Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Dihexa (PNB-0408)

Dihexa is a synthetic molecule derived from the N-terminal core of angiotensin IV, indexed in PubChem as CID 129010512. Four papers from the originating laboratory, in one journal, carry formal integrity flags: all four received Notices of Concern in September 2021, and three were retracted in April 2025. The fourth, which supplied the synthesis and the behavioural readouts, still carries the unresolved 2021 notice. A ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no registered human study of Dihexa itself.

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyRodent, zebrafish and cell-culture work only; zero registered human trials 9 claims logged 6 with primary citations 3 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic angiotensin IV-derived oligopeptide analogue
CAS number
1401708-83-5
PubChem CID
129010512
Molecular formula
C27H44N4O5
Molecular weight
504.7 g/mol
Sequence
Hexanoyl-Tyr-Ile-Ahx-NH2 (N-hexanoyl-L-tyrosyl-L-isoleucyl-6-aminohexanoic amide)

Verified against PubChem PUG REST, CID 129010512, properties and synonym records retrieved 17 August 2026. Fields marked “not verified” are ones we could not confirm against a primary chemical database — we leave them blank rather than guess.

Chemical identity

Nothing about Dihexa's identity is in dispute. A single PubChem record carries the name, and it carries everything else with it: CID 129010512, CAS 1401708-83-5, formula C27H44N4O5, molecular weight 504.7 g/mol, InChIKey XEUVNVNAVKZSPT-JTJYXVOQSA-N, UNII 9WYX65A5C2. The IUPAC name on that record runs (2S,3S)-N-(6-amino-6-oxohexyl)-2-[[(2S)-2-(hexanoylamino)-3-(4-hydroxyphenyl)propanoyl]amino]-3-methylpentanamide, which is the systematic form of the shorthand Hexanoyl-Tyr-Ile-Ahx-NH2.

The catalogue designations PNB-0408 and ATH-1001 both appear in the synonym list attached to that same CID, so the two codes denote one molecule. The structure is a three-part chain: an N-hexanoyl cap, a tyrosine-isoleucine dipeptide, and a C-terminal 6-aminohexanoic amide tail. That architecture derives from the Nle-Tyr-Ile N-terminal fragment of norleucine-1-angiotensin IV. The stated design intent, described in McCoy 2013, was to raise hydrophobicity and reduce hydrogen-bonding capacity so the fragment would survive metabolism and cross barriers that the parent peptide could not. McCoy 2013 is one of the four flagged papers, and the only one whose notice remains unresolved; the next section sets out the record.

Claim ledger

6 of 9 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Did not attenuate 3-NP-induced motor or cognitive deficits or weight loss over 5 weeksMale Wistar rats, 3 groupsNot specified in the retrieved report40 totalWells 2024, J Huntingtons Dis, PMID 38489193
1 uM gave maximal protection of lateral-line hair cells against neomycin and gentamicin; protection attenuated by HGF antagonist 6-AHLarval zebrafish, lateral lineBath immersionNot stated per group; dose-response designUribe 2015, Front Cell Neurosci, PMID 25674052
Motor function by walking foot-print grade improved at 8-16 weeks with stem cells plus Dihexa into gastrocnemius (P<0.05); Dihexa given at 2-4 mg/kg body weightMale Lewis rats, sciatic nerve transection-repair, 10 groupsLocal hydrogel at repair site, systemic i.v./i.p., and/or intramuscular6-8 per groupWeiss 2021, Ann Med Surg, PMID 34703584
Restored Morris water maze performance, raised SYP expression, lowered IL-1beta and TNF-alpha, raised IL-10; wortmannin reversed the anti-inflammatory and anti-apoptotic readoutsAPP/PS1 transgenic mice vs wild-typeOralNot stated in the retrieved reportSun 2021, Brain Sci, PMID 34827486
Substituted for recombinant HGF at the hepatoblast-to-hepatocyte step in a growth-factor-free differentiation protocol; derived cells showed serum protein production, glycogen storage and cytochrome P450 activityHuman embryonic and induced pluripotent stem cell linesCulture mediumNot applicableSiller 2015, Stem Cell Reports, PMID 25937370
Of 450 articles screened, 32 met inclusion criteria; 8 of 9 studies in cognitive-deficit models reported AngIV analogues including Dihexa improved spatial working memory or passive avoidance performanceNon-human experimental studies, systematic reviewVarious; review noted intracerebroventricular delivery was most effective32 included studiesHo and Nation 2018, Neurosci Biobehav Rev, PMID 29733881
Dihexa is seven orders of magnitude, or roughly ten million times, more potent than BDNF at inducing synaptogenesisSearched the abstracts of McCoy 2013 (PMID 23055539) and Benoist 2014 (PMID 25187433): the comparison appears in neither. Attempted full-text retrieval of both via Europe PMC and the PubMed Central full-text service; McCoy returned empty and the Benoist full text is no longer served by PMC following its 2025 retraction. The figure circulates widely on vendor and nootropics pages, which attribute it variously to those two papers. No retrievable primary assay was located, and the paper most often credited is retracted.No source found
Solid powder is stable at roughly -20 C for about 12 months, or 4 C for about 6 months, and reconstituted stock at -20 C to -80 C for about 6 monthsThese figures appear only in supplier catalogue copy. No stability study, primary publication or regulatory document reporting them was located in PubMed or in general web search. They are unverified against any experimental source.No source found
Dihexa is orally active and blood-brain-barrier permeantThe qualitative statement traces to McCoy 2013 (PMID 23055539), which carries a 2021 Notice of Concern (PMID 34551989). No numeric oral bioavailability percentage or brain-to-plasma ratio could be traced to any primary source, despite such figures appearing on secondary pages.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

Four formal integrity flags on the foundational record

Four papers from the originating laboratory, all published in the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, carry formal integrity flags. All four received Notices of Concern printed in September 2021 at 378(3):311 through 314 (PMIDs 34551987, 34551988, 34551989 and 34551990). Three were then retracted in April 2025: Kawas and colleagues 2011, the anti-Met and anticancer report (retraction notice at 392(4):103568, PMID 40312094); Kawas and colleagues 2012, on the development of the analogue series (392(4):103566, PMID 40312092); and Benoist and colleagues 2014, the paper that reported HGF binding and c-Met dependence for this molecule (392(4):103567, PMID 40312093). PubMed types all three as Retracted Publication, and the retracted full texts are no longer served through PubMed Central.

McCoy and colleagues 2013 is the exception. It carries the September 2021 Notice of Concern and nothing since; PubMed does not type it as a Retracted Publication. That is the paper describing the synthesis, the metabolic-stability measurements and the scopolamine and aged-rat behavioural readouts. The three withdrawn papers supplied the proposed mechanism and the analogue development work; the one still standing supplied the molecule and the behaviour, and its flag has been unresolved for close to five years. A Notice of Concern asserts neither invalidity nor innocence — it records that a question was raised and not settled.

This governs how any downstream claim is weighted. The papers that between them supplied the synthesis, the metabolic-stability data, the behavioural data and the proposed mechanism are all flagged, and three of the four are withdrawn outright. Secondary pages that mention only the 2025 retraction of the binding paper understate the position of the record.

What the HGF pathway framing rests on now

With Benoist 2014 withdrawn, the surviving support for HGF-pathway involvement is indirect and comes from independent groups. In larval zebrafish, Uribe and colleagues 2015 reported that protection of lateral-line hair cells against neomycin and gentamicin was attenuated by co-treatment with the HGF antagonist 6-AH, and partially attenuated by inhibitors of Akt, TOR and MEK; pre-treatment did not change uptake of fluorescently tagged gentamicin into hair cells, which the authors read as an intracellular rather than an entry-blocking effect.

In APP/PS1 mice, Sun and colleagues 2021 reported changes in synaptophysin expression, astrocyte and microglial activation markers and cytokine levels, and reported that the PI3K inhibitor wortmannin reversed the anti-inflammatory and anti-apoptotic readouts, which the authors framed as PI3K/AKT involvement.

None of these re-established direct binding of the molecule to HGF, which was the specific finding in the retracted paper. They are consistent with engagement somewhere on that signalling axis, and they are not a replacement for the withdrawn binding data.

Use as a laboratory reagent outside neuroscience

A distinct and less contested strand of the literature uses this molecule simply as a bench reagent. Siller and colleagues 2015 built a growth-factor-free protocol for differentiating human pluripotent stem cells toward hepatocyte-like cells, using Dihexa together with dexamethasone at the hepatoblast-to-hepatocyte step in place of recombinant HGF. Mathapati and colleagues 2016 published the same approach as a formal methods protocol, and Pan and colleagues 2022 incorporated it into a Vitamin C, Dihexa and forskolin combination for hepatic specification.

In a rat sciatic-nerve transection and repair model, Weiss and colleagues 2021 tested mesenchymal stem cells, G-CSF and Dihexa alone and in combination across ten groups of male Lewis rats. Motor function by walking foot-print grading at 8 to 16 weeks was reported as significantly better where stem cells plus Dihexa were delivered into gastrocnemius muscle.

In these settings the molecule functions as a substitute for a recombinant growth factor in culture or as an adjunct in a surgical model. That use does not depend on the retracted behavioural claims.

Null findings, and the fosgonimeton distinction

Not every model produced a positive readout. Wells and colleagues 2024 randomised 40 male Wistar rats into vehicle, 3-nitropropionic acid, and 3-NP plus PNB-0408 groups and tracked body weight, motor function and cognition over five weeks before histopathology. The authors reported that PNB-0408 did not protect the animals from 3-NP-induced deficits, and concluded it may not be an efficacious strategy in that Huntington's-like model.

Human data in this chemical space belong to a different molecule. Fosgonimeton (ATH-1017) is a prodrug developed by Athira Pharma, now LeonaBio. Its Phase 2/3 LIFT-AD study, NCT04488419, enrolled 554 participants and completed in July 2024. Topline data announced in September 2024 reported that the trial did not meet its primary endpoint, a Global Statistical Test combining ADAS-Cog11 and ADCS-ADL23, nor those two key secondary endpoints, at 26 weeks.

A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search across Dihexa, PNB-0408 and ATH-1001 returned zero registered studies. Fosgonimeton findings are not transferable to Dihexa.

What is not known

There is no human data of any kind on this molecule. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search across Dihexa, PNB-0408 and ATH-1001 returned zero registered studies, so no dose-ranging, pharmacokinetic, safety or efficacy work in people has been registered, let alone reported. The preclinical literature is small: a PubMed search for the term returns 18 records, of which two are false matches to unrelated lipid chemistry and several are reviews by the originating group rather than independent data. Sample sizes are frequently absent from the retrieved reports, and only the Huntington's-model study and the sciatic-nerve study state group numbers explicitly. No study characterised chronic administration, reproductive or developmental effects, carcinogenicity, immunogenicity, or behaviour in aged or diseased non-rodent species. The direct HGF-binding claim that underpinned the proposed mechanism was withdrawn with the 2025 retraction and has not been independently reproduced. Because the second foundational paper also carries a notice of concern, the metabolic-stability and barrier-permeability characterisations that the rest of the field builds on have themselves not been independently confirmed.

Questions

Has Dihexa been studied in humans?
No. A ClinicalTrials.gov intervention search across the names Dihexa, PNB-0408 and ATH-1001 returned zero registered studies as of August 2026. Every finding in the literature comes from rodent, zebrafish or cell-culture work.
Which Dihexa paper was retracted, and when?
Benoist and colleagues 2014 (J Pharmacol Exp Ther 351:390-402, PMID 25187433) was retracted in April 2025; the notice is at J Pharmacol Exp Ther 392(4):103567, PMID 40312093. That was the paper reporting HGF binding and c-Met dependence.
Is any other Dihexa paper flagged?
Yes. McCoy and colleagues 2013 (J Pharmacol Exp Ther 344:141-154, PMID 23055539), the synthesis and behavioural paper, received a Notice of Concern in September 2021 (PMID 34551989). The retracted Benoist paper received one at the same time (PMID 34551987). Sources that mention only the retraction understate the position of the record.
Is Dihexa the same thing as fosgonimeton?
No. Fosgonimeton (ATH-1017) is a separate prodrug developed by Athira Pharma, now LeonaBio. Its Phase 2/3 LIFT-AD trial, NCT04488419, enrolled 554 participants and reported in September 2024 that it did not meet its primary or key secondary endpoints at 26 weeks. Those findings describe fosgonimeton, not Dihexa.
Where does the claim that Dihexa is ten million times stronger than BDNF come from?
It could not be traced to a retrievable primary source. The comparison appears in neither the McCoy 2013 nor the Benoist 2014 abstract, and the Benoist full text is no longer served by PubMed Central following its retraction. It is published here as unsourced.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 129010512, Dihexa. National Center for Biotechnology Information. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Kawas LH, Yamamoto BJ, Wright JW, Harding JW. Mimics of the dimerization domain of hepatocyte growth factor exhibit anti-Met and anticancer activity. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2011;339(2):509-518. RETRACTED — notice at 392(4):103568, PMID 40312094. PMID 21859930 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Kawas LH, McCoy AT, Yamamoto BJ, Wright JW, Harding JW. Development of angiotensin IV analogs as hepatocyte growth factor/Met modifiers. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2012;340(3):539-548. RETRACTED — notice at 392(4):103566, PMID 40312092. PMID 22129598 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. McCoy AT, Benoist CC, Wright JW, Kawas LH, Bule-Ghogare JM, Zhu M, Appleyard SM, Wayman GA, Harding JW. Evaluation of metabolically stabilized angiotensin IV analogs as procognitive/antidementia agents. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2013;344(1):141-154. Notice of Concern 2021, not retracted as at 17 August 2026. PMID 23055539 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Benoist CC, et al. The procognitive and synaptogenic effects of angiotensin IV-derived peptides are dependent on activation of the hepatocyte growth factor/c-Met system. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2014;351(2):390-402. RETRACTED. RETRACTED — notice at 392(4):103567, PMID 40312093. View on doi.org
  6. Notices of Concern: Benoist 2014, Kawas 2011, McCoy 2013 and Kawas 2012. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2021;378(3):311, 312, 313 and 314. PMIDs 34551987, 34551988, 34551989, 34551990. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Retraction notices, April 2025. J Pharmacol Exp Ther. 2025;392(4):103566, 103567 and 103568. PMIDs 40312092, 40312093, 40312094. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Uribe PM, et al. Hepatocyte growth factor mimetic protects lateral line hair cells from aminoglycoside exposure. Front Cell Neurosci. 2015;9:3. PMID 25674052. View on doi.org
  9. Sun X, et al. AngIV-analog dihexa rescues cognitive impairment and recovers memory in the APP/PS1 mouse via the PI3K/AKT signaling pathway. Brain Sci. 2021;11(11):1487. PMID 34827486. View on doi.org
  10. Wells RG, et al. Effects of an angiotensin IV analog on 3-nitropropionic acid-induced Huntington's disease-like symptoms in rats. J Huntingtons Dis. 2024;13(1):55-66. PMID 38489193. View on doi.org
  11. Weiss JB, et al. Stem cell, G-CSF and/or Dihexa to promote limb function recovery in a rat sciatic nerve damage-repair model. Ann Med Surg. 2021;71:102917. PMID 34703584. View on doi.org
  12. Siller R, et al. Small-molecule-driven hepatocyte differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells. Stem Cell Reports. 2015;4(5):939-952. PMID 25937370. View on doi.org
  13. Ho JK, Nation DA. Cognitive benefits of angiotensin IV and angiotensin-(1-7): a systematic review of experimental studies. Neurosci Biobehav Rev. 2018;92:209-225. PMID 29733881. View on doi.org
  14. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04488419, LIFT-AD: ATH-1017 (fosgonimeton) for mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease. Phase 2/3, 554 enrolled, completed July 2024. View on clinicaltrials.gov
  15. Pan T, et al. Efficiently generate functional hepatic cells from human pluripotent stem cells by complete small-molecule strategy. Stem Cell Res Ther. 2022;13(1):159. PMID 35410439. View on doi.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.