Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Oxytocin
Oxytocin is a cyclic nonapeptide and one of the few compounds covered here that is an approved medicine: injectable oxytocin is licensed in the United States for medically indicated labour induction and for control of postpartum bleeding. The nasal spray that the behavioural literature studies is not currently approved and marketed in the United States, and this page does not establish its regulatory position elsewhere. That literature's foundational result — a 2005 trust experiment — was not recovered by a registered replication run with one of the original investigators.
- Class
- Cyclic nonapeptide neurohypophysial hormone; oxytocin receptor (OXTR) agonist
- CAS number
- 50-56-6
- PubChem CID
- 439302
- Molecular formula
- C43H66N12O12S2
- Molecular weight
- 1007.2 g/mol (approved product label states 1007.19)
- Sequence
- Cys-Tyr-Ile-Gln-Asn-Cys-Pro-Leu-Gly-NH2 (CYIQNCPLG-NH2), 9 residues, cyclic 1-6 disulfide, C-terminal glycinamide
- Also indexed as
- alpha-hypophamine; ocytocin; 3-isoleucine-8-leucine vasopressin; UNII 1JQS135EYN; ChEMBL395429; DTXSID8048361; CHEBI:7872
Two literatures under one name
Oxytocin injection has been an approved prescription medicine in the United States for decades. Drugs@FDA lists NDA 018261, NDA 018248, NDA 018243 and two abbreviated applications as currently marketed prescription products, and every one of them is an injectable. The labelled indications are narrow: medically indicated induction of labour, stimulation or reinforcement of labour in selected cases of uterine inertia, adjunctive therapy in incomplete or inevitable abortion, and production of uterine contractions in the third stage of labour to control postpartum bleeding. The route is intravenous infusion or intramuscular injection. Elective induction is excluded by the label itself, in a notice printed above the indications.
A second literature runs under the same name and shares almost nothing with the first. It administers oxytocin as a nasal spray to healthy volunteers and to psychiatric and neurodevelopmental populations, and measures trust, gaze, social withdrawal and amygdala perfusion. No intranasal oxytocin product is currently approved and marketed in the United States; Drugs@FDA lists one nasal solution, NDA 012285, with a marketing status of Discontinued. This page does not establish the regulatory position in other jurisdictions. Intranasal oxytocin — the formulation the behavioural literature studies, and the formulation supplied as a research preparation — is an unapproved presentation of an approved molecule.
The two also differ in scale. ClinicalTrials.gov returns 921 registered studies with oxytocin as an intervention, 549 of them recorded as completed, which is an unusually large registered footprint for anything covered on this site. Forty-five name autism as a condition. The obstetric arm long ago answered its question and moved on to comparators and heat-stable formulations. The behavioural arm has run for two decades without settling its foundational claim. Neither literature transfers to the other, and secondary pages routinely borrow the credibility of the first to describe the second.
Claim ledger
12 of 18 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intranasal oxytocin caused a substantial increase in the transfers investors made in a trust game; the effect was not attributable to a general increase in willingness to bear risk but was specific to social risk | Healthy human volunteers | Intranasal | Not stated in the abstract | Kosfeld 2005, Nature, PMID 15931222 |
| No effect of oxytocin on trusting behaviour in the minimal-social-contact condition that reproduced the 2005 design; an exploratory post hoc analysis suggested an effect only in low-trust-disposition individuals under no social contact, which the authors state requires confirmation | Healthy human volunteers, double-blind placebo-controlled registered replication | Intranasal | Not stated in the abstract; powered above 95 per cent | Declerck 2020, Nat Hum Behav, PMID 32514040 |
| Least-squares mean change from baseline on the Aberrant Behavior Checklist modified Social Withdrawal subscale was -3.7 with oxytocin and -3.5 with placebo over 24 weeks, P = 0.61; adverse-event profiles were similar between groups | Children and adolescents with autism spectrum disorder, phase 2 multicentre randomised trial (NCT01944046) | Intranasal, 48 IU daily, 24 weeks | 290 randomised (146 oxytocin, 144 placebo) | Sikich 2021, N Engl J Med, PMID 34644471 |
| Oxytocin rose significantly in both plasma and cerebrospinal fluid; plasma peaked at 15 minutes and decreased after 75 minutes while cerebrospinal fluid took up to 75 minutes to reach significance, with no correlation between the two compartments (r < 0.10) | Human subjects undergoing combined blood and cerebrospinal fluid sampling | Intranasal, 24 IU | 11 oxytocin, 4 placebo | Striepens 2013, Sci Rep, PMID 24310737 |
| Unextracted plasma read by enzyme immunoassay was more than 100-fold higher than extracted plasma from the same samples, with minimal correlation (Spearman rho = -0.10, p = .54); radioimmunoassay left more than 90 per cent of samples below detection with or without extraction; chromatographic fractionation recovered multiple immunoreactive products besides oxytocin | Human plasma samples | In vitro assay comparison | 39 samples | Szeto 2011, Psychosom Med, PMID 21636661 |
| Mean calculated half-life 10.3 +/- 1.6 minutes (range 5.3 to 17.3), mean metabolic clearance rate 21.5 +/- 3.3 ml/kg/min; constant infusion at 132 mU/min for 60 minutes produced a steady-state plasma concentration of 228 to 241 pg/ml, and FSH and LH did not change significantly | Healthy adult men | Intravenous infusion, plasma measured by radioimmunoassay | 8 | Dawood 1980, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 7354123 |
| Blood loss of at least 500 ml or use of additional uterotonic agents occurred in 14.4 per cent of the oxytocin group and 14.5 per cent of the carbetocin group (relative risk 1.01, 95 per cent CI 0.95 to 1.06); both drugs were kept in cold storage at 2 to 8 degrees Celsius solely to maintain double-blinding | Women after vaginal birth across 23 sites in 10 countries, randomised double-blind noninferiority trial | Intramuscular, oxytocin 10 IU versus heat-stable carbetocin 100 micrograms | 29,645 randomised | Widmer 2018, N Engl J Med, PMID 29949473 |
| Least-squares mean change in monthly migraine headache days at month 3 was -8.17 (SE 1.366) on placebo, -7.78 (SE 1.246) on the once-daily arm and -5.77 (SE 1.301) on the twice-daily arm; the placebo arm produced the largest reduction | Adults with chronic migraine, phase 2 randomised placebo-controlled trial completed October 2023 | Intranasal, 30 IU once daily or twice daily, 3 months | 88 started (27 placebo, 31 once daily, 30 twice daily); 78 completed | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT05679908, results posted |
| Mice homozygous for a null mutation of the oxytocin gene failed to develop social memory while wild-type mice showed intact social memory; olfactory detection of non-social stimuli, spatial memory and startle habituation were intact; treatment with oxytocin but not vasopressin rescued social memory in the mutants, and an oxytocin antagonist produced a social-amnesia-like effect in wild-type animals | Male mice, oxytocin-gene-null (Oxt-/-) versus wild-type (Oxt+/+) | Administration of oxytocin, vasopressin or an oxytocin antagonist; route not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Ferguson 2000, Nat Genet, PMID 10888874 |
| Oxytocin-receptor-null mutants of both sexes showed a behavioural preference for their mating partner over an opposite-sex stranger, including when assayed using different experimental setups; mothers lacking the receptor delivered viable pups, and parents displayed care and raised young to the weanling stage | Prairie voles (Microtus ochrogaster), three independent CRISPR-generated Oxtr-null mutant lines | Germline genetic ablation; no compound administered | Three independent mutant lines; animal numbers not stated in the abstract | Berendzen 2023, Neuron, PMID 36708707 |
| Oxytocin was described as having limited shelf-life stability in aqueous solution, particularly at temperatures in excess of 25 degrees Celsius, with injectable aqueous formulations requiring refrigeration below 8 degrees; N-terminal PEGylated conjugates were assessed against the native peptide in elevated-temperature degradation studies | Aqueous oxytocin formulations and polymer conjugates; no biological subjects | In vitro formulation and degradation study | Not applicable; sample count not stated in the abstract | Collins 2016, Biomacromolecules, PMID 27419537 |
| Oxytocin and vasopressin were detected in dog saliva by ELISA and by HPLC-MS; salivary oxytocin concentrations in dogs were much higher than those typically detected in humans; extracted and unextracted values correlated highly for oxytocin but not for vasopressin, and results varied with swab type, salivary stimulation and food consumption | Domestic dogs (Canis familiaris) | Salivary sampling; assay validation, no compound administered | Not stated in the abstract | MacLean 2018, J Neurosci Methods, PMID 28865986 |
| A twenty-second hug releases oxytocin. | Searched PubMed title/abstract on 18 August 2026 for ("hug" OR "hugging" OR "embrace") AND oxytocin AND ("20 s" OR "20-second" OR "20 seconds" OR "twenty seconds"): zero records. A second search for oxytocin[tiab] AND hug[tiab] AND duration[tiab] also returned zero. The nearest primary work is Light, Grewen and Amico (2005, PMID 15740822), which examined self-reported frequency of partner hugs against plasma oxytocin, blood pressure and heart rate in 59 premenopausal women before and after warm contact with a partner ending in a hug. That study measured frequency, not duration, and is correlational; baseline oxytocin met criteria as a partial mediator of lower resting blood pressure in women reporting more frequent hugs. No experiment fixing hug duration and measuring an oxytocin threshold was located. The twenty-second figure has no primary source. | No source found | ||
| Oxytocin is the love hormone, the trust hormone or the cuddle hormone. | Searched PubMed title/abstract on 18 August 2026 for "love hormone"[tiab] AND oxytocin: 22 records. For oxytocin[tiab] AND ("cuddle hormone"[tiab] OR "trust hormone"[tiab]): 2 records. Every retrieved record uses the phrase as inherited shorthand rather than establishing it — reviews, a 2022 paper titled "Oxytocin and love: myths, metaphors and mysteries", a 2023 Nature news item on receptor-null voles that pair-bond anyway, and research reports on endpoints unrelated to affiliation including stem cell differentiation, dermal papilla cells and the fat-bone relationship. No primary study was located that measured and established the designation. The nickname predates and outruns its evidence, and Leng, Leng and Ludwig's 2022 citation-network analysis (PMID 35858110) concluded that the best-cited evidence for the social-peptide claim is weak. | No source found | ||
| Reconstituted oxytocin retains potency for about 30 days under refrigeration. | This window circulates as preparation guidance on vendor product pages and aggregator sites. Searched PubMed on 18 August 2026 for oxytocin AND ("bacteriostatic water"[tiab] OR "reconstituted"[tiab]) AND stability: zero records. Searched for oxytocin AND ("nasal spray"[tiab] OR intranasal[tiab]) AND ("shelf life"[tiab] OR "shelf-life"[tiab]): zero records. What the published chemistry does establish concerns the general problem rather than the number. Collins and colleagues (PMID 27419537) describe limited shelf life in aqueous solution particularly above 25 degrees Celsius, with injectable aqueous formulations requiring refrigeration below 8 degrees. Ghasemisarabbadieh and colleagues (PMID 34620274) measured additive effects on oxytocin degradation in phosphate and acetate buffer at pH 4.5 and found tetraethylene glycol destabilising and glucosamine hydrochloride degradation-accelerating at higher concentrations. Neither supplies a potency window for any reconstituted preparation. The 30-day figure traces to nothing published. | No source found | ||
| Research-grade oxytocin is 99 per cent or more pure. | Purity assertions of this form appear across vendor product pages without lot-level chromatograms attached, and unspecified material cannot be checked against any database, so no search can confirm or refute it for a given lot. The available comparison runs the other way. The approved United States injectable label under NDA 018261 states that the product may contain up to 16 per cent of total impurities; the label under NDA 018248 states that the product may contain up to 12.5 per cent decomposition products and impurities. A licensed, assayed, pharmacopoeial preparation is labelled to a looser specification than the unregulated claim. That leaves the purity figure unverifiable, and out of keeping with what the regulated product declares about itself. | No source found | ||
| Salivary oxytocin reflects oxytocin activity in the brain. | Searched PubMed title/abstract on 18 August 2026 for salivary oxytocin[tiab] AND cerebrospinal[tiab]: one record, MacLean and colleagues' assay validation in domestic dogs (PMID 28865986), which detected oxytocin in dog saliva by ELISA and HPLC-MS, reported canine salivary concentrations much higher than those typically detected in humans, found results varying with swab type and salivary stimulation, and did not compare saliva against cerebrospinal fluid. No human study comparing salivary and cerebrospinal oxytocin was located. The one directly relevant human observation cuts against the claim: van IJzendoorn and colleagues (PMID 23233832) found salivary oxytocin still significantly elevated seven hours after intranasal dosing in 46 women, with no difference between 16 IU and 24 IU. A measurement that cannot distinguish 16 from 24 units, and that persists for seven hours, is at least as consistent with residual spray in the nasopharynx as with a central signal. | No source found | ||
| Plasma oxytocin rises three- to fivefold at orgasm. | The direction has a primary source; the multiplier does not. Carmichael and colleagues (1987, PMID 3782434) measured plasma oxytocin by radioimmunoassay through indwelling venous catheters before, during and after private self-stimulation to orgasm in 9 men and 13 women, with arousal and orgasm objectively verified by blood-pulse amplitude and electromyography, and reported levels significantly higher during orgasm than at prior baseline. The abstract states no fold change. Searched PubMed on 18 August 2026 for oxytocin AND orgasm AND ("fold" OR "3-fold" OR "5-fold" OR "five-fold"): zero records. The assay compounds the problem: Szeto and colleagues (PMID 21636661) later found that radioimmunoassay left more than ninety per cent of plasma samples below the limit of detection with or without extraction, and that multiple immunoreactive products co-elute with oxytocin. | No source found | ||
Identity, and the two residues shared with vasopressin
The identity data are unambiguous and cross-check against two independent authorities. PubChem CID 439302 gives a molecular formula of C43H66N12O12S2, a molecular weight of 1007.2 g/mol, CAS 50-56-6, UNII 1JQS135EYN and ChEMBL395429. The sequence is Cys-Tyr-Ile-Gln-Asn-Cys-Pro-Leu-Gly-NH2 — nine residues, closed by a disulfide bridge between positions 1 and 6, terminating in a glycinamide. The approved product label independently states the same empirical formula and a molecular weight of 1007.19. This is one of the few compounds on this site where a regulatory document and a chemical database can be checked against each other and agree.
Among the synonyms PubChem carries is 3-isoleucine-8-leucine vasopressin. That name encodes the relationship: oxytocin and arginine vasopressin differ at two of nine residues. The approved label states the same relationship but counts the peptide as eight amino acids rather than nine — NDA 018261 attributes the drug's pressor and antidiuretic properties to the fact that oxytocin and vasopressin differ in regard to only two of the eight amino acids. This page reports both figures and does not reconcile them.
The two currently marketed approved labels then disagree about what follows from that similarity. NDA 018261 states that oxytocin even in its pure form has inherent pressor and antidiuretic properties which may become manifest when large doses are administered, and its adverse reactions section records severe water intoxication with convulsions and coma associated with a slow infusion over a 24-hour period, together with maternal death attributed to oxytocin-induced water intoxication. NDA 018248 states that synthetic oxytocin does not possess the cardiovascular effects, such as elevation of blood pressure, as exhibited by vasopressin found in posterior pituitary injection. Both labels carry an intrinsic antidiuretic statement in their precautions. This page does not reconcile them.
The trust finding, and what replication did to it
Kosfeld and colleagues reported in Nature in 2005 that intranasal oxytocin caused a substantial increase in the transfers investors made in a trust game, and that the effect was not a general increase in willingness to bear risk but was specific to social risk. PubMed types the paper as a controlled clinical trial. It is among the most cited results in behavioural neuroendocrinology, and nearly everything written about oxytocin outside obstetrics descends from it, directly or at one remove.
Nave, Camerer and McCullough reviewed the field in 2015 and concluded that the simplest promising finding — intranasal oxytocin associated with higher trust — had not replicated well, and that plasma oxytocin measurement was methodologically compromised. Five years later Declerck and colleagues, working with Fehr, an author of the original, ran a registered replication powered above 95 per cent that reproduced the original's minimal-social-contact condition. They found no effect of oxytocin on trusting behaviour in that condition. An exploratory post hoc analysis suggested an effect in participants with a low disposition to trust under the no-contact condition, which the authors explicitly flag as requiring confirmation.
What that sequence establishes is narrower than either camp usually states. The 2005 result carries no retraction and no expression of concern. PubMed links two comment articles to it, neither a critique — a Nature News and Views, "Human behaviour: brain trust" (PMID 15931200), and a Revue Médicale Suisse essay (PMID 16044807). A well-powered replication run with an author of the original did not recover the effect under the conditions the original specified. That replication bounds the conditions under which the effect has been observed; it does not withdraw the original report, and both facts belong in the record.
Whether an intranasal dose reaches the brain
Striepens and colleagues sampled blood and cerebrospinal fluid in the same subjects after intranasal administration of 24 IU, with eleven receiving oxytocin and four placebo. Concentrations rose significantly in both compartments. Plasma peaked at fifteen minutes and decreased after seventy-five; cerebrospinal fluid took up to seventy-five minutes to reach a significant level. The correlation between the two was below 0.10. A rise in the cerebrospinal compartment is therefore demonstrated in humans, and the plasma measurement that most behavioural studies rely on does not predict it.
Leng and Ludwig worked through seven studies reporting cerebrospinal measurements after intranasal dosing and concluded that at most 0.005 per cent of an administered dose entered that compartment, while peripheral concentrations reached supraphysiological levels acting on multiple organ systems. Martins and colleagues then compared standard spray, nebuliser and intravenous routes against regional cerebral blood flow, and reported that oxytocin-induced decreases in amygdala perfusion were explained entirely by the rise in systemic circulation, while still finding evidence that the intranasal route can engage specific regions. That paper carries a 2022 author correction to its area-under-curve calculations, which the authors state did not change the pattern of results.
Sources disagree here, and averaging them would misrepresent both. Quintana and colleagues reviewed the same territory in 2021 and argued that converging human and animal evidence supports a functionally relevant nose-to-brain route underlying the behavioural effects. Leng, Leng and Ludwig returned in 2022 with a citation-network analysis of the social-peptide claim and concluded that if the most highly cited papers in each segment of the evidence represent the best available, then the evidence is weak. These are two review-level readings of an overlapping literature, and neither is treated here as a measurement.
Where the large trials landed
The largest randomised trial of intranasal oxytocin in autism was registered as NCT01944046 and reported by Sikich and colleagues in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2021. It enrolled 290 children and adolescents, ran twenty-four weeks, and used the Aberrant Behavior Checklist modified Social Withdrawal subscale as its primary outcome. Least-squares mean change from baseline was minus 3.7 in the oxytocin group and minus 3.5 with placebo, P equal to 0.61. Adverse-event profiles were similar between groups. The trial did not separate treatment from placebo on its primary endpoint.
Two meta-analyses published within a year of each other read the wider trial set differently. Audunsdottir and colleagues preregistered their analysis, found a summary effect of d equal to 0.22 for social outcomes at p below 0.001 and d equal to 0.14 for routinised behaviours at p equal to 0.22, and reported that frequentist and Bayesian assessments both indicated the summary effects might be inflated by publication bias. Zhang and colleagues pooled twelve randomised trials and 498 participants, found no significant overall effect on social impairment, and recovered significance only within a dose-response subgroup at the highest daily amounts. Zhang states that pooled set; Audunsdottir does not state a trial count in the abstract, so the degree of overlap between the two sets cannot be established from the published abstracts.
The pattern recurs outside autism. A phase 2 trial of an intranasal oxytocin product in chronic migraine, NCT05679908, randomised 88 patients across placebo and two active arms, completed in October 2023 and posted results. Least-squares mean change in monthly migraine headache days was minus 8.17 on placebo, minus 7.78 on the once-daily active arm and minus 5.77 on the twice-daily arm. The placebo arm produced the largest reduction of the three. The result was posted to the registry, and no journal publication of it was located.
The receptor turned out to be less decisive than assumed
Receptor genetics complicated the mechanism after the human trials were already running. Ferguson and colleagues reported in 2000 that male mice lacking the oxytocin gene failed to develop social memory, while olfactory detection of non-social stimuli, spatial memory and startle habituation remained intact, and that treatment with oxytocin but not vasopressin restored the deficit. An oxytocin antagonist produced a social-amnesia-like effect in wild-type animals. That mouse result, and pharmacological blockade work in prairie voles, supplied most of the mechanistic framing that the human intranasal programme inherited.
Berendzen and colleagues used CRISPR mutagenesis to generate three independent oxytocin-receptor-null prairie vole lines and reported in Neuron in 2023 that the mutants still showed a behavioural preference for a mating partner over a stranger across different experimental setups, that mothers lacking the receptor delivered viable pups, and that parents cared for their young to weaning. Pharmacological antagonism in the same species had supported the opposite conclusion for years. Genetic ablation and acute pharmacological blockade produced opposite answers to the same question in the same species.
Measurement, and the cold chain
Every peripheral oxytocin figure in the older literature depends on an assay that Szeto and colleagues examined head-on. Measuring 39 human plasma samples, they found that unextracted plasma read by enzyme immunoassay was more than a hundredfold higher than extracted plasma from the same samples, with a Spearman correlation of minus 0.10 at p equal to 0.54. Radioimmunoassay left more than ninety per cent of samples below the limit of detection with or without extraction. Chromatographic fractionation of the extracts recovered multiple immunoreactive products besides oxytocin. Their conclusion was that changes in degradation products probably contribute to previously reported responses to social and behavioural challenge.
Saliva carries an artefact of its own. Van IJzendoorn and colleagues gave 46 women 16 IU, 24 IU or placebo intranasally and sampled saliva hourly for seven hours. Salivary concentrations peaked around one hour and were still significantly elevated at seven, and the two amounts did not differ from each other. MacLean and colleagues validated salivary assays in domestic dogs and reported canine salivary concentrations much higher than those typically detected in humans, with results varying by swab type and salivary stimulation. What a salivary figure indexes is taken up in the unsourced record below.
The published chemistry is specific about handling. Collins and colleagues describe oxytocin as having limited shelf life in aqueous solution, particularly above 25 degrees Celsius, with injectable aqueous formulations requiring refrigeration below 8 degrees. The CHAMPION trial, which randomised 29,645 women across 23 sites in ten countries to intramuscular heat-stable carbetocin at 100 micrograms or oxytocin at 10 IU after vaginal birth, kept both drugs at 2 to 8 degrees purely to preserve blinding — the trial existed because oxytocin's cold-chain requirement is a practical obstacle in hot climates. Blood loss of at least 500 ml or use of additional uterotonics occurred in 14.4 per cent of the oxytocin group.
What is not known
The approved evidence covers uterine contraction and nothing else. No labelled indication, and no adequately powered trial, addresses social cognition, mood, bonding, attachment, anxiety or sexual function, and the largest randomised trial in autism did not separate from placebo on its primary endpoint. Whether intranasal administration produces functionally relevant central concentrations remains contested at review level, with Leng and Ludwig reading the published cerebrospinal studies as showing only a negligible fraction of an administered dose reaching that compartment and Quintana and colleagues reading the same literature as supporting a nose-to-brain route; Striepens showed a real cerebrospinal rise but no correlation with the plasma measurement most studies use as a proxy, so a given study's plasma or salivary number cannot be interpreted as a central exposure. Dose-response is unresolved. 16 IU and 24 IU produced indistinguishable salivary curves, the largest autism trial used 48 IU daily without benefit, and one meta-analysis recovers significance only at the highest amounts while a preregistered one reports that its own positive social estimate might be inflated by publication bias. Human pharmacokinetics exist only for the intravenous route in small samples, where the label states a plasma half-life of about 1 to 6 minutes and a 1980 infusion study in 8 men measured 10.3 minutes with a range from 5.3 to 17.3; these are not reconciled anywhere located. The two currently marketed approved labels also disagree with each other about whether the synthetic product carries vasopressin-like cardiovascular effects, and nothing located resolves that. Peripheral assay validity is unresolved, and it contaminates every observational association built on immunoassay before extraction became standard. Receptor genetics do not support the mechanistic story the human programme inherited: three independent oxytocin-receptor-null prairie vole lines still formed partner preferences, delivered viable pups and reared them. PubMed lists 23 papers with oxytocin in the title carrying a retracted-publication or expression-of-concern type, none of them among the papers cited here, which indicates a field with an integrity tail that any reader working outward from this page will meet. Nothing in the published record addresses the safety, purity or handling of unregulated preparations supplied outside the approved supply chain.
Questions
Is oxytocin an approved medicine?
What happened to the finding that oxytocin increases trust?
Does intranasal oxytocin reach the brain?
Why do reported oxytocin blood levels differ so much between studies?
Is oxytocin stable at room temperature?
References
- Kosfeld M, Heinrichs M, Zak PJ, Fischbacher U, Fehr E. Oxytocin increases trust in humans. Nature. 2005;435(7042):673-6. PMID 15931222. PubMed types this as a controlled clinical trial and links two comment articles, neither of them a critique: "Human behaviour: brain trust" (Nature, PMID 15931200) and "[The brain and liberty]" (Rev Med Suisse, PMID 16044807). No retraction or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Nave G, Camerer C, McCullough M. Does oxytocin increase trust in humans? A critical review of research. Perspect Psychol Sci. 2015;10(6):772-89. PMID 26581735. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Declerck CH, Boone C, Pauwels L, Vogt B, Fehr E. A registered replication study on oxytocin and trust. Nat Hum Behav. 2020;4(6):646-655. PMID 32514040. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sikich L, Kolevzon A, King BH, et al. Intranasal oxytocin in children and adolescents with autism spectrum disorder. N Engl J Med. 2021;385(16):1462-1473. PMID 34644471. Registered as ClinicalTrials.gov NCT01944046, phase 2, 290 enrolled, completed. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Audunsdottir K, Sartorius AM, Kang H, et al. The effects of oxytocin administration on social and routinized behaviors in autism: a preregistered systematic review and meta-analysis. Psychoneuroendocrinology. 2024;167:107067. PMID 38815399. The abstract states that summary effect sizes might be inflated due to publication bias; that modal is preserved wherever this paper is cited on this page. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Zhang Y, Zhang X, Huang L. Optimal dose of oxytocin to improve social impairments and repetitive behaviors in autism spectrum disorders: meta-analysis and dose-response meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials. Front Psychiatry. 2024;15:1477076. PMID 39944132. PROSPERO CRD42024567213. Pooled set stated as 12 randomised trials and 498 participants. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Leng G, Ludwig M. Intranasal oxytocin: myths and delusions. Biol Psychiatry. 2016;79(3):243-50. PMID 26049207. PubMed links four comment articles: two critiques (PMIDs 26212900, 26435223) and the authors' two replies (PMIDs 26212899, 26435221). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Leng G, Leng RI, Ludwig M. Oxytocin - a social peptide? Deconstructing the evidence. Philos Trans R Soc Lond B Biol Sci. 2022;377(1858):20210055. PMID 35858110. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Martins DA, Mazibuko N, Zelaya F, et al. Effects of route of administration on oxytocin-induced changes in regional cerebral blood flow in humans. Nat Commun. 2020;11(1):1160. PMID 32127545. Carries an author correction (Nat Commun. 2022;13(1):1876, PMID 35361784) reporting an error that systematically overestimated the areas under the curve for all three administration methods; the authors state that repeating all analyses with the corrected values did not change the pattern of results or the conclusions. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Quintana DS, Lischke A, Grace S, Scheele D, Ma Y, Becker B. Advances in the field of intranasal oxytocin research: lessons learned and future directions for clinical research. Mol Psychiatry. 2021;26(1):80-91. PMID 32807845. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Szeto A, McCabe PM, Nation DA, et al. Evaluation of enzyme immunoassay and radioimmunoassay methods for the measurement of plasma oxytocin. Psychosom Med. 2011;73(5):393-400. PMID 21636661. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- van Ijzendoorn MH, Bhandari R, van der Veen R, Grewen KM, Bakermans-Kranenburg MJ. Elevated salivary levels of oxytocin persist more than 7 h after intranasal administration. Front Neurosci. 2012;6:174. PMID 23233832. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- MacLean EL, Gesquiere LR, Gee N, Levy K, Martin WL, Carter CS. Validation of salivary oxytocin and vasopressin as biomarkers in domestic dogs. J Neurosci Methods. 2018;293:67-76. PMID 28865986. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Carmichael MS, Humbert R, Dixen J, Palmisano G, Greenleaf W, Davidson JM. Plasma oxytocin increases in the human sexual response. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1987;64(1):27-31. PMID 3782434. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Collins J, Kempe K, Wilson P, et al. Stability enhancing N-terminal PEGylation of oxytocin exploiting different polymer architectures and conjugation approaches. Biomacromolecules. 2016;17(8):2755-66. PMID 27419537. Source for the aqueous shelf-life statement and the sub-8-degree refrigeration requirement quoted on this page. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- United States prescription drug label, oxytocin injection under NDA 018261 (Pitocin), retrieved from openFDA on 18 August 2026. Source for: the empirical formula C43H66N12O12S2 and molecular weight 1007.19; the statement that oxytocin even in its pure form has inherent pressor and antidiuretic properties which may become manifest when large doses are administered; the attribution of those properties to oxytocin and vasopressin differing in regard to only two of the eight amino acids; the plasma half-life of about 1 to 6 minutes; the water-intoxication adverse reactions including maternal death; and the statement that the product may contain up to 16 per cent of total impurities. View on api.fda.gov
- United States prescription drug label, oxytocin injection (synthetic) under NDA 018248, retrieved from openFDA on 18 August 2026. Source for the contradicting clinical pharmacology statement that synthetic oxytocin does not possess the cardiovascular effects, such as elevation of blood pressure, as exhibited by vasopressin found in posterior pituitary injection; also for the important notice excluding elective induction, the intrinsic antidiuretic statement in PRECAUTIONS, and the statement that the product may contain up to 12.5 per cent decomposition products and impurities. View on api.fda.gov
- Database and registry records retrieved 18 August 2026: PubChem compound record CID 439302 (formula C43H66N12O12S2, molecular weight 1007.2, CAS 50-56-6, UNII 1JQS135EYN, ChEMBL395429, DTXSID8048361, CHEBI:7872, cyclic 1-6 disulfide sequence, and the synonym 3-isoleucine-8-leucine vasopressin); the Drugs@FDA application listing showing all currently marketed United States oxytocin products as injectables and NDA 012285 nasal solution as discontinued; ClinicalTrials.gov (921 studies with oxytocin as intervention, 549 completed, 45 in autism; NCT01944046; NCT05679908 phase 2 chronic migraine results). View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.