Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
GHK-Cu (Prezatide Copper)
GHK-Cu is the copper(II) complex of the tripeptide glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine, registered by the FDA under UNII 6BJQ43T1I9 as prezatide copper. Unusually for a compound in this category, it has been through randomised trials in people, and those trials disagree with each other. The largest of them, a 511-patient trial across diabetic ulcers and other wound types, failed to separate from control in October 1994 and never reached the peer-reviewed literature. Six PubChem records answer to the name GHK-Cu.
- Class
- Copper(II) complex of a tripeptide; small metallopeptide
- CAS number
- 89030-95-5 for prezatide copper, the 1:1 complex (FDA UNII 6BJQ43T1I9). Free GHK tripeptide 49557-75-7. Bis-prezatide copper 130120-56-8. Prezatide copper acetate 130120-57-9.
- PubChem CID
- 71587328 (prezatide copper, carries CAS 89030-95-5). Also 73587 (metal-free GHK), 165429100 (neutral 1:1 complex, C14H22CuN6O4, 401.91) and 139035031 (1:1 anion, C14H21CuN6O4−, 400.90), and 9831891 and 133697840 (bis complexes)
- Molecular formula
- C14H22N6O4.Cu per FDA GSRS; PubChem CID 71587328 gives C14H23CuN6O4+ under the same UNII. Free GHK is C14H24N6O4.
- Molecular weight
- 401.9085 g/mol per FDA GSRS; 402.92 per PubChem CID 71587328 under the same CAS and UNII. Free GHK 340.38.
- Sequence
- Gly-L-His-L-Lys (glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine), complexed with Cu(II)
- Also indexed as
- Prezatide copper, copper tripeptide-1, Cu-GHK, GHK copper, tripeptide-1 copper
Six database records answer to one name
A PubChem name search for GHK-Cu returns six compound identifiers. CID 73587 is the metal-free tripeptide, C14H24N6O4 at 340.38 g/mol, CAS 49557-75-7. CID 71587328 is prezatide copper, C14H23CuN6O4+ at 402.92, CAS 89030-95-5. CID 165429100 is a neutral 1:1 complex, C14H22CuN6O4 at 401.91, with no registry number attached. CID 139035031 is a 1:1 anion, C14H21CuN6O4 minus, at 400.90. CID 9831891 is bis-prezatide copper, C28H46CuN12O8 at 742.3, CAS 130120-56-8, and CID 133697840 is a related bis form at 744.3 carrying CAS 300801-03-0, a registry number that CID 9831891 also lists among its own synonyms.
The FDA record does not agree with the PubChem record that carries its own identifier. Global Substance Registration System UNII 6BJQ43T1I9, name PREZATIDE COPPER, status approved, gives the formula as C14H22N6O4.Cu with a molecular weight of 401.9085 and CAS 89030-95-5. PubChem CID 71587328 carries that same CAS number and that same UNII and reports 402.92 for a cationic form one hydrogen heavier. The gap is about one dalton. It is small, it is the sort of thing an automated structure normalisation produces, and it means the two authoritative records for the same registered substance state different masses.
Synonym lists compound the problem rather than resolving it. The metal-free peptide record, CID 73587, lists GHK-Cu, Copper Peptide and Tripeptide-1 among its synonyms alongside Prezatide, so a record for a molecule containing no copper is indexed under the name of its copper complex. The same list also carries a cedarwood-oil trade designation, which is a useful reminder that these synonym sets are machine-assembled and not curated. Across the six records listed above the quoted masses span 340.38 to 744.3 g/mol, a factor of 2.19, so any molar figure quoted without naming the stoichiometry, charge state and salt form is ambiguous over that range.
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro-MMP-2 and activated MMP-2 increased during the later stages of healing, at day 18 and/or day 22; MMP-9 expression persisted in treated chambers to day 22; interstitial collagenase activity unchanged | Sprague-Dawley rats with implanted subcutaneous wound chambers | Serial 2 mg injections into the wound chamber | Not stated in the retrieved report | Simeon 1999, J Invest Dermatol, PMID 10383745 |
| Simeon 2000 reported that the increase in MMP-2 was reproduced by copper ions alone and not by the GHK tripeptide alone. Choi 2012 reported that copper-free GHK increased keratinocyte proliferation, stemness markers and integrin expression. Neither retrieved abstract states an effect size or a group size. | Cultured human dermal fibroblasts (Simeon 2000); cultured human keratinocytes and skin-equivalent models (Choi 2012) | In-medium exposure, in vitro | Not stated in the retrieved reports | Simeon 2000, Life Sci, PMID 11045606; Choi 2012, J Pept Sci, PMID 23019153 |
| Day-13 decrease from initial wound area 64.5% (copper complex) vs 45.6% (vehicle) vs 28.2% (untreated); treated wounds carried lower TNF-alpha, MMP-2 and MMP-9 at days 6, 10 and 13 | Adult male Sprague-Dawley rats, 6 mm full-thickness wounds within ischaemic bipedicle skin flaps | Topical, daily, 13 days | 24 | Canapp 2003, Vet Surg, PMID 14648529 |
| Median area percentage closure of plantar ulcers 98.5% vs 60.8% vehicle (p<0.05); 89.2% vs -10.3% in ulcers above 100 mm2 at entry (p<0.01); ulcer infection 7% vs 34% (p<0.05) | Patients with diabetes and neuropathic plantar ulcers, multicentre | Topical gel, daily metered dose, after sharp debridement | Not stated in the retrieved report | Mulder 1994, Wound Repair Regen, PMID 17147644 |
| No difference in ulcer size reduction between 0.4% tripeptide-copper complex cream and inert vehicle; 1% silver sulfadiazine reduced ulcer size relative to both | Adults with venous stasis ulcers, evaluator-blinded randomised three-arm trial | Topical cream | 86 evaluable | Bishop 1992, J Vasc Surg, PMID 1495150 |
| No significant difference between groups in erythema resolution, wrinkle improvement or skin quality by computer analysis and blinded evaluators; patient-questionnaire skin quality differed at P=0.04 | Patients after circumoral carbon dioxide laser resurfacing | Topical post-treatment skin regimen, 12 weeks | 13 completed | Miller 2006, Arch Facial Plast Surg, PMID 16847171 |
| Six-month hair-count increase 52.6 at the higher strength, 71.5 at the lower and 9.6 on placebo; only the lower strength differed significantly from placebo; no difference in hair length or thickness | Men with pattern hair loss; agent was a complex of 5-aminolevulinic acid and GHK, not GHK-Cu alone | Topical, once daily, 6 months | 45 across three groups | Lee 2016, Ann Dermatol, PMID 27489425 |
| Conditional Cu(II) dissociation constant 7.0 +/- 1.0 x 10^-14 M for GHK at pH 7.4 against 2.6 +/- 0.4 x 10^-14 M for DAHK, predominantly 1:1 stoichiometry (Trapaidze). Log D between -2.38 and -2.49 across pH 4.5 to 7.4, and three degradation products identified under stress, one of them free histidine (Badenhorst). | Cell-free physicochemical assays; no biological system | Not applicable | Not applicable | Trapaidze 2012, J Biol Inorg Chem, PMID 21898044; Badenhorst 2016, Pharm Dev Technol, PMID 25384620 |
| Permeability coefficient through dermatomed skin 2.43 +/- 0.51 x 10^-4 cm/h; 136.2 +/- 17.5 ug/cm2 copper permeated and 82 +/- 8.1 ug/cm2 retained over 48 hours, applied as the cuprate diacetate at 0.68% aqueous copper | Isolated human stratum corneum, heat-separated epidermis and dermatomed skin, ex vivo | Topical, flow-through diffusion cells, infinite dose | Not stated in the retrieved report | Hostynek 2010, Inflamm Res, PMID 20703511 |
| After a single intravenous dose GHK was rapidly degraded to the dipeptide His-Lys, which was itself eliminated rapidly; assay limits of detection 50 ng/mL for GHK and 15 ng/mL for His-Lys | Rats | Intravenous, single dose | Not stated in the retrieved report | Endo 1997, J Chromatogr B, PMID 9187381 |
| 127 genes tracked regional emphysema severity; the Broad Institute Connectivity Map nominated GHK as reversing that signature, and GHK-treated human fibroblasts reproduced TGF-beta-associated expression, organised actin and raised integrin beta-1 | Lung tissue from smokers with COPD, 8 regions from each of 8 lungs; follow-up in human fibroblasts | Not applicable (tissue profiling); in-medium exposure for the fibroblast work | 64 tissue samples | Campbell 2012, Genome Med, PMID 22937864 |
| Lifespan extended, with reported improvement in oxidative and thermal stress resistance, motility, pharyngeal pumping and defecation rhythm, reduced lipofuscin and lipid accumulation, mitochondrial dynamics shifted toward fusion via drp-1 and fzo-1, and DAF-16 and SKN-1 activation. The retrieved abstract states no percentage lifespan extension and no exposure concentration. | Caenorhabditis elegans; strain not stated in the retrieved abstract | Exposure in culture medium; concentration not stated in the retrieved abstract | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Wen 2026, Biogerontology, PMID 42084774 |
| GHK is present in human plasma at an average of 200 ng/mL at age 20, declining to an average of 80 ng/mL by age 60. | This pair of figures is the most repeated quantitative statement about the compound. It appears in the opening sentence of the abstract of Dou 2020 (PMID 35083444) and in the introduction of Pickart 2015 (PMID 26236730), in both cases with no citation attached to the sentence carrying it. The PubMed query (GHK OR glycyl-histidyl-lysine) AND (plasma OR serum) AND concentration AND age returned 1 record, PMID 40578550, which is a cell-free DNA oncology study matching on unrelated terms. Dropping the age term, the query (GHK OR glycyl-histidyl-lysine) AND (plasma OR serum) AND concentration returned 31 records, none of which is a primary measurement of GHK concentration in human plasma stratified by age; the closest methodological work, Endo 1997 (PMID 9187381), is an HPLC assay validated in rat plasma. The one registered study proposing to measure circulating GHK and GHK-Cu in humans, NCT07706361, is a placebo-controlled trial of a transdermal patch device with an estimated start of January 2027; it administers no GHK-Cu and would not establish an age-stratified reference range. | No source found | ||
| GHK is capable of up- and downregulating at least 4,000 human genes, essentially resetting DNA to a healthier state. | Stated in the abstract of Pickart 2015 (PMID 26236730) and repeated in Pickart 2014 (PMID 25302294) and Pickart 2017 (PMID 28212278), none of which attaches a primary citation to the number. The underlying experimental work those reviews cite is Campbell 2012 (PMID 22937864), which reports 127 emphysema-associated genes across 64 lung tissue samples and a Broad Institute Connectivity Map query. No primary paper reporting a 4,000-gene result, and no dataset accession supporting one, was located in PubMed. The figure appears to be a count of returns from a similarity query rather than a measurement. | No source found | ||
| In a human trial, topical GHK-Cu increased collagen production in 70% of volunteers, outperforming vitamin C and retinoic acid. | Traced to Abdulghani and colleagues, Disease Management and Clinical Outcomes 1998;1(4):136-141, a pilot histological and ultrastructural study. That journal is catalogued by the National Library of Medicine as NLM ID 9708203, ran from 1997 to 2001, and has a current indexing status of N; a PubMed search restricted to that journal returns zero records, and a PubMed author search on Abdulghani AA returns seven records, none of them this paper. The paper therefore has no PMID and no abstract retrievable through PubMed. Institutional repository listings confirm it exists; the responder counts quoted for it on secondary pages could not be checked against the text. | No source found | ||
| GHK-Cu is a hair-growth promoter with fewer side effects than minoxidil or finasteride. | This comparison is asserted in the opening sentence of Liu 2024 (PMID 38026438), a materials-science paper on ionic-liquid microemulsion delivery, with no supporting citation and no comparator arm in the study itself. The PubMed query copper peptide AND minoxidil returned six records, none of which is a head-to-head trial. The only randomised human hair trial located, Lee 2016 (PMID 27489425), tested GHK combined with 5-aminolevulinic acid against placebo, not against either drug, and reported no difference in hair length or thickness. | No source found | ||
| GHK-Cu has anti-anxiety and anti-pain effects. | Listed among the compound's properties in Pickart 2017 (PMID 28212278) without a primary citation for either. The one primary test located does not support the anxiety half of the claim: Alferova and colleagues 2025 (PMID 41511598) assessed GHK, Pro-Gly-Pro and several proline-containing conjugates in the Vogel punished-behaviour conflict test in rats and reported that GHK alone produced no anxiolytic effect, while PGP, GHK-PGP, GHK-P and GHK-GP each produced one at some doses; the authors attributed the conjugate's effect to PGP acting in the absence of a blocking effect of GHK. No primary analgesia study of GHK-Cu was located. | No source found | ||
| Half-life, bioavailability and systemic exposure figures for injected GHK-Cu in humans. | Numbers of this kind circulate on aggregator pages and in forum summaries. No human pharmacokinetic study of GHK-Cu by any route was located in PubMed. The query GHK AND pharmacokinetics returned 13 records and the query GHK-Cu AND pharmacokinetics returned 10; across both, the only administration study is Endo 1997 (PMID 9187381), a single intravenous dose in rats supporting an assay-development paper. ClinicalTrials.gov returns no pharmacokinetic study of this compound. Every human exposure figure in circulation is therefore an extrapolation, and none states the species it was extrapolated from. | No source found | ||
| GHK-Cu is FDA approved. | The FDA Global Substance Registration System record for prezatide copper (UNII 6BJQ43T1I9, CAS 89030-95-5) carries the status 'approved', which in that database records a validated substance definition rather than an authorised medicine. Contemporaneous reporting dated 7 February 1996 describes the actual agency action as clearance of a wound-care product with the wound-healing drug claim expressly prohibited, following the failure of the 511-patient trial in October 1994. The openFDA Drugs@FDA endpoint, queried on the substance name, the developer's trade designation for the gel, and both peptide names, returned no matching drug product for any of them. | No source found | ||
What the rodent and rabbit wound models measured
Maquart and colleagues, publishing in the Journal of Clinical Investigation in 1993, implanted stainless steel wire mesh cylinders subcutaneously in rats and injected either saline or a range of GHK-Cu concentrations into the chamber. Dry weight, DNA, total protein, collagen and glycosaminoglycan content all rose with concentration. Stimulation of collagen synthesis was twice that of non-collagen proteins. Type I and type III collagen mRNAs increased while TGF-beta mRNAs did not, and a control tripeptide, L-glutamyl-L-histidyl-L-proline, produced no significant effect. Group sizes are not stated in the retrieved report.
Simeon and colleagues used the same chamber model in Sprague-Dawley rats in 1999, with serial 2 mg injections. Pro-MMP-2 and activated MMP-2 rose during the later stages of healing, at day 18 and/or day 22, MMP-9 expression persisted in treated chambers to day 22, and interstitial collagenase activity was unchanged. Their 2000 follow-up reported that the MMP-2 increase was reproduced by copper ions alone and not by the tripeptide alone (PMID 11045606).
Topical work is more recent and better quantified. Canapp and colleagues in 2003 created 6 mm full-thickness wounds inside ischaemic bipedicle skin flaps on 24 adult male Sprague-Dawley rats and traced margins daily for 13 days; the decrease from initial wound area at day 13 was 64.5% with the copper complex, 45.6% with vehicle and 28.2% untreated, and treated biopsies carried lower TNF-alpha, MMP-2 and MMP-9. Cangul and colleagues in 2006 randomised 18 New Zealand rabbits across copper complex, zinc oxide and no treatment, applying daily for 21 days, and reported smaller mean unhealed area than untreated control at days 7, 14 and 21.
What happened when it was tested in people
Two trials from the 1990s point in opposite directions. Mulder and colleagues reported a multicentre, randomised, evaluator-blinded, placebo-controlled study of a copper-peptide gel in diabetic neuropathic ulcers in 1994: median area percentage closure of plantar ulcers was 98.5% against 60.8% for vehicle, the difference was larger in ulcers above 100 mm-squared at entry, at 89.2% against minus 10.3%, and ulcer infection occurred in 7% of treated plantar ulcers against 34% on vehicle. The report does not state enrolment numbers in the retrievable record.
Bishop and colleagues had already published the opposite result in the Journal of Vascular Surgery in 1992. Eighty-six evaluable patients with venous stasis ulcers completed a prospective randomised evaluator-blinded comparison of 1% silver sulfadiazine cream, a 0.4% tripeptide-copper complex cream and an inert vehicle. Silver sulfadiazine reduced ulcer size relative to the other two arms. Between the copper complex and the placebo there was no difference. That is a null result in venous stasis ulcers, published in a major surgical journal.
The decisive dataset was never published at all. Contemporaneous trade and newspaper reporting records that in October 1994 the developer completed a 511-patient trial, across diabetic ulcers and other wound types, in which the gel failed to outperform control, although it was recorded as safe, and that this ended the effort to register the compound as a drug. A Seattle Times report dated 7 February 1996 describes the eventual FDA action as clearance of a wound-care product with the wound-healing drug claim expressly prohibited. PubMed returns no publication corresponding to a 511-patient trial of this compound. The largest human dataset that exists on GHK-Cu is a negative one, and it exists only as journalism.
Later human work is small and mostly cosmetic. Miller and colleagues in 2006 randomised patients undergoing carbon dioxide laser resurfacing to post-treatment regimens with or without GHK-Cu; thirteen completed, blinded evaluators and computer analysis found no significant difference in erythema resolution, wrinkles or skin quality, and the only significant difference was on a patient questionnaire, at P equal to 0.04. Lee and colleagues in 2016 treated 45 men with pattern hair loss using a complex of 5-aminolevulinic acid and GHK at two strengths or placebo for six months; hair-count change was 52.6 at the higher strength, 71.5 at the lower and 9.6 on placebo, and only the lower strength separated from placebo. Neither trial isolates GHK-Cu.
The gene-expression claim and its actual source
Campbell and colleagues profiled gene expression across eight regions from each of eight lungs from smokers with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, 64 samples in total, quantifying regional emphysema severity by mean linear intercept from micro-CT. They identified 127 genes whose expression tracked emphysema severity, then queried the Broad Institute Connectivity Map for compounds whose expression signature ran opposite to that pattern. GHK came back as a hit. Treating human fibroblasts with GHK reproduced TGF-beta-associated expression patterns, organised the actin cytoskeleton and raised integrin beta-1. The paper appeared in Genome Medicine in 2012.
Campbell 2012 is the primary experimental work underneath the gene-regulation literature on this compound. A Connectivity Map hit is a computational nomination generated by matching transcriptional signatures across a reference library; it identifies a candidate for testing, and Campbell's group then did test one, in fibroblasts, on a narrow readout. The step from 127 emphysema-associated genes in 64 lung samples to the figure of 4,000 genes that circulates is not documented in any primary paper. Reviews by the compound's original discoverer state it directly, without a citation attached to the sentence.
Scale matters here in a specific way. The 127-gene signature is a measurement made on human tissue with a defined severity metric. The 4,000-gene figure is a count of records returned by a similarity query against a compound-perturbation database, which is a different kind of object entirely and is not an experimental result about any tissue. Both appear in the same secondary paragraphs, usually without the distinction being drawn.
Copper binding, skin penetration, and the systemic question
Trapaidze and colleagues used isothermal titration calorimetry with glycine as a weaker competing ligand and reported a conditional dissociation constant of 7.0 plus or minus 1.0 times ten to the minus fourteen molar for GHK at pH 7.4, against 2.6 plus or minus 0.4 times ten to the minus fourteen for the albumin-derived DAHK motif, with predominantly 1:1 stoichiometry. Conato and colleagues had earlier characterised the equilibria by potentiometry, calorimetry and spectroscopy, and concluded that complex formation is driven by the N-terminal glycine while the histidine residue does not appear to play a specific role.
Penetration has been measured on human tissue but not in a living person. Hostynek and colleagues applied the compound as the cuprate diacetate at 0.68% aqueous copper to isolated stratum corneum, heat-separated epidermis and dermatomed human skin in flow-through diffusion cells, and reported a permeability coefficient through dermatomed skin of 2.43 plus or minus 0.51 times ten to the minus four centimetres per hour, with 136.2 plus or minus 17.5 micrograms per square centimetre of copper crossing and 82 plus or minus 8.1 retained as a depot over 48 hours. Badenhorst and colleagues measured log D between minus 2.38 and minus 2.49 across pH 4.5 to 7.4, confirming a strongly hydrophilic molecule, and identified three degradation products under stress, one of them free histidine.
Systemic behaviour is characterised in one species only. Endo and colleagues developed an HPLC assay for rat plasma in 1997 and applied it after a single intravenous dose: GHK was rapidly degraded to the dipeptide His-Lys, which was itself eliminated rapidly. No human pharmacokinetic study of GHK-Cu by any route was located in PubMed. Every figure in circulation describing what happens to injected material in a person is therefore an extrapolation from a rat assay paper whose stated purpose was method development.
The registered record and the 2026 literature
ClinicalTrials.gov returns three studies mentioning this compound. NCT07437586 is a phase 2, randomised, quadruple-masked, vehicle-controlled split-wound study of a topical GHK-Cu gel at 0.1% w/w applied once daily for 14 days in 60 healthy adults; it began on 2 February 2026, is recruiting at a single site and has posted no outcome data. NCT05932732 is a completed 27-participant facial-skin study in which a GHK-Cu-containing serum was one component of a device protocol rather than an isolated variable. NCT07706361 is a two-part, placebo-controlled trial of a transdermal patch device, registered as not yet recruiting with a planned 100 participants and an estimated start of January 2027; it administers no GHK-Cu and proposes only to measure endogenous circulating GHK and GHK-Cu concentrations in healthy adults. No registered trial has reported an outcome.
Preclinical output continues and has widened past dermatology. Wen and colleagues reported in Biogerontology in 2026 that GHK-Cu extended lifespan in Caenorhabditis elegans and shifted mitochondrial dynamics toward fusion, with DAF-16 and SKN-1 pathway activation (PMID 42084774). Mazzola and colleagues posted a bioRxiv preprint in 2026 (doi 10.64898/2026.04.09.717524, posted 13 April 2026) comparing intraperitoneal and intranasal delivery of 15 mg/kg in C57BL/6J mice aged 20 to 21 months: eight weeks of intranasal dosing improved escape latency in both sexes across trials 2 to 4, while five days of intraperitoneal dosing produced only a transient improvement in males, alongside divergent hippocampal transcriptional programmes; that manuscript has not been peer reviewed. Alferova and colleagues, testing the Vogel conflict paradigm in 2025, reported that GHK itself produced no anxiolytic effect, in contrast to proline-containing analogues (PMID 41511598).
Regulatory position has not changed since 1996. Copper tripeptide-1 appears in cosmetic formulations and the FDA substance record for prezatide copper is marked approved in the registration sense, which records an identified substance rather than an authorised medicine. No jurisdiction has approved GHK-Cu as a drug for any indication, and no injectable presentation has been authorised anywhere. Two 2026 reviews in sports-medicine journals, by Mendias and Awan (PMID 41966639) and by Tewari and colleagues (PMID 42578445), place it explicitly within the category of unapproved peptides sold direct to patients and note the scarcity of rigorous human safety data across that category.
What is not known
No completed trial has established a clinical outcome for GHK-Cu, and the largest trial ever run on it is not in the literature at all: the 511-patient study that ended the drug programme in October 1994 exists only in contemporaneous trade and newspaper reporting, so its design, endpoints, effect estimates and adverse-event tables cannot be read by anyone. The two published trials in chronic wounds disagree, one reporting a large difference against vehicle in diabetic neuropathic ulcers and the other none in venous stasis ulcers, and neither has been replicated. Enrolment numbers are absent from the retrievable record for the positive one. Everything downstream of the skin is uncharacterised in humans: no pharmacokinetic study by any route, no bioavailability figure, no tissue distribution, no repeat-exposure data, and no study addressing whether repeatedly delivering a chelated copper load perturbs systemic copper homeostasis. The single administration study in any species, Endo 1997, found the peptide degraded rapidly to a dipeptide after intravenous dosing in rats, and no work has followed it up. The mechanistic literature has an unresolved attribution problem, since Simeon 2000 reported that copper ions alone reproduced the metalloproteinase effect and the tripeptide alone did not. Nothing addresses use in pregnancy, in children, in people with impaired copper handling, or over any period longer than the six months of the hair trial. GHK-Cu is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and no injectable presentation has been authorised anywhere.
Questions
Has GHK-Cu been tested in humans?
Is GHK-Cu FDA approved?
Why does GHK-Cu have so many different molecular weights?
Where does the claim about 4,000 genes come from?
Is the peptide or the copper doing the work?
References
- Maquart FX, Bellon G, Chaqour B, et al. In vivo stimulation of connective tissue accumulation by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+ in rat experimental wounds. J Clin Invest. 1993;92(5):2368-76. PMID 8227353. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Bishop JB, Phillips LG, Mustoe TA, et al. A prospective randomized evaluator-blinded trial of two potential wound healing agents for the treatment of venous stasis ulcers. J Vasc Surg. 1992;16(2):251-7. PMID 1495150. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mulder GD, Patt LM, Sanders L, et al. Enhanced healing of ulcers in patients with diabetes by topical treatment with glycyl-l-histidyl-l-lysine copper. Wound Repair Regen. 1994;2(4):259-69. PMID 17147644. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Simeon A, Monier F, Emonard H, et al. Expression and activation of matrix metalloproteinases in wounds: modulation by the tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+. J Invest Dermatol. 1999;112(6):957-64. PMID 10383745. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Simeon A, Emonard H, Hornebeck W, Maquart FX. The tripeptide-copper complex glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu2+ stimulates matrix metalloproteinase-2 expression by fibroblast cultures. Life Sci. 2000;67(18):2257-65. PMID 11045606. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Conato C, Gavioli R, Guerrini R, et al. Copper complexes of glycyl-histidyl-lysine and two of its synthetic analogues: chemical behaviour and biological activity. Biochim Biophys Acta. 2001;1526(2):199-210. PMID 11325542. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Canapp SO, Farese JP, Schultz GS, et al. The effect of topical tripeptide-copper complex on healing of ischemic open wounds. Vet Surg. 2003;32(6):515-23. PMID 14648529. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Miller TR, Wagner JD, Baack BR, Eisbach KJ. Effects of topical copper tripeptide complex on CO2 laser-resurfaced skin. Arch Facial Plast Surg. 2006;8(4):252-9. PMID 16847171. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cangul IT, Gul NY, Topal A, Yilmaz R. Evaluation of the effects of topical tripeptide-copper complex and zinc oxide on open-wound healing in rabbits. Vet Dermatol. 2006;17(6):417-23. PMID 17083573. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Endo T, Miyagi M, Ujiie A. Simultaneous determination of glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine and its metabolite, L-histidyl-L-lysine, in rat plasma by high-performance liquid chromatography with post-column derivatization. J Chromatogr B Biomed Sci Appl. 1997;692(1):37-42. PMID 9187381. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hostynek JJ, Dreher F, Maibach HI. Human skin retention and penetration of a copper tripeptide in vitro as function of skin layer towards anti-inflammatory therapy. Inflamm Res. 2010;59(11):983-8. PMID 20703511. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Trapaidze A, Hureau C, Bal W, et al. Thermodynamic study of Cu2+ binding to the DAHK and GHK peptides by isothermal titration calorimetry (ITC) with the weaker competitor glycine. J Biol Inorg Chem. 2012;17(1):37-47. PMID 21898044. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Campbell JD, McDonough JE, Zeskind JE, et al. A gene expression signature of emphysema-related lung destruction and its reversal by the tripeptide GHK. Genome Med. 2012;4(8):67. PMID 22937864. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Choi HR, Kang YA, Ryoo SJ, et al. Stem cell recovering effect of copper-free GHK in skin. J Pept Sci. 2012;18(11):685-90. PMID 23019153. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Badenhorst T, Svirskis D, Wu Z. Physicochemical characterization of native glycyl-l-histidyl-l-lysine tripeptide for wound healing and anti-aging: a preformulation study for dermal delivery. Pharm Dev Technol. 2016;21(2):152-60. PMID 25384620. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lee WJ, Sim HB, Jang YH, et al. Efficacy of a complex of 5-aminolevulinic acid and glycyl-histidyl-lysine peptide on hair growth. Ann Dermatol. 2016;28(4):438-43. PMID 27489425. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Alferova ME, Bobyntsev II, Vorvul AO, Tenkova AN. Anxiolytic effect of GHK-PGP peptide and its structural analogues in a test with punished behavior. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2025;179(5):575-8. PMID 41511598. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wen H, Zhao K, Luo X, et al. The GHK-Cu delays aging in Caenorhabditis elegans via coordinated regulation of mitochondrial function and activation of DAF-16/SKN-1 pathways. Biogerontology. 2026;27(3):100. PMID 42084774. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.