Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Eloralintide (LY3841136)

Eloralintide is an engineered amylin analogue developed as a selective agonist of the amylin 1 receptor. Unlike most compounds in this category it has a substantial published human record, with Phase 1 and Phase 2 trials reported in peer-reviewed journals and Phase 3 studies now recruiting. It also has a PubChem entry, CID 175663130, which older reference material states does not exist.

Strongest evidence: Human dataPublished Phase 1 and Phase 2 randomised trials; Phase 3 ongoing 11 claims logged 8 with primary citations 3 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Selective amylin receptor (AMY1R) agonist peptide; acylated amylin analogue
CAS number
2883634-40-8
PubChem CID
175663130
Molecular formula
C201H319N49O65S2
Molecular weight
4526 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified

Verified against PubChem PUG REST, CID 175663130, properties and synonym records retrieved 17 August 2026; structural description from Briere 2025 Mol Metab full text. Fields marked “not verified” are ones we could not confirm against a primary chemical database — we leave them blank rather than guess.

Identity, and a correction to the public record

Reference material on this compound written before 2026 states that no PubChem CID exists for eloralintide, and that its CAS number, formula and molecular weight therefore rest on vendor catalogue copy alone. That is no longer accurate. A PubChem name lookup resolves eloralintide to CID 175663130, and the property record on that CID returns molecular formula C201H319N49O65S2, molecular weight 4526, and InChIKey RLBIFQNAUXZCQB-UHFFFAOYSA-N. The synonym list on the same record carries the CAS number 2883634-40-8 and the code AT53786.

The three identity values that previously circulated as vendor-only figures are therefore now confirmed against a public chemistry database, and they match. Research codes LY3841136 and LY-3841136 appear across the trial literature; the international nonproprietary name eloralintide carries the -lintide stem assigned to amylin mimetics.

One identity field remains genuinely unavailable. The full amino-acid sequence has not been published. Briere 2025 describes the architecture in prose but does not disclose the residue-by-residue sequence, and no database record supplies it. That field is recorded here as unknown rather than inferred.

Claim ledger

8 of 11 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
EC50 23.9 pM (SE 1.1) at human AMY1R vs 291.0 pM (SE 27.0) at human calcitonin receptor; approximately 12-fold separationCell lines expressing human AMY1R or human CTRIn vitro cAMP accumulation assayNot applicableBriere 2025, Mol Metab, PMID 41109426
EC50 253.8 pM (SE 9.7) at human AMY3R; approximately 11-fold less potent than at human AMY1R; full agonism (Emax >80%) at all three human receptorsCell lines expressing human AMY3RIn vitro cAMP accumulation assayNot applicableBriere 2025, Mol Metab, PMID 41109426
EC50 5.4 pM (SE 0.5) at rat AMY1R, 13.8 pM (SE 0.9) at rat AMY3R, 243.2 pM (SE 27.5) at rat CTR; ~45-fold vs CTR but only ~3-fold vs AMY3RUMUC3 cells expressing rat AMY1R, AMY3R or CTRIn vitro cAMP accumulation assayNot applicableBriere 2025, Mol Metab, PMID 41109426
Induced significantly less conditioned taste avoidance than cagrilintide (p<0.05)Lean Sprague-Dawley rats, 0.15% saccharin free accessSubcutaneousNot stated in the retrieved reportBriere 2025, Mol Metab, PMID 41109426
Terminal geometric mean half-life 310-366 h (12.9-15.3 days) across the 0.4-12 mg range; not reliably calculable at 0.04 and 0.12 mgHealthy adults, mean BMI 27.5Single subcutaneous dose48Briere 2025, Mol Metab / NCT05295940, PMID 41109426
Week-4 mean percent change in body weight -2.5% at 4 mg (p<0.01) and -4.4% at 12 mg (p<0.001) vs +0.6% placeboHealthy adults, mean BMI 27.5Single subcutaneous dose48Briere 2025, Mol Metab, PMID 41109426
Week-12 least-squares mean percent reduction in body weight 2.6% to 11.3% across dose groups; nausea 8%, vomiting 4%, diarrhoea 10%Adults with obesity or overweight, mean age 44, mean BMI 32.6, 29% female, 3 US centresOnce-weekly subcutaneous, no dose escalation100Bhattachar 2026, Diabetes Obes Metab, PMID 41559929
Week-48 mean percent change in body weight -9% (1 mg) to -20% (9 mg) vs -0.4% placebo; nausea ranged 11-64% across arms vs 14% placeboAdults 18-75 with obesity or overweight plus a weight-related comorbidity, without type 2 diabetes, 46 US centresOnce-weekly subcutaneous263Billings 2025, Lancet, PMID 41207310 / NCT06230523
Purity of at least 99 percent identity, verified by 8x verified batchesThis phrasing appears in supplier catalogue copy. No analytical certificate, method description, or primary publication supporting either the purity figure or the batch-verification count was located in PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov or general web search. There is no public reference standard for this peptide against which such a figure could be independently checked.No source found
Specific reconstitution solvent, working concentration, in-solution stability and freeze-thaw handling figures for eloralintideSearched the Briere 2025 full text, the two clinical publications and PubMed for any handling or stability characterisation. The discovery paper describes formulation only in the context of dosing solutions for animal and human study. No primary source establishing storage temperature, shelf life or in-solution stability for isolated material was found.No source found
Trial identifiers NCT06297616, NCT06345066 and NCT06603571 as eloralintide studiesA ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search for eloralintide returned 17 registered studies, all sponsored by Eli Lilly. None of these three identifiers appeared among them. They circulate in secondary reference material attached to this compound but could not be verified as eloralintide trials, and have been excluded from this page.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

Receptor selectivity, in numbers

Amylin receptors are heterodimers: the calcitonin receptor paired with one of three receptor activity-modifying proteins, giving the AMY1R, AMY2R and AMY3R subtypes. Selectivity across those subtypes is the design premise of this molecule, and Briere and colleagues 2025 measured it in cAMP accumulation assays in cell lines expressing each receptor individually.

At the human receptors, the reported EC50 was 23.9 pM (SE 1.1) at AMY1R, 291.0 pM (SE 27.0) at the calcitonin receptor, and 253.8 pM (SE 9.7) at AMY3R. Those correspond to roughly 12-fold and 11-fold potency differences favouring AMY1R. Full agonism was reported at all three human receptors, with maximal effect above 80 percent.

At the rat receptors the pattern differed. Reported EC50 values were 5.4 pM (SE 0.5) at rat AMY1R, 243.2 pM (SE 27.5) at rat calcitonin receptor and 13.8 pM (SE 0.9) at rat AMY3R, giving roughly 45-fold separation from the calcitonin receptor but only about 3-fold from AMY3R. The species difference is substantial and is worth carrying into any reading of the rodent data.

Molecular design

Briere 2025 describes the construct directly. The main polypeptide chain contains 37 amino acids, including three non-coded residues at positions 11, 15 and 22. The disulfide bridge present in native amylin is replaced with a methylene thioacetal bridge, which the authors state enhances chemical stability. The main chain is conjugated to a C20 fatty diacid moiety through a linker at the lysine residue at position 26.

The stated purpose of the acylation is albumin binding, used as a half-life extension mechanism to support once-weekly administration. Native amylin aggregates and has a short circulating life; the substitutions address both properties.

Whether the design achieved its half-life objective is measurable rather than asserted. In the Phase 1 single-ascending-dose study, plasma concentrations declined monophasically after peak, and the terminal geometric mean half-life was 310 to 366 hours, or 12.9 to 15.3 days, across the 0.4 mg to 12 mg range. The authors noted that half-life could not be calculated reliably at the two lowest doses studied.

Rodent findings, including the aversion comparison

Pharmacokinetics were characterised in male Sprague-Dawley rats and cynomolgus monkeys by liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry. Pharmacodynamic work used two rat populations: lean Sprague-Dawley rats and diet-induced obese Long Evans rats.

In the diet-induced obese rats, Briere 2025 reported dose-dependent reductions in food intake and body weight, with the weight change described as primarily fat-mass loss.

The comparison that distinguishes this molecule from its class is the aversion measurement. Conditioned taste avoidance was assessed in lean rats given free access to a 0.15 percent saccharin solution. The authors reported that eloralintide induced significantly less conditioned taste avoidance than cagrilintide, a non-selective amylin receptor agonist, at p below 0.05. That is the specific preclinical observation the selective-versus-non-selective design argument rests on, and it is a single comparison in one species. It has not been replicated by an independent group in the retrieved literature.

The published human record

Three human studies have been reported in peer-reviewed journals. In the Phase 1 single-ascending-dose study, NCT05295940, 48 healthy participants with mean BMI 27.5 received single subcutaneous doses from 0.04 to 12 mg. At week 4, mean percent change from baseline in body weight was -2.5 percent at 4 mg (p<0.01) and -4.4 percent at 12 mg (p<0.001), against +0.6 percent for placebo. Nine participants in eloralintide cohorts reported 16 adverse events, 15 of them mild.

A 12-week Phase 1 multiple-ascending-dose study randomised 100 participants at three United States centres, mean age 44, mean BMI 32.6. At week 12 the least-squares mean percent reduction in body weight across dose groups ranged from 2.6 to 11.3 percent. Reported treatment-emergent adverse events included decreased appetite in 19 percent, headache 12 percent, fatigue 11 percent, diarrhoea 10 percent, nausea 8 percent and vomiting 4 percent.

The Phase 2 trial, NCT06230523, randomised 263 participants across 46 United States centres for 48 weeks. Mean percent change in body weight ranged from -9 percent at 1 mg to -20 percent at 9 mg, against -0.4 percent for placebo.

What is not known

The AMY2R subtype has not been characterised. Briere 2025 names AMY2R in its description of receptor biology but reports potency at AMY1R, AMY3R and the calcitonin receptor only, so the selectivity profile is incomplete by one of four relevant targets. The full amino-acid sequence remains undisclosed, which prevents independent structural verification. The single-species aversion comparison against cagrilintide has not been replicated by an independent group. Human exposure to date is bounded: the longest published trial ran 48 weeks in 263 participants, and the Phase 2 population was 78 percent female and 78 percent White, recruited entirely in the United States, and excluded people with type 2 diabetes. No published trial has reported outcomes beyond 48 weeks, and no cardiovascular outcome data exist. Special populations are under active study rather than reported: registered Phase 1 protocols in hepatic impairment, severe renal impairment and end-stage renal disease are recruiting, with primary completion dates in 2026 and 2027. Weight regain after discontinuation, effects on lean versus fat mass in humans, bone density, and interactions with incretin agents outside the ongoing combination studies are all unmeasured in the published record.

Questions

Does eloralintide have a PubChem entry?
Yes. A PubChem name lookup resolves eloralintide to CID 175663130, returning formula C201H319N49O65S2, molecular weight 4526, and CAS 2883634-40-8 in the synonym list. Reference material stating that no PubChem CID exists is out of date.
How selective for AMY1R is it, in measured terms?
At human receptors Briere 2025 reported EC50 values of 23.9 pM at AMY1R, 291.0 pM at the calcitonin receptor and 253.8 pM at AMY3R, roughly 12-fold and 11-fold separations. At rat receptors the separation from the calcitonin receptor was larger, about 45-fold, but the separation from AMY3R was only about 3-fold.
How long does eloralintide persist in circulation?
In the Phase 1 single-ascending-dose study, terminal geometric mean half-life was 310 to 366 hours, or 12.9 to 15.3 days, across the 0.4 mg to 12 mg range. It could not be calculated reliably at the 0.04 and 0.12 mg doses.
What stage of development has it reached?
Beyond Phase 2. A ClinicalTrials.gov search returns 17 registered studies, including several Phase 3 trials recruiting since February 2026 in obesity, obstructive sleep apnoea and osteoarthritis knee pain, with primary completion dates in 2028. Database records describing it as Phase 2 lag the registry.
Is the full peptide sequence published?
No. Briere 2025 describes a 37-residue main chain with three non-coded residues at positions 11, 15 and 22, a methylene thioacetal bridge replacing the native disulfide, and a C20 fatty diacid conjugated at lysine 26. The residue-by-residue sequence is not disclosed in that paper or in any database record located.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 175663130, Eloralintide. National Center for Biotechnology Information. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Briere DA, et al. Eloralintide (LY3841136), a novel amylin receptor agonist for the treatment of obesity: from discovery to clinical proof of concept. Mol Metab. 2025;102:102271. PMID 41109426. View on doi.org
  3. Billings LK, et al. Eloralintide, a selective amylin receptor agonist for the treatment of obesity: a 48-week phase 2, multicentre, double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial. Lancet. 2025;406(10520):2631-2643. PMID 41207310. View on doi.org
  4. Bhattachar S, et al. Eloralintide, a selective, long-acting amylin receptor agonist for treatment of obesity: phase 1 proof of concept. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2026;28(4):2651-2660. PMID 41559929. View on doi.org
  5. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05295940, Phase 1 single-ascending-dose study of LY3841136 in healthy participants. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  6. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06230523, Phase 2 weight-management study of LY3841136 vs placebo, 263 participants, completed. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  7. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07321886, Phase 3 study of once-weekly eloralintide in adults with obesity or overweight without type 2 diabetes, 1980 planned, recruiting. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  8. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07401862, Phase 1 pharmacokinetics of eloralintide in hepatic impairment, recruiting. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  9. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07426380, Phase 1 pharmacokinetics of eloralintide in severe renal impairment and end-stage renal disease, recruiting. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  10. Kamrul-Hasan ABM, et al. Novel amylin-based therapies for weight management in adults with overweight or obesity without diabetes: a network meta-analysis. Endocrinol Diabetes Metab. 2026;9(3):e70247. PMID 42175595. View on doi.org
  11. Bailey CJ, Flatt PR, Conlon JM. Long-acting amylin-related peptides as therapies for obesity and type 2 diabetes. Peptides. 2026;196:171480. PMID 41747885. View on doi.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.