Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Vistrutide (UBT251)
Vistrutide is a name with no registry behind it. The compound it refers to is UBT251, a synthetic peptide agonist at the GLP-1, GIP and glucagon receptors, developed in China and licensed to Novo Nordisk in March 2025. Its published record consists of one conference abstract and three corporate announcements. PubMed indexes nothing under either name, and no structure has been disclosed anywhere.
- Class
- Long-acting synthetic peptide; agonist at the GLP-1, GIP and glucagon receptors, as described by the developer. No structure has been published.
- CAS number
- Not verified
- PubChem CID
- Not verified
- Molecular formula
- Not verified
- Molecular weight
- Not verified
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- UBT251, UBT-251, UBT 251. The name vistrutide occurs only on vendor product listings and aggregator pages; it is not an INN, a registry synonym, or a name used on any trial protocol.
A name that appears in no registry
Vistrutide is not the name on any trial protocol. The compound circulating under it is UBT251, described by its developer as a long-acting synthetic peptide agonist at the GLP-1, GIP and glucagon receptors. It originates with The United Bio-Technology (Hengqin) Co., Ltd., a wholly owned subsidiary of The United Laboratories International Holdings, and was licensed to Novo Nordisk in March 2025 for 200 million US dollars upfront, milestones of up to 1.8 billion, and tiered royalties outside Chinese mainland, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan. Every registered trial, every company announcement and the one conference abstract that exists use the development code. None of them uses vistrutide.
The name has the shape of an international nonproprietary name, and the stem would place it with retatrutide and the other triple agonists. WHO Proposed INN Lists 127 through 135 and Recommended Lists 91 through 95 were downloaded and searched in full text in August 2026. The string does not occur in any of them. The same search across the same files returned retatrutide in Proposed List 128 and tapimtrutide in Proposed List 135, so the method locates names of this class where they are present. On the published evidence, vistrutide is not a proposed or recommended INN.
Searches of PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref, ClinicalTrials.gov, PubChem and the FDA Global Substance Registration System each returned zero records for the name. ClinicalTrials.gov holds twelve studies under UBT251 and none under vistrutide. Where the name occurs is on vendor product listings and on aggregator pages that appear to have taken it from them. Its origin could not be established. Only one of the two names has ever appeared on a trial protocol.
Claim ledger
8 of 15 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Least-squares mean weight loss at week 24: 13.6% (2.0 mg), 16.2% (4.0 mg, initial dose 0.5 mg), 19.7% (4.0 mg, initial dose 1.0 mg), 18.7% (6.0 mg) vs 2.0% placebo; all P<0.001 | Chinese adults with obesity (BMI ≥28.0) or overweight (BMI 24.0–28.0) plus ≥1 weight-related condition | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 24 weeks | 205 randomised 2:1:1:2:2 | Zhou 2026, Diabetes 75(Suppl 1), abstract 3090-LB (ADA Scientific Sessions late-breaker; not indexed in PubMed) |
| Baseline characteristics: 59% female, mean age 34.1 years, mean body weight 92.2 kg, mean BMI 33.1 kg/m², mean waist circumference 104.1 cm | Chinese adults with overweight or obesity, phase 2 trial NCT07177469 | Not applicable (baseline) | 205 randomised | Zhou 2026, Diabetes 75(Suppl 1), abstract 3090-LB |
| Highest mean weight loss 19.7% (−17.5 kg) vs 2.0% (−1.6 kg) placebo at 24 weeks, on the efficacy estimand regardless of dose modification; dose arm not named in the release | Chinese adults with overweight or obesity | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 24 weeks | 205 randomised | The United Laboratories and Novo Nordisk company announcement, 24 February 2026 (no PMID) |
| Largest mean HbA1c reduction 2.16% vs 1.77% on semaglutide 1 mg and 0.66% on placebo at 24 weeks, from baseline mean HbA1c 8.12%; producing arm not named in the release | Chinese adults with type 2 diabetes on lifestyle intervention alone or with metformin | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 24 weeks | 211 randomised | The United Laboratories and Novo Nordisk company announcement, 25 March 2026 (no PMID) |
| Mean body weight reduction up to 9.8% vs 4.8% on semaglutide 1 mg and 1.4% on placebo at 24 weeks, from baseline mean weight 80.1 kg and BMI 29.1 kg/m² | Chinese adults with type 2 diabetes on lifestyle intervention alone or with metformin | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 24 weeks | 211 randomised | The United Laboratories and Novo Nordisk company announcement, 25 March 2026 (no PMID) |
| Average weight of trial completers in the highest dose group fell 15.1% from baseline at 12 weeks; placebo group average rose 1.5% | Chinese adults with overweight or obesity; phase 1b, completers analysis | Subcutaneous, once weekly with titration (1 mg; 1 mg/3 mg; 1 mg/3 mg/6 mg), 12 weeks | 36 enrolled across three dose groups; per-group numbers not published | The United Laboratories and Novo Nordisk company announcement, 24 March 2025 (no PMID; trial not located in any registry) |
| Most frequent adverse events were gastrointestinal disorders, primarily mild to moderate in severity; no incidence rate, discontinuation count or serious-event tally reported | Chinese adults with overweight or obesity | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 24 weeks | 205 randomised | Zhou 2026, Diabetes 75(Suppl 1), abstract 3090-LB |
| Adverse events in the phase 1b were most commonly gastrointestinal, the majority mild to moderate; no rates given | Chinese adults with overweight or obesity | Subcutaneous, once weekly with titration, 12 weeks | 36 enrolled | The United Laboratories and Novo Nordisk company announcement, 24 March 2025 (no PMID) |
| Vistrutide is the generic or international nonproprietary name for UBT251. | WHO Proposed INN Lists 127–135 and Recommended Lists 91–95 were downloaded from the WHO document server in August 2026 and searched in full text for the string 'vistrut'. Zero occurrences across all fourteen documents. A control search of the same files for names in this class returned retatrutide (Proposed List 128), efocipegtrutide (128), tapimtrutide (135), cafraglutide (133) and anvoglutide (134), so the search finds INNs of this type where they exist. PubMed, Europe PMC, Crossref, ClinicalTrials.gov, PubChem (compound and substance) and FDA GSRS all returned zero records for 'vistrutide'. A commercial drug-intelligence profile lists only UBT 251, UBT-251 and UBT251 as synonyms. The name occurs on vendor product listings and on aggregator pages; no source giving it official standing was located. | No source found | ||
| The 6 mg dose produced 19.7% weight loss at 24 weeks. | Traced, and it does not hold. The 24 February 2026 announcement states only that the highest mean weight loss observed on UBT251 was 19.7%, without naming a dose arm. The ADA late-breaking abstract 3090-LB reports arm-level least-squares means: 13.6% at 2.0 mg, 16.2% at 4.0 mg with a 0.5 mg initial dose, 19.7% at 4.0 mg with a 1.0 mg initial dose, and 18.7% at 6.0 mg. Several trade summaries and at least one aggregator page attribute 19.7% to the 6 mg arm. The registry record for NCT07177469 also lists four active arms where the announcement lists three doses. | No source found | ||
| UBT251 has a half-life of roughly six days, which is what supports once-weekly administration. | Searched PubMed, Europe PMC and Crossref for UBT251 pharmacokinetics, half-life, and plasma concentration. No primary pharmacokinetic report exists. The phase 1b announcement states that pharmacokinetics were among the trial's objectives but publishes no parameter. ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT07395687 lists area under the plasma concentration-time curve as a Part C primary outcome, with primary completion estimated January 2027, so the first public PK figures do not yet exist. No source for a six-day figure was located. | No source found | ||
| UBT251 has demonstrated potent activity at all three receptors in preclinical work. | The 24 March 2025 licensing announcement makes this statement. Searches of PubMed (zero records for UBT251 or UBT-251), Europe PMC full text (three hits, all review articles) and Crossref (one hit, the ADA abstract) returned no in vitro characterisation, no EC50 or Ki at the GLP-1, GIP or glucagon receptor, and no receptor-selectivity ratio. No animal study naming this compound was located either. The claim rests entirely on the sponsor's own summary. | No source found | ||
| UBT251 matches or exceeds retatrutide. | No head-to-head trial exists. ClinicalTrials.gov was searched by intervention for UBT251 and returned twelve studies; the only active comparator in any of them is semaglutide 1 mg, in the Chinese phase 2 diabetes trial. The comparison in circulation is drawn across separate trials with different populations, durations, estimands and analysis sets — 24 weeks in Chinese adults for UBT251 against 48 weeks in a largely North American population for retatrutide's phase 2. Cross-trial arithmetic of that kind is not a finding. | No source found | ||
| Material sold under this name can be verified against the compound's published structure. | There is no published structure to verify against. PubChem PUG-REST returned PUGREST.NotFound for compound and substance lookups under all three name variants. FDA GSRS returned zero substances. No CAS registry number, molecular formula, molecular weight, residue count or sequence appears in PubChem (compound and substance), FDA GSRS, any regulatory record, company announcement, review article or the ADA abstract. ChEMBL could not be checked: the API returned HTTP 500 on the search endpoint, the synonym-filter endpoint and a control lookup of CHEMBL25 on 18 August 2026, so the service was unavailable rather than empty and its holdings on this compound are unknown. A certificate of analysis reporting mass and purity therefore has no public reference to be checked against, whatever it reports. | No source found | ||
| The phase 1b trial that produced the 15.1% figure is registered and can be looked up. | ClinicalTrials.gov holds twelve UBT251 records, of which the only two phase 1 records are unopened Novo Nordisk interaction studies, NCT07710729 (n=40, effect on the pharmacokinetics of an oral combination contraceptive) and NCT07710768 (n=44, influence on CYP index substrates); neither is the completed phase 1b. A sponsor search of The United Bio-Technology (Hengqin) returned nine studies, whose single phase 1 entry is NCT07630233, for UBT38006, a different molecule. The two completed phase 2 trials were registered on 1 September 2025, roughly six months after they began. One trade outlet cites ChiCTR2500113817 for the phase 2 obesity trial while the ADA abstract cites NCT07177469; the Chinese registry page returned HTTP 405 and could not be read. No identifier of any kind for the phase 1b was located in any source. | No source found | ||
No published structure
Identity data for this compound does not exist in public form. PubChem returned PUGREST.NotFound for compound and substance queries under vistrutide, UBT251 and UBT-251. The FDA Global Substance Registration System returned zero substances for both names. A commercial drug-intelligence record lists UBT 251, UBT-251 and UBT251 as the only synonyms and carries no CAS number, formula or sequence; the corresponding entry in a second commercial drug-intelligence database sits behind authentication and could not be read. Every identity field on this page is therefore null rather than filled with a figure inherited from elsewhere.
What the developer has released is a category. The compound is a long-acting synthetic peptide with agonist activity at three receptors, and that is the whole of the public description. Residue count, non-standard residues, lipidation chemistry, molecular formula and mass have not been disclosed in a registry, a patent traceable to this molecule, or a publication. Material sold under either name cannot be identity-checked against a reference structure, because no reference structure has been published.
What is claimed about the receptors
Potent activity at all three receptors in a preclinical setting is asserted in the licensing announcement. No number accompanies the assertion. Searches of PubMed, Europe PMC and Crossref for in vitro characterisation of UBT251 returned no primary paper, no half-maximal effective concentration at any of the three receptors, and no statement of how the three activities are balanced against one another. Whether this molecule leans toward glucagon receptor signalling or away from it is, on the public record, unknown.
Goldney and colleagues make the same point from the other direction in their 2025 review of triple agonism, observing that agents in this class are likely to differ widely in affinity and potency at each hormone receptor. That is the variable the class is built on, and it is the variable no published source supplies for this compound. Comparisons drawn between UBT251 and retatrutide on receptor grounds are therefore comparisons between one characterised molecule and one that has not been characterised in public at all.
The phase 1b figure, and how it travelled
The licensing announcement of 24 March 2025 carries the first human numbers. It describes a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 1b trial in China evaluating multiple subcutaneous injections in people with overweight or obesity. Thirty-six patients were enrolled across three dose groups, given as 1 mg, 1 mg/3 mg and 1 mg/3 mg/6 mg, each using titration, injected once weekly for twelve consecutive weeks. In the highest dose group the average weight of the people who completed the trial fell 15.1% from baseline, against an average increase of 1.5% in the placebo group.
The 15.1% is a completers analysis, not an analysis of everyone randomised. No per-group sample size, dispersion, confidence interval or p-value accompanies it. And the trial itself has no locatable registration. The two phase 1 records ClinicalTrials.gov holds for UBT251 (NCT07710729 and NCT07710768) are Novo Nordisk drug-interaction studies not yet open, neither of which is this trial; a sponsor search of The United Bio-Technology (Hengqin) returns nine studies whose single phase 1 entry is for a different molecule, UBT38006 (NCT07630233).
That figure has since crossed into the indexed literature. Park and colleagues, writing in Frontiers in Endocrinology in 2025, place 15.1% against a 1.5% placebo gain in a table of pipeline anti-obesity agents. Their citation for the row is the company news release. Goldney and colleagues, in Current Cardiovascular Risk Reports the same year, list the diabetes trial by its Chinese registry number CTR20250029 with sample size and endpoint recorded as not reported. Review articles are doing what they should; there is simply nothing underneath to cite.
Which arm produced 19.7 percent
Topline results from the Chinese phase 2 obesity trial were announced on 24 February 2026. The trial randomised 205 Chinese patients with obesity, defined as BMI at or above 28.0, or overweight at 24.0 to under 28.0 with at least one weight-related condition, to weekly subcutaneous UBT251 or placebo for 24 weeks. Baseline mean body weight was 92.2 kg. The highest mean weight loss observed was 19.7%, equal to 17.5 kg, against 2.0% and 1.6 kg on placebo. A footnote records that the figures follow the efficacy estimand, regardless of dose modification.
Arm-level numbers arrived four months later, in a late-breaking abstract presented at the American Diabetes Association Scientific Sessions and published in Diabetes as 3090-LB. Participants were randomised 2:1:1:2:2 to UBT251 at 2.0 mg, 4.0 mg with a 0.5 mg initial dose, 4.0 mg with a 1.0 mg initial dose, 6.0 mg, or placebo. Least-squares mean weight loss at week 24 was 13.6%, 16.2%, 19.7% and 18.7% respectively, against 2.0% on placebo, all at P<0.001. Mean age was 34.1 years, mean BMI 33.1, mean waist circumference 104.1 cm, and 59% of participants were female.
Read against each other, the two documents settle a point that secondary coverage got wrong. The 19.7% belongs to a 4.0 mg arm titrated from a 1.0 mg start; the 6.0 mg arm recorded 18.7%. The announcement never attributed the figure to a dose, only to the best-performing group, and several trade summaries converted that into a 6 mg result. The registry record and the abstract also list four active arms where the announcement lists three doses, because the two 4.0 mg arms differ only in starting dose.
The diabetes trial and its comparator
A second Chinese phase 2 trial reported on 25 March 2026. It randomised 211 Chinese patients with type 2 diabetes managed by lifestyle intervention alone or with metformin, double-blind, against both placebo and semaglutide 1 mg, for 24 weeks. Baseline mean HbA1c was 8.12%, mean body weight 80.1 kg and mean BMI 29.1. The primary endpoint was change in HbA1c at 24 weeks. The largest mean HbA1c reduction recorded on UBT251 was 2.16%, against 1.77% on semaglutide 1 mg and 0.66% on placebo. Mean body weight reduction reached 9.8%, against 4.8% and 1.4%.
Semaglutide 1 mg is a glycaemic dose; the weight-management presentation is 2.4 mg, so the body-weight column compares a triple agonist at its trial maximum against a comparator at a dose not selected for weight. The announcement gives no arm-level breakdown at all, so no dose result in this population is attributable: which arm produced the 2.16% is unpublished. As in the obesity trial, the registry record lists four active UBT251 arms — 2.0 mg, 4.0 mg from a 0.5 mg start, 4.0 mg from a 1.0 mg start and 6.0 mg — where the announcement names three doses (NCT07163624). That record also shows the trial completed on 30 December 2025 with no results posted, and Crossref returns no abstract for it.
Twelve registered trials, nothing reported
As of August 2026 ClinicalTrials.gov holds twelve studies naming UBT251. Two are complete, both phase 2 in China, at 205 and 211 participants, both first submitted to the registry on 1 September 2025 for trials that began the previous March. Four are recruiting: a phase 2 in chronic kidney disease at 180, a phase 2 in metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis at 156, a Novo Nordisk phase 2 in overweight or obesity at 333 across the United States and Canada, and a Novo Nordisk phase 2 in type 2 diabetes at 300. Four phase 3 trials in China and two phase 1 interaction studies have not yet opened. None of the twelve has posted results.
The publication position is narrower still. PubMed indexes nothing under either name. Crossref returns exactly one item, the ADA abstract, which PubMed does not index and which carries no correction notice. Europe PMC full-text search returns three articles containing the string UBT251, and all three are reviews: Park 2025, Goldney 2025 and Pardali 2026. None carries a retraction or expression of concern. The entire primary record for this compound is one conference abstract and three corporate announcements.
UBT251 is classed as a Class 1 innovative drug in China and has cleared clinical-trial applications there for type 2 diabetes, overweight or obesity, metabolic dysfunction-associated fatty liver disease and chronic kidney disease, and in the United States for type 2 diabetes, overweight or obesity and chronic kidney disease. Clearance to run a trial is not approval. The compound is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and material offered outside a registered trial has not passed the identity, purity or sterility controls that govern investigational supply.
Longest exposure anywhere in that record is 24 weeks. Adverse events have been reported by category rather than by rate: gastrointestinal disorders were the most frequent class in both phase 2 trials and in the phase 1b, described as mostly mild to moderate, with no incidence figures, no discontinuation counts and no serious-event tally released. No heart-rate, body-composition, liver-fat or lipid figures have been published for this molecule. No cardiovascular outcome trial is registered.
What is not known
The published record runs to 24 weeks and no further. Nothing is established about durability, weight regain after discontinuation, or safety beyond six months. Adverse events have been described only by class, so incidence rates, discontinuation rates, serious-event counts and any dose relationship are unpublished. No heart-rate data exist, which matters for a molecule with glucagon receptor activity; no body-composition data exist, so the split between fat mass and lean mass in the recorded weight change is unknown; no liver-fat or lipid figures have been released despite improvements on those endpoints being asserted. Both completed trials enrolled Chinese adults only, with a mean age of 34.1 years in the obesity trial, and the global trials that would test generalisability do not report until 2027 at the earliest. Structure is undisclosed, so no independent laboratory can confirm that a given sample is this molecule. Nothing addresses use in pregnancy, lactation, adolescents, older adults, type 1 diabetes or renal impairment. UBT251 is not approved anywhere, and the name vistrutide has no regulatory standing at all.
Questions
Is vistrutide the compound's official name?
Which dose produced the 19.7% weight loss?
Has any UBT251 trial been published in a peer-reviewed journal?
What is the CAS number, molecular weight or sequence?
Is it approved for human use?
References
- Zhou Z, Cheng Z, Jin P, et al. 3090-LB: UBT251, a Triple Hormone Receptor Agonist in Adults with Overweight or Obesity: A Multicenter, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Randomized, Phase 2 Trial. Diabetes. 2026;75(Supplement_1). Late-breaking abstract, American Diabetes Association Scientific Sessions, June 2026. Not indexed in PubMed; Crossref records no correction or retraction notice. View on doi.org
- The United Laboratories International Holdings and Novo Nordisk A/S. Exclusive license agreement for UBT251, a GLP-1/GIP/glucagon triple receptor agonist. Company announcement, 24 March 2025. Source of the phase 1b figures (36 patients, 12 weeks, 15.1% in completers at the highest dose). View on www.nasdaq.com
- The United Laboratories International Holdings and Novo Nordisk A/S. Triple agonist UBT251 delivers up to 19.7% mean weight loss after 24 weeks in phase 2 trial in China. Company announcement, 24 February 2026. View on www.globenewswire.com
- The United Laboratories International Holdings and Novo Nordisk A/S. Triple agonist UBT251 showed a mean HbA1c reduction of up to 2.16% after 24 weeks in phase 2 trial in Chinese patients with type 2 diabetes. Company announcement, 25 March 2026. States that the trial investigated once-weekly 2 mg, 4 mg and 6 mg against placebo and semaglutide 1 mg, without an arm-level breakdown. View on www.globenewswire.com
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT07177469, A Phase II Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of UBT251 Injection in Overweight/Obese Patients. 205 participants, completed 19 November 2025, China; first submitted 1 September 2025; no results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT07163624, UBT251 Injection Phase II (Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus) Study. 211 participants, placebo- and semaglutide-controlled, completed 30 December 2025, China; four active UBT251 arms (2.0 mg; 4.0 mg from a 0.5 mg start; 4.0 mg from a 1.0 mg start; 6.0 mg) with semaglutide 1.0 mg as active comparator; no results posted. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT07395687, A Study Investigating Safety, Tolerability and Efficacy of UBT251 in Participants Living With Overweight or Obesity. Novo Nordisk, 333 participants, United States and Canada, recruiting; primary completion estimated January 2027. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT07710729, a Novo Nordisk phase 1 trial of the effect of UBT251 on the pharmacokinetics of an oral combination contraceptive, 40 participants, not yet recruiting; and NCT07710768, a Novo Nordisk phase 1 trial of the influence of UBT251 on CYP index substrates (warfarin, caffeine, midazolam), 44 participants, not yet recruiting. The only two phase 1 records the registry holds for this compound. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov. Sponsor search, The United Bio-Technology (Hengqin) Co., Ltd., 18 August 2026: nine studies returned, whose single phase 1 record is NCT07630233, for UBT38006, a different molecule. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Park C, Kim Y, Raygani S, et al. A glimpse into the pipeline of anti-obesity medication development: combining multiple receptor pathways. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne). 2025;16:1630199. PMID 41019323. Review; reproduces the 15.1% phase 1b figure and cites the company news release as its source. View on doi.org
- Goldney J, Hamza M, Surti F, et al. Triple Agonism Based Therapies for Obesity. Curr Cardiovasc Risk Rep. 2025;19(1):18. PMID 40741227. Review; tabulates the UBT251 diabetes trial under Chinese registry number CTR20250029 with sample size and endpoint listed as not reported. View on doi.org
- Pardali EC, Gkouskou KK, Cholevas C, et al. New Drugs on the Block: Dietary Management and Nutritional Considerations During the Use of Anti-Obesity Medication. Nutrients. 2026;18(6):962. PMID 41901137. Review; one of only three indexed articles mentioning UBT251. View on doi.org
- World Health Organization. Proposed INN List 134, WHO Drug Information Vol. 39, No. 4, 2025. Searched in full text along with Proposed Lists 127–133 and 135 and Recommended Lists 91–95; no occurrence of 'vistrutide' in any of them. View on www.who.int
- PubChem PUG-REST. Compound and substance lookups by name for 'vistrutide', 'UBT251' and 'UBT-251', queried 18 August 2026. All returned PUGREST.NotFound. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System. Substance searches for 'vistrutide' and 'UBT251', queried 18 August 2026. Both returned zero records. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- ChEMBL REST API. Molecule search for 'UBT251', synonym-filter query and a control lookup of CHEMBL25, attempted 18 August 2026. All three returned HTTP 500; the service was unavailable, so ChEMBL's holdings on this compound are unknown. View on www.ebi.ac.uk
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.