Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Sermorelin

Sermorelin is the first twenty-nine residues of human growth hormone-releasing hormone, ending in an amide, with nothing substituted. It held two US approvals, a 1990 diagnostic and a 1997 paediatric treatment; the manufacturer asked for both to be withdrawn, and FDA withdrew them in June 2009. The human trial record is real but small and mostly in children. Much of what circulates about the compound in adults traces to a study of a different peptide, and the one trial registered to test its effect on sleep never published that result.

Strongest evidence: Human dataMulticentre and randomised human trials, most of them in growth-hormone-deficient children; both US approvals were withdrawn in 2009 and no approved product was found in any national register searched 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic fragment of human growth hormone-releasing hormone; GHRH(1-29) amide, a GHRH receptor agonist
CAS number
86168-78-7 (free peptide); 114466-38-5 (sermorelin acetate, FDA GSRS)
PubChem CID
16132413
Molecular formula
C149H246N44O42S (PubChem CID 16132413). FDA GSRS displays a calculated C149H247N44O43S that does not reconcile with the mass on its own record.
Molecular weight
3357.9 g/mol (PubChem, average); 3357.91 sequence-calculated (FDA GSRS)
Sequence
YADAIFTNSYRKVLGQLSARKLLQDIMSR with a C-terminal amide, i.e. Tyr-Ala-Asp-Ala-Ile-Phe-Thr-Asn-Ser-Tyr-Arg-Lys-Val-Leu-Gly-Gln-Leu-Ser-Ala-Arg-Lys-Leu-Leu-Gln-Asp-Ile-Met-Ser-Arg-NH2. Human GHRH residues 1 to 29, unsubstituted.
Also indexed as
GRF(1-29)NH2; hGHRH(1-29)NH2; Groliberin; growth hormone-releasing factor (human)-(1-29)-peptide amide; UNII 89243S03TE (free peptide) and 00IBG87IQW (acetate); ATC H01AC04 and V04CD03; INN 6036; CHEBI:9118; DTXSID70903978

Chemical identity

Sermorelin is registered twice, once as the free peptide and once as the acetate, under different CAS numbers. PubChem resolves the name to one record: CID 16132413, CAS 86168-78-7, formula C149H246N44O42S, molecular weight 3357.9 g/mol, InChIKey WGWPRVFKDLAUQJ-MITYVQBRSA-N, UNII 89243S03TE. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds both, the free peptide under that same UNII and sermorelin acetate under UNII 00IBG87IQW with CAS 114466-38-5. Either way the sequence is the same twenty-nine residues, YADAIFTNSYRKVLGQLSARKLLQDIMSR, with a C-terminal amide. That is human growth hormone-releasing hormone truncated after residue 29, with no substitution anywhere in the chain. Prakash and Goa's 1999 review describes it as the shortest synthetic peptide with the full biological activity of GHRH (PMID 18031173).

One conflict is recorded here and left unresolved. GSRS displays a molecular formula of C149H247N44O43S alongside a sequence-calculated mass of 3357.91. Those two figures do not reconcile: the formula shown carries an extra hydrogen and an extra oxygen and would compute to roughly 3375. PubChem's C149H246N44O42S computes to 3357.9, which matches the mass GSRS itself displays. The same pattern appears on the GSRS record for tesamorelin, where a calculated formula omits the amidation described in the record's own structural notes. Both formulas are published here. The identity block carries PubChem's, because it agrees with the mass that both registries report.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Mean height velocity 4.1 +/- 0.9 cm/yr at baseline, 8.0 +/- 1.5 at 6 months, 7.2 +/- 1.3 at 12 months; 74% classed good responders at 6 months; bone age to height age ratio 1.04 +/- 0.58 at 12 monthsPreviously untreated prepubertal growth-hormone-deficient children, multicentre, open label, no placebo armSubcutaneous, 30 mcg/kg once daily at bedtime, up to 12 months110 treated, 86 eligible for efficacy analysisThorner 1996, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 8772599
Height velocity 4.8 (SD 0.9) to 7.2 (SD 1.6) cm/yr at 12 months; overnight growth hormone levels and growth hormone responses to GHRH testing both fell during the treatment year; height velocity 3.89 (SD 1.82) cm/yr in the first 3 months after stoppingShort prepubertal children with idiopathic short stature, peak growth hormone above 20 mU/L on provocative testing, 17 of 18 maleSubcutaneous, 20 mcg/kg twice daily for 12 months18 recruited, 1 withdrawn before 3 monthsKirk 1994, Clin Endocrinol (Oxf), PMID 7955460
Antibodies to GHRH detected in 4 of 11 responders at 6 months and 6 of 11 at 12 months, and in 2 of 5 non-responders at 6 months; growth velocity in responders 3.4 +/- 0.7 cm/yr at baseline to 6.5 +/- 0.7 at 24 monthsPrepubertal growth-hormone-deficient children, mean chronological age 9.0 +/- 2.3 years; the only cohort followed beyond 12 monthsSubcutaneous, 30 mcg/kg once daily, 12 to 24 months16 (11 responders, 5 switched to recombinant growth hormone)Lanes and Carrillo 1994, J Pediatr Endocrinol, PMID 7735367
Biphasic response: 24-hour integrated growth hormone rose from 1.6 +/- 0.1 to 3.5 +/- 0.7 mcg/L/min, then fell to 1.9 +/- 0.9 by 6 months; one child had complete suppression of growth hormone secretion and two showed only one peak above 5 mcg/L in 24 hoursChildren with partial growth hormone deficiency, aged 8 to 10.3 yearsContinuous subcutaneous infusion, 6 months6Tauber 1993, Acta Paediatr Suppl, PMID 8329829
Height velocity 3.3 (SD 1.1) cm/yr before treatment to 6.0 (SD 1.5) cm/yr after 1 year (P=0.004); bone age advanced a mean of 1.1 years per chronological year; height velocity 7.5 (SD 1.5) cm/yr during the subsequent year on growth hormone; leg length SDS maintained or improved after craniospinal irradiationPrepubertal children (six boys) with radiation-induced growth hormone deficiency following cranial (4) or craniospinal (5) irradiation; multicentre before-and-after comparison, no placebo armSubcutaneous, 15 mcg/kg twice daily for 1 year, followed by growth hormone 0.5 U/kg/week for 1 year9Ogilvy-Stuart 1997, Clin Endocrinol (Oxf), PMID 9231053
Disappearance half-time 4.3 +/- 1.4 minutes and metabolic clearance rate 39.7 +/- 3.9 mL/kg/min; the D-Ala2-substituted analogue gave 6.7 +/- 0.5 minutes and 21 +/- 1.2 mL/kg/min in the same subjectsNormal menConstant intravenous infusion, 25 ng/kg/min for 90 minutes10Soule 1994, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 7962295
Intranasal bioavailability 3 to 5 per cent; about 50 mcg/kg intranasally approximated 1 mcg/kg intravenously; growth hormone remained elevated about 3 hours after intravenous injection despite rapid elimination of the peptideHealthy men aged 19 to 43Intravenous and intranasal, single and repeated doses30Wilton 1993, Acta Paediatr Suppl, PMID 8329825
Apparent half-life 18 +/- 4 minutes in serum and 13 +/- 3 minutes in liver homogenate; the Ala2-Asp3 bond, the dipeptidyl peptidase IV site, was hydrolysed in bothRat serum (49 +/- 8 mg protein/mL) and rat liver homogenate; rat GRF(1-29)NH2, not the human sequenceIn vitro incubation at 37 degrees Celsius, 0 to 120 minutesReplicate counts not stated in the retrieved reportBoulanger 1992, Peptides, PMID 1437711
Mean 24-hour growth hormone, area under peaks, peak amplitude and IGF-I rose significantly against the old baseline only at the higher dose; after that dose these measures no longer differed from the young men's; fasting glucose, urinary C-peptide and blood pressure unaffectedHealthy non-obese old men (68.0 +/- 6.2 years) compared with young men (26.2 +/- 4.1 years)Subcutaneous, twice daily for 14 days at each of two doses, with a 14-day washout between10 old, 9 youngCorpas 1992, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 1379256
Mean nocturnal growth hormone release, area under the growth hormone peak and peak amplitude increased; IGF-I, IGFBP-3 and growth hormone binding protein unchanged; weight, body mass index, waist-to-hip ratio and DEXA measures of muscle and fat unchanged; 2 of 6 strength measures and 1 endurance test improvedHealthy ambulatory non-obese men aged 64 to 76 with low baseline IGF-ISubcutaneous, single nightly self-injection for 6 weeks11Vittone 1997, Metabolism, PMID 9005976
Improved performance versus placebo on WAIS-R performance IQ (P<0.01), WAIS-R picture arrangement (P<0.01), finding A's (P<0.01), verbal sets (P<0.01) and single-dual task (P<0.04); effects independent of gender, oestrogen status and baseline cognitive capacityHealthy older adults, mean age 68.0 +/- 0.7 years, assigned to treatment or placebo. MEDLINE indexes the report as a Controlled Clinical Trial and not as a Randomized Controlled Trial, and neither the paper nor its companion review describes randomisationSubcutaneous, single evening injection of 14 mcg/kg of GHRH(1-29)NH2, sermorelin acetate, for 6 months89Vitiello 2006, Neurobiol Aging, PMID 16399214; drug identity confirmed in Vitiello 2001, PMID 22034239
Pittsburgh Sleep Quality Index total rose from 4.1 +/- 2.8 to 5.41 +/- 2.8 on treatment (P<0.05), a shift towards poorer subjective sleep, against 4.51 +/- 2.9 to 4.61 +/- 2.7 on placebo; no component score showed a clear effect; nighttime pulsatile growth hormone secretion was not restored and late-night secretion fell against baselineHealthy older men and women; preliminary analysis of a trial still in progress at the time of reportingSubcutaneous, single evening injection of 14 mcg/kg37 on drug, 38 on placeboVitiello 2001, Dialogues Clin Neurosci, PMID 22034239
Sermorelin has a half-life of 10 to 20 minutes, most often stated as 11 to 12 minutesSearched PubMed for sermorelin combined with half-life: ten records, none reporting a human plasma half-life in that range for the unsubstituted 1-29 amide. The one direct human measurement located is Soule 1994 (PMID 7962295), which gives a disappearance half-time of 4.3 +/- 1.4 minutes in ten men on constant intravenous infusion. The nearest values in the quoted range are rat and in vitro: Boulanger 1992 (PMID 1437711) reports 18 +/- 4 minutes in rat serum and 13 +/- 3 minutes in rat liver homogenate, for the rat rather than the human peptide. No human study producing a 10 to 20 minute figure was located in PubMed or through general search.No source found
Sermorelin increases deep or slow-wave sleep; one figure in circulation is a 45 per cent improvement in deep sleep in adults over 40Searched PubMed for sermorelin combined with polysomnography, slow-wave sleep or sleep architecture: two records, one a rat study of a GHRH antagonist and one a human study of a GHRH antagonist that found slow-wave sleep unchanged. Searched sermorelin combined with sleep: eight records, none a human sleep trial of the 1-29 amide. The trial registered to test the question, NCT00000380, posted no results; the registry links two result publications, a 2006 cognition paper and a 2004 cross-sectional baseline analysis of sleep quality (PMID 15172206), and neither reports a treatment effect on sleep. The trial's interim subjective sleep data moved towards worse sleep. The 45 per cent figure could not be traced to any publication, registry entry or retrievable abstract.No source found
Sermorelin produces a lean mass increase of about 1.26 kg after 16 weeks in older adultsThe sixteen-week interval matches Khorram 1997 (PMID 9141536), which ran sixteen weeks and reported a lean body mass increase in men only. That study used [Nle27]GHRH(1-29)NH2, a norleucine-substituted analogue, and its abstract carries no kilogram figure. Searched PubMed for sermorelin combined with body composition, lean body mass or fat mass: three records, one of them that paper and one a narrative review. The only body-composition numbers attached to confirmed sermorelin are unpublished interim figures in a 2001 review, roughly a five per cent fall in percentage body fat in men and non-oestrogenised women; that trial posted no results. Vittone 1997 (PMID 9005976) measured body composition by DEXA in eleven men and found no change.No source found
Sermorelin is an FDA-approved medicineIt was approved twice and is not approved now. FDA withdrew approval of NDA 19-863 and NDA 20-443 effective 18 June 2009; the withdrawal and the reasons for it are recorded in the Federal Register of 4 March 2013 at 78 FR 14095. Drugs@FDA lists both products with marketing status Discontinued, and states that the label for NDA 020443 is not available on that site. The FDA-commissioned December 2020 review found no approved product in the United States or in twelve other national registers. Pages describing the compound as currently approved are describing a status that ended in 2009; pages describing it as never approved are also wrong.No source found
Sermorelin cannot be over-stimulated or overdosed, because the pituitary's own feedback loop limits how much growth hormone is releasedSearched PubMed for sermorelin combined with tachyphylaxis, desensitisation or desensitization: eleven records, none of which tests the safety framing in people over time. The framing does appear in one place in the regulatory record: an interview with a subject-matter expert in the December 2020 FDA-commissioned report, who states that with dose adjustment by IGF-1 it is very hard to overshoot. That is presented as clinical opinion with no supporting data cited. Hansen 2001 (PMID 11169166) reports rapid homologous desensitisation of the human GHRH receptor expressed in a baby hamster kidney line, mixed desensitisation in primary rat pituitary cells, and reduced receptor surface expression consistent with internalisation, without depletion of growth hormone stores. Human data point the same way: Kirk 1994 (PMID 7955460) recorded falling overnight growth hormone and falling responses to GHRH testing across twelve months, and Tauber 1993 (PMID 8329829) recorded one child in six with complete suppression of secretion after six months of continuous infusion.No source found
Sermorelin restores natural pulsatile growth hormone secretionThis is the mechanistic rationale most often offered for the compound, and the one report that measured it recorded the opposite. The 2001 review of the University of Washington trials (PMID 22034239) recorded a single large growth hormone burst after each evening injection, nighttime pulsatile secretion not restored, and late-night secretion reduced against baseline profiles. Vittone 1997 (PMID 9005976) reported increased nocturnal growth hormone with no change in pulse frequency and no change in IGF-I. Searched PubMed for sermorelin combined with pulsatility, pulsatile or pulse frequency: thirty records, largely 1980s and 1990s infusion physiology; no trial designed to test restoration of a physiological nocturnal pulse pattern under chronic once-nightly administration was located among them.No source found
Lyophilised material keeps for a stated number of months at a given temperature, and reconstituted solution for a stated number of weeks refrigeratedSearched PubMed for sermorelin combined with stability: fourteen records, all analytical-chemistry or pharmacology papers, none a stability time course, purity curve or aggregation study for a sermorelin preparation. Searched sermorelin combined with storage, lyophilised, lyophilized or reconstitution: three records, none relevant. The FDA-commissioned December 2020 report records that no United States Pharmacopeia monograph existed for sermorelin acetate, which is where a compendial storage specification would sit. The month-and-temperature windows in circulation trace to supplier catalogue copy. No experiment underlies them.No source found
Combining sermorelin with a growth hormone-releasing peptide produces a synergistic release of growth hormoneSearched PubMed for sermorelin combined with ipamorelin: five records, four of them narrative reviews published in 2026 and one a 2020 review of secretagogues in hypogonadal men. None reports a combination experiment. The FDA-commissioned December 2020 report records that the 503B nomination itself covered a combination of sermorelin acetate with GHRP-2 and GHRP-6 in a single vial, and that its literature search returned zero studies of that combination. The synergy statement in that report appears only in an interview with a subject-matter expert, who added in the same passage that data beyond cell and animal work and small non-outcome-based human studies were lacking.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The approval that was withdrawn

Two US approvals existed. NDA 19-863, a 0.05 mg base ampoule, was approved on 28 December 1990 and indicated for evaluating the ability of the pituitary somatotroph to secrete growth hormone. NDA 20-443, at 0.5 and 1.0 mg base per vial, was approved on 26 September 1997 and indicated for idiopathic growth hormone deficiency in children with growth failure. Both applications were held by the same manufacturer. Drugs@FDA records the 1997 approval as a Type 3 new dosage form under standard review with orphan status.

The manufacturer requested the withdrawal. FDA did not act on safety or effectiveness grounds. A letter dated 11 July 2008 notified FDA that the diagnostic ampoule was being discontinued, and letters dated 2 and 12 December 2008 requested withdrawal of both applications. FDA announced the withdrawal of approval of NDA 19-863 and NDA 20-443 effective 18 June 2009. A citizen petition filed in October 2012 prompted a determination, published on 4 March 2013, that neither product was withdrawn from sale for reasons of safety or effectiveness, which keeps both in the Discontinued Drug Product List section of the Orange Book and leaves the applications open to generic reference.

What is no longer retrievable matters for anyone trying to check a figure. The Drugs@FDA entry for NDA 20-443 states that the label is not available on that site, so the prescribing information for the treatment product cannot be read there. An FDA-commissioned review completed in December 2020 searched the national medicine registers of thirteen countries and regions and found no approved sermorelin product in the United States or in any of the others, and recorded that no United States Pharmacopeia monograph existed for sermorelin acetate.

What the trials in children measured

The largest treatment study is the multicentre, open-label trial published in 1996 by Thorner and the Geref International Study Group. One hundred and ten previously untreated prepubertal growth-hormone-deficient children received 30 micrograms per kilogram per day subcutaneously at bedtime for up to a year, and 86 were eligible for the efficacy analysis. Mean height velocity moved from 4.1 plus or minus 0.9 cm per year at baseline to 8.0 plus or minus 1.5 at six months and 7.2 plus or minus 1.3 at twelve. Seventy-four per cent were classed as good responders at six months. There was no placebo arm and no randomisation.

Head-to-head comparisons with growth hormone itself came out differently. Neyzi and colleagues in 1993 randomised 43 prepubertal children with growth hormone deficiency of hypothalamic origin to subcutaneous GHRH(1-29)NH2 at either of two doses or to growth hormone for six months; height velocity was comparable in the high-dose and growth hormone groups, but height standard deviation score for bone age rose only in the growth hormone group (PMID 8329826). Ogilvy-Stuart and colleagues in 1997 treated nine children with radiation-induced deficiency for a year, recording height velocity of 3.3 to 6.0 cm per year, then 7.5 cm per year during the following year on growth hormone.

Two findings from this period cut against the idea that the pituitary response holds indefinitely. Kirk and colleagues treated eighteen short prepubertal children who were not growth-hormone-insufficient for twelve months; height velocity rose from 4.8 to 7.2 cm per year, but overnight growth hormone levels and growth hormone responses to GHRH testing both fell across the treatment year. Tauber and colleagues infused six children with partial deficiency continuously for six months and recorded a biphasic result: 24-hour integrated growth hormone rose from 1.6 to 3.5 micrograms per litre per minute, then fell to 1.9 by six months, with one child showing complete suppression of secretion. Lanes and Carrillo detected antibodies to GHRH in 4 of 11 responders at six months and 6 of 11 at twelve.

How quickly it disappears

Soule, King and Millar measured this directly in 1994. Ten normal men received GHRH(1-29)NH2 by constant intravenous infusion at 25 nanograms per kilogram per minute, with sampling during the ninety-minute infusion and for twenty minutes afterwards. The disappearance half-time was 4.3 plus or minus 1.4 minutes and the metabolic clearance rate 39.7 plus or minus 3.9 mL per kilogram per minute. The same protocol run with the D-Ala2-substituted analogue gave 6.7 plus or minus 0.5 minutes and a clearance rate of 21 plus or minus 1.2, which is the experiment that established what the position-2 substitution buys.

Wilton and colleagues characterised the dose-response and the nasal route in thirty healthy men aged 19 to 43. Intravenous injection at 0.25 micrograms per kilogram, the lowest dose tested, produced significant growth hormone release, with maximal release at 1 to 2 micrograms per kilogram. The peptide was eliminated rapidly, but growth hormone concentrations stayed elevated for about three hours. Absorption across the nasal mucosa was low: bioavailability was 3 to 5 per cent, and roughly 50 micrograms per kilogram intranasally matched 1 microgram per kilogram intravenously.

Where the molecule is cut has been mapped, though in the rat. Boulanger and colleagues incubated rat GRF(1-29)NH2 in rat serum and liver homogenate and reported apparent half-lives of 18 plus or minus 4 and 13 plus or minus 3 minutes; the Ala2-Asp3 bond, the dipeptidyl peptidase IV site, was hydrolysed in both preparations. Memdouh and colleagues later characterised sermorelin(3-29)-NH2, the product of that same cleavage, as an in vitro metabolite, synthesised it as a reference material and spiked it into fortified urine to build a detection method (PMID 34665524). It has not been reported in a real sample. Neither the serum nor the liver figure is a human plasma half-life.

Adults, and the analogue mistaken for it

Corpas and colleagues at the National Institute on Aging studied ten men aged 68.0 plus or minus 6.2 alongside nine young men in 1992. The older men took low and high doses subcutaneously twice daily for fourteen days each, separated by a fourteen-day washout. Increases in mean 24-hour growth hormone, area under peaks, peak amplitude and IGF-I reached significance against the old baseline only at the higher dose. After that dose, none of those measures differed between the age groups. Fasting glucose, urinary C-peptide, blood pressure and chemistry profiles were unaffected.

Vittone and colleagues ran the nightly-dose version in 1997: eleven healthy non-obese men aged 64 to 76 with low baseline IGF-I, self-injecting at home for six weeks. Mean nocturnal growth hormone release, area under the growth hormone peak and peak amplitude all rose. IGF-I, IGF binding protein-3 and growth hormone binding protein did not. Weight, body mass index, waist-to-hip ratio and dual-energy x-ray absorptiometry measures of muscle and fat did not change, nor did muscle histology or glucose and insulin responses. Two of six strength measures and one endurance test improved. The authors concluded that single nightly doses were less effective than multiple daily doses.

Most of what circulates about adults traces to a study of a different peptide. Khorram, Laughlin and Yen enrolled ten women and nine men aged 55 to 71 in a five-month single-blind placebo-controlled trial and gave sixteen weeks of [Nle27]GHRH(1-29)NH2, a norleucine-substituted analogue, at 10 micrograms per kilogram nightly (PMID 9141536). Skin thickness increased in both sexes, lean body mass in men only, and general well-being and libido in men only. Sleep quality was unaffected in both. The peptide is not sermorelin; the substitution is named in the paper's own title.

Vitiello and colleagues published a cognition result in 2006 from eighty-nine healthy older adults, mean age 68.0 plus or minus 0.7, assigned to six months of daily treatment or placebo. MEDLINE indexes the report as a controlled clinical trial and not as a randomised controlled trial, and the paper itself does not describe randomisation. Performance improved on WAIS-R performance IQ, WAIS-R picture arrangement, finding A's, verbal sets and a single-dual task. The 2006 abstract names only GHRH. A companion review from the same group identifies the drug used in both of its trials as GHRH(1-29)NH2, sermorelin acetate, given as a single evening subcutaneous injection at 14 micrograms per kilogram. The molecule administered is therefore documented, which is unusual in the adult literature.

Sleep: registered, then not reported

A trial was registered for exactly this question and its sleep result was never published. NCT00000380, run at the University of Washington with the National Institute of Mental Health, is titled Growth Hormone Releasing Hormone (GHRH) Treatment for Age-Related Sleep Disturbances. It started in June 1996, is listed as completed in July 2007, and has no results posted. The registry links two result publications: the 2006 cognition paper, and a 2004 analysis of baseline subjective and objective sleep quality in 150 healthy older adults (PMID 15172206). Neither reports a treatment effect on sleep; the 2004 paper is a cross-sectional baseline analysis, not an outcome comparison against placebo. A PubMed search returns no polysomnography outcome from the trial.

Interim numbers from that trial went the other way. Reporting preliminary data in 2001 while the study was still running, the investigators recorded that the Pittsburgh Sleep Quality Index total score rose from 4.1 plus or minus 2.8 to 5.41 plus or minus 2.8 in the treated group, thirty-seven subjects, at P less than 0.05, a small but significant move towards poorer subjective sleep, while the placebo group of thirty-eight was unchanged at 4.51 to 4.61. No component score showed a clear effect. The same review recorded that a single large growth hormone burst followed each evening injection, that nighttime pulsatile secretion was not restored, and that late-night secretion was reduced against baseline profiles.

Human work on GHRH and slow-wave sleep exists, but it does not close the gap. Steiger and colleagues gave four hourly intravenous boluses of 50 micrograms to seven male controls and recorded 20.2 plus or minus 6.6 per cent of the night in slow-wave sleep against 14.0 plus or minus 5.6 on placebo (PMID 1361964); the report does not identify which GHRH fragment was used, and PubMed does not index it to sermorelin. Jessup and colleagues ran the converse experiment in 2004, infusing a GHRH antagonist in healthy men for twelve hours: the growth hormone response to a GHRH bolus was suppressed by 93 plus or minus 1.8 per cent and the percentage of slow-wave sleep was unchanged (PMID 15538933). Merriam and colleagues, reviewing their own programme in 2003, wrote that chronic treatment with a short-acting GHRH did not improve sleep (PMID 14610297).

The compounding record and the doping record

Sermorelin acetate sits in category 1 of FDA's list of bulk drug substances nominated for compounding by outsourcing facilities under section 503B, in the version updated 21 March 2025, carrying the two asterisks that designate a component of an FDA-approved drug. The footnote attached to that designation states that FDA does not intend to act against an outsourcing facility for compounding what is essentially a copy of an approved drug that has been discontinued and is no longer marketed. It appears nowhere in the parallel list for compounding under section 503A, updated 14 May 2026, in category 1, 2 or 3.

How the substance reached that list is documented. An FDA-commissioned report completed in December 2020 records that sermorelin acetate was nominated by a compounding pharmacy and by an outsourcing facility trade body, for growth hormone deficiency and adult-onset growth hormone deficiency, and that the stated reason was the absence of an approved product. The report's literature review searched to January 2020, screened 466 titles, read 65 full texts and included two: both 1996 Italian diagnostic studies, 435 patients between them, one testing arginine with GHRH and one comparing arginine-with-GHRH against pyridostigmine-with-GHRH and IGF-I. Neither examined treatment.

Anti-doping analysis supplies the other regulatory datum. Memdouh and colleagues at King's College London state that GHRH and its synthetic analogues are prohibited by the World Anti-Doping Agency, and name sermorelin as one of four analogues they characterised in fortified urine (PMID 34665524). Their paper records that despite admissions and intelligence indicating use, the compounds do not appear to have been found in samples by laboratories accredited to that agency, and attributes this to low urinary concentrations and limited knowledge of their metabolism. They synthesised nineteen in-vitro metabolites as reference materials and reached limits of detection at or below the 1 ng/mL performance requirement.

What is not known

No randomised placebo-controlled trial has tested sermorelin in adults for a body-composition, strength, sleep or metabolic endpoint and published the result. The adult record is four studies: two of fourteen days and six weeks with hormone endpoints, one cognition trial at six months, and one interim report. The cognition trial is indexed in MEDLINE as a controlled clinical trial and not as a randomised one, so even that result does not fill the gap. The registered trial designed around sleep, NCT00000380, ran from 1996 to 2007 and posted no results; its polysomnography outcome data have never appeared in PubMed, and the two publications the registry links to it report cognition and a cross-sectional baseline sleep analysis. A ClinicalTrials.gov search on sermorelin returns 42 studies, of which eleven match on the intervention field, and not one names sermorelin as the intervention: they are labelled generically as GHRH, or use tesamorelin, GHRH(1-44) or a GHRH-plus-arginine diagnostic test. Only three papers in PubMed carry sermorelin in the title, one of them Prakash and Goa's 1999 review (PMID 18031173) and one an in-silico drug-screening exercise in glioma transcriptomes with no experimental administration. Only one study followed children beyond twelve months: sixteen children treated for 12 to 24 months, with growth velocity reported to 24 months (PMID 7735367). Nothing longer than 24 months in children, or 6 months in adults, was located. The 1999 review states that data in a few children suggest the effect is maintained for 36 months of continued treatment, but no primary report of that follow-up was found. Immunogenicity is characterised by one study in sixteen children. No modern repeat-dose toxicology, carcinogenicity, reproductive or developmental data for the compound could be located, and the prescribing information that would have summarised the registration-era safety file is not available through Drugs@FDA.

Questions

Is sermorelin an approved medicine?
Not now. Two US approvals existed, NDA 19-863 for a diagnostic ampoule approved 28 December 1990 and NDA 20-443 for a paediatric treatment approved 26 September 1997, both held by the same manufacturer. FDA withdrew approval of both effective 18 June 2009 after the company requested it. A 2013 Federal Register determination found the withdrawals were not for reasons of safety or effectiveness. An FDA-commissioned review in December 2020 found no approved product in the United States or in twelve other national registers.
What is sermorelin's half-life?
The one direct human measurement located gives 4.3 plus or minus 1.4 minutes. Soule and colleagues infused GHRH(1-29)NH2 intravenously at 25 ng/kg/min into ten normal men and measured the disappearance half-time and a metabolic clearance rate of 39.7 plus or minus 3.9 mL/kg/min (PMID 7962295). The 10 to 20 minute figures in circulation could not be traced to a human study; the nearest values are rat serum and rat liver homogenate measurements of the rat peptide.
Is sermorelin the same thing as CJC-1295 or tesamorelin?
No. Sermorelin is the human GHRH sequence truncated at residue 29 and amidated, with nothing substituted. CJC-1295 is that same 29-residue backbone with four substitutions, and in its DAC form a thirtieth residue carrying an albumin-reactive group. Tesamorelin is the full 44-residue hormone with a hexenoyl group on the first residue. Findings from one do not transfer to another, and the differences were engineered specifically to change clearance.
Has sermorelin been shown to improve sleep?
No published trial establishes it. The trial registered to test it, NCT00000380 at the University of Washington, completed in July 2007 with no results posted. The registry links two result publications, a 2006 cognition paper and a 2004 cross-sectional analysis of baseline sleep quality in 150 healthy older adults (PMID 15172206); neither compares sleep on treatment against placebo. The investigators' 2001 interim report found the Pittsburgh Sleep Quality Index total rose slightly on treatment, towards poorer sleep, while placebo was unchanged. Merriam and colleagues, reviewing that programme in 2003, wrote that chronic treatment with a short-acting GHRH did not improve sleep (PMID 14610297).
Where do the adult skin, libido and lean-mass figures come from?
From Khorram, Laughlin and Yen's 1997 trial in ten women and nine men aged 55 to 71 (PMID 9141536), which reported increased skin thickness in both sexes and increased lean body mass, well-being and libido in men only. That study used [Nle27]GHRH(1-29)NH2, a norleucine-substituted analogue named in its own title, not sermorelin. The same paper recorded that sleep quality was unaffected in both sexes.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 16132413, Sermorelin. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, records for SERMORELIN (UNII 89243S03TE) and SERMORELIN ACETATE (UNII 00IBG87IQW). Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Determination That GEREF (Sermorelin Acetate) Injection, 0.5 Milligrams Base/Vial and 1.0 Milligrams Base/Vial, and GEREF (Sermorelin Acetate) Injection, 0.05 Milligrams Base/Amp, Were Not Withdrawn From Sale for Reasons of Safety or Effectiveness. 78 FR 14095, 4 March 2013. Docket No. FDA-2012-P-1071. (Trade name retained only because it forms part of the document's own title.) View on www.federalregister.gov
  4. Drugs@FDA, NDA 019863 and NDA 020443, sermorelin acetate injection. Both products marked Discontinued; the label for NDA 020443 is recorded as not available on that site. View on www.accessdata.fda.gov
  5. University of Maryland Center of Excellence in Regulatory Science and Innovation. Summary Report: Sermorelin acetate. Prepared for the Food and Drug Administration, clinical use of bulk drug substances nominated for inclusion on the 503B Bulks List. December 2020. Grant 5U01FD005946. View on archive.hshsl.umaryland.edu
  6. FDA. Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503B of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, updated 21 March 2025. Sermorelin Acetate appears in 503B category 1, marked as a component of an FDA-approved drug. View on www.fda.gov
  7. FDA. Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, updated 14 May 2026. Sermorelin does not appear in category 1, 2 or 3. View on www.fda.gov
  8. NCT00000380. Growth Hormone Releasing Hormone (GHRH) Treatment for Age-Related Sleep Disturbances. University of Washington with the National Institute of Mental Health. Started June 1996, completion July 2007 (actual), no results posted. Registry links two result publications, PMID 16399214 and PMID 15172206. Retrieved from the ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, 18 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  9. Prakash A, Goa KL. Sermorelin: a review of its use in the diagnosis and treatment of children with idiopathic growth hormone deficiency. BioDrugs. 1999;12(2):139-57. PMID 18031173 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Khorram O, Laughlin GA, Yen SS. Endocrine and metabolic effects of long-term administration of [Nle27]growth hormone-releasing hormone-(1-29)-NH2 in age-advanced men and women. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1997;82(5):1472-9. PMID 9141536 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Vitiello MV, Moe KE, Merriam GR, Mazzoni G, Buchner DH, Schwartz RS. Growth hormone releasing hormone improves the cognition of healthy older adults. Neurobiol Aging. 2006;27(2):318-23. PMID 16399214 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Vitiello MV, Larsen LH, Moe KE. Age-related sleep change: Gender and estrogen effects on the subjective-objective sleep quality relationships of healthy, noncomplaining older men and women. J Psychosom Res. 2004;56(5):503-10. PMID 15172206 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Vitiello MV, Schwartz RS, Moe KE, Mazzoni G, Merriam GR. Treating age-related changes in somatotrophic hormones, sleep, and cognition. Dialogues Clin Neurosci. 2001;3(3):229-36. PMID 22034239 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Steiger A, Guldner J, Hemmeter U, Rothe B, Wiedemann K, Holsboer F. Effects of growth hormone-releasing hormone and somatostatin on sleep EEG and nocturnal hormone secretion in male controls. Neuroendocrinology. 1992;56(4):566-73. PMID 1361964 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Jessup SK, Malow BA, Symons KV, Barkan AL. Blockade of endogenous growth hormone-releasing hormone receptors dissociates nocturnal growth hormone secretion and slow-wave sleep. Eur J Endocrinol. 2004;151(5):561-6. PMID 15538933 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Merriam GR, Schwartz RS, Vitiello MV. Growth hormone-releasing hormone and growth hormone secretagogues in normal aging. Endocrine. 2003;22(1):41-8. PMID 14610297 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Memdouh S, Gavrilovic I, Ng K, Cowan D, Abbate V. Advances in the detection of growth hormone releasing hormone synthetic analogs. Drug Test Anal. 2021;13(11-12):1871-1887. PMID 34665524 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Hansen BS, Gerlach LO, Hansen A, Foged C, Andersen PH. The growth hormone-releasing hormone receptor: desensitisation following short-term agonist exposure. Pharmacol Toxicol. 2001;88(2):81-8. PMID 11169166 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.