Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
ARA-290 (Cibinetide)
ARA-290 is an eleven-residue peptide copied from the aqueous face of helix B of erythropoietin, indexed in PubChem as CID 91810664 and given the international non-proprietary name cibinetide. Four small randomised trials have been run in patients and one in healthy volunteers; the largest enrolled 64. Two papers in the preclinical file have been retracted, one in April 2024 and one in February 2026, and the corneal measurement used as the primary endpoint in the human programme was corrected for an arithmetical error three years after it was first published.
- Class
- Non-erythropoietic peptide reproducing the aqueous face of helix B of erythropoietin
- CAS number
- 1208243-50-8
- PubChem CID
- 91810664
- Molecular formula
- C51H84N16O21
- Molecular weight
- 1257.3 g/mol
- Sequence
- Pyr-Glu-Gln-Leu-Glu-Arg-Ala-Leu-Asn-Ser-Ser (11 residues, N-terminal pyroglutamate; written UEQLERALNSS)
- Also indexed as
- Cibinetide, ARA 290, ARA290, pHBSP, PHBSP, pyroglutamate helix B surface peptide; UNII 9W5677JKDA, CHEMBL3545305, DB13006, INN 10264, USAN BC-123
Chemical identity and the names it travels under
ARA-290 and cibinetide are two names for one eleven-residue peptide, and the registries treat them that way. PubChem holds a single record: CID 91810664, CAS 1208243-50-8, molecular formula C51H84N16O21, molecular weight 1257.3 g/mol, InChIKey WZTIQQBMSJTRBR-WYKNNRPVSA-N. The FDA substance registry entry under UNII 9W5677JKDA carries the same CAS number and the same PubChem CID, with the ChEMBL identifier CHEMBL3545305 among its primary codes, alongside INN 10264 and the USAN designation BC-123. European orphan designation records spell the active substance out residue by residue as L-Pyr-L-Glu-L-Gln-L-Leu-L-Glu-L-Arg-L-Ala-L-Leu-L-Asn-L-Ser-L-Ser: the same eleven residues in the same order.
The sequence is eleven residues with a pyroglutamate cap: Pyr-Glu-Gln-Leu-Glu-Arg-Ala-Leu-Asn-Ser-Ser. Several names attach to that one structure. ARA-290 and ARA290 are development codes. Cibinetide is the non-proprietary name. pHBSP and PHBSP abbreviate pyroglutamate helix B surface peptide, the descriptive term used through most of the renal and cardiac literature. All resolve to the same PubChem record. That matters when reading a search result set, because a PubMed query on any one of the names returns only part of the file; the combined query used for this page, ARA-290 OR ARA 290 OR ARA290 OR cibinetide OR pHBSP, returns 101 records.
Metabolism in blood has been characterised once, and not for therapeutic reasons. Thomas and colleagues, working on doping-control assays for peptides under 2 kDa, incubated the peptide with EDTA, heparin and citrate plasma and with serum, and reported extensive exopeptidase-driven breakdown with one main metabolite, PyrEQLERALN (PMID 28941172). That is a nine-residue fragment, the parent shortened by two serines from the carboxy end. The same Cologne group's earlier method paper reported limits of detection between 50 and 500 pg/mL by direct urine injection with ion-mobility mass spectrometry (PMID 26578461).
Claim ledger
12 of 19 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small fibre neuropathy screening list score changed by -11.5 ± 3.04 against -2.9 ± 3.34 for placebo at week 4 (p < 0.05); Brief Pain Inventory and Fatigue Assessment Scale improved significantly but equivalently in both groups; no change in the depressive symptom inventory | Adults with sarcoidosis and symptoms of small fibre neuropathy, spontaneous pain score of 5 or more | Intravenous, 2 mg three times weekly for 4 weeks | 22 total; 12 active, 10 placebo | Heij 2012, Mol Med 18(1):1430-6, PMID 23168581 |
| Screening list score fell 12.2 ± 1.9 against 3.8 ± 2.1 for placebo at week 5 (p = 0.005); six-minute walk distance changed +18.7 m against -15.1 m (p = 0.049); no significant change in intraepidermal nerve fibres at day 28; no serious adverse events during dosing or 12 weeks of follow-up | Adults with sarcoidosis-associated small nerve fibre loss, 18 female and 20 male | Subcutaneous, 4 mg daily for 28 days | 38 total; 21 active, 17 placebo | Dahan 2013, Mol Med 19(1):334-45, PMID 24136731 |
| Median corneal nerve fibre area rose 14.5% over baseline (p = 0.022) against a non-significant decrease on placebo (p = 0.462); cold pain threshold, heat pain threshold and thermal sensory limen increased (p = 0.027, 0.032, 0.008). The absolute areas in this paper are affected by a 2016 erratum reporting an arithmetical error in the algorithm | Adults with sarcoidosis-associated small nerve fibre loss | Subcutaneous, 4 mg daily for 28 days | 38 total; 21 active, 17 placebo | Dahan 2013, Mol Med 19(1):334-45, PMID 24136731; erratum Mol Med 2016;22:674, PMID 28059429 |
| Glycated haemoglobin changed -0.21 ± 0.09% at day 56 against +0.21 ± 0.08% for placebo (p = 0.002, repeated measures ANOVA); cholesterol to HDL ratio p = 0.039 and triglycerides p = 0.043; no clinically significant change from baseline in haematology values | Adults with type 2 diabetes and painful neuropathy | Subcutaneous, 4 mg daily for 28 days, then 28 days observation without treatment | 49 enrolled, 48 analysed; the glycated haemoglobin comparison used the 42 subjects with values at baseline, day 28 and day 56 (21 active, 21 placebo) | Brines 2015, Mol Med 20(1):658-66, PMID 25387363 |
| PainDetect improved 3.3 points against 1.1 points for placebo at day 28 (p = 0.037); corneal nerve fibre density rose 2.6 ± 1.0 fibres/mm2 (p = 0.02) against 0.7 ± 1.3 for placebo, but only within the subgroup whose baseline density was already more than one standard deviation below normal | Adults with type 2 diabetes and painful neuropathy; corneal result restricted to a low-baseline subgroup | Subcutaneous, 4 mg daily for 28 days | 48 analysed; corneal subgroup 18 active and 19 placebo | Brines 2015, Mol Med 20(1):658-66, PMID 25387363 |
| Placebo-corrected mean change in corneal nerve fibre area at day 28 was 109 um2 (95% CI -429 to 647) at 1 mg, 697 (159 to 1236; p = 0.012) at 4 mg and 431 (-130 to 992) at 8 mg; intraepidermal GAP-43-positive fibres rose in the 4 mg group (p = 0.035). Only the middle dose separated from placebo | Adults with sarcoidosis-associated small nerve fibre loss and neuropathic pain, four arms | Subcutaneous, 1, 4 or 8 mg daily for 28 days | 64 total across four arms | Culver 2017, Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 58(6):BIO52-BIO60, PMID 28475703 |
| Pain improved significantly in all groups including placebo; the placebo-corrected decrease in pain intensity among subjects with moderate to severe pain in the 4 mg group, which the authors described as clinically meaningful, carried p = 0.157 | Adults with sarcoidosis-associated small nerve fibre loss and neuropathic pain; moderate-to-severe pain subgroup | Subcutaneous, 1, 4 or 8 mg daily for 28 days | 64 total; subgroup size not stated in the retrieved report | Culver 2017, Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci 58(6):BIO52-BIO60, PMID 28475703 |
| No improvement over 12 weeks in best corrected visual acuity (-2.9 ± 5.0), central retinal thickness (+10 ± 94.6 um), central retinal sensitivity (-0.53 ± 1.9 dB) or tear production (-0.13 ± 7.7 mm); NEI VFQ-25 composite rose 2.7 ± 3.1; no serious adverse events and no anti-cibinetide antibodies detected | Adults with treatment-naive diabetic macular oedema, central retinal thickness above 400 um; single arm, no control | Self-administered subcutaneous, 4 mg daily for 12 weeks | 9 recruited, 8 completed | Lois 2020, J Clin Med 9(7):2225, PMID 32674280 |
| One week after a single dose, neural response to happy faces in the fusiform gyrus was lower than placebo and attention toward positive emotional pictures increased; no effects were observed on mood or affective symptoms, and the authors concluded the direction and strength of effects do not unequivocally support an antidepressant-like profile | Healthy adult volunteers, double-blind randomised parallel-group | Single 2 mg dose, route not stated in the retrieved abstract; assessment one week later | 36 total | Cerit 2015, Eur Neuropsychopharmacol 25(12):2289-99, PMID 26431906 |
| Cold allodynia after spared nerve injury was reduced against vehicle up to 20 weeks at all four doses (3, 10, 30 and 60 ug/kg), while mechanical allodynia was reduced dose-dependently up to 20 weeks rather than at every dose; spinal microglial reactivity (iba-1 immunoreactivity) was not increased at 30 ug/kg at either 2 or 20 weeks, and astrocyte reactivity did not differ between groups | Rats, spared nerve injury model, plus sham-operated controls | Route not stated in the retrieved abstract; 3, 10, 30 or 60 ug/kg on days 1, 3, 6, 8 and 10 | Not stated per group in the retrieved report | Swartjes 2014, Mol Pain 10:13, PMID 24529189 |
| Both ketamine at 50 mg/kg and ARA 290 at 30 ug/kg were antiallodynic in wild-type mice after spared nerve injury; neither had an effect on neuropathic pain in mice lacking the beta-common receptor. ARA 290 produced no antinociception and no psychomotor side effects in either genotype | Wild-type mice and beta-common receptor (CD131) knockout mice, spared nerve injury | Not stated in the retrieved abstract | Not stated per group in the retrieved report | Swartjes 2013, PLoS One 8(8):e71326, PMID 23936499 |
| Morris water maze latency 22.3 ± 1.3 s against 26.3 ± 1.3 s for inactive peptide (p = 0.022) and path length 5.0 ± 0.3 m against 6.1 ± 0.3 m (p = 0.019); CD68 labelling of inflammatory cells was reduced. Motor tasks were only transiently impaired in this model and no treatment effect on motor performance was seen | Rats, mild cortical impact injury at 3 m/s and 2.5 mm deformation | Intraperitoneal, 30 ug/kg every 12 h for 3 days, started at 1 h or 24 h after injury | 64 total, randomised to peptide or inactive peptide control | Robertson 2013, J Neurotrauma 30(9):765-74, PMID 22827443 |
| ARA-290 has a plasma half-life of about 2 minutes, or about 10 to 12 minutes, or about 20 minutes after subcutaneous dosing | Three different figures circulate, which is itself the finding. Only the first is traceable to a peer-reviewed source, and only as an unreferenced parenthesis: the Collino 2015 review in Pharmacology and Therapeutics states a short plasma half-life of about 2 minutes in its abstract (PMID 25728128) and attaches no primary measurement to it in that abstract. PubMed searches for cibinetide AND pharmacokinetics, ARA 290 AND pharmacokinetics and pHBSP AND pharmacokinetics return one, one and two records respectively, and in every case the record returned is that same review or an unrelated radiotracer paper. No dedicated pharmacokinetic study in any species was located. The 10 to 12 minute and 20 minute figures appear only on secondary and vendor pages and trace to nothing. Note also that both lead authors of that review, Collino and Thiemermann, are co-authors on the two papers in this file that have since been retracted, and Collino is first author on one of them. | No source found | ||
| Cibinetide holds FDA Fast Track designation for neuropathic pain in patients with sarcoidosis | The four US orphan drug designations were verified individually against the FDA Office of Orphan Products Development records, with dates, indications and sponsor. Fast Track is different: the FDA operates no public searchable register of Fast Track designations, so there is no database against which to check it. The claim traces to a single sponsor press release dated 8 May 2017, which states that cibinetide received US Orphan Drug and Fast Track designations for that indication. A company announcement is the only source located. It is recorded here as company-stated rather than verified. | No source found | ||
| The biological effect persists for 24 to 72 hours, or for weeks, after the peptide has cleared the circulation | The general shape of this claim has rodent support: Swartjes 2014 (PMID 24529189) reported allodynia relief in rats out to 20 weeks after a ten-day course. No source was located for any specific human duration figure. None of the four randomised patient trials measured effect duration after a single dose, and the only single-dose human study assessed subjects one week later on emotional-processing endpoints (PMID 26431906). Searching PubMed for cibinetide pharmacokinetics and for pHBSP pharmacokinetics returned no study pairing plasma clearance with a measured duration of effect in people. The specific 24 to 72 hour window appears only on secondary pages. | No source found | ||
| ARA-290 reduces fatigue | The one trial that measured fatigue with a validated instrument reported the opposite of separation. Heij 2012 (PMID 23168581) used the Fatigue Assessment Scale and reported that scores improved significantly but equivalently in both the active and placebo groups, meaning the change cannot be attributed to the compound. A PubMed search for ARA 290 AND fatigue returns two records: that trial, and a 2017 systematic review of fatigue management in sarcoidosis. No trial has reported a placebo-separated fatigue result. The claim circulates widely and the primary literature contradicts it. | No source found | ||
| Lyophilised powder is stable for a stated period at -20 C, and reconstituted solution for a stated period under refrigeration | PubMed searches for cibinetide AND stability returned zero records, and ARA 290 combined with stability, lyophilised or reconstitution returned three, none of which is a handling or storage study: a technetium-labelled SPECT tracer synthesis, and two anti-doping analytical papers. The closest published stability observation is incidental and concerns a different question entirely: Thomas 2016 (PMID 26578461) tested peptide stability in urine for sports testing and identified -20 C as the appropriate storage temperature for that purpose. No storage or reconstitution figure quoted on secondary pages could be traced to any experimental source. | No source found | ||
| ARA-290 binds the innate repair receptor with a stated affinity | A PubMed search for cibinetide combined with binding affinity, Kd or dissociation constant returned a single record, a rat renal allograft study that reports no such measurement. No published affinity constant for this peptide at either receptor chain was located. The one direct biophysical study of the proposed receptor pair, Cheung Tung Shing 2018 (PMID 30127368), tested the extracellular regions of the erythropoietin receptor and the beta-common receptor in the presence of ARA290 and reported that they do not specifically associate. Any numeric affinity quoted for the innate repair receptor should be treated as untraced. | No source found | ||
| Cibinetide has completed, or is in, phase 3 development | A ClinicalTrials.gov search across cibinetide, ARA290 and ARA 290 returns four interventional records. Three are phase 2 and one is phase 1/2. None is phase 3, none has posted results, and the largest enrolled 64. The most recent registry activity is the October 2024 retrospective posting of a nine-patient trial that finished in 2017, whose stated reason for termination was expiry of study drug with no replacement available. No phase 3 record exists in the registry. | No source found | ||
The design brief, and the paper it came from
Brines and fifteen co-authors published the founding paper in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences in 2008, at volume 105, pages 10925 to 10930. The argument was structural. When erythropoietin binds its receptor homodimer, helix B — residues 58 to 82 — faces the aqueous medium rather than the receptor. The paper proposed that the tissue-protective activity attributed to erythropoietin could be separated from the erythropoietic activity by reproducing that exposed face alone, and reported that an eleven-residue peptide made from the adjacent amino acids on that surface reproduced the protective readouts.
Models used in that single paper included ischaemic stroke, diabetes-induced retinal oedema, peripheral nerve trauma, renal ischaemia-reperfusion, wound healing and a rodent cognition task. The paper reported that neither helix B nor the eleven-residue peptide was erythropoietic in vitro or in vivo. That negative result is the reason the molecule exists: the 2015 review by Collino and colleagues states that the use of recombinant erythropoietin for tissue protection has been limited by rises in haematocrit, platelet activation and selectin expression (PMID 25728128), and the design intent was a compound that engaged the protective pathway without those effects. PubMed applies no correction, erratum or integrity notice to the 2008 paper.
One of its co-authors, Thiemermann, is an author on both of the papers in this file that have since been retracted; a second, Patel, is first author on one of them. The retractions concern those later papers and not the 2008 one, and no notice has been attached to the founding publication. The overlap is recorded here because a reader tracing the file will encounter the same names in both places, and because the retracted work sits in the mechanistic layer rather than the identity layer.
Two retractions and four errata
Collino and ten co-authors published a mouse study in the British Journal of Pharmacology in 2014, at volume 171, pages 5802 to 5815, reporting that eleven weeks of the peptide at 30 micrograms per kilogram subcutaneously reduced insulin resistance, hepatic lipid deposition and kidney dysfunction in male C57BL/6J mice fed a high-fat high-sucrose diet for twenty-two weeks. PubMed types that paper as a Retracted Publication. The retraction notice appeared in April 2024 at volume 181, page 1341, PMID 38433016. The publisher returned HTTP 403 to every attempt to retrieve the notice text, so the stated reason is not reproduced here.
Patel and ten co-authors published a rat acute kidney injury study in Molecular Medicine in 2012, at volume 18, pages 719 to 727, reporting that the peptide given six hours into reperfusion attenuated renal and tubular dysfunction after thirty minutes of ischaemia. That paper was retracted on 26 February 2026, notice at volume 32, article 31, PMID 41749083. The retraction note is specific: the editor-in-chief recorded that in Figure 3a the Total Akt lanes 2, 3 and 4 appeared highly similar, and that in Figure 3d the ph-p38 lane 4 appeared highly similar to Total p38 lane 1. After the authors supplied original autoradiograms, the publisher concluded that a number of bands selected for publication did not appear representative of the observed experimental results. Three named authors do not agree with the retraction; the remainder did not respond to the editor or publisher.
Checking publication types and correction links across all 101 PubMed records returned by the full name set returned no further retractions and no expressions of concern, and four errata. One attaches to a 2018 rat renal allograft study in Transplantation Proceedings, one to a 2014 PLOS ONE study of experimental autoimmune neuritis, and one to a 2020 Bioorganic Chemistry paper describing a technetium-99m labelled dendrimer conjugate of the peptide rather than the parent peptide itself, corrected in May 2020 (PMID 32417522). The fourth attaches to the 2013 sarcoidosis trial, is not cosmetic, and is dealt with next.
The corneal endpoint was corrected three years after publication
Corneal confocal microscopy supplied the objective endpoint for the whole human programme, on the reasoning that small nerve fibres in the cornea can be counted without a biopsy and can be re-counted to detect regrowth. The 2013 sarcoidosis trial reported corneal nerve fibre area, and in October 2016 Molecular Medicine printed an erratum at volume 22, page 674, PMID 28059429. The erratum states that an arithmetical error in the original corneal nerve fibre area algorithm made the reported values too small, and that a reader must multiply the published figure by 2.26, then multiply that result by 6.32 to normalise per square millimetre.
Relative and absolute readouts are affected differently. The trial's headline corneal result was a median increase of 14.5 per cent over baseline, a ratio, which a uniform scaling factor leaves unchanged. Any absolute value in square micrometres taken from the 2013 paper is wrong as printed. Downstream pages quoting absolute corneal areas from that publication without applying the correction are quoting the uncorrected numbers.
Whether the corrected algorithm was applied in the 2017 phase 2b study, which used placebo-corrected change in corneal nerve fibre area as its primary endpoint and reported values around 109, 697 and 431 square micrometres, could not be established. The journal returned HTTP 403 to full-text retrieval and the paper is not deposited in PubMed Central, so only the abstract was available. The abstract does not mention the erratum. This is recorded as an open question rather than a defect.
The receptor the peptide is named for is disputed
The 2008 paper proposed that tissue protection is mediated not by the erythropoietin receptor homodimer but by a heterocomplex of the erythropoietin receptor and CD131, the beta-common receptor, and that proposal was later marketed under the label innate repair receptor. Functional dependence on the beta-common receptor has independent support. Swartjes and colleagues reported in PLOS ONE in 2013 that both ketamine at 50 mg/kg and ARA 290 at 30 micrograms per kilogram relieved allodynia in wild-type mice after spared nerve injury, and that neither did so in mice lacking the beta-common receptor (PMID 23936499). Wang and colleagues reported in 2024 that the protective effect was significantly suppressed in male C57BL/6J mice given small interfering RNA against the beta-common receptor before middle cerebral artery occlusion (PMID 38488446).
Physical association is a separate claim, and the direct test of it was negative. Cheung Tung Shing and ten co-authors published a biophysical study in Scientific Reports in 2018, at volume 8, article 12457, examining the extracellular regions of the two receptors in silico and in vitro, with and without erythropoietin or ARA290 present. Computational and genomic work suggested a possible interaction; the biophysical analysis found that the extracellular regions do not specifically associate. The same paper found no requirement for the beta-common receptor gene under anaemic stress in mice, and concluded that the two receptors do not directly interact. An author correction was printed in May 2019 at volume 9, article 7851.
Functional dependence and physical heterodimerisation are not the same finding, and the literature currently supports the first while the direct biophysical test of the second returned negative. The knockout and knockdown results establish that the beta-common receptor is required somewhere in the chain. They do not establish that the two receptor chains form the complex the name describes.
The human record: four patient trials, the largest with 64 subjects
Heij and colleagues ran the first trial in 2012, in twenty-two people with sarcoidosis and symptoms of small fibre neuropathy, twelve given 2 mg intravenously three times weekly for four weeks and ten given placebo. The screening-list score separated from placebo; the Brief Pain Inventory and the Fatigue Assessment Scale improved in both groups by comparable amounts, and the depressive-symptom inventory did not change. Dahan and colleagues followed in 2013 with thirty-eight subjects, twenty-one active and seventeen placebo, on 4 mg subcutaneously daily for twenty-eight days, and reported separation on the screening list, on the six-minute walk test and on three quantitative sensory thresholds, with no change in intraepidermal nerve fibres at day 28.
Brines and colleagues then studied forty-eight analysable subjects with type 2 diabetes on the same regimen, reporting a divergence in glycated haemoglobin over fifty-six days among the forty-two subjects with values at all three time points, and a difference on the PainDetect questionnaire, with corneal nerve fibre density increasing only in the subgroup whose baseline density was already more than one standard deviation below normal. The largest study, a four-arm dose-ranging phase 2b in sixty-four subjects with sarcoidosis-associated nerve fibre loss, found its primary corneal endpoint separated from placebo at 4 mg per day but not at 1 mg or 8 mg. Pain in that trial improved in every arm including placebo, and the moderate-to-severe subgroup comparison the authors described as clinically meaningful carried a p value of 0.157.
Registry coverage is thin and partly retrospective. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across cibinetide, ARA290 and ARA 290 returns four interventional records, none of which has posted results, and none registered as phase 3. The Karolinska prediabetes and type 2 diabetes study, NCT01933529, carries a status of UNKNOWN with its last update in September 2015 and no publication traceable to it. The Leiden sarcoidosis trial sits in the Netherlands Trial Register as NTR3575, with EudraCT 2012-001492-37, and the Leiden diabetes trial as NTR3858, rather than on ClinicalTrials.gov. The published report of the 2012 pilot names no registry identifier at all, and no registry record for that trial was located.
The diabetic macular oedema trial, run in Belfast in nine patients with no control arm, was first posted to ClinicalTrials.gov in October 2024, seven years after it finished. Its two sources disagree on when it ran: the registry gives a start in April 2016 and completion in August 2017, while the publication gives recruitment from May 2016 to April 2017. The registry entry gives the reason for termination as expiry of study drug with no replacement available. No sponsor has registered a study of the compound since.
Orphan designations, no approval, and a place on the prohibited list
Four United States orphan drug designations are recorded against the substance in the FDA Office of Orphan Products Development database, all to a single commercial sponsor and all listed as Not FDA Approved for Orphan Indication: prevention of delayed graft function following renal transplant, designated 18 September 2009; treatment of neuropathic pain in patients with sarcoidosis, 13 September 2011; treatment of sarcoidosis, 13 June 2016; and treatment to increase survival and improve functioning of pancreatic islets following transplantation, also 13 June 2016. Two European designations exist: EU/3/13/1191 for sarcoidosis, granted 7 October 2013, and EU/3/16/1721 for prevention of graft loss in pancreatic islet transplantation, granted 29 August 2016.
Orphan designation is a development incentive awarded on the basis of disease prevalence and a plausible rationale. It is not a finding of efficacy, not a finding of safety, and not an authorisation. Cibinetide is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, no marketing application has reached a public regulatory docket, and material circulating outside a registered trial has been subject to none of the identity, purity or sterility controls that govern investigational supply. Two published analytical-chemistry papers list ARA-290 among the peptides under 2 kDa covered by the World Anti-Doping Agency prohibited list and describe assays developed to detect it in urine.
What is not known
Total human exposure across the published record is roughly 220 subjects: 173 enrolled across the four randomised patient trials, 36 in a randomised study in healthy volunteers and 9 in an uncontrolled study. The largest single trial enrolled 64, and no trial dosed for longer than twelve weeks. Nothing is known about exposure beyond that horizon: no durability data after treatment stops, no repeat-course data, no long-term safety signal detection, and no cardiovascular or renal outcome measurement of any kind. Pharmacokinetics are effectively uncharacterised in public; no dedicated study in any species was located, and the frequently quoted plasma half-life traces to an unreferenced line in a review whose two lead authors are co-authors on both retracted papers. The proposed mechanism is contested at its foundation: functional dependence on the beta-common receptor is supported by knockout and knockdown experiments, but the direct biophysical test of the receptor heterocomplex the compound is named after returned negative. Endpoint validity is a second open question, because the corneal measurement used across the programme required an arithmetical correction three years after first publication, and whether the corrected algorithm was applied in the later phase 2b could not be established from the abstract alone. Dose-response is not monotonic in the one dose-ranging trial: the middle dose separated from placebo on the primary endpoint and the highest dose did not, and no explanation for that pattern has been published. Pain, the symptom the compound is most often associated with, improved in every arm including placebo in that trial. No paediatric, pregnancy, lactation or elderly data exist. No trial has been run against an active comparator. Development appears to have stopped rather than concluded: the last trial to finish was terminated because the study drug expired and could not be replaced, and no sponsor has registered a study since.
Questions
Has ARA-290 been tested in humans?
Have any papers about ARA-290 been retracted?
Is ARA-290 an approved medicine?
Does the innate repair receptor exist?
Why do sources give different half-lives for ARA-290?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 91810664, Cibinetide. National Center for Biotechnology Information. CAS 1208243-50-8, C51H84N16O21, 1257.3 g/mol, InChIKey WZTIQQBMSJTRBR-WYKNNRPVSA-N. Cross-checked against the FDA Global Substance Registration System record UNII 9W5677JKDA (https://gsrs.ncats.nih.gov/ginas/app/beta/substances/9W5677JKDA), whose primary codes are CAS 1208243-50-8, PubChem 91810664, CHEMBL3545305, DrugBank DB13006, INN 10264 and USAN BC-123. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Brines M, Patel NS, Villa P, et al. Nonerythropoietic, tissue-protective peptides derived from the tertiary structure of erythropoietin. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2008;105(31):10925-10930. Sixteen authors in total. PMID 18676614 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Patel NS, Kerr-Peterson HL, Brines M, et al. Delayed administration of pyroglutamate helix B surface peptide (pHBSP), a novel nonerythropoietic analog of erythropoietin, attenuates acute kidney injury. Mol Med. 2012;18(1):719-727. RETRACTED 26 February 2026 over apparent duplication in Figure 3 Western blots, three authors dissenting; retraction note Mol Med 2026;32(1):31, PMID 41749083. PMID 22415011 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Collino M, Benetti E, Rogazzo M, et al. A non-erythropoietic peptide derivative of erythropoietin decreases susceptibility to diet-induced insulin resistance in mice. Br J Pharmacol. 2014;171(24):5802-5815. RETRACTED April 2024; notice at 181(8):1341, PMID 38433016, text not retrievable (publisher returned HTTP 403). PMID 25164531 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Heij L, Niesters M, Swartjes M, et al. Safety and efficacy of ARA 290 in sarcoidosis patients with symptoms of small fiber neuropathy: a randomized, double-blind pilot study. Mol Med. 2012;18(1):1430-1436. PMID 23168581 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Dahan A, Dunne A, Swartjes M, et al. ARA 290 improves symptoms in patients with sarcoidosis-associated small nerve fiber loss and increases corneal nerve fiber density. Mol Med. 2013;19(1):334-345. Netherlands Trial Register NTR3575, EudraCT 2012-001492-37. ERRATUM Mol Med 2016;22:674 (PMID 28059429): an arithmetical error in the corneal nerve fibre area algorithm made the reported values too small; multiply the published figure by 2.26, then by 6.32 to normalise per square millimetre. PMID 24136731 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Brines M, Dunne AN, van Velzen M, et al. ARA 290, a nonerythropoietic peptide engineered from erythropoietin, improves metabolic control and neuropathic symptoms in patients with type 2 diabetes. Mol Med. 2015;20(1):658-666. Netherlands Trial Register NTR3858. PMID 25387363 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Culver DA, Dahan A, Bajorunas D, et al. Cibinetide improves corneal nerve fiber abundance in patients with sarcoidosis-associated small nerve fiber loss and neuropathic pain. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 2017;58(6):BIO52-BIO60. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02039687. PMID 28475703 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Lois N, Gardner E, McFarland M, et al. A phase 2 clinical trial on the use of cibinetide for the treatment of diabetic macular edema. J Clin Med. 2020;9(7):2225. EudraCT 2015-001940-12, ISRCTN16962255; ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06626971, first posted October 2024. PMID 32674280 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cerit H, Veer IM, Dahan A, et al. Testing the antidepressant properties of the peptide ARA290 in a human neuropsychological model of drug action. Eur Neuropsychopharmacol. 2015;25(12):2289-2299. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT02070783. PMID 26431906 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Cheung Tung Shing KS, Broughton SE, Nero TL, et al. EPO does not promote interaction between the erythropoietin and beta-common receptors. Sci Rep. 2018;8:12457. Author Correction Sci Rep 2019;9:7851 (PMID 31110193). PMID 30127368 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Swartjes M, van Velzen M, Niesters M, et al. Ketamine does not produce relief of neuropathic pain in mice lacking the beta-common receptor (CD131). PLoS One. 2013;8(8):e71326. PMID 23936499 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Swartjes M, van Velzen M, Niesters M, et al. ARA 290, a peptide derived from the tertiary structure of erythropoietin, produces long-term relief of neuropathic pain coupled with suppression of the spinal microglia response. Mol Pain. 2014;10:13. PMID 24529189 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wang RL, Yang ZH, Huang YY, et al. Erythropoietin-derived peptide ARA290 mediates brain tissue protection through the beta-common receptor in mice with cerebral ischemic stroke. CNS Neurosci Ther. 2024;30(3):e14676. PMID 38488446 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Robertson CS, Garcia R, Gaddam SS, et al. Treatment of mild traumatic brain injury with an erythropoietin-mimetic peptide. J Neurotrauma. 2013;30(9):765-774. PMID 22827443 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Collino M, Thiemermann C, Cerami A, Brines M. Flipping the molecular switch for innate protection and repair of tissues: long-lasting effects of a non-erythropoietic small peptide engineered from erythropoietin. Pharmacol Ther. 2015;151:32-40. Source of the frequently quoted approximately 2 minute plasma half-life, stated without a primary reference in the abstract. PMID 25728128 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Thomas A, Knoop A, Schaenzer W, Thevis M. Characterization of in vitro generated metabolites of selected peptides <2 kDa prohibited in sports. Drug Test Anal. 2017;9(11-12):1799-1803. Main ARA-290 metabolite reported as PyrEQLERALN. PMID 28941172. Earlier method paper from the same laboratory: Thomas A, Goergens C, Guddat S, et al. Simplifying and expanding the screening for peptides <2 kDa by direct urine injection, liquid chromatography and ion mobility mass spectrometry. J Sep Sci. 2016;39(2):333-341, limits of detection 50-500 pg/mL, storage at -20 C, PMID 26578461 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- European Medicines Agency orphan designations EU/3/13/1191 (sarcoidosis, granted 7 October 2013) and EU/3/16/1721 (prevention of graft loss in pancreatic islet transplantation, granted 29 August 2016). Active substance stated as L-Pyr-L-Glu-L-Gln-L-Leu-L-Glu-L-Arg-L-Ala-L-Leu-L-Asn-L-Ser-L-Ser. View on www.ema.europa.eu
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.