Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

9-Me-BC (9-methyl-beta-carboline)

9-Me-BC is norharmane carrying a methyl group on its indole nitrogen. One German laboratory has built fifteen years of cell-culture and rodent work around the finding that this single substitution turns a neurotoxic scaffold into a neurostimulatory one. A separate group gave the same molecule to mice in 1998 and reported bradykinesia, lower dopamine and serotonin, and a third fewer tyrosine hydroxylase neurones in the substantia nigra. Neither result has ever been tested in a person.

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyRodent and cell-culture work only; no registered human trial and no published human data of any kind 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Beta-carboline alkaloid; N9-methylated norharmane (9-methylpyrido[3,4-b]indole). XLogP 2.3; pyridinic pKa 6.3 as measured by Vignoni 2013
CAS number
2521-07-5
PubChem CID
164979
Molecular formula
C12H10N2
Molecular weight
182.22 g/mol (average); 182.084398327 monoisotopic; FDA GSRS computes 182.2216
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
9-methyl-beta-carboline; 9-methylnorharman; 9-Methylnorharmane; N-methylnorharmane; 9-methyl-9H-pyrido[3,4-b]indole; 9-methylpyrido[3,4-b]indole; 9H-Pyrido[3,4-b]indole, 9-methyl-; UNII GC837J2CCJ; DTXSID50179871. No ChEMBL record exists for InChIKey MABOIYXDALNSES-UHFFFAOYSA-N

A methyl group on the indole nitrogen

The molecule is unambiguous. The naming is not. 9-methylnorharman, 9-methylnorharmane, N-methylnorharmane and 9-methyl-9H-pyrido[3,4-b]indole all appear as depositor-supplied synonyms on a single PubChem entry: CID 164979, CAS 2521-07-5, molecular formula C12H10N2, average molecular weight 182.22, monoisotopic mass 182.0844, InChIKey MABOIYXDALNSES-UHFFFAOYSA-N, XLogP 2.3, UNII GC837J2CCJ. The FDA Global Substance Registration System holds that same UNII under the name 9-Methyl-beta-carboline, classified as a chemical substance, with the same formula and CAS number and a computed weight of 182.2216. ChEMBL returns no record for that InChIKey. The pharmacology literature and the chemical registries are describing one molecule under several names.

Position matters more than usual here. The parent scaffold is norharmane, the unsubstituted beta-carboline, and the methyl group sits on N9, the indole nitrogen. Methylation at N2, the pyridine nitrogen, produces a permanent cation that behaves entirely differently, and the molecule carrying both methyls is the neurotoxin that runs through half of this record. Vignoni and colleagues 2013 measured the pyridinic pKa of the 9-methyl compound at 6.3 plus or minus 0.3, so at physiological pH the neutral and protonated forms coexist in solution. A 2020 review in the International Journal of Molecular Sciences calls it a methylated derivative of norharman in one passage and of harmane in another; harmane is 1-methyl-beta-carboline, a different molecule, and the second description is an error.

Regulatory standing is thin, and thin in a direction that is easy to misread. The compound is not an approved medicine in any jurisdiction located this session, and the FDA registry entry records chemical identity rather than authorisation. Pokrywka and colleagues 2025, surveying the Polish dietary supplement market for a Biology of Sport review of cognitive-enhancement substances, list 9-Me-BC among synthetic ingredients whose anti-doping status they classified as unclear, with the explanatory column for that row left blank. That is a statement about a regulatory gap. It is not a statement about pharmacology and it is not a statement about safety.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Basal lactate dehydrogenase release inhibited, propidium-iodide-stained cell number reduced, caspase-3 activity decreased, total protein unchanged, ATP content increased; number of differentiated dopaminergic neurones significantly increased; Shh, Wnt1, Wnt5a, En1, En2, Nurr1, Pitx3, Th, Dat and Aldh1a1 stimulated; dopamine content raised non-significantly; dopamine uptake capacity elevated; antiproliferative in human SH-SY5Y cellsPrimary mesencephalic dopaminergic cultures from C57BL/6 mouse embryos; human SH-SY5Y neuroblastoma lineIn vitro, culture mediumNot stated in the retrieved reportHamann 2008, Neurochem Int, PMID 17913302
Tyrosine hydroxylase expression stimulated in pre-existing dopa-decarboxylase-immunoreactive neurones with Gata2, Gata3, Creb1 and Crebbp upregulated; neurite outgrowth stimulated; protection against lipopolysaccharide and against 2,9-dimethyl-beta-carbolinium in acute toxicity models; regeneration of TH-immunoreactive neurones after chronic rotenone; microglial proliferation inhibited with Cxcl9, Irf1, Fasl, Icam1, Tnf and Vcam1 downregulated; alpha-synuclein protein content loweredPrimary mesencephalic dopaminergic cultures from mouse embryosIn vitro, culture mediumNot stated in the retrieved reportPolanski 2010, J Neurochem, PMID 20374418
Number of tyrosine-hydroxylase-positive neurones increased concentration-dependently, reaching a maximum of 33 plus or minus 8 percent additional TH-positive neurones at 90 micromolar; in astrocyte-depleted culture the increase was a non-significant trendPrimary mesencephalic dopaminergic cultures from C57BL/6 mice, gestation day 14In vitro, 48 hours at 10 to 150 micromolar (10 to 12 days in vitro)Three independent experiments, each in quadruplicateKeller 2020, J Neural Transm (Vienna), PMID 32285253
Artn gene expression raised 3.2-fold (p less than 0.01), Bdnf twofold, Ntf3 1.8-fold, Skp1 1.5-fold, Ncam1 1.4-fold and Tgfb2 1.4-fold (all p less than 0.05); Nrtn, Pspn, Tgfb1 and Lrrk2 showed no significant change. The paper's discussion nonetheless lists Nrtn and Pspn among the upregulated factorsNeonatal mouse cortical astrocyte cultures, under 1 percent non-astrocytic cellsIn vitro, 90 micromolar for 48 hours (12 to 14 days in vitro)Three independent experiments in duplicateKeller 2020, J Neural Transm (Vienna), PMID 32285253
Bromodeoxyuridine incorporation unchanged at 10, 30 and 50 micromolar; reduced by 39 plus or minus 4 percent at 90 micromolar and by 71 plus or minus 6 percent at 150 micromolar (p less than 0.0001). Uptake into astrocytes was reduced by an organic cation transporter inhibitor up to 50 nanomolar but not abolishedMouse cortical astrocyte culturesIn vitro, 48 hoursThree to five independent experiments, each in quadruplicateKeller 2020, J Neural Transm (Vienna), PMID 32285253
Half-maximal inhibitory concentration of 1 micromolar for MAO-A and 15.5 micromolar for MAO-B, measured with a commercial luminescent MAO assay over one hourHuman MAO-A and MAO-B enzyme preparations (cell-free)In vitro enzyme assayThree independent experiments in duplicateKeller 2020, J Neural Transm (Vienna), PMID 32285253
Oxidation of MPTP to MPDP+/MPP+ inhibited with a half-maximal inhibitory concentration of 7.3 micromolar for 9-methylnorharman, against 9.9 micromolar for norharman, 12.6 micromolar for menadione, 0.18 micromolar for methylene blue and 0.15 micromolar for R-deprenyl; the oxidation in this preparation is performed by MAO-BIsolated human mitochondria and human MAO enzymesIn vitroNot stated in the retrieved reportHerraiz and Guillen 2011, Food Chem Toxicol, PMID 21554916
Left striatal dopamine, lowered by roughly half by prior MPP+ infusion, recovered; stereological counts of tyrosine-hydroxylase-immunoreactive cells in substantia nigra reported to reach normal values; complex I activity in striatal mitochondria approximately 80 percent higher than in MPP+ plus saline animals, with no change in respiratory-chain complex composition; Bdnf, conserved dopamine neurotrophic factor, cerebellin 1 precursor protein and ciliary neurotrophic factor induced. A 2019 review states the nigral cell-count claim is not supported by a reported significant difference between vehicle and treated groupsRats pretreated with MPP+ into the left cerebral ventricle for 28 daysIntracerebroventricular, left ventricle, 14 days; compound dose not stated in the retrieved reportNot stated in the retrieved reportWernicke 2010, Pharmacol Rep, PMID 20360614
Ten days of treatment, but not five, improved spatial learning in the radial maze, elevated dopamine levels in the hippocampal formation, and produced elongated and more complex dendritic trees with higher spine numbers on dentate gyrus granule neuronesRats; strain, sex and age not stated in the retrieved reportIntraperitoneal injection, 10 days. The dose is quoted in secondary sources at both 0.2 and 2 micromoles per 100 g body weight; the methods section could not be retrieved and no dose is asserted hereNot stated in the retrieved reportGruss 2012, J Neurochem, PMID 22380576
Bradykinesia with reduced locomotor activity; dopamine and serotonin content decreased in various regions; tyrosine-hydroxylase-positive cells in substantia nigra pars compacta reduced to 66 percent of control values, against 76 percent for norharman; brain formation of the 2,9-dimethyl-norharmanium cation 14 times higher than in norharman-treated and eight times higher than in 2-methyl-norharmanium-treated miceC57BL/6 miceSystemic administration for 7 days; specific route and dose not stated in the retrieved reportNot stated in the retrieved reportMatsubara 1998, J Neurochem, PMID 9453568
Michaelis constant of 75 micromolar and maximum velocity of 48 picomoles per hour per milligram of protein for 2-N-methylation of 9-methylnorharman by brain cytosolic beta-carboline-2-N-methyltransferase; activity inhibited by S-adenosyl-L-homocysteine and by zinc and doubled by iron or manganese. A later paper from the same group attributed the activity to phenylethanolamine N-methyltransferase, which converted 9-methylnorharman at 21.1 picomoles per hour per unit of enzyme and was inhibited with a half-maximal concentration of 1.9 micromolar by a selective PNMT inhibitorBovine brain cytosol; purified phenylethanolamine N-methyltransferase; human adrenal medulla tissueIn vitro enzyme assayNot stated in the retrieved reportsGearhart 1997, Neurochem Res, PMID 9016836; Gearhart 2002, Neurochem Int, PMID 11900856
Under UVA at 365 nanometres for 20 minutes at pH 7.4: 1.3 plus or minus 0.3 Fpg-sensitive base modifications per 10,000 base pairs, 0.05 plus or minus 0.02 single-strand breaks, 0.06 plus or minus 0.03 endonuclease-III-sensitive sites and 0.10 plus or minus 0.03 T4-endonuclease-V-sensitive sites. Superoxide dismutase and catalase did not significantly reduce oxidised purines; singlet-oxygen quantum yield 0.10 plus or minus 0.01; pyridinic pKa 6.3 plus or minus 0.3. No damage without irradiation or without compoundSupercoiled bacteriophage PM2 plasmid DNA in phosphate buffer (cell-free)In vitro, 6.0 micromolar with UVA irradiationThree independent experiments (four for the concentration-response series)Vignoni 2013, Org Biomol Chem, PMID 23842892
Elimination half-life of 15 to 24 hoursNo pharmacokinetic study of this compound exists in the indexed literature. A PubMed search for the compound name combined with pharmacokinetics returned two records, both fluorescence-spectroscopy papers on excited-state proton transfer in water and dimethylformamide (PMID 19705259, PMID 19536642), neither of which measures anything in an organism. A Europe PMC full-text search pairing 9-me-BC with pharmacokinetic, half-life or bioavailability returned three records, all reviews, none carrying a primary measurement. The full texts of every retrievable paper in this record were searched for a plasma concentration, an elimination curve or a clearance figure and none was found. The 15 to 24 hour range appears on aggregator and vendor pages without a citation.No source found
Oral bioavailability is comparable across preparations, with sublingual administration giving faster onsetNo study located administered this compound by mouth, in any species. The two rodent studies used intracerebroventricular infusion (Wernicke 2010, PMID 20360614) and intraperitoneal injection (Gruss 2012, PMID 22380576); the 1998 mouse study describes systemic administration without specifying the route in the retrieved abstract (PMID 9453568). Searched PubMed and Europe PMC for oral, gavage, absorption and bioavailability terms alongside every synonym of this compound; no absorption study, no bioavailability figure and no comparison of routes was located. Statements about relative bioavailability of oral against sublingual preparations have no primary source of any kind.No source found
9-Me-BC raises nerve growth factorKeller 2020 (PMC8592951) included Ngf in its RT-qPCR primer panel for cortical astrocytes and reported no result for it in the results narrative, which covers Artn, Nrtn, Pspn, Tgfb1, Tgfb2, Bdnf, Ncam1, Ntf3, Lrrk2 and Skp1 only. The claim traces instead to a single discussion sentence in the same paper listing Ngf among factors reported by three earlier studies (Polanski 2010, Wernicke 2010, Hamann 2008); the abstracts of those three name Gdnf, Bdnf, Cdnf, Cbln1 and Cntf but not Ngf, and their full texts are closed access and could not be retrieved this session. No measured NGF value for this compound was located in any species or preparation.No source found
9-Me-BC is metabolised in the liver into the neurotoxin 2,9-dimethyl-beta-carbolineThe conversion is real and the organ is wrong. The 2-N-methylation of 9-methylnorharman was characterised in bovine brain cytosol (Gearhart 1997, PMID 9016836) and attributed to phenylethanolamine N-methyltransferase, an enzyme measured in that work in human adrenal medulla (Gearhart 2002, PMID 11900856); Matsubara 1993 (PMID 8518935) measured the methylation activities in human parietal cortex and substantia nigra. Searched PubMed and Europe PMC for hepatic, liver, microsome and cytochrome P450 terms alongside every synonym of this compound; no hepatic metabolism study was located, and no liver preparation appears in any of the enzymology papers. The only in vivo formation figure comes from mouse brain (Matsubara 1998, PMID 9453568).No source found
High lipophilicity causes the compound to accumulate in brain tissue and persist there for extended periodsNo tissue distribution study of this compound exists in any species. Searched PubMed and Europe PMC for brain-to-plasma ratio, tissue concentration, distribution and accumulation terms under the compound name, its CAS number and its synonyms; nothing was returned. The lipophilicity premise is also weaker than stated: PubChem gives XLogP 2.3 for CID 164979, a moderate value. Note the direction of the one in vivo measurement that does exist: what Matsubara 1998 quantified accumulating in mouse brain was not the parent compound but its dimethylated cation.No source found
9-Me-BC occurs endogenously in the human brain and is found in coffee, tobacco smoke and cooked meatThe claim is true of beta-carbolines as a class and was not located for this member. Norharman and harman have been measured in human brain, cerebrospinal fluid and plasma and occur in cooked foods and tobacco smoke, and the charged 2-methyl-norharmanium and 2,9-dimethyl-norharmanium ions were detected in human parietal cortex and substantia nigra at autopsy (Matsubara 1993, PMID 8518935). That paper measured norharman and harman by HPLC with fluorescence detection and used 9-methylnorharman as an enzyme substrate rather than reporting it as an analyte. A PubMed search on 9-methylnorharman returns three records, none of which reports a detected tissue or food concentration; a Europe PMC full-text search on the same term combined with brain, plasma or detected returns four, likewise none. A 2020 review of beta-carbolines in laboratory animals describes this compound as synthetic. No primary report of 9-Me-BC detected in any human tissue, food or smoke was located.No source found
The rats in the radial-maze study received 0.2 micromoles per 100 g body weightTwo figures a factor of ten apart circulate for the same experiment. A secondary summary of Gruss 2012 gives 0.2 micromoles per 100 g intraperitoneally for 10 days; a 2019 paper on norharmane in a streptozotocin rat model, citing the same reference, gives 2 micromoles per 100 g body weight for 10 days. The primary paper (PMID 22380576) is closed access: Unpaywall reports no open location, Europe PMC serves no full text, and both the publisher page and the aggregator copy returned HTTP 403 this session. Neither figure could be checked against the methods section and neither is asserted in the ledger.No source found
9-Me-BC restores dopamine function, reverses stimulant tolerance and enhances cognition in peopleThere is no human data of any kind. A ClinicalTrials.gov API search across 9-Me-BC, 9-methyl-beta-carboline, 9-methylnorharman and CAS 2521-07-5 returned no registered study as of 18 August 2026; the five records returned by the bare string 9-Me-BC are unrelated oncology, psychotherapy and rehabilitation trials matching on tokens. The German and European registry interfaces could not be queried programmatically this session and are recorded as unchecked rather than as negative. Every finding in the literature is from rodent or cell-culture work, and the compound has no marketing authorisation anywhere located. Tolerance, subjective effect and dosing claims originate in forum and vendor material and have no primary source.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The cell-culture record, and the concentrations it runs at

Hamann and colleagues 2008 opened the line. Primary mesencephalic cultures from C57BL/6 mouse embryos harvested at gestation day 14 were treated with the compound; basal lactate dehydrogenase release fell, propidium-iodide-stained cell counts fell, caspase-3 activity fell, total protein was unchanged and ATP content rose. The number of differentiated dopaminergic neurones increased, and a set of transcription and marker genes decisive for dopaminergic differentiation was stimulated: Shh, Wnt1, Wnt5a, En1, En2, Nurr1, Pitx3, Th, Dat and Aldh1a1. Dopamine content rose non-significantly. In human SH-SY5Y neuroblastoma cells the effect was antiproliferative. Those authors closed by writing that whether the additional neurones came from precursors, from previously tyrosine-hydroxylase-negative neurones, or from transdifferentiation remained to be established.

Polanski and colleagues 2010 extended it into what that paper called a tetrad. Tyrosine hydroxylase expression rose in pre-existing dopa-decarboxylase-immunoreactive neurones and the transcription factors Gata2, Gata3, Creb1 and Crebbp were upregulated; neurite outgrowth increased; the compound protected against lipopolysaccharide and against the 2,9-dimethyl-beta-carbolinium cation in acute models, and produced regeneration after chronic rotenone; microglial proliferation was inhibited and the inflammation-related genes Cxcl9, Irf1, Fasl, Icam1, Tnf and Vcam1 were downregulated. Alpha-synuclein protein content in the cultures fell. All of it is a dish result in mouse embryonic tissue, and that paper's closing sentence is a call for further exploration rather than a claim of effect.

Keller and colleagues 2020 added astrocytes and put numbers on the concentration range. Across 10, 30, 50, 90 and 150 micromolar for 48 hours, the maximum was 33 plus or minus 8 percent additional tyrosine-hydroxylase-positive neurones at 90 micromolar. In cortical astrocyte cultures at that concentration, artemin gene expression rose 3.2-fold, Bdnf twofold, Ntf3 1.8-fold, Skp1 1.5-fold, and Ncam1 and Tgfb2 1.4-fold each, across three independent experiments in duplicate. Bromodeoxyuridine incorporation fell by 39 plus or minus 4 percent at 90 micromolar and 71 plus or minus 6 percent at 150 micromolar. The paper disagrees with itself once: its results state that neurturin and persephin showed no significant increase, and its discussion lists both among the factors upregulated. Its 2022 erratum converts the article to open access and changes no data.

Two in vivo studies from the same programme

Wernicke and colleagues 2010 ran the restoration experiment in rats. The neurotoxin MPP+ was infused into the left cerebral ventricle for 28 days at a dose chosen to lower left striatal dopamine by roughly half, and 9-Me-BC was then delivered into the same ventricle for 14 days. Striatal dopamine recovered. Stereological counts of tyrosine-hydroxylase-immunoreactive cells in the substantia nigra were reported to return to normal values. Complex I activity in striatal mitochondria was about 80 percent higher than in animals given MPP+ and saline, with no change in the composition of the respiratory-chain complexes, and microarray and RT-PCR showed induction of Bdnf, conserved dopamine neurotrophic factor, cerebellin 1 precursor protein and ciliary neurotrophic factor.

An independent reading of that experiment reaches a different conclusion. Sidorova, Volcho and Salakhutdinov, reviewing neuroregenerative agents for Parkinson's disease in Current Neuropharmacology in 2019, wrote that the claimed effect on nigral tyrosine-hydroxylase-positive cell number is arguable because no statistically significant difference between vehicle-treated and compound-treated groups was reported, and noted that no motor effect of either MPP+ or the compound was observed. The same review observed that the 25 to 100 micromolar concentrations used in the culture work are unlikely to be reached by systemic administration. Retrieval of the Wernicke full text failed this session, so the disagreement is recorded here rather than settled.

Gruss and colleagues 2012 ran the cognition experiment, also in rats, by intraperitoneal injection. Ten days of treatment, but not five, produced faster acquisition in the radial maze, higher dopamine levels in the hippocampal formation, and longer and more complex dendritic trees with higher spine numbers on granule neurones of the dentate gyrus. That paper is closed access and could not be retrieved. Its dose circulates in secondary sources at two values a factor of ten apart, and neither could be checked against the methods section. Sample sizes, strain, sex and age are likewise unavailable from the abstract and are recorded in the ledger as not stated in the retrieved report.

The 1998 experiment that ran the other way

Twelve years before the Dresden work, a different group gave the same molecule to mice and reported the opposite. Matsubara and colleagues 1998, in the Journal of Neurochemistry, administered norharman, the 2-methyl-norharmanium cation and 9-methylnorharman systemically to C57BL/6 mice for seven days. All three induced bradykinesia with reduced locomotor activity. Norharman and the 2-methyl cation lowered dopamine to 50 to 70 percent of control values in striatum and midbrain. The 9-methyl compound lowered not only dopamine but also serotonin across several regions, and immunohistochemistry put tyrosine-hydroxylase-positive cells in the substantia nigra pars compacta at 66 percent of control, against 76 percent for norharman.

Their proposed mechanism is the part that bears on everything above it. Brain formation of the 2,9-dimethylated norharmanium cation was 14 times higher in mice given the 9-methyl compound than in mice given norharman, and eight times higher than in mice given the 2-methyl cation. On that reading the N9 methyl is not a protective modification but the feature that makes the molecule a better substrate for the second methylation, which produces the toxic species. In cultured rat embryonic mesencephalic cells in the same paper, the dimethylated cation killed tyrosine-hydroxylase-positive neurones selectively at low concentration and killed all neurones at higher concentration.

That cation is not hypothetical. Matsubara and colleagues 1993 detected 2-methyl-norharmanium and 2,9-dimethyl-norharmanium in human parietal association cortex and substantia nigra at forensic autopsy, nigral levels exceeding cortical ones, and measured the N-methylation activities that form them. Gearhart and colleagues characterised the enzymology: bovine brain beta-carboline-2-N-methyltransferase showed a KM of 75 micromolar and a Vmax of 48 picomoles per hour per milligram of protein toward 9-methylnorharman in 1997, and in 2002 the same group identified phenylethanolamine N-methyltransferase as carrying that activity, converting 9-methylnorharman at 21.1 picomoles per hour per unit of enzyme. Hamann and colleagues 2006 showed the dimethylated cation killing dopaminergic neurones preferentially in primary culture.

Nothing published reconciles the two lines. One programme used intracerebroventricular or intraperitoneal delivery in rats over 10 to 14 days; the 1998 experiment used systemic delivery in mice over seven days. Species, route, duration and endpoints all differ, and no study located ran both protocols in the same animals. Whether the difference is one of dose, of species, or of what the molecule does remains open on the published record.

Monoamine oxidase, reported at two different numbers

Keller and colleagues 2020 measured inhibition of human MAO-A and MAO-B with a commercial luminescent enzyme kit, one hour of incubation, three independent experiments in duplicate, and reported half-maximal inhibitory concentrations of 1 micromolar for MAO-A and 15.5 micromolar for MAO-B. That paper set the figures against published values for rasagiline, the MAO-B inhibitor used in Parkinson's disease, at 412 nanomolar for MAO-A and 4.43 nanomolar for MAO-B. On those numbers the compound is a weak inhibitor with a preference for the A isoform, which is the reverse of the selectivity of the drug it was compared with.

Herraiz and Guillen 2011 measured something related and not identical. Working in isolated human mitochondria and following the oxidation of MPTP to its neurotoxic pyridinium species, a reaction performed by MAO-B in that preparation, they reported a half-maximal inhibitory concentration of 7.3 micromolar for 9-methylnorharman, against 9.9 micromolar for norharman, 12.6 micromolar for menadione, 0.18 micromolar for methylene blue and 0.15 micromolar for R-deprenyl. Harmine, harmaline and tetrahydro-beta-carboline showed little or no inhibition in the same assay.

Both figures are defensible and they are not interchangeable. One is a recombinant-enzyme readout in a luminescence kit; the other is substrate oxidation in an isolated mitochondrial preparation, where transport, competing substrates and the mitochondrial environment all bear on the result. Averaging 15.5 and 7.3 would produce a MAO-B potency that neither study measured. Neither figure is an in vivo measurement, and no study located has quantified monoamine oxidase inhibition in a living animal given this compound, at any dose, by any route.

Photochemistry, and the measurements that do not exist

The compound is a photosensitiser, and that has been measured directly. Vignoni and colleagues 2013 exposed supercoiled bacteriophage PM2 plasmid DNA to UVA at 365 nanometres for 20 minutes in phosphate buffer at pH 7.4 with 6.0 micromolar 9-methyl-norharmane present, and quantified 1.3 plus or minus 0.3 Fpg-sensitive base modifications per 10,000 base pairs, 0.05 plus or minus 0.02 single-strand breaks and 0.10 plus or minus 0.03 sites sensitive to T4 endonuclease V, across three independent experiments. Superoxide dismutase and catalase did not significantly change the yield of oxidised purines and the singlet-oxygen quantum yield was 0.10, so the damage was attributed to a direct type-I reaction from the protonated excited state.

What that experiment establishes has edges. It is naked plasmid DNA in buffer under a laboratory lamp, without chromatin, without repair enzymes, without a membrane and without an organism. No cell-based photogenotoxicity assay, no reconstructed-skin model and no animal phototoxicity study of this compound was located. The finding is that the molecule photosensitises DNA damage under those conditions, which is a property of the molecule and not a measurement of what happens in a treated animal.

The larger absence is pharmacokinetic. No study located this session measured a plasma concentration, an elimination half-life, oral absorption, tissue distribution, a brain-to-plasma ratio or a metabolite profile for this compound in any species. Every in vivo experiment located used injection: into the cerebral ventricle in the rat restoration study, intraperitoneally in the rat cognition study, and systemically by an unstated route in the 1998 mouse study. A PubMed search pairing the compound name with pharmacokinetics returned two records, both spectroscopy papers on excited-state proton transfer. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no registered study under any name or identifier searched.

What is not known

No human being has been studied. ClinicalTrials.gov returns no registered trial under any name or identifier searched, so there is no pharmacokinetic, dose-ranging, safety or efficacy work in people even at the registration stage. Absorption, distribution, metabolism and elimination are uncharacterised in every species: no plasma concentration, no half-life, no oral absorption figure, no brain-to-plasma ratio and no metabolite profile was located, and every in vivo experiment on record used injection rather than an oral route. The preclinical record is narrower than its citation count suggests. Almost all of the positive work comes from one laboratory group in Dresden and Berlin, most of it in primary mouse mesencephalic culture at 25 to 150 micromolar, concentrations a 2019 review judged unlikely to be reached by systemic dosing; the two rodent studies are single experiments with sample sizes and doses not recoverable from the retrievable text. Direction of effect is unresolved rather than settled. A 1998 mouse study reported bradykinesia, falls in dopamine and serotonin, a third fewer nigral tyrosine hydroxylase neurones and a fourteen-fold rise in brain formation of a neurotoxic dimethylated cation, and no study has run that protocol and the Dresden protocol in the same animals. No repeat-dose toxicology, no genotoxicity assay in cells or animals, no reproductive or carcinogenicity study, and no non-rodent work of any kind was located. The compound is not approved for human use anywhere; the FDA registry entry records chemical identity, not authorisation.

Questions

Has 9-Me-BC been studied in humans?
No. A ClinicalTrials.gov API search across 9-Me-BC, 9-methyl-beta-carboline, 9-methylnorharman and CAS 2521-07-5 returned no registered study as of 18 August 2026. The five records returned by the bare string 9-Me-BC are unrelated trials matching on tokens. Every published finding comes from cell culture or from rodents, and no pharmacokinetic measurement exists in any species.
Why does one 1998 study report the opposite of everything else?
Matsubara and colleagues 1998 gave 9-methylnorharman systemically to C57BL/6 mice for seven days and reported bradykinesia, reduced dopamine and serotonin, and tyrosine-hydroxylase-positive cells in the substantia nigra pars compacta at 66 percent of control. Their explanation was that the N9 methyl makes the molecule a better substrate for a second methylation producing the neurotoxic 2,9-dimethyl-norharmanium cation, which they measured in brain at 14 times the level seen after norharman. Species, route and duration all differ from the later rat work, and no study has run both protocols in the same animals.
Is it a MAO inhibitor, and how strong?
Two published figures disagree because they measure different things. Keller 2020, using a luminescent assay on human MAO enzymes, reported half-maximal inhibitory concentrations of 1 micromolar for MAO-A and 15.5 micromolar for MAO-B. Herraiz and Guillen 2011, following MPTP oxidation in isolated human mitochondria, reported 7.3 micromolar for the same compound. Both are cell-free. No study has measured monoamine oxidase inhibition in a living animal given this compound.
Is 9-Me-BC found in food or in the body?
Not on the located record. Norharman and harman occur in cooked foods, tobacco smoke and human tissue, and the charged 2-methyl and 2,9-dimethyl norharmanium ions were detected in human cortex and substantia nigra at autopsy in 1993. No primary report of the neutral 9-methyl compound detected in any human tissue, food or smoke was found, and a 2020 review of beta-carbolines in laboratory animals describes it as synthetic. The claim is published here as unsourced.
What did the 2022 correction to the astrocyte paper change?
Nothing scientific. The correction notice attached to Keller 2020 records that the authors opted into Open Choice after publication, converting the article to open access under a Creative Commons licence. No data, figure or conclusion was altered. None of the papers cited in this record carries a Retracted Publication or Expression of Concern flag in PubMed.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 164979, 9-Methyl-beta-carboline. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026: CAS 2521-07-5, C12H10N2, 182.22 g/mol average and 182.084398327 monoisotopic, XLogP 2.3, InChIKey MABOIYXDALNSES-UHFFFAOYSA-N, UNII GC837J2CCJ, DTXSID50179871. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance 9-Methyl-beta-carboline (9-Methylnorharmane), UNII GC837J2CCJ. Substance class: chemical. Formula C12H10N2, computed weight 182.2216, CAS 2521-07-5. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Matsubara K, Collins MA, Akane A, et al. Potential bioactivated neurotoxicants, N-methylated beta-carbolinium ions, are present in human brain. Brain Res. 1993;610(1):90-96. PMID 8518935 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Gearhart DA, Neafsey EJ, Collins MA. Characterization of brain beta-carboline-2-N-methyltransferase, an enzyme that may play a role in idiopathic Parkinson's disease. Neurochem Res. 1997;22(2):113-121. Source of the KM 75 micromolar and Vmax 48 pmol/h/mg figures for 9-methylnorharman. PMID 9016836 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Matsubara K, Gonda T, Sawada H, et al. Endogenously occurring beta-carboline induces parkinsonism in nonprimate animals: a possible causative protoxin in idiopathic Parkinson's disease. J Neurochem. 1998;70(2):727-735. The single in vivo study reporting a parkinsonian outcome for this compound. PMID 9453568 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Gearhart DA, Neafsey EJ, Collins MA. Phenylethanolamine N-methyltransferase has beta-carboline 2N-methyltransferase activity: hypothetical relevance to Parkinson's disease. Neurochem Int. 2002;40(7):611-620. PMID 11900856 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Hamann J, Rommelspacher H, Storch A, Reichmann H, Gille G. Neurotoxic mechanisms of 2,9-dimethyl-beta-carbolinium ion in primary dopaminergic culture. J Neurochem. 2006;98(4):1185-1199. PMID 16787411 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Hamann J, Wernicke C, Lehmann J, Reichmann H, Rommelspacher H, Gille G. 9-Methyl-beta-carboline up-regulates the appearance of differentiated dopaminergic neurones in primary mesencephalic culture. Neurochem Int. 2008;52(4-5):688-700. Closed access; abstract only retrieved. PMID 17913302 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Polanski W, Enzensperger C, Reichmann H, Gille G. The exceptional properties of 9-methyl-beta-carboline: stimulation, protection and regeneration of dopaminergic neurons coupled with anti-inflammatory effects. J Neurochem. 2010;113(6):1659-1675. Closed access; abstract only retrieved. PMID 20374418 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Wernicke C, Hellmann J, Zieba B, et al. 9-Methyl-beta-carboline has restorative effects in an animal model of Parkinson's disease. Pharmacol Rep. 2010;62(1):35-53. Closed access; Unpaywall reports no open location. Compound dose and group sizes not recoverable from the abstract. PMID 20360614 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Herraiz T, Guillen H. Inhibition of the bioactivation of the neurotoxin MPTP by antioxidants, redox agents and monoamine oxidase inhibitors. Food Chem Toxicol. 2011;49(8):1773-1781. Source of the 7.3 micromolar figure for 9-methylnorharman in human mitochondria. PMID 21554916 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Polanski W, Reichmann H, Gille G. Stimulation, protection and regeneration of dopaminergic neurons by 9-methyl-beta-carboline: a new anti-Parkinson drug? Expert Rev Neurother. 2011;11(6):845-860. Review from the originating laboratory; closed access. PMID 21651332 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Gruss M, Appenroth D, Flubacher A, Enzensperger C, Bock J, Fleck C, Gille G, Braun K. 9-Methyl-beta-carboline-induced cognitive enhancement is associated with elevated hippocampal dopamine levels and dendritic and synaptic proliferation. J Neurochem. 2012;121(6):924-931. Closed access; the dose is quoted at two values a factor of ten apart in secondary sources and could not be verified. PMID 22380576 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Vignoni M, Rasse-Suriani FA, Butzbach K, Erra-Balsells R, Epe B, Cabrerizo FM. Mechanisms of DNA damage by photoexcited 9-methyl-beta-carbolines. Org Biomol Chem. 2013;11(32):5300-5309. Full text retrieved from an institutional repository copy. Source of the pKa 6.3, singlet-oxygen quantum yield 0.10 and DNA damage yields. PMID 23842892 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Sidorova YA, Volcho KP, Salakhutdinov NF. Neuroregeneration in Parkinson's Disease: From Proteins to Small Molecules. Curr Neuropharmacol. 2019;17(3):268-287. Source of the independent criticism of the nigral cell-count claim in Wernicke 2010 and of the observation on culture concentrations. PMID 30182859 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Keller S, Polanski WH, Enzensperger C, Reichmann H, Hermann A, Gille G. 9-Methyl-beta-carboline inhibits monoamine oxidase activity and stimulates the expression of neurotrophic factors by astrocytes. J Neural Transm (Vienna). 2020;127(7):999-1012. Carries a 2022 correction, J Neural Transm 129(1):125, PMID 34779915, which converts the article to open access and alters no data. PMID 32285253 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Zawirska-Wojtasiak R, Fedoruk-Wyszomirska A, Piechowska P, et al. Beta-Carbolines in Experiments on Laboratory Animals. Int J Mol Sci. 2020;21(15):5245. Describes this compound as synthetic; contains the harmane-versus-norharman misdescription noted in the text. PMID 32722000 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Pokrywka A, Surala O, Grabowska K, et al. Brain doping substances: prohibited or not in sports? Biol Sport. 2025;42(4):189-201. Lists 9-Me-BC among supplement-market substances of unclear anti-doping status, with the explanatory column for that row blank. PMID 41048238 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.