Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Retatrutide (LY3437943)

Retatrutide, development code LY3437943, is a 39-residue lipidated synthetic peptide that engages the GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptors. It has been studied in a published phase 1 through phase 3 programme sponsored by Eli Lilly. This page logs what those trials measured, in which populations, and separates the figures that trace to a primary source from the ones that do not.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised phase 2 and phase 3 trials in humans; not an approved medicine 10 claims logged 7 with primary citations 3 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Lipidated synthetic peptide; agonist at the GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptors
CAS number
2381089-83-2
PubChem CID
Not verified
Molecular formula
C221H342N46O68
Molecular weight
≈4731.4 g/mol
Sequence
39 residues: Tyr-Aib-Gln-Gly-Thr-Phe-Thr-Ser-Asp-Tyr-Ser-Ile-(α-Me-Leu)-Leu-Asp-Lys-Lys-Ala-Gln-Aib-Ala-Phe-Ile-Glu-Tyr-Leu-Leu-Glu-Gly-Gly-Pro-Ser-Ser-Gly-Ala-Pro-Pro-Pro-Ser-NH2, with Lys17 acylated by a C20 diacid via γ-glutamyl and AEEA linkers

Verified against FDA GSRS substance record UNII NOP2Y096GV supplied the CAS registry number, INN 12350, USAN JK-35 and the 39-residue sequence and full systematic name. PubChem was queried for 'retatrutide' and 'LY3437943' and returned no CID, so that field is null rather than guessed. The GSRS record carries an automatically calculated formula of C187H281N43O60 (MW 4091.5), which corresponds to the unmodified 39-residue backbone only; the formula given above adds the two Aib residues, the α-methyl-leucine, the C-terminal amide and the Lys17 lipidation described in the same GSRS systematic name. See the conflicting-figures table below. Fields marked “not verified” are ones we could not confirm against a primary chemical database — we leave them blank rather than guess.

Identity and development status

Retatrutide is a synthetic peptide of 39 amino acids carrying three non-standard residues — 2-aminoisobutyric acid at positions 2 and 20, and α-methyl-leucine at position 13 — plus a C-terminal amide. The lysine at position 17 is acylated with a twenty-carbon diacid attached through a γ-glutamyl spacer and an AEEA linker, the same lipidation strategy used to extend circulating half-life in other long-acting incretin peptides. The FDA Global Substance Registration System lists it under UNII NOP2Y096GV with CAS registry number 2381089-83-2, INN 12350 and USAN code JK-35.

The compound is investigational. As of August 2026 it has not been approved by the FDA for any indication. ClinicalTrials.gov lists 33 registered studies naming retatrutide or LY3437943, all sponsored by Eli Lilly, spanning phase 1 pharmacokinetic and drug-interaction work through the phase 3 TRIUMPH and TRANSCEND programmes, plus a pre-approval expanded access record (NCT07629401). Several phase 3 trials have passed their primary completion dates without a peer-reviewed publication yet appearing, so the published evidence base is currently narrower than the registered one. Anything presented as a retatrutide finding should be checked against whether the trial it came from has actually reported.

Claim ledger

7 of 10 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Body weight −24.2% at 48 weeks (12 mg) vs −2.1% placeboAdults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related conditionSubcutaneous, once weekly338 randomisedJastreboff 2023, N Engl J Med, PMID 37366315
HbA1c −2.02% at 24 weeks (12 mg) vs −0.01% placebo and −1.41% dulaglutideAdults with type 2 diabetes, HbA1c 7.0–10.5%, BMI 25–50Subcutaneous, once weekly281 randomised (275 in efficacy analysis)Rosenstock 2023, Lancet, PMID 37385280
Body weight −16.94% at 36 weeks (12 mg) vs −3.00% placeboAdults with type 2 diabetesSubcutaneous, once weekly281 randomisedRosenstock 2023, Lancet, PMID 37385280
Liver fat relative change −82.4% at 24 weeks (12 mg) vs +0.3% placeboAdults with MASLD and ≥10% liver fat, substudy of NCT04881760Subcutaneous, once weekly98Sanyal 2024, Nat Med, PMID 38858523
HbA1c −1.94% and body weight −15.3% at 40 weeks (12 mg) vs −0.81% and −2.6% placeboAdults with type 2 diabetes on diet and exercise alone, HbA1c 7.0–9.5%, BMI ≥23Subcutaneous, once weekly537 randomisedBajaj 2026, Lancet (TRANSCEND-T2D-1), PMID 42250575
Gastrointestinal adverse events in 35% of retatrutide arms vs 13% placebo, dose-related (13% at 0.5 mg to 50% at 8 mg fast escalation)Adults with type 2 diabetesSubcutaneous, once weekly190 across retatrutide arms, 45 placeboRosenstock 2023, Lancet, PMID 37385280
Dose-dependent heart rate increase peaking at 24 weeks, declining thereafterAdults with obesity or overweightSubcutaneous, once weekly338 randomisedJastreboff 2023, N Engl J Med, PMID 37366315
Retatrutide produces greater weight reduction than tirzepatideSearched PubMed for a direct head-to-head randomised comparison and found none published. A head-to-head phase 3 trial does exist — NCT06662383, 800 adults with obesity, retatrutide vs tirzepatide — but ClinicalTrials.gov lists it as active, not recruiting, with primary completion in November 2026, and it has not reported. The ranking that circulates comes from indirect network meta-analysis (Xie 2024, PMID 39305981), which placed retatrutide 12 mg and 8 mg above tirzepatide 15 mg on pooled placebo-controlled data. The American College of Physicians living systematic review published in 2026 (PMID 42296503) reviewed 69 trials and 112,511 participants and stated that direct head-to-head comparisons were limited, ranking semaglutide and tirzepatide most favourably. The comparison is therefore indirect, and the direct evidence does not yet exist.No source found
Molecular formula C228H350N48O66, molecular weight ≈4894.58 g/molThis pair of figures appears on peptide reference sites. It could not be traced to any chemical registry, regulatory record or primary publication. It does not reconcile with the systematic structure in the FDA GSRS record for UNII NOP2Y096GV. Note that a third figure also circulates — C187H281N43O60, MW 4091.5 — which is what the GSRS record itself displays, but that value is flagged 'ESTIMATED' and corresponds to the bare 39-residue backbone without the Aib substitutions, the C-terminal amide or the Lys17 lipidation that the same record describes in its systematic name. Three different formulas are in circulation for one molecule; only C221H342N46O68 reconciles with the registered structure.No source found
Retatrutide preserves lean mass better than other incretin agonistsSearched PubMed for retatrutide body composition, DEXA and fat-free mass analyses and retrieved no records. Neither the phase 2 obesity publication nor the phase 2 diabetes publication reports a body-composition breakdown, and no separate body-composition paper from the programme was located. The claim has no primary source at present.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The receptor combination under study

The MeSH supplementary concept record for retatrutide (C000729679) describes it as a triple agonist peptide at the glucagon receptor, the glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide receptor and the glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor. All three are class B G-protein-coupled receptors that signal principally through Gs and cyclic AMP accumulation, which is why cell-based cAMP readouts are the standard assay for characterising this class.

What distinguishes the triple-agonist design from single and dual agonists is the inclusion of glucagon receptor activity. Glucagon receptor signalling has effects on hepatic glucose output and energy expenditure that run in a different direction from GLP-1 receptor signalling on insulin secretion, so a molecule engaging both is being studied for a net effect that neither component predicts on its own. This is the pharmacological rationale investigators state; it is not a demonstrated mechanism of any clinical outcome.

No published head-to-head receptor-potency comparison between retatrutide and the marketed dual agonist tirzepatide was located in PubMed during preparation of this page. Claims about the relative balance of the three activities in retatrutide circulate widely in secondary summaries but were not traceable to a primary characterisation paper indexed in PubMed.

What the phase 2 trials measured

Two phase 2 trials anchor most of what is publicly known. In the obesity trial (NCT04881760), 338 adults with a BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 to under 30 with at least one weight-related condition, were randomised across six retatrutide dose arms and placebo for 48 weeks. Jastreboff and colleagues reported least-squares mean body weight change at 48 weeks of −24.2% in the 12 mg group against −2.1% with placebo, with 83% of the 12 mg group and 2% of the placebo group reaching a reduction of 15% or more.

In the type 2 diabetes trial (NCT04867785), 281 adults with HbA1c between 7.0% and 10.5% received placebo, dulaglutide 1.5 mg, or one of six retatrutide regimens. Rosenstock and colleagues reported HbA1c change at 24 weeks of −2.02% in the 12 mg group against −0.01% with placebo and −1.41% with dulaglutide, and body weight change at 36 weeks of −16.94% against −3.00% with placebo.

A substudy of the obesity trial examined 98 participants with metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease and at least 10% liver fat. Sanyal and colleagues reported a relative change in liver fat at 24 weeks of −82.4% in the 12 mg group against +0.3% with placebo.

The first published phase 3 readout

TRANSCEND-T2D-1 (NCT06354660) is the first retatrutide phase 3 trial to appear in the peer-reviewed literature. Bajaj and colleagues reported it in The Lancet in June 2026. The trial randomised 537 adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled by diet and exercise alone, HbA1c between 7.0% and 9.5%, and BMI of at least 23, across 48 sites in the United States, Mexico and India. Participants received once-weekly subcutaneous retatrutide at 4 mg, 9 mg or 12 mg, or placebo, over 40 weeks.

Mean change in HbA1c from baseline to week 40 was −1.94% at 12 mg against −0.81% with placebo, an estimated treatment difference of −1.12% (95% CI −1.39 to −0.85). Mean percentage change in body weight was −15.3% at 12 mg against −2.6% with placebo. Ninety-one percent of participants completed the treatment period on study drug.

Two deaths occurred during the trial, both in the 4 mg group, and the investigators recorded them as unrelated to the study drug. Discontinuation attributable to adverse events ran at 2–5% across the retatrutide arms and 0% on placebo. No severe hypoglycaemia was recorded.

Adverse events recorded in the published trials

Gastrointestinal events were the most frequently recorded category across the programme. In the type 2 diabetes phase 2 trial, nausea, diarrhoea, vomiting or constipation were reported in 67 of 190 participants across the retatrutide arms (35%), against 6 of 45 on placebo (13%) and 16 of 46 on dulaglutide (35%). Within the retatrutide arms the frequency ranged from 13% at 0.5 mg to 50% in the 8 mg fast-escalation group, indicating a dose relationship. In the obesity trial these events were likewise dose-related and were recorded as partially reduced by a lower starting dose.

The obesity trial also recorded dose-dependent increases in heart rate that peaked at 24 weeks and declined thereafter. This is a signal specific to the glucagon receptor component of the molecule's activity and is one of the reasons the phase 3 cardiovascular outcome trial (NCT06383390, 10,000 participants, primary completion February 2029) exists.

Long-term safety data are not yet available. The longest published exposure is 48 weeks. Trials in participants with renal impairment, established cardiovascular disease and chronic kidney disease are registered and active but have not reported.

What is not known

The published record covers a maximum of 48 weeks of exposure. No long-term safety, durability or discontinuation data exist. The large outcome trials that would establish whether the metabolic changes translate into cardiovascular or kidney events — NCT06383390 with 10,000 participants and NCT05882045 with 1,946 — have not reported; the former is not due to complete until February 2029. Body composition has not been publicly characterised, so the proportion of the recorded weight change attributable to fat mass against lean mass is unknown. The phase 3 obesity trials TRIUMPH-1 (2,335 participants) and the master protocol NCT05929079 (1,152 participants) have passed primary completion without publication, meaning the largest obesity datasets are not yet in the literature. Trial populations skewed heavily toward White participants — 84% in the phase 2 diabetes trial — and the published trials excluded people with type 1 diabetes, severe renal impairment at entry, and pregnancy. No published data address use during pregnancy or lactation, in adolescents, or in adults over 75. Retatrutide is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and material sold outside a registered trial has not been subject to the identity, purity or sterility controls that apply to investigational supply.

Questions

Is retatrutide FDA approved?
No. As of August 2026 retatrutide has not been approved by the FDA for any indication. It is an investigational compound in Eli Lilly's phase 3 programme. ClinicalTrials.gov also lists a pre-approval expanded access record (NCT07629401), which is a regulated pathway distinct from approval.
Has any retatrutide phase 3 trial actually been published?
One. TRANSCEND-T2D-1 (NCT06354660) was published in The Lancet in June 2026 by Bajaj and colleagues, covering 537 adults with type 2 diabetes over 40 weeks. Several other phase 3 trials, including TRIUMPH-1 with 2,335 participants, have passed their primary completion dates but have not yet appeared in the peer-reviewed literature.
What is retatrutide's CAS number and why is there no PubChem CID?
The CAS registry number is 2381089-83-2, confirmed against the FDA Global Substance Registration System record for UNII NOP2Y096GV. PubChem returns no compound ID for either 'retatrutide' or 'LY3437943'; large modified peptides are frequently absent from the PubChem compound database and appear only as substance records. Any page quoting a PubChem CID for retatrutide should be treated with suspicion.
Why do sources disagree about retatrutide's molecular weight?
Three figures circulate: 4731.4, 4894.58 and 4091.5 g/mol. The last is what the FDA GSRS record displays, but it is an automated calculation from the bare 39-residue backbone and omits the two aminoisobutyric acid residues, the α-methyl-leucine, the C-terminal amide and the C20 diacid lipidation on Lys17 that the same record describes. Only C221H342N46O68 at ≈4731.4 reconciles with the registered structure. The 4894.58 figure could not be traced to any registry or primary source.
What were the most frequently recorded adverse events?
Gastrointestinal events — nausea, diarrhoea, vomiting and constipation — were the most frequent category across the published trials, occurring in 35% of participants across the retatrutide arms of the phase 2 diabetes trial against 13% on placebo, with a clear dose relationship. The obesity trial also recorded dose-dependent heart rate increases that peaked at 24 weeks and declined afterward.

References

  1. Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, et al. Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity — A Phase 2 Trial. N Engl J Med. 2023;389(6):514–526. PMID 37366315. View on doi.org
  2. Rosenstock J, Frias J, Jastreboff AM, et al. Retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, for people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled, parallel-group, phase 2 trial conducted in the USA. Lancet. 2023;402(10401):529–544. PMID 37385280. View on doi.org
  3. Sanyal AJ, Kaplan LM, Frias JP, et al. Triple hormone receptor agonist retatrutide for metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease: a randomized phase 2a trial. Nat Med. 2024;30(7):2037–2048. PMID 38858523. View on doi.org
  4. Bajaj HS, Welch M, Shah P, et al. Efficacy and safety of retatrutide in people with type 2 diabetes and inadequate glycaemic control with diet and exercise (TRANSCEND-T2D-1): a double-blind, randomised, phase 3 trial. Lancet. 2026;407(10546):2402–2413. PMID 42250575. View on doi.org
  5. Xie Z, Zheng G, Liang Z, et al. Seven glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonists and polyagonists for weight loss in patients with obesity or overweight: an updated systematic review and network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Metabolism. 2024;161:156038. PMID 39305981. View on doi.org
  6. Damen JAA, Idema DL, Vernooij RWM, et al. Benefits and Harms of Pharmacologic Treatments in Adults With Overweight or Obesity: A Living Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis for the American College of Physicians. Ann Intern Med. 2026. PMID 42296503. View on doi.org
  7. FDA Global Substance Registration System. Retatrutide, UNII NOP2Y096GV. Substance record listing CAS 2381089-83-2, INN 12350, USAN JK-35 and the 39-residue sequence. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  8. ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT06662383, A Phase 3, Randomized, Double-Blind Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Retatrutide Compared to Tirzepatide in Adults Who Have Obesity. 800 participants; active, not recruiting; primary completion November 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  9. National Library of Medicine MeSH supplementary concept record C000729679, retatrutide. View on www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.