)Ex vivo incubation11 donorsKhavinson 2019, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 31761987
hTERT mRNA rose 12-fold in 21NT and 5-fold in BT474, but telomerase enzyme activity did not rise significantly in either cancer line; in the normal lines telomerase activity rose 4-fold (IBR.3) and 26-fold (HMEC) and remained below untreated cancer-cell levelsHuman breast cancer lines 21NT and BT474; normal fibroblast line IBR.3 and mammary epithelial cells HMECIn vitro, 0.5-1 ug/ml daily for 4 days (cancer lines) or 1 ug/ml daily for 3 weeks (normal lines)Four cell lines; replicate counts not stated in the textAl-Dulaimi 2025, Biogerontology, PMID 40908429; erratum PMID 41240216 replaced Figures 1-3
C-circle activity, a marker of alternative lengthening of telomeres, rose about tenfold in 21NT and threefold in BT474; IBR.3 showed no increase and HMEC a non-significant one, indicating ALT activation specific to the cancer linesHuman breast cancer lines 21NT and BT474; normal lines IBR.3 and HMECIn vitro, 1 ug/mlFour cell lines; replicate counts not stated in the textAl-Dulaimi 2025, Biogerontology, PMID 40908429; erratum PMID 41240216 replaced Figures 1-3
Mean life span unchanged; life span of the last 10% of survivors +13.3% and maximum life span +12.3%; bone-marrow chromosome aberrations -17.1%; total spontaneous tumour incidence unchanged, leukaemia incidence 6-fold lowerFemale outbred Swiss-derived SHR mice, from 3 months of age to natural deathSubcutaneous, five consecutive days each month54 per groupAnisimov 2003, Biogerontology, PMID 14501183
Average lifetime +13.5% and maximum +13.9%; average lifetime of animals without neoplasms +34.2%; lung metastases reduced 1.6-fold and multiple tumours 2-fold; HER-2/neu mRNA in mammary tumours 3.7-fold lowerFemale FVB/N HER-2/neu transgenic mice, from month 2 of life to deathSubcutaneous (stated as 1 mg five times weekly in this paper, 1 microgram on five consecutive days monthly in two companion papers)Not stated in abstractAnisimov 2002, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 12459848
No change in life span under a standard day-night regimen; maximum life span extended by 95 days under natural northern light and 24 days under constant light; spontaneous tumour development inhibited only in the natural-light groupFemale rats under standard, natural north-western Russian, and constant illumination, from 4 months of ageSubcutaneous, five times weeklyGroup sizes not stated in abstractVinogradova 2007, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 18856211
Imago life span increased 11-16%; the increase did not depend on concentration across a range spanning four orders of magnitude, and effective concentrations were 16,000 to 80,000,000 times lower than those of melatoninDrosophila melanogaster, wild strain Canton-SAdded to culture medium at the egg-to-larva stage onlyNot stated in abstractKhavinson 2000, Mech Ageing Dev, PMID 11087911
In old animals, evening serum melatonin rose more than four-fold and evening cortisol fell about 30%, with no significant change in morning values; in young animals melatonin was unaffected and cortisol fell at both time pointsFemale rhesus monkeys, young (6-8 years) and old (20-26 years)Intramuscular, 2 ug/kg daily for 10 daysNot stated in abstractGoncharova 2001, Bull Exp Biol Med, PMID 11550036, as quantified in FDA's 2026 PCAC evaluation
No significant effect on melatonin secretion at any concentration tested, at either age; isoproterenol-stimulated melatonin release was also unmodified. The authors concluded the tetrapeptide does not appear to control pineal melatonin secretion in vitroPineal glands from young (9 weeks) and old (27 months) male Wistar ratsPerifusion in vitro, 10^-4 to 10^-6 MNot stated in abstractDjeridane 2003, J Endocrinol Invest, PMID 12809170
Urinary 6-sulfatoxymelatonin excretion rose 1.7-fold against no change on placebo; Clock and Csnk1e overexpression normalised 1.9-2.1 fold and Cry2 underexpression doubled. Blinding was not specified and no sleep outcome was measuredHealthy women aged 40-50, mostly night-shift workers, stratified by baseline 6-SMT excretionSublingual spray, three sprays twice daily for 20 days (0.5 mg/day)75 enrolled; 40 with low 6-SMT randomised to peptide or placeboIvko 2020, Adv Gerontol, PMID 33280326 (English translation Adv Gerontol 2021;11(1):53-58)
Epitalon elongates telomeres in human somatic cells by an average of 33.3%The figure appears in the 2025 Int J Mol Sci review (PMID 40141333), attributed there to reference 25, which is Khavinson 2019 (PMID 31761987). That paper reports per-donor changes of +18, +41, +55, +76 and +156% in five people, -15% and -37% in two, and no significant change in four; no mean of 33.3% appears in it, and no average of the reported values produces 33.3%. The review's own one-sentence summary of that study also misstates it, describing a single increase and a single decrease and crediting the paper with telomerase-activity and hTERT-expression measurements it did not make. The 2003 paper (PMID 12937682) is sometimes credited instead; it is subscription-only, has no PubMed Central record, and its abstract carries no percentage. Searched Europe PMC full text for 'epitalon' AND '33.3%', which returned the 2025 review and one unrelated conference poster abstract.No source found
A Russian clinical trial showed epitalon cut mortality in elderly people by 1.6 to 4.1 fold over six to eight yearsThe numbers are real and the compound is wrong. They come from Khavinson and Morozov 2003 (PMID 14523363), a study of 266 elderly people that administered Thymalin, a thymic peptide preparation, and Epithalamin, the bovine pineal gland extract. The synthetic tetrapeptide was not given. The same substitution runs through the twelve-year randomised study by Korkushko and colleagues (PMID 17426848), the source of the 28% mortality difference, which used epithalamine. PubMed was searched for any study reporting a mortality, survival or all-cause endpoint for Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly in humans; none exists.No source found
Epitalon has a half-life of a few minutes, and figures for its oral or intranasal bioavailabilityPubMed searches for 'epitalon AND pharmacokinetics', 'epitalon AND half-life', 'epitalon AND bioavailability' and 'AEDG AND pharmacokinetics' returned zero relevant records; the three hits under the first query concern unrelated peptides. FDA reached the same result independently: its 2026 evaluation, which searched PubMed, Embase, Cochrane, FAERS, ClinicalTrials.gov and Pharmapendium, states 'No pharmacokinetic data were found for epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate.' The only distribution data of any kind is a 2005 fluorescence-labelling study in pregnant rabbits that FDA noted lacks evidence the signal was specific to the labelled peptide.No source found
Rodent studies show lifespan increases of 25 to 33 percentNo published epitalon lifespan figure reaches that range. The values in the primary literature are: mean life span unchanged in SHR mice with the last decile +13.3% and maximum +12.3% (PMID 14501183); mean survival +5.3% in CBA mice (PMID 11163623); mean +13.5% and maximum +13.9% in HER-2/neu mice (PMID 12459848); no effect in rats under a standard light regimen (PMID 18856211); and +11-16% in Drosophila (PMID 11087911). Searched PubMed across all epitalon and Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly lifespan reports for any figure of 25% or greater; the only value in that neighbourhood is the 34.2% extension of tumour-free survival in HER-2/neu mice, which is not a lifespan figure.No source found
Lyophilised powder is stable at -20 C for 12 to 24 months and reconstituted solution at 4 C for about 30 daysThese figures appear only in supplier catalogue copy and aggregator pages. No stability study, primary publication or regulatory document reporting them was located in PubMed or general web search. The strongest statement in the regulatory record is FDA's, which says only that both forms are 'expected to be stable under storage conditions below -20 C' as reported in the literature, and which lists stability among the attributes for which submitted data were 'lacking or deemed to be inadequate'.No source found
Epitalon improves sleep quality or treats insomniaFDA evaluated the substance for exactly this use and reported the negative result. Its 2026 review states that no study evaluating epitalon in patients with insomnia was identified, that no nonclinical study assessing behavioural or electroencephalographic endpoints of sleep was identified, and that epitalon is not mentioned in the American Academy of Sleep Medicine's 2017 guideline on chronic insomnia. A PubMed search for 'epitalon AND sleep' returns two records, neither of which measures a sleep outcome. The human study that comes closest (PMID 33280326) measured a urinary melatonin metabolite and clock-gene expression and no sleep variable at all.No source found
The FDA advisory committee voted 7 to 4 with one abstention to recommend epitalon for the 503A compounding listThe direction is right, the tally is not verifiable. Trade and industry accounts of the 23-24 July 2026 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting give different numbers; one policy analysis reports epitalon receiving 6 of 12 votes cast, the narrowest margin of the seven peptides considered. FDA had not posted minutes for that meeting on its 2026 meeting-materials page when this record was compiled, so no primary tally could be retrieved. What is documented in a primary source is the agency's own written position: its briefing memorandum of 12 May 2026 proposes adding neither epitalon (free base) nor epitalon acetate to the list.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The telomerase result, and what it reported

Two short papers carry the claim that made this compound. In 2003, in Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine, Khavinson, Bondarev and Butyugov reported that adding the peptide to telomerase-negative human fetal fibroblast culture induced expression of the telomerase catalytic subunit, enzymatic activity of the enzyme, and telomere elongation. The abstract gives no concentration, no sample size and no effect size. A year later the same group reported that primary pulmonary fibroblasts from a 24-week fetus, which stopped dividing at passage 34 in control, reached passage 44 under treatment and were still dividing.

A later study from the same laboratory measured telomeres in cells taken from named people rather than one fetal line. Khavinson and colleagues incubated phytohaemagglutinin-stimulated blood lymphocytes from five men aged 18 to 22 and six aged 49 to 54, and measured relative telomere length by fluorescence in situ hybridisation. Length changed significantly in seven of eleven donors. It rose in five, by 18, 41, 55, 76 and 156 percent, and fell in two, by 15 and 37 percent. The authors described the pattern as a tendency toward the group mean rather than a uniform increase.

Independent replication arrived in 2025, from a group at Brunel University London who quantified each step of the pathway separately. Messenger RNA for hTERT rose in every line tested, twelvefold in one breast cancer line. Telomerase enzyme activity did not rise significantly in either cancer line. Telomeres lengthened there anyway, by alternative lengthening of telomeres: C-circle activity rose roughly tenfold in one line and threefold in the other, corroborated by promyelocytic leukaemia body counts. In the two normal human lines the pattern inverted, with telomerase activity up four-fold and 26-fold and almost no ALT signal.

Two things belong with that paper. Biogerontology published a correction in November 2025 stating that the wrong figures had appeared as Figures 1, 2 and 3, and supplying replacements. Those are every data figure in the article. PubMed types the notice as a published erratum; there is no retraction and no expression of concern on it, and a check of publication types across the papers cited on this page returned no integrity flags anywhere else. The peptide itself was bought from a commercial research-peptide supplier rather than synthesised and characterised in house.

Rodent and insect lifespan, as published

Anisimov's group ran the survival experiments, and the shape of the result matters more than its direction. In female Swiss-derived SHR mice, 54 per group, injected subcutaneously on five consecutive days each month from three months of age until natural death, mean life span did not change. The tail did: the last decile of survivors lived 13.3% longer, and maximum life span rose 12.3%. Chromosome aberrations in bone marrow fell 17.1%. Total spontaneous tumour incidence was unchanged, though leukaemia was recorded six-fold less often than in control.

Other strains produced smaller or differently shaped effects. In FVB/N HER-2/neu transgenic mice the reported figures were 13.5% for mean and 13.9% for maximum lifetime, with survival of tumour-free animals up 34.2% and lung metastases reduced by a factor of 1.6. Fifty female CBA mice per group, on the same monthly schedule, showed a 5.3% rise in mean survival. In Drosophila melanogaster, exposure confined to the egg-to-larva stage raised imago life span 11 to 16 percent, and the increase did not scale with concentration across four orders of magnitude, a dose-independence the authors recorded and did not account for.

Light regime changed the answer entirely. Vinogradova and colleagues found no life-span effect in female rats kept under a standard day-night cycle; under the natural light of north-western Russia and under constant light, maximum life span rose by 95 and 24 days respectively. Tumour development was inhibited only in the natural-light group. One discrepancy sits inside this literature and is not resolved anywhere in it: the 2002 report on HER-2/neu mice states a subcutaneous dose of 1 mg five times weekly, while two other papers on the same strain from the same programme state 1 microgram on five consecutive days each month.

Melatonin: the finding, and the experiment that went the other way

The melatonin work is the most coherent part of the file, and the part where a direct test disagreed. Goncharova and colleagues gave old and young female rhesus monkeys a daily intramuscular injection for ten days. In the old animals evening serum melatonin rose more than four-fold and evening cortisol fell about 30%, with no significant change in morning values; in young animals melatonin did not move. The FDA summary of that study notes the investigators tested no dose-response relationship and recorded neither sleep behaviour nor electroencephalographic activity.

Djeridane, Khavinson, Anisimov and Touitou then perifused pineal glands taken from young and old male Wistar rats and applied the tetrapeptide directly across three concentrations spanning two orders of magnitude. Melatonin secretion did not change at either age. Isoproterenol-stimulated melatonin release was likewise unmodified. Their conclusion, published with Khavinson as co-author, was that the tetrapeptide does not appear to participate in the control of melatonin secretion by the rat pineal gland in vitro. Whatever produces the monkey result, this experiment argues it is not direct action on the gland.

One human study bears on the same question. Ivko and colleagues enrolled 75 healthy women aged 40 to 50, most of them night-shift workers, stratified them by urinary 6-sulfatoxymelatonin, and randomised the 40 with low excretion to a sublingual spray or a saline placebo for 20 days. Excretion rose 1.7-fold in the treated group and did not move on placebo; expression of Clock, Csnk1e and Cry2 shifted. A 2025 review reports the same result as 1.6-fold. The publication did not specify blinding, measured no sleep outcome, and reported a psycho-emotional improvement without describing how it was assessed.

What the regulatory record contains

The one regulatory footprint predates the current interest. On 2 September 2010 the FDA granted epitalon an orphan drug designation for the treatment of retinitis pigmentosa, sponsored by an Australian biotechnology company. The Office of Orphan Products Development record lists the status as designated, then withdrawn or revoked, and records no approval for the orphan indication. Designation is a rare-disease development incentive granted on a scientific rationale and a population estimate. It is not a finding of efficacy, and this one no longer stands.

A 64-page FDA evaluation of epitalon was published in 2026, prompted by two nominations to add the substance to the section 503A list that compounding pharmacies may draw on. Both nominations were withdrawn; the agency continued on its own initiative and assessed the substance for insomnia. Its findings, in its own terms: no pharmacokinetic data were found for either form; a FAERS search through 8 December 2025 retrieved no adverse event reports; the food and supplement complaint system through 5 December 2025 retrieved no cases; and no clinical study assessing safety in humans was identified.

One line in that conclusion runs against the direction of the rodent tumour literature. The agency wrote that epitalon has the potential to be carcinogenic from a mechanistic standpoint, because it has been shown to activate telomerase and lengthen telomeres, and longer telomeres are generally associated with increased cancer risk. It judged the existing mouse studies too limited in dose range, sex and duration to inform genotoxic or carcinogenic potential. The 2025 finding that the peptide switched on alternative lengthening of telomeres specifically in cancer lines sits on the same side of that argument.

Agency reviewers proposed adding neither form to the list. The advisory committee that met on 23 and 24 July 2026 voted the other way on six of the seven peptides before it, epitalon among them by the narrowest margin of the seven. A committee vote is advice rather than a decision, and the FDA had not posted minutes for that meeting when this page was compiled. Elsewhere the position is plain: epitalon appears in neither the European nor the Japanese pharmacopoeia, and the FDA review identified no approved epitalon product in the European Union, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia or seven named European states.

Registered trials, and what circulates instead

ClinicalTrials.gov returns nothing. Searches on 17 August 2026 for epitalon, epithalon, AEDG and epithalamin, run as general terms and again against the intervention field, each returned zero registered studies. PubMed indexes exactly one publication under the Clinical Trial type: a 2002 report in Neuroendocrinology Letters on retinitis pigmentosa, whose abstract states a positive clinical effect in 90% of cases and gives no sample size, no randomisation and no description of the control. Secondary accounts put that trial at 162 patients; the figure appears nowhere in the abstract.

Most of the human longevity material attributed to epitalon was generated with a different material. Khavinson and Morozov's 2003 report of reduced mortality across 266 elderly people administered Thymalin and Epithalamin, a thymic preparation and the bovine pineal extract, not the synthetic tetrapeptide. Korkushko's twelve-year randomised study in elderly patients with coronary disease, the origin of the 28% mortality difference in circulation, likewise used epithalamine. The extract and the tetrapeptide are different substances, and no mortality or survival endpoint has been published for the tetrapeptide in humans.

Material reaches people regardless. In 2015 Vanhee and colleagues at the Belgian public-health institute reported identifying epitalon by liquid chromatography with tandem mass spectrometry in two illegal pharmaceutical preparations, lyophilised and intended for reconstitution and injection. They noted that the isomeric tetrapeptide Glu-Ala-Asp-Gly presents a counterfeiting risk that ordinary mass measurement cannot resolve, and separated the two by heat treatment. The FDA review recorded finding websites that sell epitalon products while identifying no pharmacy that compounds them.

What is not known

There is no registered human trial of this compound anywhere. ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero studies for epitalon, epithalon, AEDG and epithalamin, searched both as general terms and against the intervention field, so no dose-ranging, pharmacokinetic, safety or efficacy work in people has been registered, let alone reported. Nothing is known about absorption, distribution, metabolism or clearance in any species: FDA's 2026 review searched the standard databases and found no pharmacokinetic data at all, which means the relationship between an administered amount and any tissue concentration is unestablished. Immunogenicity has not been assessed; the agency flagged aggregation and peptide-related impurities as unquantified risks specific to the injectable route that the nominations proposed. The rodent record cannot answer the carcinogenicity question it raises, because the available studies used a single fixed dose, female animals only, and intermittent short exposure. No study has characterised reproductive or developmental effects, chronic administration, or behaviour in non-rodent species beyond two short monkey experiments. Group sizes are missing from a large share of the primary abstracts, and the great majority of the literature originates with one laboratory in St Petersburg, so most findings have never been produced by an unrelated group. Epitalon is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, appears in no major pharmacopoeia, and material sold outside a registered trial has not been subject to identity, purity or sterility controls.

Questions

Is epitalon the same thing as epithalamin?
No. Epithalamin is a low-molecular-weight peptide extract prepared from cattle pineal glands. Epitalon is a single synthetic tetrapeptide, Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly, constructed from that extract's amino acid composition. The distinction matters because most of the human data in circulation was generated with the extract: the 266-person study reporting a 1.6 to 2.1 fold mortality reduction (PMID 14523363) used Epithalamin and Thymalin, and the twelve-year randomised study reporting a 28% mortality difference (PMID 17426848) used epithalamine. PubChem lists Epithalamin as a synonym of CID 219042, which is one route by which the two get merged.
Has epitalon ever been in a registered clinical trial?
No. Searches of ClinicalTrials.gov on 17 August 2026 for epitalon, epithalon, AEDG and epithalamin, run as general terms and again against the intervention field, each returned zero studies. PubMed indexes one publication under the Clinical Trial type, a 2002 report on retinitis pigmentosa in Neuroendocrinology Letters (PMID 12195242) whose abstract gives no sample size and no description of the control group. FDA reached the same conclusion in 2026, stating that it identified no clinical study assessing the safety of epitalon in humans.
Does epitalon lengthen telomeres?
Published experiments report telomere lengthening in cell culture, and the picture is not uniform. In eleven donors whose stimulated lymphocytes were treated ex vivo, telomere length rose significantly in five people, fell significantly in two, and did not change in four (PMID 31761987). A 2025 replication in four human cell lines found lengthening in all of them, but by two different mechanisms: telomerase in normal cells, and alternative lengthening of telomeres in the two breast cancer lines, where telomerase activity did not rise at all (PMID 40908429). No study has measured telomere length in a person given the compound.
What is epitalon's regulatory status?
It is not an approved medicine anywhere. FDA granted an orphan drug designation on 2 September 2010 for retinitis pigmentosa; that designation was subsequently withdrawn or revoked and never led to approval. The substance appears in neither the European nor the Japanese pharmacopoeia, and FDA's 2026 review identified no approved epitalon product in the European Union, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, or seven named European countries. In July 2026 an FDA advisory committee recommended adding it to the section 503A compounding list, against the recommendation of the agency's own reviewers; a committee vote is advice, not a decision.
Why does the FDA describe a telomerase activator as potentially carcinogenic?
Because the same mechanism cuts both ways. The agency's 2026 evaluation states that epitalon has the potential to be carcinogenic from a mechanistic standpoint, since it has been shown to activate telomerase and lengthen telomeres, and longer telomeres are generally associated with increased cancer risk. It judged the mouse studies reporting reduced tumour incidence too limited in dose range, sex and duration to settle the question. The 2025 finding that the peptide activated alternative lengthening of telomeres specifically in cancer cell lines and not in normal cells runs in the same direction.

References

  1. FDA Global Substance Registration System. EPITALON, UNII O65P17785G. Substance record giving CAS 307297-39-8 as primary, MeSH C421253, PubChem CID 219042 and EPA DTXSID80952957. Formula C14H22N4O9, MW 390.3465. PubChem Compound Summary CID 219042 independently returns C14H22N4O9 and 390.35 g/mol. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  2. US Food and Drug Administration. Evaluation of Epitalon-related Bulk Drug Substances (Epitalon (Free Base) and Epitalon Acetate) for Inclusion on the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List. FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23-24 July 2026; memorandum dated 12 May 2026, 64 pages. View on www.fda.gov
  3. FDA Office of Orphan Products Development. Epitalon, orphan designation for the treatment of retinitis pigmentosa, designated 2 September 2010, sponsor BioDiem Ltd. Status: designated, designation withdrawn or revoked. Not FDA approved for the orphan indication. View on www.accessdata.fda.gov
  4. Khavinson VKh, Bondarev IE, Butyugov AA. Epithalon peptide induces telomerase activity and telomere elongation in human somatic cells. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2003;135(6):590-592. PMID 12937682. Companion paper: Khavinson VKh, Bondarev IE, Butyugov AA, Smirnova TD. Peptide promotes overcoming of the division limit in human somatic cell. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2004;137(5):503-506. PMID 15455129. View on doi.org
  5. Khavinson VK, Pendina AA, Efimova OA, Tikhonov AV, Koltsova AS, Krapivin MI, Petrovskaia-Kaminskaia AV, Petrova LI, Lin'kova NS, Baranov VS. Effect of Peptide AEDG on Telomere Length and Mitotic Index of PHA-Stimulated Human Blood Lymphocytes. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2019;168(1):141-144. PMID 31761987. View on doi.org
  6. Al-Dulaimi S, Thomas R, Matta S, Roberts T. Epitalon increases telomere length in human cell lines through telomerase upregulation or ALT activity. Biogerontology. 2025;26(5):178. PMID 40908429. Carries a published erratum, Biogerontology 2025;27(1):1, PMID 41240216, which states that the wrong figures appeared as Figures 1, 2 and 3 and supplies replacements; those are all three data figures in the paper. No retraction or expression of concern. View on doi.org
  7. Anisimov VN, Khavinson VKh, Popovich IG, Zabezhinski MA, Alimova IN, Rosenfeld SV, et al. Effect of Epitalon on biomarkers of aging, life span and spontaneous tumor incidence in female Swiss-derived SHR mice. Biogerontology. 2003;4(4):193-202. PMID 14501183. View on doi.org
  8. Anisimov VN, Khavinson VK, Mikhalski AI, Yashin AI. Effect of synthetic thymic and pineal peptides on biomarkers of ageing, survival and spontaneous tumour incidence in female CBA mice. Mech Ageing Dev. 2001;122(1):41-68. PMID 11163623. View on doi.org
  9. Anisimov VN, Khavinson VKh, Alimova IN, Semchenko AV, Yashin AI. Epithalon decelerates aging and suppresses development of breast adenocarcinomas in transgenic her-2/neu mice. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2002;134(2):187-190. PMID 12459848. States a subcutaneous dose of 1 mg five times weekly; two companion papers on the same strain (PMID 12209581, PMID 12428286) state 1 microgram on five consecutive days each month. View on doi.org
  10. Vinogradova IA, Bukalev AV, Zabezhinski MA, Semenchenko AV, Khavinson VKh, Anisimov VN. Effect of Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly peptide on life span and development of spontaneous tumors in female rats exposed to different illumination regimes. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2007;144(6):825-830. PMID 18856211. View on doi.org
  11. Khavinson VK, Izmaylov DM, Obukhova LK, Malinin VV. Effect of epitalon on the lifespan increase in Drosophila melanogaster. Mech Ageing Dev. 2000;120(1-3):141-149. PMID 11087911. View on doi.org
  12. Goncharova ND, Khavinson BK, Lapin BA. Regulatory effect of Epithalon on production of melatonin and cortisol in old monkeys. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2001;131(4):394-396. PMID 11550036. The quantified values used here (four-fold evening melatonin increase, 30% evening cortisol reduction, dose 2 ug/kg intramuscularly for 10 days) are taken from FDA's 2026 summary of the full paper, not from the abstract. View on doi.org
  13. Djeridane Y, Khavinson VKh, Anisimov VN, Touitou Y. Effect of a synthetic pineal tetrapeptide (Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly) on melatonin secretion by the pineal gland of young and old rats. J Endocrinol Invest. 2003;26(3):211-215. PMID 12809170. View on doi.org
  14. Ivko OM, Linkova NS, Ilina AR, Sharova AA, Ryzhak GA. [AEDG peptide regulates human circadian rhythms genes expression during pineal gland accelerated aging]. Adv Gerontol. 2020;33(3):429-435. Russian. PMID 33280326. English translation: Adv Gerontol. 2021;11(1):53-58, doi 10.1134/S2079057021010380, which is the version FDA reviewed and from which the n = 75 and randomisation details are taken. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Khavinson VKh, Morozov VG. Peptides of pineal gland and thymus prolong human life. Neuro Endocrinol Lett. 2003;24(3-4):233-240. PMID 14523363. The interventions were Thymalin and Epithalamin, not the AEDG tetrapeptide. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Korkushko OV, Khavinson VKh, Shatilo VB, Antonyuk-Shcheglova IA. Geroprotective effect of epithalamine (pineal gland peptide preparation) in elderly subjects with accelerated aging. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2006;142(3):356-359. PMID 17426848. Typed by PubMed as a randomised controlled trial; the abstract states no sample size. The intervention was epithalamine, not the tetrapeptide. View on doi.org
  17. Khavinson V, Razumovsky M, Trofimova S, Grigorian R, Razumovskaya A. Pineal-regulating tetrapeptide epitalon improves eye retina condition in retinitis pigmentosa. Neuro Endocrinol Lett. 2002;23(4):365-368. PMID 12195242. The only PubMed record for this compound typed as a clinical trial. No DOI, no PubMed Central deposit; full text could not be retrieved. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Araj SK, Brzezik J, Madra-Gackowska K, Szeleszczuk L. Overview of Epitalon: Highly Bioactive Pineal Tetrapeptide with Promising Properties. Int J Mol Sci. 2025;26(6):2691. PMID 40141333. Source of the 33.3% telomere-elongation figure and of the 162-patient count for the 2002 retinitis pigmentosa study; neither figure appears in the primary papers it cites for them. Also, on identification of AEDG in pineal tissue: Khavinson VK, Kopylov AT, Vaskovsky BV, Ryzhak GA, Lin'kova NS. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;164(1):41-43, PMID 29124531. On grey-market material: Vanhee C, Moens G, Van Hoeck E, Deconinck E, De Beer JO. Drug Test Anal. 2015;7(3):259-264, PMID 25535022. View on doi.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.