Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Aniracetam (Ro 13-5057)
Aniracetam is a 2-pyrrolidinone carrying a 4-methoxybenzoyl group on the ring nitrogen, developed at Roche as Ro 13-5057 and prescribed in Japan for eight years. Human trials exist and are old: six placebo-controlled studies published between 1980 and 1991, two of which separated nothing from placebo. The drug was then withdrawn in Japan after a placebo-controlled trial that has no publication, and ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero registered studies under any of its six designations.
- Class
- Synthetic 2-pyrrolidinone of the piracetam type, carrying a 4-methoxybenzoyl (anisoyl) group on the ring nitrogen where piracetam carries an acetamide. WHO ATC code N06BX11. Positive allosteric modulator of AMPA-type glutamate receptors in vitro; hydrolysed rapidly in vivo to 2-pyrrolidinone, p-anisic acid and N-anisoyl-GABA, with the dominant metabolite differing between rats and humans.
- CAS number
- 72432-10-1
- PubChem CID
- 2196
- Molecular formula
- C12H13NO3
- Molecular weight
- 219.24 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- Ro 13-5057; 1-(4-methoxybenzoyl)pyrrolidin-2-one; 1-p-anisoyl-2-pyrrolidinone; Draganon; Sarpul; Ampamet; Memodrin; UNII 5L16LKN964; ChEMBL36994; ChEBI 47943; DrugBank DB04599; MeSH C036466; NSC-758223; INN code 4902; InChIKey ZXNRTKGTQJPIJK-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Chemical identity, and the bond that does not survive the liver
Aniracetam's identity is unambiguous. One PubChem record covers it — CID 2196, CAS 72432-10-1, formula C12H13NO3, molecular weight 219.24, InChIKey ZXNRTKGTQJPIJK-UHFFFAOYSA-N, IUPAC name 1-(4-methoxybenzoyl)pyrrolidin-2-one — and the FDA substance register agrees on that CAS and formula under UNII 5L16LKN964, status approved. That same register entry gathers the WHO ATC code N06BX11, INN code 4902, ChEMBL36994, MeSH C036466, ChEBI 47943 and DrugBank DB04599. The Roche development code Ro 13-5057 and the trade names Draganon, Sarpul and Ampamet all point back to the one substance. The scaffold is the one the name implies: a 2-pyrrolidinone ring bearing a 4-methoxybenzoyl group on the nitrogen, where piracetam bears an acetamide.
That benzoyl amide governs everything downstream. Cleaving it yields 2-pyrrolidinone and p-anisic acid; opening the ring instead yields N-anisoyl-gamma-aminobutyric acid, written elsewhere as 4-p-anisamidobutyric acid. Nakamura, writing from Nippon Roche in 2002, records that systemic administration converts the parent principally to 2-pyrrolidinone and p-anisic acid in rats, and to N-anisoyl-GABA in humans (CNS Drug Rev, PMID 12070527). A rat result and a human result therefore describe partly different chemical species in circulation, and nearly all of the pharmacology below was measured in rodents.
Regulatory position differs by jurisdiction and has moved. Cohen and colleagues in 2021 listed the compound among four drugs not approved for human use in the United States (PMID 34484905). A 2025 market-surveillance report by twelve official medicines control laboratories with Australia lists it in appendix Table A1 as a prescription medicine in the European Union and Australia, while the same paper's narrative says Australia does not authorise piracetam but does authorise aniracetam, and that same table lists piracetam as prescription-only in both (PMID 40558871). The two statements do not agree.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The treated group differed significantly from placebo by the end of six months and improved from baseline on psychobehavioural parameters, while the placebo group deteriorated steadily. The indexed abstract states no dose, no effect size and no test statistic | Elderly patients with mild to moderate cognitive impairment meeting NINCDS-ADRDA criteria for probable Alzheimer-type dementia; multicentre, double-blind, randomised against placebo | Not stated in the indexed abstract; treatment ran 6 months with evaluation every other month | 109 patients | Senin 1991, Eur Neuropsychopharmacol, PMID 1822317 (r16) |
| Improvement appeared on several cognitive tests, particularly memory, in the placebo arm as well as the treated arm, and clinical evaluation showed no difference in efficacy between the two. Treatment was interrupted because of confusion in four aniracetam cases and in one placebo case | Patients with senile dementia of the Alzheimer type, randomly allocated to double-blind treatment | Oral, 1 g daily for 3 months | 44 patients; arm sizes not stated in the indexed abstract | Sourander 1987, Psychopharmacology (Berl), PMID 3103163 (r15) |
| One of 19 neuropsychological test measures differed significantly in favour of the drug, a test of constructional ability, and one visuo-spatial measure differed significantly in favour of placebo. Neither the investigators' nor the subjects' assessment of overall condition indicated any effect | Subjects with chronic psychosyndrome after long-term exposure to organic solvents; randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover | Oral, 1 g daily; 3 months on drug and 3 months on placebo | 44 subjects | Somnier 1990, Psychopharmacology (Berl), PMID 2188276 (r15) |
| 1980, oral: power spectral density analysis showed decreased delta activity, increased alpha and slow beta activity and acceleration of dominant frequency against placebo, and 2000 mg piracetam produced similar changes; peak effect fell in the second hour and alterations were still present at 24 hours; qualitative aspects of attention improved while quantitative aspects deteriorated. 1984, intravenous: hypoxia induced deterioration on EEG spectral analysis and on psychometric tests, and injection attenuated that deterioration. Neither abstract gives an effect size | Geriatric subjects (1980). Ten male healthy volunteers inhaling a fixed 11.2 per cent oxygen and 88.8 per cent nitrogen mixture under normobaric conditions (1984). Both double-blind and placebo-controlled, 1980 crossover in randomised weekly order, 1984 latin square at weekly intervals | Single oral doses of 250, 500 and 1000 mg against placebo and 2000 mg piracetam (1980); intravenous placebo, 10 mg and 100 mg, plus solvent and a normoxic placebo condition (1984) | 10 subjects (1980); 10 volunteers (1984) | Saletu 1980, Methods Find Exp Clin Pharmacol, PMID 6927816; Saletu 1984, Hum Neurobiol, PMID 6434496 (r16) |
| Scores improved significantly in the treated group at the first and second control, at two and four months, across Blessed Scale, figures repetition, Benton, Corsi, Rey, Pieron, phrase construction and verbal fluency tests, while no statistically considerable change occurred in the placebo group on any test. The indexed abstract gives no arm sizes, no effect size and no test statistic | Elderly patients with slight to moderate brain pathology, primary or secondary to vascular forms, mean age 69.9 plus or minus 10.3 years | Oral, 1500 mg/day; assessed at baseline and after two and four months of treatment | 60 patients in total, spanning both the aniracetam and the placebo arm; arm sizes not stated in the indexed abstract | Canonico 1991, Riv Neurol, PMID 1767242 (r16) |
| Cmax 8.75 plus or minus 7.82 ng/mL (test) and 8.65 plus or minus 8.70 (reference); Tmax 0.4 plus or minus 0.1 h; terminal half-life 0.47 plus or minus 0.16 and 0.49 plus or minus 0.24 h; AUC to infinity 4.62 plus or minus 6.66 and 4.85 plus or minus 6.71 ng.h/mL. The standard deviations approach or exceed the means on Cmax and on both AUC measures; on terminal half-life the standard deviation runs about a third to a half of the mean | Healthy Chinese male volunteers; open, randomised, single-blind, two-sequence two-period crossover with a 3-day washout | Single oral dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg capsules), fasting | 20 volunteers | Tian 2008, Arzneimittelforschung, PMID 19025058 (r5) |
| Serum anisic acid and p-methoxyhippuric acid peaked at 2 h and returned to basal level by 6 h; the half-life of the metabolites was 4- to 7-fold longer than in young volunteers, and Tmax, half-life and AUC were all larger. Mean creatinine clearance was 20-30 mL/min. The parent compound is not among the analytes reported in the indexed abstract | Female hospitalised elderly patients with cerebrovascular disease, mean age 84.5 years, compared with young healthy volunteers | Oral, 200 mg | 6 patients | Endo 1997, Behav Brain Res, PMID 9062694 (r7) |
| Oral bioavailability of the parent compound was 11.4 and 8.6 per cent; plasma concentrations of the parent and of 4-p-anisamidobutyric acid declined biexponentially with small mean residence times, while p-anisic acid showed non-linearly high early concentrations, and a seven-compartment model with ten first-order rate constants and one Michaelis-Menten constant fitted all analytes except 4-p-anisamidobutyric acid (1998). In brain, the ratio of brain to plasma AUC was 53-55 per cent for 2-pyrrolidinone, 2.4-3.2 per cent for the parent and 3.9-4.2 per cent for p-anisic acid, with 4-p-anisamidobutyric acid below the detection limit in all three regions; in situ perfusion showed 2-pyrrolidinone is not carried across the blood-brain barrier by the neutral amino acid carrier system (2000) | Rats; the brain study sampled cerebral cortex, hippocampus and thalamus | Intravenous and oral; oral doses 50 and 100 mg/kg | Not stated in either indexed abstract | Ogiso 1998, J Pharm Sci, PMID 9572910; Ogiso 2000, Biol Pharm Bull, PMID 10784432 (r6) |
| Potentiation of ionotropic quisqualate responses was reversible and was observed above concentrations of 0.1 mM; kainate, N-methyl-D-aspartate and GABA responses in the same oocytes were unaffected; agonist affinity and channel reversal potential were unchanged. Excitatory postsynaptic potentials at Schaffer collateral-commissural-CA1 and mossy fibre-CA3 synapses were also potentiated | Xenopus oocytes injected with rat brain mRNA, and rat hippocampal slices | In vitro bath application | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Ito 1990, J Physiol, PMID 1975272 (r9) |
| No significant difference between groups on Morris water maze, fear conditioning, accelerating rotarod, odour discrimination, open field, elevated plus maze or marble burying (Elston). A follow-up from the same laboratory at a higher dose 30 minutes before each test produced no enhanced learning on delayed fear conditioning, novel object recognition, rotarod, open field, elevated plus maze or marble burying (Reynolds) | Adult male C57BL/6J mice without pre-existing cognitive dysfunction; both studies from one laboratory, Department of Psychology and Neuroscience, Baylor University, sharing four authors | Oral, 50 mg/kg daily (Elston); oral, 100 mg/kg 30 min before each test (Reynolds) | 30 mice total in Elston, whose figure legends report 15 per group for control versus treated; its abstract describes naive, placebo and treated groups, which cannot be reconciled with 30 animals at 15 per group, and the discrepancy is the source's. 24 mice (Reynolds) | Elston 2014, PLoS One, PMID 25099639; Reynolds 2017, F1000Res, PMID 29946420 (r13) |
| No effect on delayed matching-to-sample accuracy at any delay and no effect on response latency, by either route and at either pre-test interval. In the oral pharmacokinetic arm at 100 mg/kg, peak plasma concentration was 242.96 ng/mL for the parent compound and 4254.87 ng/mL for N-anisoyl-GABA | Neurologically healthy adult pigeons (Columba livia) | Intramuscular, 100 and 200 mg/kg; oral, 200 mg/kg only, given 30 or 60 min before testing. The oral behavioural arms compared no drug against 200 mg/kg alone; the separate oral pharmacokinetic arm used 100 and 200 mg/kg | 14 birds across the two behavioural groups (6 and 8); 10 birds per dose in the pharmacokinetic arm, with 2-5 contributing at each sampling time | Phillips 2019, PLoS One, PMID 31002681 (r14) |
| Aniracetam was detected at up to 502 plus or minus 0.8 mg in a recommended serving. Several detected drugs were not declared on the labels and several declared drugs were not detected; of the declared quantities that could be checked, 9 of 12 were inaccurate | Ten over-the-counter cognitive-enhancement supplements; no people or animals were dosed | Laboratory content analysis by non-targeted liquid chromatography quadrupole time-of-flight mass spectrometry, not administration | 10 products | Cohen 2021, Neurol Clin Pract, PMID 34484905 (r17) |
| Oral bioavailability of aniracetam is 0.2 per cent | This one traces to something, but not to something readable. Goldsmith and McDowell state a low oral bioavailability of 0.2 per cent and attach reference 17: Roncari G, Human Pharmacokinetics of Aniracetam, Drug Investigation 1993;5(Suppl 1):68-72, DOI 10.1007/BF03258428 (Pharmaceutics 2018, PMID 30453664). PubMed does not index that paper, and it is not an isolated orphan: a Crossref query filtered to that journal returns at least five registered aniracetam papers in the same 5(Suppl 1) symposium issue, covering pharmacology, toxicology, animal and human pharmacokinetics and clinical experience, none of them indexed in PubMed and none readable here. Species, sample size, route and study design behind the 0.2 per cent figure cannot be checked anywhere. The only absolute bioavailability values published in an indexed primary report are 11.4 and 8.6 per cent, in rats (PMID 9572910), and the two figures differ by more than an order of magnitude. | No source found | ||
| The half-life of aniracetam in humans is one to three hours, with effects lasting four to five hours | The only indexed human measurement puts the terminal half-life of the parent compound at 0.47 plus or minus 0.16 hours in twenty men after 400 mg orally (PMID 19025058). Endo 1997 measured metabolites rather than parent and reports no parent half-life (PMID 9062694). Saletu 1984 administered the compound intravenously but reports no pharmacokinetic parameters (PMID 6434496). PubMed and Europe PMC were searched for any indexed primary report giving a human half-life of one to three hours for this compound; none was located. The four-to-five-hour duration-of-effect figure appears on aggregator pages and in supplement-industry copy and was not traced to any measurement at all. | No source found | ||
| Aniracetam is fat-soluble, so absorption depends on taking it with a meal or with added fats | PubMed and Europe PMC were searched for a food-effect or fed-versus-fasted study of this compound; none was located, and the single human oral pharmacokinetic study was run under fasting conditions (PMID 19025058). PubChem gives XLogP 1.6, which is moderate lipophilicity rather than the profile of a fat-soluble vitamin. The published aqueous solubility figures disagree inside a single paper: Goldsmith and McDowell cite 0.147 mg/mL at pH 1.2 and 0.138 at pH 7.5 from Mayersohn 1993, quote 0.109 mg/mL from that same reference later in the discussion, and measured 4.53 mg/mL themselves (PMID 30453664). Mayersohn 1993 sits in the same unindexed 1993 Drug Investigation supplement and cannot be checked. | No source found | ||
| Aniracetam is three to ten times more potent than piracetam by weight | Europe PMC full-text searches for the phrase times more potent than piracetam alongside this compound returned zero records, as did a search for a head-to-head equipotency determination. The only retrievable human head-to-head comparison, Saletu 1980, set 1000 mg against 2000 mg piracetam, a 2:1 ratio chosen by those authors and not derived from a dose-response measurement (PMID 6927816). Lee and Benfield describe a further six-month trial against piracetam 2400 mg/day in which aniracetam was more effective in 8 of 18 tests; the indexed abstract does not state the aniracetam dose in that trial, so no ratio can be computed from it (PMID 8199398). The 1500 mg/day figure in that abstract belongs to the placebo comparison, not to the piracetam comparison, and carrying it across would manufacture a ratio the source does not report. | No source found | ||
| Aniracetam increases BDNF | Stated flatly, usually without a species. A PubMed search across aniracetam and BDNF returns ten records, and none of them measures the neurotrophin after administration of this compound alone. Wu and colleagues exposed cerebellar granule cells to AMPA at 500 microM together with aniracetam at 1 microM, where aniracetam serves as the desensitisation blocker and AMPA is the agonist driving BDNF accumulation (PMID 15287886). Sharma and colleagues gave perampanel and aniracetam sequentially to rats after middle cerebral artery occlusion, so the BDNF and TrkB increases cannot be apportioned between the two drugs (PMID 37231168). No human measurement was located. | No source found | ||
| Aniracetam increases blood flow in the association cortex, which enhances holistic thinking | A Europe PMC search for this compound with the phrase holistic thinking returned zero records; with the phrase association cortex it returned one conference-abstract compilation unrelated to the claim. A PubMed search for the compound with regional cerebral blood flow, SPECT or PET returned two records, neither of them a human imaging study of this compound. The wording recurs almost verbatim across aggregator and vendor product pages, which is the signature of copying rather than of independent sourcing. Nothing in the indexed literature measures cortical perfusion under this compound in a person. | No source found | ||
| Aniracetam relieves anxiety | No human anxiety trial was located. A PubMed search for the compound with anxiety, restricted to human records, returns three: two reviews and one unrelated paper. The animal record disagrees with itself. Nakamura's 2002 review from the developing company records an earlier negative result in modified Vogel and Geller-Seifter conflict tests in rats, credited in one parenthesis both to its reference 42 and to unpublished data by J. R. Martin; reference 42 is Martin and Haefely, Pharmacology of Aniracetam, Drug Investigation 1993;5(Suppl 1):4-49, DOI 10.1007/BF03258426, a citation that is retrievable through Crossref but a text that PubMed does not index and that could not be read here (PMID 12070527). The positive report, in three mouse models, came from the same laboratory as the review (PMID 11412837). The two null elevated plus maze measurements in healthy mice come from the same laboratory as each other, not from independent replication (PMIDs 25099639, 29946420). | No source found | ||
| Aniracetam was sold in Japan and Italy from the 1980s, and was withdrawn in Japan after a failed placebo-controlled trial | The Japanese half is probably true, and its entire evidence is one uncited sentence. Europe PMC full-text searches for withdrawn from the Japanese market with the compound name, for unexpected failure with it, and for Draganon each return exactly one record: Nakamura's 2002 review in CNS Drug Reviews, written by a Nippon Roche employee (PMID 12070527). That sentence was read in the paper's own full text this session and carries no reference marker. PubMed returns no publication of the trial itself under any of the compound's designations, so its sample size, endpoints, duration and sponsor are not recoverable. The Italian half and the date traced to nothing: none of the eighteen references on this page establishes a marketing authorisation in Italy or a start year, Ampamet appears only as a PubChem synonym with no country or date attached, and Italian authorship of the Senin and Canonico trials is not evidence of marketing. The closest retrievable statement is Nakamura's, that the compound had been used clinically for stroke in Japan and for Alzheimer's disease in Europe, which names neither a country nor a decade. | No source found | ||
What reaches the blood, and for how long
Human exposure data comes from one crossover study. Tian and colleagues gave 400 mg orally, under fasting conditions to twenty healthy Chinese men in an open, randomised, single-blind two-period design, measuring plasma by liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry (PMID 19025058). Peak plasma concentration was 8.75 plus or minus 7.82 ng/mL for the test formulation and 8.65 plus or minus 8.70 for the reference; time to peak was 0.4 plus or minus 0.1 hours; terminal half-life was 0.47 plus or minus 0.16 and 0.49 plus or minus 0.24 hours. The standard deviations approach or exceed the means on peak concentration and on both area-under-curve measures; on terminal half-life the standard deviation runs a third to a half of the mean. Both formulations still fell inside the 80 to 125 per cent bioequivalence bounds. The only intravenous human administration located here is a 1984 hypoxia-challenge study that reports no pharmacokinetic parameters at all (PMID 6434496).
Rodent disposition is better characterised than human disposition. Ogiso and colleagues reported oral bioavailability of the parent in rats as 11.4 and 8.6 per cent at 50 and 100 mg/kg, fitting a seven-compartment model with ten first-order rate constants and one Michaelis-Menten constant, and recorded that the fit failed for 4-p-anisamidobutyric acid (PMID 9572910). In rat brain the same group found the ratio of brain to plasma area under the curve was 53 to 55 per cent for 2-pyrrolidinone against 2.4 to 3.2 per cent for the parent and 3.9 to 4.2 per cent for p-anisic acid, with 4-p-anisamidobutyric acid below detection in brain tissue (PMID 10784432).
Age changes the picture. Endo and colleagues studied six hospitalised women with cerebrovascular disease, mean age 84.5 years and mean creatinine clearance 20 to 30 mL/min, after 200 mg orally; serum anisic acid and p-methoxyhippuric acid peaked at two hours and returned to baseline by six, and metabolite half-lives ran four- to sevenfold longer than in young volunteers (PMID 9062694). Six patients is the largest human pharmacokinetic dataset in older people located in PubMed for this compound.
Metabolite exposure dwarfs parent exposure wherever both were measured together. In pigeons given 100 mg/kg orally, peak plasma concentration was 242.96 ng/mL for the parent against 4254.87 ng/mL for N-anisoyl-GABA (PMID 31002681). Cai and Wang built the first tandem mass spectrometry assay for that metabolite in human plasma and applied it after a single oral dose, validating over 0.0485 to 19.4 micrograms per millilitre, three orders of magnitude above the range used for the parent (PMID 22552003). The primary human disposition study behind all of this remains Roncari's 1993 paper in a Drug Investigation supplement, which PubMed does not index.
The receptor result, and the concentration at which it was obtained
Ito and colleagues at Chugai reported reversible allosteric potentiation of ionotropic quisqualate responses in Xenopus oocytes injected with rat brain mRNA, observed above concentrations of 0.1 mM (J Physiol 1990, PMID 1975272). Kainate, N-methyl-D-aspartate and GABA responses in the same oocytes were unaffected. Receptor affinity for agonist and channel reversal potential did not change. The same paper reported potentiation of intracellular responses in rat hippocampal CA1 and of population excitatory postsynaptic potentials at Schaffer collateral and mossy fibre synapses.
Isaacson and Nicoll established the mechanism a year later. Patch clamp recording in hippocampal slices showed enhancement of glutamate-evoked whole-cell currents and, in outside-out patches, strong reduction of glutamate receptor desensitisation, with fast synaptic currents prolonged and their peak amplitude raised (PNAS 1991, PMID 1660156). That finding is why the molecule became a template rather than a product: Arai and Kessler describe the ampakine class as structurally derived from it (PMID 17504103).
Metabolite work complicates attributing the receptor effect to the parent at all. Nishizaki and Matsumura expressed heteromeric GluR1,2, GluR1,3 and GluR1,2,3 receptors in Xenopus oocytes and compared the parent against three metabolites (PMID 11834304). 2-Pyrrolidinone potentiated kainate-evoked GluR1,2,3 currents in a bell-shaped dose-response from 1 nM to 300 microM, maximal at 100 microM, reaching about 180 per cent of basal 60 minutes after a five-minute exposure; the parent reached about 130 per cent and p-anisic acid about 103 per cent. On GluR1,3 the metabolite potentiated as it did on GluR1,2,3; on GluR1,2 it depressed currents instead, which is the basis of the authors' conclusion that the target is the calcium-permeable subtypes. KN-93 inhibited the potentiation; inhibitors of protein kinase C and of cAMP-dependent protein kinase did not.
Two numbers from this section and the one before it have never been reconciled in any paper located here. Potentiation in Ito's oocyte preparation begins above 0.1 mM, which is 100 micromolar. Mean peak plasma concentration after 400 mg orally in twenty men was 8.75 ng/mL, which at a molecular weight of 219.24 is roughly 0.04 micromolar, lower by a factor of about two and a half thousand. Neither figure is a brain concentration, and the rat brain-to-plasma ratio for the parent is 2.4 to 3.2 per cent. That gap is the reason metabolite pharmacology matters, and the secondary literature does not address it.
Impaired animals, and healthy ones
Most in vivo work comes from one laboratory using one strain. Nakamura and Shirane perfused metabolites directly into brain regions of stroke-prone spontaneously hypertensive rats and reported delayed increases in acetylcholine release from N-anisoyl-GABA at 0.1 and 1 microM and p-anisic acid at 1 microM in nucleus reticularis thalami, dorsal hippocampus and prefrontal cortex, with no effect from the parent compound (PMID 10513566). Shirane and Nakamura then blocked the prefrontal response with the group II metabotropic glutamate antagonist MCCG and with MCPG, but not with the group I antagonist AIDA or the AMPA antagonist YM90K (PMID 10699452), which places the effect away from the AMPA account.
Behavioural findings from that programme track the impairment rather than the compound. Site-specific increases in dopamine and serotonin release were reported in prefrontal cortex, basolateral amygdala and dorsal hippocampus, but not in striatum or nucleus accumbens shell, at 30 and 100 mg/kg orally in the same hypertensive strain (PMID 11282361). In the forced swim test, 10 to 100 mg/kg orally failed to shorten immobility in nine-week-old rats while 100 mg/kg shortened it in rats aged 25 to 30 months, and mecamylamine or haloperidol reversed that effect completely (PMID 11702095).
Two laboratories have tested healthy animals, and both reported nothing. The Baylor group gave 50 mg/kg orally each day to thirty adult male C57BL/6J mice under a double-blind design, measuring Morris water maze, fear conditioning, accelerating rotarod, odour discrimination, open field, elevated plus maze and marble burying, and no measure separated the groups (Elston 2014, PMID 25099639); the same laboratory then repeated the design in twenty-four male C57BL/6J mice at 100 mg/kg orally, dosed 30 minutes before each test, with the same result (Reynolds 2017, PMID 29946420). The Otago group found no effect on delayed matching-to-sample accuracy or on response latency in pigeons at 100 and 200 mg/kg intramuscularly and at 200 mg/kg orally, with pharmacokinetic sampling placing the test times near peak concentrations (PMID 31002681). That is one laboratory twice and one other laboratory, not three independent replications.
Anxiety is where the animal record contradicts itself. Nakamura's 2002 review records that the compound had previously shown no anxiolytic-like action in modified Vogel and Geller-Seifter conflict tests in rats, crediting that in one parenthesis both to its reference 42 and to unpublished data by J. R. Martin. Reference 42 is Martin and Haefely's 46-page pharmacology review in the same 1993 Drug Investigation supplement, 5(Suppl 1):4-49, DOI 10.1007/BF03258426, which PubMed does not index and which could not be read here. Nakamura and Kurasawa had by then reported effects at 10 to 100 mg/kg across social interaction, elevated plus-maze and conditioned fear stress in mice, blocked completely by haloperidol and nearly so by mecamylamine or ketanserin (PMID 11412837). The two null elevated plus maze measurements in healthy mice come from one laboratory, not from independent replication.
The human record, and what the trial count contains
Counts first. A PubMed search on aniracetam returns 320 records as of August 2026. Eleven carry the publication type Randomized Controlled Trial, thirteen carry Clinical Trial, one carries Meta-Analysis and none carries Systematic Review. No record in the corpus carries Retracted Publication, Retraction of Publication, Expression of Concern or Published Erratum. ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero registered studies for aniracetam, Ro 13-5057, Draganon, Ampamet, Sarpul and Memodrin alike; no trial of this compound has been prospectively registered where that registry indexes.
Those eleven do not contain what the number suggests. Four are Chinese-language trials of herbal preparations in which aniracetam is the active comparator: Shenwu gelatin capsule in 166 patients (PMID 17993008), Huannao Yicong capsule in 90 (PMID 18184542), modified Huanglian Wendan decoction in 64 (PMID 20353029) and scalp acupuncture with auricular point sticking in 90 (PMID 25022106). One is the bioequivalence study of two aniracetam formulations against each other, with no placebo arm. One is Fudenberg's 1994 interpretive review of Alzheimer's disease heterogeneity, which PubMed types as both Clinical Trial and Randomized Controlled Trial and which is a review (PMID 7888107). Five remain, and that five is a filter result rather than a census: it is what the Randomized Controlled Trial publication type returns.
The five are European, span 1980 to 1991, and disagree with each other. Saletu and colleagues gave single oral doses of 250, 500 and 1000 mg against placebo and 2000 mg piracetam to ten geriatric subjects in a crossover design and reported EEG spectral changes and shortened reaction time (PMID 6927816). Sourander and colleagues randomised 44 patients with senile dementia of the Alzheimer type to 1 g daily or placebo for three months; cognitive tests improved in both arms, clinical evaluation separated neither, and treatment was interrupted for confusion in four aniracetam cases against one on placebo (PMID 3103163). Somnier and colleagues found one of nineteen neuropsychological measures favouring the drug and another favouring placebo in 44 subjects with solvent-exposure psychosyndrome (PMID 2188276). Senin and colleagues reported a difference from placebo at six months in 109 patients meeting NINCDS-ADRDA criteria (PMID 1822317), and Canonico and colleagues reported improvement at two and four months in a trial of 60 patients randomised to 1500 mg daily or placebo, arm sizes not stated in the indexed abstract, in a population described as slight to moderate brain pathology primary or secondary to vascular forms (PMID 1767242).
A sixth placebo-controlled study sits outside that filter. Saletu and Grunberger injected placebo, 10 mg and 100 mg aniracetam intravenously at weekly intervals in a latin square design to ten healthy male volunteers breathing a fixed 11.2 per cent oxygen mixture, and reported that the compound attenuated the hypoxia-induced deterioration recorded on EEG spectral analysis and on psychometric testing (PMID 6434496). PubMed types that record Clinical Trial rather than Randomized Controlled Trial, which is the whole reason the count of five excludes it. It is also the only intravenous human administration retrieved here, and therefore the only human result unaffected by whatever the oral bioavailability of this compound turns out to be.
Later syntheses do not resolve the split. Perng and colleagues pooled 235 studies and 44,854 patients and placed aniracetam inside a lumped category alongside piracetam, nimodipine, flunarizine, vinpocetine, hyperbaric oxygen, oxiracetam and EGb761; no compound-specific estimate appears anywhere in that paper (PMID 29502274). Lee and Benfield's 1994 Adis review, the document most often cited for the clinical profile, describes the evidence as preliminary and calls for trials to confirm it (PMID 8199398). Malykh and Sadaie recorded in 2010 that oxiracetam and aniracetam are no longer in clinical use (PMID 20166767).
Withdrawal in Japan, market samples, and a citation that turns back on itself
One sentence in the literature explains why the human record stops in the 1990s. Nakamura, then at Nippon Roche, wrote in 2002 that the drug had been prescribed in Japan for eight years to treat emotional disturbances such as depressed mood and anxiety or agitation following cerebral infarction, rather than memory impairment, and that Draganon had been withdrawn from the Japanese market because of the unexpected failure in the latest placebo-controlled double-blind study (PMID 12070527). No citation is attached to that sentence, which was read here in the paper's own full text. Europe PMC full-text searches for the phrase return that review and nothing else. The trial that ended the approval has no publication traceable here.
Content analyses have measured what is inside products since. Cohen and colleagues bought ten cognitive-enhancement supplements labelled with omberacetam, aniracetam, phenylpiracetam or oxiracetam and analysed them by non-targeted liquid chromatography quadrupole time-of-flight mass spectrometry; aniracetam was detected at up to 502 plus or minus 0.8 mg in a recommended serving, several detected drugs were absent from the labels, and nine of twelve checkable declared quantities were inaccurate (PMID 34484905). Table A1 of the twelve-laboratory European and Australian survey records aniracetam at a detection frequency of four, across three of the laboratories, mainly presented as a substandard or falsified medicine, with legal status given as prescription medicine in the European Union and Australia (PMID 40558871).
The last link doubles back. That 2025 surveillance paper describes what aniracetam is used for and lists its adverse events, naming unrest, anxiety, uneasiness, insomnia, urinary urgency, headache, vertigo, mild stomach pain, nausea, diarrhoea and rash, under a single citation: reference 57, which is Love 2024 in the Journal of Alzheimer's Disease. Love's paper proposes a mechanism model, is written from the research department of a commercial entity, records that its funding came from that same company and from private donors while declaring no conflict of interest, and cites for that same passage its own reference 1, Lee and Benfield's 1994 secondary review (PMID 38552113). No primary adverse-event dataset appears at any point in the chain. Love's abstract also states that the compound increases brain-derived neurotrophic factor expression, where the body attributes that to two combination experiments.
What is not known
No trial of this compound has been prospectively registered: ClinicalTrials.gov returns zero studies for aniracetam, Ro 13-5057, Draganon, Ampamet, Sarpul and Memodrin alike, and PubMed indexes no systematic review. The newest placebo-controlled human study in the corpus was published in 1991, so nothing in the human record was run to modern registration, reporting or trial-design standards, and none of the six reports blinding, allocation concealment and outcome definitions in enough detail to be appraised from the retrievable text. Human pharmacokinetics rests on twenty men in one oral crossover study and six elderly women in another; the primary disposition work sits in a 1993 Drug Investigation supplement that PubMed does not index. That supplement holds at least five Crossref-registered aniracetam papers, among them a 46-page pharmacology review by Martin and Haefely, Mayersohn's animal disposition paper, Roncari's human pharmacokinetics paper and a clinical-experience report by Senin and colleagues on senile dementia of the Alzheimer type, 5(Suppl 1):96-105, DOI 10.1007/BF03258430 — a clinical source on this compound that exists as a citation and cannot be read, by the same lead author as the 1991 trial. Absolute bioavailability, clearance and volume of distribution in people therefore cannot be checked against any readable source. The in vitro concentration at which allosteric potentiation was first demonstrated is roughly two and a half thousand times the mean peak plasma concentration measured in people, and no paper located here reconciles the two. Which chemical species produces any effect in a person is unresolved: the metabolite that dominates human plasma is not the metabolite that dominates rat brain. Nothing characterises effects in people under 18, in pregnancy, beyond six months of exposure, or on discontinuation. The trial that ended the Japanese approval has never been published, and no adverse-event dataset for this compound traces to a primary source rather than to a secondary review.
Questions
Has aniracetam been studied in humans?
What is the measured half-life in people?
Is aniracetam approved anywhere?
Has any aniracetam paper been retracted?
Does aniracetam do anything in animals that are not impaired?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 2196, Aniracetam. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026. CAS 72432-10-1, C12H13NO3, MW 219.24, InChIKey ZXNRTKGTQJPIJK-UHFFFAOYSA-N, XLogP 1.6. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record ANIRACETAM, UNII 5L16LKN964, status approved, C12H13NO3, MW 219.237; codes on the same record include WHO ATC N06BX11, INN 4902, ChEMBL36994, ChEBI 47943, DrugBank DB04599, MeSH C036466, NSC-758223, with Draganon and Sarpul as brand names and Ro 13-5057 as development code. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- Nakamura K. Aniracetam: its novel therapeutic potential in cerebral dysfunctional disorders based on recent pharmacological discoveries. CNS Drug Rev. 2002;8(1):70-89. Author affiliation Nippon Roche Research Center. Source of the uncited statement that Draganon was withdrawn from the Japanese market after the failure of a placebo-controlled double-blind study, of the species split in metabolite profile, and of the conflict-test sentence, which credits the earlier negative anxiety result in one parenthesis both to the review's reference 42 and to unpublished data by J. R. Martin. PMID 12070527 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lee CR, Benfield P. Aniracetam. An overview of its pharmacodynamic and pharmacokinetic properties, and a review of its therapeutic potential in senile cognitive disorders. Drugs Aging. 1994;4(3):257-273. Adis secondary review; the ultimate source of the adverse-event list that later papers repeat. Its abstract attaches 1500 mg/day to the placebo comparison and gives no aniracetam dose for the separate six-month piracetam 2400 mg/day comparison. PMID 8199398 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tian Y, Zhang JJ, Feng SD, Zhang ZJ, Chen Y. Pharmacokinetics and bioequivalence study of aniracetam after single-dose administration in healthy Chinese male volunteers. Arzneimittelforschung. 2008;58(10):497-500, PMID 19025058. Assay method: Zhang J, Liang J, Tian Y, Zhang Z, Chen Y. J Chromatogr B. 2007;858(1-2):129-134, PMID 17826366 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ogiso T, Iwaki M, Tanino T, et al. Pharmacokinetics of aniracetam and its metabolites in rats. J Pharm Sci. 1998;87(5):594-598, PMID 9572910. Ogiso T, Uchiyama K, Suzuki H, et al. Pharmacokinetics of aniracetam and its metabolites in rat brain. Biol Pharm Bull. 2000;23(4):482-486, PMID 10784432 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Endo H, Tajima T, Yamada H, et al. Pharmacokinetic study of aniracetam in elderly patients with cerebrovascular disease. Behav Brain Res. 1997;83(1-2):243-244. PMID 9062694 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cai S, Wang L. Determination of aniracetam's main metabolite, N-anisoyl-GABA, in human plasma by LC-MS/MS and its application to a pharmacokinetic study. J Chromatogr B. 2012;897:50-54, PMID 22552003. Goldsmith SD, McDowell A. Designing a formulation of the nootropic drug aniracetam using 2-hydroxypropyl-beta-cyclodextrin suitable for parenteral administration. Pharmaceutics. 2018;10(4):240, PMID 30453664. Those papers rest on a 1993 Drug Investigation symposium issue, 5(Suppl 1), devoted to this compound and not indexed in PubMed at all. Crossref holds at least five registered articles from it, each without an abstract: Martin JR, Haefely WE, Pharmacology of Aniracetam, 4-49, DOI 10.1007/BF03258426; Schlappi B, Burgin H, Gocke E, Aniracetam, 50-67, DOI 10.1007/BF03258427; Roncari G, Human Pharmacokinetics of Aniracetam, 68-72, DOI 10.1007/BF03258428; Mayersohn M, Roncari G, Wendt G, Disposition Pharmacokinetics and Metabolism of Aniracetam in Animals, 73-95, DOI 10.1007/BF03258429; and Senin U, Parnetti L, Cucinotta D, Criscuolo D, Longo A, Marini G, Clinical Experience with Aniracetam in the Treatment of Senile Dementia of the Alzheimer's Type and Related Disorders, 96-105, DOI 10.1007/BF03258430. None was readable here. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ito I, Tanabe S, Kohda A, Sugiyama H. Allosteric potentiation of quisqualate receptors by a nootropic drug aniracetam. J Physiol. 1990;424:533-543, PMID 1975272. Isaacson JS, Nicoll RA. Aniracetam reduces glutamate receptor desensitization and slows the decay of fast excitatory synaptic currents in the hippocampus. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 1991;88(23):10936-10940, PMID 1660156 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Nishizaki T, Matsumura T. The aniracetam metabolite 2-pyrrolidinone induces a long-term enhancement in AMPA receptor responses via a CaMKII pathway. Brain Res Mol Brain Res. 2002;98(1-2):130-134, PMID 11834304. The abstract states that the potentiation was inhibited by KN-93, not abolished. Arai AC, Kessler M. Pharmacology of ampakine modulators: from AMPA receptors to synapses and behavior. Curr Drug Targets. 2007;8(5):583-602, PMID 17504103 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Nakamura K, Shirane M. Activation of the reticulothalamic cholinergic pathway by the major metabolites of aniracetam. Eur J Pharmacol. 1999;380(2-3):81-89, PMID 10513566. Shirane M, Nakamura K. Group II metabotropic glutamate receptors are a common target of N-anisoyl-GABA and 1S,3R-ACPD in enhancing ACh release in the prefrontal cortex of freely moving SHRSP. Neuropharmacology. 2000;39(5):866-872, PMID 10699452. Nakamura K, Shirane M, Koshikawa N. Site-specific activation of dopamine and serotonin transmission by aniracetam in the mesocorticolimbic pathway of rats. Brain Res. 2001;897(1-2):82-92, PMID 11282361 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Nakamura K, Kurasawa M. Anxiolytic effects of aniracetam in three different mouse models of anxiety and the underlying mechanism. Eur J Pharmacol. 2001;420(1):33-43, PMID 11412837. Nakamura K, Tanaka Y. Antidepressant-like effects of aniracetam in aged rats and its mode of action. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 2001;158(2):205-212, PMID 11702095. Both from the Nippon Roche Research Center. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Elston TW, Pandian A, Smith GD, Holley AJ, Gao N, Lugo JN. Aniracetam does not alter cognitive and affective behavior in adult C57BL/6J mice. PLoS One. 2014;9(8):e104443, PMID 25099639. Reynolds CD, Jefferson TS, Volquardsen M, et al. Oral aniracetam treatment in C57BL/6J mice without pre-existing cognitive dysfunction reveals no changes in learning, memory, anxiety or stereotypy. F1000Res. 2017;6:1452, PMID 29946420. These are not independent groups: both carry the affiliation Department of Psychology and Neuroscience, Baylor University, Waco, Texas, they share four authors including senior author Lugo JN, and the Reynolds abstract describes the earlier paper as a previous study performed in our laboratory. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Phillips H, McDowell A, Mielby BS, Tucker IG, Colombo M. Aniracetam does not improve working memory in neurologically healthy pigeons. PLoS One. 2019;14(4):e0215612. University of Otago. The injection arms compared no injection, saline, 100 mg/kg and 200 mg/kg; the oral behavioural arms compared no drug against 200 mg/kg only, with 100 mg/kg given orally solely in the pharmacokinetic arm. PMID 31002681 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sourander LB, Portin R, Molsa P, Lahdes A, Rinne UK. Senile dementia of the Alzheimer type treated with aniracetam: a new nootropic agent. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 1987;91(1):90-95, PMID 3103163. Somnier FE, Ostergaard MS, Boysen G, Bruhn P, Mikkelsen BO. Aniracetam tested in chronic psychosyndrome after long-term exposure to organic solvents. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 1990;101(1):43-46, PMID 2188276 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Senin U, Abate G, Fieschi C, et al. Aniracetam (Ro 13-5057) in the treatment of senile dementia of Alzheimer type (SDAT). Eur Neuropsychopharmacol. 1991;1(4):511-517, PMID 1822317. Canonico V, Forgione L, Paoletti C, et al. [Efficacy and tolerance of aniracetam in elderly patients with primary or secondary mental deterioration]. Riv Neurol. 1991;61(3):92-96, Italian, PMID 1767242; its 60 patients span both arms and its population is described as slight to moderate brain pathology primary or secondary to vascular forms. Saletu B, Grunberger J, Linzmayer L. Methods Find Exp Clin Pharmacol. 1980;2(5):269-285, PMID 6927816. Saletu B, Grunberger J. The hypoxia model in human psychopharmacology: neurophysiological and psychometric studies with aniracetam i.v. Hum Neurobiol. 1984;3(3):171-181, PMID 6434496 — a sixth double-blind placebo-controlled human study, typed Clinical Trial rather than Randomized Controlled Trial and therefore outside the five-study filter, and the only intravenous human administration cited on this page. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cohen PA, Avula B, Wang YH, Zakharevich I, Khan I. Five unapproved drugs found in cognitive enhancement supplements. Neurol Clin Pract. 2021;11(3):e303-e307, PMID 34484905. Vanhee C, Deconinck E, George M, et al. The occurrence of illicit smart drugs or nootropics in Europe and Australia and their associated dangers: results from a market surveillance study by 12 official medicines control laboratories. J Xenobiot. 2025;15(3):88, PMID 40558871. Aniracetam appears in one row of appendix Table A1, headed Detection Frequency 4 and # Laboratories Where Detected 3, mainly presented as an SF medicine, legal status prescription medicine in the EU and Australia. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Love RWB. Aniracetam: an evidence-based model for preventing the accumulation of amyloid-beta plaques in Alzheimer's disease. J Alzheimers Dis. 2024;98(4):1235-1241. Author affiliation: the research department of a private brain-health company. The paper's funding statement records that funding came from that same company and from private donors and that, as of March 2024, the company does not sell this compound, while its conflict-of-interest section declares none. PMID 38552113. Cited with the two combination experiments its BDNF statement rests on: Wu X, Zhu D, Jiang X, et al. J Neurochem. 2004;90(4):807-818, PMID 15287886; Sharma H, Reeta KH, Sharma U, Suri V, Singh S. Naunyn Schmiedebergs Arch Pharmacol. 2023;396(12):3529-3545, PMID 37231168. Also: Perng CH, Chang YC, Tzang RF. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 2018;235(5):1571-1580, PMID 29502274; Malykh AG, Sadaie MR. Drugs. 2010;70(3):287-312, PMID 20166767 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.