Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
AHK-Cu
AHK-Cu is the copper(II) complex of the tripeptide L-alanyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine, marketed under the cosmetic name Copper Tripeptide-3, a designation in wide use but not confirmable against a retrievable registry entry. It is described almost everywhere by reference to one 2007 paper from Seoul National University. What secondary accounts drop is that the same experiment reported elongation of the cultured human follicles falling below vehicle at the two highest concentrations tested, 10^-8 and 10^-7 molar (PMID 17703734), and that the only animal data sit in a patent granted in 2000.
- Class
- Copper(II)-binding tripeptide metal complex (small metallopeptide)
- CAS number
- 682809-81-0 (AHK-Cu monohydrochloride); 767286-83-9 (a second registry number mapping to a differently deprotonated complex, and the number to which the cosmetic name Copper Tripeptide-3 is attached in circulating ingredient documentation); 126828-32-8 (free AHK tripeptide)
- PubChem CID
- 168431292 (AHK-Cu monohydrochloride); 178189140 (CAS 767286-83-9, unnamed); 7408502 (free AHK)
- Molecular formula
- C15H24ClCuN6O4- (CID 168431292); C15H23CuN6O4 2- (CID 178189140); C15H26N6O4 (free AHK)
- Molecular weight
- 451.39 (CID 168431292); 414.93 (CID 178189140); 354.41 g/mol (free AHK)
- Sequence
- L-alanyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine (Ala-His-Lys), complexed with Cu(II)
- Also indexed as
- AHK-Cu; [L-alanyl-N-L-histidyl-N,N3-L-lysinato(2-)]copper monohydrochloride; Copper Tripeptide-3, a cosmetic-nomenclature name in consistent use across ingredient and catalogue documentation, attached there to CAS 767286-83-9 rather than to 682809-81-0, and not confirmable against a retrievable registry entry; free peptide UNII 1AVY5QO8WR
What is indexed under the name
PubMed carries AHK-Cu as a supplementary concept and returns exactly one record under it: Pyo and colleagues, Archives of Pharmacal Research, 2007. A full-text search of Europe PMC for the string "AHK-Cu" returns five records in total, and the other four are a 2020 formulation paper, two reviews and a biomaterials paper, each citing that same 2007 study. Searching the expanded name is worse rather than better. The string "alanyl-histidyl-lysine" returns fifteen PubMed records, fourteen of which concern DAHK, the aspartyl-alanyl-histidyl-lysine sequence at the N-terminus of human serum albumin, or tryptic fragments of alpha-lactalbumin that happen to contain the same three residues.
Deuterohemin-AlaHisLys, abbreviated DhHP-3, is an iron-porphyrin conjugate of the same tripeptide and contains no copper; Lei and colleagues reported in 2014 that 3 mg/kg reduced blood glucose, insulin resistance and malondialdehyde content in rats with non-insulin-dependent diabetes, with neither route nor group size stated in the abstract. Vitamin C-linker-conjugated AHK is a second distinct compound; Jung and colleagues reported in 2018 that it enhanced BMP-2-induced alkaline phosphatase and Smad1/5/8 phosphorylation in mouse C2C12 myoblasts. That molecule also contains no copper. Two adjacent molecules of this kind make string matching unreliable in the other direction, because a search on the tripeptide name retrieves both.
One primary study of the copper complex, in human tissue ex vivo and in cell culture, published nineteen years ago, is what remains once the near-misses are subtracted. Alongside it sits one granted United States patent whose worked examples contain the only rodent experiments on the molecule that have been located. Everything else retrieved under the name is a citation of one of those two documents, a citation of a different peptide, or a figure with no document behind it at all. The rest of this page separates those three categories.
Claim ledger
11 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Follicle elongation at day 12 was significantly greater than vehicle across 10^-12 to 10^-9 M (p<0.01 or p<0.001 by condition) | Human occipital scalp hair follicles, organ culture ex vivo; donors were healthy volunteers aged 20-35 | In-medium exposure, 12 days | 240 follicles from 3 donors, 30 per condition | Pyo 2007, Arch Pharm Res, PMID 17703734 |
| 10^-8 M inhibited follicle elongation by 14.8 +/- 1.2% (2.3 +/- 0.18 mm) and 10^-7 M by 81.5 +/- 40.8% (0.5 +/- 0.25 mm) versus vehicle; stated in the results text, absent from the abstract | Human occipital scalp hair follicles, organ culture ex vivo | In-medium exposure, 12 days | 30 follicles per condition | Pyo 2007, Arch Pharm Res, PMID 17703734 |
| Dermal papilla cell viability by MTT was significantly raised at 10^-12 to 10^-9 M; 10^-8 M produced no change | Cultured human dermal papilla cells, fourth passage, 5.0 x 10^3 cells per well | In-medium exposure, 24 h | Six cultures per the legend, which also reports means from eight wells | Pyo 2007, Arch Pharm Res, PMID 17703734 |
| 10^-9 M reduced annexin V+/PI- dermal papilla cells by 3.48%; the authors state the decrease was not statistically significant | Cultured human dermal papilla cells, 1 x 10^6 cells stained | In-medium exposure, 72 h | Experiments repeated in triplicate | Pyo 2007, Arch Pharm Res, PMID 17703734 |
| 10^-9 M reduced cleaved caspase-3 by 42.7% and PARP cleavage fragments by 77.5% (both p<0.05) under serum-free conditions; procaspase-3 unchanged; no differences when 10% fetal bovine serum was present | Cultured human dermal papilla cells, serum-starved | In-medium exposure, 72 h | Three independent experiments | Pyo 2007, Arch Pharm Res, PMID 17703734 |
| AHK:Cu (2:1) gave hair growth in 1 of 4 animals at 0.75 mg per injection (region under 1 cm diameter) and 4 of 4 at 1.5 mg (region over 1 cm), assessed at day 21 | C3H mice, 60 days old, telogen phase, clipped dorsum, two injection sites per animal | Intradermal injection, 0.1 mL | 4 per dose group | US Patent 6,017,888, Example 12; priority 17 June 1994, granted 25 January 2000; not peer-reviewed |
| AHK:Cu (1.1:1) gave area of hair growth 3.07 +/- 0.76 at 1.2 micromoles per injection and 3.24 +/- 1.17 at 1.8 micromoles, reported as area rather than as an incidence fraction, with D-amino-acid-substituted arms AH-(D)K:Cu and (D)A-HK:Cu tabulated alongside | C3H mice, 60 days old, telogen phase, clipped dorsum, two injection sites per animal | Intradermal injection, 0.1 mL, 1.1:1 peptide-to-copper complex | Not stated in Table 6 | US Patent 6,017,888, Example 13; not peer-reviewed |
| Per cent treatment area with AHK:Cu (1.1:1) at 0.1% w/w was 1.29 +/- 1.29 (day 20), 23.07 +/- 18.84 (day 27) and 90.14 +/- 2.96 (day 34); at 0.5% w/w it was 75.87 +/- 7.64, then 100, then 100 | Female C3H mice, 60-65 days old, telogen phase; vehicle 50% propylene glycol, 30% ethanol, 3% nonoxynol-9 | Topical, twice daily Monday to Friday, approximately 0.1 mL per application | Not stated in the table | US Patent 6,017,888, Example 14; not peer-reviewed |
| Mean alopecia grade at day 10 (0-4 scale) was 0.00 saline, 4.00 Ara-C plus saline, and 3.25, 2.38, 1.44 and 1.11 at AHK:Cu doses of 0.05, 0.10, 0.25 and 0.50 mg; the table's mg/kg column does not reconcile with its mg column | Sprague-Dawley rat pups aged 8 days, five litters of 10-11, cytosine arabinoside 25 mg/kg intraperitoneally for 7 days | Single intradermal injection of AHK:Cu (1:1), 0.05 mL | 8-9 per group | US Patent 6,017,888, Example 16; not peer-reviewed |
| A vitamin C-linker conjugate of the AHK tripeptide, containing no copper, enhanced BMP-2-induced alkaline phosphatase, Smad1/5/8 phosphorylation and ERK1/2 and p38 phosphorylation | Mouse C2C12 myoblasts | In-medium exposure | Not stated in the abstract | Jung 2018, Differentiation, PMID 29567599 |
| DhHP-3, the iron-porphyrin conjugate of the same tripeptide and containing no copper, at 3 mg/kg ameliorated hyperglycaemia and insulin resistance, decreased malondialdehyde content and increased superoxide dismutase activity | Rats with non-insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Lei 2014, Chem Biol Interact, PMID 24946264 |
| AHK-Cu was engineered to have a stronger affinity for hair follicle tissue than GHK-Cu. | This sentence, or a paraphrase of it, opens most vendor and aggregator descriptions. No affinity measurement of any kind exists for AHK-Cu: no binding constant for copper, no receptor binding, no tissue distribution study. Europe PMC searches pairing Ala-His-Lys with copper, with stability constant, and with complex returned only DAHK and GHK papers. US Patent 6,017,888, which is where the molecule enters the hair literature, makes the opposite kind of argument, comparing AHK:Cu with AHF:Cu on hydrophilicity of the third residue and reporting that the ranking reverses between topical and injected routes. No comparison of AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu under any condition was located. | No source found | ||
| AHK-Cu increases VEGF production and decreases TGF-beta-1 secretion. | Traced to the opening sentence of the published abstract of Pyo 2007 (PMID 17703734), which states that "the tripeptide-copper complex" stimulates dermal fibroblast proliferation, elevates vascular endothelial growth factor and decreases transforming growth factor-beta1 secretion. That sentence names no peptide, and it sits at the head of a paper whose subject compound is AHK-Cu, which is the propagation mechanism: secondary sources working from abstracts read the generic phrase as the title compound. The measurements themselves were made on GHK-Cu, by Pollard 2005 (PMID 15655171) and McCormack 2001 (PMID 11176716), both retrieved and checked. Neither VEGF nor TGF-beta-1 was measured in the 2007 experiments, which ran MTT, annexin V flow cytometry and western blots for Bcl-2, Bax, caspase-3 and PARP. The 2021 FASEB BioAdvances review by Sadgrove and Simmonds (PMID 34377956) restates both as AHK-Cu findings citing Pyo, which is the likeliest route by which the attribution reached vendor pages with an apparently peer-reviewed source behind it. | No source found | ||
| The copper-binding site of AHK is equivalent to that of GHK, so the alanine substitution does not change the complex. | This is a structural inference, not a measurement, and it underlies most read-across from GHK-Cu to AHK-Cu. The argument runs that the alanine methyl group sits away from the coordinating imidazole and so leaves the binding pocket conserved. No titration supports it. Europe PMC searches pairing Ala-His-Lys with copper, with stability constant, with dissociation constant, with potentiometry and with isothermal titration calorimetry returned only DAHK and GHK records, principally Trapaidze 2012 (PMID 21898044) and Hureau 2011 (PMID 21780203); no thermodynamic or structural determination for the AHK complex was found in any of them. Conato 2001 (PMID 11325542) is the nearest study of position-one substitution in this family, and it did not test AHK. | No source found | ||
| A 2025 pilot study at Tokyo Medical University compared 2.5% minoxidil plus 0.025% AHK-Cu against each alone, with the combination gaining 31.4 hairs per square centimetre. | No such study was located. Europe PMC full-text search for AHK-Cu returns five records in total, none of them a clinical trial; searches pairing AHK-Cu with minoxidil returned two reviews and the 2020 formulation paper. A web search on the figure 31.4 hairs and on 0.025% AHK-Cu returned only commercial pages repeating the claim, no journal record and no registry entry. ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero studies for AHK-Cu. | No source found | ||
| A 2024 study found that iontophoretic delivery increased AHK-Cu penetration into dermal layers by 340% over passive topical application. | Not found. Europe PMC pairing iontophoresis with copper peptide returns three records, all reviews, none reporting a penetration figure for AHK-Cu. No permeation, partition or delivery study of AHK-Cu of any kind was located, by any route, in any model. The nearest real measurement in this family is microneedle-mediated delivery of GHK-Cu, a different peptide. | No source found | ||
| A 2025 microneedling study using copper peptides alone produced a 26.5% median improvement in scalp coverage scored by blinded dermatologists. | Searches of Europe PMC pairing copper peptide with microneedling returned nine records, of which the only primary human report is a 2025 JAAD International paper on minoxidil-dutasteride-copper-peptide tattooing (PMID 40225275), a multi-agent protocol that does not isolate any copper peptide and does not report that figure. The 26.5% number appears on commercial pages without a citation. | No source found | ||
| AHK-Cu has the molecular formula C14H25N7O4Cu and a molecular weight of about 416.9. | Neither figure matches any PubChem record. The three relevant records are CID 168431292 at C15H24ClCuN6O4 and 451.39, CID 178189140 at C15H23CuN6O4 and 414.93, and CID 7408502 for the metal-free peptide at C15H26N6O4 and 354.41. The circulating C14 formula has one carbon too few and one nitrogen too many for this peptide and appears to be a corrupted GHK-Cu formula; 416.9 sits close to, but does not equal, the 414.93 of the doubly deprotonated complex. Supplier listings giving 452.40 for C15H25ClCuN6O4 are the one reconcilable variant, describing the neutral monohydrochloride rather than PubChem's anion. | No source found | ||
| AHK-Cu is a registered cosmetic ingredient under the INCI name Copper Tripeptide-3, and copper peptides including AHK-Cu were reviewed and found safe as used in cosmetics by the Cosmetic Ingredient Review. | Two separate failures. First, the registration: the EU CosIng ingredient database was queried on 18 August 2026 through its search, rest and api paths, each of which returned the application's HTML shell rather than a record, and the api.tech.ec.europa.eu CosIng endpoint returned HTTP 404, so no registry entry for Copper Tripeptide-3 could be retrieved. PubChem synonyms for CID 168431292 return only 682809-81-0, AHK-Cu, the systematic monohydrochloride name and two catalogue codes; the string Copper Tripeptide-3 appears on no PubChem, FDA GSRS or CIR record fetched, and in circulating documentation it is attached to CAS 767286-83-9. Second, the safety review: the CIR assessment was retrieved in full and searched. Its conclusion covers Tripeptide-1, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1, Myristoyl Tripeptide-1, Copper Tripeptide-1, Bis(Tripeptide-1) Copper Acetate, Manganese Tripeptide-1, the hexapeptide-12 series and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7. The strings Tripeptide-3, AHK and Ala-His do not occur anywhere in the 27-page document, and the single occurrence of alanyl belongs to the palmitoyl hexapeptide-12 chemical name. That finding is real and it is about GHK ingredients. | No source found | ||
Identity, and the identifiers that disagree
Three PubChem records are involved and they do not describe the same species. CID 7408502 is the metal-free tripeptide, C15H26N6O4 at 354.41 g/mol, CAS 126828-32-8, and it is the only form the FDA substance register carries, as ALANYLHISTIDYLLYSINE under UNII 1AVY5QO8WR. CID 168431292 is the record that actually bears the name AHK-Cu: the monohydrochloride complex, depicted as an anion, C15H24ClCuN6O4 at 451.39 g/mol, CAS 682809-81-0. CID 178189140 is retrieved by the second registry number in circulation, 767286-83-9, and is a doubly deprotonated complex at 414.93 g/mol carrying no name at all in that record.
Figures on secondary pages track none of these cleanly. One aggregator lists the molecular weight as 416.9 with the formula C15H25CuN6O4; another gives C14H25N7O4Cu, which has the wrong carbon and nitrogen counts for this peptide entirely. Supplier listings commonly give 452.40 with the formula C15H25ClCuN6O4, which is the neutral monohydrochloride salt and differs from the PubChem entry by the proton that database chose to strip. Only the last of those is reconcilable, and a reader comparing molar concentrations across sources is comparing at least three different assumptions.
The cosmetic nomenclature for this molecule is Copper Tripeptide-3, while Copper Tripeptide-1 is GHK-Cu, a different peptide, and at least one aggregator page titles its AHK-Cu entry Copper Tripeptide-1. In circulating ingredient and catalogue documentation the name Copper Tripeptide-3 is attached to CAS 767286-83-9, the doubly deprotonated registry number, rather than to 682809-81-0, so the cosmetic name and the name-bearing PubChem record point at two different deprotonation states. Stoichiometry is a third axis: the 2007 study used an 11 per cent aqueous stock without specifying a ratio, while the patent describes preparations at 2:1, 1.1:1 and 1:1 peptide to copper, each with a different absorption maximum, from 563 to 580 nm at 2:1 up to 595 nm at 1:1.
The 2007 experiment, in full
Hair follicles were taken from the occipital scalp of ten healthy volunteers aged 20 to 35 who had been on no medication for at least a month, under an institutional review board approval recorded in the paper. Follicles were cut about 2.5 mm from the base of the dermal papilla and cultured for twelve days in Williams' E medium with L-glutamine, insulin, hydrocortisone and antibiotics, refed three times a week. AHK-Cu was added to final concentrations from 10 to the minus 13 through 10 to the minus 7 molar. A total of 240 follicles from three donors were analysed, thirty per condition. Elongation was measured directly at day twelve against a scale bar.
Follicle elongation was significantly greater than vehicle across 10 to the minus 12 through 10 to the minus 9 molar, at p below 0.01 or p below 0.001 depending on condition. Dermal papilla cell proliferation by MTT was significantly raised over the same range and unchanged at 10 to the minus 8 molar. Flow cytometry after 72 hours at 10 to the minus 9 molar reduced annexin V-positive, propidium-iodide-negative cells by 3.48 per cent, a difference the authors state was not statistically significant. Western blotting at the same concentration reduced cleaved caspase-3 by 42.7 per cent and PARP cleavage fragments by 77.5 per cent, both at p below 0.05, across three independent experiments, with procaspase-3 unchanged.
The methods state that the MTT assay ran from 10 to the minus 13 molar; the figure legend for that assay states 10 to the minus 12. The same legend describes results as mean percentages of control for six cultures and then reports means and standard errors from eight wells. Both inconsistencies affect how the numbers should be read. Funding is disclosed as partly a Korea Health 21 R&D Project grant, number 03-PJ1-PG1-CH13-0001, and partly a research agreement with a cosmetics corporation. PubMed lists no erratum, correction or expression of concern attached to the paper.
The ceiling that secondary summaries drop
At the two highest concentrations tested, the direction of the effect reversed. The paper reports that 10 to the minus 8 and 10 to the minus 7 molar AHK-Cu significantly inhibited follicle elongation, by 14.8 plus or minus 1.2 per cent, giving 2.3 plus or minus 0.18 mm, and by 81.5 plus or minus 40.8 per cent, giving 0.5 plus or minus 0.25 mm, against vehicle-treated controls. That sentence appears in the results section and in no version of the abstract.
The inhibition at the top concentration has a standard error of 40.8 on a point estimate of 81.5, so how much elongation was suppressed is poorly constrained by this experiment; that it was suppressed is what the significance test speaks to. Magnitude and direction come apart here. The window in which elongation increased spans four orders of magnitude and closes, on these data, one order of magnitude above the highest active concentration. Nothing in the paper establishes where that boundary sits in tissue rather than in a well.
A 2026 review in Biomedicines tabulates the concentration range as 10 to the minus 13 through 10 to the minus 7 molar against the endpoint of follicle elongation, which is the tested range rather than the effective one, and does not mention the inhibition. Reporting downstream has been uneven in one direction. A 2021 review in FASEB BioAdvances goes further and attributes increased vascular endothelial growth factor expression and reduced TGF-beta-1 to AHK-Cu, citing the same paper. Those two properties are stated in the opening sentence of the Pyo abstract, which calls its subject the tripeptide-copper complex and names no peptide there; the measurements themselves were made on GHK-Cu, by Pollard and colleagues in 2005 (PMID 15655171) and McCormack and colleagues in 2001 (PMID 11176716). Neither was measured for AHK-Cu in the 2007 experiments.
The rodent data are in a patent
United States patent 6,017,888, with a priority date of 17 June 1994 and granted 25 January 2000, is a continuation of Ser. No. 08/638,889, filed 19 July 1996 and abandoned, which was itself a continuation of Ser. No. 08/261,475, the application that issued as US 5,538,945. Its four granted claims cover a method of stimulating hair growth using a peptide-copper complex in which R2 is histidine or arginine and in which, per claim 1, R3 is a chemical moiety joined to R2 by an amide bond, wherein R3 is --NH2, an alkylamino moiety having from 1-20 carbon atoms or an arylamino moiety having from 6-20 carbon atoms. AHK:Cu, whose lysine carries a free carboxylate, appears in the worked examples rather than within the literal scope of those claims. Patent examples are published documents, which is why they are recorded here, but they carry no peer review, no registered protocol, no described blinding and no statistical tests.
Example 12 clipped the backs of telogen-phase C3H mice, 60 days old, and injected peptide-copper complexes intradermally at two sites per animal. AHK:Cu at a 2:1 peptide-to-copper ratio produced hair growth in 1 of 4 mice at 0.75 mg per injection, over a region under 1 cm in diameter, and in 4 of 4 mice at 1.5 mg, over a region above 1 cm, assessed at day 21. Example 13 repeated that design at a 1.1:1 ratio in order to test D-amino-acid substitutions, dosing 1.2 and 1.8 micromoles per injection and reporting area of hair growth rather than an incidence fraction: 3.07 plus or minus 0.76 and 3.24 plus or minus 1.17 for AHK:Cu, alongside AH-(D)K:Cu and (D)A-HK:Cu arms. Group sizes are not stated in that table.
Example 14 applied the complex topically twice daily on weekdays to female C3H mice aged 60 to 65 days, in a vehicle of 50 per cent propylene glycol, 30 per cent ethanol and 3 per cent nonoxynol-9, at approximately 0.1 mL per application. Per cent treatment area at 0.1 per cent w/w was 1.29 plus or minus 1.29 at day 20, 23.07 plus or minus 18.84 at day 27 and 90.14 plus or minus 2.96 at day 34; at 0.5 per cent w/w it was 75.87 plus or minus 7.64, then 100, then 100. Group sizes are not stated in that table either. The comparison arm was AHF:Cu, and the patent's own reading of the pair is that a hydrophilic third residue is more active topically and less active by injection.
Example 16 is the only experiment that states group sizes: 8 to 9 rat pups per group. Sprague-Dawley pups aged 8 days were held in five litters of 10 to 11, given a single intradermal injection of AHK:Cu at 1:1 in saline, then seven consecutive daily intraperitoneal injections of cytosine arabinoside at 25 mg/kg. Mean alopecia grade at day 10 on a 0 to 4 scale was 0.00 for saline alone, 4.00 for Ara-C with saline, and 3.25, 2.38, 1.44 and 1.11 at AHK:Cu doses of 0.05, 0.10, 0.25 and 0.50 mg. Histology found anagen follicles at the injection site and dystrophic follicles away from it. The table's mg/kg column does not reconcile with its mg column: 0.05 mg is listed as 35 mg/kg alongside 0.50 mg at 35.0 mg/kg.
Copper chemistry, and the regulatory record
No copper-binding constant has been published for AHK. For the neighbouring peptides it has: Trapaidze and colleagues reported a conditional Cu(II) dissociation constant of 7.0 plus or minus 1.0 times 10 to the minus 14 molar for GHK at pH 7.4 by isothermal titration calorimetry, against 2.6 plus or minus 0.4 times 10 to the minus 14 for DAHK, and Hureau and colleagues solved X-ray and solution structures for both complexes. Searches of Europe PMC pairing Ala-His-Lys with copper, with stability constants, and with complex formation returned those DAHK and GHK papers and nothing for the alanine tripeptide. Neither a partition coefficient nor a forced-degradation profile was located, both of which exist for GHK-Cu through Badenhorst and colleagues.
Conato and colleagues studied copper complexes of GHK and two synthetic analogues by potentiometry, calorimetry and spectroscopy, and concluded that complex formation driven by the first residue is necessary while the second residue plays no specific role and the free side chain of the third is of fundamental importance. That is the closest published argument for why an alanine substitution at position one might matter, and it was made without testing AHK. The structural inference that the AHK copper site is equivalent to the GHK site, on which the secondary accounts rest, has no titration behind it and is recorded in the unsourced list below.
Regulators have not assessed this molecule under any name. The Cosmetic Ingredient Review panel's assessment, finalised in June 2014 and published in the International Journal of Toxicology in 2018, covers Tripeptide-1, Copper Tripeptide-1, Bis(Tripeptide-1) Copper Acetate, Manganese Tripeptide-1, the hexapeptide-12 series and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7. A full-text search of that report finds no instance of Tripeptide-3, of AHK, or of Ala-His. The FDA substance register carries the free tripeptide and prezatide copper, the GHK complex, with no entry for the AHK complex. ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero studies for AHK-Cu and zero for alanyl-histidyl-lysine. It is not an approved medicine anywhere.
What is not known
No human study of AHK-Cu has been conducted. ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero registered studies under the compound name or the full peptide name, so nothing exists on pharmacokinetics, dose ranging, safety or efficacy in people, and the ex vivo follicle work does not substitute for any of it because a cut follicle in a well has no circulation, no immune system and no skin barrier above it. In animals the position is narrower still: four patent examples in mice and rat pups, unrefereed, without stated statistics, two of them lacking group sizes, all assessing hair growth by area, by incidence or by a four-point alopecia grade rather than by follicle counts or histomorphometry. Nothing characterises absorption through intact skin, systemic exposure after topical application, or whether repeated delivery of a chelated copper load perturbs copper homeostasis, in any species. The copper site itself has never been titrated for this peptide. There is no chronic administration study, no reproductive or developmental data, no immunogenicity work, no forced-degradation or stability profile, and no comparison against GHK-Cu or any active comparator under matched conditions.
Questions
How many primary studies of AHK-Cu exist?
Does the 2007 study show that more AHK-Cu produced more follicle growth?
Is AHK-Cu the same as DAHK or DhHP-3?
Why do sources give different molecular weights?
Has any regulator assessed AHK-Cu?
References
- Pyo HK, Yoo HG, Won CH, Lee SH, Kang YJ, Eun HC, Cho KH, Kim KH. The effect of tripeptide-copper complex on human hair growth in vitro. Arch Pharm Res. 2007;30(7):834-9. The abstract opens on VEGF and TGF-beta-1 statements about "the tripeptide-copper complex" without naming a peptide. No erratum, correction or expression of concern recorded in PubMed as of August 2026. PMID 17703734. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- US Patent 6,017,888. Stimulation of hair growth by peptide copper complexes. Priority 17 June 1994; filed 23 December 1997; granted 25 January 2000; a continuation of Ser. No. 08/638,889 (filed 19 July 1996, abandoned), itself a continuation of Ser. No. 08/261,475, which issued as US 5,538,945. Examples 12, 13, 14 and 16 contain the AHK:Cu animal data. Four claims granted; claim 1 limits R2 to histidine or arginine and R3 to --NH2, an alkylamino moiety of 1-20 carbons or an arylamino moiety of 6-20 carbons. View on patents.google.com
- US Patent 5,538,945. Stimulation of hair growth by peptide copper complexes. Filed 17 June 1994 as Ser. No. 08/261,475; the grandparent of US 6,017,888, whose immediate parent application 08/638,889 was abandoned. View on patents.google.com
- Jung JI, Park KY, Lee Y, Park M, Kim J. Vitamin C-linker-conjugated tripeptide AHK stimulates BMP-2-induced osteogenic differentiation of mouse myoblast C2C12 cells. Differentiation. 2018;101:1-7. PMID 29567599. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lei L, Zhang G, Li P, Zhang Y, Guo Y, Zhang W, Zhang W, Hu B, Wang L. Deuterohemin-AlaHisLys mitigates the symptoms of rats with non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus by scavenging reactive oxygen species and activating the PI3-K/AKT signal transduction pathway. Chem Biol Interact. 2014;220:64-74. Route and group sizes are not stated in the abstract. PMID 24946264. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Fan C, Chen Y, Huang Q, et al. Overview of short peptides for hair loss. Biomedicines. 2026;14(4):864. PMID 42072405. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sadgrove NJ, Simmonds MSJ. Topical and nutricosmetic products for healthy hair and dermal antiaging using "dual-acting" (2 for 1) plant-based peptides, hormones, and cannabinoids. FASEB Bioadv. 2021;3(8):601-610. Source of the VEGF and TGF-beta-1 attribution to AHK-Cu discussed above. PMID 34377956. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Pollard JD, Quan S, Kang T, Koch RJ. Effects of copper tripeptide on the growth and expression of growth factors by normal and irradiated fibroblasts. Arch Facial Plast Surg. 2005;7(1):27-31. PMID 15655171. Companion measurement: McCormack MC, Nowak KC, Koch RJ. The effect of copper tripeptide and tretinoin on growth factor production in a serum-free fibroblast model. Arch Facial Plast Surg. 2001;3(1):28-32. PMID 11176716. Both measured GHK-Cu, not AHK-Cu, and are the origin of the VEGF-up and TGF-beta-1-down statements that open the Pyo abstract. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kapoor R, Shome D, Vadera S, Kumar V, Ram MS. QR678 and QR678 Neo hair growth formulations: a cellular toxicity and animal efficacy study. Plast Reconstr Surg Glob Open. 2020;8(8):e2843. The copper component of both formulations is copper tripeptide-1, not AHK-Cu. PMID 32983753. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Conato C, Gavioli R, Guerrini R, et al. Copper complexes of glycyl-histidyl-lysine and two of its synthetic analogues: chemical behaviour and biological activity. Biochim Biophys Acta. 2001;1526(2):199-210. PMID 11325542. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Trapaidze A, Hureau C, Bal W, Winterhalter M, Faller P. Thermodynamic study of Cu2+ binding to the DAHK and GHK peptides by isothermal titration calorimetry with the weaker competitor glycine. J Biol Inorg Chem. 2012;17(1):37-47. PMID 21898044. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hureau C, Eury H, Guillot R, et al. X-ray and solution structures of Cu(II) GHK and Cu(II) DAHK complexes: influence on their redox properties. Chemistry. 2011;17(36):10151-60. PMID 21780203. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Badenhorst T, Svirskis D, Wu Z. Physicochemical characterization of native glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine tripeptide for wound healing and anti-aging: a preformulation study for dermal delivery. Pharm Dev Technol. 2016;21(2):152-60. Cited here as the GHK-Cu measurement that has no AHK-Cu counterpart. PMID 25384620. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Johnson W Jr, Bergfeld WF, Belsito DV, Hill RA, Klaassen CD, et al. Safety assessment of tripeptide-1, hexapeptide-12, their metal salts and fatty acyl derivatives, and palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7 as used in cosmetics. Int J Toxicol. 2018;37(3_suppl):90S-102S. DOI 10.1177/1091581818807863, given in place of a PMID because no PubMed record for this supplement article was located. Final CIR report June 2014. Full text searched for AHK and Tripeptide-3 with no hits. View on doi.org
- Kuceki G, Coppinger AJ, Ragi SD, et al. Enhanced hair regrowth with five monthly sessions of minoxidil-dutasteride-copper peptides tattooing for androgenetic alopecia assessed by artificial intelligence and blinded evaluators. JAAD Int. 2025;20:38-40. PMID 40225275. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- PubChem compound records CID 168431292 (AHK-Cu monohydrochloride), CID 178189140 (CAS 767286-83-9) and CID 7408502 (free AHK), with synonym lists, queried via PUG REST 18 August 2026. National Library of Medicine. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, ALANYLHISTIDYLLYSINE, UNII 1AVY5QO8WR, CAS 126828-32-8. No registry entry for the AHK copper complex was returned; PREZATIDE COPPER (UNII 6BJQ43T1I9) is the GHK complex. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov API queries for AHK-Cu and for alanyl-histidyl-lysine, run 18 August 2026: zero studies returned for either term. EU CosIng ingredient database queried the same day for Copper Tripeptide-3 across its search, rest and api paths and via api.tech.ec.europa.eu: no record retrievable. View on clinicaltrials.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.