Compound records · updated 27 Aug 2026

Cerebrolysin (FPF 1070)

Cerebrolysin is not a molecule. The FDA substance registry files it as structurally diverse: the protein fraction of pig brain, enzymatically hydrolysed, CAS 12656-61-0, with no molecular formula, no molecular weight and no sequence to verify. It has been through randomised placebo-controlled trials in humans, including one with 1,070 stroke patients, and the largest of those returned a neutral primary endpoint. Four papers from the laboratory that produced its transgenic-mouse literature have been retracted since March 2025, and a fifth carries an editorial expression of concern.

Strongest evidence: Human dataRandomised placebo-controlled human trials, one with 1,070 participants; no United States marketing approval 18 claims logged 12 with primary citations 6 traced to no source
Identity data
Class
Structurally diverse biological substance: the protein fraction of Sus scrofa (pig) brain, enzymatically hydrolysed to peptides and free amino acids; FDA UNII 37KZM6S21G, parent substance SUS SCROFA WHOLE (UNII 659O12FKBL), NCI Thesaurus C221892
CAS number
12656-61-0
PubChem CID
Not verified
Molecular formula
Not verified
Molecular weight
Not verified
Sequence
Not verified
Also indexed as
FPF 1070, FPE 1070 (research designations, GSRS name type cd); Cerebrolysin [WHO-DD]

What is actually in the ampoule

Cerebrolysin is not registered as a chemical. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files it under substance class structurallyDiverse, with source material class ORGANISM, source material type MAMMAL, part brain, fraction protein, and parent substance SUS SCROFA WHOLE. The record carries UNII 37KZM6S21G and CAS registry number 12656-61-0. PubChem returns no compound identifier for the name at all, only thirteen substance deposits. There is no formula to check, no molecular weight and no sequence, because the preparation is a hydrolysate rather than a defined molecule. Every number that follows describes a batch of a biological mixture, and the identity fields on this page are null because the registries hold no value to put in them. The GSRS name list also carries marketed-product designations, which this page omits.

Two incompatible descriptions of that mixture circulate inside the peer-reviewed literature, not merely on secondary pages. Hartbauer and colleagues, writing in the Journal of Neural Transmission in 2001, described a mixture of 75 per cent free amino acids and 25 per cent low-molecular-weight peptides below 10 kDa, and their companion paper adds the qualification that the split is calculated from total nitrogen content. Allam and colleagues, in The Spine Journal in 2018, described 85 per cent free amino acids and 15 per cent biologically active low-molecular-weight peptides. Neither cites a characterisation study. The 85/15 figure also appears in papers from 1992, 1996 and 1997, which suggests an older estimate that was never formally superseded.

Mass spectrometry has since been pointed at the peptide fraction, and what it returned is broader and less tidy than either split implies. Gromova and colleagues (2019), using orbital ion trap instruments and de novo sequencing, reported 14,635 peptide sequences corresponding to 1,643 porcine neuronal proteins, of which 405 fragments matched 300 known biologically active peptides. Yang and colleagues (2023), optimising a nanoLC-MS workflow, found peptides belonging to myelin basic protein and tubulin beta chain, and nominated three candidates with predicted neuroprotective function by bioinformatic analysis rather than by assay. Both are descriptive surveys of what the material contains, and neither tested whether any single constituent produces a clinical effect.

Claim ledger

12 of 18 traced to a primary source
Reported figurePopulationRoutenSource
Combined global directional test of modified Rankin Scale, Barthel Index and NIHSS showed no significant difference against placebo at 90 days. In a post hoc subgroup with NIHSS above 12, cumulative 90-day mortality was 20.2% on placebo and 10.5% on treatment (hazard ratio 1.9661, lower CI bound 1.0013)Adults with acute ischaemic hemispheric stroke, randomised within 12 hours of onset; post hoc subgroup restricted to NIHSS above 12Intravenous, 30 mL daily for 10 days, on background aspirin 100 mg1,070 randomised (529 treatment, 541 placebo); post hoc subgroup size not stated in the abstractHeiss 2012, Stroke, PMID 22282884
Action Research Arm Test at day 90 gave a Mann-Whitney estimator of 0.71 (95% CI 0.63 to 0.79); multivariate global status across 12 scales gave 0.62 (0.58 to 0.65)Stroke patients entering early rehabilitation, treatment started 24 to 72 hours after onsetIntravenous, 30 mL daily for 21 days alongside a standardised 21-day rehabilitation programme208 enrolledMuresanu 2016, Stroke, PMID 26564102
Pooled individual-patient analysis of CARS-1 and CARS-2 gave a Mann-Whitney estimator of 0.62 on day-90 ARAT and 0.59 on early NIHSS; number needed to treat for clinically relevant early NIHSS change 7.1 (95% CI 4 to 22)Combined cohorts of two identically designed early-rehabilitation stroke trialsIntravenous, 30 mL daily for 21 days442 combinedGuekht 2017, Neurol Sci, PMID 28707130
All-cause death risk ratio 0.96 (95% CI 0.65 to 1.41), moderate-certainty evidenceAdults with acute ischaemic stroke across six randomised trialsIntravenous, schedules varying by trial1,689 participants, 6 trialsZiganshina 2023, Cochrane Database Syst Rev, PMID 37818733
Total number of people with non-fatal serious adverse events increased, risk ratio 2.39 (95% CI 1.10 to 5.23), moderate certainty; in the 30 mL for 10 days subgroup 2.87 (1.24 to 6.69) across 2 trials and 1,189 participants. The composite estimates over the same three trials were null: total people with serious adverse events 1.16 (0.81 to 1.66) and fatal serious adverse events 0.90 (0.59 to 1.38), both moderate certainty; total people with adverse events 1.03 (0.92 to 1.14) across 4 trials and 1,607 participants, low certaintyAdults with acute ischaemic stroke across three randomised trials (four for total adverse events)Intravenous1,335 participants, 3 trials; 1,607 participants, 4 trials for total adverse eventsZiganshina 2023, Cochrane Database Syst Rev, PMID 37818733
Pooled MMSE and ADAS-cog+ data gave a standardised mean difference of 0.36 (95% CI 0.13 to 0.58), graded very low quality; global function response risk ratio 2.69 (1.82 to 3.98) across 2 studies and 379 participants, also very low qualityPeople with mild to moderate vascular dementia, six trials, five conducted in China, Russia and RomaniaIntravenous, doses and durations varying by trial, follow-up 15 days to 3 years420 participants for the cognition pool; 597 across all six included trialsCui 2019, Cochrane Database Syst Rev, PMID 31710397
ADAS-cog+ improved 10.6 points against 4.4 on placebo at week 24, reported as a least squares mean difference of -6.17 (lower ADAS-cog+ scores indicate less cognitive impairment, so the negative sign carries the direction); CIBIC+ 2.84 against 3.68, treatment difference 0.84Adults meeting criteria for vascular dementiaIntravenous, 20 mL once daily over two treatment cycles, as add-on to acetylsalicylic acid242Guekht 2011, J Stroke Cerebrovasc Dis, PMID 20656516
ADAS-cog difference of 3.2 points in favour of treatment at week 16 (p < 0.0001); CGI responder rate 63.5% against 41.4%; adverse events recorded in 43% of treated and 38% of placebo patientsAdults with mild to moderate Alzheimer's diseaseIntravenous, 30 mL five days per week for 4 weeks, repeated after a 2-month treatment-free interval149 (76 treatment, 73 placebo)Ruether 2001, Int Clin Psychopharmacol, PMID 11552768; erratum Int Clin Psychopharmacol 2001;16(6):372
At week 24 only the 10 mL arm improved significantly on ADAS-cog (p = 0.038); the 30 mL and 60 mL arms improved global impression but not cognition, a pattern the authors called a reversed U-shaped dose-responseAdults with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease, four parallel armsIntravenous infusion of 10, 30 or 60 mL or placebo, 5 days per week for 4 weeks then twice weekly for 8 weeks279 enrolled (69, 70, 71 and 69 by arm)Alvarez 2006, Eur J Neurol, PMID 16420392
Primary multivariate ensemble of 14 outcome scales missed statistical significance in the intention-to-treat population; per-protocol analysis reached it with combined Mann-Whitney 0.69 (95% CI 0.53 to 0.85). Registry lists the trial as terminated for poor patient recruitmentPatients after moderate to severe traumatic brain injury, Asian-Pacific multicentreIntravenous, 50 mL daily for 10 days then two further cycles of 10 mL daily for 10 days, added to standard care46 enrolled (22 treatment, 24 placebo)Poon 2020, Neurol Sci, PMID 31494820; registration NCT01606111; erratum PMID 31909448
Primary ensemble of 13 outcome scales favoured treatment at day 90, combined Mann-Whitney 0.59 (95% CI 0.52 to 0.66), p = 0.0119, described by the authors as small to mediumSingle-centre cohort with admission Glasgow Coma Score 7 to 12, mean age 47.4Intravenous, 50 mL daily for 10 days then two further cycles of 10 mL daily for 10 days, added to standard care142 enrolled, 139 analysedMuresanu 2020, Neurol Sci, PMID 31897941
Mann-Whitney estimator 0.6157 (95% CI 0.5910 to 0.6404, p < 0.0001) on the ordinal 90-day modified Rankin Scale in the target population; median baseline NIHSS 10.0; no differences in safety measures were recorded. This is an open-label comparative effectiveness study with cohort standardisation, not a randomised trial, and the ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT03480698 posts enrolment as 1,851 against 1,865 in the publicationAdults with moderate acute ischaemic stroke, baseline NIHSS 8 to 15, 16 countries, April 2018 to April 2024Intravenous, median dose 30 mL, median treatment duration 10 days, open-label alongside standard therapy1,865 enrolled; target population 1,769 (1,021 treated, 748 control)Vosko 2025, Int J Stroke, PMID 40851188
Cerebrolysin is 85% free amino acids and 15% biologically active low-molecular-weight peptides.Both this split and an incompatible one are in print in indexed journals, and neither carries a citation to a characterisation study. Europe PMC full-text search for the exact phrase '85% free amino acids' with cerebrolysin returned five records, the earliest from Histology and Histopathology in 1992 and the most recent Allam 2018 in The Spine Journal (PMID 29155000). The same search for '75% free amino acids' returned seven, including Hartbauer 2001 (PMID 11459078) and its companion Hartbauer 2001 (PMID 11475013), the latter adding that the proportion is derived from total nitrogen content rather than direct quantification. Searches for '15% biologically active peptides' and 'below 10,000 Da' returned zero. No analytical study reporting either split as a measured result was located in PubMed or Europe PMC. Neither figure has a published measurement behind it.No source found
Cerebrolysin crosses the blood-brain barrier after systemic administration and reaches therapeutically relevant brain concentrations within about 30 minutes.This is the load-bearing claim in most secondary descriptions, since the argument for the preparation is that its fragments do what intact neurotrophic proteins cannot. PubMed was searched for the preparation and its FPF 1070 designation combined with brain uptake, permeability, radiolabelling and biodistribution, and separately with pharmacokinetics, plasma concentration, half-life and bioavailability. Neither search returned a study measuring brain penetration of the preparation or any constituent in any species. What the searches do return is work on the barrier as a target of injury and as an imaging endpoint, for example endothelial permeability studies (PMID 33661804) and imaging endpoints in the CEREHETIS trial (PMID 36973684), a separate question from uptake of the preparation. The 30-minute figure has no primary measurement attached to it that this search could find.No source found
Cerebrolysin contains, or reproduces the activity of, BDNF, NGF, GDNF and CNTF.The framing traces to Windisch 1998 (PMID 9700665), which reported nerve-growth-factor-like activity on dorsal root ganglion neurons and argued by resemblance, and to the 2012 pharmacology review by Masliah and Diez-Tejedor (PMID 22514792), which states in its second sentence that the preparation mimics the action of endogenous neurotrophic factors. That review is a summary of the transgenic-mouse and cell-culture literature, four papers of which have since been retracted and one placed under an expression of concern. The two published proteomic surveys do not support the stronger reading: Yang 2023 (PMID 37220681) identified peptides belonging to myelin basic protein and tubulin beta chain and asserts the neurotrophic-factor content only as uncited background, and Gromova 2019 (PMID 31626174) reports fragments of a nerve growth factor among 14,635 sequences without quantification or activity testing. No study was located demonstrating that the preparation contains any of these four proteins at a measured concentration.No source found
Cerebrolysin is approved in more than 50 countries.The number is unstable in circulation. Aggregator and vendor product pages retrieved in this search give 44, 50, 50-plus and 'more than fifty', with no page citing a regulatory source for any of them. No consolidated regulatory listing was located. What can be verified is the negative: openFDA returns no matches for the name in either the Drugs@FDA endpoint or the structured product labelling endpoint, which is consistent with no United States approval and no US label. (The FDA orphan designation carried at code 513315 is a separate matter and is fully traced on this page; it is not part of this failed search.)No source found
More than 200 clinical trials support Cerebrolysin.Counted against indexes rather than assumed. PubMed returns 670 records for the term overall, 91 with the publication type Clinical Trial, and 62 with the publication type Randomized Controlled Trial. ClinicalTrials.gov holds 42 registered studies, of which ten name the manufacturer as lead sponsor and four of those ten were withdrawn or terminated. None of these counts reaches 200, and the figure as circulated does not specify what it is counting. A count of trials measures activity: the 2023 Cochrane review found seven trials that met its inclusion criteria for acute ischaemic stroke, and the 2019 vascular dementia review found six.No source found
Reconstituted material keeps for 30 days at 2 to 8 degrees, lyophilised powder for 12 months at room temperature, and a vial left at room temperature for six hours loses 40 to 60 per cent of its neurotrophic activity.These figures circulate as handling guidance and conflict with each other across pages, with reconstituted windows quoted variously as 72 hours, 7 days, 24 hours and 30 days. Europe PMC was searched for the preparation with 'accelerated stability' (zero hits) and with 'neurotrophic activity' and 'room temperature' (one hit, unrelated). PubMed searches combining the preparation with stability, degradation and storage returned no stability study of any kind. The 40 to 60 per cent activity-loss figure is attributed to accelerated stability studies that could not be located in either database. A separate problem sits underneath all of it: the material administered in every trial cited on this page was a solution in ampoules dosed by volume, at 10 to 50 mL, so guidance describing a lyophilised powder dosed in milligrams is not describing the material the trials used.No source found
On dosing. Vialog does not publish dosing protocols, titration schedules, or conversions to syringe units for any compound. Figures in the ledger above are the quantities administered in the studies cited, recorded so the origin of each number is visible. They are observations from published experiments, not instructions.

The stroke trials, and the Cochrane reading of them

CASTA is the largest randomised trial of the preparation. Heiss and colleagues (2012) randomised 1,070 patients with acute ischaemic hemispheric stroke within twelve hours of onset to 30 mL daily by intravenous infusion for ten days or saline, both on a background of 100 mg aspirin. The confirmatory endpoint, a combined global directional test of the modified Rankin Scale, Barthel Index and National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale, showed no significant difference between groups. A post hoc analysis restricted to patients with NIHSS above 12 reported 90-day cumulative mortality of 20.2 per cent on placebo against 10.5 per cent on treatment. The authors described that as a trend requiring confirmation in a further trial.

CARS took a different question. Muresanu and colleagues (2016) randomised 208 patients starting 24 to 72 hours after stroke onset, gave 30 mL daily for 21 days alongside a standardised rehabilitation programme, and measured the Action Research Arm Test at day 90, reporting a Mann-Whitney estimator of 0.71 (95 per cent CI 0.63 to 0.79). The trial was funded by EVER Neuro Pharma, three of its authors were employees of that company, and the published paper calls the study exploratory and asks for large-scale confirmation. A second identical trial, CARS-2, was run but has no standalone publication that this search could locate; its data appear only inside a 2017 pooled individual-patient analysis of both trials, N equals 442, Mann-Whitney 0.62.

The 2023 Cochrane review is the closest thing to a synthesis. Ziganshina and colleagues included seven randomised trials and 1,773 participants, one of which tested a related porcine-brain peptide preparation and contributed 272 people. All-cause death showed a risk ratio of 0.96 (0.65 to 1.41) across six trials and 1,689 participants at moderate certainty. Non-fatal serious adverse events went the other way: risk ratio 2.39 (1.10 to 5.23) across three trials and 1,335 participants, also moderate certainty, rising to 2.87 (1.24 to 6.69) in the subgroup receiving 30 mL for ten days. Total serious adverse events showed no difference (RR 1.16, 0.81 to 1.66), as did fatal serious adverse events (RR 0.90, 0.59 to 1.38); the increase sat in the non-fatal subcomponent. The review records that no included study reported poor functional outcome defined as death or dependence, and that the manufacturer supported three of the multicentre studies wholly or in part.

Observational work has continued alongside. C-REGS2 (Vosko and colleagues, International Journal of Stroke, 2025, PMID 40851188) enrolled 1,865 patients across sixteen countries between April 2018 and April 2024, restricted to moderate stroke with a baseline NIHSS of 8 to 15, and reported a Mann-Whitney estimator of 0.6157 (95 per cent CI 0.5910 to 0.6404) on the 90-day modified Rankin Scale in a target population of 1,769, of whom 1,021 were treated and 748 were controls. It is an open-label comparative effectiveness study using cohort standardisation, not a randomised trial, and its authors present it as such. The ClinicalTrials.gov record, NCT03480698, posts enrolment as 1,851 against the 1,865 reported in the paper.

Dementia: two Cochrane reviews and a dose response that runs backwards

Cui and colleagues updated the Cochrane review on vascular dementia in 2019 and found nothing new to add. Six randomised trials with 597 participants were eligible, all of them already present in the 2013 version, and no trial published between 2012 and May 2019 met inclusion criteria. Pooling Mini-Mental State Examination and ADAS-cog+ data across three studies and 420 people gave a standardised mean difference of 0.36 (0.13 to 0.58) at very low quality. Global function response across two studies and 379 participants gave a risk ratio of 2.69 (1.82 to 3.98), again very low quality. Where funding was described, every study was industry-supported. The review authors wrote that if benefits exist they may be too small to be clinically meaningful.

The largest single vascular dementia trial sits inside that pool. Guekht and colleagues (2011) randomised 242 patients to 20 mL daily as add-on to acetylsalicylic acid over two treatment cycles, and reported ADAS-cog+ improvement of 10.6 points against 4.4 on placebo, which the paper states as a least-squares mean difference of -6.17; on ADAS-cog+ lower scores indicate less cognitive impairment, so the negative sign carries the direction of the estimate. CIBIC+ favoured treatment by 0.84 points at week 24, a mean of 2.84 against 3.68. Two of the four lead authors were employees of the sponsoring manufacturer.

In Alzheimer's disease the record is older and the dose behaviour is the interesting part. Bae and colleagues (2000) randomised 53 patients in Korea over four weeks and reported ADAS-Cog and CGI differences. Ruether and colleagues (2001) randomised 149 patients to 30 mL or placebo in two four-week courses separated by a two-month interval and reported a 3.2-point ADAS-cog difference at week 16 that was largely maintained at week 28; that paper carries an erratum in the following issue. Alvarez and colleagues (2006) randomised 279 patients across 10 mL, 30 mL, 60 mL and placebo arms, and at week 24 only the 10 mL arm improved significantly on ADAS-cog, while the two higher doses improved global impression but not cognition. The authors named the pattern a reversed U-shaped dose-response; they proposed no mechanism for it.

A 2025 systematic review in Alzheimer's and Dementia placed these results in a wider frame. Masserini and colleagues extracted 173 trials covering 22,347 participants and 91 interventions in vascular cognitive impairment (PMID 41198594). In that review the pooled estimates placed cerebrolysin in a group with acetylcholinesterase inhibitors, memantine, propentofylline, physical exercise and cognitive rehabilitation that showed small to moderate cognitive improvement; the largest estimates in the review were for Ginkgo biloba extracts, at Cohen's d 0.83 (95 per cent CI 0.00 to 1.67) for cognition and 0.50 (0.25 to 0.75) for function, and the authors record certainty of evidence as overall low. Their stated conclusion concerns the field as a whole: methodological heterogeneity across these trials undermined the strength of evidence for positive and negative findings alike.

Traumatic brain injury: a terminated trial and a single-centre successor

CAPTAIN I is registered as NCT01606111 and the registry lists it as terminated, with the reason given as poor patient recruitment. Forty-six patients were enrolled, 22 to treatment and 24 to placebo, against a design built around a multidimensional ensemble of fourteen outcome scales analysed by the Wei-Lachin procedure. In the intention-to-treat population the primary ensemble missed statistical significance. The per-protocol analysis reached it, with a combined Mann-Whitney of 0.69 (0.53 to 0.85). Three individual outcomes reached stand-alone significance. The paper carries an erratum published in March 2020.

CAPTAIN II was single-centre. Muresanu and colleagues (2020) enrolled 142 patients with admission Glasgow Coma Score between 7 and 12, analysed 139, and reported that the primary ensemble of thirteen outcome scales favoured treatment at day 90 with a combined Mann-Whitney of 0.59 (0.52 to 0.66) and p equal to 0.0119, an effect the authors characterised as small to medium. Safety observations were reported as comparable between groups.

Read together, the TBI file is a 46-patient trial stopped for recruitment whose primary endpoint failed on intention-to-treat, and a 139-patient single-centre trial with a small-to-medium ensemble effect. Neither is a confirmatory trial, and both papers say so in their own conclusions.

Four retractions and an expression of concern in the preclinical record

The transgenic-mouse literature behind the mechanistic vocabulary that surrounds this preparation came from one laboratory at the University of California San Diego, with co-authors employed by the manufacturer. Since March 2025, four of those papers have been retracted: the Rett syndrome study in Acta Neuropathologica (2008, retracted March 2026), the CNTF-peptide neurogenesis comparison in the Journal of Alzheimer's Disease (2011, retracted 2026), the tauopathy mitochondrial-structure paper in BMC Neuroscience (2014, retracted December 2025), and the three-repeat tau Pick's disease paper in BMC Neuroscience (2015, retracted March 2025). A fifth, the 2009 AAV2-mutant tau paper in Acta Neuropathologica, received an editorial expression of concern in March 2026.

The retraction notices are specific about what was found. For the 2015 Pick's disease paper, the editor recorded that a portion of one dentate panel appeared to overlap, when horizontally flipped, with a portion of another panel in the same figure, together with four further overlaps across two more figures, every one of the five described as panels representing animals that underwent different treatments or were subject to different experimental conditions. For the 2014 mitochondrial paper, the notice lists apparent overlap within a phospho-tau band, apparent editing of the background of an actin band, apparent overlap among three panels representing different experimental conditions, and apparent overlap within a phospho-Drp1 band. That notice adds that the corresponding author has not stated whether he agrees or disagrees with the retraction. Employees of EVER Neuro Pharma are listed as co-authors on both.

A separate cluster carries three more retractions: two 2018 Molecular Neurobiology papers on nanowired delivery of the preparation in Parkinson's and Alzheimer's models, and a 2023 Neurochemical Research paper on nanoparticle-induced neuropathic pain. None of the human trials cited on this page carries a retraction, expression of concern or unresolved erratum. The flags sit entirely on the animal and cell work, which is where the mechanistic vocabulary that surrounds this preparation was generated. The 2012 pharmacology review that states in its second sentence that the preparation mimics endogenous neurotrophic factors (PMID 22514792) was co-authored by the same corresponding author and draws on that same body of experiments.

Regulatory position and the missing pharmacology

There is no United States approval. Queries to the openFDA Drugs@FDA endpoint and the structured product labelling endpoint both return no matches for the name, which is what would be expected for a substance never approved and never labelled for the US market. The GSRS record carries FDA orphan drug code 513315. The FDA Office of Orphan Products Development record for that code, designated 5 April 2016 with EVER Neuro Pharma GmbH as sponsor, gives the designation as treatment of frontotemporal dementia, including all subvariants, and gives orphan approval status as not FDA approved for the orphan indication. The two registries disagree on current standing: the GSRS code comment reads 'Designated', while the OOPD listing reads 'Designated/Designation Withdrawn or Revoked'. The date of any withdrawal is not published in the listing.

ClinicalTrials.gov holds 42 studies naming the preparation. Ten list EVER Neuro Pharma as lead sponsor: one was withdrawn before enrolment, three were terminated, five completed, and one, a 30-participant study in CADASIL registered as NCT05755997, is active and not recruiting. The rest are investigator-initiated studies across stroke, traumatic brain injury, subarachnoid haemorrhage, cerebral palsy, Down syndrome, preterm neurodevelopment, delirium, Bell's palsy and post-COVID chemosensory dysfunction, most of them registered at 20 to 150 participants. The registered record therefore covers many indications at small scale.

What no search returned is a pharmacokinetic study in humans. No plasma concentration curve, no half-life, no brain-to-plasma ratio, no biodistribution work was located in PubMed or Europe PMC for the preparation or its FPF 1070 designation. The one trial found in people without neurological disease is Funke and colleagues (1998), which gave 48 healthy men 10, 30 or 50 mL or saline daily for ten days and measured EEG power ratio and short-term word recall around hyperventilation-induced ischaemia; the authors recorded signs they described as overdosage at the highest volume, together with a small but significant reduction in blood pressure.

Harm appears in the published record as individual case reports, without an incidence estimate. Trimmel and colleagues (2024) describe a fulminant anaphylactic reaction in an 85-year-old man with subacute stroke following intravenous administration, laboratory-confirmed, and note that published cases of anaphylaxis with this preparation are rare. That the preparation is derived from mammalian brain tissue is a fact of its manufacture; no published assessment of transmissible spongiform encephalopathy risk specific to it was located during this search.

What is not known

No human pharmacokinetic data exist for this preparation. Searches of PubMed and Europe PMC returned no plasma concentration curve, no half-life, no brain-to-plasma ratio and no biodistribution study in any species, which means the central mechanistic premise, that low-molecular-weight fragments reach brain tissue after intravenous infusion, has not been measured. Composition is a second gap: two incompatible amino-acid-to-peptide splits are in print without a characterisation study behind either, batch-to-batch variability has not been published, and the proteomic surveys that do exist describe what is present without testing what is active. The largest randomised trial, at 1,070 patients, was neutral on its confirmatory endpoint, and the positive results come from smaller trials, most of them manufacturer-sponsored, several with manufacturer employees as authors. Two Cochrane reviews reached opposite-sounding conclusions on different indications, and the vascular dementia review graded all of its evidence very low quality and found no eligible trial published after 2012. Trials of the CARS design have never been repeated at scale, and CARS-2 has no standalone publication that this search could locate. Dose response has not been resolved: the one four-arm dose-finding trial in Alzheimer's disease found its cognitive effect at the lowest volume tested and not at three or six times that volume. Long-term exposure has not been characterised in any indication, and the only trial located in people without neurological disease ran for ten days in 48 healthy men in 1998. Adverse-event data are thin: the 2023 Cochrane review found non-fatal serious adverse events roughly doubled at moderate certainty across three trials, while the composite estimates over those same trials were null for total serious adverse events, for fatal serious adverse events and for total adverse events, and no included trial reported death or dependence as a functional outcome at all. Anaphylaxis appears in case reports without an incidence estimate. The regulatory record is also unsettled at the margin: the FDA holds an orphan designation for the substance in frontotemporal dementia, and the two federal registries that carry it disagree on whether that designation still stands, with no withdrawal date published. Finally, the preparation is manufactured from mammalian central nervous tissue, and no published assessment of transmissible spongiform encephalopathy risk specific to it was located during this search.

Questions

Why are the formula, molecular weight and sequence blank?
Because the registries hold no values for them. The FDA Global Substance Registration System files Cerebrolysin under substance class structurallyDiverse, sourced from ORGANISM, type MAMMAL, part brain, fraction protein, parent substance SUS SCROFA WHOLE, with CAS 12656-61-0 and UNII 37KZM6S21G. PubChem returns no compound identifier for the name, only thirteen substance deposits, and a lookup by the CAS number returns those same thirteen deposits and no compound identifier. The material is an enzymatic hydrolysate containing thousands of peptides plus free amino acids, so the fields that describe a single molecule have nothing to hold and are left null.
What did the largest stroke trial report on its primary endpoint?
CASTA (Heiss 2012, PMID 22282884) randomised 1,070 patients within twelve hours of stroke onset. Its confirmatory endpoint, a combined global directional test of the modified Rankin Scale, Barthel Index and NIHSS, showed no significant difference between groups. A post hoc analysis restricted to patients with NIHSS above 12 reported 90-day cumulative mortality of 20.2 per cent on placebo against 10.5 per cent on treatment, which the authors described as a trend requiring confirmation in a further trial. That confirmatory trial has not been published.
What has been retracted?
Four papers from the transgenic-mouse programme, plus an editorial expression of concern on a fifth, as of 18 August 2026. The Rett syndrome study in Acta Neuropathologica (PMID 18600331, retracted March 2026), the CNTF-peptide neurogenesis comparison in the Journal of Alzheimer's Disease (PMID 21860085, retracted 2026), the tauopathy mitochondrial-structure paper in BMC Neuroscience (PMID 25047000, retracted December 2025) and the three-repeat tau paper in BMC Neuroscience (PMID 26611895, retracted March 2025). The 2009 AAV2-mutant tau paper (PMID 19252918) received an editorial expression of concern in March 2026. The published reasons concern apparent overlaps between image panels representing animals under different treatments and apparent editing of western blot backgrounds. A separate laboratory's nanowired-delivery cluster carries three further retractions.
Do the two Cochrane reviews agree?
They address different indications and reach different-sounding conclusions, and both are worth reading for their certainty grades rather than their direction. The 2023 acute ischaemic stroke review (PMID 37818733) found no beneficial effect on all-cause death at moderate certainty and an increase in non-fatal serious adverse events, risk ratio 2.39 (1.10 to 5.23), also moderate certainty; over the same three trials the composite estimates were null, with total serious adverse events at 1.16 (0.81 to 1.66) and fatal serious adverse events at 0.90 (0.59 to 1.38). The 2019 vascular dementia review (PMID 31710397) found cognitive and global-function benefit but graded every estimate very low quality, noted that all funded studies were industry-supported, and concluded that any benefit may be too small to be clinically meaningful.
Is it approved anywhere?
Not in the United States. Queries to openFDA return no Drugs@FDA record and no structured product label for the name. Secondary pages state approval in 44, 50 or more than 50 countries, none of them citing a regulatory source, and no consolidated listing was located during this search, so that count is recorded here as untraced. The FDA does hold an orphan designation for the substance under code 513315, designated 5 April 2016 with EVER Neuro Pharma GmbH as sponsor, for treatment of frontotemporal dementia including all subvariants, with orphan approval status recorded as not FDA approved for the orphan indication. The two federal registries disagree on its current standing: the GSRS code comment reads 'Designated', the Office of Orphan Products Development listing reads 'Designated/Designation Withdrawn or Revoked', and no withdrawal date is displayed.

References

  1. FDA Global Substance Registration System substance record, UNII 37KZM6S21G (CEREBROLYSIN): substance class structurallyDiverse, CAS 12656-61-0 (primary), source material class ORGANISM, source material type MAMMAL, part brain, fraction protein, parent substance SUS SCROFA WHOLE (UNII 659O12FKBL); code entries include FDA ORPHAN DRUG 513315 with the comment 'ORPHAN DRUG|Designated|Treatment of frontotemporal dementia, including all subvariants' and NCI Thesaurus C221892. Retrieved 18 August 2026. View on gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
  2. US FDA Office of Orphan Products Development, Orphan Drug Designations and Approvals, detailed listing for designation 513315: generic name 'peptide fraction derived from porcine brain protein'; date designated 04/05/2016; orphan designation 'Treatment of frontotemporal dementia, including all subvariants'; orphan designation status 'Designated/Designation Withdrawn or Revoked'; FDA orphan approval status 'Not FDA Approved for Orphan Indication'; sponsor EVER Neuro Pharma GmbH, Unterach, Austria. No withdrawal date is displayed; the page footnote limits that field to designations withdrawn or revoked after 12 August 2013. Retrieved 18 August 2026, HTTP 200. View on www.accessdata.fda.gov
  3. Ziganshina LE, Abakumova T, Nurkhametova D, Ivanchenko K. Cerebrolysin for acute ischaemic stroke. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2023;10(10):CD007026. PMID 37818733. No integrity flags on PubMed publication types. View on doi.org
  4. Cui S, Chen N, Yang M, Guo J, Zhou M, Zhu C, He L. Cerebrolysin for vascular dementia. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2019;2019(11):CD008900. PMID 31710397. View on doi.org
  5. Heiss WD, Brainin M, Bornstein NM, Tuomilehto J, Hong Z. Cerebrolysin in patients with acute ischemic stroke in Asia: results of a double-blind, placebo-controlled randomized trial. Stroke. 2012;43(3):630-6. PMID 22282884. Registration NCT00868283, lead sponsor EVER Neuro Pharma GmbH. View on doi.org
  6. Muresanu DF, Heiss WD, Hoemberg V, Bajenaru O, et al. Cerebrolysin and Recovery After Stroke (CARS): A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Double-Blind, Multicenter Trial. Stroke. 2016;47(1):151-9. PMID 26564102, doi 10.1161/STROKEAHA.115.009416. Funded by EVER Neuro Pharma GmbH; Doppler, Meier and Moessler are company employees. A letter of comment is indexed at PMID 27056986. The pooled CARS-1 and CARS-2 individual-patient analysis, and the only publication located that reports CARS-2 data, is Guekht A, Vester J, Heiss WD, Gusev E, et al. Neurol Sci. 2017;38(10):1761-1769, PMID 28707130, doi 10.1007/s10072-017-3037-z. View on doi.org
  7. Vosko MR, Sanak D, Do Y, Vatanagul JS, Roushdy T, Bornstein NM, Vester JC, Brainin M. C-REGS2 - A multinational, high-quality comparative effectiveness study of Cerebrolysin in moderate acute ischemic stroke. Int J Stroke. 2025;20(9):1060-1070. PMID 40851188, PMCID PMC12589672. Open-label prospective controlled comparative effectiveness design, not randomised; registration NCT03480698, which posts enrolment as 1,851 against 1,865 in the publication. Several authors report honoraria from EVER Neuro Pharma. View on doi.org
  8. Guekht AB, Moessler H, Novak PH, Gusev EI. Cerebrolysin in vascular dementia: improvement of clinical outcome in a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled multicenter trial. J Stroke Cerebrovasc Dis. 2011;20(4):310-8. PMID 20656516. The abstract reports the ADAS-cog+ estimate as 'least squares mean difference, -6.17'. Registration NCT00947531, lead sponsor EVER Neuro Pharma GmbH. View on doi.org
  9. Ruether E, Husmann R, Kinzler E, Diabl E, et al. A 28-week, double-blind, placebo-controlled study with Cerebrolysin in patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease. Int Clin Psychopharmacol. 2001;16(5):253-63. PMID 11552768. PubMed links an erratum at Int Clin Psychopharmacol 2001;16(6):372, which carries no PMID of its own; what it corrected is not established here. View on doi.org
  10. Alvarez XA, Cacabelos R, Laredo M, Couceiro V, et al. A 24-week, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of three dosages of Cerebrolysin in patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease. Eur J Neurol. 2006;13(1):43-54. PMID 16420392, doi 10.1111/j.1468-1331.2006.01222.x. The earlier Korean trial cited in the same section is Bae CY, Cho CY, Cho K, Hoon Oh B, et al. A double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study of Cerebrolysin for Alzheimer's disease. J Am Geriatr Soc. 2000;48(12):1566-71, PMID 11129744, doi 10.1111/j.1532-5415.2000.tb03865.x. View on doi.org
  11. Masserini F, Gendarini C, Baso G, Salvadori E, Pantoni L. Therapeutic strategies in vascular cognitive impairment: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Alzheimers Dement. 2025;21(11):e70840. PMID 41198594, PMCID PMC12591988. 173 trials, 22,347 participants, four VCI categories, 91 interventions, 145 outcomes; Ginkgo biloba extracts carried the largest cognitive and functional estimates and the authors record certainty of evidence as overall low. View on doi.org
  12. Poon W, Matula C, Vos PE, Muresanu DF, et al. Safety and efficacy of Cerebrolysin in acute brain injury and neurorecovery: CAPTAIN I. Neurol Sci. 2020;41(2):281-293. PMID 31494820, doi 10.1007/s10072-019-04053-5. Erratum at Neurol Sci 2020;41(3):733, PMID 31909448. Registration NCT01606111, listed as terminated for poor patient recruitment. The single-centre successor is Muresanu DF, Florian S, Hoemberg V, Matula C, et al. Efficacy and safety of cerebrolysin in neurorecovery after moderate-severe traumatic brain injury: results from the CAPTAIN II trial. Neurol Sci. 2020;41(5):1171-1181, PMID 31897941, doi 10.1007/s10072-019-04181-y. View on doi.org
  13. RETRACTED. Rockenstein E, Ubhi K, Mante M, Florio J, et al. Neuroprotective effects of Cerebrolysin in triple repeat Tau transgenic model of Pick's disease and fronto-temporal tauopathies. BMC Neurosci. 2015;16:85. PMID 26611895. Retraction note BMC Neurosci 2025;26(1):23, PMID 40065222, PMCID PMC11892294, listing five distinct panel overlaps across Figs 1a, 2a, 2a-to-2c (twice) and 4e, each described as panels representing animals that underwent different treatments or were subject to different experimental conditions; the notice records that the authors have not replied to correspondence. View on doi.org
  14. RETRACTED. Rockenstein E, Ubhi K, Trejo M, Mante M, et al. Cerebrolysin efficacy in a transgenic model of tauopathy: role in regulation of mitochondrial structure. BMC Neurosci. 2014;15:90. PMID 25047000. Retraction note BMC Neurosci 2025;26(1):67, PMID 41382024, PMCID PMC12696914, citing apparent overlaps within phospho-tau and phospho-Drp1 bands, apparent editing of an actin band background, and overlapping panels from different experimental conditions; the notice records that the corresponding author has not stated whether he agrees with the retraction. View on doi.org
  15. RETRACTED. Doppler E, Rockenstein E, Ubhi K, Inglis C, et al. Neurotrophic effects of Cerebrolysin in the Mecp2(308/Y) transgenic model of Rett syndrome. Acta Neuropathol. 2008;116(4):425-37. PMID 18600331. Retraction note Acta Neuropathol 2026;151(1):30, PMID 41874695. View on doi.org
  16. RETRACTED. Rockenstein E, Ubhi K, Doppler E, Novak P, et al. Regional comparison of the neurogenic effects of CNTF-derived peptides and cerebrolysin in AbetaPP transgenic mice. J Alzheimers Dis. 2011;27(4):743-52. PMID 21860085. Retraction note J Alzheimers Dis 2026;111(4):1893, PMID 42015030. View on doi.org
  17. UNDER EXPRESSION OF CONCERN. Ubhi K, Rockenstein E, Doppler E, Mante M, et al. Neurofibrillary and neurodegenerative pathology in APP-transgenic mice injected with AAV2-mutant TAU: neuroprotective effects of Cerebrolysin. Acta Neuropathol. 2009;117(6):699-712. PMID 19252918. Editorial Expression of Concern, Acta Neuropathol 2026;151(1):25, PMID 41817815, doi 10.1007/s00401-026-02995-7. Three further retractions sit in a separate nanowired-delivery cluster: PMID 28875428 and PMID 28844104 (Mol Neurobiol 2018) and PMID 36719560 (Neurochem Res 2023). View on doi.org
  18. Composition and supporting literature. Hartbauer M, Hutter-Paier B, Windisch M. J Neural Transm (Vienna). 2001;108(5):581-92, PMID 11459078 (75% free amino acids, 25% peptides below 10 kDa), doi 10.1007/s007020170058; Allam AFA, Abotakia TAA, Koptan W. Spine J. 2018;18(7):1136-1142, PMID 29155000 (85% free amino acids, 15% peptides) - neither cites a characterisation study. Yang B, Li Y, Guo W, Zhang Q, et al. J Chromatogr B. 2023;1225:123755, PMID 37220681, doi 10.1016/j.jchromb.2023.123755. Gromova OA, Torshin IY, Zgoda VG, Tikhonova OV. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2019;119(8):75-83, PMID 31626174. Masliah E, Diez-Tejedor E. Drugs Today (Barc). 2012;48 Suppl A:3-24, PMID 22514792. Trimmel H, Tauber W, Zikeli M. Case Rep Neurol Med. 2024;2024:2332908, PMID 39055722. Funke M, Fiehler J, Mewes I, Eiselt M. J Neural Transm Suppl. 1998;53:385-98, PMID 9700674. View on doi.org

Found an error? Report it. Corrections are logged publicly with a date; we do not silently edit pages.