Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Semaglutide
Semaglutide is a 31-residue GLP-1 analogue with two amino acid substitutions and a C18 diacid acylation, and it is one of the few compounds on this site that is an approved medicine with a large published outcome-trial record. That record includes a phase 3 programme that failed. This page logs what each trial measured and in which population, and separates the figures that trace to a primary source from the ones that do not.
- Class
- Acylated synthetic peptide; GLP-1 receptor agonist
- CAS number
- 910463-68-2
- PubChem CID
- 56843331
- Molecular formula
- C187H291N45O59
- Molecular weight
- 4113.58 g/mol (FDA prescribing information); 4114 average (PubChem)
- Sequence
- HAEGTFTSDVSSYLEGQAAKEFIAWLVRGRG (31 residues), with 2-aminoisobutyric acid substituted at residue 2 and the lysine at residue 20 acylated by a C18 diacid through a gamma-glutamyl spacer and two AEEA units; equivalent to Aib8, Arg34 and derivatisation at Lys26 in GLP-1 numbering
- Also indexed as
- NN9535, NNC 0113-0217, semaglutidum, UNII 53AXN4NNHX, ATC A10BJ06, ChEMBL CHEMBL2108724, INN 9113, USAN XX-142
Identity, and the one registry figure that disagrees
Semaglutide is a 31-residue peptide built on the human GLP-1(7-37) backbone. PubChem indexes it as CID 56843331 with the molecular formula C187H291N45O59 and an average molecular weight of 4114. The FDA prescribing information for the subcutaneous injection gives the same formula and a molecular weight of 4113.58 g/mol. CAS registry number 910463-68-2 appears as the primary CAS code in the FDA Global Substance Registration System record under UNII 53AXN4NNHX, and a PubChem name query on that registry number resolves back to the same CID. Three independent sources agreeing on formula, weight and registry number is not the usual position for compounds catalogued here.
The GSRS record prints the sequence as HAEGTFTSDVSSYLEGQAAKEFIAWLVRGRG and lists two site-specific structural modifications on it: 2-aminoisobutyric acid substituted at residue 2, and a modified lysine at residue 20. Under the conventional GLP-1 numbering those are positions 8 and 26. Lau and colleagues, describing the design in 2015, stated two amino acid substitutions relative to human GLP-1 - Aib8 and Arg34 - with derivatisation at lysine 26. The acyl group is an eighteen-carbon diacid attached through a gamma-glutamyl spacer and two AEEA units. The label's mechanism section states 94 percent sequence homology to human GLP-1, which is the arithmetic of two substitutions across thirty-one residues rather than a separate measurement.
One registry figure does not match. GSRS displays its own molecular formula for the substance, C187H294O60N45 at approximately 4100 Da, explicitly typed ESTIMATED and machine-calculated. It differs from the label and PubChem value by three hydrogens and one oxygen. The label figure is carried above because it is the one attached to a described structure and a regulatory filing, but the discrepancy is recorded rather than averaged away. Salt forms are a separate identity question. PubChem returns no compound at all for the name semaglutide sodium; semaglutide acetate resolves to a different record, CID 171360195, formula C189H295N45O61, CAS 1997361-85-9. Neither salt carries a GSRS substance record.
Claim ledger
12 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Body weight -14.9% at 68 weeks (2.4 mg) vs -2.4% placebo; 50.5% vs 4.9% reached a reduction of 15% or more | Adults with BMI 30 or greater, or 27 or greater with a weight-related coexisting condition, without diabetes | Subcutaneous, once weekly | 1,961 randomised 2:1 | Wilding 2021, N Engl J Med (STEP 1), PMID 33567185 |
| Cardiovascular death, non-fatal MI or non-fatal stroke in 6.5% vs 8.0%, hazard ratio 0.80 (95% CI 0.72-0.90) at mean follow-up 39.8 months; permanent discontinuation for adverse events 16.6% vs 8.2% | Adults 45 or older with pre-existing cardiovascular disease and BMI 27 or greater, without diabetes | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 2.4 mg | 17,604 randomised | Lincoff 2023, N Engl J Med (SELECT), PMID 37952131 |
| Primary composite cardiovascular outcome in 108 of 1,648 (6.6%) vs 146 of 1,649 (8.9%), hazard ratio 0.74 (95% CI 0.58-0.95) over 104 weeks; in the same trial retinopathy complications (vitreous haemorrhage, blindness, or conditions requiring intravitreal agent or photocoagulation) were significantly higher in the treated group, hazard ratio 1.76 (95% CI 1.11-2.78) | Adults with type 2 diabetes at high cardiovascular risk; 83.0% with established cardiovascular disease, chronic kidney disease or both | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 0.5 mg or 1.0 mg | 3,297 randomised | Marso 2016, N Engl J Med (SUSTAIN-6), PMID 27633186 |
| Primary composite kidney and cardiovascular outcome in 331 vs 410 first events, hazard ratio 0.76 (95% CI 0.66-0.88); trial stopped early at a prespecified interim analysis, median follow-up 3.4 years | Adults with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease | Subcutaneous, once weekly | 3,533 randomised | Perkovic 2024, N Engl J Med (FLOW), PMID 38785209 |
| Resolution of steatohepatitis without worsening of fibrosis in 62.9% vs 34.3% at week 72 (estimated difference 28.7 points, 95% CI 21.1-36.2); fibrosis reduction without worsening steatohepatitis 36.8% vs 22.4% | Adults with biopsy-defined MASH and fibrosis stage 2 or 3 | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 2.4 mg | 800 in the planned week-72 interim analysis (534 semaglutide, 266 placebo) of 1,197 randomised | Sanyal 2025, N Engl J Med (ESSENCE), PMID 40305708 |
| Major adverse cardiovascular events in 579 of 4,825 (12.0%) vs 668 of 4,825 (13.8%), hazard ratio 0.86 (95% CI 0.77-0.96) at mean follow-up 47.5 months and median follow-up 49.5 months; confirmatory secondary outcomes not significantly different | Adults 50 or older with type 2 diabetes and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, chronic kidney disease or both | Oral, once daily, maximal dose 14 mg | 9,650 randomised | McGuire 2025, N Engl J Med (SOUL), PMID 40162642 |
| Change in Clinical Dementia Rating-Sum of Boxes at week 104: estimated difference -0.08 (95% CI -0.35 to 0.20, p=0.57) in evoke and 0.10 (95% CI -0.17 to 0.38, p=0.46) in evoke+; both trials discontinued for negative clinical outcome | Adults 55-85 with amyloid-confirmed mild cognitive impairment or mild dementia due to Alzheimer's disease | Oral, once daily, up to 14 mg, up to 156 weeks | 3,808 randomised across the two trials (1,855 and 1,953) | Cummings 2026, Lancet (evoke and evoke+), PMID 41865758 |
| GLP-1 receptor affinity 0.38 plus or minus 0.06 nM, reported as three-fold lower than liraglutide; plasma half-life 46.1 hours after intravenous dosing and mean residence time 63.6 hours after subcutaneous dosing | Receptor binding in vitro; pharmacokinetics in mini-pigs | In vitro; intravenous and subcutaneous in mini-pigs | Not stated in the abstract | Lau 2015, J Med Chem, PMID 26308095 |
| Absolute bioavailability 89%; plasma albumin binding greater than 99%; mean apparent volume of distribution approximately 12.5 L; elimination half-life approximately 1 week, with steady state after 4 to 5 weeks of once-weekly administration and approximately 3% excreted unchanged in urine; 94% sequence homology to human GLP-1 and molecular weight 4113.58 g/mol | Patients with type 2 diabetes | Subcutaneous, once weekly | Not stated in the labelling section | FDA prescribing information for semaglutide injection, NDA 209637 (type 2 diabetes presentation), sections 11, 12.1 and 12.3 |
| At steady state after 12 weeks at 1 mg, reductions relative to placebo of 29 mg/dL (22%) for fasting glucose, 74 mg/dL (36%) for 2-hour postprandial glucose and 30 mg/dL (22%) for mean 24-hour glucose; separately, diabetic retinopathy complications in 3.0% of treated patients against 1.8% on placebo in a 2-year trial | Patients with type 2 diabetes | Subcutaneous, once weekly, 1 mg | Not stated in the labelling section for either figure - the omission is the record, not an estimate | FDA prescribing information for semaglutide injection, NDA 209637 (type 2 diabetes presentation), sections 12.2 and 5.3 |
| Two-year carcinogenicity studies: statistically significant increase in thyroid C-cell adenomas in male and female rats at all dose levels and in carcinomas in males at 0.01 mg/kg/day and above; significant increase in adenomas and a numerical increase in carcinomas in mice. Human relevance is stated as unknown for the rat finding only | CD-1 mice (0.1-3 mg/kg/day) and Sprague Dawley rats (0.0025-0.1 mg/kg/day) | Subcutaneous, daily, lifetime exposure | Group sizes not stated in the labelling section | FDA prescribing information for semaglutide injection, NDA 209637, section 13.1 |
| Measured semaglutide purity 7.7% to 14.37% by liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry, against the 99% claimed on the product labels; semaglutide content exceeded the labelled amount by 28.56% to 38.69%; endotoxin detected in all samples at 2.1645-8.9511 EU/mg; no viable microorganisms recovered; visual inspection noncompliant on 59%-63% of criteria | Injection vials test-purchased without prescription from illegal online pharmacies identified in a survey of 1,080 search-engine links | Not applicable - analytical testing of purchased product | 3 vials delivered from 6 test purchases across 6 sellers; 3 prefilled-pen orders never delivered | Ashraf 2024, J Med Internet Res, PMID 39509151 |
| Semaglutide sodium is the same molecule as the semaglutide in approved products, just a more stable salt form. | No characterisation supporting this was located. PubChem was queried by name for 'semaglutide sodium' and returned PUGREST.NotFound - no compound record of any kind. The FDA Global Substance Registration System was searched for 'semaglutide sodium' and for 'semaglutide acetate' and returned zero substances for each; the only GSRS records under the name are the parent protein (UNII 53AXN4NNHX) and two modified-lysine fragment records. In PubMed, the query "semaglutide sodium"[Title/Abstract] OR "semaglutide acetate"[Title/Abstract] returns 0 records. The broader query semaglutide AND (salt OR sodium OR acetate) AND (pharmacokinetic* OR potency OR bioequivalen*) returns 33 records; every one concerns the oral formulation and its absorption enhancers - salcaprozate sodium, sodium caprate, sodium glycocholate - or unrelated excipients, and none compares a semaglutide salt against the base on potency, pharmacokinetics or bioequivalence. Semaglutide acetate does resolve in PubChem, as a distinct entry with a distinct formula and registry number (CID 171360195, C189H295N45O61, CAS 1997361-85-9), which is the opposite of identity. The FDA states that these salt forms are different active ingredients from the one used in the approved drugs and that it has no information on whether they share the same chemical and pharmacologic properties. | No source found | ||
| Lyophilised semaglutide reconstituted with bacteriostatic water retains full potency for 28 to 56 days under refrigeration. | PubMed was searched with semaglutide AND (reconstitut*[Title/Abstract] OR lyophilis*[Title/Abstract] OR lyophiliz*[Title/Abstract] OR "bacteriostatic water"[Title/Abstract]): 3 records, none of them a beyond-use dating study. They are a transbuccal delivery-patch paper (PMID 39938719), a D-amino acid isomeric impurity method paper (PMID 36462248), and the online-purchase quality survey described elsewhere on this page (PMID 39509151), which tested lyophilised vials once rather than over time. A broader search, semaglutide[Title/Abstract] AND stability[Title/Abstract], returns 81 records, none of which is a beyond-use dating study for a reconstituted powder. The approved presentations are ready-to-use sterile solutions, so the labelling supplies no reconstitution window to borrow. The one analytical study located on non-originator material (Kopp 2026, PMID 42533250) reports greater high-molecular-weight protein formation on light exposure in compounded semaglutide than in originator product, which is a degradation observation rather than a stability window. The 28-to-56-day figure traces to supplier documentation and to nothing published. | No source found | ||
| Microdosing semaglutide delivers most of the benefit with few or none of the adverse events. | Searched PubMed for semaglutide with microdose, microdosing, low dose and subtherapeutic. The query semaglutide AND (microdose OR microdosing) returns three records, all commentary: a 2025 Diabetes Care perspective on microdosing from multidose pens, a published comment on it, and a 2026 nursing-practice article whose own title frames the question as balancing patient anecdotes against clinical safety. No randomised trial, no dose-ranging study and no pharmacokinetic characterisation of a sub-label dose was located. The lowest doses that carry trial data are the 0.5 mg and 1.0 mg arms of SUSTAIN-6 (PMID 27633186) and the 0.5 mg arm in which the alcohol trial's primary laboratory measure was taken (PMID 39937469), and neither was designed to test the tolerability trade-off the claim asserts. | No source found | ||
| Roughly 40 percent of the weight lost on semaglutide is lean mass. | No source producing 40 percent was found. The STEP 1 primary publication (PMID 33567185) reports no body-composition breakdown in its abstract. The prespecified body-composition analysis of the SMART trial (PMID 42308057) reports, in 101 participants over 24 weeks, a lean body mass change of -2.5 kg (95% CI -6.6 to 1.6) against a total body weight change of -9.1 kg (95% CI -11.0 to -7.2) by bioimpedance spectroscopy, which is about 27 percent - and the confidence interval on the lean mass figure crosses zero. SEMALEAN (PMID 41068996), a prospective DXA study at 2.4 mg in which 115 patients were enrolled and 106 completed, described lean mass declining by about 3 kg at seven months and then stabilising, with handgrip strength improved by 4.5 kg at twelve months. The available sources give different numbers on different instruments in different populations; none gives 40 percent. | No source found | ||
| Semaglutide has an elimination half-life of 165 to 184 hours. | This precise range circulates on reference and vendor pages. PubMed returns zero records for the query semaglutide AND "165 hours". The approved labelling states the elimination half-life as 'approximately 1 week' and gives no interval. The only species-attributed half-life in the discovery paper (PMID 26308095) is 46.1 hours in mini-pigs after intravenous administration, with a mean residence time of 63.6 hours after subcutaneous dosing. The circulating range is consistent with a week expressed in hours, but no primary measurement producing those specific bounds was located. | No source found | ||
| Semaglutide preserves muscle better than tirzepatide. | PubMed, tirzepatide AND semaglutide AND ("lean mass" OR "body composition" OR DXA): 62 records. Screening those, the comparative entries are network meta-analyses that pool each agent against a control arm rather than against each other. The largest, PMID 42209204, synthesises 43 randomised trials and 3,379 participants and reports that semaglutide 1.0 mg weekly and tirzepatide 15 mg weekly each significantly decreased lean mass from baseline, without contrasting them. The narrower query semaglutide AND tirzepatide AND (DXA OR "dual-energy x-ray") returns 9 records and no head-to-head body-composition trial. SURMOUNT-5 (Aronne 2025, N Engl J Med, PMID 40353578) is the only published head-to-head phase 3 comparison located: 751 adults with obesity and without type 2 diabetes, 72 weeks, maximum tolerated dose of each. It reported percent weight change (-20.2% tirzepatide against -13.7% semaglutide) and waist circumference, and no body-composition endpoint appears in its abstract. The comparison has no direct evidence in either direction. | No source found | ||
What the discovery paper measured, and in which species
Lau and colleagues published the design work in the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry in 2015. The stated objective was a once-weekly analogue obtained by raising albumin affinity and securing stability against metabolic degradation. Receptor affinity at the GLP-1 receptor was reported as 0.38 plus or minus 0.06 nM, described as three-fold lower than liraglutide, with albumin affinity increased. Pharmacokinetics were characterised in mini-pigs: a plasma half-life of 46.1 hours after intravenous administration, and a mean residence time of 63.6 hours after subcutaneous dosing. Those are pig figures from an in-house programme, and they are the only species-attributed half-life numbers in the discovery report.
Human pharmacokinetics come from the approved labelling rather than from that paper. Several distinct semaglutide injection applications exist with different sections; the figures carried here are from the type 2 diabetes presentation, NDA 209637. Absolute bioavailability after subcutaneous administration is stated as 89 percent, plasma albumin binding as greater than 99 percent, apparent volume of distribution as approximately 12.5 L, and elimination half-life as approximately one week, with steady state reached after four to five weeks of once-weekly administration. Clearance runs through proteolytic cleavage of the peptide backbone and beta-oxidation of the fatty acid side chain; roughly 3 percent is excreted unchanged in urine. The labelling attributes the long half-life principally to albumin binding, with DPP-4 stabilisation as a separate contribution.
Pharmacodynamic measurements in that labelling were taken at steady state after twelve weeks at 1 mg in patients with type 2 diabetes, and the document gives no sample size for them at all. Reductions relative to placebo were 29 mg/dL for fasting glucose, 74 mg/dL for two-hour postprandial glucose, and 30 mg/dL for mean 24-hour glucose. Gastric emptying is described twice and differently in the same document: the mechanism section calls it a minor delay in the early postprandial phase, while the warnings section states that the drug delays gastric emptying, may affect absorption of concomitant oral medicines, and has attracted rare postmarketing reports of pulmonary aspiration in the GLP-1 receptor agonist class.
The subcutaneous outcome trials
SUSTAIN-6 was the cardiovascular safety trial. Marso and colleagues randomised 3,297 adults with type 2 diabetes to once-weekly semaglutide at 0.5 mg or 1.0 mg, or placebo, for 104 weeks; 83.0 percent had established cardiovascular disease, chronic kidney disease, or both at baseline. The primary composite of cardiovascular death, non-fatal myocardial infarction and non-fatal stroke occurred in 108 of 1,648 (6.6 percent) against 146 of 1,649 (8.9 percent), hazard ratio 0.74. The same trial recorded a significantly higher rate of retinopathy complications in the treated group, hazard ratio 1.76 with a 95 percent confidence interval of 1.11 to 2.78. Both findings come from one trial and are logged together.
Weight was the endpoint in STEP 1. Wilding and colleagues randomised 1,961 adults without diabetes, 2:1, to 68 weeks of once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutide at 2.4 mg or placebo, both with a lifestyle intervention. Mean change in body weight was minus 14.9 percent against minus 2.4 percent. Reductions of 15 percent or more were reached by 612 participants (50.5 percent) against 28 (4.9 percent). Nausea and diarrhoea were the most frequently reported adverse events, and discontinuation for gastrointestinal events ran at 4.5 percent against 0.8 percent.
SELECT is the largest published trial of the molecule. Lincoff and colleagues enrolled 17,604 patients aged 45 or older with pre-existing cardiovascular disease and a body-mass index of 27 or greater, without diabetes, and followed them for a mean of 39.8 months. A primary cardiovascular endpoint event occurred in 569 of 8,803 (6.5 percent) against 701 of 8,801 (8.0 percent), hazard ratio 0.80. Permanent discontinuation for adverse events occurred in 16.6 percent against 8.2 percent. In FLOW, Perkovic and colleagues randomised 3,533 patients with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease and stopped early at a prespecified interim analysis, with 331 against 410 first primary-outcome events, hazard ratio 0.76, at a median follow-up of 3.4 years.
Two further trials measured organ-level endpoints. STEP-HFpEF randomised 529 patients with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction and a body-mass index of 30 or higher to 52 weeks of 2.4 mg weekly; the Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire clinical summary score changed by 16.6 points against 8.7, an estimated difference of 7.8 points, alongside a body weight change of minus 13.3 percent against minus 2.6 percent (Kosiborod 2023, PMID 37622681). ESSENCE, reported by Sanyal and colleagues, is a 1,197-patient trial in biopsy-defined steatohepatitis with fibrosis stage 2 or 3; the planned week-72 interim analysis of the first 800 patients found resolution of steatohepatitis without worsening fibrosis in 62.9 percent against 34.3 percent. That trial runs to 240 weeks and has not finished.
The oral formulation is a separate evidence base
Oral semaglutide is the same molecule co-formulated with an absorption enhancer, and its outcome data are its own. PIONEER 6 was a non-inferiority trial: Husain and colleagues randomised 3,183 patients at high cardiovascular risk, median time in trial 15.9 months, and recorded major adverse cardiovascular events in 61 of 1,591 (3.8 percent) against 76 of 1,592 (4.8 percent), hazard ratio 0.79 with a confidence interval spanning 0.57 to 1.11. The trial was designed to rule out an 80 percent excess risk, not to demonstrate benefit, and its conclusion was stated in those terms.
SOUL was powered for superiority. McGuire and colleagues randomised 9,650 participants aged 50 or older with type 2 diabetes and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, chronic kidney disease or both, to once-daily oral semaglutide at a maximal dose of 14 mg or placebo, with mean follow-up of 47.5 months and median follow-up of 49.5 months. A primary-outcome event occurred in 579 of 4,825 (12.0 percent) against 668 of 4,825 (13.8 percent), hazard ratio 0.86. Results for the confirmatory secondary outcomes, which included a five-point composite of major kidney disease events, did not differ significantly between groups. Anyone treating oral and subcutaneous figures as interchangeable is combining different exposures, different trials and different endpoints.
Where the published record is negative or contested
The largest negative result is recent. Cummings and colleagues reported evoke and evoke+ in The Lancet in 2026: two phase 3 trials across 566 sites in 40 countries, 3,808 participants aged 55 to 85 with amyloid-confirmed early Alzheimer's disease, randomised to once-daily oral semaglutide up to 14 mg or placebo for up to 156 weeks. Change in the Clinical Dementia Rating-Sum of Boxes score at week 104 gave an estimated difference of minus 0.08 in evoke and 0.10 in evoke+, neither approaching significance. Both trials were discontinued for negative clinical outcome. The dementia-protection claim that circulated before this readout rested on animal work, observational cohorts and pharmacoepidemiology, and it did not survive a direct test.
Optic neuropathy is where the sources disagree in magnitude while agreeing in direction. Hathaway and colleagues reported a single-institution matched cohort study in 2024 covering two populations. Among patients with type 2 diabetes, 17 events occurred in 194 patients prescribed semaglutide against 6 among 516 comparators, hazard ratio 4.28. Among 979 overweight or obese patients, 20 events occurred among the 361 prescribed semaglutide against 3 among 618 comparators, hazard ratio 7.64 with a 95 percent confidence interval of 2.21 to 26.36. Heberer and colleagues then emulated a target trial in 102,361 US veterans, comparing 11,478 semaglutide initiators with 90,883 SGLT2-inhibitor initiators; 173 incident events occurred in total, at 123 against 67 per 100,000 person-years, hazard ratio 2.33, with an absolute weighted incidence of 0.29 percent against 0.13 percent. That paper carries a published erratum correcting Figure 2.
The one synthesis of that literature does not collapse to a single number either. A 2026 systematic review and meta-analysis of eight retrospective cohorts totalling 14,255,247 participants pooled the hazard ratio at 3.36, with a 95 percent confidence interval of 1.44 to 7.84, at one-year follow-up, and reported heterogeneity of I squared 97 percent on that estimate. At two-year follow-up the pooled figure was 2.37 with I squared of zero, at three years 2.37 after sensitivity analysis with I squared of 28 percent, and at five years 2.37 again. The one-year figure is the highest of the four and by far the least homogeneous, and quoting it alone would misdescribe what the analysis reported.
Retinopathy has its own unfinished thread. Beyond the SUSTAIN-6 hazard ratio of 1.76, the labelling records diabetic retinopathy complications in 3.0 percent of semaglutide-treated patients against 1.8 percent on placebo, and attributes the pattern in part to a temporary worsening that accompanies rapid improvement in glucose control. FOCUS, registered as NCT03811561 with an estimated 1,500 participants, is the trial designed to settle the question; it is listed as active, not recruiting, with an estimated completion date of November 2027 and no published result.
Alcohol consumption produced a small positive signal that is frequently overstated. Hendershot and colleagues ran a phase 2, double-blind, nine-week trial in 48 non-treatment-seeking adults with alcohol use disorder at a single US academic centre. The primary laboratory measure was taken in the 0.5 mg arm. Grams of alcohol consumed in a laboratory self-administration task fell relative to placebo, and weekly craving and drinks per drinking day fell, while average drinks per calendar day and number of drinking days did not change. Forty-eight participants at one site over nine weeks is a signal worth registering and not a demonstration of anything durable.
Rodent carcinogenicity, and material outside the approved supply chain
The approved labelling carries a boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumours. In a two-year carcinogenicity study in CD-1 mice, subcutaneous doses of 0.3, 1 and 3 mg/kg/day in males and 0.1, 0.3 and 1 mg/kg/day in females produced a statistically significant increase in thyroid C-cell adenomas and a numerical increase in carcinomas. In Sprague Dawley rats at 0.0025 to 0.1 mg/kg/day, C-cell adenomas increased significantly in males and females at all dose levels, and carcinomas in males at 0.01 mg/kg/day and above. The labelling states that human relevance of the rat C-cell finding is unknown and could not be determined by clinical or nonclinical studies; it makes no equivalent statement about the mouse study. Semaglutide was not mutagenic or clastogenic across the standard genotoxicity battery, and in rats an increase in oestrus cycle length was observed at all dose levels.
Approval attaches to specific manufactured presentations, not to the name. The FDA states that semaglutide salt forms, naming semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate, are different active ingredients from the one used in the approved drugs, that the agency has no information on whether those salts share the chemical and pharmacologic properties of the approved ingredient, and that it is not aware of a lawful basis for their use in compounding. The agency has separately warned companies selling unapproved semaglutide falsely labelled for research purposes or not for human consumption, noting that such products have been sold directly to consumers for human use with dosing instructions.
Analytical work on non-originator material exists and is unflattering. Kopp and colleagues profiled follow-on and compounded semaglutide by mass spectrometry alongside an MHC-II-associated peptide proteomics assay, photostability testing and a fibrillation assay, and reported distinct impurity profiles - amino acid deletions and additions plus unidentified impurities - against the originator products, greater disparity in strength and high-molecular-weight protein content on light exposure, and peptide impurities that presented on monocyte-derived dendritic cells. Adverse-event counts sit alongside that. As of 31 May 2026 the FDA reported receiving 990 adverse event reports associated with compounded semaglutide, while noting that state-licensed pharmacies that are not outsourcing facilities are not required to report, so the count is a floor rather than a measurement.
Material bought without a prescription has also been measured directly. Ashraf and colleagues screened 1,080 search-engine links, identified 59 unique illegal online pharmacy websites, and completed test purchases from six of them; three injection vials were delivered and three prefilled-pen orders were never shipped. Liquid chromatography coupled with mass spectrometry put the measured semaglutide purity of those three vials between 7.7 and 14.37 percent, against the 99 percent claimed on the product labels, while semaglutide content exceeded the labelled amount by 28.56 to 38.69 percent. No viable microorganisms were recovered at the time of testing, but endotoxin was detected in every sample at 2.1645 to 8.9511 EU/mg. Visual inspection found noncompliance on 59 to 63 percent of the criteria assessed.
What is not known
The failed Alzheimer's programme marks the boundary of what the trial record supports: a compound with large cardiovascular, kidney and hepatic results is not thereby established in every organ, and evoke and evoke+ demonstrated that directly across 3,808 participants. Retinopathy is the oldest unresolved question on the file - SUSTAIN-6 recorded a hazard ratio of 1.76 in 2016 and FOCUS, the 1,500-participant trial designed to characterise it, is listed as active, not recruiting, with an estimated completion date of November 2027. Optic neuropathy has published estimates ranging from 2.33 to 7.64 and no randomised evidence at all; every study located is observational, the highest figure comes from the overweight and obese cohort of the 2024 single-institution study (20 against 3 events, hazard ratio 7.64, 95% CI 2.21-26.36), and the one meta-analysis returns a different pooled figure at each follow-up horizon, from 3.36 at one year with I squared of 97 percent down to 2.37 at two, three and five years. Body composition is characterised only in small studies with wide confidence intervals, so the split of the recorded weight change between fat and lean tissue is not settled. Human relevance of the rat thyroid C-cell finding is stated as undetermined in the labelling itself, which makes no equivalent statement about the mouse study. Long-term data exist but are bounded: the longest published follow-up is the 47.5-month mean in SOUL (PMID 40162642), with FLOW at a median of 3.4 years and SELECT at a 39.8-month mean, and ESSENCE runs to 240 weeks without having reported past its week-72 interim. No published trial addresses use in pregnancy or lactation. Semaglutide is an approved medicine in the United States and elsewhere, which is unusual for this catalogue, but approval attaches to specific manufactured presentations; salt forms, compounded preparations and material labelled for research purposes are not that article, and the one published analysis of product bought without a prescription measured purity between 7.7 and 14.37 percent.
Questions
Is semaglutide an approved medicine?
What is the CAS number, and do the salt forms have their own?
What did the Alzheimer's trials measure?
What do the studies report about optic neuropathy?
What has been measured in semaglutide bought online without a prescription?
References
- Lau J, Bloch P, Schäffer L, et al. Discovery of the Once-Weekly Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Analogue Semaglutide. J Med Chem. 2015;58(18):7370-7380. doi:10.1021/acs.jmedchem.5b00726. PMID 26308095. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum recorded in PubMed. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Marso SP, Bain SC, Consoli A, et al. Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2016;375(19):1834-1844. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1607141. PMID 27633186. SUSTAIN-6, NCT01720446. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Calanna S, et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(11):989-1002. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2032183. PMID 33567185. STEP 1, NCT03548935. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lincoff AM, Brown-Frandsen K, Colhoun HM, et al. Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Obesity without Diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2023;389(24):2221-2232. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2307563. PMID 37952131. SELECT, NCT03574597. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Perkovic V, Tuttle KR, Rossing P, et al. Effects of Semaglutide on Chronic Kidney Disease in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2024;391(2):109-121. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2403347. PMID 38785209. FLOW, NCT03819153; median follow-up 3.4 years. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Organ-level endpoint trials, cited together in section three. Kosiborod MN, Abildstrøm SZ, Borlaug BA, et al. Semaglutide in Patients with Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction and Obesity. N Engl J Med. 2023;389(12):1069-1084. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2306963. PMID 37622681. STEP-HFpEF, NCT04788511. Sanyal AJ, Newsome PN, Kliers I, et al. Phase 3 Trial of Semaglutide in Metabolic Dysfunction-Associated Steatohepatitis. N Engl J Med. 2025;392(21):2089-2099. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2413258. PMID 40305708. ESSENCE, NCT04822181; week-72 interim of an ongoing 240-week trial. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Oral semaglutide cardiovascular outcome trials, cited together in section four. Husain M, Birkenfeld AL, Donsmark M, et al. Oral Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2019;381(9):841-851. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1901118. PMID 31185157. PIONEER 6, NCT02692716; a non-inferiority trial. McGuire DK, Marx N, Mulvagh SL, et al. Oral Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in High-Risk Type 2 Diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2025;392(20):2001-2012. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2501006. PMID 40162642. SOUL, NCT03914326; mean follow-up 47.5 months, median 49.5 months - the longest published follow-up for this molecule. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cummings JL, Atri A, Sano M, et al. Efficacy and safety of oral semaglutide 14 mg (flexible dose) in early-stage symptomatic Alzheimer's disease (evoke and evoke+): two phase 3, randomised, placebo-controlled trials. Lancet. 2026;407(10544):2167-2179. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(26)00459-9. PMID 41865758. NCT04777396 and NCT04777409; both discontinued for negative clinical outcome. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Aronne LJ, Horn DB, le Roux CW, et al. Tirzepatide as Compared with Semaglutide for the Treatment of Obesity. N Engl J Med. 2025;393(1):26-36. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2416394. PMID 40353578. SURMOUNT-5; open-label, 751 participants; no body-composition endpoint in the abstract. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hathaway JT, Shah MP, Hathaway DB, et al. Risk of Nonarteritic Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy in Patients Prescribed Semaglutide. JAMA Ophthalmol. 2024;142(8):732-739. doi:10.1001/jamaophthalmol.2024.2296. PMID 38958939. Retrospective single-institution matched cohort reporting two separate populations: type 2 diabetes (HR 4.28, 95% CI 1.62-11.29) and overweight or obesity (HR 7.64, 95% CI 2.21-26.36). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Heberer K, Bress AP, Cogill S, et al. New-Onset Nonarteritic Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy and Initiators of Semaglutide in US Veterans With Type 2 Diabetes. JAMA Ophthalmol. 2026;144(3):259-264. doi:10.1001/jamaophthalmol.2025.6262. PMID 41678180. This paper carries a published erratum, 'Error in Figure 2', PMID 41954895. No retraction or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lampsas S, Agapitou C, Oikonomou E, et al. Semaglutide and risk of Non-Arteritic Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy (NAION) in type 2 diabetes mellitus: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol. 2026. doi:10.1007/s00417-026-07291-4. PMID 42201355. Eight retrospective cohorts, 14,255,247 participants; PROSPERO CRD420251155026. Pooled HR 3.36 (I² 97%) at 1 year and 2.37 at 2, 3 and 5 years - four horizon-specific estimates, not one. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Hendershot CS, Bremmer MP, Paladino MB, et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults With Alcohol Use Disorder: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Psychiatry. 2025;82(4):395-405. doi:10.1001/jamapsychiatry.2024.4789. PMID 39937469. Phase 2, single US academic centre, 48 participants, 9 weeks; NCT05520775. The primary laboratory self-administration outcome was measured in the 0.5 mg arm. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Body-composition studies, cited together in the unsourced table. Heerspink HJL, Soler M, Beernink JM, et al. Effects of Semaglutide on Body Composition and GFR: A Prespecified Analysis of the SMART Trial. Clin J Am Soc Nephrol. 2026;21(7):1149-1158. doi:10.2215/CJN.0000001051. PMID 42308057. 101 participants, 24 weeks, bioimpedance spectroscopy. Alissou M, Demangeat T, Folope V, et al. Impact of Semaglutide on fat mass, lean mass and muscle function in patients with obesity: The SEMALEAN study. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2026;28(1):112-121. doi:10.1111/dom.70141. PMID 41068996. 115 patients enrolled, 106 completed; DXA at baseline, 7 and 12 months. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kopp KL, Lamberth K, Schelde O, et al. Impurities and Potential Immunogenicity Associated With Follow-on and Compounded Glucagon-like Peptide-1 Receptor Agonists. Pharm Res. 2026. doi:10.1007/s11095-026-04146-9. PMID 42533250. Mass spectrometry, MAPPs assay, photostability and fibrillation testing of non-originator semaglutide and liraglutide. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ashraf AR, Mackey TK, Vida RG, et al. Multifactor Quality and Safety Analysis of Semaglutide Products Sold by Online Sellers Without a Prescription: Market Surveillance, Content Analysis, and Product Purchase Evaluation Study. J Med Internet Res. 2024;26:e65440. doi:10.2196/65440. PMID 39509151. 1,080 links screened, 59 unique illegal online pharmacy websites identified, test purchases from 6 sellers, 3 vials delivered and analysed by LC-MS with sterility and endotoxin testing. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration. Prescribing information for semaglutide injection, NDA 209637 (the type 2 diabetes subcutaneous presentation). Source for the 94 percent sequence homology statement, molecular weight 4113.58 g/mol, 89 percent absolute bioavailability, greater than 99 percent albumin binding, apparent volume of distribution approximately 12.5 L, elimination half-life approximately one week with steady state at four to five weeks, approximately 3 percent excreted unchanged, the 29 / 74 / 30 mg/dL pharmacodynamic reductions, the 3.0 percent against 1.8 percent retinopathy figures, and the section 13.1 rodent carcinogenicity doses. Several distinct semaglutide injection applications exist with different pharmacodynamic sections, so the application record rather than a single product label is cited. Text verified through the openFDA drug label endpoint for this application number. View on www.accessdata.fda.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA's Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss. Content current as of 15 June 2026. Source for the salt-form position, the warning about products falsely labelled 'for research purposes' or 'not for human consumption', and the count of 990 adverse event reports associated with compounded semaglutide as of 31 May 2026, with the agency's note that state-licensed pharmacies that are not outsourcing facilities are not required to report. View on www.fda.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.