Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

hCG (Human Chorionic Gonadotropin)

Human chorionic gonadotropin is a heterodimeric glycoprotein and one of the few compounds covered here that is an approved medicine: chorionic gonadotropin for injection has held United States approval since 1974, for three indications, none of which is weight loss. The approved label states in capitals that it has not been demonstrated to be effective in obesity and has no known effect on fat mobilisation or appetite. The largest body of writing about this molecule concerns the one use its own label rules out.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised human trials and an approved product label dating to 1974; the controlled obesity literature is overwhelmingly negative — the two positive reports are Asher and Harper 1973 and one unnamed trial among the twelve higher-scoring studies pooled by Lijesen 1995, while every replication attempt in the ledger found no difference against placebo — and no weight-loss trial has ever been registered 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Heterodimeric glycoprotein hormone; agonist at the LH/hCG receptor (LHCGR)
CAS number
9002-61-3
PubChem CID
Not verified
Molecular formula
C1105H1764N318O337S26 (FDA GSRS, choriogonadotropin alfa, UNII 6413W06WR3); the GSRS chorionic gonadotropin record (UNII 20ED16GHEB) carries a slightly different polypeptide formula, C1105H1769O335N318S26. Both exclude the carbohydrate, which is 25-30 per cent of the native mass.
Molecular weight
25,700 Da calculated for the polypeptide chains alone (FDA GSRS, choriogonadotropin alfa, UNII 6413W06WR3); approximately 36,000 for the glycosylated hormone, and 40,000-41,000 for the hyperglycosylated variant (Cole 2010); and 70,000 Da reported by SDS-PAGE on the GSRS chorionic gonadotropin record (UNII 20ED16GHEB). The three figures are not reconcilable as measurements of one object: 25,700 is a calculated polypeptide mass, approximately 36,000 a glycosylated mass, and 70,000 an electrophoretic estimate whose basis GSRS does not state.
Sequence
Not a single chain. Heterodimer of a 92-residue alpha subunit (UniProt P01215, mature chain 25-116 of a 116-residue precursor), identical to the alpha subunit of LH, FSH and TSH, and a 145-residue beta subunit (UniProt P0DN86, mature chain 21-165 of a 165-residue precursor). Non-covalently associated, 11 disulfide bonds, 4 N-linked and 4 O-linked glycosylation sites
Also indexed as
Chorionic gonadotrophin, CG, hCG, choriogonadotropin. The GSRS chorionic gonadotropin record, UNII 20ED16GHEB, carries CAS 9002-61-3 and 2170458-11-2 as alternative codes and 177073-44-8 as a generic or family code. The recombinant substance choriogonadotropin alfa is a separate record, UNII 6413W06WR3, carrying 9002-61-3 as an alternative code and the same 177073-44-8 family code — so the CAS number does not by itself distinguish the two articles.

One hormone, two manufacturing routes, and a rat bioassay

Two databases hold this hormone at different resolutions. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files chorionic gonadotropin as a single protein substance: UNII 20ED16GHEB, CAS 9002-61-3, two chains of 145 and 92 amino acids, eleven disulfide bonds, four N-linked and four O-linked glycosylation sites. UniProt resolves the chains separately. The alpha subunit is residues 25 to 116 of a 116-residue precursor, and it is the same alpha subunit carried by luteinising hormone, follicle-stimulating hormone and thyroid-stimulating hormone. The beta subunit is residues 21 to 165 of its own precursor. Only that beta chain distinguishes this hormone from the other three, which is why assays are written against it rather than the intact dimer.

Molecular weight is where the registries diverge. GSRS stores a calculated mass of 25,700 Da and the formula C1105H1764N318O337S26 for the recombinant substance, counting the polypeptide and nothing else, while its chorionic gonadotropin record carries a slightly different polypeptide formula, C1105H1769O335N318S26, together with a molecular weight property of 70,000 Da measured by SDS-PAGE. Cole's 2010 review in Reproductive Biology and Endocrinology gives the molecular weight of the hormone as approximately 36,000 and states that 25 to 30 per cent of that mass is sugar side-chains, rising to 35 to 41 per cent in the hyperglycosylated variant, which reaches 40,000 to 41,000. The three figures are not reconcilable as measurements of one object: a calculated polypeptide mass, a glycosylated mass, and an electrophoretic estimate whose basis GSRS does not state. A PubChem query by name returns a small hydrocarbon rather than the heterodimer, a name-matching artefact, and the CID field on this page is blank for that reason.

Two manufacturing routes are in use and they are not the same article. The urinary product is described in its own label as a highly purified pyrogen-free preparation obtained from the urine of pregnant females. The recombinant product, choriogonadotropin alfa, is secreted by Chinese hamster ovary cells. Neither is dosed by mass the way a small molecule is. The recombinant label states that biological activity is determined by the seminal vesicle weight gain test in male rats set out in the European Pharmacopoeia monograph, calibrated against the third international reference preparation IS 75/587. Potency is therefore expressed in international units defined by that bioassay rather than by mass of protein.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Number of oocytes retrieved was similar to 10,000 USP Units of urinary-derived hCG given intramuscularly; the 250 and 500 microgram arms were reported clinically and statistically equivalent to the comparator and to each other. Alanine aminotransferase elevations up to 1.2 times the upper limit of normal occurred in 10 of 335 patients on 250 micrograms (3 per cent), 9 of 89 on 500 micrograms (10 per cent) and 16 of 328 on urinary-derived hCG (4.8 per cent)Infertile women undergoing in vitro fertilisation and embryo transfer, 20 US centres, randomised open-label single-cycle study 7927, three armsSubcutaneous, single 250 or 500 microgram injection, versus intramuscular urinary-derived comparator297 entered, 94 randomised to the 250 microgram armFDA prescribing information for choriogonadotropin alfa injection, CLINICAL STUDIES and PRECAUTIONS sections
Intratesticular testosterone fell 94 per cent (1234 to 72 nmol/l) on testosterone plus placebo, and rose linearly with hCG dose (P less than 0.001): 25 per cent below baseline at 125 IU, 7 per cent below at 250 IU, 26 per cent above at 500 IUMen with normal reproductive physiology, randomised, 3 weekshCG every other day alongside 200 mg testosterone enanthate weekly; hCG route not stated in the retrieved abstract29 randomised across 4 armsCoviello 2005, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 15713727
No difference between groups in weight loss, percentage weight loss, hip or waist circumference, weight loss per injection, or hunger ratings over 32 daysWomen aged 18 to 60 in a clinic setting, randomised double-blind, all on the same 500-calorie dietInjection, 28 injections over 32 days51 randomised; 20 of 25 and 21 of 26 completedStein 1976, Am J Clin Nutr, PMID 786001
No advantage over placebo on any variable recorded, including psychological profile, hunger level, body circumferences, fasting bloods and food records; weight loss on the study diet was similar to that on severely restricted intakeWomen with body mass index above 30 kg/m2, double-blind placebo-controlled, all on 5,000 kJ per day for 6 weeksDaily intramuscular injection, 6 days a week40Bosch 1990, S Afr Med J, PMID 2405506
Weight loss identical between groups, with no differential effect on hunger, mood or localised body measurementsAdults with obesity, double-blind randomised trialInjectionNot stated in the retrieved abstract; PubMed types the paper as Case Reports, which does not match the design the abstract describesGreenway and Bray 1977, West J Med, PMID 595585
Methodological scores ranged from 16 to 73 of a possible 100; of the 12 studies scoring 50 or more, all controlled, one reported hCG a useful adjunct. Authors concluded there is no scientific evidence of effect on weight loss, fat redistribution, hunger or well-being. The paper's own counts do not reconcile: it reports tracing 8 controlled trials, then reports that the 12 studies scoring 50 or more were all controlledCriteria-based meta-analysis of 8 controlled and 16 uncontrolled human trialsVarious, as reported by the included trials24 trialsLijesen 1995, Br J Clin Pharmacol, PMID 8527285
Semen parameters unchanged over more than 1 year of follow-up and no patient became azoospermic; mean serum testosterone 207.2 to 1055.5 ng/dl (P less than 0.0001); 9 of 26 men contributed to a pregnancy during follow-upHypogonadal men on testosterone replacement with concomitant hCG, retrospective record review, mean age 35.9 years, mean follow-up 6.2 monthsIntramuscular hCG 500 IU every other day alongside topical gel or weekly intramuscular testosterone26Hsieh 2013, J Urol, PMID 23260550
Mean testicular volume rose significantly on all three regimens with no clinically significant difference between them; highest mean maximum testosterone in the combination group at 710.4 plus or minus 102.7 ng/dl versus 636.0 plus or minus 68.6 in the sequential group (P equals 0.031)Men with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism, randomised open-label prospective, three armsInjection; hCG alone, hCG plus human menopausal gonadotropin, or hCG then combination after 6 months51Sahib 2023, Cureus, PMID 37007338 (correction 2025, PMID 40949079, amends the ethics statement only)
Success rate in the combined randomised trials was 19 per cent (95% CI 13 to 25) with hCG against 4 per cent (95% CI 2 to 6) with placebo; effect was overestimated in non-randomised trialsBoys with undescended testes; 33 articles published 1958 to 1990, meta-analysedAs reported by included trials3282 boys with 4524 testes overall; 872 boys with 1174 testes in randomised trialsPyörälä 1995, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 7673426
Lesion responses were 1, 5, 5 and 10 of 12 injected lesions at 250, 500, 1000 and 2000 IU (P equals 0.03 for trend); in the double-blind portion 10 of 12 hormone-injected lesions responded against 0 of 12 diluent lesions (P equals 0.015)Patients with AIDS-related Kaposi's sarcoma; phase 1-2 dose cohorts plus a double-blind randomised comparisonIntralesional injection, three times weekly for two weeks36 total: 24 in dose cohorts of 6, plus 12 randomised 6 and 6Gill 1996, N Engl J Med, PMID 8857005 (two errata, N Engl J Med 1997;336(9):670 and 336(15):1115)
An hCG/LH receptor was characterised in human adipose cells; physiological concentrations left lipolysis and the lipogenesis markers FAS and ADD1 unaltered in mature adipocytes, while stimulating preadipocyte growth and increasing leptin secretionHuman adipose tissue and isolated preadipocytes and mature adipocytesIn vitroNot stated in the retrieved abstractDos Santos 2007, J Endocrinol, PMID 17641281
hCG pharmacokinetics after three successive injections were prone to large inter-individual variation; by ROC analysis, testosterone and the testosterone to luteinising hormone ratio in both blood and urine were the most relevant markers of hCG administration regardless of that variationVolunteers in a pilot clinical study; sex and age not stated in the retrieved abstractInjection, 3 subsequent doses; route not specified in the retrieved abstract. Blood and urine collected over two weeks10Strahm 2011, Forensic Sci Int, PMID 21798680
The hormone releases abnormal fat while sparing structural fat, so weight comes off in places dieting alone cannot reachThe three-compartment fat scheme traces to Simeons 1954 in the Lancet (PMID 13213083), a two-page communication PubMed serves without an abstract, and to his separately circulated manuscript. A PubMed search for chorionic gonadotropin AND (abnormal fat OR structural fat) returned 19 records, none reporting a measurement partitioning fat into such compartments. No study measuring regional or compartment-specific fat loss under this hormone was located in PubMed or on ClinicalTrials.gov. The approved label states the opposite as a finding of fact: no known effect on body fat distribution.No source found
The hormone resets the hypothalamus so that a new lower body weight is maintained after the programme endsA PubMed search for chorionic gonadotropin AND hypothalamus AND reset returned zero records. No primary study proposing, testing or measuring a hypothalamic set-point change under this hormone was located. The claim appears on clinic and diet-programme pages without citation, and no source was offered by any page examined.No source found
Half a kilogram to a kilogram of fat per day is lost on the protocol, and the loss is fat rather than lean tissueNo primary source for either figure was located. A PubMed search for chorionic gonadotropin AND lean body mass AND weight loss returned zero records, so the fat-versus-lean partition has no retrievable body-composition study behind it at all. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search for chorionic gonadotropin, re-run through the v2 API on 18 August 2026, returned 407 studies overall and 0 filed under weight loss; the 6 filed under obesity and 5 under overweight are fertility studies in which body weight is a covariate, plus two androgen-physiology studies in polycystic ovary syndrome (NCT01422733 and NCT01421810) in which the hormone is used as a stimulation test. The controlled trials that did measure weight (Stein 1976, Greenway and Bray 1977, Bosch 1990, and the twelve higher-scoring studies pooled by Lijesen 1995) found no difference against placebo.No source found
The half-life is 36 hoursCirculating pages give 36 hours, 33 hours, 24 to 36 hours and 3.5 days, without agreeing and without citation. The only figures traceable to a primary document are in the recombinant product label: 29 plus or minus 6 hours terminal after subcutaneous administration, and 4.5 plus or minus 0.5 initial with 26.5 plus or minus 2.5 terminal after intravenous. The multi-day figures most plausibly derive from Yen 1968 in the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism (PMID 5699949), which PubMed serves without an abstract and whose full text could not be retrieved this session; that paper measured disappearance rates rather than a single half-life, and no version of the 36-hour figure could be attached to it or to any other retrievable source.No source found
Co-administration prevents or reverses testicular atrophy in men taking testosteroneNeither study usually cited measured testicular volume. Coviello 2005 measured intratesticular testosterone by needle aspiration over three weeks; Hsieh 2013 measured semen parameters retrospectively in 26 men. A PubMed search for chorionic gonadotropin AND testicular volume AND testosterone replacement returned 22 records; the randomised study among them that did report volume gains, Sahib 2023, enrolled men with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism, whose gonadotropins are absent for a different reason. ClinicalTrials.gov holds NCT01601327, a completed 119-patient comparison of testosterone enanthate, testosterone gel and hCG on testicular volume, but again in idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism; it has posted no results and lists no publication. No study measuring testicular volume in men receiving testosterone with and without this hormone was located.No source found
Material sold for research is 98 to 99 per cent pureNo purity certificate, assay or publication supporting any purity figure for material outside the pharmaceutical supply chain was located in PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov or general search. The only retrievable purity characterisations run the other way: Kachra 1997 describes commercial preparations as about 25 per cent pure, and Malatos 2005 isolated a protein complex from urinary preparations and identified polypeptides of about 11.4 and 15.8 kDa in it as metabolites of placental transforming growth factor beta and of bikunin respectively, alongside a third polypeptide of about 6.2 kDa that was not identified; of these, only the transforming growth factor beta metabolite was reported in all three pharmaceutical preparations examined. Purity language on product pages is unattached to any method.No source found
Lyophilised powder is stable for about two years frozen, and reconstituted material for several weeks refrigeratedA PubMed search for chorionic gonadotropin AND stability AND reconstituted AND storage returned zero records. No stability study, primary publication or regulatory document reporting these intervals was located. The one traceable statement of this kind is in an approved label, which says reconstituted solution is stable for 60 days when refrigerated, and it describes one specific manufactured formulation with its own excipients rather than material in general.No source found
Monotherapy raises testosterone as effectively as testosterone therapy doesNo randomised head-to-head comparison was located. The retrievable data is Rainer 2022 in Cureus (PMID 35822152), a retrospective review whose own arithmetic does not reconcile: a stated cohort of 28 men carries subgroup counts of n equal to 30 and 31, unexplained in the text, and the reported testosterone rise of 307.36 to 422.11 ng/dl belongs to one of those subgroups rather than the whole cohort. A ClinicalTrials.gov search for randomised studies containing both interventions under hypogonadism returned three records, one withdrawn at zero enrolment, none reporting such a comparison.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What the approval actually covers

Chorionic gonadotropin for injection has held United States approval since 1974 and is one of the few compounds on this site that is an approved medicine. The label lists three indications and no others: prepubertal cryptorchidism not due to anatomic obstruction, selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males, and induction of ovulation and pregnancy in the anovulatory infertile woman already pretreated with menotropins. Administration is intramuscular after reconstitution. Precocious puberty, prostatic carcinoma or other androgen-dependent neoplasm, and prior allergic reaction to the hormone are listed as contraindications. Material sold outside that supply chain is not the approved article, and nothing in the label extends to it.

Pharmacokinetic figures come from the recombinant product, whose label reports them; the urinary label reports none. After a single 250 microgram subcutaneous injection in healthy female volunteers, peak concentration was 121 plus or minus 44 IU/L at a median of 24 hours, area under the curve 7701 plus or minus 2101 hour IU/L, elimination half-life 29 plus or minus 6 hours, and absolute bioavailability 0.4 plus or minus 0.1. Given intravenously the serum profile fitted a two-compartment model with an initial half-life of 4.5 plus or minus 0.5 hours and a terminal half-life of 26.5 plus or minus 2.5 hours. The label does not state how many volunteers produced those means.

Efficacy in the assisted-reproduction indication rests on a randomised open-label study, numbered 7927 in the label, run at twenty United States centres in women undergoing in vitro fertilisation and embryo transfer. The label describes three arms: 250 micrograms and 500 micrograms of the recombinant product administered subcutaneously against 10,000 USP Units of an approved urinary-derived product administered intramuscularly. Of 297 patients entered, 94 were randomised to the 250 microgram arm. The primary parameter was the number of oocytes retrieved, which the label reports as similar between arms, with both recombinant arms found clinically and statistically equivalent to the comparator and to each other. Safety figures come as counts: alanine aminotransferase elevations up to 1.2 times the upper limit of normal in 10 of 335 patients on 250 micrograms (3 per cent), 9 of 89 on 500 micrograms (10 per cent), and 16 of 328 on urinary-derived hCG (4.8 per cent).

The obesity literature, in the order it happened

Simeons published a two-page communication in the Lancet in November 1954 proposing that chorionic gonadotropin with severe calorie restriction removed fat selectively. PubMed indexes it as a journal article and serves no abstract. The scheme that grew from it divides body fat into reserve, structural and abnormal compartments, and holds that the hormone releases the third while sparing the second. That partition is a claim about physiology.

Asher and Harper reported in 1973 in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition a benefit for the hormone on weight loss and hunger, against the same 500-calorie diet with placebo. PubMed types the paper as a controlled clinical trial and serves no abstract, so neither the finding nor the group sizes could be read from the retrieved record; the result is described here as Stein and colleagues characterised it in 1976 when setting out to duplicate it, using the same prescribed diet. Fifty-one women aged 18 to 60 were randomised in a 32-day double-blind comparison; 20 of 25 on hormone and 21 of 26 on placebo completed 28 injections. No statistically significant difference appeared in weight loss, percentage weight loss, hip or waist circumference, weight loss per injection, or hunger ratings.

Greenway and Bray ran a double-blind randomised comparison reported in 1977 in the Western Journal of Medicine, and described weight loss as identical between groups, with no differential effect on hunger, mood or localised body measurements. One indexing oddity belongs in the record, because indexing decides what filtered searches return: PubMed types that paper as Case Reports, which does not match the design its own abstract describes. Bosch and colleagues in 1990 gave 40 women with a body mass index above 30 the same 5,000 kJ daily diet with saline or hormone injections for six weeks, and reported no advantage on any variable recorded.

Lijesen and colleagues then scored the field. Their 1995 criteria-based meta-analysis in the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology traced eight controlled and sixteen uncontrolled trials and scored each on study population, intervention, measurement of effect, and data presentation. Methodological scores ran from 16 to 73 out of 100. Of the twelve studies scoring 50 or more, all of them controlled, one reported the hormone a useful adjunct. The paper's own counts do not reconcile — it reports tracing eight controlled trials, then reports that the twelve studies scoring 50 or more were all controlled. The discrepancy is unexplained in the abstract. The authors concluded there is no scientific evidence of effect on weight loss, fat redistribution, hunger or feeling of well-being.

The approved label reaches the same position and prints it in capitals, in two separate sections. Its indications section states that the hormone has not been demonstrated to be effective adjunctive therapy in the treatment of obesity, and that there is no substantial evidence that it increases weight loss beyond that resulting from caloric restriction, that it causes a more attractive or "normal" distribution of fat, or that it decreases the hunger and discomfort associated with calorie-restricted diets. Its clinical pharmacology section states that the hormone has no known effect on fat mobilisation, appetite or sense of hunger, or body fat distribution. On 6 December 2011 the FDA and the Federal Trade Commission issued seven joint warning letters to marketers of over-the-counter products labelled as homeopathic hCG and sold for weight loss, on the grounds that no approved hCG product exists for that use and the products were unapproved drugs making unsupported claims. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search returns zero registered weight-loss studies; the hits filed under obesity and overweight are fertility studies in which body weight is a covariate, plus two androgen-physiology studies in polycystic ovary syndrome in which the hormone is used as a stimulation test.

What was measured in fat tissue

Two studies measured effects in adipose tissue directly. Tell, Haour and Saez reported in 1977 in Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology that highly purified preparations affected neither adenylate cyclase activity nor lipolysis in rat adipocytes, with or without GTP. The same preparations stimulated cyclic AMP and testosterone production in rat Leydig cells, so the material was biologically active, and rat ovary bound labelled hormone. The authors concluded there are no hCG-LH receptors on the fat cell membrane surface, and suggested that positive results reported elsewhere could be explained by contaminating lipolytic hormones in those laboratories' preparations.

Dos Santos and colleagues revisited the question in human tissue in 2007 in the Journal of Endocrinology and reached a partly different answer. They characterised an hCG/LH receptor in human adipose cells for the first time, and reported that physiological concentrations left both lipolysis and two lipogenesis markers unaltered in mature adipocytes, while stimulating preadipocyte growth through a MAP kinase and c-fos pathway independent of protein kinase A. Preadipocyte differentiation capacity rose moderately, and leptin secretion from adipose tissue rose. Their framing was pro-adipogenic: an explanation for why fat storage increases in the first trimester of pregnancy.

Where the two disagree is on whether the receptor is present, and that disagreement runs across species and across thirty years of assay technique. Where they agree is lipolysis, which is the point the weight-loss claim depends on: neither found the hormone released fat. The human study found an effect in the opposite direction from the one the popular scheme requires.

The Kaposi's sarcoma episode, and what the impurity did

In 1995 Lunardi-Iskandar and colleagues reported in Nature that an immortalised AIDS-Kaposi's sarcoma cell line produced malignant metastatic tumours in nude mice and was killed, apparently by apoptosis, by the beta chain of chorionic gonadotropin, while normal endothelial cells were not killed. That paper carries an erratum, which PubMed records without a PMID of its own. Two commentaries were published alongside it.

Gill and colleagues took it into people. Their 1996 report in the New England Journal of Medicine screened four commercial preparations in vitro, selected the most active, and tested it in 36 patients with AIDS-related Kaposi's sarcoma. Twenty-four received intralesional injections at 250, 500, 1000 or 2000 IU, six patients per dose, with two lesions injected and one given diluent. Twelve more were randomised double-blind to 2000 IU or diluent, six each. Responses ran 1, 5, 5 and 10 of 12 injected lesions across the ascending doses; in the blinded portion no diluent lesion responded against 10 of 12. That paper carries two errata, printed in the same journal in February and April 1997, whose content could not be retrieved this session.

Kachra and colleagues then separated the activity from the hormone. Writing in Endocrinology in 1997, they confirmed that commercial preparations, which they describe as about 25 per cent pure, inhibited Kaposi's sarcoma cell growth dose-dependently, and reported that four different well-characterised preparations of pure dimer, and each of its two isolated subunits, did not alter cellular proliferation at all. Subfractionation by molecular size put the anti-tumour activity in the low molecular weight components and the receptor binding and steroidogenic bioactivity elsewhere. Their conclusion was that hormone activity and anti-Kaposi's activity are separable properties of the same vial.

Malatos and colleagues characterised the contaminants in 2005 in Molecular and Cellular Proteomics. Size-exclusion chromatography isolated a protein complex from urinary preparations, and MALDI time-of-flight mass spectrometry of that complex showed three polypeptides of about 6.2, 11.4 and 15.8 kDa. Peptide mass mapping and N-terminal sequencing identified the polypeptides of about 11.4 and 15.8 kDa as metabolites of placental transforming growth factor beta and of bikunin respectively, alongside the third polypeptide of about 6.2 kDa that was not identified. Of these, only the transforming growth factor beta metabolite was reported in all three pharmaceutical preparations examined, in which no other non-hCG-related protein species were observed. A 1999 letter in Blood had reported the opposite sign of effect, describing paradoxical pro-Kaposi's sarcoma activity of such preparations. No trial in Kaposi's sarcoma is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. What survived is Tell's 1977 suggestion, reached independently in another tissue: what these preparations do can belong to what else is in them.

Testis, testosterone, and the anti-doping entry

Coviello and colleagues reported the only human study in this area to sample intratesticular testosterone directly, in 2005 in the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism. Twenty-nine men with normal reproductive physiology were randomised to weekly testosterone enanthate with either saline placebo or 125, 250 or 500 IU hCG every other day for three weeks, and intratesticular testosterone was sampled by percutaneous fine needle aspiration at baseline and at the end. Baseline serum testosterone at 14.1 nmol/l was 1.2 per cent of intratesticular testosterone at 1174 nmol/l. In the placebo arm intratesticular testosterone fell 94 per cent, from 1234 to 72 nmol/l. It rose linearly with dose: 25 per cent below baseline at the lowest arm, 7 per cent below at the middle, 26 per cent above at the highest.

Downstream of that measurement the retrievable evidence is retrospective. Hsieh and colleagues reviewed 26 hypogonadal men on testosterone with co-administered hormone, in 2013 in the Journal of Urology, and reported no change in semen parameters over more than a year of follow-up and no patient becoming azoospermic. Rainer and colleagues reviewed 28 men with previous exogenous testosterone use switched to monotherapy, in Cureus in 2022, and reported no significant change in mean hormone levels across the cohort. That paper's own numbers do not reconcile: a stated cohort of 28 carries subgroup counts of n equal to 30 and 31, unexplained in the text.

Randomised evidence for testicular volume comes from a different population. Sahib and colleagues randomised 51 men with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism, in Cureus in 2023, to hormone alone, hormone plus human menopausal gonadotropin, or hormone followed by combination after six months, and reported significant increases in mean testicular volume in all three arms with no clinically significant difference between them. A September 2025 correction to that paper amends its ethics statement only. In cryptorchidism, Pyörälä and colleagues pooled 33 articles covering 3282 boys with 4524 undescended testes, 872 boys with 1174 testes of them in randomised trials, and reported a success rate of 19 per cent against 4 per cent with placebo, calling the data scanty.

The anti-doping position is explicit. Section S2.2.1 of the 2026 WADA Prohibited List is headed testosterone-stimulating peptides in males and lists chorionic gonadotrophin first, alongside luteinising hormone, gonadotrophin-releasing hormone and its agonist analogues, and kisspeptin and its agonist analogues. The restriction to males is written into the heading, not appended as a note. On detection, Strahm and colleagues gave three successive injections to ten volunteers in a pilot clinical study and followed blood and urine for two weeks, reporting pharmacokinetics prone to large inter-individual variation and proposing testosterone and the testosterone to luteinising hormone ratio, in both blood and urine, as more relevant markers than direct urinary quantification (PMID 21798680).

What is not known

No trial has established what this hormone does to body composition in people, because no trial has measured it. A PubMed search pairing the compound with lean body mass and weight loss returns nothing, and ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registered weight-loss study, so the controlled trials in the ledger report weight, circumferences and hunger ratings only. The published record also does not establish whether co-administration during testosterone therapy preserves testicular volume, whether it preserves fertility beyond the 26-man retrospective series, or what happens beyond the three weeks Coviello measured; the longest prospective intratesticular measurement remains three weeks. Nothing establishes the composition or content of material sold outside the pharmaceutical supply chain: the only purity characterisations in the literature describe pharmaceutical preparations, and two independent groups working twenty-eight years apart concluded that biological effects attributed to these preparations belonged to contaminants rather than to the hormone. The identity record itself is partly open. The registries disagree on molecular weight because they are describing different objects and using different methods, the two GSRS records carry slightly different polypeptide formulae, glycosylation varies with the source tissue and the manufacturing route, and no glycoform specification exists for anything but the approved products.

Questions

Is hCG an approved medicine?
Yes, in the United States, and since 1974. Chorionic gonadotropin for injection is approved for prepubertal cryptorchidism not due to anatomic obstruction, for selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males, and for induction of ovulation in the anovulatory infertile woman pretreated with menotropins. A recombinant version, choriogonadotropin alfa, is separately approved for use in assisted reproduction. That approval attaches to specific manufactured products; material sold outside that supply chain is not the approved article.
What does the approved label say about weight loss?
It states in capitals that the hormone has not been demonstrated to be effective adjunctive therapy in the treatment of obesity, and that there is no substantial evidence that it increases weight loss beyond that resulting from caloric restriction, that it causes a more attractive or "normal" distribution of fat, or that it decreases the hunger and discomfort associated with calorie-restricted diets. A separate passage, in the clinical pharmacology section rather than the indications section, states that it has no known effect on fat mobilisation, appetite or sense of hunger, or body fat distribution. Both statements are part of the label, not commentary on it.
Has a weight-loss trial ever been registered?
No. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search re-run through the v2 API on 18 August 2026 returned 407 studies overall and zero filed under weight loss. Six are filed under obesity and five under overweight; none is a weight-loss study. Those hits are fertility studies in which body weight is a covariate, plus two androgen-physiology studies in polycystic ovary syndrome in which the hormone is used as a stimulation test. The controlled evidence that exists predates registration and is summarised in the ledger above.
Why did the Kaposi's sarcoma results not lead anywhere?
Because the activity was separated from the hormone. Kachra and colleagues reported in 1997 that pure dimer and each isolated subunit did not affect Kaposi's sarcoma cell proliferation, while commercial preparations did, and that the activity fractionated with low molecular weight components. Malatos and colleagues in 2005 isolated a protein complex from urinary preparations and identified polypeptides of about 11.4 and 15.8 kDa in it as metabolites of placental transforming growth factor beta and of bikunin respectively, alongside a third polypeptide of about 6.2 kDa that was not identified; of these, only the transforming growth factor beta metabolite was reported in all three pharmaceutical preparations examined. No trial in Kaposi's sarcoma is currently registered.
Is it prohibited in sport?
In males. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List places chorionic gonadotrophin in section S2.2.1, headed testosterone-stimulating peptides in males, alongside luteinising hormone, gonadotrophin-releasing hormone and its agonist analogues, and kisspeptin and its agonist analogues. Section S2 substances are prohibited at all times, in and out of competition.

References

  1. Identity sources, all retrieved 18 August 2026. FDA Global Substance Registration System: CHORIONIC GONADOTROPIN, UNII 20ED16GHEB, CAS 9002-61-3 and 2170458-11-2 (alternative codes), 177073-44-8 (generic/family code), molecular formula C1105H1769O335N318S26, MOL_WEIGHT:SDS-PAGE 70,000 Da; and CHORIOGONADOTROPIN ALFA, UNII 6413W06WR3, molecular formula C1105H1764N318O337S26, calculated mass 25,700 Da. UniProt P01215, glycoprotein hormones alpha chain (CGA), 116-residue precursor, mature chain 25-116; UniProt P0DN86, choriogonadotropin subunit beta, 165-residue precursor, mature chain 21-165. Cole LA. Biological functions of hCG and hCG-related molecules. Reprod Biol Endocrinol. 2010;8:102 — source of the approximately 36,000 glycosylated mass and the 25-30 per cent carbohydrate figure. PMID 20735820 View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  2. FDA prescribing information for choriogonadotropin alfa injection (recombinant hCG), DailyMed setid a683e58a-63ea-44b8-a326-1a99a537bcf2. Description, Clinical Pharmacology, Precautions and Clinical Studies sections; source of the pharmacokinetic figures, the three-arm Study 7927 description and the alanine aminotransferase counts. Potency calibrated against the third international reference preparation IS 75/587 by the European Pharmacopoeia rat seminal vesicle weight gain test. View on dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
  3. FDA label for chorionic gonadotropin for injection, USP, urinary-derived 10,000 USP Units multiple-dose presentation for intramuscular use (DailyMed setid dc604794-6dd6-43a7-85fa-2f04ed325c33). Source of the three indications, the three contraindications, the two capitalised obesity passages (Indications and Usage, and Clinical Pharmacology), the urine-of-pregnant-females description and the 60-day reconstituted stability statement. Initial United States approval of chorionic gonadotropin for injection dates to 1974 per the FDA approval record. View on dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Simeons ATW. The action of chorionic gonadotrophin in the obese. Lancet. 1954;267(6845):946-7. PubMed serves no abstract. PMID 13213083 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Asher WL, Harper HW. Effect of human chorionic gonadotrophin on weight loss, hunger, and feeling of well-being. Am J Clin Nutr. 1973;26(2):211-8. PubMed types it Clinical Trial / Controlled Clinical Trial and serves no abstract; the finding is described in this record as Stein 1976 characterised it. PMID 4574032 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Stein MR, Julis RE, Peck CC, Hinshaw W, Sawicki JE, Deller JJ Jr. Ineffectiveness of human chorionic gonadotropin in weight reduction: a double-blind study. Am J Clin Nutr. 1976;29(9):940-8. PMID 786001 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Greenway FL, Bray GA. Human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) in the treatment of obesity: a critical assessment of the Simeons method. West J Med. 1977;127(6):461-3. Typed by PubMed as Case Reports despite the abstract describing a double-blind randomised trial. PMID 595585 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Bosch B, Venter I, Stewart RI, Bertram SR. Human chorionic gonadotrophin and weight loss. A double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. S Afr Med J. 1990;77(4):185-9. PMID 2405506 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Lijesen GK, Theeuwen I, Assendelft WJ, Van Der Wal G. The effect of human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) in the treatment of obesity by means of the Simeons therapy: a criteria-based meta-analysis. Br J Clin Pharmacol. 1995;40(3):237-43. PMID 8527285 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Federal Trade Commission and Food and Drug Administration, joint action of 6 December 2011: seven warning letters to marketers of over-the-counter products labelled as homeopathic HCG and sold for weight loss. The joint press release has been retired from both agencies' press archives and could not be retrieved on 18 August 2026; the FDA's standing consumer notice carrying the same position was retrieved and is the URL given here: 'Avoid Dangerous HCG Diet Products', FDA Consumer Updates, content current as of 13 July 2020. View on www.fda.gov
  11. Tell GP, Haour F, Saez JM. The interaction of hCG with rat adipose tissue: apparent lack of hCG-LH receptors. Mol Cell Endocrinol. 1977;6(3):171-9. PMID 188702 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Dos Santos E, Dieudonne MN, Leneveu MC, Pecquery R, Serazin V, Giudicelli Y. In vitro effects of chorionic gonadotropin hormone on human adipose development. J Endocrinol. 2007;194(2):313-25. PMID 17641281 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Kaposi's sarcoma, origin of the claim. Lunardi-Iskandar Y, Bryant JL, Zeman RA, et al. Tumorigenesis and metastasis of neoplastic Kaposi's sarcoma cell line in immunodeficient mice blocked by a human pregnancy hormone. Nature. 1995;375(6526):64-8; carries an erratum with no PMID of its own. PMID 7723844. Gill PS, Lunardi-Iskandar Y, Louie S, et al. The effects of preparations of human chorionic gonadotropin on AIDS-related Kaposi's sarcoma. N Engl J Med. 1996;335(17):1261-9; carries two errata, N Engl J Med 1997;336(9):670 and 1997;336(15):1115, whose content was not retrievable. Neither paper is retracted. PMID 8857005 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Separation and identification of the non-hormone activity. Kachra Z, Guo WX, Sairam MR, Antakly T. Low molecular weight components but not dimeric HCG inhibit growth and down-regulate AP-1 transcription factor in Kaposi's sarcoma cells. Endocrinology. 1997;138(9):4038-41. PMID 9275098. Malatos S, Neubert H, Kicman AT, Iles RK. Identification of placental transforming growth factor-beta and bikunin metabolites as contaminants of pharmaceutical human chorionic gonadotrophin preparations by proteomic techniques. Mol Cell Proteomics. 2005;4(7):984-92. PMID 15855173 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Coviello AD, Matsumoto AM, Bremner WJ, et al. Low-dose human chorionic gonadotropin maintains intratesticular testosterone in normal men with testosterone-induced gonadotropin suppression. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2005;90(5):2595-602. PMID 15713727 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Retrospective series in men. Hsieh TC, Pastuszak AW, Hwang K, Lipshultz LI. Concomitant intramuscular human chorionic gonadotropin preserves spermatogenesis in men undergoing testosterone replacement therapy. J Urol. 2013;189(2):647-50. PMID 23260550. Rainer Q, Pai R, Zucker I, Ramasamy R, Masterson TA. The safety of human chorionic gonadotropin monotherapy among men with previous exogenous testosterone use. Cureus. 2022;14(6):e25826; the paper's stated cohort of 28 carries subgroup counts of n equal to 30 and 31, unexplained in the text. PMID 35822152 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Randomised gonadotropin studies in males and boys. Sahib BO, Hussein IH, Alibrahim NT, Mansour AA. Management outcomes in males with hypogonadotropic hypogonadism treated with gonadotropins. Cureus. 2023;15(2):e35601. PMID 37007338; correction, Cureus. 2025;17(9):c290, PMID 40949079, which amends the ethics statement only. Pyörälä S, Huttunen NP, Uhari M. A review and meta-analysis of hormonal treatment of cryptorchidism. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1995;80(9):2795-9. PMID 7673426 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Kinetics and doping detection. Strahm E, Marques-Vidal P, Pralong F, Dvorak J, Saugy M, Baume N. Influence of multiple injections of human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) on urine and serum endogenous steroids concentrations. Forensic Sci Int. 2011;213(1-3):62-72. PMID 21798680. Yen SS, Llerena O, Little B, Pearson OH. Disappearance rates of endogenous luteinizing hormone and chorionic gonadotropin in man. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 1968;28(12):1763-7; PubMed serves no abstract and the full text was not retrievable this session. PMID 5699949 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.