Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Neboglamine (CR 2249)

Neboglamine is a glutamic acid derivative indexed in PubChem as CID 3074827 and registered under International Nonproprietary Name number 7929. Five papers exist under its three names, the newest from 2010, and every one is preclinical or in vitro. A January 2007 company announcement states that healthy volunteers had been dosed at a clinical pharmacology unit in France; it gives no date for that dosing, and no result from that work has ever been published. ClinicalTrials.gov and the EU Clinical Trials Register both return zero registered studies.

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyRat, mouse and gerbil models plus human cortical tissue in vitro; Phase 1 dosing was announced in 2007 but never published, and no trial is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov or the EU Clinical Trials Register 16 claims logged 10 with primary citations 6 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Glutamic acid derivative; small molecule, not a peptide. Functional modulator at the NMDA receptor complex; binding site not established — see the unsourced ledger.
CAS number
163000-63-3
PubChem CID
3074827
Molecular formula
C13H24N2O3
Molecular weight
256.34 g/mol
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
Neboglamine (INN 7929); nebostinel (former name); CR 2249 / CR-2249; XY-2401; (S)-4-amino-N-(4,4-dimethylcyclohexyl)glutaramic acid; UNII 12EA34U5B8; ChEMBL1255840; MeSH C105010; EPA DTXSID2045787; InChIKey VCRGLZYPNNAVRP-JTQLQIEISA-N. Hydrochloride salt: CAS 2759182-59-5, PubChem CID 165412562, C13H25ClN2O3, 292.80 g/mol, InChIKey HBFGFOLPJKUNCS-PPHPATTJSA-N. Inactive enantiomer referred to in the literature as CR 2361. Principal metabolite per US 7,737,180 B2: CR 2863 (not the same molecule; no separate registry identity verified here).

Chemical identity, and a name that was replaced

Two names sit on one PubChem record. CID 3074827 carries Neboglamine and Nebostinel together, along with CAS 163000-63-3, molecular formula C13H24N2O3, molecular weight 256.34 g/mol, InChIKey VCRGLZYPNNAVRP-JTQLQIEISA-N and UNII 12EA34U5B8. The IUPAC name on that record is (4S)-4-amino-5-[(4,4-dimethylcyclohexyl)amino]-5-oxopentanoic acid, which is a glutamic acid derivative carrying a 4,4-dimethylcyclohexyl amide. It is a small synthetic molecule and not a peptide, despite the amino-acid backbone. Two development codes attach to the same structure: CR 2249, used by the Italian originator, and XY-2401, used by the American licensee. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files neboglamine as the official name and nebostinel as a common one, against INN number 7929. The public registry page built on that same record prints the designation the other way round, with nebostinel as the official name, so the two displays disagree.

Stereochemistry is load-bearing here. The published assays used the (S) enantiomer, written in the older papers as (S)CR 2249, and the opposite enantiomer, CR 2361, was reported inactive in the same preparation. One laboratory reported that inactivity, in two papers three years apart (PMID 9336311, PMID 10381808); no independent group has published a test of CR 2361, and it is not mentioned in the record of Lanza 1997 (PMID 9294970). Catalogue material more often lists a hydrochloride salt, which has its own record: CAS 2759182-59-5, PubChem CID 165412562, C13H25ClN2O3, 292.80 g/mol. The free acid and the salt are separate registry entries and should not be read as interchangeable numbers.

Nothing under any of these names is approved anywhere. A Drugs@FDA query on neboglamine as an active ingredient returns no match, and an openFDA label search returns no match. The Global Substance Registration System records the approval year as unknown. An International Nonproprietary Name is a naming decision taken by the World Health Organization and carries no regulatory weight; the registry records INN 7929 and links a WHO extranet page for it, but it does not name a proposed list, and the WHO proposed lists are published as scans with no text layer, so no list number could be established from a source.

Claim ledger

10 of 16 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Identified in one sample by one of twelve laboratories; presented mainly as a substandard or falsified medicine, legal status recorded as research chemicalProducts purchased or seized in Europe and Australia, January 2020 to September 2024Not applicable; chemical identification of marketed products159 samples, 166 molecular identification entries, 34 distinct moleculesVanhee 2025, J Xenobiot, PMID 40558871
Fos-like immunoreactivity rose 3.2-fold in prefrontal cortex, 4.8-fold in nucleus accumbens and 4.5-fold in lateral septal nucleus, with no effect in dorsolateral striatum, where haloperidol gave a 390-fold increaseRats, forebrain immunohistochemistryNot stated in the retrieved abstractNot stated in the retrieved abstractChiusaroli 2010, Pharmacol Res, PMID 20045056
Inhibited phencyclidine-induced hyperlocomotion and rearing dose-dependently; basal locomotor activity unchanged, unlike haloperidol and clozapine in the same experimentRats, phencyclidine-induced behaviourOralNot stated in the retrieved abstractChiusaroli 2010, Pharmacol Res, PMID 20045056
At 3, 10 and 30 micromolar the efficacy of the glycine effect rose concentration-dependently while glycine potency was not significantly changed (glycine EC50 21.5 +/- 4.2 micromolar); tritiated dizocilpine binding rose concentration-dependently with positive cooperativity between glycine and the compoundRat hippocampal slices and membrane binding preparationsIn vitro superfusion and radioligand bindingNot stated in the retrieved abstractLanza 1997, Neuropharmacology, PMID 9294970
Potently prevented kynurenate antagonism of NMDA-evoked tritiated noradrenaline release while the enantiomer CR 2361 did not; in synaptosomes glycine and D-cycloserine enhanced NMDA-evoked release whereas CR 2249 and oxiracetam did notRat hippocampal slices and synaptosomesIn vitro superfusionNot stated in the retrieved abstractPittaluga 1997, J Pharmacol Exp Ther, PMID 9336311
Prevented the antagonism produced by 300 micromolar kynurenate with an EC50 below 10 micromolar; the enantiomer CR 2361 was inactiveSlices of human neocortex from patients undergoing neurosurgeryIn vitro superfusionNumber of tissue donors not stated in the retrieved abstractPittaluga 1999, J Pharmacol Exp Ther, PMID 10381808
Reduced the memory-retention deficit produced by scopolamine in step-through passive avoidance and by electroconvulsive shock in step-down passive avoidance; effect reported only when given 45 minutes before training, absent when given after training or before the retention trial; hippocampal noradrenaline release rose and DHPG efflux fell on microdialysisRats (passive and active avoidance, microdialysis) and mice (step-down passive avoidance)Not stated in the retrieved abstractNot stated in the retrieved abstractGarofalo 1996, J Pharm Pharmacol, PMID 9004193
Reversed a phencyclidine-induced prepulse inhibition deficit dose-dependently, with approximately 80 per cent inhibition of the phencyclidine effect at the top doseRats of approximately 250 gIntraperitoneal, 1, 3 and 10 mg/kg10 per groupUS Patent 7,737,180 B2, priority 24 May 2004, granted 2010 (patent example, not peer reviewed)
Immobility rose from 48 s in controls to 130 s after fourteen days' daily phencyclidine and was 58 s at neboglamine 10 mg/kg, which the patent reports as 87.8 per cent inhibition of the phencyclidine effect by its own stated formula [PCP - (N+PCP)] / (PCP - Control) x 100; immobility itself fell by roughly 55 per centMice, after 14 days' daily phencyclidine 10 mg/kg s.c. pre-treatmentIntraperitoneal, 3 and 10 mg/kg10 per groupUS Patent 7,737,180 B2, priority 24 May 2004, granted 2010 (patent example, not peer reviewed)
Cocaine-induced hyperactivity inhibited by 88 per cent and morphine-induced hyperactivity by 77.5 per centRatsNeboglamine 30 mg/kg intraperitoneally; cocaine 20 mg/kg and morphine 10 mg/kg subcutaneouslyNot stated per group in the patent textUS Patent 8,258,185 B2, priority 4 October 2005, granted 2012 (patent example, not peer reviewed)
A specific milligram human dose range and a half-life of approximately four hours.Searched PubMed on 19 August 2026 for neboglamine, nebostinel and CR 2249 combined with pharmacokinetics, half-life and bioavailability: zero records for every combination. None of the five published papers contains a human pharmacokinetic measurement. ClinicalTrials.gov and the EU Clinical Trials Register return zero registered studies. The only human dosing on public record is described in a January 2007 company announcement that states no dose, no participant number and no pharmacokinetic parameter. Both figures appear on aggregator library pages and catalogue copy without a citation. The milligram range is not reproduced here.No source found
The compound is safe and well tolerated within its expected dose range, and has an antidepressant effect.This one is traced, but not to a journal. Both halves appear verbatim in the 8 January 2007 trade announcement cited as r15: 'These study results indicate that Neboglamine is safe and well-tolerated within the dose range that is expected for efficacy' and 'Neboglamine is a new potential anti-psychotic agent that has been shown to improve cognitive performance and which has anxiolytic and anti-depressive activity in preclinical animal models.' That document reports no participant count, no dose, no adverse event and no measured value of any kind, and it was not peer reviewed. Separately, an aggregator library page attributes similar wording to a conference abstract at fens2010.neurosciences.asso.fr/abstracts/rpdf3/a079_21.pdf; retrieval attempted 19 August 2026 returned a connection failure rather than an HTTP status, the host having ceased to resolve, and the Wayback Machine replay for that path returns 404 with no capture on record. PubMed and Europe PMC return no publication containing either statement. The trace ends at a commercial announcement with no data behind it.No source found
Neboglamine is a positive allosteric modulator of the glycine site of the NMDA receptor.The primary papers do not locate the binding site there. Lanza 1997 (PMID 9294970) reported that the compound raised the efficacy but not the potency of glycine and showed positive cooperativity with glycine on tritiated dizocilpine binding, and concluded that it probably acts at a separate allosteric site. Pittaluga 1997 (PMID 9336311) concluded that compounds active in the kynurenate test may bind to sites different from the glycine site. Chiusaroli 2010 (PMID 20045056) calls it a functional modulator of the glycine site without reporting a binding measurement. A PubMed search for the compound combined with binding, radioligand and displacement returned no glycine-site displacement study. The label describes a functional effect, not a measured binding site.No source found
Affinity at the NMDA receptor of 10 micromolar, expressed as a Ki.The figure appears on the NCATS Inxight substance record for UNII 12EA34U5B8, typed as a Ki against ChEMBL target CHEMBL2094124, and is sourced there to the dead FENS 2010 abstract described above and to Koester 2014 (PMID 25234340), a review of emerging schizophrenia drugs rather than a pharmacology paper. The ChEMBL activity table for CHEMBL1255840 was recorded on an earlier retrieval as eight records: six high-throughput screening panels against unrelated targets including lamin A splicing, Bloom syndrome helicase, G9a methyltransferase and Lassa virus entry, one lipid storage screen, and one pharmaceutical-company LogD measurement. None is an NMDA receptor binding or functional assay. That inventory could not be re-verified on 19 August 2026: the ChEMBL data API returned HTTP 500 on five attempts across JSON, XML and query-parameter forms, so the eight rows stand unconfirmed rather than disproved. No primary Ki determination was located.No source found
The compound reached Phase 2 for schizophrenia and for cocaine dependence as of June 2015.ClinicalTrials.gov API v2 queried 19 August 2026 by intervention and by free text across neboglamine, nebostinel and CR 2249: zero studies on all six queries. EU Clinical Trials Register search for neboglamine returned the message that the query did not match any clinical trials. ChEMBL records max_phase 2.0 for CHEMBL1255840 with no trial identifier attached, on an earlier retrieval that could not be repeated on 19 August 2026 because the ChEMBL data API returned HTTP 500. The dated claim traces to a subscription pipeline database record, 800004810, cited by NCATS; that URL redirects to an identity provider and the record is not readable without access. Whether a Phase 2 study was ever conducted, and in which country, cannot be established from any open source.No source found
Neboglamine is a weak norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor, an effect more apparent above a stated dose.PubMed searches for the compound combined with norepinephrine transporter, noradrenaline reuptake and uptake inhibition returned only the kynurenate-test papers and Garofalo 1996 (PMID 9004193). That paper reported increased noradrenaline release and reduced efflux of the metabolite DHPG on hippocampal microdialysis in freely moving rats. That is a measurement of release and metabolism in a rodent; the paper reports no transporter assay and no human data. No uptake-inhibition assay, IC50 at the noradrenaline transporter, or human dose-response was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or the ChEMBL activity table.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What the in vitro work established about the glycine site

The kynurenate test, built by Pittaluga and colleagues in 1997, measures function: rat hippocampal slices, NMDA-evoked release of tritiated noradrenaline, blocked by kynurenic acid, with the question being which compounds reverse that block. No binding measurement is involved. CR 2249 reversed the block and its enantiomer did not. The same paper reported a result that complicates the usual description of this molecule. In synaptosomes, glycine and D-cycloserine enhanced NMDA-evoked release, while oxiracetam and CR 2249 did not, and the authors concluded that drugs active in their test may bind to sites different from the glycine site of the NMDA receptor.

Lanza and colleagues examined the interaction directly in the same year. Working in rat hippocampal slices, they reported that (S)CR 2249 at 3, 10 and 30 micromolar raised the efficacy of glycine's reversal of kynurenate antagonism in a concentration-dependent way while glycine's potency was not significantly changed (glycine EC50 21.5 plus or minus 4.2 micromolar). In binding experiments the molecule increased tritiated dizocilpine binding concentration-dependently, with positive cooperative interaction between glycine and the compound. Their stated conclusion was that it probably acts at a separate allosteric site to increase NMDA receptor functionality.

Human tissue enters the record once, and only in vitro. Pittaluga and colleagues repeated the assay in 1999 in slices of human cerebral cortex taken from patients undergoing neurosurgery, and reported that CR 2249 prevented the antagonism produced by 300 micromolar kynurenate with an EC50 under 10 micromolar, alongside aniracetam, oxiracetam and D-cycloserine. The enantiomer was again inactive. That is human neocortex in a superfusion chamber, not a person taking a compound, and the paper reports no patient count for the tissue donors in its abstract.

The rodent record, and the part of it that sits in patents

Garofalo and colleagues in 1996 reported the first behavioural results: CR 2249 reduced the memory-retention deficit produced by scopolamine in a step-through passive avoidance procedure in rats and by electroconvulsive shock in a step-down procedure in mice, and performance also changed in animals with no induced cholinergic deficit. Timing was specific: an effect was reported only when the compound was given 45 minutes before training, and none when it was given immediately after training or before the retention trial. Microdialysis in freely moving rats showed increased hippocampal noradrenaline release and reduced efflux of its metabolite. Doses, route and group sizes are absent from the retrieved abstract.

Chiusaroli and colleagues published the last primary paper on this molecule in 2010. Counting Fos-like immunoreactivity in rat forebrain, they reported increases of 3.2-fold in prefrontal cortex, 4.8-fold in nucleus accumbens and 4.5-fold in lateral septal nucleus, and no effect in dorsolateral striatum, where haloperidol produced a 390-fold increase. In the same 2010 rat study, oral neboglamine inhibited phencyclidine-induced hyperlocomotion and rearing dose-dependently while basal locomotor activity was unchanged, unlike haloperidol and clozapine in the same experiment (PMID 20045056); the retrieved abstract states neither dose nor animals per group.

Two patents carry experiments that were never published as papers. US 7,737,180, priority May 2004 and granted 2010, describes rats of roughly 250 grams given 1, 3 and 10 mg/kg intraperitoneally, ten per group, in a phencyclidine-disrupted prepulse inhibition procedure, with about 80 per cent inhibition of the phencyclidine effect at the top dose; mice at 3 and 10 mg/kg intraperitoneally, ten per group, in which immobility rose from 48 seconds in controls to 130 seconds after fourteen days' daily phencyclidine at 10 mg/kg subcutaneously and was 58 seconds at neboglamine 10 mg/kg, which the patent reports as 87.8 per cent inhibition of the phencyclidine effect by its own stated formula; and gerbils at 12.5 to 50 mg/kg in an ischaemia model, where the patent attributes the neuroprotective effect principally to the metabolite CR 2863, which was more potent than the parent in the same model. US 8,258,185, priority October 2005 and granted 2012, reports rats given 30 mg/kg intraperitoneally with cocaine-induced hyperactivity inhibited by 88 per cent and morphine-induced by 77.5 per cent, without stating group sizes. Patent examples are not peer reviewed and were filed by the party seeking the claim.

People were dosed, and nothing was published

A company announcement dated 8 January 2007 is the only public account of human exposure. It states that single-dose escalation and food-interaction Phase 1 studies had been completed at a clinical pharmacology unit in Rouffach, France, and that a multiple-dose escalation study was due to finish in the second quarter of 2007. The release stated that volunteers in the then-ongoing multiple-dose escalation study would be evaluated with 24-hour quantitative electroencephalography, polysomnography, 24-hour Holter electrocardiography and psychometric tests. It does not report that any of those assessments were completed, and no result from any of them has been published. The release asserts, in its own words, that the compound is "safe and well-tolerated within the dose range that is expected for efficacy". It reports no participant count, no dose, no adverse event, and no efficacy endpoint; nothing supporting that sentence has been published.

The subject of that announcement was a funding agreement. It reported a cooperative research and development agreement with the United States National Institute on Drug Abuse, valued at 40 million dollars, to test whether the compound could support abstinence from cocaine or prevent relapse. Implementation was described as conditional on completing the multiple-dose escalation study and on the institute's own evaluation of interactions between cocaine and the compound in animal and human models. Nineteen years later, no report of that evaluation, of the interaction study, or of any of the Phase 1 work appears in the indexed literature.

The published record is five papers. A PubMed search across neboglamine, nebostinel and CR 2249 returns five records, the newest from 2010, every one of them preclinical or in vitro. A Europe PMC search across the same terms on 19 August 2026 returns 23 records: twelve patent-family members and eleven literature records, with a search on nebostinel alone returning zero. Several of the literature records are reviews that mention the compound in passing. There is no pharmacokinetic paper, no Phase 1 report, no electroencephalography or polysomnography dataset, and no toxicology publication.

What the Phase 2 claim rests on

Aggregator pages describe this molecule as having reached Phase 2 for schizophrenia and for cocaine dependence, usually dated to June 2015. ChEMBL records a maximum phase of 2 for CHEMBL1255840 and attaches no trial identifier to it. Searches of ClinicalTrials.gov in August 2026, by intervention and by free text, across neboglamine, nebostinel and CR 2249, returned zero studies. A search of the EU Clinical Trials Register returned the message that the query did not match any clinical trials. Neither registry holds a record of a trial of this compound at any phase, for any indication, in any country.

The phase figure traces to a commercial pipeline database, record 800004810, which the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences cites on its own page for this substance. That URL redirects to a subscription identity provider and the record cannot be read without access, so the assertion cannot be checked against anything a reader can open. The same page carries two further data points, a potency of 10 micromolar typed as a Ki and a single human oral dose figure, both sourced to a conference abstract hosted on the 2010 FENS Forum website. The dose figure is not reproduced here. That host no longer resolves, and the Wayback Machine holds no capture of the file.

Ownership moved more than once. The patents were filed by Rottapharm SpA and are now assigned to Rottapharm Biotech Srl; Xytis Pharmaceuticals held the molecule under the code XY-2401 during the period when the Phase 1 work was run. What can be established from open sources is that a compound was taken into healthy volunteers, that a large public funding agreement was announced for a cocaine indication, that nothing was registered in either major trials registry, and that the last primary publication appeared in 2010.

Where the molecule appears now

A market surveillance study published in 2025 by twelve official medicines control laboratories across Europe and Australia, coordinated through the General European Official Medicines Control Laboratory Network, documented 159 samples between January 2020 and September 2024, yielding 166 molecular identification entries across 34 distinct molecules. Sixty-nine per cent of samples came from the illegal market, 49 per cent were presented as dietary supplements and 32 per cent as medicines. Neboglamine appears in the appendix table with a detection frequency of one, found by one of the twelve laboratories, presented mainly as a substandard or falsified medicine, with legal status recorded as research chemical. That is the only record of the compound in a seized or purchased sample.

Its neighbours in that table are not uniform. Dihexa, NSI-189, J-147, IDRA-21 and 9-methyl-beta-carboline appear with the same one-or-two detection counts and the same bare research-chemical status. Bromantane and picamilon are recorded differently: research chemical in the EU and Australia, but in use as a prescription drug in Russia. The authors' framing is that a set of clinically uncharacterised molecules is reaching consumers through products presented as supplements or as medicines, and that consumers may not be aware of what they contain. That paper is, at present, the only peer-reviewed publication that records this compound existing outside a laboratory.

Claims attached to it in that market do not come from the five papers. A specific milligram human dose range, an approximate four-hour half-life and weak noradrenaline reuptake inhibition above a stated dose all circulate on aggregator library pages and catalogue copy, and none of the three appears in Garofalo 1996, Pittaluga 1997, Lanza 1997, Pittaluga 1999 or Chiusaroli 2010. No human pharmacokinetic measurement of any kind is retrievable. The characterisation as an antidepressant is a different case: it is absent from the five papers but present in the 2007 trade announcement, which claims anti-depressive activity in preclinical animal models, and in the forced swim example of US 7,737,180 B2. Each is recorded below with the search behind it.

What is not known

There is no published human data of any kind. Healthy volunteers were dosed: a January 2007 company announcement describes completed single-dose escalation and food-interaction Phase 1 studies at a unit in Rouffach, France, and a multiple-dose escalation study then in progress, in which it stated that volunteers would be evaluated with quantitative electroencephalography, polysomnography, Holter electrocardiography and psychometric tests. It does not report that any of those assessments were completed, and it gives no date for the dosing itself. None of that work has ever appeared in a journal, in a registry, or in any document a reader can open, so no exposure, no adverse event rate, no elimination half-life, no food effect and no participant count is publicly established. Neither ClinicalTrials.gov nor the EU Clinical Trials Register holds a record of any trial of this compound, which means the widely repeated Phase 2 designation cannot be checked against a protocol, an enrolment figure or an endpoint. The binding site remains unidentified: the two 1997 papers each concluded that the compound acts somewhere other than the glycine site itself, and no radioligand displacement study has been published in the twenty-nine years since. Nothing has been reported on chronic administration, reproductive or developmental effects, carcinogenicity, drug interactions, or behaviour in any species other than rat, mouse and gerbil. The most recent primary publication is from 2010, and the animal literature outside the two patents amounts to two behavioural papers and three in vitro studies from the originating groups.

Questions

Has neboglamine been studied in humans?
Human tissue has been studied and human trial results have not. Pittaluga and colleagues used slices of human neocortex from neurosurgical patients in 1999 (PMID 10381808), which is an in vitro preparation. Separately, a January 2007 company announcement stated that Phase 1 single-dose escalation and food-interaction studies had been completed in France; it gives no date for that dosing, no participant count and no result. No result from that work has ever been published, and searches of ClinicalTrials.gov and the EU Clinical Trials Register in August 2026 returned zero registered studies under any of the compound's three names.
Is neboglamine approved anywhere?
No. A Drugs@FDA query on neboglamine as an active ingredient returns no match, an openFDA label search returns no match, and the FDA Global Substance Registration System records the approval year as unknown. It holds an International Nonproprietary Name, number 7929, which is a naming decision by the World Health Organization and not a regulatory one. In a 2025 European and Australian market surveillance study its legal status was recorded as research chemical.
What is nebostinel?
The same molecule. The FDA Global Substance Registration System lists NEBOGLAMINE as the official name and NEBOSTINEL as a common name on a single record, and PubChem carries both on CID 3074827. The public registry page built on that record prints the designation the other way round, with NEBOSTINEL as the official name, so the two displays disagree. Two development codes attach to the same structure as well: CR 2249, used by the Italian originator, and XY-2401, used by the American licensee that held it during the Phase 1 period.
Which paper shows that it binds the glycine site?
None located. Lanza and colleagues in 1997 (PMID 9294970) reported that the compound raised glycine's efficacy without shifting glycine's potency and showed positive cooperativity with glycine on dizocilpine binding, and concluded it probably acts at a separate allosteric site. Pittaluga and colleagues (PMID 9336311) concluded that compounds active in their assay may bind to sites different from the glycine site. The glycine-site description is a summary of functional effect, and the claim is published here as untraced.
Why does the record say Phase 2 if no trial is registered?
The Phase 2 designation traces to a subscription pipeline database record, cited by the NCATS Inxight substance page, which redirects to an identity provider and cannot be read without access. ChEMBL records a maximum phase of 2 with no trial identifier attached, on a value that could not be re-verified on 19 August 2026 because the ChEMBL data API returned HTTP 500. Searches of ClinicalTrials.gov and the EU Clinical Trials Register in August 2026 returned nothing at any phase, for any indication, in any country.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 3074827, Neboglamine. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 19 August 2026 via PUG REST: CAS 163000-63-3, C13H24N2O3, 256.34 g/mol, InChIKey VCRGLZYPNNAVRP-JTQLQIEISA-N, IUPAC name (4S)-4-amino-5-[(4,4-dimethylcyclohexyl)amino]-5-oxopentanoic acid. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance record for UNII 12EA34U5B8. Retrieved 19 August 2026 via the GSRS API (HTTP 200). Types NEBOGLAMINE as the official name with displayName true and NEBOSTINEL as a common name; carries XY-2401 as a code; records CAS 163000-63-3, INN 7929 (linked to a WHO INN extranet page, with no proposed-list number given), ChEMBL1255840, MeSH C105010, PubChem 3074827 and EPA DTXSID2045787. This is the source for the official-versus-common naming claim. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. NCATS Inxight Drugs page for the same substance. This is the source cited here for the maximum-phase assertion, the 10 micromolar potency figure, the single human oral dose figure and the approval year recorded as unknown. Note that this page displays NEBOSTINEL as the official name, the reverse of the underlying registry record at r2. View on drugs.ncats.io
  4. Garofalo P, Colombo S, Lanza M, Revel L, Makovec F. CR 2249: a new putative memory enhancer. Behavioural studies on learning and memory in rats and mice. J Pharm Pharmacol. 1996;48(12):1290-1297. No erratum or correction attached in PubMed. PMID 9004193 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Lanza M, Bonnafous C, Colombo S, Revel L, Makovec F. Characterization of a novel putative cognition enhancer mediating facilitation of glycine effect on strychnine-resistant sites coupled to NMDA receptor complex. Neuropharmacology. 1997;36(8):1057-1064. No erratum or correction attached in PubMed. PMID 9294970 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Pittaluga A, Vaccari D, Raiteri M. The "kynurenate test", a biochemical assay for putative cognition enhancers. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 1997;283(1):82-90. No erratum or correction attached in PubMed. PMID 9336311 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Pittaluga A, Pattarini R, Andrioli GC, Viola C, Munari C, Raiteri M. Activity of putative cognition enhancers in kynurenate test performed with human neocortex slices. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 1999;290(1):423-428. No erratum or correction attached in PubMed. PMID 10381808 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Chiusaroli R, Garofalo P, Espinoza S, Neri E, Caselli G, Lanza M. Antipsychotic-like effects of the N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor modulator neboglamine: an immunohistochemical and behavioural study in the rat. Pharmacol Res. 2010;61(5):430-436. No erratum or correction attached in PubMed. PMID 20045056 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Vanhee C, Deconinck E, George M, et al. The occurrence of illicit smart drugs or nootropics in Europe and Australia and their associated dangers: results from a market surveillance study by 12 official medicines control laboratories. J Xenobiot. 2025;15(3):88. Neboglamine appears in Table A1; the same table records bromantane and picamilon as research chemicals in the EU and Australia but in use as prescription drugs in Russia. No erratum or correction attached in PubMed. PMID 40558871 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. US Patent 7,737,180 B2. Use of neboglamine (CR 2249) as an antipsychotic and neuroprotective. Rottapharm SpA, now assigned to Rottapharm Biotech Srl. Priority 24 May 2004, filed 23 May 2005, granted 2010. Contains the prepulse inhibition example, the forced swim example with its Table 2 values (control 48 s, phencyclidine 130 s, neboglamine 10 mg/kg plus phencyclidine 58 s) and its stated inhibition formula, and the gerbil ischaemia example in which the neuroprotective effect is attributed principally to the metabolite CR 2863. View on patents.google.com
  11. US Patent 8,258,185 B2. Use of neboglamine in the treatment of toxicodependency. Rottapharm, now Rottapharm Biotech Srl. Priority 4 October 2005, granted 4 September 2012. Contains the cocaine and morphine hyperactivity, morphine inverse tolerance and diazepam withdrawal examples. View on www.ebi.ac.uk
  12. ChEMBL compound record CHEMBL1255840, NEBOGLAMINE, reader-facing compound report card (the /compound_report_card/ path redirects here). An earlier retrieval recorded max_phase 2.0, no first approval, and eight activity records, none of them an NMDA receptor assay. Re-checked 19 August 2026: the underlying data API endpoint returned HTTP 500 on five attempts across JSON, XML and query-parameter forms, so those values are carried forward unverified rather than confirmed. View on www.ebi.ac.uk
  13. ClinicalTrials.gov API v2 searched 19 August 2026 by intervention and by free text on neboglamine, nebostinel and CR 2249. All six queries returned zero studies. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  14. EU Clinical Trials Register searched 19 August 2026 for neboglamine. Result: zero trials with a EudraCT protocol and zero paediatric studies in scope of Article 45. View on www.clinicaltrialsregister.eu
  15. Company announcement, 8 January 2007: cooperative research and development agreement with the National Institute on Drug Abuse for development of neboglamine in cocaine addiction. Describes completed single-dose escalation and food-interaction Phase 1 studies at a unit in Rouffach, France, gives no date for the dosing, and states that volunteers in the then-ongoing multiple-dose escalation study would be evaluated for 24-hour quantitative EEG, sleep architecture on polysomnography, 24-hour Holter ECG and psychometric tests, that study being expected to complete in Q2 2007. A trade announcement; not peer reviewed, and it reports no measured value. Retrieved 19 August 2026 (HTTP 200). View on www.biospace.com
  16. PubChem Compound Summary CID 165412562, Neboglamine hydrochloride. CAS 2759182-59-5, C13H25ClN2O3, 292.80 g/mol, InChIKey HBFGFOLPJKUNCS-PPHPATTJSA-N. Retrieved 19 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.