Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

P21 (P021)

P021 is a short synthetic peptide whose terminal unit is an adamantane cage rather than an amino acid. It was built in one laboratory from a four-residue region of human ciliary neurotrophic factor, and almost the entire published record comes from that laboratory and its collaborators. The single paper that compared this chemical series with Cerebrolysin was retracted in June 2026, and it did not test P021. A ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no registered study of any kind.

Strongest evidence: Animal onlyRodent and cell-culture work only; no registered human trial and no published human data of any kind 20 claims logged 12 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Synthetic adamantylated peptide mimetic of a four-residue segment of human ciliary neurotrophic factor
CAS number
1246751-68-7
PubChem CID
56599151
Molecular formula
C27H42N6O8
Molecular weight
578.7 g/mol (average); 578.3 monoisotopic, the figure used in the source papers
Sequence
Ac-Asp-Gly-Gly-Leu joined at its C-terminus to 3-amino-adamantane-1-carboxamide; the source papers write it as Ac-DGGLAG-NH2, with Kazim 2014 using the parenthesised form Ac-DGGL(A)G-NH2 to mark the terminal unit as an adamantylated glycine rather than a natural residue
Also indexed as
P021; P-21; P-21 nootropic peptide; Ac-dggl-adamatanylglycine-NH2 (reproduced exactly as deposited, including the database's misspelling of adamantanyl, which appears on both the PubChem and the FDA GSRS record); UNII VV8CZC8PAS

Chemical identity, and a weight that matches nothing

Nothing about P021's identity is contested. A single PubChem compound record carries the name: CID 56599151, CAS 1246751-68-7, formula C27H42N6O8, average molecular weight 578.7, InChIKey LUJZBZPLIRWWGJ-ZKHAZHQOSA-N, UNII VV8CZC8PAS. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files the same UNII under the name P-21, classified as a chemical substance, with the same formula and a computed weight of 578.66. That one CID also gathers the synonyms P021, P-21, the string P-21 nootropic peptide, and the catalogue form Ac-dggl-adamatanylglycine-NH2. The laboratory designation and the catalogue synonym denote one molecule.

Structurally it is an acetylated Asp-Gly-Gly-Leu chain whose C-terminal amide bond is made to 3-amino-adamantane-1-carboxamide rather than to a further amino acid. The shorthand in the source papers is Ac-DGGLAG-NH2, with Kazim 2014 writing it as Ac-DGGL(A)G-NH2 to mark that adamantane unit as an adamantylated glycine, which is why the compound is called a tetrapeptide in some papers and a pentapeptide in others. Baazaoui and colleagues 2017 state that the cage was placed at the C-terminus to increase blood-brain barrier permeability and decrease degradation by exopeptidases, the methods naming carboxypeptidases; the lipophilicity rationale belongs instead to Liu 2019, Wei 2020, Wei 2021 and the 2022 review, which also repeat the C-terminal placement. The deposited structure agrees with all of them.

Two weights circulate for this molecule and both are defensible. The source papers give 578.3, which is the monoisotopic mass; PubChem's 578.7 is the average mass. A third figure near 470 daltons appears on aggregator pages and corresponds to neither value on the PubChem record, nor to the tetrapeptide amide stripped of its adamantane unit. Its origin could not be established.

Claim ledger

12 of 20 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Enhanced learning and both short-term and spatial reference memory; increased neurogenesis and maturation of newly born neurons in the granular cell layer and subgranular zone of the dentate gyrusNormal adult C57BL/6 micePeripheral administration; route not further specified in the retrieved abstractNot stated in the retrieved reportLi 2010, FEBS Lett, PMID 20600002
DCX-positive cell number reduced in vehicle transgenics versus wild-type (p = 0.0009) and higher in treated transgenics than in vehicle transgenics (p < 0.0001, one-way ANOVA with post-hoc t test); synapsin 1 in cortex raised (p = 0.0003); synaptophysin in cortex raised (p = 0.0045); hippocampal synaptophysin showed no significant treatment differenceFemale 3xTg-AD mice treated from 3 to 21 months of age, with wild-type controlsOral, formulated diet at 60 nmol per gram feed (about 162 nmol per mouse per day)41 wild-type, 35 transgenic vehicle, 32 transgenic treatedBaazaoui 2017, Alzheimers Res Ther, PMID 28655344
Delays in surface righting, cliff aversion and ear twitch shortened; hippocampal BDNF expression raised; PSD95 expression not significantly changed; STAT3 phosphorylation at Tyr705 reduced in offspring hippocampusTs65Dn trisomic mice and wild-type controls, treated through the damsOral, dam diet at 200 nmol per gram from embryonic day 8 to postnatal day 21Endpoint-dependent across six groups: 9 to 12 per group for the neurobehavioural milestones, 10 to 13 per group for the roughly seven-month longitudinal arm, and 6 to 7 per group for the STAT3-Tyr705 and PSD95 Western blotsKazim 2017, Sci Rep, PMID 28368015
Thioflavin-S plaque burden in the subiculum reduced at 22 months; GFAP raised in vehicle transgenics and attenuated in treated animals at 4 and 22 months; Iba1 not significantly changed at either age3xTg-AD and wild-type mice treated prenatally to weaning, assessed to 22 monthsOral, dam diet at 60 nmol per gram from prenatal day 8 to postnatal day 2110 wild-type vehicle, 17 wild-type treated, 12 transgenic vehicle, 18 transgenic treated; 3 to 4 per group at the 22-month histologyWei 2020, Alzheimers Res Ther, PMID 32854771
Fewer retinal deposits and reduced Iba-1 and GFAP staining area against age-matched vehicle after 3 months of treatmentFemale Fisher rats aged 19 to 21 months, with 2 to 3 month-old vehicle controlsOral gavage, 500 nmol per kilogram body weight daily for 88 days7 per group; 3 to 7 per group in individual retinal quantificationsLiu 2019, Front Aging Neurosci, PMID 31803044
No significant effect on body weight over 120 days; more time in the target quadrant on the probe trial than vehicle transgenics (p = 0.0216); cortical BDNF protein higher in both treated wild-type (p = 0.0016) and treated transgenic (p = 0.0172) animals; hippocampal BDNF mRNA lower in vehicle transgenics than in wild-type (p = 0.0405) and than in treated transgenics (p = 0.0001); no significant effect on pro-BDNF, TrkB or CNTF levels3xTg-AD and wild-type mice treated from birth to postnatal day 120Oral, formulated diet at 60 nmol per gram10 or 11 per group across four groupsWei 2021, J Alzheimers Dis, PMID 34057082
No significant increase in hippocampal BDNF, no correction of the neuroanatomical deficits, and no significant improvement on the passive-avoidance probeCdkl5 knockout male mice and wild-type littermate controls, treatment initiated at weaningOral, formulated diet at 60 nmol per gram (about 150 nmol per mouse per day) for 70 days from postnatal day 2139 male animals across both in vivo arms, of which 22 were Cdkl5 knockout and 17 wild-type littermates; 6 to 9 per group in this armMottolese 2024, J Neurodev Disord, PMID 39592934
BDNF levels again unchanged at a higher exposure begun in adulthoodFour-month-old Cdkl5 knockout male mice and wild-type littermate controlsIntraperitoneal injection, 750 nmol per mouse daily for 30 days4 to 8 per group, drawn from the same 39-animal cohort as the oral armMottolese 2024, J Neurodev Disord, PMID 39592934
Proliferation, survival and maturation deficits restored and GSK3beta phosphorylation altered in the knockout line; no significant change in GSK3beta phosphorylation in the parental lineSH-SY5Y human neuroblastoma cells with CDKL5 knockout, and the parental SH-SY5Y lineIn vitro, culture medium3 to 5 replicates per conditionMottolese 2024, J Neurodev Disord, PMID 39592934
Higher fractional anisotropy and axial diffusivity in corpus callosum, and higher fractional anisotropy and kurtosis fractional anisotropy in external capsule, than in vehicle transgenics at 8 monthsFemale 3xTg-AD mice and normal controls, imaged at 8 monthsOral, formulated diet at 60 nmol per gram from 2.5 to 8 months of age29 treated, 26 vehicle transgenic, 23 normal control, after exclusion of one treated animal as an outlierFalangola 2026, Magn Reson Imaging, PMID 41740658; carries a corrigendum, PMID 41945082
Reduced soluble amyloid-beta and a trend toward reduced plaque load in hippocampal CA1; reduced abnormal hyperphosphorylation and accumulation of tau at major neurofibrillary-pathology sitesFemale 3xTg-AD and wild-type mice treated for 12 months from 9 to 10 months of ageOral, formulated dietNot stated in the retrieved reportKazim 2014, Neurobiol Dis, PMID 25046994
Newborn neurons in the dentate gyrus increased by 80% against saline after controlled cortical impact, with uncommitted progenitor cells unchanged. The compound tested was Peptide 6, the 11-mer, not P021Adult C57BL/6 mice, controlled cortical impact at 1.5 mm penetration50 nmol per day for 30 days; route not specified in the retrieved abstractNot stated in the retrieved reportChohan 2015, Neurosurgery, PMID 25255260
P21 is a peptide derived from Cerebrolysin, produced by reverse-engineering Cerebrolysin's neurogenic activity through epitope mappingSearched PubMed for cerebrolysin combined with CNTF and neurogenesis (two records) and for P021 combined with cerebrolysin (one record). The only paper connecting the two is Rockenstein 2011 (PMID 21860085), which compared Cerebrolysin against Peptide 6 and Peptide 6A rather than P021, and which was retracted in June 2026 (notice PMID 42015030). Every origin account in the non-retracted primary literature checked (Chohan 2011, PMID 19767127; Li 2010, PMID 20600002; Baazaoui 2017, PMID 28655344) locates the source in ciliary neurotrophic factor, identified by epitope mapping with neutralising antibodies against CNTF, and none mentions Cerebrolysin. No primary source for the Cerebrolysin derivation was located.No source found
Molecular weight of approximately 470 daltonsPubChem CID 56599151 gives an average mass of 578.7 for C27H42N6O8, and FDA GSRS gives 578.66 for the same formula under UNII VV8CZC8PAS. The originating papers give 578.3, the monoisotopic value. A figure near 470 appears on aggregator pages and matches none of these, nor the tetrapeptide amide without its adamantane unit. Searched PubChem by name, by formula and by UNII for any deposited record near 470 daltons carrying a P021 or P-21 synonym; none exists.No source found
Molecular formula C30H54N6O5This formula appears on at least one aggregator page alongside the 578.3 weight given in the primary papers. PubChem, FDA GSRS and every primary paper checked give C27H42N6O8. Searched PubChem by formula and cross-checked every synonym of this compound; no record for P021, P-21 or any deposited synonym exists under C30H54N6O5, and that is the whole of the refutation. The mass argument sometimes offered alongside it does not carry the weight it appears to: C30H54N6O5 computes to 578.80 average and 578.42 monoisotopic, against 578.67 average and 578.31 monoisotopic for C27H42N6O8, so the two formulas differ by 0.13 daltons average and 0.11 monoisotopic. Neither formula weighs exactly 578.3 on an average-mass basis.No source found
Plasma half-life of greater than three hours; also quoted as less than one hourBoth figures circulate and the second carries no citation anywhere it was found. The greater-than-three-hours figure appears in two reviews from the originating laboratory (PMID 27400746 and PMID 36291618), which call it a plasma half-life, and in Baazaoui 2017 (PMID 28655344), which calls it a plasma stability of greater than three hours. The citation chain does not converge on a single reference: Baazaoui 2017's reference [21] is Kazim 2014 (PMID 25046994), confirmed in the PMC5488423 reference list, while the 2022 review's pharmacokinetic sentence cites [47, 68, 192], which resolve in the PMC9599095 reference list to a 2016 CUNY Graduate Center doctoral thesis by Baazaoui N, to Kazim 2014, and to Wei 2021. Kazim 2014 is not open access, its indexed abstract does not mention plasma kinetics, and Europe PMC reports no full text; retrieval failed this session. The thesis was located by name search on CUNY Academic Works (Effect of CNTF Derived Peptide, P021 on Cognition and Pathology in 3xTG-AD Mouse Model of Alzheimer's Disease, 2016, record gc_etds/1260), but its PDF could not be downloaded, the repository returning HTTP 403 to a direct fetch and an empty body with HTTP 202 to a referred request, so its contents were not read. Whether the underlying measurement is a half-life or a stability window remains unresolved, and no primary curve was seen.No source found
Stability above 95 percent in artificial gastric juice over 30 minutes and approximately 100 percent in artificial intestinal fluid over 120 minutesThe laboratory's own papers do not agree on the gastric value. Baazaoui 2017 (PMC5488423) gives above 95 percent gastric. Liu 2019 (PMC6877482) and Wei 2020 (PMC7450938) give approximately 90 percent gastric over 30 minutes and above 95 percent intestinal over 120 minutes; Wei 2021 (PMC8385525) gives approximately 90 percent gastric and approximately 100 percent intestinal; the 2016 review (PMC4940708) gives above 95 percent intestinal to 2 hours and above 90 percent gastric to 30 minutes; the 2022 review (PMC9599095) gives above 90 percent gastric and approximately 100 percent intestinal. All six trace to the same unretrievable Kazim 2014 reference (PMID 25046994), so the discrepancy cannot be resolved against a primary measurement. No single figure is asserted here.No source found
The adamantane moiety was added to the N-terminus of the peptide sequenceContradicted by the deposited structure. The SMILES on PubChem CID 56599151 places the 3-carbamoyl-1-adamantyl group on the C-terminal amide of the leucine residue, with the acetyl cap on the aspartate at the N-terminus. Baazaoui 2017 (PMID 28655344) and the 2022 review (PMID 36291618) both state C-terminal adamantylation explicitly. The N-terminal version appears on secondary pages only and has no primary source.No source found
A sufficient amount of P021 crosses the blood-brain barrierA study is cited but no result from it has ever been published. Three open-access papers from the originating laboratory (PMC6877482, PMC7450938, PMC8385525) each carry the same sentence, that barrier studies on the compound were carried out through a commercial contract laboratory and demonstrated that a sufficient amount crossed, all three citing Kazim 2014 (PMID 25046994); Kazim 2017 (PMC5377379) refers to the same contract work in adult C57Bl/6 mice. The contract laboratory is named in those methods sections; this record does not reproduce commercial names. Searched PubMed and Europe PMC for a brain-to-plasma ratio, brain tissue concentration or permeability coefficient for this compound under its name, its CAS number and its sequence, and searched the full texts of every open-access paper in this record for such a figure. None was found, and the reference all four point to could not be retrieved. A study exists in the record with no published numeric result attached to it.No source found
Quantified effect sizes of roughly 30 to 50 percent more BrdU-positive cells, 40 to 50 percent lower GSK3beta activity, and about 30 percent higher dendritic spine densitySearched the full texts of every open-access study in this record (PMC5488423, PMC7450938, PMC5377379, PMC8385525, PMC6877482, PMC11590213) for percentage effect sizes of this kind. Those papers report direction and significance values for these markers rather than percentage change, and none of the three ranges was found in any of them. The one percentage figure that was traced, an 80 percent rise in newborn dentate gyrus neurons, belongs to Peptide 6 in a traumatic brain injury model (Chohan 2015, PMID 25255260), not to P021. Milligram-per-day human-equivalent figures circulating alongside them are allometric arithmetic performed on the rodent diet and gavage numbers; no human pharmacokinetic study exists, ClinicalTrials.gov returns no registered study, no published interspecies scaling analysis for this molecule was located in PubMed, and the converted figures are not reproduced here.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

Peptide 6 is a different molecule, and much of the record is its

Two compounds came out of the same programme. Peptide 6 is an 11-mer, Ac-VGDGGLFEKKL-NH2, corresponding to residues 146 to 156 of human ciliary neurotrophic factor and identified by epitope mapping with neutralising antibodies. Chohan and colleagues 2011 reported a plasma half-life over six hours for it, against roughly three minutes for recombinant CNTF. P021 is the truncated four-residue core of that sequence carrying the adamantane, first described by Li and colleagues in 2010.

Studies routinely cited as P21 evidence administered Peptide 6 instead. Blanchard 2010 in 3xTg-AD mice (PMID 20697724), Blanchard 2011 in the Ts65Dn trisomy model (PMID 22082658), Bolognin 2012 in an I2NTF-CTF rat model of sporadic Alzheimer's disease (PMID 22083255), Kazim 2015 in rat pups injected with sera from children with autism (PMID 25769033), and Chohan 2015 in a controlled cortical impact model (PMID 25255260) all used the 11-mer. The widely quoted figure of an 80 percent rise in newborn dentate gyrus neurons after brain injury belongs to Peptide 6.

The two have not been compared head to head. No study located this session ran both molecules in the same animals against the same endpoint, so the relationship between them is a design rationale rather than a measured one. Residue numbering also disagrees within the originating laboratory's own output: the 2017 paper places the P021 core at CNTF residues 148 to 151, the 2022 review at 147 to 150. Both point at the same DGGL segment, and the offset is unexplained.

The Cerebrolysin attribution rests on a retracted paper

Vendor and aggregator pages commonly introduce P21 as a peptide derived from Cerebrolysin, sometimes describing it as the product of reverse-engineering that preparation. Methods sections in the primary literature say something else. Every origin account in the source papers runs through ciliary neurotrophic factor: epitope mapping with neutralising antibodies raised against human CNTF, identification of the active 11-mer, truncation to the four-residue core, then adamantylation. Cerebrolysin is not mentioned in any of them.

One published experiment did put the two side by side. Rockenstein and colleagues, in the Journal of Alzheimer's Disease in 2011, compared Cerebrolysin with Peptide 6 and Peptide 6A in amyloid precursor protein transgenic mice and reported that all three raised doublecortin-positive and BrdU-positive cell counts in a region-specific pattern, with Cerebrolysin associated with reduced TUNEL staining and the peptides with raised PCNA. PubMed types that paper as a Retracted Publication. The retraction notice was printed in June 2026 at 111(4):1893, PMID 42015030.

So the attribution has nothing experimental behind it. The only study linking this chemical series to Cerebrolysin has been withdrawn, and it tested the 11-mer rather than P021. Retrieval of the notice text failed, the publisher returning HTTP 403, so this record states the fact of the retraction without asserting a cause. For scale: PubMed types 27 papers carrying Rockenstein as an author and 29 carrying Masliah as an author as Retracted Publication. It is the only retracted paper in this field bearing Khalid Iqbal's name.

What the rodent studies measured

The bulk of the record is a series of oral-diet studies in the 3xTg-AD mouse from one laboratory. Baazaoui and colleagues 2017 fed female mice a diet containing 60 nmol per gram from three months to 21 months of age, with 41 wild-type, 35 transgenic on vehicle and 32 transgenic on the compound, and reported that a doublecortin-positive cell deficit was reversed in treated animals. Changes in synapsin 1, synaptophysin and GluR1 were region-dependent rather than uniform, and several markers moved only as trends.

Dietary concentration varied by study rather than by dose-finding. The 3xTg-AD feeding studies located used 60 nmol per gram of feed, which those papers convert to roughly 162 nmol per animal per day at an average intake of 2.7 grams, while the Ts65Dn dam-feeding study used 200 nmol per gram. Rat work used gavage instead: Liu and colleagues 2019 gave 500 nmol per kilogram daily for 88 days to female Fisher rats aged 19 to 21 months, seven per group, and reported fewer retinal deposits and reduced Iba-1 and GFAP staining area against age-matched vehicle. No dose-ranging experiment was located in any species.

Developmental studies moved exposure earlier. Kazim and colleagues 2017 treated Ts65Dn dams from embryonic day 8 to postnatal day 21 at 200 nmol per gram of diet, across six groups of 9 to 13 mice, and reported that delays in surface righting, cliff aversion and ear twitch were shortened and hippocampal BDNF expression raised in three-week-old offspring, while PSD95 expression did not change significantly. Wei and colleagues 2020 used the same prenatal-to-weaning window in 3xTg-AD mice and reported reduced thioflavin-S plaque burden in the subiculum at 22 months.

Imaging entered the record most recently. Falangola and colleagues 2026 fed female 3xTg-AD mice the same 60 nmol per gram diet from 2.5 to 8 months and imaged at 8 months, with 29 treated, 26 vehicle transgenic and 23 normal controls after one outlier exclusion, reporting higher fractional anisotropy and axial diffusivity in the corpus callosum in treated animals than in vehicle transgenics. That paper carries a corrigendum printed the following month against page 9. Its text could not be retrieved, so what it changed is not established here.

A different model, a null result

Almost every positive finding above comes from the originating laboratory or its direct collaborators. The one full test run outside it is only partly outside. Mottolese and colleagues 2024, working on CDKL5 deficiency disorder in a laboratory in Bologna, ran the compound in both cell culture and mice. The head of the originating laboratory is a co-author on that paper, affiliated there to both his institute and the company developing the compound, and the competing-interests declaration records that he is that company's cofounder and chief scientific officer, holds several patents on the composition and use of P021, and is developing it as a therapeutic.

In SH-SY5Y neuroblastoma cells carrying a CDKL5 knockout, treatment restored proliferation, survival and maturation measures and altered GSK3beta phosphorylation, across three to five replicates per condition. The in vivo work used 39 male animals across both arms, 22 Cdkl5 knockouts and 17 wild-type littermate controls. Oral treatment at 60 nmol per gram of diet for 70 days from weaning produced no significant increase in hippocampal BDNF, no correction of the neuroanatomical deficits, and no significant memory improvement on passive avoidance. A second arm at 750 nmol per mouse by daily intraperitoneal injection for 30 days in four-month-old animals also left BDNF unchanged.

Those authors framed the outcome as a question of timing and duration rather than of mechanism, suggesting prenatal initiation or longer treatment might be required. Either reading leaves the same position on the record: this is the clearest in vivo test published by a group outside the originating laboratory, run in a model that laboratory had not worked in, and it did not reproduce the BDNF effect that the proposed mechanism runs through. The declared financial interest of its co-author cuts against reading it as an arm's-length replication attempt, not in favour.

Pharmacokinetics, and where the three-hour figure lives

A plasma figure of greater than three hours circulates widely, and the papers carrying it describe it incompatibly. The 2016 review from the originating laboratory calls it a plasma half-life of over three hours. The 2022 review from the same laboratory repeats the same wording. Baazaoui 2017, citing the same underlying reference, calls it a plasma stability of greater than three hours. A half-life and a stability window are not the same measurement, and nothing in the retrieved text reconciles them.

The citation chain behind the figure does not converge. Baazaoui 2017 points to Kazim and colleagues 2014 in Neurobiology of Disease; the 2022 review cites three sources at once for the same sentence, a 2016 doctoral thesis from the originating laboratory, Kazim 2014 and Wei 2021. Kazim 2014 is not open access, its indexed abstract makes no mention of plasma kinetics, and Europe PMC serves no full text for it; the thesis record was located but its file could not be downloaded. The gastrointestinal stability figures carried alongside are stated inconsistently across the laboratory's own papers: one primary paper gives above 95 percent in artificial gastric juice over 30 minutes and approximately 100 percent in intestinal fluid over 120 minutes, while four others give approximately 90 percent gastric, with intestinal variously above 95 percent or approximately 100 percent. A competing half-life of under one hour also circulates, with no citation anywhere it was found.

Barrier permeability is asserted rather than quantified, but a study is asserted to exist. Liu 2019, Wei 2020 and Wei 2021 each carry the same sentence, that barrier studies on the compound were carried out through a commercial contract laboratory and demonstrated that a sufficient amount crossed, all three citing Kazim 2014; Kazim 2017 refers to the same contract work in adult C57Bl/6 mice. No numeric result from that assay has ever been published: no brain-to-plasma ratio and no brain tissue concentration was located for this compound in any species. The strongest published evidence remains indirect, in Kazim 2017, where treating dams reduced STAT3 phosphorylation at Tyr705 in offspring hippocampus, which the authors read as showing that material crossed the placenta, entered milk and then reached brain. That is an inference from a downstream marker, not a measurement of exposure.

Registry and regulatory position

A ClinicalTrials.gov search returned no registered study of this compound. Intervention searches on P021, P-21 peptide, Ac-DGGL and CNTF peptide mimetic returned nothing, and a general term search on P021 returned five records in which the string is an internal protocol identifier belonging to unrelated studies. There is no registered first-in-human study, no registered pharmacokinetic study and no registered safety study.

There is also no approval anywhere. The FDA substance registry entry records a UNII, a structure and a formula, which is a registration of chemical identity rather than a marketing authorisation. The developer named in the literature, a small business listed in the National Institute on Aging's SBIR showcase, has described pre-IND work and a projected first clinical study. A stated development plan is not a registration, and nothing had appeared in the registry as of 18 August 2026.

Safety statements in the literature are bounded by what was measured, and the two reviews from the originating laboratory do not agree on how much exposure was covered. The 2016 review states that up to one year of administration induced no adverse effect in 3xTg-AD mice or wild-type controls; the 2022 review from the same laboratory states up to 18 months, both citing the same underlying work. Several studies report no significant change in body weight over the treatment period. Those are observations in small rodent groups under a single dosing regimen. Anorexia, muscle pain and hyperalgesia were the effects that stopped recombinant CNTF in people; whether the truncated adamantylated fragment avoids them in a human has not been tested.

What is not known

There is no human data of any kind. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across P021, P-21 peptide, Ac-DGGL and CNTF peptide mimetic returned no registered study, so no pharmacokinetic, dose-ranging, safety or efficacy work in people has been registered, let alone reported. The preclinical record is also narrower than its volume suggests: nearly every positive finding originates from one laboratory and its collaborators, every 3xTg-AD feeding study located used the same single dietary concentration, no dose-response experiment exists in any species, and the mouse work is almost entirely in female animals of one transgenic line. The one in vivo test published by a group outside that laboratory, in a CDKL5 deficiency model, did not reproduce the BDNF increase on which the proposed mechanism depends, and even that paper carries the compound's patent holder as a co-author with a declared financial interest. Absorption, distribution and elimination remain uncharacterised: the plasma figure that circulates is described as a half-life in two reviews and as a stability window in a primary paper, the gastrointestinal stability percentages are stated at two different values across the same laboratory's own papers, and the citation chain behind all of them runs to a reference that could not be retrieved and to a doctoral thesis whose file could not be downloaded. A contract-laboratory barrier study is cited repeatedly but no numeric result from it has ever been published; no brain concentration measurement, no brain-to-plasma ratio, and no immunogenicity, reproductive, carcinogenicity or non-rodent toxicology study was located. The compound is not approved for human use anywhere; the FDA registry entry records chemical identity, not authorisation.

Questions

Has P21 been studied in humans?
No. A ClinicalTrials.gov search across the names P021, P-21 peptide, Ac-DGGL and CNTF peptide mimetic returned no registered study as of 18 August 2026. The five records returned by a general term search on P021 use that string as an internal protocol identifier for unrelated trials. Every finding in the literature comes from rodent or cell-culture work.
Is P21 derived from Cerebrolysin?
Not according to the primary literature. Methods descriptions in the source papers derive it from human ciliary neurotrophic factor, by epitope mapping with neutralising antibodies, then truncation and adamantylation. The only published experiment placing this chemical series alongside Cerebrolysin is Rockenstein 2011, which was retracted in June 2026 and which tested the 11-mer Peptide 6, not P021. The Cerebrolysin derivation is published here as unsourced.
Which P21 paper was retracted, and when?
Rockenstein and colleagues 2011, Regional comparison of the neurogenic effects of CNTF-derived peptides and cerebrolysin in AbetaPP transgenic mice (J Alzheimers Dis 27:743-752, PMID 21860085). PubMed types it as a Retracted Publication; the notice appeared in June 2026 at J Alzheimers Dis 111(4):1893, PMID 42015030. The notice text could not be retrieved this session, so no stated cause is asserted here.
Is Peptide 6 the same thing as P21?
No. Peptide 6 is an 11-mer, Ac-VGDGGLFEKKL-NH2, covering CNTF residues 146 to 156. P021 is the four-residue core of that sequence with an adamantylated glycine attached at the C-terminus. Several studies cited as P21 evidence, including the traumatic brain injury, autism-sera and sporadic Alzheimer's rat model papers, administered Peptide 6. The two have not been compared head to head in the same animals.
Has any laboratory outside the originating group tested it?
One has, partly. Mottolese 2024 was run in a Bologna laboratory in a CDKL5 deficiency model that the originating group had not worked in, and its in vivo arms reported no significant BDNF increase and no correction of the deficits. The head of the originating laboratory is a co-author on that paper and declares that he holds patents on the compound and is developing it as a therapeutic, so it is not an arm's-length replication.

References

  1. PubChem Compound Summary CID 56599151, P021. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Retrieved 18 August 2026: CAS 1246751-68-7, C27H42N6O8, 578.7 g/mol average and 578.30641232 monoisotopic, InChIKey LUJZBZPLIRWWGJ-ZKHAZHQOSA-N, UNII VV8CZC8PAS. View on pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System, substance P-21, UNII VV8CZC8PAS. Substance class: chemical. Formula C27H42N6O8, computed weight 578.6588. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  3. Li B, Wanka L, Blanchard J, et al. Neurotrophic peptides incorporating adamantane improve learning and memory, promote neurogenesis and synaptic plasticity in mice. FEBS Lett. 2010;584(15):3359-3365. PMID 20600002 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Chohan MO, Li B, Blanchard J, et al. Enhancement of dentate gyrus neurogenesis, dendritic and synaptic plasticity and memory by a neurotrophic peptide. Neurobiol Aging. 2011;32(8):1420-1434. PMID 19767127 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Bolognin S, Blanchard J, Wang X, et al. An experimental rat model of sporadic Alzheimer's disease and rescue of cognitive impairment with a neurotrophic peptide. Acta Neuropathol. 2012;123(1):133-151. Study used Peptide 6, not P021. PMID 22083255 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Kazim SF, Blanchard J, Dai CL, et al. Disease modifying effect of chronic oral treatment with a neurotrophic peptidergic compound in a triple transgenic mouse model of Alzheimer's disease. Neurobiol Dis. 2014;71:110-130. Cited as the source of the plasma, gastrointestinal and blood-brain barrier figures; full text not retrievable. PMID 25046994 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Kazim SF, Cardenas-Aguayo MC, Arif M, et al. Sera from children with autism induce autistic features which can be rescued with a CNTF small peptide mimetic in rats. PLoS One. 2015;10(3):e0118627. Study used Peptide 6, not P021. PMID 25769033 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Chohan MO, Bragina O, Kazim SF, et al. Enhancement of neurogenesis and memory by a neurotrophic peptide in mild to moderate traumatic brain injury. Neurosurgery. 2015;76(2):201-214. Study used Peptide 6, not P021. PMID 25255260 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Kazim SF, Iqbal K. Neurotrophic factor small-molecule mimetics mediated neuroregeneration and synaptic repair: emerging therapeutic modality for Alzheimer's disease. Mol Neurodegener. 2016;11(1):50. Source of the one-year safety statement and one of the plasma half-life statements. PMID 27400746 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Rockenstein E, Ubhi K, Doppler E, et al. Regional comparison of the neurogenic effects of CNTF-derived peptides and cerebrolysin in AbetaPP transgenic mice. J Alzheimers Dis. 2011;27(4):743-752. RETRACTED; notice published June 2026 as Retraction: Regional Comparison of the Neurogenic Effects of CNTF-Derived Peptides and Cerebrolysin in AbetaPP Transgenic Mice, J Alzheimers Dis. 2026;111(4):1893, PMID 42015030. Notice text not retrievable; publisher returned HTTP 403. PMID 21860085 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Kazim SF, Blanchard J, Bianchi R, Iqbal K. Early neurotrophic pharmacotherapy rescues developmental delay and Alzheimer's-like memory deficits in the Ts65Dn mouse model of Down syndrome. Sci Rep. 2017;7:45561. PMID 28368015 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Baazaoui N, Iqbal K. Prevention of dendritic and synaptic deficits and cognitive impairment with a neurotrophic compound. Alzheimers Res Ther. 2017;9:45. PMID 28655344 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. Liu Y, Wei W, Baazaoui N, et al. Inhibition of AMD-like pathology with a neurotrophic compound in aged rats and 3xTg-AD mice. Front Aging Neurosci. 2019;11:309. PMID 31803044 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. Wei W, Wang Y, Liu Y, et al. Prenatal to early postnatal neurotrophic treatment prevents Alzheimer-like behavior and pathology in mice. Alzheimers Res Ther. 2020;12:102. PMID 32854771 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  15. Wei W, Liu Y, Dai CL, et al. Neurotrophic treatment initiated during early postnatal development prevents the Alzheimer-like behavior and synaptic dysfunction. J Alzheimers Dis. 2021;82(2):631-646. PMID 34057082 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  16. Baazaoui N, Iqbal K. Alzheimer's Disease: Challenges and a Therapeutic Opportunity to Treat It with a Neurotrophic Compound. Biomolecules. 2022;12(10):1409. Source of the 18-month safety statement, the 147-150 residue numbering, and the three-reference pharmacokinetic citation. PMID 36291618 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  17. Mottolese N, Loi M, Trazzi S, Tassinari M, Uguagliati B, Candini G, Iqbal K, Medici G, Ciani E. Effects of a ciliary neurotrophic factor (CNTF) small-molecule peptide mimetic in an in vitro and in vivo model of CDKL5 deficiency disorder. J Neurodev Disord. 2024;16:65. Iqbal K is affiliated to both the originating institute and the developer company, and the competing-interests statement declares cofounder and chief scientific officer status, patents on the composition and use of P021, and ongoing therapeutic development. PMID 39592934 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  18. Falangola MF, Voltin J, Cole M, et al. Diffusion MRI measures detect brain microstructure changes due to early treatment with neurotrophic peptide mimetic P021 in the 3xTg-AD mouse model of Alzheimer's disease. Magn Reson Imaging. 2026;129:110641. Carries a corrigendum against page 9 at 130:110677, PMID 41945082; corrigendum text not retrievable. PMID 41740658 View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.