Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

J147

J147 is a synthetic trifluoroacetyl hydrazide, indexed in PubChem as CID 25229652, developed at the Salk Institute from a screening programme that began with curcumin and kept none of its structure. The published record is entirely preclinical: cell culture, rodents and flies, most of it from one laboratory. A Phase 1 single-ascending-dose study in 64 healthy volunteers completed in February 2020 and has never reported a result.

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyRodent, fly and cell-culture work only; a completed Phase 1 in 64 healthy volunteers has posted no results and has never been published; not approved for human use anywhere 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic trifluoroacetyl phenyl hydrazide (not a peptide, not a curcuminoid)
CAS number
1807913-16-1 (primary, E-configured); 1146963-51-0 (non-specific stereochemistry)
PubChem CID
25229652
Molecular formula
C18H17F3N2O2
Molecular weight
350.34 g/mol (GSRS: 350.3357)
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
J147; J-147; J 147; UNII Z41H3C5BT9; CHEMBL2387144; DrugBank DB13957; EPA DTXSID501045787; CHEBI:192601; InChIKey HYMZAYGFKNNHDN-SSDVNMTOSA-N. IUPAC: N-(2,4-dimethylphenyl)-2,2,2-trifluoro-N-[(E)-(3-methoxyphenyl)methylideneamino]acetamide

Identity, and the distance from curcumin

PubChem returns one record for J147: CID 25229652, formula C18H17F3N2O2, molecular weight 350.3, InChIKey HYMZAYGFKNNHDN-SSDVNMTOSA-N, IUPAC name N-(2,4-dimethylphenyl)-2,2,2-trifluoro-N-[(E)-(3-methoxyphenyl)methylideneamino]acetamide. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds the same structure under UNII Z41H3C5BT9 with preferred name J-147, the same formula and a molecular weight of 350.3357. Two CAS numbers attach to that record. GSRS lists 1807913-16-1 as the primary code and flags 1146963-51-0 as non-specific stereochemistry. The second is the number that appears on catalogue and aggregator listings almost without exception. Both resolve to the same PubChem compound. ChEMBL indexes the molecule as CHEMBL2387144 at a maximum phase of 1.

Descent from curcumin is a search history rather than a structural relationship. The programme started from curcumin and made hybrids with cyclohexyl-bisphenol A to give the pyrazole CNB-001, reported by Liu in 2008 (PMID 18208543); the hydroxyl groups were then removed to give CNB-023, first described in Table 1 of Chen 2011 (PMID 22194796); a deliberately promiscuous reaction between 2,4-dimethylphenyl hydrazine and m-anisaldehyde followed, and the most active product was picked off a thin-layer plate. What survived that sequence is a trifluoroacetyl hydrazide bridging a dimethylphenyl ring and a methoxyphenyl ring. The diketone is gone, the phenols are gone, and no fragment of the curcumin scaffold remains. Pages describing J147 as a turmeric extract or a form of curcumin are describing the provenance of an idea.

Nothing bearing this name is approved anywhere. Queries to openFDA against Drugs@FDA and against the labelling endpoint both returned NOT_FOUND for J147 and J-147 on 18 August 2026, and no approval in any other jurisdiction was located. The Salk Institute holds the patents; Abrexa Pharmaceuticals holds the licence, and the conflict-of-interest statement on Kepchia's 2021 paper in Aging records that the compound's originating scientist served as an unpaid adviser to that company.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
EC50 25 nM against cell death following trophic factor withdrawal and approximately 200 nM against extracellular Aβ 1-42 toxicity; the figure legend gives a range of 10-200 nM across six assays. Curcumin, run in parallel, was marginally active in two assays and inactive in the others at the concentrations tested (10 µM in glucose starvation, where J147 was used at 20 nM)Primary rat embryonic (E18) cortical and hippocampal neurons; HT22 hippocampal line with and without TrkB; PC12 cellsIn vitro3 or 4 replicates per concentration, as stated in the figure legendChen 2011, PLoS One, PMID 22194796
Recognition index in a novel object recognition test rose at all three doses; one-way ANOVA F(3,40) = 12.9. Galantamine 3 mg/kg intraperitoneally was the positive control. The testing was performed by a named contract behavioural laboratory7-week-old male Sprague-Dawley rats, 175-200 gOral gavage, 1, 2 or 5 mg/kg, one hour before training12 per groupChen 2011, PLoS One, PMID 22194796
Novel object location reported at F(1,22) = 2.5 with p < 0.05, Y maze at F(1,22) = 3.3 with p = 0.0032, Barnes maze retention at F(1,22) = 2.6 with p < 0.01, Barnes acquisition blocks at F(1,22) = 2.0 (p = 0.057) and 1.8 (p = 0.086). At 1 and 22 degrees of freedom the 0.05 critical value is 4.301, so these F values correspond to p = 0.128, 0.083, 0.121, 0.171 and 0.193. The Methods state Y maze data were analysed by Student's t-testMale C57BL/6J mice fed from 6 weeks of age; Barnes maze begun at 2 weeks of exposure, Y maze at 7 weeks, novel object location at 8 weeksOral, 200 ppm in chow (stated as 10-20 mg/kg/day)12 per groupChen 2011, PLoS One, PMID 22194796; degrees-of-freedom check computed against the F distribution this session
Morris water maze acquisition F(2,14) = 8.3 and probe trial F(2,54) = 16.6 in favour of the treated transgenic group. RIPA-soluble hippocampal Aβ 1-40 and Aβ 1-42 were reduced and Aβ polymers of 40-60 kDa fell; RIPA-insoluble Aβ 1-40 and Aβ 1-42 were unchanged; plaque area and count fell while plaque size did not. No wild-type-plus-drug arm was includedAPPswe/PS1ΔE9 line 85 transgenic mice on high-fat chow; start age given as 3 months in Methods, 4 months in Results and 3-10 months in the figure legend; histology panel describes 13-month-old animalsOral, 200 ppm in chow6 to 9 mice per groupChen 2011, PLoS One, PMID 22194796
Escape latency on the hidden-platform trial of a two-day water maze, open-arm time on the elevated plus maze and freezing to context all differed from control in the treated group; freezing to the cue on day 3 did not. Group sizes are reported as 11 control and 13 treated in the body text and as 11 and 12 in the figure legend. No wild-type control group was includedMale and female APPswe/PS1ΔE9 line 85 mice, aged to 20 months before treatment beganOral, 200 ppm in high-fat chow (~10 mg/kg/day) for 3 months11 control and 13 treated (text); 11 and 12 (figure legend)Prior 2013, Alzheimers Res Ther, PMID 23673233
Terminal half-life 1.5 h in plasma and 2.5 h in brain; oral bioavailability 28%; brain concentration approximately 600 nM at 2 h; brain-to-blood ratio approximately 0.5. MDCK-MDR1 brain penetration classified as High. Strain, sex and animal numbers are not stated, and the work is attributed to a named contract laboratoryMice; strain and sex not stated in the sourceSingle oral dose, 20 mg/kgNot statedPrior 2013, Alzheimers Res Ther, PMID 23673233
No reproducible inhibition above 60% at 10 µM across screens covering 60 CNS receptors and transporters, a 352-kinase binding screen and a separate 50-kinase activity screen, all tyrosine and serine/threonine phosphatases, proteases, caspases, deubiquitinases, esterases, secretases, lipoxygenases, cyclooxygenases, sirtuins, PPARα and γ, acetylcholinesterase and all phosphodiesterases — except monoamine oxidase B (EC50 1.88 µM) and the dopamine transporter (EC50 0.649 µM). Prior's Table 2 gives no count of phosphodiesterases; the figure of 12 comes from Chen 2011, a different paperCell-free and cell-based screening panels run by five named contract research organisationsIn vitro, 10 µMNot stated; dose-response curves generated only for the two hitsPrior 2013, Alzheimers Res Ther, PMID 23673233, Table 2; the count of 12 phosphodiesterases is from Chen 2011, PMID 22194796
Multiple markers of AD-associated pathology, vascular impairment, synaptic function and inflammation moved toward the young-animal profile, alongside reduced cognitive deficits. Six control mice and two treated mice died during the study; that imbalance is reported in the Methods and is not analysed as a survival outcomeMale SAMP8 senescence-accelerated mice, fed from 3 to 10 months of age; 14 three-month-old males as the young reference groupOral, 200 ppm in chow (~10 mg/kg/day) for 7 months17 control, 18 treated, 14 young; behavioural analyses 12-16 per group, western blots 6 per groupCurrais 2015, Aging (Albany NY), PMID 26564964
ATP synthase activity was partially inhibited, 23.6 ± 3.4% at saturation, with an EC50 of 20 nM; F(9,20) = 40.72. ATP5A was the only protein reproducibly identified by both DARTS and biotinylated-analogue affinity precipitation, and siRNA knockdown of ATP5A reproduced the compound's effects on mitochondrial membrane potential and superoxide production. No dissociation constant is reportedIsolated bovine heart mitochondria; HT22 hippocampal line and mouse subventricular zone lysates for the pull-downsIn vitroNot stated for the enzyme assay beyond the ANOVA degrees of freedom; membrane-potential comparison t = 3.385, df = 94Goldberg 2018, Aging Cell, PMID 29316249
Median lifespan increased 9.5% at 0.1 µM and, at 2 µM, by 12.8% according to the Results text and 12.5% according to the figure legend and the Discussion of the same paper; F(2,386) = 7.654, p = 0.0118 and p = 0.0009. The two figures are not reconciled anywhere in the paper. This is the only lifespan dataset for the compound in any species; no mammalian lifespan experiment has been publishedMale Drosophila, F1 offspring of Canton-S and w1118 crossesIn food, 0.1 or 2 µM389 flies across three arms, inferred from the ANOVA degrees of freedom; per-arm numbers not stated in the main textGoldberg 2018, Aging Cell, PMID 29316249
In the suture transient occlusion model, infarct volume and Bederson score improved at 10 and 30 mg/kg but not at 1 mg/kg, with no difference between 10 and 30. In the embolic occlusion model, infarct volume and neurological deficit did not differ from vehicle. Given with tPA at 4 h after ischaemia onset, haemorrhage volume was lower than with tPA aloneAdult male Wistar rats, 280-320 g, transient (tMCAO) and embolic (eMCAO) middle cerebral artery occlusion; assessed at 72 hIntravenous via femoral vein, 2-minute infusion, 1, 10 or 30 mg/kg at 2 h after ischaemia onset9 per group (tMCAO), 6 per group (eMCAO), 9-15 per group (tPA combination)Jin 2022, Front Neurol, PMID 35309561; two co-authors are employed by Abrexa Pharmaceuticals, the study was funded by that company, and the disclosure records the funder's involvement in the pharmacokinetic work and in revising the manuscript
CeeTox panel returned a CTox value of 90 µM — the sustained concentration estimated to produce toxicity in a 14-day repeat-dose study — with adverse effects on mitochondrial function only at high concentrations, and no genotoxicity with or without Aroclor-1254. The two efficacy-to-toxicity ratios quoted from this paper, 783-1500 for neuroprotection and 3600 for neurotrophism, are arithmetic on previously published EC50 values, not measurements made in itRat hepatoma cell line H4IIEIn vitroNot statedLapchak 2013, J Neurol Neurophysiol, PMID 25364619
The molecular weight of J147 is 349.38 g/mol.Wrong, and traceable to no database. PubChem PUG REST for CID 25229652 returned 350.3 on 18 August 2026; the FDA GSRS record for UNII Z41H3C5BT9 returned 350.3357; ChEMBL CHEMBL2387144 returned 350.34. All three agree on the formula C18H17F3N2O2, whose monoisotopic and average masses are consistent with those figures. The value 349.38 appears on aggregator and vendor pages and matches no record retrieved from any of the three databases queried.No source found
Circulating claim: "safe and well tolerated in humans" — attributed to the Phase 1 trial.No document reporting the trial's outcome could be located. NCT03838185 has a status of Completed with a completion date of 1 February 2020 and no results posted; the ClinicalTrials.gov API v2 record was retrieved on 18 August 2026 and its results section is absent. PubMed searches run the same day: the compound combined with the Clinical Trial publication type returned zero records; the compound combined with healthy volunteers returned zero records; the full search for the compound returned 40 records, of which four are false matches and none is a human study. The sentence circulates on aggregator, company-profile and patent-database pages with no citation attached.No source found
J147 extends lifespan.True only in flies, and usually repeated without the species. The single lifespan experiment is in Goldberg 2018 (PMID 29316249): median lifespan of male Drosophila rose 9.5% at 0.1 µM and, at 2 µM, 12.8% in the Results text against 12.5% in the figure legend and Discussion of the same paper, a disagreement the paper does not reconcile. A PubMed search for the compound combined with lifespan returned three records — that paper, a commentary on it (PMID 29461942) and a SAMP8 protein-level study (PMID 33550278) — and none reports a mammalian survival curve. The SAMP8 study of Currais 2015 records six deaths among 17 controls and two among 18 treated animals but does not analyse mortality.No source found
J147 has a relatively long half-life, with effects lasting several hours; the half-life is 1.5 hours in plasma and 2.5 hours in brain.The two numbers are real and the framing around them is not. They come from one contract-laboratory run in mice given a single 20 mg/kg oral dose, reported in Prior 2013 (PMID 23673233) without strain, sex or animal numbers. A PubMed search for the compound combined with pharmacokinetics returned three records on 18 August 2026, none of which is a second pharmacokinetic study and one of which is a false match. No human pharmacokinetic data exist in the published record, and a half-life of 1.5 hours in plasma is not a long half-life.No source found
J147 powder retains full potency for up to two years when stored at 2-8 °C.No stability study was located. A PubMed search for the compound combined with stability returned three records — a narrative review, a melanogenesis study and an in-silico repurposing paper — none of which reports a stability time course. Chiruta 2013 (PMID 23582448) describes the scaffold as exceptionally stable in human and mouse liver microsomes and mouse plasma, which is metabolic stability in a biological matrix over hours, not shelf life of a solid at a stated temperature over months. The two-year figure appears in supplier catalogue copy and rests on nothing published.No source found
J147 is a specific multiple more potent than curcumin — figures of 10-fold and 20-fold both circulate.No fold-potency figure appears in any primary source located. Chen 2011 (PMID 22194796) says only that the result of the derivatisation was a much more potent molecule, and shows curcumin as inactive rather than less potent in four of six assays, which makes a ratio undefined. The two assays where both were active are plotted without a curcumin EC50 in the text. The Salk Institute's own press releases describe the molecule as a modified version of curcumin and give no potency comparison. The numbers appear first on aggregator pages, each without a citation.No source found
J147 works by raising BDNF and signalling through the TrkB receptor.The second half is contradicted by the paper the first half comes from. Chen 2011 (PMID 22194796) reports that the compound rescued HT22 cells lacking TrkB as effectively as cells expressing it, and states explicitly that TrkB is not required for its activity; the same paper reports raised BDNF levels and BDNF-responsive proteins in treated mice, which is a downstream observation in tissue rather than a receptor mechanism. The identified target is ATP5A (Goldberg 2018, PMID 29316249), and Kepchia 2022 (PMID 35051863) states that no biomarker of target engagement has been identified.No source found
A daily human dose range for J147 is established, with a stated optimum and a stated frequency.No human dose has been established or published. NCT03838185 was a single-ascending-dose study whose dose levels were never posted or published; its registry record lists no dose in the intervention description beyond single ascending oral doses in a fasted state. NCT07430917 lists two dose levels for a single intravenous injection, which is a different route, a different formulation and a stroke population, and no result from it exists. The figures circulating on aggregator pages carry no citation and no reference to either registration, and Vialog does not republish them.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The 2011 paper, and the statistics printed in its figure legends

Chen's 2011 report in PLoS One is the founding document, and its in vitro numbers are specific. Cell death after trophic factor withdrawal in primary rat embryonic cortical neurons was prevented with an EC50 of 25 nM. Extracellular amyloid toxicity in rat hippocampal neurons was blocked with an EC50 of about 200 nM. Across six assays the figure legend gives a range of 10 to 200 nM, at three or four replicates per point. Curcumin, run alongside, was described as marginally active in two assays and inactive in the rest at the concentrations tested, which included 10 micromolar in the glucose starvation assay where J147 was used at 20 nanomolar.

Rat behaviour was contracted out. Seven-week-old male Sprague-Dawley rats received 1, 2 or 5 mg/kg by oral gavage one hour before training in a novel object recognition test, twelve per group, with galantamine at 3 mg/kg intraperitoneally as positive control; the recognition index rose at all three doses, F(3,40) = 12.9. That F value corresponds to p below 0.00001 at those degrees of freedom, and the reported statistics are internally consistent.

The wild-type mouse panel is a different matter. Male C57BL/6J mice, twelve per group, were fed 200 ppm in chow and run through a Barnes maze, a Y maze and a novel object location test. The legends report novel object location at F(1,22) = 2.5 with an asterisk for p below 0.05, the Y maze at F(1,22) = 3.3 with p = 0.0032, and Barnes maze retention at F(1,22) = 2.6 with an asterisk for p below 0.01. At one and twenty-two degrees of freedom the critical value for p = 0.05 is 4.30. Those three F values correspond to p = 0.13, p = 0.083 and p = 0.12. The F statistics and the p values cannot both be right, and the published record does not establish which is wrong.

Two further mismatches sit in the same panel. The Methods state that Y maze data were analysed by Student's t-test, while the result is reported with an F statistic. The Barnes maze acquisition trend is given as F(1,22) = 2.0 with p = 0.057 in the body text and described in the figure legend as almost significant with the note that p was above 0.05 for both blocks. Nothing here was checked against the underlying data, which are not deposited.

Transgenic mice, and what the control groups were

APPswe/PS1ΔE9 line 85 mice carried the amyloid work. In the 2011 paper the transgenic animals were fed 200 ppm in a high-fat chow and assayed in the Morris water maze, acquisition F(2,14) = 8.3 and probe F(2,54) = 16.6, at six to nine mice per group. Soluble hippocampal Aβ 1-40 and Aβ 1-42 fell; the RIPA-insoluble fraction did not change. The paper states plainly that a wild-type-plus-drug arm was omitted because behavioural data in wild-type rodents already existed. Start age is given three ways: three months in the Methods, four months in the Results, and three to ten months in the figure legend, with the histology panel describing thirteen-month-old animals.

Prior's 2013 study is the one usually cited for reversal rather than prevention. Male and female transgenic mice were aged to twenty months, then fed 200 ppm, about 10 mg/kg per day, for three months. Escape latency in a two-day water maze, open-arm time on an elevated plus maze and freezing to context all separated from control; freezing to the cue on day three did not. Group sizes disagree between the two places they appear: the body text says eleven mice on control food and thirteen on drug, the figure legend says eleven and twelve. No wild-type group was included at all, and the paper says so, citing prior characterisation of the line.

Senescence-accelerated SAMP8 mice supplied the ageing arm. Currais fed seventeen male animals control diet and eighteen the same diet with 200 ppm from three to ten months of age, with fourteen young animals as a reference group. Six control mice and two treated mice died during the study. That imbalance is reported in the Methods and is not analysed as a survival outcome anywhere in the paper. Behavioural comparisons ran at twelve to sixteen per group and western blots at six.

Pharmacokinetics, all of it in mice, from one experiment

Every pharmacokinetic figure in circulation traces to a single contract-laboratory run reported in Prior 2013. After one oral dose of 20 mg/kg in mice, terminal half-life was calculated at 1.5 hours in plasma and 2.5 hours in brain, oral bioavailability at 28%, brain concentration at roughly 600 nM two hours after dosing, and the brain-to-blood ratio at approximately 0.5. Strain, sex and number of animals are not stated. The experiment has not been repeated in any published work, and no pharmacokinetic data exist in any other species.

Earlier the same numbers were unavailable. The 2011 paper described the molecule's pharmacokinetics as good and cited them as not shown. Metabolism was addressed separately by Chiruta in 2013, using human and mouse liver microsomes and mouse plasma, and the concern being tested was specific: a phenyl hydrazide could in principle yield aromatic amines or hydrazines. It did not. The oxidative metabolites that were found were themselves neuroprotective in the same assays, which leaves the exposure attributable to parent compound unresolved.

Toxicology is thin and mostly unpublished. Rats and mice given 2 g/kg orally showed no acute toxicity, a result attributed to a named contract laboratory with no data shown. hERG, CYP3A4 and Ames assays were reported negative on the same basis. Lapchak's 2013 paper is the one place a toxicology dataset was published in full: a CeeTox panel in the rat hepatoma line H4IIE returned a CTox value of 90 micromolar, with adverse effects on mitochondrial function only at high concentrations, and no genotoxicity with or without Aroclor-1254. The safety-window ratios quoted from that paper are two figures for two endpoints rather than one range: a neuroprotection ratio of 783 to 1500 and a separate neurotrophism ratio of 3600, both arithmetic performed on previously published EC50 values rather than a measurement made in that paper.

One target, identified once

Goldberg's 2018 paper in Aging Cell named the alpha-F1 subunit of mitochondrial ATP synthase, ATP5A, as the binding partner. Two orthogonal methods produced it. Drug affinity responsive target stability on HT22 lysates preserved a band whose most enriched protein by mass spectrometry was ATP5A, and affinity precipitation with a biotinylated analogue pulled the same protein from HT22 and mouse subventricular zone lysates, with binding competed away by excess unlabelled compound. ATP5A was the only protein reproducibly identified by both methods.

Functionally, the effect measured was partial and small. In isolated bovine heart mitochondria, ATP synthase activity was inhibited by 23.6 plus or minus 3.4% at saturation with an EC50 of 20 nM, F(9,20) = 40.72. Knockdown of ATP5A by siRNA reproduced the increases in mitochondrial membrane potential and superoxide production that the compound produced. No dissociation constant is reported anywhere in that paper, so the affinity implied by the phrase high-affinity target is not a measured quantity.

Independent confirmation has not appeared. A PubMed search for the compound combined with ATP5A returns five records: the Goldberg paper, two reviews and two in-silico modelling papers, all citing it rather than testing it. Kepchia's 2022 paper, from the same institute, states that no biomarker of target engagement had been identified. The lifespan result in that literature is a fly result: median lifespan in male Drosophila rose 9.5% at 0.1 micromolar and, at 2 micromolar, 12.8% according to the Results text and 12.5% according to the figure legend and the Discussion of the same paper, F(2,386) = 7.654. No lifespan experiment in a mammal has been published.

Work from outside the originating laboratory

Stroke work has been the most active line since 2020, and its most useful result is a negative one. Jin dosed adult male Wistar rats of 280 to 320 g intravenously at 1, 10 or 30 mg/kg two hours after the onset of occlusion. In the suture transient model, infarct volume and Bederson score improved at 10 and 30 mg/kg but not at 1 mg/kg, nine rats per group. In the embolic model neither infarct volume nor neurological deficit differed from vehicle, six per group. The combination arm showed something different: given with tPA at four hours, haemorrhage volume was lower than with tPA alone, at nine to fifteen rats per group. Two co-authors are employed by the sponsor company, the study was funded by that company, and the disclosure records the funder's involvement in the pharmacokinetic work and in revising the manuscript (PMID 35309561).

Other groups have reported in models unrelated to dementia. Jin's 2024 controlled cortical impact study in mice reported dose-dependent neurofunctional recovery and reduced endoplasmic reticulum stress markers after oral dosing begun one hour after injury (PMID 39245209). A group at Wenzhou Medical University reported antidepressant-like and anxiolytic-like behaviour in mice after three days of dosing at 10 mg/kg, with raised serotonin and noradrenaline in frontal cortex and hippocampus and inhibition of monoamine oxidase A (PMID 34023306); that paper is behind a subscription and its abstract states neither the route nor the group sizes, so the dose figure carries a species but not the route and sample size the sourcing standard asks for. He's 2025 paper reported microglial polarisation through CAMKK2 and AMPK in a lipopolysaccharide model (PMID 40712391). None of these is an Alzheimer's model, and none has been replicated by a second laboratory.

Oberman's 2024 study in Zucker rats is worth separating out because it reports a mixed result and a failed premise. Chronic treatment in food reduced open-field anxiety and protected short-term spatial memory, single intravenous dosing at the start of surgery improved long-term spatial memory, and neither produced an anti-inflammatory effect. The authors also record that surgery did not induce extensive post-operative cognitive dysfunction in this strain, which is the deficit the intervention was meant to address. An Abrexa author is on that paper too.

Two registered trials, and no reported results from either

NCT03838185 was a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled single-ascending-dose study run by Abrexa Pharmaceuticals at one site in Overland Park, Kansas. Sixty-four participants were dosed in cohorts of eight, six on drug and two on placebo, comprising healthy males aged 18 to 50 and healthy men and women aged 60 to 85. The primary outcome measures were treatment-emergent adverse events, electrocardiogram abnormalities, laboratory panels and physical and neurological examination changes from pre-dose to seven days after. It completed on 1 February 2020. No results are posted on ClinicalTrials.gov.

Nor has it been published. A PubMed search for the compound restricted to the clinical trial publication type returns zero records, and a search combining the compound with healthy volunteers returns zero. Six and a half years after the last participant was dosed, no adverse-event table, no pharmacokinetic curve and no tolerated dose from that study exists in the public record. Statements that the trial demonstrated safety and tolerability in humans are not traceable to a document reporting what happened.

The second registration moved indication and route. NCT07430917, titled JUMPSTART, is a Phase 2 randomised, placebo-controlled, adaptive study of an intravenous emulsion given as a single injection after mechanical thrombectomy in acute ischaemic stroke, 196 participants estimated, at one site in Austin, Texas. The registry lists two dose levels; neither has been studied in any published report. Its primary outcome is safety over 90 days. First posted 24 February 2026 with an estimated start of 20 April 2026, it carried a status of not yet recruiting when the registry was queried on 18 August 2026. There is no registered trial of this compound in Alzheimer's disease or in any cognitive indication.

What is not known

No human result of any kind has been published for this compound. The one completed trial dosed 64 healthy volunteers and has posted nothing in the six and a half years since, which means there is no published human pharmacokinetic curve, no adverse-event table, no maximum tolerated dose and no exposure figure in any person. Everything known about absorption and distribution comes from a single unreplicated mouse experiment whose group size, strain and sex were not reported. Chronic toxicology, carcinogenicity, reproductive and developmental toxicity and drug-interaction data are absent from the peer-reviewed literature entirely; the acute toxicity result at 2 g/kg is a contract-laboratory finding cited without data, and the one-line statement that offspring of treated pregnant mice were normal carries no group size. The molecular target has been identified once, by one laboratory, with no dissociation constant and no independent replication in the eight years since. Whether the ATP synthase interaction accounts for any behavioural result has not been tested by anyone. The rodent behavioural record rests on models of familial Alzheimer's disease and accelerated senescence, neither of which is sporadic Alzheimer's disease, and several of those experiments ran without a wild-type comparison group. Nothing has been studied in cognitively healthy people, and no trial in a cognitive indication is registered anywhere.

Questions

Which CAS number is correct for J147?
Both are, for the same substance recorded at two levels of stereochemical specification. The FDA Global Substance Registration System record for UNII Z41H3C5BT9 lists 1807913-16-1 as the primary code and 1146963-51-0 as the code for the version with non-specific stereochemistry. The compound has a defined E configuration across the hydrazone double bond, confirmed by the crystal structure published by Clarkson in 2019. Catalogue and aggregator listings almost always quote the stereochemically unspecified number. Both resolve to PubChem CID 25229652.
Has J147 been tested in humans?
Once, and the result has never been reported. NCT03838185 was a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled single-ascending-dose study in 64 healthy volunteers, split between men aged 18 to 50 and men and women aged 60 to 85, run at one site in Kansas. It completed on 1 February 2020. No results are posted on ClinicalTrials.gov, and a PubMed search restricted to the clinical trial publication type returns zero records for the compound.
Is J147 a form of curcumin?
No. The screening programme that produced it began with curcumin and passed through two intermediate compounds, CNB-001 and CNB-023, but the molecule that emerged shares no scaffold with the starting material. It is a trifluoroacetyl hydrazide linking a dimethylphenyl ring to a methoxyphenyl ring, with no diketone and no phenolic hydroxyls. Chen's 2011 paper also reports that, unlike curcumin, it does not bind or inhibit Aβ 1-42 aggregation in a thioflavin S assay.
Are any of the papers on this compound retracted or flagged?
No. PubMed publication types and correction links were checked on 18 August 2026 for every record cited here, including the founding 2011 paper, the 2008 CNB-001 paper, the 2013 aged-mouse study, the 2018 target paper, the 2015 SAMP8 study and all subsequent work. None is typed as a Retracted Publication, none carries an Expression of Concern, and none has a published erratum attached. The internal inconsistencies described on this page are between figures within published papers, not corrections to them.
What is the currently registered trial studying?
Stroke, not dementia. NCT07430917, titled JUMPSTART, is a Phase 2 randomised, placebo-controlled adaptive study of an intravenous emulsion given as a single injection after mechanical thrombectomy in acute ischaemic stroke, with an estimated 196 participants at one site in Austin, Texas. The registry lists two dose levels; neither has been studied in any published report. Its primary outcome is safety over 90 days. When the registry was queried on 18 August 2026 it carried a status of not yet recruiting against an estimated start date of 20 April 2026.

References

  1. Chemical database records, all retrieved 18 August 2026. PubChem Compound Summary CID 25229652, J-147: formula C18H17F3N2O2, molecular weight 350.3, InChIKey HYMZAYGFKNNHDN-SSDVNMTOSA-N. FDA Global Substance Registration System substance UNII Z41H3C5BT9, preferred name J-147, molecular weight 350.3357; codes CAS 1807913-16-1 (primary), CAS 1146963-51-0 (non-specific stereochemistry), PubChem 25229652, DrugBank DB13957, EPA DTXSID501045787. ChEMBL molecule CHEMBL2387144, max phase 1, full molecular weight 350.34. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Liu Y, Dargusch R, Maher P, Schubert D. A broadly neuroprotective derivative of curcumin. J Neurochem. 2008;105(4):1336-1345. doi 10.1111/j.1471-4159.2008.05236.x. Source for CNB-001, the pyrazole hybrid of curcumin and cyclohexyl bisphenol A. PMID 18208543 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Chen Q, Prior M, Dargusch R, Roberts A, Riek R, Eichmann C, Chiruta C, Akaishi T, Abe K, Maher P, Schubert D. A novel neurotrophic drug for cognitive enhancement and Alzheimer's disease. PLoS One. 2011;6(12):e27865. Table 1 is the first description of CNB-023. PMID 22194796 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Prior M, Dargusch R, Ehren JL, Chiruta C, Schubert D. The neurotrophic compound J147 reverses cognitive impairment in aged Alzheimer's disease mice. Alzheimers Res Ther. 2013;5(3):25. Source for the only published pharmacokinetics and the off-target panel, the latter run by five named contract research organisations. PMID 23673233 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Chiruta C, Zhao Y, Tang F, Wang T, Schubert D. Metabolism of a potent neuroprotective hydrazide. Bioorg Med Chem. 2013;21(10):2733-2741. PMID 23582448 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Lapchak PA, Bombien R, Rajput PS. J-147 a novel hydrazide lead compound to treat neurodegeneration: CeeTox safety and genotoxicity analysis. J Neurol Neurophysiol. 2013;4(3):158. Source for the CTox value of 90 µM and for the two separate efficacy-to-toxicity ratios, 783-1500 for neuroprotection and 3600 for neurotrophism. PMID 25364619 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Currais A, Goldberg J, Farrokhi C, Chang M, Prior M, Dargusch R, Daugherty D, Armando A, Quehenberger O, Maher P, Schubert D. A comprehensive multiomics approach toward understanding the relationship between aging and dementia. Aging (Albany NY). 2015;7(11):937-955. PMID 26564964 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Goldberg J, Currais A, Prior M, Fischer W, Chiruta C, Ratliff E, Daugherty D, Dargusch R, Finley K, Esparza-Moltó PB, Cuezva JM, Maher P, Petrascheck M, Schubert D. The mitochondrial ATP synthase is a shared drug target for aging and dementia. Aging Cell. 2018;17(2):e12715. Reports the Drosophila median-lifespan increase at 2 µM as 12.8% in the Results text and 12.5% in the figure legend and Discussion. PMID 29316249 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Clarkson GJ, Farrán MÁ, Claramunt RM, Alkorta I, Elguero J. The structure of the anti-aging agent J147 used for treating Alzheimer's disease. Acta Crystallogr C Struct Chem. 2019;75(Pt 3):271-276. Establishes the E configuration in the solid state. PMID 30833521 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Kepchia D, Currais A, Dargusch R, Finley K, Schubert D, Maher P. Geroprotective effects of Alzheimer's disease drug candidates. Aging (Albany NY). 2021;13(3):3269-3289. Carries the conflict statement recording the Salk patents and the unpaid advisory role at Abrexa Pharmaceuticals. PMID 33550278 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Pan X, Chen L, Xu W, Bao S, Wang J, Cui X, Gao S, Wang H, Wang Y, Chen R. Activation of monoaminergic system contributes to the antidepressant- and anxiolytic-like effects of J147. Behav Brain Res. 2021;411:113374. Wenzhou Medical University and collaborators; subscription-only, and the abstract states neither route nor group size for the 10 mg/kg dose. PMID 34023306 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Kepchia D, Huang L, Currais A, Liang Z, Fischer W, Maher P. The Alzheimer's disease drug candidate J147 decreases blood plasma fatty acid levels via modulation of AMPK/ACC1 signaling in the liver. Biomed Pharmacother. 2022;147:112648. States that no biomarker of target engagement has been identified. PMID 35051863 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Jin R, Wang M, Zhong W, Kissinger CR, Villafranca JE, Li G. J147 reduces tPA-induced brain hemorrhage in acute experimental stroke in rats. Front Neurol. 2022;13:821082. Two co-authors are employed by Abrexa Pharmaceuticals; the funding statement records the study as industry-funded by that company and the conflict statement records the funder's involvement in the pharmacokinetic study and in revising the manuscript. PMID 35309561 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Oberman K, van Leeuwen BL, Nabben M, Villafranca JE, Schoemaker RG. J147 affects cognition and anxiety after surgery in Zucker rats. Physiol Behav. 2024;273:114413. Reports mixed effects, no anti-inflammatory effect, and that surgery did not induce extensive post-operative cognitive dysfunction in this strain. PMID 37989448 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Jin R, Wang M, Shukla M, Lei Y, An D, Du J, Li G. J147 treatment protects against traumatic brain injury by inhibiting neuronal endoplasmic reticulum stress potentially via the AMPK/SREBP-1 pathway. Transl Res. 2024;274:21-34. Controlled cortical impact in adult mice, oral dosing begun one hour after injury. PMID 39245209 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. He L, Ali T, Wei T, Yin H, Yang Y, Zhao Z, Liu H, Tan Z. J147 modulates microglial polarization via CAMKK2/AMPK signaling to ameliorate neuroinflammation. Biochem Biophys Res Commun. 2025;778:152395. Lipopolysaccharide-induced neuroinflammation model. PMID 40712391 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT03838185. Phase 1, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled single ascending oral dose study of J147 in healthy young and healthy elderly volunteers. Abrexa Pharmaceuticals, 64 actual enrolment, completed 1 February 2020. No results posted. Retrieved via API v2 on 18 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  18. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07430917 (JUMPSTART). Phase 2, randomised, placebo-controlled, adaptive study of intravenous J147 emulsion with endovascular therapy in acute ischaemic stroke. Abrexa Pharmaceuticals, 196 estimated, status not yet recruiting. Retrieved via API v2 on 18 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.