Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026
Cardarine (GW-501516)
Cardarine is a synthetic PPAR-delta agonist developed at GlaxoSmithKline and indexed in PubChem as CID 9803963. Four human trials were published between 2007 and 2012, all of them measuring lipids and lipoproteins, the longest running twelve weeks. Development was terminated on two 104-week rodent carcinogenicity studies presented as conference abstracts in 2009 and never published in full. Those abstracts survive in the archived meeting volume and state the species, routes, dose levels and tumour sites, so the studies that ended the programme can be read even though they were never peer-reviewed.
- Class
- Synthetic subtype-selective peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor delta (PPAR-delta) agonist; phenoxyacetic acid bearing a trifluoromethylphenyl thiazole
- CAS number
- 317318-70-0
- PubChem CID
- 9803963
- Molecular formula
- C21H18F3NO3S2
- Molecular weight
- 453.5 g/mol
- Sequence
- Not verified
- Also indexed as
- GW501516, GW-501516, GW 1516, GSK-516, Endurobol, Cardarine; UNII 7I2HA1NU22; ChEMBL38943; InChIKey YDBLKRPLXZNVNB-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Chemical identity
Three trade-style names and three catalogue codes all point at the same molecule. Cardarine, Endurobol and GW501516 resolve to a single PubChem record, CID 9803963, which carries CAS 317318-70-0, the formula C21H18F3NO3S2, a molecular weight of 453.5 g/mol, InChIKey YDBLKRPLXZNVNB-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII 7I2HA1NU22 and the ChEMBL identifier CHEMBL38943. Under IUPAC rules the compound is 2-[2-methyl-4-[[4-methyl-2-[4-(trifluoromethyl)phenyl]-1,3-thiazol-5-yl]methylsulfanyl]phenoxy]acetic acid. GW-501516, GW1516 and GSK-516 sit in the synonym list attached to that same CID, so the codes and the trade-style names are not distinct materials.
Structurally this is a small phenoxyacetic acid joined through a thioether to a thiazole ring carrying a trifluoromethylphenyl group. It is neither a peptide nor a steroid, and it has no reported androgen-receptor pharmacology. The molecule is nonetheless sold and discussed inside the selective androgen receptor modulator category, and the United States Anti-Doping Agency addresses that misclassification directly in its athlete guidance, describing the compound as a PPAR-delta agonist and not a SARM. Oliver and colleagues published the first description of the molecule in 2001, from GlaxoSmithKline's metabolic disease and nuclear receptor discovery groups.
Claim ledger
12 of 20 traced to a primary source| Reported figure | Population | Route | n | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDL cholesterol rose in both dose groups (P=0.004 at 2.5 mg; P<0.001 at 10 mg) against an 11.5 +/- 1.6% fall in placebo; triglyceride trended down at 10 mg (P=0.08) and post-fat-meal triglyceride clearance improved (P=0.02) | Healthy volunteers, hospitalised and sedentary throughout | Oral, once daily, 2 weeks, 2.5 mg or 10 mg | 24 (placebo 6; 2.5 mg 9; 10 mg 9) | Sprecher 2007, Arterioscler Thromb Vasc Biol, PMID 17110604 |
| Fasting triglycerides -30%, apolipoprotein B -26%, LDL cholesterol -23%, insulin -11%, liver fat content -20% (P<0.05), urinary isoprostanes -30% (P=0.01); HDL cholesterol unchanged | Moderately overweight men, double-blind three-parallel-group randomised design against a PPAR-alpha agonist and placebo | Oral, 10 mg once daily, 2 weeks | 6 per group, 3 groups | Risérus 2008, Diabetes, PMID 18024853 |
| Plasma triglycerides, fatty acid, apoB-100 and apoB-48 fell; VLDL-apoB concentration fell by increased fractional catabolism and apoC-III by decreased production rate (P<0.05); HDL cholesterol, apoA-II and LpA-I:A-II rose | Dyslipidaemic men with central obesity, randomised double-blind crossover with 2-week washout | Oral, 2.5 mg/day, 6-week intervention periods | 13 | Ooi 2011, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 21816786 |
| HDL cholesterol up to +16.9% and apoA-I up to +6.6% at 10 mg; LDL cholesterol -7.3%, triglycerides -16.9%, apoB -14.9%, free fatty acids -19.4%. A separate exploratory arm reported VLDL particles -19%, IDL -52%, LDL -14%, HDL particles +10% | Patients with HDL cholesterol below 1.16 mmol/L; the published report describes a placebo-controlled comparison and names no active comparator | Oral, 2.5, 5.0 or 10.0 mg, 12 weeks | 268 (plus a second exploratory study of 37) | Olson 2012, Arterioscler Thromb Vasc Biol, PMID 22814748 |
| Plasma FGF21 rose 32% on the PPAR-delta agonist and 39% on the PPAR-alpha comparator; no rise on rosiglitazone | Healthy overweight or obese male volunteers (the PPAR-agonist arm of a three-group prospective study); dose, duration, comparator, group size and authorship match Risérus 2008, though neither report states the cohorts are the same | Oral, 10 mg/day, 2 weeks | 6 in the GW501516 group | Christodoulides 2009, J Clin Endocrinol Metab, PMID 19531592 |
| Running performance was unchanged by GW1516 treatment alone; paired with 4 weeks of treadmill training the same dose and duration increased running time by 68% and running distance by 70% | Adult male C57BL/6J mice, 8 weeks old, sedentary and trained cohorts | Oral, 5 mg/kg/day, 4 weeks | 9 per cohort dosed; 6 per group tested on the treadmill | Narkar 2008, Cell, PMID 18674809 |
| At the 3.0 mg/kg step, HDL cholesterol +79%, triglycerides -56%, LDL particle number -36% and fasting insulin -48%, each relative to the animal's own vehicle baseline | Male obese insulin-resistant rhesus monkeys, mean age 12.9 +/- 1.5 years, mean weight 16.6 +/- 1.7 kg; within-animal dose escalation, no parallel control group | Oral, 0.1 mg/kg for 4 weeks then 0.3, 1.0 and 3.0 mg/kg over sequential 4-week periods | 6 enrolled; 5 at the 3.0 mg/kg step (one animal withdrawn as a precaution after reduced food intake at 1.0 mg/kg) | Oliver 2001, Proc Natl Acad Sci USA, PMID 11309497 |
| Significant increase in the number and size of intestinal polyps; the most prominent effect was a fivefold increase in the number of polyps larger than 2 mm | Apc(Min) mice, predisposed to intestinal polyposis | Not stated in the retrieved report | Not stated in the retrieved report | Gupta 2004, Nat Med, PMID 14758356 |
| Test-article-related neoplastic findings in multiple tissues at all doses: liver (hepatocellular adenoma at >=10 mg/kg/day), urinary bladder (transitional cell carcinoma in males at 20 and 40 mg/kg/day), thyroid (follicular cell adenoma at >=3 mg/kg/day, carcinoma in males at >=20), tongue, stomach, skin (inverted squamous cell papilloma), Harderian gland (adenoma and adenocarcinoma), testes (interstitial cell adenoma at 40 mg/kg/day), ovary (Sertoli cell adenoma at >=10) and uterus (polyp and endometrial adenocarcinoma at >=3 mg/kg/day). Mortality increased in females at all doses, with uterine endometrial adenocarcinoma contributing to death in a high proportion of them. No incidence percentages are reported in the abstract | Han Wistar rats, described as an assessment of carcinogenic potential of a non-genotoxic PPAR-delta agonist | Oral gavage, daily, 104 weeks. Males 0, 5, 15 or 30 mg/kg/day for the first 6 weeks then 0, 5, 20 or 40 mg/kg/day; females 0, 3, 10 or 20 mg/kg/day throughout | Group sizes not stated in the abstract | Geiger LE, Dunsford WS, Lewis DJ, Brennan C, Liu KC, Newsholme SJ 2009, Society of Toxicology annual meeting abstract 895 (The Toxicologist); GlaxoSmithKline and Huntingdon Life Sciences; never published in full and not indexed in PubMed |
| Survival decreased at doses >=30 mg/kg/day. Test-article-related neoplasms in liver (hepatocellular carcinoma at >=30 mg/kg/day, adenoma at >=10 mg/kg/day) and stomach (squamous cell carcinoma at all doses), with combined squamous cell tumours at all doses. The authors state the results demonstrate increased proliferation in certain epithelial cell populations but do not support a role for PPAR-delta in colon carcinogenesis. No incidence percentages are reported in the abstract | CD1 mice, described as an assessment of carcinogenic potential of a non-genotoxic PPAR-delta agonist | Oral gavage, daily, 104 weeks, at 0, 10, 30, 60 or 80 mg/kg/day | Group sizes not stated in the abstract | Newsholme SJ, Dunsford WS, Brodie T, Brennan C, Brown M, Geiger LE 2009, Society of Toxicology annual meeting abstract 896 (The Toxicologist); GlaxoSmithKline and Huntingdon Life Sciences; never published in full and not indexed in PubMed |
| GW501516 reported at 3.49% by mass in one of 60 dietary supplements screened. The paper reports SARMs detected at high concentrations in 20 of the 60 products and does not state how many contained GW501516 specifically | Dietary supplement products purchased online and by direct purchase from international vendors in 2020, screened by LC-MS/MS with LC-Q-TOF/MS confirmation | In vitro analysis of product material | 60 products | Lee 2021, Food Addit Contam Part A, PMID 33934684 |
| One clinical ejaculate specimen contained GW1516 at approximately 48 ng/mL with its sulfoxide and sulfone metabolites; the two athletes' urine samples contained the sulfoxide at 4 and 14 pg/mL and the sulfone at 5 pg/mL each | Clinical ejaculate specimens from a university hospital andrology service, plus two doping-control urine samples under investigation | Not applicable; analytical case investigation | 361 seminal fluid specimens; 2 athlete cases | Breuer 2024, Forensic Toxicol, PMID 38704758 |
| Elimination half-life of roughly 12 to 24 hours, variously given as 16 to 24 or 20 to 24 hours | Searched PubMed for the compound name combined with half-life and with pharmacokinetics, and searched Europe PMC for the phrase pairs "GW501516" AND "half-life" (89 hits, all reviews or unrelated mechanism papers) and "GW1516" AND "elimination half-life" (0 hits). None of the four published human trials reports a half-life or any pharmacokinetic parameter in its abstract, though a GlaxoSmithKline pharmacokineticist is an author on the 2007 first-in-man report. No primary human or animal pharmacokinetic study reporting this figure was located. The range appears only in secondary commercial and forum material. | No source found | ||
| Increases endurance by 70 per cent | Traced to Narkar 2008 in Cell (PMID 18674809) and retrieved in full from PubMed Central. The paper reports the opposite for the drug on its own: running performance was unchanged by GW1516 treatment in sedentary mice. The 68 per cent running-time and 70 per cent running-distance figures come from animals given the same dose alongside four weeks of treadmill training, with nine mice dosed per cohort and six per group actually run. The training condition is absent everywhere the figure circulates. | No source found | ||
| Doubles running distance | Traced to Wang 2004 in PLoS Biology (PMID 15328533). The animal that ran up to twice the distance of its wild-type littermate was a transgenic mouse expressing an activated PPAR-delta in skeletal muscle, engineered rather than dosed. Drug treatment of wild-type mice in that paper produced a comparable fibre-type gene expression profile only. No published study reports a doubling of running distance from administration of this compound. | No source found | ||
| A 44 per cent increase in endurance in untrained animals | Traced to the same Narkar 2008 paper, where the figure belongs to AICAR, an AMP-activated protein kinase activator tested in parallel at 500 mg/kg/day intraperitoneally for four weeks in sedentary mice: roughly 23 per cent longer and 44 per cent further than vehicle. It is a different molecule and appears under this compound's name by transfer, not by measurement. | No source found | ||
| Liver tumour incidence reaching ninety per cent in the rodent carcinogenicity studies | Both Society of Toxicology 2009 abstracts were retrieved in full. Mitchell and Bishop-Bailey 2019 (PMID 30351241) prints an archive URL for the meeting's abstract volume in its own reference list; that file downloads intact and abstracts 895 (rats, Geiger) and 896 (mice, Newsholme) appear together on one page. Both were read verbatim. Neither contains an incidence figure of any kind. They give tumour sites and the dose levels at which each occurred, and the rat abstract reports increased female mortality at all doses, but no percentage incidence is stated for any tumour in either species, and group sizes are not given. A PubMed search on the compound name with carcinogenicity returns three records, all secondary; a Europe PMC search returns thirty-one, all reviews; neither abstract is indexed in PubMed. The ninety per cent figure could not be traced to either abstract or to any other retrievable document. | No source found | ||
| The cancer findings used doses hundreds or thousands of times higher than any amount a person would take | The rodent dose levels are readable in the retrieved abstracts: 3 to 40 mg/kg/day in rats and 10 to 80 mg/kg/day in mice, both by oral gavage for 104 weeks. What could not be traced is either quantified version of the argument built on them. Neither the "hundreds or thousands of times" claim, nor its mirror image that the human-equivalent margin was only five- to tenfold above the doses used in the published human trials, appears in any retrievable source. Searches of PubMed and Europe PMC on the compound name with safety margin, human equivalent dose and allometric scaling returned no primary analysis. The arithmetic can now be done against real dose levels; no published source performs it, so neither figure is repeated here as fact. | No source found | ||
| No adverse effects were observed in any human trial | The four published human reports are lipid and lipoprotein papers and none of their abstracts reports a safety analysis. None of the four ClinicalTrials.gov registrations has results posted, so no adverse-event tables are available from the registry either; the study-record fields for posted results are empty on NCT00158899, NCT00388180, NCT00318617 and NCT00841217. NCT00318617 is recorded as terminated, with no reason given in the registry. The absence of published harm across twelve weeks in a few hundred people is not the same finding as a reported absence of harm, and the two are frequently conflated. | No source found | ||
| Non-hormonal, so it does not suppress testosterone and requires no post-cycle intervention | Searched the four published human trial reports for endocrine endpoints; the measured outcomes are lipids, apolipoproteins, insulin, glucose, free fatty acids, liver fat, isoprostanes and FGF21. No published human study located measured testosterone, luteinising hormone or follicle-stimulating hormone during administration. The receptor pharmacology is not androgenic. That is a statement about the drug target. No measurement of gonadal output in a person was found in any primary source. The rat carcinogenicity abstract does record interstitial cell adenoma of the testes at 40 mg/kg/day, which is a gonadal finding, though not a measure of hormone output. | No source found | ||
The published human record is four trials, all measuring lipids
Sprecher and colleagues reported the first administration to people in 2007. Healthy volunteers were allocated placebo (n=6) or GW501516 at 2.5 mg (n=9) or 10 mg (n=9), orally once daily for two weeks, hospitalised and sedentary throughout. HDL cholesterol rose in both treated groups, at P=0.004 for 2.5 mg and P<0.001 for 10 mg, measured against a fall of 11.5 plus or minus 1.6 per cent in the placebo group. Serum triglyceride trended downward at 10 mg without reaching significance (P=0.08), while triglyceride clearance after a fat-feeding challenge improved on drug (P=0.02).
Risérus and colleagues ran a double-blind randomised study in 2008 with three parallel groups of six moderately overweight men, giving 10 mg daily for two weeks against a PPAR-alpha comparator and placebo. Reported reductions were 30 per cent for fasting triglycerides, 26 per cent for apolipoprotein B, 23 per cent for LDL cholesterol and 11 per cent for insulin, with liver fat content down 20 per cent and urinary isoprostanes down 30 per cent. HDL cholesterol was unchanged in that trial, a null result where the other three reported increases. This trial is held separately from the other three; the figures are not averaged. Christodoulides and colleagues later reported plasma FGF21 rose 32 per cent in a six-subject delta-agonist group; matching dose, duration, comparator, group size and authorship indicate the same cohort, though neither report states this.
Ooi and colleagues published a randomised crossover study in 2011 in thirteen dyslipidaemic men with central obesity, six weeks on 2.5 mg daily with a two-week washout, tracking apolipoprotein kinetics with stable isotopes. The largest trial is Olson and colleagues in 2012: 268 patients with HDL cholesterol below 1.16 mmol/L given 2.5, 5.0 or 10.0 mg or placebo for twelve weeks. Reported changes at 10 mg were HDL cholesterol up to 16.9 per cent higher and apoA-I 6.6 per cent higher, with LDL cholesterol down 7.3 per cent, triglycerides down 16.9 per cent, apoB down 14.9 per cent and free fatty acids down 19.4 per cent.
Four studies appear on ClinicalTrials.gov under this intervention and none has results posted. The 2012 paper prints the accession NCT00258899, which the registry returns as not found. The nearest existing registration is NCT00158899, a GlaxoSmithKline phase 2 dose-response trial in the same population, 424 enrolled, completed June 2006. That record carries two different treatment durations in two different fields: the official title says eight weeks, while the primary outcome measure reads change from baseline in fasting plasma HDL cholesterol at the end of twelve weeks of double-blind treatment, with a registered timeframe of twelve weeks. The record contradicts itself, which weakens rather than supports treating it as a study separate from Olson 2012.
A second registration, NCT00388180, covers 71 overweight and obese subjects for twelve weeks, with body fat levels as its registered primary outcome measure, and no publication reporting it was located. A fourth, NCT00318617, is a terminated GlaxoSmithKline study in 30 healthy male subjects over four weeks, measuring energy-related chemicals and heart contraction by MRI. An intervention-name query misses it because the registry spells the drug GW510516X, with two digits transposed. No human study has published an endurance, exercise-performance or body-composition result. Registered body composition and registered cardiac energetics both remain unreported, and twelve weeks is the longest published human exposure.
Development stopped on data never published in full
Mackenzie and Lione's 2013 review in Life Sciences records the sequence plainly: after clinical trials in dyslipidaemia, GlaxoSmithKline announced that further research would be discontinued because preclinical work in rodents linked the compound to widespread tumour development. The primary data behind that decision are two abstracts presented to the Society of Toxicology in 2009, one on rats from Geiger and colleagues and one on mice from Newsholme and colleagues. Both come from the sponsor's safety assessment groups in King of Prussia and Ware, with the studies run at Huntingdon Life Sciences.
Neither abstract has been published as a full peer-reviewed paper and neither is indexed in PubMed. Mitchell and Bishop-Bailey state the non-publication directly in their 2019 letter in Pulmonary Circulation. That same letter prints, in its own reference list, an archive URL for the meeting's abstract volume. The volume downloads intact and both abstracts sit on one page, numbered 895 and 896. Species, strain, route, duration, dose levels and organ-by-organ tumour findings are stated in them. This material was never peer-reviewed, but it is readable, and it is recorded in the ledger below.
The rat study dosed Han Wistar rats by oral gavage for 104 weeks. Males received 0, 5, 15 or 30 mg/kg/day for the first six weeks and 0, 5, 20 or 40 mg/kg/day for the remainder; females received 0, 3, 10 or 20 mg/kg/day throughout. Neoplastic findings occurred in multiple tissues at all doses: liver, urinary bladder, thyroid, tongue, stomach, skin, Harderian gland, testes, ovary and uterus. The heaviest finding is in the females. Mortality was increased at every dose tested, and uterine endometrial adenocarcinoma contributed to death in a high proportion of those animals, with uterine polyp and endometrial adenocarcinoma recorded from 3 mg/kg/day, the lowest dose given to females.
The mouse study dosed CD1 mice by oral gavage for 104 weeks at 0, 10, 30, 60 or 80 mg/kg/day, with survival decreased at 30 mg/kg/day and above. Neoplasms considered test-article related occurred in liver and stomach, with combined squamous cell tumours at all doses. One figure circulates alongside these studies that the abstracts do not contain: an incidence reaching ninety per cent. That number is recorded below as untraced. The dose levels can now be read, so the competing arguments about safety margins can be checked against real numbers instead of asserted against missing ones.
Where the endurance figures come from
Narkar and colleagues published the treadmill work in Cell in 2008. Adult male C57BL/6J mice received GW1516 at 5 mg per kg per day for four weeks, orally, in cohorts of nine, of which six per group were put through the running test at week five. The remaining three per group were held back from the treadmill so that muscle changes could be separated from the acute run. In sedentary animals the result was null: the authors describe running performance as unchanged by GW1516 treatment. That sentence sits in the same paper that produced the figure now attached to the compound everywhere.
Pairing the identical dose and duration with four weeks of treadmill training changed the outcome. The paper reports running time increased by 68 per cent and running distance by 70 per cent relative to trained controls. The circulating claim of a seventy per cent endurance gain traces to that arm and carries the training requirement with it, which the claim as repeated does not. A separate figure of roughly 44 per cent also circulates under this compound's name; in the paper it belongs to AICAR, an AMPK activator given at 500 mg per kg per day intraperitoneally for four weeks and tested in sedentary animals.
Wang and colleagues published the doubling result in PLoS Biology in 2004, and the mouse that ran up to twice the distance of its wild-type littermate was transgenic, expressing an activated form of PPAR-delta in skeletal muscle. Drug treatment of wild-type mice in that paper elicited a similar type I fibre gene expression profile; the running distance was a property of the genotype, not the compound. That paper carries a correction printed in January 2005 which adds a competing-interest disclosure for the senior author, naming a consulting relationship with a company that received milestone payments from GlaxoSmithKline for the development of GW501516.
The preclinical metabolic findings
Oliver and colleagues dosed male obese rhesus monkeys, mean age 12.9 years, orally at 0.1 mg per kg for four weeks and then 0.3, 1.0 and 3.0 mg per kg over sequential four-week periods. At the top dose they reported HDL cholesterol 79 per cent above baseline, triglycerides 56 per cent lower, LDL particle number 36 per cent lower and fasting insulin 48 per cent lower. The design escalates dose within each animal against its own vehicle baseline, with no parallel control group. Six animals entered the study and five reached the 3.0 mg per kg step, one having been withdrawn as a precaution after showing reduced food intake at 1.0 mg per kg.
Tanaka and colleagues reported in 2003 that the compound induced fatty acid beta-oxidation genes in rat L6 myotubes and in mouse skeletal muscle, that high-fat-fed mice showed attenuated diet-induced obesity and insulin resistance, and that plasma glucose and insulin fell in genetically obese ob/ob mice. Krämer and colleagues worked in primary cultured human muscle cells in 2007 and reported AMPK phosphorylation alongside increased fatty acid transport, fatty acid oxidation and glucose uptake; small interfering RNA showed the glucose-uptake effect required AMPK but not PPAR-delta itself. Those are cell and rodent findings and were not tested against a performance endpoint in a person.
Tumour biology is contested in both directions
Gupta and colleagues treated Apc-Min mice, which are predisposed to intestinal polyposis, with GW501516 and reported a significant increase in the number and size of intestinal polyps, the most prominent effect being a fivefold rise in polyps larger than 2 mm. That 2004 report in Nature Medicine is the clearest published tumour-promoting result for this specific ligand. The polyps were counted in a genetically sensitised strain over a short period, which is a promotion model and not a carcinogenicity design.
Evidence pointing the other way exists and uses different tools. Marin and colleagues reported in 2006 that ligand activation of PPAR-beta inhibited colon polyp multiplicity in azoxymethane-treated wild-type mice and produced no such effect in receptor-null animals; the ligand used there was GW0742, a related compound and not this one. Foreman and colleagues reported in 2011 that PPAR-beta/delta mRNA and protein expression was lower, and cyclin D1 protein higher, in human colon adenocarcinomas than in matched non-transformed tissue. The cell-line arms of that study also used GW0742, the same ligand substitution that applies to Marin.
The sponsor's own 104-week mouse study speaks directly to this question. Its abstract states that the results demonstrate an increase in proliferation in certain epithelial cell populations but do not support a role for PPAR-delta in colon carcinogenesis. Both 2009 abstracts add that some of the tumour types observed have not been reported with either PPAR-alpha or PPAR-gamma agonists, and may reflect tumour promotion mediated through PPAR-delta agonism. The 104-week data therefore cut two ways at once: against a colon mechanism, and toward receptor-mediated promotion at squamous, hepatic and endocrine sites.
Regulatory and anti-doping status, and material in circulation
The 2026 WADA Prohibited List names the compound explicitly at S4.4.1, under metabolic modulators, listing peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor delta agonists with the full chemical name followed by GW1516 and GW501516 in parentheses, alongside AMPK activators and Rev-erb-alpha agonists. Substances in class S4.4 are prohibited at all times, in and out of competition, and are non-Specified Substances. WADA issued a public alert in March 2013 warning anti-doping organisations about the compound, stating that development had been terminated on serious preclinical toxicities and that clinical approval had not been and would not be given.
No regulator has approved the molecule as a medicine in any jurisdiction, and the sponsor ended development in 2006 and 2007. USADA's guidance states the compound is not legally permitted in any medication, supplement or food, which makes a therapeutic use exemption unavailable. That same guidance also states the compound has not undergone human studies, which does not match the four published trials described above. The discrepancy stands unresolved here. The trials exist and are indexed, and the anti-doping guidance is the more widely read document.
Material bearing the name reaches consumers through supplement channels. A Korean Ministry of Food and Drug Safety laboratory screened 60 dietary supplements bought online and directly from international vendors in 2020 and reported GW501516 present at 3.49 per cent by mass in one product, within a set of 20 products found to contain SARMs at high concentrations. Breuer and colleagues reported in 2024 on two adverse analytical findings investigated as possible transfer through intimate contact; screening 361 clinical ejaculate specimens returned one containing GW1516 at roughly 48 ng/mL together with its sulfoxide and sulfone metabolites, while the athletes' urine samples carried those metabolites at 4 to 14 pg/mL.
What is not known
The decisive toxicology was never peer-reviewed. Tumours in rats and mice after 104 weeks of dosing are documented only as two 2009 conference abstracts from the sponsor. Those abstracts are readable in the archived meeting volume and state species, strain, route, duration, dose levels and tumour sites, but they report no incidence figures, no group sizes and no no-observed-effect level, and no full study report has ever appeared. On the human side, the published exposure ceiling is twelve weeks in 268 patients, all endpoints lipid or lipoprotein; there is no published human pharmacokinetics, no half-life, no dose-proportionality data, no hepatic or renal safety series, no endocrine measurement, and no results posted to ClinicalTrials.gov for any of the four registrations. No human study has published a result for exercise capacity, endurance, body composition or muscle fibre type, which is the entire basis on which the compound circulates; body composition was registered as the primary outcome of NCT00388180 and cardiac energetics as the primary outcome of the terminated NCT00318617, and neither was ever reported. The receptor's role in tumour biology is unsettled two decades after the question was raised: one ligand accelerated adenoma growth in Apc-Min mice, a related ligand attenuated chemically induced colon carcinogenesis in wild-type mice, and the sponsor's own 104-week mouse study found no support for a colon mechanism while recording squamous and hepatic tumours at every dose. Nothing here establishes carcinogenicity or its absence in a person, and no regulator anywhere has approved the molecule for any use.
Questions
Has Cardarine been given to humans in trials?
Why was development stopped?
Where does the seventy per cent endurance figure come from?
Is it a SARM?
What is its status in sport and in law?
References
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 9803963, GW501516. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026: CAS 317318-70-0, C21H18F3NO3S2, 453.5 g/mol, UNII 7I2HA1NU22, CHEMBL38943. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Oliver WR Jr, Shenk JL, Snaith MR, et al. A selective peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor delta agonist promotes reverse cholesterol transport. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2001;98(9):5306-5311. Table 2 legend states n = 6 for all doses except 3.0 mg/kg where n = 5. PMID 11309497 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Tanaka T, Yamamoto J, Iwasaki S, et al. Activation of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor delta induces fatty acid beta-oxidation in skeletal muscle and attenuates metabolic syndrome. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2003;100(26):15924-15929. PMID 14676330 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Wang YX, Zhang CL, Yu RT, et al. Regulation of muscle fiber type and running endurance by PPARdelta. PLoS Biol. 2004;2(10):e294. Correction at PLoS Biol 2005;3(1):e61, adding a competing-interest disclosure for the senior author naming a consulting relationship with a company receiving milestone payments from GlaxoSmithKline for the development of GW501516. PMID 15328533 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Gupta RA, Wang D, Katkuri S, Wang H, Dey SK, DuBois RN. Activation of nuclear hormone receptor peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor-delta accelerates intestinal adenoma growth. Nat Med. 2004;10(3):245-247. PMID 14758356 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Marin HE, Peraza MA, Billin AN, et al. Ligand activation of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor beta inhibits colon carcinogenesis. Cancer Res. 2006;66(8):4394-4401. The ligand used was GW0742, not GW501516. PMID 16618765 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sprecher DL, Massien C, Pearce G, et al. Triglyceride:high-density lipoprotein cholesterol effects in healthy subjects administered a peroxisome proliferator activated receptor delta agonist. Arterioscler Thromb Vasc Biol. 2007;27(2):359-365. PubMed publication type: Randomized Controlled Trial. PMID 17110604 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Krämer DK, Al-Khalili L, Guigas B, Leng Y, Garcia-Roves PM, Krook A. Role of AMP kinase and PPARdelta in the regulation of lipid and glucose metabolism in human skeletal muscle. J Biol Chem. 2007;282(27):19313-19320. PMID 17500064 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Risérus U, Sprecher D, Johnson T, et al. Activation of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor (PPAR)delta promotes reversal of multiple metabolic abnormalities, reduces oxidative stress, and increases fatty acid oxidation in moderately obese men. Diabetes. 2008;57(2):332-339. Reports HDL cholesterol unchanged. PubMed publication type: Randomized Controlled Trial. PMID 18024853 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Narkar VA, Downes M, Yu RT, et al. AMPK and PPARdelta agonists are exercise mimetics. Cell. 2008;134(3):405-415. Experimental Procedures state four cohorts of N=9, of which 6 mice per group were subjected to the running test. PubMed links a comment at Cell 2008;135(1):189 which has no PMID of its own and whose text could not be retrieved. No retraction or expression of concern. PMID 18674809 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Christodoulides C, Dyson P, Sprecher D, Tsintzas K, Karpe F. Circulating fibroblast growth factor 21 is induced by peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor agonists but not ketosis in man. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2009;94(9):3594-3601. PMID 19531592 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Society of Toxicology, 48th Annual Meeting 2009, abstract volume (The Toxicologist). Abstract 895: Geiger LE, Dunsford WS, Lewis DJ, Brennan C, Liu KC, Newsholme SJ. Rat carcinogenicity study with GW501516, a PPAR delta agonist. Abstract 896: Newsholme SJ, Dunsford WS, Brodie T, Brennan C, Brown M, Geiger LE. Mouse carcinogenicity study with GW501516, a PPAR delta agonist. GlaxoSmithKline Safety Assessment (King of Prussia and Ware) with Huntingdon Life Sciences. Neither abstract is indexed in PubMed and neither has been published as a full peer-reviewed paper; both were read verbatim from the archived volume, page 188 of the PDF. View on web.archive.org
- Foreman JE, Chang WC, Palkar PS, et al. Functional characterization of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor-beta/delta expression in colon cancer. Mol Carcinog. 2011;50(11):884-900. Reports PPARbeta/delta mRNA and protein expression lower in human colon adenocarcinomas than in matched non-transformed tissue; the ligand used in the cell-line work was GW0742, not GW501516. PMID 21400612 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Ooi EM, Watts GF, Sprecher DL, Chan DC, Barrett PH. Mechanism of action of a peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor (PPAR)-delta agonist on lipoprotein metabolism in dyslipidemic subjects with central obesity. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2011;96(10):E1568-E1576. PubMed publication type: Randomized Controlled Trial. PMID 21816786 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Olson EJ, Pearce GL, Jones NP, Sprecher DL. Lipid effects of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor-delta agonist GW501516 in subjects with low high-density lipoprotein cholesterol: characteristics of metabolic syndrome. Arterioscler Thromb Vasc Biol. 2012;32(9):2289-2294. The report describes GW501516 or placebo for 12 weeks and names no active comparator. The paper prints ClinicalTrials.gov accessions NCT00258899, which the registry returns as not found, and NCT00388180. PMID 22814748 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mackenzie LS, Lione L. Harnessing the benefits of PPARbeta/delta agonists. Life Sci. 2013;93(25-26):963-967. Records that GlaxoSmithKline discontinued research following rodent preclinical work linking the compound to widespread tumour development. PMID 24184294 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Mitchell JA, Bishop-Bailey D. PPARbeta/delta a potential target in pulmonary hypertension blighted by cancer risk. Pulm Circ. 2019;9(1):2045894018812053. States that the rat and mouse carcinogenicity studies have not been published as full peer-reviewed papers, and prints in its own reference list the archive URL for the 2009 Society of Toxicology abstract volume in which both appear. Also names four ClinicalTrials.gov registrations: NCT00388180, NCT00318617, NCT00158899 and NCT00841217. PMID 30351241 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- World Anti-Doping Agency. Prohibited List 2026, in effect 1 January 2026. Section S4.4.1 lists PPAR-delta agonists, e.g. GW1516, GW501516, prohibited at all times; classes S4.3 and S4.4 are non-Specified Substances. View on www.wada-ama.org
Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.