Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
LL-37 (Cathelicidin): An Evidence Ledger
LL-37 is the 37-residue C-terminal fragment of hCAP18, the product of the only cathelicidin gene identified in the human genome, and it carries an International Nonproprietary Name, ropocamptide. Two randomised topical trials have been run in venous leg ulcers: a 34-patient dose-finding study that reported a healing difference, and the 148-patient phase 2b that followed and did not. This page records what each study measured, in which population, and separates the figures that trace to a source from the ones that do not.
- Class
- Cathelicidin-family cationic host defence peptide; the C-terminal fragment of human hCAP18, encoded by CAMP
- CAS number
- 154947-66-7
- PubChem CID
- 16198951
- Molecular formula
- C205H340N60O53
- Molecular weight
- ≈4493 g/mol (exact mass 4492.58)
- Sequence
- LLGDFFRKSKEKIGKEFKRIVQRIKDFLRNLVPRTES (37 residues)
- Also indexed as
- Cathelicidin LL-37; hCAP18/LL-37; ropocamptide (INN); originally FALL-39 / FA-LL-37; UNII 3DD771JO2H; ChEMBL530345
What the molecule is, and how it was named
In 1995 a group at Stockholm University screened a human bone-marrow cDNA library with a probe built from the pig gene PR-39, looking for a human counterpart to that peptide. Eight clones came back carrying something else. Agerberth and colleagues described a 39-residue peptide with no cysteine and no tryptophan, named FALL-39 after its first four residues, encoded by a 170-residue cathelin-like precursor and transcribed mainly in bone marrow and testis. The synthetic peptide was active against Escherichia coli and Bacillus megaterium in basal medium E. The name did not last. When Gudmundsson's group sequenced the gene and recovered the peptide from degranulated granulocytes, the mature species began two residues later and ran 37 amino acids.
That mature species is LL-37, and the identity data check out cleanly. The sequence is LLGDFFRKSKEKIGKEFKRIVQRIKDFLRNLVPRTES, the formula C205H340N60O53, the molecular weight approximately 4493 g/mol, the CAS number 154947-66-7 and the PubChem identifier CID 16198951, with FDA UNII 3DD771JO2H recorded against the International Nonproprietary Name ropocamptide. hCAP18 is cleaved extracellularly to LL-37 by proteinase 3 following neutrophil exocytosis (Sørensen 2001, Blood 97:3951-9, PMID 11389039). Gudmundsson's 1996 gene paper concluded that this gene, then called FALL39 and now CAMP, is the only member of the cathelin family present in the human genome.
Homologues are a recurring source of confusion here, and one of them is embedded in the chemical databases themselves. The PubChem record for the human peptide carries, among its synonyms, a designation for the rabbit CAP18 fragment, which is a different molecule. Mouse work is usually done with CRAMP, which shares 67% sequence identity, and rabbit work with CAP-18. Overhage and colleagues showed in 2008 that the homologues are not interchangeable: at subinhibitory concentrations LL-37 inhibited biofilm formation and CRAMP did not. A rodent result reported under the heading of cathelicidin is therefore not automatically a result about LL-37.
Claim ledger
12 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Healing rate constants approximately six-fold and three-fold higher than placebo at 0.5 mg/mL (p = 0.003) and 1.6 mg/mL (p = 0.088); mean ulcer area decreased 68% and 50% in those groups; the 3.2 mg/mL group showed no difference from placebo; no local or systemic safety concerns recorded | Adults with hard-to-heal venous leg ulcers | Topical, twice weekly for 4 weeks after a 3-week placebo run-in | 34 participants | Grönberg 2014, Wound Repair Regen, PMID 25041740 |
| No significant improvement in healing versus placebo in the full study population; a post hoc analysis found improvement on several interrelated healing parameters in the subgroup with target wounds of at least 10 cm squared at randomisation | Patients with hard-to-heal venous leg ulcers, mean age 67.6 years, median ulcer duration 20.3 months, mean wound area 11.6 cm squared | Topical, 0.5 or 1.6 mg/mL, alongside compression therapy | 148 patients | Mahlapuu 2021, Wound Repair Regen, PMID 34687253 |
| Phase 1/2 single-group study completed November 2020 with results posted; participant flow lists three participants across two cohorts, one withdrawing for lack of efficacy; no serious adverse events posted and eight other-event terms, none in more than one participant per cohort | Adults with melanoma, all aged 65 or over | Intratumoural injection, weekly | 4 registered enrolment; 3 in the posted participant flow | NCT02225366, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, results posted 9 December 2021 |
| Median change in plasma LL-37 at day 5 was −17% with placebo, 4% with 200,000 IU and 30% with 400,000 IU cholecalciferol (p = 0.04); change in LL-37 correlated with bioavailable 25-hydroxyvitamin D (Spearman rho 0.44, p = 0.03) but not with total 25-hydroxyvitamin D | Adult ICU patients with new-onset severe sepsis or septic shock | Oral cholecalciferol; LL-37 measured in plasma | 30 (10 per arm) | Quraishi 2015, Crit Care Med, PMID 26086941 |
| Vitamin D3 supplementation did not increase LL-37 in plasma or in macrophage extracellular fluid with or without TLR4 ligand stimulation; stimulated intracellular LL-37 expression was significantly reduced in the vitamin D group versus placebo (p = 0.02) and was inversely associated with serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D (p = 0.03); bactericidal capacity did not differ | Healthy pregnant women in Dhaka; cord-blood monocyte-derived macrophages | Oral vitamin D3, 0.875 mg weekly from 26 weeks of gestation to delivery | 129 women randomised | Raqib 2014, Br J Nutr, PMID 25089537 |
| Minimum inhibitory concentration below 10 micrograms per millilitre — an upper bound rather than a measured value — against P. aeruginosa, S. typhimurium, E. coli, L. monocytogenes, S. epidermidis, S. aureus and vancomycin-resistant enterococci in media containing 100 mM NaCl; MRSA, Proteus mirabilis and Candida albicans resistant at 100 mM NaCl but susceptible in low salt; Burkholderia cepacia resistant at either salt concentration | Bacterial and fungal isolates, cell-free assay | In vitro (radial diffusion and broth microdilution) | Not stated in abstract | Turner 1998, Antimicrob Agents Chemother, PMID 9736536 |
| Minimum inhibitory concentration against E. coli of 5 micromolar; cytotoxic to several eukaryotic cell types at 13 to 25 micromolar; in the presence of human serum both the antibacterial and the cytotoxic activities were inhibited; helical content tracked antibacterial activity, decreased gradually below pH 5 and was entirely lost at pH 2, while being retained above pH 13 | E. coli D21 and several eukaryotic cell lines; circular dichroism in defined ionic media | In vitro | Not stated in abstract | Johansson 1998, J Biol Chem, PMID 9452503 |
| Biofilm formation inhibited at 0.5 micrograms per millilitre against a minimum inhibitory concentration of 64 micrograms per millilitre, by decreased attachment, stimulated twitching motility and downregulation of the Las and Rhl quorum-sensing systems; the mouse homologue CRAMP, polymyxin B and Bac2A showed no such subinhibitory effect | Pseudomonas aeruginosa biofilms | In vitro | Not stated in abstract | Overhage 2008, Infect Immun, PMID 18591225 |
| Five of twelve acute wound fluids markedly inhibited the antibacterial action of LL-37, with inhibition significantly correlated with glycosaminoglycan content; heparin-plasma strongly inhibited the effect, and cationic polymers binding glycosaminoglycans restored it | Human wound fluids, plasma fractions and serum, tested against S. aureus and E. coli | In vitro (radial diffusion) | 12 wound fluids | Barańska-Rybak 2006, J Antimicrob Chemother, PMID 16387752 |
| LL-37 challenge caused release of ATP, IL-6 and IL-8 and produced cell death and lysis, associated with caspase-1 and caspase-8 activation but not caspase-3/7; all responses were blocked dose-dependently by pre-treatment with a synthetic glycosaminoglycan developed by a company in which two of the authors declare a financial interest | Human nasal epithelial cells and mouse J774.2 macrophages | In vitro | Not stated in abstract | Thomas 2017, PLoS One, PMID 28837619 |
| Neutralisation of LL-37 in vivo significantly reduced engraftment of multipotent mesenchymal stromal cells into ovarian tumour xenografts, inhibiting tumour growth and disrupting the fibrovascular network; LL-37-treated stromal cells released increased IL-6, IL-10, CCL5, VEGF and MMP-2 | Nude mice bearing ovarian tumour xenografts; human mesenchymal stromal cells in vitro | In vivo neutralisation in mice; in vitro exposure | Not stated in abstract | Coffelt 2009, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 19234121 |
| A gallium-67-labelled LL-37 variant given as an intravenous bolus cleared rapidly from blood, largely via the liver, with an appreciable fraction distributing temporarily to the lungs; given subcutaneously at the same dose it was absorbed following a two-phase kinetic model and cleared predominantly renally, with uptake into lymph nodes and spleen by both routes | Healthy mice | Intravenous bolus and subcutaneous, just over 20 micrograms, imaged by SPECT/CT over 48 hours | Not stated in abstract | Esposito 2024, Eur J Pharm Biopharm, PMID 38972467 |
| An LL-37 nasal spray eradicates MARCoNS, the multiple antibiotic-resistant coagulase-negative staphylococci described in chronic inflammatory response syndrome protocols. | No primary source exists for this. A PubMed search for "LL-37 MARCoNS" returned zero records, as did "cathelicidin LL-37 coagulase-negative staphylococci nasal colonization eradication". The only indexed paper on MARCoNS clearance located in this search (Front Endocrinol 2026, PMID 42077435) concerns circulating alpha-melanocyte stimulating hormone and does not involve LL-37. A ClinicalTrials.gov query returning every registered study naming LL-37 contains no nasal, sinus or MARCoNS study of the peptide. The claim appears to originate in protocol material that is not indexed in the biomedical literature. What the indexed literature does contain on nasal tissue points the other way: in Thomas 2017, human nasal epithelial cells and mouse J774.2 macrophages challenged with LL-37 in vitro underwent cell death and lysis (PMID 28837619). | No source found | ||
| Reconstituted LL-37 retains potency for a defined window of roughly 30 days under refrigeration. | PubMed searches for "LL-37 reconstitution stability storage lyophilised peptide potency" and "LL-37 half-life serum stability degradation kinetics" both returned zero records. No time-course, no HPLC purity curve and no aggregation assay for LL-37 in solution was located. The relevant published chemistry is about conformation rather than shelf life: Johansson 1998 (PMID 9452503) shows the peptide is disordered in water, becomes helical on addition of specific anions, loses helicity below pH 5, and undergoes a concentration-dependent transition consistent with oligomer formation. | No source found | ||
| LL-37 has a plasma half-life of a specified number of minutes. | No half-life figure for LL-37 in any species was traced. PubMed searches for "LL-37 pharmacokinetics plasma half-life clearance" and "LL-37 subcutaneous administration humans pharmacokinetics" returned zero records and one record respectively; the single record is Esposito 2024 (PMID 38972467), a SPECT/CT biodistribution study of a gallium-67-labelled variant in mice, which describes routes of clearance and a two-phase absorption model for the subcutaneous route but quotes no half-life in its abstract. The two human trials that administered LL-37 measured wound healing, not exposure. Any half-life quoted for this peptide is currently a figure without a measurement behind it. | No source found | ||
| LL-37 clears biofilms in the body, including in chronic sinus and wound infections. | The underlying in vitro figure is real and is often quoted accurately: Overhage 2008 (PMID 18591225) recorded inhibition of Pseudomonas aeruginosa biofilm formation at 0.5 micrograms per millilitre, far below the 64 micrograms per millilitre minimum inhibitory concentration, and an effect on pregrown biofilms. The extension to biofilm in a living body was not traced. No in vivo biofilm-eradication study of LL-37 and no clinical biofilm endpoint was located, and the full ClinicalTrials.gov list of studies naming LL-37 contains no biofilm trial. Barańska-Rybak 2006 (PMID 16387752) is the countervailing datum: glycosaminoglycan-rich wound fluid inhibited the peptide's antibacterial action in five of twelve samples tested. | No source found | ||
| LL-37 protects against SARS-CoV-2 by binding the spike protein. | This traces to binding and modelling work only. PubMed returns a 2025 Front Cell Infect Microbiol paper (PMID 41064641) reporting that LL-37 binds SARS-CoV-2 spike and the accessory proteins ORF7a and ORF8, and a 2021 Interdiscip Sci paper (PMID 34363600) in which the inhibition of spike-ACE2 binding is derived from molecular simulation rather than measured. PMID 34363600 carries a correction at Interdiscip Sci 2021;13(4):778 (PMID 34478041); it is not a retraction or expression of concern. No infection-outcome experiment in animals, and no clinical study of administered LL-37 in COVID-19, was located in PubMed or in the ClinicalTrials.gov list of studies naming LL-37. | No source found | ||
| LL-37 is useful against Lyme disease because it kills Borrelia burgdorferi. | The killing observation exists and is narrower than the claim. Lusitani 2002 (PMID 11920297) compared killing of B. burgdorferi by intact human polymorphonuclear leukocytes and by individual granule components, and found the spirochetes were killed by elastase, LL-37, bactericidal/permeability-increasing protein and human neutrophil peptide-1, while resisting azurocidin, proteinase 3 and lactoferrin. That is one component among several in a cell-free comparison, and the paper's own framing is the paradox of spirochete persistence in vivo despite this. No animal infection study and no registered clinical study of LL-37 in Lyme disease or post-treatment Lyme symptoms was located. | No source found | ||
The antibacterial figures, and the conditions attached to them
Turner and colleagues published the broadest early comparison in 1998, using radial diffusion and broth microdilution assays. They recorded minimum inhibitory concentrations below 10 micrograms per millilitre against Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Salmonella typhimurium, E. coli, Listeria monocytogenes, Staphylococcus epidermidis, Staphylococcus aureus and vancomycin-resistant enterococci, in media containing 100 mM sodium chloride. Three organisms behaved differently: methicillin-resistant S. aureus, Proteus mirabilis and Candida albicans were resistant at 100 mM salt but susceptible in low-salt media. Burkholderia cepacia resisted LL-37, protegrin and HNP-1 at either salt concentration. The same study reported high-affinity, positively cooperative binding to E. coli lipopolysaccharide, with a Hill coefficient of 2.02.
Johansson and colleagues, working in the same year on conformation, put a second set of numbers on the record and a limit beside them. LL-37 is disordered in water, adopts a helical structure on addition of bicarbonate, sulphate or trifluoroacetate, and loses helicity below pH 5. Helical content tracked antibacterial activity. The minimum inhibitory concentration against E. coli was 5 micromolar, and at 13 to 25 micromolar the peptide was cytotoxic to several eukaryotic cell types. In human serum, both the antibacterial and the cytotoxic activities were inhibited.
Overhage and colleagues reported a third figure that does not reconcile with the first. Against P. aeruginosa they recorded a minimum inhibitory concentration of 64 micrograms per millilitre, while biofilm formation was inhibited at 0.5 micrograms per millilitre through reduced attachment, stimulated twitching motility and downregulation of the Las and Rhl quorum-sensing systems. The three published figures do not convert into a single comparable series. Turner reported only an upper bound, below 10 micrograms per millilitre, which at this molecular weight is below roughly 2.2 micromolar; Johansson reported a measured 5 micromolar, and Overhage a measured 64 micrograms per millilitre, or approximately 14.2 micromolar. The published inhibitory concentrations therefore sit at or below approximately 14 micromolar, with one of the three unquantified at the low end, against different strains in different media by different methods. Averaging them into a single figure would produce a number that no experiment measured.
Biological fluid interferes further. Barańska-Rybak and colleagues tested LL-37 against S. aureus and E. coli in twelve human wound fluids, plasma fractions and serum, and found that five of the twelve acute wound fluids markedly inhibited its antibacterial action, with inhibition correlating with glycosaminoglycan content measured by Alcian Blue binding. Heparin-plasma strongly inhibited the effect. Cationic polymers that bind glycosaminoglycans restored activity.
The venous leg ulcer programme
The rationale for treating chronic wounds came from an observation about endogenous peptide, not from an antibacterial argument. Heilborn and colleagues reported in 2003 that hCAP18 levels in human skin rose after wounding, peaking at 48 hours and falling to pre-injury levels on closure, with the protein detected in the migrating epithelium over the wound bed. In chronic ulcers, levels were low and immunoreactivity was absent from ulcer-edge epithelium. In organ-cultured human skin, affinity-purified antibodies against LL-37 inhibited re-epithelialisation in a concentration-dependent way, and the proliferation marker Ki67 was absent from the epithelium of inhibited wounds.
Grönberg and colleagues ran the first-in-man study on that basis. Thirty-four participants with hard-to-heal venous leg ulcers went through a three-week open-label run-in on placebo, then a four-week randomised double-blind phase with twice-weekly application of LL-37 at 0.5, 1.6 or 3.2 mg/mL or placebo, then four weeks of follow-up. Healing rate constants were approximately six-fold and three-fold higher than placebo at 0.5 and 1.6 mg/mL, with p values of 0.003 and 0.088. Mean ulcer area fell 68% and 50% in those two groups. The highest concentration showed no difference from placebo, a non-monotonic pattern that secondary summaries of this trial rarely carry.
Mahlapuu and colleagues then ran the phase 2b. One hundred and forty-eight patients with hard-to-heal venous leg ulcers received 0.5 or 1.6 mg/mL or placebo alongside compression therapy. Mean age was 67.6 years, median ulcer duration 20.3 months and mean wound size at randomisation 11.6 cm squared. The efficacy analysis on the full study population identified no significant improvement over placebo. A post hoc analysis found improvement on several interrelated healing parameters in the subgroup whose target wounds were at least 10 cm squared at randomisation, and the authors describe that as an observation warranting a further, adequately powered study.
Both trials sit in the European registry rather than in ClinicalTrials.gov: EudraCT 2012-002100-41 and 2018-000536-10, both sponsored by the commercial developer of the topical formulation. A search of ClinicalTrials.gov alone therefore understates the human record for this peptide. No product containing LL-37 is approved anywhere; queries to the openFDA drug label and Drugs@FDA endpoints for ropocamptide and LL-37 return no match.
The rest of the human record
One registered trial has injected LL-37 into people. NCT02225366, at MD Anderson Cancer Center, was a single-group phase 1/2 study of intratumoural injection in melanoma, running from July 2015 to November 2020 with a registered enrolment of four. Results are posted. The participant flow lists three participants across two cohorts, one of whom withdrew for lack of efficacy. The primary outcome was the number of participants with an optimal biological dose defined by toxicity. No serious adverse events are posted; the other-events table lists eight terms, none affecting more than one participant in a cohort, including squamous cell carcinoma, actinic keratosis, anaemia, skin hypopigmentation and hypothyroidism.
A second registered study, NCT04098562, planned a quadruple-masked randomised comparison of an LL-37 cream against standard wound care in 40 patients with diabetic foot ulcers, sponsored by Fakultas Kedokteran Universitas Indonesia. Its estimated completion date was January 2020, its last registry update was September 2019, its status reads UNKNOWN and no results have been posted.
A separate strand of human work raises endogenous LL-37 rather than administering the peptide, and the distinction is routinely lost in summaries. Raqib and colleagues randomised 80 adults with shigellosis to a sodium butyrate enema or saline twice daily for three days; butyrate treatment induced LL-37 expression in the rectal epithelium and stool LL-37 remained higher on days 4 and 7, alongside earlier reduction of stool macrophages, IL-8 and IL-1 beta. Liu and colleagues had earlier shown that Toll-like receptor activation of human macrophages upregulated the vitamin D receptor and 1-hydroxylase, induced cathelicidin and killed intracellular Mycobacterium tuberculosis in culture.
The vitamin D question splits when tested in randomised trials, and the two results point in opposite directions. Quraishi and colleagues gave 30 septic ICU patients placebo, 200,000 IU or 400,000 IU cholecalciferol; median change in plasma LL-37 at day 5 was minus 17%, 4% and 30% respectively, p equal to 0.04, and change correlated with bioavailable but not total 25-hydroxyvitamin D. Raqib and colleagues randomised 129 pregnant women in Dhaka to weekly oral vitamin D3 or placebo from 26 weeks to delivery; supplementation did not raise LL-37 in plasma or in macrophage extracellular fluid, and stimulated intracellular LL-37 expression was significantly lower in the vitamin D group, p equal to 0.02, with no difference in bactericidal capacity.
Where an administered dose goes
Exogenous LL-37 has been tracked in one imaging study. Esposito and colleagues labelled an LL-37 variant with gallium-67 and followed it by SPECT/CT in healthy mice over 48 hours at a dose of just over 20 micrograms. Given as an intravenous bolus, the radiotracer cleared rapidly from blood, largely into the liver, with an appreciable fraction distributing temporarily to the lungs. Given subcutaneously at the same dose level, it was absorbed systemically following a two-phase kinetic model and cleared predominantly by the kidney. Uptake into lymph nodes and spleen was seen by both routes.
Two qualifications belong with that. A gallium-labelled variant is not the unmodified peptide, and the study describes distribution of the tracer rather than of biological activity. The species is mouse, and the mouse expresses CRAMP rather than LL-37, so the disposition environment is not the human one either. No human pharmacokinetic study of administered LL-37 was located, and the topical trials measured wound outcomes rather than exposure.
Searches of PubMed for a plasma half-life, clearance figure or serum degradation time-course for LL-37 returned no primary record. What the published chemistry does establish is that plasma is not an inert medium for this molecule: serum inhibits both its antibacterial and its cytotoxic activity in vitro, and glycosaminoglycan-rich fluids inhibit it further. Any half-life quoted for the peptide should be read against the absence of a study measuring one.
The same peptide in the pathology literature
Elevated cathelicidin is a feature of several disease states, which is the half of this literature that the antimicrobial framing tends to omit. Yamasaki and colleagues found abnormally high cathelicidin in the facial skin of people with rosacea, and forms processed differently from those in unaffected individuals, associated with increased stratum corneum tryptic enzyme. Injecting the rosacea-associated peptide forms into mouse skin increased inflammation, as did adding the protease and as did deleting the protease inhibitor gene Spink5; targeted deletion of Camp confirmed the peptide's role in the protease-mediated inflammation.
Lande and colleagues reported in 2014 that two-thirds of patients with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis harboured CD4-positive or CD8-positive T cells specific for LL-37, that those cells produced interferon gamma and Th17 cytokines, and that the frequency of circulating LL-37-specific T cells correlated with disease activity. That paper carries a 2015 corrigendum in the same journal; no retraction or expression of concern is attached to it or to any other source cited on this page.
Coffelt and colleagues reported that neutralising LL-37 in vivo significantly reduced engraftment of mesenchymal stromal cells into ovarian tumour xenografts in mice, inhibiting tumour growth and disrupting the fibrovascular network, and described the peptide as overexpressed in ovarian, breast and lung cancers. The registered melanoma study proceeds from the opposite premise, that intratumoural LL-37 stimulates an antitumour immune response. Both positions are represented in the review literature, which describes the role as context-dependent rather than settled.
Airway tissue supplies the finding most relevant to how the peptide is actually handled outside clinical settings. Thomas and colleagues challenged human nasal epithelial cells and mouse macrophages with LL-37 and recorded release of ATP, IL-6 and IL-8 along with cell death and lysis, associated with caspase-1 and caspase-8 activation rather than caspase-3/7, and blocked dose-dependently by a synthetic glycosaminoglycan. The authors' disclosed financial interest in that glycosaminoglycan is stated in the paper. The cytotoxicity finding is consistent with Johansson's 1998 measurement of eukaryotic cytotoxicity at 13 to 25 micromolar.
What is not known
The published record does not establish that administered LL-37 heals chronic wounds. The one trial that reported a healing difference enrolled 34 participants over four weeks of treatment and found its largest effect at its lowest concentration with no effect at its highest; the 148-patient phase 2b that followed found no significant difference in the full study population, and its supportive result is a post hoc subgroup that its own authors describe as needing a properly powered study. No human pharmacokinetic data of any kind exist: no plasma concentration-time curve, no half-life, no exposure-response relationship, no route comparison. The single biodistribution study used a gallium-labelled variant in mice, a species that expresses CRAMP rather than LL-37. Systemic administration in humans has never been studied; the only registered injection study was intratumoural, enrolled four patients across five years, and posted results for three. Nothing establishes a safety profile at any dose by any route beyond topical application in two trials and intratumoural injection in three people. The in vitro antibacterial figures do not agree with one another, sit at or below approximately 14 micromolar depending on strain, medium and method, with the lowest of the three reported only as an upper bound rather than a measured value, and are inhibited by human serum, by physiological salt for some organisms, and by glycosaminoglycan-rich wound fluid. Cytotoxicity to human cells has been recorded at concentrations close to the antibacterial ones. Whether the peptide promotes or restrains tumour growth is unresolved in the literature and the two positions are supported by different experimental systems. No preparation of LL-37 is approved as a medicine in any jurisdiction, and no published stability or handling characterisation for the peptide in solution was located.
Questions
Has LL-37 been given to humans in a registered trial?
Did the larger venous leg ulcer trial confirm the smaller one?
Which minimum inhibitory concentration for LL-37 is correct?
Does vitamin D supplementation raise LL-37?
Is any LL-37 product approved as a medicine?
References
- Agerberth B, Gunne H, Odeberg J, Kogner P, Boman HG, Gudmundsson GH. FALL-39, a putative human peptide antibiotic, is cysteine-free and expressed in bone marrow and testis. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 1995;92(1):195-9. PMID 7529412. Followed by Gudmundsson GH, Agerberth B, Odeberg J, et al. The human gene FALL39 and processing of the cathelin precursor to the antibacterial peptide LL-37 in granulocytes. Eur J Biochem. 1996;238(2):325-32. PMID 8681941, which established the mature peptide as the 37-residue LL-37. The processing step was subsequently localised by Sørensen OE, Follin P, Johnsen AH, Calafat J, Tjabringa GS, Hiemstra PS, Borregaard N. Human cathelicidin, hCAP-18, is processed to the antimicrobial peptide LL-37 by extracellular cleavage with proteinase 3. Blood. 2001;97(12):3951-9. PMID 11389039, which reported no detectable cleavage inside cells after phagocytosis and cleavage of hCAP-18 in exocytosed material by proteinase 3. View on doi.org
- Johansson J, Gudmundsson GH, Rottenberg ME, Berndt KD, Agerberth B. Conformation-dependent antibacterial activity of the naturally occurring human peptide LL-37. J Biol Chem. 1998;273(6):3718-24. PMID 9452503. View on doi.org
- Turner J, Cho Y, Dinh NN, Waring AJ, Lehrer RI. Activities of LL-37, a cathelin-associated antimicrobial peptide of human neutrophils. Antimicrob Agents Chemother. 1998;42(9):2206-14. PMID 9736536. Reports its minimum inhibitory concentrations as an upper bound (<10 micrograms per millilitre) rather than as measured values. View on doi.org
- Heilborn JD, Nilsson MF, Kratz G, et al. The cathelicidin anti-microbial peptide LL-37 is involved in re-epithelialization of human skin wounds and is lacking in chronic ulcer epithelium. J Invest Dermatol. 2003;120(3):379-89. PMID 12603850. View on doi.org
- Barańska-Rybak W, Sonesson A, Nowicki R, Schmidtchen A. Glycosaminoglycans inhibit the antibacterial activity of LL-37 in biological fluids. J Antimicrob Chemother. 2006;57(2):260-5. PMID 16387752. View on doi.org
- Liu PT, Stenger S, Li H, et al. Toll-like receptor triggering of a vitamin D-mediated human antimicrobial response. Science. 2006;311(5768):1770-3. PMID 16497887. PubMed links a technical comment, Nathan C, Role of iNOS in human host defense, Science. 2006;312(5782):1874-5 (PMID 16809512), with an author reply; it disputes the paper's treatment of nitric oxide in human host defence rather than the cathelicidin induction reported here. View on doi.org
- Yamasaki K, Di Nardo A, Bardan A, et al. Increased serine protease activity and cathelicidin promotes skin inflammation in rosacea. Nat Med. 2007;13(8):975-80. PMID 17676051. Carries a linked News-and-Views commentary (Nat Med. 2007;13(8):904-6), not a correction. View on doi.org
- Overhage J, Campisano A, Bains M, Torfs EC, Rehm BH, Hancock RE. Human host defense peptide LL-37 prevents bacterial biofilm formation. Infect Immun. 2008;76(9):4176-82. PMID 18591225. View on doi.org
- Coffelt SB, Marini FC, Watson K, et al. The pro-inflammatory peptide LL-37 promotes ovarian tumor progression through recruitment of multipotent mesenchymal stromal cells. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2009;106(10):3806-11. PMID 19234121. View on doi.org
- Raqib R, Sarker P, Mily A, et al. Efficacy of sodium butyrate adjunct therapy in shigellosis: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial. BMC Infect Dis. 2012;12:111. PMID 22574737. Registered as NCT00800930. Carries no linked comments or corrections. View on doi.org
- Raqib R, Ly A, Akhtar E, et al. Prenatal vitamin D3 supplementation suppresses LL-37 peptide expression in ex vivo activated neonatal macrophages but not their killing capacity. Br J Nutr. 2014;112(6):908-15. PMID 25089537. View on doi.org
- Grönberg A, Mahlapuu M, Ståhle M, Whately-Smith C, Rollman O. "Treatment with LL-37 is safe and effective in enhancing healing of hard-to-heal venous leg ulcers: a randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial." Wound Repair Regen. 2014;22(5):613-21. PMID 25041740. [Title is the authors' own; the 148-patient phase 2b that followed found no significant difference in the full study population — see PMID 34687253.] View on doi.org
- Lande R, Botti E, Jandus C, et al. The antimicrobial peptide LL37 is a T-cell autoantigen in psoriasis. Nat Commun. 2014;5:5621. PMID 25470744. A corrigendum was published at Nat Commun. 2015;6:6595 (PMID 25759123); the paper is not retracted and carries no expression of concern. View on doi.org
- Quraishi SA, De Pascale G, Needleman JS, et al. Effect of cholecalciferol supplementation on vitamin D status and cathelicidin levels in sepsis: a randomized, placebo-controlled trial. Crit Care Med. 2015;43(9):1928-37. PMID 26086941. View on doi.org
- Thomas AJ, Pulsipher A, Davis BM, Alt JA. LL-37 causes cell death of human nasal epithelial cells, which is inhibited with a synthetic glycosaminoglycan. PLoS One. 2017;12(8):e0183542. PMID 28837619. Two authors declare a financial interest in the company developing the glycosaminoglycan tested. View on doi.org
- Mahlapuu M, Sidorowicz A, Mikosinski J, et al. Evaluation of LL-37 in healing of hard-to-heal venous leg ulcers: a multicentric prospective randomized placebo-controlled clinical trial. Wound Repair Regen. 2021;29(6):938-950. PMID 34687253. View on doi.org
- Esposito TVF, Rodríguez-Rodríguez C, Blackadar C, Kłodzińska S, Mørck Nielsen H, Saatchi K, Häfeli UO. Biodistribution of the cationic host defense peptide LL-37 using SPECT/CT. Eur J Pharm Biopharm. 2024;202:114398. PMID 38972467. View on doi.org
- Registry and identity records: EudraCT 2012-002100-41 and 2018-000536-10 for the two venous leg ulcer trials, both sponsored by the commercial developer of the topical formulation, whose name is withheld here under this site's commercial firewall; NCT02225366 (intratumoural LL-37 in melanoma, results posted 9 December 2021) and NCT04098562 (LL-37 cream in diabetic foot ulcers, status UNKNOWN, no results posted); PubChem CID 16198951 and FDA GSRS UNII 3DD771JO2H (ropocamptide) for formula, molecular weight, CAS 154947-66-7 and sequence. All retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.