Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
AOD-9604 (LAT-8881)
AOD-9604 is a sixteen-residue synthetic peptide: the 177-191 fragment of human growth hormone with a tyrosine added at the front. Its obesity programme was terminated in February 2007 after a trial randomising 502 adults missed its primary endpoint. Three further randomised human trials sit on ClinicalTrials.gov with results posted, filed under a different development code, LAT8881, which a registry search on the name AOD-9604 does not return.
- Class
- Synthetic cyclic peptide; the 177-191 C-terminal fragment of human growth hormone with an N-terminal tyrosine added
- CAS number
- 221231-10-3
- PubChem CID
- 71300630
- Molecular formula
- C78H123N23O23S2
- Molecular weight
- 1815.1 g/mol
- Sequence
- YLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF (16 residues, cyclic 7->14 disulfide)
- Also indexed as
- AOD9604, AOD-9604, LAT-8881, LAT8881, Tyr-hGH(177-191), sh-Oligopeptide-74, UNII 7UP768IP4M
Sixteen residues
AOD-9604 is a sixteen-residue peptide: Tyr-Leu-Arg-Ile-Val-Gln-Cys-Arg-Ser-Val-Glu-Gly-Ser-Cys-Gly-Phe, cyclised by a disulfide bond between the cysteines at positions 7 and 14. Fifteen of those residues are the 177-191 fragment of human growth hormone; the tyrosine at the front is not part of the hormone sequence. PubChem returns a single record for the name - CID 71300630, CAS registry number 221231-10-3, molecular formula C78H123N23O23S2, molecular weight 1815.1 g/mol, InChIKey GVIYUKXRXPXMQM-BPXGDYAESA-N. The FDA Global Substance Registration System carries the same molecule under UNII 7UP768IP4M, with the same registry number, the same sequence and the 7-to-14 disulfide recorded explicitly. Its preferred name on that record is not AOD-9604. It is LAT-8881, which matters further down this page.
Not every identifier in circulation survives checking, and three do not. The description of the compound as hGH 176-191, which appears on vendor product pages and in a 2026 review in Frontiers in Endocrinology, denotes a different molecule: PubChem holds that one separately as CID 172966176, formula C80H127N23O24S2, molecular weight 1859.1 g/mol. The World Anti-Doping Agency lists AOD-9604 and hGH 176-191 as two named examples in one clause, not as synonyms. A CAS number of 386264-39-7 appears in supplier listings and was recorded as such in FDA's 2024 evaluation; a PubChem lookup on it returns nothing. The sponsor's own human safety paper prints a third number, 38624-39-7, which also returns nothing.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Body weight gain 15.8 +/- 0.6 g vs 35.6 +/- 0.8 g in controls over 19 days; raised adipose lipolytic activity; no change in insulin sensitivity on euglycaemic clamp, where intact hGH induced resistance | Obese Zucker rats | Oral, 500 micrograms/kg/day, 19 days | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Ng 2000, Horm Res 53(6):274-278, PMID 11146367 |
| Reduced body weight gain, increased in vivo fat oxidation and raised plasma glycerol without hyperglycaemia; no competition for the hGH receptor and no induced proliferation in transfected Ba/F3 cells at concentrations where hGH did both | Obese (ob/ob) and lean C57BL/6J mice | Continuous infusion by mini-osmotic pump, 14 days | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Heffernan 2001, Int J Obes Relat Metab Disord 25(10):1442-1449, PMID 11673763 |
| After chronic treatment, no change in body weight, adipose depot size or lipolysis in beta-3-adrenergic receptor knockout mice, while beta-3-AR RNA expression was raised in wild-type obese mice to levels comparable with lean mice; in an acute experiment the fragment still increased energy expenditure and fat oxidation in the knockout mice. The authors concluded that the lipolytic actions of both hGH and AOD9604 are not mediated directly through the beta-3-AR, although both compounds increase its expression | Obese mice and beta-3-adrenergic receptor knockout mice | Intraperitoneal, 250 micrograms/kg/day for 14 days (chronic arm); single administration (acute arm) | Not stated in the retrieved report | Heffernan 2001, Endocrinology 142(12):5182-5189, PMID 11713213 |
| Gross morphological and histopathological scores lower, and lameness period shorter, with AOD9604 plus hyaluronic acid than with either alone; all three treated groups scored below saline | Mature New Zealand white rabbits, collagenase-induced knee osteoarthritis | Ultrasound-guided intra-articular, weekly, 0.25 mg AOD9604 and/or 6 mg hyaluronic acid, weeks 4-7 | 32 total, 4 groups of 8 | Kwon and Park 2015, Ann Clin Lab Sci 45(4):426-432, PMID 26275694 |
| Intravenous half-life approximately 3 minutes; Cmax 1,944 ng/mL and AUC 12,743 +/- 625 ng/mL/min after 400 micrograms/kg; oral Cmax 1,127 ng/mL peaking near 60 min; the derived oral bioavailability was 170 per cent, exceeding the theoretical maximum. Separately, in rat plasma in vitro the peptide degraded by amino-terminal truncation with a half-life of about 4 minutes and no intact peptide detectable at 56 minutes | Adult female pigs; rat plasma in vitro | Intravenous bolus 400 micrograms/kg and oral 2 mg/kg; in vitro spiking for the plasma measurement | Not stated in the article | Moré and Kenley 2014, J Endocrinol Metab 4(3):64-77, DOI 10.14740/jem213w (no PMID; journal not indexed by PubMed); full text retrieved directly |
| Serum osteocalcin fell dose-dependently at treatment week 13 and rose dose-dependently in females at week 26; blood urea raised in all treated males at week 13; creatinine and triglycerides raised in high-dose males at weeks 13 and 26 | Han Wistar rats, 48-52 days old at start | Oral gavage, 0.5, 20 and 100 mg/kg/day, 6 months | 12 per sex per group | Moré and Kenley 2014, as summarised in FDA PCAC briefing document, 5 November 2024 |
| Minimal or slight periportal hepatocyte vacuolation in two mid-dose males, in one control female, in one low-dose female and in all high-dose females; lower liver mass and lower liver glycogen in every treated male group; no effect on body weight, ECG, haematology or urinalysis | Cynomolgus monkeys, 26-51 months old at start | Oral gavage, 0.5, 10 and 50 mg/kg/day, 9 months | 7 per sex per group | Moré and Kenley 2014, as summarised in FDA PCAC briefing document, 5 November 2024 |
| No significant change in circulating IGF-1 at 12 weeks in any group; no anti-AOD9604 antibodies detected at baseline, 4, 8 or 12 weeks; five serious adverse events during active treatment (basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, lipoma, breast cancer, malignant melanoma), none judged related by the investigator | Adults with obesity, BMI 35 or above (median 40, range 35-67), 54 per cent male | Oral capsules, 1, 5, 10, 20 or 30 mg daily, 12 weeks after a 2-week placebo run-in | 300 randomised, 50 per group | Stier, Vos and Kenley 2013, J Endocrinol Metab 3:7-15, DOI 10.4021/jem157w (no PMID) |
| No significant difference in weight loss from placebo at the 12-week primary endpoint, in a trial powered for an 80 per cent chance of detecting a 1.8 kg difference; mean IGF-1 change 1.76 nmol/L at 12 weeks (P = 0.50844) and 1.24 nmol/L at 24 weeks (P = 0.75754), with no significant difference between groups; 18 patients (3.6 per cent) reported at least one serious adverse event, distributed similarly across groups; the sponsor announced on 21 February 2007 that development for obesity was terminated | Adults with obesity aged 18-65, BMI 30-45 (median 36.3), 56 per cent female | Oral, 0.25, 0.5 or 1 mg daily, 24 weeks after a 4-week placebo run-in, alongside a dietician-supervised diet and exercise programme | 502 randomised; enrolment reported as 534 by Stier 2013 and as 536 in the sponsor's exchange filing as summarised by FDA - the two sources disagree | Stier, Vos and Kenley 2013, J Endocrinol Metab 3:7-15, DOI 10.4021/jem157w (no PMID); and FDA PCAC briefing document, 5 November 2024, section II.C.1 |
| Mean change on an 11-point numeric pain rating scale of -0.87 on active treatment and -0.74 on placebo; net difference -0.14 (95 per cent CI -0.76 to 0.49), P = 0.67; no serious adverse events in either arm | Adults with diabetic peripheral neuropathy or post-herpetic neuralgia, Australia and United Kingdom | Oral capsule, 30 mg twice daily, two-period randomised crossover | 53 randomised; 51 in the adverse-event population | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03865953, results posted, Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd |
| Change in migraine headache pain score from dosing was analysed at all seven posted timepoints - 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 8 and 24 hours - giving net differences of -0.02, -0.42, -0.25, -0.89, -0.36, -0.70 and -0.01 points at P = 0.9733, 0.4942, 0.6866, 0.1488, 0.5644, 0.2561 and 0.9875; none reached significance, and the largest difference and lowest P value fall at the 2-hour timepoint | Adults treating an acute migraine attack | Oral, 60 mg at migraine onset, randomised placebo-controlled | 21 randomised | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04153409, results posted, Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd |
| Part A, whose registered primary outcome was the number of participants with adverse events by dose, recorded no serious adverse events and no grade 3 or 4 events at any dose, and carries no posted analysis object; Part B net differences ran from -0.32 to +0.32 visual analogue scale points across timepoints, at P from 0.3964 (3 hours) to 0.98, the +0.32 three-hour figure being posted as a median difference where every other timepoint is posted as a mean difference | Adults with lumbar radicular pain, Adelaide, Australia | Single intravenous infusion, 0.8, 1.2 and 1.8 mg/kg | 26 randomised; 6 per sequence group in Part A, 17 per period in Part B | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05298306, results posted, Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd |
| FDA granted AOD-9604 GRAS status as a food ingredient in 2014, under GRAS Notice GRN 000546 (also cited elsewhere as GRN 000400 or GRN 000548). | The full FDA GRAS Notice Inventory was retrieved and enumerated on 18 August 2026. It contains GRN 1 through GRN 1325 with no gaps, and the string AOD does not appear anywhere in it. The three notice numbers attributed to this compound belong to other substances: GRN 400 is D-psicose (June 2012), GRN 546 is 2'-O-fucosyllactose (September 2015), and GRN 548 is high purity rebaudioside D (April 2015). What appears to exist is a self-affirmed conclusion by a privately convened expert panel, which is a different thing from a notice submitted to and answered by FDA. No agency response letter for this compound was located. | No source found | ||
| AOD-9604 is the human growth hormone fragment 176-191. | PubChem holds these as two separate compound records with different formulas and masses: AOD-9604 at CID 71300630 (C78H123N23O23S2, 1815.1 g/mol) and hGH fragment 176-191 at CID 172966176 (C80H127N23O24S2, 1859.1 g/mol). FDA's GSRS record for UNII 7UP768IP4M gives the AOD-9604 sequence as the 177-191 fragment plus an N-terminal tyrosine. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List names both compounds in the same clause as separate examples. The 176-191 designation nonetheless appears on vendor product pages and in a June 2026 narrative review in Frontiers in Endocrinology (PMID 42395176). | No source found | ||
| AOD-9604 does not raise IGF-1, and this is an established property of the molecule. | In humans the direction is supported but the source is weak: Stier 2013 reports no significant IGF-1 change across METAOD001 to METAOD006, with P = 0.50844 and P = 0.75754 in the largest trial, but that paper is not indexed by PubMed and its authors are affiliated with the sponsor. In animals there is nothing. FDA's 2024 evaluation states directly that some authors claim AOD-9604 does not increase IGF-1 expression, citing Kwon and Park 2015, but that FDA identified no nonclinical data supporting the claim. A PubMed search for IGF-1 measurements in AOD9604 animal studies returned no primary report. | No source found | ||
| The metabolic effects of AOD-9604 persist for many hours because it sustains activation of lipolytic enzymes long after the peptide clears. | The clearance half of this statement is sourced: Moré and Kenley 2014 measured an intravenous half-life of roughly three minutes in pigs, and in rat plasma in vitro a half-life of approximately four minutes with no intact peptide detectable 56 minutes after spiking. The persistence half is not. No published time-course of lipolytic enzyme activity, glycerol release or fat oxidation extending beyond the clearance window was located in PubMed or Europe PMC for this compound. The mechanism named in the claim has no measurement attached to it in any retrievable source. | No source found | ||
| The CAS registry number for AOD-9604 is 386264-39-7. | PubChem name lookups on 386264-39-7 and on 38624-39-7 both return no CID. FDA's 2024 evaluation records the first as a discrepancy appearing in supplier listings and states the correct number is 221231-10-3, which is what PubChem CID 71300630 and the GSRS record for UNII 7UP768IP4M both carry. The second number is printed in the sponsor's own 2013 human safety paper, alongside the INCI name sh-Oligopeptide-74, which also returns no PubChem record. Three registry numbers are therefore in circulation for one molecule and only one of them resolves. | No source found | ||
| AOD-9604 powder is stable at -18 degrees C for three years, at 0-7 degrees C for one year, and at 7-30 degrees C for six months. | These figures trace to a supplier safety data sheet, cited as such in FDA's 2024 evaluation. No stability study, forced-degradation time-course or HPLC purity curve for this peptide was located in PubMed or Europe PMC. The published chemistry points toward concern rather than reassurance: FDA's own assessment notes that the 7-to-14 disulfide bridge can be reduced, leading to degradation and aggregate formation, and that no aggregate testing appeared in any certificate of analysis it reviewed. | No source found | ||
| AOD-9604 regenerates cartilage and repairs joints. | The only primary source is Kwon and Park 2015 (PMID 26275694), a rabbit collagenase-induced osteoarthritis model with eight animals per group, whose authors used the phrase cartilage regeneration for a difference in histopathological score. No human study of joint or cartilage outcomes exists. FDA declined to evaluate the nominated osteoarthritis and osteoporosis uses at all, stating that the nominations contained insufficient information and that its own literature search identified no clinical studies in those populations. A ClinicalTrials.gov search on AOD9604 and AOD-9604 returns zero records; the three trials filed under LAT8881 are in neuropathic, migraine and radicular pain. | No source found | ||
| A 12-week trial showed statistically significant weight loss, with the 1 mg dose most effective at 0.22 kg per week against 0.07 kg per week on placebo. | Those numbers appear in a single conference abstract, Herd and colleagues in Obesity Research 13 (2005), presented at an annual scientific meeting, and in no full publication. FDA searched for a publication of that study's methods and results and stated it did not locate one; a PubMed search for the study returns nothing, and the corresponding trial, METAOD005, is described in Stier 2013 only for safety, with no efficacy data reported. The figure is repeated on vendor and aggregator pages without the qualification that it comes from an unpublished abstract and was not replicated in the larger 24-week trial. | No source found | ||
What the rodent work measured
The first published animal data came out of Monash University. Ng and colleagues treated obese Zucker rats with an oral dose of 500 micrograms per kilogram daily for 19 days and reported body weight gain of 15.8 plus or minus 0.6 g against 35.6 plus or minus 0.8 g in controls, with raised lipolytic activity in adipose tissue. That report also described euglycaemic clamp measurements in which chronic treatment produced no change in insulin sensitivity, where intact human growth hormone did. Group sizes are not stated in the retrieved abstract. Heffernan and colleagues then treated ob/ob and lean C57BL/6J mice for 14 days by mini-osmotic pump, reporting reduced weight gain, increased in vivo fat oxidation and raised plasma glycerol without the hyperglycaemia that accompanied growth hormone.
The rest of the field rests on two mechanistic observations from that 2001 work. In Ba/F3 cells transfected with the growth hormone receptor, the fragment did not compete with iodine-125-labelled human growth hormone for binding and did not induce proliferation, at concentrations where the intact hormone did both. In a companion paper, 14 days of intraperitoneal treatment in beta-3-adrenergic-receptor knockout mice produced no change in body weight gain, adipose depot size or plasma glycerol, while the same treatment in wild-type obese mice raised beta-3-adrenergic receptor expression; in an acute experiment, however, the fragment still increased energy expenditure and fat oxidation in the knockout animals. Those authors concluded that the lipolytic actions of both human growth hormone and AOD9604 are not mediated directly through the beta-3-adrenergic receptor, although both compounds increase its expression. FDA's 2024 reviewers noted that none of these studies assessed a dose-response relationship and none corrected for multiple comparisons.
One frequently cited 2000 paper in the American Journal of Physiology is about a different peptide altogether: the compound there is AOD-9401, and FDA excluded the paper from its evaluation on that ground. Outside metabolism the animal record is thin. Kwon and Park randomised 32 mature New Zealand white rabbits with collagenase-induced knee osteoarthritis to weekly intra-articular saline, hyaluronic acid, AOD-9604, or the last two combined, in four groups of eight, and reported lower gross morphological and histopathological scores and a shorter lameness period in the combination group.
How the obesity programme ended
Metabolic Pharmaceuticals Limited, an Australian company, ran six trials coded METAOD001 through METAOD006. None was published as an individual paper. They appear in a single 2013 summary by Stier, Vos and Kenley in the Journal of Endocrinology and Metabolism, which PubMed does not index; an author search there returns no record of it. The first four were small - 15, 23, 17 and 36 subjects, intravenous then oral, single doses then seven days. The two that mattered were METAOD005, in which 300 obese adults received 1, 5, 10, 20 or 30 mg orally each day for 12 weeks in groups of fifty, and METAOD006, in which 502 adults were randomised to 0.25, 0.5 or 1 mg daily for 24 weeks. The two available sources disagree on how many were enrolled to reach that number: Stier and colleagues report 534, while the sponsor's exchange filing, as summarised by FDA, reports 536. Both give 502 randomised.
METAOD006, also called the OPTIONS study, was powered for an 80 per cent chance of detecting a 1.8 kg difference from placebo. It did not detect one. On 21 February 2007 the company announced that the phase 2B results did not support commercial viability and that development for obesity was terminated. The 12-week study reached print only as a conference abstract, by Herd and colleagues in Obesity Research in 2005; FDA searched for a full publication of its methods and results and did not find one. That abstract is the origin of a figure still in circulation, that the 1 mg dose produced the largest effect, at a mean rate of 0.22 kg per week against 0.07 kg per week on placebo.
Safety measurements from those trials remain the most substantial human dataset that exists for this compound. In METAOD005, circulating IGF-1 was measured at baseline and at 12 weeks with no significant change in any group, and anti-AOD9604 antibodies were absent at baseline and at 4, 8 and 12 weeks. In METAOD006, mean IGF-1 changes were 1.76 nmol/L at 12 weeks and 1.24 nmol/L at 24 weeks, at p values of 0.51 and 0.76. Five serious adverse events were recorded during active treatment in METAOD005: basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, a lipoma, breast cancer and malignant melanoma. The investigators judged none of them related to study medication.
A second programme, under a different name
FDA's 2024 evaluation states that a search of ClinicalTrials.gov did not list any studies on AOD-9604. That is accurate as written and misleading as read. Three completed randomised trials sit on that registry with results posted, filed under the development code LAT8881 - the preferred name on the same UNII record, 7UP768IP4M. The sponsor is Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd and the indication is not obesity. A 2023 paper in Clinical and Translational Immunology, co-authored by an author affiliated to that company, states plainly that LAT8881 is a synthetic form of the naturally occurring C-terminal fragment of human growth hormone and has been assessed in clinical trials for obesity and neuropathy (Harpur and colleagues 2023, PMID 36969366).
NCT03865953 randomised 53 adults with diabetic peripheral neuropathy or post-herpetic neuralgia to oral capsules twice daily in a two-period crossover. Mean change on an 11-point numeric pain rating scale was minus 0.87 on active treatment and minus 0.74 on placebo, a net difference of minus 0.14 with a 95 per cent confidence interval of minus 0.76 to 0.49 and p equal to 0.67. NCT04153409 enrolled 21 adults treating acute migraine with 60 mg orally at onset; its primary pain score was analysed at seven timepoints between 30 minutes and 24 hours, returning net differences from minus 0.01 to minus 0.89 points at p values from 0.15 to 0.99, none of them significant. The largest of those differences, minus 0.89 at two hours, carried the lowest p value, 0.1488. NCT05298306 gave 26 adults with lumbar radicular pain single intravenous infusions at 0.8, 1.2 and 1.8 mg/kg; net differences across timepoints ran from minus 0.32 to plus 0.32 on a visual analogue scale, at p values from 0.3964 to 0.98, the three-hour figure being posted as a median difference where the remaining timepoints are posted as means.
Serious adverse events numbered zero across all three studies. In the neuropathic pain trial, five participants on active treatment and six on placebo recorded an adverse event above the five per cent reporting threshold, the terms being upper respiratory tract infection and headache. Grade 3 or 4 events numbered zero in every arm of the intravenous study, including the highest dose. Taken with the obesity programme, the human record now stands at four randomised placebo-controlled efficacy comparisons in four different conditions: the weight-loss endpoint of METAOD006 and the pain-score endpoints of NCT03865953, NCT04153409 and the second part of NCT05298306, none of which was met. The registered primary outcome of NCT05298306's first part was adverse events by dose, a safety measure carrying no efficacy hypothesis and no posted analysis.
A binding target, identified in 2026
Reviewers at FDA wrote in November 2024 that the molecular targets for AOD-9604 have not been identified and its mechanisms of action remain unknown. A paper published in Pain in August 2026 speaks to that directly. Spanswick and colleagues used a photoaffinity conjugate of the active metabolite of LAT8881 to pull down lanthionine synthetase C-like protein 1 from spinal cord, then validated the result with siRNA knockdown of LanCL1 in dorsal root ganglion, which abolished the compound's activity. The same paper reported reversal of mechanical allodynia in several rodent neuropathic models, suppression of ectopic firing at the dorsal root ganglion in vivo, and membrane hyperpolarisation in ex vivo spinal cord.
Two qualifications belong beside that finding. The binding was shown for a metabolite rather than the parent peptide, which fits Cox and colleagues' 2015 observation that a nine-residue fragment, CRSVEGSCG, persists in serum considerably longer than the intact molecule. And the paper carries heavy declared interests: two authors are employees and shareholders of the sponsor, two sit on its scientific advisory board, and two hold patents on LanCL1 and its peptide ligands. It is a mechanism for the pain work rather than for the lipolysis work, and the 2001 papers did not leave a lipolytic mechanism standing to compare it with: the chronic effects there required intact beta-3-adrenergic signalling, an acute effect on energy expenditure and fat oxidation survived in the knockout animals, and the authors concluded the lipolytic action is not mediated directly through that receptor.
Two readings of the same toxicology
A single published article carries the entire regulatory toxicology package. Moré and Kenley, writing in 2014 in the same non-indexed journal, describe a four-week intravenous study in Sprague-Dawley rats at 0.1, 1.0 and 10 mg/kg/day with ten animals per sex per group; a six-month oral study in Han Wistar rats at 0.5, 20 and 100 mg/kg/day with twelve per sex per group; and a nine-month oral study in cynomolgus monkeys at 0.5, 10 and 50 mg/kg/day with seven per sex per group. Pharmacokinetics were measured in adult female pigs, where a 400 microgram per kilogram intravenous bolus gave a half-life of roughly three minutes; in rat plasma in vitro the peptide degraded by successive amino-terminal truncation, with a half-life of approximately four minutes and no intact peptide detectable 56 minutes after spiking.
Those authors concluded there were no toxicological concerns. FDA's pharmacology reviewers, reading the same article nine years later, took a different position on the same numbers. At week 13 of the six-month rat study serum osteocalcin fell dose-dependently; at week 26 in females it rose dose-dependently, a pattern the reviewers read as a possible bone-turnover signal. In the monkeys, minimal to slight periportal hepatocyte vacuolation was present in two mid-dose males, in one control female, in one low-dose female and in every female in the high-dose group. Genotoxicity came out equivocal rather than negative: a positive preincubation Ames signal in WP2 uvrA at 200 and 1,000 micrograms per plate that did not reproduce, an increase in bone marrow micronuclei without a clear dose-response, and a chromosome aberration increase at 100 micrograms per millilitre in one run of two.
Several categories of study are missing from the record altogether. No carcinogenicity study, no developmental or reproductive toxicity study, and no repeat-dose study by the subcutaneous or transdermal route has been published or identified. The oral bioavailability figure derived from the pig study came out at 170 per cent, which the authors attributed to variability and FDA read as uninterpretable, several plasma measurements carrying standard deviations approaching the mean. The article provides no data tables, graphs or statistical analyses for any of the repeat-dose studies.
Regulatory position as of August 2026
AOD-9604 is not an approved medicine in the United States and no regulator, registry or pharmacopoeia identified in FDA's search lists it as approved anywhere. On 4 December 2024 the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee considered AOD-9604 free base and AOD-9604 acetate for the section 503A bulk drug substances list, which governs what compounding pharmacies in the United States may lawfully use. The committee voted 12 to nil against inclusion, having agreed 12 to nil to treat the two forms in a single vote. FDA's evaluation found neither substance physically and chemically well characterised and raised immunogenicity concerns specific to the subcutaneous route, for which it located no human exposure data at all.
Elsewhere the picture is consistent. No monograph exists in the United States Pharmacopeia, the European Pharmacopoeia, or the Chinese, Indian or Japanese pharmacopoeias. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List names AOD-9604 at S2.2.3, among growth hormone fragments, prohibited at all times in and out of competition. Australia's Advisory Committee on Medicines Scheduling added it to the Poisons Standard as a performance and image enhancing drug. The compound has been recovered from unlabelled pharmaceutical preparations seized by the Belgian authorities and from vials confiscated in the United States, and a urine assay with a limit of detection of 50 pg/mL has been validated for it.
What is not known
No efficacy endpoint of any trial of this compound has been met. The 24-week obesity trial, the largest ever run, was powered to detect a 1.8 kg difference and did not, and the three pain trials returned net differences of a fraction of a point on their pain scales, with p values across those three records running from 0.15 to 0.99. What that establishes is an absence of demonstrated effect at the doses and durations tested, not an absence of effect. Two of the three pain studies, NCT04153409 and the second part of NCT05298306, are titled proof-of-concept studies; NCT03865953 instead describes itself as a randomised, placebo-controlled, double-blind, crossover, phase IIa study to investigate the efficacy and safety of oral LAT8881 in neuropathic pain, with its design module framing that as testing the concept that the compound is safe and effective in the indication. None of the three registry records retrieved states a power calculation for its efficacy endpoint, so no statement about their statistical power can be sourced. The registered primary outcome of NCT05298306's first part was adverse events by dose, a safety measure rather than an efficacy comparison, and it carries no posted analysis. Nothing is known about the subcutaneous route in humans, which is the route by which the compound is most often encountered outside research: FDA searched for and found no human exposure data for subcutaneous or transdermal administration, and no repeat-dose animal toxicology by either route has been published. The toxicology that does exist rests on one article carrying no data tables and no statistical analyses, whose authors and FDA's reviewers reached opposite conclusions from the same osteocalcin, hepatic and genotoxicity observations - and the hepatic finding included one control female and one low-dose female alongside the mid-dose males and high-dose females, which is exactly the background incidence a reader needs to judge it. There is no carcinogenicity study and no developmental or reproductive toxicity study in any species, which matters because four of the five serious adverse events in the 300-patient trial were malignancies, and because the compound is derived from a hormone whose downstream mediator is implicated in cancer risk. The oral bioavailability figure is uninterpretable, having been calculated at 170 per cent. Immunogenicity was assessed only for the oral route, where no antibodies were detected; the injectable route, where aggregation risk is highest, has never been tested. The LanCL1 binding result was obtained for a metabolite rather than the parent peptide and has not been reproduced by an independent group.
Questions
Has AOD-9604 been tested in humans?
Did the obesity trials show weight loss?
Is AOD-9604 approved by FDA, or does it hold GRAS status?
Is AOD-9604 the same thing as hGH fragment 176-191?
Is AOD-9604 prohibited in sport?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 71300630, AOD 9604. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, UNII 7UP768IP4M (preferred name LAT-8881; codes AOD-9604, AOD9604, LAT8881; CAS 221231-10-3; subunit YLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF with 7->14 disulfide). Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 172966176, HGH Fragment 176-191 (C80H127N23O24S2, 1859.1 g/mol) - a separate record from CID 71300630. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ng FM, Sun J, Sharma L, Libinaka R, Jiang WJ, Gianello R. Metabolic studies of a synthetic lipolytic domain (AOD9604) of human growth hormone. Horm Res. 2000;53(6):274-278. PMID 11146367 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Heffernan MA, Thorburn AW, Fam B, Summers R, Conway-Campbell B, Waters MJ, Ng FM. Increase of fat oxidation and weight loss in obese mice caused by chronic treatment with human growth hormone or a modified C-terminal fragment. Int J Obes Relat Metab Disord. 2001;25(10):1442-1449. PMID 11673763 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Heffernan M, Summers RJ, Thorburn A, Ogru E, Gianello R, Jiang WJ, Ng FM. The effects of human GH and its lipolytic fragment (AOD9604) on lipid metabolism following chronic treatment in obese mice and beta(3)-AR knock-out mice. Endocrinology. 2001;142(12):5182-5189. The authors conclude that the lipolytic actions of hGH and AOD9604 are not mediated directly through the beta(3)-AR, although both increase its expression, and that AOD9604 acutely increased energy expenditure and fat oxidation in the knock-out mice. PMID 11713213 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Heffernan MA, Jiang WJ, Thorburn AW, Ng FM. Effects of oral administration of a synthetic fragment of human growth hormone on lipid metabolism. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2000;279(3):E501-E507. This paper studies AOD-9401, a different peptide, and was excluded from FDA's evaluation on that basis. PMID 10950816 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kwon DR, Park GY. Effect of intra-articular injection of AOD9604 with or without hyaluronic acid in rabbit osteoarthritis model. Ann Clin Lab Sci. 2015;45(4):426-432. PMID 26275694 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cox HD, Smeal SJ, Hughes CM, Cox JE, Eichner D. Detection and in vitro metabolism of AOD9604. Drug Test Anal. 2015;7(1):31-38. Source for the 50 pg/mL urine assay, the CRSVEGSCG metabolite, and the identification of the peptide in vials confiscated in the USA. PMID 25208511 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Vanhee C, Moens G, Deconinck E, De Beer JO. Identification and characterization of peptide drugs in unknown pharmaceutical preparations seized by the Belgian authorities: case report on AOD9604. Drug Test Anal. 2014;6(9):964-968. PMID 24976118 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Stier H, Vos E, Kenley D. Safety and tolerability of the hexadecapeptide AOD9604 in humans. J Endocrinol Metab. 2013;3(1-2):7-15. Not indexed in PubMed; verified via Crossref DOI 10.4021/jem157w and full text retrieved 18 August 2026. Reports 534 enrolled and 502 randomised in METAOD006. Authors affiliated with the sponsor. View on doi.org
- Moré MI, Kenley D. Safety and metabolism of AOD9604, a novel nutraceutical ingredient for improved metabolic health. J Endocrinol Metab. 2014;4(3):64-77. Not indexed in PubMed; verified via Crossref DOI 10.14740/jem213w and full text retrieved 18 August 2026. Sole published source for the repeat-dose toxicology, the pig pharmacokinetics and the rat plasma degradation time-course. View on doi.org
- FDA Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee. Evaluation of AOD-9604-related bulk drug substances (AOD-9604 free base and AOD-9604 acetate) for inclusion on the 503A bulk drug substances list, briefing document, 5 November 2024 (fda.gov/media/183584/download); and Final summary minutes of the meeting of 4 December 2024, recording the vote on both substances as yes 0, no 12, abstain 0 (fda.gov/media/185642/download). View on www.fda.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03865953, oral LAT8881 in neuropathic pain. Phase 2, randomised quadruple-blind crossover, 53 participants, completed May 2020, results posted. Sponsor Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd. Companion records NCT04153409 (acute migraine, 21 participants, seven posted analyses of the primary pain score) and NCT05298306 (lumbar radicular pain, 26 participants; Part A primary outcome is adverse events by dose). View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Spanswick DC, Wei H, Zhao FY, et al. Lanthionine synthetase C-like protein 1 (LanCL1): a therapeutic target for neuropathic pain. Pain. 2026;167(8):1850-1868. Declares sponsor employment, advisory-board membership and patents among the authors. PMID 42263267 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency. World Anti-Doping Code International Standard Prohibited List 2026, effective 1 January 2026. AOD-9604 named at S2.2.3 among growth hormone fragments. View on www.wada-ama.org
- Harpur CM, West AC, Le Page MA, Lam M, Hodges C, Oseghale O, Gearing AJ, Tate MD. Naturally derived cytokine peptides limit virus replication and severe disease during influenza A virus infection. Clin Transl Immunology. 2023;12(3):e1443. Gearing AJ is affiliated to Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd; the paper states that LAT8881 is a synthetic form of the naturally occurring C-terminal fragment of human growth hormone assessed in clinical trials for obesity and neuropathy. PMID 36969366 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dominikowski A, Rekos Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchala M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne). 2026;17:1822475. Cited here only as an instance of the hGH 176-191 designation being applied to AOD9604. PMID 42395176 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.