Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Cagrilintide (AM833)
Cagrilintide is an acylated 37-residue amylin analogue engineered for once-weekly administration. It has one of the largest published human records of any compound covered here: phase 1, phase 2 and multiple completed phase 3 trials, several of them enrolling thousands of participants. It is also, as of this review, not approved for human use in any jurisdiction, and every one of the 43 registered trials carrying its name has the same sponsor.
- Class
- Long-acting acylated amylin analogue; non-selective agonist of the amylin receptors (AMY1R, AMY2R, AMY3R) and of the calcitonin receptor
- CAS number
- 1415456-99-3
- PubChem CID
- 171397054
- Molecular formula
- C194H312N54O59S2
- Molecular weight
- 4409 g/mol
- Sequence
- KCNTATCATQRLAEFLRHSSNNFGPILPPTNVGSNTP (37 residues, C-terminally amidated; Cys2-Cys7 disulfide, stated directly in the FDA GSRS record; lysine 1 acylated with a C20 fatty diacid through a gamma-glutamyl spacer)
- Also indexed as
- NN0174-0833, UNII AO43BIF1U8, IUPHAR ligand GTPL13768, USAN code LM-28, INN number 11430, and the PubChem synonym string 'analogue 23 [PMID: 34288673]'. The development code AM833 is genuine but appears in neither PubChem nor GSRS; it comes from the discovery and receptor-pharmacology literature. Cagrilintide is also the amylin component of the fixed-dose combination CagriSema.
Identity, and where the two registries diverge
AM833 is the one identifier that goes missing. It is a real code, and it titles Fletcher and colleagues' 2021 receptor paper (PMID 33727283), but no registry field carries it; it appears in neither database. Everything else lines up. PubChem holds a single record under the name cagrilintide: CID 171397054, molecular formula C194H312N54O59S2, molecular weight 4409, InChIKey LDERDVMBIYGIOI-IZVMHKDJSA-N. The synonym list on that record adds CAS 1415456-99-3, the development code NN0174-0833, the IUPHAR ligand identifier GTPL13768, and the string 'analogue 23 [PMID: 34288673]', which is the compound number the molecule was assigned in Kruse and colleagues' 2021 paper describing its selection. FDA's Global Substance Registration System holds the matching unique ingredient identifier, AO43BIF1U8, at approved record status, together with the USAN code LM-28 and INN number 11430.
The registration record also publishes the full amino-acid sequence: KCNTATCATQRLAEFLRHSSNNFGPILPPTNVGSNTP, thirty-seven residues, C-terminally amidated. Set against human amylin, KCNTATCATQRLANFLVHSSNNFGAILSSTNVGSNTY, six positions differ. Asparagine 14 becomes glutamate and valine 17 becomes arginine; alanine 25, serine 28 and serine 29 each become proline; and the C-terminal tyrosine 37 becomes proline. Cao and colleagues' 2025 cryo-electron microscopy study, citing the discovery paper for the design rationale, records that N14E and V17R were incorporated to counteract the amyloid fibril formation seen with human amylin, and that the pair was predicted to stabilise the peptide's N-terminal helix through an intramolecular salt bridge. That bridge was seen in a crystal structure of the peptide backbone fused to maltose-binding protein (PDB 7BG0) and again in Cao's own active-state structures.
Lipidation supplies the rest. A C20 fatty diacid is attached at lysine 1 through a gamma-glutamyl spacer, the mechanism by which the molecule is held in circulation long enough for weekly administration. The internal disulfide is stated by GSRS in the peptide's own numbering, linking residues 2 and 7 (sitesShorthand 1_2;1_7), which is the bridge native amylin already carries. PubChem's systematic name gives the same bond as a cyclic (3 to 8) disulfide, a numbering that counts the gamma-glutamyl spacer as residue 1, so the two records agree once the offset is applied. Secondary pages that describe the acyl group as a C18 fatty acid match neither record.
The two registries do not agree on everything. They match on CAS number, UNII, molecular weight and the full 37-residue sequence, and they diverge on one field: PubChem gives the molecular formula as C194H312N54O59S2, while the GSRS property table for AO43BIF1U8 gives C194H312O58N54S2, one oxygen fewer. Computing the formula from the GSRS sequence with the C-terminal amide, the Cys2-Cys7 disulfide, the gamma-glutamyl spacer and the C20 diacid returns C194H312N54O59S2 at 4409.1, which reproduces PubChem's formula and its stated molecular weight. The GSRS oxygen count appears to be the error, and this page uses PubChem's formula on that basis. A two-database check is only worth something if the disagreements are reported alongside the agreements.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week-26 mean bodyweight reduction 6.0% to 10.8% (6.4-11.5 kg) across cagrilintide 0.3-4.5 mg vs 3.0% (3.3 kg) placebo on the trial-product estimand, estimated treatment differences 3.0-7.8%, p<0.001; cagrilintide 4.5 mg vs liraglutide 3.0 mg 10.8% (11.5 kg) vs 9.0% (9.6 kg), difference 1.8%, p=0.03; gastrointestinal adverse events 41-63% of cagrilintide participants vs 32% placebo, nausea 20-47% vs 18% | Adults without diabetes, BMI >=30 or >=27 with hypertension or dyslipidaemia; 57 sites in 10 countries | Once-weekly subcutaneous self-injection, 26 weeks with up to 6 weeks escalation; liraglutide comparator once daily | 706 randomised: cagrilintide 0.3 mg 101, 0.6 mg 100, 1.2 mg 102, 2.4 mg 102, 4.5 mg 101, liraglutide 3.0 mg 99, pooled placebo 101 (per-arm counts read from the posted participant-flow table, not inferred) | Lau 2021, Lancet, PMID 34798060 / NCT03856047 posted results |
| Cagrilintide half-life 159-195 h with median tmax 24-72 h across 0.16-4.5 mg; AUC0-168h 926 to 24,271 nmol x h/L; exposure proportional to dose and without effect on semaglutide exposure or elimination. Week-20 mean bodyweight reduction 15.7% (SE 1.6) at 1.2 mg and 17.1% (1.5) at 2.4 mg vs 9.8% (1.2) pooled placebo | Adults aged 18-55, BMI 27.0-39.9, otherwise healthy, single US centre; mean age 40.6 (SD 9.2), 54% Black or African American | Once-weekly subcutaneous cagrilintide co-escalated with once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutide 2.4 mg over 16 weeks, then 4 weeks at target; 20 weeks total | 96 randomised, 95 exposed: 71 to cagrilintide (12 per group at 0.16-2.4 mg, 11 at 4.5 mg) and 24 to matched placebo | Enebo 2021, Lancet, PMID 33894838 / NCT03600480 |
| Renal and hepatic impairment did not alter exposure: AUC0-inf ratios vs normal renal function 1.23 (90% CI 0.91-1.66) mild, 1.18 (0.87-1.59) moderate, 1.21 (0.87-1.68) severe; vs normal hepatic function 0.99, 1.01 and 1.11 | Adults categorised by renal or hepatic function into normal, mild, moderate and severe impairment groups | Single subcutaneous dose of cagrilintide alone, 0.6 mg (renal study) or 0.9 mg (hepatic study) | 33 (renal: 14/7/7/5) and 32 (hepatic: 14/7/7/4) | Nielsen 2026, Clin Pharmacokinet, PMID 42228334 / NCT04209049, NCT05564104 |
| Week-32 mean HbA1c change -0.9 percentage points (SE 0.15) and mean bodyweight change -8.1% (1.23) with cagrilintide 2.4 mg alone, against -2.2 points (0.15) and -15.6% (1.26) for the combination and -1.8 points (0.16) and -5.1% (1.26) for semaglutide 2.4 mg alone; adverse events in 24/30 (80%) of the cagrilintide group | Adults with type 2 diabetes, BMI >=27, on metformin with or without an SGLT2 inhibitor; 17 sites in the USA; mean age 58 (SD 9) | Once-weekly subcutaneous, all arms escalated to 2.4 mg, 32 weeks | 92 randomised 1:1:1 (combination 31, semaglutide 31, cagrilintide 30) | Frias 2023, Lancet, PMID 37364590 / NCT04982575 |
| Week-68 mean percent weight change, treatment-policy estimand: -20.4% cagrilintide-semaglutide, -14.9% semaglutide, -11.5% cagrilintide alone, -3.0% placebo; trial-product estimand -22.7%, -16.1%, -11.8%, -2.3%. Injection-site reactions 51/302 (16.9%) on cagrilintide alone vs 256/2106 (12.2%) combination, 8/302 (2.6%) semaglutide, 21/705 (3.0%) placebo; discontinuation for adverse events 2.6%, 5.9%, 3.6%, 3.5%. DXA subgroup: -17.0 kg total fat and -8.4 kg lean soft tissue with the combination (67% fat, 33% lean) vs -3.4 kg and -2.6 kg placebo | Adults without diabetes, BMI >=30 or >=27 with at least one obesity-related complication, mean age approximately 47; DXA subgroup baseline fat mass 47.4 kg, lean soft-tissue mass 58.1 kg | Once-weekly subcutaneous, 68 weeks, randomised 21:3:3:7 | 3417 randomised (2108 combination, 302 semaglutide, 302 cagrilintide, 705 placebo); 3415 in the safety population; 252 of 3417 (7.4%) scanned by DXA | Garvey 2025, N Engl J Med, PMID 40544433 / NCT05567796 (REDEFINE 1) |
| Week-68 mean weight change -13.7% with cagrilintide-semaglutide vs -3.4% placebo (difference -10.4 percentage points, 95% CI -11.2 to -9.5, p<0.001); HbA1c 6.5% or below in 73.5% vs 15.9%; discontinuation for adverse events 8.4% vs 3% | Adults with type 2 diabetes, BMI >=27, HbA1c 7-10%, 12 countries | Once-weekly subcutaneous cagrilintide 2.4 mg plus semaglutide 2.4 mg, 68 weeks, randomised 3:1 | 1206 (904 active, 302 placebo) | Davies 2025, N Engl J Med, PMID 40544432 / NCT05394519 (REDEFINE 2) |
| Week-68 estimated mean bodyweight change -18.4% (SE 0.7) with cagrilintide-semaglutide vs -11.9% (0.7) with semaglutide 2.4 mg alone on the trial-product estimand; estimated treatment difference -6.5 percentage points (95% CI -8.4 to -4.6), p<0.0001. Gastrointestinal adverse events 87/164 (53%) vs 85/167 (51%) | Adults in Japan (21 sites) and Taiwan (1 site), BMI >=27 with at least two obesity-related complications or BMI >=35 with one, with or without type 2 diabetes; 24% had type 2 diabetes | Once-weekly subcutaneous, both arms escalated to 2.4 mg, 68 weeks, randomised 1:1 | 331 randomised (164 combination, 167 semaglutide) | Yamauchi 2026, Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol, PMID 42009015 / NCT05813925 (REDEFINE 5) |
| Primary endpoint on the efficacy estimand: week-68 HbA1c change -1.91 percentage points (SE 0.04) with cagrilintide-semaglutide 2.4 mg each vs -1.75 (0.04) with semaglutide 2.4 mg; estimated treatment difference -0.16 percentage points (95% CI -0.27 to -0.05), p=0.0035. The trial also carried a cagrilintide 2.4 mg monotherapy arm, in which adverse events were reported in 125 of 152 participants (82.2%), against 524/603 (86.9%) in the 2.4 mg combination arm and 105/149 (70.5%) on placebo | Adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled (HbA1c 7.0-10.5%) on metformin with or without an SGLT2 inhibitor, BMI >=25; 30 countries; baseline mean HbA1c 8.2% (SD 0.9) | Once-weekly subcutaneous, 68 weeks, randomised 8:8:2:8:8:1:1 | 2713 randomised: combination 2.4 mg each 603, semaglutide 2.4 mg 605, cagrilintide 2.4 mg 152, combination 1.0 mg each 595, semaglutide 1.0 mg 609, pooled placebo 149 | Buse 2026, Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol, PMID 42251859 / NCT06065540 (REIMAGINE 2); carries a published correction, PMID 42320507 |
| Upper limits of the two-sided 90% confidence intervals for placebo-adjusted change from baseline in Fridericia-corrected QT interval were below 10 ms at 12, 24, 48 and 72 h after the last cagrilintide 4.5 mg dose; assay sensitivity demonstrated with 400 mg oral moxifloxacin as positive control | Healthy participants in a double-blind thorough QT study | Once-weekly subcutaneous cagrilintide dose-escalated to 4.5 mg; single oral moxifloxacin dose in the placebo arms in a nested crossover | 105 received treatment (53 cagrilintide, 52 placebo); the registry records 107 actually enrolled | Gabe 2024, Diabetes Obes Metab, PMID 39279639 / NCT05804162 |
| AM833 profiled across 25 pharmacological endpoints against six comparator agonists (the lipidated analogues AM1213 and AM1784, pramlintide, salmon calcitonin, human calcitonin and rat amylin) and reported to have a profile distinct from all of them across measures of receptor binding, activation and regulation | Recombinant cell systems expressing the calcitonin receptor alone or in combination with receptor activity-modifying proteins 1-3 | In vitro | Not stated in the abstract; per-assay replicate counts sit in the full text, which was not retrievable this session, so no numeric value from this paper is quoted | Fletcher 2021, J Pharmacol Exp Ther, PMID 33727283 |
| Carvas: body weight change -3.4 +/- 0.51 g (p<0.005) in wild-type mice given cagrilintide, while salmon calcitonin increased it by 0.60 +/- 0.38 g (p<0.01); the source does not state whether the dispersion is a standard error or a standard deviation. Area postrema cFos signal was 57% lower in RAMP1/3 knockout than in wild-type mice given cagrilintide (p<0.001). Ludwig: atlas of over 530,000 cells and 80 neuronal populations; long-term cagrilintide upregulated Prlh expression in nucleus of the solitary tract Calcr/Prlh cells, and knocking down dorsal vagal complex Prlh abrogated the effects of cagrilintide but not semaglutide | Carvas: male wild-type and RAMP1/RAMP3 knockout littermate mice, high-fat diet for 23 weeks before treatment. Ludwig: caudal brainstem of rat, mouse and macaque, with in vivo experiments in rats | Subcutaneous, once daily; 3 nmol/kg cagrilintide and 150 nmol/kg salmon calcitonin over a 3-week treatment period (Carvas) | Carvas: 8 per group for body weight, 7-8 for food intake, 5-6 for cFos. Ludwig: over 530,000 cells across three species; per-experiment group sizes sit in the full text | Carvas 2025, EBioMedicine, PMID 40609154; Ludwig 2026, Nat Metab, PMID 42260119 |
| Cagrilintide plus semaglutide produced 12% weight loss with a 39% reduction in food intake, while matching that weight loss by caloric restriction alone required a 51% reduction; roughly one third of the effect attributed to energy expenditure | Diet-induced obese male Sprague Dawley rats on 45% high-fat diet, with pair-fed and weight-matched vehicle controls | Subcutaneous, once daily, escalated to 2 + 2 nmol/kg per day | 10 or 11 per group | Jacobsen 2025, Nat Metab, PMID 40629149 |
| Cagrilintide is a 37-amino-acid peptide acylated with a C18 fatty acid | This description appears on aggregator and vendor product pages. It contradicts the primary records. PubChem CID 171397054 gives the acyl group as 19-carboxy-1-oxononadecyl, that is a C20 fatty diacid, attached through a gamma-glutamyl spacer, and Cao 2025 (PMID 40204768) describes N-terminal acylation with the gamma-glutamyl linker at lysine 1. No source giving a C18 chain was located in PubChem, FDA GSRS, or the discovery and structural literature. The residue count of 37 matches both registry records; the C18 lipid description matches neither. | No source found | ||
| Cagrilintide slows gastric emptying | Searched PubMed for cagrilintide combined with the phrase gastric emptying in title or abstract: seven records, all reviews or commentary (PMIDs 42586227, 42452898, 41549439, 41329155, 36883831, 35183619, 34929674), none reporting a measurement. The one registered study designed to measure it, NCT06207877, used paracetamol absorption as the readout, tested the cagrilintide-semaglutide combination and not cagrilintide alone, is recorded as completed, has no results posted and no indexed publication located. The property is well established for pramlintide and for amylin itself; a primary cagrilintide measurement was not found. | No source found | ||
| Cagrilintide preserves lean mass, or produces preferential fat loss relative to GLP-1 agonists, in people | The only large prespecified human body-composition measurement located is the REDEFINE 1 DXA subgroup (PMID 40544433), 252 of 3417 participants, which reported that 33% of weight lost on cagrilintide-semaglutide was lean soft tissue. That is the combination, not cagrilintide alone, and it does not support the sparing claim. Searched PubMed for cagrilintide with body composition, DXA and lean mass terms and found no monotherapy human measurement. The claim as it circulates appears to rest on rodent relative-mass data and on mechanistic reasoning about appetite pathways. | No source found | ||
| REDEFINE 4: cagrilintide-semaglutide produced 23% weight loss over 84 weeks against 25.5% for tirzepatide 15 mg | These figures trace to a company announcement dated 23 February 2026, item id 916501 on the sponsor's press-release archive (https://www.novonordisk.com/content/nncorp/global/en/news-and-media/news-and-ir-materials/news-details.html?id=916501), and to press reprints of it, not to a peer-reviewed report. A PubMed search for the trial returned no primary publication. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06131437 is recorded as completed, actual enrolment 809, and returns hasResults false. The announcement itself states that the primary endpoint of non-inferiority was not achieved, a detail frequently dropped when the 23% figure is repeated. The announcement was read directly rather than through a reprint. | No source found | ||
| Purity of 99% or higher, verified by HPLC and mass spectrometry with a certificate of analysis | This phrasing, and variants quoting figures to two decimal places, appears across supplier catalogue copy. No analytical certificate, method description, reference standard or primary publication supporting any specific purity figure for material sold under this name was located in PubMed or general web search. There is no public reference standard against which an independent check could be run. | No source found | ||
| Lyophilised material is stable for stated periods at -20 C, 2-8 C and room temperature, and reconstituted material for a stated number of weeks refrigerated | Specific figures circulate on supplier and aggregator pages and disagree with one another, ranging from weeks to years for the same storage condition. Searched PubMed and general web sources for any stability study, forced-degradation report or regulatory document reporting shelf life for isolated cagrilintide: none located. The trial literature describes formulation only in the context of dosing solutions prepared for study use. | No source found | ||
| Nausea occurred in 43% of participants | Traced to no source giving that figure. The phase 2 monotherapy trial (PMID 34798060) reported nausea in 20% to 47% of participants across five cagrilintide dose groups against 18% on placebo, and reported gastrointestinal events overall at 41% to 63%. REDEFINE 1 (PMID 40544433) reported gastrointestinal events at 54.0% for cagrilintide alone, and the sponsor's filing announcement reports nausea at 55% for the combination against 12.6% for placebo. The single figure of 43% matches none of these and appears to be a midpoint of a range presented as a measurement. | No source found | ||
| Titration schedules, weekly injection amounts and on-off cycling periods for cagrilintide | Schedules of this kind circulate widely on aggregator pages and are not reproduced here. Where such pages cite anything, they cite the phase 1b and phase 2 trial publications, which describe protocol-specified escalation within a supervised trial and contain nothing corresponding to the cycling patterns being recommended. No source establishing any such schedule outside a clinical protocol was located. | No source found | ||
A non-selective agonist, by design
Amylin receptors are not single proteins. Each is a heterodimer of the calcitonin receptor with one of three receptor activity-modifying proteins, producing the AMY1R, AMY2R and AMY3R phenotypes, and the calcitonin receptor also reaches the cell surface on its own. Pramlintide, the amylin analogue licensed decades earlier, is selective for the amylin receptors, while cagrilintide activates the isolated calcitonin receptor as well. Fletcher and colleagues profiled AM833 in recombinant cell systems across twenty-five pharmacological endpoints in 2021, comparing it with six other agonists: the lipidated analogues AM1213 and AM1784, pramlintide, salmon calcitonin, human calcitonin and rat amylin. They reported a profile distinct from all six across measures of binding, activation and regulation (PMID 33727283).
Structural work published in 2025 resolved cagrilintide bound to Gs-coupled AMY1R, AMY2R, AMY3R and the calcitonin receptor. Cao and colleagues reported that the peptide adopts an amylin-like binding mode but induces conformational dynamics at these receptors that differ from those induced by rat amylin or salmon calcitonin. The C-terminal proline is one lever: in all three amylin receptors it occupies the same pocket as the tyrosine of rat amylin but makes no direct contact with the modifying proteins, which is consistent with cagrilintide's ability to engage the calcitonin receptor protomer alone.
The same paper tested what the lipid contributes. In a cAMP response element reporter assay, a non-lipidated version of the peptide backbone had similar potency and maximal response to cagrilintide in cells co-expressing the calcitonin receptor and RAMP3, but reduced potency in cells expressing the calcitonin receptor alone. A cagrilintide variant carrying a P37Y substitution behaved the same way: lower potency at the isolated calcitonin receptor, comparable potency once RAMP3 was present. Both results locate the non-selectivity in specific structural features that can be tested one at a time.
Rodent work, and where it points
Carvas and colleagues addressed which receptors carry the effect. Male wild-type and RAMP1/RAMP3 double-knockout littermate mice were fed a high-fat diet for twenty-three weeks, then treated for three weeks with vehicle, salmon calcitonin at 150 nmol/kg, or cagrilintide at 3 nmol/kg, subcutaneously once daily. Wild-type mice given cagrilintide lost 3.4 grams of body weight, dispersion 0.51, at p below 0.005 with eight animals per group, while salmon calcitonin slightly increased it by 0.60, dispersion 0.38. The source does not state whether either dispersion figure is a standard error or a standard deviation. Deleting the two modifying proteins impeded cagrilintide's potency and improved salmon calcitonin's efficacy, which the authors read as dependence on AMY1R and AMY3R.
Jacobsen and colleagues asked a different question in rats: whether weight loss is entirely a matter of eating less. Diet-induced obese male Sprague Dawley rats received subcutaneous cagrilintide, semaglutide or the combination, with pair-fed and weight-matched vehicle controls, ten or eleven animals per group. The combination produced 12 percent weight loss with a 39 percent reduction in food intake, whereas matching that weight loss by restriction alone required a 51 percent cut in intake. On the authors' arithmetic, roughly one third of the combination's effect is attributable to energy expenditure and the remainder to reduced intake.
Ludwig and colleagues built a transcriptomic atlas of more than 530,000 caudal brainstem cells, comprising 80 neuronal populations across rat, mouse and macaque (PMID 42260119). They reported that long-term cagrilintide treatment in rats upregulated prolactin-releasing hormone expression in Calcr/Prlh cells of the nucleus of the solitary tract, and that knocking down Prlh in the dorsal vagal complex abrogated the effects of cagrilintide but not those of semaglutide. Chemogenetic activation of the area postrema Calcr/Ramp3 population, by contrast, failed to affect long-term food intake and body weight.
Cagrilintide alone, in people
Pharmacokinetics come from the 2021 phase 1b trial, in which 95 participants were exposed to treatment, 71 of them to once-weekly cagrilintide 0.16 to 4.5 mg and 24 to matched placebo, all in combination with semaglutide 2.4 mg. Enebo and colleagues reported a cagrilintide half-life of 159 to 195 hours with a median time to maximum concentration of 24 to 72 hours, and found exposure proportional to dose and without effect on semaglutide exposure or elimination. Every published human half-life figure for this molecule therefore comes from co-administration. The renal and hepatic impairment studies reported by Nielsen and colleagues in 2026 did give single doses of cagrilintide on its own, but reported exposure ratios, not a half-life.
Monotherapy efficacy comes from the dose-finding phase 2 trial, NCT03856047, conducted at fifty-seven sites in ten countries. Lau and colleagues randomised 706 adults without diabetes to once-weekly cagrilintide 0.3 to 4.5 mg, once-daily liraglutide 3.0 mg, or volume-matched placebo for twenty-six weeks. The registry's posted participant-flow table gives the arms as 101, 100, 102, 102 and 101 for the five cagrilintide doses, 99 for liraglutide and 101 for pooled placebo. Mean weight reduction on the trial-product estimand ranged from 6.0 to 10.8 percent across cagrilintide doses against 3.0 percent for placebo, and the 4.5 mg group separated from liraglutide by 1.8 percentage points at p equal to 0.03. Gastrointestinal adverse events were reported in 41 to 63 percent of cagrilintide participants against 32 percent on placebo.
The longest monotherapy exposure sits inside a combination trial. REDEFINE 1 randomised 302 participants to cagrilintide 2.4 mg alone for sixty-eight weeks, and Garvey and colleagues reported a mean weight change of minus 11.5 percent on the treatment-policy estimand and minus 11.8 percent on the trial-product estimand. That arm also produced the highest rate of injection-site reactions in the trial: 51 of 302 participants, 16.9 percent, against 12.2 percent for the combination, 2.6 percent for semaglutide alone and 3.0 percent for placebo.
Two further monotherapy arms sit inside combination trials and are rarely quoted. REIMAGINE 2 randomised 152 participants with type 2 diabetes to cagrilintide 2.4 mg alone for sixty-eight weeks; Buse and colleagues reported adverse events in 125 of those 152, 82.2 percent, against 86.9 percent in the combination arm and 70.5 percent on placebo. Earlier, the 32-week phase 2 trial reported by Frias and colleagues gave cagrilintide 2.4 mg alone to 30 participants with type 2 diabetes on metformin with or without an SGLT2 inhibitor, and reported a mean HbA1c change of minus 0.9 percentage points and a mean bodyweight change of minus 8.1 percent, against minus 2.2 points and minus 15.6 percent for the combination.
The combination, and which number gets quoted
REDEFINE 1 randomised 3,417 adults without diabetes in a 21:3:3:7 ratio and ran sixty-eight weeks. Two estimands are reported throughout this programme and they are not interchangeable. The treatment-policy estimand follows participants regardless of adherence; the trial-product estimand models the effect had everyone remained on treatment. Under the first, mean weight change was minus 20.4 percent with cagrilintide-semaglutide against minus 3.0 percent with placebo. Under the second, the same comparison reads minus 22.7 percent against minus 2.3 percent. Both figures are in the paper. The sponsor's regulatory-filing announcement of 18 December 2025 quotes the larger one, which is the figure that travels, usually with no estimand attached.
Results in type 2 diabetes have accumulated quickly. Davies and colleagues reported REDEFINE 2, in which 1,206 participants with type 2 diabetes were randomised 3:1 and the combination produced minus 13.7 percent against minus 3.4 percent for placebo at week 68. In Japan and Taiwan, REDEFINE 5 randomised 331 participants one to one and reported minus 18.4 percent for the combination against minus 11.9 percent for semaglutide alone on the trial-product estimand, 164 and 167 per arm (PMID 42009015). REIMAGINE 2 randomised 2,713 participants across six arms; its primary comparison on the efficacy estimand set the combination at 2.4 mg each, 603 participants, against semaglutide 2.4 mg, 605 participants, and gave an HbA1c difference of 0.16 percentage points, significant at p equal to 0.0035 and small in absolute terms.
One comparison in the programme has no peer-reviewed report at all. REDEFINE 4, NCT06131437, ran eighty-four weeks in 809 participants against tirzepatide 15 mg and is recorded as completed, with no results posted to the registry and no indexed publication located. Its numbers circulate from a company announcement dated 23 February 2026, item id 916501 on the sponsor's press-release archive: 23.0 percent against 25.5 percent under the efficacy estimand, 20.2 percent against 23.6 percent under the treatment-regimen estimand, and a primary endpoint of non-inferiority not achieved. The REIMAGINE 2 report also carries a published correction whose content could not be retrieved.
What the body-composition data showed
Amylin analogues are frequently described in secondary material as sparing lean tissue. REDEFINE 1 contains the only large prespecified measurement bearing on that, and it is a subgroup: 252 of 3,417 participants, 7.4 percent, underwent dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry. In that subgroup, baseline mean total fat mass was 47.4 kg and lean soft-tissue mass 58.1 kg. Absolute decreases from baseline to week 68 with cagrilintide-semaglutide were 17.0 kg of fat and 8.4 kg of lean soft tissue on the trial-product estimand, which the authors state corresponds to 67 percent of total weight loss as fat and 33 percent as lean soft tissue.
Two limits sit on that number. It describes the combination, not cagrilintide alone, so it cannot be used to characterise the amylin component in isolation. And a 7.4 percent scanned subgroup was not powered as a body-composition trial. What the measurement does establish is that a third of the weight lost in this arm was lean soft tissue. No comparable human measurement for cagrilintide monotherapy was located.
Approval status and the shape of the record
Cagrilintide is not an approved medicine anywhere. A company announcement dated 18 December 2025, item id 916470 on the sponsor's press-release archive, records the submission of a New Drug Application to the United States Food and Drug Administration for the fixed-dose combination in weight management, on the strength of REDEFINE 1 and REDEFINE 2, and states that the FDA was expected to review the application in 2026. The February 2026 announcement puts the anticipated decision late in that year. Both announcements describe the type 2 diabetes indication as under investigation in the REIMAGINE programme and neither describes a filing for it. No approval had been announced as of this review, and cagrilintide as a single agent is not the subject of any filing located.
A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search returned 43 registered studies naming cagrilintide, and the lead sponsor on every one is Novo Nordisk A/S. Two are withdrawn with zero enrolment. That concentration is worth carrying into any reading of the record: the phase 3 dataset is unusually large for this category, and it is also entirely one sponsor's, with the largest head-to-head comparison against a competitor product still unpublished. Independent academic groups appear as authors on the receptor and rodent papers, though several of those papers also carry sponsor employees as co-authors and one was funded by a sponsor consortium grant.
What is not known
The published record establishes little about cagrilintide as an isolated agent over long periods. Its longest monotherapy exposure is the 302-participant, 68-week arm of REDEFINE 1; the second is the 152-participant, 68-week cagrilintide 2.4 mg arm of REIMAGINE 2; the third is a 30-participant, 32-week arm in the 2023 phase 2 trial in type 2 diabetes. Outside those, and outside the 26-week phase 2 dose-finding trial, the molecule has been studied as one half of a fixed-dose combination, so effects attributed to the amylin component are usually inferences from arm-to-arm comparison and not direct measurements of it. Gastric emptying, the property most often asserted for it, has no located primary measurement in humans. Body composition has been measured in one 7.4 percent subgroup, for the combination only. Weight regain after discontinuation is unreported in the published trials. The head-to-head comparison against tirzepatide, the only trial pitting it against a licensed competitor, is completed and unpublished, with no registry results posting. Bone metabolism and muscle health have phase 1 protocols recruiting and no reported endpoints. No cardiovascular outcome data exist: REDEFINE 3, NCT05669755, records 7,101 participants actually enrolled and is recorded as active and not recruiting, with nothing reported. All 43 registered trials share one sponsor, and the discovery paper's preclinical dataset sits behind a paywall this review could not pass, so the rodent and receptor figures quoted here come from other groups' publications.
Questions
Is cagrilintide approved for human use?
Where does the 159 to 195 hour half-life figure come from?
Why do sources give REDEFINE 1 as both 20.4% and 22.7%?
How selective is cagrilintide for amylin receptors?
Has cagrilintide been checked for cardiac repolarisation effects?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 171397054, Cagrilintide. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026; carries CAS 1415456-99-3, formula C194H312N54O59S2, molecular weight 4409, InChIKey LDERDVMBIYGIOI-IZVMHKDJSA-N, and thirteen synonyms, among which AM833 does not appear. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, Cagrilintide, UNII AO43BIF1U8. Record status approved; publishes the complete 37-residue sequence, the disulfide link between residues 2 and 7 (sitesShorthand 1_2;1_7), USAN code LM-28, INN number 11430, and a molecular formula field reading C194H312O58N54S2, which differs from PubChem by one oxygen. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Kruse T, Hansen JL, Dahl K, et al. Development of Cagrilintide, a Long-Acting Amylin Analogue. J Med Chem. 2021;64(15):11183-11194. PMID 34288673. No retraction or expression of concern; Europe PMC records it as subscription-only and the full text was not retrievable this session, so no figure from it is quoted here. View on doi.org
- Fletcher MM, Keov P, Truong TT, et al. AM833 Is a Novel Agonist of Calcitonin Family G Protein-Coupled Receptors: Pharmacological Comparison with Six Selective and Nonselective Agonists. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2021;377(3):417-440. PMID 33727283. Full text not read this session; only the abstract's qualitative conclusions and its stated endpoint and comparator counts are used. View on doi.org
- Cao J, Belousoff MJ, et al. Structural and dynamic features of cagrilintide binding to calcitonin and amylin receptors. Nat Commun. 2025;16(1):3389. PMID 40204768. Open access; full text read for this record via PMC11982234. View on doi.org
- Enebo LB, Berthelsen KK, Kankam M, et al. Safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacodynamics of concomitant administration of multiple doses of cagrilintide with semaglutide 2.4 mg for weight management: a randomised, controlled, phase 1b trial. Lancet. 2021;397(10286):1736-1748. PMID 33894838. View on doi.org
- Lau DCW, Erichsen L, Francisco AM, et al. Once-weekly cagrilintide for weight management in people with overweight and obesity: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled and active-controlled, dose-finding phase 2 trial. Lancet. 2021;398(10317):2160-2172. PMID 34798060. Per-arm counts on this page come from the posted results table for NCT03856047, not from the abstract's ambiguous wording. View on doi.org
- Frias JP, Deenadayalan S, Erichsen L, et al. Efficacy and safety of co-administered once-weekly cagrilintide 2.4 mg with once-weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg in type 2 diabetes: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, active-controlled, phase 2 trial. Lancet. 2023;402(10403):720-730. PMID 37364590. Includes a 30-participant cagrilintide 2.4 mg monotherapy arm at 32 weeks. View on doi.org
- Garvey WT, Bluher M, Osorto Contreras CK, et al. Coadministered Cagrilintide and Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (REDEFINE 1). N Engl J Med. 2025;393(7):635-647. PMID 40544433. Letters to the editor were published on this article in November 2025; no erratum, retraction or expression of concern. View on doi.org
- Davies MJ, et al. Cagrilintide-Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes (REDEFINE 2). N Engl J Med. 2025;393(7):648-659. PMID 40544432. View on doi.org
- Buse JB, Bajaj HS, et al. Cagrilintide-semaglutide (CagriSema) versus semaglutide or cagrilintide in people with type 2 diabetes (REIMAGINE 2): a double-blind, randomised, controlled, phase 3 study. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2026;14(8):662-677. PMID 42251859. Carries a published correction, Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol 2026;14(8):e11, PMID 42320507, whose notice text is not carried in PubMed or Europe PMC and could not be retrieved; what it changed is not established here. View on doi.org
- Yamauchi T, Becker NP, Hagemann CA, et al. Efficacy and safety of co-administered cagrilintide and semaglutide versus semaglutide alone in adults with overweight or obesity with or without type 2 diabetes in Japan and Taiwan (REDEFINE 5): a multicentre, randomised, active-controlled, phase 3a trial. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2026;14(6):450-462. PMID 42009015. View on doi.org
- Nielsen MJF, et al. Renal or Hepatic Impairment Does Not Affect Pharmacokinetics, Safety, or Tolerability of Subcutaneous Cagrilintide. Clin Pharmacokinet. 2026;65(7):1087-1099. PMID 42228334. View on doi.org
- Gabe MBN, Fuhr R, Sinn A, et al. Cagrilintide is not associated with clinically relevant QTc prolongation: A thorough QT study in healthy participants. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2024;26(12):5805-5811. PMID 39279639. View on doi.org
- Carvas AO, Leuthardt A, Kulka P, et al. Cagrilintide lowers bodyweight through brain amylin receptors 1 and 3 [mouse]. EBioMedicine. 2025;118:105836. PMID 40609154. Funded in part by a sponsor-led consortium grant. View on doi.org
- Jacobsen JM, et al. CagriSema drives weight loss in rats by reducing energy intake and preserving energy expenditure [rat]. Nat Metab. 2025;7(7):1322-1329. PMID 40629149. Open access; full text read for this record via PMC12286864. View on doi.org
- Ludwig MQ, Coester B, Gordian D, et al. A cross-species atlas of the dorsal vagal complex reveals neural mediators of the effects of cagrilintide on energy balance [rat, mouse, macaque]. Nat Metab. 2026;8(6):1350-1367. PMID 42260119. View on doi.org
- Novo Nordisk A/S company announcements, read directly this session. (a) 'Novo Nordisk files for FDA approval of CagriSema, the first once-weekly combination of GLP-1 and amylin analogues for weight management', 18 December 2025, item id 916470, timestamped 2025-12-18T13:08:27Z: records the NDA submission on the strength of REDEFINE 1 and REDEFINE 2 and states the FDA was expected to review the application in 2026. (b) 'CagriSema demonstrated 23% weight loss in an open-label head-to-head REDEFINE 4 trial in people with obesity, the primary endpoint was not achieved', 23 February 2026, item id 916501, timestamped 2026-02-23T09:33:18Z, at https://www.novonordisk.com/content/nncorp/global/en/news-and-media/news-and-ir-materials/news-details.html?id=916501. Neither is peer reviewed and neither has a corresponding registry results posting. View on www.novonordisk.com
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.