Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Cardiogen (AEDR)
Cardiogen is a four-residue peptide, Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg, from the Khavinson short-peptide series. Its cardiac evidence base is not a paper. The myocardial infarction result that every secondary account repeats comes from worked examples inside an expired patent, and no peer-reviewed publication reproduces it. PubMed indexes four articles that name the peptide, all from the originating programme. ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registered study, and the FDA substance registry has no record of the molecule at all.
- Class
- Synthetic linear tetrapeptide of the Khavinson short-peptide bioregulator series
- CAS number
- Not verified
- PubChem CID
- 11583989
- Molecular formula
- C18H31N7O9
- Molecular weight
- 489.5 g/mol (PubChem); 489.48 stated in the patent
- Sequence
- Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg (AEDR); written H-Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg-OH, a linear tetrapeptide with free N- and C-termini and no modification
- Also indexed as
- AEDR; H-Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg-OH; alanyl-glutamyl-aspartyl-arginine; SCHEMBL3194515. InChIKey QXQARLZWUIQZPX-NAKRPEOUSA-N. No UNII, no ChEMBL entry and no registry-linked CAS were found. The string Cardiogen collides with two unrelated substances: PubChem lists it as a synonym of L-carnitine (CID 10917), and the FDA Global Substance Registration System returns only rubidium chloride Rb-82 (UNII F0Z746KRKQ), the radiopharmaceutical eluted from the CardioGen-82 generator.
Three different substances answer to the name
The string Cardiogen resolves to three unrelated things across the primary databases, and only one of them is a peptide. A search of the FDA Global Substance Registration System returns exactly one record: rubidium chloride Rb-82, UNII F0Z746KRKQ, classified under diagnostic radiopharmaceuticals. That is the isotope eluted from the CardioGen-82 generator used for myocardial perfusion imaging, a device with its own recall history and its own literature. A fourth database lands in the same place: the NCI chemical structure resolver, queried on the bare string cardiogen, returns a structure, and the structure it returns is rubidium chloride Rb-82, CAS 132486-03-4.
PubChem returns something else again. A name query there returns CID 10917, L-carnitine, which carries Cardiogen among its several dozen trade synonyms. The tetrapeptide is in PubChem, but under no name. It sits at CID 11583989 with a single synonym attached: SCHEMBL3194515, an identifier generated automatically by SureChEMBL when a structure is extracted from patent text. UniChem returns two sources for its InChIKey, SureChEMBL and PubChem, and nothing else. ChEMBL has no entry. The molecule reached the chemical databases as a drawing lifted out of a patent specification, and nothing has been added to that record since.
Collisions of this kind stop being trivia when material changes hands. CAS 406-76-8, which belongs to DL-carnitine (PubChem CID 288, C7H15NO3, molecular weight 161.20), is printed alongside the word Cardiogen on raw-material marketplace listings, so a 161 g/mol quaternary ammonium compound and a 489 g/mol tetrapeptide are offered under one heading, and the identifier printed there points to the former. Nothing in that arrangement distinguishes the two for anyone reading the listing, and the number is the only machine-checkable thing on it.
Claim ledger
10 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24-hour mortality after left coronary artery ligation was 45% in control and 15% in treated animals; necrosis zones reduced, blood glucose lowered about 1.5-fold, myocardial glycogen preserved where controls fell 3-fold, mitochondrial energy-efficiency coefficient 93.2 +/- 2.3 vs 41.5 +/- 2.4 (p<0.05) | White mongrel rats, 180-200 g, randomised into two groups | Intraperitoneal, 0.05 micrograms per animal at 1, 3 and 5 hours after occlusion | 40 total, 20 per group | Khavinson, Ryzhak, Grigoriev and Ryadnova, US Patent 7,662,789 B2, Example 2. Patent specification, not peer reviewed; no PMID |
| At 0.005 micrograms per millilitre in the perfusate, contraction amplitude recovered to 75 +/- 12% of baseline against 43 +/- 7% in control, and coronary flow rose to 10.8 +/- 1.6 ml/min against 8.5 +/- 0.4 ml/min (p<0.05); the specification states the peptide did not alter the normal, non-ischaemic heart | Isolated male guinea pig hearts, Langendorff perfusion, 30 minutes total ischaemia | Added to perfusate, 0.002-0.05 micrograms per millilitre | 60 animals, groups of 6 | Khavinson et al., US Patent 7,662,789 B2, Example 3. Patent specification, not peer reviewed; no PMID |
| 0.2 micrograms per kilogram was reported the most effective dose; death rate and frequency of ventricular fibrillation fell, sinus rhythm restoration and tolerated arrhythmogen dose rose, and heart rate rose 12.3-48.6% in bradycardic animals | White mongrel rats, 180-200 g, urethane anaesthesia, calcium chloride arrhythmia | Intraperitoneal, single administration, 0.05-1.0 micrograms per kilogram | 60 total, 6 groups of 10 | Khavinson et al., US Patent 7,662,789 B2, Example 6. Patent specification, not peer reviewed; no PMID |
| The specification states that a single intramuscular dose of up to 5 mg/kg, which it describes as 5000 times the amount it recommends for clinical use, produced no toxic reaction, and that 90-day and 6-month dosing produced no side effects it reports. The work was conducted by the applicant and has not been peer reviewed. Guinea pig leukocyte counts rose at 3 and 6 months, which the specification does not account for | White mongrel male mice 20-23 g (acute); male rats 160-240 g (90-day); male guinea pigs 300-340 g (6-month) | Intramuscular | 66 mice in 6 groups; 60 rats; 96 guinea pigs | Khavinson et al., US Patent 7,662,789 B2, Example 9. Patent specification, not peer reviewed; no PMID |
| Expression of actin, tubulin and vimentin rose 2- to 5-fold and of lamins A and C 2- to 3-fold; the authors state this explains the previously reported cardioprotective activity of the tetrapeptide | Cultured mouse embryonic fibroblasts | Added to culture medium | Not stated in the retrieved report | Khavinson 2012, Bull Exp Biol Med 153(4):559-62, PMID 22977870 |
| At 10 to the minus 12 molar the tetrapeptide stimulated proliferation in explants from both age groups and reduced p53 expression on immunohistochemistry; of the 20 individual amino acids tested at the same concentration, 7 were active in young tissue and 2 in aged tissue | Organotypic myocardial explants from 3-month and 24-month rats | Added to culture medium | Not stated in the retrieved report | Chalisova 2009, Adv Gerontol 22(3):409-13, PMID 20210190 |
| Dose-dependent inhibition of transplanted M-1 sarcoma growth with raised tumour-cell apoptosis and haemorrhagic necrosis; proliferative indices indicated the effect was not direct cytostatic action but ran through the tumour vasculature | Senescent rats with transplanted M-1 sarcoma | Injection; route not specified in the retrieved report | Not stated in the retrieved report | Levdik and Knyazkin 2009, Bull Exp Biol Med 148(3):433-6, PMID 20396706 |
| Cardiogen, applied alongside peptides T-32 and T-38, increased expression of CXCL12, WEDC1 and ghrelin in senescent cultures, with T-38 reported the most active of the three; a result in a tissue the peptide is not described as specific for | Human prostate fibroblast cultures, passage 1 versus passage 7 | Added to culture medium | Not stated in the retrieved report | Kheifets 2010, Adv Gerontol 23(1):68-70, PMID 20586252 |
| Fluorescence quenching indicated site-specific binding of Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg, with five sibling peptides, to histones H1, H2B, H3 and H4 and to histone-oligonucleotide complexes; the histones were from wheat, and no mammalian histone was tested | FITC-labelled wheat histones, in vitro | In vitro | Not applicable | Fedoreyeva 2013, Biochemistry (Mosc) 78(2):166-75, PMID 23581987 |
| Docking scores for AEDR were -35.35 at LAT1 (third of 26 ligands), -27.54 at LAT2, -27.50 at PEPT1 and +13.15 at PEPT2, the positive value indicating unfavourable binding; no transport was measured experimentally | Computational docking against published transporter structures | In silico | 26 peptides and peptoids screened | Khavinson 2023, Biomolecules 13(3):552, PMID 36979488 |
| Cardiogen has CAS registry number 857267-11-9 | The number appears on research-peptide vendor product pages and on aggregator listings that copy them. PubChem returns no CID for it. The NCI chemical structure resolver returns a server error for both 857267-11-9 and Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg, returning no structure for either; a resolver query on the string cardiogen itself succeeds but returns rubidium chloride Rb-82 (CAS 132486-03-4), not the peptide. The FDA GSRS API returns nothing for AEDR or alanylglutamylaspartylarginine, and for Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg returns 877 records - the query tokenises on the residue names and matches unrelated peptides, among them parstatin and porcine corticotropin - none of which is this tetrapeptide. UniChem returns exactly two sources for InChIKey QXQARLZWUIQZPX-NAKRPEOUSA-N, SureChEMBL and PubChem, neither of which carries a registry number. CAS Common Chemistry could not be queried without an API key. No registry-linked source for this number was located, and the identity block is therefore left null. | No source found | ||
| AEDR was detected in the polypeptide complex of the heart by highly sensitive chromato-mass spectrometry | The sentence appears in the 2022 Cells review (PMID 36611900) with a single citation covering it and the infarction result: reference 123, which is US Patent 7,662,789. The full text of that patent was retrieved and searched. It describes the tetrapeptide as obtained using the classical method of peptide synthesis in solution and reports no mass-spectrometric or chromatographic detection of the sequence in cardiac tissue. Europe PMC full-text searches for AEDR combined with peptide, and for Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg, returned no study reporting such a detection. The claim that this peptide occurs naturally in the heart traces to nothing retrievable. | No source found | ||
| Khavinson Institute studies showed improved ejection fraction and fractional shortening in elderly patients given Cardiogen over twelve months | Found on peptide aggregator pages with no citation attached. PubMed indexes four articles naming the peptide (PMIDs 17152728, 20210190, 20396706, 20586252) plus the 2012 fibroblast paper (PMID 22977870), which names it only by sequence; none involves human participants and none measures a cardiac imaging endpoint. ClinicalTrials.gov queries on cardiogen, AEDR and the intervention field returned no study of the peptide. Searches of PubMed for the peptide combined with echocardiography, ejection fraction and clinical trial returned nothing. No human study of this compound was located in any database. | No source found | ||
| Khavinson and colleagues investigated Cardiogen in cardiac tissue culture in 2003 | A 2003 date is given on at least one aggregator page. The earliest PubMed record naming the peptide is Zakutskii 2006 (PMID 17152728). The earliest documented appearance of the sequence anywhere is the Russian priority application RU2255756C1 of 22 June 2004. A PubMed search restricted to the peptide name across all years returns nothing before 2006, and a Europe PMC search for the sequence returns the patent family from 2005 onward. No 2003 publication exists. | No source found | ||
| Cardiogen was developed in the 1980s and 1990s at the Military Medical Academy | The Khavinson programme itself dates to that period and worked initially with tissue extracts, which is not disputed here. This specific tetrapeptide is a later object: its priority filing is dated 22 June 2004, its first literature mention is 2006, and the patent presents it as newly proposed. No document placing Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg in the 1980s or 1990s was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or the patent family record. The decades are borrowed from the programme and attached to the molecule. | No source found | ||
| Twenty individual amino acids produced no effect in the myocardial culture experiment, isolating the peptide as the active agent | The primary abstract says otherwise. Chalisova 2009 (PMID 20210190) reports that 7 of the 20 amino acids tested at the same concentration stimulated proliferation in explants from young rats, and 2 did so in explants from old rats. The comparison the aggregator describes as a clean negative control was in fact partially positive. The full text is a Russian-language article in Advances in Gerontology with no PubMed Central deposit and no retrievable full text; the abstract is the only accessible version and it is unambiguous on this point. | No source found | ||
| Storage and reconstitution figures for the lyophilised powder | Temperature and shelf-life figures for powder and for reconstituted solution appear across vendor catalogue copy in the usual ranges. No stability study, primary publication or regulatory document reporting them was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or general search. The only physical data traced to a primary source is in the patent's analytical section, which reports a moisture content of 8% and describes the finished tetrapeptide as a white amorphous powder, and says nothing about storage. The specification reports no melting temperature for the tetrapeptide; the 154 degrees Celsius figure that appears in the document belongs to a benzyl-protected tripeptide intermediate midway through the synthesis. | No source found | ||
| Cardiogen holds Russian state registration certificate number 77.99.23.3.U.9172.8.06 | The number appears in Russian-language distributor copy for a food-supplement product. The Rospotrebnadzor register entry could not be retrieved to confirm what substance, applicant or date it corresponds to, and a registration of that class certifies a food supplement, not a medicine, in any case. Recorded here because the number is presented downstream as though it were a marketing authorisation. It is not one, and the underlying entry could not be verified. | No source found | ||
What the chemical record supports, and what it does not
PubChem gives C18H31N7O9 and 489.5 g/mol for CID 11583989, with the IUPAC name describing an all-S chain: alanine, then glutamic acid linked through its alpha carboxyl, then aspartic acid, then arginine. The composition is not in dispute. The patent that first disclosed the sequence states 489.48 for the same formula. Its analytical section reports peptide content of 98.01% by reversed-phase HPLC, amino acid ratios of Glu 1.08, Asp 1.08, Ala 1.00 and Arg 1.07 after 24-hour hydrolysis, a TLC Rf of 0.59, moisture of 8%, a pH of 4.58 and a specific rotation of minus 24 degrees. It reports no melting temperature; the finished tetrapeptide is described twice as a white amorphous powder, and the single figure of 154 degrees Celsius in the specification belongs to a benzyl-protected tripeptide intermediate three steps earlier in the synthesis.
PubChem carries no CAS registry number on the entry, and neither does GSRS or UniChem. No UNII has been assigned. The compound is in neither the European nor the Japanese pharmacopoeia. A CAS number, 857267-11-9, circulates on vendor product pages and aggregator listings; it returns nothing in PubChem, produces no structure from the NCI chemical resolver, which answers both that number and the sequence Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg with a server error, and appears nowhere outside that commercial layer. The absences are the more useful part of this record. The figure is untraced, and it is recorded below in those terms and not repeated in the identity block.
The sequence itself places the molecule in a family. Several peptides from the same programme share an AED- opening: AEDG, also called epitalon, AEDL, AEDP and the tripeptide AED. Cardiogen differs from those by its C-terminal arginine, the residue that gives it a net positive charge at that end. That structural neighbourhood is the source of a good deal of borrowed evidence, since findings reported for one member of the series are routinely summarised as though they described the group.
The cardiac evidence base is a patent
Every cardiac number attached to this peptide originates in one document. Russian application RU2255756C1 carries a priority date of 22 June 2004. The PCT filing, WO2006001728A1, was lodged on 7 December 2004; the European grant is EP1758923 and the United States grant is US 7,662,789 B2, issued 16 February 2010 to Khavinson, Ryzhak, Grigoriev and Ryadnova, assigned first to Access Bioscience CJSC. Google Patents lists the legal status of the US grant as expired for non-payment of fees. Nine worked examples fill the specification, and they are the whole preclinical record.
Example 2 is the one the secondary literature repeats. Forty white mongrel rats weighing 180 to 200 grams were randomised into two groups of twenty. Infarction was induced by ligation of the left coronary artery, and the tetrapeptide was given intraperitoneally at 0.05 micrograms per animal at one, three and five hours after occlusion, with saline as control. Mortality in the first 24 hours was 45% in control and 15% in treated animals. The specification also reports blood glucose lowered by roughly 1.5-fold, glycogen preserved where controls fell threefold, and a mitochondrial energy-efficiency coefficient of 93.2 plus or minus 2.3 against 41.5 plus or minus 2.4.
Other examples run the same design across other injuries. Isolated hearts from 60 male guinea pigs were perfused by Langendorff in groups of six, with 30 minutes of total ischaemia; at 0.005 micrograms per millilitre the contraction amplitude recovered to 75 plus or minus 12 percent of baseline against 43 plus or minus 7 percent in control. Three groups of eight isolated rat hearts were used for the strained-contraction series. Adrenalin dystrophy was studied in 30 rats, calcium chloride arrhythmia in 60 rats across six groups, and thiuram-disulfide myocardiopathy in 40 rats across four.
Example 9 covers toxicity: 66 mice given a single intramuscular dose, 60 rats dosed daily for 90 days, and 96 male guinea pigs dosed daily for six months. The specification states that no toxic reaction followed a single dose 5000 times the amount it describes as therapeutic, and that long-term administration at 100 to 1000 times that amount produced no side effects it records. It also reports a rise in guinea pig leukocyte counts at three and six months, which it does not account for. A patent specification is written to support a claim of invention. It is not peer reviewed, its tables are not deposited, and no independent group has published any of this work.
What PubMed indexes
A title-and-abstract search for cardiogen returns 19 records. Fifteen are false matches: seven concern the CardioGen-82 rubidium generator or rubidium chloride Rb-82 itself, one is the Szeged CardioGen cardiomyopathy and ion-channel registry, one is a French paper on cardiogenetics, and the rest are Hungarian, Austrian and Polish papers in which the string is matched through cardiogenic. Four describe the peptide, and all four come from the originating programme in St Petersburg. None reports a sample size in its abstract.
Zakutskii and colleagues in 2006 applied cardiogen, bronchogen, prostamax and pancragen to organotypic explant cultures from the heart, lung, prostate and pancreas of three-week-old and 18-month-old rats, and reported a stimulating effect at 0.05 nanograms per millilitre in the matching tissue. Chalisova and colleagues in 2009 compared the tetrapeptide against all 20 individual amino acids at 10 to the minus 12 molar in myocardial explants from three-month and 24-month rats. Seven of the amino acids stimulated proliferation in young tissue and two in aged tissue; the peptide was reported active in both, with reduced p53 expression on immunohistochemistry.
Two results sit awkwardly with the tissue-specificity framing. Levdik and Knyazkin in 2009 transplanted M-1 sarcoma into senescent rats and reported dose-dependent inhibition of tumour growth, with raised apoptosis and haemorrhagic necrosis, and specifically noted that the effect was not a direct cytostatic action on the tumour but appeared to run through its vascular network. Kheifets and colleagues in 2010 applied cardiogen alongside two other short peptides to ageing human prostate fibroblast cultures and reported increased expression of CXCL12, WEDC1 and ghrelin in all of them.
A fifth paper names the compound only by its sequence. Khavinson and colleagues in 2012, in Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine, cultured mouse embryonic fibroblasts treated with the tetrapeptide and reported actin, tubulin and vimentin expression raised two- to fivefold and lamins A and C raised two- to threefold. The abstract states that this explains the previously reported cardioprotective activity of the peptide. The previous report it refers to is the patent.
How a patent became a citation
In 2022 a review in Cells summarised the compound in four sentences. It stated that AEDR was detected in the polypeptide complex of the heart by highly sensitive chromato-mass spectrometry, that administration in experimental infarction produced a threefold decrease in mortality, that necrotic zones shrank and glycogen was preserved, and that mitochondria were protected. One citation carries all of it, and that citation is US 7,662,789. The mortality figures line up: 45% falling to 15% is threefold. The mass-spectrometry sentence does not. The patent describes the tetrapeptide as obtained using the classical method of peptide synthesis in solution, and reports no detection of it in cardiac tissue by any method.
The Cells review and the International Journal of Molecular Sciences review, published by the same group in the same year, give the patent two different issue dates. Cells cites it as issued 16 October 2010; the IJMS paper cites 16 February 2010. The USPTO date is 16 February 2010, which was a Tuesday, the day United States patents issue; 16 October 2010 was a Saturday. The two reviews disagree about the same document, and the shorter of the two summaries is the one that circulates.
Two other strands attach to the sequence rather than the trade name. Fedoreyeva and colleagues in 2013 measured fluorescence quenching of FITC-labelled histones and reported that Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg, along with five sibling peptides, binds histones H1, H2B, H3 and H4. The histones were from wheat. Khavinson and colleagues in 2023 docked 26 ultrashort peptides against transporter structures and returned ICM scores for AEDR of minus 35.35 at LAT1, minus 27.54 at LAT2 and minus 27.50 at PEPT1, with a positive and therefore unfavourable 13.15 at PEPT2. That work is computational throughout, and the authors describe it as a feasibility assessment.
Registered trials and regulatory footprint
ClinicalTrials.gov holds nothing. A query on cardiogen returns four studies, none of them of the peptide; the closest is a 2011 evaluation of strontium exposure in patients scanned with the rubidium generator. An intervention-field query on cardiogen returns that same study. AEDR returns zero. A control query on Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg returns 25 unrelated amino-acid and nutrition studies, which confirms the endpoint was answering. No dose-ranging, pharmacokinetic, safety or efficacy study in people has been registered.
No GSRS entry exists for the peptide, which means the substance has never been through the identification process that assigns a UNII. It was not among the seven peptides considered by the FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee on 23 and 24 July 2026, which covered BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, emideltide, semax and epitalon, nor is it among the five scheduled for review before the end of February 2027. It is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and the patent that describes it has lapsed.
Material described by this name circulates outside any registered trial. Russian-language distributor copy presents it as a food supplement; elsewhere it appears in research-chemical catalogue listings that print a molecular weight, a purity figure and a CAS number no registry recognises. None of that material has been subject to identity, purity or sterility controls, and the compound is not approved for human use in any jurisdiction. Claims of institute studies in elderly patients showing improved ejection fraction over twelve months appear on aggregator pages with no citation attached, and no such publication exists in PubMed. The distance between what the patent examples report and what is asserted downstream is the whole subject of the ledger below.
What is not known
No human data exists in any form. ClinicalTrials.gov searches on cardiogen and AEDR, run as general terms and against the intervention field on 18 August 2026, returned no study of the peptide, so nothing has been registered about dose-ranging, pharmacokinetics, safety or efficacy in people, let alone reported. Absorption, distribution, metabolism and clearance are uncharacterised in every species: no pharmacokinetic study was located in PubMed or Europe PMC, no half-life has been measured, and the relationship between an administered amount and any tissue concentration is unestablished. Immunogenicity has not been assessed. The toxicity work that exists is inside the patent, was conducted by the applicant, and reports an unexplained rise in guinea pig leukocyte counts at three and six months that no follow-up addresses. Reproductive and developmental effects, carcinogenicity and chronic administration beyond six months are unstudied. No sample size is stated in any of the retrievable abstracts of the PubMed-indexed papers used here; the full texts of the Advances in Gerontology and Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine articles could not be obtained, so whether the underlying papers report an n is unestablished rather than known to be absent. The proposed mechanism rests on histone binding measured in wheat and on transporter affinities that were computed and never measured; no experiment has shown the peptide entering a mammalian cardiomyocyte. Nothing in the record has been reproduced by a group unconnected to the originating programme, and the cardiac findings have never been through peer review at all. Cardiogen is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, appears in no major pharmacopoeia, has no FDA substance registry entry, and material sold outside a registered trial has not been subject to identity, purity or sterility controls.
Questions
Where does the myocardial infarction result come from?
How many published papers are there on this peptide?
Is Cardiogen the same thing as CardioGen-82?
Has Cardiogen been considered by the FDA for compounding?
Does the peptide occur naturally in the heart?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 11583989, H-Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg-OH. C18H31N7O9, 489.5 g/mol, InChIKey QXQARLZWUIQZPX-NAKRPEOUSA-N. Sole synonym on the record is SCHEMBL3194515. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 10917, L-carnitine. Cardiogen appears in the synonym list of this record, which is a different substance entirely (C7H15NO3, 161.20 g/mol). A separate PubChem name query on CAS 406-76-8 - the number printed beside the word Cardiogen on raw-material marketplace listings - returns CID 288, DL-carnitine, the racemic form of the same compound, same formula and same 161.20 molecular weight. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, Rubidium Chloride Rb-82, UNII F0Z746KRKQ. The only record returned by a GSRS search on the string cardiogen; classified under diagnostic radiopharmaceuticals. The NCI chemical structure resolver returns the same substance, CAS 132486-03-4, for that string. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Khavinson VK, Ryzhak GA, Grigoriev EI, Ryadnova IY. Peptide substance restoring myocardium function. US Patent 7,662,789 B2, issued 16 February 2010; filed 7 December 2004; priority 22 June 2004. Legal status listed as expired, fee related. Full specification read from a patent full-text mirror after patents.google.com returned a server error. Not peer reviewed; no PMID. View on patents.google.com
- Patent family for the same disclosure: RU2255756C1 (priority 22 June 2004), WO2006001728A1, EP1758923, US20080269141A1. View on patents.google.com
- Zakutskii AN, Chalisova NI, Ryzhak GA, et al. The tissue-specific effect of synthetic peptides-biologic regulators in organotypic tissues culture in young and old rats. Adv Gerontol. 2006;19:93-6. Russian-language article; abstract only. PMID 17152728 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Chalisova NI, Lesniak VV, Balykina NA, et al. The effect of the amino acids and cardiogen on the development of myocard tissue culture from young and old rats. Adv Gerontol. 2009;22(3):409-13. Russian-language article; abstract only. PMID 20210190 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Levdik NV, Knyazkin IV. Tumor-modifying effect of cardiogen peptide on M-1 sarcoma in senescent rats. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2009;148(3):433-6. PMID 20396706 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kheifets OV, Poliakova VO, Kvetnoi IM. Peptidergic regulation of the expression of signal factors of fibroblast differentiation in the human prostate gland in cell aging. Adv Gerontol. 2010;23(1):68-70. Russian-language article; abstract only. PMID 20586252 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khavinson VKh, Lin'kova NS, Polyakova VO, Kvetnoy IM, Benberin VV, D'yakonov MM, Titkov YS. Tetrapeptide H-Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg-OH stimulates expression of cytoskeletal and nuclear matrix proteins. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2012;153(4):559-62. Does not appear in a cardiogen title-and-abstract search; names the compound by sequence. PMID 22977870 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fedoreyeva LI, Smirnova TA, Kolomijtseva GY, Khavinson VKh, Vanyushin BF. Interaction of short peptides with FITC-labeled wheat histones and their complexes with deoxyribooligonucleotides. Biochemistry (Mosc). 2013;78(2):166-75. PMID 23581987 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khavinson V, Linkova N, Dyatlova A, et al. Senescence-associated secretory phenotype of cardiovascular system cells and inflammaging: perspectives of peptide regulation. Cells. 2022;12(1):106. Cites US 7,662,789 as reference 123 and dates it 16 October 2010; the USPTO issue date is 16 February 2010. PMID 36611900 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khavinson VK, Linkova NS, Rudskoy AI, Petukhov MG. Feasibility of transport of 26 biologically active ultrashort peptides via LAT and PEPT family transporters. Biomolecules. 2023;13(3):552. Computational docking only. PMID 36979488 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khavinson V, Linkova N, Kozhevnikova E, Dyatlova A, Petukhov M. Transport of biologically active ultrashort peptides using POT and LAT carriers. Int J Mol Sci. 2022;23(14):7733. Table entry naming Cardiogen (AEDR) as cardioprotector, cited to US 7,662,789 and dated 16 February 2010. PMID 35887081 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Khavinson VK, Popovich IG, Linkova NS, Mironova ES, Ilina AR. Peptide regulation of gene expression: a systematic review. Molecules. 2021;26(22):7053. Lists AEDR/Cardiogen among monofunctional peptides regulating cardiovascular system function. PMID 34834147 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov, queried 18 August 2026. Terms cardiogen and AEDR, run as general terms and against the intervention field, returned no study of the peptide; a control query on Ala-Glu-Asp-Arg returned 25 unrelated amino-acid studies. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- FDA. July 23-24, 2026 meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee. Agenda covers BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, emideltide, semax and epitalon; cardiogen does not appear. View on www.fda.gov
- EBI UniChem, InChIKey QXQARLZWUIQZPX-NAKRPEOUSA-N. Returns two sources, SureChEMBL (3194515) and PubChem (11583989). No ChEMBL, DrugBank or registry-linked entry. View on www.ebi.ac.uk
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.