Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
KW-6356
KW-6356 is a small molecule with an International Nonproprietary Name, sipagladenant, and a development programme that stopped in July 2022. Eight trials are registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, they enrolled 957 people between them, and not one has posted results. The largest — a 502-patient phase 2b in Parkinson's disease that met its primary endpoint — exists in the public record as a press release and a one-page conference abstract, and the two disagree with each other.
- Class
- Small-molecule non-xanthine adenosine A2A receptor antagonist and inverse agonist; a 2-aminothiazole bearing a furan and a tetrahydropyran-4-yl ketone
- CAS number
- 858979-50-7
- PubChem CID
- 23144148
- Molecular formula
- C20H19N3O4S
- Molecular weight
- 397.4 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- KW-6356; KW6356; sipagladenant (INN 12173); UNII FF2012ZV92; ChEMBL5314441; NCI Thesaurus C190445; PDB chemical component JQR; InChIKey KMFLQPJJHQNKKF-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Chemical identity
One structure, four registry identifiers, and two names that do not mean the same thing. PubChem holds a single record under the development code: CID 23144148, molecular formula C20H19N3O4S, molecular weight 397.4, InChIKey KMFLQPJJHQNKKF-UHFFFAOYSA-N, systematic name N-[4-(furan-2-yl)-5-(oxane-4-carbonyl)-1,3-thiazol-2-yl]-6-methylpyridine-3-carboxamide. The FDA substance registry carries the same structure as UNII FF2012ZV92, with CAS 858979-50-7 recorded as a primary code alongside INN number 12173, PubChem 23144148 and NCI Thesaurus C190445, and records the structure as achiral. ChEMBL5314441 returns the same formula, a molecular weight of 397.46, a maximum development phase of 2 and no first approval date. The four records carry the same formula and the same InChIKey. Reported molecular weights differ only by rounding convention: 397.4 (PubChem), 397.448 (PDB), 397.4494 (GSRS), 397.46 (ChEMBL).
KW-6356 is the Kyowa Kirin development code; sipagladenant is the International Nonproprietary Name. Both resolve to the same substance record. The Protein Data Bank holds the molecule as chemical component JQR, formula C20H19N3O4S, formula weight 397.448, which matches. One curated database does not carry it at all: a ligand query to the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology under either name returns no record, which is unusual for a compound whose complex with its target receptor has been solved and deposited. Structurally it is a 2-aminothiazole carrying a furan at C4 and a tetrahydropyran-4-yl ketone at C5, acylated with 6-methylnicotinic acid. It is not a xanthine, which separates it chemically from caffeine and from istradefylline.
A second chemical entity circulates under the same name. Human metabolism of the parent generates a metabolite the sponsor's papers call M6 and describe as an active adenosine A2A antagonist and inverse agonist in its own right. Vendor product listings sell material labelled as Metabolite 6 with the parent's development code in brackets, as though the two were one substance. They are not, and the difference cannot be resolved from any public identity source: a PubChem name query for the metabolite returns no compound, no CAS number or UNII for it was located in the FDA registry, and no published structure was found. Material sold under that label cannot be checked against anything.
Claim ledger
11 of 17 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Affinity at the human adenosine A2A receptor reported as pKi 9.93 ± 0.01, with a dissociation rate constant of 0.016 ± 0.006 per minute. Functional assays showed insurmountable antagonism and inverse agonism; istradefylline in the same experiments showed surmountable antagonism | Recombinant human adenosine A2A receptor; cell-based functional assays | In vitro, radioligand binding and functional assay | Not stated in the retrievable abstract; full text closed access (Unpaywall is_oa false for DOI 10.1124/molpharm.122.000633) | Ohno 2023, Mol Pharmacol 103(6):311-324, PMID 36894319 |
| Cross-species affinity given as pKi 9.49 (mouse), 10.0 (rat), 9.55 (dog), 9.95 (marmoset), 9.93 (human); biochemical Kd 0.13 nM and cellular Ki 0.12 nM; recommended cellular working concentration up to 100 nM | Recombinant adenosine A2A receptors, five species | In vitro binding | Not stated | Chemical Probes Portal expert review by SERP, 9 January 2024, summarising Ohno 2023 (PMID 36894319) |
| Cocrystal structure of the human adenosine A2A receptor with KW-6356 solved at 2.3 angstroms (PDB 8GNE) and with istradefylline at 3.2 angstroms (PDB 8GNG); ligand JQR matches the compound's formula and mass | Purified human adenosine A2A receptor construct | X-ray crystallography | One structure per complex; both released 22 March 2023 | Protein Data Bank entries 8GNE and 8GNG, deposited with Ohno 2023, PMID 36894319 |
| Oral administration reversed motor disability in a dose-dependent manner up to 1 mg/kg; the magnitude of reversal was significantly greater than that of istradefylline, and repeated administration to L-DOPA-primed animals induced little dyskinesia | MPTP-treated common marmosets, some primed with L-DOPA to exhibit dyskinesia | Oral | Not stated in the retrievable abstract. The article is licensed open access — Unpaywall returns is_oa true, oa_status hybrid, CC BY-NC-ND, publisher published version for DOI 10.1016/j.ejphar.2023.175773 — but the publisher host returned HTTP 403 to every retrieval attempt on 19 August 2026, so the animals-per-group figure was not read | Ohno 2023, Eur J Pharmacol 950:175773, PMID 37146707 |
| KW-6356 at 1 mg/kg enhanced the anti-parkinsonian activity of L-DOPA at 2.5-10 mg/kg, and at 1.25-10 mg/kg in dyskinesia-primed animals without a corresponding increase in dyskinesia. Chronic co-administration for 21 days with L-DOPA 2.5 mg/kg increased the degree of dyskinesia induced by that low dose, though the amplitude was lower than that induced by L-DOPA 10 mg/kg alone | MPTP-treated common marmosets, including animals primed with L-DOPA to exhibit dyskinesia | Oral | Not stated in the retrievable abstract. The article is gold open access (Unpaywall is_oa true, oa_status gold, journal in DOAJ, CC BY-NC-ND, DOI 10.1016/j.jphs.2023.05.001), but the publisher host returned HTTP 403 to retrieval attempts on 19 August 2026 and the DOAJ copy carries metadata only, so the per-group counts for the combination and 21-day chronic experiments were not read | Ohno 2023, J Pharmacol Sci 152(3):193-199, PMID 37257947 |
| Mean terminal elimination half-life ranged from 18.4 to 43.1 hours across single doses of 1 to 60 mg; pharmacokinetics were linear after a single dose up to 60 mg; no clear difference in safety or pharmacokinetics between Japanese and White participants | Healthy Japanese adults (study 6356-001) and healthy Japanese and White adults (study 6356-004); single ascending doses 1, 3, 10 mg and 21, 42, 60 mg, multiple doses 6 mg and 24 mg once daily for up to 14 days | Oral | 48 enrolled in NCT03830528; participant count for study 6356-001 not stated in the abstract and the study carries no registry record | Tayama 2023, Clin Pharmacol Drug Dev 12(8):801-809, PMID 36683291 |
| Least-squares mean change from baseline in MDS-UPDRS Part III at week 12 was -5.37 (95% CI -7.25 to -3.48) on 3 mg/day, -4.76 (-6.55 to -2.96) on 6 mg/day and -3.14 (-4.97 to -1.30) on placebo; week 12 completion exceeded 90% in every group | Japanese adults with early, untreated Parkinson's disease (NCT02939391) | Oral, once daily for 12 weeks | 168 randomised and treated (3 mg n = 55; 6 mg n = 58; placebo n = 55); registry records 175 enrolled | Maeda 2023, Parkinsonism Relat Disord 117:105907, PMID 37948832 |
| Most frequent treatment-emergent adverse events on active treatment were constipation, in 4 patients (7.3%) on 3 mg/day and 6 (10.3%) on 6 mg/day, followed by nasopharyngitis, in 4 (7.3%) and 5 (8.6%) | Japanese adults with early, untreated Parkinson's disease (NCT02939391) | Oral, once daily for 12 weeks | 3 mg n = 55; 6 mg n = 58; placebo n = 55 | Maeda 2023, Parkinsonism Relat Disord 117:105907, PMID 37948832 |
| On the primary endpoint, change from baseline in MDS-UPDRS Part III total score, p = 0.006 for 3 mg and p = 0.049 for 6 mg against placebo. A post-hoc analysis of the Parkinson's Disease Sleep Scale-2 gave p = 0.013 for 6 mg in patients with baseline sleep problems and p = 0.018 in the overall population. No effect size or confidence interval was reported | Japanese adults with Parkinson's disease on levodopa-containing therapy, with or without wearing-off (NCT03703570) | Oral, once daily for 24 weeks per the abstract; the registry measures the primary outcome up to 26 weeks | 503 randomised per the abstract (placebo 168; 3 mg 168; 6 mg 167); registry records 502 enrolled | Maeda 2022, Mov Disord 37(suppl 2), International Congress abstract 743 — conference abstract, no PMID, no journal publication located |
| A population pharmacokinetic model described the parent with first-order absorption and one compartment and the metabolite M6 with one compartment. Covariates retained were food status on the absorption rate constant, baseline serum albumin on apparent clearance of the parent, and baseline body weight on apparent volume of distribution of the parent and apparent clearance of M6; none had a clinically meaningful effect on exposure | Pooled healthy volunteers and patients with Parkinson's disease | Oral, single and multiple administration | Not stated in the abstract; the constituent studies are not named in it | Tayama 2024, Clin Pharmacol Drug Dev 13(5):549-559, PMID 38178727 |
| Eight trials are registered, all sponsored by Kyowa Kirin entities — six by Kyowa Kirin Co., Ltd. (Japan) and two, the mass-balance and hepatic-impairment studies, by Kyowa Kirin, Inc. (US) — and all listed as completed, with a combined registered enrolment of 957 participants. None has posted results. Six of them, covering 734 participants, have produced no publication located in PubMed or Europe PMC | Healthy volunteers and patients with Parkinson's disease; six trials sited in Japan and two — the mass-balance and hepatic-impairment studies, which are also the two with the US sponsor — in the United States | Oral | 175, 502, 128, 26, 20, 48, 8 and 50 across NCT02939391, NCT03703570, NCT04342273, NCT04190654, NCT04070495, NCT03830528, NCT04147910 and NCT03970798 | ClinicalTrials.gov registry query, 19 August 2026 |
| The half-life of KW-6356 is 22.9 hours, and the half-life of its metabolite M6 is 4.34 hours. | Both figures are stated in the encyclopaedia article that most secondary pages copy, and both are cited there to Ohno 2023 in Molecular Pharmacology (PMID 36894319). That paper is an in vitro receptor pharmacology and crystallography study; its abstract describes binding, functional assays and two cocrystal structures, and it reports no human pharmacokinetics of any kind. The same article's own infobox cites a different paper, Tayama 2023 (PMID 36683291), for a terminal half-life range of 18.4 to 43.1 hours — so one article carries two incompatible half-lives from two citations, one of which cannot contain the figure attached to it. Searched: the PubMed abstract of 36894319; the eight ClinicalTrials.gov records, none of which posts a pharmacokinetic outcome; Europe PMC, which returns no PMCID and marks the paper closed access, and Unpaywall, which returns is_oa false for its DOI. No retrievable document states 22.9 or 4.34 hours. | No source found | ||
| KW-6356 has roughly 100-fold greater affinity for the adenosine A2A receptor than istradefylline. | The ratio is not in the Ohno 2023 abstract and the full text is paywalled; Unpaywall returns is_oa false for DOI 10.1124/molpharm.122.000633. The numerator is verifiable — pKi 9.93, equivalent to about 0.12 nM. The denominator is not stable: the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology records istradefylline's human A2A affinity as a range of pKi 7.0 to 7.9, which puts the ratio anywhere between roughly 110-fold and 850-fold depending on which value is used. The single round number that circulates sits at the bottom of that range and is repeated without the range. | No source found | ||
| Material sold as "Metabolite 6 (KW-6356)" is KW-6356. | A vendor product listing sells powder under a title that treats the parent compound and its metabolite as one substance. They are distinct: the sponsor's papers describe M6 as a metabolite generated from KW-6356 and as separately active at the receptor, and the population pharmacokinetic model fits them as two compartments with different clearances. Searched for an identity record for the metabolite: PubChem PUG REST name lookup returns PUGREST.NotFound, no CAS number or UNII was located in the FDA substance registry, and no published structure was found in PubMed or Europe PMC. There is no public identity standard against which material sold under that name could be checked. | No source found | ||
| KW-6356 has cognitive-enhancing properties. | No cognitive endpoint exists anywhere in the record. The outcome measures of all eight registered trials were fetched and read: they cover MDS-UPDRS parts and totals, CGI-I, PGI-I, PDQ-39, total daily awake OFF hours, pharmacokinetic parameters, mass-balance and metabolite-profiling measures, QT interval, laboratory values, vital signs and adverse events. None is a cognitive assessment. The Parkinson's Disease Sleep Scale-2 is not a registered outcome measure in any of the eight records either; it appears only as a post-hoc analysis in the 2022 conference abstract. A PubMed search for the compound name returns six records in total, none reporting a cognitive measurement in any species, and a Europe PMC search returns nineteen, of which the additional thirteen are reviews. The claim appears on vendor pages alongside disclaimers stating the material is not for cognitive enhancement use. | No source found | ||
| KW-6356 is "safe and well tolerated". | This wording is used by the sponsor's own conclusions and repeated on vendor pages, and it is presented as if it summarised the programme. What it summarises is one trial. Adverse-event tables in the retrievable literature come from the 168-patient phase 2a and from the phase 1 abstract. No results have been posted to ClinicalTrials.gov for any of the eight trials. The thorough QT study in 128 people and the hepatic impairment study in 26 have produced no publication, so nothing about cardiac repolarisation or exposure in impaired hepatic function is retrievable. The phase 2b safety dataset — 503 patients over 24 weeks, the largest by a wide margin — exists only as a single line in a conference abstract. | No source found | ||
| Sipagladenant is the next-generation successor to Nourianz and is or will be available as a medicine. | The successor framing comes from the sponsor's own 2018 and 2020 press releases, which describe the compound as expected to obtain approval for wider indications than istradefylline. That expectation ended on 15 July 2022, when the same company announced discontinuation of the clinical development programme. Approval status was checked: the FDA substance record carries no approved product, no ATC code has been assigned, and the compound has no ligand record in the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology. The ChEMBL record for CHEMBL5314441 could not be re-read on 19 August 2026 — the EBI API returned HTTP 500 on every route tried — so the absence of a first approval date there is carried from an earlier reading rather than re-confirmed. It is approved in no jurisdiction and no trial has been registered since 2020. | No source found | ||
What the receptor pharmacology measured
Ohno and colleagues published the in vitro profile in Molecular Pharmacology in 2023. Affinity at the human receptor was reported as a pKi of 9.93 plus or minus 0.01, and the dissociation rate constant as 0.016 plus or minus 0.006 per minute. Functional assays in that report separated the compound from istradefylline on two axes rather than one. It behaved as an inverse agonist, suppressing constitutive receptor activity rather than only blocking agonist binding, and its antagonism was insurmountable — raising agonist concentration did not restore the maximum response. Istradefylline in the same experiments was surmountable. The abstract does not state replicate counts, and the full text is not open access.
Cross-species affinities appear in the Chemical Probes Portal's expert review, dated 9 January 2024, which summarises that paper and gives pKi values of 9.49 in mouse, 10.0 in rat, 9.55 in dog, 9.95 in marmoset and 9.93 in human. The portal records a biochemical Kd of 0.13 nM and a cellular Ki of 0.12 nM, and sets a recommended cellular working concentration of up to 100 nM. It also records what the compound has not accumulated: one cellular-use review, none in model organisms, and no portal endorsement, which requires three stars or more.
Two crystal structures were deposited with the paper and released on 22 March 2023. Entry 8GNE is the human adenosine A2A receptor in complex with KW-6356 at 2.3 angstrom resolution; entry 8GNG is the same receptor with istradefylline at 3.2 angstroms. The authors attribute the inverse agonism to contacts with His250 and Trp246, and the insurmountable behaviour to interactions deep in the orthosteric pocket together with stabilisation of the extracellular loop lid. An independent group reached a compatible conclusion about the comparator a decade earlier: Bennett and colleagues in 2013 classified istradefylline as a neutral antagonist with equal affinity for active and inactive receptor conformations, grouping it with theophylline and caffeine.
Two marmoset studies from one laboratory
Anti-parkinsonian activity was assessed in MPTP-treated common marmosets in two 2023 reports. In the monotherapy study, published in the European Journal of Pharmacology, oral administration reversed motor disability in a dose-dependent manner up to 1 mg/kg, and the magnitude of that reversal was reported as significantly greater than istradefylline's in the same experiment. Repeated administration to animals previously primed with L-DOPA to exhibit dyskinesia induced little dyskinesia. Neither the abstract nor any other record retrievable here states the number of animals per group. The article is licensed open access — Unpaywall returns is_oa true, hybrid, CC BY-NC-ND, published version at the publisher — but the publisher host returned HTTP 403 to every retrieval attempt made on 19 August 2026.
Combination effects were reported in the Journal of Pharmacological Sciences. Oral KW-6356 at 1 mg/kg enhanced the anti-parkinsonian activity of L-DOPA across doses of 2.5 to 10 mg/kg, and in animals primed to show dyskinesia it enhanced activity across 1.25 to 10 mg/kg without a corresponding increase in dyskinesia. Chronic co-administration for 21 days at 1 mg/kg with a low L-DOPA dose of 2.5 mg/kg did increase the degree of dyskinesia induced by that low dose, though the amplitude was lower than that induced by 10 mg/kg L-DOPA alone. This paper is gold open access in a DOAJ-indexed journal, but the publisher host returned HTTP 403 here too and the DOAJ record carries metadata only, so group sizes were again not read.
Both reports share an author group with each other and with the in vitro paper, and all three came from the originating company. No independent laboratory has published on this molecule. Binding constants are instrument readings; the MPTP marmoset endpoints are scored by observers, and all the observers worked for the sponsor. That screen is the standard preclinical test for anti-parkinsonian motor benefit and dyskinesia liability. Nothing in the published animal record addresses disease progression, and nothing addresses cognition, sleep architecture or arousal in any species.
Eight registered trials, none with posted results
ClinicalTrials.gov returns eight studies naming the compound, all sponsored by Kyowa Kirin entities — six by Kyowa Kirin Co., Ltd. in Japan, and the mass-balance and hepatic-impairment studies by the US subsidiary Kyowa Kirin, Inc. — all completed, and none carrying posted results. In start-date order: a phase 2a in early Parkinson's disease (NCT02939391, 175 enrolled, September 2016 to December 2017); the phase 2b adjunct study (NCT03703570, 502, September 2018 to April 2020); a phase 1 in Japanese and Caucasian healthy adults (NCT03830528, 48); an interaction study with midazolam, caffeine or rosuvastatin (NCT03970798, 50); an interaction study with clarithromycin or rifampicin (NCT04070495, 20); a radiolabelled mass-balance study (NCT04147910, 8); a hepatic impairment study (NCT04190654, 26); and a thorough QT study (NCT04342273, 128). Registered enrolment across the eight totals 957.
The registry labels both phase 2 arms only as low dose and high dose. The published paper and the conference abstract both identify these as 3 mg and 6 mg once daily, so the arm identities are recoverable from the literature but not from the registry record. One further human study appears in the literature with no registry record at all — the phase 1 that Tayama and colleagues label study 6356-001, which the paper itself states has no NCT number, and which tested single doses of 1, 3 and 10 mg and multiple doses of 6 mg once daily in healthy Japanese subjects.
Three peer-reviewed papers cover, between them, at most three of these studies. Six registered trials enrolling 734 participants have produced neither posted results nor a publication: the phase 2b, the thorough QT study, both drug-interaction studies, the mass-balance study and the hepatic impairment study. Cardiac repolarisation was assessed in 128 people against placebo and moxifloxacin, and what that assessment found is not in the public record. Absorption, metabolism and excretion were characterised with a radiolabel in eight people, and the mass balance is unpublished. Whether CYP3A inhibition or induction alters exposure was tested in twenty people, and the answer is not available.
The phase 2a that was published, and the phase 2b that was not
Maeda and colleagues published the monotherapy trial in Parkinsonism and Related Disorders in December 2023, six years after it completed. One hundred and sixty-eight patients with early, untreated Parkinson's disease were randomised and treated for twelve weeks — 55 to 3 mg daily, 58 to 6 mg daily and 55 to placebo — against a registry enrolment figure of 175. Least-squares mean changes from baseline in MDS-UPDRS Part III were -5.37 (95% CI -7.25 to -3.48) on 3 mg, -4.76 (-6.55 to -2.96) on 6 mg and -3.14 (-4.97 to -1.30) on placebo. Constipation was recorded in 4 and 6 patients on the two doses, nasopharyngitis in 4 and 5.
Those three point estimates and all three intervals had already appeared, unchanged, in a Kyowa Hakko Kirin press release dated 20 August 2018 describing a poster at the World Congress on Parkinson's Disease and Related Disorders. The phase 2b has had no such resolution. A release dated 21 October 2020 states that the trial studied 502 patients on levodopa-containing preparations, that the primary endpoint was change from baseline in MDS-UPDRS Part III over 26 weeks of administration, and that the difference from placebo reached statistical significance. It reports no number at all, and says results were planned for presentation at future conferences or in publications.
Presentation came in 2022, as abstract 743 at the International Congress of Parkinson's and Movement Disorders. It gives 503 patients randomised — 168 placebo, 168 on 3 mg, 167 on 6 mg — treated for 24 weeks, with p = 0.006 for 3 mg and p = 0.049 for 6 mg against placebo on the primary endpoint, plus a post-hoc finding on the Parkinson's Disease Sleep Scale-2 at 6 mg (p = 0.013 in patients with baseline sleep problems, p = 0.018 in the overall population). No effect size, confidence interval or least-squares mean difference for this trial has ever been published. The abstract and the press release disagree on the number randomised, 503 against 502, and on treatment duration, 24 weeks against 26; the registry records 502 enrolled and a primary outcome measured up to 26 weeks. Nothing retrievable reconciles them.
A pattern runs across both phase 2 studies that no published analysis addresses. In the monotherapy trial the lower dose produced the larger point estimate, -5.37 against -4.76. In the adjunct trial the lower dose produced the stronger p-value, 0.006 against 0.049, the higher dose clearing the conventional threshold by one thousandth. The sleep finding the abstract highlights, and that secondary coverage repeats, belongs to the 6 mg arm and is post-hoc.
Discontinued, and what remains in circulation
Rights outside Japan and the Asian region went to H. Lundbeck under a licensing agreement announced on 5 October 2010. That agreement was terminated by mutual agreement, and the August 2018 press release records that all rights had reverted to Kyowa Hakko Kirin, which said it would proceed independently. Development stopped four years later. A release dated 15 July 2022 announces the discontinuation of the clinical development programme and states that the phase 2 studies conducted in Japan found the compound potentially effective in relieving motor and non-motor symptoms, both as monotherapy and in combination with levodopa-containing therapy.
No clinical reason is given. The same release attributes the decision to an evaluation of the global regulatory landscape, development hurdles, and timelines for potential market entry. Nothing about a safety finding, nothing about a failed endpoint; the sentence describing the compound's efficacy sits immediately before the sentence announcing its abandonment. Four years on, the 502-patient trial that prompted the 2020 announcement remains unpublished and the eight registry records remain empty. A discontinued programme is under no obligation to publish, and that is the mechanism by which most of this dataset became unavailable.
Approval exists in no jurisdiction. ChEMBL records no first approval date, the FDA substance record carries no approved product, and no ATC code has been assigned. The compound is sold as powder and as solution by vendor sites that classify it as research material and disclaim human use; that classification is a commercial description rather than a regulatory status, and it corresponds to no category recognised by a medicines regulator. Istradefylline is approved in Japan and the United States. KW-6356 stopped at phase 2. The 2022 release attributes the decision to the global regulatory landscape, development hurdles and timelines for market entry, and cites no safety finding or missed endpoint.
What is not known
Most of what was measured in people is not in the public record. Eight registered trials enrolled 957 participants and none posted results; six of them, covering 734 participants, produced no publication either. That includes the thorough QT study, so nothing about cardiac repolarisation is retrievable; the radiolabelled mass-balance study, so the routes and extent of elimination are not established outside a population model; both drug-interaction studies, so whether CYP3A inhibition or induction alters exposure is unanswered in public, as is the interaction with caffeine that one of them was designed to test; and the hepatic impairment study. Renal impairment was never studied. The phase 2b, the largest dataset by a wide margin, exists as a press release that gives no number and a conference abstract that gives p-values and no effect sizes, and the two disagree on how many patients were randomised and for how long they were treated. Human pharmacokinetics are partly retrievable and partly not: the phase 1 abstract gives a terminal half-life range of 18.4 to 43.1 hours across single doses of 1 to 60 mg, while the single-point figures in wide circulation are cited to a paper containing no human pharmacokinetic data. Two of the animal papers are licensed open access but could not be retrieved here — the publisher host returned HTTP 403 — so the animals-per-group figures behind the marmoset results remain unread rather than absent. Every phase 2 patient was Japanese, and the only ancestry comparison in the record is one arm of a 48-participant phase 1. No exposure beyond 26 weeks has been studied in anyone, and nothing has been published on what happens after discontinuation. Outside Parkinson's disease the record is empty in every species: no cognition endpoint, no sleep-architecture measurement, no arousal or wakefulness study, and no measurement in an undamaged nervous system beyond safety pharmacology. All published pharmacology originates with the company that discovered the molecule, and no independent laboratory has replicated any of it.
Questions
Are KW-6356 and sipagladenant the same compound?
Has it been tested in people?
Is it an approved medicine?
Where does the 22.9-hour half-life figure come from?
Is "Metabolite 6" the same thing as KW-6356?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 23144148, KW-6356. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Formula C20H19N3O4S, molecular weight 397.4, InChIKey KMFLQPJJHQNKKF-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name N-[4-(furan-2-yl)-5-(oxane-4-carbonyl)-1,3-thiazol-2-yl]-6-methylpyridine-3-carboxamide. Retrieved 19 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record UNII FF2012ZV92 (sipagladenant). Primary codes: CAS 858979-50-7, INN 12173, PubChem 23144148, NCI Thesaurus C190445, SMS_ID 300000037065. Structure recorded as achiral, formula C20H19N3O4S, molecular weight 397.4494. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- ChEMBL molecule record CHEMBL5314441, sipagladenant. Full molecular formula C20H19N3O4S, molecular weight 397.46, maximum development phase 2, no first approval date recorded. The EBI API returned HTTP 500 to every re-query route and format attempted on 19 August 2026, so these fields are carried from an earlier reading and are not independently re-confirmed at that date; UniChem, queried the same day, confirms that CHEMBL5314441 maps to InChIKey KMFLQPJJHQNKKF-UHFFFAOYSA-N alongside UNII FF2012ZV92, PubChem 23144148, PDB ligand JQR and ChEBI 759151. View on www.ebi.ac.uk
- Ohno Y, Suzuki M, Asada H, Kanda T, Saki M, Miyagi H, Yasunaga M, Suno C, Iwata S, Saito JI, Uchida S. In Vitro Pharmacological Profile of KW-6356, a Novel Adenosine A2A Receptor Antagonist/Inverse Agonist. Mol Pharmacol. 2023;103(6):311-324. Closed access: Unpaywall returns is_oa false for DOI 10.1124/molpharm.122.000633. PubMed types it as Journal Article with no retraction, expression of concern or erratum as at 19 August 2026. PMID 36894319 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ohno Y, Okita E, Kawai-Uchida M, Fukuda N, Shoukei Y, Soshiroda K, Yamada K, Kanda T, Uchida S. Anti-parkinsonian activity of the adenosine A2A receptor antagonist/inverse agonist KW-6356 as monotherapy in MPTP-treated common marmosets. Eur J Pharmacol. 2023;950:175773. Open access at the publisher (Unpaywall is_oa true, oa_status hybrid, CC BY-NC-ND, published version, DOI 10.1016/j.ejphar.2023.175773); the publisher host returned HTTP 403 to retrieval attempts on 19 August 2026. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum recorded. PMID 37146707 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ohno Y, Okita E, Kawai-Uchida M, Shoukei Y, Soshiroda K, Kanda T, Uchida S. The adenosine A2A receptor antagonist/inverse agonist, KW-6356 enhances the anti-parkinsonian activity of L-DOPA with a low risk of dyskinesia in MPTP-treated common marmosets. J Pharmacol Sci. 2023;152(3):193-199. Gold open access (Unpaywall is_oa true, oa_status gold, journal in DOAJ, CC BY-NC-ND, DOI 10.1016/j.jphs.2023.05.001), with a DOAJ metadata record at doaj.org/article/c813e07e2733429a92c3bfbdfcba0ff4; the publisher host returned HTTP 403 to retrieval attempts on 19 August 2026. No retraction, expression of concern or erratum recorded. PMID 37257947 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tayama T, Ishiuchi M, Sugiyama K, Oka Y, Maeda H, Nagata Y, Hruska M, Kagawa Y. Safety, Tolerability, and Pharmacokinetics of the Novel Adenosine A2A Antagonist/Inverse Agonist KW-6356 Following Single and Multiple Oral Administration in Healthy Volunteers. Clin Pharmacol Drug Dev. 2023;12(8):801-809. Reports two studies, one of which (6356-001) the paper states has no NCT number. Unpaywall records the article as open (bronze) at the publisher for DOI 10.1002/cpdd.1222. PMID 36683291 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tayama T, Okada H, Ogawa K, Marsteller D, Maeda H, Hruska MW, Kagawa Y. Population Pharmacokinetics of the Novel Adenosine A2A Antagonist/Inverse Agonist KW-6356 and Its Active Metabolite Following Single and Multiple Oral Administration in Healthy Individuals and Patients with Parkinson's Disease. Clin Pharmacol Drug Dev. 2024;13(5):549-559. Unpaywall records the article as open (bronze) at the publisher for DOI 10.1002/cpdd.1359. PMID 38178727 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Maeda T, Kimura T, Sugiyama K, Yamada K, Hiraiwa R, Nishi M, Hattori N. Randomized controlled trial of KW-6356 monotherapy in patients with early untreated Parkinson's disease. Parkinsonism Relat Disord. 2023;117:105907. Reports NCT02939391. Unpaywall records the article as open (hybrid) at the publisher for DOI 10.1016/j.parkreldis.2023.105907. PMID 37948832 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Maeda T, Sugiyama K, Yamada K, Nishi M, Hattori N. Effect of KW-6356, a novel adenosine A2A receptor antagonist/inverse agonist, on motor and non-motor symptoms in Parkinson's disease patients as an adjunct to levodopa therapy: Results of Phase 2b study [abstract]. Mov Disord. 2022;37(suppl 2), International Congress abstract 743. Conference abstract with no PMID; no journal publication of this trial was located in PubMed or Europe PMC as at 19 August 2026. View on www.mdsabstracts.org
- Kyowa Hakko Kirin Co., Ltd. Two news releases covering the Lundbeck licence and the phase 2a result. (a) "Kyowa Hakko Kirin to enter licensing agreement with Lundbeck for A2a antagonist KW-6356", 5 October 2010: Lundbeck given exclusive rights for KW-6356 globally, except for Japan and the Asian region; page text retrieved and read 19 August 2026. (b) "Kyowa Hakko Kirin Announces Results of Early Phase 2 Trial of KW-6356 for Parkinson's Disease at IAPRD", 20 August 2018, at https://www.kyowakirin.com/media_center/news_releases/2018/pdf/e20180820_01.pdf : reports the 168-patient trial figures and records the termination of the Lundbeck licence with all rights reverting to Kyowa Hakko Kirin. View on www.kyowakirin.com
- Kyowa Kirin Co., Ltd. Kyowa Kirin Announces Positive Phase 2b Results for KW-6356 in Patients with Parkinson's Disease. News release, 21 October 2020. States 502 patients, primary endpoint change from baseline in MDS-UPDRS Part III over 26 weeks, statistically significant difference; reports no numeric result. View on www.kyowakirin.com
- Kyowa Kirin Co., Ltd. Kyowa Kirin Announces Discontinuation for Developing KW-6356. News release, 15 July 2022. Attributes the decision to evaluation of the global regulatory landscape, development hurdles and timelines for potential market entry; cites no safety or efficacy failure. View on www.kyowakirin.com
- ClinicalTrials.gov registry records for KW-6356, queried 19 August 2026: NCT02939391 (175), NCT03703570 (502), NCT03830528 (48), NCT03970798 (50), NCT04070495 (20), NCT04147910 (8), NCT04190654 (26), NCT04342273 (128). All listed as completed, none with posted results. Lead sponsor is Kyowa Kirin Co., Ltd. on six records, all sited in Japan, and Kyowa Kirin, Inc. — the US subsidiary — on NCT04147910 and NCT04190654, the two records sited in the United States. Both phase 2 records label their arms only as low dose and high dose. View on clinicaltrials.gov
- Protein Data Bank entries 8GNE (human adenosine A2A receptor in complex with KW-6356, X-ray, 2.3 angstroms) and 8GNG (same receptor with istradefylline, X-ray, 3.2 angstroms), both released 22 March 2023. Chemical component JQR, formula C20H19N3O4S, formula weight 397.448. View on www.rcsb.org
- Chemical Probes Portal, probe record KW-6356 (sipagladenant), expert review by SERP dated 9 January 2024. Records Kd 0.13 nM, Ki 0.12 nM, recommended cellular concentration up to 100 nM, and cross-species pKi values of 9.49 mouse, 10.0 rat, 9.55 dog, 9.95 marmoset, 9.93 human. One cellular-use review; no endorsement, which requires three stars or more. View on www.chemicalprobes.org
- IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology, ligand record 5608 (istradefylline). Human adenosine A2A affinity recorded as pKi 7.0 to 7.9 and rat as 8.4 to 8.7; A1 6.1 human, A2B 5.0, A3 5.3. Approval sources Japan 2013 and FDA 2019. A ligand query for KW-6356 or sipagladenant returns no record. View on www.guidetopharmacology.org
- Bennett KA, Tehan B, Lebon G, Tate CG, Weir M, Marshall FH, Langmead CJ. Pharmacology and structure of isolated conformations of the adenosine A2A receptor define ligand efficacy. Mol Pharmacol. 2013;83(5):949-958. Independent classification of istradefylline, with theophylline and caffeine, as a neutral antagonist showing equal affinity for active and inactive receptor states. PMCID PMC3629831. PMID 23429888 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.