Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Exenatide
Exenatide is the synthetic form of exendin-4, a 39-residue peptide amide isolated from Gila monster venom in 1992 and approved as a medicine in 2005. It is one of the few compounds catalogued here with a 14,752-patient cardiovascular outcome trial behind it, and one of the few whose originator products are all recorded as discontinued. Its phase 3 Parkinson's disease trial carries an Expression of Concern printed in June 2026.
- Class
- Synthetic peptide amide; GLP-1 receptor agonist
- CAS number
- 141758-74-9
- PubChem CID
- 45588096
- Molecular formula
- C184H282N50O60S
- Molecular weight
- 4186.6 Da (FDA prescribing information); 4187 (PubChem); 4188 calculated from sequence (FDA GSRS)
- Sequence
- HGEGTFTSDLSKQMEEEAVRLFIEWLKNGGPSSGAPPPS (39 residues), with the C-terminal serine as an amide; GSRS records that amidation as a structural modification at residue 39
- Also indexed as
- Exendin-4, AC-2993, LY2148568, UNII 9P1872D4OL, ATC A10BJ01 (earlier A10BX04), ChEMBL CHEMBL414357, INN 8219, USAN NN-05, MeSH C074031, superseded CAS 141732-76-5
Identity, and a set of registries that agree
Exenatide is a 39-residue peptide amide. PubChem indexes it as CID 45588096 with the empirical formula C184H282N50O60S. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds it under UNII 9P1872D4OL with CAS registry number 141758-74-9 as the primary code, 141732-76-5 marked superseded, INN 8219, USAN NN-05, ChEMBL CHEMBL414357 and ATC code A10BJ01, the record also carrying the earlier A10BX04 classification. The GSRS sequence reads HGEGTFTSDLSKQMEEEAVRLFIEWLKNGGPSSGAPPPS, with a single structural modification logged at residue 39 converting the terminal serine to serinamide. The approved labelling prints the same sequence and the same formula.
Three molecular weights circulate, and the reason is arithmetic rather than structural. The prescribing information gives 4186.6 daltons. PubChem returns 4187. GSRS displays 4188, typed as calculated from the sequence. All three attach to the identical empirical formula, so the spread reflects how each database rounds and which isotopic convention it uses, not a disagreement about what the molecule is. That position is unusual for the compounds catalogued on this site, where registry formulas more often diverge outright.
One derived figure resists tracing to a derivation. The statement that exendin-4 shares 53 per cent sequence homology with human GLP-1 appears across secondary literature. Aligning the first thirty residues of exenatide against human GLP-1(7-37) gives sixteen identical positions, or 53.3 per cent, so the number is reproducible from two published sequences. The earliest primary statement of it located is Young and colleagues in 1999, whose opening paragraph reads that exendin-4 shows 53 per cent sequence similarity to GLP-1 (PMID 10331407); that report gives no alignment, no method and no citation for the figure, and its subject is glucose lowering in mice, rats and monkeys rather than sequence characterisation. The literal PubMed queries run for this page, with the date and the count each returned, are printed in the unsourced record below so the search can be repeated. The labelling itself gives no percentage and says only that the sequences partially overlap.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monophasic cyclic AMP rise beginning at 100 pM and plateauing at 10 nM, inhibited by exendin-(9-39) amide, with no amylase release (Eng); exendin mRNA expressed in salivary gland but not pancreas or intestine, while lizard proglucagon transcripts are absent from salivary gland (Chen); no significant treatment effect on postprandial plasma glucose or triglyceride, with plasma exendin-4 not corresponding to either curve (Christel) | Dispersed acini from guinea pig pancreas (Eng); Heloderma suspectum tissue (Chen); live Gila monsters under four feeding and injection treatments (Christel) | In vitro; in vitro (Northern blot and RT-PCR); injection after force-feeding, plus natural feeding | Not stated in any of the three retrieved reports | Eng 1992, J Biol Chem, PMID 1313797; Chen 1997, J Biol Chem, PMID 9020121; Christel 2007, J Comp Physiol B, PMID 16972064 |
| Beta-cell replication and neogenesis increased; development of diabetes attenuated after 10 days of dosing | Partially pancreatectomised rats | Not specified in the retrieved report; daily administration | Not stated in the retrieved report | Xu 1999, Diabetes, PMID 10580413 |
| Three 30-week registration trials. On a sulfonylurea background, HbA1c -0.86% (10 mcg) and -0.46% (5 mcg) vs +0.12% placebo, weight -1.6 kg at 10 mcg. On metformin, HbA1c -0.78% and -0.40% vs +0.08%, weight -2.8 kg and -1.6 kg. On metformin plus a sulfonylurea, HbA1c -0.8% and -0.6% vs +0.2%, weight -1.6 kg in both exenatide arms vs -0.9 kg placebo, with mild or moderate hypoglycaemia in 28%, 19% and 13% | Adults with type 2 diabetes on existing oral therapy; baseline HbA1c 8.6%, 8.2% and 8.5% respectively | Subcutaneous, twice daily, added to existing oral therapy | 377, 336 and 733 randomised | Buse 2004, Diabetes Care, PMID 15504997; DeFronzo 2005, Diabetes Care, PMID 15855572; Kendall 2005, Diabetes Care, PMID 15855571 |
| HbA1c -1.9% once weekly vs -1.5% twice daily at 30 weeks (95% CI -0.54 to -0.12, p=0.0023), 77% vs 61% reaching 7.0% or below; at 52 weeks in the open-ended extension, least-squares mean HbA1c change -2.0% (95% CI -2.1 to -1.8) and body weight down by more than 4 kg in both arms | Adults with type 2 diabetes, drug-naive or on oral agents, baseline HbA1c 8.3% | Subcutaneous, 2 mg once weekly vs 10 mcg twice daily, open label | 295 randomised; 258 entered the 22-week extension (128 weekly-only, 130 switched) | Drucker 2008, Lancet (DURATION-1), PMID 18782641; Buse 2010, Diabetes Care, PMID 20215461 |
| Primary composite of CV death, non-fatal MI or non-fatal stroke in 11.4% vs 12.2%, HR 0.91 (95% CI 0.83-1.00): noninferior for safety, not superior (p=0.06). Death from any cause 507 (6.9%) vs 584 (7.9%), HR 0.86 (95% CI 0.77-0.97), stated in the publication as not significant under the hierarchical testing plan | Adults with type 2 diabetes, 73.1% with previous cardiovascular disease; median 3.2 years follow-up | Subcutaneous, 2 mg once weekly | 14,752 randomised (7,356 exenatide, 7,396 placebo) | Holman 2017, N Engl J Med (EXSCEL), PMID 28910237 |
| Phase 2: MDS-UPDRS part 3 off medication at 60 weeks, adjusted mean difference -3.5 points (95% CI -6.7 to -0.3, p=0.0318). Phase 3: MDS-UPDRS part III off medication worsened 5.7 points vs 4.5 placebo at 96 weeks, adjusted coefficient 0.92 (95% CI -1.56 to 3.39, p=0.47), no support for a disease-modifying effect. The phase 3 paper carries an Expression of Concern | Adults with moderate Parkinson's disease, Hoehn and Yahr 2.5 or less on treatment, single centre (phase 2); adults with Parkinson's disease across six UK research hospitals (phase 3) | Subcutaneous, 2 mg once weekly, for 48 weeks plus 12-week washout (phase 2) and 96 weeks (phase 3) | 62 randomised, 31 and 29 analysed (phase 2); 194 randomised, 92 and 96 analysed (phase 3) | Athauda 2017, Lancet, PMID 28781108; Vijiaratnam 2025, Lancet, PMID 39919773 (Expression of Concern, PMID 42330995) |
| HbA1c fell 1.5% on semaglutide vs 0.9% on exenatide extended-release (ETD -0.62%, 95% CI -0.80 to -0.44); body weight fell 5.6 kg vs 1.9 kg (ETD -3.78 kg, 95% CI -4.58 to -2.98); gastrointestinal adverse events 41.8% vs 33.3%; injection-site reactions 1.2% vs 22.0% | Adults with type 2 diabetes taking oral antidiabetic drugs, baseline HbA1c 8.3%, open label | Subcutaneous, semaglutide 1.0 mg once weekly vs exenatide extended-release 2.0 mg once weekly, 56 weeks | 813 randomised 1:1 | Ahmann 2018, Diabetes Care (SUSTAIN 3), PMID 29246950 |
| Mean half-life 1.5 h with normal renal function, 2.1 h mild impairment, 3.2 h moderate impairment, 6.0 h in end-stage renal disease; tolerability reported as acceptable in the mild and moderate groups and not in the end-stage group, where nausea and vomiting were the stated reason | Subjects stratified by Cockcroft-Gault creatinine clearance, one with type 2 diabetes | Subcutaneous, single 5 or 10 mcg dose | 31 (8 normal, 8 mild, 7 moderate, 8 ESRD) | Linnebjerg 2007, Br J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 17425627 |
| Antibody-positive in 36.7% of twice-daily patients at 30 weeks (31.7% low titre, 5.0% higher titre), falling to 16.9% at three years; 56.8% of once-weekly patients positive at 24-30 weeks and 45.4% at 52 weeks; treatment-emergent antibodies tested did not cross-react with human GLP-1 or glucagon; mean HbA1c reduction attenuated in the 12% of once-weekly patients with higher titres | Intent-to-treat patients pooled across the exenatide twice-daily and once-weekly programmes; no comparator agonist included | Subcutaneous, twice daily or 2 mg once weekly, 12 weeks to 3 years | 2,225 (12 controlled BID), 1,538 (5 uncontrolled BID), 653 (4 controlled QW), 128 (1 uncontrolled QW period) | Fineman 2012, Diabetes Obes Metab, PMID 22236356 |
| Benign thyroid C-cell adenomas in females at every dose, incidences 14%, 11% and 23% against 8% and 5% in two control groups, at systemic exposures 5, 22 and 130 times the human maximum; the dose-response is not monotonic | Rats, 104-week carcinogenicity study reported in the approved labelling | Subcutaneous bolus, 18, 70 or 250 micrograms per kilogram per day | Group sizes not given in the labelling section retrieved | FDA prescribing information for exenatide injection, section 13.1 Carcinogenesis |
| Pancreatitis diagnosed in 14 patients, 8 on exenatide and 6 not; exposure-adjusted incidence 0.1195 (95% CI 0.0516-0.2154) vs 0.1276 (95% CI 0.0468-0.2482) events per 100 patient-years | Patients with type 2 diabetes in the controlled arms of 35 trials, 4 to 234 weeks, excluding other incretin-based comparator arms | Subcutaneous, twice daily, once weekly and once-weekly suspension | 5,596 exenatide and 4,462 non-exenatide | Vetter 2019, Diabetes Ther, PMID 31077072 |
| Alcohol trial: heavy drinking days did not separate from placebo; fMRI alcohol cue reactivity significantly attenuated in ventral striatum and septal area as a secondary observation. Intracranial pressure trial: -5.7 cmCSF at 2.5 h (P=0.048), -6.4 at 24 h (P=0.030) and -5.6 at 12 weeks (P=0.058), against an alpha set a priori at 0.1 | Treatment-seeking adults with alcohol use disorder (Klausen); adult women with active idiopathic intracranial hypertension, pressure above 25 cmCSF with papilloedema, telemetric catheters (Mitchell) | Subcutaneous, 2 mg once weekly, 26 weeks with cognitive-behavioural therapy; subcutaneous, 12 weeks | 127 enrolled per the publication and 152 recorded as actual enrolment in the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT03232112, discrepancy unexplained in either; 16 recruited and 15 completed (Mitchell) | Klausen 2022, JCI Insight, PMID 36066977; Mitchell 2023, Brain, PMID 36907221 |
| Exendin-4 exists so the Gila monster can regulate its own blood sugar between infrequent meals. | This framing recurs across popular and vendor-adjacent explanations of the compound's origin. It has a published negative test against it. Christel and DeNardo (2007, PMID 16972064) fed Gila monsters under four conditions and found plasma glucose and triglyceride rose after ingestion in every group with no significant treatment effect, and that plasma exendin-4 levels did not correspond to either curve. Chen and Drucker (1997, PMID 9020121) had already shown that exendin-4 is encoded by a distinct gene expressed only in salivary gland, while lizard proglucagon is expressed in pancreas and intestine, so exendin-4 is not the animal's own incretin. PubMed searches pairing exendin-4 with Gila monster and with glucose regulation returned no study demonstrating a glucoregulatory role in the source species. | No source found | ||
| Exenatide has a circulating half-life of 60 to 90 minutes. | This range appears on reference and supplier pages, usually contrasted with the one-to-two-minute half-life of native GLP-1. It does not match the regulatory figure. The approved prescribing information gives a mean terminal half-life of 2.4 hours, an apparent clearance of 9.1 litres per hour and an apparent volume of distribution of 28.3 litres, with concentrations measurable for approximately ten hours after a dose. A PubMed search for exenatide with half-life and the strings 60-90 min or 90 minutes returns zero records; exendin-4 with 60-90 minutes returns four, none of them a pharmacokinetic determination. The only species-stratified half-life measurements located are Linnebjerg 2007 (PMID 17425627), which gives 1.5 hours in humans with normal renal function rising to 6.0 hours in end-stage renal disease. | No source found | ||
| Exendin-4 shares 53 per cent sequence homology with human GLP-1. | Aligning exenatide's first thirty residues against human GLP-1(7-37) gives sixteen identities, 53.3 per cent, so the value is reproducible from two published sequences. The literal queries run against PubMed on 18 August 2026, printed here so the search can be repeated, were: exenatide AND "53%" AND (homology OR identity OR homologous), which returned fifteen records; and exendin-4 AND "53%" AND (homology OR identity), which returned sixteen. The quotation marks are load-bearing. PubMed strips the per cent sign and searches 53 as a term, whereas the same strings unquoted are parsed as the identifier 53[UID] and return zero, which is why an earlier version of this record could not be reproduced by a reader typing the query without quotes. Screening the sixteen: seven are chapters of the Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent Database; one is a review of the compound's development that repeats the figure; two report a different pairing entirely, turkey GLP-1 against exendin-4, also at 53 per cent; and the remainder match the string incidentally. One primary research report states the value. Young and colleagues (1999, PMID 10331407) open with the sentence that exendin-4 shows 53 per cent sequence similarity to GLP-1, but give no alignment, no method and no citation for it, and the paper is a study of glucose lowering in ob/ob and db/db mice, Zucker rats and rhesus monkeys. The FDA labelling declines to give a percentage at all, stating only that the amino acid sequence of exenatide partially overlaps that of human GLP-1. The figure does not trace to a sequence characterisation; it traces to an undefended assertion in the introduction of an animal pharmacology paper. | No source found | ||
| Exenatide regenerates or expands beta-cell mass. | The claim traces to a rat study and has never been reproduced as a measurement in a human being. Xu and colleagues (1999, PMID 10580413) administered exendin-4 to partially pancreatectomised rats for ten days and reported stimulation of both beta-cell replication and neogenesis. Searching PubMed for exenatide with beta-cell mass and human in title or abstract returns twenty records, all of them reviews, cell work or animal models; a broader query with the humans MeSH term returns seventy-nine, of which the closest is Rosselot 2024 (PMID 38985854), which expanded human beta cells in a mouse xenograft system rather than in a person. No human beta-cell mass measurement under exenatide was located. Human beta-cell mass cannot presently be measured directly in life, which is the underlying reason the gap persists. | No source found | ||
| Exenatide reduced all-cause mortality in the EXSCEL cardiovascular outcome trial. | Holman and colleagues (2017, PMID 28910237) recorded death from any cause in 507 of 7,356 exenatide patients (6.9 per cent) and 584 of 7,396 on placebo (7.9 per cent), hazard ratio 0.86 with a 95 per cent confidence interval of 0.77 to 0.97. The published text states that this difference was not considered statistically significant on the basis of the hierarchical testing plan: superiority on the primary composite was tested first, failed at p equal to 0.06, and the analysis plan specified that formal testing stop there. Secondary sources reproduce the 0.86 without the sentence that qualifies it. | No source found | ||
| Exenatide slows the progression of Parkinson's disease, and crosses the blood-brain barrier to do it. | Athauda 2017 (PMID 28781108) was a single-centre trial of 62 patients reporting an adjusted difference of -3.5 points on MDS-UPDRS part 3 at 60 weeks. Vijiaratnam 2025 (PMID 39919773), a six-site phase 3 trial in 194 participants over 96 weeks, found an adjusted coefficient of 0.92 with a confidence interval spanning zero and p equal to 0.47, and stated no evidence to support a disease-modifying effect. That phase 3 paper now carries an Expression of Concern (PMID 42330995, The Lancet 2026;407(10548):2588). The notice text could not be retrieved: the publisher returned HTTP 403, PubMed holds no abstract for the record, and no PubMed Central copy exists. NLY01, a pegylated derivative and a different molecule, was also negative (PMID 38101901). On the mechanism half of the claim, the only brain-penetration measurement located is in mice. Salameh and colleagues (2020, PMID 32755557) gave intravenous iodine-125-labelled incretin receptor agonists to adult CD-1 mice over 60 minutes and reported that exendin-4 had a significant blood-to-brain influx rate, most likely by adsorptive transcytosis, while the acylated agonists liraglutide and semaglutide did not measurably cross. That paper carries a corrigendum, which was retrieved for this page as PubMed Central copy PMC10108898 (Biochem Pharmacol 2023;210:115474, PMID 36898278): it corrects only the numerical nomenclature of two dual-agonist comparator peptides taken from Finan and Ma 2013, renaming what the 2020 paper called Peptides 18 and 20 as Peptides 19 and 21, and it does not alter the reported exendin-4 blood-to-brain influx measurement. A PubMed search for exenatide with blood-brain barrier restricted to the humans MeSH term and to positron imaging, cerebrospinal fluid or autoradiography returns zero records. No human measurement of brain parenchymal uptake was located. | No source found | ||
| Exenatide produces five to six kilograms of weight reduction. | No trial in the registration programme reports a figure that large. Weight changes at 30 weeks were -1.6 kilograms on a sulfonylurea background (PMID 15504997), -2.8 kilograms on metformin (PMID 15855572) and -1.6 kilograms on both (PMID 15855571). DURATION-1 reported more than four kilograms at 52 weeks in both arms (PMID 20215461). In the one open-label head-to-head against a newer agent, SUSTAIN 3 (Ahmann 2018, PMID 29246950), 813 randomised participants over 56 weeks lost 5.6 kilograms on semaglutide 1.0 mg and 1.9 kilograms on exenatide extended-release 2.0 mg. The five-to-six-kilogram figure corresponds to the comparator arm of that trial rather than to exenatide, and the transposition is the most plausible origin of the number. | No source found | ||
| Exenatide provokes antibodies in a way the newer GLP-1 receptor agonists do not. | No head-to-head immunogenicity trial was located. The exenatide side of the comparison is measured: Fineman and colleagues (2012, PMID 22236356) pooled the twice-daily and once-weekly programmes and reported 36.7 per cent antibody-positive at 30 weeks on the twice-daily presentation and 56.8 per cent at 24 to 30 weeks on the once-weekly, but that analysis contains no comparator agonist and makes no statement about any other molecule. Three PubMed searches run on 18 August 2026 returned no trial designed to compare anti-drug antibody incidence between exenatide and a newer analogue: exenatide AND semaglutide AND (antibody OR antibodies OR immunogenicity), seventy records; exenatide AND liraglutide AND immunogenicity, forty records; and "anti-drug antibodies" AND "GLP-1 receptor agonist" AND comparative, two records. The closest located is Milicevic 2016 (PMID 26847401), a pooled analysis of nine dulaglutide trials (dulaglutide 4,006 patients, exenatide 276, non-GLP-1 comparators 1,141) reporting 1.6 per cent dulaglutide antibody-positive against 0.7 per cent on non-GLP-1 comparators; it reports no exenatide antibody rate and uses a different assay from the exenatide programme. Percentages measured on different assays in different development programmes are not a comparison, and the sentence asserting one has been removed from the body of this page. | No source found | ||
What the lizard actually does with the peptide
Eng and colleagues isolated exendin-4 from Heloderma suspectum venom in 1992, using a sequencing assay for peptides carrying an amino-terminal histidine. The peptide differs from exendin-3, isolated earlier from a related species, at two positions, Gly2-Glu3 in place of Ser2-Asp3. In dispersed acini from guinea pig pancreas, natural and synthetic exendin-4 produced a monophasic rise in cyclic AMP beginning at 100 pM and plateauing at 10 nM, progressively inhibited by the antagonist exendin-(9-39) amide. Unlike exendin-3, it did not stimulate amylase release or displace radiolabelled vasoactive intestinal peptide.
Chen and Drucker established five years later that exendin-4 is not the lizard's version of GLP-1 but the product of a separate gene. Lizard proglucagon transcripts were detectable in pancreas and intestine and not in salivary gland; a single class of proexendin cDNA, encoding exendin-4 preceded by a 45-residue amino-terminal peptide, was expressed in salivary gland and not in pancreas or intestine. The two peptides are related in sequence and distinct in origin, which is a point that secondary summaries describing exendin-4 as a lizard incretin routinely collapse.
Christel and DeNardo tested the folk premise directly in 2007. Gila monsters received one of four treatments: live prey, force-fed dead prey under anaesthesia, force-fed prey with exendin-4 injected immediately afterwards, and force-fed prey with injection delayed by 24 hours. Plasma glucose and triglyceride rose over time after ingestion in every group, with no significant treatment effect. Plasma exendin-4 showed significant time and treatment effects that did not correspond to the glucose or triglyceride curves. The report gives no per-group counts. Christel and DeNardo concluded that exendin-4 did not affect circulating glucose in Gila monsters as it had been reported to in mammals (PMID 16972064).
The registration trials, and what they measured
Three placebo-controlled trials of 30 weeks each supported the original approval, all of them adding twice-daily subcutaneous exenatide to existing oral therapy. Buse and colleagues randomised 377 patients at 101 US sites on a sulfonylurea background: HbA1c changed by -0.86 per cent at 10 micrograms, -0.46 at 5 micrograms and +0.12 on placebo, with end-of-study weight down 1.6 kilograms in the 10-microgram arm. DeFronzo and colleagues randomised 336 patients at 82 sites on metformin, recording HbA1c changes of -0.78, -0.40 and +0.08 per cent and weight changes of -2.8 and -1.6 kilograms.
Kendall and colleagues ran the third, 733 subjects on metformin plus a sulfonylurea (PMID 15855571). HbA1c changed by -0.8 per cent at 10 micrograms, -0.6 at 5 micrograms and +0.2 on placebo; weight fell 1.6 kilograms in both exenatide arms against 0.9 on placebo. Mild or moderate hypoglycaemia occurred in 28 per cent, 19 per cent and 13 per cent of the three groups, and appeared lower where the sulfonylurea was given at the minimum recommended rather than the maximally effective amount. That interaction, rather than exenatide alone, is what the hypoglycaemia figures describe.
DURATION-1 compared the two presentations. Drucker and colleagues randomised 295 patients to once-weekly extended-release 2 milligrams or twice-daily 10 micrograms in an open-label non-inferiority design over 30 weeks. HbA1c fell 1.9 per cent on the weekly regimen against 1.5 per cent twice daily, a difference of -0.54 to -0.12 per cent by 95 per cent confidence interval, p equal to 0.0023; 77 per cent against 61 per cent of evaluable patients reached 7.0 per cent or below. Buse and colleagues extended 258 of them to 52 weeks (PMID 20215461), reporting a least-squares mean HbA1c change of -2.0 per cent and weight down by more than four kilograms in both arms. The trial was not masked.
The cardiovascular outcome trial, and one number that travels without its caveat
EXSCEL randomised 14,752 adults with type 2 diabetes, 10,782 of them with previous cardiovascular disease, to once-weekly extended-release exenatide 2 milligrams or matching placebo, and followed them for a median of 3.2 years. The primary composite of cardiovascular death, non-fatal myocardial infarction or non-fatal stroke occurred in 839 of 7,356 on exenatide (11.4 per cent) against 905 of 7,396 on placebo (12.2 per cent), hazard ratio 0.91 with a 95 per cent confidence interval of 0.83 to 1.00. That met the prespecified noninferiority margin for safety and missed superiority at p equal to 0.06.
Death from any cause was recorded in 507 patients (6.9 per cent) against 584 (7.9 per cent), hazard ratio 0.86, confidence interval 0.77 to 0.97. The interval excludes one, and the figure is quoted widely on that basis. The publication states that the difference was not considered statistically significant under the hierarchical testing plan: superiority on the primary composite was tested first and failed, and the plan specified that formal testing stop at the first non-significant result. Rates of cardiovascular death, myocardial infarction, stroke, heart failure hospitalisation, acute coronary syndrome hospitalisation, acute pancreatitis, pancreatic cancer, medullary thyroid carcinoma and serious adverse events did not differ significantly between groups.
Two Parkinson's programmes, and a formal integrity flag
Athauda and colleagues reported a single-centre phase 2 trial in 2017. Sixty-two patients with moderate Parkinson's disease were randomised, 32 to once-weekly exenatide 2 milligrams and 30 to placebo, for 48 weeks followed by a 12-week washout. The primary outcome, MDS-UPDRS part 3 in the practically defined off-medication state at 60 weeks, improved by 1.0 points in the exenatide group and worsened by 2.1 points on placebo, an adjusted mean difference of -3.5 points with a confidence interval of -6.7 to -0.3 and p equal to 0.0318. Six serious adverse events occurred on exenatide and two on placebo, none judged related to the interventions.
Vijiaratnam and colleagues reported the phase 3 trial in February 2025. Six UK research hospitals randomised 194 participants, 97 to each arm, to extended-release exenatide 2 milligrams once weekly or placebo over 96 weeks. MDS-UPDRS part III off medication worsened by a mean of 5.7 points on exenatide and 4.5 points on placebo, adjusted coefficient 0.92 with a confidence interval of -1.56 to 3.39 and p equal to 0.47. Serious adverse events occurred in nine participants on exenatide and eleven on placebo. The trial found no support for a disease-modifying effect.
That phase 3 report now carries an Expression of Concern. PubMed types the notice accordingly and links it to the paper: The Lancet 2026;407(10548):2588, PMID 42330995, epub 22 June 2026. The notice text could not be retrieved during preparation of this page. The publisher returned HTTP 403 on two attempts, PubMed carries no abstract for the record, and no PubMed Central copy exists. Secondary reporting attributes the notice to a regulatory inspection at one participating hospital trust, with findings classified as critical and major, but that account was not confirmed against a primary document and is recorded here as unverified. What the primary record establishes is the existence of the notice, its date, and the paper it attaches to.
A separate molecule complicates the neurology reading. NLY01 is a pegylated, longer-acting derivative of exenatide, not exenatide, and McGarry and colleagues reported it as negative in early untreated Parkinson's disease across 58 US clinics: 255 randomised, 36 weeks, MDS-UPDRS parts II and III difference against placebo of -0.39 at 2.5 milligrams and 0.36 at 5.0 milligrams, neither significant (PMID 38101901). PT320, a sustained-release exendin-4 formulation, is a third distinct entity with its own registration, NCT04269642. Findings reported under any of these headings are not interchangeable.
Pharmacokinetics, antibodies and the rodent carcinogenicity record
The approved labelling gives the pharmacokinetics for the twice-daily presentation in patients with type 2 diabetes: median peak plasma concentration at 2.1 hours, mean peak concentration 211 picograms per millilitre and mean AUC 1,036 picogram-hours per millilitre after a 10-microgram subcutaneous dose, mean apparent volume of distribution 28.3 litres, mean apparent clearance 9.1 litres per hour, and a mean terminal half-life of 2.4 hours. Concentrations remain measurable for roughly ten hours after a dose in most individuals. Nonclinical work indicates elimination predominantly by glomerular filtration with subsequent proteolytic degradation.
Linnebjerg and colleagues gave a single 5 or 10 microgram subcutaneous dose to 31 subjects stratified by creatinine clearance and recorded mean half-lives of 1.5 hours with normal function, 2.1 hours with mild impairment, 3.2 hours with moderate impairment and 6.0 hours in end-stage renal disease requiring haemodialysis. Tolerability was reported as acceptable in the mild and moderate impairment groups and not in the end-stage group, where nausea and vomiting were the stated reason. The report gives no event counts for the mild and moderate groups, so it does not establish that those groups were free of either symptom.
Fineman and colleagues pooled twelve controlled twice-daily trials (2,225 patients), five uncontrolled ones (1,538), and four controlled once-weekly trials (653) with one uncontrolled period (128). At 30 weeks 36.7 per cent of twice-daily patients were antibody-positive, 31.7 per cent at low titre and 5.0 per cent at higher titre, falling to 16.9 per cent by three years. Among once-weekly patients 56.8 per cent were positive at 24 to 30 weeks and 45.4 per cent at 52 weeks. Treatment-emergent antibodies tested did not cross-react with human GLP-1 or glucagon; in the 12 per cent of once-weekly patients with higher titres, mean HbA1c reduction was attenuated. That analysis covers the exenatide programmes only and contains no comparator agonist, so it supports no statement about how other GLP-1 receptor agonists behave.
A 104-week rat study at 18, 70 or 250 micrograms per kilogram per day by subcutaneous bolus produced benign thyroid C-cell adenomas in females at every dose, at incidences of 14, 11 and 23 per cent against 8 and 5 per cent in two control groups, at systemic exposures 5, 22 and 130 times the human maximum. The dose-response is not monotonic. Vetter and colleagues pooled the controlled arms of 35 trials covering 5,596 exenatide and 4,462 non-exenatide patients and found 14 pancreatitis diagnoses, 8 against 6, an incidence of 0.1195 against 0.1276 events per 100 patient-years (PMID 31077072).
What is registered, and what is still supplied
ClinicalTrials.gov holds 377 studies with exenatide as an intervention: 273 completed, 93 at phase 3, 87 at phase 4, and 11 currently recruiting. Seven name Parkinson's disease as a condition, one names Alzheimer's disease (NCT01255163, phase 2, terminated), fifty-six name obesity, and three name alcohol. Klausen and colleagues reported the largest of the alcohol studies, NCT03232112, in which patients received once-weekly exenatide or placebo alongside cognitive-behavioural therapy for 26 weeks; the primary endpoint, heavy drinking days, did not separate from placebo, with imaging differences reported as secondary observations (PMID 36066977). The two records of that trial disagree on its size: the publication states that 127 patients were enrolled, while the ClinicalTrials.gov record gives an actual enrolment of 152. Neither record explains the 25-participant gap, and it is left standing here rather than resolved to one figure.
Mitchell and colleagues recruited 16 women with active idiopathic intracranial hypertension, 15 of whom completed, and measured pressure through telemetric catheters: -5.7 centimetres of cerebrospinal fluid at 2.5 hours (P equal to 0.048), -6.4 at 24 hours (P equal to 0.030) and -5.6 at 12 weeks (P equal to 0.058), against an alpha set a priori at 0.1 (PMID 36907221). GSRS records an FDA orphan-drug designation, number 530516, and a European designation, EU/3/16/1629, both for that condition. The single registered phase 3 trial in idiopathic intracranial hypertension, NCT05347147, is recorded as terminated after 14 participants.
Drugs@FDA records the twice-daily solution as application NDA 021773, approved 28 April 2005, the once-weekly extended-release presentation as NDA 022200, approved 27 January 2012, and a later autoinjector form as NDA 209210, approved 20 October 2017. All three carry a marketing status of Discontinued. A generic twice-daily injection, ANDA 206697, was approved on 19 November 2024 and is recorded as marketed. The once-weekly extended-release presentation used in EXSCEL, in both Parkinson's trials, in the alcohol trial and in the intracranial pressure trial is therefore no longer supplied in the United States.
What is not known
No trial of exenatide outside type 2 diabetes has met a primary endpoint in a completed phase 3 programme. The only positive controlled findings outside diabetes are two small ones: a fifteen-completer telemetric trial in idiopathic intracranial hypertension, which lowered pressure by 5.7 centimetres of cerebrospinal fluid at 2.5 hours and 6.4 at 24 hours against an alpha set a priori at 0.1 (PMID 36907221), and secondary imaging observations in the alcohol trial, which reported attenuated fMRI alcohol cue reactivity in ventral striatum and septal area while its primary endpoint of heavy drinking days did not separate from placebo (PMID 36066977). Against those, the cardiovascular outcome trial was neutral on its primary composite; the phase 3 Parkinson's trial was null and now carries an Expression of Concern whose text has not been made retrievable, so the standing of its data is formally unresolved; the Alzheimer's trial was terminated; and the phase 3 trial in idiopathic intracranial hypertension was terminated after fourteen participants, leaving that sixteen-woman phase 2 as the only controlled evidence in the condition. Exposure data are bounded: the longest randomised follow-up is the 3.2-year median of EXSCEL, and the longest published continuous glycaemic dataset is 52 weeks. Human beta-cell mass has never been measured under exenatide and cannot presently be measured directly in life, so the rodent regeneration finding has no human counterpart in either direction. Brain penetration is characterised only in mice. Comparative immunogenicity against the newer analogues has not been tested head to head. The rat thyroid C-cell adenoma signal has no established human counterpart, and its dose-response is not monotonic. All three originator applications are recorded as discontinued, so the once-weekly extended-release presentation that generated the cardiovascular, Parkinson's, alcohol and intracranial pressure data is no longer supplied; material sold outside a regulated supply chain has not been subject to the identity, purity or sterility controls that applied to any of it.
Questions
Is exenatide an approved medicine?
Why do sources give three different molecular weights?
What does the Expression of Concern on the phase 3 Parkinson's trial mean?
Is exendin-4 the Gila monster's version of GLP-1?
How does exenatide compare with the newer GLP-1 receptor agonists?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 45588096, Exenatide. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C184H282N50O60S, molecular weight 4187, CAS 141758-74-9, InChIKey HTQBXNHDCUEHJF-XWLPCZSASA-N. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System. Exenatide, UNII 9P1872D4OL. Protein substance record listing CAS 141758-74-9 (primary) and 141732-76-5 (superseded), INN 8219, USAN NN-05, ChEMBL CHEMBL414357, ATC A10BJ01 and A10BX04, MeSH C074031, the 39-residue subunit sequence, the residue-39 serinamide modification, and orphan designations FDA 530516 and EU/3/16/1629 for idiopathic intracranial hypertension. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- FDA prescribing information for exenatide injection (twice-daily presentation), sections 11 Description, 12.3 Pharmacokinetics, 6 Adverse Reactions and 13.1 Carcinogenesis. Source of the 4186.6 dalton molecular weight, the 2.4-hour mean terminal half-life, and the 104-week rat thyroid C-cell adenoma incidences of 14, 11 and 23 per cent against 8 and 5 per cent in two control groups. View on api.fda.gov
- Drugs@FDA application records NDA 021773 (approved 28 April 2005), NDA 022200 (27 January 2012), NDA 209210 (20 October 2017), all marketing status Discontinued, and ANDA 206697 (19 November 2024), marketing status Prescription. View on api.fda.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search for exenatide: 377 registered studies, 273 completed, 93 phase 3, 87 phase 4, 11 recruiting, 7 naming Parkinson's disease, 1 naming Alzheimer's disease (NCT01255163, terminated), 3 naming alcohol, 1 naming idiopathic intracranial hypertension (NCT05347147, terminated, 14 participants). The v2 API record for NCT03232112 gives enrolment 152, type ACTUAL, against the 127 enrolled stated in the publication of that trial (r18); NCT04269642 registers PT320, a separate sustained-release exendin-4 formulation. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Origin and source-species physiology. Eng J, Kleinman WA, Singh L, Singh G, Raufman JP. Isolation and characterization of exendin-4, an exendin-3 analogue, from Heloderma suspectum venom. J Biol Chem. 1992;267(11):7402-7405. PMID 1313797. Chen YE, Drucker DJ. Tissue-specific expression of unique mRNAs that encode proglucagon-derived peptides or exendin 4 in the lizard. J Biol Chem. 1997;272(7):4108-4115. PMID 9020121. Christel CM, DeNardo DF. Absence of exendin-4 effects on postprandial glucose and lipids in the Gila monster, Heloderma suspectum. J Comp Physiol B. 2007;177(1):129-134. PMID 16972064. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Preclinical pharmacology and beta-cell work. Young AA, Gedulin BR, Bhavsar S, et al. Glucose-lowering and insulin-sensitizing actions of exendin-4: studies in obese diabetic (ob/ob, db/db) mice, diabetic fatty Zucker rats, and diabetic rhesus monkeys (Macaca mulatta). Diabetes. 1999;48(5):1026-1034. PMID 10331407 - the earliest primary statement located of the 53 per cent sequence-similarity figure, asserted without alignment, method or citation. Xu G, Stoffers DA, Habener JF, Bonner-Weir S. Exendin-4 stimulates both beta-cell replication and neogenesis, resulting in increased beta-cell mass and improved glucose tolerance in diabetic rats. Diabetes. 1999;48(12):2270-2276. PMID 10580413. Rosselot C, Li Y, Wang P, et al. Harmine and exendin-4 combination therapy safely expands human beta cell mass in vivo in a mouse xenograft system. Sci Transl Med. 2024;16(755):eadg3456. PMID 38985854. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- The three 30-week registration trials. Buse JB, Henry RR, Han J, Kim DD, Fineman MS, Baron AD. Effects of exenatide (exendin-4) on glycemic control over 30 weeks in sulfonylurea-treated patients with type 2 diabetes. Diabetes Care. 2004;27(11):2628-2635. PMID 15504997. DeFronzo RA, Ratner RE, Han J, Kim DD, Fineman MS, Baron AD. Effects of exenatide (exendin-4) on glycemic control and weight over 30 weeks in metformin-treated patients with type 2 diabetes. Diabetes Care. 2005;28(5):1092-1100. PMID 15855572. Kendall DM, Riddle MC, Rosenstock J, et al. Effects of exenatide (exendin-4) on glycemic control over 30 weeks in patients with type 2 diabetes treated with metformin and a sulfonylurea. Diabetes Care. 2005;28(5):1083-1091. PMID 15855571. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- DURATION-1 and its 52-week extension. Drucker DJ, Buse JB, Taylor K, Kendall DM, Trautmann M, Zhuang D, Porter L; DURATION-1 Study Group. Exenatide once weekly versus twice daily for the treatment of type 2 diabetes: a randomised, open-label, non-inferiority study. Lancet. 2008;372(9645):1240-1250. PMID 18782641. Buse JB, Drucker DJ, Taylor KL, et al; DURATION-1 Study Group. DURATION-1: exenatide once weekly produces sustained glycemic control and weight loss over 52 weeks. Diabetes Care. 2010;33(6):1255-1261. PMID 20215461. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ahmann AJ, Capehorn M, Charpentier G, et al. Efficacy and Safety of Once-Weekly Semaglutide Versus Exenatide ER in Subjects With Type 2 Diabetes (SUSTAIN 3): A 56-Week, Open-Label, Randomized Clinical Trial. Diabetes Care. 2018;41(2):258-266. PMID 29246950. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Holman RR, Bethel MA, Mentz RJ, et al; EXSCEL Study Group. Effects of Once-Weekly Exenatide on Cardiovascular Outcomes in Type 2 Diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2017;377(13):1228-1239. PMID 28910237. The hierarchical-testing qualification on the all-cause mortality hazard ratio is taken from the PubMed Central full text (PMC9792409), which the abstract omits. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- The Parkinson's disease trials. Athauda D, Maclagan K, Skene SS, et al. Exenatide once weekly versus placebo in Parkinson's disease: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Lancet. 2017;390(10103):1664-1675. PMID 28781108. Vijiaratnam N, Girges C, Auld G, et al. Exenatide once a week versus placebo as a potential disease-modifying treatment for people with Parkinson's disease in the UK: a phase 3, multicentre, double-blind, parallel-group, randomised, placebo-controlled trial. Lancet. 2025;405(10479):627-636. PMID 39919773. FLAGGED - PubMed links an Expression of Concern to this paper; it has not been retracted. The Editors of The Lancet. Expression of Concern. Lancet. 2026;407(10548):2588. PMID 42330995. Notice text could not be retrieved: publisher returned HTTP 403, PubMed carries no abstract, no PubMed Central copy exists. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- McGarry A, Rosanbalm S, Leinonen M, et al. Safety, tolerability, and efficacy of NLY01 in early untreated Parkinson's disease: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Lancet Neurol. 2024;23(1):37-45. PMID 38101901. NLY01 is a pegylated derivative of exenatide and a distinct molecule. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Immunogenicity. Fineman MS, Mace KF, Diamant M, et al. Clinical relevance of anti-exenatide antibodies: safety, efficacy and cross-reactivity with long-term treatment. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2012;14(6):546-554. PMID 22236356 - exenatide programmes only, no comparator agonist. Cited for the failed comparison search recorded in the unsourced array: Milicevic Z, Anglin G, Harper K, et al. Low incidence of anti-drug antibodies in patients with type 2 diabetes treated with once-weekly glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonist dulaglutide. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2016;18(5):533-536. PMID 26847401. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Linnebjerg H, Kothare PA, Park S, et al. Effect of renal impairment on the pharmacokinetics of exenatide. Br J Clin Pharmacol. 2007;64(3):317-327. PMID 17425627. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Vetter ML, Johnsson K, Hardy E, Wang H, Iqbal N. Pancreatitis Incidence in the Exenatide BID, Exenatide QW, and Exenatide QW Suspension Development Programs: Pooled Analysis of 35 Clinical Trials. Diabetes Ther. 2019;10(4):1249-1270. PMID 31077072. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Brain uptake, and its corrigendum. Salameh TS, Rhea EM, Talbot K, Banks WA. Brain uptake pharmacokinetics of incretin receptor agonists showing promise as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease therapeutics. Biochem Pharmacol. 2020;180:114187. PMID 32755557. Corrigendum: Biochem Pharmacol. 2023;210:115474. PMID 36898278, retrieved as PubMed Central copy PMC10108898; it corrects only the numerical nomenclature of two dual-agonist comparator peptides drawn from Finan and Ma 2013 (Peptides 18 and 20 renamed 19 and 21) and leaves the exendin-4 blood-to-brain influx measurement unchanged. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Registered indications outside diabetes. Klausen MK, Jensen ME, Moller M, et al. Exenatide once weekly for alcohol use disorder investigated in a randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial. JCI Insight. 2022;7(19):e159863. PMID 36066977 - states 127 patients enrolled, against 152 recorded as actual enrolment in the registry record for NCT03232112 (r5). Mitchell JL, Lyons HS, Walker JK, et al. The effect of GLP-1RA exenatide on idiopathic intracranial hypertension: a randomized clinical trial. Brain. 2023;146(5):1821-1830. PMID 36907221. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.