Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Metatrutide (GLP-4)

Metatrutide is not a molecule. The name returns nothing from PubChem, the FDA substance registry, PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov, and attaches instead to a lyophilised two-component blend sold under the label GLP-4: a retatrutide-type incretin peptide alongside PEGylated mechano growth factor. This page logs what the two named components have been measured to do separately, what the blend's own searches returned, and which circulating figures trace to nothing.

Strongest evidence: No source foundNo study has administered this blend; the ledger rows below are for its two named components, tested separately 18 claims logged 10 with primary citations 8 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
No registered substance. Product listings describe a lyophilised two-component blend: a retatrutide-type incretin peptide plus PEGylated mechano growth factor
CAS number
Not verified
PubChem CID
Not verified
Molecular formula
Not verified
Molecular weight
Not verified
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
GLP-4 Metatrutide, GLP4, GLP4-M3TA, GLP3-Reta plus PEG-MGF. All are product-listing and forum usages; no registry synonym exists

A name that no registry carries

Five databases were queried for this name on 18 August 2026 and four of them answered. PubChem returned PUGREST.NotFound for metatrutide in both the compound and the substance database. The FDA Global Substance Registration System returned a total of zero records; the identical query run against retatrutide returned two, so the endpoint was working. PubMed returned zero, logging the term as a quoted phrase not found. The ClinicalTrials.gov version 2 API returned a totalCount of zero. ChEMBL returned HTTP 500 to every request including control queries for substances that certainly exist, so it contributed nothing here and its silence is not evidence of anything.

Registries do capture names of this class once they are assigned. The retatrutide entry in the FDA system carries CAS 2381089-83-2, INN 12350, USAN JK-35 and UNII NOP2Y096GV, the full apparatus that accumulates around a molecule as it moves through the naming process. Metatrutide carries none of it. Resemblance to retatrutide, mazdutide and the rest of that family is orthographic: the word was built to sit beside them rather than issued by the body that issues those names. Every field in the identity block on this page is therefore null.

The name attaches instead to a small number of product listings and two discussion threads. Those sources describe a lyophilised two-component blend rather than a single molecule, which accounts for the empty registry result. A mixture prepared to order has no reason to hold a registry number. It also means that sequence, formula and molecular mass have no answer in principle, since any answer would depend on which vial was measured.

Claim ledger

10 of 18 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Least-squares mean body weight change at 48 weeks −24.2% (12 mg) vs −2.1% placebo; at 24 weeks −17.5% vs −1.6%Adults with BMI ≥30, or BMI 27 to <30 plus at least one weight-related conditionSubcutaneous, once weekly, 48 weeks338 randomisedJastreboff 2023, N Engl J Med, PMID 37366315
At 48 weeks, weight reduction of ≥5%, ≥10% and ≥15% occurred in 100%, 93% and 83% of the 12 mg group vs 27%, 9% and 2% of placeboAdults with BMI ≥30, or BMI 27 to <30 plus at least one weight-related conditionSubcutaneous, once weekly, 48 weeks338 randomisedJastreboff 2023, N Engl J Med, PMID 37366315
Dose-dependent increases in heart rate peaked at 24 weeks and declined thereafter; gastrointestinal events were the most frequent adverse-event category and were partially mitigated by a 2 mg rather than 4 mg starting doseAdults with BMI ≥30, or BMI 27 to <30 plus at least one weight-related conditionSubcutaneous, once weekly, 48 weeks338 randomisedJastreboff 2023, N Engl J Med, PMID 37366315
Least-squares mean HbA1c change at 24 weeks −2.02% (12 mg) vs −0.01% placebo and −1.41% dulaglutide 1.5 mgAdults 18–75 with type 2 diabetes, HbA1c 7.0–10.5%, BMI 25–50, on diet and exercise or stable metforminSubcutaneous, once weekly281 randomised (275 in efficacy analysis; 46 in the 12 mg arm, 45 placebo)Rosenstock 2023, Lancet, PMID 37385280
MGF 24-residue E peptide at concentrations up to 500 ng/mL produced no increase in proliferation, no delay of myotube fusion, and no ERK phosphorylation response; mature IGF-1 and full-length IGF-1Eb produced a proliferative response in the same assaysC2C12 myoblasts, primary human skeletal muscle myoblasts, primary mouse skeletal muscle stem cells, cardiac myocytesIn vitro, added to culture mediumReplicate and donor counts not stated in the abstract; work performed independently at two pharmaceutical companiesFornaro 2014, Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab, PMID 24253050
MGF-24aa-E peptide increased proliferative lifespan and delayed senescence in satellite cells from neonatal and young adult donors, but not in cells from old adult donors; reserve-cell percentage fell in all culturesPrimary human muscle cell cultures from healthy donors of different agesIn vitro, added to culture mediumDonor numbers not stated in the abstractKandalla 2011, Mech Ageing Dev, PMID 21354439
MGF E-domain peptide eluted from PEG-dimethacrylate microrods decreased mortality, ameliorated the decline in haemodynamics and delayed decompensation against empty microrods; the untreated groups declined significantly in systolic and diastolic function by 2 weeks and decompensated further by 10 weeks post-infarct. The paper reports no time anchor for the treated armMice after coronary artery ligationIntramyocardial injection of peptide-eluting polymeric microstructuresGroup sizes not stated in the abstractPeña 2015, Biomaterials, PMID 25678113
MGF plasmid delivered at symptom onset produced significantly greater motoneuron survival than an IGF-I plasmid; both improved hindlimb muscle strength and motor unit survivalSOD1(G93A) mice treated at 70 days of ageIntramuscular plasmid delivery to hindlimb muscles — gene delivery, not peptide administrationGroup sizes not stated in the abstractRiddoch-Contreras 2009, Exp Neurol, PMID 19038252
A 'full-length MGF' product obtained from channels supplying athletes was found to be a protein of monoisotopic mass 12264.9 Da, sequence close to IGF-1Ec but lacking the terminal lysine and carrying an R109H substitution; detectable at 0.25 ng/mL by adapted doping-control assaysOne aliquot of a marketed productIn vitro; gel electrophoresis and top-down/bottom-up mass spectrometry1 product aliquotThevis 2014, Growth Horm IGF Res, PMID 25466910
Synthetic 25-residue MGF C-terminal E domain (MGF-C25E) increased Young's modulus of tenocytes and promoted migration via FAK-ERK1/2 signalling and DNA methylation; inhibiting either abolished the effectRat tenocytesIn vitro, added to culture mediumReplicate counts not stated in the abstractZhang 2016, Sci Rep, PMID 26742689
Metatrutide is a compound that simultaneously engages GLP-1, GIP, glucagon and MGF-associated signalling pathwaysFive registries were queried on 18 August 2026. PubChem PUG-REST returned PUGREST.NotFound for the name in both the compound database (/compound/name/metatrutide/cids) and the substance database (/substance/name/metatrutide/sids). The FDA Global Substance Registration System search API returned total 0; the same endpoint queried for 'retatrutide' returned 2 records, confirming it was answering. PubMed E-utilities returned count 0 with the term logged under quotedphrasesnotfound. The ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API returned totalCount 0 for both query.term and query.intr. ChEMBL returned HTTP 500 to every request, including control queries for substances known to be in it, so it produced no result either way. The name exists only on product listings, one aggregator comparison page and two discussion forums.No source found
GLP-4 is the next tier of incretin pharmacology after GLP-1, GIP and glucagonThere is no glucagon-like peptide-3 or -4. UniProt P01275 (pro-glucagon) lists the processed peptides as glicentin, glicentin-related polypeptide, oxyntomodulin, glucagon, glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon-like peptide-2, and nothing further. A HGNC symbol search for GLP* returns exactly two approved human genes, GLP1R and GLP2R. A PubMed search for 'GLP-4' returns 28 records, 20 indexed under Caenorhabditis elegans, where glp-4 is a nematode gene encoding a valyl aminoacyl tRNA synthetase (Rastogi 2015, G3, PMID 26464357). A search for 'glucagon-like peptide-4' returns 10 records, retrieved and read in full on 18 August 2026 (PMIDs 41474140, 39707717, 36050547, 35973313, 34780772, 32196896, 30185729, 22425330, 21738898, 1971797); none describes a glucagon-like peptide-4. The matches are token collisions across the incretin and dipeptidyl peptidase-4 literature, plus one 1990 guinea-pig gallbladder study of a glucagon-secretin-like peptide (PMID 1971797) and one GPR119-agonist pharmacology paper (PMID 30185729). The numeral in the product name does not correspond to a receptor, a peptide or a gene.No source found
PEGylation extends MGF's half-life from minutes to several hoursTraced no further than commercial copy. PubMed returns exactly one record for 'PEG-MGF' — a 2026 narrative review in Frontiers in Endocrinology (PMID 42395176) which describes online self-administration practice and does not report a pharmacokinetic measurement. A search combining pegylation with 'mechano growth factor' returns the same single record. No primary pharmacokinetic study of any PEGylated MGF preparation was located in PubMed, and none is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov.No source found
PEG-MGF has a half-life of 2–3 daysThe same marketing corpus that carries the 'several hours' figure also carries this one; both were retrieved on 18 August 2026 and they are not reconcilable. Neither traces to a measurement. This figure also appeared in a forum thread about the blend, where a participant treated it as settled and reasoned onward from it about how the component would sit against a weekly incretin. No source for it was located in PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov, PubChem or GSRS. It is recorded here as an example of a number acquiring practical authority without ever acquiring a source.No source found
Native MGF has a half-life of 5–7 minutesA PubMed search for 'mechano growth factor' combined with 'half-life' returns one record: Goldspink and Yang 2001, a review in the International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism (PMID 11915923). It states that MGF 'has a shorter half-life in the unbound state than the systemic liver type IGF-1' and gives no figure. No measured half-life for MGF, the 24-residue E peptide or IGF-1Ec was located in any indexed paper. The 5–7 minute figure appears to be a number attached to a qualitative statement after the fact.No source found
Each vial contains 10 mg of a retatrutide-type peptide and 2 mg of PEG-MGF, and the material has a CAS number and molecular weightThe composition appears on product listings and in a discussion thread, and no analytical certificate supporting it exists in the public record for any batch; it is unverifiable in principle from outside the supply chain. The identifiers are given on the same listings as 'reference dependent', which is not an identifier. PubChem returns no CID for 'PEG-MGF' or for 'mechano growth factor'. GSRS does hold the unmodified peptide as a protein substance — UNII Q86M4KXC2P, sequence YQPPSTNKNTKSQRRKGSTFEERK, formula C121H197N41O40, calculated mass 2868.17 — but that record carries no CAS code, and the registry holds no entry for any PEGylated form; since neither polymer chain length nor attachment residue is stated anywhere, no molecular weight for the sold material can exist. The one published instance of an independent analysis of grey-market MGF material — Thevis 2014, PMID 25466910 — found a protein close to IGF-1Ec but not identical to it, missing the C-terminal lysine and carrying histidine at position 109 in place of arginine. That is the only precedent in the literature for checking what such material actually contains.No source found
The blend has been examined in rabbit, mouse and in vitro workAsserted by a participant in a discussion thread about the product, and traced no further. PubMed E-utilities on 18 August 2026 returned count 0 for 'metatrutide' (term logged under quotedphrasesnotfound), 0 for retatrutide combined with 'mechano growth factor' and 0 for retatrutide combined with IGF-1. The ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API returned totalCount 0 for the blend name under both query.term and query.intr. No rabbit study, no mouse study and no in vitro characterisation of the two components administered together was located in the indexed record. The claim is logged here because it circulates in the same threads as the blend itself, in the grammatical form of a study record, while corresponding to no retrievable study.No source found
MGF supports tissue remodelling and muscle repairThe two best-matched primary studies disagree and this page does not average them. Kandalla 2011 (PMID 21354439) reported that the 24-residue E peptide extended the proliferative lifespan of human satellite cells from young donors in culture. Fornaro 2014 (PMID 24253050), run independently at two pharmaceutical companies, applied the same peptide at up to 500 ng/mL across four cell systems and found no proliferative, differentiation or ERK-phosphorylation response, and closed by questioning whether the peptide has a physiological role. A separate MGF paper that surfaces readily in searches, Xu 2019 in Bioscience Reports (PMID 30858307), was retracted in August 2024; PubMed types it as a Retracted Publication and the abstract remains visible.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

What the listings describe

Product listings give a composition of 10 mg of a retatrutide-type peptide, written as GLP3-Reta, plus 2 mg of PEG-MGF per vial. A forum thread on the same product describes it as combining GLP-1, GIP, glucagon and PEG-MGF into one blend. One thread participant stated there were no available studies on the blend; that is consistent with what the database searches returned. A further claim in the same thread, that the material had been examined in rabbit and mouse work, traces to nothing and is logged in the unsourced table below. The commercial pages give molecular weight and CAS number as reference dependent, which is not an identifier.

The marketing name presents the blend as GLP-4, the next term in a series. No such term exists. Proglucagon, catalogued by UniProt as P01275, is cleaved into glicentin, glicentin-related polypeptide, oxyntomodulin, glucagon, glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon-like peptide-2. The series stops at two. A symbol search of the HGNC gene database returns exactly two approved human genes beginning with GLP: GLP1R and GLP2R. Neither a GLP3 receptor nor a GLP4 receptor is on the human gene register, so the numeral in the name counts nothing that has been described.

A PubMed query for GLP-4 returns 28 records, 20 of them indexed under Caenorhabditis elegans. The nematode gene glp-4 encodes a valyl aminoacyl transfer-RNA synthetase, characterised in a 2015 paper in G3, and is used across the worm literature as a germline-proliferation mutant. Most of the remaining records are string matches inside unrelated abbreviations. A query for glucagon-like peptide-4 returns ten records, none of which describes such a peptide; the matches are token collisions across the incretin and dipeptidyl peptidase-4 literature, together with a 1990 guinea-pig gallbladder study of a glucagon-secretin-like peptide and a GPR119 agonist pharmacology paper. The only GLP-4 in the indexed literature is a worm gene.

The incretin component, as tested on its own

Retatrutide has a published human record and this site logs it separately. In the phase 2 obesity trial reported by Jastreboff and colleagues in the New England Journal of Medicine, 338 adults with a body-mass index of 30 or higher, or 27 to under 30 plus a weight-related condition, received subcutaneous retatrutide or placebo once weekly for 48 weeks. Least-squares mean change in body weight at 48 weeks was −24.2% in the 12 mg group against −2.1% on placebo. Dose-dependent increases in heart rate peaked at 24 weeks and declined afterwards.

In the phase 2 type 2 diabetes trial reported by Rosenstock and colleagues in The Lancet, 281 adults with HbA1c between 7.0% and 10.5% were randomised across placebo, dulaglutide 1.5 mg and six retatrutide regimens. Least-squares mean change in HbA1c at 24 weeks was −2.02% in the 12 mg group, against −0.01% on placebo and −1.41% on dulaglutide. Both trials administered retatrutide as a single molecule, alone, under a fixed escalation schedule, in a monitored setting.

Those conditions matter for what may be carried across. A figure measured on one molecule administered alone describes that molecule administered alone. PubMed returns zero records for retatrutide combined with mechano growth factor and zero for retatrutide combined with IGF-1, so no published work has examined the two together in any system. Trial numbers reproduced beneath a blend name are being moved outside the experiment that produced them.

The growth-factor component, and a replication that failed

Mechano growth factor is the name Goldspink's laboratory gave to a splice variant of IGF-1, IGF-1Ec in humans, whose unique carboxy-terminal E domain yields a 24-residue peptide. The FDA registry holds it as a protein substance under UNII Q86M4KXC2P with sequence YQPPSTNKNTKSQRRKGSTFEERK, formula C121H197N41O40 and a calculated mass of 2868.17. That record carries no CAS number, and the registry holds no entry for any PEGylated form. What the abbreviation MGF denotes therefore shifts between sources: the full splice variant, the 24-residue E peptide, a 25-residue synthetic variant used in tendon work, and a PEGylated derivative that no registry describes.

Kandalla and colleagues reported in Mechanisms of Ageing and Development that the 24-residue E peptide increased the proliferative lifespan of primary human muscle satellite cells and delayed their senescence in cultures from neonatal and young adult donors, but not in cultures from old adult donors. That result sits behind most of the tissue-remodelling language attached to this component on commercial pages. The work was done in culture, on cells taken from donors of different ages, and it measured proliferation, senescence and fusion index rather than anything at the level of a tissue or an animal.

Fornaro and colleagues then attempted to reproduce it. Working across two pharmaceutical companies, they applied the peptide at concentrations up to 500 ng/mL to C2C12 myoblasts, primary human skeletal muscle myoblasts and primary mouse muscle stem cells, and recorded no increase in proliferation and no delay of myotube fusion. Mature IGF-1 and full-length IGF-1Eb produced a proliferative response in the same assays. A separate readout, ERK phosphorylation in cardiac myocytes, also failed to respond to either the native or a stabilised peptide. Their paper closes by questioning whether the E peptide has a physiological role at all.

In vivo rodent work is more favourable and more heterogeneous. Peña and colleagues delivered the E-domain peptide from polymeric microrods injected into mouse myocardium after coronary artery ligation and recorded reduced mortality, an amelioration of the decline in haemodynamics and delayed decompensation against empty microrods; the untreated groups declined by two weeks and decompensated further by ten weeks post-infarct. Riddoch-Contreras and colleagues delivered MGF as a plasmid rather than a peptide into the hindlimb muscles of SOD1(G93A) mice and recorded greater motoneuron survival than with an IGF-I plasmid. One frequently surfaced MGF paper, on nucleus pulposus cell apoptosis, was retracted by Bioscience Reports in August 2024 and remains indexed with its abstract intact.

The half-life figures, and where they come from

Two numbers circulate for this component and they are not compatible. One family of pages states that PEGylation extends the half-life of MGF from minutes to several hours. Another states that it extends it to two or three days, and a forum participant repeated the second figure while reasoning about how it would sit against a weekly incretin. A third figure, five to seven minutes for the unmodified peptide, appears alongside both.

None of the three traces to a measurement. A PubMed search for PEG-MGF returns exactly one record, a 2026 narrative review in Frontiers in Endocrinology that surveys performance-enhancing peptides and describes self-administration practice rather than reporting pharmacokinetics. Searching for pegylation combined with mechano growth factor returns the same single record. Searching mechano growth factor combined with half-life returns one paper, a 2001 review by Goldspink and Yang stating qualitatively that MGF has a shorter half-life in the unbound state than liver-type IGF-1, and giving no figure.

PEGylation is also underspecified everywhere it appears here. Polymer chain length and attachment residue determine what a PEGylated peptide weighs and how it clears, and no listing states either. Thevis and colleagues characterised one grey-market MGF product by mass spectrometry for doping-control purposes and found a protein of 12264.9 Da whose sequence was close to IGF-1Ec but missing the terminal lysine and carrying histidine instead of arginine at position 109. That is the one time material of this kind has been independently analysed in the literature, and it was not the reference sequence.

Nothing has administered the combination

No study has given these two components together. PubMed returns nothing for the pairing, ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registered study of it under any of the names in use, and no preclinical model, cell system or pharmacokinetic characterisation of the mixture appears in the indexed record. The claim implicit in the product name, that four pathways are engaged in a coordinated way, has not been tested in any organism.

Co-formulation raises questions the public record cannot answer. The incretin component is a single 39-residue peptide in the FDA registry record cited here as r14, whose systematic name places a twenty-carbon diacid chain on the lysine at position 17 through a glutamyl-AEEA linker; that peptide and a PEGylated growth-factor derivative lyophilised into one vial have no published compatibility, stability or degradation data as a mixture, and the identity of the second component is not established by any certificate in the public domain. Whether the material in a given vial matches the stated composition is unknown, and the Thevis analysis is the only precedent for checking.

Regulatory position

Retatrutide is investigational. It has not been approved by any regulator for any indication, and the trials above were conducted under investigational supply with controlled identity and purity. Mechano growth factor has never been approved anywhere either, and no registered human trial has administered the E peptide to people. The ClinicalTrials.gov version 2 API, queried on 18 August 2026, returned 487 studies for query.term 'mechano growth factor' and 105 for query.intr; inspection of the interventional records found none administering MGF, IGF-1Ec or the E peptide, the matches being keyword collisions on 'growth factor' across unrelated growth hormone, IGF-1 and exercise trials.

Sport governance treats the two differently. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List, in force from 1 January 2026, names mechano growth factors under S2.3 among growth factors prohibited at all times, alongside IGF-1 and its analogues and thymosin-beta-4 derivatives, and closes the section with a residual clause reaching other growth factors and growth factor modulators that affect muscle, tendon or ligament protein synthesis or degradation, vascularisation, energy utilization, regenerative capacity or fibre type switching. Thevis and colleagues record that the MGF peptide has been prohibited under those regulations since 2005. Neither retatrutide nor any other incretin receptor agonist appears anywhere in the 2026 list; the words glucagon, GLP-1 and incretin do not occur in the document.

Material sold under this name sits outside both frames. It is not an approved medicine, not an investigational supply governed by a protocol, and not a registry-identified substance. The published record establishes nothing about the mixture as sold: not its composition, not its stability, not its behaviour in any organism. Its two named components have never been studied in each other's presence, and one of them has never been given to a person in a registered trial at all.

What is not known

Nothing about this blend as a blend is established. No study has administered its two named components together in any species, cell system or assay; PubMed returns zero records for retatrutide combined with mechano growth factor, and ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registered study under any name in use. There is no published compatibility, stability or degradation data for a 39-residue fatty-acylated incretin peptide and a PEGylated growth-factor derivative lyophilised into one vial, and no pharmacokinetic characterisation of either component in the other's presence. The identity of the growth-factor component is unresolved even in principle: the abbreviation MGF is applied across the literature to the full IGF-1Ec splice variant, a 24-residue E peptide, a 25-residue synthetic variant, and PEGylated derivatives that no registry describes, and no listing states the polymer's chain length or attachment site. Whether any given vial matches its stated composition is unknown, and the only published independent analysis of grey-market material of this kind found a sequence that was close to the reference but not identical to it. The MGF E peptide has never been administered to a person in a registered trial, so no human safety or exposure data exist for it at all. Retatrutide's own record is 48 weeks at longest and comes from investigational supply under a protocol. Neither component is an approved medicine in any jurisdiction, and mechano growth factors are prohibited at all times under the 2026 WADA Prohibited List.

Questions

Does metatrutide have a CAS number, a PubChem CID or an INN?
No. Queried on 18 August 2026, PubChem returned PUGREST.NotFound in both its compound and substance databases, the FDA Global Substance Registration System returned zero records, PubMed returned zero, and ClinicalTrials.gov returned a totalCount of zero. The same GSRS query run against retatrutide returned two records carrying CAS 2381089-83-2, INN 12350 and USAN JK-35, so the registry does capture names of this class once they are assigned. Metatrutide has not been assigned one. Any page quoting a CAS number for it is quoting something that could not be located in a registry.
Is GLP-4 a real receptor?
No. Pro-glucagon, catalogued by UniProt as P01275, yields glicentin, glicentin-related polypeptide, oxyntomodulin, glucagon, glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon-like peptide-2. The series stops at two. HGNC lists exactly two approved human genes beginning GLP: GLP1R and GLP2R. In PubMed, 20 of the 28 records matching GLP-4 concern glp-4, a Caenorhabditis elegans gene encoding a valyl aminoacyl tRNA synthetase. The ten records matching glucagon-like peptide-4 were read in full and none describes such a peptide.
Has the combination itself been studied?
No study has administered the two components together. PubMed returns zero records for retatrutide combined with mechano growth factor and zero for retatrutide combined with IGF-1. ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registered study of the blend. The figures that circulate under the blend's name were measured on retatrutide administered alone in two phase 2 trials, under a fixed escalation schedule with investigational supply.
Why do sources disagree about PEG-MGF's half-life?
Because none of the figures traces to a measurement. Commercial pages carry both 'minutes to several hours' and 'two to three days', and a figure of five to seven minutes for the unmodified peptide circulates alongside them. PubMed returns exactly one record for PEG-MGF, a 2026 narrative review that describes self-administration practice rather than pharmacokinetics. The single indexed paper linking MGF to half-life is a 2001 review stating only that MGF clears faster in the unbound state than liver-type IGF-1, with no number attached.
Is either component approved or permitted in sport?
Neither is approved by any regulator for any indication. Retatrutide is investigational and its published trials were run under protocol with controlled supply. Mechano growth factors are named under section S2.3 of the 2026 WADA Prohibited List, in force from 1 January 2026, among growth factors prohibited at all times, and the section closes with a residual clause reaching other growth factors and growth factor modulators affecting muscle, tendon or ligament protein synthesis or degradation. Thevis and colleagues record that the MGF peptide has been prohibited since 2005. Neither retatrutide nor any incretin receptor agonist appears anywhere in the 2026 list.

References

  1. Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, et al. Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity — A Phase 2 Trial. N Engl J Med. 2023;389(6):514–526. PMID 37366315. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. Rosenstock J, Frias J, Jastreboff AM, et al. Retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, for people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled, parallel-group, phase 2 trial conducted in the USA. Lancet. 2023;402(10401):529–544. PMID 37385280. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  3. Fornaro M, Hinken AC, Needle S, et al. Mechano-growth factor peptide, the COOH terminus of unprocessed insulin-like growth factor 1, has no apparent effect on myoblasts or primary muscle stem cells. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2014;306(2):E150–E156. PMID 24253050. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Kandalla PK, Goldspink G, Butler-Browne G, Mouly V. Mechano Growth Factor E peptide (MGF-E), derived from an isoform of IGF-1, activates human muscle progenitor cells and induces an increase in their fusion potential at different ages. Mech Ageing Dev. 2011;132(4):154–162. PMID 21354439. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Peña JR, Pinney JR, Ayala P, Desai TA, Goldspink PH. Localized delivery of mechano-growth factor E-domain peptide via polymeric microstructures improves cardiac function following myocardial infarction. Biomaterials. 2015;46:26–34. PMID 25678113. The two-week and ten-week timepoints in this paper describe the untreated groups; no time anchor is reported for the treated arm. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Riddoch-Contreras J, Yang SY, Dick JR, Goldspink G, Orrell RW, Greensmith L. Mechano-growth factor, an IGF-I splice variant, rescues motoneurons and improves muscle function in SOD1(G93A) mice. Exp Neurol. 2009;215(2):281–289. PMID 19038252. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Thevis M, Thomas A, Geyer H, Schänzer W. Mass spectrometric characterization of a biotechnologically produced full-length mechano growth factor (MGF) relevant for doping controls. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2014;24(6):276–280. PMID 25466910. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  8. Zhang B, Luo Q, Chen Z, Shi Y, Ju Y, Yang L, Song G. Increased nuclear stiffness via FAK-ERK1/2 signaling is necessary for synthetic mechano-growth factor E peptide-induced tenocyte migration. Sci Rep. 2016;6:18809. PMID 26742689. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Goldspink G, Yang SY. Effects of activity on growth factor expression. Int J Sport Nutr Exerc Metab. 2001;11 Suppl:S21–S27. PMID 11915923. The only indexed paper linking MGF to half-life; the statement is qualitative and carries no figure. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  10. Dominikowski A, Rękoś Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchała M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration. Front Endocrinol (Lausanne). 2026;17:1822475. PMID 42395176. The sole PubMed record matching 'PEG-MGF'; a narrative review, not a pharmacokinetic study. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. Xu Q, Fang H, Zhao L, Zhang C, Zhang L, Tian B. Mechano growth factor attenuates mechanical overload-induced nucleus pulposus cell apoptosis through inhibiting the p38 MAPK pathway. Biosci Rep. 2019;39(3):BSR20182462. PMID 30858307. RETRACTED: PubMed types this paper as a Retracted Publication; the retraction notice appears at Biosci Rep. 2024;44(8):BSR-2018-2462_RET. Cited here only to record that it is flagged, because it still surfaces in MGF searches with its abstract intact. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  12. Rastogi S, Borgo B, Pazdernik N, Fox P, Mardis ER, Kohara Y, Havranek J, Schedl T. Caenorhabditis elegans glp-4 Encodes a Valyl Aminoacyl tRNA Synthetase. G3 (Bethesda). 2015;5(12):2719–2728. PMID 26464357. View on pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  13. FDA Global Substance Registration System. Mechano growth factor, UNII Q86M4KXC2P. Protein substance record giving the 24-residue sequence YQPPSTNKNTKSQRRKGSTFEERK, formula C121H197N41O40 and calculated molecular weight 2868.17. No CAS code is recorded, and no PEGylated form is registered. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  14. FDA Global Substance Registration System. Retatrutide, UNII NOP2Y096GV. Protein substance record carrying CAS 2381089-83-2, INN 12350 and USAN JK-35, a single 39-residue subunit YAQGTFTSDYSILLDKKAQAAFIEYLLEGGPSSGAPPPS, and a systematic name placing a 19-carboxy-1-oxononadecyl chain on the lysine at position 17 through a gamma-glutamyl-AEEA linker. The record's structural-modification list is empty, so the acylation is documented in the name field rather than as a modification entry. Used here also as the control confirming the GSRS search endpoint was answering when the query for metatrutide returned zero. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  15. UniProt Knowledgebase entry P01275, pro-glucagon (human). Processed-peptide features list glicentin, glicentin-related polypeptide, oxyntomodulin, glucagon, glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon-like peptide-2; no further glucagon-like peptide is recorded. View on rest.uniprot.org
  16. HUGO Gene Nomenclature Committee. Symbol search GLP*, returning two approved human gene symbols: GLP1R and GLP2R. View on rest.genenames.org
  17. World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List (International Standard), in force 1 January 2026; dated list document retrieved and text-extracted on 18 August 2026. Section S2.3, Growth Factors and Growth Factor Modulators, names 'Mechano growth factors (MGFs)' among substances prohibited at all times, listing them alongside fibroblast growth factors, hepatocyte growth factor, 'Insulin-like growth factor 1 (IGF-1, mecasermin) and its analogues', platelet-derived growth factor, thymosin-beta-4 and its derivatives, and vascular endothelial growth factor, and closing with a residual clause that extends the section to other growth factors or growth factor modulators affecting muscle, tendon or ligament protein synthesis or degradation, vascularisation, energy utilization, regenerative capacity or fibre type switching. The strings glucagon, GLP-1, incretin, semaglutide, retatrutide and tirzepatide return zero occurrences across the extracted document. View on www.wada-ama.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.