Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

5-Amino-1MQ

5-Amino-1MQ is a small-molecule inhibitor of nicotinamide N-methyltransferase, indexed in PubChem as the cation CID 950107 and the iodide salt CID 66522933. It is not a peptide, though it is sold in that category. The published record is rodent and cell culture: a ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no registered human study under any of its names. Its two published oral bioavailability figures, in rat and in mouse, differ by a factor of eleven.

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyMouse, rat and cell-culture work only; zero registered human trials, and the two published oral bioavailability figures disagree elevenfold 19 claims logged 12 with primary citations 7 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Quaternary methylquinolinium cation; small-molecule nicotinamide N-methyltransferase (NNMT) inhibitor
CAS number
685079-15-6 (cation); 42464-96-0 (iodide salt)
PubChem CID
950107 (cation); 66522933 (iodide salt)
Molecular formula
C10H11N2+ (cation); C10H11IN2 (iodide salt)
Molecular weight
159.21 g/mol (cation); 286.11 g/mol (iodide salt)
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
5-amino-1-methylquinolinium; 5-Amino-1MQ; 5A1MQ; 5-AMQ; NNMTi; UNII PMX593N4N3 (cation), K9G33W2TTZ (iodide salt)

A quaternary cation, indexed twice

One iodide ion separates the two PubChem entries, which is why they are so readily conflated. CID 950107 is the bare cation, IUPAC name 1-methylquinolin-1-ium-5-amine, formula C10H11N2+, molecular weight 159.21, CAS 685079-15-6, InChIKey ZMJBCEIHNOWCMC-UHFFFAOYSA-O. CID 66522933 is the iodide salt, C10H11IN2, molecular weight 286.11, CAS 42464-96-0. The FDA substance registry carries both as approved records, UNII PMX593N4N3 for the cation and K9G33W2TTZ for the iodide, each keyed to the same CAS number PubChem lists for it. The 127 g/mol between the two is the counterion and nothing else, which matters whenever a mass is quoted without saying which record it refers to.

Origin of the molecule is a medicinal-chemistry series rather than a natural product. Neelakantan and colleagues screened N-methylated quinolinium, isoquinolinium, pyridinium and benzimidazolium analogues against NNMT and published the structure-activity relationships in the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry in 2017, reporting a greater than thousandfold range of activity across the set and identifying quinoliniums as the promising scaffold at roughly one micromolar inhibition. The same group's later papers describe 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium as a selective probe compound with an IC50 of about one micromolar, and a 2024 paper from the spun-out company reports an IC50 of 78 ng/mL against mouse NNMT in a biochemical assay.

Nothing in that description is a peptide. The structure is a fused bicyclic aromatic ring bearing a permanent positive charge on the ring nitrogen, with a methyl group on that nitrogen and an amino group at the five position. There is no amide backbone and no amino acid residue. The molecule is nonetheless catalogued and discussed almost everywhere alongside research peptides, and the misclassification travels with it into descriptions of how it is handled, stored and administered.

Claim ledger

12 of 19 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Suppressed intracellular 1-methylnicotinamide with EC50 2.3 +/- 1.1 micromolar over 24 h (R-squared 0.94); signal plateaued at approximately 40% of untreated at 10-60 micromolar; above 60 micromolar not tested for cytotoxicityDifferentiated 3T3-L1 murine adipocytesIn-media exposure, 24 h, 0.3-60 micromolar2 replicates per data point (figure legend)Neelakantan 2018, Biochem Pharmacol 147:141-152, PMID 29155147
Intracellular NAD+ rose approximately 1.2-1.6-fold across 1-60 micromolar, but the one-way ANOVA main effect was F(5,6)=4.131, P=0.0568, described by the authors as almost significant; Dunnett post-test reached significance at 10 micromolar only. SAM rose significantly at 30 micromolarDifferentiated 3T3-L1 murine adipocytesIn-media exposure, 24 h2 replicates per data pointNeelakantan 2018, Biochem Pharmacol 147:141-152, PMID 29155147
No inhibition of DNMT1 or PRMT3 up to 600 micromolar; approximately 10% inhibition of COMT at 600 micromolar with no concentration-dependent trend; no inhibition of NAMPT up to 100 micromolar; no inhibition of SIRT1 from 10 nanomolar to 300 micromolarRecombinant human enzymes, biochemical assays run by a contract laboratoryIn vitro, 10-point half-log dilution seriesNot stated per assayNeelakantan 2018, Biochem Pharmacol 147:141-152, PMID 29155147
Epididymal white adipose mass approximately 35% lower (P<0.001), adipocyte size >30% smaller (P<0.05), plasma total cholesterol approximately 30% lower (P<0.05); food intake unchanged. Triglycerides were excluded from analysis because haemolysis interfered with the assay reagentMale diet-induced obese C57Bl/6 mice, 17 weeks old, 16 weeks on high-fat dietSubcutaneous, 20 mg/kg three times daily (approximately 34 mg/kg/day free compound), 11 days9 per cohortNeelakantan 2018, Biochem Pharmacol 147:141-152, PMID 29155147
Cumulative body weight loss 6.3 g at study end versus 2.9 g in the diet-switched vehicle group; body composition and liver adiposity reported as normalised to age-matched lean-diet controlsMale diet-induced obese C57BL/6J mice, 22 weeks old, switched from Western diet to low-fat dietInjection of 4 mg/mL at 10 microlitres per gram body weight once daily; route not stated in the retrieved methods6-8 per groupSampson 2021, Sci Rep 11(1):5637, PMID 33707534
High dose: body weight gain 0.9 g versus 5.4 g control and 5.2 g low dose (P<0.01); fat mass gain 1.3 g versus 4.7 g; no treatment effect on lean mass or on food intake before or after adjustment for body weight; non-fasted plasma insulin fell 9% from baseline versus a 112% rise in controlMale diet-induced obese C57BL/6 mice, approximately 18 weeks old, >12 weeks on high-fat dietSubcutaneous, once daily, 10 and 32 mg/kg/day, 30 days8 per groupBabula 2024, Diabetes Obes Metab 26(11):5272-5282, PMID 39161060
Total white blood cell count significantly reduced (P=0.0142), driven by a 31% fall in lymphocytes (P<0.05) and a 50% fall in monocytes (P<0.001) at the high dose versus control; the monocyte reduction also reached significance at the low doseMale diet-induced obese C57BL/6 miceSubcutaneous, once daily, 10 and 32 mg/kg/day, 30 days8 per groupBabula 2024, Diabetes Obes Metab 26(11):5272-5282, PMID 39161060
Myofibre cross-sectional area after injury nearly 2-fold greater than control with a shift toward larger fibres; in vivo peak torque of the injured tibialis anterior approximately 70% higherAged 24-month-old male C57Bl/6 mice, barium chloride injury to tibialis anteriorSubcutaneous, twice daily, 5 or 10 mg/kg, 2 weeks (1 week before and 1 week after injury)48 total; saline 13, 5 mg/kg 10, 10 mg/kg 13; separate 3-week cohort 6 per groupNeelakantan 2019, Biochem Pharmacol 163:481-492, PMID 30753815
Grip strength approximately 40% above sedentary control with compound alone, approximately 20% with exercise alone, and approximately 60% with both; gastrocnemius fibre cross-sectional area increased significantly only in the combined armAged female mice treated from 22 to 24 months of age, sedentary or progressive wheel runningSubcutaneous, once daily, 10 mg/kg, 8 weeks7-10 per group as stated in the methodsDimet-Wiley and Latham 2024, Sci Rep 14(1):15554, PMID 38969654
Limb perfusion recovery, capillary density, muscle mass and myofibre size unchanged; necrosis severity trended at P=0.08; ischaemic-limb muscle strength improved (P<0.0001), power (P=0.0305) and total work (P=0.0367)Male 12-week-old BALB/cJ mice, unilateral hindlimb ischaemia by femoral artery ligationIntraperitoneal, 10 mg/kg, starting 3 h before surgery and once daily thereafter24 randomised per the abstract; the methods section states 19 mice were purchasedDong 2025, Physiol Rep 13(20):e70615, PMID 41108586
Oral bioavailability 38.4%; mean maximum plasma concentration 2252 ng/mL after the oral dose; AUC to infinity 3708 and 14431 h.ng/mL for intravenous and oral; terminal half-life 3.80 +/- 1.10 h intravenous and 6.90 +/- 1.20 h oralRats (strain not stated in the retrieved abstract)Intravenous and oral; doses not stated in the retrieved abstractNot stated in the retrieved abstractAwosemo 2021, J Pharm Biomed Anal 204:114255, PMID 34304009
Oral bioavailability 3.5%; oral maximum concentration 14.5 ng/mL at 4 h and AUC 224 h.ng/mL; intravenous clearance 101 mL/min/kg, volume of distribution 39 L/kg, half-life 6.3 h; subcutaneous half-life 13.3 h acute and 12.8 h after 5 days; plasma above the stated mouse NNMT IC50 of 78 ng/mL for approximately 2-4 h after parenteral dosingMale C57BL/6 mice, 8 weeks old (intravenous and oral) and 18-20 weeks old (subcutaneous)Intravenous 5 mg/kg, oral 30 mg/kg, subcutaneous 25 mg/kg single and once daily for 5 days3-6 per timepoint; intravenous and oral groups 3 each, acute subcutaneous 6, repeat subcutaneous 12Babula 2024, Diabetes Obes Metab 26(11):5272-5282, PMID 39161060
5-Amino-1MQ is a peptide.Category framing, not a finding. PubChem CID 950107 gives the connectivity SMILES C[N+]1=CC=CC2=C(C=CC=C21)N and the IUPAC name 1-methylquinolin-1-ium-5-amine: a fused bicyclic aromatic cation with no amide bond and no amino acid residue. The FDA substance registry classifies both the cation (UNII PMX593N4N3) and the iodide (UNII K9G33W2TTZ) as chemical substances. Searches of PubMed and Europe PMC for any primary paper describing the compound as a peptide returned none; the published papers call it a small molecule or a probe inhibitor throughout.No source found
Plasma half-life is about 5.7 hours in mouse plasma, or 4 to 6 hours in rodent models.No source for 5.7 hours was located. The published rodent half-lives are 3.80 +/- 1.10 h intravenous and 6.90 +/- 1.20 h oral in rat (PMID 34304009), and 6.3 h intravenous, 13.3 h subcutaneous acute, 12.8 h subcutaneous after five days and an estimated 14.8 h oral in mouse (PMID 39161060). A supplementary figure in PMID 38969654 describes a half-life of around seven hours after subcutaneous dosing in mice. Searching PubMed and Europe PMC full text for the compound name with half-life terms returned no measurement of 5.7 hours in any species, and the 4-to-6-hour range excludes the longer subcutaneous figures the developers published.No source found
Oral bioavailability is 30 to 50 percent in rodent models.Selective quotation rather than fabrication. The 38.4 percent figure is real and comes from the rat study (PMID 34304009). The developers' own mouse measurement, published in 2024, is 3.5 percent (PMID 39161060), attributed to limited enteric absorption and first-pass metabolism, with hepatocyte half-life under seven minutes and clearance of 57.9 mL/min/kg. Neither of the aggregator or vendor-style pages retrieved for this record cited the mouse figure. No third species has been measured, so a rodent range cannot be stated as a single number.No source found
5-Amino-1MQ raises NAD+.Stated flatly on secondary pages; the primary source is more cautious. In the only NAD+ measurement located, in differentiated 3T3-L1 adipocytes, the one-way ANOVA main effect was F(5,6)=4.131, P=0.0568, with two replicates per data point and a post-test reaching significance at a single concentration (PMID 29155147). Searches of PubMed and Europe PMC for any in vivo NAD+ measurement in an animal treated with this compound returned none: no rodent study located reported tissue or plasma NAD+ after administration. The 2019 muscle study reported changes in cellular NAD+/NADH redox state in C2C12 myoblasts in culture, not in the treated animals.No source found
Kraus et al., Nature Medicine, showed NNMT inhibition reduced fat mass and improved insulin sensitivity.Two misattributions in one citation. The paper is Kraus D, Yang Q, Kong D, et al., Nicotinamide N-methyltransferase knockdown protects against diet-induced obesity, Nature 2014;508(7495):258-62, PMID 24717514, in Nature and not Nature Medicine. It used antisense oligonucleotide knockdown of NNMT, not 5-Amino-1MQ or any small-molecule inhibitor. A PubMed search on the author and title confirms the journal and the intervention. The finding is real; it is evidence about the target, not about this compound.No source found
5-Amino-1MQ is highly selective and does not affect other enzymes.Overstated. The published panel covers five enzymes (DNMT1, PRMT3, COMT, NAMPT, SIRT1) and the compound was clean against them (PMID 29155147). In the discussion of PMID 39161060 the developers state that ongoing optimisation is addressing species-specific high metabolic clearance and off-target activity against monoamine oxidase A. Searches of PubMed and Europe PMC for a published MAO-A IC50 or Ki for 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium returned nothing; the off-target activity is acknowledged in a discussion sentence with no accompanying figure anywhere in the retrievable literature.No source found
Solid material and reconstituted solution are stable for stated periods at stated temperatures.These figures appear only in supplier catalogue copy and aggregator summaries. No stability study, primary publication or regulatory document reporting them was located in PubMed, Europe PMC or general web search. The one stability statement traceable to a peer-reviewed source is narrow and different in kind: the 2021 rat assay paper reports that the analyte varied by less than 15 percent in rat plasma samples under standard storage, preparation and handling conditions for that assay (PMID 34304009), which characterises an analytical method, not a stored product.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The enzyme, and what inhibition measured in adipocytes

NNMT transfers a methyl group from S-adenosylmethionine to nicotinamide, yielding 1-methylnicotinamide and S-adenosylhomocysteine. Two consequences follow arithmetically: nicotinamide is diverted away from the NAD+ salvage route, and methyl groups are consumed. Neelakantan and colleagues measured what blocking the reaction did in differentiated 3T3-L1 murine adipocytes over 24 hours. Intracellular 1-methylnicotinamide fell in a concentration-dependent way that fitted a three-parameter sigmoidal curve with an EC50 of 2.3 plus or minus 1.1 micromolar and a goodness-of-fit R-squared of 0.94. Between 10 and 60 micromolar the signal plateaued at roughly 40 percent of untreated levels; concentrations above 60 micromolar were not tested because of cytotoxicity in that cell line.

Downstream of that, the NAD+ result is weaker than its retellings. A one-way ANOVA on intracellular NAD+ gave a main effect of F(5,6) = 4.131, P = 0.0568, which the authors themselves called almost significant. Concentrations from 1 to 60 micromolar produced roughly 1.2 to 1.6-fold increases, and a Dunnett post-test reached significance at one concentration only, 10 micromolar. The figure legend records two replicates per data point. The S-adenosylmethionine increase was the firmer of the two findings, significant at 30 micromolar. Secondary descriptions generally carry the direction of the NAD+ result and drop the P value, the replicate count and the single-concentration post-test.

Selectivity was tested across five enzymes by a contract laboratory. The compound did not inhibit DNMT1 or PRMT3 up to 600 micromolar, produced roughly 10 percent inhibition of COMT at 600 micromolar with no concentration-dependent trend, did not inhibit NAMPT up to 100 micromolar, and did not inhibit SIRT1 between 10 nanomolar and 300 micromolar. That panel is more thorough than most compounds in this category receive. It is also not the whole picture: in the discussion of their 2024 paper the developers state that ongoing optimisation work is addressing species-specific high metabolic clearance and off-target activity against monoamine oxidase A. No published measurement of that off-target activity was located.

Four rodent studies of body composition

First of the in vivo reports was an eleven-day study in male diet-induced obese C57Bl/6 mice, 17 weeks old and maintained on a high-fat diet for 16 weeks, nine per cohort. Animals received three subcutaneous injections a day of 20 mg/kg, a total of approximately 34 mg/kg/day calculated as free compound. Epididymal white adipose mass was approximately 35 percent lower than control (P less than 0.001), adipocyte size more than 30 percent smaller (P less than 0.05), and plasma total cholesterol approximately 30 percent lower (P less than 0.05), with no difference in food intake. Triglyceride values were excluded from analysis because haemolysis interfered with the assay reagent, a detail absent from every secondary account located.

A 2021 study paired the compound with a diet change. Twenty-two-week-old male diet-induced obese C57BL/6J mice were switched from a high-fat Western diet to a low-fat diet and randomised to vehicle or compound at 4 mg/mL delivered at 10 microlitres per gram of body weight once daily, six to eight per group, against lean and obese controls. Cumulative body weight loss at study end was 6.3 g in the treated group against 2.9 g in the diet-switched vehicle group, and whole-body composition and liver adiposity in the treated arm were reported as indistinguishable from age-matched lean controls. Route of injection is not stated in the retrieved methods section.

Largest and most recent of the metabolic studies ran 30 days in 18-week-old male diet-induced obese C57BL/6 mice, eight per group, at 10 and 32 mg/kg/day by once-daily subcutaneous injection. At the high dose body weight gain was 0.9 g against 5.4 g in control and 5.2 g at the low dose, and fat mass gain was 1.3 g against 4.7 g, with no treatment effect on food intake before or after adjusting for body weight, and no effect on lean mass. Non-fasted plasma insulin rose 112 percent from baseline in controls and fell 9 percent in the high-dose group. Liver histology showed attenuated steatosis and reduced macrophage staining.

Haematology from that same study is rarely repeated downstream. Total white blood cell count was significantly reduced at the high dose, driven by a 31 percent fall in lymphocytes and a 50 percent fall in monocytes against control, the monocyte reduction also reaching significance at the low dose. The authors read this alongside the improved insulin measures, noting that white cell counts are frequently elevated in obesity. Whatever the interpretation, it is a measured change in a haematological parameter at a dose that produced the body-composition effects, and it belongs in any summary of what the rodent record contains.

Muscle, and one model where most endpoints did not move

Skeletal muscle is the second strand of the literature. In 2019 the same laboratory treated 24-month-old male C57Bl/6 mice from the National Institute on Aging, 48 animals in total, randomised to saline (n=13), 5 mg/kg (n=10) or 10 mg/kg (n=13) by twice-daily subcutaneous injection for two weeks spanning a barium chloride injury to the tibialis anterior. Myofibre cross-sectional area after injury was nearly twofold greater in treated animals, with a shift in fibre size distribution, and in vivo peak torque of the injured muscle was approximately 70 percent higher than control. A separate cohort of six per group ran three weeks post-injury and showed larger fibre areas still.

Aged female mice were used in a 2024 study combining the compound with progressive wheel running, treating from 22 to 24 months of age for eight weeks at 10 mg/kg once daily by subcutaneous injection, seven to ten per group. Sedentary treated animals showed approximately 40 percent greater grip strength than sedentary controls; exercise alone produced approximately 20 percent; the combination produced approximately 60 percent. Females were chosen because they run further at that age. Supplementary pharmacokinetic data in that paper describe rapid absorption after subcutaneous dosing, a half-life of around seven hours, and no accumulation with repeat administration.

Not every muscle model produced a broad effect. A 2025 study by an independent group at the University of Florida randomised male 12-week-old BALB/cJ mice to placebo or inhibitor at 10 mg/kg intraperitoneally, beginning three hours before femoral artery ligation and continuing daily. Limb perfusion recovery, capillary density, muscle mass and myofibre size were all unchanged; necrosis severity trended without reaching significance at P = 0.08. Muscle strength (P less than 0.0001), power (P = 0.0305) and total work (P = 0.0367) in the ischaemic limb did improve. The abstract reports 24 mice randomised while the methods section states 19 were purchased, a discrepancy left unresolved in the published text.

Independent groups have used the compound outside metabolism. Akar and colleagues reported antiproliferative activity in HeLa cells in 2021; Yang and colleagues used the iodide salt in mouse urothelial bladder cancer models in 2024; a microbiome study in 2022 paired it with a reduced-calorie diet in obese mice. A 2026 Cell Reports paper on tubular senescence and kidney fibrosis, with authors from the originating company among a largely European group, reports that selective NNMT inhibition was protective in senescent kidney cells, organoids and in vivo; the published abstract does not name the inhibitor, and the compound name appears in the preprint text indexed by Europe PMC.

Two oral bioavailability figures, eleven-fold apart

Rat pharmacokinetics were published in 2021 by a group at Texas Southern University, which validated an LC-MS/MS assay in rat plasma and urine and applied it to intravenous and oral dosing. Reported values were a mean maximum plasma concentration of 2252 ng/mL after the oral dose, mean AUC to infinity of 3708 and 14431 h.ng/mL for the intravenous and oral groups respectively, mean terminal elimination half-lives of 3.80 plus or minus 1.10 hours intravenously and 6.90 plus or minus 1.20 hours orally, and oral bioavailability of 38.4 percent. Doses and group sizes are not stated in the retrieved abstract.

Mouse pharmacokinetics were published in 2024 by the developers and read differently. After 5 mg/kg intravenously, plasma clearance was 101 mL/min/kg, steady-state volume of distribution approximately 39 L/kg and terminal half-life 6.3 hours. After 30 mg/kg orally, maximum concentration was 14.5 ng/mL at four hours and AUC to infinity 224 h.ng/mL, giving an oral bioavailability of 3.5 percent. Subcutaneous dosing at 25 mg/kg reached maximum concentration at about 15 minutes with half-lives of 13.3 hours acutely and 12.8 hours after five days. Plasma stayed above the stated mouse NNMT IC50 of 78 ng/mL for roughly two to four hours after parenteral dosing. Three to six animals were sampled per timepoint.

These two figures are the most consequential disagreement in the record and neither is obviously wrong. The rat study reports 38.4 percent; the mouse study reports 3.5 percent, and attributes the low value to limited enteric absorption plus first-pass metabolism, citing a half-life under seven minutes and clearance of 57.9 mL/min/kg in cryopreserved mouse hepatocytes. Different species, different laboratories, both peer-reviewed, no third species measured. Secondary pages that quote an oral bioavailability figure quote the rat one; the developers' own mouse figure, published three years later, was not found on any of them.

No trial, and one regulatory document that names it

ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches on 5-Amino-1MQ, 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium and 5A1MQ each returned zero studies. A broader term search on NNMT returned two records, one an endometrial gene-expression study and one a terminated hydroxychloroquine trial, neither administering an NNMT inhibitor. There is accordingly no human pharmacokinetic profile, no dose-ranging study, no safety database and no efficacy endpoint in people for this compound. Every quantitative statement above describes a mouse, a rat or a cell line.

One regulatory document names it directly. A United States Food and Drug Administration warning letter, MARCS-CMS 718739, issued 20 January 2026 to a registered outsourcing facility in Florida, records that investigators found the facility compounding drug products using bulk drug substances not eligible under section 503B of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, naming 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium iodide among them, on the grounds that it does not appear on the 503B bulks list and is not used to compound a drug on the shortage list. The letter's separate findings on bacterial endotoxin and three patients sent to an emergency department concern an NAD+ product from that facility, not this compound, and should not be attributed to it.

That letter establishes two things the literature does not. It confirms the compound has been prepared as an injectable product for human administration outside any trial, and it records the agency's position that such preparation is not covered by the compounding exemptions. The molecule is not an approved drug in any jurisdiction, and the papers describing it consistently call it a probe or a candidate rather than a treatment.

What is not known

There is no human data of any kind. ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches on 5-Amino-1MQ, 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium and 5A1MQ each returned zero registered studies, so no human pharmacokinetics, no dose-ranging, no safety database and no efficacy endpoint exist. The animal record is narrow in a specific way: the metabolic studies used male diet-induced obese mice almost exclusively, the muscle studies used aged C57Bl/6 mice of one sex per study, and the longest exposure located was eight weeks. No study in a non-rodent species was found, and no reproductive, developmental, carcinogenicity or immunogenicity work exists. Sample sizes are small throughout, from six to thirteen animals per group, and the foundational cell-culture dose-response curves carry two replicates per point. The two published oral bioavailability figures differ elevenfold between rat and mouse and cannot be reconciled from the published data. NAD+ has never been measured in a treated animal, only in cultured cells, which leaves the mechanistic chain from enzyme inhibition to whole-body effect inferred rather than demonstrated in vivo. Off-target activity against monoamine oxidase A is acknowledged by the developers without a published number. Several papers describing the compound come from the originating laboratory or the company spun out of it, with those interests declared; the independent replications located are the bladder cancer, HeLa, kidney fibrosis and peripheral artery disease studies, and the last of those found most of its endpoints unchanged.

Questions

Is 5-Amino-1MQ a peptide?
No. It is a quaternary methylquinolinium cation with a molecular weight of 159.21 as the free cation and 286.11 as the iodide salt. There is no amino acid residue and no amide backbone in the structure. PubChem and the FDA substance registry both index it as a chemical substance. It is nonetheless sold and discussed almost universally alongside research peptides.
Has 5-Amino-1MQ been studied in humans?
No. ClinicalTrials.gov intervention searches under 5-Amino-1MQ, 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium and 5A1MQ each returned zero registered studies as of August 2026. There is no published human pharmacokinetic study, no safety trial and no efficacy trial. The entire retrievable evidence base is mouse, rat and cell culture.
Is it orally bioavailable?
The two published figures disagree by a factor of eleven. A 2021 rat study reported 38.4 percent (PMID 34304009). A 2024 mouse study from the compound's developers reported 3.5 percent, attributing the low value to limited enteric absorption and high first-pass metabolism (PMID 39161060). Both are peer-reviewed, no third species has been measured, and secondary pages quote only the rat figure.
Did the original studies show it raises NAD+?
Weakly, and only in cultured cells. In differentiated 3T3-L1 adipocytes the one-way ANOVA main effect on intracellular NAD+ was P=0.0568, which the authors called almost significant, with two replicates per data point and a post-test reaching significance at one concentration. No rodent study located measured NAD+ in tissue or plasma after administration.
What is its regulatory status?
It is not an approved drug in any jurisdiction. A United States FDA warning letter issued 20 January 2026 (MARCS-CMS 718739) to a registered outsourcing facility records that 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium iodide does not appear on the 503B bulks list and that drug products compounded with it are not eligible for the section 503B exemptions.

References

  1. Neelakantan H, Wang HY, Vance V, Hommel JD, McHardy SF, Watowich SJ. Structure-activity relationship for small molecule inhibitors of nicotinamide N-methyltransferase. J Med Chem. 2017;60(12):5015-5028. PMID 28548833. DOI 10.1021/acs.jmedchem.7b00389. PubMed lists no retraction, erratum or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Neelakantan H, Vance V, Wetzel MD, et al. Selective and membrane-permeable small molecule inhibitors of nicotinamide N-methyltransferase reverse high fat diet-induced obesity in mice. Biochem Pharmacol. 2018;147:141-152 (epub 15 Nov 2017). PMID 29155147. DOI 10.1016/j.bcp.2017.11.007. PubMed lists no retraction, erratum or expression of concern. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Neelakantan H, Brightwell CR, Graber TG, et al. Small molecule nicotinamide N-methyltransferase inhibitor activates senescent muscle stem cells and improves regenerative capacity of aged skeletal muscle. Biochem Pharmacol. 2019;163:481-492. PMID 30753815. DOI 10.1016/j.bcp.2019.02.008. The methods identify the inhibitor as 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Sampson CM, Dimet AL, Neelakantan H, et al. Combined nicotinamide N-methyltransferase inhibition and reduced-calorie diet normalizes body composition and enhances metabolic benefits in obese mice. Sci Rep. 2021;11(1):5637. PMID 33707534. DOI 10.1038/s41598-021-85051-6. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Awosemo O, Neelakantan H, Watowich S, Ma J, Wu L, Chow DS, Liang D. Development and validation of LC-MS/MS assay for 5-amino-1-methyl quinolinium in rat plasma: application to pharmacokinetic and oral bioavailability studies. J Pharm Biomed Anal. 2021;204:114255. PMID 34304009. DOI 10.1016/j.jpba.2021.114255. Source of the 38.4 percent rat oral bioavailability figure. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Dimet-Wiley A, Wu Q, Wiley JT, et al. Reduced calorie diet combined with NNMT inhibition establishes a distinct microbiome in DIO mice. Sci Rep. 2022;12(1):484. PMID 35013352. DOI 10.1038/s41598-021-03670-5. Names the inhibitor as 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Dimet-Wiley AL, Latham CM, Brightwell CR, et al. Nicotinamide N-methyltransferase inhibition mimics and boosts exercise-mediated improvements in muscle function in aged mice. Sci Rep. 2024;14(1):15554. PMID 38969654. DOI 10.1038/s41598-024-66034-9. Methods identify the NNMTi as 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium (5A-1MQ). Authors declare employment by and founding of the developing company. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Babula JJ, Bui D, Stevenson HL, Watowich SJ, Neelakantan H. Nicotinamide N-methyltransferase inhibition mitigates obesity-related metabolic dysfunction. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2024;26(11):5272-5282. PMID 39161060. DOI 10.1111/dom.15879. Source of the 3.5 percent mouse oral bioavailability figure, the 78 ng/mL mouse NNMT IC50 and the acknowledgement of MAO-A off-target activity. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Dong G, Choi J, Li Y, et al. Nicotinamide N-methyltransferase inhibition improves limb function in experimental peripheral artery disease. Physiol Rep. 2025;13(20):e70615. PMID 41108586. DOI 10.14814/phy2.70615. The methods identify the inhibitor only by a commercial catalogue number, which PubChem lists among the synonyms of the iodide record (CID 66522933). View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Chanvillard L, Lantermans HC, Wall C, et al. NNMT inhibition counteracts tubular senescence and fibrosis in early stages of chronic kidney disease. Cell Rep. 2026;45(1):116823. PMID 41543936. DOI 10.1016/j.celrep.2025.116823. The published abstract does not name the inhibitor; the compound name appears in the preprint text indexed by Europe PMC. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Akar S, Duran T, Azzawri AA, et al. Small molecule inhibitor of nicotinamide N-methyltransferase shows anti-proliferative activity in HeLa cells. J Obstet Gynaecol. 2021;41(8):1240-1245. PMID 33645410. DOI 10.1080/01443615.2020.1854696. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Yang M, Wang B, Hou W, et al. NAD metabolism enzyme NNMT in cancer-associated fibroblasts drives tumor progression and resistance to immunotherapy by modulating macrophages in urothelial bladder cancer. J Immunother Cancer. 2024;12(7):e009281. PMID 39067875. DOI 10.1136/jitc-2024-009281. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Kraus D, Yang Q, Kong D, et al. Nicotinamide N-methyltransferase knockdown protects against diet-induced obesity. Nature. 2014;508(7495):258-62. PMID 24717514. DOI 10.1038/nature13198. Antisense oligonucleotide knockdown of the target, not administration of this compound; frequently miscited as Nature Medicine. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Akerud T, De Fusco C, Brandt P, et al. Mechanism and kinetics of turnover inhibitors of nicotinamide N-methyl transferase in vitro and in vivo. J Biol Chem. 2025;301(6):108492. PMID 40209950. DOI 10.1016/j.jbc.2025.108492. A separate chemical class of NNMT inhibitor, included to distinguish it from the methylquinolinium series. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. PubChem CID 950107 (5-amino-1-methylquinolinium cation; C10H11N2+; 159.21; CAS 685079-15-6; InChIKey ZMJBCEIHNOWCMC-UHFFFAOYSA-O) and CID 66522933 (iodide salt; C10H11IN2; 286.11; CAS 42464-96-0). Retrieved via PUG REST, 17 August 2026. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. FDA Global Substance Registration System: UNII PMX593N4N3, 5-Amino-1-methylquinolinium, CAS 685079-15-6; UNII K9G33W2TTZ, 5-Amino-1-methylquinolinium iodide, CAS 42464-96-0. Both records approved, substance class chemical. Retrieved 17 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  17. United States Food and Drug Administration warning letter, MARCS-CMS 718739, issued 20 January 2026. Records that a registered outsourcing facility compounded drug products using bulk drug substances not eligible under section 503B of the FD&C Act, naming 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium iodide (5-Amino-1MQ), because it does not appear on the 503B bulks list. View on www.fda.gov
  18. ClinicalTrials.gov API v2 intervention searches on 5-Amino-1MQ, 5-amino-1-methylquinolinium and 5A1MQ, each returning a total count of zero; term search on NNMT returning two unrelated studies. Run 17 August 2026. View on clinicaltrials.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.