Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

CJC-1295 (with and without DAC)

CJC-1295 names two different molecules: a 29-residue analogue of growth hormone-releasing hormone, and a 30-residue version carrying a maleimide group that binds covalently to albumin. Every published human, rat and mouse finding was generated with the second. FDA identified no pharmacological, pharmacokinetic or toxicology study of the first in any species. The only trial in a patient population was terminated in 2006 after a death and has never been published.

Strongest evidence: Human dataTwo small published pharmacology trials in healthy volunteers; the sole patient trial was terminated unpublished; not an approved medicine anywhere 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic analogue of human growth hormone-releasing hormone, GHRH(1-29), substituted at positions 2, 8, 15 and 27; the DAC form is additionally an albumin-reactive bioconjugate
CAS number
446262-90-4 (CJC-1295 DAC free base); 446036-97-1 (CJC-1295 free base, the DAC-free 29-mer, also indexed as 863288-34-0)
PubChem CID
91971820 (DAC form); 56841945 (DAC-free form)
Molecular formula
C165H269N47O46 (DAC form); C152H252N44O42 (DAC-free form)
Molecular weight
DAC form 3647.2 g/mol per PubChem, 3647.95 per FDA; DAC-free form 3367.9 g/mol per PubChem, 3367.95 per FDA
Sequence
DAC-free backbone, 29 residues: Tyr-D-Ala-Asp-Ala-Ile-Phe-Thr-Gln-Ser-Tyr-Arg-Lys-Val-Leu-Ala-Gln-Leu-Ser-Ala-Arg-Lys-Leu-Leu-Gln-Asp-Ile-Leu-Ser-Arg-NH2. The DAC form adds Lys30 whose epsilon-amine carries a 3-maleimidopropionamide group.
Also indexed as
DAC:GRF; CJC-1295 with DAC; CJC-1295 no-DAC; modified GRF (1-29); mod GRF 1-29; UNII 62RC32V9N7; DTXSID501027567

Two molecules under one name

CJC-1295 is not one compound. In its November 2024 evaluation for the section 503A bulk drug substances list, FDA separated the name into five distinct bulk drug substances resting on two distinct active moieties. The first is a 29-residue analogue of human growth hormone-releasing hormone, formula C152H252N44O42, molecular weight 3367.95 g/mol, CAS 446036-97-1. The second adds a thirtieth residue, a lysine bearing a 3-maleimidopropionamide group, giving C165H269N47O46 at 3647.95 g/mol, CAS 446262-90-4, UNII 62RC32V9N7. That maleimide is the drug affinity complex, and it is the whole point of the second molecule: it reacts with the free thiol of cysteine 34 on circulating albumin.

Registries do not hold the two apart. PubChem CID 91971820 is titled CJC-1295 and carries the maleimide, so the name resolves to the modified molecule. CID 56841945 is the plain 29-mer, and its synonym list contains “CJC 1295 with DAC” and “CJC-1295-no DAC acetate” simultaneously, plus a linear name string that describes the 30-residue conjugate. FDA recorded the same defect in its own database, noting that the Global Substance Registration System record named for the unmodified compound displays the structure of the modified one. The agency treated inconsistent naming as a safety risk in its own right.

Four substitutions distinguish the peptide backbone from native GHRH(1-29): D-alanine at position 2, glutamine at 8, alanine at 15 and leucine at 27. Jetté and colleagues, who built the molecule at ConjuChem, described these as intended to resist dipeptidyl peptidase-IV cleavage, asparagine rearrangement and methionine oxidation. The marketplace term “CJC-1295 without DAC” describes that backbone alone. It is also sold as modified GRF (1-29). The two labels point at the same 29 residues, and neither points at the molecule that the human trials used.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Growth hormone 2- to 10-fold above baseline for 6 days or more; IGF-I 1.5- to 3-fold for 9-11 days; estimated half-life 5.8-8.1 daysHealthy adults aged 21-61Subcutaneous, single ascending dose42 (35 on drug, 7 on placebo)Teichman 2006, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 16352683
Maximum plasma concentration 29-70% higher after the day-14 injection than day 0; mean IGF-I above baseline through day 28; estimated half-life 5.4-9.2 daysHealthy adultsSubcutaneous, two or three weekly or biweekly doses24 (four groups of six, one placebo per group)Teichman 2006, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 16352683
Adverse events in 33 of 35 subjects on drug vs 2 of 7 on placebo; injection-site reactions ~70%, headache 63% vs 14%, diarrhoea 43%, vasodilatory reactions 30%Healthy adults aged 21-61Subcutaneous, single ascending dose42 (35 on drug, 7 on placebo)Teichman 2006, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 16352683 (adverse-event breakdown as summarised in the FDA 2024 evaluation)
Pulse frequency and magnitude unaltered; trough growth hormone up 7.5-fold, mean growth hormone up 46%, IGF-I up 45% at one weekHealthy men aged 20-40Subcutaneous, single dose of 60 or 90 mcg/kg12 (4 at 60 mcg/kg, 8 at 90 mcg/kg)Ionescu and Frohman 2006, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 17018654
Two serum protein spots decreased (apolipoprotein A1 and transthyretin isoforms) and three increased one week after a single injectionHealthy young adult men, a subset of the Ionescu cohortSubcutaneous, single dose11Sackmann-Sala 2009, Growth Horm IGF Res, PMID 19386527
4-fold increase in growth hormone area under the curve over 2 hours vs hGRF(1-29); peptide detectable in plasma beyond 72 hours vs 1 hour for hGRF(1-29)Normal adult male Sprague-Dawley ratsSubcutaneous, single 1 micromol/kg doseNot stated in the retrieved reportJetté 2005, Endocrinology, PMID 15817669
Body weight and length normalised to heterozygous control levels with 24-hour dosing; partial effect at 48 and 72 hours; increased pituitary growth hormone mRNAGHRH knockout mice, treated from 1 week of age for 5 weeksSubcutaneous week 1, then intraperitoneal, 2 micrograms per mouseThree treated groups; group sizes not stated in the retrieved reportAlba 2006, Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab, PMID 16822960
Pituitary gland weight 47% higher than vehicle; increased comet-assay tail moment and γH2AX phosphorylation in the pituitaryFour-month-old male C57BL/6 miceSubcutaneous, 10 mcg/kg three times weekly for 8 weeks (24 injections)16 treated, 15 vehicle (pituitary weight in 10 vs 9)Ben-Shlomo 2020, J Clin Invest, PMID 32673291
Raised intracellular cAMP and growth hormone and produced DNA damage on comet assay and γH2AX; 10-fold weaker than forskolin at raising cAMP; no change in ACTH, prolactin or FSHPrimary pituitary cultures from C57BL/6 miceIn vitro, 10 ng/mL for 16 hours6 per treatment groupBen-Shlomo 2020, J Clin Invest, PMID 32673291
Injection-site haemorrhage, inflammation and necrosis at all doses; reduced red cell counts, haemoglobin and haematocrit by 5-15%; liver weight up 8-25%CD rats, 14-day repeat doseIntravenous, every other day, 0.25-4 mg/kgNot stated in the abstractIordanova 2004, conference abstract, as summarised in the FDA 2024 evaluation; the abstract itself was not retrievable
A preparation submitted by police and customs contained a 29-amino-acid peptide with a C-terminal amide, consistent with the peptide marketed as CJC-1295Seized pharmaceutical preparation of unknown originIn vitro, LC-HRMS/MS1 preparationHenninge 2010, Drug Test Anal, PMID 21204297
Seized material identified as modified GRF (1-29) carried an undeclared extra glycine at the N-terminus, as did three co-seized secretagoguesPreparations seized by Danish customsIn vitro, LC-HRMS against reference standardsNumber of preparations not stated in the abstractGajda 2019, Drug Test Anal, PMID 30136411
CJC-1295 without DAC has a half-life of approximately 30 minutes.The figure appears on vendor product pages, clinic pages and aggregator guides, sometimes stated as 30 minutes and sometimes as 30 minutes to two hours. Searched PubMed for CJC-1295 combined with half-life (five records, all describing the DAC-bearing molecule), for modified GRF or mod GRF combined with pharmacokinetics (zero records), and for the exact phrase “CJC-1295 without DAC” (one record, a 2026 narrative review that does not measure it). FDA's 2024 evaluation states that no pharmacological or pharmacokinetic study of CJC-1295 free base or its acetate was identified in any species. The nearest measured value belongs to a different molecule: Soule 1994 (PMID 7962295) reported a disappearance half-time of 6.7 minutes for D-Ala2-GHRH(1-29) in ten men, against 4.3 minutes for unsubstituted GHRH(1-29). Neither is the tetrasubstituted peptide.No source found
CJC-1295 improves deep or slow-wave sleep.Searched PubMed for CJC-1295 combined with sleep: two records, both 2026 narrative reviews of peptides in orthopaedic and doping contexts, neither reporting a sleep measurement. Searched for GHRH combined with slow-wave sleep: 51 records, none involving CJC-1295 in any form. The claim appears to be transferred from the older literature on native GHRH and sleep architecture onto a different molecule. No polysomnography, actigraphy or sleep-stage measurement of any CJC-1295 preparation was located.No source found
CJC-1295 accelerates recovery from injury, supports collagen synthesis or repairs connective tissue.Searched PubMed for CJC-1295 combined with collagen, tendon or wound: six records, of which five are 2026 narrative reviews and the sixth is the Sackmann-Sala serum proteomics study, which measured protein spots in blood and made no tissue observation. No animal wound model, tendon model or collagen assay involving any CJC-1295 preparation was located. The claim travels with the general growth hormone literature and has no primary source attached to this compound.No source found
Combining CJC-1295 with ipamorelin produces a synergistic release of growth hormone.Searched PubMed for CJC-1295 combined with ipamorelin: ten records. Nine are narrative reviews published in 2026 and one is a 2013 equine analytical method paper that quantifies several peptides in horse plasma. None reports a combination experiment. No study administering the two together to any species, and measuring the result against either alone, was located in PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov. FDA's 2024 evaluation noted that blended products of this kind are sold, but cited no supporting pharmacology.No source found
The CAS registry number for CJC-1295 with DAC is 863288-34-0.That number resolves in PubChem to CID 56841945, whose structure is the 29-residue peptide ending in argininamide, with no lysine 30 and no maleimidopropionamide group. The same CID carries 446036-97-1 as a second registry number, and FDA's 2024 evaluation assigns 446036-97-1 to CJC-1295 free base and 446262-90-4 to CJC-1295 DAC free base. The 863288-34-0 identifier therefore belongs to the DAC-free molecule. Its appearance on pages selling the DAC form is a category error, and it is compounded by PubChem's own synonym list for that CID, which contains “CJC 1295 with DAC” and “CJC-1295-no DAC acetate” on the same record.No source found
CJC-1295 reduces body fat and increases lean mass in people.Searched PubMed for CJC-1295 combined with body composition or lean mass: one record, a narrative review. No human study has reported a body-composition endpoint for this compound. The three published human studies measured hormone concentrations and serum proteins in healthy volunteers, most of whom received a single injection. The one trial designed with a body-composition population, NCT00267527 in HIV-associated visceral obesity, was terminated and its data were never published. The nearest measured body-composition result is Alba 2006, in mice with no endogenous GHRH.No source found
Lyophilised material is stable for a stated number of months at a given temperature, and reconstituted solution for a stated number of weeks refrigerated.Searched PubMed for CJC-1295 combined with stability: zero records. No stability time-course, no HPLC purity curve and no aggregation study for any CJC-1295 preparation was located. FDA's 2024 evaluation states only that the substances are expected to be stable below -20 degrees Celsius, citing the literature generally, and separately flags aggregation as an unaddressed concern for injectable peptide preparations. The specific storage windows in circulation trace to supplier catalogue copy, not to an experiment.No source found
The death in the 2006 phase 2 trial was determined to be unrelated to CJC-1295.The attribution traces to two news items from July and August 2006, which FDA cited in 2024 and described as anecdotal internet reports. Those items record the attending physician's stated explanation, asymptomatic coronary artery disease with plaque rupture and occlusion. No adjudication committee report, no sponsor safety narrative and no publication supports it. ClinicalTrials.gov records NCT00267527 as terminated with no reason given and no results posted, and lists enrolment at 120 where the news reports say 192. Searched PubMed for ConjuChem (eleven records, none reporting the trial) and for the registration number (zero). The event is real; the exoneration is unverified.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What was measured in healthy adults

Two randomised, placebo-controlled ascending-dose trials, running 28 and 49 days, make up the published human record. Teichman and colleagues reported both in 2006. In the first, 42 healthy adults aged 21 to 61 received a single subcutaneous dose, 35 on drug and seven on placebo. Mean plasma growth hormone rose 2- to 10-fold for six days or more, mean plasma IGF-I rose 1.5- to 3-fold for nine to eleven days, and the estimated half-life was 5.8 to 8.1 days. IGF-I exceeded age- and sex-adjusted normal ranges only in the group given 250 mcg/kg.

In the second trial, 24 subjects were split into four groups of six, one of whom received placebo in each. Maximum plasma concentrations after the day-14 injection ran 29 to 70 percent above those on day 0 across all four groups, and mean IGF-I stayed above baseline through day 28. The estimated half-life in that trial ranged from 5.4 to 9.2 days. Individual variability in maximum concentration was described as high and as increasing with successive doses, without a dose relationship.

Ionescu and Frohman sampled blood every 20 minutes across a 12-hour overnight period in 12 healthy men, before and one week after a single injection. Pulse frequency and pulse magnitude were unaltered. Trough growth hormone rose 7.5-fold, mean growth hormone rose 46 percent, and IGF-I rose 45 percent. IGF-I did not exceed the upper limit of normal in any subject, and the IGF-I increases correlated with no measured parameter of growth hormone secretion. Eleven of those twelve men supplied the serum for a 2009 proteomics analysis by Sackmann-Sala and colleagues, which identified candidate protein markers rather than any clinical outcome.

Adverse events were recorded in 33 of 35 subjects on drug in the first Teichman trial, against two of seven on placebo. Injection-site reactions occurred in roughly 70 percent, transient urticarial rashes at the injection site in almost 30 percent, headache in 63 percent against 14 percent on placebo, diarrhoea in 43 percent, and systemic vasodilatory reactions in 30 percent. In the second trial every subject on drug had an injection-site reaction, and flushing was dose-related, reaching 100 percent after high-dose injections. Both trials reported no consistent change in blood or urine laboratory values, including glucose.

The trial that was stopped

One trial of CJC-1295 in a patient population is registered. NCT00267527 was a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 2 study of 12 weeks of treatment in people with HIV-associated visceral obesity, sponsored by ConjuChem, started December 2005. The registry lists enrolment at 120, status terminated, completion September 2006, and no posted results. The record carries no reason for termination and was last updated in October 2006. Nothing from it has been published in the peer-reviewed literature in the twenty years since.

What happened is documented only in contemporaneous news reporting, which FDA characterised in 2024 as anecdotal. Those reports describe 192 subjects enrolled and randomised to escalating low-dose or high-dose weekly injections or placebo. Two hours after an eleventh weekly dose, one subject reported chest discomfort; an electrocardiogram confirmed an acute myocardial infarction and the subject died approximately one hour later. The attending physician's stated explanation was asymptomatic coronary artery disease with plaque rupture and occlusion. No independent adjudication of that attribution has been published, and no information about adverse events in the other subjects has ever appeared.

The registered enrolment figure and the reported one disagree by 72 people, and neither can be checked against a results table. This is the central hole in the CJC-1295 record. Every published human observation comes from healthy volunteers, most of whom received a single injection; the one study that ran for twelve weeks in people with a condition produced a fatality report in the trade press and nothing else.

Animal and cell findings

Jetté and colleagues characterised the molecule in male Sprague-Dawley rats in 2005. A single subcutaneous injection produced a 4-fold increase in growth hormone area under the curve over two hours compared with hGRF(1-29). Plasma concentrations peaked around 30 minutes and remained detectable beyond 72 hours, against one hour for hGRF(1-29) under similar conditions. Western blotting detected immunoreactive material on the albumin band from 15 minutes onward. Growth hormone returned to baseline by two hours while the peptide was still circulating, which the authors could not explain and offered three hypotheses for. Group sizes were not stated in the retrieved report.

Alba and colleagues treated GHRH knockout mice from one week of age for five weeks, at intervals of 24, 48 or 72 hours. Animals dosed every 24 hours reached body weight and length comparable to heterozygous controls; those dosed every 48 or 72 hours grew larger than placebo-treated knockouts without full normalisation. Total pituitary RNA and growth hormone mRNA increased, and immunohistochemistry was read as showing somatotroph proliferation. The retrieved report does not state group sizes. The model has no endogenous GHRH at all, which is the reason the result cannot be carried across to animals with an intact axis.

Ben-Shlomo and colleagues used the compound as a tool in a 2020 study of pituitary adenoma biology, and that work produced the only genotoxicity signal in the file. Four-month-old male C57BL/6 mice received 10 mcg/kg subcutaneously three times weekly for eight weeks: 16 on drug, 15 on phosphate-buffered saline. Pituitary glands from treated mice weighed 47 percent more. Comet assay and γH2AX phosphorylation both indicated DNA damage in the pituitary. In primary mouse pituitary culture, 10 ng/mL over 16 hours raised growth hormone and produced the same two DNA damage readouts, at six replicates per group.

Everything else in the toxicology file exists only as conference abstracts, and is known through FDA's summary of them rather than through retrievable papers. Those abstracts describe single-dose work in rats and beagle dogs, 14-day repeat-dose work in both species, a developmental study in pregnant rats, and a six-month immunogenicity study in cynomolgus monkeys. FDA reported injection-site haemorrhage, inflammation and necrosis in rats and dogs at all tested doses, and read the monkey immunogenicity conclusion as vague, noting the absence of neutralising antibodies appeared to apply to a different compound in the same study.

The regulatory record

FDA evaluated all five CJC-1295-related substances for the 503A bulk drug substances list and, in a memorandum dated 15 November 2024, proposed against adding any of them. The stated grounds were lack of clarity in physicochemical characterisation, insufficient information on historical compounding use, safety concerns from the nonclinical studies, absent clinical safety data for four of the five substances, and absent effectiveness data for all five in growth hormone deficiency. FDA also flagged aggregation and immunogenicity risk specific to injectable peptide preparations, and noted that a certificate of analysis supplied for one substance lacked tests for impurities, aggregates and endotoxins.

None of the five is an approved drug or a component of one, in the United States or elsewhere, and there is no United States Pharmacopeia or National Formulary monograph for any of them. FDA also observed that people with complete growth hormone deficiency would not respond to a secretagogue at all, which limits the indication the substances were nominated for. Under the World Anti-Doping Agency 2026 Prohibited List, CJC-1295 is named at section S2.2.4 among GHRH analogues, prohibited at all times, in and out of competition.

What has been found in the vials

Analytical chemistry laboratories have reported on material seized or submitted under the CJC-1295 name, and the results do not consistently match the molecule the trials used. Henninge and colleagues analysed an unknown pharmaceutical preparation submitted by Norwegian police and customs in 2009 and identified a 29-amino-acid peptide with a C-terminal amide, consistent with the peptide marketed as CJC-1295. Timms and colleagues, developing an equine detection assay, describe CJC-1295 as a 30-amino-acid peptide defined by its maleimidopropionic acid group. A 29-residue amidated peptide does not carry that group.

Gajda and colleagues examined preparations seized by Danish customs and identified modified GRF (1-29) alongside three growth hormone secretagogues, each carrying an extra glycine at the N-terminus. That modification was present in every case and was not declared. Their conclusion was that analytical methods needed updating to catch it, which is a statement about what is being distributed rather than about pharmacology.

A separate asymmetry runs through the whole file. FDA searched and found no pharmacological study, no pharmacokinetic study and no toxicology study of CJC-1295 free base or its acetate in any species. The tetrasubstituted 29-mer sold as the DAC-free version of this compound has never been characterised in a published experiment under that name. Every number that circulates about CJC-1295 was generated with the albumin-binding molecule, and the two are not interchangeable; FDA said so explicitly, and the pharmacology of a covalently modified peptide cannot be extrapolated to the unmodified one.

What is not known

Nothing is known about exposure beyond a few weeks in a person. The published human record consists of 42 subjects given a single dose, 24 given two or three doses over 14 days, and 12 given a single dose with overnight sampling, all healthy volunteers, 87 percent of them men by FDA's count. No trial has reported a clinical endpoint of any kind: no body composition, no functional measure, no disease outcome. The one study designed to produce such an endpoint was terminated in 2006 and its data have never been released, so the safety and effectiveness of twelve weeks of dosing in people with a condition remain unexamined. No published data address use in children, in pregnancy, in older adults, or in people with growth hormone deficiency, the indication for which the substance was nominated to FDA; a secretagogue would not be expected to work at all in complete deficiency. Carcinogenicity has never been studied, which matters because the one long-term rodent experiment on record found pituitary enlargement and DNA damage after eight weeks. Immunogenicity in humans has not been characterised. The DAC-free peptide sold under the same name has no published pharmacology whatsoever. And material circulating under either name has been found by forensic laboratories to differ from what the label says.

Questions

Is CJC-1295 an approved medicine?
No. Neither the DAC-bearing molecule nor the DAC-free peptide is approved in any jurisdiction, neither is a component of an approved drug, and there is no United States Pharmacopeia or National Formulary monograph for either. In November 2024 FDA proposed against adding any of the five CJC-1295-related bulk drug substances to the section 503A list of substances that may be used in compounding.
What is the difference between CJC-1295 with DAC and without DAC?
The DAC-free peptide is 29 residues, a tetrasubstituted version of human GHRH(1-29). The DAC form adds a thirtieth residue, a lysine carrying a maleimidopropionamide group that reacts with cysteine 34 on albumin. Every published human, rat and mouse study used the DAC-bearing molecule. FDA identified no pharmacological, pharmacokinetic or toxicology study of the DAC-free substance in any species, and stated that the pharmacology of one cannot be extrapolated to the other.
How long does CJC-1295 stay in circulation?
For the DAC-bearing molecule, Teichman and colleagues estimated a half-life of 5.8 to 8.1 days in a single-dose trial and 5.4 to 9.2 days in a multiple-dose trial, both in healthy adults. In rats, Jetté and colleagues detected the peptide beyond 72 hours after a single subcutaneous injection, against one hour for hGRF(1-29). No half-life has been measured for the DAC-free peptide in any species.
Why did development stop?
The registered phase 2 trial in HIV-associated visceral obesity, NCT00267527, was terminated in 2006. ClinicalTrials.gov records the termination without a reason and holds no results. News reporting from July 2006, which FDA cited in 2024 as anecdotal, describes a participant dying of an acute myocardial infarction two hours after an eleventh weekly dose. No causal determination has ever been published, and no data from the trial have appeared in the literature.
Has any study found evidence of harm?
Ben-Shlomo and colleagues, using the compound as a tool to study pituitary biology, reported that mice given 10 mcg/kg three times weekly for eight weeks had pituitary glands 47 percent heavier than controls, with DNA damage detected by comet assay and γH2AX phosphorylation. FDA's summary of unpublished conference abstracts describes injection-site haemorrhage, inflammation and necrosis in rats and dogs at all tested doses. None of this has been examined in people.

References

  1. Teichman SL, Neale A, Lawrence B, Gagnon C, Castaigne JP, Frohman LA. Prolonged stimulation of growth hormone (GH) and insulin-like growth factor I secretion by CJC-1295, a long-acting analog of GH-releasing hormone, in healthy adults. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2006;91(3):799-805. Typed by PubMed as a Randomized Controlled Trial; no retraction, expression of concern or erratum recorded. PMID 16352683. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Ionescu M, Frohman LA. Pulsatile secretion of growth hormone (GH) persists during continuous stimulation by CJC-1295, a long-acting GH-releasing hormone analog. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2006;91(12):4792-4797. PMID 17018654. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Sackmann-Sala L, Ding J, Frohman LA, Kopchick JJ. Activation of the GH/IGF-1 axis by CJC-1295, a long-acting GHRH analog, results in serum protein profile changes in normal adult subjects. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2009;19(6):471-477. PMID 19386527. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Jetté L, Léger R, Thibaudeau K, et al. Human growth hormone-releasing factor (hGRF)1-29-albumin bioconjugates activate the GRF receptor on the anterior pituitary in rats: identification of CJC-1295 as a long-lasting GRF analog. Endocrinology. 2005;146(7):3052-3058. PMID 15817669. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Alba M, Fintini D, Sagazio A, Lawrence B, Castaigne JP, Frohman LA, Salvatori R. Once-daily administration of CJC-1295, a long-acting growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH) analog, normalizes growth in the GHRH knockout mouse. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2006;291(6):E1290-E1294. PMID 16822960. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Ben-Shlomo A, Deng N, Ding E, et al. DNA damage and growth hormone hypersecretion in pituitary somatotroph adenomas. J Clin Invest. 2020;130(11):5738-5755. PMID 32673291. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Henninge J, Pepaj M, Hullstein I, Hemmersbach P. Identification of CJC-1295, a growth-hormone-releasing peptide, in an unknown pharmaceutical preparation. Drug Test Anal. 2010;2(11-12):647-650. PMID 21204297. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Gajda PM, Holm NB, Hoej LJ, Rasmussen BS, Dalsgaard PW, Reitzel LA, Linnet K. Glycine-modified growth hormone secretagogues identified in seized doping material. Drug Test Anal. 2019;11(2):350-354. PMID 30136411. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Timms M, Ganio K, Forbes G, Bailey S, Steel R. An immuno polymerase chain reaction screen for the detection of CJC-1295 and other growth-hormone-releasing hormone analogs in equine plasma. Drug Test Anal. 2019;11(6):804-812. PMID 30489688. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Soule S, King JA, Millar RP. Incorporation of D-Ala2 in growth hormone-releasing hormone-(1-29)-NH2 increases the half-life and decreases metabolic clearance in normal men. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1994;79(4):1208-1211. PMID 7962295. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Dominikowski A, Rękoś Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchała M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne). 2026;17:1822475. Narrative review, cited here for context rather than for any figure. PMID 42395176. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. US Food and Drug Administration. Evaluation of five CJC-1295-related bulk drug substances for inclusion on the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List. FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting of 4 December 2024; memorandum dated 15 November 2024. View on www.fda.gov
  13. ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT00267527, A Multicenter, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Double-Blind, Phase 2 Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of CJC 1295 Administered for 12 Weeks in HIV Infected Patients With HIV Associated Visceral Obesity. Sponsor ConjuChem; enrolment 120; status terminated; no reason recorded; no results posted; last updated October 2006. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  14. PubChem compound record CID 91971820, titled CJC-1295, carrying CAS 446262-90-4, UNII 62RC32V9N7, formula C165H269N47O46, molecular weight 3647.2 g/mol, with the maleimidopropionamide group present in the structure. Retrieved 17 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. PubChem compound record CID 56841945, the 29-residue argininamide, carrying CAS 863288-34-0 and 446036-97-1, formula C152H252N44O42, molecular weight 3367.9 g/mol. Its synonym list contains both “CJC 1295 with DAC” and “CJC-1295-no DAC acetate”. Retrieved 17 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. World Anti-Doping Agency. 2026 Prohibited List, section S2.2.4, growth hormone releasing factors, naming CJC-1293, CJC-1295, sermorelin and tesamorelin as GHRH analogues prohibited at all times. Text read from a national anti-doping organisation's published copy of the 2026 list. View on www.wada-ama.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.